About Garre Cafe

7986 Tesla Road
Livermore, CA 94550
View Larger Map

Experience old Italy as the scent of freshly baked focaccia bread sets the mood for a truly moving dining experience. With a beautiful Italian garden, wine barrels and surrounding vineyards the stress and worry of the day disappear. Enjoy our eclectic menu featuring California cuisine with a Mediterranean influence paired with our handcrafted wines. With both indoor and outdoor seating the café is perfect for a business lunch, an intimate date or family gatherings.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 11:00am - 2:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 8:30pm
Sunday: 11:00 am - 6:30 pm

Cross Street:
Tesla & Greenville

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(925) 371-8100

Website:
http://www.garrewinery.com/cafe_garre.html

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We currently have two venues available for Weddings, Social and Corporate Events. Bella Rosa can host up to 370 seated dinners and the Martinelli Center can host up to 200 seated dinners.

Garre Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
San Francisco Bay Area
Great for Lunch
East Bay
Notable Wine List
East Bay
2 More
Outdoor Dining
East Bay
Mediterranean
East Bay
Best Restaurants in Livermore ›

great for lunch (55)
great for outdoor dining (48)
good for groups (35)
See All
scenic view (29)
fit for foodies (27)
notable wine list (27)
special occasion (24)
neighborhood gem (21)
great for brunch (14)
romantic (12)
kid-friendly (8)
hot spot (4)
vibrant bar scene (3)
late-night find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
96 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Unique spot

Dined on May 23, 2016

A unique spot on Tesla road in Livermore. The ambiance is great, the service prompt and efficient, and the food very good. I would definitely recommend this for a special luncheon occasion.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have eaten at Garre several times. We ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

We have eaten at Garre several times. We live in San Jose, but anytime we are near Livermore, we are tempted to drive to Garre. The service is fiendly and attentive, the menus is varied and interesting, and the food has always been outstanding. It is not cheap, but certainly not overly expensive for this quality of dining experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Alex was a helpful and attentive. The f ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Alex was a helpful and attentive. The food and wine were delicious. The most memorable part of the meal was the Tiramisu. It was outstanding. We highly recommend Garre.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great business lunch here as alway ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Had a great business lunch here as always! The half sandwich special works for me every time.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Work near Garre and have eaten there man ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Work near Garre and have eaten there many times. Always enjoy food but service was slower than usual and we were the only patrons outside.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Lunch on a Rainy Friday

Dined on May 6, 2016

We arrived 20 min late for our reservation, the Hostess had graciously saved one table..for us! Her graciousness was very appreciated, and totally unexpected!!! We all had Fridays clam chowder, very good just right consistency without being paste and lots of clams and herbs for flavor. Chicken sandwiches with generous bacon, wine County salad great, Caesar Salad average, tiramisu's arrived a bit icy/frozen. We gave it a few minutes to sit and thaw, then the bottom layers became soggy with water. So that treat was an ick. Overall, restaurant was full, server very slow to appear, but fantastic entrees, beautiful presentation with desert bomb! ui

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Nice Winery Cafe

Dined on May 2, 2016

We went to celebrate my daughter's birthday and were a party of 8. The server was great and the staff kept our water poured and table cleared nicely. The food was interesting and tastey, too. We enjoyed the calamari, chopped salad, duck flatbread, salmon flatbread, artichoke flatbread, cowboy burger, salmon burger, ravioli, and spinach salad and everything was very good. They gave us complimentary desserts for the birthday girl and the creme brulee was excellent. Not very crowded on a Sunday night. I would like to return for lunch to try some of the other items on the menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, scenic view
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The Value of having a Reservations at Garre Cafe?

Dined on April 24, 2016

We made reservations for lunch at 1:00 PM. We arrived before 1:00 PM. We finally were seated at the table a little after 1:45 PM. Be aware that a reservation means you are in line for a table, eventually.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Dependably enjoyable

Dined on April 23, 2016

Staff is without fail genuinely friendly and courteous and we always have a good time. We return there about once monthly. Food is very good, although after the restaurant moved to its new location, several of our favorite dishes were discontinued to our great disappointment.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Not what it advertises

Dined on April 18, 2016

Scheduled dinner for eight at 6:30 on Sat thru open table based on published info. Arrived to be told that the restaurant closed at 6 Staff didnt seem to care that their on line info is wrong

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great for a lunch outing

Dined on April 17, 2016

We took visitors out to lunch here. First really warm day of the season, and the patio was jammed. We decided we'd rather have the cool and quiet indoors, and that was perfect for us. Very nice ambiance. Working winery so a good wine list, and the food, though fairly straight-forward, had some nice flare. The smokey tomato bisque was a hit. I had the thai salad, which was fresh and tasty. Our friends had sandwiches which looked appetizing and fresh. Our server was quick and attentive. We will definitely go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Fit for Foodies

Dined on April 17, 2016

OMG! The risotto & magi magi special was to die for.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service2
value4

Beautiful place but food lacked taste.

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

For a drink on the Veranda and appetizers, this is the place. The fried olives were great as were the meatballs. The cauliflower was dry and lacked seasoning. All of the entree's ordered were tasteless; even the burger. The menu is great just not executed well. The service was attentive and very friendly, but the food came out very slowly. All this place needs is a true chef, someone running the back of the house well, and it would be unforgettable. I would love to go again but we won't without a change.

Tags: scenic view
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Saturday Afternoon Lunch

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Relaxing lunch on the patio. Chef was very accommodating for gluten free menu. Homemade gelato was a real treat.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

server

Dined on April 9, 2016

our server was very attentive and helpful the entire time we were there. Thank you for a great dining experience

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Enjoyable Lunch

Dined on April 7, 2016

Another enjoyable lunch at Garre'. The restaurant was very crowded and the food took a bit longer to arrive than usual. However, this was likely due to the number of people given the lunch "rush" hour. The servers are always very nice and welcoming.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ladies Day out

Dined on March 26, 2016

Great spot for a small group to eat, drink and be merry. Clan and comfortable restaraunt with really good food and a menu for everyone. The wine list was extensive but they were out of the chardonnay that day at an early tine. It must be really good! Price range was more than reasonable too. We especially liked the friendly staff who was very attentive at the wine bar we went to later. Nice flights and a chance to sip and chat on the patio. We will be back!!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Garre Cafe

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

My wife and I went there for our weekly date night. We wanted to visit another local winery that offered small plates for dinner. We were happily surprised by the quality of the food, their new restaurant building and the reasonable prices!. We went on a Friday night and the place wasn't crowded or noisy, which was exactly what we were looking for. We sampled the wines and found the Petite Syrah and Primitivo to be very good. The food was great and we were happily surprised to see they served entrees as well! The seafood Jambalaya was a very tasty entree topped off with the blood orange gelato for dessert. This was very comparable to another of our favorite places the Concannon Underdog Wine bar minus the noise, the crowded eating area and the higher prices. We will definitely be returning!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic as always!

vip
Dined on March 17, 2016

The food is always great. This time we had the flatbread special and a spinach salad. It was excellent. I have to say the best part for me is always the peartini!!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food and service

Dined on March 17, 2016

Always great food, though they took away some of my favorites on the menu. Staff is always friendly and welcoming. I was disappointed that the new restaurant lacks the charming ambiance of the previous one and that it lacks a view of surrounding vineyards, one of the things I go to Livermore wine country for.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great dinner

Dined on March 13, 2016

First time for dinner and it was wonderful ... great food, atmosphere, menu selections

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

best kept secret

Dined on March 12, 2016

We were staying at a near by Spa and heard about this place from a friend who enjoyed lunch here. We loved its convenience as well as the service , food and wine. We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice restaurant

Dined on February 28, 2016

This gem of a restaurant is tucked away behind Livermore Lab in a little area of small local wineries. We went there for dinner after wine tasting for my husband's birthday. We were able to make a last minute reservation. The restaurant was clean with elegant decor. I enjoyed the Jambalaya, although the sea bass special was too saucy. Wine was great and they even had a tv at the bar where we could watch that fantastic Warriors overtime win! I will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious and varied menu. Lovely setti ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

Delicious and varied menu. Lovely setting and great service.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and wine. Nicely decorated. ...

Dined on February 24, 2016

Great food and wine. Nicely decorated. Next time I want to try the pizza/flat bread. It looked amazing

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great lunch

Dined on February 19, 2016

Went for lunch and ordered the chicken Marsala, it was outstanding! My husband enjoyed the jambalaya. Will definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

Great outdoor dining in Livermore wine cty

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

Better food, better value @Garre than at Wente under its new chef (we were @Wente in Dec 2015). Food's on the hearty, cheese-y, creamy side, on Garre Winery's pleasant outdoor patio. It's located on the left side of the big conference/event building, which itself is in back of the small Tasting Room bldg that sits at the front of the property. The menu is larger than what's on the web, and very hearty. Good starters, generous size entrees. Food a little uneven: tuna tartare, fried olives, seafood rigatoni, steak risotto all very good. But carpaccio was cut wrong; roasted cauliflower forgot the salt and was mostly raw; Greek minestrone soup was disgusting, burger tasty but overcooked to well-done. Chicken carbonara was actually an Alfredo, but very tasty. Desserts were good, as was coffee. Only Garre wines on the list. Note: Cafe stops seating at 2p SHARP; you can hang around as long as you want, but no latecomers can order food.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We dined for Valentines - love the new building!

Dined on February 15, 2016

We dined for Valentines, the new building and outdoor seating looks terrific. I'm looking forward to another visit where we can enjoy an outdoor meal in the new location. The wine pairings where spot on for each course. The appetizer, salad & desert where great. Main dishes where a chicken breast and halibut - plating was nice, flavors where ok. Service was attentive without being obnoxious during the meal. I've eaten at the previous location/building and NEVER had a disappointing meal. See ya soon!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service3

Was Valentine's Day prix fixe dinner.

Dined on February 15, 2016

Was Valentine's Day prix fixe dinner.

food3
ambience4
service4
value2

We are Livermore residents and value sup ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

We are Livermore residents and value supporting our city and its wine country restaurants and events. We had the fixed price meal on Valentine's Day and really enjoyed the wine pairings. The appetizers were disappointing, but the salad, chicken and halibut were very good. The desserts were quite ordinary. We enjoyed our evening, but we believe that Garre has the potential to be better. The menu was good, but not exceptional, especially for the price we paid.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Such a disappointment

Dined on February 14, 2016

We arrived a couple of minutes early for our 5pm reservation to find the doors locked. We were asked to sit out on the patio and wait. At 5:08 a server came out to ask our name then went back inside. Finally at 5:10 we were seated to find a set price menu, not the usual. Interestingly, I had received two calls in previous days to confirm the reservation and I had spoken with a hostess. At no time was I informed of this special menu, which was going to be $85 a person before wine. We left. Such a shame as we had been there before many times, especially for the great lunches.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Perfect little place for an amazing lunch

Dined on February 12, 2016

Great little restaurant for an amazing lunch with friends or a very casual lunch with your honey. Great food, fabulous wine and awesome service.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful Lunch

Dined on February 4, 2016

It's always great to meet friends and colleagues for lunch at Garre`. The food is excellent and so is the service. It's a favored placed for lunch, as there is something for everyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Good Food in Livermore's Wine Country

Dined on January 31, 2016

I was a little hesitant about trying this restaurant out after reading Yelp reviews that scolded the service there. But we found the staff to be extremely pleasant, knowledgeable, patient (we took a long time to make our choices) and very efficient. I would like to go there some time during daylight hours as the winery itself is spread out and the Cafe, which is attached to a huge events facility, is hard to make out from the exterior. The inside of the restaurant is very warm and inviting. The tables could be a little more intimate, but the artwork on display makes up for any deficiency in aesthetics. I am advised that the art work at the restaurant changes frequently and usually showcases local talent. The wine list, of course, features Garre's own. We ordered the Estate Cabernet and the Estate Merlot, both of which were very nice. I especially liked the Cabernet. Every dish we ordered came to the table hot and well-presented. The fresh hot bread was delicious! We ordered the roasted cauliflower as an appetizer which was a generous portion and also very good. My entree was the beef short ribs, which again, was generously portioned. The ribs (boneless) were served with mashed potatoes and fresh green beans. The ribs were served in a tangy, peppery barbecue sauce, not too sweet and the meat was tender - tender enough so that it could be pulled apart with a fork. Both the sides were fresh and tasty. Desserts were nice - nothing fancy, but I think what I appreciated most was that at no time were we ever rushed (we were at dinner for at lest two hours) and were left alone to chat and enjoy our wine and meal, while the staff remained attentive to our needs. Overall, I would go again and would recommend others to the restaurant. As I said earlier, I would like to go for lunch or brunch next time so I can fully take in the winery and the wonderful views that are probably afforded during daylight hours.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and wine!

Dined on January 17, 2016

Service at this spot was wonderful from start to finish. The food came out quickly and was just as tasty as it was described on the menu. I would definitely recommend others to come here at least for the wine if not for the food as well.

Tags: great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great find on Open Table

Dined on December 28, 2015

We stumbled upon Garre Café when we were looking for a new place to have lunch. What a great find! The food was great and the Garre wine was superb. We bought a bottle to take home. We will be going there again and again.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3

Great Little Restaurant

vip
Dined on December 1, 2015

Another winery recommended we try Garre Cafe at the Garre Winery. The menu is limited, but the food is quite good. Service was extremely friendly, however the server was not on top of the kitchen. One lunch came with a salad when soup had been ordered, and another diner never received one course. The restaurant has limited hours, but if you are tasting wine in Livermore give it a try. The wines by the glass were well chosen and delicious.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5

Garre Cafe - Great kick-off to wine tasting!

Dined on November 29, 2015

Garre Café is one of my favorite restaurants to meet up with friends. The atmosphere is welcoming. Staff is friendly. During the summer, the outdoor seating is very nice. The food is great! We just had their Wood Oven Roasted Cauliflower. It is an excellent appetizer. Enjoy!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good service. Drinks refilled quick ...

Dined on November 27, 2015

Very good service. Drinks refilled quickly. Wait staff attentive, Friendly. Between us we had tomato bisque soup, risotto, chicken Caesar salad and Chipotle pulled pork. All fresh and delicious. Nice dining space. We'll definitely be back.

food4
ambience3
service5

The food was very good, but not memorabl ...

Dined on November 27, 2015

The food was very good, but not memorable. The service was wonderful. It was busy, but we never felt rushed. I missed the small, provincial feel the restaurant had before. My guests and I were surprised that the store was not selling the wine we had with lunch and that those in the store didn't know what was being served in the restaurant.

Tags: great for lunch

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.