About Gather

75 Northern Ave
Boston, MA 02210
View Larger Map

Voted “Best Restaurant in the Seaport District” by the Improper Bostonian for the last two years, Gather features inventive American fare. Signature dishes include Duck Tacos, Charred Octopus, Jambalaya and Braised Short Rib Gnocchi. Enjoy creative cocktails and an extensive wine list, along with a rotating craft beer selection. Gather is located in Boston’s Innovation Center, District Hall and has views of Boston Harbor along with multiple patios for seasonal al fresco dining and meetups with friends. Gather gift cards are also accepted at Anthem Kitchen + Bar in Faneuil Hall, City Table and City Bar in the Back Bay, and City Bar in the Seaport District.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
BAR
Mon-Wed ‘til 1am
Thurs-Sat ‘til 2am
Sun ‘til 12am

LUNCH/DINNER
Mon-Wed 11:30am – 10pm
Thurs-Fri 11:30am – 11pm
Sat 11am – 11pm
Sun 11am – 10pm

BRUNCH
Sat-Sun 11am - 3pm

Cross Street:
Seaport Boulevard

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 982-7220

Website:
http://www.gatherboston.com/

Parking Details:
Meter parking throughout Seaport Square as well as lot parking for $15-17.

Public Transit:
Silver Line: Courthouse Station
15 minute walk from South Station

Executive Chef:
Dennis Wilson

Private Party Facilities:
Located in Boston’s Home for Innovation, District Hall, Gather features inventive American cuisine by Chef Dennis Wilson. We are able to host events for 10-100 guests, and events for up to 450 guests in all of District Hall.

Private Party Contact:
Sheila Gill: 6179827220x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Gather
Gather

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Gather Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.9

ambience

3.9

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

great for outdoor dining (40)
fit for foodies (31)
scenic view (26)
See All
good for groups (26)
great for lunch (22)
vibrant bar scene (20)
hot spot (17)
neighborhood gem (16)
great for brunch (12)
kid-friendly (10)
special occasion (9)
late-night find (4)
romantic (3)
notable wine list (2)
Sort By:
Newest
321 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food is always great!

vip
 (New England)
·Dined a day ago

Food is always great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

The food was delicious, awesome service ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined a day ago

The food was delicious, awesome service and quite the view!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was good, nothing special. The ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 4 days ago

The food was good, nothing special. The concrete floor means that every dropped dish will shatter and there was so much of that when we visited. The outdoor dining looked great but then the weather didn't cooperate but if the weather is nice, it would be lovely. Our server was very good.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Reasonably priced for the area but the f ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 5 days ago

Reasonably priced for the area but the food and the service isn't anything to write home about. Would come back here for a drink on the patio and head somewhere else for dinner.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Good food at reasonable prices for the a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Good food at reasonable prices for the area

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

We selected Gather because of the menu a ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We selected Gather because of the menu and outdoor sitting. Unfortunately it was a cooler night so outdoor was not optimal. The pan roasted salmon was excellent.

Definitely would go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Cool vibe. Terrible service. Waited alm ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Cool vibe. Terrible service. Waited almost 40 min for beverages. Consulted with manager and he had to come from somewhere to meet in front. He apologized but never saw him again. Tables all around us sat empty full of dirty dishes. One of our entrees was never ordered so it came out late. Overall needs better management and better service. Lots of kinks to work out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

The food was great, unfortunately the se ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The food was great, unfortunately the service did not match the food. Would still recommend for a fun spot to go out!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

I enjoyed the food but it was way too no ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

I enjoyed the food but it was way too noisy. I had to shout just to speak to my friend sitting next to me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

it was delicious. cocktails were great. ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

it was delicious. cocktails were great. definite go to spot in seaport.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

cool ambiance, but food and service were ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

cool ambiance, but food and service were awful! never going back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Food is excellent here. Sitting outside ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Food is excellent here. Sitting outside is a bit frustrating due to all the construction traffic. It will be much better in a year or so.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I've been here before for dinner, and th ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I've been here before for dinner, and this time we tried brunch. The food was excellent!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a fun place for a group gatheri ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

This was a fun place for a group gathering. The food was delicious. Unfortunately, our waitress was terrible and was practically clearing our plates while we were eating. The octopus pasta dish was amazing though. Dessert was lack luster, so eat more of the other delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

The space is good but the food needs a ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The space is good but the food needs a serious upgrade. Hummus plate had no veggies for dipping, pizza was bland, cauliflower side tasted like it was made from frozen cauliflower with Velveeta. At least they had a good beer list.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

We had a wonderful pre-concert dinner at ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We had a wonderful pre-concert dinner at Gather. We ate on the outdoor patio - a little breezy but nice to be in the fresh air. We shared steamed clam appetizer. They did it more like mussels cooked in a buttery garlic sauce with onions. It was very tasty! Then we shared a Cobb Salad and their signature Octopus and Mushroom Ragout. We were worried that the octopus might be chewy, but our waitress promised us they would melt in our mouths. She was right! Super delicious! Nice cocktails with the appetizer and when she brought me a wine that I hated, she readily took it back for one I liked! Great food, service and view of the waterfront outside!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

It was a good experience , and Parking i ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

It was a good experience , and Parking isn't bad.

Food and drinks where good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Most people were sitting on the patio so ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Most people were sitting on the patio so we had an enjoyable quiet spot inside. Unfortunately, the food just fell a little flat. The service was good until the end, when I think there was a shift change and it just took way too long to get our check and pay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Took our four month old to celebrate Fat ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Took our four month old to celebrate Fathers Day with brunch. Great food, nice view and we were pleased to see we weren't the only ones dining with an infant!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

I met a few friends here for brunch on a ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I met a few friends here for brunch on a Sunday morning. We're all new to Boston and had never been here before. Making the reservation was easy and the restaurant called to confirm the morning of our reservation. We were able to get a seat outside, like we had hoped for. The food was delightful and very filling. The bloody mary was on point (seriously, the bartender nailed it), but the "add bacon" option wasn't worth the $2. Our biggest complaint is that our server disappeared for 20-30 minutes at a time towards the end of our meal, after we'd been sitting in the sun for 1.5 hrs. By the time he came with the check, took our payment, and returned with the receipt, another 45 minutes had passed and we were dying to get out of the sun. We overheard several nearby tables complain that our server hadn't been by to take their order in a long time. Food, drinks, atmosphere were all outstanding, and it was a bummer that our experience ended on a sour note.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

Good food with great view. Went with 2 ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Good food with great view. Went with 2 other friends on a Saturday night. Great location! Solid, patient server. Great wine and cocktails. No bread, nuts or other welcoming snack. My ahi tuna main entree with a grapefruit fennel salad was delicious, but not substantial. If we had an appetizer or dessert, I probably would not have been hungry again in an hour. One friend had fish tacos - which said were okay and the other had the duck tacos, which sounded good. We had a nice time.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

great service, tables are too small, foo ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

great service, tables are too small, food was overpriced for the quality. Would possibly come back for drinks because of the view but not for dinner.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

Duck tacos, great Hal chicken and solid ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Duck tacos, great Hal chicken and solid cocktails. Nom nom.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Chic spot in the seaport, nice place for ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Chic spot in the seaport, nice place for dinner with friends or a date. White gazpacho blew my mind.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The crusts for flatbreads could be impro ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

The crusts for flatbreads could be improved. They were not strong enough to hold the amount of toppings that were on it. Otherwise good beer selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We thought we were in the wrong place wh ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We thought we were in the wrong place when we first walked in. The setting looked more like a cafe or bar instead of a restaurant. We almost left but decided to stay and we are so glad we did. The food, service, and drinks were great. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Another great reason to love the seaport

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Gather has a beautiful space with great shades outdoor seating. Their cocktails are tasty and refreshing for good prices. Food is reliable, fresh and always yummy. The lobster Cobb salad is a must have!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Fun spot. Interesting menu. Loved the Ju ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Fun spot. Interesting menu. Loved the Jumbalya. Salads were good. Apps tiny. Noisey as all get out but a nice (really) young crowd. Service was great.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great spot to eat outside, but be prepar ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Great spot to eat outside, but be prepared for a lot of white noise from nearby construction.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Went to Gather for a graduation lunch. T ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Went to Gather for a graduation lunch. The service was slow, the food was okay--the salads had old lettuce and were definitely not worth the price. Gather seems more appropriate for a quick lunch, not a celebration or more intimate dinner.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

The service here was terrible. Aye out e ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

The service here was terrible. Aye out entrees with no water or drinks. Couldn't wait to get out of here. The food is adequate but no team to come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Beautiful location but our meals were no ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Beautiful location but our meals were not very good. We both ordered the burger and the patties were both filled with cartilege and ultimately inedible. I wouldn't go back for dining but I would go for drinks due to it's great location.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

Disappointing; Return Unlikely

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

Our service was generally slow; the waitress got my order completely wrong (i.e., I asked for a turkey club with only 2 vs 3 pieces of bread and mayo on side) and it came without regard to those requests. I also order the asparagus was which in a pool of oil. I wanted to order lobster roll, but disappointing that you can't get may on the side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

Second time I have been here and both ha ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Second time I have been here and both have been positives experiences across the board. Great drink selection and inventive menu. The octopus app is amazing and so are the duck tacos

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was very good but our waitress ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was very good but our waitress but not very personable. I was with my three kids and my parents for Mother's Day. My kids were all ordering their own meals. We were not asking for any children's menu for smaller portions / reduced prices. My son ordered the steak and eggs which came with two fried eggs and he asked if the eggs could be scrambled instead. She didn't even offer to check with kitchen just told him it wasn't possible. I didn't think that this would be a big deal at all and was shocked that she said no and wouldn't even check with the kitchen - how hard is it to scramble a couple of eggs?!? Definitely not kid friendly if you can't / won't make simple changes to your menu!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

awesome food with a twist

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I have been to Gather twice now for weekend brunch/ lunch and both times have been fantastic. The food is classic but with a twist. The duck tacos are amazing. I was skeptical at first as it seemed a little crazy to have duck and apple kimchee in a taco, but it actually worked really well. My whole family greatly enjoys the chicken and waffle bites from the appetizer section. There are no bones and the sweet and savory mix is delicious. We tried the fluffernutter stuffed french toast this time and it was surprisingly AWESOME. It's rich enough alone that it doesn't need the extra side of syrup it comes with. The egg an pork torta is also really fantastic. It's my new favorite gem in the seaport district. Most times I don't like food with too much of a twist, but this place seems to get it right!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gather has a great ambiance and good food

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Gather has a great ambiance with its unique lighting and design, its large windows overlook the harbor; the food is prepared very well and is delicious, with pleasant servers!

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nothing to write home about. Interesting ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

Nothing to write home about. Interesting space. Waste of a beautiful location.The fried chicken was dry. Veggie burger was average. Deserts were uninspiring so did not try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Server was great. Had great suggestions. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Server was great. Had great suggestions. Good ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Excellent food, fresh and innovative!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Excellent food, fresh and innovative!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.