About The Garden Court

Featuring innovative intercontinental cuisine, the famed Garden Court offers a superb dining experience in a glorious setting. This historic landmark serves breakfast and lunch daily and an enchanting brunch and afternoon tea on weekends. The Garden Court features a stained glass dome, Italian marble columns, Austrian crystal chandeliers and is noted on San Francisco’s Historic Register as Landmark #18. Our Executive Chef invites you to try our signature crab salad lightly dressed in our own Green Goddess Dressing, a true Palace original created in 1923.

2 New Montgomery St.
San Francisco, CA 94105
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast:
Monday-Saturday: 6:30am-10:30am;
Sunday: 7:00am-10:30am

Lunch:
Monday-Friday: 11:30am-1:30pm;
Saturday: 12:00pm-1:30pm

The Garden Court Signature Tea Service:
Saturday 2:00pm-4:30pm

City Brunch:
Sunday 12:00pm-2:00pm

Tea Time in the GC Lounge (NO RESERVATIONS REQUIRED)
Monday-Saturday: 2:00pm-5:00pm

Evenings in the GC Lounge (NO RESERVATIONS REQUIRED)
Monday-Saturday: 5:00pm-9:00pm

Weekends in the GC Lounge (NO RESERVATIONS REQUIRED)
Saturday-Sunday: 9:00am-2:00pm

Cross Street:
Market St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 546-5089

Website:
http://www.sfpalace.com/dining

Executive Chef:
John Hart

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Garden Court Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.0

ambience

4.7

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (23)
Afternoon Tea (17)
Great for Brunch (17)
See All
Romantic (15)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Good for a Date (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Great for Lunch (8)
Historic (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Scenic View (5)
Business Meals (5)
Authentic (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Fun (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Cozy (3)
Live Music (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Casual (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Seasonal (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Family Style (1)
Quick Bite (1)
People Watching (1)
Healthy (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
1445 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 15, 2017

After spending a wonderful night at the Palace Hotel, we had a reservation (a must!) for breakfast at the Garden Court. Welcomed and seated immediately with coffee and OJ and headed to the buffet (altho' a la carte ordering was also available). Just about everything one could want for breakfast/brunch was available. The French toast with real maple syrup was scrumptious as were the mini biscuits!! Relaxing way to start the morning on a special weekend away from home!

Tags: Healthy, Fun, Casual, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 12, 2017

I always like coming to the Garden Court for a friends or family get together...just like my grandmother did almost a century ago.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 8, 2017

It would be nice if the server knew the ingredients of the items on the menu.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Elena and George provided a very personable experience for celebrating my bachelorette with my friends! :)

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The best thing about the afternoon tea was the setting. The finger sandwiches were dry and the service mediocre. The champagne and pastries were good, but the value for money we'll be low what one should expect for this hotel and the tea service. I wouldn't recommend to anyone.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 1, 2017

This high tea was such a let down, we have experienced a couple now and by far this was the worst. For the price you pay, I would expect exceptional food and service. Both were a let down! The sandwiches were stale, had they not have been stale they would have been Devine. The service was very slow, and overall the experience was a let down, we were at a wobbly table also. I would not recommend nor be back any time soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 26, 2017

The last time I ate at Garden Court was for brunch several years ago and couldn't wait for another chance to dine there again. Unfortunately the this time was very disappointing. Although the appetizer, melon soup, was quite flavorful, the entree delivered was not how it read on the menu. I ordered a chicken breast with couscous and greens served with a yougurt, mint sauce. When the plate arrived there was a large bone sticking out of the meat. I inquired of the waiter if the menu hadn't said "chicken breast"? He brought back the menu and yes I was correct but said the kitchen informed them this is what they were using. The flavor was bland and dry, the greens, bitter and the couscous salty, dry and lumpy. Not what I expected for $31.00 entree. Remiminisent of bad 80's wedding food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Simply amazing.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The Signature Tea in the Garden Court is lovely. The price is...high. You are definitely paying for the ambiance so it is more of a one-time special occasion event. Signature Tea is about $78/person, you get 5 mini sandwiches (2 bites each) and 7 desserts. You also get a pot of bottomless tea. The food was good but we wished there had been more savory and less sweet, it was a bit too much sugar. Also it was a bit more modern in terms of the food, would have preferred a more classic approach given the location is historic. They signature tea black tea was delicious, though. This is too expensive for the amount and type of food you get, but the ambiance is great, the Garden Court is beautiful, impeccable service, and a live harpist were a nice touch.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Live Music, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 22, 2017

The ambiance is the best in the city for lunch and the waiting lounge is oh so cool
The meal was delicious (we both had ahi tuna) and I loved the perfectly done eggplant chips that they served with it.

GREAT PLACE TO EAT LUNCH.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Every time I come to San Francisco I have breakfast at the garden court. It has always been a fantastic experience for both myself and my friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2017

It's so nice inside. Breakfast was good & enjoyed being inside and checking the interior of the dining area.. I will def be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Overall excellent quality of food, service & ambience. Pricey but it was a special occasion so that was expected. Will try the lounge next time

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Love love love. I go for special luncheons every year.

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 10, 2017

It was a nice experience. The food did not seem a lot when it came, but it made us really full.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 2, 2017

The iconic Garden Court, beautiful room and lighting, superb service.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Very wonderful for a birthday lunch! Loved it! We will be back!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Beautiful room and the food was really good too!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Great place although
Service wasn't
The best for the money you pay. The waiter not friendly , looked stressed and rushed.
I mean it's food service and when you go on a date to a nice place you would
Expect 5tar service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 20, 2017

You cannot beat the Palace Hotel for ambiance. The room is absolutely beautiful and the service was good. However both my friend and I left hungry after our afternoon of high tea. We would have loved a few more sandwiches especially considering the steep price tag.

Tags: Scenic View, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Our Waiter, Robert, was outstanding. We were there at 11:30 and had prompt service at fit my wife's special diet.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Wonderful tea and presentation. Staff was less than energetic and helpful.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 8, 2017

The atmosphere was great but the food and service was lagging... They could use a better menu as well as step up the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Loved the soaring ceilings and sunlit room. Recommend a visit during daylight hours. Food was wonderful, especially the smoked salmon eggs benedict.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Our second time to afternoon tea and it was even better than the first time!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Waaaaay overpriced! We were hoping to go for high tea at noon, but Open Table reservations did not make it clear that tea wasn't served until 2pm. So we settled for lunch... $36 for a lunch salad! Yes, the glass ceiling was spectacular, but not worth the price of the salad. At least we got out of there for $30 less than the High Tea would have cost
!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 4, 2017

I had a reservation but we could not locate hostess at all for several minutes. Finally a waitress seated us. Frankly the food was bland and Un-inventive - especially for the price. I do expect more from a hotel/restaurant of this stature

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

There was not a lot of food for the price paid. It was beautiful but minimal. Also, Moder dark colored seving trays have no business in a beautiful Victorian setting like the GC! Bring back 3-tier gkeaming silver tea trays.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The tea sandwiches did not seem fresh. Scones were on the drier side. Nothing seemed memorable considering the price of the tea service. Service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 29, 2017

A wonderful setting for afternoon tea! Beautiful hotel, harpist, fresh flowers in the lobby. There were 5 sandwiches, each unique, and 7 sweets including two scones. A little pricey, but if you enjoy trying new locations for afternoon tea, the Palace hotel is a must. Parking is half price for those dining at the hotel.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Always consistently excellent, good food choices. Ambiance lovely. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Our waiter was wonderful! The setting is beautiful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

This wonderful room I have treasured for decades is sadly marred by the slow service.
Arrived at 12. Water immediately but waiter disappeared and and returned at 12.20.
Wine arrived 10 minutes later. Tried to signal adjacent waiter but he was adept at
refusing eye contact.

Sadly, all this meant we refused dessert and gulped coffee that came slowly because
of the need to dash for theatre at 2.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Stunning room and the food was good. Unfortunately even with a reservation we were sat next to the service station in a basically empty dining room. The staff proceeded to stack dishes and rearrange furniture right next to us which was quite unpleasant.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Always a wonderful place to meet friends and have a great meal. The setting is outstanding. A must see if new to the city

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

I went here for afternoon tea for my birthday. The atrium is beautiful and bright. The area is just a gorgeous space. The only person from the hotel who greeted us with a smile and some warmth was the doorman/valet person who held open the door for us. Otherwise, I would describe the service at the Garden Court to be professional and efficient but completely impersonal. The food was very good for the tea service. It does not serve traditional English crumpets, but I do like the food. We had the sparkling wine tea because it was my birthday. It was right before Easter, and they decorated one of the petit fours with a cute yellow duck. It was good to try, but I am not sure I would go back.

Tags: Fun, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Beautiful scenery. Food was mediocre at best, slow service. Next time I would rather skip the reservation and go to the bar and order a pot of tea rather than do the whole thing. That way you get the scenery without expensive bad food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Don't order the french fries. The kitchen will try to save money and re-fry and serve old ones. Not the kind of fast one that one would expect in a restaurant otherwise of a very high caliber.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We had a nice Sunday brunch, but honestly expected a bit more from the brunch menu given the upscale price. Atmosphere is very nice and the jazz combo added nice ambiance.

Tags: Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (México)·Dined on March 26, 2017

I was staying at the Palace Hotel. It is a popular place to have breakfast/brunch but we were just dropping in from our room. We did have a reservation. The brunch options were fine. My kids chose the continental breakfast that cut out a portion of the brunch options but still gave them plenty to eat. The quality of the food was fine.

My complaint was the service was not good. I sat down about 15 minutes before the rest of the family. It was a struggle to get a cup of coffee. The service improved a little bit as the meal went along but then I had to wait a long time for my check. During the whole meal I could not actually figure out who our server was.

Once I was able to place any type of order my request was met pretty quickly. I also appreciate we were not charged for one drink. My main issue is that I never felt like I had someone who was watching over our table. Many times I had to make an effort to flag someone down to be helped.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.