Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM

Game Creek Restaurant

4.8
381 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$50 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Romantic
  • Scenic View
  • Special Occasion
Game Creek Restaurant is located at 10,300 feet, at the top of Vail Mountain. Enjoy a gondola ride and cozy snow cat ride or shuttle in the summer to an elegant European chalet, where the ambiance is charming and the memories are long-lasting. Renowned for the fabulous view, Game Creek Restaurant features modern American style cooking with regional and seasonal ingredients. The menu is comprised of contemporary dishes and Game Creek favorites. Game Creek Restaurant offers an award-winning and extensive wine list, and personalized service. More than simply a restaurant high above Vail, Game Creek Restaurant has emerged as a true culinary destination.

Adults choose from a 3 or 4 course prix fixe menu, or may dine on our featured Chef's Table menu. We also offer a special 3-course children's menu.

Open for Dinner December through April, and for Dinner and Sunday Brunch mid-June through Labor Day Weekend.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Winter Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm (December 13 - March 30)
Open Sun & Mon, Dec 24 & 25
Open Sun, Dec 31 for New Year's Eve
Open Sunday, February 18

Summer Hours: Dinner, Thursday-Saturday: 5:30pm-8:30pm
Sunday Brunch: 11am-2pm (Open mid-June - Labor Day Weekend)
Summer Apres on the Deck: 5:30-7pm with featured appetizers and drink specials.




icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(970) 754-4275
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Steven Topple
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
E Lionshead Circle
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Parking is available at the Lionshead parking structure. Please allot addtional time before your reservation for parking, accessing the gondola, and the snow cat or shuttle ride. Check in with the Game Creek greeter at the gondola 30 minutes before your reservation time.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Take Free Vail in-town bus to Lionshead bus stop. Walk through Lionshead to the gondola. Plan to check in at the gondola 30 minutes before your reservation time.

icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Private events and weddings are world-class at Game Creek! To inquire about parties of 16 or larger, or for private party bookings, please contact Vail Group Sales Department at: 970.754.4515

Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

For parties of any size, Game Creek Restaurant offers private, intimate dining options. Game Creek Restaurant is available for large private parties, weddings, and corporate dinners. Please contact Stacy Romer in our Group Sales Department for inquiries on private dining options and group events.

View Private Dining Details
What 381 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.8based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.8
service
4.8
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Quiet
91% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

By far our favorite place when we are skiing in Vail. You need to take the gondola in Lionshead and then a snow cat that takes you to this gem. It's normally a private club that opens for dinner during winter. It's definitely worth the little hassle to get there, it's a very romantic chalet, spectacular sunsets, excellent food and service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Grear place. Food and service is amazing and the views of the sunset were incredible.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 29, 2018

This was the best dinner we have ever had. Great job Dan the Exec Chef.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Best lamb I have tried

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 21, 2018

We found Game Creek to be very nice, with great views and fantastic food. Service was perfect. Highly recommend this take and good value given pre fixe price included 4 course meal, gondola ride and snowcat ride to the restaurant! Carlton and Leslie, Plymouth, MA

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Game Creek has been a long time favorite for us. Saturday evening's experience was no exception. The staff was attentive as always The atmosphere and food are always outstanding. The difference this time was that we made the trip up the mountain in daylight and had the wonderful experience of watching the sunset from the dining room. The view is magical. The food was wonderful from appetizer to dessert. We were introducing good friends to Vail and this was the capstone of their visit. Completely worth the trip up the gondola!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 15, 2018

Food was amazing. Experience of the gondola and sno-cat was pretty awesome. Two issues: the mass amount of children with a couple of melt-downs did not go well with my beautifully crusted cod. The other issue was I had called ahead concerning a special request and I was assured no problem. But it in fact was an issue. If there was an apology without the shaming and that it was my fault even after I called their restaurant all would have been forgiven. Sad because the food was fabulous!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 10, 2018

It’s a one of a kind experience the short trip in a sno cat ( luxury version ) from the top of the Lions Head gondola to the resturant. The restaurant is excellent the service was attentive but not obtrusive The casual elegence and overall experience make this a must do. This was my second visit ( last 2015 ) l’ll brings back the next time I’m in Vail

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 8, 2018

Only option is set menu/ up charges for ice

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 7, 2018

A wonderful experience. From the snow cat ride to the delicious food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Great food and service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 2, 2018

Everything done to perfection.

Truly remarkable experience!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 24, 2018

For a Prix Fixe price of $115 per person I expected much better food than this. My steak was not edible - very dry and tough. I literally only took 3 bites and had to set is aside. The server didn't even take notice that it had barely been touched. As a couple we spent over $400 on this meal (food, wine and gratuity) and would not do it again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 23, 2018

Despite the weather being somewhat inclimate, dining at Game Creek was well worth braving the cold. Service was exceptional, our waiter was very attentive to our needs. My husband and I got different items of the preFix menu and everything was done perfectly. I highly recommend Game Creek!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 22, 2018

Great service from Brandon throughout. Sadly the kitchen served cold dishes to some of us and that let him down a bit!
He handled it brilliantly and the cold food was rightly deducted from the bill. The Appetizers were the best part of the meal.
The trip in the cat was spectacular.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 19, 2018

Amazing Dinner!!! Food was incredible. Wow!!! Thinking about going again tonight.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 19, 2018

Ambiance and experience were great. Food should have been much better. Flame and Terra Bistro were much better restaurants.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Very much enjoyed our experience. Great service and wine list. Food was very good and the ambiance is excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Excellent and high quality food. Good service and very nice ambience. The ride to and from the restaurant in a snow-cat adds to the experience. Very extensive and astonishing wine list, but difficult to find any reasonable priced bottles.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 15, 2018

Very attentive staff and SnoCat ride was great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 15, 2018

Enjoyable experience as a whole. When you tie in the Gondola and snowcat rides it is a great adventure for the kids too.
They do well catering for food issues.
Attentive in a nice way. Knowledgable Sommelier. Varied menu choices. Something to suit most everyone.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Valentine s day

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Cool experience and something to impress a significant other. This was our second time, but the novelty was gone.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Valentine’s Day

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Great experience for a wonderful night out. Gondola ride then Cat ride to the restaurant in the beautiful snow-covered Vail mountains. Food was an inclusive four course meal with wonderful selections, something for everyone. Great atmosphere with professional but friendly service. Loved the charging closet for your cellphone, nice touch!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2018

Amazing place, service and food.
The scenic ride up and experience adds up to the amazing fixed menu.
The Brussels Sprout salad and Beef Filet just out of this world.
The service was very attentive and professional.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 9, 2018

Our server, John and his helpers were super helpful and attentive throughout. Food was GRRAT! We LOVE the snowcat ride! The only person I'd like to point out is the lady who checked coats for everyone at the door. She definitely needs to improve her attitudes towards KIDS!!! We were all kids once upon a time!!! Time to act like family friendly!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 8, 2018

A lovely evening With great food. Certainly one of the best meals in the USA in the last 25 years.
The service and location just perfect too.
The tasting menu with wine flight was delicious and wines paired beautifully.
Highly recommend

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 8, 2018

Dining at the Game Creek Club is a truly special experience. Ride the Vail Lionshead gondola to the summit under starlight, be transported in a warm comfortable snowcat to the restaurant, where outstanding cuisine is prepared and served with an excellent wine list to accompany.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 6, 2018

Always a wonderful dining event at Game Creek. Fabulous food in a spectacular setting high in Game Creek Bowl. Great cocktails, lengthy and impressive wine list, very attentive staff.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 31, 2018

It's a thrilling experience to go up the Eagle Bahn Gondola in Lionshead and be taken by snow cat to this exclusive mountain setting. The food was delicious and beautifully presented, the wine list excellent. Highly recommended.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 23, 2018

As always, perfection is amazing!!! Each dish is a surprising burst of flavor ... unique ... delightfully the staff is well informed and educated in their specialty and they work together as a team!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 20, 2018

This was our second time to this restaurant. We loved it the first time and would go back whenever we are in Vail! It is not just a meal, but a real experience!! If going to Vail, I
would highly recommend going but get reservations well in advance.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 18, 2018

Fantastic service and wonderful ambiance! Loved the snow cat ride in and out! Only accessible via gondola and snowcat. Four course meal was beautifully staged! Friendly staff

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 13, 2018

Beautiful venue, excellent food, staff cannot do enough for you, highly recommended!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 13, 2018

This was so much fun, the food was great and service was OUTSTANDING. We had an amazing time. Definitely worth the money

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 11, 2018

wasnt worth the money, cat ride was dumb, dinner options were gamey billionaire dishes with very small portions. go to vail chophouse and get a real dinner and watch the idiots like me going to game creek

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 10, 2018

The food was mediocre and the wine pairing very poor. Too much money and trouble to get there for what you get.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 10, 2018

Excellent food and unique setting. Gondola ride up followed by a snow cat to the restaurant make for a truly memorable evening and the food and service live up to the rest of the experience. It's pricey (especially the wine list...) but overall worth it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 10, 2018

Thanks for taking care of us and remembering we were celebrating a graduation. Adam is a great server that made us feel at home and didn’t rush us at all. Josh recommended a great bottle of wine in our price range. Nothing beats the gondola ride and snowcat ride at night in the snow!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
10