About Garozzo's Ristorante - Overland Park

• Michael Garozzo, his wife Marguerite and their four daughters own and operate Kansas City's most awarded and popular Italian restaurant. Garozzo's boasts fine dining cuisine, moderately priced, in a family atmosphere. The restaurant is Zagat rated as one of the top Italian restaurants in the country, a Kansas City dining tradition for nearly 20 years. Garozzo's is where their signature dish Chicken Spiedini began, now often imitated and never duplicated around town; Garozzo's has made Chicken Spiedini a Kansas City staple. The Garozzo family and staff welcome you to any of four locations in the Kansas City area for a true Italian dining experience.

9950 College Blvd
Overland Park, KS 66210
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 11am-9:30pm
Friday 11am-10:30pm
Saturday 4pm-10:30pm
Sunday 4pm-9pm

Cross Street:
69 highway & College Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(913) 491-8300

Website:
http://www.garozzos.com/

Catering:
Garozzo's caters to any location, any time, any cuisine. Contact Todd Ferguson at (816)589-7072

Parking Details:
Parking available surrounding the restaurant.

Public Transit:
The Jo

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Garozzo's Ristorante - Overland Park Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (44)
Special Occasion (42)
Authentic (28)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Comfort Food (25)
Romantic (25)
Business Meals (21)
Cozy (21)
Good for Groups (19)
Casual (18)
Notable Wine List (16)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Family Style (13)
Great for Lunch (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Fun (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Historic (9)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
People Watching (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Seasonal (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Private Room (3)
Scenic View (2)
Vegan (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Spicy (2)
Live Sports (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Healthy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
869 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We have just moved here from San Francis ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

We have just moved here from San Francisco and are in search for good restaurants. We enjoyed this place and will return.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Four of us went with reservations for Va ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

Four of us went with reservations for Valentines evening, so we were not surprised that we had to wait 30 minutes to be seated. They were swamped and doing the best they could to accommodate everyone, including those who came without a reservation and waited an hour or more. While we were waiting, one very patient gentleman came to the front desk and said he had 6:30 reservations and it was after 7:30; they then seated him and his wife in the bar area! We were seated in an ample booth that was off to the side in the main dining room, which was better than being at a table in the middle. We ordered the fried mozzarella and truffle ravioli for appetizers to share. The mozzarella was good, but the truffle ravioli was very oily, garlic-y and covered with way too many sautéed onions. Our waiter warned us that because of the crowd that night, the kitchen was running behind., but actually we didn't feel the wait was too long. Our entrees were not as good as we expected from this restaurant who has always had a good reputation. Those and the dessert we ordered tasted like something you might buy frozen from Costco to cook at home. Maybe it was just because it was such a busy night, but any restaurant with a reputation like this one should be prepared for one of the busiest nights of the year!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The food was amazing and well portioned. ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was amazing and well portioned. Service was excellent and attentive

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, , Fun, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was delicious! Took my girlfriend h ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was delicious! Took my girlfriend here for Valentines Day and she loved it also! Definitely will be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Romantic, Authentic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The food and service was Delicious as al ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food and service was Delicious as always!

We will return soon.

Tags: Casual, Family Style, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was our first time at the restauran ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This was our first time at the restaurant and it couldn't have been better. We ordered our meal they brought us bread and drinks. The waiter was very knowledgeable and kept apologizing for the wait on our meal. We did not think the wait was too long and never asked about our order once, but he was so upset by the time it was taking that he gave us a discount. Needless to say this is where we will be going for our Italian food from now on. Highly recommend to anyone looking for good food and a place that still knows how to treat customers.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and service were great. My husband ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food and service were great. My husband and I were on a rare night without our daughter yet they put us in the un-romantic family room so that was disappointing. But, still a nice night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Service and food was great and we truly ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Service and food was great and we truly enjoyed our visit.

Tags: Casual, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a treat to dine at Garozzo's. T ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Always a treat to dine at Garozzo's. This visit was more last minute and not a special occasion but we were warmly welcomed; spent a bit of time at the bar (you may dine at the bar as well) as we waited for our table and then had an attentive server in the dining room. Always a varied crowd from teenagers all dressed up and dining before a special school event; date-night couples to groups of friends and family enjoying an evening out. You won't leave hungry!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was great and our server was ou ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The food was great and our server was outstanding but they stuck us in a small booth in the bar next to the people waiting for tables and the carry out orders. That was very disappointing especially since we had a reservation. We would go back because the food and the staff are wonderful.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

We had a surprise Birthday party for my ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We had a surprise Birthday party for my sister, all of her family were there including a son who came in from out of town. Food was phenomenal, and service by Bridget was superb. A very accommodating restaurant. My sister used to live in Italy and feels this is the most authentic Italian restaurant in town.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite places. A little exp ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 29, 2017

One of our favorite places. A little expensive compared to other Italian in the area. Should include soup or salad with dinner.

Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Private Room
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always, Garozzo's delivers amazing fo ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 28, 2017

As always, Garozzo's delivers amazing food with large portions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Historic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This place is awesome. I had the Gnocci ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 28, 2017

This place is awesome. I had the Gnocci with chicken and my wife had the lasagna. Both were incredible. They give you bread, but salad is $4 extra with the meal. We both had the Caesar Salad which is probably the best I have had anywhere, so definitely worth it. We also ordered the garlic cheese bread, which was just okay and unnecessary because they give you free bread while you wait, which is way better than the garlic cheese bread. Wait staff was very helpful, but not overbearing. It's pricy, but well worth everything we spent. I will be back multiple times.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great lunch with my adult kids. Beef spi ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Great lunch with my adult kids. Beef spiedini and chicken spiedini and chicken corbonara for us with two house salads and a wedge salad. Prompt service. I had reservations but they really weren't needed. Would have liked to hear the Sinatra songs in dining room. Ambience is better at their Harrison location.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

I really had a great experience. I thou ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I really had a great experience. I though I have been there several times, this week was with restaurant week, and it was really worth it. This time I did get something I never have had before, and was taste great. Although they were busy with the restaurant week, it never did slow them down, and it didn't change my appreciation for this place. Everything was brought to me with great timing, and the food was great. I would really recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This visit was especially good. Excelle ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 21, 2017

This visit was especially good. Excellent waiter, good affordable wine special, spicy steak was excellent. An all around best visit. We go to Garozzo's a couple of times a year. This was during Restaurant Week, which could go either way. We are glad we chose Garozzo's.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Family Style, Spicy, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The female Hostess was very unpleasant a ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The female Hostess was very unpleasant and could not be bothered. After making a reservation on OpenTable and being told "We will seat you when we can" and waiting 30 min we finally approached the Manager who was extremely helpful and he seated us right away.

It was difficult not to notice the poor attitude of the hostess the entire time we were there.

All that aside our Server was outstanding and the food was great.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Family Style
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I came here with my friend for Restauran ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 20, 2017

I came here with my friend for Restaurant week! We came in during lunch time and got seated right away. We got a table by the window. The inside is so cozy with pictures and low lighting, and the wine cellar in there is beautiful. The server was great and got our order right away. We got the clam chowder soup, linguini alla fruiti de mare, and spumoni (definitely worth the drive). The food came out at the right times, all tasted wonderful, and water was quickly refilled. I usually come here for date nights and get the Calamari and Angel Hair Diablo Con Pesce!

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we always enjoy our meals at Garozzo's ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 19, 2017

we always enjoy our meals at Garozzo's an excellent selection of menu items and wonderful wine list and reasonable. one of my favorite restaurants. gerald waris

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We used to frequent Garozzo's but after ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 18, 2017

We used to frequent Garozzo's but after contracting a gluten-sensitivity, we stopped going. In reviewing the restaurant week menu and seeing lots of gluten free optional items, we were encouraged to try again. Unfortunately, their "slight upcharge" for gluten-free is more than 25% of the price of the item and their only GF pasta is corn based.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

The food was very tasty, but the service ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 18, 2017

The food was very tasty, but the service was rather slow. Empty tables around us were not bussed promptly.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Great meal! We went during restaurant we ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Great meal! We went during restaurant week, and the servers were working hard, but had a challenge keeping p with everyone

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We had a fabulous evening. Great food an ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We had a fabulous evening. Great food and our waiter was impeccable! We will definitely be coming back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a noon reservation for 5 (2 kids ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We had a noon reservation for 5 (2 kids under 6) for lunch during restaurant week. The restaurant was relatively empty, but they sat us in the very noisy bar which has drastically different ambiance than the restaurant.

Service was extremely slow. It took at least 8 minutes before our drink order was taken. Once we ordered it took 13 minutes to get 3 Caesar salads. It appeared our waiter was responsible for all the tables in the bar area (about 5) AND was taking orders and delivering food for those sitting at the bar (even though there was a bartender).

The food was very good, but the poor, poor service made the entire experience something I'd rather forget.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

We had dinner celebrating my husbands bi ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We had dinner celebrating my husbands birthday; my husband had a combination of two veal dishes & I had filet spedeni. We both had a great time and would recommend Garrozzos's for dinner or special occasions.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Love his place. If you want REAL Italian ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Love his place. If you want REAL Italian food, this is the place for you. One of the best you will ever have!

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was great, very knowledgeable ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our server was great, very knowledgeable. Always smiling and accommodating to our needs. When I return there for another visit I hope she is there. She was friendly and treated us like a part of her family.Unfortunately I can't remember her name. I'm sure you can get it off the receipt.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Historic, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

One of the six guests received her salad ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

One of the six guests received her salad late as well as her entree. Apparently her order was not input with the rest of the table. Two of the entrees were well done when medium was requested. The restaurant was not busy; however, our server forgot bread and the food was slow coming out of the kitchen

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Wonderful waitress. Great suggestions. ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Wonderful waitress. Great suggestions. Will go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We went for my mothers birthday...wonder ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We went for my mothers birthday...wonderful food as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very disappointing. I made reservations ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Very disappointing. I made reservations weeks ago and they ended up seating us in the bar. We waited a hour for our food. Quality of food was poor. I will not go back!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Food wonderful as always. Would like to ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Food wonderful as always. Would like to try other things on the menu, but can't not have the Spiedini and Modega.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

As usual the staff goes beyond in taking ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 22, 2016

As usual the staff goes beyond in taking care of everyone which is hard to say with most of the newer restaurants in the city. Food was excellent as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came in for a Christmas lunch. Slow sta ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Came in for a Christmas lunch. Slow start but everything quickly turned around. Brought in 3 people who had never been to any Garozzo's. One from Lawrence and one from Manhattan and the 3rd person lives in Gardner. Pretty sure they are all looking forward to returning. The food

was Excellent... Thank you.

Tags: People Watching, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food, and nice atmosphere

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Great Food, and nice atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

This was the 2nd time we went to Garozzo ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 18, 2016

This was the 2nd time we went to Garozzo's Ristorante. The 1st time was in 2015, I wasn't impressed. This time the service, food, drinks, everything was fantastic. We were there to celebrate my wife's and daughters birthdays. They made us all feel very special. Thanks

Tags: Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good. The "server" wa ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 13, 2016

The food was very good. The "server" was excellent. The kitchen "service" was extremely slow in getting the food to our table of 5. Over 45 minutes for our food to be served for lunch. Late getting back to work. Everything about the meal was excellent - except the slow service time from the kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

We came here for our anniversary. The fo ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 13, 2016

We came here for our anniversary. The food was great and the service was even better. The food tasted fresh and delicious and we were very satisfied!

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Family Style, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food, good service and enjoya ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Excellent food, good service and enjoyable atmosphere. Great place to have a conversation, too!

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.