Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.65mi
  2. Distance: 1.88mi
  3. Distance: 3.29mi
  4. Distance: 3.72mi
  1. Distance: 0.65mi
  2. Distance: 1.88mi
  3. Distance: 3.29mi
  4. Distance: 3.72mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.65mi
  2. Distance: 1.88mi
  3. Distance: 3.29mi
  4. Distance: 3.72mi
  1. Distance: 0.65mi
  2. Distance: 1.88mi
  3. Distance: 3.29mi
  4. Distance: 3.72mi

About Garre Cafe

Experience old Italy as the scent of freshly baked focaccia bread sets the mood for a truly moving dining experience. With a beautiful Italian garden, wine barrels and surrounding vineyards the stress and worry of the day disappear. Enjoy our eclectic menu featuring California cuisine with a Mediterranean influence paired with our handcrafted wines. With both indoor and outdoor seating the café is perfect for a business lunch, an intimate date or family gatherings.

7986 Tesla Road
Livermore, CA 94550
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 11:00am - 2:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 8:30pm
Sunday: 11:00 am - 6:30 pm

Cross Street:
Tesla & Greenville

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(925) 371-8100

Website:
http://www.garrewinery.com/cafe_garre.html

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We currently have two venues available for Weddings, Social and Corporate Events. Bella Rosa can host up to 370 seated dinners and the Martinelli Center can host up to 200 seated dinners.

Garre Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (28)
Great for Lunch (27)
Good for a Date (22)
See All
Scenic View (21)
Special Occasion (20)
Casual (20)
Sunday Lunch (19)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Worth the Drive (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Romantic (12)
Great for Brunch (12)
Notable Wine List (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Business Meals (7)
Fun (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Cozy (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Authentic (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
People Watching (1)
Family Style (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
218 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was good. We went for a birthday lunch on a Sunday afternoon at 1:30pm, it was not crowded.
If you have a group of 10 they add a 20% Service charge.
If you are celebrating a birthday and bring a cake they charge $2.00 per person cutting fee. We were disappointed that they knew it was a birthday and they did not give the guest of honor a chance to blow out a candle on her cake. They only bring out the cake 🎂 Whenserving after they have cut it up.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Food presentation is great however the Portabella mushroom sandwich was drenched with olive oil- my paper napkin was wet from trying to soak up all the grease off the portabella mushroom. The waiter was friendly however didn't come to check on us and had to flag down the water people to request a refill on my soda plus ask again for utensils. The bussing people were more helpful than the waiter.

The venue or layout was very nice but the lack of attentiveness would not make me recommend this place for a large crowd or to bring guest here. I was embarrassed to have my out of town guest be exposed to this lack of service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Very nice waitress who remembered us from last time. Pleasant time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Great ambiance, food, service, and prices are reasonable. My favorite restaurant!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Authentic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Our server Rosie was great. Loved the Caesar salad!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Great lunch with friends. Had appetizers and a light meal. Broccoli Soup was wonderful. Service was great. No rush and very pleasant. Sat outside overlooking the vineyards. Wonderful view.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

Our group of 6 diners enjoyed ourselves. We had a vegetarian and 5 carnivores. The roasted tomato soup was tasty. The roasted cauliflower, excellent. My tuna tartare, delicious. Two people split the portobello mushroom sandwich and found it satisfying. Even though the restaurant was nearly empty inside (lots of outside diners), the waiter removed plates so hurriedly that I was left without a knife to finish my bread and butter.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Had a great time at Garre. The food was absolutely delicious, the wine list is impressive, and the overall experience was fantastic. Would highly recommend this to anyone.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We had a great time as a family dining outdoors and enjoying the great weather and scenery.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Delicious every time! I got the Kir Royale cocktail and it was so yummy and refreshing! Sitting outside is always a treat, the location is gorgeous and there's always enough shade to protect you from the sun. Hubs got the salmon sandwich, his favorite and I got the pulled pork sandwich. Love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Such a lovely experience! We sat outside and even though there was a wedding it was very peaceful and quiet. Our waitress was a very nice young lady, who catered to us! The food was really delicious too! I'm glad we found this gem, we definitely will be visiting it again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

We have a great time, perfect weather to sit out on the patio.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Happy Hour, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Garré is a beautiful venue in general. The cafe was wonderful. Our server was Serena and she was always attentive to our needs. The chef makes the most amazing crab dip and the baked cauliflower was the most unique and delicious item on the appetizer menu. We ordered the steak and it came out perfect. It melted in our mouths.
There was a wedding happening when we arrived and although we thought it would be loud in the cafe, it wasn't at all. We had drinks and dessert on the patio and the beautiful vineyards at sunset just topped off the night.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 29, 2017

This was my second time dining at Garre -- both times for birthday celebrations. We had a lovely lunch on the patio. The service was great and the food was delicious! Love their menu, too!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Great food in a beautiful setting. On this occasion, the chicken marsala was a standout!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 28, 2017

We always enjoy meeting for lunch at Garre`, especially when the weather is great and we can site comfortably outside.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Nice lunch menu and a beautiful setting on the winery. Their gelatos are delicious. We enjoyed the wine country salad and the portabella mushroom sandwich. A nice place to eat when you are wine tasting!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Great service at this place. My friends and I enjoyed our food after a morning of wine tasting. Will definitely go back!

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Nice staff and pleasant surroundings. The menu had something for everyone's taste, young and old.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Great service and great food! Will be back again!

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Food and setting was great. Our service was good ad laid back which was fine. But, when we order a bottle of wine first thing after being seated, it should not take 15 miutes to get the bottle and glasses when the bar is just steps away.

We will defineitley be back, though.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Food and wine was excellent! Can be a bit noisy...

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We enjoyed the views from the patio and the food was outstanding. It was nice to wine taste before dinner. We will be back.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Hostess was rude. Service was super slow even though the place was empty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 26, 2017

I really wish this little gem were open more frequently than just lunch and Dinner on weekends and lunch only during the week. It's a great venue, the food is very good and reasonably priced with an extensive menu. It is a bit out of the way and you really have to know it's there to find it, but what a great find!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Well staffed, personable waiters, great variety of food, quite atmosphere, excellent value.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Nice relaxing lunch inside since it was too hot to sit outside. Had a wonderful waitress. Looking forward to sitting outside on their patio when it cools off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 20, 2017

We were greeted and seated promptly. Bread and water were served quickly and then we waited and waited for our menus. The restaurant was full and yet being acknowledged by a member of the wait staff was not there. We were not asked if we wanted anything more to drink (this restaurant is in a winery!). The food was good and after we ate, plates were cleared promptly (nice!). Then we waited, waited, waited some more and decided to head to the hostess. She thanked us for coming! We could have kept going without paying our check and we did not.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Great View for outside dining. Nice and friendly staff. Love their foods.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 12, 2017

I brought my parents who were visiting from San Antonio. We decided to get something to eat before winetasting. The ambience was very nice, the staff was friendly and helpful, and the food was delicious. We had the half sandwich and a cup of soup combo for lunch that was just the right size.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Healthy, Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The service was slow but I attribute that to the wedding in the next room I think they were just short staffed. The staff was friendly which helped the wait. I found the wedding annoying as people were cheering and that was not the ambience I was looking for. They did quiet down once they started eating. The food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Food is always good here. They were a bit under staffed. Could be since they had a wedding at the event center. Love taking in a Livermore wine and having the corkage fee waived.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Loved the view and patio. We sat outside with our 2 year old and we liked that she could run round. We were fortunate there weren't too many people. The food was pretty tasty with the exception of our short ribs, which was dry for our liking. However, It was nice of the chef to come out and discount a portion of our meal. The crab dip, pizza, and carbonara was delicious. Our server was very nice and attentive. We will definitely return to try more.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 29, 2017

The view of the vineyards from our table was great. Service was a little spotty since most diners were inside and only a few tables seated outside. The pasta of the day with Nonna's gravy was very good and hot/fresh. The pizza was OK but needed some additional flavors.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Four of us dined together. We ordered 3 appetizers and a total of 3 different main courses. Everything was excellent. Service was spot on as well. Our only complaint was there generic beer list. The restaurant is in close proximity to 5 craft breweries and didn't feature any of their beers. We all agreed we'd come back here again and again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Consistently good food no matter your menu choice in a great atmosphere. I've become a repeat customer and love the food and atmosphere. Great place to take in the relaxing vibe in Livermore Valley.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 24, 2017

The grilled salmon was terrific served on French green beans and a mash potato patty topped with onion rings. The flavors were terrific!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Risotto of the day is almost.... always.. my favorite !!!!!

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Once again, we had a great meal at Garre. Everyone enjoyed their meals and the service was fantastic.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Awesome! Still the best restaurant in Livermore!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.