About Garden Court

2 New Montgomery St.
San Francisco, CA 94105
View Larger Map

Featuring innovative intercontinental cuisine, the famed Garden Court offers a superb dining experience in a glorious setting. This historic landmark serves breakfast and lunch daily and an enchanting brunch and afternoon tea on weekends. The Garden Court features a stained glass dome, Italian marble columns, Austrian crystal chandeliers and is noted on San Francisco’s Historic Register as Landmark #18. Our Executive Chef invites you to try our signature crab salad lightly dressed in our own Green Goddess Dressing, a true Palace original created in 1923.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast:
Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 10:30am;
Saturday 6:30am - 11:00am;
Sunday - 7:00am-10:30am

Lunch:
Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 1:30pm;

Tea Time in the GC Lounge (NO RESERVATIONS REQUIRED)
Monday - Sunday 2:00pm -5:00pm

The Garden Court Signature Tea Service
Saturday 2:00pm-4:30pm

Garden Court City Brunch:
Sunday 11:30am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
Market St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 546-5089

Website:
http://www.sfpalace.com/dining

Executive Chef:
Jesse Llapitan

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Garden Court
Signature Palace Crab Salad
Smoked Salmon Roulade
Organic Egg Remoulade Sandwich
Asparagus Soup
Lemonade
Thanksgiving Buffet
Brunch Buffet
Pastries
Chocolate Covered Strawberry
Sparkling Wine
Scones
Assorted Pastries
Pai Mu Tau Silver Eyp White Tea
Scone
Afternoon Tea Service
Tea Sandwich
Assorted Breads
Dungeness Crab Meat Sandwiches With Sweet Potato Fries
shrimp salad
Chocolate Mousse Cheesecake
Blueberry Pancakes With Toasted Walnuts
Macadamia Nut Belgian Waffle
Buffet Plate
Tea Service

Garden Court Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.5

service

3.7

ambience

4.5

value

3.1

noise

Moderate

66% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
San Francisco
Best Restaurants in SOMA ›

Special Occasion (43)
Great for Brunch (26)
Great for Lunch (18)
See All
Romantic (16)
Scenic View (11)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Hot Spot (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1239 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Loved the elegance and beautiful court e ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

Loved the elegance and beautiful court especially the high skylight ceiling. Noise level zero and so easy to conv verse and enjoying the experience of dinning in such a natural lighted environment. Food was fine. The french toast with the fruits were delicious.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had kind, attentive service throughou ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

We had kind, attentive service throughout our afternoon tea. We enjoyed a lovely birthday celebration with beautiful harp music amidst the stunning atmosphere of the Garden Court. Our teapots were replenished often and the tea foods were delicious. I would have preferred more savory foods and fewer sweets, but that is simply my preference. The foods presented were delicious.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Historic, Fun, Romantic, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

This the most expensive afternoon tea in ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

This the most expensive afternoon tea in all of San Francisco and it was terrible. The pre-made tea sandwiches, chocolate chip scones (why would you serve that with lemon curd and apricot jam? Yuck), and petite sweets were all extremely lackluster. Although the high ceilings are lovely, the table we sat at was so dirty I had wipe tons of crumbs off the seat from whoever ate there last. The only good thing I can say is the tea was nice and they are quick the hot water. However, the servers generally ignored us unless to serve the food and hot water as quickly and possible and then scamper away without saying anything. Just awful all around. I would never have tea here again or recommend it to anyone I know.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Ambient setting. Worst afternoon tea ... ...

 
 (Bristol)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Ambient setting. Worst afternoon tea ... didn't finish sandwiches or cakes.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

For the occasion of a 50th birthday anni ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

For the occasion of a 50th birthday anniversary we decided to have a family signature tea for four (2 adults, 2 kids).

Unfortunately our both kids were stomach sick and were taking peniciline which didn't allow them to take any of the offered meals.

We explained the situation first to the waitress and then we had to repeat it again to the head waiter. His reaction was quite rude as he had difficulties to accept the situation and was obviously thinking whether it is acceptable for the Garden Court or not to relinquish two meals to be sold.

After a while he accepted the situation and we ordered two meals for the adults and two drinks for the kids (Coca Cola). All over sudden he refused to bring the two Cokes because Coke would be not good for any stomach problem (which is completely stupid). Instead he offered pure water. In order to calm down the situation we finally agreed. But the water was never served and the kids took some of our tea.

Compared to the price we had to pay at the end the service and attitude of the mentioned staff was not acceptable.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

The service was not good. They wait sta ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The service was not good. They wait staff was not friendly. Our waiter never explained anything with the tea serving... When I have had tea

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Excellent wait staff, table & food. We h ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Excellent wait staff, table & food. We had the famous crab salad which was beautifully prepared. We chose a half bottle of Perrier-Jouet to accompany our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have been coming here for YEARS to hav ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

I have been coming here for YEARS to have lunch with my daughters and welcome updating of the decor (looks terrific). The updated menu however was definitely NOT an improvement. I paid $30 for a burger! I selected a burger as none of the other few items on the lunch menu were appealing to me. I find this to be price gouging and the reduced menu is VERY limiting with high price tags. Whatever happened to a nice lunch sized salad? Unfortunately, I will not be returning there for lunch anytime soon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

Historic hotel and dining room.

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Historic hotel and dining room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

You're paying for the pomp and circumsta ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

You're paying for the pomp and circumstance, not the quality of food or service. It was a nice thing to do- ONCE- but absolutely not worth a return trip.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Best crab salad I've ever had.

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Best crab salad I've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Truffle burger doesn't come with truffle ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Truffle burger doesn't come with truffles. Save your $30

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

I got routed to OpenTable directly from ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I got routed to OpenTable directly from the Garden Court's website. More specifically, I clicked on making a reservation for their tea service. When I arrived, I was informed that I did not schedule within the hours of tea, and therefore could only have lunch. The hostess was actually quite rude about it, and I was upset because nowhere on the OpenTable website did it specify the hours of tea. We ended up having a lunch, the items were tasty but I felt over-priced. But maybe it was because I could not get the sour taste of the hostess out of my mouth.

However, I will say that the ambiance of the Garden Court is wonderful. The decor is elegant and gorgeous. Our server was even very kind, as were the other hotel staff including valet.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

I cannot write a review BAD enough to ex ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I cannot write a review BAD enough to express my experience and disappointment and total disgust. Since 1950, my favorite most place in the WORLD for lunch was the Garden Court of the Palace Hotel. Perfection! No longer true, however. The experience was plain AWFUL!!!!

Not only will I never ever go back to the Garden Court or the Palace Hotel, I will take delight in telling everyone I know of my lousy experience. Also, I won't be going to any other Luxury Collection restaurant or hotel any time soon. Here are the key points of my experience:

* We arrived 5 minutes early for a Saturday 1130 am reservation; my granddaughter had flown in from Scottsdale to have lunch with me; we were told they would not open for 15 minute

* After being seated, while we had menus, I was given no wine list; no service person showed up for 30 minutes; in fact my granddaughter had to leave the table to find a manager to get his help

*When a waitress arrived, she saw fit to make excuses for the nonexistent waiter; she did bring a wine list

*By the way, since we had plenty of time to look around, the starched white table clothes have disappeared and instead of placemats at minimum, the table setting was on the bare chipped wood

*I ordered a bottle (split) of St. Supery Sauvignon Blanc; the wine waiter came back and said they were out of that wine, and out of my second choice; we settled for a glass of Prosecco

*We both ordered the classic crab salad, after the were assured it was fresh because it came from Canada and not affected by the end of SF crab season; it wasn't. It was frozen, watery ant tasteless; the so-called genuine GG dressing was also ersatz.

They picked the wrong customer to dump on. I am an author of four best selling business books. I am in the middle of another book and needed a great real-life example of a once proud company ruined by a merger or acquisition. I got my example. Thanks Luxury Collection!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

If you want a Sunday brunch that is over ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

If you want a Sunday brunch that is over the top in every aspect, the Garden Court at the Palace is absolutely #1. I have taken out-of-town and out-of-state there recently and nothing but 5-star comments received. Wait staff outstanding. Food outstanding. Atmosphere out of this world. Can't wait until the next time.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, The Palace provided an incred ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

As always, The Palace provided an incredible experience for celebrations. Sadly, the waiter we had seemed to be more interested in escaping our eye contact to catch his attention, than helping us celebrate our special occasion.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

The Garden Court offers a beautiful sett ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The Garden Court offers a beautiful setting for breakfast or brunch. While the food was good, and a limited brunch was offered as one menu option during breakfast service on Sunday, I miss the grand buffet that Garden Court used to offer. I would encourage the management to bring it back. It was a true San Francisco tradition, something that I looked forward to when I visited San Francisco.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Love the ambiance of tea at the beautifu ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Love the ambiance of tea at the beautiful Garden Court at the Sheraton Palace. However, they have reduced the portion sizes and not the prices. High tea was heavy on desserts and short on protein. Scones have gone from full size to mini size as well. Hope the old totally filling high tea returns some time soon. For now I would opt for th Fairmont High. Tea instead.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Foie gras was superb. The Elder flower B ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Foie gras was superb. The Elder flower Bellini is a must have.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I expect that food in a fancy hotel will ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I expect that food in a fancy hotel will be over priced but the quality was lacking. $7.00 for a cup of coffee and $14.00 for a mimosa is unreasonable. Two in our party had an omelet with mushrooms, spinach and Brie. There were a few mushrooms and almost no Brie. The loaded hash browns for $7.00 was a very small portion of frozen potatoes and a few pieces of crumbled bacon and some shredded cheddar. The service was mediocre. We watched as an employee asked the four older people at the table next to us to stand so that she could sweep under the table. I have never seen anything like that. Really? At a five star hotel? The room is beautiful. Take a look at the room and go find a better breakfast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

We had a wonderful time, having the afte ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We had a wonderful time, having the afternoon tea. The ambiance and service is outstanding and so are the various dishes (you can't call them snacks, because they are too refined).

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

They changed the decor since my last vis ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

They changed the decor since my last visit in 2013. The new decor screams hotel and does not for with the beautiful 1930s style room and conservatory ceiling. Such a shame. Also, our waiter made repeated significant mistakes. This type of thing does not usually bother me, but for the price I was not willing to pay for what I did not order.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Though this is probably not a foodie's d ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Though this is probably not a foodie's delight, I would recommend a 'try-once' of their Sunday high tea. The decor is splendid and we had great service. We were there for brunch this time, celebrating my wife's birthday. To be honest, our favorite food on their menu is their birthday cake! We got their french toast and their omelette. We might go again for their high tea. We give it a strong 3 pushing towards 3.5.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The Garden Court is a beautiful room and ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The Garden Court is a beautiful room and it's well worth seeing, but the food was so expensive and boring. The service was amateurish, trying to take away a plate before both diners were finished. Much better to go there for a drink and eat someplace that has both good food and good service for a much more reasonable price

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

The crab salad presentation was lovely; ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The crab salad presentation was lovely; creative...The chicken with asparagus presentation was boring...a chicken breast placed on 4 asparagus with no garnish..not up to the standard I expect from this restaurant..The dessert of cheesecake was beautiful...and it was nice that the restaurant noted my request for a 90th birthday dessert.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Huge assortment of breakfast items. Ever ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Huge assortment of breakfast items. Everything was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

No vegetarian options. Service was below ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

No vegetarian options. Service was below average, would not come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

Way too overpriced for cookie, biscuits ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Way too overpriced for cookie, biscuits and tea. Came out to almost $300 for four of us. Feel robbed. It's a beautiful space and that's it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2

We had the signature tea service with wi ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We had the signature tea service with wild strawberry and jasmine teas. The room is spectacular and service was spot on. The scones were tasty. I had the apricot preserves. The service was so attentive. The treats were almost too beautiful to eat. There was a harp player at the time which added another level of elegance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Worst experience and not worth the money ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Worst experience and not worth the money. Service was slow and unfriendly. The food was mediocre at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The room is very special, and they use t ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

The room is very special, and they use to serve OK food. The food was not good, seemed like my crab salad was either canned crab or freezen crab with no flavor. The salad dressing has no flavor. The other order was a hamburger where half the plate was french fries. The price was unbelievable hight. Saver your money and have a drink in the front of the room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Very quiet and service was good. Food j ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Very quiet and service was good. Food just barely mediocre and the prices are very high.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

We celebrated my parent's 50th anniversa ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We celebrated my parent's 50th anniversary at the restaurant. The reason we picked this place was because it is a San Francisco landmark and should be suitable for such a remarkable event. While we had a great celebration, we were more than surprised with the quality of service. I had to ask for water three times; when the water was brought to the table, the waiter dropped one of the glasses on the table - luckily, no one was hurt.

My daughter is vegan - no choices for vegan/gluten free at all. Had to make a few substitutions and ordered a salad and a plate of steamed veggies; was charged $30 for the steamed veggies (very modest portion) - ouch!

In general, very slow and of a lower than desired quality. The food was delicious, though.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

The Garden Court is one of the glories o ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The Garden Court is one of the glories of San Francisco (and, in fact, the entire Bay Area). It is a place for a special lunch. It is not cheap, but the food is good, carefully prepared, imaginative, and beautifully presented. A memorable meal is your reward. Take friends to "wow" them; go yourself to be reminded of place that has stood the test of time.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I hosted my best friend's birthday lunch ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

I hosted my best friend's birthday lunch here, which I noted when making my reservation. Thus, in addition to spectacular lunch fare, we enjoyed two slices of delicious chocolate mousse cake with a creme fraiche lady bug, fresh raspberries, a 'Happy Birthday" chocolate banner and a single lit candle. Thank you!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I requested medium rare and it came well ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

I requested medium rare and it came well done - that's a big mistake for a 30 dollar cheeseburger.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value3

Our server was great and very respectabl ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Our server was great and very respectable. Food options were decent, nothing special that you can just cook at home. Expectation on food was high especially for the price range. However that's not the reason I came here. I've been to this establishment for brunch on Saturdays and especially on Sunday's. I enjoy the ambiance of this facility and location.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a reservation and were not seated ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We had a reservation and were not seated for about 20 minutes and there were empty tables for 2(our party size). Our waiter was surly, despite the charm offensive we mounted. The web site said brunch went til 2 or so(don't recall exactly), and they started taking away the food at 11:30(we had a 10:30 reservation. Next time I'll just people the beautiful room and skip the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Afternoon Tea

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Overall, we had a lovely experience! The food/tea was great (and beautiful), our servers were friendly, and the atmosphere was delightful!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Hostess was not to pleasant food and set ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Hostess was not to pleasant food and setting lovely although floor still had food on from previous sittings

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.