Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.65mi
  2. Distance: 1.88mi
  3. Distance: 3.29mi
  4. Distance: 3.72mi
  1. Distance: 0.65mi
  2. Distance: 1.88mi
  3. Distance: 3.29mi
  4. Distance: 3.72mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.65mi
  2. Distance: 1.88mi
  3. Distance: 3.29mi
  4. Distance: 3.72mi
  1. Distance: 0.65mi
  2. Distance: 1.88mi
  3. Distance: 3.29mi
  4. Distance: 3.72mi

About Garre Cafe

Experience old Italy as the scent of freshly baked focaccia bread sets the mood for a truly moving dining experience. With a beautiful Italian garden, wine barrels and surrounding vineyards the stress and worry of the day disappear. Enjoy our eclectic menu featuring California cuisine with a Mediterranean influence paired with our handcrafted wines. With both indoor and outdoor seating the café is perfect for a business lunch, an intimate date or family gatherings.

7986 Tesla Road
Livermore, CA 94550
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 11:00am - 2:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 8:30pm
Sunday: 11:00 am - 6:30 pm

Cross Street:
Tesla & Greenville

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(925) 371-8100

Website:
http://www.garrewinery.com/cafe_garre.html

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We currently have two venues available for Weddings, Social and Corporate Events. Bella Rosa can host up to 370 seated dinners and the Martinelli Center can host up to 200 seated dinners.

Garre Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Lunch (32)
Great for Outdoor Dining (25)
Casual (23)
See All
Scenic View (20)
Special Occasion (19)
Sunday Lunch (18)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Good for a Date (13)
Romantic (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Fun (12)
Great for Brunch (11)
Comfort Food (9)
Business Meals (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Healthy (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Cozy (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
People Watching (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Authentic (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Family Style (2)
Historic (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Spicy (2)
Private Room (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Organic (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sort By:
S
190 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

Nice relaxing lunch inside since it was too hot to sit outside. Had a wonderful waitress. Looking forward to sitting outside on their patio when it cools off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined 4 days ago

We were greeted and seated promptly. Bread and water were served quickly and then we waited and waited for our menus. The restaurant was full and yet being acknowledged by a member of the wait staff was not there. We were not asked if we wanted anything more to drink (this restaurant is in a winery!). The food was good and after we ate, plates were cleared promptly (nice!). Then we waited, waited, waited some more and decided to head to the hostess. She thanked us for coming! We could have kept going without paying our check and we did not.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Great View for outside dining. Nice and friendly staff. Love their foods.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 12, 2017

I brought my parents who were visiting from San Antonio. We decided to get something to eat before winetasting. The ambience was very nice, the staff was friendly and helpful, and the food was delicious. We had the half sandwich and a cup of soup combo for lunch that was just the right size.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Healthy, Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 4, 2017

The service was slow but I attribute that to the wedding in the next room I think they were just short staffed. The staff was friendly which helped the wait. I found the wedding annoying as people were cheering and that was not the ambience I was looking for. They did quiet down once they started eating. The food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Loved the view and patio. We sat outside with our 2 year old and we liked that she could run round. We were fortunate there weren't too many people. The food was pretty tasty with the exception of our short ribs, which was dry for our liking. However, It was nice of the chef to come out and discount a portion of our meal. The crab dip, pizza, and carbonara was delicious. Our server was very nice and attentive. We will definitely return to try more.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 29, 2017

The view of the vineyards from our table was great. Service was a little spotty since most diners were inside and only a few tables seated outside. The pasta of the day with Nonna's gravy was very good and hot/fresh. The pizza was OK but needed some additional flavors.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Four of us dined together. We ordered 3 appetizers and a total of 3 different main courses. Everything was excellent. Service was spot on as well. Our only complaint was there generic beer list. The restaurant is in close proximity to 5 craft breweries and didn't feature any of their beers. We all agreed we'd come back here again and again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Consistently good food no matter your menu choice in a great atmosphere. I've become a repeat customer and love the food and atmosphere. Great place to take in the relaxing vibe in Livermore Valley.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 24, 2017

The grilled salmon was terrific served on French green beans and a mash potato patty topped with onion rings. The flavors were terrific!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Risotto of the day is almost.... always.. my favorite !!!!!

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Awesome! Still the best restaurant in Livermore!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 18, 2017

We sat on the patio. Lovely outdoor view, friendly service and good food. I will eat here again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great ambience and food, very good service, enjoyed my experience for Mother's day!

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

This was our second visit and it won't be our last. Both times , we'd chosen to sit outdoors to enjoy the weather and wine country scenery. Umbrellas are opened if it gets to sunny and there's a fire pit for the cooler days. Staff is welcoming, friendly and attentive , while food and drink are great and reasonably priced. One of my favorite places in the Tri Valley.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great venue, great food and large enough portions to take home! We were there hosting friends from Europe (party of 8) so wanted them to have a wonderful experience. My husband and I have had multiple Brunches and Lunches but had never had dinner there.

Would have rated Service higher but when we got there our server was very busy so the hostess stepped up to take our order. Unfortunately, she didn't have the knowledge to do so as she didn't know Specials. Our waiter, Ezekiel, finally arrived and he was fabulous!

Shortribs and Chicken Marsala are to die for but everything was good. Not only are​ the prices reasonable but hearty appetites are easily accommodated.

I had wine tasted in the tasting room a couple of days prior so knew just what wines to buy. By buying them in the tasting room I purchased them for 20% less than what the restaurant charges. Their lone Chardonnay is fabulous as well as Nonna's Red Blend. Our table of eight loved both wines.

The evening was a complete success; thank you Garre Cafe! We'll be back for more memorable dinners.

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Pretty outdoor patio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 30, 2017

This was a horrible experience, the service was bad all around. They was a wedding going on and I'm guessing that's why they were so short staffed. We ordered soup and they never brought it. They didn't bring any bread, so we had to ask for it and still didn't get bring any. When the main dinner finally came it was warm not hot. There was an older lady working there and she looked like the manager and she did nothing to help out the staff, poor management.
So disappointed in this place and will never go back again or recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Food was great but service was so slow and servers seemed to busy to check on
Water etc

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 28, 2017

I always enjoy going to Garre Cafe. The food is very good and the atmosphere is always great, inside or outside. The service is very good as well. Highly recommend if you are looking for a nice place to eat that's not "the everyday" lunch place.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Very nice place to spend lunch. Reservations are generally a good idea

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2017

This was our first time eating here after they opened the event center and moved the restaurant from the old house. We were not only impressed with the ambiance and size of the new restaurant, but the friendliness of the staff and the quality of the food.

On their lunch menu, they have a nice variety of items from pasta to sandwiches to salads and more. Each of us had something different and we all enjoyed our meals thoroughly-Jambalaya, Risotto and a lunch salad.

This place is definitely on our rotation of casual dining restaurants!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Always the best place for drinks and dinner in Livermore...and Pleasanton for that matter!

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Casual, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Garre Cafe is a very pleasant place to have lunch, particularly on a nice day when you can sit outside on their patio. There is good variety on their menu; and the food is good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We drove in and had high hopes. However, when they brought out a red wine when we ordered a pinot gris, we knew we were in trouble! Crab fondue appetizer was fishy. Charred cauliflower just ok and grilled cheese mostly bread. The snap peas were tasty, but overall we were vey disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Always excellent. Best pizza in the area. Our waiter Alexander is always excellent. Maria is excellent during the day. Maggie is a great hostess. They take great care of us. Our favorite restaurant in Livermore. Great peartinis. Salmon is excellent, everything is excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We like coming here for lunch. We prefer the lunch menu over the dinner menu but when we have dined here for dinner our choices have always been very good. Our only recommendation would be that the music choice playing at dinner be changed from the day time upbeat style. I prefer quieter music for dinner.Having said that this is still our go to place to eat when in the Livermore area.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Good service. Pizza ordered was not as described. Reasonable prices. Great outdoor seating area.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The website sold us, unfortunately it did not live up to our expectations. I was happy to be told not to worry when I had to call and say we would be about 15 minutes late, only to arrive and see the place was practically empty anyways. There was a memorial service going on outside that definitely brought down the mood. To enter we had to walk right through it, that should have been something the winery took action to avoid. Once inside we were seated but then COMPLETELY ignored. The service was awful. We even decided we'd ask to be moved outside where it seemed just a bit livelier except we couldn't get anyone's attention to do so. Our food finally came and we ate and left. For a group of five energetic chatty women, this place killed our mood and we were all disappointed. Not somewhere any of us will be returning to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

This food is definitely not gourmet we had great service but the food and atmosphere was just all right

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Beautiful location. Alexander was a great waiter! Nice Appetizers. Service was a little slow due to a larger party but we didn't mind. Not noisy at all. Very clean and great ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We had the pleasure of dining inside at the Garre Cafe last year but it was a bit chilly and we stayed inside. We had commented how lovely it would be if dining outside was possible once the weather cooperated. This year, after staying overnight in the area following a wonderful family wedding, (Yeah and congrats to Erin and Zoran!) we remembered the spot and took our son and his lovely girlfriend. We tasted wines first, bought a bottle, they uncorked it for us and we strolled up the hill for a lovely lunch outside. No wind, beautiful weather, amazing view, excellent service and delicious food. There was a shower going on in one of the rooms in the back...folks on bikes pulled up to eat and enjoy the weather plus amazing food items.
Couldn't ask for anything more. We penciled in a followup visit with Bocci ball first...losing team pays for lunch ! Highly recommend this fantastic restaurant and if you're into it...stop at the tasting room first to select your bottle before your meal. Delightful experts in there as well!

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 1, 2017

A very nice restaurant to come and enjoy an evening meal with a delicious glass of wine. Excellent service from the staff. Both times I have been here I have enjoyed the experience and will be coming again. Lots of items left to try on the menu. The smoked salmon flatbread and pizza were delicious.

Tags: Historic, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Afternoon Coffee, Paleo Friendly, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Tapas, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Wonderful vineyard dining.....especially wonderful in good weather when you can sit outside.
Fun menu!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Have been here many times and know most of the staff. The food is good, the service is friendly and prompt. Outdoor seating is a plus. Try the jambalaya and the dark chocolate gelato.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Was very good. We were not rushed at all which was great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We always love your restaurant, the food, service, ambiance. We always recommend to friends.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Spicy, Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Excellent place. We love it there. Food is aleays great and service is awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 19, 2017

First time there, met friends with kids for a Sunday lunch. Good kids menu (crayons included). Salads, pasta, burger, desserts were good (nobody tried other meat or fish). Didn't love the appetizers or would have given this a 5 star. Great outdoor & private party room spaces. Recommend reservation during peak hours. Was lively inside with a full house but not extremely loud so great for conversation or a date. Prices are not cheap but average for winery or upscale dining. Attire could be shorts, jeans or dressy. Really want to go back to try short ribs on dinner menu. Wish they had paved parking, the gravel is not going to be classic car friendly while out for a drive.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Casual, Cozy, Scenic View, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Great place to enjoy a meal while wine tasting or other occasion in the Livermore Valley. We ate outside and enjoyed the vineyard views.

Tags: Casual, Disabled Access, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.