About The Garden Court

Featuring innovative intercontinental cuisine, the famed Garden Court offers a superb dining experience in a glorious setting. This historic landmark serves breakfast and lunch daily and an enchanting brunch and afternoon tea on weekends. The Garden Court features a stained glass dome, Italian marble columns, Austrian crystal chandeliers and is noted on San Francisco’s Historic Register as Landmark #18. Our Executive Chef invites you to try our signature crab salad lightly dressed in our own Green Goddess Dressing, a true Palace original created in 1923.

2 New Montgomery St.
San Francisco, CA 94105
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast:
Monday-Saturday: 6:30am-10:30am;
Sunday: 7:00am-10:30am

Lunch:
Monday-Friday: 11:30am-1:30pm;
Saturday: 12:00pm-1:30pm

The Garden Court Signature Tea Service:
Saturday 2:00pm-4:30pm

City Brunch:
Sunday 12:00pm-2:00pm

Tea Time in the GC Lounge (NO RESERVATIONS REQUIRED)
Monday-Saturday: 2:00pm-5:00pm

Evenings in the GC Lounge (NO RESERVATIONS REQUIRED)
Monday-Saturday: 5:00pm-9:00pm

Weekends in the GC Lounge (NO RESERVATIONS REQUIRED)
Saturday-Sunday: 9:00am-2:00pm

Cross Street:
Market St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 546-5089

Website:
http://www.sfpalace.com/dining

Executive Chef:
John Hart

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Garden Court Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.7

value

3.7

noise

Quiet

83% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (15)
Afternoon Tea (13)
Great for Brunch (12)
See All
Good for a Date (11)
Romantic (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Scenic View (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Fun (4)
Casual (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Business Meals (2)
Cozy (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Live Music (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Authentic (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
People Watching (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
1463 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 17, 2017

I sent my girlfriends sister here for her 30th with her friend and baby. They made it VERY easy for me to set it all up and pay in advance. The made the day very special for them. A must stop in San Fran for locals and visitors alike.

Alix was a fantastic "face" for the Palace. Class act."Just figure out how to get it done" type of person.

Thanks Again
Tim

Tags: Local Ingredients, Live Music, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Fun, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 16, 2017

I was very disappointed with the service during tea service given the price point of this place. We were not informed caviar was not available but still served the champagne that went with caviar tea service. They should have confirmed if we would still want that since caviar was not available. We would have left and went elsewhere for caviar. The tea service itself was pretty good but not as good as the Ritz but more expensive. Overall, disappointing experience for a place that requires 2 months in advance reservation for tea service.

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Fabulous brunch and exceptional service in a breathtaking room!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

We have a lot of afternoon tea experiences, and all of us feel that it's not worth the price at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 9, 2017

we went for the formal tea. the area in th palace hotel is a grand old room with lots of colums, chandeliers and other decorative thingsof a bygone era. thisis definetly a place to go for a very special occasion. service was excellent, the surroundings are wonderful and the prices reflect both of those things. we only had a cole of appetizers and a drink and tea. good bucket list place

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Beautiful building, classy environment, but not pretentious. Nice live music.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2017

The Palace Hotel is worth seeing. The menu on the web site was NOT what was offered so it was very misleading with regard to Sunday Brunch Buffet. Little flies or nats were flying around. We considered leaving, but stayed. We will not return and left disappointed 😔. They should update their web site.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Simply beautiful place to eat. Tea was okay, not as good as had hoped. Service was cool and not attentive. Left somewhat disappointed for the cost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Majority wins for the reviews on yelp! I was fairly warned, but the glass ceiling though! First off, let me start by saying that the location is absolutely gorgeous beautiful breathtaking. The tea service that we had was unfortunately over rated and over priced. $68 per person for tea and sandwiches. Everyone receives the same five sandwiches. The sandwiches we received were extremely dry, as if they had been premade and we're sitting out ready to be served for at least a few hours. (Stale bread)
If anyone is reading this looking for a pleasurable tea service, I would highly recommend Lovejoy's tea room off of Church in San Francisco.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

My husband and I went to tea at the Garden Court for our anniversary. The space is beautiful and the food was delicious (a little heavy on the sweet and lighter on the savory - but that's a matter of taste). We were disappointed with the service. We waited 20 minutes after being seated, and had to wave someone down to place our order. The food came quickly, first the savory plate, then an assortment of sweets. No one took away the dirty plates between courses or checked on us, so we had to wave down a busser to get more hot water. I do appreciate that we had a lovely tea in a beautiful setting, but I was expecting a more pampered, elegant-feeling experience.

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Quiet; well spaced table; ideal for business meal. Prices high but value of quiet setting can offset price

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 22, 2017

I remember seeing an Insta blogger post photos of this location and simply wanted an excuse to visit the hotel to experience the architecture and interior. So on our trip to SF, I found a way to fit this spot into our schedule, and it made for a perfect Monday lunch. The service was, of course, impeccable. The food was also great - we had the chilled melon soup, tuna tartare, pappardelle pasta, and truffle burger. Portions were actually quite filling, and justifies the price point at such a historical establishment.

My favourite part though, was definitely the atmosphere and being able to enjoy a peaceful time there. The architecture was honestly just breathtaking and I couldn't stop taking photos (to post on my own IG, of course, hah!).. I loved how I kept discovering little details every time I looked up. The daylight pours into the Garden Court wonderfully through the glass ceiling. If you're an appreciator of design and food, this would be a good combo for you.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Reservations don't specify high tea served only after 2pm

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Such a lovely place - charming and historic. Can't wait to go again!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Overall we had a lovely experience. However I was so disappointed to discover they no longer offered their fabulous buffet brunch! We took the ferry specifically to celebrate a 60th birthday and I had set the expectation for their amazing and delicious buffet brunch!
The food was delicious off the menu but I won't ever go back. I can get better for less closer to home.

Tags: Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Outstanding. Words do not do this place justice. From start to finish it was a perfect experience. We came here for breakfast on Sunday morning, and the food was to die for (especially the lemon poppyseed waffles and egg white omelet). Not to mention the most beautiful room one can dine in! It was a dream, cannot wait to return one day. Anyone who has the opportunity to visit this restaurant should make it a priority to do so. You will be so grateful you did!

Tags: Scenic View, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Fabulous environment. Only need to experience high Tea once and now checked off bucket list. Thank you.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

The breakfast buffet was delicious and beautiful! Easy access from Montgomery BART. We will be back!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 15, 2017

After spending a wonderful night at the Palace Hotel, we had a reservation (a must!) for breakfast at the Garden Court. Welcomed and seated immediately with coffee and OJ and headed to the buffet (altho' a la carte ordering was also available). Just about everything one could want for breakfast/brunch was available. The French toast with real maple syrup was scrumptious as were the mini biscuits!! Relaxing way to start the morning on a special weekend away from home!

Tags: Healthy, Fun, Casual, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 12, 2017

I always like coming to the Garden Court for a friends or family get together...just like my grandmother did almost a century ago.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 8, 2017

It would be nice if the server knew the ingredients of the items on the menu.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Elena and George provided a very personable experience for celebrating my bachelorette with my friends! :)

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The best thing about the afternoon tea was the setting. The finger sandwiches were dry and the service mediocre. The champagne and pastries were good, but the value for money we'll be low what one should expect for this hotel and the tea service. I wouldn't recommend to anyone.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 1, 2017

This high tea was such a let down, we have experienced a couple now and by far this was the worst. For the price you pay, I would expect exceptional food and service. Both were a let down! The sandwiches were stale, had they not have been stale they would have been Devine. The service was very slow, and overall the experience was a let down, we were at a wobbly table also. I would not recommend nor be back any time soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 26, 2017

The last time I ate at Garden Court was for brunch several years ago and couldn't wait for another chance to dine there again. Unfortunately the this time was very disappointing. Although the appetizer, melon soup, was quite flavorful, the entree delivered was not how it read on the menu. I ordered a chicken breast with couscous and greens served with a yougurt, mint sauce. When the plate arrived there was a large bone sticking out of the meat. I inquired of the waiter if the menu hadn't said "chicken breast"? He brought back the menu and yes I was correct but said the kitchen informed them this is what they were using. The flavor was bland and dry, the greens, bitter and the couscous salty, dry and lumpy. Not what I expected for $31.00 entree. Remiminisent of bad 80's wedding food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Simply amazing.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The Signature Tea in the Garden Court is lovely. The price is...high. You are definitely paying for the ambiance so it is more of a one-time special occasion event. Signature Tea is about $78/person, you get 5 mini sandwiches (2 bites each) and 7 desserts. You also get a pot of bottomless tea. The food was good but we wished there had been more savory and less sweet, it was a bit too much sugar. Also it was a bit more modern in terms of the food, would have preferred a more classic approach given the location is historic. They signature tea black tea was delicious, though. This is too expensive for the amount and type of food you get, but the ambiance is great, the Garden Court is beautiful, impeccable service, and a live harpist were a nice touch.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Live Music, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 22, 2017

The ambiance is the best in the city for lunch and the waiting lounge is oh so cool
The meal was delicious (we both had ahi tuna) and I loved the perfectly done eggplant chips that they served with it.

GREAT PLACE TO EAT LUNCH.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Every time I come to San Francisco I have breakfast at the garden court. It has always been a fantastic experience for both myself and my friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2017

It's so nice inside. Breakfast was good & enjoyed being inside and checking the interior of the dining area.. I will def be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Overall excellent quality of food, service & ambience. Pricey but it was a special occasion so that was expected. Will try the lounge next time

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Love love love. I go for special luncheons every year.

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 10, 2017

It was a nice experience. The food did not seem a lot when it came, but it made us really full.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 2, 2017

The iconic Garden Court, beautiful room and lighting, superb service.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Very wonderful for a birthday lunch! Loved it! We will be back!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Beautiful room and the food was really good too!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Great place although
Service wasn't
The best for the money you pay. The waiter not friendly , looked stressed and rushed.
I mean it's food service and when you go on a date to a nice place you would
Expect 5tar service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 20, 2017

You cannot beat the Palace Hotel for ambiance. The room is absolutely beautiful and the service was good. However both my friend and I left hungry after our afternoon of high tea. We would have loved a few more sandwiches especially considering the steep price tag.

Tags: Scenic View, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Our Waiter, Robert, was outstanding. We were there at 11:30 and had prompt service at fit my wife's special diet.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Wonderful tea and presentation. Staff was less than energetic and helpful.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.