Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi

About Gamlin Whiskey House

With an emphasis on world class whiskeys, our contemporary steakhouse serves hand-cut steaks and delicious cocktails amid the bustle of the wonderful Central West End.

236 N. Euclid Ave
St. Louis, MO 63108
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Monday - Friday 11:00 AM - 1:30 AM
Saturday 10:00 AM - 1:30 AM
Sunday 10:00 AM - 12:00 AM

Cross Street:
Maryland and Euclid

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 875-9500

Website:
http://www.gamlinwhiskeyhouse.com/

Catering:
Gamlin Whiskey House is proud to offer a specialty catering menu upon request. With an emphasis on customization and excellent service we look forward to making your next event a special one.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Gamlin Whiskey House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Handcrafted Cocktails (30)
Good for a Date (30)
Great for Brunch (25)
See All
Hot Spot (20)
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Special Occasion (18)
Bar Seating (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (16)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Fun (15)
Good for Groups (15)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Business Meals (14)
Happy Hour (14)
Casual (14)
People Watching (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Cozy (10)
Romantic (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Authentic (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Private Room (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Historic (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Great Beer (4)
Family Style (4)
Scenic View (4)
Seasonal (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Organic (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Tapas (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Healthy (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Fireplace (1)
Vegan (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
470 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 2 days ago

The food is always so delicious and the cocktail menu is great!

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

This was our first time attending this restaurant. I would highly recommend this to anyone.

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined 2 days ago

Best Restaurant in St. Louis. The food, the drinks, the atmosphere, the service...top notch. If you haven't tried it, pick a night and indulge.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Vegan, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Molecular Gastronomy, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Authentic, Historic, Healthy, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

My last visit during Easter Brunch was disappointing. Our server put my order in wrong, forgot to put my boyfriend's order in entirely and then overcharged us an extra meal. The manager did not come by to apologize for the inconvenience nor were we compensated for the many errors. I usually love Gamlin, but this experience really questions by desire to come back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We went there for Easter Brunch. We loved everything. Chris our waiter was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Came here with 4 people and everyone liked their food. Nice ambiance. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Fun, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 14, 2017

My husband and I made a reservation here to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. The cocktails and whiskey flights are outstanding, and we also enjoyed our appetizer and dessert. The main entrees were also good, but a little pricey for the portions you receive. Since this was to celebrate a special occasion, we didn't mind. The service was outstanding, and everyone from the food runners to the restaurant manager was very friendly.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Overall, Gamlin fell quite short of my expectations. We ordered three different bottles of wine and each time had the waitress come back to tell us they were out of that bottle. She also neglected to tell us that they were out of the filet until after we tried to order it. By the time she finally brought us a bottle they had, the hood had arrived. Although we had ordered both medium rare, one was medium well. For a $35 steak, I expected better. Plus the depressed seating on the benches was uncomfortable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Brunch is always great. I love this place
I have recommended it to many of my friends

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

This is a fantastic spot that I've visited a few times for Sunday brunch (I highly recommend the shrimp and grits). We were seated quickly at the time of our reservation. Food is top notch and the staff is awesome. Will definitely be back again.

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, People Watching, Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We had a fantastic meal and great cocktails. We were able to meander through their many bourbons and scotches. Claire our bartender/server was very knowledgeable and full of energy.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Family Style, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Disabled Access, People Watching, Seasonal, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The service was great and so was the food. Best patio in CWE!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Service was slow, and the food was lacking in flavor and freshness. With that in mind, there was only one server for the bar side and dining area, but there were very few customers in the restaurant since it was 2:00p on a Wednesday. The only good think about my visit was my sazerac, which was overpriced, and the glass was only half full of a drink! It did taste great though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Great food. Great drinks. Great atmosphere. Choice of indoor or outdoor seating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 2, 2017

This is one of my favorite restaurants, but I do think it is on the pricey side.

I really like their pork wing appetizers, but my brother thought they were too sweet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 1, 2017

A very good dinner. The restaurant was buzzing--busy, energetic, fun. A bit pricier than we expected but all in all it was a very good evening and we will return.

Tags: Great Beer, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Disappointed with the stew pot pie. Literally one piece of beef in the dish with a small scoop of mashed potatoes. It was mostly a thin tomatoe soup.


The beef medallions were delicious as well as the wedge salad and brussel sprouts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 27, 2017

What a gem! The service was great, excellent menu, and reasonably priced. Parking was a breeze.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Absolutely horrible. Such an awkward and rude server. When asking for recommendations he had zero input, and when asking which of two items was better, he seemed to give no cares and was useless. Food came out slow, and was just sub par. My shrimp and grits was cold, but I did not have time to send it back and wait for it to be remade. Menu is also strangely priced - $15 for a breakfast sandwich with no sides? Strange. Have been for dinner and the steak was good. But brunch was a flop and I will be unlikely to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Food was good but our server was terrible. It was almost like he couldn't be bothered to deal with us because he had larger parties to deal with. Took us 20 minutes just to get our check and that was only after flagging down the manager to ask for it. It's a shame, my husband said his filet was excellent but not worth being treated poorly considering it's a pretty pricey meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Sunday brunch with the hubby, everything was good, our waiter was given a large party before our table so it just felt rushed when he came to check on us. He explained what was going on. Food was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 19, 2017

I made reservations for my boyfriends birthday. Arrived promptly at 7:15 and reservations were for this time. We were seated in the back bar in between two rowdy LOUD tables. Having made reservations and because we were celebrating a special occasion, I was NOT happy and neither was my boyfriend. We asked to move to the dining area where I thought we would be because of my reservation. They told us they couldn't do it due to being busy. We ended up moving to another area, but soon after moving heard the host tell a couple that WALKED IN they were in luck because a table had just opened up in the dining room. Will not be returning and not reccomending to friends. The waitress was great and food. But rude host and not working with our request will mean no return visit for us.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Our food was amazing. This was for an anniversary, so make sure you call in advance for more intimate placement. We were initially placed in a large bar room that was extremely loud and lacked any sense of privacy. The waitress and manager found a quieter place by the front bar rail that turned out great. Just know it's very lively and not a quiet, romantic type of environment. Slightly pricey but the food and cocktails were excellent.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Had brunch there while attending NCAA wrestling championships, would love to return for evening meal.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Tulsa)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Great Steak! Save Room for the Bread Pudding which changes daily.

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Everything was really good and they were really accommodating. However they usually offer you a small wisely on you Birthday and they did not offer me one. :(

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The food was great for brunch! Side sizes were bigger than expected, so order away.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on March 11, 2017

4 couples on a date night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Good food, good drinks but service was a bit slow. Our waiter was Carlos but he wasn't the issue they needed more wait staff. But, that happens and we adjusted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Great experience. Good food and whiskey selection. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Until this last visit, I'd never had a bad experience at Gamlin except for a snooty bartender one night last year, but the service was terrible this time. Extremely slow server who kept us waiting a good 20 minutes before his first stop at our table. If we'd had at least water while waiting it may not have been a big deal, but we were thirsty!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Hot Spot, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 5, 2017

This was my first time at Gamlin and I had a superb experience. I would recommend to anyone looking for a special night out. I had the 8 oz filet and one of the best meals I've eaten in a very long time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great brunch! The chicken fried steak was better than expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 28, 2017

We went for our son's 30th birthday. He and my husband had dined there the previous week, and raved about the food and the drinks. He wanted to go back for his birthday, with me in tow. Good food, service, ambiance, and worth the price. Will definitely come back when we are in the St. Louis area.

Tags: Private Room, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Cozy, Casual, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Service was great, our waiter was very helpful and knowledgeable. Let us try some samples of whiskey before we decided on our order.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Food was terrific and all locally sourced. The steaks were perfectly cooked and they used really eat sauces and butter creations.

Service was a little slow though.

Tags: Good for Groups, Organic, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Love this place. Service is fun and educated on bourbon. Small plates and lots of whisky is a good night.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 22, 2017

I would not recommend this place to any of my friends just due to the high cost of everything on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 22, 2017

For a Tuesday night when the restaurant wasn't overly busy, the service was completely lacking. The waiter seemed inconvenienced by us being there. The service and food has consistently gotten worse each time I have given the place a shot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We love this place! When it's nice we really enjoy the patio for lunch or an afternoon drink and appetizers. Service is good unless they are really busy and then there can be wait times for drink refills or to get a check. The food is excellent. We've never had a bad dish here. I always recommend this place to others and have never had anyone disappointed.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.