About Gather

75 Northern Ave
Boston, MA 02210
View Larger Map

Voted “Best Restaurant in the Seaport District” by the Improper Bostonian for the last two years, Gather features inventive American fare. Signature dishes include Duck Tacos, Charred Octopus, Jambalaya and Braised Short Rib Gnocchi. Enjoy creative cocktails and an extensive wine list, along with a rotating craft beer selection. Gather is located in Boston’s Innovation Center, District Hall and has views of Boston Harbor along with multiple patios for seasonal al fresco dining and meetups with friends. Gather gift cards are also accepted at Anthem Kitchen + Bar in Faneuil Hall, City Table and City Bar in the Back Bay, and City Bar in the Seaport District.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
BAR
Mon-Wed ‘til 1am
Thurs-Sat ‘til 2am
Sun ‘til 12am

LUNCH/DINNER
Mon-Wed 11:30am – 10pm
Thurs-Fri 11:30am – 11pm
Sat 11am – 11pm
Sun 11am – 10pm

BRUNCH
Sat-Sun 11am - 3pm

Cross Street:
Seaport Boulevard

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 982-7220

Website:
http://www.gatherboston.com/

Parking Details:
Meter parking throughout Seaport Square as well as lot parking for $15-17.

Public Transit:
Silver Line: Courthouse Station
15 minute walk from South Station

Executive Chef:
Dennis Wilson

Private Party Facilities:
Located in Boston’s Home for Innovation, District Hall, Gather features inventive American cuisine by Chef Dennis Wilson. We are able to host events for 10-100 guests, and events for up to 450 guests in all of District Hall.

Private Party Contact:
Sheila Gill: 6179827220x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Gather
Gather

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Gather Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4

service

4

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (33)
great for outdoor dining (30)
good for groups (25)
See All
great for lunch (24)
scenic view (24)
vibrant bar scene (20)
neighborhood gem (18)
great for brunch (12)
hot spot (12)
special occasion (10)
kid-friendly (9)
late-night find (5)
romantic (4)
notable wine list (2)
Sort By:
Newest
308 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been here before for dinner, and th ...

Dined 4 days ago

I've been here before for dinner, and this time we tried brunch. The food was excellent!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

This was a fun place for a group gatheri ...

Dined 5 days ago

This was a fun place for a group gathering. The food was delicious. Unfortunately, our waitress was terrible and was practically clearing our plates while we were eating. The octopus pasta dish was amazing though. Dessert was lack luster, so eat more of the other delicious food.

food1
ambience4
service4
value2

The space is good but the food needs a ...

Dined 6 days ago

The space is good but the food needs a serious upgrade. Hummus plate had no veggies for dipping, pizza was bland, cauliflower side tasted like it was made from frozen cauliflower with Velveeta. At least they had a good beer list.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

It was a good experience , and Parking i ...

vip
Dined on June 21, 2016

It was a good experience , and Parking isn't bad. Food and drinks where good!

food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Most people were sitting on the patio so ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Most people were sitting on the patio so we had an enjoyable quiet spot inside. Unfortunately, the food just fell a little flat. The service was good until the end, when I think there was a shift change and it just took way too long to get our check and pay.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Took our four month old to celebrate Fat ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Took our four month old to celebrate Fathers Day with brunch. Great food, nice view and we were pleased to see we weren't the only ones dining with an infant!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

I met a few friends here for brunch on a ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

I met a few friends here for brunch on a Sunday morning. We're all new to Boston and had never been here before. Making the reservation was easy and the restaurant called to confirm the morning of our reservation. We were able to get a seat outside, like we had hoped for. The food was delightful and very filling. The bloody mary was on point (seriously, the bartender nailed it), but the "add bacon" option wasn't worth the $2. Our biggest complaint is that our server disappeared for 20-30 minutes at a time towards the end of our meal, after we'd been sitting in the sun for 1.5 hrs. By the time he came with the check, took our payment, and returned with the receipt, another 45 minutes had passed and we were dying to get out of the sun. We overheard several nearby tables complain that our server hadn't been by to take their order in a long time. Food, drinks, atmosphere were all outstanding, and it was a bummer that our experience ended on a sour note.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Good food with great view. Went with 2 ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

Good food with great view. Went with 2 other friends on a Saturday night. Great location! Solid, patient server. Great wine and cocktails. No bread, nuts or other welcoming snack. My ahi tuna main entree with a grapefruit fennel salad was delicious, but not substantial. If we had an appetizer or dessert, I probably would not have been hungry again in an hour. One friend had fish tacos - which said were okay and the other had the duck tacos, which sounded good. We had a nice time.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, scenic view
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

great service, tables are too small, foo ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

great service, tables are too small, food was overpriced for the quality. Would possibly come back for drinks because of the view but not for dinner.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience3
service4

Duck tacos, great Hal chicken and solid ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

Duck tacos, great Hal chicken and solid cocktails. Nom nom.

food5
ambience5
service5

Chic spot in the seaport, nice place for ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Chic spot in the seaport, nice place for dinner with friends or a date. White gazpacho blew my mind.

food4
ambience5
service5

The crusts for flatbreads could be impro ...

Dined on May 31, 2016

The crusts for flatbreads could be improved. They were not strong enough to hold the amount of toppings that were on it. Otherwise good beer selection.

food5
ambience3
service5

We thought we were in the wrong place wh ...

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

We thought we were in the wrong place when we first walked in. The setting looked more like a cafe or bar instead of a restaurant. We almost left but decided to stay and we are so glad we did. The food, service, and drinks were great. We will be back!

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Another great reason to love the seaport

Dined on May 28, 2016

Gather has a beautiful space with great shades outdoor seating. Their cocktails are tasty and refreshing for good prices. Food is reliable, fresh and always yummy. The lobster Cobb salad is a must have!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fun spot. Interesting menu. Loved the Ju ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Fun spot. Interesting menu. Loved the Jumbalya. Salads were good. Apps tiny. Noisey as all get out but a nice (really) young crowd. Service was great.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great spot to eat outside, but be prepar ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Great spot to eat outside, but be prepared for a lot of white noise from nearby construction.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

Went to Gather for a graduation lunch. T ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Went to Gather for a graduation lunch. The service was slow, the food was okay--the salads had old lettuce and were definitely not worth the price. Gather seems more appropriate for a quick lunch, not a celebration or more intimate dinner.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food2
ambience2
service1

The service here was terrible. Aye out e ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

The service here was terrible. Aye out entrees with no water or drinks. Couldn't wait to get out of here. The food is adequate but no team to come back.

food1
ambience4
service3
value2

Beautiful location but our meals were no ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Beautiful location but our meals were not very good. We both ordered the burger and the patties were both filled with cartilege and ultimately inedible. I wouldn't go back for dining but I would go for drinks due to it's great location.

Tags: scenic view
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

Disappointing; Return Unlikely

Dined on May 10, 2016

Our service was generally slow; the waitress got my order completely wrong (i.e., I asked for a turkey club with only 2 vs 3 pieces of bread and mayo on side) and it came without regard to those requests. I also order the asparagus was which in a pool of oil. I wanted to order lobster roll, but disappointing that you can't get may on the side.

food5
ambience5
service5

Second time I have been here and both ha ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Second time I have been here and both have been positives experiences across the board. Great drink selection and inventive menu. The octopus app is amazing and so are the duck tacos

food4
ambience3
service2
value3

The food was very good but our waitress ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was very good but our waitress but not very personable. I was with my three kids and my parents for Mother's Day. My kids were all ordering their own meals. We were not asking for any children's menu for smaller portions / reduced prices. My son ordered the steak and eggs which came with two fried eggs and he asked if the eggs could be scrambled instead. She didn't even offer to check with kitchen just told him it wasn't possible. I didn't think that this would be a big deal at all and was shocked that she said no and wouldn't even check with the kitchen - how hard is it to scramble a couple of eggs?!? Definitely not kid friendly if you can't / won't make simple changes to your menu!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

awesome food with a twist

Dined on May 8, 2016

I have been to Gather twice now for weekend brunch/ lunch and both times have been fantastic. The food is classic but with a twist. The duck tacos are amazing. I was skeptical at first as it seemed a little crazy to have duck and apple kimchee in a taco, but it actually worked really well. My whole family greatly enjoys the chicken and waffle bites from the appetizer section. There are no bones and the sweet and savory mix is delicious. We tried the fluffernutter stuffed french toast this time and it was surprisingly AWESOME. It's rich enough alone that it doesn't need the extra side of syrup it comes with. The egg an pork torta is also really fantastic. It's my new favorite gem in the seaport district. Most times I don't like food with too much of a twist, but this place seems to get it right!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Gather has a great ambiance and good food

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

Gather has a great ambiance with its unique lighting and design, its large windows overlook the harbor; the food is prepared very well and is delicious, with pleasant servers!

Tags: great for lunch
food2
ambience2
service3

Nothing to write home about. Interesting ...

Dined on April 20, 2016

Nothing to write home about. Interesting space. Waste of a beautiful location.The fried chicken was dry. Veggie burger was average. Deserts were uninspiring so did not try.

food4
ambience4
service5

Server was great. Had great suggestions. ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Server was great. Had great suggestions. Good ambiance.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, fresh and innovative!

Dined on April 16, 2016

Excellent food, fresh and innovative!

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Out of towners

Dined on April 15, 2016

We were in Boston for the Boston marathon staying in the seaport area. Reservation was honored although they have high tables and stools with no backs. That was not good for our party of 6. With a little talking they were able to seat us at a low table with standard chairs. Server was good. Noise level rated a loud. Not always easy conversation due to noise level. We would return but now we know the dynamics and what to ask for. Yummy steak frites.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service4

While the mashed potatoes with cheddar a ...

vip
Dined on April 13, 2016

While the mashed potatoes with cheddar and bacon were really tasty, I was disappointed with the fried chicken. It reminded me of the Shake 'n' Bake chicken I used to eat when I was a child. The service was great though, as was the chocolate cake.

food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Nice spot for Gathering and Drinks

Dined on April 13, 2016

Food is good without being spectacular. The drinks list and drafts are more impressive which makes this a reasonably attractive place to hang out after work. Lots of light although it is jot quite on the water. Overall not quite a dining destination but if meeting up with friends in the area, it's a good choice.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This place is danksauce 2000

Dined on April 10, 2016

This place was bomb af. They had the dankest oysters I've ever had, and the salmon with risotto was beyond trill. The drinks were on point and got us nice and drizzy after just two each. The ambience was hella poppin' with people mad chattin', which got me that much more juiced to start my own conversation with my scalding hot date. The staff were all swagtastic and had dem recommendations down to a T, giving me tips on what drinks get them lit after a long shift. The space itself was fresher than my laundry after a weekend back home visiting mum, with mad amounts of vintage lightbulbs hanging from the ceiling, I felt like I was in a Lumineers music video, except it was the Kygo remix because this place Is bangin'. 10/10

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great spot for lunch

vip
Dined on April 7, 2016

Went here for a business lunch and the food and service were outstanding, great value for the city of Boston!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Always an excellent time here. The food ...

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

Always an excellent time here. The food and drinks are always delicious! I highly recommend it here.

food1
ambience2
service2

Tried the mulligatawny soup, too creamy, ...

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

Tried the mulligatawny soup, too creamy, chicken overcooked...not good

food5
ambience4
service4

The octopus appetizer is a must try! Ama ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

The octopus appetizer is a must try! Amazingly tender and so tasty. Jambalaya was spicy and filled with chorizo, clams and chicken. My husband had some of the best prime rib (crispy char on the outside and perfectly pink)! It's not fancy but the food was fabulous!

food5
ambience5
service5

Really easy to make a reservation. Upbea ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

Really easy to make a reservation. Upbeat well designed and decorated environment really pretty lighting. Ordered the short rib w gnocchi it was amazing. Attentive staff who are willing to give great recommendations.

food4
ambience4
service5

Service is slow in the beginning. Wait o ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

Service is slow in the beginning. Wait or came over and explained what haloed and offered a free round of drinks and desserts. Food was very good and that level of positive service was amazing to have. I would 100% recommend

food2
ambience3
service3

The drinks are good. The food is mediocr ...

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

The drinks are good. The food is mediocre at best and not with the price.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious, modern, and ideal for ladies' Saturday

Dined on February 20, 2016

Our small group of four ladies recently dined at Gather on a Saturday afternoon before hitting up the ICA (directly across the street). The restaurant has a fantastic location with water views, great lighting, and an upbeat vibe. The soup I had was delicious, and we all enjoyed our cocktails and/or wines. We will definitely be back.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Valentine's Day

Dined on February 15, 2016

Reserved a table for 2@ 8:30 pm on Valentine's Day. The building/entrance is a little odd as its shared with what looks like a cafe/dining hall(?)...anyway, we were seated promptly in the dining room which was a little too bright for the time...felt more school cafeteria, less cozy restaurant. The ceiling lights themselves were cool and different which my husband and I definitely admired. Our server, who I can't address because he didn't tell us his name, was friendly but considering the amount of patrons (or lack there of) service was a bit slow :(...food perhaps the biggest disappointment of all. 0 flavor...zip, zilch, nada. Not the chicken and waffles, not the chopped salad, not the Brussels sprouts & spaghetti squash pizza, not even the burnt Brussels sprouts side order. None of it. Don't hate the restaurant but certainly didn't like it enough to return.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.