About Garozzo's Ristorante - Kansas City

526 Harrison
Kansas City, MO 64106
View Larger Map

• Michael Garozzo, his wife Marguerite and their four daughters own and operate Kansas City's most awarded and popular Italian restaurant. Garozzo's boasts fine dining cuisine, moderately priced, in a family atmosphere. The restaurant is Zagat rated as one of the top Italian restaurants in the country, a Kansas City dining tradition for nearly 20 years. Garozzo's is where their signature dish Chicken Spiedini began, now often imitated and never duplicated around town; Garozzo's has made Chicken Spiedini a Kansas City staple. The Garozzo family and staff welcome you to any of four locations in the Kansas City area for a true Italian dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 11am-10pm
Friday 11am-11pm
Saturday 4pm-11pm
Sunday 4pm-9pm

Cross Street:
Missouri & Harrison

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 221-2455

Website:
http://www.garozzos.com/

Catering:
Catering available at any location, any time, any cuisine. Please call Todd Ferguson at (816)589-7072

Parking Details:
Parking available on the street surrounding the restaurant. Private parking lot located caddy corner to the front door.

Public Transit:
KC Metro

Private Party Facilities:
Private party seating for up to sixty. Please call for details.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Garozzo's Ristorante - Kansas City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Kansas City
Best Food
Kansas City
Best Value
Kansas City
6 More
Italian
Kansas City
Best Overall
Kansas City, MO
Best Food
Kansas City, MO
Best Service
Kansas City, MO
Best Value
Kansas City, MO
Italian
Kansas City, MO
Best Restaurants in Downtown / River Market ›

special occasion (98)
neighborhood gem (90)
romantic (70)
See All
fit for foodies (61)
good for groups (55)
notable wine list (45)
great for lunch (25)
hot spot (18)
late-night find (11)
kid-friendly (7)
great for brunch (5)
vibrant bar scene (3)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1330 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place. There were 8 of us but ...

Dined 4 days ago

Love this place. There were 8 of us but the room we were in was extremely loud this visit. Our waiter was even louder. Although food was fantastic!

food5
ambience5
service5

From the moment we stepped through the d ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

From the moment we stepped through the door every detail was fabulous. Our server was knowledgeable, caring, and went above and beyond for our table. The food was unbelievable. We will most definitely be back. The perfect date night or family gathering. The portions are huge!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Classic Garozzos

Dined on May 19, 2016

I love the cheese garlic bread and always have it with the meal. The food is always fresh, hot and seasoned to perfection. Delicious! The wine list is excellent. I especially like the Garozzos' Chianti mmmm delizioso! The servers are friendly, knowledgeable and efficient. One of my favorite KC restaurants and has been for years. Thank you.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The entire evening from the time we walk ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

The entire evening from the time we walked in until the time we left was a great evening.It was my mothers birthday and our waitress Cheri was outstanding even though she had others to tend to...she did an excellent job waiting on us. The food was delicious and hot. My family would like to thank MIchael G. and his staff for making my mothers 86th birthday something to remember .

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Dined by myself while in town on busines ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Dined by myself while in town on business. Great restaurant. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Interested to talk about the food, the interesting neighbourhood, local & restaurant history.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a lovely, delicious meal served i ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

We had a lovely, delicious meal served in a timely yet unrushed manner (we had theatre tickets). It had been awhile since we had been here and we will return much sooner! Such a gem!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place!

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

The food is reliably good, servings are large which make them a great value. We always enjoy the ambiance of this restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

When you make recommendations about anyt ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

When you make recommendations about anything your putting your reputation on the line. Always comfortable with stating that Garozzo's is a great place to wine and dine. When "Vinny" is at the bar you need to meet him. A first class bartender and waiter! Will always consider it a great choice of places to go when you want the best Italian food in KC! George Gage

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was delicious. Wait staff was great ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Food was delicious. Wait staff was great. Made suggestions and not only allowed but also suggested substitutions for indecisive guests. Makes you feel that they will do anything for you and every guest is special. Room upstairs through the kitchen was a nice VIP touch. Great experience as always. Planning our next trip back soon!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Italian Gem

Dined on May 8, 2016

Terrific Italian Charm and the the service was impeccable.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ambiance

Dined on May 7, 2016

I have dined at Gorozzos many times and yet it is always a unique experience. The wait staff is very efficient while remaining warm and welcoming. I love the ambiance of the neighborhood and dining has the feel of being in the midst of a large family. The food is the best Italian I have had, and I have tried several entrees there. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always consistent!

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

We hadn't been in a while... food and service were great!

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Same as usual; the food and the service ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Same as usual; the food and the service was fantastic. We were there for my son's birthday and they were very attentive and again the food was fantastic.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent. The food was outstanding.

Dined on April 27, 2016

Very enjoyable lunch with our group. Server was very informative regarding ingredients in foods. Will be back soon.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

One of our fave restaurants when we go t ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

One of our fave restaurants when we go to KC! Order the spideni!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and Service

Dined on April 12, 2016

Never disappointed with Garrozzo's in the river market, food is always good and the service is fantastic.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply the best food on the planet.

Dined on April 10, 2016

Wonderful year after year. The portions are huge and the food is sooooooo good, you won't want to, but save room for the tiramisu. It is heavenly! Knowing how good it is from previous visits, I teased my husband that I was just going to order tiramisu with a side of tiramisu. Oh, and the lasagna is to die for, and the... Just go... You'll thank me later.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Recommended

Dined on April 9, 2016

Great food and service as usual by Garozzo's in River Quay.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Garozzo's is Excellent !

Dined on April 7, 2016

Our favorite Italian restaurant once again provided us a great dinner and lunch the next day at home. Best Spedeini I've ever had ! I like Samantha but the kids (thirtysomethings who have been going here since they were really a kid) like the other kinds. So tasty.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Chicken spedini Garozzos was delicious a ...

Dined on April 5, 2016

Chicken spedini Garozzos was delicious as is the house salad

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Good service, ok food

Dined on March 31, 2016

We have had better dishes here. The alfredo sauce was kind of bland, had to add a significant amount of salt and pepper. I have had other pasta dishes here that were much better seasoned.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Garozzo's! The Chicken Spiedini is ...

Dined on March 24, 2016

Love Garozzo's! The Chicken Spiedini is terrific. We had the Gabriella. Nice and spicy just like I like it!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Who knew

Dined on March 23, 2016

We had a gift card with many choices for our anniversary dinner. We were so happy with Garozzo's because the food and service were amazing. The ravioli appetizers were excellent. My hubby had the Speidini, of course, but had to take half of the generous portion home for leftovers! We are already talking about coming back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing find

Dined on March 16, 2016

Best tirimesu I've ever had! Tried their signature spiedini Samantha and loved it. Amazing Alfredo sauce. Amazing atmosphere and service. Everything I love in a restaurant

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The waiter was experienced in serving. ...

Dined on March 16, 2016

The waiter was experienced in serving. He know when to approach, what was needed, how to present, and when to let us be alone. The presentation of the meal was nice. The taste of the meal was excellent. We anjoyed the ambiance.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service2

The food was excellent as always, but th ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

The food was excellent as always, but the service was not up to par. No drinks offered other than water. We only saw our waitress when she took our order, delivered the food, then dropped off the check. She didn't check to see if the food was good, she didn't offer to box up our leftover, and didn't ask if we wanted desert. We'll go back, hopefully this is a one time hiccup.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Garozzo's Ristorante - a hidden gem

Dined on March 11, 2016

Kansas City's Garozzo's Ristorante is sort of under the radar but it is well worth a visit. A great old fashioned Italian Restaurant with great service and food.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took the wife out for Birthday dinner

Dined on February 29, 2016

This is one of my favorite restaurants in Kansas City and they provided an amazing experience to celebrate my wife's birthday. Staff was very helpful and engaging, menu is delicious with plenty of options, and we had some amazing wine.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Dads Birthday

Dined on February 28, 2016

It was my father's birthday and he was in from out of town. He really likes classic Italian places and he really enjoyed it. The food was good and The helpings are huge. As most Italian places go it was busy and tight space, But the servers were moving things quickly. Almost to the point where they may have come across a little bit rude if you're not accustomed to Italian restaurants. Overall it was really good and a very good night for my dad.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Anniversary Dinner

Dined on February 27, 2016

We generally love this place (we go about 6 times a year), but this time it was noisy and way too crowded. They tried to sit us at a table that was less than 8 inches away from the tables on either side. The table would have had to slide one way or the other for one of us to even get in to sit on the bench. The waiter seemed to show more interest in the table behind us (seemed he knew them by name) than he was in taking our order. Maybe just an off night, so we'll give it another try.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent place for dinner. They never d ...

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

Excellent place for dinner. They never disappoint.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary Dinner spot!

Dined on February 19, 2016

We celebrated our anniversary a few years ago here and had flowers sent to the restaurant ahead of time and they had them on the table for us when we arrived! I called and asked if they would do this again and of course they were more than happy to do it. When we arrived all the staff made a point to stop by and wish us a happy anniversary! The food was outstanding and service was as well. Phil was our waiter and Anthony was helping and we were never without drinks or any other need. We will be back!! They really take care of their customers!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Absolutely love the food!

Dined on February 19, 2016

Whenever I make it to Kansas City area (I live out of state), I make it a point to stop in at the downtown restaurant. I drove well over an hour from where I was staying to meet my daughter and her boyfriend for a birthday dinner for me. The food was excellent, the staff great. I could smell the awesomeness from the parking lot. Love this location and hope they never move it. It did get a little loud when our room was full.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Favorite

Dined on February 15, 2016

Always great food and service. Have been going for years and will continue to do so!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

So good.

Dined on February 14, 2016

We went on Valentine's Day in the early evening. It was beyond packed, but it was expected. Get the Spiedini!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lots of good food

Dined on February 14, 2016

You can't go wrong at the original Garozzos for Italian food! My only complaint was the portion size was huge. But they are happy to box up a doggie bag and the food makes good leftovers!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Great place to eat

Dined on February 14, 2016

Make a reservation if you plan to go on a weekend. They are busy. Tables were a bit crowded together. I felt like I was on top of the table next to me. Food was amazing. Chicken speidini and apple strudel were soo good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Valentine's Special

Dined on February 13, 2016

The perfect ending to a memorable Valentine's Day: KC Gangster Tour, Mass at Holy Rosary Church in City Market, and dinner at Garozzo's.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent food and great atmosphere for ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Excellent food and great atmosphere for Valentine's Day!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A big Thank You (for February 13th, 2016)

Dined on February 13, 2016

This was my fiancé (wedding date of June 2016) first time here (I personally have been here multiple times over the years). Thanks again Garozzo staff for making our evening AWESOME! Thank you also to our server who we'll never forget :) The cheese cake was fabulous! My fiancé herself having been a former bar owner knows the impressionable feeling a greeter or server can make with a patron. However there at Garozzo's from the moment we walk through their door we were greeted with nothing less than warm smiles and hello's of welcome. But to top it all off was the atmosphere, wine & food. We'll be back for ages to come. Thanks :)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.