About Garozzo's Ristorante - Kansas City

526 Harrison
Kansas City, MO 64106
View Larger Map

• Michael Garozzo, his wife Marguerite and their four daughters own and operate Kansas City's most awarded and popular Italian restaurant. Garozzo's boasts fine dining cuisine, moderately priced, in a family atmosphere. The restaurant is Zagat rated as one of the top Italian restaurants in the country, a Kansas City dining tradition for nearly 20 years. Garozzo's is where their signature dish Chicken Spiedini began, now often imitated and never duplicated around town; Garozzo's has made Chicken Spiedini a Kansas City staple. The Garozzo family and staff welcome you to any of four locations in the Kansas City area for a true Italian dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 11am-10pm
Friday 11am-11pm
Saturday 4pm-11pm
Sunday 4pm-9pm

Cross Street:
Missouri & Harrison

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 221-2455

Website:
http://www.garozzos.com/

Catering:
Catering available at any location, any time, any cuisine. Please call Todd Ferguson at (816)589-7072

Parking Details:
Parking available on the street surrounding the restaurant. Private parking lot located caddy corner to the front door.

Public Transit:
KC Metro

Private Party Facilities:
Private party seating for up to sixty. Please call for details.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Stuffed Artichoke - Garozzo's Ristorante - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Sfogliatelle - Garozzo's Ristorante - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Chocolate Mousse Torte - Garozzo's Ristorante - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Tartufo Affogato Al Cafe - Garozzo's Ristorante - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Clam Chowder - Garozzo's Ristorante - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Veal Eggplant Parmigiana - Garozzo's Ristorante - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Elsa Malbec - Garozzo's Ristorante - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Vitello Spiendini Sophia Marie - Garozzo's Ristorante - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Veal Portabella Ravioli - Garozzo's Ristorante - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Bread - Garozzo's Ristorante - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Lemon Cake - Garozzo's Ristorante - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Baked Lasagna - Garozzo's Ristorante - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Spedini Three Ways - Garozzo's Ristorante - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Stuffed Artichoke With Shrimp - Garozzo's Ristorante - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Fettuccini Alfio - Garozzo's Ristorante - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Shrimp Spiedini - Garozzo's Ristorante - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Stuffed Artchoke - Garozzo's Ristorante - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Fettucini Alfredo With Mushrooms - Garozzo's Ristorante - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Tiramisu - Garozzo's Ristorante - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Tartufo Affogato Al Caffe - Garozzo's Ristorante - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Three Way Pasta - Garozzo's Ristorante - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Spedini Georgio - Garozzo's Ristorante - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Cannelloni - Garozzo's Ristorante - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Calamari - Garozzo's Ristorante - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Cheese manicotti - Garozzo's Ristorante - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Linguine - Garozzo's Ristorante - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Vodka Gnoochi With Chicken - Garozzo's Ristorante - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO

Garozzo's Ristorante - Kansas City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Kansas City / Kansas
Best Food
Kansas City / Kansas
Best Service
Kansas City / Kansas
7 More
Best Value
Kansas City / Kansas
Italian
Kansas City / Kansas
Best Overall
Kansas City, MO
Best Food
Kansas City, MO
Best Service
Kansas City, MO
Best Value
Kansas City, MO
Italian
Kansas City, MO
Best Restaurants in Downtown / River Market ›

Special Occasion (68)
Neighborhood Gem (56)
Good for a Date (51)
See All
Authentic (47)
Romantic (45)
Good for Anniversaries (39)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Good for Groups (31)
Worth the Drive (29)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Historic (28)
Cozy (28)
Notable Wine List (23)
Casual (21)
Comfort Food (21)
Family Style (21)
Fun (20)
Business Meals (20)
Great for Lunch (16)
Outstanding Value (16)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Kid-friendly (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
People Watching (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Private Room (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Seasonal (2)
Healthy (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great Beer (1)
Spicy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Vegan (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
1463 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Garozzo's is our favorite restaurant in ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

Garozzo's is our favorite restaurant in Kansas City! The food is always consistent and never disappoints. We love sharing the Sicilian Stuffed Artichoke.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went there to celebrate my birthday. ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

We went there to celebrate my birthday. Phil, our server, was very friendly and attentive. We recommend the Garozzo Chicken Spiedini. The Amogio blend of garlic, olive oil and lemon juice on a rolled, breaded, skewered chicken breast hits the taste buds just right! It's a great place to go if you are not in a hurry. Thanks Garozzo's for a fabulous birthday dinner!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food great people great place. Not ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great food great people great place. Not out first time and won't be our last.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Fun, Family Style, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our anniversary dinner, and it ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 26, 2016

This was our anniversary dinner, and it was a perfect experience. The food was amazing--I love their salads and both entrees were delicious. Our waiter Phil might possibly be the best waiter we've ever had anywhere. Just can't say enough good about this local Italian eatery.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Introduced my San Francisco relatives to ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Introduced my San Francisco relatives to the BEST Italian restaurant in Kansas City and, boy, were they impressed. Wonderful food, wonderful ambiance, wonderful service (Samantha was super). We couldn't ask for a better experience. Probably my favorite restaurant in Kansas City. They never disappoint.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Comfort Food, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The very best Italian in KC.

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The very best Italian in KC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Never disappoints!

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Never disappoints!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We absolutely love Garozzo's!! Favorite ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We absolutely love Garozzo's!! Favorite restaurant in KC!

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion, Fun, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very excited to see they now offer glute ...

 
·Dined on November 15, 2016

Very excited to see they now offer gluten free options. Had the gf spedini and it was amazing! This dish came with gluten free pasta as week. Just wished the servers had informed us of the uncharged which were higher than I am accustomed to. Food was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great time! Never disappoints!

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Great time! Never disappoints!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was outstanding. We love Garozz ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The food was outstanding. We love Garozzo's usually. Unfortunately: Service was slow, and the room was so loud I couldn't hear myself think let alone have a conversation with my guests.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value4

Excellent experience and Anthony was an ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Excellent experience and Anthony was an amazing server

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Historic, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Garozzo's was the perfect place for the ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Garozzo's was the perfect place for the romantic date my husband and I were on. The portions were wonderful for the price and the staff is very professional and friendly. We will be back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Waitress was argumentative concerning ou ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Waitress was argumentative concerning our salad order, so rather than creating a problem on a celebratory dinner, we let it go. We settled for what she brought us, not what we ordered. Aside from that, the experience and the food were fine.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

The food is delicious and the staff are ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The food is delicious and the staff are always willing to accommodate your special requests . A very fun place to go for authentic Italian cuisine!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fun family restaurant

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Fun family restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

The food is just fabulous, the service i ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The food is just fabulous, the service is excellent. We had reservations and even got seated early. Outstanding restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and food! Our server w ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Excellent service and food! Our server was great. He knew everything and was so helpful.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A little loud, but everything else was g ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 5, 2016

A little loud, but everything else was great! Will be back soon.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great food and great atmosphere. This is ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great food and great atmosphere. This is our go to spot and it definitely lives up to the expectations every time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Private Room, Good for Groups, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we go hear every year for our free birth ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 5, 2016

we go hear every year for our free birthday spadini

love this place

Tags: Romantic, Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

This was a very fun place to go because ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This was a very fun place to go because of all of the food and the people. My daughter even learned some new things about which fork to use and what some of the words on the menu meant. Overall it was a really good restaurant and a good place to be and hang out and talk with people on a Friday night.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Seasonal, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Very nice place to eat, really enjoyed t ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Very nice place to eat, really enjoyed the meal and the atmosphere. We will be coming back there for sure. I will recommend you guys to friends and family. Thank you for the good time and the great food.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Casual, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Some of the best food ever. Had dinner ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Some of the best food ever. Had dinner there to celebrate my wife's birthday (they offer their signature entree for free on your birthday) and it was so good. Portions are large so we had a great meal the next day as well. We ate there at 5:30 on a Monday night and there were only a few other tables filled so noise was not an issue. I only ate there during lunch before and it was crowded then but noise wasn't an issue and it added to the overall atmosphere.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food!!! We plan to return in e ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Excellent food!!! We plan to return in early December when we return to KC!!!

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this place, I always get great s ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 28, 2016

I love this place, I always get great service, incredible authentic food and a great atmosphere.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Historic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love this place! Great authentic Italia ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Love this place! Great authentic Italian! Friendly service, they treat you like family!

Tags: Authentic, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After lots of beef and bbq, the pasta wa ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 25, 2016

After lots of beef and bbq, the pasta was a needed relief!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent food and the server was ell ab ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 23, 2016

excellent food and the server was ell above average(excellent)

Tags: Family Style, Authentic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A cousin of mine who I had not seen in a ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 22, 2016

A cousin of mine who I had not seen in a few years was in town, so my wife said we should go to Garozzos.

It did not let us down. A nice bottle of Rombauer Cab, delicious stuffed artichoke alla Sicilian for an appetizer, and chicken spiedini Garozzo, steak modiga, cavatello catania for the entrees.

Wow delicious!

We did not have room for dessert but managed to put down some Cafe Garozzo for the night cap.

A special thank you to Stephen Nelson and his team for a great night at Garozzos!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious. There were 6 of ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The food was delicious. There were 6 of us. We started with an appetizer of meat and cheese toasted ravioli, then chicken carbonara, Frankie's chicken, Samantha spiedini, salmon alla spinaci con pesto, and two three way pastas. Everyone took home left overs and those with the three way pasta could have made three meals out of it. It's really packed on Friday nights at 7 pm and really loud. You might have to take some time to find parking. Great value for the money. Great waiter and wait staff as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Seated in the upstairs area right next t ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Seated in the upstairs area right next to a bathroom. Was kind of hard to talk to all members of our party.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The food was perfect, the service impecc ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The food was perfect, the service impeccable. . .

"They really DO treat you like family"

Tags: Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Garozzo's must be taken as it is, and on ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Garozzo's must be taken as it is, and on a Saturday night it is crowded (expect to wait a good while without a reservation), congested (it's a miracle the wait staff can make it through the tables, let alone the patrons trying to get to the restroom) and noisy (two couples sitting at a four top are hard pressed to sustain a conversation). I go knowing all those things, so I don't mean it as a criticism. I do, however, wish that Open Table had a fourth degree on their noise level chart - the top of the spectrum isn't "Energetic," it's "Overwhelming." But nothing beats the spidinis - original to Garozzo's and still the best!

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Truly classic Italian fare with atmosphe ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Truly classic Italian fare with atmosphere. If you want to impress a date, you can't go wrong with this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always, the food and service were exc ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 12, 2016

As always, the food and service were excellent. The entire staff was kind and courteous. We're looking forward to going back soon. Thanks for a great dining experience.

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place. We get to go once a yea ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Love this place. We get to go once a year and it is always perfect!! But we are too much.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent experience with food and servi ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Excellent experience with food and service. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I visited for our one yea ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 4, 2016

My husband and I visited for our one year anniversary. It has a great ambiance for dates/special occasions, the service was great, and the food was even better! We will go back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Garozzo's is an intimate Italian Restaur ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Garozzo's is an intimate Italian Restaurant with three Kansas City locations. We ate at the downtown location. Their slogan is "where Chicken Spiedini began." It is marinated chicken breasts rolled in Italian bread crumbs, skewered and grilled. We had the Garozzo style Spiedini and the Samantha style Spiedini. The Garozzo style was excellent in a blend of olive oil, garlic, and herbs. The Samantha style was very good in an alfredo sauce. We had the Tiramisu for dessert which was also very good.

Prices are typical for a normal restaurant - $20 for Garozzo style, $22 for Samantha style, $7 for tiramisu.

The ambiance is cozy, intimate, and low lit. The tables may be a bit too close together for some people. We made a reservation through Open Table and had no wait time. The restaurant was busy but not full on a Monday night at 7 p.m.

The staff were friendly. The server was very nice and kept our glasses full at all times.

A strong recommendation for Garozzo's Ristorante. Very good food, nice ambiance, and friendly staff.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.