About Game Creek Restaurant

Vail Mountain, Game Creek Bowl
Vail, CO 81658
View Larger Map

Game Creek Restaurant is located at 10,300 feet, at the top of Vail Mountain. Enjoy a gondola ride and cozy snow cat ride or shuttle in the summer to an elegant European chalet, where the ambiance is charming and the memories are long-lasting. Renowned for the fabulous view, Game Creek Restaurant features modern American style cooking with regional and seasonal ingredients. The menu is comprised of contemporary dishes and Game Creek favorites. Game Creek Restaurant offers an award-winning and extensive wine list, and personalized service. More than simply a restaurant high above Vail, Game Creek Restaurant has emerged as a true culinary destination.

Adults choose from a 3 or 4 course prix fixe menu, or may dine on our featured Chef's Table menu. We also offer a special 3-course children's menu.

Open for Dinner December through April, and for Dinner and Sunday Brunch mid-June through Labor Day Weekend.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Summer Hours: Dinner, Thursday-Saturday: 5:30pm-8:30pm
Sunday Brunch: 11am-2pm (Open June 19th - September 4th)
Summer Apres on the Deck: 5:30-7pm with featured appetizers and drink specials.
OPEN FOR FATHER'S DAY BRUNCH, June 19th

Winter Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm (mid-December through mid-April)

Cross Street:
E Lionshead Circle

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(970) 754-4275

Website:
http://www.gamecreekvail.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available at the Lionshead parking structure. Please allot addtional time before your reservation for parking, accessing the gondola, and the snow cat or shuttle ride. Check in with the Game Creek greeter at the gondola 30 minutes before your reservation time.

Public Transit:
Take Free Vail in-town bus to Lionshead bus stop. Walk through Lionshead to the gondola. Plan to check in at the gondola 30 minutes before your reservation time.

Executive Chef:
Steven Topple

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Private events and weddings are world-class at Game Creek! To inquire about large or private party bookings, please contact Vail Group Sales Department at: 970.754.4515

Private Dining

For parties of any size, Game Creek Restaurant offers private, intimate dining options. Game Creek Restaurant is available for large private parties, weddings, and corporate dinners. Please contact Stacy Romer in our Group Sales Department for inquiries on private dining options and group events.

Game Creek Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Mountains
Best Service
Mountains
Contemporary American
Mountains
Best Restaurants in Vail ›

Scenic View (13)
Special Occasion (12)
Romantic (9)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Sort By:
Newest
254 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A unique, gourmet dining experience with ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

A unique, gourmet dining experience with a mountain-top view (even more incredible at sunset).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been coming to Game Creek for ma ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We have been coming to Game Creek for many years. Thought this year they dropped a notch.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value4

The view is as spectacular as it gets be ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The view is as spectacular as it gets because you are literally in the middle of Vail's ski slopes. The flowers and trees and mountains are breathtaking. We went for Sunday brunch and it was $50 person. The food -- especially the fresh crab claws -- was delicious and there was a nice variety of breakfast and lunch items. Our service was not great. And I was very surprised to see that we were charged an additional $4.50 for an iced tea.

Overall, a great place, but prepare to spend some money.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

The food was mostly terrific, although n ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The food was mostly terrific, although not as creative as I might have expected as suggested by the price. The staff was knowledgable and attentive from start to finish. However, it's the view and adventure of getting to and from the restaurant that makes it a memorable must-do!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Amazing dinner with the perfect ambiance ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Amazing dinner with the perfect ambiance and mountain views! This is our second visit to Game Creek and certainly we will go every time we visit Vail! The food was delicious and the service ranks extremely high. Of course one of the highlights is just getting to the restaurant! We would not hesitate to recommend all aspects of Game Creek - food, service, quality, location and atmosphere!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent. It was an expensive evening, ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Excellent. It was an expensive evening, but the food was outstanding and there is no better view while dining.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It is an absolutely beautiful place with ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

It is an absolutely beautiful place with one of the most beautiful views (especially with the sunset) I have seen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Amazing experience from start to finish. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Amazing experience from start to finish. Service is outstanding - waiter, manager and chef who stopped by our table. Food was fabulous. Game Creek was one of the highlights of our trip!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a table by the window. Beautiful vi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Had a table by the window. Beautiful view that was so good we were (as were most patrons), out on the deck for pictures before and after dining.

The dining room and the bar area were beautiful. Only thing I'll mention negative about the dining room was that there were a large number of flies at the window behind the mesh blinds, most of which stayed at the window. My wife killed one that was flying around. Got a cheer from the table next to us. The staff is well aware of the issue and was clearly doing all they could do.

We ate from the Chef's Table menu. Food was outstanding, especially the duck pastrami and the marlin. I would say that the although the Wagyu was tender and flavorful, it was a bit salty. I think it was the rub that was used but, could have been the sauce. The dessert was outstanding.

Wines were excellent. We asked for the specific pairings offered with the Chef's Table menu and were glad we did. Seemed a little heavy on white wines and we're red wine people so we opted for a couple of lower cost but, excellent selections. One white and one red. Overall, the wine list gave a nice variety at all price levels.

Overall, we'd do it again. Outstanding dining experience. I'd only put it second to Victoria and Albert's in the Grand Floridian at Disney but, they don't have any views and the Game Creek Club is outstanding there. Glad they open dining to the public on certain days.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a very enjoyable brunch. Highly ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We had a very enjoyable brunch. Highly recommended.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Average food, average service, high pric ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Average food, average service, high price. We have been to Game Creek many times but tonight was disappointing. Feels like they have taken their venue and customers for granted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Outstanding food, service and overall ex ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Outstanding food, service and overall experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A little ragged. Small deck. Windows are ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

A little ragged. Small deck. Windows are very small and can't see the incredible views.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

Game Creek Restaurant, a gem nestled in Vail

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

What a special evening...the tram ride at sunset... the ride in the snowcat to the restaurant...the attentive staff...the warm atmosphere...the great food! It felt like everyone there was just having an enjoyable evening out. Well done! We will be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The entire night is a fantastic experience!

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

The staff is very efficient and friendly. They take pride in their service and want your dining experience to be a memorable one. The snow cat ride and the remote location of the restaurant makes this a very unique experience and the food is out of this world! I love the fact that the restaurant manager walks around to tables and briefly chats with people to be sure everything is going well. A very classy touch! It's a great way to spoil yourself, friends and family!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fine dining!

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Enjoyed the atmosphere and service so much. The wine was outstanding. I thought the halibut was too salty and I switched plates with my husband. His lamb chops were out of this world. Portion sizes looked small but were perfect with all the richness and flavor of the food.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Dinner at Game Creek

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

Exquisite food! And a unique experience getting there by Snow Cat. Overall, it was a dining hi-lite of our trip!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Game Creek with Snowcat ride!

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

The restaurant was very nice and the menu had interesting selections. The portions were small, but tasty. Service was FANTASTIC! Bar looked nice as well. Views are spectacular. The restaurant is located in one of the bowls on Vail Ski Resort. You take the Gondola up from one of the Vail Villages and the snowcat is there waiting to take you to the restaurant. Our driver let one of us sit in the front cab with him on the way to the restaurant and back to the Gondola. He was entertaining and it was just plain FUN! The highlight of the night was the snowcat ride for us. Highly recommend it.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic experience

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

Everything about Game Creek Club is a special experience. The snowcat ride, the food, the service, the wine list, the view - all are excellent. We have dined here twice now, and wouldn't consider visiting Vail without going to GCC. Only downside is the cost, but it is a very special experience, so worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Don't go for the food

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

Bison dish was served "tough" and tasteless. Salmon dish with Quinoa did not serve the palette well. The favors were very unpleasant together. Neither dish was finished . Would go back for the scenic view and service but NOT the food.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Just great in all respects & so gracious ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

Just great in all respects & so gracious to our grandkids. The snowcat ride is a thrill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic experience.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 9, 2016

Fantastic experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Special Experience in Vail

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

Dinner at the Game Creek Club is a wonderful way to celebrate being in Vail. It all begins with an evening ride on the Gondola, then a snowcat ride to the Club. For the men in our group, the snowcat made their night! The Club is warm & inviting. The cocktails & wine set the tone. Dinner choices were unique & beautifully prepared/presented. Everything was delicious and the bison was a special treat.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Wow!

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on February 25, 2016

Incredible experience at the top of the Lions head gondola in Vail. The grandkids loved the ride in the snow cat. We went up in the daylight in the views were spectacular.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Top notch food and a memorable experienc ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Top notch food and a memorable experience for the family. A must do when visiting Vail.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent ambiance , lousy sommelier

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

I was there for a special evening birthday dinner with my girlfriend. The ambiance and server (Ally) were great!!! The food was fabulous. Afterwards we sat by the fireplace and enjoyed our wine then walked out on the deck under the stars.

The only negative experience we had was with the sommelier, he took forever to get to the table, he finally showed up after we had finished our first course (Ally had to go fetch him) then he was very arrogant and rude and was not helpful at all. We did not get our bottle of wine until well into our dinner ( Ally had to fetch him again to bring us our wine, then she apologize for the lateness). It is too bad we had that unnecessary experience given the high quality of the gourmet food and excellent server. Please train your sommelier in customer service and soft skills or you might try to get another sommelier.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Amazing food and impeccable service!!!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

The food is always winderful! The service is excellent and very peso al! The snowcat ride from the gondola is a real treat too! This was our second trip and will definitely go back again!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and presentation was excellent ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on February 11, 2016

The food and presentation was excellent .

The snow cat ride to the restaurant was a lot of fun. The only thing that was disappointing was the service. Our 2 waiters were also serving a private room so we did not get the proper attention. For the cost of the meal it was disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

mountain experience

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 10, 2016

great way to change up your dinner expericne by taking gondola ride up the mountain at night, followed by a covered snowcat ride to the restaurant. Food was very good, with a nice ambience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Much Improved

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on February 10, 2016

Although we enjoyed Game Creek on previous visits, our recent visit was a much improved experience. The service was impeccable...attentive and knowledgeable without being intrusive. The new chef prepared both tasty and well presented fare. The lamb chops, done sous vide style, were wonderful. Bring your appetite!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Each course was excellent. Really apprec ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on February 3, 2016

Each course was excellent. Really appreciated the great service of the sommelier

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ride a gondola, then a snowcat then enjo ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 3, 2016

Ride a gondola, then a snowcat then enjoy a wonderful meal in an awesome building.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Game Creek

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

Spectacular location with spectacular food and excellent service. Unique access by snowcat. Great for special occasions and worth the cost.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ratrack trip takes 6 min and if it s ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 27, 2016

The ratrack trip takes 6 min and if it snows, it is awsome! Food os good. A bit expensive but worth the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

This was truly an experience to not be m ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on January 27, 2016

This was truly an experience to not be missed. While a bit pricey, it met every expectation and the food was incredible and served with grace and elegance. We went for a birthday celebration and thoroughly enjoyed the evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A Treat

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

We hosted a dinner here. The service was amazing! Very attentive. The Chef visited the table as we did the Chef's Choice. We had a beautiful bottle of Amarone Wine. The Sommelier was delightful and talented.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing restaurant in a beautiful setting

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on January 22, 2016

It was a truly special location is a truly special spot, you have to ride up to gondola to the base then you ride in the snow cat to get to the actual restaurant. On our night there was a full moon end it was truly beautiful.

The food was amazing the service impeccable, we had a delicious bison steak with grilled shallots and venison, butternut squash tortellini and rabbit, followed by some deliciously prepared and presented desserts. It was truly 5-Stars and if you go to Vail with someone special, youMust take them there!

We ride in the front seat of the snowcat on the way back down which was a real treat. All in all it was a fantastic restaurant and we couldn't have had a better experience! Thank you Game Creek Club.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great location, really enjiyed the skicat trip

 
 (London)
·Dined on January 15, 2016

A ski guide in Vail recommended this restaurant to my group and we were really happy with the outcome. The food was great, service was good, friendly staff and quick. Riding the gondola in the dark and the drive on the ski-cat only added to this enjiyable experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience in Vail! A must dinner ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on January 15, 2016

Great experience in Vail! A must dinner spot when visiting the area.

Our kids enjoyed the snowcat ride. Food and service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Needs help

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on January 14, 2016

Cold food, super slow service. After waiting half an hour before a waiter came to the table, and the first course taking another 45 minutes after that, everyone was too tired and hungry to even complain. An hour later came the main course of which we didn't eat (cold or overlooked) we got the check and left with deserts in a bag. When we got home we all laughed very hard at the tiny deserts and threw it in the trash. 2 adult 2 kids. $500.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.