About Garden Court

2 New Montgomery St.
San Francisco, CA 94105
View Larger Map

Featuring innovative intercontinental cuisine, the famed Garden Court offers a superb dining experience in a glorious setting. This historic landmark serves breakfast and lunch daily and an enchanting brunch and afternoon tea on weekends. The Garden Court features a stained glass dome, Italian marble columns, Austrian crystal chandeliers and is noted on San Francisco’s Historic Register as Landmark #18. Our Executive Chef invites you to try our signature crab salad lightly dressed in our own Green Goddess Dressing, a true Palace original created in 1923.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast:
Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 10:30am;
Saturday 6:30am - 11:00am;
Sunday - 7:00am-10:30am

Lunch:
Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 1:30pm;

Tea Time in the GC Lounge (NO RESERVATIONS REQUIRED)
Monday - Sunday 2:00pm -5:00pm

The Garden Court Signature Tea Service
Saturday 2:00pm-4:30pm

Garden Court City Brunch:
Sunday 11:30am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
Market St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 546-5089

Website:
http://www.sfpalace.com/dining

Executive Chef:
Jesse Llapitan

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Garden Court
Smoked Salmon Roulade
Organic Egg Remoulade Sandwich
Signature Palace Crab Salad
Asparagus Soup
Lemonade
Thanksgiving Buffet
Brunch Buffet
Pastries
Chocolate Covered Strawberry
Sparkling Wine
Scones
Assorted Pastries
Pai Mu Tau Silver Eyp White Tea
Scone
Afternoon Tea Service
Tea Sandwich
Assorted Breads
Dungeness Crab Meat Sandwiches With Sweet Potato Fries
shrimp salad
Chocolate Mousse Cheesecake
Blueberry Pancakes With Toasted Walnuts
Macadamia Nut Belgian Waffle
Buffet Plate
Tea Service

Garden Court Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.6

service

3.8

ambience

4.6

value

3.1

noise

Moderate

67% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (40)
Great for Brunch (24)
Great for Lunch (15)
See All
Romantic (12)
Scenic View (10)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Afternoon Tea (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Historic (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Business Meals (4)
Good for a Date (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Fun (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
People Watching (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Live Music (2)
Casual (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1252 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Thank you for lovely afternoon high tea. ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 5 days ago

Thank you for lovely afternoon high tea. I am so glad that this tradition continues in a few special places. My hubby and I celebrated some happy news and we were treated like extra special guests by our attentive and friendly server. Everything was completely delicious, and so graciously done. Looking forward to a repeat visit sometime in the future.

Tags: People Watching, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great and so was the ambiance. ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined 5 days ago

Food was great and so was the ambiance. Only down side here was I think their cream/milk on the table was sitting out too long so I had an upset stomach after drinking it.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Enjoyed a wonderful lunch at the Garden ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Enjoyed a wonderful lunch at the Garden Court. Beautiful setting, fantastic shrimp starter and capresi salad for me, seafood stew for my guest. All outstanding, highly recommended.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I try to have brunch or lunch here every ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

I try to have brunch or lunch here every time we visit the city. There is not a more beautiful setting anywhere! While others complained about the service, we had very attentive service. They offered both a brunch and regular menu. My only complaint would be that there was no omelette station offered at the brunch, but rest was fine. My husband ordered an omelette off the menu which was quite good, but choice of fillings were a bit limited. Brunch is pricey but you are paying for the ambiance.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

I think most people come here for the se ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

I think most people come here for the setting as it is a bit pricey for the food. The tables set aside for couples are rather large and set close together. I could actually hear the neighbor's conversation better than my partner.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Casual, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server immediately acted unintereste ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Our server immediately acted uninterested when he knew our bill was not going to be huge. He was working for a big tip and was extremely rude.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

This favorite spot is a must when visiti ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

This favorite spot is a must when visiting San Francisco. The room is so elegant and well maintained, you can't help but feel special just being there. Our server was wonderful and personal. She made us feel comfortable and took good care of us. We ordered the seafood platter for 2 and it was so beautiful and fresh. It went perfect with our champagne and was a perfect portion for the two of us. If you want to impress someone or just want to enjoy a good meal in one of the most beautiful dining rooms in the US, this is the place to come.

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambiance here is unbeatable...very e ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The ambiance here is unbeatable...very elegant setting. The service we received for afternoon tea was sub-par for any food establishment. No one would take our order. We noticed that the party next to us who had no reservation and was seated about 10 minutes after us was able to order and their table was set, tea delivered. Meanwhile, I'm flagging a server down for the third time. We asked for regular water three times. The best was trying to get a take out container for the leftover sweets - also three tries. We could see some bickering between server staff as to who was going to get us the container. I guess the third time is the charm? It put a damper on our stay there and our out of town guests were not impressed with the service.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

Overall, a huge disappointment. Looking ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Overall, a huge disappointment. Looking at recent reviews (12/2015-now), it seems that the quality has been going down, but I thought it would still be worth a try. Beautiful ambience, but that's it. Savories were acceptable, but the sweet pastries tasted like insipid Costco items with lingering freezer burn. Decorations included hot pink decals and flower accents. Absolutely no way they are baked in-house. Servers were pleasant, but clearly inexperienced for serving high tea -- level of attention & knowledge low, water wasn't refilled, food not explained, they were swinging around the pastry trays as they walked around. Service would be okay for a casual lunch diner, but completely off for high tea.

In general, quite dismayed. Beautiful venue, but service, food, and overall experience clearly show that the current management does not care about maintaining standards. They are still riding on the beautiful venue to draw in customers, and maintaining exorbitant prices, considering the clearance-rack grocery store pastries. Never going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

This is the review that I wrote to the G ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

This is the review that I wrote to the Garden Court

I would like to leave a private review of my lunch experience at the Garden Court (GC). I do not wish to put the review on your website, and I am sure after reading this, you will appreciate why.

I had lunch at the GC on Thursday, September 1, around noon. Our server was Maggie, who mentioned that she had been serving at the GC for many years. I enjoyed the lunch and paid with a credit card. I added a tip to the bill and added it up, then signed my name and left to use the restroom. When I came back to join my companion, Maggie rushed up to me to tell me I had signed the wrong slip. Then she asked me if there was something wrong with the service; she had apparently not looked at the slip and noticed that I had added a tip (or perhaps was not pleased with the amount). I pointed out that I had indeed added a tip; we are on Social Security so the tip was only 17%. I would have preferred to leave more but that is what my funds allowed on this particular day. I signed the correct slip but at this point I was in tears. This interchange really ruined the experience for me. I do not know if she was harassing me due to my signing the wrong slip, or due to my tip, or both.

As I child, I came many times to the GC for tea in the afternoon. The GC is an enchanting venue and I always left impressed. I brought my grandmother with me one day, in her later years, and she was thrilled.

Maggie may be an experienced server, but this interchange left me disappointed in my experience. She did not handle the interchange smoothly nor with grace.

Thank you for your attention in this matter. I hope if I return to the GC again, I am not humiliated as I was on this day.

Vicki DeKay

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

The service has been almost always good. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

The service has been almost always good. The soup is barely warm lots of time. The price is high for some foods which are not so good i.e. very dried chicken. Then it is hard to get good service in SF so I forgive the over price.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

This was a day for "ladies who lunch". E ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

This was a day for "ladies who lunch". Every dish was gorgeous and it all tasted amazing. The modern food with the historic building is a tremendous combination.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great afternoon tea, a real treat.

vip
 (London)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great afternoon tea, a real treat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Loved the elegance and beautiful court e ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Loved the elegance and beautiful court especially the high skylight ceiling. Noise level zero and so easy to conv verse and enjoying the experience of dinning in such a natural lighted environment. Food was fine. The french toast with the fruits were delicious.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had kind, attentive service throughou ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We had kind, attentive service throughout our afternoon tea. We enjoyed a lovely birthday celebration with beautiful harp music amidst the stunning atmosphere of the Garden Court. Our teapots were replenished often and the tea foods were delicious. I would have preferred more savory foods and fewer sweets, but that is simply my preference. The foods presented were delicious.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Historic, Fun, Romantic, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

This the most expensive afternoon tea in ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This the most expensive afternoon tea in all of San Francisco and it was terrible. The pre-made tea sandwiches, chocolate chip scones (why would you serve that with lemon curd and apricot jam? Yuck), and petite sweets were all extremely lackluster. Although the high ceilings are lovely, the table we sat at was so dirty I had wipe tons of crumbs off the seat from whoever ate there last. The only good thing I can say is the tea was nice and they are quick the hot water. However, the servers generally ignored us unless to serve the food and hot water as quickly and possible and then scamper away without saying anything. Just awful all around. I would never have tea here again or recommend it to anyone I know.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Ambient setting. Worst afternoon tea ... ...

 
 (Bristol)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Ambient setting. Worst afternoon tea ... didn't finish sandwiches or cakes.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

For the occasion of a 50th birthday anni ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

For the occasion of a 50th birthday anniversary we decided to have a family signature tea for four (2 adults, 2 kids).

Unfortunately our both kids were stomach sick and were taking peniciline which didn't allow them to take any of the offered meals.

We explained the situation first to the waitress and then we had to repeat it again to the head waiter. His reaction was quite rude as he had difficulties to accept the situation and was obviously thinking whether it is acceptable for the Garden Court or not to relinquish two meals to be sold.

After a while he accepted the situation and we ordered two meals for the adults and two drinks for the kids (Coca Cola). All over sudden he refused to bring the two Cokes because Coke would be not good for any stomach problem (which is completely stupid). Instead he offered pure water. In order to calm down the situation we finally agreed. But the water was never served and the kids took some of our tea.

Compared to the price we had to pay at the end the service and attitude of the mentioned staff was not acceptable.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

The service was not good. They wait sta ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The service was not good. They wait staff was not friendly. Our waiter never explained anything with the tea serving... When I have had tea

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Excellent wait staff, table & food. We h ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Excellent wait staff, table & food. We had the famous crab salad which was beautifully prepared. We chose a half bottle of Perrier-Jouet to accompany our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have been coming here for YEARS to hav ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

I have been coming here for YEARS to have lunch with my daughters and welcome updating of the decor (looks terrific). The updated menu however was definitely NOT an improvement. I paid $30 for a burger! I selected a burger as none of the other few items on the lunch menu were appealing to me. I find this to be price gouging and the reduced menu is VERY limiting with high price tags. Whatever happened to a nice lunch sized salad? Unfortunately, I will not be returning there for lunch anytime soon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

Historic hotel and dining room.

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Historic hotel and dining room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

You're paying for the pomp and circumsta ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

You're paying for the pomp and circumstance, not the quality of food or service. It was a nice thing to do- ONCE- but absolutely not worth a return trip.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Best crab salad I've ever had.

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Best crab salad I've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Truffle burger doesn't come with truffle ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Truffle burger doesn't come with truffles. Save your $30

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

I got routed to OpenTable directly from ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I got routed to OpenTable directly from the Garden Court's website. More specifically, I clicked on making a reservation for their tea service. When I arrived, I was informed that I did not schedule within the hours of tea, and therefore could only have lunch. The hostess was actually quite rude about it, and I was upset because nowhere on the OpenTable website did it specify the hours of tea. We ended up having a lunch, the items were tasty but I felt over-priced. But maybe it was because I could not get the sour taste of the hostess out of my mouth.

However, I will say that the ambiance of the Garden Court is wonderful. The decor is elegant and gorgeous. Our server was even very kind, as were the other hotel staff including valet.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

I cannot write a review BAD enough to ex ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I cannot write a review BAD enough to express my experience and disappointment and total disgust. Since 1950, my favorite most place in the WORLD for lunch was the Garden Court of the Palace Hotel. Perfection! No longer true, however. The experience was plain AWFUL!!!!

Not only will I never ever go back to the Garden Court or the Palace Hotel, I will take delight in telling everyone I know of my lousy experience. Also, I won't be going to any other Luxury Collection restaurant or hotel any time soon. Here are the key points of my experience:

* We arrived 5 minutes early for a Saturday 1130 am reservation; my granddaughter had flown in from Scottsdale to have lunch with me; we were told they would not open for 15 minute

* After being seated, while we had menus, I was given no wine list; no service person showed up for 30 minutes; in fact my granddaughter had to leave the table to find a manager to get his help

*When a waitress arrived, she saw fit to make excuses for the nonexistent waiter; she did bring a wine list

*By the way, since we had plenty of time to look around, the starched white table clothes have disappeared and instead of placemats at minimum, the table setting was on the bare chipped wood

*I ordered a bottle (split) of St. Supery Sauvignon Blanc; the wine waiter came back and said they were out of that wine, and out of my second choice; we settled for a glass of Prosecco

*We both ordered the classic crab salad, after the were assured it was fresh because it came from Canada and not affected by the end of SF crab season; it wasn't. It was frozen, watery ant tasteless; the so-called genuine GG dressing was also ersatz.

They picked the wrong customer to dump on. I am an author of four best selling business books. I am in the middle of another book and needed a great real-life example of a once proud company ruined by a merger or acquisition. I got my example. Thanks Luxury Collection!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

If you want a Sunday brunch that is over ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

If you want a Sunday brunch that is over the top in every aspect, the Garden Court at the Palace is absolutely #1. I have taken out-of-town and out-of-state there recently and nothing but 5-star comments received. Wait staff outstanding. Food outstanding. Atmosphere out of this world. Can't wait until the next time.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, The Palace provided an incred ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

As always, The Palace provided an incredible experience for celebrations. Sadly, the waiter we had seemed to be more interested in escaping our eye contact to catch his attention, than helping us celebrate our special occasion.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

The Garden Court offers a beautiful sett ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The Garden Court offers a beautiful setting for breakfast or brunch. While the food was good, and a limited brunch was offered as one menu option during breakfast service on Sunday, I miss the grand buffet that Garden Court used to offer. I would encourage the management to bring it back. It was a true San Francisco tradition, something that I looked forward to when I visited San Francisco.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Love the ambiance of tea at the beautifu ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Love the ambiance of tea at the beautiful Garden Court at the Sheraton Palace. However, they have reduced the portion sizes and not the prices. High tea was heavy on desserts and short on protein. Scones have gone from full size to mini size as well. Hope the old totally filling high tea returns some time soon. For now I would opt for th Fairmont High. Tea instead.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Foie gras was superb. The Elder flower B ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Foie gras was superb. The Elder flower Bellini is a must have.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I expect that food in a fancy hotel will ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I expect that food in a fancy hotel will be over priced but the quality was lacking. $7.00 for a cup of coffee and $14.00 for a mimosa is unreasonable. Two in our party had an omelet with mushrooms, spinach and Brie. There were a few mushrooms and almost no Brie. The loaded hash browns for $7.00 was a very small portion of frozen potatoes and a few pieces of crumbled bacon and some shredded cheddar. The service was mediocre. We watched as an employee asked the four older people at the table next to us to stand so that she could sweep under the table. I have never seen anything like that. Really? At a five star hotel? The room is beautiful. Take a look at the room and go find a better breakfast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

We had a wonderful time, having the afte ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We had a wonderful time, having the afternoon tea. The ambiance and service is outstanding and so are the various dishes (you can't call them snacks, because they are too refined).

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

They changed the decor since my last vis ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

They changed the decor since my last visit in 2013. The new decor screams hotel and does not for with the beautiful 1930s style room and conservatory ceiling. Such a shame. Also, our waiter made repeated significant mistakes. This type of thing does not usually bother me, but for the price I was not willing to pay for what I did not order.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Though this is probably not a foodie's d ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Though this is probably not a foodie's delight, I would recommend a 'try-once' of their Sunday high tea. The decor is splendid and we had great service. We were there for brunch this time, celebrating my wife's birthday. To be honest, our favorite food on their menu is their birthday cake! We got their french toast and their omelette. We might go again for their high tea. We give it a strong 3 pushing towards 3.5.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The Garden Court is a beautiful room and ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The Garden Court is a beautiful room and it's well worth seeing, but the food was so expensive and boring. The service was amateurish, trying to take away a plate before both diners were finished. Much better to go there for a drink and eat someplace that has both good food and good service for a much more reasonable price

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

The crab salad presentation was lovely; ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The crab salad presentation was lovely; creative...The chicken with asparagus presentation was boring...a chicken breast placed on 4 asparagus with no garnish..not up to the standard I expect from this restaurant..The dessert of cheesecake was beautiful...and it was nice that the restaurant noted my request for a 90th birthday dessert.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Huge assortment of breakfast items. Ever ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Huge assortment of breakfast items. Everything was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

No vegetarian options. Service was below ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

No vegetarian options. Service was below average, would not come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.