About Garozzo's Ristorante - Overland Park

9950 College Blvd
Overland Park, KS 66210
View Larger Map

• Michael Garozzo, his wife Marguerite and their four daughters own and operate Kansas City's most awarded and popular Italian restaurant. Garozzo's boasts fine dining cuisine, moderately priced, in a family atmosphere. The restaurant is Zagat rated as one of the top Italian restaurants in the country, a Kansas City dining tradition for nearly 20 years. Garozzo's is where their signature dish Chicken Spiedini began, now often imitated and never duplicated around town; Garozzo's has made Chicken Spiedini a Kansas City staple. The Garozzo family and staff welcome you to any of four locations in the Kansas City area for a true Italian dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 11am-9:30pm
Friday 11am-10:30pm
Saturday 4pm-10:30pm
Sunday 4pm-9pm

Cross Street:
69 highway & College Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(913) 491-8300

Website:
http://www.garozzos.com/

Catering:
Garozzo's caters to any location, any time, any cuisine. Contact Todd Ferguson at (816)589-7072

Parking Details:
Parking available surrounding the restaurant.

Public Transit:
The Jo

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Salmon
Salmon

Garozzo's Ristorante - Overland Park Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

3.9

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (34)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Good for Groups (22)
See All
Romantic (17)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Great for Lunch (14)
Notable Wine List (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Good for a Date (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Cozy (5)
Authentic (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Business Meals (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Casual (3)
Family Style (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Fun (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Spicy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Scenic View (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
733 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent food, wine, and atmosphere. Ve ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent food, wine, and atmosphere. Very courteous staff. I will definitely recommend this restaurant and return for future visits.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The bartender did an excellent job waiti ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

The bartender did an excellent job waiting on us. She was very personable. We went after the lunch hour, which apparently is not a busy time for Garozzo's. This was good in that we did not have to wait on anything, but a little strange that we were the only people there.

Tags: Casual, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The food was delicious and portion sizes ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The food was delicious and portion sizes were generous. Great staff as well.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for your birthday dinner. Food was ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great for your birthday dinner. Food was wonderful

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Garozzo's never fails! We had the olive ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Garozzo's never fails! We had the olive oil/garlic/herb dip for our bread, the Hill Special and a combo spedini of both chicken and shrimp. Delicious! And the left overs made for a great 2nd meal 2 days later!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

food was outstanding as always...server ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

food was outstanding as always...server was very attentive...they made a mistake on the bill but it was resolved by management.......

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

fantastic food !!!We had a great Server ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

fantastic food !!!We had a great Server! All entree's were excellent . Yummy!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I'm a big fan of this place. Love love ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

I'm a big fan of this place. Love love love the spedini Gabriella and their garlic bread dip. Coworkers and I come here every other month.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing but the service was ter ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Food was amazing but the service was terrible. Took forever to get our drinks ordered and delivered, and they were not on a wait. Our server set out garlic dip on our table without any bread to dip it in. I had to get up from our table to hunt down another server to see if they could get some bread for our dip. Dinner came and was excellent as always. Never did get a refill on our wine or beer because the server never came back. Took him 15 minutes to run our card too. We are die hard fans of this place but will not be back to this location. If I'm dropping $100 in dinner I expect better service. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

If you can sit on the patio--do it. Wha ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

If you can sit on the patio--do it. What a great treat and a perfect dinner!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

food was absolutely terrible...have not ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

food was absolutely terrible...have not been there in years. Decided to give it another try.

Service was great...food was beyond bad. Too many other Italian foods options now in Overland Park and KC. Sorry Garozzo's...your time is over as an elite provider of Italian food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value2

Iconic KC Italian joint with tasty menu ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Iconic KC Italian joint with tasty menu (we love the spiedini), but the back room of the O.P. location doesn't match the experience. It's sort of like the back room of a Furr's Cafeteria. I realize it's in a strip mall, but please call in some expertise and doll up that back room so if you're stuck eating there, it compliments the delicious meal you serve. We had reservations and felt like we were banished to the back.

Kudos to the great server, however. We've had him before and while he's not much of a talker, he pays attention to the little things and is a polite Gent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Great food. And THAT is what a restaura ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Great food. And THAT is what a restaurant is all about.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fantastic but the service w ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The food was fantastic but the service was extremely disappointing. Several tables around us ordered, were served and paid before we received salads. Even going to pay, we needed to track down the waiter to bring our bill.

The food was still soooo good we will go back for a do-over.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value5

We always enjoy our meals at Garozzo's. ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We always enjoy our meals at Garozzo's. Thanks you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I was happy with everything except our t ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

I was happy with everything except our table location. Walk-ins were being seated in good places throughout the restaurant, but as a reservation holder, we were seated at a table just inside the door between the hostess stand and the door to their patio. Our conversation was hard to have at our table with the noise of new patrons coming in, restaurant staff bustling about, and so forth. I have always enjoyed my visits to your restaurant, and the food was good as always. I would have liked a different table, though. :-)

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value3

From the moment you step through the doo ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

From the moment you step through the doors, everyone is attentive to your needs. And needless to say the food is not only delicious but portion size is enough to have leftovers for your dinner the next day. It's our favorite authentic Italian restaurant in the Kansas City area.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I really wanted to like this restaurant. ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I really wanted to like this restaurant. I had heard a lot of good things about it but unfortunately, it was just average at an above average price point. Overall the service was a bit slow and spotty. Both of our drinks were wrong and needed to be sent back. Basic things (like bread) took forever (15-20 mins) to arrive at the table, and one of the coffee's that arrived with dessert was cold. Despite all these issues the only consideration was removing the coffee from the tab. Maybe our experience was considered "business as usual". The atmosphere was okay although it did feel a little neglected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Excellent Italian cuisine. Service good ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Excellent Italian cuisine. Service good. Table-top space was cramped. Pretty congested and noise excessive. Aside from the authenticity and flavorful food served us, experience was OK.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Wood Oven, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Casual, Spicy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

Dined during the week with a friend who ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Dined during the week with a friend who was visiting from out of town. Had a very nice dinner-service and food were both good and had a very good wine that was reasonably priced. The only thing I would say is that I could have done with about 1/2 the amount of angel hair pasta in my entree. It was excellent, but there was just SO MUCH pasta. I think the next time I order that entree, I'll request they use only 1//2 the normal amount of pasta.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We went there for my husband's birthday ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We went there for my husband's birthday dinner and enjoyed their delicious Chicken Spiedini. There was a mixup in getting our order to us, so he was given a second glass of wine and tiramasu for dessert on the house. We always enjoy dinner there.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

I had both excellent service, and excell ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I had both excellent service, and excellent food. I got both of what I expect from a great restaurant like this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had not been to grow so sing-along ti ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We had not been to grow so sing-along time. We were surprised by the atmosphere. First off the bartender was rude. We remembered tablecloths in the restaurant the last time we were there but there but that is no longer the case. It felt like we were in a Denny's. Our waiter was not good at all. The food was fine but neither couple will go there again. Very disappointing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

Not our first trip to Garozzos. Always e ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Not our first trip to Garozzos. Always enjoy the menu there. Somethings are off menu but don't forget things like the Adkins chicken spiedini

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

food was good. - not the best. service c ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

food was good. - not the best.

service could have been friendlier -- had to ask for bread --- and waitress seemed to have a bit of an attitude and pretty much ignored us at first.

not sure I would dine there again - snooty attitude -- may be nicer to regulars....

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Our wait staff was superior, gave some g ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Our wait staff was superior, gave some good suggestions, food came quickly enough (we were there to catch up on news, so we weren't in a hurry); the timing was perfect. Had the house salad (perfect, house-made dressing), house spiedini chicken and it was wonderful. We split a tiramisu, which was the best I can remember. Everything we had was freshly made and unique.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was excellent. The manager C ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

The service was excellent. The manager Chris made us feel like family. He had great suggestions. The food came out hot and delicious. We usually go to the Garozzo's by City Market enjoy both places but the bar area in Overland Park Ks is larger.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was very disappointed. The food was j ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

I was very disappointed. The food was just "okay". Years ago, the food was excellent. I won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

Tiramisu is wonderful best in KC! Great ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Tiramisu is wonderful best in KC! Great wine,chicken spedini Gabrielle is delicious and the calimari is outstanding. Salads are always so fresh I prefer Caesar salad with comes with endless fresh bread.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Celebrated my husband's birthday with hi ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Celebrated my husband's birthday with his favorite chicken spiedini dish which was perfect as usual. Our server was exceptionally professional and cordial making his birthday a very special one. We will be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always have great service and really goo ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Always have great service and really good food! Did not have a wait with my reservation. The staff was courteous and knowledgeable about food choices. The appetizer was great, the meal was delicious and we had left overs to take home! The salad was very good, but a little heavy on the Parmesan cheese. Overall a great experience!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent food and service. Waiter was ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Excellent food and service. Waiter was attentive but not intrusive.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wanted a reservation at 11:30 Open Ta ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Wanted a reservation at 11:30 Open Table said none until 11:45 am

That was not true and place was empty. Manager says that happens

with Open Table....sometimes gives reservations for times the resturant

is not open.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food and service were great, as alwa ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The food and service were great, as always. The noise level was so loud that my guest and I had a hard time hearing each other across the table. There was an older gentleman who works at Garozzo's that was talking entirely too loudly to a few tables. It was like he thought he had to scream to be heard, which was not the case. Tone it down, please

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Food fabulous, atmosphere and prices we ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food fabulous, atmosphere and prices were great! Our waitress was not on point regarding service, she lacked a friendly personality..

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Coworker made the suggestion and it was ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Coworker made the suggestion and it was a GREAT one! Everything was perfect: food, service, ambiance, drinks...

My husband and I will be back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food. The server wasattentive ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Very good food. The server wasattentive, not intrusive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Table reservation system was excellent, ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Table reservation system was excellent, no waiting at all. Service was very good. Salads were fair and entrees very good. Not noisy. We should eat there more often except maybe a little pricey. Two of us + one bottle of wine = $80 + $20 tip = total about $100.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

As always just the best Italian food in ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

As always just the best Italian food in the city.Wait staff attentive but not over bearing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated my birthday. The food was ou ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Celebrated my birthday. The food was outstanding and we had great service. We have been here many times and absolutely no reason to continue to return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.