About Garozzo's Ristorante - Kansas City

526 Harrison
Kansas City, MO 64106
View Larger Map

• Michael Garozzo, his wife Marguerite and their four daughters own and operate Kansas City's most awarded and popular Italian restaurant. Garozzo's boasts fine dining cuisine, moderately priced, in a family atmosphere. The restaurant is Zagat rated as one of the top Italian restaurants in the country, a Kansas City dining tradition for nearly 20 years. Garozzo's is where their signature dish Chicken Spiedini began, now often imitated and never duplicated around town; Garozzo's has made Chicken Spiedini a Kansas City staple. The Garozzo family and staff welcome you to any of four locations in the Kansas City area for a true Italian dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 11am-10pm
Friday 11am-11pm
Saturday 4pm-11pm
Sunday 4pm-9pm

Cross Street:
Missouri & Harrison

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 221-2455

Website:
http://www.garozzos.com/

Catering:
Catering available at any location, any time, any cuisine. Please call Todd Ferguson at (816)589-7072

Parking Details:
Parking available on the street surrounding the restaurant. Private parking lot located caddy corner to the front door.

Public Transit:
KC Metro

Private Party Facilities:
Private party seating for up to sixty. Please call for details.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Stuffed Artichoke
Sfogliatelle
Chocolate Mousse Torte
Tartufo Affogato Al Cafe
Clam Chowder
Veal Eggplant Parmigiana
Elsa Malbec
Vitello Spiendini Sophia Marie
Veal Portabella Ravioli
Bread
Lemon Cake
Baked Lasagna
Spedini Three Ways
Stuffed Artichoke With Shrimp
Fettuccini Alfio
Shrimp Spiedini
Stuffed Artchoke
Fettucini Alfredo With Mushrooms
Tiramisu
Tartufo Affogato Al Caffe
Three Way Pasta
Spedini Georgio
Cannelloni
Calamari
Cheese manicotti
Linguine
Vodka Gnoochi With Chicken

Garozzo's Ristorante - Kansas City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Kansas City
Best Food
Kansas City
Best Service
Kansas City
9 More
Best Value
Kansas City
Neighborhood Gem
Kansas City
Italian
Kansas City
Best Overall
Kansas City, MO
Best Food
Kansas City, MO
Best Service
Kansas City, MO
Best Value
Kansas City, MO
Neighborhood Gem
Kansas City, MO
Italian
Kansas City, MO
Best Restaurants in Downtown / River Market ›

Special Occasion (97)
Neighborhood Gem (89)
Romantic (72)
See All
Good for Groups (57)
Fit for Foodies (54)
Notable Wine List (35)
Great for Lunch (21)
Hot Spot (16)
Kid-friendly (11)
Late-night Find (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1383 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is the best Italian food I've ever ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

This is the best Italian food I've ever had. We literally come from Chicago just to eat here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is excellent and the service as ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The food is excellent and the service as well. Great sauces, perfect pasta, everything just great.

Only downside is the building is small and you're seated very close, so it can get exceedingly loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent as always. We enjoy going to ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Excellent as always. We enjoy going to the original location on Harrison even though we live in Johnson County and are close to the Corporate Woods location (we go there, too). Love the food and ambiance. Good service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was excellent, just as expect ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Everything was excellent, just as expected, except for the noise level, which was painfully, uncomfortably loud.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

This is such a great place to eat--wonde ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

This is such a great place to eat--wonderful neighborhood atmosphere and the food is amazing! Our servers were very attentive without being intrusive. The food is just amazing--it's not budget food, but it is definitely worth the cost. Traditional Italian done right!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It has always been one of my favorite re ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

It has always been one of my favorite restaurants. GreatGreat food, great service and great ambiance. Thanks as always

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a great experience with amazing f ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Always a great experience with amazing food and a unique atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place to go if you're in the mood ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great place to go if you're in the mood for Italian

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Being from NYC, I've had my share of gre ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Being from NYC, I've had my share of great Italian. Being in KC now, Garozzo's is clearly the best overall Italian cuisine in KC. Server was great, my only only issue was the chef wasn't able to make a "pesto" sauce like i wanted. Instead, i was given an "alfredo'ish white sauce??" Not a huge deal. Still great food. We'll be back for those Truffle Ravioli's!!!!!!!

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Even though we had reservations, we had ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Even though we had reservations, we had to wait over 20+ minutes. Based on this timing, I would not book special reservations at this restaurant again. However, I will go back for regular non-special occasion meals.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We really enjoyed our dinner, the atmosp ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We really enjoyed our dinner, the atmosphere was lively but nice, the family photos on the wall make it feel a bit like you've entered into the Garozzo's home, the food was outstanding, the Georgio and the Mario were both excellent, and we enjoyed the chianti. Our server Emma was very friendly, helpful, and patient with us. We enjoyed our dinner and look forward to returning someday.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

They were very accommodating when our gr ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

They were very accommodating when our group increased from 4 to 9. While they couldn't seat us in the restaurant, they reserved 2 tables together in the bar. Our waitress was very attentive. She suggested an off-the-menu item which was fabulous. The noise in the bar died down after a large group was seated in the restaurant and it was almost as if we were in a private dining room, which was great. The food was outstanding, as always. I feel very confident inviting out-of-town guests to dine there. They are never disappointed!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The best dinner spot in KC! Great food, ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The best dinner spot in KC! Great food, generous portions and always good service!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They came highly recommended and we woul ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

They came highly recommended and we would agree, great old school restaurant food is awesome and service was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

While the food was good, the service wa ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

While the food was good, the service was lacking a bit. Our waitress seemed to be in a hurry, and we felt a bit rushed.

The room we were in had 2 large parties (8+) which were very loud and distracting.

Wish our small table of 4 was seated in a quieter dinning area

We visited the KC restaurant, but I think the Overland Park location is the best location for service and atmosphere

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Large portions for the price and taste w ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Large portions for the price and taste was on spot

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, huge portions And a Gre ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Excellent food, huge portions

And a Great value

The staff from the hostess to the managers were awesome !

Can't wait to return

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this restaurant. Truly authentic ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

I love this restaurant. Truly authentic Italian food, huge portions, and very reasonable. The servers are awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The staff,food and atmosphere was great ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The staff,food and atmosphere was great for my 55 th bday

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Garozzo's has a wine special on Sunday e ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Garozzo's has a wine special on Sunday evenings so we enjoyed two bottles of a wonderful Brunello. All for dishes were delicious. Our server was knowledgeable, pleasant and efficient.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

This place never disappoints! Absolutel ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

This place never disappoints! Absolutely great good and perfect service!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent wine made tied a wonderful eve ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Excellent wine made tied a wonderful evening together. Phil really took care of us. Iconic restaurant of KC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was great as always, just a little ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Food was great as always, just a little tight on room. Wait staff did a good job, service was prompt. A favorite of our family!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We were looking for a good Italian dinne ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We were looking for a good Italian dinner and we really enjoyed this. We had reservations but on arrival we were politely told they were running late seating. There were places at the bar and we had a nice time in the quaint bar waiting over a drink. We were called after about 15 minutes, not a bad wait, and were seated at a quiet corner table. The server Paige took very good care of us being attentive, courteous, without being overbearing. We had veal and beef dishes and they were excellent. The portions were large and with a Caesar salad and Garozzo's Chianti we were disappointed we couldn't handle dessert. Over all a wonderful experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

One of the best meals we have ever eaten ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

One of the best meals we have ever eaten. Food was outstanding, and our server Katie was friendly, helpful, and fun. Chicken spedini was everything I have read about it and more. We could not have asked for a better evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and super service! Was my son ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Great food and super service! Was my sons birthday and it was the perfect spot to celebrate!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The spedini was terrific

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The spedini was terrific

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently great. Our favorite Kansas ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Consistently great. Our favorite Kansas City restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wow! The food was incredible! I found th ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Wow! The food was incredible! I found this place online, reading a review of the top 10 restaurants of Kansas City and this place ranked as the top Italian restaurant.

The entire place was packed on a Sunday night, so I was glad I made a booking. The restaurant was on the smaller side but was packed to the brim with hungry families. The food was delicious. My husband had their speciality, wrapped chicken breasts on a skewer over pasta, and it was incredible. I had stuffed pasta with veal, beef and spinach. I also ordered a side salad with a mustard-Dijon vinaigrette with goat cheese that was delicious too!

I crave a delicious homemade Italian dinner, and this place definitely footed the bill. The prices are a bit higher, but so worth it. Can't wait to return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great service and the food is always the ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great service and the food is always the best Italian food in Kansas City

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant we make a point of visiti ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The restaurant we make a point of visiting when we are in town. Exceptional food, pleasant atmosphere and excellent service. Well worth the visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Have eaten here several times before but ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Have eaten here several times before but it's been a while. Had chicken fettucine alfredo. It was good but seemed like it was better before. Maybe a different chef. I do love this place though! Still my favorite restaurant in KC.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food at garozzo's was exceptional. T ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

The food at garozzo's was exceptional. The atmosphere was great as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Garrozzo's never disappoints. The Garro ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Garrozzo's never disappoints. The Garrozzo chicken spiedini was as wonderful as it always is. The Sicilian olive oil/cheese dipping sauce is killer. I adore their spumoni with rum sauce. This time our waiter was helpful and around when we needed him. Great experience. Thank you!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The service was fantastic and the food w ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The service was fantastic and the food was a delight. It is nice to know that KC Italian has not disappeared into the mainstream corporate blandness that continues to suffocate the taste of the city.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is the best Italian Restaurant in K ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

This is the best Italian Restaurant in Kansas City, which is saying a lot.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Garozzo's is my favorite restaurant. It ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Garozzo's is my favorite restaurant. It delivers an authentic Italian experience on every front. The atmosphere is great for dates or special occasions, and the service is always fantastic. However, the food is the real star. I've never had something on the menu that wasn't absolutely amazing. I go there a few times a year, but if it was in the budget I'd probably go every few weeks.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Evening with friends from NC. Food was e ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Evening with friends from NC. Food was excellent as always. Was a little disappointed in no olive oil bread dip when bread was brought out. Probably my fault tho and waiter didn't ask till I mentioned it. We had Tortellini Gina, Cannelloni, chicken spedini and fettuccine alfredo.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice place to get some authentic Italian ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Nice place to get some authentic Italian food. Great atmosphere! Staff was attentive. Enjoyed the food and the bread.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Real Italian food is served here!

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Real Italian food is served here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.