About Gamlin Whiskey House

236 N. Euclid Ave
St. Louis, MO 63108
View Larger Map

With an emphasis on world class whiskeys, our contemporary steakhouse serves hand-cut steaks and delicious cocktails amid the bustle of the wonderful Central West End.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Monday - Friday 11:00 AM - 1:30 AM
Saturday 10:00 AM - 1:30 AM
Sunday 10:00 AM - 12:00 AM

Cross Street:
Maryland and Euclid

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 875-9500

Website:
http://www.gamlinwhiskeyhouse.com/

Catering:
Gamlin Whiskey House is proud to offer a specialty catering menu upon request. With an emphasis on customization and excellent service we look forward to making your next event a special one.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Gamlin Whiskey House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

great for outdoor dining (41)
fit for foodies (40)
good for groups (39)
See All
special occasion (39)
neighborhood gem (30)
great for brunch (27)
vibrant bar scene (26)
hot spot (20)
romantic (18)
notable wine list (16)
great for lunch (16)
late-night find (9)
kid-friendly (8)
scenic view (4)
Sort By:
Newest
333 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is our third time going to Gamlin. ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 4 days ago

This is our third time going to Gamlin. Every time, we've had exceptional service, and the food is fantastic. This past time we went for my husband's birthday, and the food, drinks, service and ambiance were perfect- he even got a whiskey shooter as a birthday gift!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We stumbled across this gem late at nigh ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined 5 days ago

We stumbled across this gem late at night. The food was awesome, the staff was great, the drinks were amazing..it was a great end to our day!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and excellent service. I had ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great food and excellent service. I had the beef pot pie, and my companion had shrimp and grits. Both were wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The hostess was not very accommodating. ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The hostess was not very accommodating. Wanted to seat us facing bathrooms when many other tables open. Salads and entrees served on top of each other. Beef medallions over cooked. Waiter comped our coffee for troubles but never even offered refills. Not sure if we'll return

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

I love this place. Every time I've eate ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I love this place. Every time I've eaten there it has been true enjoyment!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite brunch. Try the shrimp and g ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

My favorite brunch. Try the shrimp and grits w fried egg w a glass of Whiskey in the Morning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good and they also sat my g ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The food was good and they also sat my group like I asked. Great Job (the small things count)

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

They have a good overall menu. Flash fri ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

They have a good overall menu. Flash fried spinach is one of my favorites however it was EXTREMELY salty. I couldn't finish it - waist of money. One of my guest was charged for ice in her drink and not given the option when she ordered, she didn't know until the bill. The waitress wasn't very empathetic about the situation at all. Every month our group goes to a different restaurant and we rate them after dinner. We rated our overall experience at the Gamlin Whiskey House a 4 out of 10. Unfortunately will probably make our "revisit" list.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

It was my second time and mom's first. ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

It was my second time and mom's first. She really enjoyed it.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was just ok. Very pricey meal. No F ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food was just ok. Very pricey meal. No Father's Day specials, pretty blah event. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

Service was great and food was great, th ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Service was great and food was great, the selection of whiskeys was incredible and the drinks were strong but fantastic. Would definitely go back.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had an excellent experience at brunch ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We had an excellent experience at brunch on Father's Day! The food was wonderful and our server Ray was one of the best that we have had in a long time. We will be back and cannot wait!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and environment was great for F ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food and environment was great for Father's Day. It took food a bit to come out but waitress did check in frequently

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Highly recommend the 12 oz Ribeye. Melt ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Highly recommend the 12 oz Ribeye. Melt in your mouth tender!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The menu had several outstanding choices ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The menu had several outstanding choices, and the four of us were very well pleased with our selections. The same was true of our drinks. Service was courteous and quick. Prices were a wee bit steep, but well worth it for Father's Day. We will return for another special occasion.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Extensive drink menu, great if you like ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Extensive drink menu, great if you like whiskey..if not food is pretty decent

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was wonderful! We can't wait ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Everything was wonderful! We can't wait to go back!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it! We'll be back!

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

We Had:

Scallops - wonderful (she felt the couscous ...or risotto maybe??...was rich, but a little salty)

Filet - tender; great flavor

Lobster/Filet - great reviews here

3 Little Pigs Bacon App (yum!) - everyone loved this app

Flourless Chocolate Cake (woah!)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great brunch spot!

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

This was my first time here and I enjoyed it! I ordered the chicken and waffles and my husband ordered the shrimp and grits. The shrimp and grits were great and the chicken and waffles were good, considering the chicken needed a little more seasoning. We will be back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Pleased overall with the experience. Ste ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Pleased overall with the experience. Steak was cooked to perfection and had the Wild Turkey Forgiven to compliment it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Best Whiskey Selection

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Amazing little treats and delicious steaks. The three little pigs are a definite must!

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great selection of whiskeys: Ryes, Scotc ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Great selection of whiskeys: Ryes, Scotches and Bourbons and some very interesting cocktails. Had a great meal too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Lack of service. 😕 they said they were ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Lack of service. 😕 they said they were busy with another table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1

Great crab cakes!

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Great crab cakes!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Quiet Anniversary Dinner....Not here.

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Fun place for a group. not an anniversary dinner. Requested window seat and we were given one in the walkway from the bar to the restaurant. Traffic non-stop. Fun place for a group of friends though. Food was outstanding and our waiter was very nice. Just not the ambiance I hoped for or expected, especially with the prices you pay for the meals. Upscale food but not the upscale experience.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Unique menu, friendly staff. Good food! ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

Unique menu, friendly staff. Good food! Great décor and lively atmosphere.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Cool place but the food was marginal. ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Cool place but the food was marginal. Both had the Pasta. One over cooked and the other, the squid ink pasta, was hard and undercooked. Sauces were greasy.

Waitress was pleasant and great. I would stick with just the whiskey at the whiskey house!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

Great Steakhouse with a Whiskey theme.

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I had one of the best "steak and potatoes" meals I have had in ages. My friends loved a Cajan fish dish. Great menu! The staff is efficient and pleasant. The whiskey flights were a big hit, and the bartender satisfied some picky cocktail drinkers. The only drawback was background music that was a bit too loud—at least for the tables in our nook.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Carrie at the bar was awesome! Gamlin's ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

Carrie at the bar was awesome! Gamlin's does not carry ginger ale and I drink Woodford and ginger ale. She offered to make me ginger ale and it was excellent. She is a gem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Brunch

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

I ate here with my dad who was visiting. We both had never eaten brunch here before but I will certainly be back! Delicious French toast!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and service!

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Avoided for a bit because of the menu prices ($10-20 appetizers and $25-40 entrees). Service and patio/restaurant were both awesome! Happy hour is really good too! BEST CRAB CAKES EVER! They are huge, like 90% crab, with amazing sauce! The entrees were good too but we couldn't stop talking about and thinking about the crab cakes. Going back very soon just for them. Server was very knowledgable about the whiskey and wine list.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First time and loved it! Great selection ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

First time and loved it! Great selections on spirits. Food was creative and very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Environment

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

The restaurant was a great place and had some great food. The only thing that I disliked was how loud it was.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Too Fast

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

I have to say the food was good and our waitress was very sweet. But we no sooner had our wine delivered then immediately the salad came and in 30 seconds our dinners were served.

And then the potatoes were cold which she rectified immediately. There really should be some time between drinks, salad and dinner. And this was a Friday evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Always a great meal

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 28, 2016

We had a quiet romantic Easter dinner. First time for the lobster bisque and it was delicious . Our steaks were perfectly cook. We will be back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely perfect Easter Brunch!

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

We went to Gamlins for brunch on Easter. They serve a regular brunch menu with a wonderful selection of sweet and savory. Fresh OJ in my mamosa. The food is great. Among our party's entrees... Amazing shrimp & grits, Chicken & waffles, Prime Rib & Eggs. Each one hot, fresh, with very different flavors. The service was friendly and wonderful in a nice laid back atmosphere. And it did not cost near as much as some of the pricey "wait-in-line for okay food" brunches we have been to. Going to go back and try happy hour next time!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Steak on steak salad was well done, orde ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Steak on steak salad was well done, ordered medium-rare.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Pricey for the quality

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

The food overall is good here, but the price tag that goes with it is very high. We ordered a couple apps, the first being toasted rav for $15. We got five of them...maybe the rest fell off en route. We also ordered the "pig" wings, in which we received four, also $15. We followed up apps with dinner, in which we all ordered steaks. Out of the five, only one was cooked as ordered. For a ~$40 steak, I would expect it to be cooked medium rare when ordered, not medium well. Big difference when you can barely see a glimmer of pink and a nice pink core. The flavors were all very good, including the steak, but they were simply overdone. At the prices on the menu, you could go to a nicer steak house, pay a couple bucks more, and have an outstanding steak.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Good food, Great Service, fun spot

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 21, 2016

We have a group that meets for lunch monthly and it was our turn to pick the spot and treat our friends. We have hit many of the big name places around town, but none provided this level of service and sumptuous food and drink. Gamlin is known for it's whiskey based cocktails, so we sampled several of their classic drinks and shared them about. All were fantastic, especially their Sazerac cocktail and the whiskey sours. I usually find the sour mix to be overbearing elsewhere, in Gamlin's drink there was just the right amount of citrus tang but the liquor was not overwhelmed. Awesome. The food was spectacular. We had sandwiches, short rib sliders, three takes on thick house-cured bacon, salads, and two lovely desserts for sharing. We left wishing we could have sampled more items, so another trip is a certainty. Our waiter, Tim, who may be one of the best in town, provided great recommendations and service while training a new server at the same time. He was really impressive.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always have a great meal and fun time wh ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Always have a great meal and fun time when we are there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.