Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi

About Gamlin Whiskey House

With an emphasis on world class whiskeys, our contemporary steakhouse serves hand-cut steaks and delicious cocktails amid the bustle of the wonderful Central West End.

236 N. Euclid Ave
St. Louis, MO 63108
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Monday - Friday 11:00 AM - 1:30 AM
Saturday 10:00 AM - 1:30 AM
Sunday 10:00 AM - 12:00 AM

Cross Street:
Maryland and Euclid

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 875-9500

Website:
http://www.gamlinwhiskeyhouse.com/

Catering:
Gamlin Whiskey House is proud to offer a specialty catering menu upon request. With an emphasis on customization and excellent service we look forward to making your next event a special one.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Gamlin Whiskey House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (42)
Great for Brunch (35)
Great for Outdoor Dining (33)
See All
Handcrafted Cocktails (31)
Special Occasion (28)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Fun (26)
Good for Groups (25)
Fit for Foodies (20)
People Watching (18)
Hot Spot (16)
Casual (16)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Happy Hour (15)
Great for Lunch (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Business Meals (14)
Comfort Food (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Romantic (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Cozy (7)
Scenic View (6)
Great Beer (6)
Seasonal (5)
Authentic (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Vegan (2)
Historic (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Healthy (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Tapas (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Organic (1)
Live Sports (1)
Family Style (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
535 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 13, 2017

At lunch, a good spot for conversation because has three sizable rooms; therefore, not too crowded. Good lunch menu; prices ok.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Great location love the outdoor patio and our food was great. I did feel a little rushed by the waiter.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Great food!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Excellent food. Excellent service, very impressed and pleased

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Waitress was inattentive and unaware that restaurant was out of the first 4 wines we ordered. Food was burnt and had to be sent back. Overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Great first experience. Waiter was in training and did an excellent job attending to our table. All of the food from the house salad to the pork steak, west end lemonade were all delicious but please leave room for the fried cookie! I am looking forward to visiting this restaurant again soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 2, 2017

I'm a concierge at the Four Seasons St. Louis. This is one of my favorite bunch locations. Keep up the fabulous work!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Fun, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 1, 2017

I went for the bourbon and ordered a s steak for dinner. The ribeye was amazing. Also enjoyed the bourbon. The select was pretty good so we were able to do a good year I g for my friend as they don't normally drink bourbon.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Really enjoyed our recent dining experience at Gamlin. The happy hour specials are amazing. The whiskey flight we chose included an interesting taste of Missouri. Great place!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Food was amazing!!! Service was good but very slow!!

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Great waitstaff great service. Would return again soon!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Authentic, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We've been there many times before and had a good experience, but this visit was marked by remarkably slow service, mistakes in our order, forgotten meals and poor quality of some of our meals. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The food and service were great. I would definitely recommend for brunch.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Father's Day brunch was a hit; the fresh OJ was delicious and all our omelettes were as advertised.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We had a very good meal at Gamlin Whiskey House. Sat outside and the ambiance was delightful. Our first two choices for entree were not available, fortunately the replacements were superb. The mixed drink menu had excellent choices and the selection whiskeys was overwhelming. Would definitely recommend for either a special occasion or just a fun meal

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Amazing service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We had a wonderful experience, I made a reservation. Although they were busy,we waited 1 and 1/2 hours for our food. But was an overall great place and we be back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Wonderful experience in every aspect. We will definitely return!

Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Brunch food fair. Prime rib tough, very little flavor. Biscuits and gravy ok. Not hot. Frittata with vegetables good.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The waitress spilled a steak and crab entree on my friends HEAD. Her meal wasn't even comp'd until we asked for it to be. Then they tacked on 20% gratuity for our party of 6. Which is just plain tacky when you spill an entree on someone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Our server was very good and attentive, but my steak was like chewing rubber. I had the 14 ounce Ribeye ($42) and I could get a better steak at Texas Road House for half the price. The restaurant itself is very nice and seemed busy. Maybe their seafood would be better but I would not go back for a steak.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 13, 2017

I tried the mussels and DID NOT like them at all. The other 4 ladies all enjoyed their meals. Guess I just made the wrong choice. Otherwise, the restaurant was just fine. Our waiter was wonderful and I was not charged for my entree which, incidentally, our waiter said was the second most popular item on the menu.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 11, 2017

My family and I came for brunch to celebrate my family member our waitress was rude and barely served us there was another gentlemen waiter near by that attempt to help us he was very nice. We asked for the manager and she was no better than our waitress the manager was extremely rude to us. I was very surprised by this service because I patronizing this business often and have never received service like this

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Great brunch menu! It is one of those places where you have about 4 options that you want and have to decide what one you can't live without. For me, it ends up being the chicken and waffles. As you can clearly see from other reviews- they do it right. This trip, we came for my Mother in Laws birthday. Until next time..

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 9, 2017

If your a Bourbon / Whiskey love then this place is a must. The food is great as well. The Bourbon / Whiskey menu is very extensive and filled with a lot of great items. If you don't see one you like then be sure and ask for what isn't on the menu. They will bring you a proprietor's list as if the original list wasn't good enough. Get the crab cakes as an appetizer. Worth every bite! They Three Little Pigs was good but not great. My wife and I both got steaks. She got the petit filet cooked perfectly and I got the Cowboy Bone-In Rib eye. Opt for a table on the patio and enjoy the people watching. Service was fantastic as well. Highly recommend.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 7, 2017

The food was delicious!! It's very pricey but if going for special occasions, it's worth it!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Food was great! Came with the family and everyone enjoyed their selection. Even the 2 year old ate his pancake and he's been very picky lately! I have to also say the mimosas were the best, actually were more champagne than OJ!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 3, 2017

DO NOT GO HERE!!!
I was in St. Louis for the weekend and looked forward to dining here. Based on their website and pricing I expected something nice. It is not. This isn't a nice restaurant. This is a bar that sells overpriced food. Our steaks were horribly undercooked. While we were the only people in the dining area, the service was still pitiful at best. I am sorry I have to give them a 1 star because they do not deserve even 1. I will NEVER return or recommend this establishment to anyone. Do yourself a favor and go to Ruth's Chris instead.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The food was AMAZING as always!! I have never had a problem with Gamlin will continue to frequent this restaurant.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Great service and good food!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Two steaks over cooked. Sent one back and then came out rare...server forgot one person's steak knife and then came out and back about 4 times before bringing it so that person's food cooled before first bite. This place always seems good in theory, but reality is good quality falls short of a true steak house. Whiskey cocktails are creative and good.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 28, 2017

They were short staffed on Sunday night. My husband and I were asked to eat at the bar even though we had a reservation. This was about 1.5 hours after our reservation time. I guess the kitchen and wait staff were so backed up that they had to stop seating people. The wait staff was hustling and were very pleasant but service was very slow. It was frustrating that nothing was taken off the bill after not being able to be seated and the the long wait for food/drinks. Expected more given the price of the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We had a table outside. Excellent service and good food. Had salads and bread board. They did not rush us and you can people watch.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Great place with delicious food. It was a little expensive but they had great appetizers that were super filling!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Tapas, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Live Sports, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Meh, I had the sea bass (I know it's not 2007 anymore). The potato cake and tomato cake were better than the fish. It was over cooked. Service was friendly and attentive. I was satisfied at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Love this place, brunch is really good. I recommend the shrimp and grits

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Our server was EXCELLENT! She was the best part of the evening. Food was ok. I had the filet and Lobster. Good, but not memorable. Everyone else seemed to enjoy their meals. The cocktails were fantastic and whiskey selection impressive. We will go again for the service, the atmosphere and the drinks!

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 26, 2017

AWESOME food!!!!!! Highly recommend this place to anyone looking for some great flavors. Strongly recommend the short rib sliders and toasted ravioli.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, People Watching, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We had an 11:15 reservation. We were not seated until 11:40. No one greeted our table not brought us water for another 10 minutes after I had to ask the host--we were forgotten. I have eaten here many times, but today it seemed as if they could care less.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The food and service were great but the noise level was extremely loud. You could not carry on a conversation at the table without shouting. Way too loud.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.