About Garre Cafe

7986 Tesla Road
Livermore, CA 94550
View Larger Map

Experience old Italy as the scent of freshly baked focaccia bread sets the mood for a truly moving dining experience. With a beautiful Italian garden, wine barrels and surrounding vineyards the stress and worry of the day disappear. Enjoy our eclectic menu featuring California cuisine with a Mediterranean influence paired with our handcrafted wines. With both indoor and outdoor seating the café is perfect for a business lunch, an intimate date or family gatherings.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 11:00am - 2:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 8:30pm
Sunday: 11:00 am - 6:30 pm

Cross Street:
Tesla & Greenville

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(925) 371-8100

Website:
http://www.garrewinery.com/cafe_garre.html

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We currently have two venues available for Weddings, Social and Corporate Events. Bella Rosa can host up to 370 seated dinners and the Martinelli Center can host up to 200 seated dinners.

Garre Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
East Bay
Mediterranean
East Bay
Best Restaurants in Livermore ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Great for Lunch (8)
Modern Decor (8)
See All
Good for Birthdays (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Scenic View (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Cozy (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Casual (4)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Business Meals (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Healthy (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Romantic (2)
Family Style (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Fun (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Authentic (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Seasonal (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
119 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The staff, as always, was delightful. T ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The staff, as always, was delightful. They're so friendly and were quick to point out options or substitutions for those with dietary restrictions. The food was delicious and the ambience was cozy. I'll definitely be returning.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

First visit - will be back again. Appeti ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 19, 2016

First visit - will be back again. Appetizers, pizza, soup, salad and sandwich were all great. Good selection of winery wines.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Casual, Healthy, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was excellent, even beyond excellen ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Food was excellent, even beyond excellent, would recommend to anyone who enjoys good food, great service, a relaxed atmosphere and a modest price for everything. Wines are also great.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ordered a selection of appetisers: ol ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We ordered a selection of appetisers: olives, meatballs, ahi tuna etc. Had also ordered an entree of ravioli but told the server to skip it as there was so much great tasting food. Our server Alex was outstanding. Definitely going back the next time I'm in the Livermore wine country

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious, but the service ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The food was delicious, but the service was slow. The staff was friendly and courteous

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent food and service in a comforta ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Excellent food and service in a comfortable environment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful place, good food, good wine. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Beautiful place, good food, good wine. Wish there was at least one entree on the menu that was vegetarian and not filled with cheese though. I get tired of always having salad.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

This is a beautiful place for some wine ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This is a beautiful place for some wine tasting and light lunch on the patio. We enjoyed the views from our table and our server, Alexander, was very attentive and helpful. We would recommend this to friends and hope to come back with a group very soon.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

After an afternoon of wine tasting... We ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 31, 2016

After an afternoon of wine tasting... We stopped into Garre Cafe, 2 times.

I feel they serve the best gourmet Risotto. Soup of the day was outstanding on both ocassions too.

Yes the Wine is also good !

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I have been here multiple times and this ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

I have been here multiple times and this was by far the worst service. We had to wait a long time for bread and the person filling water glasses only filled one at each visit even though others were obviously empty. It was hard to get service even though the restaurant was pretty vacant. I was really disappointed that we celebrated our special occasion there and the service was pretty poor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value4

My wife and I arrived promptly at 6pm an ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

My wife and I arrived promptly at 6pm and was greeted by no one. Looked around to find no one in the restaurant. Perhaps they should only be open for lunch if they have 0 business on a Saturday night .

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We love brunch here on a nice day. The p ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We love brunch here on a nice day. The patio is not super-scenic but pleasantly rural with a relaxed, casual atmosphere that matches a mellow wine-tasting vibe in the Livermore Valley. Not far from downtown; if you want a more "happening" scene places like Sauced are better. Garre Cafe is a very mellow, relaxing experience. Servers are young and not top-notch but they try hard to do a good job. The food is basic, slanted Cal-Italian. Note the kitchen is heavy on the cheese, it goes into almost everything (including the gumbo, where it was tasty but doesn't really belong). We've come here twice with our friends and both times have really enjoyed it. Much more down-home and real than the overpriced and tourist-heavy Napa Valley scene!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Had a small family get together for casu ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Had a small family get together for casual lunch. The patio is terrific, comfortable and with an outstanding view. We wanted to take our time to visit and catch up with each other and did just that while being attended to by our server. Food was very good and wine was excellent. The warm outdoor ambiance was even better. We ended staying for several hours and then having coffee and dessert later. After failing to fill the promise of being able to make any coffee drink, the server comp'd over half the desserts. The server was more disappointed with the unfulfilled orders than we were and made the extremely nice gesture. Nice people, good food, great atmosphere. Go enjoy!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Wood Oven, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been here for lunch and dinner. L ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I have been here for lunch and dinner. Lunch was a 3+ star experience. Dinner was a solid 2 stars.

For me, it's hard to beat a good lunch on a nice patio outdoors. That's what Garre provided. The food was good, not outstanding, but no complaints.

Dinner was a different story. The service was slow, the food looked reheated, and the ambience was disappointing. A large screen TV by the bar graced us with distracting advertising about Garre's facilities (tacky), the lighting was more for cleaning up at the end of the night then for enjoying a mellow dinner, and our conversation was punctuated often by applause for the happy couple at the reception in the large hall adjacent to the cafe. This isn't a complaint about joyous parties but rather questioning the wisdom of putting a large party venue with a hefty sound system right next to a dining room that tries to present itself as a "dining" establishment as opposed to, say, a bar and grill-type place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

We enjoyed our meal, but found a fly act ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 19, 2016

We enjoyed our meal, but found a fly actually on our chocolate tort. It was very disgusting to see. Only one bit was eaten from it and told our waitress. We didn't even want a replacement. Not sure if she even deducted it from our bill.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Father's ay Sunday brought us to Garre C ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Father's ay Sunday brought us to Garre Cafe to celebrate. The food was wonderful, reasonably priced and served promptly. We sat outside in the beautiful weather and enjoyed the scenery. A little music outside might add to the patio mood! Thank you for a great first experience...we'll be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The portions of Pizza are large, so get ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 14, 2016

The portions of Pizza are large, so get the flatbread! We also got the fried olives and YES they are amazing and totally worth 7 dollars. It was a nice place, the service wasn't pushy trying to sell wine, which I appreciated. Good, fun place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Picked this place because of the reviews ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 12, 2016

Picked this place because of the reviews, maybe my expectations were too high. Service was pretty slow, hostess was indifferent. Food was good. Wouldn't go back though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We enjoyed our meals, well prepared and tasty.

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 5, 2016

Wait staff seemed "new", but very accommodating and friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I have eaten here a half-dozen times and ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 30, 2016

I have eaten here a half-dozen times and have not had a bad experience, but this last time I had rubbery chicken. That said, it's a great place and the other five times have been wonderful experiences! I would recommend it based on all of my experiences, and give them the benefit of the doubt for the most recent visit.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Quiet Lunch

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 29, 2016

We had a choice of indoor or outdoor dining, and took indoor. The room was pleasantly quiet, and the food was imaginative without being overwhelming. Service was OK but it could have been a bit snappier.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Pleasant surroundings and nice atmospher ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 28, 2016

Pleasant surroundings and nice atmosphere however they were out of the cabernet wine we ordered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Unique spot

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 23, 2016

A unique spot on Tesla road in Livermore. The ambiance is great, the service prompt and efficient, and the food very good. I would definitely recommend this for a special luncheon occasion.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We have eaten at Garre several times. We ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 22, 2016

We have eaten at Garre several times. We live in San Jose, but anytime we are near Livermore, we are tempted to drive to Garre. The service is fiendly and attentive, the menus is varied and interesting, and the food has always been outstanding. It is not cheap, but certainly not overly expensive for this quality of dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Alex was a helpful and attentive. The f ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 15, 2016

Alex was a helpful and attentive. The food and wine were delicious. The most memorable part of the meal was the Tiramisu. It was outstanding. We highly recommend Garre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Had a great business lunch here as alway ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 12, 2016

Had a great business lunch here as always! The half sandwich special works for me every time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Work near Garre and have eaten there man ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 10, 2016

Work near Garre and have eaten there many times. Always enjoy food but service was slower than usual and we were the only patrons outside.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Lunch on a Rainy Friday

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2016

We arrived 20 min late for our reservation, the Hostess had graciously saved one table..for us! Her graciousness was very appreciated, and totally unexpected!!! We all had Fridays clam chowder, very good just right consistency without being paste and lots of clams and herbs for flavor. Chicken sandwiches with generous bacon, wine County salad great, Caesar Salad average, tiramisu's arrived a bit icy/frozen. We gave it a few minutes to sit and thaw, then the bottom layers became soggy with water. So that treat was an ick. Overall, restaurant was full, server very slow to appear, but fantastic entrees, beautiful presentation with desert bomb! ui

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Nice Winery Cafe

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 2, 2016

We went to celebrate my daughter's birthday and were a party of 8. The server was great and the staff kept our water poured and table cleared nicely. The food was interesting and tastey, too. We enjoyed the calamari, chopped salad, duck flatbread, salmon flatbread, artichoke flatbread, cowboy burger, salmon burger, ravioli, and spinach salad and everything was very good. They gave us complimentary desserts for the birthday girl and the creme brulee was excellent. Not very crowded on a Sunday night. I would like to return for lunch to try some of the other items on the menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

The Value of having a Reservations at Garre Cafe?

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 24, 2016

We made reservations for lunch at 1:00 PM. We arrived before 1:00 PM. We finally were seated at the table a little after 1:45 PM. Be aware that a reservation means you are in line for a table, eventually.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Dependably enjoyable

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 23, 2016

Staff is without fail genuinely friendly and courteous and we always have a good time. We return there about once monthly. Food is very good, although after the restaurant moved to its new location, several of our favorite dishes were discontinued to our great disappointment.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Not what it advertises

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 18, 2016

Scheduled dinner for eight at 6:30 on Sat thru open table based on published info. Arrived to be told that the restaurant closed at 6 Staff didnt seem to care that their on line info is wrong

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Great for a lunch outing

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 17, 2016

We took visitors out to lunch here. First really warm day of the season, and the patio was jammed. We decided we'd rather have the cool and quiet indoors, and that was perfect for us. Very nice ambiance. Working winery so a good wine list, and the food, though fairly straight-forward, had some nice flare. The smokey tomato bisque was a hit. I had the thai salad, which was fresh and tasty. Our friends had sandwiches which looked appetizing and fresh. Our server was quick and attentive. We will definitely go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fit for Foodies

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 17, 2016

OMG! The risotto & magi magi special was to die for.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Beautiful place but food lacked taste.

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 17, 2016

For a drink on the Veranda and appetizers, this is the place. The fried olives were great as were the meatballs. The cauliflower was dry and lacked seasoning. All of the entree's ordered were tasteless; even the burger. The menu is great just not executed well. The service was attentive and very friendly, but the food came out very slowly. All this place needs is a true chef, someone running the back of the house well, and it would be unforgettable. I would love to go again but we won't without a change.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value4

Saturday Afternoon Lunch

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2016

Relaxing lunch on the patio. Chef was very accommodating for gluten free menu. Homemade gelato was a real treat.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

server

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2016

our server was very attentive and helpful the entire time we were there. Thank you for a great dining experience

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyable Lunch

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 7, 2016

Another enjoyable lunch at Garre'. The restaurant was very crowded and the food took a bit longer to arrive than usual. However, this was likely due to the number of people given the lunch "rush" hour. The servers are always very nice and welcoming.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Ladies Day out

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 26, 2016

Great spot for a small group to eat, drink and be merry. Clan and comfortable restaraunt with really good food and a menu for everyone. The wine list was extensive but they were out of the chardonnay that day at an early tine. It must be really good! Price range was more than reasonable too.

We especially liked the friendly staff who was very attentive at the wine bar we went to later. Nice flights and a chance to sip and chat on the patio. We will be back!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Garre Cafe

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2016

My wife and I went there for our weekly date night. We wanted to visit another local winery that offered small plates for dinner. We were happily surprised by the quality of the food, their new restaurant building and the reasonable prices!. We went on a Friday night and the place wasn't crowded or noisy, which was exactly what we were looking for. We sampled the wines and found the Petite Syrah and Primitivo to be very good. The food was great and we were happily surprised to see they served entrees as well! The seafood Jambalaya was a very tasty entree topped off with the blood orange gelato for dessert. This was very comparable to another of our favorite places the Concannon Underdog Wine bar minus the noise, the crowded eating area and the higher prices. We will definitely be returning!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.