About Gamlin Whiskey House

236 N. Euclid Ave
St. Louis, MO 63108
View Larger Map

With an emphasis on world class whiskeys, our contemporary steakhouse serves hand-cut steaks and delicious cocktails amid the bustle of the wonderful Central West End.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Monday - Friday 11:00 AM - 1:30 AM
Saturday 10:00 AM - 1:30 AM
Sunday 10:00 AM - 12:00 AM

Cross Street:
Maryland and Euclid

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 875-9500

Website:
http://www.gamlinwhiskeyhouse.com/

Catering:
Gamlin Whiskey House is proud to offer a specialty catering menu upon request. With an emphasis on customization and excellent service we look forward to making your next event a special one.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Gamlin Whiskey House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Downtown
Best Restaurants in St. Louis ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (35)
Special Occasion (35)
Fit for Foodies (30)
See All
Good for Groups (27)
Great for Brunch (21)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Hot Spot (20)
Vibrant Bar Scene (20)
Romantic (17)
Great for Lunch (16)
Notable Wine List (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Late-night Find (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Modern Decor (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
People Watching (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Authentic (4)
Scenic View (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Fun (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Great Beer (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Casual (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Business Meals (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Organic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Historic (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Cozy (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Family Style (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
368 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had a lovely brunch at Gamlin Whisky ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 3 days ago

We had a lovely brunch at Gamlin Whisky House. We sat out on the patio, which was crowded, but offered great street views in a busy, historic neighborhood - the Central West End. Everyone enjoyed their food and drinks. Everything was really fresh and well-crafted. The menu is an excellent collection of classic brunch fare and unique dishes. There is a good blend of savory and sweet options and some sharable options have been identified for family-style dining, which is really fun at brunch. Overall we had a great experience and loved Gamlin Whiskey House!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My in-laws visited and this is where my ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 4 days ago

My in-laws visited and this is where my wife and I took them. We went here for lunch before and figured we would try dinner. Everything was amazing. No one was disappointed. We are new to the St Louis area, but this is our favorite so far!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There for a family dinner visiting our s ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

There for a family dinner visiting our son in college. Great time. Pace of service was excellent. Cocktail selection amazing- drinks we had were very good. Bread board outstanding. Entrees prepared well, but was surprised lobster wasn't served with a melted butter option (dipping sauces were two other choices neither my son or husband cared for). Joe, our waiter, did a fantastic job. We will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We sat outside and enjoyed the sights an ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We sat outside and enjoyed the sights and sound of the CWE. My STL Porksteak was tender and crazy-good. My wife had the Sea Bass and it did not disappoint. A couple of tasty bourbons would complete our great night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Our experience at Gamlin Whiskey House o ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Our experience at Gamlin Whiskey House on Friday was wonderful. It was my birthday and I selected the spot where I wanted to celebrate with my wife and two other couples. Emily helped us in the bar with outstanding cocktails and wine. She was fantastic. Our meal was excellent. We all had steaks with various sides and no one had any complaints. One of my friends enjoyed an order of mussels, as well. The only disappointment, which Gamlin couldn't control, was the weather. It was raining steadily so we didn't have a chance to enjoy the large patio. Next time!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding food and service

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Outstanding food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Was a beautiful place, nice atmosphere. ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Was a beautiful place, nice atmosphere. Good service and was good food just could of been cheaper for the serving sizes.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

We received a gift card for this restaur ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We received a gift card for this restaurant and were very much looking forward to it. The service was excellent, however, we ordered a $70 steak - and although it had a good taste--it was full of grizzle. We do not normally pay these kind of prices when dining--and really felt we could have had a better steak for at least half the price elsewhere. Will not be returning.

Tags: People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

My husband and I enjoyed a wonderful mea ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed a wonderful meal for our anniversary. We loved the extensive bar menu and whiskey recommendations from our waiter. The menu had so many great sounding options that we will be back again soon. I opted for the scallops and lobster risotto and my husband had the beef medallions. Everything was cooked to perfection. We also enjoyed the bread pudding to finish off the great main dishes and tasty appetizer.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was outstanding! We had brunch ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The food was outstanding! We had brunch and everything was delicious. Highly recommend the shrimp po boy, banana strawberry waffle and the deep fried filet. We tried a little of everything and got sides as well. The decor is great too and we had a great server!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous creative cuisine in a fun setti ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Fabulous creative cuisine in a fun setting makes for a great evening .... Amazing cocktail menu

Tags: People Watching, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food! Great service! I've had the ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Great food! Great service! I've had the chance to dine for brunch, lunch and dinner. You can't go wrong any time of the day.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great atmosphere and a cool new r ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

What a great atmosphere and a cool new restaurant. We went there on a Monday night and it was absolutely beautiful outside and the service was excellent. Some of us had seafood specials, some of us had steaks and the three fat pigs appetizer was delicious. The beer and whiskey didn't hurt either. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The muscles appetizer is delicious. Unfo ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The muscles appetizer is delicious. Unfortunately it's a bit noisy in there, but still lovely

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Food is outstanding. Best brunch in St L ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food is outstanding. Best brunch in St Louis.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was fine but not worth the price. ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food was fine but not worth the price. Our server was nice but busy with too many tables. The hostess looked exhausted. And, to top it off, the bartender (male, shoulder length greasy black hair) was a jerk to my husband when he asked for change so he could tip the valet. Trust me, the bar wasn't too busy that he couldn't do this small task. Too many other great restaurants in St. Louis to waste our time coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Had the chicken & waffles. The waffles w ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Had the chicken & waffles. The waffles were really good but the chicken was so hard and overcooked we couldn't even eat it. Three of us ordered chicken, none of us were able to chew it. Epic fail!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Our server, Tim S., was the best! Even t ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Our server, Tim S., was the best! Even the busers were great! I have several food issues (diabetic, gluten-free, and no mammal meat) and the menu had glorious options for me!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Caitlin.... Great service....

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Caitlin.... Great service....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great dining experience. The st ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We had a great dining experience. The stuffed French toast I had was wonderful, the only thing was it was a small portion, but the huge side of bacon it was just enough. My honey got the shrimp and grits, which you know I had to taste and may I say the best I have ever had. He had the Bloody Mary and I had Tito vodka with fresh squeezed orange juice. Yowza. I highly recommend their Saturday or Sunday brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was average. There for friend's bir ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Food was average. There for friend's birthday. Waitress delivered drinks and we didnt see her again for appox 30 minutes. Not even to order entrees or get another drink. Likely wont return.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value2

Great food, great service!

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Great food, great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was excellent, the service was impe ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Food was excellent, the service was impeccable and the whiskey selection unparalleled. I would recommend this for a team meeting, client dinner, or date all day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went for brunch because I wanted to h ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We went for brunch because I wanted to have their special 4 course (maybe 5 course) brunch with beer as a special for Craft Beer Week. The courses were large portions and all extremely tasty and well paired with the beer. The server was knowledgeable on the beer, which was appreciated.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beer Week: brunch was food and craft bre ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Beer Week: brunch was food and craft brew pairings from Urban Chestnut Brewing Company. The first two courses were over the moon. And - way too much food. We decided to box 1 of both remaining courses and share the other. Third course our least favorite - but still rates a 4 1/2 stars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Went for the Urban Chestnut Brunch. The ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Went for the Urban Chestnut Brunch. The food was outstanding! There were some hiccups in service- we all had the same four courses; the second course came out while still in the middle of the first and for the third course, only 2 dishes came out. It was a 20 minute wait for the 3rd diner's food.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Although one of our party received the w ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Although one of our party received the wrong order, the wait staff was accommodating and friendly. Have enjoyed dinner here before and loved the whisky/bourbon selection and was surprised how good breakfast/brunch menu was.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Not impressed, everything was very overp ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Not impressed, everything was very overpriced, food wasn't that great. Would not recommend to other friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

The steak I ordered was supposed to be m ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The steak I ordered was supposed to be medium with a warm pink center as described by the waiter. Instead it was charred and well done. The bread board was good and my wife's crab cakes were fine. The whiskey list was fair and the proprietor's list good. Overall a disappointment way to celebrate my birthday.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Always a great dining experience at Gaml ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Always a great dining experience at Gamlin Whiskey House! This visit, unfortunately, we were seated in one of their smaller dining areas next to a HUGE group. It was VERY loud - we had to yell to talk and it was very hard to hear our server. Service, food, décor, drinks - always great. And usually the noise level is moderate - you know people are having fun, but at least you can hear your date across the table. Except for the huge, loud group, it was another great night at GWH.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Amazing food and great drinks. Our wait ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Amazing food and great drinks. Our waiter was on top of everything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Top spot in the CWE. Terrific food and 3 ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Top spot in the CWE. Terrific food and 3 drink menus for wine, cocktails and whiskey.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently great service and food. Sup ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Consistently great service and food. Superior selection of whiskey/bourbon/scotch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This is our third time going to Gamlin. ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

This is our third time going to Gamlin. Every time, we've had exceptional service, and the food is fantastic. This past time we went for my husband's birthday, and the food, drinks, service and ambiance were perfect- he even got a whiskey shooter as a birthday gift!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We stumbled across this gem late at nigh ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

We stumbled across this gem late at night. The food was awesome, the staff was great, the drinks were amazing..it was a great end to our day!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The cocktails were fine but that was Som ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The cocktails were fine but that was Some of the worst over-priced, disgusting food I ever had. I had the shrimp pasta and it came out in this soupy mess. The shrimp were overcooked and the pasta all stuck together. I know it's known for its steaks, but you shouldn't have something on the menu if it isn't good. I will never come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

Great food and excellent service. I had ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great food and excellent service. I had the beef pot pie, and my companion had shrimp and grits. Both were wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The hostess was not very accommodating. ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The hostess was not very accommodating. Wanted to seat us facing bathrooms when many other tables open. Salads and entrees served on top of each other. Beef medallions over cooked. Waiter comped our coffee for troubles but never even offered refills. Not sure if we'll return

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

I love this place. Every time I've eate ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I love this place. Every time I've eaten there it has been true enjoyment!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite brunch. Try the shrimp and g ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

My favorite brunch. Try the shrimp and grits w fried egg w a glass of Whiskey in the Morning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.