About Garozzo's Ristorante - Kansas City

526 Harrison
Kansas City, MO 64106
View Larger Map

• Michael Garozzo, his wife Marguerite and their four daughters own and operate Kansas City's most awarded and popular Italian restaurant. Garozzo's boasts fine dining cuisine, moderately priced, in a family atmosphere. The restaurant is Zagat rated as one of the top Italian restaurants in the country, a Kansas City dining tradition for nearly 20 years. Garozzo's is where their signature dish Chicken Spiedini began, now often imitated and never duplicated around town; Garozzo's has made Chicken Spiedini a Kansas City staple. The Garozzo family and staff welcome you to any of four locations in the Kansas City area for a true Italian dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 11am-10pm
Friday 11am-11pm
Saturday 4pm-11pm
Sunday 4pm-9pm

Cross Street:
Missouri & Harrison

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 221-2455

Website:
http://www.garozzos.com/

Catering:
Catering available at any location, any time, any cuisine. Please call Todd Ferguson at (816)589-7072

Parking Details:
Parking available on the street surrounding the restaurant. Private parking lot located caddy corner to the front door.

Public Transit:
KC Metro

Private Party Facilities:
Private party seating for up to sixty. Please call for details.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Stuffed Artichoke
Sfogliatelle
Chocolate Mousse Torte
Tartufo Affogato Al Cafe
Clam Chowder
Veal Eggplant Parmigiana
Elsa Malbec
Vitello Spiendini Sophia Marie
Veal Portabella Ravioli
Bread
Lemon Cake
Baked Lasagna
Spedini Three Ways
Stuffed Artichoke With Shrimp
Fettuccini Alfio
Shrimp Spiedini
Stuffed Artchoke
Fettucini Alfredo With Mushrooms
Tiramisu
Tartufo Affogato Al Caffe
Three Way Pasta
Spedini Georgio
Cannelloni
Calamari
Cheese manicotti
Linguine
Vodka Gnoochi With Chicken

Garozzo's Ristorante - Kansas City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Kansas City
Best Service
Kansas City
Best Value
Kansas City
6 More
Italian
Kansas City
Best Overall
Kansas City, MO
Best Food
Kansas City, MO
Best Service
Kansas City, MO
Best Value
Kansas City, MO
Italian
Kansas City, MO
Best Restaurants in Downtown / River Market ›

Special Occasion (85)
Neighborhood Gem (73)
Romantic (65)
See All
Good for Groups (51)
Fit for Foodies (47)
Notable Wine List (28)
Good for a Date (21)
Great for Lunch (19)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Authentic (17)
Kid-friendly (15)
Cozy (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Hot Spot (12)
Historic (11)
Outstanding Value (9)
Casual (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Fun (8)
Business Meals (7)
Family Style (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Local Ingredients (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Bar Seating (3)
People Watching (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Spicy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Private Room (1)
Healthy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Seasonal (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1411 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

One of the best Italian meals we have en ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

One of the best Italian meals we have enjoyed anywhere... Great food, Great attentive Servers and amazing menu. Wish we had a place like this where we live.

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Casual, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Family Style, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Garozzo's is THEE' place when we want to ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Garozzo's is THEE' place when we want to have a special dinner for any occasion. The food is just outstanding and the atmosphere is one of desirability. We have never had anything less than a top notch dining out experience here and there is always enough food leftover for a meal the next day. Highly recommend the original Garozzo's just north of downtown KC. This is my wife's favorite place to eat in the city. Food outstanding, service is very very good, atmosphere is just perfect, as well as the nice dining music.

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Historic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great experience with fantastic ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We had a great experience with fantastic food and service!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We brought some friends for the first ti ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We brought some friends for the first time and dinner was great. The restaurant was busy but our waitress Cheri was still able to provide outstanding service. Our compliments to Michael Garozzos on his food and service provided. We look forward to returning for dinner in the future.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Good for a Date, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Historic, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love Kansas City. I love Italian food ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

I love Kansas City. I love Italian food. Together, not so much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Garozzo's Ristorantes always has great I ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Garozzo's Ristorantes always has great Italian cuisine. The Sicilian dipping sauce is one of my favorite appetizers around.

Tags: Authentic, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My wife and I are big fans of Garozzo's. ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

My wife and I are big fans of Garozzo's. We eat here several times a year. The food is wonderful, the ambiance is exquisite, and the service is fantastic. I can't wait for our next special occasion so that we can start our evening at our favorite restaurant!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I was on Day 6 of Whole 30 and was able ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

I was on Day 6 of Whole 30 and was able to find a compliant salad and Mike's Diet Chicken breast to order for dinner. I would order them both again. Delicious!!

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant continues to amaze me. T ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

The restaurant continues to amaze me. This neighborhood gem produces some of the best Italian dishes in the city. Our service was excellent. Due to the size of their servings, splitting a meal is never frowned on. Quality, taste, ambiance... Garozzo's has it all. Highly recommend!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

My daughter turned 17 and we celebrated ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

My daughter turned 17 and we celebrated with dinner. Great food and impeccable service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Waiters are exceptional. I even mention ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Waiters are exceptional. I even mentioned I was cold and he actually adjusted the a/c to make it better - that doesn't happen often! We love the Sinatra and Martin music and the low lighting. The food is exceptional - the bread, the oil dip, the caesar salad, the spiedini and the spumoni.

IT WAS SPELICIOUS! Thank you!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Authentic, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food and service makes Garozzos ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Fabulous food and service makes Garozzos a family favorite. We try to make it to the best Italian food in KC fairly often and are never disappointed!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Casual, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Great Beer, Fun, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Family get together over the holiday wee ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Family get together over the holiday weekend. Food was great. Service by Phil at the table and Vincent at the bar was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was looking for an Italian restaurant ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

I was looking for an Italian restaurant in Kansas City for our anniversary, read the wonderful reviews, had to try it... No regrets, love the food and the atmosphere! This is our all time favorite restaurant in KC. Already looking forward to our next visit!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The chicken spedini was on point! Tirami ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The chicken spedini was on point! Tiramisu was some of the best I've tasted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing as always. Staff friend ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Food was amazing as always. Staff friendly and fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a good experience. Good food and ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Always a good experience. Good food and always accommodate special requests. Reservation allowed us to walk right in and sit down. Thanks for a nice night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Outstanding restaurant! Food and servic ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Outstanding restaurant! Food and service were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have eaten at the Garozzos but wanted ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We have eaten at the Garozzos but wanted to try this one. We were pleased with the food and the service, although the restaurant is a bit noisy, especially with loud music playing. Definitely need a reservation, as we got there at 6:00 and people were already lined up.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Phil our server was great. His since of ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Phil our server was great. His since of humor and knowledge of the menu and wine list is unmatched.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is delicious and it is very nos ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The food is delicious and it is very nostalgic. It is difficult to have any quiet conversation with the noise level though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great place, that always has consistent ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Great place, that always has consistent quality and service.

Dining room is very dark.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Bartender, server and chef were outstand ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Bartender, server and chef were outstanding! We had a great night and gluten free options! Will be back soon!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pretentious, Rushed, Cold, Dark, Cramped ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Pretentious, Rushed, Cold, Dark, Cramped, Pricey - Garozzo's Was Mezzo Mezzo (So-S0)

We had the artichoke ($10), stuffed with seasoned breadcrumbs, steamed, and topped with garlic butter. We were not even halfway through eating our artichoke when our server arrived with our salads. As a former waiter, there is nothing that ticks me off more than a server who brings the next course when we have not even finished the last, but I bit my tongue because it really did not matter that much because the salads were not going to get cold while sitting on the table, which they did for another 10-15 minutes while we finished our antipasto. The table, by the way, was so small (like all of the tables for two) that the server had difficulty finding space for our premature salads.

I had the Vitello Parmigiana ($24), my failsafe in Italian restaurants and a good indicator of the quality of an Italian-American kitchen. The veal was lukewarm, three very small medallions topped with the house red sauce and fontina cheese, a bit odd as "parmigiana" is usually topped with mozzarella, baked or broiled, and sprinkled with parmesan cheese, hence the name. The sauce was good in comparison to most stateside Italian restaurants, but the dish would have been much better had it been served hot and with a bit more veal. The accompanying pasta was negligible and came out of a bag or box. At $24 for just an entree, $30 including salad, it would have been a poor value, even if it had been served at the appropriate temperature.

I like the place in general, but Garozzo's would be better if they dropped the pretenses, brought up the lights, bought some bigger tables, and lowered the prices a tad. I also believe that customers should NEVER be rushed, especially when they are paying $50 a head and up for a meal.

CombatCritic Gives Garozzo's Ristorante 5 Bombs Out Of 10 With Deductions For Unprofessional Service, Cold Food, Darkness, Small Tables, And Questionable Value ... More Bombs Are Better!

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

We've heard great things about this plac ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We've heard great things about this place since moving to KC and finally tried it. Officially one of our favorite restaurants. We'll definitely be back. They have an extensive wine list, fantastic food, great service, and who can beat a great after dinner limoncello and spumoni?!

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Historic, People Watching, Fun, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took a date there and she was blown aw ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

I took a date there and she was blown away! I was so happy, it was like every classic Italian restaurant in every movie. I will go back often!!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful birthday evening and always gr ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Wonderful birthday evening and always great to see Our friend Dee♥️

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Private Room, Outstanding Value, Good Vegetarian Options, Kid-friendly, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the best Italian food I've ever ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

This is the best Italian food I've ever had. We literally come from Chicago just to eat here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is excellent and the service as ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The food is excellent and the service as well. Great sauces, perfect pasta, everything just great.

Only downside is the building is small and you're seated very close, so it can get exceedingly loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent as always. We enjoy going to ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Excellent as always. We enjoy going to the original location on Harrison even though we live in Johnson County and are close to the Corporate Woods location (we go there, too). Love the food and ambiance. Good service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was excellent, just as expect ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Everything was excellent, just as expected, except for the noise level, which was painfully, uncomfortably loud.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

This is such a great place to eat--wonde ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

This is such a great place to eat--wonderful neighborhood atmosphere and the food is amazing! Our servers were very attentive without being intrusive. The food is just amazing--it's not budget food, but it is definitely worth the cost. Traditional Italian done right!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It has always been one of my favorite re ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

It has always been one of my favorite restaurants. GreatGreat food, great service and great ambiance. Thanks as always

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a great experience with amazing f ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Always a great experience with amazing food and a unique atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had our first date and wedding rehear ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We had our first date and wedding rehearsal dinner at Garozzo's. I've been here so many times over the past decade, I lost count. The perfect spot for a romantic date, an afternoon (classy) drink at the bar, or for a gathering. The service is amazing, the decor is very traditionally Italian. They have a wonderful selection of fine wines from around the world, and the soft music is perfect. I can't think of a single negative thing I could possibly say about Garozzo's! Enjoy a dream night, with chicken splendini or pasta, and a glass of perfect wine! :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place to go if you're in the mood ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great place to go if you're in the mood for Italian

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Being from NYC, I've had my share of gre ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Being from NYC, I've had my share of great Italian. Being in KC now, Garozzo's is clearly the best overall Italian cuisine in KC. Server was great, my only only issue was the chef wasn't able to make a "pesto" sauce like i wanted. Instead, i was given an "alfredo'ish white sauce??" Not a huge deal. Still great food. We'll be back for those Truffle Ravioli's!!!!!!!

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Even though we had reservations, we had ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Even though we had reservations, we had to wait over 20+ minutes. Based on this timing, I would not book special reservations at this restaurant again. However, I will go back for regular non-special occasion meals.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We really enjoyed our dinner, the atmosp ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We really enjoyed our dinner, the atmosphere was lively but nice, the family photos on the wall make it feel a bit like you've entered into the Garozzo's home, the food was outstanding, the Georgio and the Mario were both excellent, and we enjoyed the chianti. Our server Emma was very friendly, helpful, and patient with us. We enjoyed our dinner and look forward to returning someday.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

They were very accommodating when our gr ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

They were very accommodating when our group increased from 4 to 9. While they couldn't seat us in the restaurant, they reserved 2 tables together in the bar. Our waitress was very attentive. She suggested an off-the-menu item which was fabulous. The noise in the bar died down after a large group was seated in the restaurant and it was almost as if we were in a private dining room, which was great. The food was outstanding, as always. I feel very confident inviting out-of-town guests to dine there. They are never disappointed!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.