About Garozzo's Ristorante - Overland Park

9950 College Blvd
Overland Park, KS 66210
View Larger Map

• Michael Garozzo, his wife Marguerite and their four daughters own and operate Kansas City's most awarded and popular Italian restaurant. Garozzo's boasts fine dining cuisine, moderately priced, in a family atmosphere. The restaurant is Zagat rated as one of the top Italian restaurants in the country, a Kansas City dining tradition for nearly 20 years. Garozzo's is where their signature dish Chicken Spiedini began, now often imitated and never duplicated around town; Garozzo's has made Chicken Spiedini a Kansas City staple. The Garozzo family and staff welcome you to any of four locations in the Kansas City area for a true Italian dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 11am-9:30pm
Friday 11am-10:30pm
Saturday 4pm-10:30pm
Sunday 4pm-9pm

Cross Street:
69 highway & College Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(913) 491-8300

Website:
http://www.garozzos.com/

Catering:
Garozzo's caters to any location, any time, any cuisine. Contact Todd Ferguson at (816)589-7072

Parking Details:
Parking available surrounding the restaurant.

Public Transit:
The Jo

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Salmon - Garozzo's Ristorante - Overland Park, Overland Park, KS

Report a photo problem

Salmon - Garozzo's Ristorante - Overland Park, Overland Park, KS

Garozzo's Ristorante - Overland Park Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (38)
Good for a Date (37)
Good for Birthdays (23)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Romantic (21)
Authentic (19)
Business Meals (17)
Good for Groups (17)
Comfort Food (17)
Cozy (16)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Casual (13)
Notable Wine List (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Family Style (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Fun (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Historic (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
People Watching (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Seasonal (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Healthy (2)
Private Room (2)
Vegan (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Scenic View (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Live Sports (1)
Spicy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
849 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I came here with my friend for Restauran ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 21 hours ago

I came here with my friend for Restaurant week! We came in during lunch time and got seated right away. We got a table by the window. The inside is so cozy with pictures and low lighting, and the wine cellar in there is beautiful. The server was great and got our order right away. We got the clam chowder soup, linguini alla fruiti de mare, and spumoni (definitely worth the drive). The food came out at the right times, all tasted wonderful, and water was quickly refilled. I usually come here for date nights and get the Calamari and Angel Hair Diablo Con Pesce!

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We used to frequent Garozzo's but after ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

We used to frequent Garozzo's but after contracting a gluten-sensitivity, we stopped going. In reviewing the restaurant week menu and seeing lots of gluten free optional items, we were encouraged to try again. Unfortunately, their "slight upcharge" for gluten-free is more than 25% of the price of the item and their only GF pasta is corn based.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

The food was very tasty, but the service ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was very tasty, but the service was rather slow. Empty tables around us were not bussed promptly.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Great meal! We went during restaurant we ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

Great meal! We went during restaurant week, and the servers were working hard, but had a challenge keeping p with everyone

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We had a fabulous evening. Great food an ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 7 days ago

We had a fabulous evening. Great food and our waiter was impeccable! We will definitely be coming back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a noon reservation for 5 (2 kids ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We had a noon reservation for 5 (2 kids under 6) for lunch during restaurant week. The restaurant was relatively empty, but they sat us in the very noisy bar which has drastically different ambiance than the restaurant.

Service was extremely slow. It took at least 8 minutes before our drink order was taken. Once we ordered it took 13 minutes to get 3 Caesar salads. It appeared our waiter was responsible for all the tables in the bar area (about 5) AND was taking orders and delivering food for those sitting at the bar (even though there was a bartender).

The food was very good, but the poor, poor service made the entire experience something I'd rather forget.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

We had dinner celebrating my husbands bi ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We had dinner celebrating my husbands birthday; my husband had a combination of two veal dishes & I had filet spedeni. We both had a great time and would recommend Garrozzos's for dinner or special occasions.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Love his place. If you want REAL Italian ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Love his place. If you want REAL Italian food, this is the place for you. One of the best you will ever have!

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was great, very knowledgeable ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our server was great, very knowledgeable. Always smiling and accommodating to our needs. When I return there for another visit I hope she is there. She was friendly and treated us like a part of her family.Unfortunately I can't remember her name. I'm sure you can get it off the receipt.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Historic, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

One of the six guests received her salad ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

One of the six guests received her salad late as well as her entree. Apparently her order was not input with the rest of the table. Two of the entrees were well done when medium was requested. The restaurant was not busy; however, our server forgot bread and the food was slow coming out of the kitchen

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Wonderful waitress. Great suggestions. ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Wonderful waitress. Great suggestions. Will go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We went for my mothers birthday...wonder ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We went for my mothers birthday...wonderful food as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very disappointing. I made reservations ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Very disappointing. I made reservations weeks ago and they ended up seating us in the bar. We waited a hour for our food. Quality of food was poor. I will not go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Food wonderful as always. Would like to ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Food wonderful as always. Would like to try other things on the menu, but can't not have the Spiedini and Modega.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

As usual the staff goes beyond in taking ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 22, 2016

As usual the staff goes beyond in taking care of everyone which is hard to say with most of the newer restaurants in the city. Food was excellent as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came in for a Christmas lunch. Slow sta ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Came in for a Christmas lunch. Slow start but everything quickly turned around. Brought in 3 people who had never been to any Garozzo's. One from Lawrence and one from Manhattan and the 3rd person lives in Gardner. Pretty sure they are all looking forward to returning. The food

was Excellent... Thank you.

Tags: People Watching, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food, and nice atmosphere

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Great Food, and nice atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

This was the 2nd time we went to Garozzo ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 18, 2016

This was the 2nd time we went to Garozzo's Ristorante. The 1st time was in 2015, I wasn't impressed. This time the service, food, drinks, everything was fantastic. We were there to celebrate my wife's and daughters birthdays. They made us all feel very special. Thanks

Tags: Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good. The "server" wa ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 13, 2016

The food was very good. The "server" was excellent. The kitchen "service" was extremely slow in getting the food to our table of 5. Over 45 minutes for our food to be served for lunch. Late getting back to work. Everything about the meal was excellent - except the slow service time from the kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

We came here for our anniversary. The fo ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 13, 2016

We came here for our anniversary. The food was great and the service was even better. The food tasted fresh and delicious and we were very satisfied!

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Family Style, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food, good service and enjoya ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Excellent food, good service and enjoyable atmosphere. Great place to have a conversation, too!

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The girls Christmas ornament exchange an ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 12, 2016

The girls Christmas ornament exchange and dinner was awesome there! The staff kept our drinks full and bread/butter on the table. The portions are huge!! The lasagne is amazing! Kinda on the pricey side, but delicious food and worth it.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very overpriced pasta! My family thinks ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Very overpriced pasta! My family thinks I can make better pasta dishes at home.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

We had not been to this restaurant in a ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We had not been to this restaurant in a long time. We made a reservatuon for 645pm. We were almost 40 minutes past that time when we were seated. Our appitizers were very good (stuffed artichoke, calamari). That's where the good part of the review ends. Our table was not cleared of dishes. At one point we had 3 empty platters of bread. Our dinners took a long time to get to us. Water was only refilled 1 time. Our dinner entrees were mediocre at best. We will not be going back. To many other good Italian restaurants with much better service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

Great food. The Three Way Pasta is the ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Great food. The Three Way Pasta is the biggest serving I have ever seen!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Server was exceptional.

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Server was exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Disappointed. Food was good but there w ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Disappointed. Food was good but there was a large party and apparently the management was not prepared with extra help. We were seated at 7 and did not get our food until after 8:30. My food was only luke warm. Not like we have experienced in the past.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

The service was excellent and the food w ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 7, 2016

The service was excellent and the food was delicious especially the artichoke appetizer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Italian restaurant! I always get ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Great Italian restaurant! I always get the Chicken Spedini - several variations to choose from but my all-time favorite is the Samantha! Excellent service - all the staff are friendly and welcoming. Great place for a big party or a quiet dinner for two.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love this place, been going for YEARS!! ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Love this place, been going for YEARS!! Keep up the great work!! Dr.Renshaw

Tags: Vegan, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Gluten Free Options, , Late-night Find, Good for a Date, People Watching, Scenic View, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I would have to say over the years, this ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 4, 2016

I would have to say over the years, this restaurant has gone downhill. The prices are higher, food portions are smaller, service is poorer, etc.

We went for my wife's birthday dinner and allowed nearly two hours before a theatre event. We had reservations, showed up even early, but it was 30 minutes past our reservation time that we got seated. We asked for a quiet/private table, which they tried to seat us right next to another table for two-actually split the table so they could cram more people in the place. They did not honor the request through Open Table for our reservation time nor the request for a private table, plus the hostess got an attitude like WE were the ones out of line-UNACCEPTABLE!

A reservation here is more like CALL AHEAD SEATING at some places - just so you know, as they DO NOT have a table with your name on it for a specific time, as it should be-they told us we're 3rd on deck, but saw many vacant tables and more than three parties get seated before us. They could have had a wait staff shortage, and over-sold themselves, but whatever their issue is, they need to get it fixed before we'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

we were seated by the bar so it was a bi ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 3, 2016

we were seated by the bar so it was a bit noisy there. also the restaurant was extremely busy so the service was a bit delayed for that reason. i love garozzo's!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The service was great, it tasted good, ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 3, 2016

The service was great, it tasted good, but it is impossible to find something on the menu that isn't either breaded and fried or soaked with oil or butter. My companion had a pasta dish that the waitress warned would weigh 5 pounds. She was right. It was enough to feed four people. My fettuccine with seafood was very generous also and very calorie -laden. Are the large portions really necessary? Having enough to have a nice lunch the next day is great, but not for the next three days. It can result in food waste.

Tags: Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food. Great service. Ambian ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Excellent food. Great service. Ambiance could be a little more intimate for such a nice establishment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

From the food to the wine and the servic ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 1, 2016

From the food to the wine and the service my family and I had an outstanding experience!

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Sicilian Stuffed Artichoke is fantas ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 30, 2016

The Sicilian Stuffed Artichoke is fantastic. I could eat 20 of those. My friend ordered the gnocchi with the vodka sauce. It had way too much sauce; the gnocchi was overwhelmed swimming in the sauce and there was not much flavor. I ordered ravioli and it was fabulous. We are big fans!

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Had such a great dinner, per usual. Jake ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Had such a great dinner, per usual. Jake our waiter was fantastic in service and recommendations.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fun,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Living north of the river I preferred go ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Living north of the river I preferred going to Overland Park vs the location in a savory neighborhood. I've been to that one and was not impressed. Unfortunately, for our Thanksgiving meal it was not made clear that the buffet was the ONLY option. Per the print ad it appeared to simply another offering for the holiday. Since I am not a fan of any kind of buffet this was a huge disappointment; then to top it off, the spiedini was dry (when we were there) the condiments were not fully stocked and there was no pumpkin pie at all by the time we finished our meal.

I will return to see if this was a one time thing (holiday thing), but all in all, I was very disappointed and not very happy about paying for a buffet when I eat very little to begin with. It simply wasn't worth it to me.

Tags: Business Meals, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Outstanding Thanksgiving meal. Service ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Outstanding Thanksgiving meal. Service was exemplary. Felt like home for the holiday. Thanks Garozzo's for making the day special for my husband and instead of just ordinary day for 2. Happy Holidays!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very happy with this dinner choice. Outs ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Very happy with this dinner choice. Outstanding server--very attentive and helpful. Great big portions. We probably carried out leftovers that weighed more than most restaurants will serve in the first place. Consider splitting entrees--and get another bottle of wine. Still, the price is very reasonable. I call it a very good value and very good food with great service and a convenient (close to the highway, very close to Doubletree Hotel) location.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.