Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 17 times today

Garre Cafe

4.3
329 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Mediterranean
Top Tags:
  • Great for Lunch
  • Great for Outdoor Dining
  • Casual
Experience old Italy as the scent of freshly baked focaccia bread sets the mood for a truly moving dining experience. With a beautiful Italian garden, wine barrels and surrounding vineyards the stress and worry of the day disappear. Enjoy our eclectic menu featuring California cuisine with a Mediterranean influence paired with our handcrafted wines. With both indoor and outdoor seating the café is perfect for a business lunch, an intimate date or family gatherings.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Mediterranean, Italian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Mon–Thu 11:00 am–2:00 pm
Thu 5:00 pm–8:30 pm
Fri, Sat 11:00 am–8:30 pm
Sun 11:00 am–4:30 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(925) 371-8100 ext. 1
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Abe Ahmari
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Tesla & Greenville
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
We currently have two venues available for Weddings, Social and Corporate Events. Bella Rosa can host up to 370 seated dinners and the Martinelli Center can host up to 200 seated dinners.
Additional
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 329 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.3
service
4.4
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
90% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined 3 days ago

We enjoyed the fixed menu offered only on Thursday nights. Great choices.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Great Food and great service! Wine prices were very reasonable and the wines from the winery. Food was excellent and the menu offered a lot of variety for a Café style restaurant. The chipotle shrimp were amazing.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 20, 2018

I would have rated this overall outstanding except that the waitress did not return to the table until we were finished our meal and we had wanted to order another drink. It was busy, but not that busy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Great food and ambiance. My mushroom & duck flat bread was yummy.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 16, 2018

need more service personnel, service is slow to get started, food is always pretty good so we keep coming back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 14, 2018

We had a nice lunch here after some wine tasting. I had the steak sandwich and it was really delicious. Hubby had the grilled cheese and it was extremely disappointing. Service was very friendly but it could have been more attentive and efficient. I had a view straight into the kitchen through the curtains and saw constant standing and chatting among the servers, who should have been paying more attention to the guests who were looking around the dining room for their server. Missed opportunities for desserts or to fill the empty wine glasses.....people ran out of time for that sale to be made. Management might want to get on top of this.....Overall, with employee supervision, it would be worth another star.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Enjoyed a nice meal. Salmon was great. I would pass on the chocolate tart next time. Not worth the calories.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 9, 2018

Very nice winery, however terrible service. The hostess didn't even bother greeting us nicely or walking us to our table and acted like she was annoyed that we were there celebrating my friends 21st birthday (it was just us and we were quite and polite). Server was okay. It took forever for him to take our order. 5 minutes to even acknowledged us, another 5 minutes just to get water and then another 5 minutes to take our order even though our menus were stacked and on the side of the table. The only saving grace was the food. It was delicious. I had the Chicken Marsala and the chicken was tender and juicy . Overall, I don't know if I will come back because the service is just not up to par. $85 (with tip) for a lunch for 2 is too much when the service is poor.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

This is the fourth time we've had dinner at Garre, and it just keeps getting better. I dream about their olives and focaccia bread! The salads are super-fresh with seasonal ingredients, and the tomato soup had just the right amount of smoke in it to make it flavorful but not overpowering. My husband highly recommends the petite filet. Our server was professional, polished and friendly, even on a busy Saturday night! We'll be back soon!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Lovely outside patio. Staff was very friendly and efficient.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Sort of hidden place in south east Livermore. Food and service are great. Full bar. Go early and or make a reservation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2018

Love sitting outside on patio!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Excellent as usual, excellent service. Food was delicious.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Great food and atmosphere! We will definitely be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 26, 2018

Good food, nice ambience and service, quiet enough to visit with your friends. Nice location with pretty view.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Date night. Great food and service. A bit too quiet for my liking.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

The food was fabulous! I had the halibut, it was so light and flaky; delicious! Service was great too. It's such a pretty location. It was a little too windy and cold to sit outside but I will be back when its warmer and have some wine on the patio overlooking the beautiful vineyards.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Always an amazing time. Patio was 74° and amazing. Estate Chard 100!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Beautiful vineyard setting with delicious food

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Great food and great atmosphere. Highly recommend it!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

We enjoyed the Garre Café twice! The first time was by chance for an early afternoon lunch. Our waitress, Lisa, was very friendly and had several recommendations about the menu selections. She also shared information about the surrounding vineyards when we explained we were on vacation from Massachusetts and were looking forward to visiting a winery (or two) to participate in an afternoon of wine-tasting. :- )
We enjoyed the food, wine, and hospitality so much that we made the on-line reservation to make sure we could dine there for dinner the night before leaving the area and heading to our next destination. An added bonus for us that evening was that Lisa was there that evening and was our waitress again.
Sincerely,
Steve and Susan MacLean

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Yummy salad. Relatively large portions for the “half salad”. Took a while to get a server to our table...eventually the hostess took our order.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

We love dinner at Garre Cafe. Food was outstanding

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 8, 2018

We have been going to Le Garre Cafe for at least 5 years (when it was in what is now the tasting room). The new location is fabulous and very comfortable. We visited Sunday, April 8 for lunch and arrive at 11:30 The usual Matitre D' Maggie was not there. We were seated by one of the wait staff. I ordered what I usually oder: Beef Carpaccio along with the meatballs and the soup of the day, vegetable beef. The predominant vegetable was squash. The three of us also ordered wine by the glass. It was by no means an adult pour. Normally you can get four glasses of wine from a bottle. With this type of pour you could get six. A friend normally orders the jambalya. It was completely different this time.. very soupy with melted cheese on top and white fish seemingly added as an afterthought. Mentioned it to the wait person and wastold it was a different chef. We were very disappointed as the meal and service are usually excellent. The bread was served halfway through the meal as was the water. THe kicker, however, was two couples with their kids. Once finished they allowed the kids to run unattended through the restaurant screaming and bumping into chairs. The parents did nothing, the wait staff said nothing, We will continue to go back as I am sure the was an anomaly.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Smoked salmon starter was great and worked well for the two of us. Mains - chipotle shrimp and chicken carbonara were good but came out before we were a quarter through the salmon starter, so we sent them back, which seemed to completely confuse the serving staff, who then forgot our wine order.

It’s great that there are restaurant options in the vineyards around Livermore, we would love to see more of them. But we had a very average experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

We enjoyed our first time visit to Garre Cafe! We brought our son and grandson and we all enjoyed our meal, the ambience and the experience! We will be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

We had a wonderful experience. Service was superb, food was delicious and atmosphere was delightful.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

I'm so happy to have found this restaurant. I had been to Garre years ago but the restaurant was much smaller and more cafe like. This new restaurant is really hip, inviting, and a great place to relax and have a glass of wine. The food is excellent and so are the prices. Plenty of choices even for the picky eaters. Chicken Marsala was delicious! Good selection of wines and a full bar. I only wish they had better beer selections. They have indoor and patio seating for those warm summer days. I would definitely recommend if you want a nice day out with the spouse, get together with the girls, or celebrating something special.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 22, 2018

I mentioned on the reservation that we were celebrating a birthday. No one check in about this detail. We told them at dessert time we were celebrating and they did bring a free birthday dessert. Why ask for the special information at reservation time if you do not look at it?
The ambiance was really nice and we enjoyed our meal.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 21, 2018

The Garre Cafe is an ideal spot for lunch on a warn sunny day. Unfortunately, we were stuck with gloomy, wet weather and could not sit outside on the umbrella covered patio. Indoor seating in comfortable. The restrooms were large and clean. Perfect for folks coming in after wine tasting in the region. The menu tended toward casual fare with a twist or two. It looked like quite a few businesses people took clients there to chat in the friendly environment. I felt that the food was okay. Others among my group had a more positive impression. My salad was wilted, poorly dressed and looked like it came directly from a bag. To be honest, I can't remember the type of sandwich I hand. That's not a good sign.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

A great vineyard dining experience! The service was excellent and the atmosphere was very fun. The food was well prepared.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 17, 2018

This was our first visit, party of 8. The food was great and perfect portions, except the filet mignon was smaller than we’re used to at other reputable restaurants. We ordered the filet mignon, lamb, beef short ribs, chipotle shrimp, halibut and clam chowder. Flavors were great.
It is a little pricey, we’ve even eaten at Morton’s steakhouse, Kincaids, which are $$, and the prices here come real close to that even if it is stated to be $.
The only other thing was... we saw other dishes online through open table and yelp but we did not see those items. Not sure if they switch out their menu often but it would be nice to have more of a pasta selection if they fall under “Italian” as type of food or change it on your site.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 14, 2018

Food was average. Roasted cauliflower was more like steamed cauliflower. Crab dip had no crab that we could find. Flatbread toppings were great but crust was a little thick and dry. We ordered a side of fries and we had finished all our food and asked 3 different people about our fries before they arrived. Wine was good but took forever to get a glass. Waitress was really distracted and hard to track down. Place is really nice and has a great patio for a sunny day.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 12, 2018

A lovely spot. Outdoor dining is delightful. A very congenial and service minded staff. The food was lovely. This was my third time there and I intend to go again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 12, 2018

The restaurant has lovely service, views, and food. Pricey for lunch.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Usually come for brunch but this time had dinner/4 people. Mostly good, a couple of dishes sagged. Pros: Meatball starter good altho lukewarm. Prawn cocktail tasty. Roasted cauliflower w/padrons always is excellent. Smoked tomato bisque-we've had no success with the soups du jour but this one is always on the menu and is EXCELLENT. Our guests were super-impressed and were trying to figure out how to make it at home! Wine Cntry Salad very good; enough for 2 to share. Salmon entree very good; cooked to order (I wanted med rare; friend wanted medium). Filet mignon good but the sauce was a fail, as follows. Cons: sauces for filets (2 orders) salty and ordinary; one was so salty it was inedible. Creamed spinach side was CHEESE sauce, not cream, altho spinach was fresh wilted. Cannoli okay but aftertaste seemed more extract than fresh zest. Biggest fail: fried olives, much too salty. Chef came out & apologized, said they were using same recipe but new brand of olives. Hope they change brands again! Service was good altho they seemed understaffed for a large dinner at the Center next door; our waitress seemed to be helping cover both dining rooms. But she did a good job; her timing was excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Another delightful meal enjoyed at Garre to kick off our Livermore Wine Barrel Tasting weekend. We are never disappointed by the food, service or atmosphere!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 9, 2018

We ate outside and our dog enjoyed a hamburger while we had a great pizza and good wine. A great place for lunch or brunch.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 7, 2018

Three of us had lunch this week at Garre Cafe. Each had a different entree and we split an order of fantastic calamari. As we were leaving everyone commented how excellent their lunch was. It's a little out of the way, but the winery location is private, quiet, and quite lovely. I'm surprised they don't offer more wines, but what is on the list is fairly priced and goes well with the food. I look forward to returning.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 6, 2018

Always excellent. Truly one of the best restaurants in the Tri-Valley!!!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
9