About Garozzo's Ristorante - Overland Park

9950 College Blvd
Overland Park, KS 66210
View Larger Map

• Michael Garozzo, his wife Marguerite and their four daughters own and operate Kansas City's most awarded and popular Italian restaurant. Garozzo's boasts fine dining cuisine, moderately priced, in a family atmosphere. The restaurant is Zagat rated as one of the top Italian restaurants in the country, a Kansas City dining tradition for nearly 20 years. Garozzo's is where their signature dish Chicken Spiedini began, now often imitated and never duplicated around town; Garozzo's has made Chicken Spiedini a Kansas City staple. The Garozzo family and staff welcome you to any of four locations in the Kansas City area for a true Italian dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 11am-9:30pm
Friday 11am-10:30pm
Saturday 4pm-10:30pm
Sunday 4pm-9pm

Cross Street:
69 highway & College Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(913) 491-8300

Website:
http://www.garozzos.com/

Catering:
Garozzo's caters to any location, any time, any cuisine. Contact Todd Ferguson at (816)589-7072

Parking Details:
Parking available surrounding the restaurant.

Public Transit:
The Jo

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Salmon
Salmon

Garozzo's Ristorante - Overland Park Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.0

ambience

3.9

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (43)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Good for Groups (30)
See All
Romantic (17)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Notable Wine List (14)
Great for Lunch (13)
Kid-friendly (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Great for Brunch (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
716 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I really wanted to like this restaurant. ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 4 days ago

I really wanted to like this restaurant. I had heard a lot of good things about it but unfortunately, it was just average at an above average price point. Overall the service was a bit slow and spotty. Both of our drinks were wrong and needed to be sent back. Basic things (like bread) took forever (15-20 mins) to arrive at the table, and one of the coffee's that arrived with dessert was cold. Despite all these issues the only consideration was removing the coffee from the tab. Maybe our experience was considered "business as usual". The atmosphere was okay although it did feel a little neglected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Excellent Italian cuisine. Service good ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent Italian cuisine. Service good. Table-top space was cramped. Pretty congested and noise excessive. Aside from the authenticity and flavorful food served us, experience was OK.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Wood Oven, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Casual, Spicy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

Dined during the week with a friend who ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 7 days ago

Dined during the week with a friend who was visiting from out of town. Had a very nice dinner-service and food were both good and had a very good wine that was reasonably priced. The only thing I would say is that I could have done with about 1/2 the amount of angel hair pasta in my entree. It was excellent, but there was just SO MUCH pasta. I think the next time I order that entree, I'll request they use only 1//2 the normal amount of pasta.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We went there for my husband's birthday ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We went there for my husband's birthday dinner and enjoyed their delicious Chicken Spiedini. There was a mixup in getting our order to us, so he was given a second glass of wine and tiramasu for dessert on the house. We always enjoy dinner there.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

I had both excellent service, and excell ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I had both excellent service, and excellent food. I got both of what I expect from a great restaurant like this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had not been to grow so sing-along ti ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We had not been to grow so sing-along time. We were surprised by the atmosphere. First off the bartender was rude. We remembered tablecloths in the restaurant the last time we were there but there but that is no longer the case. It felt like we were in a Denny's. Our waiter was not good at all. The food was fine but neither couple will go there again. Very disappointing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

Not our first trip to Garozzos. Always e ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Not our first trip to Garozzos. Always enjoy the menu there. Somethings are off menu but don't forget things like the Adkins chicken spiedini

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

food was good. - not the best. service c ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

food was good. - not the best.

service could have been friendlier -- had to ask for bread --- and waitress seemed to have a bit of an attitude and pretty much ignored us at first.

not sure I would dine there again - snooty attitude -- may be nicer to regulars....

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Our wait staff was superior, gave some g ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Our wait staff was superior, gave some good suggestions, food came quickly enough (we were there to catch up on news, so we weren't in a hurry); the timing was perfect. Had the house salad (perfect, house-made dressing), house spiedini chicken and it was wonderful. We split a tiramisu, which was the best I can remember. Everything we had was freshly made and unique.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was excellent. The manager C ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

The service was excellent. The manager Chris made us feel like family. He had great suggestions. The food came out hot and delicious. We usually go to the Garozzo's by City Market enjoy both places but the bar area in Overland Park Ks is larger.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was very disappointed. The food was j ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

I was very disappointed. The food was just "okay". Years ago, the food was excellent. I won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

Tiramisu is wonderful best in KC! Great ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Tiramisu is wonderful best in KC! Great wine,chicken spedini Gabrielle is delicious and the calimari is outstanding. Salads are always so fresh I prefer Caesar salad with comes with endless fresh bread.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Celebrated my husband's birthday with hi ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Celebrated my husband's birthday with his favorite chicken spiedini dish which was perfect as usual. Our server was exceptionally professional and cordial making his birthday a very special one. We will be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always have great service and really goo ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Always have great service and really good food! Did not have a wait with my reservation. The staff was courteous and knowledgeable about food choices. The appetizer was great, the meal was delicious and we had left overs to take home! The salad was very good, but a little heavy on the Parmesan cheese. Overall a great experience!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent food and service. Waiter was ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Excellent food and service. Waiter was attentive but not intrusive.

Tags: Neighbourhood Gem, Romance, Special Occasions
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wanted a reservation at 11:30 Open Ta ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Wanted a reservation at 11:30 Open Table said none until 11:45 am

That was not true and place was empty. Manager says that happens

with Open Table....sometimes gives reservations for times the resturant

is not open.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food and service were great, as alwa ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The food and service were great, as always. The noise level was so loud that my guest and I had a hard time hearing each other across the table. There was an older gentleman who works at Garozzo's that was talking entirely too loudly to a few tables. It was like he thought he had to scream to be heard, which was not the case. Tone it down, please

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Food fabulous, atmosphere and prices we ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food fabulous, atmosphere and prices were great! Our waitress was not on point regarding service, she lacked a friendly personality..

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Coworker made the suggestion and it was ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Coworker made the suggestion and it was a GREAT one! Everything was perfect: food, service, ambiance, drinks...

My husband and I will be back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food. The server wasattentive ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Very good food. The server wasattentive, not intrusive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Table reservation system was excellent, ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Table reservation system was excellent, no waiting at all. Service was very good. Salads were fair and entrees very good. Not noisy. We should eat there more often except maybe a little pricey. Two of us + one bottle of wine = $80 + $20 tip = total about $100.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

As always just the best Italian food in ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

As always just the best Italian food in the city.Wait staff attentive but not over bearing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated my birthday. The food was ou ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Celebrated my birthday. The food was outstanding and we had great service. We have been here many times and absolutely no reason to continue to return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

very slow service - this is the third ti ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

very slow service - this is the third time in a row service was not good - won't return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

Good was amazing as always, service was ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Good was amazing as always, service was great too. I don't think I've ever been unsatisfied with Garozzo's (any of their locations)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Still serving good food after many year ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Still serving good food after many years in large portions for a good price. Also good service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

We had a great time will diffently come ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We had a great time will diffently come back. Table was ready when we arrived alway nice.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I went back to eat here after eating the ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

I went back to eat here after eating there three days prior. Unfortunately had an even worse experience with our waiter. He was unfriendly and rude and literally would not respond to a couple complaints we had. I am sincerely disheartened at how the level of service has gone down at this restaurant. The food is wonderful! The service has been less than okay the last few times I've gone and just plain bad the last two visits.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

This is one of my favorite if not absolu ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

This is one of my favorite if not absolute favorite restaurants. This visit left me disappointed though as the service was very sub par and has been the last few times I've been. Food is beyond great, the service from everyone from management to wait staff definitely could use some improvement.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

We both had the shrimp spiedini. It was ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We both had the shrimp spiedini. It was awesome! Highly recommend Garozzo's and definitely plan to return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Second time to dine. Won't go back. Se ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Second time to dine. Won't go back. Seems like they are cutting costs. Not good when the customer notices by the quality of the food. Tried to order a Bellini. Sent it back as it was flat Prosecco and peach syrup. Not the way you make a Bellini.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

We had a BOGO offer for the spiedini, an ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

We had a BOGO offer for the spiedini, and thoroughly enjoyed our meal and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Always love the Spedieni

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Great food as always. Perfect salad and bread to go with the Spedieni options.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meal was Memorial wknd Sunday. The ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The meal was Memorial wknd Sunday. The place was busy but our server & floor mgr kept the tea and water glasses filled. The meal was delightful. Chicken Spedini is always a favorite of ours

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Poor Service

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

My wife and I love the food at this restaurant. We had the Chicken Spedini and as usual it was great. If you are unsure about the wine the house Chianti is always good. Although I didn't have it this trip, the veal dished are alway a good choice. Garozzo's is the best Italian Restaurant in town. I hate to say it and I will not use a name but my server was way below the quality os staff at Garozzo's. The food made up for the poor service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Too Loud! Poor Service! Mediocre Food!

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

I was so anxious to get back to eat here after living away for a few years. I couldn't have been more disappointed Even with a reservation we were seated after parties who walked in without a reservation We were seated in the bar rather than the dining room as requested, and we were told that we should have made a reservation Our server was too busy to fill our water glasses, didn't want to bring to go containers for our food, and didn't want to bring change. Our food was lukewarm at best. Not a very good return trip. Probably won't do it again. There are too many other great options nearby.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Previously, our only Garozzo's experienc ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Previously, our only Garozzo's experience had been at the downtown location (which we love!) This location was a little disappointing. The food was just OK - and the service was not up the standard we're used to from Garozzo's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Great spedini

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Great spedini

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Always a great experiene. Great food an ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Always a great experiene. Great food and great service

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great for a group

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Had a group of twelve celebrating a graduation. The food and service were both outstanding, servings were huge, and it was a wonderful celebration. Would return without hesitation

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.