Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.40mi
  3. Distance: 0.46mi
  4. Distance: 0.74mi
  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.40mi
  3. Distance: 0.46mi
  4. Distance: 0.74mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.40mi
  3. Distance: 0.46mi
  4. Distance: 0.74mi
  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.40mi
  3. Distance: 0.46mi
  4. Distance: 0.74mi

About Garozzo's Ristorante - Kansas City

• Michael Garozzo, his wife Marguerite and their four daughters own and operate Kansas City's most awarded and popular Italian restaurant. Garozzo's boasts fine dining cuisine, moderately priced, in a family atmosphere. The restaurant is Zagat rated as one of the top Italian restaurants in the country, a Kansas City dining tradition for nearly 20 years. Garozzo's is where their signature dish Chicken Spiedini began, now often imitated and never duplicated around town; Garozzo's has made Chicken Spiedini a Kansas City staple. The Garozzo family and staff welcome you to any of four locations in the Kansas City area for a true Italian dining experience.

526 Harrison
Kansas City, MO 64106
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 11am-10pm
Friday 11am-11pm
Saturday 4pm-11pm
Sunday 4pm-9pm

Cross Street:
Missouri & Harrison

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 221-2455

Website:
http://www.garozzos.com/

Catering:
Catering available at any location, any time, any cuisine. Please call Todd Ferguson at (816)589-7072

Parking Details:
Parking available on the street surrounding the restaurant. Private parking lot located caddy corner to the front door.

Public Transit:
KC Metro

Private Party Facilities:
Private party seating for up to sixty. Please call for details.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Garozzo's Ristorante - Kansas City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (69)
Authentic (66)
Special Occasion (64)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (61)
Good for Anniversaries (55)
Romantic (54)
Historic (53)
Good for Birthdays (51)
Worth the Drive (45)
Cozy (37)
Casual (32)
Business Meals (31)
Comfort Food (30)
Good for Groups (26)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Notable Wine List (24)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Hot Spot (20)
Fun (19)
Family Style (19)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Great for Lunch (15)
Outstanding Value (12)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Kid-friendly (10)
Tasting Menu (9)
Gluten Free Options (9)
People Watching (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Local Ingredients (6)
Spicy (6)
Private Room (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Healthy (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Seasonal (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Great Beer (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Live Sports (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Vegan (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
1746 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined a day ago

Great night celebrating a college grad and birthday. Staff was top notch and food was amazing

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

Who doesn't love Garozzo's!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 3 days ago

One of our favorites for many years. We had a dear friend in from Honolulu and wanted to take him somewhere local that we love. Garozzo's never disappoints.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 3 days ago

Hands down the best Italian restaurant in Kansas City. All the food is homemade and to order. The amount of food for the price is amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

I know there are several locations for this restaurant, but this is my favorite one. This is where it all started. And I know it is probably in my head, but I think the food is tastier here. The stuffed artichoke is to die for. You can't go wrong with any of the pasta dishes and the veal melts in your mouth.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Our waiter was outstanding. We ate upstairs, which we've not done before . . . although we've been going to this restaurant for decades. It never disappoints, although it is loud (and was even louder than usual on Mother's Day).

Tags: Kid-friendly, Cozy, Good for Groups, Casual, Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

It was very good and the service was also very good. We had a very enjoyable Mother's Day. Didn't receive one of the roses that was being handed out but the experience was still great for our special ladies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

WONDERFUL. Everything about it was wonderful. It was my first time there and I will return!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Romantic, Fun, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Private Room, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Wood Oven, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Our server didn't offer any refills for drinks or check on us after the food was served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Celebrating Mother's Day early with our daughter and family. Each person's desires were carefully ex cited and we had an awesome time!

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We are from Oklahoma City. This is our second visit to Garozzo's. It has become a regular on our list of excellent places to eat in Kansas City.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Very good experience. I appreciated the options for gluten-free, etc. Service was fantastic. Food was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Vegan, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 4, 2017

This place was simply amazing. Would highly recommend. Great food, great prices and huge portions. Service was outstanding. Will definitely be back again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Always have a great meal at Garozzo's! Only draw back on this visit was we were in the back room & noise level from other parties was pretty high. Looking forward to going back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Sam, Sarah, and Vinnie were outstanding. Food was great. They turn down the music. Immediate seating as promised. Great experience.

Tags: Healthy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Excellent Italian food! Perfect every time.
Enjoyable experience every visit.
Friends, family, business will remember each bite.

Tags: Hot Spot, Historic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Visited Garozzo's off Harrison St. on a Sunday evening with a party of 7 to celebrate my daughter's birthday. The service was superb considering the restaurant is small and diners are packed closely together. The food was delicious. Everyone loved their meals. The spiedini dishes, the loaded artichoke and the lemoncello cake were big hits in particular. The Garozzo's Chianti was also really good. Skip the toasted ravioli. Overall, a great evening. There's nowhere else in KC like Garozzo's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 30, 2017

My date had never been. She thoroughly enjoyed the experience and wants to go again soon.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 30, 2017

I went here with my date for prom, the food was fantastic. Some of the best Italian food I have had in a long time. The service was a little bit slow but was still quite good, and I expect because the place was very very busy.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Phil has been our server for 14 years. Completely amazing service, atmosphere and food.

Tags: Bar Seating, Afternoon Tea, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Historic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Food was excellent service excellent however I made a mistake by making our reservations at 8:30 online because I could've just showed up that late in the evening and gotten in. I never been there that late in the evening we sat there because we got there early hoping to get in before 8:30 reservation but it was way too busy. Understandably. Because their food is fantastic and we enjoyed it. But I would recommend making reservations earlier in the week for an earlier time rather than waiting the day our reservations . If you do that you're in for a long wait .

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Great food with an excellent wait staff- always an enjoyable and satisfying place for dinner. Recommend highly.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We purchased a gift certificate for the spedini for 2 at my child's school auction. It was so delicious. Our waitress was very attentive and helpful. It was a busy night - with lots of prom kids, but they did not detract from the ambiance at all. It is very dark and takes a few minutes to adjust your eyes when coming in from daylight. The food was great. As a fan of wine, I enjoy places with more choices in "by the glass" since my other half does not love wine (we don't usually pursue a bottle). But the house choices were fine. We were too full for dessert this trip.

Tags: Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Took family here for a birthday dinner after working with them at wedding a few weeks prior and hearing amazing reviews - and I am so glad I did! Perfection!

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Coming from Philadelphia we were pleasantly surprised to find Garazzo's and some of the best tasting pasta in Kansas City! Reservations are a must if you don't want to wait 30-45 minutes for a table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 19, 2017

I have been to Garozzo's restaurant the last two times while in Kansas City on business. The food is authentic Italian; portions are generous; the wine list is pretty good and their specials are fantastic. It is my go to restaurant in Kansas City to entertain my clients!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 18, 2017

The service was top notch! My starter salad was gritty but with a large group I didn't make a big deal of it. The spedini Georgio was delicious, though a bit acidic for my tastes (a personal preference!). The atmosphere was nice albeit a bit cramped, and the bread was amazing; warm and crusty and perfect! Also, the tiramisu- delicious!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Philip was an excellent server and the food was outstanding. We sat in the lower level and it was extremely loud. That was the only downside. This was to celebrate my Mom's birthday and we had such a nice time. Definitely use OpenTable because the wait for those that didn't was quite a long time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Great cuisine and ambiance, service was excellent and they didn' rush us to eat

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 14, 2017

This is my boyfriend and I's go-to place for date night. Wonderful food and service!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Food was fantastic as always. Only negative was waitress was not as focused/attentive. Brought our check, walked away, never asked if we wanted coffee or dessert.
Still looking forward to next visit.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Historic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 12, 2017

What a wonderful experience, I truly believe it was the amazing staff that elevated the date I was on from great to fantastic. I am already looking forward to another chance to go back and try a new dish, delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 10, 2017

The service and the food was perfect was a birthday for my wife and she was very please we will be back Thanks Garozzo's

Tags: Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Awesome as always. I have never had a bad meal here. I have probably tried about half the menu and I have loved everything so far. Just don't make the mistake of going to any other location but downtown. I can't speak for OP but Lee's Summit is terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Amazing food, wine, music and service. We are from out of town, but I know we will be back. The stuffed artichoke alone is worth the drive! We were celebrating our anniversary, and the staff made it very special. A beautiful restaurant and fantastic experience overall!

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Everything was great. The bread, the salad and the main course. Best restaurant that I have eaten.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Had a wonderful evening celebrating my birthday. Great Food and wine! A little loud - my husband has hearing aids so a little trouble hearing me talk, but it did not take away from the overall experience of our evening out to eat!

Tags: Historic, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, People Watching, Authentic, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The food was excellent! The waitress was really good until her family showed up. She then devoted most of her time there and our drinks were filled by other servers.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Our server was amazing!!!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 31, 2017

We have dined at Gorrozo's many times. It's always enjoyable. The food is delicious. Plus, it's near our home.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.