About Garozzo's Ristorante - Overland Park

9950 College Blvd
Overland Park, KS 66210
View Larger Map

• Michael Garozzo, his wife Marguerite and their four daughters own and operate Kansas City's most awarded and popular Italian restaurant. Garozzo's boasts fine dining cuisine, moderately priced, in a family atmosphere. The restaurant is Zagat rated as one of the top Italian restaurants in the country, a Kansas City dining tradition for nearly 20 years. Garozzo's is where their signature dish Chicken Spiedini began, now often imitated and never duplicated around town; Garozzo's has made Chicken Spiedini a Kansas City staple. The Garozzo family and staff welcome you to any of four locations in the Kansas City area for a true Italian dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 11am-9:30pm
Friday 11am-10:30pm
Saturday 4pm-10:30pm
Sunday 4pm-9pm

Cross Street:
69 highway & College Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(913) 491-8300

Website:
http://www.garozzos.com/

Catering:
Garozzo's caters to any location, any time, any cuisine. Contact Todd Ferguson at (816)589-7072

Parking Details:
Parking available surrounding the restaurant.

Public Transit:
The Jo

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Salmon
Salmon

Garozzo's Ristorante - Overland Park Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

3.9

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (40)
good for groups (27)
neighborhood gem (22)
See All
romantic (19)
fit for foodies (16)
notable wine list (14)
kid-friendly (6)
great for outdoor dining (6)
great for lunch (5)
vibrant bar scene (2)
great for brunch (1)
hot spot (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
693 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated my birthday. The food was ou ...

Dined 4 days ago

Celebrated my birthday. The food was outstanding and we had great service. We have been here many times and absolutely no reason to continue to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

very slow service - this is the third ti ...

Dined 6 days ago

very slow service - this is the third time in a row service was not good - won't return

food5
ambience5
service5

Good was amazing as always, service was ...

Dined 6 days ago

Good was amazing as always, service was great too. I don't think I've ever been unsatisfied with Garozzo's (any of their locations)

food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Still serving good food after many year ...

Dined 6 days ago

Still serving good food after many years in large portions for a good price. Also good service.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a great time will diffently come ...

Dined 7 days ago

We had a great time will diffently come back. Table was ready when we arrived alway nice.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

I went back to eat here after eating the ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

I went back to eat here after eating there three days prior. Unfortunately had an even worse experience with our waiter. He was unfriendly and rude and literally would not respond to a couple complaints we had. I am sincerely disheartened at how the level of service has gone down at this restaurant. The food is wonderful! The service has been less than okay the last few times I've gone and just plain bad the last two visits.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

This is one of my favorite if not absolu ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

This is one of my favorite if not absolute favorite restaurants. This visit left me disappointed though as the service was very sub par and has been the last few times I've been. Food is beyond great, the service from everyone from management to wait staff definitely could use some improvement.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We both had the shrimp spiedini. It was ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

We both had the shrimp spiedini. It was awesome! Highly recommend Garozzo's and definitely plan to return!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience2
service3

Second time to dine. Won't go back. Se ...

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

Second time to dine. Won't go back. Seems like they are cutting costs. Not good when the customer notices by the quality of the food. Tried to order a Bellini. Sent it back as it was flat Prosecco and peach syrup. Not the way you make a Bellini.

food4
ambience4
service4

We had a BOGO offer for the spiedini, an ...

vip
Dined on May 31, 2016

We had a BOGO offer for the spiedini, and thoroughly enjoyed our meal and service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always love the Spedieni

Dined on May 31, 2016

Great food as always. Perfect salad and bread to go with the Spedieni options.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

The meal was Memorial wknd Sunday. The ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

The meal was Memorial wknd Sunday. The place was busy but our server & floor mgr kept the tea and water glasses filled. The meal was delightful. Chicken Spedini is always a favorite of ours

food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Poor Service

Dined on May 29, 2016

My wife and I love the food at this restaurant. We had the Chicken Spedini and as usual it was great. If you are unsure about the wine the house Chianti is always good. Although I didn't have it this trip, the veal dished are alway a good choice. Garozzo's is the best Italian Restaurant in town. I hate to say it and I will not use a name but my server was way below the quality os staff at Garozzo's. The food made up for the poor service.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Too Loud! Poor Service! Mediocre Food!

Dined on May 28, 2016

I was so anxious to get back to eat here after living away for a few years. I couldn't have been more disappointed Even with a reservation we were seated after parties who walked in without a reservation We were seated in the bar rather than the dining room as requested, and we were told that we should have made a reservation Our server was too busy to fill our water glasses, didn't want to bring to go containers for our food, and didn't want to bring change. Our food was lukewarm at best. Not a very good return trip. Probably won't do it again. There are too many other great options nearby.

food4
ambience5
service4

Great spedini

Dined on May 28, 2016

Great spedini

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great experiene. Great food an ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Always a great experiene. Great food and great service

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great for a group

Dined on May 21, 2016

Had a group of twelve celebrating a graduation. The food and service were both outstanding, servings were huge, and it was a wonderful celebration. Would return without hesitation

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent Service

Dined on May 15, 2016

My wife and two boys love Garozzos. The service is impeccable, the food and desserts are wonderful. We will be back!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service with a nice personality. ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Great service with a nice personality. And superb food, as always.

food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Food was amazing as usual

Dined on May 9, 2016

We went on Mother's day so we knew it would be a bit busy so the service was just so so, had to continue to ask for bread before getting any. Was not told on Mother's day wine bottles were not half price (that would have been nice to mention when I was ordering a bottle). All in all still a good experience.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Italian food in the city.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Best Italian food in the city.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Parents' Night Out

Dined on May 6, 2016

Decided on short notice to take my parents out to dinner. Garozzo's found us a table (on Open Table, of course) right away. On arriving we were taken directly to our table. Our waiter, Chris, was very patient in waiting while my parents made up their minds. Everybody really enjoyed their meals, especially my mother who polished off six seafood ravioli. The chicken Samantha also had a good reception. We had never been to Garazzo's before; now we are sorry we hadn't. This could be restaurant to return to.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Disappointing table and service

Dined on April 30, 2016

I made our reservation a week in advance but still sat right next to the bathrooms and about 5 feet in front of the bench other customers sat to wait for their tables. We never felt like we were a priority for our waiter and service was not good. Even when our waiter was helping us he was always distracted and looking over our heads over at his other tables. We did have two children with us but that is why I made an early reservation. It would have been nice if it hadn't taken over 15 minutes after we sat down before getting bread. We had always gone to the Olathe location in the past and had nothing but positive experiences there and always felt welcome. $250+ to have people stare at us while we were eating and mediocre service will make me think twice about going back any time soon.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Alfredo is so rich. Bread was delicious ...

Dined on April 27, 2016

Alfredo is so rich. Bread was delicious.

food5
ambience4
service5

Nice restaurant and it's so close to hom ...

Dined on April 20, 2016

Nice restaurant and it's so close to home we didn't know about it until we saw the listing on open table. We had a great experience

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Italian food lover's treasure

Dined on April 16, 2016

This marks the third time i have been to this restaurant. Although normally a very impressive restaurant , we waited almost 15 minutes past our reservation time to be seated. Service was slightly delayed and it took an overly long time for us to receive all courses of our dinner. However , in all fairness, there were several large groups, including groups going to high school proms that evening . Normally, you are seated at the time of your reservation, the service is excellent and the food is out in a timely manner . If you elect to visit this restaurant, especially on a weekend, please make a reservation. You will be impressed with the normally attentive service and your food will be nothing short of amazing. Enjoy !

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun with Friends

Dined on April 8, 2016

We've dined at this location ever since they opened many years ago and have never been disappointed. We entertain out of town guests and they rave about it and ask to return on their next visit!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food1
ambience4
service5
value3

Easter brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

My wife found the eggs to be cold and the meatballs I had were ice cold it seems they were just out of the cooler. I tried some ham and couldn't hardly eat it because if how mushy it was. As far as the dessert it all tasted dry and stale. This is the 4th year we have joined you for Easter and always enjoyed it until this year. The way I feel at present doubt we will be back for any more Easter brunches

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food alway eat here when in KC Ab ...

Dined on March 18, 2016

Great food alway eat here when in KC About 4 to 6 times a year

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food and gracious service

Dined on March 1, 2016

The food we had was outstanding-very nicely prepared and presented. Our server was excellent and the manager helped us select a very good wine.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fantastic Italian

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

We went recently with a party of 8 to celebrate a milestone birthday. Our service and food were excellent. Thanks so much!

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Another great meal from a great restaura ...

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

Another great meal from a great restaurant. I had an appetizer, a salad and a superb veal dish. The veal dish had a really incredible brown sauce. The sauce was just perfect for the veal, and it was not too overbearing. The salad and the appetizer were also very good. I've have never had any problems with anything here. Both the food and service are always excellent here. I highly recommend this restaurant.

food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Not so comfortable

Dined on February 21, 2016

Many tables were too close to others. The guy sitting behind me bumped me several times. We were seated with an HVAC duct blowing on us, and it was cold to the point that both of us had to wear jackets. I complained to our waiter, but I didn't see or hear that anything was done. Also, the noise level was high enough that conversation was difficult. The food and service were good, but with all of the negative issues, I wouldn't dine there again.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food GREAT, . The lady manager was conde ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Food GREAT, . The lady manager was condescending to us. They can do much better at that position!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Good not great

Dined on February 14, 2016

Service was just fair maybe that was because it was valentine's day. Appatiser was great, as was the lasagna, but the spicy pasta was sub-par

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Valentines Eve Dinner

Dined on February 13, 2016

Since it was our valentines dinner we thought for that weekend there would be some specials. We have eaten at Garozzo's during valentines weekend before and they had specials. We have had a spiedini combo special and we asked about that but our waitress didn't seem to know what we were talking about. Oh well, we ordered a couple of spiedini entrees and as usual they were both very good. Anyway, the overall food and experience was great.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food,service was great. Will d ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Excellent food,service was great. Will definitely be returning to this restaurant

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I like the other brothers better

Dined on February 13, 2016

Dinner for two with appetizer, 2 dinners w salads (chicken and fish), one glass of house wine with tip a little under $100. Food is great but for that price point you don't feel like you got your monies worth. The guy that owns this place his brother has a twin of it and prices are the same but at least you feel like you could see a local mobster eating dinner.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent service, great food, superb menu.

Dined on February 13, 2016

If you are looking for great veal parmagiana in Kansas City, Garazzo's has it done well and I would recommend their menu to anyone seeking a true Italian cuisine.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent as usual

Dined on February 13, 2016

The food and service were both excellent. My wife and I always enjoy dinner at Garozzo's.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.