About Gather

75 Northern Ave
Boston, MA 02210
View Larger Map

Voted “Best Restaurant in the Seaport District” by the Improper Bostonian for the last two years, Gather features inventive American fare. Signature dishes include Duck Tacos, Charred Octopus, Jambalaya and Braised Short Rib Gnocchi. Enjoy creative cocktails and an extensive wine list, along with a rotating craft beer selection. Gather is located in Boston’s Innovation Center, District Hall and has views of Boston Harbor along with multiple patios for seasonal al fresco dining and meetups with friends. Gather gift cards are also accepted at Anthem Kitchen + Bar in Faneuil Hall, City Table and City Bar in the Back Bay, and City Bar in the Seaport District.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
BAR
Mon-Wed ‘til 1am
Thurs-Sat ‘til 2am
Sun ‘til 12am

LUNCH/DINNER
Mon-Wed 11:30am – 10pm
Thurs-Fri 11:30am – 11pm
Sat 11am – 11pm
Sun 11am – 10pm

BRUNCH
Sat-Sun 11am - 3pm

Cross Street:
Seaport Boulevard

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 982-7220

Website:
http://www.gatherboston.com/

Parking Details:
Meter parking throughout Seaport Square as well as lot parking for $15-17.

Public Transit:
Silver Line: Courthouse Station
15 minute walk from South Station

Executive Chef:
Dennis Wilson

Private Party Facilities:
Located in Boston’s Home for Innovation, District Hall, Gather features inventive American cuisine by Chef Dennis Wilson. We are able to host events for 10-100 guests, and events for up to 450 guests in all of District Hall.

Private Party Contact:
Sheila Gill: 6179827220x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Gather, Boston, MA
Gather, Boston, MA

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Gather Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.8

ambience

3.9

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

71% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (16)
Casual (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Modern Decor (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Scenic View (8)
Good for a Date (7)
Business Meals (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Waterfront (6)
People Watching (6)
Special Occasion (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Fun (4)
Tapas (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Romantic (3)
Great Beer (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Family Style (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Seasonal (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Healthy (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Authentic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Sports (1)
Cozy (1)
Sort By:
S
366 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Had a girls Christmas dinner. Nice open ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

Had a girls Christmas dinner. Nice open space. Good food, quick service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Pretty expensive meal overall for what y ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Pretty expensive meal overall for what you get but par for the course in seaport. So so service and did not elaborate on any of the items on the menu. Expected more for the price point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

We dined at Gather on Thanksgiving and o ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We dined at Gather on Thanksgiving and opted for their holiday special. The food was excellent, portion sizes were just right for a holiday meal, and the service was attentive. Definitely interested in returning another time to try the regular menu which looked very enticing.

Tags: Casual, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The photos on the website are misleading ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 10, 2016

The photos on the website are misleading. They were so pixelated that what looked like chandeliers were actually bare light bulbs. The decor is industrial, floors concrete, small noisy place not suitable for a business dinner. There's some kind of pop up beer bar across the hall in semi-raw space and there's no door in between. It was full of loud people and the noise carried throughout. Not up to Open Table standards. We almost turned around when we arrived but we didn't have time to search for another place. Would have been happier if we had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

Great ambiance and good choice of food. ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Great ambiance and good choice of food. Lovely atmosphere. The lobster roll was delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was mediocre at best. Good drinks. ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Food was mediocre at best. Good drinks. Service was quick. Warm table water. Eh

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

The place was conveniently located near ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 27, 2016

The place was conveniently located near the new convention center at the seaport. The food was average at best. Drinks were fine but with the other options in the area, this place needs to be better and bigger than the others. It is a very institutional atmosphere. Food was ok, not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

If you're in the area and looking for a ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 27, 2016

If you're in the area and looking for a place to meet it's an ok location.

While modern and clean, the ambience is rather cold. Feels as if the place lacks warmth.

Food was ok, Beer election good. Food slightly overpriced. They don't validate garage parking, so unless you catch a space on the street, add 20-35$ to your meal.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

The menu looked awesome. The execution l ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The menu looked awesome. The execution left something to be desired. We had the duck tacos as an appetizer. They were fine but could have been made of any meat when drowned in that much sauce. The duck breast entree was over cooked and dry. I want to like this place and will try again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Been here several times - consistently g ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Been here several times - consistently good food, service and ambiance.

Tags: Healthy, Waterfront, Casual, Good for a Date, Fun, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was quite good. Service was margina ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Food was quite good. Service was marginal. We had to chase our server down twice. We were early, so no excuse for being busy. Still had a good time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Ordered lobster bisque and it was like w ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Ordered lobster bisque and it was like warm. Chicken and waffle appetizer was fair waffle over cooked. Not impressed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

This was my second time at Gather. I wen ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 1, 2016

This was my second time at Gather. I went with friends the first time and it was fun and memorable. Unfortunately, this time, it fell flat on its face. It was not very busy for a Saturday night, but I still felt rushed by the server, which lead me to a hasty decision for my entree which was regrettable. I got the gnocchi with braised short rib. The meat was so piping hot, it had to have been microwaved; the cheese was tasteless, and the apples were lost in the dish. It was insanely overpriced and it is so weird that there is an internet cafe in the same space. I can't go back there for more than one drink... the drink was the best part of the night.

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Went to Gather for a quick lunch to catc ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Went to Gather for a quick lunch to catch up with a friend and everything went very smoothly. Menu has been updated since my last visit and it's a definite improvement.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Katherine was great !!!!! She was quick ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Katherine was great !!!!! She was quick helpful and pleasant

Tags: Tapas, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was looking forward to trying "Gather" ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 8, 2016

I was looking forward to trying "Gather" this past Thursday night. The concept was interesting and the menu appeared somewhat creative. It was also recommended by my dining companion who had been there one other time for drinks. I was disappointed with the execution.

Their version of the Tuna Tartare was fishy to the point of suspicion. So, we had it taken from the table and were informed that it was a particular dish that had split response from other diners. We were apparently not the first table to prefer other gastronomic ideas. The grilled Octopus was "ok." We also split the braised short rib sage gnocchi which was a saving grace: Flavorful and tasty with the appropriate texture of the gnocchi and balance of short rib. A solid dish but not exceptional in any way. I would recommend the gnocchi. It will be what you expect.

The wine list was sufficient.

The hostess that greeted us at 5:30 was stoic and different from the more cheerful one that said goodbye. The servers were warm and friendly.

The outside patio was an enjoyable place to have meal in the waning summer weather. The inside seemed lively and loud and perhaps more appropriate for "drinks and apps." The bathrooms are an obnoxious, almost fluorescent sea-foam green that wake you up at best and blind you at worst. My advice; hold it if you can or bring your sunglasses. Either way it's an amusing conversation starter.

My experience at "Gather" had some good and some less than positive. However given the options at the Seaport and in Boston in general I would recommend other dining options before Gather.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Tuna tartare, steamers, and the Ahi tuna ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Tuna tartare, steamers, and the Ahi tuna were amazing! We had a great waitress and great location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great spot for dinner with friends or a ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Great spot for dinner with friends or a date! Food and drinks were delicious. Must try the chicken and waffle appetizer.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Great Sunday brunch on the waterfront. E ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great Sunday brunch on the waterfront. Excellent southern style brunch dishes. Pecan pancakes, chicken and waffles and the eggs benny were all very tasty and got 2 thumbs up from me and my family. Got an 11:30am brunch time and was one of the first ones there - surprising, but filled in as the time went by. Fun and different - nice day out for all

Tags: Waterfront, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

First time at Gather, I got the Crab Bis ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 25, 2016

First time at Gather, I got the Crab Bisque and it was delicious and I also got the Chicken Lollipops which were extremely salty. My server Jakiel was great, thanks !

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Great food, good wines! Particularly li ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Great food, good wines! Particularly liked the rockfish. We sat outdoors and it was very pleasant and quieter than inside.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to Gather for dinner before a show. ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Went to Gather for dinner before a show... it was one of the more mediocre dinners I have had in Boston. Outside dining was nice, but the advertised 'views of the harbor' was just a glimpse from far away. Food was overcooked and bland; service was cordial but slow. Overall, not worth a second visit and definitely not worth the price.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Amazing food and drinks. When inquiring ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Amazing food and drinks. When inquiring about the oysters, our waitress stated she didn't like seafood and did not know where the oysters were from. I believe her response was 'some place in Ma.' #serverfail As foodies we were less than happy with that exchange however the oysters ended up being fantastic.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

My friends and I were disappointed with ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 19, 2016

My friends and I were disappointed with our dinner at Gather the other evening. The food was pretty ordinary, not bad, but just okay. The cost, with only one of us drinking a glass of wine, came to $40 each for 3 of us and, for the lackluster presentation and preparation, I have to say the value wasn't there. The service, although friendly enough, was careless....2 spoons for a shared dessert when we were 3 diners; espresso arriving without spoons, sweetener, etc; table not wiped off when the dinner plates were removed. We won't be back and we can't recommend Gather.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Average at Best. Good was over-priced a ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Average at Best. Good was over-priced and was not high quality. Pizza was dry and bland. Cobb salad was good, oysters were fresh but just served with industrial cocktail sauce and a lemon wedge. The lemon in my water glass was about 6 months old - brown and wilted.... Gross! If you're going to charge the prices that you do you need to have higher quality food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Such a great find! Felt like I was in h ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Such a great find! Felt like I was in hidden gem amongst the bustling Seaport area. Can't ever go wrong with comfort good with a gourmet twist! Will come again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Lots of energy in this happening place. ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Lots of energy in this happening place. The service and food were really good. We'll be back.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food; noise volume is moderate. Se ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great food; noise volume is moderate. Server was nice!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waitress was spread too thin. Bussed tab ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Waitress was spread too thin. Bussed tables that had left before clearing ours. We sat w finished dishes until we flaggef a busboy over to clear pur table

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Neat location in South Boston's Seaport ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Neat location in South Boston's Seaport district. Creative menu connected to an imaginative workspace

Tags: Scenic View, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

food and cocktails were great! Our waite ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 6, 2016

food and cocktails were great! Our waiter was also fabulous!!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Sat outdoors on a beautiful night- great ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Sat outdoors on a beautiful night- great location and a nice view from the patio. Hostess was kind to sit us before our 8pm reservation. Server was attentive and friendly. The food was as expected, nothing spectacular, but we were there more for drinks and the view anyway.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Fun hip place but a bit loud if you're l ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Fun hip place but a bit loud if you're looking to catch up. Great concept.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Gather is a great restaurant! Good drink ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Gather is a great restaurant! Good drinks, delicious food, and a great location with a lot of seating, so you rarely have to wait long for a table.

They have reasonably priced food in a neighborhood that is predominately pretty expensive.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The goat cheese pizza was delicious. My ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 3, 2016

The goat cheese pizza was delicious. My cocktail was disappointing. The outside patio was a great view of the harbor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Great, quiet out of the way eating spot. ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 2, 2016

Great, quiet out of the way eating spot. Lovely outdoor space by the water.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I love gather but this experience was di ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 1, 2016

I love gather but this experience was disappointing. The restaurant was pretty quiet but our food took forever and most came out cold. Waitress was sweet but not great. Considering this is a regular stop for us we aren't deterred, just an off night, but still not ideal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

I had the burger! It was cooked perfect ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 31, 2016

I had the burger! It was cooked perfectly. Hit the spot. We sat outside. It was great! Service was timely and attentive to our needs. I'd go again! 👍

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was good, but not unique enough ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 30, 2016

The food was good, but not unique enough for the high price - the appetizer hummus plate was far too expensive.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Not worth the money. Sangria was watere ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Not worth the money. Sangria was watered down. Lobster roll-lobster was good, but served on a stale roll with a half-full side of apple slaw. Seriously, was the kitchen paying attention to the plates that went out. Would you eat a stale toasted roll? Other party had trout, cooked well, but bland, completely bland. Only bright spot was the chicken and waffles appetizer. Too many choices in Boston to bother with this one again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.