Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.65mi
  2. Distance: 1.88mi
  3. Distance: 3.29mi
  4. Distance: 3.72mi
  1. Distance: 0.65mi
  2. Distance: 1.88mi
  3. Distance: 3.29mi
  4. Distance: 3.72mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.65mi
  2. Distance: 1.88mi
  3. Distance: 3.29mi
  4. Distance: 3.72mi
  1. Distance: 0.65mi
  2. Distance: 1.88mi
  3. Distance: 3.29mi
  4. Distance: 3.72mi

About Garre Cafe

Experience old Italy as the scent of freshly baked focaccia bread sets the mood for a truly moving dining experience. With a beautiful Italian garden, wine barrels and surrounding vineyards the stress and worry of the day disappear. Enjoy our eclectic menu featuring California cuisine with a Mediterranean influence paired with our handcrafted wines. With both indoor and outdoor seating the café is perfect for a business lunch, an intimate date or family gatherings.

7986 Tesla Road
Livermore, CA 94550
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 11:00am - 2:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 8:30pm
Sunday: 11:00 am - 6:30 pm

Cross Street:
Tesla & Greenville

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(925) 371-8100

Website:
http://www.garrewinery.com/cafe_garre.html

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We currently have two venues available for Weddings, Social and Corporate Events. Bella Rosa can host up to 370 seated dinners and the Martinelli Center can host up to 200 seated dinners.

Garre Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Lunch (33)
Casual (29)
Special Occasion (22)
See All
Good for Birthdays (22)
Great for Outdoor Dining (21)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Worth the Drive (15)
Business Meals (15)
Good for a Date (14)
Fun (14)
Romantic (13)
Modern Decor (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Scenic View (11)
Comfort Food (11)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Great for Brunch (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Cozy (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Healthy (6)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Private Room (5)
Wood Oven (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Authentic (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Family Style (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Tapas (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Organic (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Historic (2)
Spicy (2)
People Watching (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
165 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We drove in and had high hopes. However, when they brought out a red wine when we ordered a pinot gris, we knew we were in trouble! Crab fondue appetizer was fishy. Charred cauliflower just ok and grilled cheese mostly bread. The snap peas were tasty, but overall we were vey disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Always excellent. Best pizza in the area. Our waiter Alexander is always excellent. Maria is excellent during the day. Maggie is a great hostess. They take great care of us. Our favorite restaurant in Livermore. Great peartinis. Salmon is excellent, everything is excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We like coming here for lunch. We prefer the lunch menu over the dinner menu but when we have dined here for dinner our choices have always been very good. Our only recommendation would be that the music choice playing at dinner be changed from the day time upbeat style. I prefer quieter music for dinner.Having said that this is still our go to place to eat when in the Livermore area.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Good service. Pizza ordered was not as described. Reasonable prices. Great outdoor seating area.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The website sold us, unfortunately it did not live up to our expectations. I was happy to be told not to worry when I had to call and say we would be about 15 minutes late, only to arrive and see the place was practically empty anyways. There was a memorial service going on outside that definitely brought down the mood. To enter we had to walk right through it, that should have been something the winery took action to avoid. Once inside we were seated but then COMPLETELY ignored. The service was awful. We even decided we'd ask to be moved outside where it seemed just a bit livelier except we couldn't get anyone's attention to do so. Our food finally came and we ate and left. For a group of five energetic chatty women, this place killed our mood and we were all disappointed. Not somewhere any of us will be returning to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

This food is definitely not gourmet we had great service but the food and atmosphere was just all right

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Beautiful location. Alexander was a great waiter! Nice Appetizers. Service was a little slow due to a larger party but we didn't mind. Not noisy at all. Very clean and great ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We had the pleasure of dining inside at the Garre Cafe last year but it was a bit chilly and we stayed inside. We had commented how lovely it would be if dining outside was possible once the weather cooperated. This year, after staying overnight in the area following a wonderful family wedding, (Yeah and congrats to Erin and Zoran!) we remembered the spot and took our son and his lovely girlfriend. We tasted wines first, bought a bottle, they uncorked it for us and we strolled up the hill for a lovely lunch outside. No wind, beautiful weather, amazing view, excellent service and delicious food. There was a shower going on in one of the rooms in the back...folks on bikes pulled up to eat and enjoy the weather plus amazing food items.
Couldn't ask for anything more. We penciled in a followup visit with Bocci ball first...losing team pays for lunch ! Highly recommend this fantastic restaurant and if you're into it...stop at the tasting room first to select your bottle before your meal. Delightful experts in there as well!

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 1, 2017

A very nice restaurant to come and enjoy an evening meal with a delicious glass of wine. Excellent service from the staff. Both times I have been here I have enjoyed the experience and will be coming again. Lots of items left to try on the menu. The smoked salmon flatbread and pizza were delicious.

Tags: Historic, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Afternoon Coffee, Paleo Friendly, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Tapas, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Wonderful vineyard dining.....especially wonderful in good weather when you can sit outside.
Fun menu!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Have been here many times and know most of the staff. The food is good, the service is friendly and prompt. Outdoor seating is a plus. Try the jambalaya and the dark chocolate gelato.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Was very good. We were not rushed at all which was great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We always love your restaurant, the food, service, ambiance. We always recommend to friends.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Spicy, Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Excellent place. We love it there. Food is aleays great and service is awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 19, 2017

First time there, met friends with kids for a Sunday lunch. Good kids menu (crayons included). Salads, pasta, burger, desserts were good (nobody tried other meat or fish). Didn't love the appetizers or would have given this a 5 star. Great outdoor & private party room spaces. Recommend reservation during peak hours. Was lively inside with a full house but not extremely loud so great for conversation or a date. Prices are not cheap but average for winery or upscale dining. Attire could be shorts, jeans or dressy. Really want to go back to try short ribs on dinner menu. Wish they had paved parking, the gravel is not going to be classic car friendly while out for a drive.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Casual, Cozy, Scenic View, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Great place to enjoy a meal while wine tasting or other occasion in the Livermore Valley. We ate outside and enjoyed the vineyard views.

Tags: Casual, Disabled Access, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Birthday lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 15, 2017

This is our fifth and last time dining here. Three times we've brought guests. But whether dining a deux or with another couple it's always something. Out of a menu item. Served the wrong meal. Slow service. This time it took 1 1/2 hours to be served two vegetable appetizers and two cold appetizers. We had to ask for the bread, dessert, and the check. And they were out of a menu item. Pasta. It wasn't very busy. It's such a disappointment. The new location is so pretty and the menu has some diversity. We ate many times at the old location and never had this problem. If they are going to compete with Porters and Wente and Concannon they need to up their game.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 13, 2017

My friend treated me to lunch because it was my birthday. It was nice and warm so we sat outside and enjoyed the scenery and the nice patio. We started with a cocktail and the food was really good. We both enjoyed what we had. We have come to the restaurant before, and will come again.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Fun, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

First of the all, the focaccia bread is out of this world. Amazing! Hubs got the salmon sandwich, he ate the whole thing. Delicious! I got the pulled pork, my favorite! I also ordered the kir royale, yummy! Service is always amazing and scenery is gorgeous! Love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Spent a wonderful Sunday afternoon having lunch at this Livermore Valley winery. We were seated outside to soak up the valley view and enjoyed a nice spinach , artichoke and dungeness crab dip appetizer, spinach fig salad, and a very special creamy carbonara. Would highly recommend all 3 dishes. Service was excellent and staff were all lovely . Looking forward to many more visits with friends.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Outstanding surprise and location. Afraid to make it sound too good: loved the ambiance.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Historic, People Watching, Good for Groups, Wood Oven, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Great, as always. Lunch time is my favorite. Food is always good and Rosie makes the
best peartini EVER!!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Garre Winery has changed since the last time I was there. The old cafe is now the tasting room and they have a new cafe. The positive thing about Garre Winery is that their wine is good and their tasting is only $10. If you buy a min. of 2 bottles of wine, that tasting price is deducted from the price . It's very reasonable. The negative thing is that their food was not impressive. Ordered a turkey sandwich for lunch and it looked like something I would make my kids for school lunch and it cost me $13. I expected something more gourmet for the price and the environment. Not impressed with their food but the wine was good.

Tags: Casual, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Wanting to try something different than our usual haunts, my husband and I stopped in at the Garre Cafe for lunch. The food was delicious and service was excellent. Would definitely recommend. We'll be back to try dinner some evening.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 23, 2017

This is my neighborhood go-to restaurant. Food is always good and at lunch time Rosie makes an excellent peartini!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Food was good and well prepared. Enjoyed the meatballs and fried olives as apps. Tomato bisque was tasty but a little too smoky. Paired well with the ultimate grilled cheese on a rainy afternoon.
First bottle of wine was corked and the waitress took it back no questions. She opened and checked the next two bottles before bringing a replacement to the table, which was appreciated.
Ambience was upbeat, and decor modern. Somewhat close quarters with the tables near each other, so maybe not the best for an intimate meeting or romantic date. One party member noted the space reminded them of a hotel conference room, which is not surprising given there is such a space adjoining.

Overall a pleasant experience and would consider visiting again for lunch when we're in Livermore again.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

This is our second time to Garre's restaurant in the last month. Really great food and excellent value. The pizza's are great and the shrimp app I had was excellent! My son's Tuna Tartar was also excellent! Salads are very good, my wife is very picky about salad and she was very complimentary.

Their wine list isn't extensive but they have nice wines, particularly the Alsace Riesling. Better yet, their stemware is top notch! Corkage is just $10 and we opened 3 bottles and they only charged us for 1. We will be back...soon. This is truly a hidden gem way right in our backyard here in Livermore.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Great food and great ambiance. The wait staff is very professional and the service is very good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Authentic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Tried Garre Café for the first time in their new building. I loved the ambience and the food was good too! I took my friend here for her birthday and they gave her a lovely dessert.
Will be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This review is for our third visit for Valentine's dinner, our first in the expanded facility. Service was great, and food was good. However, the wine and food pairing quality did not meet our expectations, compared to our earlier memorable visits.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

A wonderful time on Valentines Day! Thank you so much, my evening very enjoyable.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Casual, Disabled Access, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 13, 2017

In Livermore wine country nice to have lunch or summer evening diner inside or on outside patio.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great food. Service needs a lot of work... good folks but they need major training on service. Like table greeting within 5-10 mins...offering beverages early, checking on table, and mostly confirming they got the order right, which they didn't

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Good menu selection, well executed and great ambiance. Staff friendly, efficient and professional. Quiet spot for a very good meal and relaxation.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We have dinned here on several occasions and have brought both friends and family they all loved the food, wine, view, ambiance. Could not believe it was in Livermore. Thoroughly enjoyed their visits as well as us.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Organic, Wood Oven, Scenic View, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Great staff, very attentive and took care of the birthday girl! Great food!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 18, 2017

I absolutely love Garre Cafe. The food is amazing and the staff is always polite and very accommodating.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Food is wonderful and the portions are large. Great wine bar, too

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Good food. Server was very attentive and pleasant, but service was extremely slow. A very long wait between the time the orders were taken and when the meals finally arrived.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.