Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi

About Gamlin Whiskey House

With an emphasis on world class whiskeys, our contemporary steakhouse serves hand-cut steaks and delicious cocktails amid the bustle of the wonderful Central West End.

236 N. Euclid Ave
St. Louis, MO 63108
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Monday - Friday 11:00 AM - 1:30 AM
Saturday 10:00 AM - 1:30 AM
Sunday 10:00 AM - 12:00 AM

Cross Street:
Maryland and Euclid

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 875-9500

Website:
http://www.gamlinwhiskeyhouse.com/

Catering:
Gamlin Whiskey House is proud to offer a specialty catering menu upon request. With an emphasis on customization and excellent service we look forward to making your next event a special one.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Gamlin Whiskey House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (36)
Handcrafted Cocktails (34)
Great for Brunch (30)
See All
Special Occasion (29)
Great for Outdoor Dining (25)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Hot Spot (20)
Good for Groups (20)
Fun (20)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Happy Hour (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Bar Seating (17)
Fit for Foodies (16)
People Watching (16)
Casual (15)
Business Meals (15)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Worth the Drive (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Comfort Food (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Modern Decor (10)
Romantic (10)
Cozy (9)
Authentic (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Scenic View (6)
Great Beer (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Historic (5)
Private Room (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Seasonal (4)
Family Style (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Organic (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Healthy (2)
Tapas (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Vegan (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sort By:
S
495 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined 6 days ago

We had an 11:15 reservation. We were not seated until 11:40. No one greeted our table not brought us water for another 10 minutes after I had to ask the host--we were forgotten. I have eaten here many times, but today it seemed as if they could care less.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The food and service were great but the noise level was extremely loud. You could not carry on a conversation at the table without shouting. Way too loud.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Wait staff help each other out with service, which was very nice. Food was great, drinks were tasty, and our large group left happy. Thanks!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 17, 2017

If I could give the service there a 6 star rating I would. From helping me find the perfect craft cocktail to going above and beyond to make sure I had everything promptly, I had a smile on my face every second. It's a wonderful experience with a great atmosphere and the food was phenomenal. They know what a steak dinner should look like!

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Second time at this restaurant as visitors to St. Louis. Enjoyed it a lot, and will return, however the first time was more impressive than this time. Ordered bread board, as we did last time. Bread not as fresh as prior time. Caesar salad just average. Entrees above average but again not as good as first time. Cocktails, service, and atmosphere wonderful. Maybe the difference was coming on a Sunday evening of Mothers Day vs. a Saturday evening previously.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 15, 2017

For the price the food wasn't that great. They were understaffed, also I think they need to expand their Menu. Seemed limited

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I had a great dinner here the other night. The hot chicken strips were a great appetizer and the shrimp pasta was amazing. Our waiter was cute and very attentive. Will definitely visit again.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Everything met expectations, but service was exceptionally slow getting us drinks from the bar. All I wanted were neat pours of Scotch, and I had to wait a long time. I wasn't asking for complicated mixed drinks. Unacceptable. Other than that, the food was good, ambiance was good, and service, although slow and not very attentive, was polite. 3.5 stars, and I've rated this place 4.0 in the past.

Tags: Fun, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Molecular Gastronomy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

It was Mother's Day and we were a bit early for our reservation, but the took immediate care of us and seated us in the outdoor dining section (our pick) and I enjoyed a unique cocktail (whisky persecco and cherry liquor) and a complimentary mimosa for the mother. Food was well prepared and enjoyable. Happy with my decision to try a new place for brunch on a Sunday.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

It was a great choice for Mother's Day and before the Cardinal baseball game. Food was great and service not rushed even though they were busy.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 13, 2017

My biggest complaint about Gamlin was the wait. We made a reservation for 12:15 for Mother's Day (so we wouldn't have to wait), and we weren't seated until 12:35. We were with our mom's, one of which had a bad hip, and it was noisy and crowded in the front bar. Not ideal. Once we were seated in the back room, we saw the entire room was almost EMPTY. I have no idea what took so long for them to seat us - we didn't have that big of a party. The food was good, but nothing great. And the service was good until the end, it took us 15 min. to get our check.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great brunch menu! And good patio seating to enjoy people watching

Tags: Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Food was average at best. Service was slow and it was not busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 8, 2017

We assumed that with a 4star rating, things would be good. The food was no better than a 5, the background music was very loud and when asked to turn it down a little it was ignored. My rating of a 2 of 10 was generous

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We have been here before on a Saturday but we went on a Sunday. Service was awful. We had an early reservation to eat early on a Sunday evening, but it took forever to order. There were only four tables inside and we were one of them. Mostly outside diners. Our waitress was sort of grumpy and not one smile. After the meal she served coffee that was ice cold. The fillets were not as good as before, a little overdone as per our orders. .But we didn't want to wait any longer so we didn't tell out waitress. Just wondering was it a problem for Sunday dining? The menu is still good. Lots of great things to choose from

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Food was amazing! Service was not. I think they're understaffed at Sunday brunch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Excellent food and service. Very pleased with brunch. Will definitely be back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The food was delicious but the service was less than desirable. It took so long between when we sat down, to get our drinks, our food, to our receipt...I would love to go again. Just the service Is a negative for me. The service was a slow and steady decline.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Went for a brunch date with my husband and the food was amazing!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We've always had a good time here going for drinks and appetizers, so my husband wanted to come for his birthday dinner. The experience was underwhelming. We were placed by the very loud bar when there were plenty of tables in the dining area. I had mentioned on my reservation this was a birthday celebration, but loud bar was not a deal breaker at first. What WAS a deal breaker was the overcooked lobsters- so rubbery. Since the door by the bar was open and it was starting to get chilly at night, our steaks and lobsters lost heat very fast. I didn't feel like finishing my meal because the ambiance wasn't there and my food got cold. Instead of a nice quiet dinner, we were at a loud bar with Blues fans trickling in. Should have gone somewhere else for the money spent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The table was ready and service was pretty good. Probably don't need a reservation as it never appeared that all the tables were filled. Probably a good place to go for whiskey due to the wide selection, just be sure to verify what you are ordering as I thought I ordered a Jefferson Reserve, which was marked as $15 in the menu, but the bill came and it was $26!? Apparently the Jefferson Groth Reserve is different than Jefferson Reserve? Not that the price of one drink matters much when the bill is over $350 (before tip) for 4 meals, including appetizers and 1 drink per person. I read the steaks were very good, but I found the Cowboy Ribeye, prepared medium rare, to have little to no flavor. One person ordered the Filet, which was fair, another had the Porterhouse, which was good, and the fourth had the scallops which were slightly overcooked.. In general the food was extremely overpriced for the actual flavor. I suppose it was worth a try but I'd rather go to somewhere else for that amount of money because I know the food is excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 23, 2017

First time to the restaurant. Enjoyed a kid free night. Excellent food, great for people watching. Definitely worth the drive from St Charles Co.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The food is always so delicious and the cocktail menu is great!

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 22, 2017

This was our first time attending this restaurant. I would highly recommend this to anyone.

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Best Restaurant in St. Louis. The food, the drinks, the atmosphere, the service...top notch. If you haven't tried it, pick a night and indulge.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Vegan, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Molecular Gastronomy, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Authentic, Historic, Healthy, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

My last visit during Easter Brunch was disappointing. Our server put my order in wrong, forgot to put my boyfriend's order in entirely and then overcharged us an extra meal. The manager did not come by to apologize for the inconvenience nor were we compensated for the many errors. I usually love Gamlin, but this experience really questions by desire to come back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We went there for Easter Brunch. We loved everything. Chris our waiter was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Came here with 4 people and everyone liked their food. Nice ambiance. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Fun, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 14, 2017

My husband and I made a reservation here to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. The cocktails and whiskey flights are outstanding, and we also enjoyed our appetizer and dessert. The main entrees were also good, but a little pricey for the portions you receive. Since this was to celebrate a special occasion, we didn't mind. The service was outstanding, and everyone from the food runners to the restaurant manager was very friendly.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Overall, Gamlin fell quite short of my expectations. We ordered three different bottles of wine and each time had the waitress come back to tell us they were out of that bottle. She also neglected to tell us that they were out of the filet until after we tried to order it. By the time she finally brought us a bottle they had, the hood had arrived. Although we had ordered both medium rare, one was medium well. For a $35 steak, I expected better. Plus the depressed seating on the benches was uncomfortable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Brunch is always great. I love this place
I have recommended it to many of my friends

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

This is a fantastic spot that I've visited a few times for Sunday brunch (I highly recommend the shrimp and grits). We were seated quickly at the time of our reservation. Food is top notch and the staff is awesome. Will definitely be back again.

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, People Watching, Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We had a fantastic meal and great cocktails. We were able to meander through their many bourbons and scotches. Claire our bartender/server was very knowledgeable and full of energy.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Family Style, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Disabled Access, People Watching, Seasonal, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The service was great and so was the food. Best patio in CWE!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Service was slow, and the food was lacking in flavor and freshness. With that in mind, there was only one server for the bar side and dining area, but there were very few customers in the restaurant since it was 2:00p on a Wednesday. The only good think about my visit was my sazerac, which was overpriced, and the glass was only half full of a drink! It did taste great though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Great food. Great drinks. Great atmosphere. Choice of indoor or outdoor seating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 2, 2017

This is one of my favorite restaurants, but I do think it is on the pricey side.

I really like their pork wing appetizers, but my brother thought they were too sweet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 1, 2017

A very good dinner. The restaurant was buzzing--busy, energetic, fun. A bit pricier than we expected but all in all it was a very good evening and we will return.

Tags: Great Beer, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Disappointed with the stew pot pie. Literally one piece of beef in the dish with a small scoop of mashed potatoes. It was mostly a thin tomatoe soup.


The beef medallions were delicious as well as the wedge salad and brussel sprouts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 27, 2017

What a gem! The service was great, excellent menu, and reasonably priced. Parking was a breeze.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.