About Garozzo's Ristorante - Overland Park

9950 College Blvd
Overland Park, KS 66210
View Larger Map

• Michael Garozzo, his wife Marguerite and their four daughters own and operate Kansas City's most awarded and popular Italian restaurant. Garozzo's boasts fine dining cuisine, moderately priced, in a family atmosphere. The restaurant is Zagat rated as one of the top Italian restaurants in the country, a Kansas City dining tradition for nearly 20 years. Garozzo's is where their signature dish Chicken Spiedini began, now often imitated and never duplicated around town; Garozzo's has made Chicken Spiedini a Kansas City staple. The Garozzo family and staff welcome you to any of four locations in the Kansas City area for a true Italian dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 11am-9:30pm
Friday 11am-10:30pm
Saturday 4pm-10:30pm
Sunday 4pm-9pm

Cross Street:
69 highway & College Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(913) 491-8300

Website:
http://www.garozzos.com/

Catering:
Garozzo's caters to any location, any time, any cuisine. Contact Todd Ferguson at (816)589-7072

Parking Details:
Parking available surrounding the restaurant.

Public Transit:
The Jo

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Salmon
Salmon

Garozzo's Ristorante - Overland Park Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.0

ambience

3.9

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (39)
neighborhood gem (26)
good for groups (25)
See All
fit for foodies (18)
romantic (15)
notable wine list (10)
great for lunch (10)
kid-friendly (6)
great for outdoor dining (6)
scenic view (1)
great for brunch (1)
hot spot (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
705 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I was very disappointed. The food was j ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 3 days ago

I was very disappointed. The food was just "okay". Years ago, the food was excellent. I won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

Tiramisu is wonderful best in KC! Great ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Tiramisu is wonderful best in KC! Great wine,chicken spedini Gabrielle is delicious and the calimari is outstanding. Salads are always so fresh I prefer Caesar salad with comes with endless fresh bread.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Celebrated my husband's birthday with hi ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Celebrated my husband's birthday with his favorite chicken spiedini dish which was perfect as usual. Our server was exceptionally professional and cordial making his birthday a very special one. We will be back.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always have great service and really goo ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Always have great service and really good food! Did not have a wait with my reservation. The staff was courteous and knowledgeable about food choices. The appetizer was great, the meal was delicious and we had left overs to take home! The salad was very good, but a little heavy on the Parmesan cheese. Overall a great experience!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent food and service. Waiter was ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Excellent food and service. Waiter was attentive but not intrusive.

Tags: romance, special occasions, neighbourhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wanted a reservation at 11:30 Open Ta ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Wanted a reservation at 11:30 Open Table said none until 11:45 am

That was not true and place was empty. Manager says that happens

with Open Table....sometimes gives reservations for times the resturant

is not open.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food and service were great, as alwa ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The food and service were great, as always. The noise level was so loud that my guest and I had a hard time hearing each other across the table. There was an older gentleman who works at Garozzo's that was talking entirely too loudly to a few tables. It was like he thought he had to scream to be heard, which was not the case. Tone it down, please

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Food fabulous, atmosphere and prices we ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food fabulous, atmosphere and prices were great! Our waitress was not on point regarding service, she lacked a friendly personality..

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Coworker made the suggestion and it was ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Coworker made the suggestion and it was a GREAT one! Everything was perfect: food, service, ambiance, drinks...

My husband and I will be back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food. The server wasattentive ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Very good food. The server wasattentive, not intrusive.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Table reservation system was excellent, ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Table reservation system was excellent, no waiting at all. Service was very good. Salads were fair and entrees very good. Not noisy. We should eat there more often except maybe a little pricey. Two of us + one bottle of wine = $80 + $20 tip = total about $100.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

As always just the best Italian food in ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

As always just the best Italian food in the city.Wait staff attentive but not over bearing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated my birthday. The food was ou ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Celebrated my birthday. The food was outstanding and we had great service. We have been here many times and absolutely no reason to continue to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

very slow service - this is the third ti ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

very slow service - this is the third time in a row service was not good - won't return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

Good was amazing as always, service was ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Good was amazing as always, service was great too. I don't think I've ever been unsatisfied with Garozzo's (any of their locations)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Still serving good food after many year ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Still serving good food after many years in large portions for a good price. Also good service.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

We had a great time will diffently come ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We had a great time will diffently come back. Table was ready when we arrived alway nice.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I went back to eat here after eating the ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

I went back to eat here after eating there three days prior. Unfortunately had an even worse experience with our waiter. He was unfriendly and rude and literally would not respond to a couple complaints we had. I am sincerely disheartened at how the level of service has gone down at this restaurant. The food is wonderful! The service has been less than okay the last few times I've gone and just plain bad the last two visits.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

This is one of my favorite if not absolu ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

This is one of my favorite if not absolute favorite restaurants. This visit left me disappointed though as the service was very sub par and has been the last few times I've been. Food is beyond great, the service from everyone from management to wait staff definitely could use some improvement.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

We both had the shrimp spiedini. It was ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We both had the shrimp spiedini. It was awesome! Highly recommend Garozzo's and definitely plan to return!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Second time to dine. Won't go back. Se ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Second time to dine. Won't go back. Seems like they are cutting costs. Not good when the customer notices by the quality of the food. Tried to order a Bellini. Sent it back as it was flat Prosecco and peach syrup. Not the way you make a Bellini.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

We had a BOGO offer for the spiedini, an ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

We had a BOGO offer for the spiedini, and thoroughly enjoyed our meal and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Always love the Spedieni

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Great food as always. Perfect salad and bread to go with the Spedieni options.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meal was Memorial wknd Sunday. The ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The meal was Memorial wknd Sunday. The place was busy but our server & floor mgr kept the tea and water glasses filled. The meal was delightful. Chicken Spedini is always a favorite of ours

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Poor Service

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

My wife and I love the food at this restaurant. We had the Chicken Spedini and as usual it was great. If you are unsure about the wine the house Chianti is always good. Although I didn't have it this trip, the veal dished are alway a good choice. Garozzo's is the best Italian Restaurant in town. I hate to say it and I will not use a name but my server was way below the quality os staff at Garozzo's. The food made up for the poor service.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Too Loud! Poor Service! Mediocre Food!

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

I was so anxious to get back to eat here after living away for a few years. I couldn't have been more disappointed Even with a reservation we were seated after parties who walked in without a reservation We were seated in the bar rather than the dining room as requested, and we were told that we should have made a reservation Our server was too busy to fill our water glasses, didn't want to bring to go containers for our food, and didn't want to bring change. Our food was lukewarm at best. Not a very good return trip. Probably won't do it again. There are too many other great options nearby.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Great spedini

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Great spedini

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Always a great experiene. Great food an ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Always a great experiene. Great food and great service

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great for a group

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Had a group of twelve celebrating a graduation. The food and service were both outstanding, servings were huge, and it was a wonderful celebration. Would return without hesitation

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Service

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

My wife and two boys love Garozzos. The service is impeccable, the food and desserts are wonderful. We will be back!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service with a nice personality. ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Great service with a nice personality. And superb food, as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was amazing as usual

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

We went on Mother's day so we knew it would be a bit busy so the service was just so so, had to continue to ask for bread before getting any. Was not told on Mother's day wine bottles were not half price (that would have been nice to mention when I was ordering a bottle).

All in all still a good experience.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Best Italian food in the city.

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Best Italian food in the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Parents' Night Out

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Decided on short notice to take my parents out to dinner. Garozzo's found us a table (on Open Table, of course) right away. On arriving we were taken directly to our table. Our waiter, Chris, was very patient in waiting while my parents made up their minds.

Everybody really enjoyed their meals, especially my mother who polished off six seafood ravioli. The chicken Samantha also had a good reception.

We had never been to Garazzo's before; now we are sorry we hadn't. This could be restaurant to return to.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Disappointing table and service

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

I made our reservation a week in advance but still sat right next to the bathrooms and about 5 feet in front of the bench other customers sat to wait for their tables. We never felt like we were a priority for our waiter and service was not good. Even when our waiter was helping us he was always distracted and looking over our heads over at his other tables. We did have two children with us but that is why I made an early reservation. It would have been nice if it hadn't taken over 15 minutes after we sat down before getting bread. We had always gone to the Olathe location in the past and had nothing but positive experiences there and always felt welcome. $250+ to have people stare at us while we were eating and mediocre service will make me think twice about going back any time soon.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Alfredo is so rich. Bread was delicious ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

Alfredo is so rich. Bread was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Nice restaurant and it's so close to hom ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

Nice restaurant and it's so close to home we didn't know about it until we saw the listing on open table. We had a great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Italian food lover's treasure

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

This marks the third time i have been to this restaurant. Although normally a very impressive restaurant , we waited almost 15 minutes past our reservation time to be seated. Service was slightly delayed and it took an overly long time for us to receive all courses of our dinner. However , in all fairness, there were several large groups, including groups going to high school proms that evening . Normally, you are seated at the time of your reservation, the service is excellent and the food is out in a timely manner . If you elect to visit this restaurant, especially on a weekend, please make a reservation. You will be impressed with the normally attentive service and your food will be nothing short of amazing. Enjoy !

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Fun with Friends

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

We've dined at this location ever since they opened many years ago and have never been disappointed. We entertain out of town guests and they rave about it and ask to return on their next visit!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Easter brunch

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

My wife found the eggs to be cold and the meatballs I had were ice cold it seems they were just out of the cooler. I tried some ham and couldn't hardly eat it because if how mushy it was. As far as the dessert it all tasted dry and stale. This is the 4th year we have joined you for Easter and always enjoyed it until this year. The way I feel at present doubt we will be back for any more Easter brunches

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.