About Garozzo's Ristorante - Kansas City

526 Harrison
Kansas City, MO 64106
View Larger Map

• Michael Garozzo, his wife Marguerite and their four daughters own and operate Kansas City's most awarded and popular Italian restaurant. Garozzo's boasts fine dining cuisine, moderately priced, in a family atmosphere. The restaurant is Zagat rated as one of the top Italian restaurants in the country, a Kansas City dining tradition for nearly 20 years. Garozzo's is where their signature dish Chicken Spiedini began, now often imitated and never duplicated around town; Garozzo's has made Chicken Spiedini a Kansas City staple. The Garozzo family and staff welcome you to any of four locations in the Kansas City area for a true Italian dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 11am-10pm
Friday 11am-11pm
Saturday 4pm-11pm
Sunday 4pm-9pm

Cross Street:
Missouri & Harrison

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 221-2455

Website:
http://www.garozzos.com/

Catering:
Catering available at any location, any time, any cuisine. Please call Todd Ferguson at (816)589-7072

Parking Details:
Parking available on the street surrounding the restaurant. Private parking lot located caddy corner to the front door.

Public Transit:
KC Metro

Private Party Facilities:
Private party seating for up to sixty. Please call for details.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Stuffed Artichoke
Sfogliatelle
Chocolate Mousse Torte
Tartufo Affogato Al Cafe
Veal Eggplant Parmigiana
Clam Chowder
Elsa Malbec
Vitello Spiendini Sophia Marie
Veal Portabella Ravioli
Bread
Lemon Cake
Baked Lasagna
Spedini Three Ways
Stuffed Artichoke With Shrimp
Fettucini Alfredo With Mushrooms
Stuffed Artchoke
Shrimp Spiedini
Fettuccini Alfio
Tartufo Affogato Al Caffe
Three Way Pasta
Tiramisu
Spedini Georgio
Calamari
Cannelloni
Cheese manicotti
Vodka Gnoochi With Chicken
Linguine

Garozzo's Ristorante - Kansas City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Kansas City
Best Value
Kansas City
Neighborhood Gem
Kansas City
6 More
Italian
Kansas City
Best Overall
Kansas City, MO
Best Food
Kansas City, MO
Best Value
Kansas City, MO
Neighborhood Gem
Kansas City, MO
Italian
Kansas City, MO
Best Restaurants in Downtown / River Market ›

special occasion (98)
neighborhood gem (92)
romantic (67)
See All
fit for foodies (60)
good for groups (59)
notable wine list (31)
great for lunch (22)
hot spot (16)
kid-friendly (7)
late-night find (7)
great for brunch (4)
vibrant bar scene (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1363 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This place never disappoints! Absolutel ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 4 days ago

This place never disappoints! Absolutely great good and perfect service!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent wine made tied a wonderful eve ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent wine made tied a wonderful evening together. Phil really took care of us. Iconic restaurant of KC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was great as always, just a little ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 6 days ago

Food was great as always, just a little tight on room. Wait staff did a good job, service was prompt. A favorite of our family!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We were looking for a good Italian dinne ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We were looking for a good Italian dinner and we really enjoyed this. We had reservations but on arrival we were politely told they were running late seating. There were places at the bar and we had a nice time in the quaint bar waiting over a drink. We were called after about 15 minutes, not a bad wait, and were seated at a quiet corner table. The server Paige took very good care of us being attentive, courteous, without being overbearing. We had veal and beef dishes and they were excellent. The portions were large and with a Caesar salad and Garozzo's Chianti we were disappointed we couldn't handle dessert. Over all a wonderful experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

One of the best meals we have ever eaten ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

One of the best meals we have ever eaten. Food was outstanding, and our server Katie was friendly, helpful, and fun. Chicken spedini was everything I have read about it and more. We could not have asked for a better evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and super service! Was my son ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Great food and super service! Was my sons birthday and it was the perfect spot to celebrate!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The spedini was terrific

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The spedini was terrific

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently great. Our favorite Kansas ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Consistently great. Our favorite Kansas City restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wow! The food was incredible! I found th ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Wow! The food was incredible! I found this place online, reading a review of the top 10 restaurants of Kansas City and this place ranked as the top Italian restaurant.

The entire place was packed on a Sunday night, so I was glad I made a booking. The restaurant was on the smaller side but was packed to the brim with hungry families. The food was delicious. My husband had their speciality, wrapped chicken breasts on a skewer over pasta, and it was incredible. I had stuffed pasta with veal, beef and spinach. I also ordered a side salad with a mustard-Dijon vinaigrette with goat cheese that was delicious too!

I crave a delicious homemade Italian dinner, and this place definitely footed the bill. The prices are a bit higher, but so worth it. Can't wait to return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great service and the food is always the ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great service and the food is always the best Italian food in Kansas City

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant we make a point of visiti ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The restaurant we make a point of visiting when we are in town. Exceptional food, pleasant atmosphere and excellent service. Well worth the visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Have eaten here several times before but ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Have eaten here several times before but it's been a while. Had chicken fettucine alfredo. It was good but seemed like it was better before. Maybe a different chef. I do love this place though! Still my favorite restaurant in KC.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food at garozzo's was exceptional. T ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

The food at garozzo's was exceptional. The atmosphere was great as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Garrozzo's never disappoints. The Garro ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Garrozzo's never disappoints. The Garrozzo chicken spiedini was as wonderful as it always is. The Sicilian olive oil/cheese dipping sauce is killer. I adore their spumoni with rum sauce. This time our waiter was helpful and around when we needed him. Great experience. Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The service was fantastic and the food w ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The service was fantastic and the food was a delight. It is nice to know that KC Italian has not disappeared into the mainstream corporate blandness that continues to suffocate the taste of the city.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is the best Italian Restaurant in K ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

This is the best Italian Restaurant in Kansas City, which is saying a lot.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Garozzo's is my favorite restaurant. It ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Garozzo's is my favorite restaurant. It delivers an authentic Italian experience on every front. The atmosphere is great for dates or special occasions, and the service is always fantastic. However, the food is the real star. I've never had something on the menu that wasn't absolutely amazing. I go there a few times a year, but if it was in the budget I'd probably go every few weeks.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Evening with friends from NC. Food was e ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Evening with friends from NC. Food was excellent as always. Was a little disappointed in no olive oil bread dip when bread was brought out. Probably my fault tho and waiter didn't ask till I mentioned it. We had Tortellini Gina, Cannelloni, chicken spedini and fettuccine alfredo.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice place to get some authentic Italian ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Nice place to get some authentic Italian food. Great atmosphere! Staff was attentive. Enjoyed the food and the bread.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Real Italian food is served here!

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Real Italian food is served here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Although we live much closer to other Ga ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Although we live much closer to other Garozzo locations, my wife and I decided to go to the original Ristorante at 5th and Harrison. We're happy we did. The atmosphere was like an original Italian family restaurant in a building that might be 100 years old and just can't be matched by strip-shopping center store-fronts. The servers were long-time professionals who provided a more enjoyable feeling than interim college graduates.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. love the chicken spadinie a ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Great food. love the chicken spadinie and salads.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Outstanding food and service. Our fourth ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Outstanding food and service. Our fourth visit to Garozzo's was a reminder to return more often

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent and the service w ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The food was excellent and the service was spot on. Great knowledge of the menu and history of the restaurant.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Must ... have ... spiedini ....

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Ah, spiedini. Forget steaks and barbecue, spiedini is the reason Kansas City's fame should be shouted from dining's rooftops. The serving is generous, the downtown location is cozy and friendly with a great staff; it's an outstanding eating experience. The only drawback to the downtown location is parking.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My friend came to visit me from out of t ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

My friend came to visit me from out of town. She loves Italian food, so I recommended we go here. We were not disappointed. Limoncello cocktails, the Sicilian stuffed artichoke and two different veal appetizers completed our meal. The ambience is out of this world, and the service is phenomenal. Probably my favorite restaurant in KC right now.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great pre-triathlon feast with old frien ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Great pre-triathlon feast with old friends before the Symphony.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Our server was awesome and everyone was ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Our server was awesome and everyone was very nice. Will come back again

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb!

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

We frequent Garazzo's at least every few mths & we live over an hour away. The atmosphere screams Old World Italian, the neighborhood location is easy to get to, parking sufficient & its a short ride to Downtown but also not in the hectic downtown locations as many others are. The wait staff is knowledgeable, kind, attentive & the management always on site every time to ask if all is well. Now to the FOOD! We recently brought friends from Boston who were visiting, & having lived on the East Coast as well...we were ALL satisfied with the authenticity, variety offered. Veal Parm, Eggplant Parm & the meatballs are superb. Meatballs are made with veal which is an East Coast tradition (as well as authentic) and are very light & not a dense meatball, flavored extremely well & served with great Marinara. The seafood dishes are all done well, have not tried any of the beef offered but I am sure its worth trying. Desserts are always spot on from Tiramisu, to ricotta cheesecake with fresh strawberries to cappuccino's, espresso & excellent regular coffee . We have never had a less than perfect meal or less than very attentive service. A true gem !

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and service! Limited on spac ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Great food and service! Limited on space

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Our waitress was very polite. They staff ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Our waitress was very polite. They staff always is. They always make you feel special. Every business should make customers feel this way. Of course it goes without saying, food was excellent as it is every time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Garozzo's River market

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

We love this restaurant. Love the spedini and stuffed artichoke.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Love this place. There were 8 of us but ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Love this place. There were 8 of us but the room we were in was extremely loud this visit. Our waiter was even louder. Although food was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

From the moment we stepped through the d ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

From the moment we stepped through the door every detail was fabulous. Our server was knowledgeable, caring, and went above and beyond for our table. The food was unbelievable. We will most definitely be back. The perfect date night or family gathering. The portions are huge!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Classic Garozzos

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

I love the cheese garlic bread and always have it with the meal. The food is always fresh, hot and seasoned to perfection. Delicious! The wine list is excellent. I especially like the Garozzos' Chianti mmmm delizioso! The servers are friendly, knowledgeable and efficient. One of my favorite KC restaurants and has been for years. Thank you.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The entire evening from the time we walk ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

The entire evening from the time we walked in until the time we left was a great evening.It was my mothers birthday and our waitress Cheri was outstanding even though she had others to tend to...she did an excellent job waiting on us. The food was delicious and hot. My family would like to thank MIchael G. and his staff for making my mothers 86th birthday something to remember .

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dined by myself while in town on busines ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Dined by myself while in town on business. Great restaurant. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Interested to talk about the food, the interesting neighbourhood, local & restaurant history.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We had a lovely, delicious meal served i ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

We had a lovely, delicious meal served in a timely yet unrushed manner (we had theatre tickets). It had been awhile since we had been here and we will return much sooner! Such a gem!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Love this place!

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

The food is reliably good, servings are large which make them a great value. We always enjoy the ambiance of this restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When you make recommendations about anyt ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

When you make recommendations about anything your putting your reputation on the line. Always comfortable with stating that Garozzo's is a great place to wine and dine. When "Vinny" is at the bar you need to meet him. A first class bartender and waiter! Will always consider it a great choice of places to go when you want the best Italian food in KC!

George Gage

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.