Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.66mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.66mi

About Garozzo's Ristorante - Overland Park

• Michael Garozzo, his wife Marguerite and their four daughters own and operate Kansas City's most awarded and popular Italian restaurant. Garozzo's boasts fine dining cuisine, moderately priced, in a family atmosphere. The restaurant is Zagat rated as one of the top Italian restaurants in the country, a Kansas City dining tradition for nearly 20 years. Garozzo's is where their signature dish Chicken Spiedini began, now often imitated and never duplicated around town; Garozzo's has made Chicken Spiedini a Kansas City staple. The Garozzo family and staff welcome you to any of four locations in the Kansas City area for a true Italian dining experience.

9950 College Blvd
Overland Park, KS 66210
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 11am-9:30pm
Friday 11am-10:30pm
Saturday 4pm-10:30pm
Sunday 4pm-9pm

Cross Street:
69 highway & College Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(913) 491-8300

Website:
http://www.garozzos.com/

Catering:
Garozzo's caters to any location, any time, any cuisine. Contact Todd Ferguson at (816)589-7072

Parking Details:
Parking available surrounding the restaurant.

Public Transit:
The Jo

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Garozzo's Ristorante - Overland Park Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (33)
Good for a Date (29)
Good for Birthdays (28)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Authentic (26)
Casual (21)
Good for Groups (20)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Comfort Food (18)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Business Meals (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Romantic (12)
Cozy (11)
Great for Lunch (10)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Bar Seating (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Fun (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
1004 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 2 days ago

Very slow service. Mediocre food. Extremely loud. Not the best experience tonight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Always good, knowing the specialties is a plus. Great place to try something new- spegetti or lazangia is good but Spedini's and Italian Steaks are unique and awesome. Great place to "leave your comfort zone" and get great Italian food 🥘.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Authentic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

It was a wonderful evening. Food was excellent. Love Garrozo's!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

Birthday dinner. Love their chicken spedini!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Excellent service with delicious food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 5, 2017

Everything was great as always. Matt really took care of us.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Always a solid choice! The food, atmosphere, and staff are top notch. Any version of the Spiedini is a best bet!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Always delish! One of our favs in KC!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Enjoyed our entire meal @ friends. The service was excellent as was the food.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Authentic, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 3, 2017

They need to do something about the noise level in the restaurant at dinner time. The music in the bar area (where we were seated) was so loud, we couldn't even have a conversation. They turned it down for us, but one song later, someone turned it back up, again.

The Chicken Spiedini Georgio my wife and I had was overcooked and dried out a bit. The Veal Parmigaino my Mom had was tough and hard to cut. Food was a bit disappointing, which is usually not the case.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Not many things as consistent as spedini from Garozzo's. Went there for labor day bogo and happy we did. Always delicious.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Great food and service. No one makes sliding better !

Tags: Authentic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Best italian food in the city!!! Good service and moderate prices make this the place to go.

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Took advantage of their BOGO Spedini offer for Labor Day weekend. This is always an outstanding value. Server did not have knowledge about wines, and therefore could not recommend. Food was great, server was very busy, but she did the best job that she could. We observed that whenever we visit this restaurant, staff doesn't seem too happy about doing their jobs. They can be a bit gruff.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Extremely cold but was corrected, fly in water glass, entree sauce had so much red pepper that I could not eat it. Ordered coffee and desert after the meal but could not get coffee due to an electrical problem. This pretty much was a downer when celebration a 56th anniversary. I see no reason to go back. Would you?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Absolutely delicious dinner and the service was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Delicious food and fantastic customer service! We were there to celebrate a birthday and had our 10 month old grandson so we had early reservations. The baby was extremely good and we did wait awhile for our dinner. We did not complain but we did notice people getting their dinners before even though they arrived after us. Our server Corrin #259 was terrific. She apologized and even sent over the manager to apologize. We were not complaining because the baby was so good. We had wine and the Italian garlic butter with wonderful warm bread. Our salads were delicious and the entrees were sensational and cooked to perfection. The manager comped our food because of the delay and we were stunned. He included a tiramisu to go because the baby was getting tired. Thank you so much for a great birthday yo Garozzo's. We were there Alitalia over a month ago with a group of ten, many from out of town and we had a great experience as well. We would highly recommend this restaurant for food,service and Garozzo's wine. Spiedini Giovanni is the best! Thank you again to the manager, Corrin and even the bartender where we had a drink waiting for our son to arrive prior to being seated. She let us taste test a couple of wines before we chose our glasses. We live in Lees Summit but we would come back to this location because of the way we were treated and it is closer for our son. Love this place!

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Good service, good food, good recommendations when asked questions about the menu.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Garozzo's is a great place! Family was in town from several states to celebrate multiple birthdays. Everyone loved the food, great service, nice atmosphere.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Food came out barely warm and sauce was cold. Had to send 3 of 4 meals back to the kitchen and they weren't that busy. It was good but not sure that I'll go back. For the price I would prefer to go where I'm guaranteed a great meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

We love Garozzo's and the food was fantastic, as always! They had several big parties that evening, leaving us to be seated 30 minutes after our reservation time. The host was kind enough to give us an appetizer on the house to make up for it. Our server was less than stellar and would disappear for 20-30 minutes at a time, something I have never experienced when dining there. We were there for 2 1/2 hours just because service was that slow. That being said, I will still continue to go to Garozzo's for great Italian food and hope the service was a one-time fluke.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 12, 2017

In the past, we've had good experiences with this Garrozos, but this time it wasn't. I had made the 6:15pm reservation well in advance for a party of 4. When we arrived they told us it could be awhile but would seat us with the earliest table available. We did get seated in just a minute but in the bar area. It was so noisy in that section, we could barely hear our guests that we brought to dinner. I know Saturday evening is a busy time and our waitress reflected that in her service. We've dined here before on Saturday evenings, but If we choose to come again on a Saturday evening, I'll definitely make the reservation by phone and request the dining room. The food was very good as usual but the overall experience wasn't this time.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Georgio spedini was not up to par from what I have had before. Pasta was rather dry and the chicken was also a bit dry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

Our experience while dining a Garozzo's was excellent. The food was perfect and our
wait person was very helpful, friendly & efficient. Many thanks for an outstanding
evening out in your superb restaurant.

Audrey Rice

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Garozzo's never disappoints us. Food is amazing and we always look forward to visiting again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 5, 2017

The food was great and enough for a 2nd dinner. The place was cold but when asked to turn the air off they were more than happy to.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Overall, our experience was great. The waiter we had wasn't as chatty as some other waiters (so we didn't know that the "three way pasta" is 4 pounds of pasta(!!) until after we ordered and overheard another waiter say something to a different table), but the food was really good, the ambience was quiet and cozy. It's a great place that I plan to return in the future!

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Healthy, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Had a wonderful time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 23, 2017

We love Garazzo's for many reasons but most of all for the delicious food. The service is always great as well!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Great authentic Italian food. There are so many options. I am vegan and was able to find several dishes that worked for me. (leaving off the cheese.)
They also have a private room that you can reserve for special occasions that I have used in the past. They book early on weekends and holidays, so plan ahead.
I can also count on the consistently great food!

Tags: Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

Excellent experience! Wonderful food! Great service! I couldn't ask for more!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Tasting Menu, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 14, 2017

This was our daughters 40th birthday gathering. We had high expectations that it would be recognized by the restaurant staff. Our waiter was over worked with multiple tables so service was sub par. Because your menu stated children would receive a kiddie cocktail our granddaughters were disappointed in getting it in a Styrofoam cup. My meal was initially brought to me without the meatball and it took a long time for the waiter to bring it to me. The check for our meal was $230.00 dollars which included gratuity of $40.00. My mode of tipping is always 20% with good service this wasn't the case. This is the reason why we didn't say "yes" or "No" in the recommendation.

Respectfully,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Food was delicious. Service was outstanding. Only complaint was the room temperature. It was very cold and our entire party of six was freezing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Glass shards in the ice tonight... our table and the table next to us had the same issue. Unfortunately, the management didn't seem too concerned about it, which essentially ruined our experience for the night. This used to be our favorite restaurant, but now it's dropped to the bottom of the list.... blowing off a 12-year-old having shards in her glass doesn't seem like a reputable management group to me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Probably the best Italian restaurant in the greater Kansas City area.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Great food and great service. Our server recomended a great wine and was very knowledgeable.

Tags: Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Very good food and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Always a great meal and service when we visit Garozzos. Our go to place for birthdays and guests.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We love the food here. Great place to come and relax and enjoy a good meal with friends or family.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Cozy, Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Way over priced for the quality of food you get. While the pasta was cooked well, the sauce was almost flavorless.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.