About Garden Court

Featuring innovative intercontinental cuisine, the famed Garden Court offers a superb dining experience in a glorious setting. This historic landmark serves breakfast and lunch daily and an enchanting brunch and afternoon tea on weekends. The Garden Court features a stained glass dome, Italian marble columns, Austrian crystal chandeliers and is noted on San Francisco’s Historic Register as Landmark #18. Our Executive Chef invites you to try our signature crab salad lightly dressed in our own Green Goddess Dressing, a true Palace original created in 1923.

2 New Montgomery St.
San Francisco, CA 94105
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast:
Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 10:30am;
Saturday 6:30am - 11:00am;
Sunday - 7:00am-10:30am

Lunch:
Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 1:30pm;

Tea Time in the GC Lounge (NO RESERVATIONS REQUIRED)
Monday - Saturday 2:00pm -5:00pm

The Garden Court Signature Tea Service
Saturday 2:00pm-4:30pm

Sunday Brunch:
Sunday 11:30am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
Market St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 546-5089

Website:
http://www.sfpalace.com/dining

Executive Chef:
John Hart

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Garden Court Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.8

ambience

4.6

value

3.1

noise

Moderate

76% would recommend it to a friend

Historic (29)
Special Occasion (23)
Afternoon Tea (21)
See All
Sunday Lunch (21)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Great for Brunch (16)
Business Meals (14)
Seasonal (14)
Romantic (13)
Great for Lunch (13)
Good for a Date (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
People Watching (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Scenic View (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Authentic (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Live Music (5)
Cozy (4)
Fun (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Casual (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Family Style (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Healthy (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Tapas (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
S
1401 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Wonderful brunch for a special
weekend getaway. Service and food great. Wonderful ambiance.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Authentic, Live Music, Comfort Food, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 19, 2017

This is one of the better buffet style breakfasts one could expect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Ambiance was nice, service was slow. Way over priced, we went for the high tea and for two adults and a child our bill was over $250. Not that I mind the Splurge but it was pretty obscene to charge that much for what was essentially a couple of sandwiches chopped up, hot water, and a handful of pastries. We all left hungry!

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The Garden Court symbolizes, along with its Palace Hotel location, the elegant history of San Francisco. The cuisine, service and music were matched only by the elegance of the Garden Court architecture.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Live Music, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great food and service. Wish there was music around the time we got there. The harpist came when we had already paid.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Family Style, Great for Brunch, Disabled Access, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Beautiful place to celebrate or just go for lunch or high tea. The food was delicious. The price was a little more then someone might want to spend for lunch but for a special occasion and if your wallet lets you to splurge a little more it's totally worth it. Great service. Very nice staff. You don't feel rushed to have to leave right after eating. Comfortable seating and enough space between tables to have a nice time out with a loved one.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 6, 2017

We've been here a few times and the food has always been good. The dining staff is always friendly and helpful -- always there, but not intrusive. It has always been relatively quiet so you can have a nice conversation without having to yell across the table. I'm not sure what's changed, but I'd rate the food on this visit as just average. Not call to home good. Not I'll never go there again either. My wife had the chicken and I the fettuccine. The chicken portion was small and came with very few vegetables. The fettuccine was a nice sized meal, just no pizzazz. We had dessert -- which after seeing another guests we should have gone with the gelato. Will we go back -- of course.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Historic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (London)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Fabulous brunch, live piano in a historic setting reminiscent of the Crystal Palace in London UK. Beautiful glass ceilings, romanesque columns. The service was just OK, we had to ask for water 3 times and both servers kept forgetting. The maitre'd was superb. The live piano was a nice touch. The brunch menu was creative, delicious and worth the visit.

Even though the restaurant was fairly empty when we arrived, it was still fairly noisy. Worth going for the venue and food alone. Tables could be separated a bit more.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Historic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The Garden Court experience centers around the marvelously expansive interior space of marble pillars, chandeliers, with a towering glass ceiling. The jazz combo, "big city" menu and attentive service make this a must destination for locals and their out-of-town guests.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on March 4, 2017

I love this venue so I booked a reservation for the Saturday Tea Service at noon (I was surprised they were offering tea so early), however when we arrived we were informed that Tea starts at 2pm and the only available option was lunch. At first I thought it was my mistake and I didn't do the reservation correctly but there were two other groups that were seated just after us that ALSO thought they were coming to Tea! Anyway, Garden Court is such a beautiful venue that we stayed and had a wonderful lunch. But I rated 3 stars because the reservation system did not clearly differentiate Tea from Lunch....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Terrible service!!! Server served my $7.00 cappuccino without a saucer and the cup had coffee spill stains around the cup's sides. When I complained, the server said, "oh!" and promptly went to get a saucer and plumped down the dirty cup on it. He thought he solved the problem by bringing me a saucer. When I complained again that the cappuccino looked like it spilled all over, and was served with his fingers on top of cup, he brought me another cappuccino. He then promptly billed me for 2 cups when the bill came! No apology. No understanding of what their service was about in a supposedly high priced restaurant. Never coming back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Took my wife here for a Sunday morning breakfast to start off the day-long celebration of her birthday. Just a classy place with great food and service.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 21, 2017

We had breakfast with friends visiting from Vermont. We wanted them to see The Palace and especially the Garden Court. Breakfast choices were wonderful, service was outstanding, chairs comfortable and the noise level was low so we could enjoying visiting together in a non-rushed atmosphere. Our friends also wanted to see Vermonter Maxfield Parish's mural in the bar. Very special.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Quality of food: 5 - Was there most recently for brunch. Mission Benedict was super tasty and filling, breakfast potatoes awesome.
Atmosphere: 5 - Absolutely gorgeous - like the inside of a giant Tiffany lamp - one of my favorite rooms anywhere.
Service: 4.5 - Server was friendly, attentive, and knowledgeable about the food and bubbly list.
Value: 4 - This is not the place to go if you're sticking to a tight budget, but you definitely get what you pay for.
Bottom line: This is one of my favorite places to eat anywhere and I always go back whenever I'm in San Francisco.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Afternoon Tea, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 18, 2017

This was my first time to Palace Hotel and to eat at the Garden Court. The service was excellent and the food was amazing. The ambiance was lovely and you can feel the rich history just by looking above. If I could, I would dine there everyday. What a wonderful experience, everyone, EVERYONE must go there and enjoy a bit of their lives.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Coffee, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Had anniversary lunch there. Great server, food excellent.
It was $$$, but it's the palace hotel in San Francisco.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

It has been a while since I had been to Garden Court for Sunday brunch. I did not know that they had remodeled and changed the format from buffet to menu. They took what was a vey special experi

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 12, 2017

It was beautiful, comfortable, classy! It's one of my most places in San Francisco and one of the best places to bring friends!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

wonderful ambiance but quality and quantity of the food was poor....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We were expecting to have the breakfast buffet but, apparently, that ended at 10:30. We ended up eating from the Sunday brunch menu. Not very good. The food was barely warm, it took way too long to get our food considering the restaurant wasn't very busy. Too expensive for small omelet, a few cold potatoes and a few baby tomatoes on the plate!

Tags: People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The location is a pinch me moment place to be. The room is overwhelming and opulent to the eye. The brunch, however, is less than perfect. It's not the garden of old. Where you used to see many Sunday best and purple hat wearing elders out with grand kids in tow. The menu does seem to be eclectic with variations of taster's choice selections and in season accoutrements. I would have liked to see a classic spread for brunch with dessert trays and all the pomp and circumstance that meets the Palace hotel of old. But hey, times they are a changing and I guess so are the ice sculptures and waffle bars. We'll stay next time and try the daily breakfast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

5 of us went to GC for their Sunday brunch, we tried their seafood buffet a few years back and it was wonderful. Therefore, we were a bit disappointed to find out that the buffet is no longer offered.

Food - 3 stars:
We ended up ordering the "Sea for Two", which included 1 small boil lobster, 1 medium boil crab, 4 fresh oysters and 4 prawns. The seafood was fresh but nothing special, they gave a small little cocktail sauce that's not even enough for one. The oysters also didn't have any juice in them. We also tried the salmon tartar with bagel, it was underwhelming. The benedict with Kulua pork was decent. The Kobe beef burger $30+ came with fries, it was good but not sure if it's worth to pay that price.

Environment and Service - 3 stars
They carve out half of the place for hotel guest to sit down and wait for their pick up, so the place looks more casual than before. Although the waiters are friendly, but they all seem to lack energy and what you would expect from a high end hotel. Almost every time we had to raise our hand to get something, no one seems to be keeping an eye on the guests.

Overall: the environment is still beautiful, an ideal place to hangout to have tea and chat. However, to sum up the brunch experience, the food is mediocre, plus the lacking in service, together they can't justify the price and doesn't live up to the 5 star imagine. The question for Garden Court is that what is your value proposition??

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Happy Hour, Casual, Good for a Date, Cozy, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Beautiful setting and a wonderful breakfast buffet. My husband and I enjoyed the Garden Court and thought that the Palace Hotel was absolutely gorgeous. It is a must see in San Francisco!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Having 1-2 servers was not conducive to a personalized experience. For me this was a huge treat, I am budget conscious and brought a friend for her birthday. I would have loved to have better service in such a fine place.

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 27, 2017

I took my friend to lunch at the Garden Court for her birthday. I've been going there for years, just love the ambiance. My friend and I loved the food that we ordered. Our server, Edgardo, was very attentive. I will definitely be back.

Tags: Historic, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 25, 2017

This is my favorite restaurant for lunch in SF. It is an amazing room: huge with a glass ceiling that lets in wonderful light. It has great ambiance. The food is good but perhaps a little conservative. It is also rather expensive. However, it is worth it for the amazing dining experience.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 21, 2017

really bad experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Nothing beats the Garden Court for old world charm. The menu for Sugnature Tea was nice but the servings were parsimoniously given. The servers were not cordial and did not smile and felt the yoke of their employment on their shoulders as they conducted themselves.

Tags: Seasonal, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The Garden Court is a elegant room which has fallen on hard times. The food was minimal and certainly not special or elegant. The service was atrocious and very noisy. I have gone to tea all over the world and this was one of the worst. The charge was $68 per person and for this they served 4 small sandwiches which were probably enough for a small child. The scones and desserts (also small) were passable with clotted cream and jam that had clearly been sitting out all day. Once they delivered your food the wait staff never returned to check on you. For this poor tea the Palace Garden Court charges $68 per person probably $40 more that it is worth. Find another afternoon Tea.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Absolutely beautiful, but the food was disappointing. Not very authentic and extremely overpriced. I would prefer simple scones and cucumber sandwiches to the ecclectic hodge podge of items. Perhaps it would be better for breakfast.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Host almost ruined the experience by taking forever to seat us. Hard to understand how they can have one person hosting and seating customers; we started to worry that we'd lose our reservation. Then he tried to seat us on a table far from the beauty of this place. Glad we could talk the staff into letting us seat in the middle where there *was* a table available. THEN any wife had to experience chew-gum on her show that someone dropped on the carpet. The waiter, Robert, cane to the rescue. He turned that bad start into a positive: amazing service, great food and outstanding champagne experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Always a treat to be in the Garden Court, a beautiful and historic place. Tea, champagne and service excellent. Will return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Could have used a fresh omelette station. Otherwise, food was fresh and tasty, and correct temperature

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 4, 2017

This was overall great lunch delicious, with excellent service. My only gripe is that it was practically empty but the seated people right next to us so we had to compete with their conversation. There were plenty of other tables they could have used. I've read other reviews and although it is pricey we certainly knew that beforehand.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We went there when my good friend's mom was visiting from the East coast. A perfect place to showcase San Francisco. The food is fine but seriously you don't go there for the food!! The experience is in being there at the Garden Court!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our waiter was constantly in a rush, we could never order all at once because he would run away, paying very little attention to us. He was generally rude, especially when we asked about something that was wrong with one dish (due to food restrictions of people in our party, we wanted to know what was on top of the tomatoes - dark seeds in some vinaigrette - and so we asked "excuse me, could you tell us what's this?" - pointing at the sauce. He replied: "cherry tomatoes", and left. Seriously?

Love the Garden Court, such unique ambiance and decor, too bad the service is rude (this is not my first time here, but I never felt like their servers care even a little bit) as if they know you're just a tourist visiting and maybe never coming back (guess what, I live here).

Disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The Garden Court was very disappointing. An old friend and I went for brunch to catch up. We were told by a server to do the buffet because the kitchen was way behind, so we did. When we got there they were out of scrambled eggs. Just an empty tray. There were two Eggs Benedict left, and we each took one. They were not even lukewarm. They were cold. Everything else was ordinary except the lox, which was delicious. But they had no bagels at first, so that had to wait.

But you go for the ambience you say? Well, even that has gone way downhill since we had last been there years ago. The room is still a grand room of course, but they have removed the plantings which made it elegant, turned half the room into the hotel lobby, and scrunched all the tables in the other half of the room close together. It was no longer a relaxing quiet, almost hushed room, but almost more resembled a cafeteria.

Save your money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Always excellent for special occasions, excellent service and choices for food.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Mediocre overpriced food . They offered a fixed price holiday menu with very few choices

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 26, 2016

I felt for the hefty fixed price there was not much of a selection.I expected so much more for this holiday event.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.