Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Gamlin Whiskey House

4.3
590 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steak
Top Tags:
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Special Occasion

Similar Restaurants

About

With an emphasis on world class whiskeys, our contemporary steakhouse serves hand-cut steaks and delicious cocktails amid the bustle of the wonderful Central West End.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steak, Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation


Monday - Friday 11:00 AM - 1:30 AM
Saturday 10:00 AM - 1:30 AM
Sunday 10:00 AM - 12:00 AM
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(314) 875-9500
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Gamlin Whiskey House is proud to offer a specialty catering menu upon request. With an emphasis on customization and excellent service we look forward to making your next event a special one.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Maryland and Euclid
Additional
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 590 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.3based on all time ratings
4.3
food
4.2
service
4.3
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
89% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on November 20, 2017

While the food was average, our service was exceptional. Mike made sure our anniversary was special and memorable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 11, 2017

Loved the whole experience. We were seated next to the windows which is a little chilly in the winter. Other than that, it was awesome!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 9, 2017

They have wonderful food and the waitress Julie has served us twice and both times she was great server. My only complaint was I requested a table and the hostess failed to comply

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 8, 2017

Great food. Service slow. Waiter was good when he came but big gaps in ordering time and out of the wine we asked for

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 5, 2017

Our meal was delicious! Thankfully a large very loud crowd left about 15 minutes after we sat down. We couldn’t hear each other! Our server was Emily and she was outstanding! She was very knowledgeable and attentive to us. Thank you Emily!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 4, 2017

Absolutely delicious meal!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on November 3, 2017

Poor food. Mediocre service. Mediocre whisky choices. A lot of mainstream distillers. Pass

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 2, 2017

Overpriced

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 29, 2017

Fine menu, excellent steaks but other great choices as well. Several sides. Staff was very helpful. Very enjoyable dinner.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 21, 2017

We arrived a few minutes late and were seated immediately inside. I was concerned about the service because of a wedding reception, but, it was quick. My only complaint is that the lobster tail was overdone. Everyone else raved about the food!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 17, 2017

Great food, very creative and plentiful dishes. We were a group of 4, we ordered Shrimp & Grits, Bacon, and Mussells for appetizers, which they were all excellent!! As well as dinner, I had scallops, someone had pork steak, another had skirt steak oscar which everyone raved about their dishes. On top of great food, the bourbon selection was outstanding as well as service!! Definitely will be back,

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 16, 2017

Very slow service by waiter, and infrequent checks. We spent much too long waiting for dessert, and one dessert came 20 min after the others, while we were trying to get the check. I rose from the table to ask another service to process our payment when our server didn't come by for after dropping off the check folio.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 15, 2017

We brought our brother and sister-in-law to this restaurant while they were visiting us. It was also our first time dining there. We had a great dinner and they were able to accommodate my sister-in-law's dairy allergy needs. Everyone was very happy with their food and drinks.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on October 15, 2017

My fiance and I scheduled a Sunday brunch at Gamlin with her parents to celebrate our new engagement. As CWE residents, we have grown to love Gamlin as one of our favorite brunch spots. This particular visit left a lot to be desired.

After years in the food industry, I understand that Sunday brunch can be one of the busiest times of the week, I understand that causes out of stocks (IE no biscuits for a signature dish), and I will be more than willing to let it slide. To bring out my meal at room temperature after a 45 minute wait it just disappointing.

As a long time patron, this visit left everything to be desired.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 14, 2017

Always stellar food and service at Gamlin.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 14, 2017

Have been here several times for Sunday brunch (which is excellent) and decided to try it for an anniversary dinner. The food and drinks are excellent, but we do believe that it is pricey for the amount of food you receive compared to other comparable restaurants. We'll reserve our dinner visits for special occasions only, but we will continue to rank it the #1 spot for Sunday brunch in the St. Louis area.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on October 14, 2017

We had heard about Gamlin Whiskey House and expected a pleasant experience. Sadly, it was a huge disappointment. Our waiter was awkward, inexperienced and poorly trained. He knew nothing about the whiskeys and told us that he didnt. The steak was poorly prepared, the medallions were so heavily spiced that they were inedible. When we mentioned this to the waiter he said "oh, that's too bad." We had to ask for service several times. He asked if we wanted pepper for our salad and then said "oh let me go get some" and took several minutes to return. The candleholders on the tables were empty. Our menu was missing the actual menus inside the "Clever" containers. The place is overpriced, not pleasant and a real disappointment. We will not return

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on October 13, 2017

Food was of low quality and and poorly prepared. The Tomahawk Ribeye was tough and chewy. Needless to mention that it was undercooked and lacked crust. The asparagus was over cooked. The entree course was served so quickly that the salad course was cut short. The manager came to the table and listened carefully but that was all she did. Really?

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 8, 2017

We went to Gamlin because our neighbors said they had the best chicken and waffles. They were awesome and it has a very extensive menu. There were six of us and everything was good. I've never really found a brunch place I love in St Louis. This is my new go to place.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 7, 2017

The food was good but the value was not. Surprised at the prices for what was served. We opted to not order appetizers for that reason - $16 for toasted ravioli?

If we return it will be for a drink and small plate or a shared entree. There are MUCH better dining options in this price range and lower in STL.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 4, 2017

Again....one of our favorite places.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 4, 2017

Waitress did not care I was not happy with my meal in which I left 3/4 of the meal. Nothing
but a huge bill was given. Too many other fabulous places where people care about someone
who spending 100.00 for a meal and know who to prepare it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 30, 2017

Great good. Grear service!! Will return

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 30, 2017

Nice, relaxing dinner with excellent food and service (JD was our waiter). Was our first visit - will be back soon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 28, 2017

We had a table of 6. Cassidy our server couldn't be any more gracious. Excellent knowledge of the menu and drink options.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 24, 2017

I was there this past Sunday to celebrate my daughter’s Baptism and the service was outstanding. Our server was JD he was very attentive and accommodating. This was not my first time at Gamlin but definitely won’t be my last. The food and service is what keeps me coming back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 23, 2017

Our server (Julie) was spectacular, food and drinks were also fantastic, we will definitely be back next time we are in St Louis!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 18, 2017

I went late at night to have dinner with my boyfriend and it was very nice, good food, and our waiter was a sweetheart. I was afraid at first because I read mixed reviews, but it was nice.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 10, 2017

I've been here several times this year and wouldn't change it for the world. Of course it would be a wait but for future references always make reservations. I will recommend this place to anyone.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 9, 2017

Went here with the wife because we had a $75 gift card. We got an appetizer, we each got a steak, a desert, a flight of bourbon, an old fashioned and two glasses of wine. We ended up spending $150 on top of the $75 gift card(with tip). We started with the Three little pigs. Basically it's three different kinds of flavored bacon on bread. Neither of us thought there was a huge difference in flavor, but it was still good(it's bacon). I got the Ribeye, which came with potatoes Au Gratin. Mine was amazing and there is not a single thing I would change about it. I would get it again over and over. My wife got the 7oz filet, but it wasn't quite cooked to the medium she asked(it was more like medium rare). The desert was the apple turnover which was very good. It comes with homemade ice cream which was also very good. I would get it again, but after I tried the other deserts. I got the single barrel flight(although I substituted one of the bourbon's). The waiter was very helpful and knowledgeable about bourbon but was pushing the missouri whiskey club membership every time he came to the table even though he said he didn't get anything by signing people up. He mentioned it probably 5-6 times. Is it amazing food and alcohol? Absolutely. Will I eat here more often? Probably not for $225. Will I eat there again? Yes.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 6, 2017

Hard to recommend this place. Wanted to love but way overpriced for the quality of food and service.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 3, 2017

Went here for a birthday brunch with 15 people. Great spot! They can definitely accommodate a big group, the service was great. Chicken and waffles were delish and everyone seemed to really like the food and atmosphere!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 3, 2017

We went on Sunday brunch and it was outstanding. We even had ourn7 yr old and she loved the Oreo pancakes. I had the country fried chicken all was great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 27, 2017

You fjkopchijbn

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 25, 2017

Overall the experience was fine but we waited almost an hour for our reservation. The manager did come over to talk to us and comped us a bottle of wine. I would have chosen another place if I had known that they wouldn't be able to seat us.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 24, 2017

Really solid appetizers. Main courses hit/miss. Great dessert. Service was serviceable.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 20, 2017

The food was fresh and the presentation was lovely, but the muscles and the sea bass were frankly quite bland, so it was a bit of a let down.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 19, 2017

A very fun, lively restaurant. Highly recommend outdoor seating if the weather permits. Our server Joe was great and helped us pick a flight of whiskey that was great. The double-cut pork chop is unbelievable and the shrimp and grits rivals Lousiana!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on August 19, 2017

After 2 hours, we had only received our appetizers and hadn't seen our waiter for an hour. Left rather than ordering entrees.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 12, 2017

The bartenders were extremely knowledgeable and the food was amazing.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
15

Tweets by Gamlin Whiskey House