About Garozzo's Ristorante - Kansas City

• Michael Garozzo, his wife Marguerite and their four daughters own and operate Kansas City's most awarded and popular Italian restaurant. Garozzo's boasts fine dining cuisine, moderately priced, in a family atmosphere. The restaurant is Zagat rated as one of the top Italian restaurants in the country, a Kansas City dining tradition for nearly 20 years. Garozzo's is where their signature dish Chicken Spiedini began, now often imitated and never duplicated around town; Garozzo's has made Chicken Spiedini a Kansas City staple. The Garozzo family and staff welcome you to any of four locations in the Kansas City area for a true Italian dining experience.

526 Harrison
Kansas City, MO 64106
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 11am-10pm
Friday 11am-11pm
Saturday 4pm-11pm
Sunday 4pm-9pm

Cross Street:
Missouri & Harrison

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 221-2455

Website:
http://www.garozzos.com/

Catering:
Catering available at any location, any time, any cuisine. Please call Todd Ferguson at (816)589-7072

Parking Details:
Parking available on the street surrounding the restaurant. Private parking lot located caddy corner to the front door.

Public Transit:
KC Metro

Private Party Facilities:
Private party seating for up to sixty. Please call for details.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Stuffed Artichoke - Garozzo's Ristorante - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Sfogliatelle - Garozzo's Ristorante - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Chocolate Mousse Torte - Garozzo's Ristorante - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Tartufo Affogato Al Cafe - Garozzo's Ristorante - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Clam Chowder - Garozzo's Ristorante - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Veal Eggplant Parmigiana - Garozzo's Ristorante - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Elsa Malbec - Garozzo's Ristorante - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Vitello Spiendini Sophia Marie - Garozzo's Ristorante - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Veal Portabella Ravioli - Garozzo's Ristorante - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Bread - Garozzo's Ristorante - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Lemon Cake - Garozzo's Ristorante - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Baked Lasagna - Garozzo's Ristorante - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Spedini Three Ways - Garozzo's Ristorante - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Stuffed Artichoke With Shrimp - Garozzo's Ristorante - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Fettuccini Alfio - Garozzo's Ristorante - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Shrimp Spiedini - Garozzo's Ristorante - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Stuffed Artchoke - Garozzo's Ristorante - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Fettucini Alfredo With Mushrooms - Garozzo's Ristorante - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Tiramisu - Garozzo's Ristorante - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Tartufo Affogato Al Caffe - Garozzo's Ristorante - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Three Way Pasta - Garozzo's Ristorante - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Spedini Georgio - Garozzo's Ristorante - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Cannelloni - Garozzo's Ristorante - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Calamari - Garozzo's Ristorante - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Cheese manicotti - Garozzo's Ristorante - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Linguine - Garozzo's Ristorante - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Vodka Gnoochi With Chicken - Garozzo's Ristorante - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO

Garozzo's Ristorante - Kansas City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (65)
Authentic (59)
Good for a Date (58)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (49)
Good for Anniversaries (45)
Romantic (38)
Historic (35)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Worth the Drive (30)
Comfort Food (30)
Good for Groups (27)
Casual (26)
Cozy (26)
Family Style (25)
Notable Wine List (23)
Fun (23)
Business Meals (23)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Great for Lunch (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Outstanding Value (11)
Kid-friendly (8)
People Watching (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Private Room (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Seasonal (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Vegan (2)
Healthy (2)
Scenic View (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
1620 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was me and my girlfriends first tim ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

This was me and my girlfriends first time partisapating in restaurant week and we absolutely loved the vibe and Great Service Garozzos offered. The food was excellent! I will definitly be returning in the near future!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Every time we eat here, we've had a comp ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

Every time we eat here, we've had a completely wonderful experience. We've not had any complaints so far. The staff are gracious & prompt. The food has always been pure perfection. The seating can be a little cramped but we don't mind. Absolutely must try Cafe Garrozzo after dinner :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The calamari has to be the best in town. ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 7 days ago

The calamari has to be the best in town. The same goes for the very generous serving of chicken spedini (Samantha). Great salad & bread and butter. Excellent service from Phil who went above & beyond. Would highly recommend to anyone who loves great Italian food.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Chicken spiedini......oh my gosh! Soooo ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Chicken spiedini......oh my gosh! Soooo delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food and service, just the size of ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great food and service, just the size of the place was a bit of an issue with the noise level.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Garrozzos has been a special occasion de ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Garrozzos has been a special occasion destination for our family for nearly 30 years. Do not plan to make any changes now or in the future.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We celebrate birthdays and anniversary h ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We celebrate birthdays and anniversary here throughout our 30 years of marriage.

Kind of a special meaning for us.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Honestly, I don't know what all the fuss ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Honestly, I don't know what all the fuss is about. There was nothing really all that wrong with our dining experience. We just didn't think the food was "the best Italian in Kansas City ".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

I've always loved Garozzo's. Love the f ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I've always loved Garozzo's. Love the food, love the atmosphere and love that it's in my old neighborhood. What I was disappointed in is the downsizing of the menu. The chicken parm is no longer on the menu as well as other favorite dishes we've always enjoyed. My girlfriend mentioned it to our attendant and I was pleased that the chefs still made it for her but I also noticed that the dish was much smaller than it was in the past with the same price. That was the only disappointment.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Family Style, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value2

Great as usual, our daughter was leaving ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great as usual, our daughter was leaving to go back to college and chose Garozzos for her fairwell dinner.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Authentic, Business Meals, Romantic, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cramped seating, chicken dishes were VER ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Cramped seating, chicken dishes were VERY dry. Not worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Always great service and best Italian fo ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Always great service and best Italian food in town

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This is our FAVORITE Italian restaurant. ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 3, 2017

This is our FAVORITE Italian restaurant. And we are Italian! It is excellent food, marvelous service and just what you expect in decor. Family authentic photos and " the greats" Italian singers serenading you in the background. Candlelight and ambience Italian style you shouldn't pass up!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Casual, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Historic, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service always fabulous. I jus ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food and service always fabulous. I just hate that they jam-pack the table so close together to the point you can't even pull your chair out.

Tags: Historic, Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I made a reservation for 2 for my annive ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I made a reservation for 2 for my anniversary which ended up being 6 since they added extra tables to stuff everyone in there Could not even have a private romantic dinner since we was so close to each other. The staff could not even hardly get around to help tables not a good night at all Ordered appetizer and got it at same time as dinner which made it more uncomfortable to eat since we had no room on table to barely move with all the food on table at same time. Said something to the girl at front desk and she said and I quote. Well you done anyways we need to get the next guest in. Really!!!! Oh well. Not at good dinner experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

If you have never eaten Italian you are ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

If you have never eaten Italian you are missing out by NOT visiting Garozze's! A dining experience! Excellent food and excellent atmosphere. But your typical restaurant. But a warning--make reservations. Small, cozy and very busy.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Garozzo's is a favorite of my family. Ev ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Garozzo's is a favorite of my family. Every New Year's Eve we pick a place to eat as a family. This year it was Garozzo's. We enjoyed the atmosphere and our family time. The food was excellent and Vinny our waiter was awesome! A good time was had by all! Highly recommend this restaurant!!!!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Was seated upstairs for the first time. ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Was seated upstairs for the first time. Very nice, intimate room with a very low noise level. Same impeccable food and service. Made for a wonderful evening out with family.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a reservation for 7:00, but didn' ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We had a reservation for 7:00, but didn't get seated until 7:20. However, the food was amazing and made the wait worth it.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent and was served in a t ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Food was excellent and was served in a timely manner. The server was a little odd . He forgot to box our leftovers after we asked 2 time's. Loved the ambiance very romantic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

The food and wine selection were great. ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The food and wine selection were great. Wonderful ambiance and service.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was on point. Food and servi ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Everything was on point. Food and service was top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great date night!

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great date night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and great service in a histor ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great food and great service in a historic setting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Perfect night to celebrate birthday dinn ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Perfect night to celebrate birthday dinners! 9 of us and everyone raved about their meals. Delicious and outstanding service!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was great. Music was a ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Food and service was great. Music was a bit loud. found ourselves talking over it several times. But not a huge deal.

Meal had good flavor, little spicier than I expected, but with a name like diablo sauce, I should've heaved the warning. Still a great meal.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Always a pleasure to eat at Garazzos. Se ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Always a pleasure to eat at Garazzos. Service was quick, efficient and excellent. We were seated early and the place filled up quickly but everyone recieved attention. It was our 30th anniversary dinner and I was comped a glass of Proseco from the bar. Thanks for your kindness. I will always compare all other Italian restaurants to yours and the always come up short.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My husband and I brought his parents an ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 26, 2016

My husband and I brought his parents and two of our 3 adult children, and also ordered some to go for our other son who had to work, there for early dinner at 4:00 pm. So delicious, love the chicken spiedini's! The wine selection was very good. I am so glad I. An get your chicken spiedini's and sauces at Hy-Vee or Hen House when I can not get to your restaurant.

The first time we tried your food was at the Italian Festival at Zona Rosa, I'm glad we did. Thank you, Sheila

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Best Italian food in all of the midwest! ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Best Italian food in all of the midwest!! Everytime my family comes in town this is where we go.

Tags: Historic, Family Style, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, a great dining experience. Do ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

As always, a great dining experience. Don't remember our server's name, but she was excellent and exceeded our expectations. We dine at Garozzos every year on Christmas Eve, and we will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place is not just a gem for Columbu ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 24, 2016

This place is not just a gem for Columbus Park, this is a must for anyone in KC. Versatility is the name of the game here. Catering to everyone from young to old, big groups or small, casual or formal - no one seems out of place at Garozzo's. Be warned that the portions are huge. For smaller crowds early afternoon is best, but make a reservation whenever you go. The family that runs the place put a lot of effort into being authentic and in an area with a strong Italian community there is no room for fakers. Yes those pictures are the owner's family. As with anything in Columbus Park/River Market, parking can be an issue.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Vegan, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

2nd time, loved it! Made special reserva ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 24, 2016

2nd time, loved it! Made special reservations to stop on our way from Indiana to Colorado.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

loved the atmosphere and the aroma the m ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 23, 2016

loved the atmosphere and the aroma the minute we walked in the door. the food was to die for and the service provided by Samantha was superb. will return to try more dishes

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent as usual!! The food was again ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Excellent as usual!! The food was again good as was the service....

Tags: People Watching, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We love Garozzo's, and this time was no ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 19, 2016

We love Garozzo's, and this time was no different. Great food, outstanding service, authentic old school Italian/Italian American. Fantastico!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food, great service, intimate ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Excellent food, great service, intimate setting for all ocassions.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The chicken spiedini (both the Garozzo a ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 16, 2016

The chicken spiedini (both the Garozzo and Georgio) was delicious. The calamari appetizer was too large, but delicious. We topped it off with chocolate mousse, it was exquisite.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We always select Garozzo's for special f ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 15, 2016

We always select Garozzo's for special family occasions, birthdays, anniversaries, etc. The food is always fresh, authentic, and so delicious. Wait staff is friendly, and ambience is unbeatable. This is our favorite restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious meal. Speidini always a great ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Delicious meal. Speidini always a great choice and cafe Garozzo to end is perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had reservations for 6:30 and were se ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 15, 2016

We had reservations for 6:30 and were seated promptly. The food, wine and service was excellent as usual. Thank you for a wonderful evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.