About Gaspar Brasserie

185 Sutter Street
San Francisco, CA 94104
View Larger Map

Named Best French Bistro by San Francisco Magazine, Gaspar is a French brasserie offering modern mid-20th century Parisian style. Chef Adam Nichol offers a menu of approachable French classics updated to showcase the Bay Area's freshest ingredients. At lunch and dinner, Gaspar offers an escape from the bustling downtown. From steak frites and a famous burger at lunch to the signature panisse cakes and fresh seafood featured at dinner, Gaspar offers French flair without being intimidating.

On Saturday evenings, our downstairs dining room features live jazz, vintage cocktails and an additional prix fixe menu inspired by classic Parisian jazz clubs. (Our full menu is also available.)

For a more casual experience, visit the upstairs Cognac Room, a destination of its own for San Francisco's largest selection of brandy cocktails and bar menu of appealing bites. On weekday afternoons from 4-7, social hour offers $1 oysters and a full bar food menu.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
All day Menu:
Monday thru Friday 11:30 am to 10 pm
Saturday 5:30 to 10 pm

Social Hour:
Monday-Friday 4:00pm-7:00pm

Cross Street:
Kearny St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 576-8800

Website:
http://gasparbrasserie.com/

Entertainment:
We're featuring live jazz on Saturday nights from 7 to 10pm.

Catering:
For unique dining experiences and special events, please contact Victoria at victoria.kreckler@aubonrepas.com or (415) 738-8045.

Parking Details:
The White House Garage located at 223 Sutter St, or the Post Montgomery Center at 120 Kearny Street are two convenient parking locations near by.

Public Transit:
Gaspar is conveniently located 2 blocks from the Montgomery BART Station, and the Number 3, 30, and 45 Muni stops.

Executive Chef:
Adam Nichol

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Follow us on facebook to find out about our special offsite and onsite events! facebook.com/gasparbrasserie.com

Restaurant Photos

Gaspar Brasserie
Gaspar Brasserie
Gaspar Brasserie
Gaspar Brasserie
Gaspar Brasserie
Gaspar Brasserie
Gaspar Brasserie
Gaspar Brasserie
Gaspar Brasserie
Gaspar Brasserie
Gaspar Brasserie
Gaspar Brasserie
Gaspar Brasserie
Gaspar Brasserie
Gaspar Brasserie
Gaspar Brasserie
Gaspar Brasserie
Gaspar Brasserie
Gaspar Brasserie
Gaspar Brasserie
Gaspar Brasserie
Gaspar Brasserie
Gaspar Brasserie
Gaspar Brasserie
Gaspar Brasserie
Gaspar Brasserie
Gaspar Brasserie
Gaspar Brasserie
Gaspar Brasserie
Gaspar Brasserie
Gaspar Brasserie
Gaspar Brasserie
Gaspar Brasserie
Gaspar Brasserie
Gaspar Brasserie
Gaspar Brasserie
Gaspar Brasserie
Gaspar Brasserie
Gaspar Brasserie
Gaspar Brasserie
Gaspar Brasserie
Gaspar Brasserie
Gaspar Brasserie
Gaspar Brasserie
Gaspar Brasserie
Gaspar Brasserie
Gaspar Brasserie
Gaspar Brasserie

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Fri 11:30AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:30PM 8:15PM - 10:00PM

Sat 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Transport your private event to Paris. Gaspar Brasserie offers two levels of mid-century French elegance, each with a distinctive personality. Celebrate over lunch, gather around the bar after-work, or linger over a multi-course dinner. Private and semi-private spaces for groups of 20 to 120.

Gaspar Brasserie Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (26)
Special Occasion (19)
Romantic (18)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Great for Lunch (14)
Good for Groups (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Notable Wine List (7)
Business Meals (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Good for a Date (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Authentic (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Cozy (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Scenic View (1)
Late-night Find (1)
People Watching (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Live Music (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Fun (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sort By:
Newest
272 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Small, intimate bar upstairs with a grea ...

 
 (London)
·Dined 5 days ago

Small, intimate bar upstairs with a great happy hour. Main dining room offers great bistro food with exceptional service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This is my 6th visit to Gaspar. Five out ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

This is my 6th visit to Gaspar. Five out of the six visits were for business lunches. Highly recommend this location.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fine dining in the French tradition is w ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Fine dining in the French tradition is what's offered at this upscale, very beautifully appointed restaurant. Prices are steep (a recent lunch for two, with a shared appetizer two entrees and a half carafe of wine was in the $100 range), and for the money, I would have preferred a quieter setting, but the menu is inventive, the ingredients are of high quality and the waitstaff was well trained. The restaurant is on two levels. My friend and I had a nice corner table upstairs, where we began our lunch with stuffed squash blossoms, nice, but a bit bland. Her chicken dish was excellent; my ling cod was good, not really hot enough, and a little fussy, with too many competing flavors detracting from the delicate fish. I wish I'd opted for the simpler fish dish offered on the menu. Service was courteous and very efficient.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

The food was excellent, and the ambiance ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The food was excellent, and the ambiance with the live music was really lovely. Would recommend to small groups of friends or couples.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We were party of 5 and everyone enjoyed ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

We were party of 5 and everyone enjoyed their meal. Only miss was the scallop. Thats not a typo... You get one scallop for $14

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Thank you Gaspar Brasserie for being ope ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Thank you Gaspar Brasserie for being open for a late business lunch. We thoroughly enjoyed our lunch and it was quiet - we could talk, and hear each other. The server was sweet, and the food was very good. I had the very generous side of shishito peppers and duck confit - both done well. My husband had oysters and duck confit, and our friend had the short rib and soup de jour. The ambience and the fact that we could be comfortable and talk/hear each other was fabulous. I would highly recommend Gaspar Brasserie for it's quiet casual elegance, and sweet service, and good food.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Gaspar was a great restaurant. I did not ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Gaspar was a great restaurant. I did not catch the name of the young French man at the host stand but he was very helpful helping me change my reservation & remembered me by name when I came back 2 hours later. Service was great , food was delicious and the jazz band very enjoyable. Probably would have enjoyed even more if I was not that tired by a whole day touring the city :)

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was very attentive. However, the ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Service was very attentive. However, the food was merely okay. I don't know how they managed it, but the bone marrow appetizer with anchovies and capers was remarkably bland; I could not detect any anchovies. I expected a real flavor punch from this dish and didn't get it. As a main, I had the lamb, which although very tasty, was fairly tough. On top of the food issue, of the 4 Pinot Noirs listed on the menu, only two were available. The 'sommelier' suggested a wine that was nice and elegant, but it didn't really hold up to the boldness of the lamb. A richer, more full-bodied Pinot would have been a better choice (had it been available). All in all, a bit disappointing. There are so many really good restaurant options in the city. I wouldn't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

For an out-of-town guest and old friend, ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

For an out-of-town guest and old friend, plus a spouse who has certain dietary restrictions, I chose Gaspar Brasserie as a potential restaurant the three of us could enjoy. The menu had good food for everyone. The ambience was perfect for the long conversation we were able to have. The wine selection was well paired with the menu selection. I had the bisque starter and the short ribs, paired with a Medoc Cabernet. For dessert I had the pot de creme. The bisque came with a pastry covering and was very good although slightly saltier than I like. Everything else was perfect. The staff were engaging and timed the arrival of dishes well. We will be back soon!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Easy-to-get-to Financial District locati ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Easy-to-get-to Financial District location. It's a two-story venue, suggest top floor for ambience/quietness. Prices are similar to most upper grade SF restaurants. Menu is all a la carte.

Appetizers include frog legs and beignet, good flavors, portions could be larger.

Mussels are very large sized, enough for an entrée.FFD

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food as usual! We went for dinner ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great food as usual! We went for dinner with some out-of-towners. Friends loved the live jazz.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Go on Fridays for live jazz! Very romant ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Go on Fridays for live jazz! Very romantic spot with great atmosphere!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

We dined on Tuesday night, the lamb and ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

We dined on Tuesday night, the lamb and the lingcod were delicious but our hope for a quiet dinner was dashed by 3 large groups that contributed to deafening noise level. Service a little absent minded - brought out mussels (tiny) without a bowl for the shells, dessert without spoon, took a long time to get our server's attention for our check.

When we left the upstairs dining room, we found that the ground floor dining room was nice and quiet. We should have been seated here since I asked for quiet space and Gaspar had known that they had 3 large parties upstairs.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

This was our third visit. On the first t ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

This was our third visit. On the first two visits (just two of us), the experience was exceptional. Great food, friendly attentive service, reasonable prices. We decided to bring some friends who were visiting from out of town. Unfortunately, this time, the service was spotty and overall poor. The waiter brought our water and only filled one of the guests' glasses, ignoring the rest of the table. Bread was never served or offered. It took forever to get our entres - and when we did, only four out of five arrive. The fifth took more than ten minutes more making everyone else's dinner cold. Not sure what the problem was. There was no explanation or apology;.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

If you like coffee, be sure to try the f ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

If you like coffee, be sure to try the flaming cognac coffee drink they prepare for you and right in front of your eyes!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food and our server was supe ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Outstanding food and our server was super attentive and caring. Will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Chicken was dry. I didn't like the bread ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Chicken was dry. I didn't like the breadcrumbs with the bone marrow, took away flavor from marrow. Duck leg confit and tomato bisque were excellent tho.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Quite French in menu and style. We had n ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Quite French in menu and style. We had not been here before. Went on Bastille Day (disappointed that there was no concession at all to French music and no playing of the Marseillaise). Interesting and good tomato soup; enormous and excellent salads(green and beet)..one is sufficient for 2 people; perfect oysters. The only disappointment was the Coquilles which we both had. Astonishingly and unpleasant salty. Tasty Alsatian Riesling.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Very responsive serving staff and good r ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Very responsive serving staff and good recommendations on the meal choices by our server for a business meeting. Delicious fillet of flounder.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Food and service were excellent. I've e ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Food and service were excellent. I've eaten lunch here an thoroughly enjoyed. Had a business colleague in from out town and took her for dinner. She has put it on her "got to go back" list.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had a lunch meeting at Gaspar. My col ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

I had a lunch meeting at Gaspar. My colleague and I both ordered salads and they were great - good ingredients and large portions. Any bar that serves espresso also gets a check mark in my book! Very convenient for downtown lunch meetings off the beaten path. Table was quite and service was great.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great find! Even though it was early be ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Great find! Even though it was early because of a theatre date, the atmosphere was dynamic. Would not order tomato bisque en croute again because the soup itself was much too acidic. We asked for milk which really helped. The salad was great as was the flounder.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

The Ma Cherie was a little too sour lemo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The Ma Cherie was a little too sour lemony for me but I absolutely loved the tempura fried squash blossoms with salt cod and tarragon aioli. I could have eaten 3 more plates of just that alone!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Went with coworkers for a team lunch. Pl ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Went with coworkers for a team lunch. Place is right by our office so we chose it out of convenience. Food was good. I had the burger and it was delicious. Fries were good. Others had the tomato bisque which looked excellent. Service was a little slow for lunch time, but it was a bit busy. Would recommend for a good lunch or a happy hour post work, for sure.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Went to Gaspar Brasserie for my friend's ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Went to Gaspar Brasserie for my friend's birthday and we were both very happy he chose it. We enjoyed some fresh oysters to start, I had the wild flounder and he had the duck confit. Both dishes were great and the wine we chose (my chard and his merlot) were perfect. The dessert menu didn't excite us so we skipped that but in honor of his birthday our helpful and efficient waitress took the price of his drink off the bill. I imagine that it can be a noisy place but it was relatively quiet the night we were there. We also had a corner table overlooking Sutter Street. All in all, a very nice experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was disappointing, everything over ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Food was disappointing, everything overly salted and mundane. The service however was very good.

Sorry but will not go on the "would return" list with so many other options in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

This place is a find. Excellent French ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

This place is a find. Excellent French food in a very inviting setting. We shared three appetizers - and loved them all. The steak tartare was especially delicious. Our dinners were equally good. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was great

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

It was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Duck confit was so delicious- with a fri ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Duck confit was so delicious- with a frisee salad and poached egg. Pot de creme was also so good with diffrent textures- not your usual pot de creme. Great for lunch as it is quieter than for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Dining

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Perfect place to meet, discuss business, and have an excellent meal. Staff is non-intrusive, which is appreciated. Great place.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not worth it

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Poor value. Overpriced particularly the wine list. Food is mediocre at best. The server was incredibly ignorant and poorly trained.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Great bar, great food. Terrific service

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Great bar, great food. Terrific service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Gaspar Brasserie was our third and final ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Gaspar Brasserie was our third and final stop for the evening, finishing with a delectable selection of paté, delicious cognac cocktails and the best lobster bisque we've ever had. Also, be sure to try the beet salad and don't forget the desert!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

excellent food and service. good wine l ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

excellent food and service. good wine list at a reasonable price including French red.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A great place, excellent food!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

A great place, excellent food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food is French. Manager is French. Waite ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Food is French. Manager is French. Waiter very knowledgeable. Jazz in background. It was actually like being in France without the overnight plane ride. I'd go back in a heartbeat. I'd like to try going to the bar once where the live music is. The upstairs is comme la belle France. It was a bit expensive but less that a plane ticket, so I shouldn't complain!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

My friend and I both ordered the Ma Cher ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

My friend and I both ordered the Ma Cherie cocktail, which had a very refreshing balance between the lime and hibiscus tea.

We shared with frog legs (juicy, flavorful and crispy), grilled octopus (unexpectedly pleasant, non-chewy texture), oysters (so fresh!), and tartare (so good...not too much horseradish, and the quail egg makes it).

Last we had dessert, the fois gras creme brulee. Oh my goodness, I've never tasted anything so smooth. This was a truly beautiful dessert and the mint leaves added a wonderfully fresh flavor to the usual rich, creaminess of the custard. We also had the pot de creme. It was so smooth and chocolatey. I loved the addition of the little crunchy chocolate nibbles on top. Perfect texture play.

Would definitely return. I want to try the charcuterie and cheese boards.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Friendly service

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Besides the service, which was most friendly, this is at best an average restaurant in our experience. My friend and I both ordered the steak frites; therefore, our rating of this establishment is based on a single, limited exposure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

This was our engagement night. So I knew ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

This was our engagement night. So I knew we would be treated well at Gaspar. However the steak was far from medium (was practically rare and very chewy).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Fantastic! Can't wait to return!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Romantic ambiance, nice seating, great drink selection; it set the mood! This is a new-found favorite bar of mine. I brought my husband here for drinks after dinner on his birthday and we closed the bar out! He absolutely loved the cognac flights, and, it's a nice little hideout from the hustle & bustle of the city.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.