About Garre Cafe

7986 Tesla Road
Livermore, CA 94550
View Larger Map

Experience old Italy as the scent of freshly baked focaccia bread sets the mood for a truly moving dining experience. With a beautiful Italian garden, wine barrels and surrounding vineyards the stress and worry of the day disappear. Enjoy our eclectic menu featuring California cuisine with a Mediterranean influence paired with our handcrafted wines. With both indoor and outdoor seating the café is perfect for a business lunch, an intimate date or family gatherings.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 11:00am - 2:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 8:30pm
Sunday: 11:00 am - 6:30 pm

Cross Street:
Tesla & Greenville

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(925) 371-8100

Website:
http://www.garrewinery.com/cafe_garre.html

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We currently have two venues available for Weddings, Social and Corporate Events. Bella Rosa can host up to 370 seated dinners and the Martinelli Center can host up to 200 seated dinners.

Garre Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.0

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
San Francisco Bay Area
Outdoor Dining
San Francisco Bay Area
Great for Lunch
East Bay
2 More
Outdoor Dining
East Bay
Mediterranean
East Bay
Best Restaurants in Livermore ›

great for lunch (49)
great for outdoor dining (48)
good for groups (36)
See All
scenic view (33)
special occasion (28)
fit for foodies (27)
notable wine list (20)
great for brunch (17)
neighborhood gem (16)
kid-friendly (11)
romantic (9)
hot spot (3)
late-night find (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
104 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Father's ay Sunday brought us to Garre C ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Father's ay Sunday brought us to Garre Cafe to celebrate. The food was wonderful, reasonably priced and served promptly. We sat outside in the beautiful weather and enjoyed the scenery. A little music outside might add to the patio mood! Thank you for a great first experience...we'll be back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The portions of Pizza are large, so get ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

The portions of Pizza are large, so get the flatbread! We also got the fried olives and YES they are amazing and totally worth 7 dollars. It was a nice place, the service wasn't pushy trying to sell wine, which I appreciated. Good, fun place.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Picked this place because of the reviews ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Picked this place because of the reviews, maybe my expectations were too high. Service was pretty slow, hostess was indifferent. Food was good. Wouldn't go back though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We enjoyed our meals, well prepared and tasty.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Wait staff seemed "new", but very accommodating and friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I have eaten here a half-dozen times and ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

I have eaten here a half-dozen times and have not had a bad experience, but this last time I had rubbery chicken. That said, it's a great place and the other five times have been wonderful experiences! I would recommend it based on all of my experiences, and give them the benefit of the doubt for the most recent visit.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Quiet Lunch

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We had a choice of indoor or outdoor dining, and took indoor. The room was pleasantly quiet, and the food was imaginative without being overwhelming. Service was OK but it could have been a bit snappier.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Pleasant surroundings and nice atmospher ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Pleasant surroundings and nice atmosphere however they were out of the cabernet wine we ordered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Unique spot

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

A unique spot on Tesla road in Livermore. The ambiance is great, the service prompt and efficient, and the food very good. I would definitely recommend this for a special luncheon occasion.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We have eaten at Garre several times. We ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We have eaten at Garre several times. We live in San Jose, but anytime we are near Livermore, we are tempted to drive to Garre. The service is fiendly and attentive, the menus is varied and interesting, and the food has always been outstanding. It is not cheap, but certainly not overly expensive for this quality of dining experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Alex was a helpful and attentive. The f ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Alex was a helpful and attentive. The food and wine were delicious. The most memorable part of the meal was the Tiramisu. It was outstanding. We highly recommend Garre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Had a great business lunch here as alway ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Had a great business lunch here as always! The half sandwich special works for me every time.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Work near Garre and have eaten there man ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

Work near Garre and have eaten there many times. Always enjoy food but service was slower than usual and we were the only patrons outside.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Lunch on a Rainy Friday

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

We arrived 20 min late for our reservation, the Hostess had graciously saved one table..for us! Her graciousness was very appreciated, and totally unexpected!!! We all had Fridays clam chowder, very good just right consistency without being paste and lots of clams and herbs for flavor. Chicken sandwiches with generous bacon, wine County salad great, Caesar Salad average, tiramisu's arrived a bit icy/frozen. We gave it a few minutes to sit and thaw, then the bottom layers became soggy with water. So that treat was an ick. Overall, restaurant was full, server very slow to appear, but fantastic entrees, beautiful presentation with desert bomb! ui

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Nice Winery Cafe

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

We went to celebrate my daughter's birthday and were a party of 8. The server was great and the staff kept our water poured and table cleared nicely. The food was interesting and tastey, too. We enjoyed the calamari, chopped salad, duck flatbread, salmon flatbread, artichoke flatbread, cowboy burger, salmon burger, ravioli, and spinach salad and everything was very good. They gave us complimentary desserts for the birthday girl and the creme brulee was excellent. Not very crowded on a Sunday night. I would like to return for lunch to try some of the other items on the menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

The Value of having a Reservations at Garre Cafe?

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

We made reservations for lunch at 1:00 PM. We arrived before 1:00 PM. We finally were seated at the table a little after 1:45 PM. Be aware that a reservation means you are in line for a table, eventually.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Dependably enjoyable

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Staff is without fail genuinely friendly and courteous and we always have a good time. We return there about once monthly. Food is very good, although after the restaurant moved to its new location, several of our favorite dishes were discontinued to our great disappointment.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Not what it advertises

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 18, 2016

Scheduled dinner for eight at 6:30 on Sat thru open table based on published info. Arrived to be told that the restaurant closed at 6 Staff didnt seem to care that their on line info is wrong

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Great for a lunch outing

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

We took visitors out to lunch here. First really warm day of the season, and the patio was jammed. We decided we'd rather have the cool and quiet indoors, and that was perfect for us. Very nice ambiance. Working winery so a good wine list, and the food, though fairly straight-forward, had some nice flare. The smokey tomato bisque was a hit. I had the thai salad, which was fresh and tasty. Our friends had sandwiches which looked appetizing and fresh. Our server was quick and attentive. We will definitely go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fit for Foodies

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

OMG! The risotto & magi magi special was to die for.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Beautiful place but food lacked taste.

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

For a drink on the Veranda and appetizers, this is the place. The fried olives were great as were the meatballs. The cauliflower was dry and lacked seasoning. All of the entree's ordered were tasteless; even the burger. The menu is great just not executed well. The service was attentive and very friendly, but the food came out very slowly. All this place needs is a true chef, someone running the back of the house well, and it would be unforgettable. I would love to go again but we won't without a change.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value4

Saturday Afternoon Lunch

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Relaxing lunch on the patio. Chef was very accommodating for gluten free menu. Homemade gelato was a real treat.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

server

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

our server was very attentive and helpful the entire time we were there. Thank you for a great dining experience

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyable Lunch

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

Another enjoyable lunch at Garre'. The restaurant was very crowded and the food took a bit longer to arrive than usual. However, this was likely due to the number of people given the lunch "rush" hour. The servers are always very nice and welcoming.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Ladies Day out

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Great spot for a small group to eat, drink and be merry. Clan and comfortable restaraunt with really good food and a menu for everyone. The wine list was extensive but they were out of the chardonnay that day at an early tine. It must be really good! Price range was more than reasonable too.

We especially liked the friendly staff who was very attentive at the wine bar we went to later. Nice flights and a chance to sip and chat on the patio. We will be back!!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Garre Cafe

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

My wife and I went there for our weekly date night. We wanted to visit another local winery that offered small plates for dinner. We were happily surprised by the quality of the food, their new restaurant building and the reasonable prices!. We went on a Friday night and the place wasn't crowded or noisy, which was exactly what we were looking for. We sampled the wines and found the Petite Syrah and Primitivo to be very good. The food was great and we were happily surprised to see they served entrees as well! The seafood Jambalaya was a very tasty entree topped off with the blood orange gelato for dessert. This was very comparable to another of our favorite places the Concannon Underdog Wine bar minus the noise, the crowded eating area and the higher prices. We will definitely be returning!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fantastic as always!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

The food is always great. This time we had the flatbread special and a spinach salad. It was excellent. I have to say the best part for me is always the peartini!!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

Always great food, though they took away some of my favorites on the menu. Staff is always friendly and welcoming. I was disappointed that the new restaurant lacks the charming ambiance of the previous one and that it lacks a view of surrounding vineyards, one of the things I go to Livermore wine country for.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great dinner

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

First time for dinner and it was wonderful ... great food, atmosphere, menu selections

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

best kept secret

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

We were staying at a near by Spa and heard about this place from a friend who enjoyed lunch here. We loved its convenience as well as the service , food and wine. We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice restaurant

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

This gem of a restaurant is tucked away behind Livermore Lab in a little area of small local wineries. We went there for dinner after wine tasting for my husband's birthday. We were able to make a last minute reservation. The restaurant was clean with elegant decor. I enjoyed the Jambalaya, although the sea bass special was too saucy. Wine was great and they even had a tv at the bar where we could watch that fantastic Warriors overtime win! I will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious and varied menu. Lovely setti ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Delicious and varied menu. Lovely setting and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and wine. Nicely decorated. ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on February 24, 2016

Great food and wine. Nicely decorated. Next time I want to try the pizza/flat bread. It looked amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great lunch

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

Went for lunch and ordered the chicken Marsala, it was outstanding! My husband enjoyed the jambalaya. Will definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great outdoor dining in Livermore wine cty

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Better food, better value @Garre than at Wente under its new chef (we were @Wente in Dec 2015). Food's on the hearty, cheese-y, creamy side, on Garre Winery's pleasant outdoor patio. It's located on the left side of the big conference/event building, which itself is in back of the small Tasting Room bldg that sits at the front of the property. The menu is larger than what's on the web, and very hearty. Good starters, generous size entrees. Food a little uneven: tuna tartare, fried olives, seafood rigatoni, steak risotto all very good. But carpaccio was cut wrong; roasted cauliflower forgot the salt and was mostly raw; Greek minestrone soup was disgusting, burger tasty but overcooked to well-done. Chicken carbonara was actually an Alfredo, but very tasty. Desserts were good, as was coffee. Only Garre wines on the list. Note: Cafe stops seating at 2p SHARP; you can hang around as long as you want, but no latecomers can order food.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

We dined for Valentines - love the new building!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

We dined for Valentines, the new building and outdoor seating looks terrific. I'm looking forward to another visit where we can enjoy an outdoor meal in the new location. The wine pairings where spot on for each course. The appetizer, salad & desert where great. Main dishes where a chicken breast and halibut - plating was nice, flavors where ok. Service was attentive without being obnoxious during the meal. I've eaten at the previous location/building and NEVER had a disappointing meal. See ya soon!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Was Valentine's Day prix fixe dinner.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Was Valentine's Day prix fixe dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

We are Livermore residents and value sup ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

We are Livermore residents and value supporting our city and its wine country restaurants and events. We had the fixed price meal on Valentine's Day and really enjoyed the wine pairings. The appetizers were disappointing, but the salad, chicken and halibut were very good. The desserts were quite ordinary. We enjoyed our evening, but we believe that Garre has the potential to be better. The menu was good, but not exceptional, especially for the price we paid.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Such a disappointment

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We arrived a couple of minutes early for our 5pm reservation to find the doors locked. We were asked to sit out on the patio and wait. At 5:08 a server came out to ask our name then went back inside. Finally at 5:10 we were seated to find a set price menu, not the usual.

Interestingly, I had received two calls in previous days to confirm the reservation and I had spoken with a hostess. At no time was I informed of this special menu, which was going to be $85 a person before wine.

We left.

Such a shame as we had been there before many times, especially for the great lunches.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Perfect little place for an amazing lunch

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

Great little restaurant for an amazing lunch with friends or a very casual lunch with your honey. Great food, fabulous wine and awesome service.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful Lunch

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 4, 2016

It's always great to meet friends and colleagues for lunch at Garre`. The food is excellent and so is the service. It's a favored placed for lunch, as there is something for everyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.