Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.40mi
  3. Distance: 0.46mi
  4. Distance: 0.74mi
  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.40mi
  3. Distance: 0.46mi
  4. Distance: 0.74mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.40mi
  3. Distance: 0.46mi
  4. Distance: 0.74mi
  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.40mi
  3. Distance: 0.46mi
  4. Distance: 0.74mi

About Garozzo's Ristorante - Kansas City

• Michael Garozzo, his wife Marguerite and their four daughters own and operate Kansas City's most awarded and popular Italian restaurant. Garozzo's boasts fine dining cuisine, moderately priced, in a family atmosphere. The restaurant is Zagat rated as one of the top Italian restaurants in the country, a Kansas City dining tradition for nearly 20 years. Garozzo's is where their signature dish Chicken Spiedini began, now often imitated and never duplicated around town; Garozzo's has made Chicken Spiedini a Kansas City staple. The Garozzo family and staff welcome you to any of four locations in the Kansas City area for a true Italian dining experience.

526 Harrison
Kansas City, MO 64106
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 11am-10pm
Friday 11am-11pm
Saturday 4pm-11pm
Sunday 4pm-9pm

Cross Street:
Missouri & Harrison

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 221-2455

Website:
http://www.garozzos.com/

Catering:
Catering available at any location, any time, any cuisine. Please call Todd Ferguson at (816)589-7072

Parking Details:
Parking available on the street surrounding the restaurant. Private parking lot located caddy corner to the front door.

Public Transit:
KC Metro

Private Party Facilities:
Private party seating for up to sixty. Please call for details.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Garozzo's Ristorante - Kansas City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (73)
Special Occasion (71)
Authentic (69)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (62)
Historic (58)
Good for Anniversaries (57)
Romantic (55)
Good for Birthdays (48)
Worth the Drive (42)
Casual (36)
Comfort Food (34)
Cozy (33)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Business Meals (27)
Fun (24)
Good for Groups (24)
Notable Wine List (24)
Pre/post Theatre (22)
Family Style (20)
Great for Lunch (19)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Hot Spot (13)
Outstanding Value (13)
People Watching (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Kid-friendly (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Seasonal (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Private Room (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Healthy (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Spicy (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Vegan (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
1697 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

Vinny was a great server and the food was excellent, as always!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

We had the three pasta dish and it was very disappointing. The dish was tasteless. Very, very disappointing.
Thanks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food! Only issue was so loud and tables were close together. I'm glad we made a reservation!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 7 days ago

Food and service was excellent. We all had different entrees and each were exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Driving through Kansas City and had to stop at our favorite restaurant!

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Food was great; just unfortunate a reservation got us a table right beside the noisy kitchen, when there were only four other tables occupied in the room.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Another great birthday meal at a wonderful restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 13, 2017

GAROZZO's is my favorite restaurant is KC.
We had dinner on Sunday, March 12, to celebrate my mom's 75th birthday.
The food is FABULOUS!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 12, 2017

It was crowded, a little cramped, busy, but the food and service was fantastic. We will definitely return, but maybe not on a Saturday night.

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We all loved our salads and dinners. Delicious food and wonderful service. We were right next to a large group so it was very loud but that was the only negative.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Delicious per usual! Love the serve team!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 11, 2017

My favorite place!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Garozzo's never fails to provide great food in a pleasant atmosphere.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Authentic, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 10, 2017

This place was highly recommended by everyone, and it held to the reputation. The food was amazing. The steak was tender and delicious.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Third time here during Big 12 Men's Basketball Tournament. Always a great meal!
Mike is the best!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Just an outstanding. Evening, the food, the service, the location....ALL OUTSTANDING!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We go to Garozzo's every year when we come down for the Big 12 Tournament. We love the atmosphere, food and service. Must have is the Stuffed Artichoke!!!!!! They have a great wine list as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Great food and atmosphere--portions are huge so be aware. Took out of town guests from my company and everyone was impressed and had a great time.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 5, 2017

This was our first time at Garozzos & we will definitely be returning. Food, service & ambiance were A1. Plus our waitress Page was great

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Food was exceptional as always. It was disappointing to be seated next to a very large, loud party of approximately 20 people. Too loud to enjoy our meal. Would be nice to have a separate room for large parties in an intimate setting like Garozzos. Otherwise perfect!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 4, 2017

My husband and I were in town for the weekend and our server Katie was great. I ended up having a horrible migraine (from our earlier flight) and Katie was so nice and boxed up our food to go right away. She was so nice about it and told me to feel better. Plus the food was great once I was feeling better. We will for sure be back next time we are in town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 1, 2017

My wife and I have been going to Garozzo's for 38 years. Mostly to the one at 5th and Harrison. When they had their fire we went to they one on College Blvd. We have never had a disappointing experience at either location. Mike Garozzo has done a great job maintaining the the ambiance of the Italian style eating.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Casual, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 28, 2017

I took my wife here for her birthday. We had a wonderful experience. We took advantage of the special to bring our own wine since it was Monday. Our server was great and took excellent care of us. Once our stuffed artichoke appetizer was down to a certain point he asked if we could like him to trim it down and separate the heart. Such a nice touch to enhance an already delicious dish. Thanks for making my wive's birthday special. Oh! And get the chocolate torte, you won't regret it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 27, 2017

I thought the food was very good and the restaurant is quite a cultural icon. The noise was a bit too loud, the seating was too close to other tables, and the service was mediocre.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Everyone in our party remarked how much they enjoyed dinner. The server was knowledgeable and friendly.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 25, 2017

I was extremely impressed with our dinner. The size and price of our meals were fantastic. Our serving staff was incredible and very friendly we could not have had better servers, they were great, friendly and very personable. I will definitely be back. I was the only one that ordered veal parm and everyone was mad they didn't order the same... they all sampled off my plate!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 21, 2017

We had a wonderful meal here. The portions were generous, and the waiter was very attentive. We will return the next time we are in Kansas City.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Always fantastic. One of our favorite restaurants anywhere. Ambiance is as good as the food. We love it and try to get there every time we are in town.
You cannot go wrong here!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Historic, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Groups, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Private Room, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Garozzo's is a great restaurant my family enjoys going to when we are all in town. It has changed in the last six months since we've been there. They are now charging $4 for the oil and spices to go with the bread (butter is free). Also our server seemed rushed even though we had an 8 PM reservation so dinner was ending. The stuffed artichoke was smaller than normal and the server never came back to "dress it up" when we got down to the heart. The chicken spedini (their signature) was slightly overcooked but edible. Overall wasn't impressed with this visit.

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Excellent food. Service a bit slow but they were busy.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Groups, People Watching, Family Style, Cozy, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 18, 2017

It had been awhile (15 yrs)since my last visit to Garrozo's and I will not wait so long between visits before returning. Garozzo's has a great neighborhood location, very good staff and food. The inside was a bit dark for my eyes when I entered but after about 10 mins my eyes adjusted to the low lighting and with candles burning on the tables, it was very cozy. The music was nice with a mix of Dean Martin, Frank Sinatra, Tony Bennett, etc. played with the volume low enough that a quiet conversation was no problem......., I really like this place!

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Garozzos is one of the best Italian restaurants in the area. The atmosphere is wonderful, music by artists such as Frank and Dean adds to the ambiance. We love everything starting with the artichoke hearts, the Cobb salad is beyond delicious, and then the decision as to what entree to get makes you wish you could try them all.

Prices are very reasonable especially when I always bring enough food home for several more meals, and it is just as delicious warmed up.

Servers are always very professional and helpful when making those tough food choices.

If you have never been to Garozzos you are in for an amazing experience..

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Enjoyed a great meal with my wife before going to a theater show. Even at 6 pm, our part of the restaurant was busy. Only negative, was the lights were almost comically dim. We actually saw a patron using the flashlight on their phone to read the menu.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Great ambience for a date. Food was second to none and the server was outstanding. Definitely the place to go for Italian food in KC.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 16, 2017

This is one of my favorites. However this trip was a bit irritating. We felt so bad for our waitress. She did a great job, but we had to wait way too long. She had our table of 12 people, plus several other tables around us. I personally don't know how she did it. I made reservations well in adavance. The manager even confirmed my reservation via phone the day before. Most restaurants would have had 2 people serving our table, let alone one who had multiple other tables.


Can't be the food though! I'm still giving good review.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The food was amazing and our waitress was super nice and helpful until it came to the end of our meal, she rushed us out and didn't offer dessert or give us time to finish the few bites we had left. The restaurant was also very packed tight I felt like I was bumping elbows with people at the 2 tables next to ours. We were hoping for more of a romantic, quiet setting.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Family Style, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great atmosphere and authentic Italian. One of my favorite restaurants in the city!

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

It was a great experience and the food was amazing!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 14, 2017

All way the best place to eat. Garozzo's is the best place ever. I love Garozzo's and my wife love it to.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 14, 2017

KC classic for true Italian. Never-fail menu and great wine list, including the house chianti!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.