Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.40mi
  3. Distance: 0.46mi
  4. Distance: 0.74mi
  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.40mi
  3. Distance: 0.46mi
  4. Distance: 0.74mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.40mi
  3. Distance: 0.46mi
  4. Distance: 0.74mi
  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.40mi
  3. Distance: 0.46mi
  4. Distance: 0.74mi

About Garozzo's Ristorante - Kansas City

• Michael Garozzo, his wife Marguerite and their four daughters own and operate Kansas City's most awarded and popular Italian restaurant. Garozzo's boasts fine dining cuisine, moderately priced, in a family atmosphere. The restaurant is Zagat rated as one of the top Italian restaurants in the country, a Kansas City dining tradition for nearly 20 years. Garozzo's is where their signature dish Chicken Spiedini began, now often imitated and never duplicated around town; Garozzo's has made Chicken Spiedini a Kansas City staple. The Garozzo family and staff welcome you to any of four locations in the Kansas City area for a true Italian dining experience.

526 Harrison
Kansas City, MO 64106
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 11am-10pm
Friday 11am-11pm
Saturday 4pm-11pm
Sunday 4pm-9pm

Cross Street:
Missouri & Harrison

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 221-2455

Website:
http://www.garozzos.com/

Catering:
Catering available at any location, any time, any cuisine. Please call Todd Ferguson at (816)589-7072

Parking Details:
Parking available on the street surrounding the restaurant. Private parking lot located caddy corner to the front door.

Public Transit:
KC Metro

Private Party Facilities:
Private party seating for up to sixty. Please call for details.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Garozzo's Ristorante - Kansas City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (71)
Special Occasion (71)
Good for Anniversaries (59)
See All
Authentic (59)
Good for a Date (58)
Romantic (52)
Worth the Drive (52)
Good for Birthdays (51)
Cozy (36)
Comfort Food (34)
Notable Wine List (31)
Business Meals (31)
Casual (27)
Good for Groups (26)
Fun (25)
Pre/post Theatre (24)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Great for Lunch (14)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Hot Spot (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Historic (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
People Watching (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Family Style (5)
Seasonal (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Vegan (3)
Spicy (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Private Room (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Live Music (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
1823 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

I love Italian food and normally I love Garozzo's but last night left a horrible taste in my mouth.... Literally. Our appetizer and dinner were fine. As always the chicken spiedini was fantastic. The service however was lacking and not due to the usual crowd. We made a 9 pm reservation so it wasn't as crowded as usual. I can forgive the occasional slow service, that wasn't the issue. After apps and entrees we were full but there was no way I was passing up on dessert. My fiance and I got the limoncello cake and tiramisu to go.

The moment I opened my tiramisu container I could smell something was off but I took a bite anyway. It was absolutely disgusting. The lady fingers were dry and the mascarpone was sour. I figured they mistakenly served us an older dessert that should have been thrown away days ago. The limoncello cake was slightly better being almost edible but still past the date it should have been served.

My biggest issue is knowing that had we sat in the restaurant and eaten our dessert there, there is no way we would have been served old food. We pay the same price for to-go desserts, shouldn't we get the same quality as we would eating it in the restaurant?

Next time I will deal with the wait and enjoy quality food at Ragazza where even their to-go food is outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Garozzo's never disappoints. I don't know what they put in their red sauce, but it's the best I've ever had. The wait staff is always exceptional and the overall feel of the place with its photos of (the owners?) family + famous Italians with Frank Sinatra crooning over the sound system STILL makes it one of the best and most enjoyable restaurants in Kansas City.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Romantic, Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Excellent food! The place was packed. It reminded me of such restaurants in Italy!

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Garozzo's is a KC favorite. Great Italian food in a noisy but friendly atmosphere. Seating if vry tight. We had reservations for 6 at 7 PM and were seated exactly on time. Great professional server. Would recommend to anyone.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Great ambiance and great food. This is a great place to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We could have stopped at the AMAZING bread, Sicilian garlic dip, and stuffed artichoke. But I'm glad we didn't. My shrimp spiedini Maggie was beyond amazing. And to top it off, some of the best limoncello I've had since Sorento!

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 10, 2017

We came here specifically because we wanted a good Italian meal and looked for reviews on OpenTable. The five star rating for this wonderful restaurant is well-deserved. Our server, D, was a total delight. The food was delicious, abundant and very reasonably priced. Everything about this restaurant was delightful!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Great experience, as always. Food and service were awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 6, 2017

I come here a few times a year with my family and it's great, but I just came here on a date and it was amazing! Friendly and knowledgeable wait staff and a homey ambiance makes you feel like a regular even if it's your first time. I recommend this place to everyone new to Kc, it's a must!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Try the scilian stuffed artichoke it is great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Our server was perfect. The food was amazing from hot bread and appetizers (try the stuffed artichoke!) to their cravable house salad to flawless dinner entrees to desserts (we split tiramisu, canoli AND limoncello cake)!

Tags: Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, People Watching, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 22, 2017

I was disappointed with our seating. Although we had made a reservation well in advance, we were seated very near the kitchen door while others without a reservation who arrived after we did had better seating. Also, we ordered a bottle of wine and it took forever to bring the bottle to our table. It was at least 10 minutes before it arrived, and our server had to come back once to our table and ask what we ordered. the food as always was excellent, and the occasion enjoyed by all.

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 19, 2017

5:30 pm Wednesday reservation for two. First and last thing I can remember is THE NOISE. Seated in a smaller enclosed windowless room right next to a table of 14 or 16 loudmouths who were loudmouths when they came in and even bigger loudmouths after they started drinking. They were all the same age bracket -- 35 - 55 -- so it was probably some work thing. Their wine steward was wearing ball cap, t-shirt and shorts. ?? It was extremely difficult to carry on a conversation; lipreading prevailed. Bad acoustics in that room. I kept thinking the large party would start to eat and settle the eff down but they never did. The place was crowded at 5:30 so I didn't want to demand a new table.

We had the antipasto plate for an appetizer, which is $8 per person, which was four thin sliced circles of meat, two thin slices of cheese, and one small cube of cheese, with 4 olives each, a bowl of marinara sauce, two small toasted ravioli, one fried mozzarella stick each and three long fingers of eggplant fried, each. That was fine.

We split a special that was a tour of the menu. Small bowl of Cavatelli Catania pasta, a plate with chicken spiedini, and one small Bistecca Modiga. Waitress hadn't mentioned the price of the special and we did not ask.

The steak was great -- best of everything we had. It was a hot day and the waitress was great at filling out water glasses.

Everything was about the chicken spiedini, the chicken spiedini. You'll like it if you're a fan of dry chicken white meat. Mine was pretty tough and dry, and the coating they'd rolled it in fell off, so I didn't get the taste experience of it together. The coating was good to scrape up with a fork afterwards, since it all fell off the chicken.

So the total with tax was $54.14, before the tip which was $10.80, so total was $64.94 for the double appetizer and the split special. Is that a good deal?

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on July 16, 2017

We have eaten at Garozzo's many times and are always pleased with our food and service. It is a great casual dining restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Garozzo's in Kansas City is a great Italian dinning establishment. The ambiance is why we choose the Kansas City location as well as the exquisite food.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 13, 2017

As usual, another great dinner! We usually schedule our trip to KC around Gorozzos.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Garozzo's as always hits it. From the great salad thru regular spiedini, to my split Bistecca Modiga/Spiedini Gabriella, Angel Hair pasta and the regular pasta side.! Love ❤️ the Original!

Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 9, 2017

It was fabulous. We went before a concert at Sprint. The 3 way pasta was enough for 4 people, but we each got an entree. Lots of ambiance and great service.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 8, 2017

This was a great date night experience. Had a nice darkened ambience, the plates were huge and the food was delicious. Would highly recommend.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Our group of four had reservations for 6:15. Even though we arrived early - about 5:45 - they were very accommodating and seated us right away. Our waiter was very personable and attentive. The bottle of wine he suggested was very well liked by all four of us. The food was exceptional! We started things off with the antipasto platter - very good - a little pricey at $8 a person. For dinner, two of us had the chicken spiedini with the Amogio sauce - a blend of olive oil, garlic, lemon juice and herbs - and it was amazing. One had the steak special - great cut of meat - and the other ordered the Salmon alla Spinaci Con Pesto. Everything was cooked to perfection and delicious!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 8, 2017

I have never had a bad meal here! I love the food. The service is always excellent!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fun, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Thanks food is always amazing and the atmosphere is great. We had an amazing waitress and you can tell that the staff has relationships with many of the guests which means there is a lot of people going back regularly.

Tags: People Watching, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Justin did a great job taking care of our crowd! Thanks!

Tags: Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on July 5, 2017

We were in town for business and weren't expecting much. My whole group was absolutely blown away by our food. To note one co-worker talked about the lasagna for 3 days after.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 3, 2017

We had a reservation for 7pm. Did not get seated until 7:45 pm. Manager comped us our appetizers which was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
·Dined on July 3, 2017

Had a lovely late lunch with family for my birthday. The food was wonderful as usual!

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 2, 2017

You will never have bad service and never a bad meal. Been going here for almost 15 years. It is simply the best. The steaks are to die for.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Decided to take the family to dinner at the original Garozzo's Ristorante, in Columbus Park. Booked a table the day before on Open Table, no problem. We showed up and although the place was packed we were seated right about the time of our reservation. The original Garozzo's is not your strip mall type of restaurant. It's a neighborhood joint, and you can really see and feel the history of the place.
Everything on the menu sounded great, and we all (5) ordered something different. Spaghetti & Meatball (huge), Chicken Spiedini, and lobster ravioli were all amazing. Don't forget to order a side salad, their house salad is simple, but awesome.
If you haven't been to this location, you have to give it a try.

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Really disappointing! We were surprised by the lack of responsibility for a drunken party of ladies that were very disruptive and worrisomely drunk. Manager took very little responsibility and had no regard for the guests!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service5
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 2, 2017

This has become one of our favorite places to dine. Best Italian food. Top notch service, great atmosphere, clean. What else can you ask for?

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 1, 2017

This is our 3rd time to Garozzo's in the last 6 months. How we overlooked this gem for so many years is beyond me. Hands down the best Italian in Kansas City.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual, Business Meals, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Excellent food, excellent service. I will go here every time I'm in KC. You had me at warm bread.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on June 24, 2017

This restaurant was referred to me by a friend...and it was not a disappointment. Love the ambience, but it is very tight quarters! It was very loud which made it difficult to hear one another at the table, but it was a fun and lively atmosphere. The food was incredible! And the portions were HUGE! I would definitely recommend sharing!!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Garozzo's is alway great food and fabulous service. The challenge was a large party near out table that was so loud the three couples in our party could not have a conversation. Was challenged to have a decent conversation and left after dinner so we could talk.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Wonderful birthday celebration for my 90 something godmother who loved her meal starting with the garlic dip and bread appetizer, e chicken spedeni with fresh baby tomato sauce and angel hair pasta. THe staff sang in Italian "Happy Birthday" with much passion and quieted the whole restaurant with their rendition. My godmother loved this special moment! FInished the evening with turtle cheesecake for my godmother along with her free Spinoni ice cream. The rest of us had a variety of dishes of which we all enjoyed and some brought home leftovers. Ordered a stuffed artichoke to go for my godmother to enjoy later in the week -- fabulous evening, great food, wonderful service and a memorable time for all -- especially my godmother who hopes to do this next year for her next 90 something birthday!!!

Tags: Authentic, People Watching, Special Occasion, Casual, Fun, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 23, 2017

I love Garozzo's, and will be back soon! It's just my absolute favorite restaurant. I'm never disappointed and the service is always great. The night of my dinner was for my birthday and there was another party in the upstairs dining area that was larger than mine of 9. Our server was so sweet, prompt and attentive to all. I honestly don't know how she managed with a full room like that. Great job!! We all thank you so much!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 22, 2017

The food was phenomenal but the service was definitely lacking. I did speak with the manager before leaving so he was aware of the situation. He wanted to rectify the situation, but I explained I was not angry, and I would return for the food. He was very polite and sincerely concerned. Definitely a must try!!!

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Seasonal, Fun, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Happy Hour, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Always first class in every way! Pride of KC!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Bravissimo! All plus plus and Savannah our hostess was TOPS! Thank you for an outstanding birthday celebration for my wife!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 20, 2017

We treat ourselves to Garozzo's once a year on our way to the theater. If we lived closer, I'm sure we'd go more often!

Tags: Fun, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.