About Garden Court

2 New Montgomery St.
San Francisco, CA 94105
View Larger Map

Featuring innovative intercontinental cuisine, the famed Garden Court offers a superb dining experience in a glorious setting. This historic landmark serves breakfast and lunch daily and an enchanting brunch and afternoon tea on weekends. The Garden Court features a stained glass dome, Italian marble columns, Austrian crystal chandeliers and is noted on San Francisco’s Historic Register as Landmark #18. Our Executive Chef invites you to try our signature crab salad lightly dressed in our own Green Goddess Dressing, a true Palace original created in 1923.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast:
Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 10:30am;
Saturday 6:30am - 11:00am;
Sunday - 7:00am-10:30am

Lunch:
Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 1:30pm;

Tea Time in the GC Lounge (NO RESERVATIONS REQUIRED)
Monday - Sunday 2:00pm -5:00pm

The Garden Court Signature Tea Service
Saturday 2:00pm-4:30pm

Garden Court City Brunch:
Sunday 11:30am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
Market St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 546-5089

Website:
http://www.sfpalace.com/dining

Executive Chef:
Jesse Llapitan

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, High Tea, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Garden Court
Signature Palace Crab Salad
Smoked Salmon Roulade
Organic Egg Remoulade Sandwich
Asparagus Soup
Lemonade
Thanksgiving Buffet
Brunch Buffet
Pastries
Chocolate Covered Strawberry
Sparkling Wine
Scone
Assorted Pastries
Scones
Pai Mu Tau Silver Eyp White Tea
Afternoon Tea Service
Tea Sandwich
shrimp salad
Assorted Breads
Dungeness Crab Meat Sandwiches With Sweet Potato Fries
Chocolate Mousse Cheesecake
Buffet Plate
Macadamia Nut Belgian Waffle
Blueberry Pancakes With Toasted Walnuts
Tea Service

Garden Court Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.7

service

3.8

ambience

4.7

value

3.2

noise

Moderate

75% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
San Francisco
Great for Brunch
San Francisco
Special Occasion
San Francisco
Best Restaurants in SOMA ›

special occasion (41)
great for brunch (29)
great for lunch (22)
See All
romantic (15)
good for groups (12)
fit for foodies (12)
scenic view (5)
neighborhood gem (4)
kid-friendly (2)
hot spot (2)
notable wine list (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1218 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I expect that food in a fancy hotel will ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I expect that food in a fancy hotel will be over priced but the quality was lacking. $7.00 for a cup of coffee and $14.00 for a mimosa is unreasonable. Two in our party had an omelet with mushrooms, spinach and Brie. There were a few mushrooms and almost no Brie. The loaded hash browns for $7.00 was a very small portion of frozen potatoes and a few pieces of crumbled bacon and some shredded cheddar. The service was mediocre. We watched as an employee asked the four older people at the table next to us to stand so that she could sweep under the table. I have never seen anything like that. Really? At a five star hotel? The room is beautiful. Take a look at the room and go find a better breakfast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

They changed the decor since my last vis ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

They changed the decor since my last visit in 2013. The new decor screams hotel and does not for with the beautiful 1930s style room and conservatory ceiling. Such a shame. Also, our waiter made repeated significant mistakes. This type of thing does not usually bother me, but for the price I was not willing to pay for what I did not order.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Though this is probably not a foodie's d ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Though this is probably not a foodie's delight, I would recommend a 'try-once' of their Sunday high tea. The decor is splendid and we had great service. We were there for brunch this time, celebrating my wife's birthday. To be honest, our favorite food on their menu is their birthday cake! We got their french toast and their omelette. We might go again for their high tea. We give it a strong 3 pushing towards 3.5.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The Garden Court is a beautiful room and ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The Garden Court is a beautiful room and it's well worth seeing, but the food was so expensive and boring. The service was amateurish, trying to take away a plate before both diners were finished. Much better to go there for a drink and eat someplace that has both good food and good service for a much more reasonable price

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

The crab salad presentation was lovely; ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The crab salad presentation was lovely; creative...The chicken with asparagus presentation was boring...a chicken breast placed on 4 asparagus with no garnish..not up to the standard I expect from this restaurant..The dessert of cheesecake was beautiful...and it was nice that the restaurant noted my request for a 90th birthday dessert.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Huge assortment of breakfast items. Ever ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Huge assortment of breakfast items. Everything was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

No vegetarian options. Service was below ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

No vegetarian options. Service was below average, would not come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

Way too overpriced for cookie, biscuits ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Way too overpriced for cookie, biscuits and tea. Came out to almost $300 for four of us. Feel robbed. It's a beautiful space and that's it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2

We had the signature tea service with wi ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We had the signature tea service with wild strawberry and jasmine teas. The room is spectacular and service was spot on. The scones were tasty. I had the apricot preserves. The service was so attentive. The treats were almost too beautiful to eat. There was a harp player at the time which added another level of elegance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Worst experience and not worth the money ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Worst experience and not worth the money. Service was slow and unfriendly. The food was mediocre at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The room is very special, and they use t ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

The room is very special, and they use to serve OK food. The food was not good, seemed like my crab salad was either canned crab or freezen crab with no flavor. The salad dressing has no flavor. The other order was a hamburger where half the plate was french fries. The price was unbelievable hight. Saver your money and have a drink in the front of the room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Very quiet and service was good. Food j ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Very quiet and service was good. Food just barely mediocre and the prices are very high.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

We celebrated my parent's 50th anniversa ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We celebrated my parent's 50th anniversary at the restaurant. The reason we picked this place was because it is a San Francisco landmark and should be suitable for such a remarkable event. While we had a great celebration, we were more than surprised with the quality of service. I had to ask for water three times; when the water was brought to the table, the waiter dropped one of the glasses on the table - luckily, no one was hurt.

My daughter is vegan - no choices for vegan/gluten free at all. Had to make a few substitutions and ordered a salad and a plate of steamed veggies; was charged $30 for the steamed veggies (very modest portion) - ouch!

In general, very slow and of a lower than desired quality. The food was delicious, though.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

The Garden Court is one of the glories o ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The Garden Court is one of the glories of San Francisco (and, in fact, the entire Bay Area). It is a place for a special lunch. It is not cheap, but the food is good, carefully prepared, imaginative, and beautifully presented. A memorable meal is your reward. Take friends to "wow" them; go yourself to be reminded of place that has stood the test of time.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I hosted my best friend's birthday lunch ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

I hosted my best friend's birthday lunch here, which I noted when making my reservation. Thus, in addition to spectacular lunch fare, we enjoyed two slices of delicious chocolate mousse cake with a creme fraiche lady bug, fresh raspberries, a 'Happy Birthday" chocolate banner and a single lit candle. Thank you!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I requested medium rare and it came well ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

I requested medium rare and it came well done - that's a big mistake for a 30 dollar cheeseburger.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value3

Our server was great and very respectabl ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Our server was great and very respectable. Food options were decent, nothing special that you can just cook at home. Expectation on food was high especially for the price range. However that's not the reason I came here. I've been to this establishment for brunch on Saturdays and especially on Sunday's. I enjoy the ambiance of this facility and location.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a reservation and were not seated ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We had a reservation and were not seated for about 20 minutes and there were empty tables for 2(our party size). Our waiter was surly, despite the charm offensive we mounted. The web site said brunch went til 2 or so(don't recall exactly), and they started taking away the food at 11:30(we had a 10:30 reservation. Next time I'll just people the beautiful room and skip the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Afternoon Tea

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Overall, we had a lovely experience! The food/tea was great (and beautiful), our servers were friendly, and the atmosphere was delightful!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Hostess was not to pleasant food and set ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Hostess was not to pleasant food and setting lovely although floor still had food on from previous sittings

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Perfect place to celebrate our girls' we ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Perfect place to celebrate our girls' weekend in SF.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

EXCELLENT SERVICE AND FOOD! WILL BE BACK ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

EXCELLENT SERVICE AND FOOD! WILL BE BACK FOR THIER HIGH-TEA

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have dined in the Garden Court many ti ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

I have dined in the Garden Court many times and each time is an incredible experience. I always feel transported back in time with the ambience and I am always treated as if I am the only person in the dining room - very attentive and lovely staff. The food not only is presented beautifully but tastes delicious. The staff pays attention to detail ensuring a wonderful and personal experience. I can't imagine a visit to San Francisco without a meal in the Garden court.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to the Palace Hotel for afternoo ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We went to the Palace Hotel for afternoon tea. The space is absolutely gorgeous, but that's pretty much where the magic ended. We were greeted promptly, sent to our table and picked our teas. We chose the Signature tea service and at $US68, we were expecting something quite spectacular. The teas arrived without being steeped, followed by the sandwiches (a bit weird since scones are usually served first, but that's fine). The sandwiches came out within minutes of us choosing our tea service so we suspected that they were sitting in the kitchen for a while. Well, we were right, the breads were quite dry and the sandwiches in general were flavourless. The scones were next and were so miniature. The desserts were nothing special nor unique and quite disappointing. We also felt quite rushed throughout the meal. It was probably the worst afternoon tea I have every experienced (and I've been to a lot of them). Save your money and go elsewhere; it's not worth it.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Tasteless little sandwiches and desserts ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Tasteless little sandwiches and desserts for an expensive prices. Tea selections were the only good choices. Never going back to this place again.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

It is a beautiful place. Is that good en ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

It is a beautiful place. Is that good enough.... kind of expensive just like everywhere in SF

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

take in the setting, but don't eat there

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Garden Court at the Palace Hotel is an experience worth paying for only once. The elegant setting is stunning and worth seeing but don’t bother eating there. We were seated in area that wasn’t staffed, after we waited patiently and tried to make eye contact with any wait staff to ask for service, we were finally moved to another table. Service staff was nice, but overworked and unremarkable. Combined with unmemorable food and cynically high prices, this restaurant will not be recommended. We will however, use it for a meeting point, so we can take in the wonderful architecture for a bit and then leave to eat elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

Elegant and delicious!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

As always elegant and beautiful. The crab salad was a beautiful & unusual composition and they even made a beautiful Happy Birthday Sylvia dessert plate for my friend.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Brunch at the Garden Court

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

While the ambiance was lovely under the glass roof, it was SUPER hot on a sunny Sunday afternoon. No ventilation at all. Food was mediocre, service was somewhat attentive, but somehow missed more than a beat here and there. Wouldn't say we got our money's worth...very pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Interior is absolutely stunning!!!

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Interior is absolutely stunning!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful celebration!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

The Garden Court is a beautiful location for a special birthday celebration. The food was wonderful and the service was excellent. We had several questions about menu items and received good advice from our server. The restaurant is not inexpensive, but the food and ambiance are worth the cost for a celebration.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Beautiful setting, little value for money.

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

The lobby setting is gorgeous, but the food was disappointing - especially for the cost. My husband had the crab eggs Benedict, but could barely saw through the muffin. My daughter and I had the mussels and clams. Very tasty, but also very few. We both left hungry. For $28, the serving should not have been so skimpy. Additionally, the advertised sauvignon blanc by the glass was not available. Other than a lovely setting, we couldn't recommend it for the food. However, our waitress was charming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

Beautiful Room Mediocre Food

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

This was our second meal at the Garden Court and our first brunch experience. Both were disappointing and we will not return. The room is beyond beautiful however and I'd definitely recommend checking it out - maybe to lounge in the afternoon with a drink or the high tea service. The brunch menu is atypical (not the standard fare), but disappointing. We both ordered omelettes which came out very dry and bland to boot. Not much in the way of plate presentation. For a $22 omelette I did expect more. Additionally we had the crumb cake and the pecan roll. The crumb cake was also very dry (looked it had been thawed and left out for too long). The pecan rolls were okay. Not great, but okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

We had the high tea and it was a magical ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

We had the high tea and it was a magical experience! The room is a wonder to behold! The tea was excellent, the little finger sandwiches were, not quite great, but the desserts were delicious! We had an amazing time, and made amazing memories! Bring your camera!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Unfortunately what I was expected.....

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

The place is really pretty, but the service was awful, super slow, and not professional. really disappointed. We wanted to love this place, but not gonna happen.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

The Garden Court is an amazing place

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

The holiday brunch at the Palace is always amazing with an awesome array of food from breakfast to lunch items. The desserts are always a treat (and I always save room for several). The only downside is the equally awesome price - especially for holiday brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value2

Easter Brunch at Garden Court

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Easter Brunch was very nice. Relaxing ambiance. Wonderful live jazz, but the decorations werent as ornate and colorful as previous years and there were notably less flowers which took away the fairy tale magical feel that the restaurant had in past years for the Easter holiday. I absolutely found the food selection glorious. Huge variety of different selections for every palate. I have recommended this restaurant to friends snd family and will continue to do so. Super great for groups.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Garden Court not in a Garden

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

What a lovely space in the Palace. The physical space is soaring with a leaded glass ceiling - making you feel like you are outdoors even when it is raining outside. The Sunday tea is served on either tables with comfortable chairs or sofas. Service on a Sunday can be a bit slow - and that was fine for us - we wanted a leisurely time to talk, drink tea and share plates of savory and sweets. One bone of contention, we were 4 and many came as 3 on the plates. Wish the server had mentioned that as we would have ordered differently.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

the restaurant has a small menu and does ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

the restaurant has a small menu and does not change often. I have eaten lunch at the garden court once a month and the menu has been same last 4-5 months. Most of time it is very good service-some time we get a waiter who acts rather rude. Last Friday we had a very nice waiter!

The price is not good but I guess we pay for the ambiance.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

Good for business meetings.

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

Very good ambience. Good for business lunch meetings but not for everyday lunch. It is expensive.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.