About Garre Cafe

7986 Tesla Road
Livermore, CA 94550
View Larger Map

Experience old Italy as the scent of freshly baked focaccia bread sets the mood for a truly moving dining experience. With a beautiful Italian garden, wine barrels and surrounding vineyards the stress and worry of the day disappear. Enjoy our eclectic menu featuring California cuisine with a Mediterranean influence paired with our handcrafted wines. With both indoor and outdoor seating the café is perfect for a business lunch, an intimate date or family gatherings.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 11:00am - 2:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 8:30pm
Sunday: 11:00 am - 6:30 pm

Cross Street:
Tesla & Greenville

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(925) 371-8100

Website:
http://www.garrewinery.com/cafe_garre.html

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We currently have two venues available for Weddings, Social and Corporate Events. Bella Rosa can host up to 370 seated dinners and the Martinelli Center can host up to 200 seated dinners.

Garre Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Lunch (26)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Casual (18)
See All
Special Occasion (17)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Good for a Date (14)
Modern Decor (14)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Worth the Drive (10)
Romantic (10)
Business Meals (9)
Cozy (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Fun (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Scenic View (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Healthy (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Wood Oven (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Authentic (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Private Room (4)
Family Style (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Seasonal (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Organic (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Tapas (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
139 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

This is my neighborhood go-to restaurant. Food is always good and at lunch time Rosie makes an excellent peartini!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was good and well prepared. Enjoyed the meatballs and fried olives as apps. Tomato bisque was tasty but a little too smoky. Paired well with the ultimate grilled cheese on a rainy afternoon.

First bottle of wine was corked and the waitress took it back no questions. She opened and checked the next two bottles before bringing a replacement to the table, which was appreciated.

Ambience was upbeat, and decor modern. Somewhat close quarters with the tables near each other, so maybe not the best for an intimate meeting or romantic date. One party member noted the space reminded them of a hotel conference room, which is not surprising given there is such a space adjoining.

Overall a pleasant experience and would consider visiting again for lunch when we're in Livermore again.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

This is our second time to Garre's restaurant in the last month. Really great food and excellent value. The pizza's are great and the shrimp app I had was excellent! My son's Tuna Tartar was also excellent! Salads are very good, my wife is very picky about salad and she was very complimentary.

Their wine list isn't extensive but they have nice wines, particularly the Alsace Riesling. Better yet, their stemware is top notch! Corkage is just $10 and we opened 3 bottles and they only charged us for 1. We will be back...soon. This is truly a hidden gem way right in our backyard here in Livermore.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Great food and great ambiance. The wait staff is very professional and the service is very good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Authentic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Tried Garre Café for the first time in their new building. I loved the ambience and the food was good too! I took my friend here for her birthday and they gave her a lovely dessert.

Will be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This review is for our third visit for Valentine's dinner, our first in the expanded facility. Service was great, and food was good. However, the wine and food pairing quality did not meet our expectations, compared to our earlier memorable visits.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

A wonderful time on Valentines Day! Thank you so much, my evening very enjoyable.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Casual, Disabled Access, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 13, 2017

In Livermore wine country nice to have lunch or summer evening diner inside or on outside patio.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great food. Service needs a lot of work... good folks but they need major training on service. Like table greeting within 5-10 mins...offering beverages early, checking on table, and mostly confirming they got the order right, which they didn't

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Good menu selection, well executed and great ambiance. Staff friendly, efficient and professional. Quiet spot for a very good meal and relaxation.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We have dinned here on several occasions and have brought both friends and family they all loved the food, wine, view, ambiance. Could not believe it was in Livermore. Thoroughly enjoyed their visits as well as us.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Organic, Wood Oven, Scenic View, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Great staff, very attentive and took care of the birthday girl! Great food!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 18, 2017

I absolutely love Garre Cafe. The food is amazing and the staff is always polite and very accommodating.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Good food. Server was very attentive and pleasant, but service was extremely slow. A very long wait between the time the orders were taken and when the meals finally arrived.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Everything was perfect! The Carbnara was delicious! Will definitely come back! Warm and friendly people and atmosphere!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Casual, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Great winter gathering of family on a rainy Monday. Garre was a hit with everyone. We started in the tasting room, which was so friendly and wines were quite good. Followed up with lunch in the cafe which was quite nice. Might have been a bigger crowd than expected since it was a Monday, so service was a bit slow. But company was great and the setting was lovely. I'd definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I love to dine here! Food is great, pricing is reasonable, great service, and romantic.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 24, 2016

I was quite impressed with both the food and the wonderful facility. It had been a number of years since I had visited the Garre Cafe. I remembered it as a nice little cafe within the winery tasting room. Now it is a beautiful restaurant with a larger menu. I will certainly be back more often.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We were having a baby shower lunch. The service was excellent and the food was great.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Our server, Rosie was excellent. Rosie was courteous, friendly and very attentive to everyone at our table. Rosie speaks Spanish which was great because we had a Spanish speaking person in our party.

Rosie is an excellent asset to Garre Cafe.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The staff, as always, was delightful. They're so friendly and were quick to point out options or substitutions for those with dietary restrictions. The food was delicious and the ambience was cozy. I'll definitely be returning.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 19, 2016

First visit - will be back again. Appetizers, pizza, soup, salad and sandwich were all great. Good selection of winery wines.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Casual, Healthy, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Food was excellent, even beyond excellent, would recommend to anyone who enjoys good food, great service, a relaxed atmosphere and a modest price for everything. Wines are also great.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We ordered a selection of appetisers: olives, meatballs, ahi tuna etc. Had also ordered an entree of ravioli but told the server to skip it as there was so much great tasting food. Our server Alex was outstanding. Definitely going back the next time I'm in the Livermore wine country

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The food was delicious, but the service was slow. The staff was friendly and courteous

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Excellent food and service in a comfortable environment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Beautiful place, good food, good wine. Wish there was at least one entree on the menu that was vegetarian and not filled with cheese though. I get tired of always having salad.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This is a beautiful place for some wine tasting and light lunch on the patio. We enjoyed the views from our table and our server, Alexander, was very attentive and helpful. We would recommend this to friends and hope to come back with a group very soon.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 31, 2016

After an afternoon of wine tasting... We stopped into Garre Cafe, 2 times.

I feel they serve the best gourmet Risotto. Soup of the day was outstanding on both ocassions too.

Yes the Wine is also good !

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

I have been here multiple times and this was by far the worst service. We had to wait a long time for bread and the person filling water glasses only filled one at each visit even though others were obviously empty. It was hard to get service even though the restaurant was pretty vacant. I was really disappointed that we celebrated our special occasion there and the service was pretty poor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

My wife and I arrived promptly at 6pm and was greeted by no one. Looked around to find no one in the restaurant. Perhaps they should only be open for lunch if they have 0 business on a Saturday night .

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We love brunch here on a nice day. The patio is not super-scenic but pleasantly rural with a relaxed, casual atmosphere that matches a mellow wine-tasting vibe in the Livermore Valley. Not far from downtown; if you want a more "happening" scene places like Sauced are better. Garre Cafe is a very mellow, relaxing experience. Servers are young and not top-notch but they try hard to do a good job. The food is basic, slanted Cal-Italian. Note the kitchen is heavy on the cheese, it goes into almost everything (including the gumbo, where it was tasty but doesn't really belong). We've come here twice with our friends and both times have really enjoyed it. Much more down-home and real than the overpriced and tourist-heavy Napa Valley scene!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Had a small family get together for casual lunch. The patio is terrific, comfortable and with an outstanding view. We wanted to take our time to visit and catch up with each other and did just that while being attended to by our server. Food was very good and wine was excellent. The warm outdoor ambiance was even better. We ended staying for several hours and then having coffee and dessert later. After failing to fill the promise of being able to make any coffee drink, the server comp'd over half the desserts. The server was more disappointed with the unfulfilled orders than we were and made the extremely nice gesture. Nice people, good food, great atmosphere. Go enjoy!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Wood Oven, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I have been here for lunch and dinner. Lunch was a 3+ star experience. Dinner was a solid 2 stars.

For me, it's hard to beat a good lunch on a nice patio outdoors. That's what Garre provided. The food was good, not outstanding, but no complaints.

Dinner was a different story. The service was slow, the food looked reheated, and the ambience was disappointing. A large screen TV by the bar graced us with distracting advertising about Garre's facilities (tacky), the lighting was more for cleaning up at the end of the night then for enjoying a mellow dinner, and our conversation was punctuated often by applause for the happy couple at the reception in the large hall adjacent to the cafe. This isn't a complaint about joyous parties but rather questioning the wisdom of putting a large party venue with a hefty sound system right next to a dining room that tries to present itself as a "dining" establishment as opposed to, say, a bar and grill-type place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 19, 2016

We enjoyed our meal, but found a fly actually on our chocolate tort. It was very disgusting to see. Only one bit was eaten from it and told our waitress. We didn't even want a replacement. Not sure if she even deducted it from our bill.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Father's ay Sunday brought us to Garre Cafe to celebrate. The food was wonderful, reasonably priced and served promptly. We sat outside in the beautiful weather and enjoyed the scenery. A little music outside might add to the patio mood! Thank you for a great first experience...we'll be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 14, 2016

The portions of Pizza are large, so get the flatbread! We also got the fried olives and YES they are amazing and totally worth 7 dollars. It was a nice place, the service wasn't pushy trying to sell wine, which I appreciated. Good, fun place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 12, 2016

Picked this place because of the reviews, maybe my expectations were too high. Service was pretty slow, hostess was indifferent. Food was good. Wouldn't go back though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 5, 2016

Wait staff seemed "new", but very accommodating and friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 30, 2016

I have eaten here a half-dozen times and have not had a bad experience, but this last time I had rubbery chicken. That said, it's a great place and the other five times have been wonderful experiences! I would recommend it based on all of my experiences, and give them the benefit of the doubt for the most recent visit.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 29, 2016

We had a choice of indoor or outdoor dining, and took indoor. The room was pleasantly quiet, and the food was imaginative without being overwhelming. Service was OK but it could have been a bit snappier.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 28, 2016

Pleasant surroundings and nice atmosphere however they were out of the cabernet wine we ordered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 23, 2016

A unique spot on Tesla road in Livermore. The ambiance is great, the service prompt and efficient, and the food very good. I would definitely recommend this for a special luncheon occasion.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 22, 2016

We have eaten at Garre several times. We live in San Jose, but anytime we are near Livermore, we are tempted to drive to Garre. The service is fiendly and attentive, the menus is varied and interesting, and the food has always been outstanding. It is not cheap, but certainly not overly expensive for this quality of dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 15, 2016

Alex was a helpful and attentive. The food and wine were delicious. The most memorable part of the meal was the Tiramisu. It was outstanding. We highly recommend Garre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 12, 2016

Had a great business lunch here as always! The half sandwich special works for me every time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 10, 2016

Work near Garre and have eaten there many times. Always enjoy food but service was slower than usual and we were the only patrons outside.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2016

We arrived 20 min late for our reservation, the Hostess had graciously saved one table..for us! Her graciousness was very appreciated, and totally unexpected!!! We all had Fridays clam chowder, very good just right consistency without being paste and lots of clams and herbs for flavor. Chicken sandwiches with generous bacon, wine County salad great, Caesar Salad average, tiramisu's arrived a bit icy/frozen. We gave it a few minutes to sit and thaw, then the bottom layers became soggy with water. So that treat was an ick. Overall, restaurant was full, server very slow to appear, but fantastic entrees, beautiful presentation with desert bomb! ui

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 2, 2016

We went to celebrate my daughter's birthday and were a party of 8. The server was great and the staff kept our water poured and table cleared nicely. The food was interesting and tastey, too. We enjoyed the calamari, chopped salad, duck flatbread, salmon flatbread, artichoke flatbread, cowboy burger, salmon burger, ravioli, and spinach salad and everything was very good. They gave us complimentary desserts for the birthday girl and the creme brulee was excellent. Not very crowded on a Sunday night. I would like to return for lunch to try some of the other items on the menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 24, 2016

We made reservations for lunch at 1:00 PM. We arrived before 1:00 PM. We finally were seated at the table a little after 1:45 PM. Be aware that a reservation means you are in line for a table, eventually.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.