Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi

About Gamlin Whiskey House

With an emphasis on world class whiskeys, our contemporary steakhouse serves hand-cut steaks and delicious cocktails amid the bustle of the wonderful Central West End.

236 N. Euclid Ave
St. Louis, MO 63108
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Monday - Friday 11:00 AM - 1:30 AM
Saturday 10:00 AM - 1:30 AM
Sunday 10:00 AM - 12:00 AM

Cross Street:
Maryland and Euclid

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 875-9500

Website:
http://www.gamlinwhiskeyhouse.com/

Catering:
Gamlin Whiskey House is proud to offer a specialty catering menu upon request. With an emphasis on customization and excellent service we look forward to making your next event a special one.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Gamlin Whiskey House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (33)
Great for Outdoor Dining (29)
Handcrafted Cocktails (28)
See All
Great for Brunch (27)
Special Occasion (24)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Casual (20)
Fun (20)
Good for Groups (19)
Bar Seating (17)
People Watching (17)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Happy Hour (14)
Business Meals (14)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Hot Spot (13)
Great for Lunch (13)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Romantic (12)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Authentic (7)
Scenic View (7)
Great Beer (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Cozy (4)
Seasonal (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
561 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 3 days ago

Our server (Julie) was spectacular, food and drinks were also fantastic, we will definitely be back next time we are in St Louis!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 19, 2017

I went late at night to have dinner with my boyfriend and it was very nice, good food, and our waiter was a sweetheart. I was afraid at first because I read mixed reviews, but it was nice.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 10, 2017

I've been here several times this year and wouldn't change it for the world. Of course it would be a wait but for future references always make reservations. I will recommend this place to anyone.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Romantic, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Paleo Friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Comfort Food, Organic, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Fun, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Went here with the wife because we had a $75 gift card. We got an appetizer, we each got a steak, a desert, a flight of bourbon, an old fashioned and two glasses of wine. We ended up spending $150 on top of the $75 gift card(with tip). We started with the Three little pigs. Basically it's three different kinds of flavored bacon on bread. Neither of us thought there was a huge difference in flavor, but it was still good(it's bacon). I got the Ribeye, which came with potatoes Au Gratin. Mine was amazing and there is not a single thing I would change about it. I would get it again over and over. My wife got the 7oz filet, but it wasn't quite cooked to the medium she asked(it was more like medium rare). The desert was the apple turnover which was very good. It comes with homemade ice cream which was also very good. I would get it again, but after I tried the other deserts. I got the single barrel flight(although I substituted one of the bourbon's). The waiter was very helpful and knowledgeable about bourbon but was pushing the missouri whiskey club membership every time he came to the table even though he said he didn't get anything by signing people up. He mentioned it probably 5-6 times. Is it amazing food and alcohol? Absolutely. Will I eat here more often? Probably not for $225. Will I eat there again? Yes.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Hard to recommend this place. Wanted to love but way overpriced for the quality of food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Went here for a birthday brunch with 15 people. Great spot! They can definitely accommodate a big group, the service was great. Chicken and waffles were delish and everyone seemed to really like the food and atmosphere!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We went on Sunday brunch and it was outstanding. We even had ourn7 yr old and she loved the Oreo pancakes. I had the country fried chicken all was great.

Tags: People Watching, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Overall the experience was fine but we waited almost an hour for our reservation. The manager did come over to talk to us and comped us a bottle of wine. I would have chosen another place if I had known that they wouldn't be able to seat us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Really solid appetizers. Main courses hit/miss. Great dessert. Service was serviceable.

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

The food was fresh and the presentation was lovely, but the muscles and the sea bass were frankly quite bland, so it was a bit of a let down.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 19, 2017

A very fun, lively restaurant. Highly recommend outdoor seating if the weather permits. Our server Joe was great and helped us pick a flight of whiskey that was great. The double-cut pork chop is unbelievable and the shrimp and grits rivals Lousiana!

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 19, 2017

After 2 hours, we had only received our appetizers and hadn't seen our waiter for an hour. Left rather than ordering entrees.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

The bartenders were extremely knowledgeable and the food was amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We live in the neighborhood and make it to Gamlin weekly. Great dinner and brunch menu and excellent whiskey based cocktails. The best people watching patio in CWE. Staff is friendly and responsive. We've enjoyed many leisurely brunches and afternoon snacks here and have never felt rushed.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Great table and good service . Steak was a bit over done and the halibit was good, although the it was a bit heavy on the red pepper flakes. It was not crowded so we could all talk and had a great evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Great Sunday brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Great outdoor dining, very good steaks, tenderloin medallions and ribeye was great. Scallops and risotto was excellent as well.

Can't go wrong with Jameson's!! Very good service.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Service was good, but we waited over an hour for our food. The waitress explained it is normally not that long of a wait, every order was backed up that day.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Food was very good but service horrible. We waited over and hour to be served. One hour and 30 minutes to be exact.
Waitress gave us no idea on why food was taking so long. Her answer was literally..." I have no idea?". I even gave her an opportunity to offer something like bread and she said that it would take too long to come out. Finally she offered fruit. My six year old was starving. We were a party of eight but still no excuse. The party of six next to us arrived after us and recvd their food in a sufficient amount of time. We got the manager and the manager was not even allowing my husband to talk but cutting him off so she could explain what happened. Long story short , they did take of our bill, which I feel they should have. I will go back again because their brunch is quite tasty. Just beware of long wait time during busy time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 30, 2017

We waited almost 90 minutes for food, one of our party members did not receive his food and despite 3 people knowing about the problem it still took 20 minutes for anyone to drop by and they had forgotten to even check on the food. No apologies were initially offered. The food was only okay but we could have overlooked that with even the most bare-bones of service. This restaurant is in a part of town with so many brunch options that there's no reason anyone should come here to be treated so poorly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Good food, but overall a terrible experience. We had to wait, literally, over an hour for our food after we'd ordered. During that hour, we saw our server maybe three times and never was an apology or update offered. I'll never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Absolutely loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 27, 2017

As always, fine cuisine. As always, fine spirits. As always, a bit on the pricey side.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Great food and drinks! If you enjoy whiskey, this is a MUST! Our steaks were cooked to perfection (Medium Rare) and the courses were paces perfectly.

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 13, 2017

At lunch, a good spot for conversation because has three sizable rooms; therefore, not too crowded. Good lunch menu; prices ok.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Great location love the outdoor patio and our food was great. I did feel a little rushed by the waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Great food!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Excellent food. Excellent service, very impressed and pleased

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Waitress was inattentive and unaware that restaurant was out of the first 4 wines we ordered. Food was burnt and had to be sent back. Overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Great first experience. Waiter was in training and did an excellent job attending to our table. All of the food from the house salad to the pork steak, west end lemonade were all delicious but please leave room for the fried cookie! I am looking forward to visiting this restaurant again soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 2, 2017

I'm a concierge at the Four Seasons St. Louis. This is one of my favorite bunch locations. Keep up the fabulous work!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Fun, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 1, 2017

I went for the bourbon and ordered a s steak for dinner. The ribeye was amazing. Also enjoyed the bourbon. The select was pretty good so we were able to do a good year I g for my friend as they don't normally drink bourbon.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Really enjoyed our recent dining experience at Gamlin. The happy hour specials are amazing. The whiskey flight we chose included an interesting taste of Missouri. Great place!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Food was amazing!!! Service was good but very slow!!

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Great waitstaff great service. Would return again soon!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Authentic, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We've been there many times before and had a good experience, but this visit was marked by remarkably slow service, mistakes in our order, forgotten meals and poor quality of some of our meals. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The food and service were great. I would definitely recommend for brunch.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on June 23, 2017

Fun, friendly and attentive, but not overly so. I made reservations last minute for my SO's birthday and did not regret it. Gamlin saved the evening by seating us in a quiet corner and providing a wonder list of drinks to peruse and enjoy.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Father's Day brunch was a hit; the fresh OJ was delicious and all our omelettes were as advertised.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We had a very good meal at Gamlin Whiskey House. Sat outside and the ambiance was delightful. Our first two choices for entree were not available, fortunately the replacements were superb. The mixed drink menu had excellent choices and the selection whiskeys was overwhelming. Would definitely recommend for either a special occasion or just a fun meal

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.