About Garden Court

Featuring innovative intercontinental cuisine, the famed Garden Court offers a superb dining experience in a glorious setting. This historic landmark serves breakfast and lunch daily and an enchanting brunch and afternoon tea on weekends. The Garden Court features a stained glass dome, Italian marble columns, Austrian crystal chandeliers and is noted on San Francisco’s Historic Register as Landmark #18. Our Executive Chef invites you to try our signature crab salad lightly dressed in our own Green Goddess Dressing, a true Palace original created in 1923.

2 New Montgomery St.
San Francisco, CA 94105
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast:
Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 10:30am;
Saturday 6:30am - 11:00am;
Sunday - 7:00am-10:30am

Lunch:
Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 1:30pm;

Tea Time in the GC Lounge (NO RESERVATIONS REQUIRED)
Monday - Saturday 2:00pm -5:00pm

The Garden Court Signature Tea Service
Saturday 2:00pm-4:30pm

Sunday Brunch:
Sunday 11:30am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
Market St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 546-5089

Website:
http://www.sfpalace.com/dining

Executive Chef:
John Hart

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Smoked Salmon Roulade - Garden Court, San Francisco, CA
Organic Egg Remoulade Sandwich - Garden Court, San Francisco, CA
Signature Palace Crab Salad - Garden Court, San Francisco, CA
Asparagus Soup - Garden Court, San Francisco, CA
Lemonade - Garden Court, San Francisco, CA
Thanksgiving Buffet - Garden Court, San Francisco, CA
Brunch Buffet - Garden Court, San Francisco, CA
Pastries - Garden Court, San Francisco, CA
Chocolate Covered Strawberry - Garden Court, San Francisco, CA
Sparkling Wine - Garden Court, San Francisco, CA
Scones - Garden Court, San Francisco, CA
Assorted Pastries - Garden Court, San Francisco, CA
Pai Mu Tau Silver Eyp White Tea - Garden Court, San Francisco, CA
Scone - Garden Court, San Francisco, CA
Afternoon Tea Service - Garden Court, San Francisco, CA
Tea Sandwich - Garden Court, San Francisco, CA
Assorted Breads - Garden Court, San Francisco, CA
Dungeness Crab Meat Sandwiches With Sweet Potato Fries - Garden Court, San Francisco, CA
shrimp salad - Garden Court, San Francisco, CA
Chocolate Mousse Cheesecake - Garden Court, San Francisco, CA
Blueberry Pancakes With Toasted Walnuts - Garden Court, San Francisco, CA
Macadamia Nut Belgian Waffle - Garden Court, San Francisco, CA
Buffet Plate - Garden Court, San Francisco, CA
Tea Service - Garden Court, San Francisco, CA

Garden Court Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.8

ambience

4.6

value

3.1

noise

Moderate

74% would recommend it to a friend

Afternoon Tea (23)
Historic (23)
Quiet Conversation (19)
See All
Special Occasion (19)
Sunday Lunch (16)
Great for Brunch (16)
Great for Lunch (15)
Seasonal (14)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Good for a Date (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Business Meals (10)
Romantic (9)
People Watching (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Afternoon Coffee (7)
Scenic View (6)
Fun (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Authentic (5)
Cozy (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Live Music (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Casual (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Healthy (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1368 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Host almost ruined the experience by tak ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

Host almost ruined the experience by taking forever to seat us. Hard to understand how they can have one person hosting and seating customers; we started to worry that we'd lose our reservation. Then he tried to seat us on a table far from the beauty of this place. Glad we could talk the staff into letting us seat in the middle where there was a table available. THEN any wife had to experience chew-gum on her show that someone dropped on the carpet. The waiter, Robert, cane to the rescue. He turned that bad start into a positive: amazing service, great food and outstanding champagne experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Could have used a fresh omelette station ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Could have used a fresh omelette station. Otherwise, food was fresh and tasty, and correct temperature

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was overall great lunch delicious, ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 4, 2017

This was overall great lunch delicious, with excellent service. My only gripe is that it was practically empty but the seated people right next to us so we had to compete with their conversation. There were plenty of other tables they could have used. I've read other reviews and although it is pricey we certainly knew that beforehand.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We went there when my good friend's mom ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We went there when my good friend's mom was visiting from the East coast. A perfect place to showcase San Francisco. The food is fine but seriously you don't go there for the food!! The experience is in being there at the Garden Court!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Our waiter was constantly in a rush, we ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our waiter was constantly in a rush, we could never order all at once because he would run away, paying very little attention to us. He was generally rude, especially when we asked about something that was wrong with one dish (due to food restrictions of people in our party, we wanted to know what was on top of the tomatoes - dark seeds in some vinaigrette - and so we asked "excuse me, could you tell us what's this?" - pointing at the sauce. He replied: "cherry tomatoes", and left. Seriously?

Love the Garden Court, such unique ambiance and decor, too bad the service is rude (this is not my first time here, but I never felt like their servers care even a little bit) as if they know you're just a tourist visiting and maybe never coming back (guess what, I live here).

Disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

The Garden Court was very disappointing. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The Garden Court was very disappointing. An old friend and I went for brunch to catch up. We were told by a server to do the buffet because the kitchen was way behind, so we did. When we got there they were out of scrambled eggs. Just an empty tray. There were two Eggs Benedict left, and we each took one. They were not even lukewarm. They were cold. Everything else was ordinary except the lox, which was delicious. But they had no bagels at first, so that had to wait.

But you go for the ambience you say? Well, even that has gone way downhill since we had last been there years ago. The room is still a grand room of course, but they have removed the plantings which made it elegant, turned half the room into the hotel lobby, and scrunched all the tables in the other half of the room close together. It was no longer a relaxing quiet, almost hushed room, but almost more resembled a cafeteria.

Save your money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Always excellent for special occasions, ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Always excellent for special occasions, excellent service and choices for food.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Mediocre overpriced food . They offered ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Mediocre overpriced food . They offered a fixed price holiday menu with very few choices

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

I felt for the hefty fixed price there w ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 26, 2016

I felt for the hefty fixed price there was not much of a selection.I expected so much more for this holiday event.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Nice experience. The. Garden Court's Ch ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Nice experience. The. Garden Court's Christmas atmosphere was classic, nostalgic, and delightful. The valet parking was timely and helpful, both coming and going. The chauffeurs were more than congenial.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Outstanding service and food. Went to c ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Outstanding service and food.

Went to celebrate Christmas lunch with out of town family

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Elegant holiday luncheon. The staff was ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Elegant holiday luncheon. The staff was very friendly and attentive.

Tags: Scenic View, People Watching, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

For my daughter's 30th birthday, I decid ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 20, 2016

For my daughter's 30th birthday, I decided to book lunch at the Garden Court for a happy trip down memory lane. The first time she accompanied me to an attorneys' seminar in San Francisco, we had brunch at the Garden Court beforehand; although she was just 4 years-old, she still recalls being awed by the stained-glass ceiling and delicious food.

Unfortunately, her memory was neither enhanced nor renewed by our most recent dining experience, which included steak so tough that the table shook as the meat was being cut. Had we not already waited for well over an hour to be served, I would have sent the steak back or asked for a saw.

Because my daughter is now an attorney herself in New York City, she has her choice of fine dining experiences - both there and wherever work takes her internationally. While the Garden Court remains a spectacular vision of historic opulence, its excellent dining experience has lost much of its luster.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

I would go back for cocktails or tea and ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 20, 2016

I would go back for cocktails or tea and coffee but not again for a meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2

It is beautiful restaurant and very qui ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 19, 2016

It is beautiful restaurant and very quiet. The foods are over priced---$32 for hamburger ? Some waiters are occasionally rude.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Afternoon Tea, Historic, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Limited menu and pricy with above averag ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Limited menu and pricy with above average ambience leads to a mixed review.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

I booked our reservtion months in advanc ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

I booked our reservtion months in advance as t was my 60th birthday and I wanted something very special. I was disappointed. I was expecting the outstanding buffet brunch that we had on our last visit. The brunch has been discontinued. They had a holiday brunch menu posted at the entrance, bur that wasn't offered. The food was fine, but nothing special. The plates were left on our table for far too long after all of us had finished eating. Our server was very friendly, but could have been more attentive. We won't be going back until thy resume the brunch buffet.

Tags: Seasonal, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

a most amazing setting esp at Christmas ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 14, 2016

a most amazing setting esp at Christmas time. sorry the gingerbread house wasn't there. it's very pricey but for a really special occasion it's worth it.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Met for lunch with family from out of to ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Met for lunch with family from out of town. Everything was perfect! The food, the service, the ambiance. A very special experience made more so when the bell staff went out of their way to help my mom, who is in a wheelchair, get in and out of the hotel.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Historic, Special Occasion, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We were very surprised at the fixed pric ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 12, 2016

We were very surprised at the fixed price menu the beginning of December. $65 for a 2 course meal plus $20 more for dessert is over the top. I have always loved the room and it was decorated beautifully - but too much money for lunch.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

This restaurant is beautiful and the ser ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 12, 2016

This restaurant is beautiful and the service is excellent. However, the high price of the pre fixe menu, exceeds the value of the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value1

NOTE: This review is limited to a single ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 11, 2016

NOTE: This review is limited to a single visit for our annual SF trip for 2016.

Sadly, we weren't aware the standard Christmas Brunch had been scaled down to near nothing. For the Garden Court, the food was good and service great! No piano either. Asked when we sat if we had a coupon? Sad really. Far, far, far different experience many of the last 15 years. We stayed at the Palace for the purpose of enjoying Christmas brunch. No more....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

My friend and I go to the Garden Court f ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 8, 2016

My friend and I go to the Garden Court for lunch once each December to splurge and enjoy an elegant meal in a beautiful Christmasy setting. I look forward to it with great pleasure and am not disappointed. What a beautiful place! The service is excellent as well.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Seasonal, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE! WE WERE CELEBRATIN ...

 
·Dined on December 3, 2016

WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE! WE WERE CELEBRATING OUR QUARTERLY "GIRLS DAY" OUT. WE SO ENJOYED OURSELVES! THANKS!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Seasonal, Modern Decor, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The setting was dreamy. Harp player wa ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 2, 2016

The setting was dreamy. Harp player was incredible! Food was presented well ( we had vegetarian option ) desert presentation was gorgeous! Tea was fabulous! We stayed just over 2 hours for our party of 3 people. Enjoyed every minute of it! Will definitely go again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

This is the most spectacular place to en ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2016

This is the most spectacular place to enjoy a meal in San Francisco, which puts it in the running for most spectacular world wide. We had "Sea for Two" which was outstanding. Live jazz music was great. Service was very friendly. Very hard to top this.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I made a reservation for Sunday brunch e ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2016

I made a reservation for Sunday brunch expecting that they still offered the incomparable full Sunday afternoon Champagne buffet brunch. Wrong! GC switched to a menu based brunch not long ago. The wait staff said that many people had come in and complained or left after finding the buffet was gone. The regular brunch was no where near as good or as delightful as the buffet brunch. I will pass until they bring it back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value1

$90 per person - way to expensive for th ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

$90 per person - way to expensive for the amount of food and quality

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

The tea service at the Garden Court has ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The tea service at the Garden Court has declined significantly over the past couple of years. We have been having tea the day after Thanksgiving here for years, and what was once a beautiful, elegant, tea service has become mediocre on a good day. Everything has declined from the quality of the sandwiches (they had clearly been sitting for some time - the bread was stale and the piped topping had developed a hard crust - we did not even finish them) to the service (small things that make a difference like dropping the teapot at your table and disappearing vs filling your cup). Even the serving trays that the tea sandwiches and desserts are served on, which used to be very nice have been replaced by cheap plastic. The beauty of the room itself cannot make up for the decline of just about every other aspect of this tea service. We will definitely be finding a new place to have tea going forward.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2

We had a wonderful breakfast and especia ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We had a wonderful breakfast and especially appreciated the crown for our little guy who was turning seven!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely ambiance, lovely setting for a sp ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Lovely ambiance, lovely setting for a special occasion brunch or tea. Very accommodating staff.

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was an exceptional place to eat. De ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

This was an exceptional place to eat. Definitely worth coming to. The food and drinks were phenomenal, beautiful presentation.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fun, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice setting. The food was delicio ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Very nice setting. The food was delicious. Particularly enjoyed the yogurt. Berries were wonderful too. Also the cheese selection. Dried figs were a nice touch to the visual presentation. Very nice. Happy to return to The Palace Hotel for a special birthday breakfast.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

this is a gorgeous, historic setting but ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 6, 2016

this is a gorgeous, historic setting

but the service is poor ( waitstaff avoiding eyecontact, not available)

three times i was served lukewarm coffee even after i pointed out that the coffee was not hot

food was served cold that should have been ho

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value3

I stayed at the Palace Hotel around 15 y ...

 
 (London)·Dined on October 30, 2016

I stayed at the Palace Hotel around 15 years ago and was keen to come back. It's really gone downhill unfortunately. We had Sunday brunch.

There is a general 'don't care' attitude. There were dirty plates on the table when we were seated, the wine glass was chipped, the waiter slopped coffee across the table and seemed to resent taking an order - all these things can happen, but at $120 for a single course brunch and drink ,it would be nice to feel valued. The food is adequate, the menu anodyne, and though the ceiling is really beautiful the refurb has lots its "garden"charm of wicker and palms, and replaced it with a bland hotel set of furniture. The live music was the best thing about it.

The restrooms are locked and you have to ask hotel staff to let you in which isn't very classy, especially when the staff are reluctant to work!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

If you're looking for attentive service ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 28, 2016

If you're looking for attentive service in regal surroundings, add this place to your list!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

A wonderful place for widely- dispersed ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

A wonderful place for widely- dispersed family to get together for excellent brunch fare in a splendid, historic setting.

Tags: Fun, People Watching, Historic, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Garden Court is a fabulous place. The a ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Garden Court is a fabulous place. The ambience is superb..not your typical restaurant setting. We always go to a weekend breakfast or brunch and we love both. The service is always 5-star. The value for the $ is very good..nice selection of food, all high quality.

I would recommend to anyone. We like it for special occasions especially.

Larry Willis

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice room, quiet relaxed service, not a ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Nice room, quiet relaxed service, not a bargain but fair value

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We were four (4) ladies celebrating a bi ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We were four (4) ladies celebrating a birthday and thought that The Palace Garden Court would be a lovely place to have brunch. Well, we were extremely disappointed in both the food and the service.

I am sorry to report that I would not recommend this venue to any of my friends!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.