Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.65mi
  2. Distance: 1.88mi
  3. Distance: 3.29mi
  4. Distance: 3.72mi
  1. Distance: 0.65mi
  2. Distance: 1.88mi
  3. Distance: 3.29mi
  4. Distance: 3.72mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.65mi
  2. Distance: 1.88mi
  3. Distance: 3.29mi
  4. Distance: 3.72mi
  1. Distance: 0.65mi
  2. Distance: 1.88mi
  3. Distance: 3.29mi
  4. Distance: 3.72mi

About Garre Cafe

Experience old Italy as the scent of freshly baked focaccia bread sets the mood for a truly moving dining experience. With a beautiful Italian garden, wine barrels and surrounding vineyards the stress and worry of the day disappear. Enjoy our eclectic menu featuring California cuisine with a Mediterranean influence paired with our handcrafted wines. With both indoor and outdoor seating the café is perfect for a business lunch, an intimate date or family gatherings.

7986 Tesla Road
Livermore, CA 94550
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 11:00am - 2:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 8:30pm
Sunday: 11:00 am - 6:30 pm

Cross Street:
Tesla & Greenville

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(925) 371-8100

Website:
http://www.garrewinery.com/cafe_garre.html

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We currently have two venues available for Weddings, Social and Corporate Events. Bella Rosa can host up to 370 seated dinners and the Martinelli Center can host up to 200 seated dinners.

Garre Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

Noise

Quiet

95% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (28)
Great for Lunch (25)
Good for a Date (23)
See All
Casual (21)
Special Occasion (18)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Scenic View (17)
Worth the Drive (17)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Good for Groups (14)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Great for Brunch (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Romantic (8)
Business Meals (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Fun (6)
Cozy (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Healthy (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Authentic (1)
Live Music (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
234 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

We thoroughly enjoyed our lunch outside in the vineyard. It is a beautiful spot on a beautiful sunny day. Food was very good, although a little hit or miss as one of our guest sent their food back. The blackened salmon sandwich was great! Service was a little slow to get our check-they definitely do not rush you out the door! I would highly recommend.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 8, 2017

This is our new favorite restaurant in Livermore. The food is fantastic--the salmon was perfectly cooked and the Nonna's gravy with meatballs is the best red sauce and meatballs I've ever had in a restaurant. It's pretty quiet unless there is a wedding going on, but even then the music wasn't too loud in the dining room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Wonderful food selection and perfect outdoor seating area. Everyone enjoyed their meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 1, 2017

My two girlfriends and I did wine tasting first in the wine room across the way which I highly recommend. We bought a couple of bottles and then headed over to Garre Cafe for our lunch reservation and we had the pleasure of being sat outside to enjoy the gorgeous weather and scenery. We ordered the calamari which was cooked perfectly, the jambalaya which was delicious and the special flatbread of the day, which was the 'Meat Lovers' and that was so good! I recommend this place to anyone doing wine tasting in Livermore or if you want a nice place to have lunch or dinner on the weekend.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

We had a large gathering of 14 for a birthday - the staff was very attentive; the ambiance was wonderful; even quiet (and there was a wedding in the next room!!)

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 30, 2017

I booked at last minute on Open Table to celebrate my birthday with my husband (I did note BIRTHDAY in the comments when I booked my reservation). Service was so slow for a 2pm reservation. I'm not sure if someone didn't show up to work or if they are normally like that. We noted that if there is a group, it takes away from the small tables.

We had intended to order lunch, but started off with drinks/appetizers and see how things would progress and order more. We got our drinks and water, but it took a while before we got our appetizers. By then, we weren't hungry anymore and more hangry at that point. What was really frustrating, was a couple behind us got seated and served bread right away to apologize for the delay. We didn't get any bread or an apology for the slow service. I was upset by then and we decided not to order lunch (because it's my birthday and almost in tears). My husband suggested we try to make up for my birthday somewhere else (and did - thank you Wente).

One more thing, the umbrella at the table next to us had a dead bird hanging from the umbrella. I can't believe no one noticed the poor thing flattened and hanging from the umbrella. My husband did not like looking at that! He went inside and told the management as we were leaving the restaurant.

My husband's impression was once the waitress knew we were going with apps/drinks first, we wouldn't be big tippers, so we were low priority. SO wrong, my husband worked as a waiter in college, he tips everyone. He even tipped our waitress almost 20% even though she didn't deserve it.

Overall, from the way service was, they made it clear we are not welcomed.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Don’t know what happened with our service. Our waitress never came to our table although she served the table next to us while we were looking at our menus. After waiting forever to order we flagged down the only waiter we saw. He told us we weren’t in his section but would take our order anyway. Then we waited forever for our bread and had to Flag him down again for that.
Fortunately we didn’t have to wait too long for our food, and it was all delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Great sunset with terrific food. Relaxed but special. I had great chicken marsala, my husband said the carbonara was the best.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Tapas, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

This was our first time at Garre`and we had our out of town family with us. We were very, very happy with the service and the food. There was 5 of us and we all had something different. We all raved about our food! And, the price was very reasonable. We will definitely return!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 4, 2017

We all enjoyed our food and wine, it was a great day and experience there!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Went on a long weekend Sunday, was concerned they would be very busy when we first arrived as there wasn't anyone at the host stand and we waited about 5 minutes prior to anyone greeting us.

We did have a reservation, and luckily while there were quite a few parties inside ( it was upwards of 100 degrees outside) the service was still great.

Food is fun California fare, with great wines, our server was friendly and provided prompt knowledgeable answers to our questions.

Would recommend Garre Cafe to all, this was my second visit with friends. The first I was seated outside on the patio and was there with family who also enjoyed lunch.

Tags: Fun, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Only 8 folks in our party showed up but the staff didn't flinch. We were seated promptly and received excellent service. Everyone enjoyed their meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on August 27, 2017

We were disappointed. We had various starters which were all ok. Then shared a duck confit pizza which didn't have much flavour.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 27, 2017

We had friends from oput of town for wine tawting and we ended up at Garre for dinner. Because it was so hot, we ate inside and found everything to be excellent. The service was perfect, not rushed, and the food fantastic. I will be going back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed the food and ambience. However our reservations were at 12:30 and the temperature outside was 100°. There was no option on open table for inside or outside dining. And when we arrived there was no option for inside dining and air-conditioning.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 19, 2017

I can't understand why this place isn't packed every Friday and Saturday night. The food is consistently excellent, and the service is superb. We always bring our own wine and they always waive corkage AND have excellent stemware! Why are you not here?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 13, 2017

The food was good. We went for a birthday lunch on a Sunday afternoon at 1:30pm, it was not crowded.
If you have a group of 10 they add a 20% Service charge.
If you are celebrating a birthday and bring a cake they charge $2.00 per person cutting fee. We were disappointed that they knew it was a birthday and they did not give the guest of honor a chance to blow out a candle on her cake. They only bring out the cake 🎂 Whenserving after they have cut it up.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Food presentation is great however the Portabella mushroom sandwich was drenched with olive oil- my paper napkin was wet from trying to soak up all the grease off the portabella mushroom. The waiter was friendly however didn't come to check on us and had to flag down the water people to request a refill on my soda plus ask again for utensils. The bussing people were more helpful than the waiter.

The venue or layout was very nice but the lack of attentiveness would not make me recommend this place for a large crowd or to bring guest here. I was embarrassed to have my out of town guest be exposed to this lack of service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Very nice waitress who remembered us from last time. Pleasant time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Great ambiance, food, service, and prices are reasonable. My favorite restaurant!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Authentic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Our server Rosie was great. Loved the Caesar salad!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Great lunch with friends. Had appetizers and a light meal. Broccoli Soup was wonderful. Service was great. No rush and very pleasant. Sat outside overlooking the vineyards. Wonderful view.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

Our group of 6 diners enjoyed ourselves. We had a vegetarian and 5 carnivores. The roasted tomato soup was tasty. The roasted cauliflower, excellent. My tuna tartare, delicious. Two people split the portobello mushroom sandwich and found it satisfying. Even though the restaurant was nearly empty inside (lots of outside diners), the waiter removed plates so hurriedly that I was left without a knife to finish my bread and butter.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Had a great time at Garre. The food was absolutely delicious, the wine list is impressive, and the overall experience was fantastic. Would highly recommend this to anyone.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We had a great time as a family dining outdoors and enjoying the great weather and scenery.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Delicious every time! I got the Kir Royale cocktail and it was so yummy and refreshing! Sitting outside is always a treat, the location is gorgeous and there's always enough shade to protect you from the sun. Hubs got the salmon sandwich, his favorite and I got the pulled pork sandwich. Love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Such a lovely experience! We sat outside and even though there was a wedding it was very peaceful and quiet. Our waitress was a very nice young lady, who catered to us! The food was really delicious too! I'm glad we found this gem, we definitely will be visiting it again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

We have a great time, perfect weather to sit out on the patio.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Happy Hour, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Garré is a beautiful venue in general. The cafe was wonderful. Our server was Serena and she was always attentive to our needs. The chef makes the most amazing crab dip and the baked cauliflower was the most unique and delicious item on the appetizer menu. We ordered the steak and it came out perfect. It melted in our mouths.
There was a wedding happening when we arrived and although we thought it would be loud in the cafe, it wasn't at all. We had drinks and dessert on the patio and the beautiful vineyards at sunset just topped off the night.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 29, 2017

This was my second time dining at Garre -- both times for birthday celebrations. We had a lovely lunch on the patio. The service was great and the food was delicious! Love their menu, too!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Great food in a beautiful setting. On this occasion, the chicken marsala was a standout!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 28, 2017

We always enjoy meeting for lunch at Garre`, especially when the weather is great and we can site comfortably outside.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Nice lunch menu and a beautiful setting on the winery. Their gelatos are delicious. We enjoyed the wine country salad and the portabella mushroom sandwich. A nice place to eat when you are wine tasting!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Great service at this place. My friends and I enjoyed our food after a morning of wine tasting. Will definitely go back!

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Nice staff and pleasant surroundings. The menu had something for everyone's taste, young and old.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Great service and great food! Will be back again!

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Food and setting was great. Our service was good ad laid back which was fine. But, when we order a bottle of wine first thing after being seated, it should not take 15 miutes to get the bottle and glasses when the bar is just steps away.

We will defineitley be back, though.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Food and wine was excellent! Can be a bit noisy...

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We enjoyed the views from the patio and the food was outstanding. It was nice to wine taste before dinner. We will be back.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Hostess was rude. Service was super slow even though the place was empty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.