Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.66mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.66mi

About Garozzo's Ristorante - Overland Park

• Michael Garozzo, his wife Marguerite and their four daughters own and operate Kansas City's most awarded and popular Italian restaurant. Garozzo's boasts fine dining cuisine, moderately priced, in a family atmosphere. The restaurant is Zagat rated as one of the top Italian restaurants in the country, a Kansas City dining tradition for nearly 20 years. Garozzo's is where their signature dish Chicken Spiedini began, now often imitated and never duplicated around town; Garozzo's has made Chicken Spiedini a Kansas City staple. The Garozzo family and staff welcome you to any of four locations in the Kansas City area for a true Italian dining experience.

9950 College Blvd
Overland Park, KS 66210
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 11am-9:30pm
Friday 11am-10:30pm
Saturday 4pm-10:30pm
Sunday 4pm-9pm

Cross Street:
69 highway & College Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(913) 491-8300

Website:
http://www.garozzos.com/

Catering:
Garozzo's caters to any location, any time, any cuisine. Contact Todd Ferguson at (816)589-7072

Parking Details:
Parking available surrounding the restaurant.

Public Transit:
The Jo

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Garozzo's Ristorante - Overland Park Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (42)
Good for a Date (38)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Authentic (29)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Casual (27)
Business Meals (20)
Romantic (19)
Good for Groups (18)
Great for Lunch (18)
Notable Wine List (17)
Worth the Drive (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Comfort Food (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Cozy (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Fun (7)
Great for Brunch (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Spicy (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Healthy (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Historic (2)
Great Beer (1)
Vegan (1)
Family Style (1)
Live Sports (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Seasonal (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
973 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 14, 2017

This was our daughters 40th birthday gathering. We had high expectations that it would be recognized by the restaurant staff. Our waiter was over worked with multiple tables so service was sub par. Because your menu stated children would receive a kiddie cocktail our granddaughters were disappointed in getting it in a Styrofoam cup. My meal was initially brought to me without the meatball and it took a long time for the waiter to bring it to me. The check for our meal was $230.00 dollars which included gratuity of $40.00. My mode of tipping is always 20% with good service this wasn't the case. This is the reason why we didn't say "yes" or "No" in the recommendation.

Respectfully,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Food was delicious. Service was outstanding. Only complaint was the room temperature. It was very cold and our entire party of six was freezing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Glass shards in the ice tonight... our table and the table next to us had the same issue. Unfortunately, the management didn't seem too concerned about it, which essentially ruined our experience for the night. This used to be our favorite restaurant, but now it's dropped to the bottom of the list.... blowing off a 12-year-old having shards in her glass doesn't seem like a reputable management group to me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Probably the best Italian restaurant in the greater Kansas City area.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Great food and great service. Our server recomended a great wine and was very knowledgeable.

Tags: Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Very good food and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Always a great meal and service when we visit Garozzos. Our go to place for birthdays and guests.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We love the food here. Great place to come and relax and enjoy a good meal with friends or family.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Cozy, Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Way over priced for the quality of food you get. While the pasta was cooked well, the sauce was almost flavorless.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Gracious greeting upon arrival. Excellent attentive, professional wait staff. Excellent food. Terrific birthday celebration. Can't wait to return. Thank you for a memorable evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Food is always good. timeline needs improvement. Seated at 6:00 pm check received at 8:15 pm. A very long wait for food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Great Italian food and awesome service. The menu choices provided many aptions.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Great food as always! The spedini never disappoints!

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Overall, the food was excellent. Server was attentive and polite. It was a later dining time and we ate in the bar. The only negative I have is they shouldn't be emptying trash when people are still eating. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to any one looking for great food at a reasonable price.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Garozzo's never disappoints for a classic Italian meal. Food delicious and the service is excellent. Garozzo's chicken speidini is outstanding, as well as the house salad.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Excellent food, as always. I usually go there for dinner with my family. This time I met a friend for lunch. I found the lunch prices to be expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Birthdays are always great! More than enough food to take home!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Food very good. Pace of service was also good. Enjoyable

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 16, 2017

I had heard about the restuartant chain as being one of the best in KC was slightly disappointed with the food. Service and staff were very nice though.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Had a wonderful family meal to celebrate a Birthday. Noise level was low when we started (at 5:30pm), but increased a bit as they got busier, which is to be expected. This is one of our favorite spots to each. We keep coming back, again and again.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 10, 2017

There was no table for 2 inside when we arrived. We are on the patio. Had to move from the first table because stuff was falling from the trees onto our table. Second table was ok.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 10, 2017

It has taken me a year to find a good Italian restaurant in the KC area. Garozzo's will be my go to Italian place as the service, food and atmosphere were all top notch.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 10, 2017

I always have to stop at Garozzo's for the spidini when I am in town from St. Louis... it beats anything even on The Hill! It is also a pleasure when Mike Garozzo stops by your table! :)

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Authentic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Can' say enough good things Garozzos!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Food was great as always! We sat out on patio which was very nice! The only negative was our service. The waitress took forever to greet us and take our orders. We waited 30 min for her to take our order.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 9, 2017

The dinner here was very nice. There were two large groups while we ate here and they were quite loud. I wish there was more private seating for special occasions. The food my wife ate she enjoyed quite well. I ordered the Veal Parmesan and the Veal was great with the sauce, however the side of pasta that came with it was very bland. The red sauce that was on the pasta tasted like it was straight from a can with no added seasoning, it was quite disappointing. Overall the food was delicious with exception to my pasta.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Made a reservation, but was seated in the bar with TV's and sports in every direct.
Waiter was slow and seemed a bit uninterested, slow service
Calamari was barely room temperature, returned.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Great service. Chicken spedini is incredible. House salad is always a hit.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 2, 2017

We had reservations at 7pm yet were seated in the bar with TVs on. Our waitress was also the bartender and left mid shift. She tried to take good care of us but was also busy mixing drinks. The ravioli appetizer was not very good but my entree was good. The price seemed high for sitting in the bar. Not the mood I usually experience at Garozzo's. I should have asked to be seated elsewhere

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 2, 2017

The service was good. The food was not as good as I had expected. Others in our party seemed to enjoy the food. I had the Caesar salad. I could only eat half of it, because it was drenched with Caesar dressing. Way too much. Hardly any croutons. It did have a fair amount of bleu cheese.
It was Friday at noon, and the place was almost empty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We dined at Garozzo's during the Memorial Day weekend when they had their BOGO for Chicken Spedini. We had our meal outside on their terrace, which was lovely.

Their Chicken Spedini is always outstanding and would highly recommend it for any Italian dining experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We came from Wichita to visit. We had a wonderful dinner and sat on the patio to enjoy the weather. The food was delicious and the music was great. Our waitress had way too much fragrance on which was not that big of a deal. But she did not even no what al dente meant. I would think working at an upscale Italian restaurant she would have known. She was great otherwise. I truly wish there were more vegetarian options. Over 1 million people go vegetarian every year and I think it would be a great seller for you. Thank you.

We always visit when we are in KC as it is our favorite.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Great food and great service. Always a pleasure to eat at Garozzo's.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 27, 2017

I took friends who were visiting from out of town . We had a very good meal and our server was very pleasant and attentive. The only areas for improvement would be: (1) I don't think the server knew very much about the wines-he was very vague with his answers to the questions we asked. I would have preferred that he just admit that is not knowledgeable about the wines and gotten someone to our table who was more well0-informed. Also, I requested a quiet area for seating - and it was - but we nearly froze to death because the air conditioning at that spot was so cold!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Just terrific! Plentiful spiedini, garlic and gorgeous.just passing through but will think of this lovely place fondly.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Sat outside and was great! Food was delicious. My complaint was after dinner there was more people sitting in tables outside at 8 pm than when we first arrived , however no one came to our table for over 15 -20 minutes after we finished main course to check on us and had to go inside to ask for check and then made a mistake on the bill and when asked about it to fix acted annoyed even though her mistake.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 26, 2017

First time that service wasn't great. Ran out of water 3 times and had to flag people down to get it. Food is always good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 24, 2017

The food was great. Unfortunately, our service was terrible. It took 30 minutes to just order our appetizer. I think our server came by 5 times at max over the course of over an hour? We had to ask other servers to get napkins, bread, and we never had the opportunity to even order a bottle of wine. The manager did apologize and gave us Garozzo's coffee on the house.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 23, 2017

It was a great experience and such a truly delicious and magical dinner. Next time, that I am in town, I will absolutely return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Garrozzos was great as usual. Open Table, however, not so much. My reservation did not get transmitted to Garrozzos and on a Saturday night the restaurant was packed. One of our party was in a wheelchair. The manager did an outstanding job and got us seated very quickly. This experience did not give a comfortable impression of Open Table

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.