HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 29 times today

The Garden Court

4.2
1586 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$50 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Californian
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Afternoon Tea
  • Good for Birthdays
Featuring innovative intercontinental cuisine, the famed Garden Court offers a superb dining experience in a glorious setting. This historic landmark serves breakfast and lunch daily and an enchanting brunch and afternoon tea on weekends. The Garden Court features a stained glass dome, Italian marble columns, Austrian crystal chandeliers and is noted on San Francisco’s Historic Register as Landmark #18. Our Executive Chef invites you to try our signature crab salad lightly dressed in our own Green Goddess Dressing, a true Palace original created in 1923.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Californian, American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Breakfast
Mon–Sat 6:30 am–10:30 am
Sun 7:00 am–10:30 am
Lunch
Mon–Fri 11:30 am–1:30 pm
Sat 12:00 pm–1:30 pm
Brunch
Sun 12:00 pm–2:00 pm
Tea Service
Sat 2:00 pm–4:30 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(415) 546-5089
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
John Hart
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Market St.
Additional
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 1586 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.2  based on recent ratings
3.9
food
3.9
service
4.7
ambience
3.3
value
Noise · Quiet
71% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on February 11, 2018

I was disappointed that the Sunday Brunch Buffet was discontinued some time ago. The website says it still exists. However, the room is so beautiful, the staff so friendly (but not overly so) and the ambiance so relaxing that we didn't really mind. The food was good, but not very exciting, the portions on the European side, small by American standards, but sufficient. I remarked to my companions that we would have a lovely meal and leave feeling overly fed and that is exactly what happened. The live music, piano and bass, was good and the musicians very cordial. Overall a lovely experience.

Report
Helpful
RedGuy (St. Louis)
5.0  Dined on February 11, 2018

Pure elegance. The food was perfect, the setting was nothing short of stunning, and the service was ideal. Attentive, yet not bothersome. We visit The Palace once a year and this has become a tradition.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Denver)
3.0  Dined on February 11, 2018

Beautiful palace ,love the chandeliers . I was looking forward to a grate breakfast. My Waiter was not very enthusiastic serving our table, he spoke very few words buffet or a la carte. I had to get up and ask for more coffee. After 15 minutes they send someone else to service our table, he was much more attantive and professional. We didn't finish our breakfast not a very good experience for $100.00 2 coffees 2 orenge juices and some bread. I was expecting more like WELCOME TO THE COURT YARD, MAY I OFFERE COFFEE, ORENGE JUICE, ICE WATER. PLEASE POOR SERVICE DOESN'T DO JUSTICE TO THIS BEAUTIFUL PLACE.

Report
Helpful
Lindainthebigeasy (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on February 10, 2018

Had the High Tea in the Garden Court. Lovely atmosphere with a "harpist" playing during our stay

Report
Helpful
JerryDog (Sacramento)
4.0  Dined on February 10, 2018

Went for tea. Had the signature tea. The atmosphere is what we went for and that did not disappoint. My sister and I both thought that for the idea of a fabulous tea there would have been a bit more care taken to check on the actual tea. We were hoping for a second teapot and no one ever asked how we were doing. Bummer.

Report
Helpful
joannj (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on February 10, 2018

Date with mother

Report
Helpful
DuyenN (San Francisco)
1.0  Dined on February 4, 2018

Very disappointed by my lunch experience here on a Sunday. The setting was beautiful and Parisian but the food and service mediocre. Did something happen to this hotel's management from years ago? I do not know if this the reason. I'm paying premium prices for a nice lunch but neither my food or my companion's food was tasty at all despite a gourmet menu. The only thing that was good was the $6 fresh squeezed orange that was only about half a glass. The fire alarm kept going off but no waiter came by to tell us not to be alarmed and we were supposed to just accept it as a fact of dining there. A server wouldn't give us water bc he wasn't our waiter and we had to ask multiple times. In the end, we packed a wafflette to go and asked for accompanying syrup so the waiter proceeded to drown the waffle directly with syrup instead of including it separately in a small plastic container. Quality of service and food was just simply poor and in sharp contrast to the elegant setting (not to mention the pricey price tag).

Report
Helpful
Lisa (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on February 4, 2018

It was my mom’s wish to celebrate her 85th Birthday for brunch at the Palace Hotel. My mom has so many fond memories of coming to the Palace as a child so this had special meaning for her. Besides the interior being très elegant, the service was excellent. The food presentation was superb. A nice plus was hearing the live jazz & standards music in the background.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
3.0  Dined on January 28, 2018

Bad table. Bad chairs. Stuck in corner. Long initial wait for service

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
4.0  Dined on January 28, 2018

Beautiful restaurant, the Palace is always spectacular. Food was barely average. The ham in my omelette was terrible and the eggs overdone. The service, while friendly, was slow. May have been the result of kitchen issues.

I do love the Palace and have been going there since childhood.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
159