About Gamlin Whiskey House

236 N. Euclid Ave
St. Louis, MO 63108
View Larger Map

With an emphasis on world class whiskeys, our contemporary steakhouse serves hand-cut steaks and delicious cocktails amid the bustle of the wonderful Central West End.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Monday - Friday 11:00 AM - 1:30 AM
Saturday 10:00 AM - 1:30 AM
Sunday 10:00 AM - 12:00 AM

Cross Street:
Maryland and Euclid

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 875-9500

Website:
http://www.gamlinwhiskeyhouse.com/

Catering:
Gamlin Whiskey House is proud to offer a specialty catering menu upon request. With an emphasis on customization and excellent service we look forward to making your next event a special one.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Gamlin Whiskey House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (20)
Special Occasion (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
See All
Good for Groups (14)
Fun (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Business Meals (12)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Casual (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Authentic (6)
People Watching (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Romantic (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Great Beer (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Seasonal (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Spicy (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Family Style (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Private Room (1)
Cozy (1)
Live Music (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Fireplace (1)
Organic (1)
Tapas (1)
Historic (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
411 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My friend and I both had broken chairs. ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 8, 2017

My friend and I both had broken chairs. My friend fell on the floor when her chair broke while she was sitting in it. As a result, she scraped her elbow. Management didn't seem to show much concern.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Ordered 16oz steak medium. Came out rare ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Ordered 16oz steak medium. Came out rare. No water in sight. Just ate it anyway. Place used to be a lot better. Now just overpriced bourbon in sad cwe

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Was disappointed in our visit this time. ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Was disappointed in our visit this time. We raved about this place the first time we went but this time we were a bit disappointed. Out of several whiskey/bourbon requests, pork steak was more like a pork roast, BBQ sauce on flank steak was a bit heavy and many of the steaks were a bit overcooked. The server didn't seem to be very familiar with the menu and even said he wouldn't recommend the pot pie which one of our guests was really wanting to order for some comfort food (dealing with a cold). It'll be a while before we go back yet I'm hoping it was just an off night.

Tags: Comfort Food, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

The food was good, the service on this d ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The food was good, the service on this date was not so good. Our dinner took over 3 1/2 hours for 5 people...perhaps they were understaffed on 1/1, even though it was a big night in St. Louis because of the Winter Classic. Also ran out of one of the signature meals - filets - by 8:30 pm...somebody didn't anticipate much of a crowd...

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

We had a very nice dinner here. Not sure ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We had a very nice dinner here. Not sure the restaurant was prepared for such a crowd for the weekend as they were out of several items from being so busy. Food was very good, could have been served hotter but they were short handed and our server did her best to accommodate. Overall we had a great dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Took about 15 min after being seated for ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Took about 15 min after being seated for the waitress to take our drink order. The young lady was overwhelmed, and didn't understand some basic whiskey terminology. Sadly, no other employee cane to her rescue. The waitress told us up front a few dishes they were out of. One of our party ordered a white wine. Out of that. Another ordered a single malt scotch flight, and was brought a single barrel bourbon flight. Another ordered a Guinness and was accidentally brought two. Worked in our favor there. All in all a pleasant restaurant. Needs some fine tuning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

We had a great meal celebrating my dad's ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had a great meal celebrating my dad's 62nd birthday. Everyone enjoyed their food and cocktails. Great service as well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waited 30mins to be seated with reservat ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Waited 30mins to be seated with reservation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

very enjoyable and friendly atmosphere. ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

very enjoyable and friendly atmosphere. Most definitely have been telling my friends and will come back

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had great service and the food was ex ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We had great service and the food was excellent. The shrimp and grits were delicious as well as the peach/white chocolate bread pudding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Always love our time at Gamlin. Food is ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Always love our time at Gamlin. Food is always above par. The waitstaff is always so friendly and want to make sure everything is great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Pretty much the entire dining experience ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Pretty much the entire dining experience was sub-par. The hostess was indifferent/uninformed about how or when we might find a valet, and it was a very cold night to be sitting outside idling in the car; the staff were confused about who was responsible for our table; the food was average at best; the recommended wine by the glass was not very good. We did manage to spend a fair bit of money, though.

This is our second bad experience there. We won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Service was deplorable, Food was blan ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Service was deplorable, Food was bland. Was not looking for a 5 star but a 2.5 star would have been great. This was a 1.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Gamlin Whiskey House had fantastic food ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Gamlin Whiskey House had fantastic food and great service. It was slightly overpriced and probably not simply an everyday dining experience (more for special occasions or not so often visits), but the food was superb. We sat near the back bar and it was very loud - the music was playing too loud so it was hard to hear conversation, but sitting in the middle dining area probably would have been better. Good experience overall!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Scallops and Risotto were phenomenal!!

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Scallops and Risotto were phenomenal!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was ok-drinks good and fairly price ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Food was ok-drinks good and fairly priced. One HUGE negative is the noise level; it's off the chart and nearly impossible to talk without shouting on a Saturday at prime time. The bar is the worst but the dining area is not far behind. I would not return for that reason.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Limited menu and expensive for the fair ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Limited menu and expensive for the fair they had. $40 for beef medallions? Pot pie was tasteless that was more gravy than anything else. The server struggled with knowing the specials and what beers were on tap. Pretty bland interior dinning area. My wife and I enjoy fine dining and cocktails as our entertainment and never shy away from spending a good amount of money for a quality experience. We were not impressed at all. 2 entrees, with mine being the cheapest, and 2 cocktails with nothing else, $90 . . . WOW!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Open table reservation did not show at t ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Open table reservation did not show at the restaurant. So instead we were put on the waitlist and we're seated 40 minutes after our reservation time. This is more of an open table app issue I'm sure.

As for the restaurant, it's very loud, and for what you get the food and drinks are extremely overpriced. This place only survives due to being located around a bunch of rich college kids blowing their parents money, anywhere else in the city the food would be half the price that is charged.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

It was my first time and it is by far on ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 20, 2016

It was my first time and it is by far one of the best meals that I've eaten this year!!!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the best time at Gamlin. It was, ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 14, 2016

We had the best time at Gamlin. It was, by far, our favorite restaurant we tried during our long weekend in St. Louis. The food was AMAZING. If you love whiskey, this is obviously the place for you. The extensive drink menu was so awesome. So many whiskeys to choose from, and a very large whisky cocktail menu. We had the Kentucky Mule, The Bees Knees, and one more I cannot remember the name of, but all were spectacular. We left full and happy. The prices were not astronomical either. Definitely worth what we spent. Our server was very sweet, helpful, and personable. We could not have asked for anything more. Thanks for an amazing time!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Modern Decor, Casual, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was fantastic as it has always been ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Food was fantastic as it has always been. Service is fabulous .

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Descent but overpriced

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Descent but overpriced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Good selection of drinks/cocktails. Not ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Good selection of drinks/cocktails. Not many options for vegetarians. No real complaints other than the I felt my food was overpriced. My dinner was delicious, but could have found the same meal for half the price at other local restaurants.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

This was out third visit to Gamlins and ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This was out third visit to Gamlins and each one has been a blast. Great waiter and wonderful selections. We enjoy the bourbon and whisky lists as well. We had a party of 6 and shared two appetizers, the three little pigs bacon sampler, and toasted ravolis, and we also shared three desserts, the fried cookie, the ice cream and bourbon peach cobbler, all excellent

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic service and great whiskey choi ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Fantastic service and great whiskey choices. We will be back!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service is excellent. Julie to ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Food and service is excellent. Julie took fantastic care of us!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Casual, Fun, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It would be nice it they have a small sa ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 26, 2016

It would be nice it they have a small sample of the whiskey before you have to buy a $10 1.5oz drink. I wouldnt even care if they charged a $1 or $2 for the sample.

My steak i asked for medium rare and is was very rare. For the price your paying for thise steaks they were not worth it.

Texas Roadhouse beat this place on steaks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

I thought the food was fresh and expertl ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 25, 2016

I thought the food was fresh and expertly prepared. The steaks were done to perfection. The selection of wines, bourbons and scotch was great...but so were the prices. Three 2.5 ounce glasses should not cost the same as a bottle. But all in all, superior dining and service.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Everything was great !!!

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Everything was great !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was delicious and we really liked t ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Food was delicious and we really liked the ambiance. The decor is pleasing and there was a fun, energetic vibe. Our server was knowledgeable and attentive.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fun, Modern Decor, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Our waiter Justin was terrific!! Knowag ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Our waiter Justin was terrific!!

Knowagable of all the Whiskey and even Introduced us to the

Missouri Whiskey Society

Can't wait to go

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Spicy, People Watching, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was excellent but I wish there ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The food was excellent but I wish there was more selection on the menu. The Atmosphere didn't seem like a steak house.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Nice food, really enjoyed it, and really ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Nice food, really enjoyed it, and really unique smoked Manhattan cocktail. The smoke added to the whiskey in small pint bottle really mellows the finish. Give it a try :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

I had my anniversary dinner there and it ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 9, 2016

I had my anniversary dinner there and it was amazing. The service was great and food was phenomenal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love coming here when staying at the ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We love coming here when staying at the Chase Park Plaza, a short walk away. We stroll to dinner, have a few drinks, and enjoy dinner, then stroll back to our room. There is a great variety of wine and whiskey. Service is excelkent! Ask for Justin!

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Acceptable but not special. A noisy, sm ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Acceptable but not special. A noisy, small bar area at entry. A small eating area. An odd bar beyond, empty (Friday 6-730) with high top tables for 6. Service pleasant. Interesting choices for drinks and food. But of the 3 entrees we had--pork steak, scallops, shrimp pasta--no one said "Wow!" We all enjoyed the kale salad. I expected--hoped for--a better overall experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Great experience, some of the best food ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Great experience, some of the best food and drinks we have ever had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The Caesar salad had obviously been prep ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 5, 2016

The Caesar salad had obviously been prepared ahead of time as placed in a refrigerator; it had absolutely no flavor other than the croutons. The pork steak was very fatty and not very tender. The server brought my entree before I was even half way through my salad. When I commented on this, she didn't seem to know what to do or to really care.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

First time dining at Gamlin and I had a ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 2, 2016

First time dining at Gamlin and I had a great experience. I tried the scallops with lobster risotto and it was simply amazing. Very flavorful with every bite. The ambience is nice and service is good too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my fourth trip to the Gamlin Wh ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 1, 2016

This was my fourth trip to the Gamlin Whiskey house and probably my least favorable. I felt that the service was a little rushed and I understand that as a steak house most of the dishes don't incorporate vegetables into them and you are expected to order them as a side, but I didn't realize that until it was too late. The black ink salmon pasta really could have used some acid and some veggies. Too rich for me. Will of course come back though, as the drink list and ambiance are amazing!

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.