About Garden Court

2 New Montgomery St.
San Francisco, CA 94105
View Larger Map

Featuring innovative intercontinental cuisine, the famed Garden Court offers a superb dining experience in a glorious setting. This historic landmark serves breakfast and lunch daily and an enchanting brunch and afternoon tea on weekends. The Garden Court features a stained glass dome, Italian marble columns, Austrian crystal chandeliers and is noted on San Francisco’s Historic Register as Landmark #18. Our Executive Chef invites you to try our signature crab salad lightly dressed in our own Green Goddess Dressing, a true Palace original created in 1923.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast:
Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 10:30am;
Saturday 6:30am - 11:00am;
Sunday - 7:00am-10:30am

Lunch:
Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 1:30pm;

Tea Time in the GC Lounge (NO RESERVATIONS REQUIRED)
Monday - Saturday 2:00pm -5:00pm

The Garden Court Signature Tea Service
Saturday 2:00pm-4:30pm

Sunday Brunch:
Sunday 11:30am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
Market St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 546-5089

Website:
http://www.sfpalace.com/dining

Executive Chef:
John Hart

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Garden Court, San Francisco, CA
Smoked Salmon Roulade - Garden Court, San Francisco, CA
Organic Egg Remoulade Sandwich - Garden Court, San Francisco, CA
Signature Palace Crab Salad - Garden Court, San Francisco, CA
Asparagus Soup - Garden Court, San Francisco, CA
Lemonade - Garden Court, San Francisco, CA
Thanksgiving Buffet - Garden Court, San Francisco, CA
Brunch Buffet - Garden Court, San Francisco, CA
Pastries - Garden Court, San Francisco, CA
Chocolate Covered Strawberry - Garden Court, San Francisco, CA
Sparkling Wine - Garden Court, San Francisco, CA
Scones - Garden Court, San Francisco, CA
Assorted Pastries - Garden Court, San Francisco, CA
Pai Mu Tau Silver Eyp White Tea - Garden Court, San Francisco, CA
Scone - Garden Court, San Francisco, CA
Afternoon Tea Service - Garden Court, San Francisco, CA
Tea Sandwich - Garden Court, San Francisco, CA
Assorted Breads - Garden Court, San Francisco, CA
Dungeness Crab Meat Sandwiches With Sweet Potato Fries - Garden Court, San Francisco, CA
shrimp salad - Garden Court, San Francisco, CA
Chocolate Mousse Cheesecake - Garden Court, San Francisco, CA
Blueberry Pancakes With Toasted Walnuts - Garden Court, San Francisco, CA
Macadamia Nut Belgian Waffle - Garden Court, San Francisco, CA
Buffet Plate - Garden Court, San Francisco, CA
Tea Service - Garden Court, San Francisco, CA

Garden Court Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.8

ambience

4.6

value

3.3

noise

Moderate

74% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (20)
Afternoon Tea (19)
Great for Brunch (15)
See All
Quiet Conversation (14)
Historic (14)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Romantic (11)
Great for Lunch (10)
Good for a Date (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Fun (8)
Business Meals (8)
People Watching (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Live Music (5)
Seasonal (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Scenic View (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Casual (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Cozy (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Authentic (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
1277 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE! WE WERE CELEBRATIN ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE! WE WERE CELEBRATING OUR QUARTERLY "GIRLS DAY" OUT. WE SO ENJOYED OURSELVES! THANKS!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Seasonal, Modern Decor, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The setting was dreamy. Harp player wa ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined 3 days ago

The setting was dreamy. Harp player was incredible! Food was presented well ( we had vegetarian option ) desert presentation was gorgeous! Tea was fabulous! We stayed just over 2 hours for our party of 3 people. Enjoyed every minute of it! Will definitely go again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

This is the most spectacular place to en ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2016

This is the most spectacular place to enjoy a meal in San Francisco, which puts it in the running for most spectacular world wide. We had "Sea for Two" which was outstanding. Live jazz music was great. Service was very friendly. Very hard to top this.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I made a reservation for Sunday brunch e ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2016

I made a reservation for Sunday brunch expecting that they still offered the incomparable full Sunday afternoon Champagne buffet brunch. Wrong! GC switched to a menu based brunch not long ago. The wait staff said that many people had come in and complained or left after finding the buffet was gone. The regular brunch was no where near as good or as delightful as the buffet brunch. I will pass until they bring it back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value1

$90 per person - way to expensive for th ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

$90 per person - way to expensive for the amount of food and quality

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

The tea service at the Garden Court has ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The tea service at the Garden Court has declined significantly over the past couple of years. We have been having tea the day after Thanksgiving here for years, and what was once a beautiful, elegant, tea service has become mediocre on a good day. Everything has declined from the quality of the sandwiches (they had clearly been sitting for some time - the bread was stale and the piped topping had developed a hard crust - we did not even finish them) to the service (small things that make a difference like dropping the teapot at your table and disappearing vs filling your cup). Even the serving trays that the tea sandwiches and desserts are served on, which used to be very nice have been replaced by cheap plastic. The beauty of the room itself cannot make up for the decline of just about every other aspect of this tea service. We will definitely be finding a new place to have tea going forward.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2

We had a wonderful breakfast and especia ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We had a wonderful breakfast and especially appreciated the crown for our little guy who was turning seven!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely ambiance, lovely setting for a sp ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Lovely ambiance, lovely setting for a special occasion brunch or tea. Very accommodating staff.

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was an exceptional place to eat. De ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

This was an exceptional place to eat. Definitely worth coming to. The food and drinks were phenomenal, beautiful presentation.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fun, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice setting. The food was delicio ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Very nice setting. The food was delicious. Particularly enjoyed the yogurt. Berries were wonderful too. Also the cheese selection. Dried figs were a nice touch to the visual presentation. Very nice. Happy to return to The Palace Hotel for a special birthday breakfast.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

this is a gorgeous, historic setting but ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 6, 2016

this is a gorgeous, historic setting

but the service is poor ( waitstaff avoiding eyecontact, not available)

three times i was served lukewarm coffee even after i pointed out that the coffee was not hot

food was served cold that should have been ho

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value3

I stayed at the Palace Hotel around 15 y ...

 
 (London)·Dined on October 30, 2016

I stayed at the Palace Hotel around 15 years ago and was keen to come back. It's really gone downhill unfortunately. We had Sunday brunch.

There is a general 'don't care' attitude. There were dirty plates on the table when we were seated, the wine glass was chipped, the waiter slopped coffee across the table and seemed to resent taking an order - all these things can happen, but at $120 for a single course brunch and drink ,it would be nice to feel valued. The food is adequate, the menu anodyne, and though the ceiling is really beautiful the refurb has lots its "garden"charm of wicker and palms, and replaced it with a bland hotel set of furniture. The live music was the best thing about it.

The restrooms are locked and you have to ask hotel staff to let you in which isn't very classy, especially when the staff are reluctant to work!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

If you're looking for attentive service ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 28, 2016

If you're looking for attentive service in regal surroundings, add this place to your list!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

A wonderful place for widely- dispersed ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

A wonderful place for widely- dispersed family to get together for excellent brunch fare in a splendid, historic setting.

Tags: Fun, People Watching, Historic, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Garden Court is a fabulous place. The a ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Garden Court is a fabulous place. The ambience is superb..not your typical restaurant setting. We always go to a weekend breakfast or brunch and we love both. The service is always 5-star. The value for the $ is very good..nice selection of food, all high quality.

I would recommend to anyone. We like it for special occasions especially.

Larry Willis

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice room, quiet relaxed service, not a ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Nice room, quiet relaxed service, not a bargain but fair value

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We were four (4) ladies celebrating a bi ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We were four (4) ladies celebrating a birthday and thought that The Palace Garden Court would be a lovely place to have brunch. Well, we were extremely disappointed in both the food and the service.

I am sorry to report that I would not recommend this venue to any of my friends!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value2

The two of us enjoyed a productive conve ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 14, 2016

The two of us enjoyed a productive conversation while enjoying a delicious meal. Under the same circumstances, I would again recommend the Garden Court.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful location that is a must see! B ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Beautiful location that is a must see! Breakfast buffet was good but service was definitely lacking. I would go back for the overall experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

Inside was beautiful and the chandeliers ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Inside was beautiful and the chandeliers were gorgeous to look at! The hotel itself is historic which made the ambience very enjoyable. We went for brunch and the meal was amazing! But unfortunately the service was horrible. The waitress took forever to take our order, only refilled out water once, and never once came and checked on us when we got our food. It was very disheartening bad we were spending a lot of money for the meal and the service was terrible.

Tags: Cozy, Afternoon Tea, Historic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

Food was ok but service was terrible. W ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Food was ok but service was terrible. Waiter must of been having a bad day, he wasn't friendly and he forgot about us completely throughout the whole meal. He dropped the food off and disappeared.

Tags: Historic, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

The Garden Court is a beautiful historic ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The Garden Court is a beautiful historic amazing venue to be. The food and service were good. We went for the special Saturday tea service ($70/each) and it was fun to try once for an anniversary. Whether you're willing to spend that kind of money on tea and snacks in a gorgeous room....only you can make that call. It was fun and I'm glad I went but once was enough.

I've also been there for the holiday buffet (years ago) and it was awesome. It's a great place for a special occasion but a price conscious diner will feel ripped off. Fair warning.

Tags: Historic, Live Music, Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Amazing ambience & breakfast buffet! ... ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Amazing ambience & breakfast buffet! ... wish we wouldn't have eaten so fast... love the Palace!!!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fun, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

A lovely, old standby place, recently do ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 2, 2016

A lovely, old standby place, recently done a bit of upgrading, and changed the brunch from a buffet to an a la carte menu. But the food is excellent. Not super "haute" cuisine, but delicious. The atmosphere is as lovely as ever. Truly a special room.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Thank you for lovely afternoon high tea. ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Thank you for lovely afternoon high tea. I am so glad that this tradition continues in a few special places. My hubby and I celebrated some happy news and we were treated like extra special guests by our attentive and friendly server. Everything was completely delicious, and so graciously done. Looking forward to a repeat visit sometime in the future.

Tags: People Watching, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great and so was the ambiance. ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Food was great and so was the ambiance. Only down side here was I think their cream/milk on the table was sitting out too long so I had an upset stomach after drinking it.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Enjoyed a wonderful lunch at the Garden ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Enjoyed a wonderful lunch at the Garden Court. Beautiful setting, fantastic shrimp starter and capresi salad for me, seafood stew for my guest. All outstanding, highly recommended.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I try to have brunch or lunch here every ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 17, 2016

I try to have brunch or lunch here every time we visit the city. There is not a more beautiful setting anywhere! While others complained about the service, we had very attentive service. They offered both a brunch and regular menu. My only complaint would be that there was no omelette station offered at the brunch, but rest was fine. My husband ordered an omelette off the menu which was quite good, but choice of fillings were a bit limited. Brunch is pricey but you are paying for the ambiance.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

I think most people come here for the se ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 9, 2016

I think most people come here for the setting as it is a bit pricey for the food. The tables set aside for couples are rather large and set close together. I could actually hear the neighbor's conversation better than my partner.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Casual, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server immediately acted unintereste ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Our server immediately acted uninterested when he knew our bill was not going to be huge. He was working for a big tip and was extremely rude.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

This favorite spot is a must when visiti ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 4, 2016

This favorite spot is a must when visiting San Francisco. The room is so elegant and well maintained, you can't help but feel special just being there. Our server was wonderful and personal. She made us feel comfortable and took good care of us. We ordered the seafood platter for 2 and it was so beautiful and fresh. It went perfect with our champagne and was a perfect portion for the two of us. If you want to impress someone or just want to enjoy a good meal in one of the most beautiful dining rooms in the US, this is the place to come.

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambiance here is unbeatable...very e ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2016

The ambiance here is unbeatable...very elegant setting. The service we received for afternoon tea was sub-par for any food establishment. No one would take our order. We noticed that the party next to us who had no reservation and was seated about 10 minutes after us was able to order and their table was set, tea delivered. Meanwhile, I'm flagging a server down for the third time. We asked for regular water three times. The best was trying to get a take out container for the leftover sweets - also three tries. We could see some bickering between server staff as to who was going to get us the container. I guess the third time is the charm? It put a damper on our stay there and our out of town guests were not impressed with the service.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

Overall, a huge disappointment. Looking ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Overall, a huge disappointment. Looking at recent reviews (12/2015-now), it seems that the quality has been going down, but I thought it would still be worth a try. Beautiful ambience, but that's it. Savories were acceptable, but the sweet pastries tasted like insipid Costco items with lingering freezer burn. Decorations included hot pink decals and flower accents. Absolutely no way they are baked in-house. Servers were pleasant, but clearly inexperienced for serving high tea -- level of attention & knowledge low, water wasn't refilled, food not explained, they were swinging around the pastry trays as they walked around. Service would be okay for a casual lunch diner, but completely off for high tea.

In general, quite dismayed. Beautiful venue, but service, food, and overall experience clearly show that the current management does not care about maintaining standards. They are still riding on the beautiful venue to draw in customers, and maintaining exorbitant prices, considering the clearance-rack grocery store pastries. Never going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

This is the review that I wrote to the G ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 1, 2016

This is the review that I wrote to the Garden Court

I would like to leave a private review of my lunch experience at the Garden Court (GC). I do not wish to put the review on your website, and I am sure after reading this, you will appreciate why.

I had lunch at the GC on Thursday, September 1, around noon. Our server was Maggie, who mentioned that she had been serving at the GC for many years. I enjoyed the lunch and paid with a credit card. I added a tip to the bill and added it up, then signed my name and left to use the restroom. When I came back to join my companion, Maggie rushed up to me to tell me I had signed the wrong slip. Then she asked me if there was something wrong with the service; she had apparently not looked at the slip and noticed that I had added a tip (or perhaps was not pleased with the amount). I pointed out that I had indeed added a tip; we are on Social Security so the tip was only 17%. I would have preferred to leave more but that is what my funds allowed on this particular day. I signed the correct slip but at this point I was in tears. This interchange really ruined the experience for me. I do not know if she was harassing me due to my signing the wrong slip, or due to my tip, or both.

As I child, I came many times to the GC for tea in the afternoon. The GC is an enchanting venue and I always left impressed. I brought my grandmother with me one day, in her later years, and she was thrilled.

Maggie may be an experienced server, but this interchange left me disappointed in my experience. She did not handle the interchange smoothly nor with grace.

Thank you for your attention in this matter. I hope if I return to the GC again, I am not humiliated as I was on this day.

Vicki DeKay

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

The service has been almost always good. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 29, 2016

The service has been almost always good. The soup is barely warm lots of time. The price is high for some foods which are not so good i.e. very dried chicken. Then it is hard to get good service in SF so I forgive the over price.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

This was a day for "ladies who lunch". E ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 29, 2016

This was a day for "ladies who lunch". Every dish was gorgeous and it all tasted amazing. The modern food with the historic building is a tremendous combination.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great afternoon tea, a real treat.

vip
 (London)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great afternoon tea, a real treat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Loved the elegance and beautiful court e ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Loved the elegance and beautiful court especially the high skylight ceiling. Noise level zero and so easy to conv verse and enjoying the experience of dinning in such a natural lighted environment. Food was fine. The french toast with the fruits were delicious.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had kind, attentive service throughou ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2016

We had kind, attentive service throughout our afternoon tea. We enjoyed a lovely birthday celebration with beautiful harp music amidst the stunning atmosphere of the Garden Court. Our teapots were replenished often and the tea foods were delicious. I would have preferred more savory foods and fewer sweets, but that is simply my preference. The foods presented were delicious.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Historic, Fun, Romantic, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

This the most expensive afternoon tea in ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2016

This the most expensive afternoon tea in all of San Francisco and it was terrible. The pre-made tea sandwiches, chocolate chip scones (why would you serve that with lemon curd and apricot jam? Yuck), and petite sweets were all extremely lackluster. Although the high ceilings are lovely, the table we sat at was so dirty I had wipe tons of crumbs off the seat from whoever ate there last. The only good thing I can say is the tea was nice and they are quick the hot water. However, the servers generally ignored us unless to serve the food and hot water as quickly and possible and then scamper away without saying anything. Just awful all around. I would never have tea here again or recommend it to anyone I know.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.