About Gather

75 Northern Ave
Boston, MA 02210
View Larger Map

Voted “Best Restaurant in the Seaport District” by the Improper Bostonian for the last two years, Gather features inventive American fare. Signature dishes include Duck Tacos, Charred Octopus, Jambalaya and Braised Short Rib Gnocchi. Enjoy creative cocktails and an extensive wine list, along with a rotating craft beer selection. Gather is located in Boston’s Innovation Center, District Hall and has views of Boston Harbor along with multiple patios for seasonal al fresco dining and meetups with friends. Gather gift cards are also accepted at Anthem Kitchen + Bar in Faneuil Hall, City Table and City Bar in the Back Bay, and City Bar in the Seaport District.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
BAR
Mon-Wed ‘til 1am
Thurs-Sat ‘til 2am
Sun ‘til 12am

LUNCH/DINNER
Mon-Wed 11:30am – 10pm
Thurs-Fri 11:30am – 11pm
Sat 11am – 11pm
Sun 11am – 10pm

BRUNCH
Sat-Sun 11am - 3:30pm

Cross Street:
Seaport Boulevard

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 982-7220

Website:
http://www.gatherboston.com/

Parking Details:
Meter parking throughout Seaport Square as well as lot parking for $15-17.

Public Transit:
Silver Line: Courthouse Station
15 minute walk from South Station

Executive Chef:
Dennis Wilson

Private Party Facilities:
Located in Boston’s Home for Innovation, District Hall, Gather features inventive American cuisine by Chef Dennis Wilson. We are able to host events for 10-100 guests, and events for up to 450 guests in all of District Hall.

Private Party Contact:
Sheila Gill: 6179827220x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Gather Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4

service

4.1

ambience

3.9

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (31)
good for groups (29)
great for lunch (27)
See All
scenic view (22)
great for outdoor dining (21)
neighborhood gem (21)
vibrant bar scene (20)
hot spot (11)
special occasion (10)
great for brunch (9)
romantic (8)
late-night find (7)
kid-friendly (7)
notable wine list (3)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
294 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fun spot. Interesting menu. Loved the Ju ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Fun spot. Interesting menu. Loved the Jumbalya. Salads were good. Apps tiny. Noisey as all get out but a nice (really) young crowd. Service was great.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great spot to eat outside, but be prepar ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Great spot to eat outside, but be prepared for a lot of white noise from nearby construction.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

Went to Gather for a graduation lunch. T ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Went to Gather for a graduation lunch. The service was slow, the food was okay--the salads had old lettuce and were definitely not worth the price. Gather seems more appropriate for a quick lunch, not a celebration or more intimate dinner.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food2
ambience2
service1

The service here was terrible. Aye out e ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

The service here was terrible. Aye out entrees with no water or drinks. Couldn't wait to get out of here. The food is adequate but no team to come back.

food1
ambience4
service3
value2

Beautiful location but our meals were no ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Beautiful location but our meals were not very good. We both ordered the burger and the patties were both filled with cartilege and ultimately inedible. I wouldn't go back for dining but I would go for drinks due to it's great location.

Tags: scenic view
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

Disappointing; Return Unlikely

Dined on May 10, 2016

Our service was generally slow; the waitress got my order completely wrong (i.e., I asked for a turkey club with only 2 vs 3 pieces of bread and mayo on side) and it came without regard to those requests. I also order the asparagus was which in a pool of oil. I wanted to order lobster roll, but disappointing that you can't get may on the side.

food5
ambience5
service5

Second time I have been here and both ha ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Second time I have been here and both have been positives experiences across the board. Great drink selection and inventive menu. The octopus app is amazing and so are the duck tacos

food4
ambience3
service2
value3

The food was very good but our waitress ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was very good but our waitress but not very personable. I was with my three kids and my parents for Mother's Day. My kids were all ordering their own meals. We were not asking for any children's menu for smaller portions / reduced prices. My son ordered the steak and eggs which came with two fried eggs and he asked if the eggs could be scrambled instead. She didn't even offer to check with kitchen just told him it wasn't possible. I didn't think that this would be a big deal at all and was shocked that she said no and wouldn't even check with the kitchen - how hard is it to scramble a couple of eggs?!? Definitely not kid friendly if you can't / won't make simple changes to your menu!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

awesome food with a twist

Dined on May 8, 2016

I have been to Gather twice now for weekend brunch/ lunch and both times have been fantastic. The food is classic but with a twist. The duck tacos are amazing. I was skeptical at first as it seemed a little crazy to have duck and apple kimchee in a taco, but it actually worked really well. My whole family greatly enjoys the chicken and waffle bites from the appetizer section. There are no bones and the sweet and savory mix is delicious. We tried the fluffernutter stuffed french toast this time and it was surprisingly AWESOME. It's rich enough alone that it doesn't need the extra side of syrup it comes with. The egg an pork torta is also really fantastic. It's my new favorite gem in the seaport district. Most times I don't like food with too much of a twist, but this place seems to get it right!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Gather has a great ambiance and good food

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

Gather has a great ambiance with its unique lighting and design, its large windows overlook the harbor; the food is prepared very well and is delicious, with pleasant servers!

Tags: great for lunch
food2
ambience2
service3

Nothing to write home about. Interesting ...

Dined on April 20, 2016

Nothing to write home about. Interesting space. Waste of a beautiful location.The fried chicken was dry. Veggie burger was average. Deserts were uninspiring so did not try.

food4
ambience4
service5

Server was great. Had great suggestions. ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Server was great. Had great suggestions. Good ambiance.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, fresh and innovative!

Dined on April 16, 2016

Excellent food, fresh and innovative!

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Out of towners

Dined on April 15, 2016

We were in Boston for the Boston marathon staying in the seaport area. Reservation was honored although they have high tables and stools with no backs. That was not good for our party of 6. With a little talking they were able to seat us at a low table with standard chairs. Server was good. Noise level rated a loud. Not always easy conversation due to noise level. We would return but now we know the dynamics and what to ask for. Yummy steak frites.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service4

While the mashed potatoes with cheddar a ...

vip
Dined on April 13, 2016

While the mashed potatoes with cheddar and bacon were really tasty, I was disappointed with the fried chicken. It reminded me of the Shake 'n' Bake chicken I used to eat when I was a child. The service was great though, as was the chocolate cake.

food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Nice spot for Gathering and Drinks

Dined on April 13, 2016

Food is good without being spectacular. The drinks list and drafts are more impressive which makes this a reasonably attractive place to hang out after work. Lots of light although it is jot quite on the water. Overall not quite a dining destination but if meeting up with friends in the area, it's a good choice.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This place is danksauce 2000

Dined on April 10, 2016

This place was bomb af. They had the dankest oysters I've ever had, and the salmon with risotto was beyond trill. The drinks were on point and got us nice and drizzy after just two each. The ambience was hella poppin' with people mad chattin', which got me that much more juiced to start my own conversation with my scalding hot date. The staff were all swagtastic and had dem recommendations down to a T, giving me tips on what drinks get them lit after a long shift. The space itself was fresher than my laundry after a weekend back home visiting mum, with mad amounts of vintage lightbulbs hanging from the ceiling, I felt like I was in a Lumineers music video, except it was the Kygo remix because this place Is bangin'. 10/10

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great spot for lunch

vip
Dined on April 7, 2016

Went here for a business lunch and the food and service were outstanding, great value for the city of Boston!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Always an excellent time here. The food ...

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

Always an excellent time here. The food and drinks are always delicious! I highly recommend it here.

food1
ambience2
service2

Tried the mulligatawny soup, too creamy, ...

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

Tried the mulligatawny soup, too creamy, chicken overcooked...not good

food5
ambience4
service4

The octopus appetizer is a must try! Ama ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

The octopus appetizer is a must try! Amazingly tender and so tasty. Jambalaya was spicy and filled with chorizo, clams and chicken. My husband had some of the best prime rib (crispy char on the outside and perfectly pink)! It's not fancy but the food was fabulous!

food5
ambience5
service5

Really easy to make a reservation. Upbea ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

Really easy to make a reservation. Upbeat well designed and decorated environment really pretty lighting. Ordered the short rib w gnocchi it was amazing. Attentive staff who are willing to give great recommendations.

food4
ambience4
service5

Service is slow in the beginning. Wait o ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

Service is slow in the beginning. Wait or came over and explained what haloed and offered a free round of drinks and desserts. Food was very good and that level of positive service was amazing to have. I would 100% recommend

food2
ambience3
service3

The drinks are good. The food is mediocr ...

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

The drinks are good. The food is mediocre at best and not with the price.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious, modern, and ideal for ladies' Saturday

Dined on February 20, 2016

Our small group of four ladies recently dined at Gather on a Saturday afternoon before hitting up the ICA (directly across the street). The restaurant has a fantastic location with water views, great lighting, and an upbeat vibe. The soup I had was delicious, and we all enjoyed our cocktails and/or wines. We will definitely be back.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Valentine's Day

Dined on February 15, 2016

Reserved a table for 2@ 8:30 pm on Valentine's Day. The building/entrance is a little odd as its shared with what looks like a cafe/dining hall(?)...anyway, we were seated promptly in the dining room which was a little too bright for the time...felt more school cafeteria, less cozy restaurant. The ceiling lights themselves were cool and different which my husband and I definitely admired. Our server, who I can't address because he didn't tell us his name, was friendly but considering the amount of patrons (or lack there of) service was a bit slow :(...food perhaps the biggest disappointment of all. 0 flavor...zip, zilch, nada. Not the chicken and waffles, not the chopped salad, not the Brussels sprouts & spaghetti squash pizza, not even the burnt Brussels sprouts side order. None of it. Don't hate the restaurant but certainly didn't like it enough to return.

food1
ambience3
service2
value2

Disappointing Experience

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Attended N.E Wine expo on Sunday 2/14 Valentines day. Had 5:00 pm reservation for 4 people and had been looking forward to trying this restaurant. Appetizers were mixed: Steak Tartare was good with a nice presentation. Oysters Rockefeller would have been tasty but came out cold to luke warm. Entrees were uneventful. Gnocchi with short rib beef was bland. Caesar salad was good, but the add on salmon was overcooked. Red Snapper entree was sent back because fish had not been scaled and every bite contained some scales. Later made comment to manager regarding oysters rockefeller being cold and was told that was how they served them- room temp. He also dismissed the fact that the fish scales were problematic but did indicate he would mention it to the kitchen. We eat out frequently, as does the couple we were with, and we all also enjoy cooking. This is the first review I've written where all four entrees were impressive in a negative way, and one of less than a handful of entrees with any issues. It was early enough that we were not bumping up against a Valentine's Day crowd. Would not recommend this restaurant and will not be returning

food5
ambience5
service4

I love this place. Everything is on poin ...

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

I love this place. Everything is on point. Can't go wrong here!

food2
ambience3
service2
value2

When we asked about GF options, the serv ...

Dined on February 12, 2016

When we asked about GF options, the server was quite knowledgeable but also felt super judgemental. The food was mediocre at best. Not likely to return.

food4
ambience3
service5

Gather is great for a drink and snack... ...

Dined on February 11, 2016

Gather is great for a drink and snack....because tables are bar height and noise level is high. Entrees maybe great, but need to try next time. Octopus was very well prepared. Drinks wee creative and great, but pricey.

food5
ambience5
service5

Our new Favorite Place! Enjoyed everyt ...

Dined on February 6, 2016

Our new Favorite Place! Enjoyed everything about Gather. And the ICA next door is a bonus.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great Atmosphere

Dined on January 30, 2016

I went here for a last minute Friday night dinner and was really satisfied. Our waiter was really attentive and personable. We did a hummus app which was different and really enjoyable. I got a friend chicken entree and it was a great comfort food dish. My friend got the steak frites and although the steak was delicious, the meal only came in fries and I thought maybe for the price there should have been an additional side. I got a "Wonka" for my dessert which was a delicious chocolate martini. I would absolutely recommend this place!! The patio looks great when the weather is nice.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, late-night find
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great Seaport Spot

Dined on January 21, 2016

Just stopped for a bite before heading to the ICA. An overall great place--drinks, apps, dinner, dessert--where all very good. And right on the water.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Gather seems to be going downhill

vip
Dined on January 17, 2016

Ive eaten at Gather for lunch and dinner more than 10 times. This last time the food was sub-par, the waitress forgot to put in our order, and the food came out cold. The place wasn't even busy. Very disappointing.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A must-visit restaurant ...

Dined on January 6, 2016

We've been coming to Gather since they opened and we love it every time. Lunch, Dinner, Brunch are always excellent, friendly staff and again, delicious food. The environment is very nice with a welcoming vibe, good music and lively atmosphere.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

A great dining experience

Dined on December 19, 2015

The food was divine . The mango salad was light and delicious . The lamb t bone plate was delectable. The Cornish hen was cooked to perfection, especially liked the mashed potatoes with lobster gravy. The service was impeccable. When I discovered the restaurant didn't have ginger tea as a choice of teas the waitress prepared a homemade ginger tea for my enjoyment. The restaurant ambiance could be improved . The decor could use a bit of a makeover to create a warm romantic feeling. Overall I would highly recommend this restaurant to my "foodie" friends .

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service2

Odd Location with Underwhelming Flavors

Dined on December 6, 2015

The restaurant is located inside what reminds me of coworking space. The building appears mostly to be meeting rooms, small offices, and a larger meeting space, with the restaurant tucked into one corner of the building. While the layout felt strange at least there was a ground-level view out to the bay. My party ordered curry soup, chicken and waffle bites, a crispy pork sandwich, a potato pizza with truffle oil, and jambalaya. All the dishes seemed out of balance: too much truffle taste, too salty, too sweet, or bland. The price is also pretty high for the quality of food. Service was extremely slow, as we waited almost 15 minutes before a waitress came to greet us after we'd been seated.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience3
service4

The duck tacos on the appetizer menu are ...

vip
Dined on November 22, 2015

The duck tacos on the appetizer menu are fantastic, and certainly enough food for a main course. Also, the pulled pork gnocchi is to die for. Cocktails are fantastic and the ambiance is exciting. Truly a hidden gem in the seaport

food4
ambience2
service4

The food at Gather was terrific and our ...

vip
Dined on November 18, 2015

The food at Gather was terrific and our server was extremely personable. It was difficult to get to the ladies room due to the large amount of people in the common space next door. I would check to see if that space was occupied before booking my next reservation because it was also noisy.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find
food5
ambience4
service2

Felicia's review

vip
Dined on November 17, 2015

The restaurant is pretty cool. it shares a space with a REALLY cool community office/meeting area where people from all over come and have meetings, or sit at tables, charging and doing their work, etc. It is a city backed experiment, so free to everyone, and looks like it is big success. Worth going to see it for sure. Gather, the restaurant, has great food. We found our service lacking though. We did have to wave down our waiteress to order and then to get some more drinks (colas). Other than that, it was great.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.