About Gamekeepers Taverne

87 West Street
Chagrin Falls, OH 44022
View Larger Map

Started in 1976 & nestled in the village of Chagrin Falls, this historic restaurant offers cozy, fireside dining or alfresco courtyard service. The American traditional fare features fresh seafood, steaks, chops, pastas & signature wild game. Voted best outdoor dining experience by both Cleveland Magazine & Silver Spoons. While visiting Gamekeeper's Taverne, you are welcome to explore the adjacent Inn of Chagrin Falls. Fifteen beautifully appointed guest rooms warm this country lodging experience. Attached to the Inn and restaurant is the little bar, a wine and martini bar and outdoor patio. Located right next door is Casa Roja Tapas Restaurant, featuring sharing appetizers and small plates in a cozy and hip setting. Casa Roja also features outdoor seating on another beautiful patio.

PLEASE NOTE THAT ONLINE RESERVATIONS ARE FOR INDOOR SEATING ONLY.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Wild Game

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday: 4:00pm - 8:00pm
Happy Hour: 3:00pm- 6:00pm

Cross Street:
Chagrin Blvd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(440) 247-7744

Website:
http://www.gamekeepers.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking is available on West Street as well as municipal parking areas in Chagrin Falls. There is also a valet service that is available to our guests at River Street Valet. Show your valet claim ticket and we will reimburse you the $3.00 fee

Executive Chef:
Craig Fitzgerald

Private Party Facilities:
Gamekeepers can accommodate private parties up to 20 guests during the summer & up to 35 guests during the winter. Some restrictions may apply.

Private Party Contact:
Bob Humphrey or Matt Lutz: 4402477744x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Gamekeepers Taverne Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

neighborhood gem (47)
special occasion (36)
great for outdoor dining (34)
See All
fit for foodies (26)
romantic (24)
great for lunch (17)
good for groups (16)
great for brunch (11)
scenic view (10)
notable wine list (6)
vibrant bar scene (5)
late-night find (5)
kid-friendly (5)
hot spot (2)
Sort By:
Newest
799 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

Disappointed

Dined on May 20, 2016

We've eaten here a few times, and have always had a wonderful experience. This time was different. We had to ask the waiter about specials. He couldn't really tell us much about them. Both my husband and my entrees were cold, so we asked that they be reheated. The waiter was extremely apologetic, but it took an age for the reheated plates to arrive. In the meantime, our guests had nearly finished their food. Also had to ask for another glass of wine after I finished the first. Just very disappointed, and not sure we will return.

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

We had a very nice lunch. Great place to ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

We had a very nice lunch. Great place to be outdoors. Got there after the rush so was quieter than normal.We both had salads which we enjoyed. Server seemed little distracted but was friendly and nice. Is a great place to sit outside when the weather is nice.Would go back and recommend to friends

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this place

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

Wonderful food, great and friendly service in an historic building. In the summer sitting in the garden is so beautiful. In cool weather inside by the fireplace cannot be beat for genuine atmosphere

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The top oif the top

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food the variety of choices were top shelf ! The service was excellent!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Perfect for Mother's Day

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

We celebrated Mother's Day with brunch at Gamekeeper's Taverne and were not disappointed. Service, drinks and food were all excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Mother's Day

Dined on May 8, 2016

Food was okay, breakfast meal was very over-cooked - did not serve toast at all. Constantly had to ask server for things. Was not worth the money.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience1
service4
value4

Evening at Gamekeepers

Dined on April 30, 2016

The meal and service were wonderful. The only thing I didn't enjoy was being put in a room that was like an "add-on" that is probably used for small parties. It felt removed from the charm of the restaurant. It seems as if they also put noisy children in that room as well.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Fit the Bill

Dined on April 29, 2016

We wanted to have a tasty meal with a seldom seen brother...and found the location excellent, the food very good (the Ahi Tuna appetizer was outstanding), and the ambiance warm on a cool evening. The noise level in the dining area with the fireplace did get a bit noisy toward the end of the meal, but overall, a good experience. I'd return again when we are next in town.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Decent place

Dined on April 20, 2016

Food was tasty. Good choices. Not many specials. Tomato Bisque was great

Tags: great for outdoor dining, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Diverse menu

Dined on April 17, 2016

Great dining experience, menu offers a variety of options for everyones preference. Excellent service and reasonable prices.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Food was OK. Service was terrible.

Dined on April 1, 2016

Waiter acted as though he was doing us a favor by taking order. Drink order was wrong. Appetizers arrived at almost the same time as appetizers.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great meal as usual!

Dined on April 1, 2016

Love that the menu changes regularly. It was totally different than when we dined there shortly after Christmas. It makes each visit an adventure. All of our entree were very good. The wine selections are good and reasonably priced. Will definitely return!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Membership is its own reward

Dined on March 27, 2016

We enjoyed the $20 coupon we received as loyalty members. Wee also enjoyed the prix fix dinner: the Salmon and Pork were excellent. Both the Wedge and Caesar salads were tasty and the gingerbread and checks desserts hit the spot. Great service and nice ambiance.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service on a holiday

Dined on March 27, 2016

Went with my family for Easter brunch. The server was excellent and the food very good. Lots of people and energy .

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Easter Brunch was Great!

Dined on March 27, 2016

We had a group of 7 for the Easter Brunch. Service was good, and all enjoyed the meals - both "breakfast" and "lunch" entrees.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

Not bad

Dined on March 25, 2016

This was our second time at Gamekeepers. The first time, a couple years ago, we stumbled upon it on a warm summer evening and sat out on the patio. It was lovely. This time around was less impressive. We sat in a room that seemed like it was a different restaurant, it was just so far away from everything and everyone else, which really threw us off. The server was sweet and quirky, but she seemed like she was a little off that day. That didn't really bother us. The food took a moment to come out. We got the crab cakes for an appetizer and it was by far the best part of the meal. The entrees were decent, but nothing amazing. Everything had good flavor and was cooked properly (except for my butternut squash-- it was a little undercooked and still hard). It didn't stand out though. The prices, then, seemed a little too high for what we received. My date would disagree, but I would give it another chance.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Great food and wine!

Dined on March 20, 2016

Great food and wine!

food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Great time

vip
Dined on March 11, 2016

Our last visit was two years ago. Our server Stephen, was very accomandating and professional. From the time we arrived until the time we left we were made to feel welcomed. Although the food was tasty, I thought it was overpriced for the amount served. Try the fried tomatoes they were delicious and normally I don't eat bread, but it was served hot and tasted fresh baked...yum

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice evening at Gamekeepers!

Dined on March 6, 2016

We were happy to secure a last minutes reservation. We were seated in a nice booth. Service was excellent! Pear salad and burger with Brie were standouts. Short rib was extremely dry which was disappointing. Nice wine choices.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Local gem

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

Sometimes we go to Gamekeepers and can't get a seat...other times, there isn't anyone there...this time... No one.... Service was good, not great. Personality of server was flat and frankly odd and uncomfortable. Drinks, food, company was spectacular -- highly recommend as a local or newbie to Chagrin Falls.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

Emptiness

Dined on February 15, 2016

I wanted a new place to try for Valentine's Day for a party of four. The menu is what made me choose this restaurant. After reading up on the winter menu I found four entrees that I would be happy with along with a couple things on the drink list I would be happy to try. We arrived and were seated and the placement of the lights aimed at our table made it hard to even read the menu it was so bright only where we were sitting. I guess because of the holiday the menu was shortened and had only maybe six choices for dinner and only one of the dinners was what I was looking at ordering. We sat for some time before a waitress approached our table and gave us the limited drink menu for the night. Nothing on it was what was on the original menu. We started to order our dinners and after three of us ordered the elk loin which is a dinner offered on the winter menu every day we were told they were out of it. At that point I was ready to leave just because nothing else on the menu seemed appealing. But it was Valentine's Day and wouldn't be able to get in anywhere else. I ordered a small steak thinking that you can't go wrong with that. I can get that any place but nothing else offered seemed to match what they claim to offer. I added for medium rare as did another person in our party. My steak came out completely cooked through, no red at all. I'm not the type of person to send food back so I ate it anyways. It was the worst tasting piece of meat I had ever tasted. For what we paid for dinner by the end of the night I was very disappointed. The four of us will not be returning to this restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a pleasure

Dined on February 14, 2016

Valentine's Day dinner was great. The service was friendly and highly efficient. Each dish was prepared to perfection. Thanks to everyone who made our night special.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great meal and service, especially for V ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Great meal and service, especially for Valentine's Day when service anywhere is dicey. Nice environment and friendly wait staff, and isn't too noisy either. Parking can be a little tedious if it is busy, but great once you get inside. Food is cooked perfectly. Would recommend to anyone.

food4
ambience1
service1
value2

Didn't meet my expectations.

Dined on February 13, 2016

Food was good but service was terrible. We were also seated in a hallway near the entrance where we had the honor of listening to the hostesses complaints about life. For a $50 per person meal, I expected much better ambiance, but the squeaky floor covered in vinyl tile, terrible service, terrible parking situation, and limited Valentine's day menu will keep me from going back a second time. I recommend spending your money elsewhere.

food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Cold food

Dined on February 13, 2016

We were one of the first couples to arrive. Everything was nice and warm inside except for when the food came in it was cold in a little pricey not very impressed will not go back again and would not recommend

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unique restaurant in charming village

Dined on February 8, 2016

Love taking visitors to Gamekeepers Taverne. Their entrees are unique, the service is excellent, and the restaurant is in a beautiful Northeast Ohio village.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience3
service3

Great food, as always. Waited 18 minutes ...

Dined on February 6, 2016

Great food, as always. Waited 18 minutes for our waitress to say hello and get our drink order. She never introduced herself either. But the meals was fantastic once we got the correct food. Don't be in a hurry to go somewhere if dining here.

food5
ambience3
service3
value4

As always, a great dinner!

Dined on January 16, 2016

We are never disappointed in the food at Gamekeepers. All of our meals were delicious. Especially outstanding were the appetizers we shared: smoked trout spread and the ahi tuni wontons.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great meal, location and service!

vip
Dined on January 13, 2016

Great meal for 5 on a Tuesday night, something for everyone! Mica our server was excellent! Food great! Fire in the fireplace while snow was falling in a cabin like setting in the heart of chagrin falls. Just perfect!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

A meat eater's dream...

Dined on January 4, 2016

Gamekeepers lives up to its rep as a fine dining establishment. Definitely worth the destination event with a cozy atmosphere, delictable menu and fine wines. Had the filet to die for... enough said. Go there!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service3

Great food, including the happy hour men ...

vip
Dined on December 21, 2015

Great food, including the happy hour menu. Really nice decor, and warm ambience. Unfortunately we had a bit of a ditsy server who had trouble understanding our order and overcharged us for drinks. But we'd give it another try.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

lovely - inviting

Dined on December 20, 2015

lovely cozy place for well prepared unique menu. excellent staff.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

My friends and I love Gamekeepers for lu ...

vip
Dined on November 30, 2015

My friends and I love Gamekeepers for lunch and birthday celebrations! Food is fantastic. Our favorite salad is the southwestern chicken salad!

food5
ambience4
service2

Great ambiance, great food.

Dined on November 28, 2015

Our server did not know we were there. We were in a booth where he could not see us.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Great place...

Dined on November 22, 2015

Delicious food, warm and cozy environment (heavy on woodsy decor!), and great service! Will be back to try the many otherdelicious items on the menu. (FYI: "small plates" are huge. More than enough for a meal.)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience2
service4

Loud mouthed woman on 11/21/15

vip
Dined on November 22, 2015

We looked forward to our dinner at Gamekeepers all week. It is a time when my wife and I catch up on the week's activities. We were initially seated by a drafty window and the waitress kindly took us to a different room. At the table next to us were 2 couples and one of the women was unbelievably loud and boisterous. It really spoiled the mood and the evening. The food was excellent, but we consider Gamekeeper more on the level of fine, or at least, very nice dining, and the woman next to us belonged at the bar, not in the dining room. We visit the restaurant regularly and were disappointed

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Interesting, unusual and delicious

Dined on November 17, 2015

Not our first visit to Gamekeeper's, but we always look forward to it. Our foursome was not disappointed; the roasted beet and ricotta salad and a "little plate" order of the wild boar sausage. Very nice portions; wine was excellent and under $10/glass; waiter was helpful but not overbearing. One of my favorites! The biggest problem: Parking. There are now three restaurants and the CF little theater trying to use an already small parking area. My advice: valet, or park on the main road by the falls and walk a block or so!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Best meal we have had here yet!

vip
Dined on November 13, 2015

I got the steak special and my wife got the duck breast main course. We started with the pheasant app and salads. Everything was delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience2
service3

Fantastic food, weird atmosphere

Dined on November 7, 2015

I want to start off with that fact the food was well prepared and seasoned well, and the wine was excellent. Their mixed drink menu was a little on the sweet side but the drink I had (spiced cider) was tasty. They didn't seem to be ready to go at 5PM when they opened so everything coming to our table was delayed by 15 minutes. The restaurant was a little cold, due to the fact employees were coming in and out a door near us again because they didn't seem ready to open yet. There were a lot of children there which I wasn't expecting due to the food choices but they weren't really a problem at all. So I guess it is family friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Cleveland Restaurant Week

vip
Dined on November 4, 2015

We enjoyed the first day of Cleveland's Restaurant Week at Game Keeper's Taverne. The special prix fixe, three course menu offered excellent choices and generous portions at a great price. For dessert, the house made warm gingerbread was truly outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.