About Garozzo's Ristorante - Kansas City

526 Harrison
Kansas City, MO 64106
View Larger Map

• Michael Garozzo, his wife Marguerite and their four daughters own and operate Kansas City's most awarded and popular Italian restaurant. Garozzo's boasts fine dining cuisine, moderately priced, in a family atmosphere. The restaurant is Zagat rated as one of the top Italian restaurants in the country, a Kansas City dining tradition for nearly 20 years. Garozzo's is where their signature dish Chicken Spiedini began, now often imitated and never duplicated around town; Garozzo's has made Chicken Spiedini a Kansas City staple. The Garozzo family and staff welcome you to any of four locations in the Kansas City area for a true Italian dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 11am-10pm
Friday 11am-11pm
Saturday 4pm-11pm
Sunday 4pm-9pm

Cross Street:
Missouri & Harrison

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 221-2455

Website:
http://www.garozzos.com/

Catering:
Catering available at any location, any time, any cuisine. Please call Todd Ferguson at (816)589-7072

Parking Details:
Parking available on the street surrounding the restaurant. Private parking lot located caddy corner to the front door.

Public Transit:
KC Metro

Private Party Facilities:
Private party seating for up to sixty. Please call for details.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Stuffed Artichoke
Sfogliatelle
Chocolate Mousse Torte
Tartufo Affogato Al Cafe
Veal Eggplant Parmigiana
Clam Chowder
Elsa Malbec
Vitello Spiendini Sophia Marie
Veal Portabella Ravioli
Bread
Lemon Cake
Baked Lasagna
Spedini Three Ways
Stuffed Artichoke With Shrimp
Fettucini Alfredo With Mushrooms
Stuffed Artchoke
Shrimp Spiedini
Fettuccini Alfio
Tartufo Affogato Al Caffe
Three Way Pasta
Tiramisu
Spedini Georgio
Calamari
Cannelloni
Cheese manicotti
Vodka Gnoochi With Chicken
Linguine

Garozzo's Ristorante - Kansas City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Kansas City
Best Value
Kansas City
Italian
Kansas City
5 More
Best Overall
Kansas City, MO
Best Food
Kansas City, MO
Best Value
Kansas City, MO
Neighborhood Gem
Kansas City, MO
Italian
Kansas City, MO
Best Restaurants in Downtown / River Market ›

neighborhood gem (91)
special occasion (90)
romantic (61)
See All
fit for foodies (56)
good for groups (50)
notable wine list (34)
great for lunch (21)
hot spot (15)
late-night find (9)
kid-friendly (5)
great for brunch (5)
vibrant bar scene (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1346 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Evening with friends from NC. Food was e ...

Dined 5 days ago

Evening with friends from NC. Food was excellent as always. Was a little disappointed in no olive oil bread dip when bread was brought out. Probably my fault tho and waiter didn't ask till I mentioned it. We had Tortellini Gina, Cannelloni, chicken spedini and fettuccine alfredo.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice place to get some authentic Italian ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Nice place to get some authentic Italian food. Great atmosphere! Staff was attentive. Enjoyed the food and the bread.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Real Italian food is served here!

Dined on June 12, 2016

Real Italian food is served here!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Although we live much closer to other Ga ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Although we live much closer to other Garozzo locations, my wife and I decided to go to the original Ristorante at 5th and Harrison. We're happy we did. The atmosphere was like an original Italian family restaurant in a building that might be 100 years old and just can't be matched by strip-shopping center store-fronts. The servers were long-time professionals who provided a more enjoyable feeling than interim college graduates.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food. love the chicken spadinie a ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Great food. love the chicken spadinie and salads.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding food and service. Our fourth ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Outstanding food and service. Our fourth visit to Garozzo's was a reminder to return more often

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The food was excellent and the service w ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

The food was excellent and the service was spot on. Great knowledge of the menu and history of the restaurant.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Must ... have ... spiedini ....

Dined on June 10, 2016

Ah, spiedini. Forget steaks and barbecue, spiedini is the reason Kansas City's fame should be shouted from dining's rooftops. The serving is generous, the downtown location is cozy and friendly with a great staff; it's an outstanding eating experience. The only drawback to the downtown location is parking.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friend came to visit me from out of t ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

My friend came to visit me from out of town. She loves Italian food, so I recommended we go here. We were not disappointed. Limoncello cocktails, the Sicilian stuffed artichoke and two different veal appetizers completed our meal. The ambience is out of this world, and the service is phenomenal. Probably my favorite restaurant in KC right now.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service5

Great pre-triathlon feast with old frien ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Great pre-triathlon feast with old friends before the Symphony.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was awesome and everyone was ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Our server was awesome and everyone was very nice. Will come back again

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Superb!

Dined on June 2, 2016

We frequent Garazzo's at least every few mths & we live over an hour away. The atmosphere screams Old World Italian, the neighborhood location is easy to get to, parking sufficient & its a short ride to Downtown but also not in the hectic downtown locations as many others are. The wait staff is knowledgeable, kind, attentive & the management always on site every time to ask if all is well. Now to the FOOD! We recently brought friends from Boston who were visiting, & having lived on the East Coast as well...we were ALL satisfied with the authenticity, variety offered. Veal Parm, Eggplant Parm & the meatballs are superb. Meatballs are made with veal which is an East Coast tradition (as well as authentic) and are very light & not a dense meatball, flavored extremely well & served with great Marinara. The seafood dishes are all done well, have not tried any of the beef offered but I am sure its worth trying. Desserts are always spot on from Tiramisu, to ricotta cheesecake with fresh strawberries to cappuccino's, espresso & excellent regular coffee . We have never had a less than perfect meal or less than very attentive service. A true gem !

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5

Great food and service! Limited on spac ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Great food and service! Limited on space

food5
ambience5
service5

Our waitress was very polite. They staff ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Our waitress was very polite. They staff always is. They always make you feel special. Every business should make customers feel this way. Of course it goes without saying, food was excellent as it is every time.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Garozzo's River market

Dined on May 27, 2016

We love this restaurant. Love the spedini and stuffed artichoke.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place. There were 8 of us but ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Love this place. There were 8 of us but the room we were in was extremely loud this visit. Our waiter was even louder. Although food was fantastic!

food5
ambience5
service5

From the moment we stepped through the d ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

From the moment we stepped through the door every detail was fabulous. Our server was knowledgeable, caring, and went above and beyond for our table. The food was unbelievable. We will most definitely be back. The perfect date night or family gathering. The portions are huge!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Classic Garozzos

Dined on May 19, 2016

I love the cheese garlic bread and always have it with the meal. The food is always fresh, hot and seasoned to perfection. Delicious! The wine list is excellent. I especially like the Garozzos' Chianti mmmm delizioso! The servers are friendly, knowledgeable and efficient. One of my favorite KC restaurants and has been for years. Thank you.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The entire evening from the time we walk ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

The entire evening from the time we walked in until the time we left was a great evening.It was my mothers birthday and our waitress Cheri was outstanding even though she had others to tend to...she did an excellent job waiting on us. The food was delicious and hot. My family would like to thank MIchael G. and his staff for making my mothers 86th birthday something to remember .

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Dined by myself while in town on busines ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Dined by myself while in town on business. Great restaurant. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Interested to talk about the food, the interesting neighbourhood, local & restaurant history.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a lovely, delicious meal served i ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

We had a lovely, delicious meal served in a timely yet unrushed manner (we had theatre tickets). It had been awhile since we had been here and we will return much sooner! Such a gem!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place!

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

The food is reliably good, servings are large which make them a great value. We always enjoy the ambiance of this restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

When you make recommendations about anyt ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

When you make recommendations about anything your putting your reputation on the line. Always comfortable with stating that Garozzo's is a great place to wine and dine. When "Vinny" is at the bar you need to meet him. A first class bartender and waiter! Will always consider it a great choice of places to go when you want the best Italian food in KC! George Gage

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was delicious. Wait staff was great ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Food was delicious. Wait staff was great. Made suggestions and not only allowed but also suggested substitutions for indecisive guests. Makes you feel that they will do anything for you and every guest is special. Room upstairs through the kitchen was a nice VIP touch. Great experience as always. Planning our next trip back soon!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Italian Gem

Dined on May 8, 2016

Terrific Italian Charm and the the service was impeccable.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ambiance

Dined on May 7, 2016

I have dined at Gorozzos many times and yet it is always a unique experience. The wait staff is very efficient while remaining warm and welcoming. I love the ambiance of the neighborhood and dining has the feel of being in the midst of a large family. The food is the best Italian I have had, and I have tried several entrees there. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always consistent!

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

We hadn't been in a while... food and service were great!

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Atmosphere and service were wonderful! G ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Atmosphere and service were wonderful! Great for a family dinner or date night.

food5
ambience5
service5

Same as usual; the food and the service ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Same as usual; the food and the service was fantastic. We were there for my son's birthday and they were very attentive and again the food was fantastic.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent. The food was outstanding.

Dined on April 27, 2016

Very enjoyable lunch with our group. Server was very informative regarding ingredients in foods. Will be back soon.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

One of our fave restaurants when we go t ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

One of our fave restaurants when we go to KC! Order the spideni!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and Service

Dined on April 12, 2016

Never disappointed with Garrozzo's in the river market, food is always good and the service is fantastic.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply the best food on the planet.

Dined on April 10, 2016

Wonderful year after year. The portions are huge and the food is sooooooo good, you won't want to, but save room for the tiramisu. It is heavenly! Knowing how good it is from previous visits, I teased my husband that I was just going to order tiramisu with a side of tiramisu. Oh, and the lasagna is to die for, and the... Just go... You'll thank me later.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Recommended

Dined on April 9, 2016

Great food and service as usual by Garozzo's in River Quay.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Garozzo's is Excellent !

Dined on April 7, 2016

Our favorite Italian restaurant once again provided us a great dinner and lunch the next day at home. Best Spedeini I've ever had ! I like Samantha but the kids (thirtysomethings who have been going here since they were really a kid) like the other kinds. So tasty.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Chicken spedini Garozzos was delicious a ...

Dined on April 5, 2016

Chicken spedini Garozzos was delicious as is the house salad

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Good service, ok food

Dined on March 31, 2016

We have had better dishes here. The alfredo sauce was kind of bland, had to add a significant amount of salt and pepper. I have had other pasta dishes here that were much better seasoned.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Garozzo's! The Chicken Spiedini is ...

Dined on March 24, 2016

Love Garozzo's! The Chicken Spiedini is terrific. We had the Gabriella. Nice and spicy just like I like it!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Who knew

Dined on March 23, 2016

We had a gift card with many choices for our anniversary dinner. We were so happy with Garozzo's because the food and service were amazing. The ravioli appetizers were excellent. My hubby had the Speidini, of course, but had to take half of the generous portion home for leftovers! We are already talking about coming back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing find

Dined on March 16, 2016

Best tirimesu I've ever had! Tried their signature spiedini Samantha and loved it. Amazing Alfredo sauce. Amazing atmosphere and service. Everything I love in a restaurant

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.