Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi

About Gamlin Whiskey House

With an emphasis on world class whiskeys, our contemporary steakhouse serves hand-cut steaks and delicious cocktails amid the bustle of the wonderful Central West End.

236 N. Euclid Ave
St. Louis, MO 63108
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Monday - Friday 11:00 AM - 1:30 AM
Saturday 10:00 AM - 1:30 AM
Sunday 10:00 AM - 12:00 AM

Cross Street:
Maryland and Euclid

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 875-9500

Website:
http://www.gamlinwhiskeyhouse.com/

Catering:
Gamlin Whiskey House is proud to offer a specialty catering menu upon request. With an emphasis on customization and excellent service we look forward to making your next event a special one.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Gamlin Whiskey House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Handcrafted Cocktails (25)
Good for a Date (25)
Special Occasion (18)
See All
Great for Brunch (17)
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Bar Seating (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Hot Spot (13)
Fun (13)
Happy Hour (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Business Meals (10)
Casual (10)
Modern Decor (9)
People Watching (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Cozy (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Romantic (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Private Room (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Authentic (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Scenic View (3)
Historic (3)
Family Style (3)
Organic (2)
Tapas (2)
Seasonal (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great Beer (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Healthy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
450 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Sunday brunch with the hubby, everything was good, our waiter was given a large party before our table so it just felt rushed when he came to check on us. He explained what was going on. Food was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 19, 2017

I made reservations for my boyfriends birthday. Arrived promptly at 7:15 and reservations were for this time. We were seated in the back bar in between two rowdy LOUD tables. Having made reservations and because we were celebrating a special occasion, I was NOT happy and neither was my boyfriend. We asked to move to the dining area where I thought we would be because of my reservation. They told us they couldn't do it due to being busy. We ended up moving to another area, but soon after moving heard the host tell a couple that WALKED IN they were in luck because a table had just opened up in the dining room. Will not be returning and not reccomending to friends. The waitress was great and food. But rude host and not working with our request will mean no return visit for us.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Our food was amazing. This was for an anniversary, so make sure you call in advance for more intimate placement. We were initially placed in a large bar room that was extremely loud and lacked any sense of privacy. The waitress and manager found a quieter place by the front bar rail that turned out great. Just know it's very lively and not a quiet, romantic type of environment. Slightly pricey but the food and cocktails were excellent.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Had brunch there while attending NCAA wrestling championships, would love to return for evening meal.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Tulsa)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Great Steak! Save Room for the Bread Pudding which changes daily.

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Everything was really good and they were really accommodating. However they usually offer you a small wisely on you Birthday and they did not offer me one. :(

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The food was great for brunch! Side sizes were bigger than expected, so order away.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on March 11, 2017

4 couples on a date night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Good food, good drinks but service was a bit slow. Our waiter was Carlos but he wasn't the issue they needed more wait staff. But, that happens and we adjusted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Great experience. Good food and whiskey selection. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Until this last visit, I'd never had a bad experience at Gamlin except for a snooty bartender one night last year, but the service was terrible this time. Extremely slow server who kept us waiting a good 20 minutes before his first stop at our table. If we'd had at least water while waiting it may not have been a big deal, but we were thirsty!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Hot Spot, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 5, 2017

This was my first time at Gamlin and I had a superb experience. I would recommend to anyone looking for a special night out. I had the 8 oz filet and one of the best meals I've eaten in a very long time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great brunch! The chicken fried steak was better than expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 28, 2017

We went for our son's 30th birthday. He and my husband had dined there the previous week, and raved about the food and the drinks. He wanted to go back for his birthday, with me in tow. Good food, service, ambiance, and worth the price. Will definitely come back when we are in the St. Louis area.

Tags: Private Room, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Cozy, Casual, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Service was great, our waiter was very helpful and knowledgeable. Let us try some samples of whiskey before we decided on our order.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Food was terrific and all locally sourced. The steaks were perfectly cooked and they used really eat sauces and butter creations.

Service was a little slow though.

Tags: Good for Groups, Organic, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Love this place. Service is fun and educated on bourbon. Small plates and lots of whisky is a good night.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 22, 2017

I would not recommend this place to any of my friends just due to the high cost of everything on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 22, 2017

For a Tuesday night when the restaurant wasn't overly busy, the service was completely lacking. The waiter seemed inconvenienced by us being there. The service and food has consistently gotten worse each time I have given the place a shot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We love this place! When it's nice we really enjoy the patio for lunch or an afternoon drink and appetizers. Service is good unless they are really busy and then there can be wait times for drink refills or to get a check. The food is excellent. We've never had a bad dish here. I always recommend this place to others and have never had anyone disappointed.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The Whiskey House was a wonderful experience. I've lived in St. Louis for about 6 months and it is my favorite restaurant thus far. All of the food that I've had is excellent and everyone is very friendly. My wife and I recently went to brunch and the food was fantastic. I highly recommend it to anyone that is looking for a great place to eat!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Our visit was a the first time there and we enjoyed everything. My husband started with the Bloody Ghost with the chicken and waffles and he just raved about both. I enjoyed the Wiskey in the Morning Mimosa with the banana and strawberry waffle, YUM! We will be back!!!!

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great drinks, average food especially for the price

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Appetizer was outstanding - shrimp and grits with an egg - highly recommend.
8 oz filet medium rare - not very flavorful. Sides were asparagus/potatoes and those were good.
Chilean Sea bass - not very flavorful. My husband was sick all night after eating it.
Blueberry whiskey lemonade - highly recommend.
Bourbon County Stout - hard to find and they had it! They also sell that to go - great bonus!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The good was very good and our waitress was very attentive and knowledgeable. She probably took the dining experience from an "A" to an "A+"! I will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Very overpriced for what I received. A three egg omelet for $15 that includes nothing? No thanks. There are many other brunch places that serve better food at a more affordable price. The Brasserie down the street is 15x better and less expensive.

I will not be back.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I had to call to change my reservation from 10 to 12 and the they would very easy to work with. We got a private table in the corner and it was very comfortable. We were seating right away even though our entire party was not there yet. We were not rushed by the server and she was knowledgeable. I know the menu can be over whelming and looks expensive but I just fine ordering appetizers. I recommend the bread board with homemade butters to start. I would come back and definitely make a reservation!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Another extraordinary experience at GWH. As usual, our dinner was superior on both service and food quality. Add to that another drive-by from Dustin (their fantastic Bar Manager) who comped us single-barrel whiskey cocktails from that night's GWH Whiskey Society meeting, and you have the makings of a meal we won't soon forget. No better way to impress my business colleague from out-of-town. Thanks GWH, you folks are the best!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Fun, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The food was great, and the whiskey selection was even better! Went for a date night with my fiance and very much enjoyed the experience.

Tags: Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Love the food & service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Outstanding whiskey selection, cocktails and flights of different alcohol. The food was outstanding as well.casual atmosphere, tables close together and fun place to go

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Food needs work

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Greatly enjoyed the experience of eating at this restaurant. It's was my wife's birthday & she really enjoyed the food! Not an inexpensive meal, but you get what you pay for and this was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great food but a bit high priced for the type of atmosphere.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We went here because it was highly rated as far as a steak house, but they had a lot of signature cocktails too. They had an awesome surf & turf special that wasn't on the menu, and that is what I had, it was exceptional!! Be prepared though, because though you receive a great meal, you also pay for it $$. This is not a place to go if you are on a budget, but it is well worth it. It was somewhat noisy, and not as intimate as what I had expected for the occasion. The other member of my party wasn't as satisfied as I with the meal, but it was still good. We both had to take the leftovers with us, and they were still great the next day.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 28, 2017

This restaurant beat my expectations. Food was wonderful. My steak was cooked perfect, medium with a great char on the outside. Good variety for every taste.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Great atmosphere, the bar staff was attentive and engaging with whiskey and scotch selections! Ray was a terrific concierge for our dining and aperitif!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The restaurant had been overly busy all day and the staff was run ragged. We were seated but without any tableware, which didn't arrive until after our appetizer. We had three different servers, the first of whom we had to flag down after being seated for nearly 10 minutes with no attention from the staff. The appetizer and my entree (shrimp & grits and sea bass) were good, but my husband's entree, the special (steak) was of such poor quality that he literally couldn't eat it (fatty, gristly, silver skin running through it). For a $55 steak that was unacceptable. Also we did not receive the wine we ordered with our meal, my husband had to go to the bar and remind them. The wine was taken off our bill, but by the end of the meal (when we decided we couldn't eat the steak at all) we asked to speak to the manager and she covered our entire bill, which was appreciated. Sadly when we were leaving the table next to us realized she was the manager and began to complain about similar issues. I've been to this restaurant one other time and it was very good, but I probably won't be back or recommend it to anyone else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 8, 2017

My friend and I both had broken chairs. My friend fell on the floor when her chair broke while she was sitting in it. As a result, she scraped her elbow. Management didn't seem to show much concern.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Ordered 16oz steak medium. Came out rare. No water in sight. Just ate it anyway. Place used to be a lot better. Now just overpriced bourbon in sad cwe

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.