Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.65mi
  2. Distance: 1.88mi
  3. Distance: 3.29mi
  4. Distance: 3.72mi
  1. Distance: 0.65mi
  2. Distance: 1.88mi
  3. Distance: 3.29mi
  4. Distance: 3.72mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.65mi
  2. Distance: 1.88mi
  3. Distance: 3.29mi
  4. Distance: 3.72mi
  1. Distance: 0.65mi
  2. Distance: 1.88mi
  3. Distance: 3.29mi
  4. Distance: 3.72mi

About Garre Cafe

Experience old Italy as the scent of freshly baked focaccia bread sets the mood for a truly moving dining experience. With a beautiful Italian garden, wine barrels and surrounding vineyards the stress and worry of the day disappear. Enjoy our eclectic menu featuring California cuisine with a Mediterranean influence paired with our handcrafted wines. With both indoor and outdoor seating the café is perfect for a business lunch, an intimate date or family gatherings.

7986 Tesla Road
Livermore, CA 94550
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 11:00am - 2:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 8:30pm
Sunday: 11:00 am - 6:30 pm

Cross Street:
Tesla & Greenville

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(925) 371-8100

Website:
http://www.garrewinery.com/cafe_garre.html

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We currently have two venues available for Weddings, Social and Corporate Events. Bella Rosa can host up to 370 seated dinners and the Martinelli Center can host up to 200 seated dinners.

Garre Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Lunch (34)
Casual (22)
Good for Birthdays (20)
See All
Special Occasion (18)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Good for a Date (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Romantic (12)
Fun (12)
Business Meals (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Modern Decor (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Scenic View (9)
Cozy (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Wood Oven (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Private Room (5)
Authentic (5)
Healthy (5)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Hot Spot (2)
People Watching (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Family Style (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Seasonal (2)
Tapas (1)
Organic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Spicy (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
152 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent place. We love it there. Food is aleays great and service is awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 4 days ago

First time there, met friends with kids for a Sunday lunch. Good kids menu (crayons included). Salads, pasta, burger, desserts were good (nobody tried other meat or fish). Didn't love the appetizers or would have given this a 5 star. Great outdoor & private party room spaces. Recommend reservation during peak hours. Was lively inside with a full house but not extremely loud so great for conversation or a date. Prices are not cheap but average for winery or upscale dining. Attire could be shorts, jeans or dressy. Really want to go back to try short ribs on dinner menu. Wish they had paved parking, the gravel is not going to be classic car friendly while out for a drive.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Casual, Cozy, Scenic View, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Great place to enjoy a meal while wine tasting or other occasion in the Livermore Valley. We ate outside and enjoyed the vineyard views.

Tags: Casual, Disabled Access, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Birthday lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 15, 2017

This is our fifth and last time dining here. Three times we've brought guests. But whether dining a deux or with another couple it's always something. Out of a menu item. Served the wrong meal. Slow service. This time it took 1 1/2 hours to be served two vegetable appetizers and two cold appetizers. We had to ask for the bread, dessert, and the check. And they were out of a menu item. Pasta. It wasn't very busy. It's such a disappointment. The new location is so pretty and the menu has some diversity. We ate many times at the old location and never had this problem. If they are going to compete with Porters and Wente and Concannon they need to up their game.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 13, 2017

My friend treated me to lunch because it was my birthday. It was nice and warm so we sat outside and enjoyed the scenery and the nice patio. We started with a cocktail and the food was really good. We both enjoyed what we had. We have come to the restaurant before, and will come again.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Fun, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

First of the all, the focaccia bread is out of this world. Amazing! Hubs got the salmon sandwich, he ate the whole thing. Delicious! I got the pulled pork, my favorite! I also ordered the kir royale, yummy! Service is always amazing and scenery is gorgeous! Love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Spent a wonderful Sunday afternoon having lunch at this Livermore Valley winery. We were seated outside to soak up the valley view and enjoyed a nice spinach , artichoke and dungeness crab dip appetizer, spinach fig salad, and a very special creamy carbonara. Would highly recommend all 3 dishes. Service was excellent and staff were all lovely . Looking forward to many more visits with friends.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Outstanding surprise and location. Afraid to make it sound too good: loved the ambiance.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Historic, People Watching, Good for Groups, Wood Oven, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Great, as always. Lunch time is my favorite. Food is always good and Rosie makes the
best peartini EVER!!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Garre Winery has changed since the last time I was there. The old cafe is now the tasting room and they have a new cafe. The positive thing about Garre Winery is that their wine is good and their tasting is only $10. If you buy a min. of 2 bottles of wine, that tasting price is deducted from the price . It's very reasonable. The negative thing is that their food was not impressive. Ordered a turkey sandwich for lunch and it looked like something I would make my kids for school lunch and it cost me $13. I expected something more gourmet for the price and the environment. Not impressed with their food but the wine was good.

Tags: Casual, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Wanting to try something different than our usual haunts, my husband and I stopped in at the Garre Cafe for lunch. The food was delicious and service was excellent. Would definitely recommend. We'll be back to try dinner some evening.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 23, 2017

This is my neighborhood go-to restaurant. Food is always good and at lunch time Rosie makes an excellent peartini!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Food was good and well prepared. Enjoyed the meatballs and fried olives as apps. Tomato bisque was tasty but a little too smoky. Paired well with the ultimate grilled cheese on a rainy afternoon.
First bottle of wine was corked and the waitress took it back no questions. She opened and checked the next two bottles before bringing a replacement to the table, which was appreciated.
Ambience was upbeat, and decor modern. Somewhat close quarters with the tables near each other, so maybe not the best for an intimate meeting or romantic date. One party member noted the space reminded them of a hotel conference room, which is not surprising given there is such a space adjoining.

Overall a pleasant experience and would consider visiting again for lunch when we're in Livermore again.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

This is our second time to Garre's restaurant in the last month. Really great food and excellent value. The pizza's are great and the shrimp app I had was excellent! My son's Tuna Tartar was also excellent! Salads are very good, my wife is very picky about salad and she was very complimentary.

Their wine list isn't extensive but they have nice wines, particularly the Alsace Riesling. Better yet, their stemware is top notch! Corkage is just $10 and we opened 3 bottles and they only charged us for 1. We will be back...soon. This is truly a hidden gem way right in our backyard here in Livermore.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Great food and great ambiance. The wait staff is very professional and the service is very good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Authentic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Tried Garre Café for the first time in their new building. I loved the ambience and the food was good too! I took my friend here for her birthday and they gave her a lovely dessert.
Will be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This review is for our third visit for Valentine's dinner, our first in the expanded facility. Service was great, and food was good. However, the wine and food pairing quality did not meet our expectations, compared to our earlier memorable visits.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

A wonderful time on Valentines Day! Thank you so much, my evening very enjoyable.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Casual, Disabled Access, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 13, 2017

In Livermore wine country nice to have lunch or summer evening diner inside or on outside patio.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great food. Service needs a lot of work... good folks but they need major training on service. Like table greeting within 5-10 mins...offering beverages early, checking on table, and mostly confirming they got the order right, which they didn't

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Good menu selection, well executed and great ambiance. Staff friendly, efficient and professional. Quiet spot for a very good meal and relaxation.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We have dinned here on several occasions and have brought both friends and family they all loved the food, wine, view, ambiance. Could not believe it was in Livermore. Thoroughly enjoyed their visits as well as us.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Organic, Wood Oven, Scenic View, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Great staff, very attentive and took care of the birthday girl! Great food!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 18, 2017

I absolutely love Garre Cafe. The food is amazing and the staff is always polite and very accommodating.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Food is wonderful and the portions are large. Great wine bar, too

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Good food. Server was very attentive and pleasant, but service was extremely slow. A very long wait between the time the orders were taken and when the meals finally arrived.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Everything was perfect! The Carbnara was delicious! Will definitely come back! Warm and friendly people and atmosphere!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Casual, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Great winter gathering of family on a rainy Monday. Garre was a hit with everyone. We started in the tasting room, which was so friendly and wines were quite good. Followed up with lunch in the cafe which was quite nice. Might have been a bigger crowd than expected since it was a Monday, so service was a bit slow. But company was great and the setting was lovely. I'd definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I love to dine here! Food is great, pricing is reasonable, great service, and romantic.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 24, 2016

I was quite impressed with both the food and the wonderful facility. It had been a number of years since I had visited the Garre Cafe. I remembered it as a nice little cafe within the winery tasting room. Now it is a beautiful restaurant with a larger menu. I will certainly be back more often.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We were having a baby shower lunch. The service was excellent and the food was great.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Our server, Rosie was excellent. Rosie was courteous, friendly and very attentive to everyone at our table. Rosie speaks Spanish which was great because we had a Spanish speaking person in our party.

Rosie is an excellent asset to Garre Cafe.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The staff, as always, was delightful. They're so friendly and were quick to point out options or substitutions for those with dietary restrictions. The food was delicious and the ambience was cozy. I'll definitely be returning.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 19, 2016

First visit - will be back again. Appetizers, pizza, soup, salad and sandwich were all great. Good selection of winery wines.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Casual, Healthy, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Food was excellent, even beyond excellent, would recommend to anyone who enjoys good food, great service, a relaxed atmosphere and a modest price for everything. Wines are also great.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We ordered a selection of appetisers: olives, meatballs, ahi tuna etc. Had also ordered an entree of ravioli but told the server to skip it as there was so much great tasting food. Our server Alex was outstanding. Definitely going back the next time I'm in the Livermore wine country

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The food was delicious, but the service was slow. The staff was friendly and courteous

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Excellent food and service in a comfortable environment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Beautiful place, good food, good wine. Wish there was at least one entree on the menu that was vegetarian and not filled with cheese though. I get tired of always having salad.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.