About Gamlin Whiskey House

236 N. Euclid Ave
St. Louis, MO 63108
View Larger Map

With an emphasis on world class whiskeys, our contemporary steakhouse serves hand-cut steaks and delicious cocktails amid the bustle of the wonderful Central West End.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Monday - Friday 11:00 AM - 1:30 AM
Saturday 10:00 AM - 1:30 AM
Sunday 10:00 AM - 12:00 AM

Cross Street:
Maryland and Euclid

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 875-9500

Website:
http://www.gamlinwhiskeyhouse.com/

Catering:
Gamlin Whiskey House is proud to offer a specialty catering menu upon request. With an emphasis on customization and excellent service we look forward to making your next event a special one.

Additional:
Beer, Chef's Table, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Gamlin Whiskey House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Downtown
Best Restaurants in St. Louis ›

Good for Groups (37)
Great for Outdoor Dining (36)
Special Occasion (35)
See All
Fit for Foodies (35)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Great for Brunch (25)
Vibrant Bar Scene (25)
Hot Spot (20)
Great for Lunch (18)
Romantic (16)
Notable Wine List (13)
Late-night Find (8)
Scenic View (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Sort By:
Newest
355 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

What a great atmosphere and a cool new r ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 6 days ago

What a great atmosphere and a cool new restaurant. We went there on a Monday night and it was absolutely beautiful outside and the service was excellent. Some of us had seafood specials, some of us had steaks and the three fat pigs appetizer was delicious. The beer and whiskey didn't hurt either. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The muscles appetizer is delicious. Unfo ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The muscles appetizer is delicious. Unfortunately it's a bit noisy in there, but still lovely

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Food is outstanding. Best brunch in St L ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food is outstanding. Best brunch in St Louis.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was fine but not worth the price. ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food was fine but not worth the price. Our server was nice but busy with too many tables. The hostess looked exhausted. And, to top it off, the bartender (male, shoulder length greasy black hair) was a jerk to my husband when he asked for change so he could tip the valet. Trust me, the bar wasn't too busy that he couldn't do this small task. Too many other great restaurants in St. Louis to waste our time coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Had the chicken & waffles. The waffles w ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Had the chicken & waffles. The waffles were really good but the chicken was so hard and overcooked we couldn't even eat it. Three of us ordered chicken, none of us were able to chew it. Epic fail!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Our server, Tim S., was the best! Even t ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Our server, Tim S., was the best! Even the busers were great! I have several food issues (diabetic, gluten-free, and no mammal meat) and the menu had glorious options for me!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Caitlin.... Great service....

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Caitlin.... Great service....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great dining experience. The st ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We had a great dining experience. The stuffed French toast I had was wonderful, the only thing was it was a small portion, but the huge side of bacon it was just enough. My honey got the shrimp and grits, which you know I had to taste and may I say the best I have ever had. He had the Bloody Mary and I had Tito vodka with fresh squeezed orange juice. Yowza. I highly recommend their Saturday or Sunday brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was average. There for friend's bir ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Food was average. There for friend's birthday. Waitress delivered drinks and we didnt see her again for appox 30 minutes. Not even to order entrees or get another drink. Likely wont return.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value2

Great food, great service!

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Great food, great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was excellent, the service was impe ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Food was excellent, the service was impeccable and the whiskey selection unparalleled. I would recommend this for a team meeting, client dinner, or date all day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went for brunch because I wanted to h ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We went for brunch because I wanted to have their special 4 course (maybe 5 course) brunch with beer as a special for Craft Beer Week. The courses were large portions and all extremely tasty and well paired with the beer. The server was knowledgeable on the beer, which was appreciated.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beer Week: brunch was food and craft bre ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Beer Week: brunch was food and craft brew pairings from Urban Chestnut Brewing Company. The first two courses were over the moon. And - way too much food. We decided to box 1 of both remaining courses and share the other. Third course our least favorite - but still rates a 4 1/2 stars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Went for the Urban Chestnut Brunch. The ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Went for the Urban Chestnut Brunch. The food was outstanding! There were some hiccups in service- we all had the same four courses; the second course came out while still in the middle of the first and for the third course, only 2 dishes came out. It was a 20 minute wait for the 3rd diner's food.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Although one of our party received the w ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Although one of our party received the wrong order, the wait staff was accommodating and friendly. Have enjoyed dinner here before and loved the whisky/bourbon selection and was surprised how good breakfast/brunch menu was.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Not impressed, everything was very overp ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Not impressed, everything was very overpriced, food wasn't that great. Would not recommend to other friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

The steak I ordered was supposed to be m ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The steak I ordered was supposed to be medium with a warm pink center as described by the waiter. Instead it was charred and well done. The bread board was good and my wife's crab cakes were fine. The whiskey list was fair and the proprietor's list good. Overall a disappointment way to celebrate my birthday.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Always a great dining experience at Gaml ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Always a great dining experience at Gamlin Whiskey House! This visit, unfortunately, we were seated in one of their smaller dining areas next to a HUGE group. It was VERY loud - we had to yell to talk and it was very hard to hear our server. Service, food, décor, drinks - always great. And usually the noise level is moderate - you know people are having fun, but at least you can hear your date across the table. Except for the huge, loud group, it was another great night at GWH.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Amazing food and great drinks. Our wait ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Amazing food and great drinks. Our waiter was on top of everything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Top spot in the CWE. Terrific food and 3 ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Top spot in the CWE. Terrific food and 3 drink menus for wine, cocktails and whiskey.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently great service and food. Sup ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Consistently great service and food. Superior selection of whiskey/bourbon/scotch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This is our third time going to Gamlin. ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

This is our third time going to Gamlin. Every time, we've had exceptional service, and the food is fantastic. This past time we went for my husband's birthday, and the food, drinks, service and ambiance were perfect- he even got a whiskey shooter as a birthday gift!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We stumbled across this gem late at nigh ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

We stumbled across this gem late at night. The food was awesome, the staff was great, the drinks were amazing..it was a great end to our day!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and excellent service. I had ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great food and excellent service. I had the beef pot pie, and my companion had shrimp and grits. Both were wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The hostess was not very accommodating. ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The hostess was not very accommodating. Wanted to seat us facing bathrooms when many other tables open. Salads and entrees served on top of each other. Beef medallions over cooked. Waiter comped our coffee for troubles but never even offered refills. Not sure if we'll return

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

I love this place. Every time I've eate ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I love this place. Every time I've eaten there it has been true enjoyment!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite brunch. Try the shrimp and g ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

My favorite brunch. Try the shrimp and grits w fried egg w a glass of Whiskey in the Morning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good and they also sat my g ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The food was good and they also sat my group like I asked. Great Job (the small things count)

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

They have a good overall menu. Flash fri ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

They have a good overall menu. Flash fried spinach is one of my favorites however it was EXTREMELY salty. I couldn't finish it - waist of money. One of my guest was charged for ice in her drink and not given the option when she ordered, she didn't know until the bill. The waitress wasn't very empathetic about the situation at all. Every month our group goes to a different restaurant and we rate them after dinner. We rated our overall experience at the Gamlin Whiskey House a 4 out of 10. Unfortunately will probably make our "revisit" list.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

It was my second time and mom's first. ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

It was my second time and mom's first. She really enjoyed it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was just ok. Very pricey meal. No F ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food was just ok. Very pricey meal. No Father's Day specials, pretty blah event. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

Service was great and food was great, th ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Service was great and food was great, the selection of whiskeys was incredible and the drinks were strong but fantastic. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had an excellent experience at brunch ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We had an excellent experience at brunch on Father's Day! The food was wonderful and our server Ray was one of the best that we have had in a long time. We will be back and cannot wait!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and environment was great for F ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food and environment was great for Father's Day. It took food a bit to come out but waitress did check in frequently

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Highly recommend the 12 oz Ribeye. Melt ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Highly recommend the 12 oz Ribeye. Melt in your mouth tender!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The menu had several outstanding choices ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The menu had several outstanding choices, and the four of us were very well pleased with our selections. The same was true of our drinks. Service was courteous and quick. Prices were a wee bit steep, but well worth it for Father's Day. We will return for another special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Extensive drink menu, great if you like ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Extensive drink menu, great if you like whiskey..if not food is pretty decent

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not as good as the reviews, appetizers w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Not as good as the reviews, appetizers were terrible. Service was very good. Steaks were good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5

Everything was wonderful! We can't wait ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Everything was wonderful! We can't wait to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it! We'll be back!

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

We Had:

Scallops - wonderful (she felt the couscous ...or risotto maybe??...was rich, but a little salty)

Filet - tender; great flavor

Lobster/Filet - great reviews here

3 Little Pigs Bacon App (yum!) - everyone loved this app

Flourless Chocolate Cake (woah!)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.