About Gamlin Whiskey House

236 N. Euclid Ave
St. Louis, MO 63108
View Larger Map

With an emphasis on world class whiskeys, our contemporary steakhouse serves hand-cut steaks and delicious cocktails amid the bustle of the wonderful Central West End.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Monday - Friday 11:00 AM - 1:30 AM
Saturday 10:00 AM - 1:30 AM
Sunday 10:00 AM - 12:00 AM

Cross Street:
Maryland and Euclid

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 875-9500

Website:
http://www.gamlinwhiskeyhouse.com/

Catering:
Gamlin Whiskey House is proud to offer a specialty catering menu upon request. With an emphasis on customization and excellent service we look forward to making your next event a special one.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Gamlin Whiskey House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Downtown
Best Restaurants in St. Louis ›

fit for foodies (57)
special occasion (46)
neighborhood gem (45)
See All
good for groups (40)
great for outdoor dining (38)
vibrant bar scene (37)
great for brunch (29)
hot spot (28)
romantic (21)
notable wine list (17)
great for lunch (13)
late-night find (10)
kid-friendly (4)
scenic view (3)
Sort By:
Newest
311 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service5

Great selection of whiskeys: Ryes, Scotc ...

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

Great selection of whiskeys: Ryes, Scotches and Bourbons and some very interesting cocktails. Had a great meal too!

food4
ambience5
service1

Lack of service. 😕 they said they were ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Lack of service. 😕 they said they were busy with another table.

food3
ambience3
service3

Great crab cakes!

Dined on May 15, 2016

Great crab cakes!

food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Quiet Anniversary Dinner....Not here.

Dined on May 14, 2016

Fun place for a group. not an anniversary dinner. Requested window seat and we were given one in the walkway from the bar to the restaurant. Traffic non-stop. Fun place for a group of friends though. Food was outstanding and our waiter was very nice. Just not the ambiance I hoped for or expected, especially with the prices you pay for the meals. Upscale food but not the upscale experience.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Unique menu, friendly staff. Good food! ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Unique menu, friendly staff. Good food! Great décor and lively atmosphere.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience5
service4

Cool place but the food was marginal. ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Cool place but the food was marginal. Both had the Pasta. One over cooked and the other, the squid ink pasta, was hard and undercooked. Sauces were greasy. Waitress was pleasant and great. I would stick with just the whiskey at the whiskey house!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Steakhouse with a Whiskey theme.

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

I had one of the best "steak and potatoes" meals I have had in ages. My friends loved a Cajan fish dish. Great menu! The staff is efficient and pleasant. The whiskey flights were a big hit, and the bartender satisfied some picky cocktail drinkers. The only drawback was background music that was a bit too loud—at least for the tables in our nook.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service3

Carrie at the bar was awesome! Gamlin's ...

Dined on May 3, 2016

Carrie at the bar was awesome! Gamlin's does not carry ginger ale and I drink Woodford and ginger ale. She offered to make me ginger ale and it was excellent. She is a gem.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Brunch

Dined on May 1, 2016

I ate here with my dad who was visiting. We both had never eaten brunch here before but I will certainly be back! Delicious French toast!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and service!

Dined on April 22, 2016

Avoided for a bit because of the menu prices ($10-20 appetizers and $25-40 entrees). Service and patio/restaurant were both awesome! Happy hour is really good too! BEST CRAB CAKES EVER! They are huge, like 90% crab, with amazing sauce! The entrees were good too but we couldn't stop talking about and thinking about the crab cakes. Going back very soon just for them. Server was very knowledgable about the whiskey and wine list.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

First time and loved it! Great selection ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

First time and loved it! Great selections on spirits. Food was creative and very good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Environment

Dined on April 3, 2016

The restaurant was a great place and had some great food. The only thing that I disliked was how loud it was.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Too Fast

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

I have to say the food was good and our waitress was very sweet. But we no sooner had our wine delivered then immediately the salad came and in 30 seconds our dinners were served. And then the potatoes were cold which she rectified immediately. There really should be some time between drinks, salad and dinner. And this was a Friday evening.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great meal

Dined on March 28, 2016

We had a quiet romantic Easter dinner. First time for the lobster bisque and it was delicious . Our steaks were perfectly cook. We will be back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely perfect Easter Brunch!

Dined on March 27, 2016

We went to Gamlins for brunch on Easter. They serve a regular brunch menu with a wonderful selection of sweet and savory. Fresh OJ in my mamosa. The food is great. Among our party's entrees... Amazing shrimp & grits, Chicken & waffles, Prime Rib & Eggs. Each one hot, fresh, with very different flavors. The service was friendly and wonderful in a nice laid back atmosphere. And it did not cost near as much as some of the pricey "wait-in-line for okay food" brunches we have been to. Going to go back and try happy hour next time!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food2
ambience4
service4

Steak on steak salad was well done, orde ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

Steak on steak salad was well done, ordered medium-rare.

food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Pricey for the quality

Dined on March 23, 2016

The food overall is good here, but the price tag that goes with it is very high. We ordered a couple apps, the first being toasted rav for $15. We got five of them...maybe the rest fell off en route. We also ordered the "pig" wings, in which we received four, also $15. We followed up apps with dinner, in which we all ordered steaks. Out of the five, only one was cooked as ordered. For a ~$40 steak, I would expect it to be cooked medium rare when ordered, not medium well. Big difference when you can barely see a glimmer of pink and a nice pink core. The flavors were all very good, including the steak, but they were simply overdone. At the prices on the menu, you could go to a nicer steak house, pay a couple bucks more, and have an outstanding steak.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food, Great Service, fun spot

vip
Dined on March 21, 2016

We have a group that meets for lunch monthly and it was our turn to pick the spot and treat our friends. We have hit many of the big name places around town, but none provided this level of service and sumptuous food and drink. Gamlin is known for it's whiskey based cocktails, so we sampled several of their classic drinks and shared them about. All were fantastic, especially their Sazerac cocktail and the whiskey sours. I usually find the sour mix to be overbearing elsewhere, in Gamlin's drink there was just the right amount of citrus tang but the liquor was not overwhelmed. Awesome. The food was spectacular. We had sandwiches, short rib sliders, three takes on thick house-cured bacon, salads, and two lovely desserts for sharing. We left wishing we could have sampled more items, so another trip is a certainty. Our waiter, Tim, who may be one of the best in town, provided great recommendations and service while training a new server at the same time. He was really impressive.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Always have a great meal and fun time wh ...

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

Always have a great meal and fun time when we are there.

food5
ambience5
service5

Joe is the best server and should get a ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

Joe is the best server and should get a raise/ ownership stake

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Good time

Dined on March 20, 2016

We had a wonderful experience. Our waiter was the best, the food came in a timely manner and the drinks were perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great MENU

Dined on March 19, 2016

We stumbled across this unique restaurant and could not have been more pleased! Great ambiance, a menu we all enjoyed, and the drinks were very good! We would definitely return the next time we are in St. Louis.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food. Yea buddy

Dined on March 13, 2016

Good food. Yea buddy

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

if you like Whisky (ey), this place is must!

Dined on March 13, 2016

Solid Food. Very good service. The Brown Water choices are out of this world. And! a whisky sommelier to guide you through the evening.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Date Night

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

My wife and I have been here a couple of times and enjoy it for a special date night. We are Bourbon lovers and there's a fine selection among othe spirits. There are a number of flights to compare whiskey flavor profiles and food. Personally I like making my own flight-though a little pricy. Known for their handcut steaks, I was pleased with the cut and cooking style of my ribeye. Experiment with apps, cheese platter and side for a great experience. The servers are excellent and the two I've had knew their spirits well. My only disappointment is that couples tables are tiny and the small venue is really set up for groups. Wish I had a better table setting. Other than that, great experience.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Gamlin Whisky House

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

Food wasn't prepared correctly. The egg on salmon sandwich was hard, not medium. Sandwiches are over priced. No sides come with sandwiches. Potato wedge side is small and greasy.

food4
ambience4
service5

Food was a little salty but otherwise ve ...

Dined on March 11, 2016

Food was a little salty but otherwise very good. Service was EXCELLENT.

food5
ambience5
service5

The waiter we had was amazing! Great at ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

The waiter we had was amazing! Great at recommending items to us and the food was some of the best we had in St. Louis!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great brunch!

Dined on February 27, 2016

We were there on a Saturday for brunch. Food was exceptional, everyone at our table got something different and we all loved each one. Drinks were good. Thought perhaps the whiskey cocktail I got was a little overpriced for the size, but it was really good. Definitely will be back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Get whiskey and get a steak. You won't r ...

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

Get whiskey and get a steak. You won't regret it!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best Brunch

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Brunch menu contains a range of options. Every time I have been the food has been amazing. Gamlin's staff is always pleasant and professional.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Southern Heaven

Dined on February 14, 2016

Excellent service, fun menu, quality ingredients and oh the whiskey selection... I love this restaurant for Saturday and Sunday breakfast. My request for Valentine's Day this year!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience3
service3

Food was absolutely terrible. Worst I've ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Food was absolutely terrible. Worst I've ever had.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Place!

Dined on February 14, 2016

We had a great time at this restaurant and the food and service was fantastic.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great evening at Gamlin's

Dined on February 12, 2016

This was our second time at Gamlin's. Last year we sat outside before a baseball game and everything was fabulous! Too cold to sit outside in February so we dined inside. Our hostess gave us the best table in the restaurant. A huge booth for just the 2 of us but still quite cozy. William was our server and he was excellent. He is a true professional! He brought us a different year of wine than what was on the menu and offered up suggestions. The 3 Little Pigs is outstanding. We also shared the surf and turf and the lobster was cooked perfectly. Oh yeah the guys at the bar quite wonderful with bourbon suggestions! We will be back next time we are in St. Louis. Gamlin's never disappoints.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Good times :)

vip
Dined on January 31, 2016

Have been to Gamlin a few times now, once for dinner, once for the bar, and now brunch. Service, especially at the bar, is awesome and friendly, and can't beat the selection of whiskey and bourbon. Brunch was good, they can poach eggs which is essential if you are going to offer a Benedict on the menu. Wish said Benedict came with some sort of potato product, but you have to order that separately, which makes it a little pricey. Otherwise, our server at brunch, Sierra, was great. Will definitely be back!

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5

The service here was great and the barte ...

Dined on January 30, 2016

The service here was great and the bartender didn't skimp on liquor in the cocktails; watered down drinks out a bad taste in my mouth about the management of a restaurant and respect for its customers. My only complaint is that the 4 oz. steak seemed a little under seasoned. It was tender and juicy, but I almost asked for steak sauce.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Hot scene, hot food and hot drinks

Dined on January 1, 2016

Great scene and atmosphere. Awesome drink menu with highly knowledgable wait staff. Food selection very interesting! We went New Year's Eve...food was pretty good...probably not best night as they were crazy busy, so I'll forgive the less than awesome preparation of the food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience2
service1

The two of us went there on New Years Ev ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

The two of us went there on New Years Eve with a reservation and they sat us at a very small high top table in the bar section. The table was very wobbly and we asked to have a different table. The waiter said that wasn't possible due to the other reservations and he put a wedge under the table to stop the wobble. The table wasn't large enough to even move our appetizer and dinner plates around. To top it off, no one showed up to eat at the other large tables around us, so telling us that we couldn't move didn't exactly make sense. Also since we were placed in the bar area and not in the dining area the other tables were very loud and obnoxious making conversation almost impossible. I was very disappointed with our experience, especially for the $130 dollars we paid for two of us to eat there.

food5
ambience4
service5

The appetizers are amazing, the best of ...

Dined on December 31, 2015

The appetizers are amazing, the best of which is the bread board with homemade butters. You select 3 butters which are then paired with 3 breads. It's hard to choose only 3 butters especially when new ones seem to make their way onto the menu. Also, the drinks are delicious. Anyone who likes whiskey will love their old fashioned or Manhattan.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.