About Gaspar Brasserie

185 Sutter Street
San Francisco, CA 94104
View Larger Map

Named Best French Bistro by San Francisco Magazine, Gaspar is a French brasserie offering modern mid-20th century Parisian style. Chef Adam Nichol offers a menu of approachable French classics updated to showcase the Bay Area's freshest ingredients. At lunch and dinner, Gaspar offers an escape from the bustling downtown. From steak frites and a famous burger to seared foie gras and fresh seafood featured on our all day menu, Gaspar offers French flair without being intimidating.

On Saturday evenings, enjoy live jazz and vintage cocktails in our upstairs dining room or cozy Cognac room - a destination of its own for San Francisco's largest selection of brandy cocktails.

On weekday afternoons from 4-6pm, social hour offers $1 oysters and an extensive selection of bites to share.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
All day Menu:
Monday thru Friday 11:30 am to 10 pm
Saturday 5:30 to 10 pm

Social Hour:
Monday-Friday 4:00pm-6:00pm

Cross Street:
Kearny St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 576-8800

Website:
http://gasparbrasserie.com/

Entertainment:
We're featuring live jazz on Saturday nights from 7 to 10pm.

Catering:
For unique dining experiences and special events, please contact Victoria at victoria.kreckler@aubonrepas.com or (415) 738-8045.

Parking Details:
The White House Garage located at 223 Sutter St, or the Post Montgomery Center at 120 Kearny Street are two convenient parking locations near by.

Public Transit:
Gaspar is conveniently located 2 blocks from the Montgomery BART Station, and the Number 3, 30, and 45 Muni stops.

Executive Chef:
Adam Nichol

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Follow us on facebook to find out about our special offsite and onsite events! facebook.com/gasparbrasserie.com

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Table Settings - Gaspar Brasserie, San Francisco, CA
Wall Art - Gaspar Brasserie, San Francisco, CA
Bar - Gaspar Brasserie, San Francisco, CA
Cognac Room - Gaspar Brasserie, San Francisco, CA
Upstairs Dining - Gaspar Brasserie, San Francisco, CA
Upstairs Dining - Gaspar Brasserie, San Francisco, CA
Downstairs Dining - Gaspar Brasserie, San Francisco, CA
Upstairs Dining - Gaspar Brasserie, San Francisco, CA
Cognac Room - Gaspar Brasserie, San Francisco, CA
Happy Hour Sign - Gaspar Brasserie, San Francisco, CA
Restaurant - Gaspar Brasserie, San Francisco, CA
Restaurant Sign - Gaspar Brasserie, San Francisco, CA
Steamed Pei Mussels - Gaspar Brasserie, San Francisco, CA
Steamed Pei Mussels - Gaspar Brasserie, San Francisco, CA
Steamed Pei Mussels - Gaspar Brasserie, San Francisco, CA
Steamed Pei Mussels - Gaspar Brasserie, San Francisco, CA
Pate Maison - Gaspar Brasserie, San Francisco, CA
Pate Maison - Gaspar Brasserie, San Francisco, CA
Pate Maison - Gaspar Brasserie, San Francisco, CA
Pate Maison - Gaspar Brasserie, San Francisco, CA
Duck Confit - Gaspar Brasserie, San Francisco, CA
Duck Confit - Gaspar Brasserie, San Francisco, CA
Duck Confit - Gaspar Brasserie, San Francisco, CA
Duck Confit - Gaspar Brasserie, San Francisco, CA
Mussels - Gaspar Brasserie, San Francisco, CA
Strawberry Macarons - Gaspar Brasserie, San Francisco, CA
Strawberry Macarons - Gaspar Brasserie, San Francisco, CA
Strawberry Macarons - Gaspar Brasserie, San Francisco, CA
Strawberry Macarons - Gaspar Brasserie, San Francisco, CA
Smoked Salmon Crepes - Gaspar Brasserie, San Francisco, CA
Place Settings - Gaspar Brasserie, San Francisco, CA
Smoked Salmon Crepes - Gaspar Brasserie, San Francisco, CA
Smoked Salmon Crepes - Gaspar Brasserie, San Francisco, CA
Smoked Salmon Crepes - Gaspar Brasserie, San Francisco, CA
Absinthe Dispenser - Gaspar Brasserie, San Francisco, CA
Cocktail Cart - Gaspar Brasserie, San Francisco, CA
Champagne Collection - Gaspar Brasserie, San Francisco, CA
Cognac Room Back Bar - Gaspar Brasserie, San Francisco, CA
Cocktails - Gaspar Brasserie, San Francisco, CA
Cocktail Cart Whiskey - Gaspar Brasserie, San Francisco, CA
Mussels Plating - Gaspar Brasserie, San Francisco, CA
Bartender - Gaspar Brasserie, San Francisco, CA
Chef - Gaspar Brasserie, San Francisco, CA
Table Settings - Gaspar Brasserie, San Francisco, CA
Rooster - Gaspar Brasserie, San Francisco, CA
Rooster - Gaspar Brasserie, San Francisco, CA
Details - Gaspar Brasserie, San Francisco, CA

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Transport your private event to Paris. Gaspar Brasserie offers two levels of mid-century French elegance, each with a distinctive personality. Celebrate over lunch, gather around the bar after-work, or linger over a multi-course dinner. Private and semi-private spaces for groups of 20 to 120.

Gaspar Brasserie Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (20)
Romantic (18)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
See All
Special Occasion (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Business Meals (13)
Cozy (12)
Bar Seating (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Authentic (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Live Music (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Seasonal (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Casual (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Fun (3)
Historic (3)
Tapas (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Scenic View (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
313 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Dinner on Saturday night was delicious! ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 7 days ago

Dinner on Saturday night was delicious! My French 75 was both strong and refreshing. I had the short run for dinner and it was amazing. The vert sauce was a great addition to the tender meat. My husband had the scallops, and they were very good. Although there were about 3-4 scallops, each one was plump and packed full of flavor. Dessert was the pot de créme, and that was absolutely delicious. It wasn't too rich, and the balance of the salt from the crispy topping and sweet was wonderful. We also had the table side coffee, which was divine! The coffee has orange peels, cloves, cognac, and orange liqueur. Amazing is an understatement for how well-balanced that cup of coffee was. Overall, Gaspar was a great find in the city! Service was outstanding from everyone we came in contact with. Cheers!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Live Music, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful 16th birthday celebra ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We had a wonderful 16th birthday celebration for my goddaughter - the oysters were fresh and just perfect, the fois gras was delicious, the short ribs were sinful, and the pot de creme was chocolate both creamy and a little bit of crunch on top. Everyone else loved their meal too, and it felt festive and special. The staff were warm and solicitous and met all our requests (we kept adding dishes, it was so good!). Definitely a find.

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were planning on a quick meal before ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 12, 2017

We were planning on a quick meal before a show but were having such a good experience that we stayed longer than planned and missed part of the show. Enjoyed wonderful apple and pear based cocktails with the little gems salad and pork belly. Then had a great bottle of red wine from Minervois which complimented our braised leg of lamb and bavette steak very well. Followed that with the chocolate pot de creme and foie gras crème brûlée and the flambéed Cognac cocktail for two. Looking forward to returning soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Skip the octapus appetizer Duck confit ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Skip the octapus appetizer

Duck confit is truly excellent

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Most notable is the wonderful atmosphere ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Most notable is the wonderful atmosphere - warm, comfortable, stylish, all with a French flare. The handcrafted cocktails were pretty good but not great (Old Fashion with cognac), but the food was superb. The beef short-rib melted in your mouth and was a delicious broth, and the scallops were meaty yet tender. Even the starter of a simple blue cheese with apples and wine was fantastic. To top it off was our excellent server who was attentive, funny and quite knowledgeable about nightlife in the area. Definitely work another visit or 2 or 20!

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic service. Great wine list. Cool ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Fantastic service. Great wine list. Cool, fun, retro bar.

Tags: Business Meals, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best part was our server. She was a ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The best part was our server. She was a consummate professional with impeccable cadence in when she would check in on us between our courses and in her awareness of what our needs might be. The courses from start to finish were wonderful. The only plate that was overweight was the oysters were suffocated jn foam and relish. Still good, but sometimes you just need to leave the oysters alone.

I did have to go down to the Host from the bar area to request sear as he did not come up to check on me 6 minutes past my reservation time.

The jazz trio was a delightful touch. The cost was very fair considering it was NYE and almost every other restaurant was charging Way top much money to let people in.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Amazing Food and Service. This was the f ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Amazing Food and Service. This was the first time I've had dinner at Gaspars and I will be back. The Atmosphere, Food, Service and Ambiance were all a 10+.

Great Location and welcoming staff. I can't wait to go back.

Thank you to all our wonderful servers and of course the chef.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Seasonal, Historic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pricey for lunch. No energy. Basically e ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Pricey for lunch. No energy. Basically empty and service was slow and off. Food was just fair. My second shot and I will not return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

The flounder and the scallops were so de ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The flounder and the scallops were so delicious! The pear clafoutis and the chocolate pots de creme were very good! The service was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Preface my review 12/24/16 to say that I ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Preface my review 12/24/16 to say that I have dined at Gasbar several times, lunch & dinner, and found it to be a "special" place, both the food, the service & specially the ambience. It was quiet enough to talk, and a food server that identified the slow pace that we wanted. SO, choosing Gasbar for Christmas dinner seemed perfect. Unfortunately this Christmas Eve, we were kept waiting for our table (ab out 15 mins), it was not the corner as I requested, but squeezed in between others, then we moved to other side, where our middle table was lest crowded. That was better until a family with a BOUNCING 5 year old was seated next to us. I was on the bench seat next to the little girl and every time she was up & down, (many times) , and simply "bouncing" on the seat, I was bounced too. That was uncomfortable and finally I had to ask the parents to rein her in. Not very Christmassy of me. The other disappointment was that the server was very hurried. We ordered a bottle of champagne, which was set on the table. Very crowed for a meal. I asked for a wine holder stand, but was told you do not have any. Maybe the server could have held it to the side, and brought it to the table to pour. He did not offer, rather acted annoyed. So between the bouncing girl, and a rushed service, and cramped table, our diner was not particularly enjoyable. Still I hope to return, perhaps on a less busy evening.

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We arrived early for our 7:30pm reservat ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We arrived early for our 7:30pm reservation, and had to wait a half hour for our table. The wine and drinks were good. One of our guests order was never taken and we shared our meal with him. I ordered duck confit, and came out burnt. I sent it back, and the waiter came back and said" That is the way we do duck confit" . Duck confit should be moist and come off the bone with ease.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Christmas Eve dinner-service was impecca ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Christmas Eve dinner-service was impeccable. Delicious food and wine

Tags: Live Music, Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Gaspar was amaaaaazing. We had an absolu ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Gaspar was amaaaaazing. We had an absolute blast and the food was phenomenal. Eating here was a treat and the menu is full of creative and delicious flavor combinations. On top of that, and rare for a French restaurant, the service was incredible. They were attentive and knowledgeable . The ambiance was authentically French with a quiet environment - I did happen to have a toddler sitting next to me crawling all over everything and staring right at my face, but I seemed to be the only one having this experience, so I was more than willing to give it a pass.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were at Gaspar Brasserie to celebrate ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We were at Gaspar Brasserie to celebrate a friend's birthday. The service was notable - the maitre d' and the waitstaff all remembered to make speical note of my friend's birthday, and brought a dessert with a candle without prompting. They were quite solicitous and it made for a fine evening. The food & cocktails were very tasty. A wonderful dining experience!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Happy Hour, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

every visit is memorable, they are so go ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 16, 2016

every visit is memorable, they are so good at making your dining experience comfortable and pleasant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Cozy, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have visited this place for many times, ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Have visited this place for many times, never been disappointed.

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful service and the food was exqui ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Wonderful service and the food was exquisite

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service, awesome food. Good for da ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Great service, awesome food. Good for dates or (small) group events.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another wonderful evening with clients a ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Another wonderful evening with clients at Gaspar! This was my fifth time eating at Gaspar and it continues to be a favorite. The restaurant has a great feel, fantastic food, attentive service and great value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Gaspar is a very attractive restaurant, ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Gaspar is a very attractive restaurant, a fine-dining setting at bistro prices. The service was better than some of the service I've had in three-star $200-a-head fine dining restaurants. The entire staff was congenial, helpful, amusing and very skilled. The food was exceptionally good; only one small complaint, the steak we had was very sinewy, though the entire dish was good otherwise. The other dishes we ordered: the beignets de morue, the poulpe and the brussels sprouts were all lick-the-plate delicious. The prices are very reasonable, especially for the exceptional quality of the dishes. I'm looking for another opportunity to return as soon as possible!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Very French menu -- classic brasserie di ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Very French menu -- classic brasserie dishes mingled with the kinds of modern dishes that Paris brasseries and bistros actually serve these days. Decor a little over the top -- sort of 1920s Paris -- but comfortable. Excellent first courses -- potato/leek soup that was creamy, smoky, delicious; rich, satisfying beef marrow served in the bone with a sort of gremolata; and unctuous foie gras. Mains a little less successful -- an excellent lamb stew, but the duck confit was a bit dry and the beef short ribs, while very good in themselves, were accompanied by bland vegetables swimming in fat. The long wine list has a good selection of by the glass, although not as many French wines as one might expect, and the pours are generous. Expensive -- lunch for three was $190 before tip, and that's one glass of wine each and no dessert. Overall, nice ambience, excellent service, but not sure it's value for money.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

We loved everything! Great beet salad, s ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We loved everything! Great beet salad, steak frites and pistachio ice cream Live jazz by great musicians was an added bonus!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is always excellent. This time ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 2, 2016

The food is always excellent. This time it was too noisy, large groups upstairs so we had to sit downstairs

Service there was a bit off.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We met friends that we see only once a y ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 30, 2016

We met friends that we see only once a year or less, since we live on the East Coast and they are from Palo Alto.

We were put upstairs where we had a quiet table, great for talking for hours!

Started with something I have never tried before, roasted bone marrow. Were given two large bones. If I hadn't shared

with my husband it would have been too much for an appetizer. They were excellent. Very flavorful, had many tasty spices.

Ordered lamb shoulder, tender and had many roasted veggies included. For dessert had pot d'cream. They added different textures

(Cookie crumbs) and coffee cream. Nice experience for my tongue and tastebuds😉

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent food and even better service! ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Excellent food and even better service! Everything about the meal was impressive. We were well taken care of from start to finish.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gaspard on a Wednesday night. Quiet down ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Gaspard on a Wednesday night. Quiet downstairs where we were, though spectacularly noisy upstairs, due to a large party. The hostess and downstairs staff treated us like visiting royalty, which was lovely. We had the server/bartender pretty much to ourselves. He was delightful. The meal however came up short in the food department. We both had roasted chicken and brussels sprouts, and found them to be well prepared and spectacularly salty. I am assuming the kitchen was having an "off" night, given that previous meals at Gaspard have been good.

Tags: Comfort Food, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

We love the croque monsieur. Dessert was ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 15, 2016

We love the croque monsieur. Dessert was very good, service always. There was a misunderstanding with our reservation but open table and Gaspar took care of it very quickly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amateurish service. Run by untrained st ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Amateurish service. Run by untrained staff. Was such a bad service experience. Favorite was the bartender that complained about ordering a cocktail on the cocktail menu because it had "a lot of steps and would take long to make."

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Well executed contemporary Cal-French. W ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Well executed contemporary Cal-French. We sat downstairs in a comfy corner table. Attentive service. Short but well appointed menu and wine list. Foie gros was wonderful. Sauces tasty. well done.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We went to gaspar for an anniversary and ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We went to gaspar for an anniversary and birthday celebration (table for 2) and the experience was wonderful. Our waitress was fun, friendly and knowledgeable and the food was some of the best I've ever eaten. 10/10 would come back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The decor is so beautiful- first thing t ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The decor is so beautiful- first thing to notice. The attention to detail the great waitstaff provided from the moment we sat down was notable as well. Jorge was our server, and was attentive, personable and very accommodating.

We started with the Brussels Sprouts which were amazing! I'd come back just for those! Then the salad had such an unusually delightful dressing. I ordered the mussels and they were just perfect. My brother ordered the short rib which I got a taste of and will order in the future. The steak frites were perfection, and my dad loved the scallops. He said it was the best meal he's had in San Francisco yet!

We sat upstairs which is lovely, most likely a bit more quiet than below. We had a wonderful meal before the Symphony. It made for a memorable night.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Live Music, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Authentic, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My go-to place for a business lunch. Ca ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 2, 2016

My go-to place for a business lunch. Can't miss.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Attentive and personable servers. The me ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Attentive and personable servers. The menu had some creativity, but seemed a bit limited. Not wowed, but not disappointed. Definitely a pleasant and comfortable setting for chatting with the boss, who was a foodie.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Every dish is designed and executed with ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Every dish is designed and executed with perfection.

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I've eaten at Gaspar for lunch on severa ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 12, 2016

I've eaten at Gaspar for lunch on several occasions. The food is generally very good, and the service has been spotty. This last lunch, however, was fabulous! We had the most attentive and helpful server and every dish we ordered was delicious. It would be nice to see more consistency in their service especially. But I do recommend the restaurant for lunch.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food and excellent service! Will d ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Great food and excellent service! Will definitely visit again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unfortunately this was the worst meal we ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Unfortunately this was the worst meal we had during our weekend in San Francisco.

Service was unprofessional and food was poorly prepared. The steak that was ordered medium rare was delivered rare and cold as were the frites with which it was served. My fish was over salted. No one in our party of four was particularly happy with their meal. SF has so many fine restaurants we were truly disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

BEEN TWICE NOW AND PLAN ONGOING AGAIN SO ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 2, 2016

BEEN TWICE NOW AND PLAN ONGOING AGAIN SOON. THE FOOD IS AMAZING AND THE SERVICE IS OUTSTANDING. THEY DEFINATELY GO THE EXTRA MILE FOR THEIR PATRONS!!!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Historic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a large group and we had an event ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We had a large group and we had an event to attend. They were fabulous. Good was delicious. Live Jazz was amazing and a rare treat these days! Service was phenomenal and they were packed, so they were flying around but never missed a detail.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.