About Garozzo's Ristorante - Overland Park

9950 College Blvd
Overland Park, KS 66210
View Larger Map

• Michael Garozzo, his wife Marguerite and their four daughters own and operate Kansas City's most awarded and popular Italian restaurant. Garozzo's boasts fine dining cuisine, moderately priced, in a family atmosphere. The restaurant is Zagat rated as one of the top Italian restaurants in the country, a Kansas City dining tradition for nearly 20 years. Garozzo's is where their signature dish Chicken Spiedini began, now often imitated and never duplicated around town; Garozzo's has made Chicken Spiedini a Kansas City staple. The Garozzo family and staff welcome you to any of four locations in the Kansas City area for a true Italian dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 11am-9:30pm
Friday 11am-10:30pm
Saturday 4pm-10:30pm
Sunday 4pm-9pm

Cross Street:
69 highway & College Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(913) 491-8300

Website:
http://www.garozzos.com/

Catering:
Garozzo's caters to any location, any time, any cuisine. Contact Todd Ferguson at (816)589-7072

Parking Details:
Parking available surrounding the restaurant.

Public Transit:
The Jo

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Salmon - Garozzo's Ristorante - Overland Park, Overland Park, KS
Salmon - Garozzo's Ristorante - Overland Park, Overland Park, KS

Garozzo's Ristorante - Overland Park Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.2

ambience

4.0

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Kansas City / Kansas
Best Restaurants in Overland Park ›

Special Occasion (33)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Good for a Date (22)
See All
Good for Groups (21)
Romantic (20)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Business Meals (13)
Authentic (13)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Cozy (11)
Casual (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Outstanding Value (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Family Style (6)
Fun (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Disabled Access (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Spicy (2)
Private Room (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
People Watching (1)
Healthy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Historic (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
S
767 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

From the food to the wine and the servic ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 2 days ago

From the food to the wine and the service my family and I had an outstanding experience!

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Sicilian Stuffed Artichoke is fantas ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined 3 days ago

The Sicilian Stuffed Artichoke is fantastic. I could eat 20 of those. My friend ordered the gnocchi with the vodka sauce. It had way too much sauce; the gnocchi was overwhelmed swimming in the sauce and there was not much flavor. I ordered ravioli and it was fabulous. We are big fans!

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Had such a great dinner, per usual. Jake ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

Had such a great dinner, per usual. Jake our waiter was fantastic in service and recommendations.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fun, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Living north of the river I preferred go ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Living north of the river I preferred going to Overland Park vs the location in a savory neighborhood. I've been to that one and was not impressed. Unfortunately, for our Thanksgiving meal it was not made clear that the buffet was the ONLY option. Per the print ad it appeared to simply another offering for the holiday. Since I am not a fan of any kind of buffet this was a huge disappointment; then to top it off, the spiedini was dry (when we were there) the condiments were not fully stocked and there was no pumpkin pie at all by the time we finished our meal.

I will return to see if this was a one time thing (holiday thing), but all in all, I was very disappointed and not very happy about paying for a buffet when I eat very little to begin with. It simply wasn't worth it to me.

Tags: Business Meals, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Outstanding Thanksgiving meal. Service ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Outstanding Thanksgiving meal. Service was exemplary. Felt like home for the holiday. Thanks Garozzo's for making the day special for my husband and instead of just ordinary day for 2. Happy Holidays!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very happy with this dinner choice. Outs ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Very happy with this dinner choice. Outstanding server--very attentive and helpful. Great big portions. We probably carried out leftovers that weighed more than most restaurants will serve in the first place. Consider splitting entrees--and get another bottle of wine. Still, the price is very reasonable. I call it a very good value and very good food with great service and a convenient (close to the highway, very close to Doubletree Hotel) location.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Manager and waiter were incredible! Grea ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Manager and waiter were incredible! Great food and atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Meal was wonderful! Service was great to ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Meal was wonderful! Service was great too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I used to love this place. It pains me t ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 18, 2016

I used to love this place. It pains me to give a bad review. Seriously, this was BAD experience. I had a reservation for my birthday dinner. We arrived on time and were told no table. So we agreed to sit in bar. I now know this is code for land of the lost.

We ordered appetizer, salads and entrees. Then waited and waited and waited. 30 minutes pass and waiter bring us appetizer. 10 minutes later our waitress who I think had forgotten us shows up with duplicate appetizer.

15 minutes later we finally get salads and were promised cracked ground pepper. That never showed. Drink glasses also empty.

My entree finally showed up 20 minutes later at exactly the moment we were considering leaving because it had taken so long. Waitress presents wrong entree to my husband. She tried to give him pasta dish ordered by people at table behind us (who did actually get service). 10 minutes later and he has correct dish.

All this and at the end we are offered free dessert as compensation. Too little, too late. Terrible impression was made.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1

Waitress forgot to put our order in for ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Waitress forgot to put our order in for forty five minutes. No apology. No manager meet. Patronizing language by waitress. Horrific experience.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Food was average, loads of tomato sauce. ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Food was average, loads of tomato sauce. Salad was overdressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Garozzo's is a Kansas City favorite for ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Garozzo's is a Kansas City favorite for fine Italian dining. Our family has been coming here for years and loves the Chicken Spiedini. I have a friend who became a vegetarian and she says the one thing she misses the most about not eating meat is Chicken Spiedini.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

This was the Shriner's Veterans Day post ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 12, 2016

This was the Shriner's Veterans Day post parade dinner. What a great way to end the day. The food was great, as expected. Service too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always we had a great experience!! R ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 5, 2016

As always we had a great experience!! Recently had a rehearsal dinner it was outstanding at the downtown location. Love them all!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Cozy, Private Room, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dining experience. Delicious f ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Excellent dining experience. Delicious food. Gracious, attentive, friendly, knowledgeable, polite, accommodating staff.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fun, Cozy, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good BUT being put in the b ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The food was good BUT being put in the backroom, after I made reservations well in advance, was VERY DISAPPOINTING. I was shocked to see the main room, with all of the atmosphere, had plenty of seats available.

Garozzos is good but I suggest going downtown as you will ''probably'' experience much better atmosphere. It will be a LONG time before I visit the Overland Park location again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

We made a week night reservation for a b ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 27, 2016

We made a week night reservation for a birthday celebration. The service and food were excellent!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was really good, and better yet it ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Food was really good, and better yet it was my birthday and my meal was free. Nice place!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The occasion was my 58th birthday. A go ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The occasion was my 58th birthday. A good friend wanted to take me out before we went to a performance at JCCC. I absolutely love the Chicken Spedini. I made reservations. I was greeted with a "Happy Birthday" from the staff that knew it was a special night. I use this restaurant on a regular basis and especially for those special occasions. HIGHLY recommend.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First trip to the Overland Park location ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on October 22, 2016

First trip to the Overland Park location. Same great food as the original, but not quite the service. Of course, that locale sets the standard high. Still, could have been more attentive. Overall, still a good choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Did not realize my wine was so expensive ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Did not realize my wine was so expensive till I got the bill my fault should have asked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was excellent, however, the ser ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 19, 2016

The food was excellent, however, the service was even better. Our waiter was extremely friendly and attentive.

Tags: Spicy, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I had an excellent dinner. I had one of ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 15, 2016

I had an excellent dinner. I had one of the veal dishes. Both the service, and the food were excellent too. The waitress was very knowledgeable about different on the menu. I would recommend this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The gnocchi with Vodka sauce would have ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The gnocchi with Vodka sauce would have been perfect except for the very crunchy onions in the dish. They did not taste cooked down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

This is a nice neighborhood place, and w ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 11, 2016

This is a nice neighborhood place, and we had a weekday dinner with our son. We do enjoy the lively bar, where we had a drink while waiting for him, and would find it a great place to eat, too, if there were just two of us.

Tags: Family Style, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

You can't go wrong going to Garozzo's!! ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 11, 2016

You can't go wrong going to Garozzo's!!

We love the spidini and house salad!!

Service is always good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

An out of town friend had never heard of ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 8, 2016

An out of town friend had never heard of the restaurant but LOVES Italian food. Took him there on Saturday (10-08). Even though it was Homecoming for a local high school, we had great service. The meal was spectacular, as I expected it would be. He was very impressed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding experience. Meal was not qu ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Outstanding experience. Meal was not quite as hot as usual, but not so bad that we sent it back. Other than that, a very enjoyable dinner.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was pretty good and the service ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The food was pretty good and the service was average. Could have been much nicer

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

I thoroughly enjoyed the chicken spiedin ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 8, 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed the chicken spiedini Samantha and it was wonderful. My husband had the egg plant parmesan and really enjoyed it. The Caesar salads were very good. The tiramisu was the best I have ever tasted. Our friends both ordered the spiedini Samantha and enjoyed it as well as the torte de ricotta con frogole for dessert. A very enjoyable evening.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was fabulous, as usual. Servin ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 5, 2016

The food was fabulous, as usual. Servings were way too much. Celebrating a bday but the music and customer noise level made it very difficult to have a conversation.

Again, great food! And good service.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Family Style, Casual, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food, wine, and atmosphere. Ve ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Excellent food, wine, and atmosphere. Very courteous staff. I will definitely recommend this restaurant and return for future visits.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The bartender did an excellent job waiti ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 19, 2016

The bartender did an excellent job waiting on us. She was very personable. We went after the lunch hour, which apparently is not a busy time for Garozzo's. This was good in that we did not have to wait on anything, but a little strange that we were the only people there.

Tags: Casual, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The food was delicious and portion sizes ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 18, 2016

The food was delicious and portion sizes were generous. Great staff as well.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for your birthday dinner. Food was ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great for your birthday dinner. Food was wonderful

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Garozzo's never fails! We had the olive ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 12, 2016

Garozzo's never fails! We had the olive oil/garlic/herb dip for our bread, the Hill Special and a combo spedini of both chicken and shrimp. Delicious! And the left overs made for a great 2nd meal 2 days later!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

food was outstanding as always...server ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 10, 2016

food was outstanding as always...server was very attentive...they made a mistake on the bill but it was resolved by management.......

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I used to love this place. It pains me t ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 10, 2016

I used to love this place. It pains me to give a bad review. Seriously, this was BAD experience. I had a reservation for my birthday dinner. We arrived on time and were told no table. So we agreed to sit in bar. I now know this is code for land of the lost.

We ordered appetizer, salads and entrees. Then waited and waited and waited. 30 minutes pass and waiter bring us appetizer. 10 minutes later our waitress who I think had forgotten us shows up with duplicate appetizer.

15 minutes later we finally get salads and were promised cracked ground pepper. That never showed. Drink glasses also empty.

My entree finally showed up 20 minutes later at exactly the moment we were considering leaving because it had taken so long. Waitress presents wrong entree to my husband. She tried to give him pasta dish ordered by people at table behind us (who did actually get service). 10 minutes later and he has correct dish.

All this and at the end we are offered free dessert as compensation. Too little, too late. Terrible impression was made.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1

fantastic food !!!We had a great Server ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 10, 2016

fantastic food !!!We had a great Server! All entree's were excellent . Yummy!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I'm a big fan of this place. Love love ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 7, 2016

I'm a big fan of this place. Love love love the spedini Gabriella and their garlic bread dip. Coworkers and I come here every other month.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.