Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.40mi
  3. Distance: 0.46mi
  4. Distance: 0.74mi
  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.40mi
  3. Distance: 0.46mi
  4. Distance: 0.74mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.40mi
  3. Distance: 0.46mi
  4. Distance: 0.74mi
  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.40mi
  3. Distance: 0.46mi
  4. Distance: 0.74mi

About Garozzo's Ristorante - Kansas City

• Michael Garozzo, his wife Marguerite and their four daughters own and operate Kansas City's most awarded and popular Italian restaurant. Garozzo's boasts fine dining cuisine, moderately priced, in a family atmosphere. The restaurant is Zagat rated as one of the top Italian restaurants in the country, a Kansas City dining tradition for nearly 20 years. Garozzo's is where their signature dish Chicken Spiedini began, now often imitated and never duplicated around town; Garozzo's has made Chicken Spiedini a Kansas City staple. The Garozzo family and staff welcome you to any of four locations in the Kansas City area for a true Italian dining experience.

526 Harrison
Kansas City, MO 64106
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 11am-10pm
Friday 11am-11pm
Saturday 4pm-11pm
Sunday 4pm-9pm

Cross Street:
Missouri & Harrison

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 221-2455

Website:
http://www.garozzos.com/

Catering:
Catering available at any location, any time, any cuisine. Please call Todd Ferguson at (816)589-7072

Parking Details:
Parking available on the street surrounding the restaurant. Private parking lot located caddy corner to the front door.

Public Transit:
KC Metro

Private Party Facilities:
Private party seating for up to sixty. Please call for details.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Garozzo's Ristorante - Kansas City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.5

Noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (66)
Authentic (64)
Special Occasion (59)
See All
Good for a Date (58)
Good for Anniversaries (54)
Good for Birthdays (51)
Worth the Drive (48)
Romantic (46)
Notable Wine List (40)
Comfort Food (38)
Casual (34)
Cozy (32)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Business Meals (31)
Good for Groups (26)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Fun (21)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Great for Lunch (13)
People Watching (13)
Bar Seating (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Kid-friendly (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Spicy (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1880 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

Will not be back. Manager was on the phone at the front desk when we walked in. Hostess stood mutely beside him not even acknowledging us. Reservation for 6 that I had for a month. 4:30 pm to avoid the noise. No one in the dining area. Asked not to be seated in the middle since the last time we were seated there it was so crowded people were crashing into our chairs the entire night. Husband is a war veteran with PTSD and just can’t tolerate being bumped into constantly. The manager had to be involved since the hostess was clearly unable to make customer focused decisions telling us the other tables were reserved. IT WAS EMPTY. no one else was there. Waitress treated us with contempt all night. I had to ask for plates for the appetizer, boxes, coffee, drink refills, and a dessert menu-twice. Waitress kept her back to us and never verbally acknowledged my requests No matter how good the food is the incompetence and utter neglect isn’t worth it. I will head to McCormick and Schmidt’s for our next occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

This is by far our favorite restaurant in KC and the best Italian in the Midwest. I'll put it this way, and this is rare in restaurants these days...when you walk in the door literally every employee you see stops and with a huge smile welcomes you, and as you go to leave those same people all stop everything they are doing yet again to thank you for joining them for dinner and wish you a good evening. This type of service is so rare anymore, and we love dining here because of it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

We went with some great friends and had a blast. Service was excellent and the food was even better!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

We love Garozzo's, it's a special destination place for a meal!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 4 days ago

Great spot in KC. The veal part is amazing. The turtle cheesecake is to die for.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

Garozzo's is our go-to place for special occasions. We recently celebrated my wife's birthday with a group of friends, and everything was wonderful! We got excellent service from Savannah; our dessert (eaten first) and all of our entrées were outstanding.

Tags: Comfort Food, Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Haven't been there in years, but just as excellent as I remember. Had some out-of-town guests they were very impressed. They love the food just as much as we did. Classic Kansas City.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

We were in town for the weekend and were told we needed to try this place. We did and we loved it. The ease of making a reservation online was also fantastic. Our waiter was just great. And any change I made to my dish, he was very accommodating and didn't act as though it was any inconvenience. Whenever we are in town again, we'll be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Our meal was good and the service was great. Enjoyed celebrating a family dinner at Garozzo's!

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 13, 2017

My food was cold when it come out. I should have said something but I just took it to go. Everyone else with us loved their meal.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Very good, as always! It is always a pleasure to go to Garozzos.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 7, 2017

We entered the restaurant with no reservations, party of 5. Was told we needed reservations and wait was 1.5 hrs for party size. Clearly could see available tables. Walked out booked on open table available in 5 mins for party of 5. Walked back in and was seated immediately. Host was not happy we were back and glared at our table whole night. Food was mediocre. Waiter had thumb in salad when delivering plates to table. We only ate there based on principle not for service or food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Amazing as always. Best food in kc

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Garozzo's is a true neighborhood gem. We love the downtown/Columbus Park location. Servers are all professional and do a great job. Wine is reasonably priced (by restaurant standards) and food is excellent. Hugh servings mean great leftovers for next day (or more)! Highly recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, People Watching, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 4, 2017

This was recommended to us by people from Kansas City and kt was well worth the drive. Excellent food and service.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 2, 2017

Everything was good except the noise level. Could hardly have our own conversation. I no this could not be helped

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Food was EXCELLENT as always but our server, Savannah was super. She was friendly, attentive but not hovering. Great evening!

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Our waitor was wonderful and knew the menu, wine, and bar list like the back of his hand. His recommendations were spot on. He was quietly witty, engaged everyone he served and was genuine. My girlfriend and I enjoyed the whole experience. I've been to Garozzo's before, this was her first time and he made her/our time there very enjoyable. Hats off to the best Italian resturante in KC. Only better I've had have been in Boston and New York, but Garozzo's stands out in my mind. Try it, you'll love it. If I wasn't Irish, I'd be Italian, and I'd eat there every chance I got.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Best Italian food! Great atmosphere! Great service!!!

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 27, 2017

We had a nice visit for our department lunch. The food was good, the service was good and we enjoyed it very much. This was my first time at Garozzo's and I would definitely try it again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Wonderful evening! Setting and service were spot on!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 21, 2017

A true Italian restaurant. The Spedini is quite simply the best.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 20, 2017

I am always treated well at Garrozo's and my most recent visit was no exception.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Went there for my birthday and had great food and great service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 18, 2017

Fantastic classic Italian cuisine.
This place can hold its own against Chicago and New York Italian restaurants. Abbondanza!

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Casual, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Waitress was awesome food was okay 2 out of 6 of us liked the salad. Took two bites of my lasagna and that was all it wasn't good. I felt like it was a little pricey

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Great atmosphere, excellent for a celebration. Food is very authentic and service is exceptional!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Romantic, Cozy, Casual, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

I've never had a meal here that I didn't like. The service is always top notch and all members of our family are frequent patrons. Best Italian food I've eaten.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Cozy, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Fun, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Normally I would give Garozzos five stars across the board. My husband and I wanted to have a date night this week and decided that a Wednesday night would be a quieter evening and more conducive to a date night. Boy, were we wrong! People were waiting outside and the entrance was jam-packed. Luckily we had reservations and were seated promptly. There were three large groups in the room and it was so incredibly loud that my husband and I could barely hear each other, even talking loudly and leaning across the table towards each other. The noise level really was beyond belief! The food was still as awesome as ever, so that part of the experience was still great. I think next time we will try Monday evening!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

The fettuccine is crazy. The portion sizes are generous too.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 10, 2017

We've eaten at Garozzo's many times and love it every time!

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 10, 2017

I forgot how good Garozzo's was. It was wonderful - great food & great service. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for a Date, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Loved the location nestled in a neighborhood. House White Sangria VERY good! Honored our reservation time. Loved the photos on the walls. Best house salad I think I've ever had. Only issue is that it is too loud. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

This was my second visit to Garozzos and both times were exceptional. It was a bit noisy when we first arrived around 7.30 but as the evening got a bit later a more subdued clientelle arrived. I would recommend his restaurant to anyone entertaining guests from out of town as it is a real neighborhood gem in Kansas City.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Great restaurant in a KC neighborhood. Service was stellar. Must try the stuffed artichoke appetizer, but careful...almost a meal in itself. Very nice wine list and priced right. Highly recommend. It's not fancy but it's worth finding.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Great Italian food. My only issue is how close the tables are to each other.

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

we must stop here on every trip to K.C. and prefer the original location.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Casual, Bar Seating, People Watching, Romantic, Authentic, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Always great food and service. KC is fortunate to have this world class restaurant. Always reminds me of NYC...and I love NYC!

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Casual, People Watching, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 5, 2017

The food was good but our waiter had trouble answering questions about wine, taking our order, and getting our bill correct. One of us got the wrong dish, and it took a bit to get that corrected.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Our meals were outstanding! Service was very good as well. Music was a bit too loud for our taste and seemed to get louder as the restaurant filled. Makes it hard to have conversations when tables are so close together. But overall a wonderful place and we will definitely return!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.