About Gamlin Whiskey House

236 N. Euclid Ave
St. Louis, MO 63108
View Larger Map

With an emphasis on world class whiskeys, our contemporary steakhouse serves hand-cut steaks and delicious cocktails amid the bustle of the wonderful Central West End.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Monday - Friday 11:00 AM - 1:30 AM
Saturday 10:00 AM - 1:30 AM
Sunday 10:00 AM - 12:00 AM

Cross Street:
Maryland and Euclid

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 875-9500

Website:
http://www.gamlinwhiskeyhouse.com/

Catering:
Gamlin Whiskey House is proud to offer a specialty catering menu upon request. With an emphasis on customization and excellent service we look forward to making your next event a special one.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Gamlin Whiskey House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Downtown
Best Restaurants in St. Louis ›

Good for a Date (23)
Special Occasion (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
Fun (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Modern Decor (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Business Meals (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
People Watching (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Authentic (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Romantic (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Casual (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Great Beer (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Seasonal (3)
Historic (2)
Cozy (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Live Music (1)
Organic (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Private Room (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
395 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Scallops and Risotto were phenomenal!!

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 4 days ago

Scallops and Risotto were phenomenal!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was ok-drinks good and fairly price ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was ok-drinks good and fairly priced. One HUGE negative is the noise level; it's off the chart and nearly impossible to talk without shouting on a Saturday at prime time. The bar is the worst but the dining area is not far behind. I would not return for that reason.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Limited menu and expensive for the fair ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 6 days ago

Limited menu and expensive for the fair they had. $40 for beef medallions? Pot pie was tasteless that was more gravy than anything else. The server struggled with knowing the specials and what beers were on tap. Pretty bland interior dinning area. My wife and I enjoy fine dining and cocktails as our entertainment and never shy away from spending a good amount of money for a quality experience. We were not impressed at all. 2 entrees, with mine being the cheapest, and 2 cocktails with nothing else, $90 . . . WOW!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Open table reservation did not show at t ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Open table reservation did not show at the restaurant. So instead we were put on the waitlist and we're seated 40 minutes after our reservation time. This is more of an open table app issue I'm sure.

As for the restaurant, it's very loud, and for what you get the food and drinks are extremely overpriced. This place only survives due to being located around a bunch of rich college kids blowing their parents money, anywhere else in the city the food would be half the price that is charged.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

It was my first time and it is by far on ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 20, 2016

It was my first time and it is by far one of the best meals that I've eaten this year!!!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the best time at Gamlin. It was, ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 14, 2016

We had the best time at Gamlin. It was, by far, our favorite restaurant we tried during our long weekend in St. Louis. The food was AMAZING. If you love whiskey, this is obviously the place for you. The extensive drink menu was so awesome. So many whiskeys to choose from, and a very large whisky cocktail menu. We had the Kentucky Mule, The Bees Knees, and one more I cannot remember the name of, but all were spectacular. We left full and happy. The prices were not astronomical either. Definitely worth what we spent. Our server was very sweet, helpful, and personable. We could not have asked for anything more. Thanks for an amazing time!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Modern Decor, Casual, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was fantastic as it has always been ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Food was fantastic as it has always been. Service is fabulous .

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Descent but overpriced

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Descent but overpriced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Good selection of drinks/cocktails. Not ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Good selection of drinks/cocktails. Not many options for vegetarians. No real complaints other than the I felt my food was overpriced. My dinner was delicious, but could have found the same meal for half the price at other local restaurants.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

This was out third visit to Gamlins and ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This was out third visit to Gamlins and each one has been a blast. Great waiter and wonderful selections. We enjoy the bourbon and whisky lists as well. We had a party of 6 and shared two appetizers, the three little pigs bacon sampler, and toasted ravolis, and we also shared three desserts, the fried cookie, the ice cream and bourbon peach cobbler, all excellent

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic service and great whiskey choi ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Fantastic service and great whiskey choices. We will be back!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service is excellent. Julie to ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Food and service is excellent. Julie took fantastic care of us!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Casual, Fun, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It would be nice it they have a small sa ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 26, 2016

It would be nice it they have a small sample of the whiskey before you have to buy a $10 1.5oz drink. I wouldnt even care if they charged a $1 or $2 for the sample.

My steak i asked for medium rare and is was very rare. For the price your paying for thise steaks they were not worth it.

Texas Roadhouse beat this place on steaks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

I thought the food was fresh and expertl ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 25, 2016

I thought the food was fresh and expertly prepared. The steaks were done to perfection. The selection of wines, bourbons and scotch was great...but so were the prices. Three 2.5 ounce glasses should not cost the same as a bottle. But all in all, superior dining and service.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Everything was great !!!

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Everything was great !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was delicious and we really liked t ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Food was delicious and we really liked the ambiance. The decor is pleasing and there was a fun, energetic vibe. Our server was knowledgeable and attentive.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fun, Modern Decor, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Our waiter Justin was terrific!! Knowag ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Our waiter Justin was terrific!!

Knowagable of all the Whiskey and even Introduced us to the

Missouri Whiskey Society

Can't wait to go

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Spicy, People Watching, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was excellent but I wish there ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The food was excellent but I wish there was more selection on the menu. The Atmosphere didn't seem like a steak house.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Nice food, really enjoyed it, and really ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Nice food, really enjoyed it, and really unique smoked Manhattan cocktail. The smoke added to the whiskey in small pint bottle really mellows the finish. Give it a try :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

I had my anniversary dinner there and it ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 9, 2016

I had my anniversary dinner there and it was amazing. The service was great and food was phenomenal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love coming here when staying at the ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We love coming here when staying at the Chase Park Plaza, a short walk away. We stroll to dinner, have a few drinks, and enjoy dinner, then stroll back to our room. There is a great variety of wine and whiskey. Service is excelkent! Ask for Justin!

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Acceptable but not special. A noisy, sm ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Acceptable but not special. A noisy, small bar area at entry. A small eating area. An odd bar beyond, empty (Friday 6-730) with high top tables for 6. Service pleasant. Interesting choices for drinks and food. But of the 3 entrees we had--pork steak, scallops, shrimp pasta--no one said "Wow!" We all enjoyed the kale salad. I expected--hoped for--a better overall experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Great experience, some of the best food ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Great experience, some of the best food and drinks we have ever had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The Caesar salad had obviously been prep ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 5, 2016

The Caesar salad had obviously been prepared ahead of time as placed in a refrigerator; it had absolutely no flavor other than the croutons. The pork steak was very fatty and not very tender. The server brought my entree before I was even half way through my salad. When I commented on this, she didn't seem to know what to do or to really care.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

First time dining at Gamlin and I had a ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 2, 2016

First time dining at Gamlin and I had a great experience. I tried the scallops with lobster risotto and it was simply amazing. Very flavorful with every bite. The ambience is nice and service is good too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my fourth trip to the Gamlin Wh ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 1, 2016

This was my fourth trip to the Gamlin Whiskey house and probably my least favorable. I felt that the service was a little rushed and I understand that as a steak house most of the dishes don't incorporate vegetables into them and you are expected to order them as a side, but I didn't realize that until it was too late. The black ink salmon pasta really could have used some acid and some veggies. Too rich for me. Will of course come back though, as the drink list and ambiance are amazing!

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

A long list of Whiskeys and an interesti ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 1, 2016

A long list of Whiskeys and an interesting Cocktail menu welcomed us. Our waiter was excellent. The food was pricey but very good. We had an appetizer, steaks, and dessert. Every bite was delicious and the experience was worth the price. We will be back with friends this fall.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a lovely brunch at Gamlin Whisky ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We had a lovely brunch at Gamlin Whisky House. We sat out on the patio, which was crowded, but offered great street views in a busy, historic neighborhood - the Central West End. Everyone enjoyed their food and drinks. Everything was really fresh and well-crafted. The menu is an excellent collection of classic brunch fare and unique dishes. There is a good blend of savory and sweet options and some sharable options have been identified for family-style dining, which is really fun at brunch. Overall we had a great experience and loved Gamlin Whiskey House!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My in-laws visited and this is where my ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 24, 2016

My in-laws visited and this is where my wife and I took them. We went here for lunch before and figured we would try dinner. Everything was amazing. No one was disappointed. We are new to the St Louis area, but this is our favorite so far!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There for a family dinner visiting our s ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 24, 2016

There for a family dinner visiting our son in college. Great time. Pace of service was excellent. Cocktail selection amazing- drinks we had were very good. Bread board outstanding. Entrees prepared well, but was surprised lobster wasn't served with a melted butter option (dipping sauces were two other choices neither my son or husband cared for). Joe, our waiter, did a fantastic job. We will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We sat outside and enjoyed the sights an ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 18, 2016

We sat outside and enjoyed the sights and sound of the CWE. My STL Porksteak was tender and crazy-good. My wife had the Sea Bass and it did not disappoint. A couple of tasty bourbons would complete our great night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Our experience at Gamlin Whiskey House o ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Our experience at Gamlin Whiskey House on Friday was wonderful. It was my birthday and I selected the spot where I wanted to celebrate with my wife and two other couples. Emily helped us in the bar with outstanding cocktails and wine. She was fantastic. Our meal was excellent. We all had steaks with various sides and no one had any complaints. One of my friends enjoyed an order of mussels, as well. The only disappointment, which Gamlin couldn't control, was the weather. It was raining steadily so we didn't have a chance to enjoy the large patio. Next time!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding food and service

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Outstanding food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Was a beautiful place, nice atmosphere. ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Was a beautiful place, nice atmosphere. Good service and was good food just could of been cheaper for the serving sizes.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

We received a gift card for this restaur ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 4, 2016

We received a gift card for this restaurant and were very much looking forward to it. The service was excellent, however, we ordered a $70 steak - and although it had a good taste--it was full of grizzle. We do not normally pay these kind of prices when dining--and really felt we could have had a better steak for at least half the price elsewhere. Will not be returning.

Tags: People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

My husband and I enjoyed a wonderful mea ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 28, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed a wonderful meal for our anniversary. We loved the extensive bar menu and whiskey recommendations from our waiter. The menu had so many great sounding options that we will be back again soon. I opted for the scallops and lobster risotto and my husband had the beef medallions. Everything was cooked to perfection. We also enjoyed the bread pudding to finish off the great main dishes and tasty appetizer.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was outstanding! We had brunch ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 27, 2016

The food was outstanding! We had brunch and everything was delicious. Highly recommend the shrimp po boy, banana strawberry waffle and the deep fried filet. We tried a little of everything and got sides as well. The decor is great too and we had a great server!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous creative cuisine in a fun setti ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Fabulous creative cuisine in a fun setting makes for a great evening .... Amazing cocktail menu

Tags: People Watching, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food! Great service! I've had the ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Great food! Great service! I've had the chance to dine for brunch, lunch and dinner. You can't go wrong any time of the day.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great atmosphere and a cool new r ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 23, 2016

What a great atmosphere and a cool new restaurant. We went there on a Monday night and it was absolutely beautiful outside and the service was excellent. Some of us had seafood specials, some of us had steaks and the three fat pigs appetizer was delicious. The beer and whiskey didn't hurt either. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.