About Garden Court

2 New Montgomery St.
San Francisco, CA 94105
View Larger Map

Featuring innovative intercontinental cuisine, the famed Garden Court offers a superb dining experience in a glorious setting. This historic landmark serves breakfast and lunch daily and an enchanting brunch and afternoon tea on weekends. The Garden Court features a stained glass dome, Italian marble columns, Austrian crystal chandeliers and is noted on San Francisco’s Historic Register as Landmark #18. Our Executive Chef invites you to try our signature crab salad lightly dressed in our own Green Goddess Dressing, a true Palace original created in 1923.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast:
Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 10:30am;
Saturday 6:30am - 11:00am;
Sunday - 7:00am-10:30am

Lunch:
Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 1:30pm;

Tea Time in the GC Lounge (NO RESERVATIONS REQUIRED)
Monday - Sunday 2:00pm -5:00pm

The Garden Court Signature Tea Service
Saturday 2:00pm-4:30pm

Garden Court City Brunch:
Sunday 11:30am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
Market St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 546-5089

Website:
http://www.sfpalace.com/dining

Executive Chef:
Jesse Llapitan

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, High Tea, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Garden Court
Signature Palace Crab Salad
Smoked Salmon Roulade
Organic Egg Remoulade Sandwich
Asparagus Soup
Lemonade
Thanksgiving Buffet
Brunch Buffet
Pastries
Chocolate Covered Strawberry
Sparkling Wine
Scone
Assorted Pastries
Scones
Pai Mu Tau Silver Eyp White Tea
Afternoon Tea Service
Tea Sandwich
shrimp salad
Assorted Breads
Dungeness Crab Meat Sandwiches With Sweet Potato Fries
Chocolate Mousse Cheesecake
Buffet Plate
Macadamia Nut Belgian Waffle
Blueberry Pancakes With Toasted Walnuts
Tea Service

Garden Court Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.9

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

77% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
San Francisco
Great for Brunch
San Francisco
Special Occasion
San Francisco
Best Restaurants in SOMA ›

special occasion (42)
great for brunch (31)
great for lunch (22)
See All
romantic (15)
good for groups (13)
fit for foodies (12)
scenic view (7)
neighborhood gem (5)
kid-friendly (2)
hot spot (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
notable wine list (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1206 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

Very quiet and service was good. Food j ...

Dined 4 days ago

Very quiet and service was good. Food just barely mediocre and the prices are very high.

food3
ambience3
service1
value3

We celebrated my parent's 50th anniversa ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

We celebrated my parent's 50th anniversary at the restaurant. The reason we picked this place was because it is a San Francisco landmark and should be suitable for such a remarkable event. While we had a great celebration, we were more than surprised with the quality of service. I had to ask for water three times; when the water was brought to the table, the waiter dropped one of the glasses on the table - luckily, no one was hurt. My daughter is vegan - no choices for vegan/gluten free at all. Had to make a few substitutions and ordered a salad and a plate of steamed veggies; was charged $30 for the steamed veggies (very modest portion) - ouch! In general, very slow and of a lower than desired quality. The food was delicious, though.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Garden Court is one of the glories o ...

Dined 7 days ago

The Garden Court is one of the glories of San Francisco (and, in fact, the entire Bay Area). It is a place for a special lunch. It is not cheap, but the food is good, carefully prepared, imaginative, and beautifully presented. A memorable meal is your reward. Take friends to "wow" them; go yourself to be reminded of place that has stood the test of time.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I hosted my best friend's birthday lunch ...

Dined on June 24, 2016

I hosted my best friend's birthday lunch here, which I noted when making my reservation. Thus, in addition to spectacular lunch fare, we enjoyed two slices of delicious chocolate mousse cake with a creme fraiche lady bug, fresh raspberries, a 'Happy Birthday" chocolate banner and a single lit candle. Thank you!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food1
ambience5
service4
value3

I requested medium rare and it came well ...

vip
Dined on June 20, 2016

I requested medium rare and it came well done - that's a big mistake for a 30 dollar cheeseburger.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server was great and very respectabl ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Our server was great and very respectable. Food options were decent, nothing special that you can just cook at home. Expectation on food was high especially for the price range. However that's not the reason I came here. I've been to this establishment for brunch on Saturdays and especially on Sunday's. I enjoy the ambiance of this facility and location.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

We had a reservation and were not seated ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

We had a reservation and were not seated for about 20 minutes and there were empty tables for 2(our party size). Our waiter was surly, despite the charm offensive we mounted. The web site said brunch went til 2 or so(don't recall exactly), and they started taking away the food at 11:30(we had a 10:30 reservation. Next time I'll just people the beautiful room and skip the food.

food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Afternoon Tea

Dined on May 30, 2016

Overall, we had a lovely experience! The food/tea was great (and beautiful), our servers were friendly, and the atmosphere was delightful!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Hostess was not to pleasant food and set ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Hostess was not to pleasant food and setting lovely although floor still had food on from previous sittings

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect place to celebrate our girls' we ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Perfect place to celebrate our girls' weekend in SF.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

EXCELLENT SERVICE AND FOOD! WILL BE BACK ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

EXCELLENT SERVICE AND FOOD! WILL BE BACK FOR THIER HIGH-TEA

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have dined in the Garden Court many ti ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

I have dined in the Garden Court many times and each time is an incredible experience. I always feel transported back in time with the ambience and I am always treated as if I am the only person in the dining room - very attentive and lovely staff. The food not only is presented beautifully but tastes delicious. The staff pays attention to detail ensuring a wonderful and personal experience. I can't imagine a visit to San Francisco without a meal in the Garden court.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

We went to the Palace Hotel for afternoo ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

We went to the Palace Hotel for afternoon tea. The space is absolutely gorgeous, but that's pretty much where the magic ended. We were greeted promptly, sent to our table and picked our teas. We chose the Signature tea service and at $US68, we were expecting something quite spectacular. The teas arrived without being steeped, followed by the sandwiches (a bit weird since scones are usually served first, but that's fine). The sandwiches came out within minutes of us choosing our tea service so we suspected that they were sitting in the kitchen for a while. Well, we were right, the breads were quite dry and the sandwiches in general were flavourless. The scones were next and were so miniature. The desserts were nothing special nor unique and quite disappointing. We also felt quite rushed throughout the meal. It was probably the worst afternoon tea I have every experienced (and I've been to a lot of them). Save your money and go elsewhere; it's not worth it.

Tags: special occasion
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Tasteless little sandwiches and desserts ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Tasteless little sandwiches and desserts for an expensive prices. Tea selections were the only good choices. Never going back to this place again.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience5
service3

It is a beautiful place. Is that good en ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

It is a beautiful place. Is that good enough.... kind of expensive just like everywhere in SF

food1
ambience5
service1
value1

take in the setting, but don't eat there

Dined on May 7, 2016

Garden Court at the Palace Hotel is an experience worth paying for only once. The elegant setting is stunning and worth seeing but don’t bother eating there. We were seated in area that wasn’t staffed, after we waited patiently and tried to make eye contact with any wait staff to ask for service, we were finally moved to another table. Service staff was nice, but overworked and unremarkable. Combined with unmemorable food and cynically high prices, this restaurant will not be recommended. We will however, use it for a meeting point, so we can take in the wonderful architecture for a bit and then leave to eat elsewhere.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Elegant and delicious!

vip
Dined on May 2, 2016

As always elegant and beautiful. The crab salad was a beautiful & unusual composition and they even made a beautiful Happy Birthday Sylvia dessert plate for my friend.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Brunch at the Garden Court

Dined on May 1, 2016

While the ambiance was lovely under the glass roof, it was SUPER hot on a sunny Sunday afternoon. No ventilation at all. Food was mediocre, service was somewhat attentive, but somehow missed more than a beat here and there. Wouldn't say we got our money's worth...very pricey.

food5
ambience5
service5

Interior is absolutely stunning!!!

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

Interior is absolutely stunning!!!

food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Wonderful celebration!

Dined on April 15, 2016

The Garden Court is a beautiful location for a special birthday celebration. The food was wonderful and the service was excellent. We had several questions about menu items and received good advice from our server. The restaurant is not inexpensive, but the food and ambiance are worth the cost for a celebration.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

Beautiful setting, little value for money.

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

The lobby setting is gorgeous, but the food was disappointing - especially for the cost. My husband had the crab eggs Benedict, but could barely saw through the muffin. My daughter and I had the mussels and clams. Very tasty, but also very few. We both left hungry. For $28, the serving should not have been so skimpy. Additionally, the advertised sauvignon blanc by the glass was not available. Other than a lovely setting, we couldn't recommend it for the food. However, our waitress was charming.

food2
ambience5
service3
value2

Beautiful Room Mediocre Food

Dined on April 3, 2016

This was our second meal at the Garden Court and our first brunch experience. Both were disappointing and we will not return. The room is beyond beautiful however and I'd definitely recommend checking it out - maybe to lounge in the afternoon with a drink or the high tea service. The brunch menu is atypical (not the standard fare), but disappointing. We both ordered omelettes which came out very dry and bland to boot. Not much in the way of plate presentation. For a $22 omelette I did expect more. Additionally we had the crumb cake and the pecan roll. The crumb cake was also very dry (looked it had been thawed and left out for too long). The pecan rolls were okay. Not great, but okay.

food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Unfortunately what I was expected.....

Dined on April 2, 2016

The place is really pretty, but the service was awful, super slow, and not professional. really disappointed. We wanted to love this place, but not gonna happen.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service4
value2

The Garden Court is an amazing place

Dined on March 27, 2016

The holiday brunch at the Palace is always amazing with an awesome array of food from breakfast to lunch items. The desserts are always a treat (and I always save room for several). The only downside is the equally awesome price - especially for holiday brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Easter Brunch at Garden Court

Dined on March 27, 2016

Easter Brunch was very nice. Relaxing ambiance. Wonderful live jazz, but the decorations werent as ornate and colorful as previous years and there were notably less flowers which took away the fairy tale magical feel that the restaurant had in past years for the Easter holiday. I absolutely found the food selection glorious. Huge variety of different selections for every palate. I have recommended this restaurant to friends snd family and will continue to do so. Super great for groups.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Garden Court not in a Garden

Dined on March 20, 2016

What a lovely space in the Palace. The physical space is soaring with a leaded glass ceiling - making you feel like you are outdoors even when it is raining outside. The Sunday tea is served on either tables with comfortable chairs or sofas. Service on a Sunday can be a bit slow - and that was fine for us - we wanted a leisurely time to talk, drink tea and share plates of savory and sweets. One bone of contention, we were 4 and many came as 3 on the plates. Wish the server had mentioned that as we would have ordered differently.

food3
ambience5
service5
value1

the restaurant has a small menu and does ...

Dined on March 18, 2016

the restaurant has a small menu and does not change often. I have eaten lunch at the garden court once a month and the menu has been same last 4-5 months. Most of time it is very good service-some time we get a waiter who acts rather rude. Last Friday we had a very nice waiter! The price is not good but I guess we pay for the ambiance.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Good for business meetings.

vip
Dined on March 17, 2016

Very good ambience. Good for business lunch meetings but not for everyday lunch. It is expensive.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service2
value2

High Tea at the Palace

Dined on March 5, 2016

The domed ballroom at the Palace is truly lovely. It is quite reminiscent of a bygone era or some of the finest hotels in Europe. The setting is lovely and the presentation of tea and scones very well done.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

They've ruined it.....

Dined on March 5, 2016

What used to be a breathtaking, historic place to have lunch has been ruined by all the new, modern, gray upholstered furniture and the plain white coffee shop style dishes they've brought in. And no tablecloths on the tables!!! With High Tea priced at $76 per person you'd think you would at least get a white tablecloth over the beat up table. So disappointed in all these changes and so was our server. You can still look UP and the ceiling is spectacular, but not enough to warrant their food quality or high prices.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous

Dined on February 28, 2016

I brought a guest from back east to this restaurant for Sunday brunch. We loved it.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service1
value1

Extremely poor customer service

Dined on February 27, 2016

Dear open table, I am extremely disappointed with the service that my boyfriend and I received at garden court. We were celebrating our 6 year anniversary their and it was overall a horrible celebratory high tea experience. First let's start off with the fact that we were given an incorrect menu, secondly we had to wait thirty minutes to get any service (I had to walk up to the hostess to let her know that we have been waiting for 30 min and that no one has come to take our order or provide us with water). Was it worth the price absolutely not! Will not be attending Garden Court and will recommend that my friends and colleague not attend Garden court as well.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Relaxing and enjoyable

Dined on February 27, 2016

The food and atmosphere was great. Service was okay. The server had other groups that took more of his time. Also, as a first time experience it would have been nice to have things explained a little more.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server and attendant were very personable.

Dined on February 26, 2016

As we approached the restaurant the host was less than enthused. He would rather have us sit in the Bar area for tea when we wanting lunch. Once seated our server and his assistant were quite personable and could see it was a special occasion and helped us to celebrate. There were quite a few negative reviews and I must say that my experience was quite positive. The food was beautifully presented and tasted great.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

Disappointed

Dined on February 14, 2016

Was disappointed to discover that the fabulous brunch buffet was no longer being served. Menu items were overpriced for the value/quality. Service was very good - had an excellent waitperson - and the restaurant itself was beautiful, but would not return.

food5
ambience5
service3
value4

We were very disappointed to learn that ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

We were very disappointed to learn that the buffet on Sundays was shut down, we didn't know that when booking the reservation. The food was still amazing, but the buffet was the main reason we would book dining reservations at the Palace since we are SF natives and locals. I hope you bring it back. The service was a little slow, we waited 15 minutes to even order a drink, our server was nowhere to be found, maybe they were understaffed.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

Food was excellent

Dined on February 7, 2016

Food was excellent

food3
ambience4
service2

They no longer have their famous Sunday ...

Dined on February 7, 2016

They no longer have their famous Sunday buffet brunch which was a big disappointment. $30 for Eggs Benedict was a tad pricey for what you got.

food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Lost elegance

Dined on January 31, 2016

The palace hotel is San Francisco's equivalent to the Plaza in N.Y.and the Savoy in London. I cannot believe how they have cheapened this grand garden court, The buffet in the past was elegant with amazing service and food, now its like any other average hotel buffet. The hostess gave us a awkward table crammed in a far corner when we had reservations and plenty tables open, not to mention neither hostess even smiled once the whole time we were there. although our Waitress was wonderful all of us agree, not going back. We stay @ the Mark Hopkins and do club level buffet breakfast which is beautifully done and wished we had stay and just done that. Bring back the sophistication and quality that this grand hotel deserves

food2
ambience5
service1
value1

Dissappointment

Dined on January 31, 2016

We were SO excited to have brunch at the Garden Court during our stay at the Palace Hotel. Were were extremely disappointed with the service and quality of food. We would never go back.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.