About Gamekeepers Taverne

87 West Street
Chagrin Falls, OH 44022
View Larger Map

Started in 1976 & nestled in the village of Chagrin Falls, this historic restaurant offers cozy, fireside dining or alfresco courtyard service. The American traditional fare features fresh seafood, steaks, chops, pastas & signature wild game. Voted best outdoor dining experience by both Cleveland Magazine & Silver Spoons. While visiting Gamekeeper's Taverne, you are welcome to explore the adjacent Inn of Chagrin Falls. Fifteen beautifully appointed guest rooms warm this country lodging experience. Attached to the Inn and restaurant is the little bar, a wine and martini bar and outdoor patio. Located right next door is Casa Roja Tapas Restaurant, featuring sharing appetizers and small plates in a cozy and hip setting. Casa Roja also features outdoor seating on another beautiful patio.

PLEASE NOTE THAT ONLINE RESERVATIONS ARE FOR INDOOR SEATING ONLY.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Wild Game

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday: 4:00pm - 8:00pm
Happy Hour: 3:00pm- 6:00pm

Cross Street:
Chagrin Blvd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(440) 247-7744

Website:
http://www.gamekeepers.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking is available on West Street as well as municipal parking areas in Chagrin Falls. There is also a valet service that is available to our guests at River Street Valet. Show your valet claim ticket and we will reimburse you the $3.00 fee

Executive Chef:
Craig Fitzgerald

Private Party Facilities:
Gamekeepers can accommodate private parties up to 20 guests during the summer & up to 35 guests during the winter. Some restrictions may apply.

Private Party Contact:
Bob Humphrey or Matt Lutz: 4402477744x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Southwestern Salad
  • Bistro Salad
  • Triple Mousse Torte
  • Elk
  • New England Clam Chowder
  • Grilled Salmon
  • Lobster Nachos
  • Seared Steak With Maytag Bleu Cheese Salad
Southwestern Salad
Bistro Salad
Triple Mousse Torte
Elk
New England Clam Chowder
Grilled Salmon
Lobster Nachos
Seared Steak With Maytag Bleu Cheese Salad

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Gamekeepers Taverne Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.9

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Outdoor Dining
Cleveland
Best Restaurants in Chagrin Falls ›

neighborhood gem (28)
great for outdoor dining (25)
special occasion (23)
See All
great for lunch (14)
fit for foodies (13)
good for groups (11)
scenic view (9)
romantic (8)
great for brunch (6)
hot spot (5)
vibrant bar scene (4)
late-night find (3)
notable wine list (3)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
812 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Seated on patio. Service was just ok. Th ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Seated on patio. Service was just ok. The evening was a half-off wine night but the bottle ordered was not available. Chose a higher priced wine. While management would not meet the price he offered a half-off a bottle during a future visit. My salmon was excellent. Fish tacos were mediocre.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Awesome! This was a fun evening with gre ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Awesome! This was a fun evening with great food and evening capped on patio.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great, though our server ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Everything was great, though our server smelled of smoke and it was obvious he was taking smoke breaks in between serving. Which wasn't a real issue other than that he was handling our drinking glasses and it was unclear if he was washing his hands in between as well. It wasn't a large distraction, but something we noticed. Other than that the server did do something odd in so much that my wife asked his recommendation between two dishes and he recommended a third dish of which she had no intention of getting. It wasn't mean spirited but unhelpful and slightly rude by ignoring her request. The server was very nice other than that, and was prompt.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The service unfortunately was extremely ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

The service unfortunately was extremely slow- waited over 75 minutes for our food, no water refill in the interim or offers of additional bread.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Our experience was very enjoyable! We al ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Our experience was very enjoyable! We all enjoyed our meals. My sweet potato fries were dry and tasteless. Our waitress was wonderful. She apologized for the potatoes and brought me a dessert. She was friendly and knowledgeable.

I will return😊

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We love the ambiance of the patio but th ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We love the ambiance of the patio but the food was terrible. I think the menu is not very interesting and the execution of the dishes was terrible. I don't think we'll go back unless its for a glass of wine.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value2

We checked out the new summer menu was ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

We checked out the new summer menu was somewhat disappointed. The fish tacos item was very small for a dinner entree - more like an appetizer. They used to have a wonderful wedge salad but no longer. The burger (veal/elk?) was great, however.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

A very good place for lunch - sat outsid ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

A very good place for lunch - sat outside and enjoyed the patio. There is a varied menu and the prices for lunch are reasonable. We return there frequently.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The pear salad was great. The crab cake ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

The pear salad was great. The crab cakes, duck and everything salmon were excellent and the key lime pie was tart and delicious. Dining on the patio was what outdoor dining should be -comfortable and casual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Drinks were good, soda was a bit stale, ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Drinks were good, soda was a bit stale, decent food selection, but food tasted par and not up to its price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Service was bad left after 20 minutes wa ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Service was bad left after 20 minutes waited for the waiter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

The scene at the hostess station gave a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The scene at the hostess station gave a good indicator of the rest of the experience: a waiter/manager was berating the hostess for table bookings on the computer. I was then seated in the middle of a high traffic area, and was told I couldn't be moved. It took a long time to get a simple glass of water. The inattentive, slow service continued throughout dinner. I don't blame our waiter - he seemed overwhelmed. We could hear chaos in the kitchen and see chaos with waiters flying back and forth past our table, usually too fast to get their attention. The salads were good. The cedar planked salmon came with a sweet sauce on top that ruined the salmon. The side squash was boring. My friend's salmon on a southwest salad was very good. Many years ago when I lived in Chagrin, this was a favorite place to eat for great food, service and ambiance. This was my first time back in a while - maybe I caught it on a bad night, but I'd hesitate returning on my next visit.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Disappointed

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

We've eaten here a few times, and have always had a wonderful experience. This time was different. We had to ask the waiter about specials. He couldn't really tell us much about them. Both my husband and my entrees were cold, so we asked that they be reheated. The waiter was extremely apologetic, but it took an age for the reheated plates to arrive. In the meantime, our guests had nearly finished their food. Also had to ask for another glass of wine after I finished the first. Just very disappointed, and not sure we will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

We had a very nice lunch. Great place to ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

We had a very nice lunch. Great place to be outdoors. Got there after the rush so was quieter than normal.We both had salads which we enjoyed. Server seemed little distracted but was friendly and nice. Is a great place to sit outside when the weather is nice.Would go back and recommend to friends

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

I love this place

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Wonderful food, great and friendly service in an historic building. In the summer sitting in the garden is so beautiful. In cool weather inside by the fireplace cannot be beat for genuine atmosphere

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The top oif the top

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The food the variety of choices were top shelf ! The service was excellent!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect for Mother's Day

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We celebrated Mother's Day with brunch at Gamekeeper's Taverne and were not disappointed. Service, drinks and food were all excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Mother's Day

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Food was okay, breakfast meal was very over-cooked - did not serve toast at all. Constantly had to ask server for things. Was not worth the money.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Evening at Gamekeepers

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

The meal and service were wonderful. The only thing I didn't enjoy was being put in a room that was like an "add-on" that is probably used for small parties. It felt removed from the charm of the restaurant. It seems as if they also put noisy children in that room as well.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value4

Fit the Bill

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

We wanted to have a tasty meal with a seldom seen brother...and found the location excellent, the food very good (the Ahi Tuna appetizer was outstanding), and the ambiance warm on a cool evening. The noise level in the dining area with the fireplace did get a bit noisy toward the end of the meal, but overall, a good experience. I'd return again when we are next in town.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Decent place

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

Food was tasty. Good choices. Not many specials. Tomato Bisque was great

Tags: great for outdoor dining, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Diverse menu

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Great dining experience, menu offers a variety of options for everyones preference. Excellent service and reasonable prices.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was OK. Service was terrible.

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

Waiter acted as though he was doing us a favor by taking order. Drink order was wrong. Appetizers arrived at almost the same time as appetizers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Great meal as usual!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

Love that the menu changes regularly. It was totally different than when we dined there shortly after Christmas. It makes each visit an adventure. All of our entree were very good. The wine selections are good and reasonably priced. Will definitely return!

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Membership is its own reward

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

We enjoyed the $20 coupon we received as loyalty members. Wee also enjoyed the prix fix dinner: the Salmon and Pork were excellent. Both the Wedge and Caesar salads were tasty and

the gingerbread and checks desserts hit the spot. Great service and nice ambiance.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great service on a holiday

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Went with my family for Easter brunch. The server was excellent and the food very good. Lots of people and energy .

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Easter Brunch was Great!

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

We had a group of 7 for the Easter Brunch. Service was good, and all enjoyed the meals - both "breakfast" and "lunch" entrees.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Not bad

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

This was our second time at Gamekeepers. The first time, a couple years ago, we stumbled upon it on a warm summer evening and sat out on the patio. It was lovely. This time around was less impressive. We sat in a room that seemed like it was a different restaurant, it was just so far away from everything and everyone else, which really threw us off. The server was sweet and quirky, but she seemed like she was a little off that day. That didn't really bother us.

The food took a moment to come out. We got the crab cakes for an appetizer and it was by far the best part of the meal. The entrees were decent, but nothing amazing. Everything had good flavor and was cooked properly (except for my butternut squash-- it was a little undercooked and still hard). It didn't stand out though. The prices, then, seemed a little too high for what we received. My date would disagree, but I would give it another chance.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

Great food and wine!

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Great food and wine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great time

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

Our last visit was two years ago. Our server Stephen, was very accomandating and professional. From the time we arrived until the time we left we were made to feel welcomed. Although the food was tasty, I thought it was overpriced for the amount served. Try the fried tomatoes they were delicious and normally I don't eat bread, but it was served hot and tasted fresh baked...yum

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Nice evening at Gamekeepers!

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

We were happy to secure a last minutes reservation. We were seated in a nice booth. Service was excellent! Pear salad and burger with Brie were standouts. Short rib was extremely dry which was disappointing. Nice wine choices.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Local gem

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Sometimes we go to Gamekeepers and can't get a seat...other times, there isn't anyone there...this time... No one....

Service was good, not great. Personality of server was flat and frankly odd and uncomfortable. Drinks, food, company was spectacular -- highly recommend as a local or newbie to Chagrin Falls.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Emptiness

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

I wanted a new place to try for Valentine's Day for a party of four. The menu is what made me choose this restaurant. After reading up on the winter menu I found four entrees that I would be happy with along with a couple things on the drink list I would be happy to try. We arrived and were seated and the placement of the lights aimed at our table made it hard to even read the menu it was so bright only where we were sitting. I guess because of the holiday the menu was shortened and had only maybe six choices for dinner and only one of the dinners was what I was looking at ordering. We sat for some time before a waitress approached our table and gave us the limited drink menu for the night. Nothing on it was what was on the original menu. We started to order our dinners and after three of us ordered the elk loin which is a dinner offered on the winter menu every day we were told they were out of it. At that point I was ready to leave just because nothing else on the menu seemed appealing. But it was Valentine's Day and wouldn't be able to get in anywhere else. I ordered a small steak thinking that you can't go wrong with that. I can get that any place but nothing else offered seemed to match what they claim to offer. I added for medium rare as did another person in our party. My steak came out completely cooked through, no red at all. I'm not the type of person to send food back so I ate it anyways. It was the worst tasting piece of meat I had ever tasted. For what we paid for dinner by the end of the night I was very disappointed. The four of us will not be returning to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

Always a pleasure

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Valentine's Day dinner was great. The service was friendly and highly efficient. Each dish was prepared to perfection. Thanks to everyone who made our night special.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal and service, especially for V ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Great meal and service, especially for Valentine's Day when service anywhere is dicey. Nice environment and friendly wait staff, and isn't too noisy either. Parking can be a little tedious if it is busy, but great once you get inside. Food is cooked perfectly. Would recommend to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Didn't meet my expectations.

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Food was good but service was terrible. We were also seated in a hallway near the entrance where we had the honor of listening to the hostesses complaints about life. For a $50 per person meal, I expected much better ambiance, but the squeaky floor covered in vinyl tile, terrible service, terrible parking situation, and limited Valentine's day menu will keep me from going back a second time. I recommend spending your money elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

Cold food

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

We were one of the first couples to arrive. Everything was nice and warm inside except for when the food came in it was cold in a little pricey not very impressed will not go back again and would not recommend

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Unique restaurant in charming village

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on February 8, 2016

Love taking visitors to Gamekeepers Taverne. Their entrees are unique, the service is excellent, and the restaurant is in a beautiful Northeast Ohio village.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, as always. Waited 18 minutes ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

Great food, as always. Waited 18 minutes for our waitress to say hello and get our drink order. She never introduced herself either. But the meals was fantastic once we got the correct food. Don't be in a hurry to go somewhere if dining here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

As always, a great dinner!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

We are never disappointed in the food at Gamekeepers. All of our meals were delicious. Especially outstanding were the appetizers we shared: smoked trout spread and the ahi tuni wontons.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.