About Garden Court

2 New Montgomery St.
San Francisco, CA 94105
View Larger Map

Featuring innovative intercontinental cuisine, the famed Garden Court offers a superb dining experience in a glorious setting. This historic landmark serves breakfast and lunch daily and an enchanting brunch and afternoon tea on weekends. The Garden Court features a stained glass dome, Italian marble columns, Austrian crystal chandeliers and is noted on San Francisco’s Historic Register as Landmark #18. Our Executive Chef invites you to try our signature crab salad lightly dressed in our own Green Goddess Dressing, a true Palace original created in 1923.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast:
Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 10:30am;
Saturday 6:30am - 11:00am;
Sunday - 7:00am-10:30am

Lunch:
Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 1:30pm;

Tea Time in the GC Lounge (NO RESERVATIONS REQUIRED)
Monday - Saturday 2:00pm -5:00pm

The Garden Court Signature Tea Service
Saturday 2:00pm-4:30pm

Sunday Brunch:
Sunday 11:30am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
Market St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 546-5089

Website:
http://www.sfpalace.com/dining

Executive Chef:
John Hart

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Garden Court Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.8

ambience

4.6

value

3.1

noise

Moderate

73% would recommend it to a friend

Historic (25)
Afternoon Tea (21)
Quiet Conversation (19)
See All
Special Occasion (19)
Sunday Lunch (17)
Seasonal (16)
Great for Lunch (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Great for Brunch (14)
Good for a Date (13)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Business Meals (12)
Romantic (10)
Good for Groups (9)
People Watching (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Afternoon Coffee (7)
Scenic View (6)
Fun (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Authentic (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Cozy (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Casual (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Live Music (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Healthy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Family Style (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
S
1389 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

We had breakfast with friends visiting from Vermont. We wanted them to see The Palace and especially the Garden Court. Breakfast choices were wonderful, service was outstanding, chairs comfortable and the noise level was low so we could enjoying visiting together in a non-rushed atmosphere. Our friends also wanted to see Vermonter Maxfield Parish's mural in the bar. Very special.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

Quality of food: 5 - Was there most recently for brunch. Mission Benedict was super tasty and filling, breakfast potatoes awesome.

Atmosphere: 5 - Absolutely gorgeous - like the inside of a giant Tiffany lamp - one of my favorite rooms anywhere.

Service: 4.5 - Server was friendly, attentive, and knowledgeable about the food and bubbly list.

Value: 4 - This is not the place to go if you're sticking to a tight budget, but you definitely get what you pay for.

Bottom line: This is one of my favorite places to eat anywhere and I always go back whenever I'm in San Francisco.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Afternoon Tea, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 18, 2017

This was my first time to Palace Hotel and to eat at the Garden Court. The service was excellent and the food was amazing. The ambiance was lovely and you can feel the rich history just by looking above. If I could, I would dine there everyday. What a wonderful experience, everyone, EVERYONE must go there and enjoy a bit of their lives.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Coffee, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Had anniversary lunch there. Great server, food excellent.

It was $$$, but it's the palace hotel in San Francisco.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

It has been a while since I had been to Garden Court for Sunday brunch. I did not know that they had remodeled and changed the format from buffet to menu. They took what was a vey special experi

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 12, 2017

It was beautiful, comfortable, classy! It's one of my most places in San Francisco and one of the best places to bring friends!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

wonderful ambiance but quality and quantity of the food was poor....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We were expecting to have the breakfast buffet but, apparently, that ended at 10:30. We ended up eating from the Sunday brunch menu. Not very good. The food was barely warm, it took way too long to get our food considering the restaurant wasn't very busy. Too expensive for small omelet, a few cold potatoes and a few baby tomatoes on the plate!

Tags: People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The location is a pinch me moment place to be. The room is overwhelming and opulent to the eye. The brunch, however, is less than perfect. It's not the garden of old. Where you used to see many Sunday best and purple hat wearing elders out with grand kids in tow. The menu does seem to be eclectic with variations of taster's choice selections and in season accoutrements. I would have liked to see a classic spread for brunch with dessert trays and all the pomp and circumstance that meets the Palace hotel of old. But hey, times they are a changing and I guess so are the ice sculptures and waffle bars. We'll stay next time and try the daily breakfast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

5 of us went to GC for their Sunday brunch, we tried their seafood buffet a few years back and it was wonderful. Therefore, we were a bit disappointed to find out that the buffet is no longer offered.

Food - 3 stars:

We ended up ordering the "Sea for Two", which included 1 small boil lobster, 1 medium boil crab, 4 fresh oysters and 4 prawns. The seafood was fresh but nothing special, they gave a small little cocktail sauce that's not even enough for one. The oysters also didn't have any juice in them. We also tried the salmon tartar with bagel, it was underwhelming. The benedict with Kulua pork was decent. The Kobe beef burger $30+ came with fries, it was good but not sure if it's worth to pay that price.

Environment and Service - 3 stars

They carve out half of the place for hotel guest to sit down and wait for their pick up, so the place looks more casual than before. Although the waiters are friendly, but they all seem to lack energy and what you would expect from a high end hotel. Almost every time we had to raise our hand to get something, no one seems to be keeping an eye on the guests.

Overall: the environment is still beautiful, an ideal place to hangout to have tea and chat. However, to sum up the brunch experience, the food is mediocre, plus the lacking in service, together they can't justify the price and doesn't live up to the 5 star imagine. The question for Garden Court is that what is your value proposition??

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Happy Hour, Casual, Good for a Date, Cozy, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Beautiful setting and a wonderful breakfast buffet. My husband and I enjoyed the Garden Court and thought that the Palace Hotel was absolutely gorgeous. It is a must see in San Francisco!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Having 1-2 servers was not conducive to a personalized experience. For me this was a huge treat, I am budget conscious and brought a friend for her birthday. I would have loved to have better service in such a fine place.

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 27, 2017

I took my friend to lunch at the Garden Court for her birthday. I've been going there for years, just love the ambiance. My friend and I loved the food that we ordered. Our server, Edgardo, was very attentive. I will definitely be back.

Tags: Historic, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 25, 2017

This is my favorite restaurant for lunch in SF. It is an amazing room: huge with a glass ceiling that lets in wonderful light. It has great ambiance. The food is good but perhaps a little conservative. It is also rather expensive. However, it is worth it for the amazing dining experience.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 21, 2017

really bad experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Nothing beats the Garden Court for old world charm. The menu for Sugnature Tea was nice but the servings were parsimoniously given. The servers were not cordial and did not smile and felt the yoke of their employment on their shoulders as they conducted themselves.

Tags: Seasonal, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The Garden Court is a elegant room which has fallen on hard times. The food was minimal and certainly not special or elegant. The service was atrocious and very noisy. I have gone to tea all over the world and this was one of the worst. The charge was $68 per person and for this they served 4 small sandwiches which were probably enough for a small child. The scones and desserts (also small) were passable with clotted cream and jam that had clearly been sitting out all day. Once they delivered your food the wait staff never returned to check on you. For this poor tea the Palace Garden Court charges $68 per person probably $40 more that it is worth. Find another afternoon Tea.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Absolutely beautiful, but the food was disappointing. Not very authentic and extremely overpriced. I would prefer simple scones and cucumber sandwiches to the ecclectic hodge podge of items. Perhaps it would be better for breakfast.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Host almost ruined the experience by taking forever to seat us. Hard to understand how they can have one person hosting and seating customers; we started to worry that we'd lose our reservation. Then he tried to seat us on a table far from the beauty of this place. Glad we could talk the staff into letting us seat in the middle where there was a table available. THEN any wife had to experience chew-gum on her show that someone dropped on the carpet. The waiter, Robert, cane to the rescue. He turned that bad start into a positive: amazing service, great food and outstanding champagne experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Always a treat to be in the Garden Court, a beautiful and historic place. Tea, champagne and service excellent. Will return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Could have used a fresh omelette station. Otherwise, food was fresh and tasty, and correct temperature

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 4, 2017

This was overall great lunch delicious, with excellent service. My only gripe is that it was practically empty but the seated people right next to us so we had to compete with their conversation. There were plenty of other tables they could have used. I've read other reviews and although it is pricey we certainly knew that beforehand.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We went there when my good friend's mom was visiting from the East coast. A perfect place to showcase San Francisco. The food is fine but seriously you don't go there for the food!! The experience is in being there at the Garden Court!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our waiter was constantly in a rush, we could never order all at once because he would run away, paying very little attention to us. He was generally rude, especially when we asked about something that was wrong with one dish (due to food restrictions of people in our party, we wanted to know what was on top of the tomatoes - dark seeds in some vinaigrette - and so we asked "excuse me, could you tell us what's this?" - pointing at the sauce. He replied: "cherry tomatoes", and left. Seriously?

Love the Garden Court, such unique ambiance and decor, too bad the service is rude (this is not my first time here, but I never felt like their servers care even a little bit) as if they know you're just a tourist visiting and maybe never coming back (guess what, I live here).

Disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The Garden Court was very disappointing. An old friend and I went for brunch to catch up. We were told by a server to do the buffet because the kitchen was way behind, so we did. When we got there they were out of scrambled eggs. Just an empty tray. There were two Eggs Benedict left, and we each took one. They were not even lukewarm. They were cold. Everything else was ordinary except the lox, which was delicious. But they had no bagels at first, so that had to wait.

But you go for the ambience you say? Well, even that has gone way downhill since we had last been there years ago. The room is still a grand room of course, but they have removed the plantings which made it elegant, turned half the room into the hotel lobby, and scrunched all the tables in the other half of the room close together. It was no longer a relaxing quiet, almost hushed room, but almost more resembled a cafeteria.

Save your money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Always excellent for special occasions, excellent service and choices for food.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Mediocre overpriced food . They offered a fixed price holiday menu with very few choices

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 26, 2016

I felt for the hefty fixed price there was not much of a selection.I expected so much more for this holiday event.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Nice experience. The. Garden Court's Christmas atmosphere was classic, nostalgic, and delightful. The valet parking was timely and helpful, both coming and going. The chauffeurs were more than congenial.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Outstanding service and food.

Went to celebrate Christmas lunch with out of town family

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Elegant holiday luncheon. The staff was very friendly and attentive.

Tags: Scenic View, People Watching, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 20, 2016

For my daughter's 30th birthday, I decided to book lunch at the Garden Court for a happy trip down memory lane. The first time she accompanied me to an attorneys' seminar in San Francisco, we had brunch at the Garden Court beforehand; although she was just 4 years-old, she still recalls being awed by the stained-glass ceiling and delicious food.

Unfortunately, her memory was neither enhanced nor renewed by our most recent dining experience, which included steak so tough that the table shook as the meat was being cut. Had we not already waited for well over an hour to be served, I would have sent the steak back or asked for a saw.

Because my daughter is now an attorney herself in New York City, she has her choice of fine dining experiences - both there and wherever work takes her internationally. While the Garden Court remains a spectacular vision of historic opulence, its excellent dining experience has lost much of its luster.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 20, 2016

I would go back for cocktails or tea and coffee but not again for a meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 19, 2016

It is beautiful restaurant and very quiet. The foods are over priced---$32 for hamburger ? Some waiters are occasionally rude.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Afternoon Tea, Historic, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Limited menu and pricy with above average ambience leads to a mixed review.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

I booked our reservtion months in advance as t was my 60th birthday and I wanted something very special. I was disappointed. I was expecting the outstanding buffet brunch that we had on our last visit. The brunch has been discontinued. They had a holiday brunch menu posted at the entrance, bur that wasn't offered. The food was fine, but nothing special. The plates were left on our table for far too long after all of us had finished eating. Our server was very friendly, but could have been more attentive. We won't be going back until thy resume the brunch buffet.

Tags: Seasonal, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 14, 2016

a most amazing setting esp at Christmas time. sorry the gingerbread house wasn't there. it's very pricey but for a really special occasion it's worth it.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Met for lunch with family from out of town. Everything was perfect! The food, the service, the ambiance. A very special experience made more so when the bell staff went out of their way to help my mom, who is in a wheelchair, get in and out of the hotel.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Historic, Special Occasion, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 12, 2016

We were very surprised at the fixed price menu the beginning of December. $65 for a 2 course meal plus $20 more for dessert is over the top. I have always loved the room and it was decorated beautifully - but too much money for lunch.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 12, 2016

This restaurant is beautiful and the service is excellent. However, the high price of the pre fixe menu, exceeds the value of the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 11, 2016

NOTE: This review is limited to a single visit for our annual SF trip for 2016.

Sadly, we weren't aware the standard Christmas Brunch had been scaled down to near nothing. For the Garden Court, the food was good and service great! No piano either. Asked when we sat if we had a coupon? Sad really. Far, far, far different experience many of the last 15 years. We stayed at the Palace for the purpose of enjoying Christmas brunch. No more....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 8, 2016

My friend and I go to the Garden Court for lunch once each December to splurge and enjoy an elegant meal in a beautiful Christmasy setting. I look forward to it with great pleasure and am not disappointed. What a beautiful place! The service is excellent as well.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Seasonal, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 3, 2016

WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE! WE WERE CELEBRATING OUR QUARTERLY "GIRLS DAY" OUT. WE SO ENJOYED OURSELVES! THANKS!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Seasonal, Modern Decor, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 2, 2016

The setting was dreamy. Harp player was incredible! Food was presented well ( we had vegetarian option ) desert presentation was gorgeous! Tea was fabulous! We stayed just over 2 hours for our party of 3 people. Enjoyed every minute of it! Will definitely go again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2016

This is the most spectacular place to enjoy a meal in San Francisco, which puts it in the running for most spectacular world wide. We had "Sea for Two" which was outstanding. Live jazz music was great. Service was very friendly. Very hard to top this.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2016

I made a reservation for Sunday brunch expecting that they still offered the incomparable full Sunday afternoon Champagne buffet brunch. Wrong! GC switched to a menu based brunch not long ago. The wait staff said that many people had come in and complained or left after finding the buffet was gone. The regular brunch was no where near as good or as delightful as the buffet brunch. I will pass until they bring it back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

$90 per person - way to expensive for the amount of food and quality

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The tea service at the Garden Court has declined significantly over the past couple of years. We have been having tea the day after Thanksgiving here for years, and what was once a beautiful, elegant, tea service has become mediocre on a good day. Everything has declined from the quality of the sandwiches (they had clearly been sitting for some time - the bread was stale and the piped topping had developed a hard crust - we did not even finish them) to the service (small things that make a difference like dropping the teapot at your table and disappearing vs filling your cup). Even the serving trays that the tea sandwiches and desserts are served on, which used to be very nice have been replaced by cheap plastic. The beauty of the room itself cannot make up for the decline of just about every other aspect of this tea service. We will definitely be finding a new place to have tea going forward.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We had a wonderful breakfast and especially appreciated the crown for our little guy who was turning seven!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Lovely ambiance, lovely setting for a special occasion brunch or tea. Very accommodating staff.

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.