About Gamlin Whiskey House

236 N. Euclid Ave
St. Louis, MO 63108
View Larger Map

With an emphasis on world class whiskeys, our contemporary steakhouse serves hand-cut steaks and delicious cocktails amid the bustle of the wonderful Central West End.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Monday - Friday 11:00 AM - 1:30 AM
Saturday 10:00 AM - 1:30 AM
Sunday 10:00 AM - 12:00 AM

Cross Street:
Maryland and Euclid

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 875-9500

Website:
http://www.gamlinwhiskeyhouse.com/

Catering:
Gamlin Whiskey House is proud to offer a specialty catering menu upon request. With an emphasis on customization and excellent service we look forward to making your next event a special one.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Gamlin Whiskey House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Handcrafted Cocktails (24)
Good for a Date (21)
Special Occasion (18)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Good for Groups (13)
Great for Brunch (13)
Fun (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Business Meals (12)
Bar Seating (12)
Happy Hour (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Modern Decor (10)
Casual (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
People Watching (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Romantic (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Authentic (5)
Cozy (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Historic (3)
Private Room (3)
Tapas (2)
Family Style (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Great Beer (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Scenic View (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Organic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Vegan (1)
Live Music (1)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
S
430 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

For a Tuesday night when the restaurant wasn't overly busy, the service was completely lacking. The waiter seemed inconvenienced by us being there. The service and food has consistently gotten worse each time I have given the place a shot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 4 days ago

We love this place! When it's nice we really enjoy the patio for lunch or an afternoon drink and appetizers. Service is good unless they are really busy and then there can be wait times for drink refills or to get a check. The food is excellent. We've never had a bad dish here. I always recommend this place to others and have never had anyone disappointed.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 4 days ago

The Whiskey House was a wonderful experience. I've lived in St. Louis for about 6 months and it is my favorite restaurant thus far. All of the food that I've had is excellent and everyone is very friendly. My wife and I recently went to brunch and the food was fantastic. I highly recommend it to anyone that is looking for a great place to eat!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

Our visit was a the first time there and we enjoyed everything. My husband started with the Bloody Ghost with the chicken and waffles and he just raved about both. I enjoyed the Wiskey in the Morning Mimosa with the banana and strawberry waffle, YUM! We will be back!!!!

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 5 days ago

Great drinks, average food especially for the price

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 5 days ago

Appetizer was outstanding - shrimp and grits with an egg - highly recommend.

8 oz filet medium rare - not very flavorful. Sides were asparagus/potatoes and those were good.

Chilean Sea bass - not very flavorful. My husband was sick all night after eating it.

Blueberry whiskey lemonade - highly recommend.

Bourbon County Stout - hard to find and they had it! They also sell that to go - great bonus!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 5 days ago

The good was very good and our waitress was very attentive and knowledgeable. She probably took the dining experience from an "A" to an "A+"! I will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined 5 days ago

Very overpriced for what I received. A three egg omelet for $15 that includes nothing? No thanks. There are many other brunch places that serve better food at a more affordable price. The Brasserie down the street is 15x better and less expensive.

I will not be back.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Another extraordinary experience at GWH. As usual, our dinner was superior on both service and food quality. Add to that another drive-by from Dustin (their fantastic Bar Manager) who comped us single-barrel whiskey cocktails from that night's GWH Whiskey Society meeting, and you have the makings of a meal we won't soon forget. No better way to impress my business colleague from out-of-town. Thanks GWH, you folks are the best!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Fun, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The food was great, and the whiskey selection was even better! Went for a date night with my fiance and very much enjoyed the experience.

Tags: Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Outstanding whiskey selection, cocktails and flights of different alcohol. The food was outstanding as well.casual atmosphere, tables close together and fun place to go

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Food needs work

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Greatly enjoyed the experience of eating at this restaurant. It's was my wife's birthday & she really enjoyed the food! Not an inexpensive meal, but you get what you pay for and this was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great food but a bit high priced for the type of atmosphere.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We went here because it was highly rated as far as a steak house, but they had a lot of signature cocktails too. They had an awesome surf & turf special that wasn't on the menu, and that is what I had, it was exceptional!! Be prepared though, because though you receive a great meal, you also pay for it $$. This is not a place to go if you are on a budget, but it is well worth it. It was somewhat noisy, and not as intimate as what I had expected for the occasion. The other member of my party wasn't as satisfied as I with the meal, but it was still good. We both had to take the leftovers with us, and they were still great the next day.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 28, 2017

This restaurant beat my expectations. Food was wonderful. My steak was cooked perfect, medium with a great char on the outside. Good variety for every taste.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Great atmosphere, the bar staff was attentive and engaging with whiskey and scotch selections! Ray was a terrific concierge for our dining and aperitif!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The restaurant had been overly busy all day and the staff was run ragged. We were seated but without any tableware, which didn't arrive until after our appetizer. We had three different servers, the first of whom we had to flag down after being seated for nearly 10 minutes with no attention from the staff. The appetizer and my entree (shrimp & grits and sea bass) were good, but my husband's entree, the special (steak) was of such poor quality that he literally couldn't eat it (fatty, gristly, silver skin running through it). For a $55 steak that was unacceptable. Also we did not receive the wine we ordered with our meal, my husband had to go to the bar and remind them. The wine was taken off our bill, but by the end of the meal (when we decided we couldn't eat the steak at all) we asked to speak to the manager and she covered our entire bill, which was appreciated. Sadly when we were leaving the table next to us realized she was the manager and began to complain about similar issues. I've been to this restaurant one other time and it was very good, but I probably won't be back or recommend it to anyone else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 8, 2017

My friend and I both had broken chairs. My friend fell on the floor when her chair broke while she was sitting in it. As a result, she scraped her elbow. Management didn't seem to show much concern.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Ordered 16oz steak medium. Came out rare. No water in sight. Just ate it anyway. Place used to be a lot better. Now just overpriced bourbon in sad cwe

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Was disappointed in our visit this time. We raved about this place the first time we went but this time we were a bit disappointed. Out of several whiskey/bourbon requests, pork steak was more like a pork roast, BBQ sauce on flank steak was a bit heavy and many of the steaks were a bit overcooked. The server didn't seem to be very familiar with the menu and even said he wouldn't recommend the pot pie which one of our guests was really wanting to order for some comfort food (dealing with a cold). It'll be a while before we go back yet I'm hoping it was just an off night.

Tags: Comfort Food, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The food was good, the service on this date was not so good. Our dinner took over 3 1/2 hours for 5 people...perhaps they were understaffed on 1/1, even though it was a big night in St. Louis because of the Winter Classic. Also ran out of one of the signature meals - filets - by 8:30 pm...somebody didn't anticipate much of a crowd...

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We had a very nice dinner here. Not sure the restaurant was prepared for such a crowd for the weekend as they were out of several items from being so busy. Food was very good, could have been served hotter but they were short handed and our server did her best to accommodate. Overall we had a great dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Took about 15 min after being seated for the waitress to take our drink order. The young lady was overwhelmed, and didn't understand some basic whiskey terminology. Sadly, no other employee cane to her rescue. The waitress told us up front a few dishes they were out of. One of our party ordered a white wine. Out of that. Another ordered a single malt scotch flight, and was brought a single barrel bourbon flight. Another ordered a Guinness and was accidentally brought two. Worked in our favor there. All in all a pleasant restaurant. Needs some fine tuning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had a great meal celebrating my dad's 62nd birthday. Everyone enjoyed their food and cocktails. Great service as well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Waited 30mins to be seated with reservation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

very enjoyable and friendly atmosphere. Most definitely have been telling my friends and will come back

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We had great service and the food was excellent. The shrimp and grits were delicious as well as the peach/white chocolate bread pudding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Always love our time at Gamlin. Food is always above par. The waitstaff is always so friendly and want to make sure everything is great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Pretty much the entire dining experience was sub-par. The hostess was indifferent/uninformed about how or when we might find a valet, and it was a very cold night to be sitting outside idling in the car; the staff were confused about who was responsible for our table; the food was average at best; the recommended wine by the glass was not very good. We did manage to spend a fair bit of money, though.

This is our second bad experience there. We won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Service was deplorable, Food was bland. Was not looking for a 5 star but a 2.5 star would have been great. This was a 1.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Gamlin Whiskey House had fantastic food and great service. It was slightly overpriced and probably not simply an everyday dining experience (more for special occasions or not so often visits), but the food was superb. We sat near the back bar and it was very loud - the music was playing too loud so it was hard to hear conversation, but sitting in the middle dining area probably would have been better. Good experience overall!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for Groups
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Scallops and Risotto were phenomenal!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Food was ok-drinks good and fairly priced. One HUGE negative is the noise level; it's off the chart and nearly impossible to talk without shouting on a Saturday at prime time. The bar is the worst but the dining area is not far behind. I would not return for that reason.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Limited menu and expensive for the fair they had. $40 for beef medallions? Pot pie was tasteless that was more gravy than anything else. The server struggled with knowing the specials and what beers were on tap. Pretty bland interior dinning area. My wife and I enjoy fine dining and cocktails as our entertainment and never shy away from spending a good amount of money for a quality experience. We were not impressed at all. 2 entrees, with mine being the cheapest, and 2 cocktails with nothing else, $90 . . . WOW!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Open table reservation did not show at the restaurant. So instead we were put on the waitlist and we're seated 40 minutes after our reservation time. This is more of an open table app issue I'm sure.

As for the restaurant, it's very loud, and for what you get the food and drinks are extremely overpriced. This place only survives due to being located around a bunch of rich college kids blowing their parents money, anywhere else in the city the food would be half the price that is charged.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 20, 2016

It was my first time and it is by far one of the best meals that I've eaten this year!!!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Live Music
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 14, 2016

We had the best time at Gamlin. It was, by far, our favorite restaurant we tried during our long weekend in St. Louis. The food was AMAZING. If you love whiskey, this is obviously the place for you. The extensive drink menu was so awesome. So many whiskeys to choose from, and a very large whisky cocktail menu. We had the Kentucky Mule, The Bees Knees, and one more I cannot remember the name of, but all were spectacular. We left full and happy. The prices were not astronomical either. Definitely worth what we spent. Our server was very sweet, helpful, and personable. We could not have asked for anything more. Thanks for an amazing time!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Modern Decor, Casual, Good for a Date, Fun
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Food was fantastic as it has always been. Service is fabulous .

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Comfort Food
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Descent but overpriced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Good selection of drinks/cocktails. Not many options for vegetarians. No real complaints other than the I felt my food was overpriced. My dinner was delicious, but could have found the same meal for half the price at other local restaurants.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This was out third visit to Gamlins and each one has been a blast. Great waiter and wonderful selections. We enjoy the bourbon and whisky lists as well. We had a party of 6 and shared two appetizers, the three little pigs bacon sampler, and toasted ravolis, and we also shared three desserts, the fried cookie, the ice cream and bourbon peach cobbler, all excellent

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Fantastic service and great whiskey choices. We will be back!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Food and service is excellent. Julie took fantastic care of us!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Casual, Fun, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 26, 2016

It would be nice it they have a small sample of the whiskey before you have to buy a $10 1.5oz drink. I wouldnt even care if they charged a $1 or $2 for the sample.

My steak i asked for medium rare and is was very rare. For the price your paying for thise steaks they were not worth it.

Texas Roadhouse beat this place on steaks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 25, 2016

I thought the food was fresh and expertly prepared. The steaks were done to perfection. The selection of wines, bourbons and scotch was great...but so were the prices. Three 2.5 ounce glasses should not cost the same as a bottle. But all in all, superior dining and service.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Everything was great !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Food was delicious and we really liked the ambiance. The decor is pleasing and there was a fun, energetic vibe. Our server was knowledgeable and attentive.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fun, Modern Decor, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Our waiter Justin was terrific!!

Knowagable of all the Whiskey and even Introduced us to the

Missouri Whiskey Society

Can't wait to go

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Spicy, People Watching, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The food was excellent but I wish there was more selection on the menu. The Atmosphere didn't seem like a steak house.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.