About Garozzo's Ristorante - Overland Park

9950 College Blvd
Overland Park, KS 66210
View Larger Map

• Michael Garozzo, his wife Marguerite and their four daughters own and operate Kansas City's most awarded and popular Italian restaurant. Garozzo's boasts fine dining cuisine, moderately priced, in a family atmosphere. The restaurant is Zagat rated as one of the top Italian restaurants in the country, a Kansas City dining tradition for nearly 20 years. Garozzo's is where their signature dish Chicken Spiedini began, now often imitated and never duplicated around town; Garozzo's has made Chicken Spiedini a Kansas City staple. The Garozzo family and staff welcome you to any of four locations in the Kansas City area for a true Italian dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 11am-9:30pm
Friday 11am-10:30pm
Saturday 4pm-10:30pm
Sunday 4pm-9pm

Cross Street:
69 highway & College Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(913) 491-8300

Website:
http://www.garozzos.com/

Catering:
Garozzo's caters to any location, any time, any cuisine. Contact Todd Ferguson at (816)589-7072

Parking Details:
Parking available surrounding the restaurant.

Public Transit:
The Jo

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Garozzo's Ristorante - Overland Park Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

3.9

ambience

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (46)
neighborhood gem (27)
good for groups (25)
See All
romantic (24)
fit for foodies (22)
notable wine list (12)
great for lunch (8)
kid-friendly (6)
great for outdoor dining (5)
hot spot (3)
great for brunch (3)
vibrant bar scene (3)
late-night find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
676 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great for a group

Dined 5 days ago

Had a group of twelve celebrating a graduation. The food and service were both outstanding, servings were huge, and it was a wonderful celebration. Would return without hesitation

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent Service

Dined on May 15, 2016

My wife and two boys love Garozzos. The service is impeccable, the food and desserts are wonderful. We will be back!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service with a nice personality. ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Great service with a nice personality. And superb food, as always.

food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Food was amazing as usual

Dined on May 9, 2016

We went on Mother's day so we knew it would be a bit busy so the service was just so so, had to continue to ask for bread before getting any. Was not told on Mother's day wine bottles were not half price (that would have been nice to mention when I was ordering a bottle). All in all still a good experience.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Italian food in the city.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Best Italian food in the city.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Parents' Night Out

Dined on May 6, 2016

Decided on short notice to take my parents out to dinner. Garozzo's found us a table (on Open Table, of course) right away. On arriving we were taken directly to our table. Our waiter, Chris, was very patient in waiting while my parents made up their minds. Everybody really enjoyed their meals, especially my mother who polished off six seafood ravioli. The chicken Samantha also had a good reception. We had never been to Garazzo's before; now we are sorry we hadn't. This could be restaurant to return to.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Disappointing table and service

Dined on April 30, 2016

I made our reservation a week in advance but still sat right next to the bathrooms and about 5 feet in front of the bench other customers sat to wait for their tables. We never felt like we were a priority for our waiter and service was not good. Even when our waiter was helping us he was always distracted and looking over our heads over at his other tables. We did have two children with us but that is why I made an early reservation. It would have been nice if it hadn't taken over 15 minutes after we sat down before getting bread. We had always gone to the Olathe location in the past and had nothing but positive experiences there and always felt welcome. $250+ to have people stare at us while we were eating and mediocre service will make me think twice about going back any time soon.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Alfredo is so rich. Bread was delicious ...

Dined on April 27, 2016

Alfredo is so rich. Bread was delicious.

food5
ambience4
service5

Nice restaurant and it's so close to hom ...

Dined on April 20, 2016

Nice restaurant and it's so close to home we didn't know about it until we saw the listing on open table. We had a great experience

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Italian food lover's treasure

Dined on April 16, 2016

This marks the third time i have been to this restaurant. Although normally a very impressive restaurant , we waited almost 15 minutes past our reservation time to be seated. Service was slightly delayed and it took an overly long time for us to receive all courses of our dinner. However , in all fairness, there were several large groups, including groups going to high school proms that evening . Normally, you are seated at the time of your reservation, the service is excellent and the food is out in a timely manner . If you elect to visit this restaurant, especially on a weekend, please make a reservation. You will be impressed with the normally attentive service and your food will be nothing short of amazing. Enjoy !

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun with Friends

Dined on April 8, 2016

We've dined at this location ever since they opened many years ago and have never been disappointed. We entertain out of town guests and they rave about it and ask to return on their next visit!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food1
ambience4
service5
value3

Easter brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

My wife found the eggs to be cold and the meatballs I had were ice cold it seems they were just out of the cooler. I tried some ham and couldn't hardly eat it because if how mushy it was. As far as the dessert it all tasted dry and stale. This is the 4th year we have joined you for Easter and always enjoyed it until this year. The way I feel at present doubt we will be back for any more Easter brunches

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food alway eat here when in KC Ab ...

Dined on March 18, 2016

Great food alway eat here when in KC About 4 to 6 times a year

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food and gracious service

Dined on March 1, 2016

The food we had was outstanding-very nicely prepared and presented. Our server was excellent and the manager helped us select a very good wine.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fantastic Italian

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

We went recently with a party of 8 to celebrate a milestone birthday. Our service and food were excellent. Thanks so much!

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Another great meal from a great restaura ...

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

Another great meal from a great restaurant. I had an appetizer, a salad and a superb veal dish. The veal dish had a really incredible brown sauce. The sauce was just perfect for the veal, and it was not too overbearing. The salad and the appetizer were also very good. I've have never had any problems with anything here. Both the food and service are always excellent here. I highly recommend this restaurant.

food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Not so comfortable

Dined on February 21, 2016

Many tables were too close to others. The guy sitting behind me bumped me several times. We were seated with an HVAC duct blowing on us, and it was cold to the point that both of us had to wear jackets. I complained to our waiter, but I didn't see or hear that anything was done. Also, the noise level was high enough that conversation was difficult. The food and service were good, but with all of the negative issues, I wouldn't dine there again.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food GREAT, . The lady manager was conde ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Food GREAT, . The lady manager was condescending to us. They can do much better at that position!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Good not great

Dined on February 14, 2016

Service was just fair maybe that was because it was valentine's day. Appatiser was great, as was the lasagna, but the spicy pasta was sub-par

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Valentines Eve Dinner

Dined on February 13, 2016

Since it was our valentines dinner we thought for that weekend there would be some specials. We have eaten at Garozzo's during valentines weekend before and they had specials. We have had a spiedini combo special and we asked about that but our waitress didn't seem to know what we were talking about. Oh well, we ordered a couple of spiedini entrees and as usual they were both very good. Anyway, the overall food and experience was great.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food,service was great. Will d ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Excellent food,service was great. Will definitely be returning to this restaurant

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I like the other brothers better

Dined on February 13, 2016

Dinner for two with appetizer, 2 dinners w salads (chicken and fish), one glass of house wine with tip a little under $100. Food is great but for that price point you don't feel like you got your monies worth. The guy that owns this place his brother has a twin of it and prices are the same but at least you feel like you could see a local mobster eating dinner.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent service, great food, superb menu.

Dined on February 13, 2016

If you are looking for great veal parmagiana in Kansas City, Garazzo's has it done well and I would recommend their menu to anyone seeking a true Italian cuisine.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent as usual

Dined on February 13, 2016

The food and service were both excellent. My wife and I always enjoy dinner at Garozzo's.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

Delicious food, but not as classy as it used to be

Dined on February 4, 2016

My wife and I have dined at Garozzos on College Bld many times - but mostly years ago. It's been three years since we were there, so I made dinner reservations for our wedding anniversary a few nights ago. I must say we were a bit disappointed in what has happened to the overall atmosphere of the restaurant. The food is still absolutely great, but it is not quite the elegant fine dining restaurant it once was - jeans are fine it looks like.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service5

Wonderful server. We have coming to the ...

vip
Dined on January 31, 2016

Wonderful server. We have coming to the Overland Park site for many years and this was one of the best waiters we have had. Perfect timing in drinks and appetizers.

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Good food!!

Dined on January 31, 2016

There were 4 of us dining at Garozzo's Overland Park last Saturday. With our reservation, we were seated right away. Our waitress seemed a little distracted, but did a pretty good job! The restaurant was a little noisy, but there was a very large party there at the same time that we were there. Three of us thought our food was excellent. My husband had ordered a tilapia dish, and it was a little burnt around the edges, and on the underside. He said it was good as long as he didn't eat the overdone part!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Nightmare dinner.

Dined on January 30, 2016

I was so disappointed. I used to go to Garozzo's a lot and always had a great experience.This time not so much. The wine list is really bad, That is after waiting to be waited on for 15 minutes. Our table was ready before the bartender even asked us about ordering. The appetizer and salads were brought essentially at the same time Maybe it was because the waiter's towel fell on the appetizer so he had to replace it. The entree my daughter ordered had so much lemon, you couldn't taste the veal. The waiter brought the check before asking if we wanted dessert. It was a nightmare. (also, now everything is al la carte - used to have a house salad as part of the entree order. Great way to raise prices. Never again.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Need to remember this place

Dined on January 24, 2016

Very good food, staff very helpful especially on the wine selection. Good value but with so many restaurants in the area, we sometimes forget about this one - need to try it out in the Spring/Fall with outdoor seating.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

I always love to eat here! I never have ...

vip
Dined on January 24, 2016

I always love to eat here! I never have to worry about anything when I eat here. The food is very good, and the service excellent. I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Our server may have been new, she never ...

vip
Dined on January 22, 2016

Our server may have been new, she never brought us any bread, took a very long time to bring straws, service overall was really slow.

Tags: romantic, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Restaurant Week

Dined on January 18, 2016

I had a wonderful experience. I went there to try it out over restaurant week and the food was amazing. They had the best menu I experienced during restaurant week and I was thrilled with it. The server seemed a little aggressive but overall the food more than made the experience pleasant. I would suggest this place to anyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

I have never had a bad meal at Garozzo's

Dined on January 17, 2016

Service seemed very slighted, I felt because I was dining with my 15 year old daughter. I have had much better service when with drinkers however I will be back but not sure It will be with non drinkers. We live 100 miles away and it is my favorite KC restaurant and always will be food is amazing!!

Tags: great for lunch, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service3

Seafood ravioli was good. Get a Cafe Gar ...

Dined on January 17, 2016

Seafood ravioli was good. Get a Cafe Garozzo after your meal-delicious!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best Italian food in KC

Dined on January 17, 2016

Garozzo's rivals any Italian restaurant on St Louis' Hill. Growing up in New York, I know Italian and this is some of the best I have eaten. Great service and great food.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Great Food, Terrible Service

Dined on January 13, 2016

My husband and I went to Garozzo's for my birthday dinner. We had great food, but our waitress was horrible. She was not attentive at all, and at one point during the meal she disappeared for 20 minutes after taking a drink order from us when she delivered our food, and when we finally saw her again, she didn't even have our drinks that we ordered. By that time, we were done eating. Although the manager took care of the drinks for us, when we asked for a dessert menu and she was gone another 10 minutes. After deciding that we did not want to wait for dessert, she finally came back, and it took another 10 minutes to get our check and leave. Next time, we'll just get take out.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Evening out

Dined on January 13, 2016

I've heard the downtown location is even better, but for convenience, quality, family feel - this location is hard to beat. Wonderful meal, reasonable wine pricing with wide ranging selection. ...and the secret recipe Garozzo's coffee is a delight on a cold winter evening - a perfect topping on a great evening.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service2

Good good and authentic Italian feel to ...

Dined on January 2, 2016

Good good and authentic Italian feel to the restaurant.

food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Great Experience

Dined on January 2, 2016

The food was good as always and service was great. Could have asked for a better experience on New Years night.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience2
service2
value1

Long wait, doesn't understand reservation

Dined on January 1, 2016

We had 7:45 reservation and didn't get seated until 9 that night. My husband had to go ask them a couple of times and the hostess was very rude. The food was great but that was it.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.