About Gather

75 Northern Ave
Boston, MA 02210
View Larger Map

Voted “Best Restaurant in the Seaport District” by the Improper Bostonian for the last two years, Gather features inventive American fare. Signature dishes include Duck Tacos, Charred Octopus, Jambalaya and Braised Short Rib Gnocchi. Enjoy creative cocktails and an extensive wine list, along with a rotating craft beer selection. Gather is located in Boston’s Innovation Center, District Hall and has views of Boston Harbor along with multiple patios for seasonal al fresco dining and meetups with friends. Gather gift cards are also accepted at Anthem Kitchen + Bar in Faneuil Hall, City Table and City Bar in the Back Bay, and City Bar in the Seaport District.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
BAR
Mon-Wed ‘til 1am
Thurs-Sat ‘til 2am
Sun ‘til 12am

LUNCH/DINNER
Mon-Wed 11:30am – 10pm
Thurs-Fri 11:30am – 11pm
Sat 11am – 11pm
Sun 11am – 10pm

BRUNCH
Sat-Sun 11am - 3pm

Cross Street:
Seaport Boulevard

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 982-7220

Website:
http://www.gatherboston.com/

Parking Details:
Meter parking throughout Seaport Square as well as lot parking for $15-17.

Public Transit:
Silver Line: Courthouse Station
15 minute walk from South Station

Executive Chef:
Dennis Wilson

Private Party Facilities:
Located in Boston’s Home for Innovation, District Hall, Gather features inventive American cuisine by Chef Dennis Wilson. We are able to host events for 10-100 guests, and events for up to 450 guests in all of District Hall.

Private Party Contact:
Sheila Gill: 6179827220x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Gather
Gather

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Gather Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.8

ambience

4.0

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (39)
Good for Groups (26)
Scenic View (26)
See All
Fit for Foodies (22)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Great for Lunch (17)
Hot Spot (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Late-night Find (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Special Occasion (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Casual (5)
People Watching (5)
Waterfront (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Business Meals (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Romantic (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tapas (2)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Authentic (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Family Style (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Great Beer (1)
Seasonal (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Sort By:
Newest
350 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Katherine was great !!!!! She was quick ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined 4 days ago

Katherine was great !!!!! She was quick helpful and pleasant

Tags: Tapas, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was looking forward to trying "Gather" ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

I was looking forward to trying "Gather" this past Thursday night. The concept was interesting and the menu appeared somewhat creative. It was also recommended by my dining companion who had been there one other time for drinks. I was disappointed with the execution.

Their version of the Tuna Tartare was fishy to the point of suspicion. So, we had it taken from the table and were informed that it was a particular dish that had split response from other diners. We were apparently not the first table to prefer other gastronomic ideas. The grilled Octopus was "ok." We also split the braised short rib sage gnocchi which was a saving grace: Flavorful and tasty with the appropriate texture of the gnocchi and balance of short rib. A solid dish but not exceptional in any way. I would recommend the gnocchi. It will be what you expect.

The wine list was sufficient.

The hostess that greeted us at 5:30 was stoic and different from the more cheerful one that said goodbye. The servers were warm and friendly.

The outside patio was an enjoyable place to have meal in the waning summer weather. The inside seemed lively and loud and perhaps more appropriate for "drinks and apps." The bathrooms are an obnoxious, almost fluorescent sea-foam green that wake you up at best and blind you at worst. My advice; hold it if you can or bring your sunglasses. Either way it's an amusing conversation starter.

My experience at "Gather" had some good and some less than positive. However given the options at the Seaport and in Boston in general I would recommend other dining options before Gather.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Tuna tartare, steamers, and the Ahi tuna ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Tuna tartare, steamers, and the Ahi tuna were amazing! We had a great waitress and great location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great spot for dinner with friends or a ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Great spot for dinner with friends or a date! Food and drinks were delicious. Must try the chicken and waffle appetizer.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Great Sunday brunch on the waterfront. E ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great Sunday brunch on the waterfront. Excellent southern style brunch dishes. Pecan pancakes, chicken and waffles and the eggs benny were all very tasty and got 2 thumbs up from me and my family. Got an 11:30am brunch time and was one of the first ones there - surprising, but filled in as the time went by. Fun and different - nice day out for all

Tags: Waterfront, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

First time at Gather, I got the Crab Bis ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

First time at Gather, I got the Crab Bisque and it was delicious and I also got the Chicken Lollipops which were extremely salty. My server Jakiel was great, thanks !

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Great food, good wines! Particularly li ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Great food, good wines! Particularly liked the rockfish. We sat outdoors and it was very pleasant and quieter than inside.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to Gather for dinner before a show. ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Went to Gather for dinner before a show... it was one of the more mediocre dinners I have had in Boston. Outside dining was nice, but the advertised 'views of the harbor' was just a glimpse from far away. Food was overcooked and bland; service was cordial but slow. Overall, not worth a second visit and definitely not worth the price.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Amazing food and drinks. When inquiring ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Amazing food and drinks. When inquiring about the oysters, our waitress stated she didn't like seafood and did not know where the oysters were from. I believe her response was 'some place in Ma.' #serverfail As foodies we were less than happy with that exchange however the oysters ended up being fantastic.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

My friends and I were disappointed with ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

My friends and I were disappointed with our dinner at Gather the other evening. The food was pretty ordinary, not bad, but just okay. The cost, with only one of us drinking a glass of wine, came to $40 each for 3 of us and, for the lackluster presentation and preparation, I have to say the value wasn't there. The service, although friendly enough, was careless....2 spoons for a shared dessert when we were 3 diners; espresso arriving without spoons, sweetener, etc; table not wiped off when the dinner plates were removed. We won't be back and we can't recommend Gather.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Average at Best. Good was over-priced a ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Average at Best. Good was over-priced and was not high quality. Pizza was dry and bland. Cobb salad was good, oysters were fresh but just served with industrial cocktail sauce and a lemon wedge. The lemon in my water glass was about 6 months old - brown and wilted.... Gross! If you're going to charge the prices that you do you need to have higher quality food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Such a great find! Felt like I was in h ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Such a great find! Felt like I was in hidden gem amongst the bustling Seaport area. Can't ever go wrong with comfort good with a gourmet twist! Will come again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Lots of energy in this happening place. ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Lots of energy in this happening place. The service and food were really good. We'll be back.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food; noise volume is moderate. Se ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great food; noise volume is moderate. Server was nice!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waitress was spread too thin. Bussed tab ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Waitress was spread too thin. Bussed tables that had left before clearing ours. We sat w finished dishes until we flaggef a busboy over to clear pur table

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Neat location in South Boston's Seaport ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Neat location in South Boston's Seaport district. Creative menu connected to an imaginative workspace

Tags: Scenic View, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

food and cocktails were great! Our waite ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

food and cocktails were great! Our waiter was also fabulous!!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Sat outdoors on a beautiful night- great ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Sat outdoors on a beautiful night- great location and a nice view from the patio. Hostess was kind to sit us before our 8pm reservation. Server was attentive and friendly. The food was as expected, nothing spectacular, but we were there more for drinks and the view anyway.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Gather is a great restaurant! Good drink ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Gather is a great restaurant! Good drinks, delicious food, and a great location with a lot of seating, so you rarely have to wait long for a table.

They have reasonably priced food in a neighborhood that is predominately pretty expensive.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The goat cheese pizza was delicious. My ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

The goat cheese pizza was delicious. My cocktail was disappointing. The outside patio was a great view of the harbor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Great, quiet out of the way eating spot. ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Great, quiet out of the way eating spot. Lovely outdoor space by the water.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I love gather but this experience was di ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

I love gather but this experience was disappointing. The restaurant was pretty quiet but our food took forever and most came out cold. Waitress was sweet but not great. Considering this is a regular stop for us we aren't deterred, just an off night, but still not ideal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

I had the burger! It was cooked perfect ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I had the burger! It was cooked perfectly. Hit the spot. We sat outside. It was great! Service was timely and attentive to our needs. I'd go again! 👍

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was good, but not unique enough ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The food was good, but not unique enough for the high price - the appetizer hummus plate was far too expensive.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Not worth the money. Sangria was watere ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Not worth the money. Sangria was watered down. Lobster roll-lobster was good, but served on a stale roll with a half-full side of apple slaw. Seriously, was the kitchen paying attention to the plates that went out. Would you eat a stale toasted roll? Other party had trout, cooked well, but bland, completely bland. Only bright spot was the chicken and waffles appetizer. Too many choices in Boston to bother with this one again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

The food was ordinary. I had a lobster s ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

The food was ordinary. I had a lobster salad made with iceberg lettuce. Not a very interesting dressing. The tables were not especially clean. The waiter was inattentive. The drinks were watery This restaurant is truly overrated!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Food is always great!

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Food is always great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

Arrived for a 12:30 lunch on a Tuesday - ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Arrived for a 12:30 lunch on a Tuesday - sat outside, and WAITED. 20 minutes, no server. My friend notified the hostess. We waited some more. Tables all around us were being served. My friend wen inside to speak to that hostess - finally, a server! "Sorry about the confusion," we were told. We're not clear what was confusing - that we wanted to eat? That we had managed to escape our offices on a lunch break and had limited time? The food was fine but I don't recommend it if you have a time deadline - this was my 4th lunch there, definitely the worst service, but the service has never been stellar or quick at lunchtime. I am probably going to avoid it from now on.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

The food was delicious, awesome service ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

The food was delicious, awesome service and quite the view!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was good, nothing special. The ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The food was good, nothing special. The concrete floor means that every dropped dish will shatter and there was so much of that when we visited. The outdoor dining looked great but then the weather didn't cooperate but if the weather is nice, it would be lovely. Our server was very good.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Reasonably priced for the area but the f ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Reasonably priced for the area but the food and the service isn't anything to write home about. Would come back here for a drink on the patio and head somewhere else for dinner.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Good food at reasonable prices for the a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Good food at reasonable prices for the area

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

We selected Gather because of the menu a ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We selected Gather because of the menu and outdoor sitting. Unfortunately it was a cooler night so outdoor was not optimal. The pan roasted salmon was excellent.

Definitely would go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Cool vibe. Terrible service. Waited alm ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Cool vibe. Terrible service. Waited almost 40 min for beverages. Consulted with manager and he had to come from somewhere to meet in front. He apologized but never saw him again. Tables all around us sat empty full of dirty dishes. One of our entrees was never ordered so it came out late. Overall needs better management and better service. Lots of kinks to work out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

The food was great, unfortunately the se ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The food was great, unfortunately the service did not match the food. Would still recommend for a fun spot to go out!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

I enjoyed the food but it was way too no ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

I enjoyed the food but it was way too noisy. I had to shout just to speak to my friend sitting next to me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

it was delicious. cocktails were great. ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

it was delicious. cocktails were great. definite go to spot in seaport.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

cool ambiance, but food and service were ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

cool ambiance, but food and service were awful! never going back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Food is excellent here. Sitting outside ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Food is excellent here. Sitting outside is a bit frustrating due to all the construction traffic. It will be much better in a year or so.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Sort of a strange set up being attached ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Sort of a strange set up being attached to some sort of office/co-working space, but a nice view from outside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.