Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.00mi
  3. Distance: 0.00mi
  4. Distance: 0.00mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.00mi
  3. Distance: 0.00mi
  4. Distance: 0.00mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.00mi
  3. Distance: 0.00mi
  4. Distance: 0.00mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.00mi
  3. Distance: 0.00mi
  4. Distance: 0.00mi

About Game Creek Restaurant

Game Creek Restaurant is located at 10,300 feet, at the top of Vail Mountain. Enjoy a gondola ride and cozy snow cat ride or shuttle in the summer to an elegant European chalet, where the ambiance is charming and the memories are long-lasting. Renowned for the fabulous view, Game Creek Restaurant features modern American style cooking with regional and seasonal ingredients. The menu is comprised of contemporary dishes and Game Creek favorites. Game Creek Restaurant offers an award-winning and extensive wine list, and personalized service. More than simply a restaurant high above Vail, Game Creek Restaurant has emerged as a true culinary destination.

Adults choose from a 3 or 4 course prix fixe menu, or may dine on our featured Chef's Table menu. We also offer a special 3-course children's menu.

Open for Dinner December through April, and for Dinner and Sunday Brunch mid-June through Labor Day Weekend.

Vail Mountain, Game Creek Bowl
Vail, CO 81658
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Winter Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm (December 14 - April 1)
Open Monday, December 26
Open Sunday, February 19

Summer Hours: Dinner, Thursday-Saturday: 5:30pm-8:30pm
Sunday Brunch: 11am-2pm (Open June 18th - Labor Day Weekend)
Summer Apres on the Deck: 5:30-7pm with featured appetizers and drink specials.




Cross Street:
E Lionshead Circle

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(970) 754-4275

Website:
http://www.gamecreekvail.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available at the Lionshead parking structure. Please allot addtional time before your reservation for parking, accessing the gondola, and the snow cat or shuttle ride. Check in with the Game Creek greeter at the gondola 30 minutes before your reservation time.

Public Transit:
Take Free Vail in-town bus to Lionshead bus stop. Walk through Lionshead to the gondola. Plan to check in at the gondola 30 minutes before your reservation time.

Executive Chef:
Steven Topple

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Private events and weddings are world-class at Game Creek! To inquire about parties of 16 or larger, or for private party bookings, please contact Vail Group Sales Department at: 970.754.4515

Private Dining

For parties of any size, Game Creek Restaurant offers private, intimate dining options. Game Creek Restaurant is available for large private parties, weddings, and corporate dinners. Please contact Stacy Romer in our Group Sales Department for inquiries on private dining options and group events.

Game Creek Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (11)
Special Occasion (11)
Romantic (9)
See All
Good for a Date (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Great for Brunch (5)
Cozy (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Seasonal (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Casual (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Authentic (1)
Sort By:
S
327 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Not one complaint. Everything was top notch. Great view, great service, great food.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual, Cozy, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Amazing staff and service.
Unbeatable view.
Unforgettable menu and wine pairings!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 30, 2017

The restaurant is beautiful. Our server, Scott, was very attentive. We went for Sunday brunch, and the only available reservation was at 1:00 p.m. By that time, the buffet was very picked over and there was nobody even attending the omelette station. I think that if we had gone earlier, we would have had a different experience.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 30, 2017

The food is really nicely prepared in an amazing setting. While expensive, this is a great experience and worth splurging for. The food is always very nice, the meal is wonderful, and the setting relaxed and beautiful.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 23, 2017

This is our second time at Game Creek. The first in the summer. We tried the 4 courses and were not disappointed. The food is world class, the service the top. My wife has said she can honestly say "it was the best meal I ever had". Thank you for making our 30th anniversary special!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Just perfect. Worth the extra cost. Great mountaintop views.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Beautiful setting, Scott our waiter was wonderful. We order the 4 course tasting menu. Halibut was dry, very small portions not worth the $100 per person charge.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 6, 2017

We absolutely love this restaurant any time we are in Vail we stop in with family and friends. No matter if its winter or summer the atmosphere and views are phenomenal. The service is excellent and the food is divine. There is no restaurant in the area better for special occasions and breathtaking views.

Tags: Cozy, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We went here for our anniversary dinner and decided to bring our kids (ages 9, 10). We had the best time! The view is outstanding. Go early for a drink on the deck before you get seated. Then grab your camera and head back outside to catch the sunset. As for bringing kids- this place is perfect! They have a kid-friendly prix fixe menu which is a brilliant way to introduce young diners to the multi-course meal. Plus- the deck provides a nice little opportunity for the kiddos to take a breather in between courses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Natural beauty enhanced by excellent service and creative cuisine

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The view and the food were amazing. The interior is worn, high noise level and at $180 per person, I expect linens on the table and music . The noise level was unreal for such an intimate dining experience. The music was so low we couldn't hear it. Our table had no flowers, no S&P, no candle like the others. We asked to be moved later. My beef is just with the overall experience/dining room management. Great food and view as I said. Could use a remodel. Glass all along view side. Nana Doors?

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 23, 2017

A must try in Vail! Make sure you grab a drink outside first before getting seated. Food was fantastic

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Above and beyond what I had expected. Great dining experience. My children enjoyed the ride to the restaurant, a new experience for our whole family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on March 30, 2017

This isn't just a meal, it is an experience!! We will talk about this dinner for years.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Service was impeccable. Food was perfect. Location was beyond expectations Presentation was great. Extensive wine list.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 29, 2017

We've dined here a few times over the years, and Game Creek Club is consistently perfect. Every detail of a dinner at Game Creek Club is meticulously planned and executed with second to none quality and service. Executive Chef Steven Topple's creations are as beautifully plated as they are uniquely delicious. My only regret was having ordered the four-course prix fixe dinner instead of the five-course dinner so that I could enjoy more of chef Topple's specials. Our dinner started with an amuse bouche of tuna tartare paired with a mini, velvety parsnip soup. It was amazing! The rabbit with pancetta and chorizo appetizer was incredible. My son loved the brussels sprouts and bacon salad almost as much as I loved the beet and goat cheese salad. His elk was the most tender, flavorful elk we've ever had at any restaurant. Game Creek Club does it perfectly! The signature Colorado lamb was the best lamb entree I've ever enjoyed. The accompaniments were a work of art in presentation and flavor. Both of us are allergic to gluten and loved the fact that almost everything on the menu is gluten free, so no substitutions had to be made. The wine sommelier was very knowledgeable and friendly, bringing us a very smooth bottle of just the right French red to accompany our dinner. As for dessert... it was so beautiful we almost didn't want to touch it, but in the end we're glad we did. It was amazing. Everything from start to finish was perfect, and the best way to celebrate a great vacation in Vail. When in Vail, don't miss this restaurant!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Organic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Once again, another fantastic meal at the Game Creek Club! The food is amazingly creative & unique and the atmosphere is relaxing and cozy. The service is friendly, professional & courteous. We love coming here because it is truly a unique dining experience that is not offered anywhere else to this degree! The snow cat ride and the drivers make it an exciting way to start and end the evening too. Thank you!

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Great overall experience but very expensive. Loved the food and service. Wines are marked up almost 4-5x. Not a great value, but would probably return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The food and views are great. Unfortunately the ambiance is very dated and "old lady-ish". This could be an amazing restaurant but the interiors need to be completely redone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Very cool experience by taking the gondola then a snow cat to the restaurant. Food is pre fixe but AMAZING. It's pricey but worth it. The views from the deck and equally stunning. Get the lamb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Second time that I have eaten here, worth every penny. Try to get there early to see the view and sunset. It is almost as good as the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Worth the price for the view, food, service and experience to reach this delightful restaurant. I contemplated skipping since we have teens who aren't so appreciative of fine dining, plus we had done a similar restaurant in Beaver Creek a few years back. Plus, we were enjoying similar views all week. But this is a meal that we will always remember. The very funny snowcat driver was great and even invited my soon-to-be-driving son to sit up front with him to give him driving tips. The sommelier picked out an amazing wine to complement our set menu. Our boys tried everything and honestly enjoyed it all. A Wonderful experience for all!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The Game Creek experience was just that - and experience rather than a meal. The evening started with a gondola ride up Eagle Bahn where our group boarded a snowcat for a cool ride to the Game Creek Lodge (about a 10 minute ride or so).

We were greeted by staff when we unloaded and quickly found a seat at the bar by a warm fire to grab some drinks before our table was ready. Once seated, we had a great menu selection. The pricing may not be for the faint of heart (or wallet) but keep in mind that the rest of this "experience" is duty-free. That said, a 5 course, well-prepared meal along with some wine is worth the $200+ per person bill at the end...this isn't where you go every night for dinner, so take some special people with you.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Great location, great food, great service, great view. A special occasion to take friends or family for a memorable night. Worth the price.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 17, 2017

It was truly about the experience and worth it!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Always a great night of fantastic food and incredible service. Well worth the trip every year. We will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Head for up the creek at Game Creek for a truly memorable evening of fine dining closely matched by a novel way of getting to this Vail Mountain gem. The personable chef's stop by our table was the final touch!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 14, 2017

A wonderful new experience added to our yearly visit to Vail. The snowcat ride was fun, the restaurant, food, and service was exceptional. It was dark when we arrived so could not enjoy the scenery, so we recommend an early reservation.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 14, 2017

disappointed, ravioli not cooked, greens of elk burnt

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Superb as always. This is clearly and unarguably the best of the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 2, 2017

My wife and I ended a great ski vacation with dinner at Game Creek. The gondola ride up and cat to the restaurant were a unique entry to a great dinner experience on the mountain. All staff were very friendly making us feel at home.

We we'll be back next visit to Vail.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Great cosy romantic comedy place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 23, 2017

C'était un sans faute.
Perfect from the beginning to the end.
Great welcome
Great service
Excellent and delicate food
Great wine selection
Great experience.
Thank you so much!
A rare restaurant where you are happy to pay in the end!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Enjoyed a fantastic meal and experience with my wife and two sons (ages 15 and 12). Lamb = perfection! Rabbit starter so tasty. Scallops starter cooked beautifully.

Sommelier helped select the perfect wine for my wife and I. I just told him 2 or 3 words to describe the red we were looking for and a price point, and bang, he picked a superb Spanish red that was exactly what we love.

My younger son is a bit of a foodie and Chef Topple even gave him a quick walk-through tour of his kitchen!

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The snowcat ride is fun the driver friendly. The entire staff was great. The greeter, coat check and front of house staff amazing. Scott is great! The food excellent. The portions just right. We will be back. This is not just a meal. It's an experience Thank you.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Fantastic experience. We both ordered the Chef's special 5 course meal and wine pairing and it was worth every penny. The food was fabulous and the chef came out and chatted with us for a few minutes. Wait staff was over the top as well. I originally wanted a 7:30pm reservation, but I'm so thankful that the person on the phone talked me into taking the 5:30 instead, the view was incredible and we would not have had nearly the same experience at 7:30 as it was already dark by then. Head up the gondola around 4:45 so you can grab a drink while you take in the views of the mountains (the hot cider with spiced rum is SO good!). I told my husband this is probably the best meal I've ever had. We will definitely go back here again on our next trip!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Entertained family from out of town. Unique fun experience. Outstanding dinner and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Family trip to Vail - everyone loved the gondola ride followed by cat ride to the restaurant. Service was impeccable and food was very very good. Wonderful mountain top dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Great ambiance with the gondola ride overlooking the city. and the Snow Cat ride in a blizzard was a plus will worth price!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Enjoyable ride up and back.
7 of us and none had positive food experience. Some training needed from managers. Helen did great job

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.