Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.66mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.66mi

About Garozzo's Ristorante - Overland Park

• Michael Garozzo, his wife Marguerite and their four daughters own and operate Kansas City's most awarded and popular Italian restaurant. Garozzo's boasts fine dining cuisine, moderately priced, in a family atmosphere. The restaurant is Zagat rated as one of the top Italian restaurants in the country, a Kansas City dining tradition for nearly 20 years. Garozzo's is where their signature dish Chicken Spiedini began, now often imitated and never duplicated around town; Garozzo's has made Chicken Spiedini a Kansas City staple. The Garozzo family and staff welcome you to any of four locations in the Kansas City area for a true Italian dining experience.

9950 College Blvd
Overland Park, KS 66210
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 11am-9:30pm
Friday 11am-10:30pm
Saturday 4pm-10:30pm
Sunday 4pm-9pm

Cross Street:
69 highway & College Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(913) 491-8300

Website:
http://www.garozzos.com/

Catering:
Garozzo's caters to any location, any time, any cuisine. Contact Todd Ferguson at (816)589-7072

Parking Details:
Parking available surrounding the restaurant.

Public Transit:
The Jo

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Garozzo's Ristorante - Overland Park Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (47)
Special Occasion (45)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
See All
Authentic (32)
Comfort Food (29)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Romantic (26)
Notable Wine List (23)
Cozy (21)
Good for Groups (21)
Casual (20)
Business Meals (20)
Family Style (15)
Great for Lunch (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Fun (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Historic (8)
People Watching (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Seasonal (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Scenic View (2)
Spicy (2)
Vegan (2)
Private Room (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Healthy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
896 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

As always, enjoyable! Great food and service - plenty of leftovers!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

I had a great experience. Everybody was very nice. I ordered flowers for my date and they had them at the table it was very nice and she had a good time. I would love to go back again one day.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was good, especially the ravioli appetizer. Service was only fair. We waited for all courses to be served, it was slow. One entree had to be sent back as it was lukewarm after there was some confusion about when our 3 entrees would be ready...some disorganization was noticed as other entrees were being delivered to wrong tables. I would suggest less dressing on the salads also, the greens were drowning in dressing.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

My wife and i were in town for our anniversary. Great food and service!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 19, 2017

First visit and not the last. Worth the drive. Great food. Original food. Lots of food. Plan on taking home leftovers.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Delicious food and lots of it! We shared a giant artichoke and one main course.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We had a really great experience celebrating our anniversary here... Very good ambience Very good service....👍👍👍👍👍👍

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, People Watching, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Solid Italian food. Choose wisely- the menu is huge so some items are bland.

The Spedini and Gina, etc are always a safe bet but try the steak.

Saw gluten free options

Tags: Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Excellent! Have the chicken.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Husband and I love this place!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Enjoyed a wonderful meal with friends here. Food was excellent and service was friendly, professional, and attentive. Had an excellent Italian wine off their extensive wine list. We will be back soon!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I went to G OP for my birthday dinner which my best friend was treating me to. I have been here before and the service was great but this time it was horrible. We were sat at 7:55 and the server introduced herself (we will say Molly). Molly asked "what drinks do you want besides water?" as if taking our drink order was cutting into something. She came back with our drinks (which were refilled once) and asked if we were ready and we needed a minute. She didn't come back for 25 minutes! Not embellishing-25 minutes. Then we waited another 25 minutes for our food which we had to get the manager involved to get. Molly slammed our plates down and walked away. She never came back to ask how it was-her manager did. When my best friend asked for a refill, Molly left for about five minutes and came back to ask if we needed refills and we said yes. Finally she came back with the refills but she slammed those drinks down so hard pop came out! This restaurant is expensive and having rude servers is unexceptable. She may have looked at us like we were kids although I'm probably older than her. She had one other table and I rarely saw her out on the floor. I'm not sure if she was having a bad day but she didn't make much on her tip. She served a current server and me, a veteran server who has worked at crazier places than this, and she was unbelievably rude. She was mad that my friend flagged the manager and mad that we wanted to box our own food. By the time we got out, it was past nine. The food is wonderful but I'll be choosing one of the other two branches.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The entire experience along with the food was very good. I'd definitely go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Wonderful food, great service. Had the tortellini gina, it was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Appreciated Mike's Diet Chicken on menu because it was Whole30 compliant.
Good, fast service done right. Love the atmosphere, quiet and enjoyable. Thank you

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 6, 2017

I have eaten at this restaurant many times and always had excellent service. This visit was very different. Our waiter was taking care of several tables and we sat for probably 5 minutes before he came and told us about the wine special. He then brought us water but never asked if we wanted anything else to drink. We then sat for another 5-10 minutes and one of the hostesses or managers came by our table and saw we did not have any bread so she asked one of the other waiters to bring us bread. We ordered an appetizer finally and ordered our food at the same time since it had taken so long to get the bread. The table next to us arrived after we were seated and they had the same waiter. They received their food about 10 minutes before we received ours. I believe this waiter either had too many tables to care for or he is just very disorganized.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Food is consistently good. We didn't have the best service this time but we usually do. They honor reservations and always seat us on time. Their chicken spedini is the best!

Tags: Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Good dinner and good service. Wine selection was pretty good. Waiter was only moderately familiar with wines offered. Would go there any time I have opportunity, for an occasion. Parking is very convenient.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Wait staff were very accommodating. They were out of the wine we selected but gave us an upgrade at the original price. Had a great time at our daughter's 30th birthday celebration.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Really really slow - it took a really long time to get dinner. We arrived on time and were seated after a short wait despite our reservation. It took over one hour to get a bowl of alfredo pasta and a plate of manicotti, no proteins at all. Way too long. It is a deceptively small restaurant, booths narrow and tables very close together. I felt like we were eating in a very dark cafeteria. It was noisy. The seating staff up front seemed confused and disoriented. I noted her using her computer to mark guests as seated when they were still waiting up front. I wonder if the owner knows that. Very inexpensive. If they charged more, they could thin out the herd and perhaps have fewer tables and faster meal service. All of the tables seemed to wait a really long time for their entrees. The server was good but even she could not overcome the slowness of the kitchen. On a scale of 1-10 it was about a 4.5. It would be fine for a couple of 16 year olds with nothing but time on their hands and a limited budget and no where else to go. For two working professionals like my husband and myself, it was really not good. We will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Enjoyed the food very much. Plentiful and extremely tasty. Even leftovers are well worth heating up.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Family Style, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Second time eating at Garrozzos. Service was a bit on the slow side. We thought the waiter forgot about us after we got our drinks. The food was excellent. Highly recommend the Sicilian stuffEd artichoke. Would have a better experience if the table next to us wasn't so loud. I really didn't care to hear about what the person next to us son had to eat because he was a swimmer. Overall it was good. Will probably go back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Outstanding Value, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The food was excellent. Our group of 3 had Lasagna, 2 Chicken Spedini Garozzo dinners, Casa salads and Italian Wedding soup.

It was my birthday and the server acted irritated when I told him it was my birthday. They give a free Spedini on birthdays (the actual day). He made a couple of different comments because I didn't tell him when I placed the order. Totally unnecessary and unappreciated.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great food and excellent wait staff. Matt served us and he was the best. Our food was unbelievably fast for a Friday night and it was top notch.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Mr. Garozzo
This is my second time in a month visiting your restruant. The first time was with friends on a Friday night, I get it you were busy but the time we were seated till a waiter came over to get our drinks was approxamently 12 to 15 minutes. Once there another 10 minutes or so before we got our drinks. I don't know if you think that is reasonable but seems there wasn't enough staff to handle the custermers. About 10 minutes later bread was brought to our table and our order was taken. After approxamently 20 minutes later we got or food, After eating 2 baskets of bread needless to say we wern't to excited when the food arrived.

On the second visit my wife and I brought our daughter in service was a little better but needs to be looked at. My reccomedation is a spotter on the floor to check on tables ONLY. To see how much time has elasped between getting seated, drink orders taken and have ask for appatizers the same time. While you have drinks and apps at the table then take the entree orders while you are eating the drinks and appitizers. A spotter could take up the time between the waiters or waitresses tables. I think your restruante could have incredible custormer service. The food is excellent. Buy the way the employees who seat you down a the front door could be used as spotters when they are not seating custormers.

Thanks for listening, a concerned custermer,

Mark A DeSimio
725 E 72nd St
Kansas City,Missouri 64131

Tags: Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We visited because our hotel was across from the restaurant. We had the ravioli (combination beef and cheese) and they tasted like they were from the freezer case at the local market. We split a salad wedge, which was very good. The bleu cheese dressing had a hint of Italian dressing which I liked. I had the manicotti which was very tasty, but not the best I've had. My wife had some angel hair pasta dish, which she liked. Overall, our experience was good, but next time I'll go back to Brio (Country Club Plaza)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 16, 2017

We have just moved here from San Francisco and are in search for good restaurants. We enjoyed this place and will return.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Four of us went with reservations for Valentines evening, so we were not surprised that we had to wait 30 minutes to be seated. They were swamped and doing the best they could to accommodate everyone, including those who came without a reservation and waited an hour or more. While we were waiting, one very patient gentleman came to the front desk and said he had 6:30 reservations and it was after 7:30; they then seated him and his wife in the bar area! We were seated in an ample booth that was off to the side in the main dining room, which was better than being at a table in the middle. We ordered the fried mozzarella and truffle ravioli for appetizers to share. The mozzarella was good, but the truffle ravioli was very oily, garlic-y and covered with way too many sautéed onions. Our waiter warned us that because of the crowd that night, the kitchen was running behind., but actually we didn't feel the wait was too long. Our entrees were not as good as we expected from this restaurant who has always had a good reputation. Those and the dessert we ordered tasted like something you might buy frozen from Costco to cook at home. Maybe it was just because it was such a busy night, but any restaurant with a reputation like this one should be prepared for one of the busiest nights of the year!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food was amazing and well portioned. Service was excellent and attentive

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Outstanding Value, Fun, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food was delicious! Took my girlfriend here for Valentines Day and she loved it also! Definitely will be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Romantic, Authentic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food and service was Delicious as always!
We will return soon.

Tags: Casual, Family Style, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This was our first time at the restaurant and it couldn't have been better. We ordered our meal they brought us bread and drinks. The waiter was very knowledgeable and kept apologizing for the wait on our meal. We did not think the wait was too long and never asked about our order once, but he was so upset by the time it was taking that he gave us a discount. Needless to say this is where we will be going for our Italian food from now on. Highly recommend to anyone looking for good food and a place that still knows how to treat customers.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food and service were great. My husband and I were on a rare night without our daughter yet they put us in the un-romantic family room so that was disappointing. But, still a nice night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Service and food was great and we truly enjoyed our visit.

Tags: Casual, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Always a treat to dine at Garozzo's. This visit was more last minute and not a special occasion but we were warmly welcomed; spent a bit of time at the bar (you may dine at the bar as well) as we waited for our table and then had an attentive server in the dining room. Always a varied crowd from teenagers all dressed up and dining before a special school event; date-night couples to groups of friends and family enjoying an evening out. You won't leave hungry!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The food was great and our server was outstanding but they stuck us in a small booth in the bar next to the people waiting for tables and the carry out orders. That was very disappointing especially since we had a reservation. We would go back because the food and the staff are wonderful.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We had a surprise Birthday party for my sister, all of her family were there including a son who came in from out of town. Food was phenomenal, and service by Bridget was superb. A very accommodating restaurant. My sister used to live in Italy and feels this is the most authentic Italian restaurant in town.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 29, 2017

One of our favorite places. A little expensive compared to other Italian in the area. Should include soup or salad with dinner.

Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Private Room
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 28, 2017

As always, Garozzo's delivers amazing food with large portions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Historic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 28, 2017

This place is awesome. I had the Gnocci with chicken and my wife had the lasagna. Both were incredible. They give you bread, but salad is $4 extra with the meal. We both had the Caesar Salad which is probably the best I have had anywhere, so definitely worth it. We also ordered the garlic cheese bread, which was just okay and unnecessary because they give you free bread while you wait, which is way better than the garlic cheese bread. Wait staff was very helpful, but not overbearing. It's pricy, but well worth everything we spent. I will be back multiple times.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.