Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.40mi
  3. Distance: 0.46mi
  4. Distance: 0.74mi
  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.40mi
  3. Distance: 0.46mi
  4. Distance: 0.74mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.40mi
  3. Distance: 0.46mi
  4. Distance: 0.74mi
  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.40mi
  3. Distance: 0.46mi
  4. Distance: 0.74mi

About Garozzo's Ristorante - Kansas City

• Michael Garozzo, his wife Marguerite and their four daughters own and operate Kansas City's most awarded and popular Italian restaurant. Garozzo's boasts fine dining cuisine, moderately priced, in a family atmosphere. The restaurant is Zagat rated as one of the top Italian restaurants in the country, a Kansas City dining tradition for nearly 20 years. Garozzo's is where their signature dish Chicken Spiedini began, now often imitated and never duplicated around town; Garozzo's has made Chicken Spiedini a Kansas City staple. The Garozzo family and staff welcome you to any of four locations in the Kansas City area for a true Italian dining experience.

526 Harrison
Kansas City, MO 64106
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 11am-10pm
Friday 11am-11pm
Saturday 4pm-11pm
Sunday 4pm-9pm

Cross Street:
Missouri & Harrison

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 221-2455

Website:
http://www.garozzos.com/

Catering:
Catering available at any location, any time, any cuisine. Please call Todd Ferguson at (816)589-7072

Parking Details:
Parking available on the street surrounding the restaurant. Private parking lot located caddy corner to the front door.

Public Transit:
KC Metro

Private Party Facilities:
Private party seating for up to sixty. Please call for details.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Garozzo's Ristorante - Kansas City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (69)
Neighborhood Gem (62)
Authentic (60)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (59)
Good for a Date (59)
Romantic (54)
Good for Birthdays (46)
Worth the Drive (44)
Cozy (37)
Comfort Food (32)
Historic (29)
Casual (29)
Good for Groups (29)
Notable Wine List (28)
Business Meals (27)
Fun (24)
Pre/post Theatre (23)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Hot Spot (15)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Great for Lunch (13)
Family Style (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Bar Seating (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Kid-friendly (8)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Happy Hour (4)
Seasonal (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Great Beer (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Spicy (3)
Vegan (2)
People Watching (2)
Live Sports (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Healthy (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Private Room (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
1783 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined a day ago

Always first class in every way! Pride of KC!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

We treat ourselves to Garozzo's once a year on our way to the theater. If we lived closer, I'm sure we'd go more often!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fun, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

Our work team chose the original Kansas City, Missouri, location for our June birthday luncheon. Using OpenTable for reservations was great. Our server greeted us and seated us immediately. She was extremely pleasant and knowledgeable regarding menu questions, too. I'm sorry that I didn't get her name in order to specifically praise her, because she did an outstanding job with our group of seven people, with five tickets and six to-go boxes. Our meals came out with excellent presentation, and our server did not have to be asked to refill glasses or anything else. The owner/manager held the door for us as we were leaving, thanked us and invited us to visit again. Extremely pleasant, welcoming environment with wonderful food, in an atmosphere that was good for a group to still be able to talk to and hear each other. Am quite certain that our team will choose Garozzo's Ristorante for a future luncheon!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

Always a good experience! I've been coming here for about 10 years and every visit is a good one! The Sicilian artichoke is probably my favorite thing on the menu! Everything I've tried here has been yummy! The waiters and waitresses are always very attentive!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

Another wonderful meal, and our service was outstanding. There was 5 of us and we never felt rushed.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Business Meals, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful service- Professional yet personable.
Food was excellent. Highly recommend.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

the food and the service was outstanding!! where we sat was pretty rough. a little short table right in the pathway of everyone. didn't like that and the table was not level but I leaned on it so it wouldn't move anymore after becoming annoying. it was very loud but it was busy so we got over that. I will be back! it was delicious and or waiter was outstanding!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was delicious. I had the signature dish, chicken spedeni Georgia and it was fantastic. My wife had the seafood ravioli, she said it was good just thought it would have more seafood in it. It was a little dark but, very nice.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 14, 2017

As always, the food was outstanding! I come to Kansas City for business a few times a year and Gorozzo's is a must every time! It can be a little loud at times, especially if you're seated near a large party, but the staff is attentive and the food is always fantastic! Do yourself a favor and try the Sicilian Stuffed Artichoke!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 14, 2017

We always have a great meal at Grazzo's. I have been coming here since the early 1990s. Sarah our waitress was very attentive and had great recommendations. To get Italian food like Grazzo's you would have to drive to St Louis and visit the Hill. Thanks Mike for making your restaurant a great Italian restaurant. Cheers.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Excellent food, great ambiance at this old KC favorite. My wife an I enjoyed the chicken spedieni an veal dinners. We also had a nice bottle of Garozzo's Cellar Chianti Classico.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Casual, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Wonderful meal! We are from Omaha and this is my 3rd time there. Any of the Spiedini are a special meal! Loved it!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Always a wonderful dining experience! We sat in the bar area and had Katie as a waitress. She was so helpful at picking the bottle of wine. It was perfect. It was very busy and she was at our table regularly checking to see if we needed anything. The Spiedini Samantha and Shrimp Alfredo were superb! We had the Trio dessert with Cafe Garozzo! Yummy! Another lovely dinner!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 11, 2017

My wife's and I first time there, and it was amazing, wonderful waiter as well!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Always the best food, service. We have always loved Garozzos 💕

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Wonderful! Will visit again when we're back in KC!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 7, 2017

This place is the best! Great neighborhood , awesome atmosphere, waitstaff on it, fabulous food! It's great for birthdays, because you get a free chicken Spedini. The red sangria was so refreshing. If you walk away hungry, then you have a problem!!! Tons of great food with leftovers for another meal or two.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 7, 2017

My favorite KC restsurant since the days my sis was a server there. U never miss a visit when I'm in town

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Garozzos never disappoints! The spedini is always my go to. We went for our anniversary and they gave us dessert on the house. It was excellent food!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 5, 2017

I am never disappointed when I dine here. Food is always delicious, service is excellent.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Our group of seven people ordered various things for the menu and all raved about it being two of the best Italian food that they have ever had. I particularly liked the lasagna. Do you Italian bread was very delicious. Our only complaint was that the lighting was so DM that we had to use the flashlights on our phones to read the menu, but in this case it was worth using the flashlights because we had such a wonderful meal.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 4, 2017

We were a party of four and the special pasta dish my husband ordered would have fed all of us - talk about value! This location in particular is our favorite, go-to Italian restaurant in KC.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Great food, great time, great service. Phil was our server and he was personable and knowledgeable.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Wonderful meal with friends and family. Everyone had something different and we were all delighted. We had everything from great appetizers to tasty desserts. Veal, beef, chicken spedini, seafood pasta/even spaghetti and meatballs! Great service and ambience.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The food was excellent and our waitress could not have been any friendlier and helpful. She really made us feel welcome. As a Kansas transplant from St. Louis we have really been missing some good Italian food especially the salad we always ate at Rich And Charlies.
This place satisfied our homesickness and cravings for some great St. Louis Italian food!
Was a little pricey but we brought home leftovers!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Romantic, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Fantastic food and excellent service. You can never go wrong with Garozzo's!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 1, 2017

My boyfriend and I heard about this restaurant while in KC on a medical trip. We happened to be in town on his birthday and were told that they offer a free meal for birthdays (no sign ups, just show your id). As this restaurant is a little pricier than we budgeted for we decided to take advantage of the offer and try a new place to boot.
It was fantastic! We went for dinner on a Wednesday evening. The place is dimly lit, but very comfy. It was a little noisier than I would've liked but that is the only down side. The serving sizes are massive-you could make them into at least two meals (you will have leftovers). The free birthday meal was awesome and there were four choices, so it wasn't pre-picked. Also, they brought a free dessert for the birthday boy.
I would highly recommend this restaurant to friends and family! Thank you for making our night special, yet affordable!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Always amazing never been disappointed.
Out of town and a frequent destination. Usually order individual entree just to try all the delicious food, but because portions are so large have leftovers for lunch next day sometimes 2 days
A "gotta try" place

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 29, 2017

I was disappointed not because of the food because it was wonderful and our waitress was awesome however, I had told them in my reservations it was my birthday. I didn't expect any free dessert etc but it really would have been nice if any of them would have said Happy Birthday especially since we flew in from another state specifically to go there for my birthday. Perhaps they just didn't write it down when I called to confirm with them however, had someone called and said I'm flying in for my birthday to have my birthday dinner at my favorite KC restaurant I would have made a point to at least acknowledge their birthday.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 28, 2017

The food was great. We had the wrapped chicken. But! My husband had gurgling in stomach with 2 results before we even left the restaurant. Later I had terrible gas! We had to cancel our plans to go to Union Station.
We wanted some ice to put our leftovers in but our waiter refused to help us Said it was OK for chicken to be unrefrigerated for 4 hours. Well, maybe that was the case before we ate it!
Anyway despite all this we did have a good time with our friends.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Great as usual, you just can't go wrong with Garozzo's !!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We had a fantastic experience at Garozzo's. The food was delicious, and the service was great. No complaints.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 26, 2017

As always the food was wonderful and we had a marvelous waitress. One of my favorites is the house salad. Hope in the future they will offer gluten free bread.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Fantastic – especially page our waitress she was attentive and super professional… Nice job all the way around..!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 23, 2017

We usually go to the Lee's Summit restaurant but since we were going to a concert and it was my wife's birthday I came here instead. It made it extra special for her and it was fabulous.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 22, 2017

This place is absolutely the bomb. Can not believe it took me 39 years of living here to eat here for the 1st time.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Great night celebrating a college grad and birthday. Staff was top notch and food was amazing

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Love our neighborhood spot the food is always fantastic and our waitress (pretty sure her name was Dee) was the best!!!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Who doesn't love Garozzo's!!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 20, 2017

One of our favorites for many years. We had a dear friend in from Honolulu and wanted to take him somewhere local that we love. Garozzo's never disappoints.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.