About Garozzo's Ristorante - Kansas City

• Michael Garozzo, his wife Marguerite and their four daughters own and operate Kansas City's most awarded and popular Italian restaurant. Garozzo's boasts fine dining cuisine, moderately priced, in a family atmosphere. The restaurant is Zagat rated as one of the top Italian restaurants in the country, a Kansas City dining tradition for nearly 20 years. Garozzo's is where their signature dish Chicken Spiedini began, now often imitated and never duplicated around town; Garozzo's has made Chicken Spiedini a Kansas City staple. The Garozzo family and staff welcome you to any of four locations in the Kansas City area for a true Italian dining experience.

526 Harrison
Kansas City, MO 64106
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 11am-10pm
Friday 11am-11pm
Saturday 4pm-11pm
Sunday 4pm-9pm

Cross Street:
Missouri & Harrison

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 221-2455

Website:
http://www.garozzos.com/

Catering:
Catering available at any location, any time, any cuisine. Please call Todd Ferguson at (816)589-7072

Parking Details:
Parking available on the street surrounding the restaurant. Private parking lot located caddy corner to the front door.

Public Transit:
KC Metro

Private Party Facilities:
Private party seating for up to sixty. Please call for details.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Garozzo's Ristorante - Kansas City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (67)
Good for a Date (66)
Neighborhood Gem (61)
See All
Authentic (60)
Good for Anniversaries (48)
Historic (47)
Romantic (47)
Good for Birthdays (41)
Worth the Drive (39)
Comfort Food (31)
Casual (30)
Good for Groups (26)
Fun (25)
Cozy (25)
Business Meals (24)
Family Style (23)
Notable Wine List (22)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Great for Lunch (18)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Outstanding Value (11)
People Watching (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Private Room (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Seasonal (6)
Healthy (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Spicy (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1664 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Garozzos is one of the best Italian rest ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 2 days ago

Garozzos is one of the best Italian restaurants in the area. The atmosphere is wonderful, music by artists such as Frank and Dean adds to the ambiance. We love everything starting with the artichoke hearts, the Cobb salad is beyond delicious, and then the decision as to what entree to get makes you wish you could try them all.

Prices are very reasonable especially when I always bring enough food home for several more meals, and it is just as delicious warmed up.

Servers are always very professional and helpful when making those tough food choices.

If you have never been to Garozzos you are in for an amazing experience..

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambience for a date. Food was seco ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Great ambience for a date. Food was second to none and the server was outstanding. Definitely the place to go for Italian food in KC.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of my favorites. However thi ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

This is one of my favorites. However this trip was a bit irritating. We felt so bad for our waitress. She did a great job, but we had to wait way too long. She had our table of 12 people, plus several other tables around us. I personally don't know how she did it. I made reservations well in adavance. The manager even confirmed my reservation via phone the day before. Most restaurants would have had 2 people serving our table, let alone one who had multiple other tables.

Can't be the food though! I'm still giving good review.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The food was amazing and our waitress wa ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was amazing and our waitress was super nice and helpful until it came to the end of our meal, she rushed us out and didn't offer dessert or give us time to finish the few bites we had left. The restaurant was also very packed tight I felt like I was bumping elbows with people at the 2 tables next to ours. We were hoping for more of a romantic, quiet setting.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Family Style, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

Great atmosphere and authentic Italian. ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

Great atmosphere and authentic Italian. One of my favorite restaurants in the city!

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

All way the best place to eat. Garozzo's ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

All way the best place to eat. Garozzo's is the best place ever. I love Garozzo's and my wife love it to.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

KC classic for true Italian. Never-fail ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

KC classic for true Italian. Never-fail menu and great wine list, including the house chianti!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were good, as alway ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

The food and service were good, as always. The decor and general ambiance are a little dated (but charmingly so). The lone sore point was the server referring to my date as "sweetie" at least half a dozen times. That part was a little dated in a slightly less charming way (haha). Overall though, a thumbs up. We'll be back.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

After theatre meal with my grand daughte ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

After theatre meal with my grand daughter. Did not disappoint.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My husband and I have been here several ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My husband and I have been here several times, the food and the service is always amazing!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for our annual Feast of Santa Va ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We went for our annual Feast of Santa Valentino celebration. The food was fabulous and the service was top notch! Our server made us feel like we were her only table. We had reservations for 5pm and were seated immediately in the main dining room against the wall. Perhaps my only negative feedback should be that the tables are very close...we are friendly and sat next to friendly neighbors, so that was part of this restaurant's charm for us. I would advise you, if you prefer something more intimate, this may not be the place for you.

The food was OUTSTANDING! From the manicotti to the bistecca Salerno...everything was perfect. The sauce on the manicotti is like velvet. The diablo sauce has just the right heat on the Chicken Gabriella.

This restaurant tasted like home. It smelled like home. It made me feel welcome , wanted, and among friends. I highly recommend it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Authentic, Special Occasion, Family Style, Historic, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Highly recommended and did not disappoin ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Highly recommended and did not disappoint! Will come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Put quite simply, the best restaurant ex ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Put quite simply, the best restaurant experience I've had. Amazing food, amazing service, amazing atmosphere.. A little noisy just because it gets busy, but still very romantic. Elegant without being uppity. Great value too. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: , Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fun, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food terrific service - will de ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Fabulous food terrific service - will definitely be going back!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Spicy, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, , Comfort Food, Casual, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food excellent service . The b ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Wonderful food excellent service . The bill was over $100 and worth every penny. Thanks for serving classic Italian in an old world atmosphere!

Tags: Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best Italian restaurant in KC, this ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 9, 2017

The best Italian restaurant in KC, this location only!

Tags: , Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and atmosphere! The fo ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Excellent service and atmosphere! The food was phenomenal and priced very well for the quality. By far the best Italian cuisine in Kansas City!

Tags: Business Meals, Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, , Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service. Will surely go a ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Great food and service. Will surely go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and top notch service fro ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Excellent food and top notch service from the front door to the bar to the dining room. Can't wait to go again !!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Spicy, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly, Gluten Free Options, People Watching, Cozy, Historic, Kid-friendly, Quick Bite, Tasting Menu, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice location in the North End. Great o ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Nice location in the North End. Great older restaurant. Classic interior. The food was very good and just enough of a twist it wasn't the same old Italian

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always outstanding.

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Always outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Garozzo's in Columbus Park never disappo ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Garozzo's in Columbus Park never disappoints! Wonderful food, professional and personable waitstaff, and old-world ambiance combine for a special night of dining.

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Authentic, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful meal! Great food, gr ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We had a wonderful meal! Great food, great atmosphere!

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went here for my birthday recently with ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Went here for my birthday recently with 3 others. Saturday night at 6:30, we did have reservations. We arrived a few minutes early and were told they were running a bit behind. It was VERY crowded but we didn't wait long once our whole party arrived.

There's something about this location that is better than the others. The food and service are both top-notch, I've found each lacking at the other locations. This one, though, is the original and the best.

Expect long waits at peak times, and have reservations if possible. It will be noisy, fun, and well-paced. It may be a BIT on the pricey side but the value for the dollar is great!

Tags: Historic, People Watching, Fun, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Always impressed with service and food . ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Always impressed with service and food ..

That I feel a need for a quick return visit for some more amazing food...

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service and food was superb. We had ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The service and food was superb. We had reservations and was seated immediately.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Garozzo’s is a genuine KC landmark. It i ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Garozzo’s is a genuine KC landmark. It is one of the best places to take out of town guests and clients to show KC’s Italian side. Traditional food, great wine and an authentic atmosphere create a memorable experience.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Went for my wife's birthday. Was just as ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Went for my wife's birthday. Was just as great as always--food always good, service outstanding, nice atmosphere.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Historic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great! Kate, our server, ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Everything was great! Kate, our server, was fantastic and we will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My girlfriend and I ordered from the KC ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

My girlfriend and I ordered from the KC Restaurant Week menu and we were both very impressed! Their Chicken Spiedini is second to none, and my Ocean's 11 martini tasted great. My Caesar salad was very flavorful and the house salad that my girl ordered tasted very good as well. We will definitely be back to order from their full menu!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Garozzo's was fantastic, usual. My wife ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Garozzo's was fantastic, usual. My wife and I went during Restaurant Week. Great meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. Great ambience. Outstanding ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great food. Great ambience. Outstanding service. Outstanding dining experience.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The noise level was so high we could bar ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The noise level was so high we could barely be heard from across the table and the salad was a bit over dressed. All else was quite nice especially our waiter, Phil.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

Went there during restaurant week, LOVEE ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Went there during restaurant week, LOVEEEEEE the seafood linguine!! And gluten free meatballs!! Their food are so good and authentic! Love the old Italian atmosphere. The only thing I regretted is I wish I knew this place sooner!! Will definitely come back and try their regular menus!

Tags: Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Casual, Historic, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant week. Very crowded but they w ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Restaurant week. Very crowded but they were accommodating. Adequate service. Food DELISH and filling and great value. Stated we should come back more often.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Food was good. Waitress was not thrille ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Food was good.

Waitress was not thrilled about all the people for restaurant week. So service was just ok. Still tipped her over 20%. My thought is if the restaurant is going to participate in restaurant week then management needs to have a talk with servers and tell servers they need to represent the restaurant the best they can. Not to make the guests feel they are an inconvenience to them because of the crowds for that week. I went to several restaurants this week, Capital Grill, Edie V's, Le Fe Frog, Cooper's Hawk, and all the servers welcomed us with open arms and a great positive attitude.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

Went for lunch on KC Restaurant week. t ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Went for lunch on KC Restaurant week. this is the 5th restaurant Ive been too for the event this week and the third for lunch. it was by far the most food/best value of them all. I was stuffed with delicious Italian food. Had chicken spedini because, well its Garozzos and when in Rome....

great value. old neighborhood charm. great for a dinner date.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We visited during Restaurant Week on a T ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 20, 2017

We visited during Restaurant Week on a Thursday to try to avoid the crowd. We did for the most part and was seated 15 min after our reservation. The location we went to was small, cozy and romantic. Even with the lights dimmer pretty dark, the conversation of the room was louder than expected, probably due to the size of the room. Our server was great, and provided an excellent choice of wine to pair with my main course. It is a great date night place!

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Can't say how much we love Garazzos! We ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Can't say how much we love Garazzos! We come for all our special occasions! Wish we could afford to go weekly! But it is worth ever penny!!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Three of us went to lunch for restaurant ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Three of us went to lunch for restaurant week at the Garozzo's in the North end, which is my favorite Garozzo's. Our first server was very attentive and then seemed to disappear? About 10 minutes later we had a nice young man come to the table to inform us he would now be our server since our original server had cut his hand while cutting bread for our table, so he was going to take care of us. He was a delight, told us our options on the menu, was very attentive to our needs and had a great sense of humor, kept our table clean of dirty dishes and the bread basket and water glasses full during the whole lunch. It was an excellent dining experience plus the food was outstanding, as always!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.