About Game Creek Restaurant

Vail Mountain, Game Creek Bowl
Vail, CO 81658
View Larger Map

Game Creek Restaurant is located at 10,300 feet, at the top of Vail Mountain. Enjoy a gondola ride and cozy snow cat ride or shuttle in the summer to an elegant European chalet, where the ambiance is charming and the memories are long-lasting. Renowned for the fabulous view, Game Creek Restaurant features modern American style cooking with regional and seasonal ingredients. The menu is comprised of contemporary dishes and Game Creek favorites. Game Creek Restaurant offers an award-winning and extensive wine list, and personalized service. More than simply a restaurant high above Vail, Game Creek Restaurant has emerged as a true culinary destination.

Adults choose from a 3 or 4 course prix fixe menu, or may dine on our featured Chef's Table menu. We also offer a special 3-course children's menu.

Open for Dinner December through April, and for Dinner and Sunday Brunch mid-June through Labor Day Weekend.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Summer Hours: Dinner, Thursday-Saturday: 5:30pm-8:30pm
Sunday Brunch: 11am-2pm (Open June 19th - September 4th)
Summer Apres on the Deck: 5:30-7pm with featured appetizers and drink specials.
OPEN FOR FATHER'S DAY BRUNCH, June 19th

Winter Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm (mid-December through mid-April)

Cross Street:
E Lionshead Circle

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(970) 754-4275

Website:
http://www.gamecreekvail.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available at the Lionshead parking structure. Please allot addtional time before your reservation for parking, accessing the gondola, and the snow cat or shuttle ride. Check in with the Game Creek greeter at the gondola 30 minutes before your reservation time.

Public Transit:
Take Free Vail in-town bus to Lionshead bus stop. Walk through Lionshead to the gondola. Plan to check in at the gondola 30 minutes before your reservation time.

Executive Chef:
Steven Topple

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Private events and weddings are world-class at Game Creek! To inquire about large or private party bookings, please contact Vail Group Sales Department at: 970.754.4515

Private Dining

For parties of any size, Game Creek Restaurant offers private, intimate dining options. Game Creek Restaurant is available for large private parties, weddings, and corporate dinners. Please contact Stacy Romer in our Group Sales Department for inquiries on private dining options and group events.

Game Creek Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Denver / Colorado
Scenic View
Denver / Colorado
Best Overall
Mountains
4 More
Best Ambiance
Mountains
Scenic View
Mountains
Special Occasion
Mountains
Contemporary American
Mountains
Best Restaurants in Vail ›

scenic view (17)
special occasion (14)
fit for foodies (12)
See All
romantic (11)
notable wine list (10)
good for groups (6)
kid-friendly (5)
late-night find (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
hot spot (1)
great for brunch (1)
great for lunch (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
241 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Game Creek Restaurant, a gem nestled in Vail

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

What a special evening...the tram ride at sunset... the ride in the snowcat to the restaurant...the attentive staff...the warm atmosphere...the great food! It felt like everyone there was just having an enjoyable evening out. Well done! We will be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The entire night is a fantastic experience!

Dined on April 2, 2016

The staff is very efficient and friendly. They take pride in their service and want your dining experience to be a memorable one. The snow cat ride and the remote location of the restaurant makes this a very unique experience and the food is out of this world! I love the fact that the restaurant manager walks around to tables and briefly chats with people to be sure everything is going well. A very classy touch! It's a great way to spoil yourself, friends and family!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Fine dining!

Dined on April 2, 2016

Enjoyed the atmosphere and service so much. The wine was outstanding. I thought the halibut was too salty and I switched plates with my husband. His lamb chops were out of this world. Portion sizes looked small but were perfect with all the richness and flavor of the food.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Dinner at Game Creek

Dined on April 1, 2016

Exquisite food! And a unique experience getting there by Snow Cat. Overall, it was a dining hi-lite of our trip!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Game Creek with Snowcat ride!

Dined on March 24, 2016

The restaurant was very nice and the menu had interesting selections. The portions were small, but tasty. Service was FANTASTIC! Bar looked nice as well. Views are spectacular. The restaurant is located in one of the bowls on Vail Ski Resort. You take the Gondola up from one of the Vail Villages and the snowcat is there waiting to take you to the restaurant. Our driver let one of us sit in the front cab with him on the way to the restaurant and back to the Gondola. He was entertaining and it was just plain FUN! The highlight of the night was the snowcat ride for us. Highly recommend it.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic experience

vip
Dined on March 24, 2016

Everything about Game Creek Club is a special experience. The snowcat ride, the food, the service, the wine list, the view - all are excellent. We have dined here twice now, and wouldn't consider visiting Vail without going to GCC. Only downside is the cost, but it is a very special experience, so worth it.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Don't go for the food

Dined on March 23, 2016

Bison dish was served "tough" and tasteless. Salmon dish with Quinoa did not serve the palette well. The favors were very unpleasant together. Neither dish was finished . Would go back for the scenic view and service but NOT the food.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Just great in all respects & so gracious ...

Dined on March 10, 2016

Just great in all respects & so gracious to our grandkids. The snowcat ride is a thrill.

food5
ambience4
service5

Fantastic experience.

vip
Dined on March 9, 2016

Fantastic experience.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Special Experience in Vail

Dined on February 26, 2016

Dinner at the Game Creek Club is a wonderful way to celebrate being in Vail. It all begins with an evening ride on the Gondola, then a snowcat ride to the Club. For the men in our group, the snowcat made their night! The Club is warm & inviting. The cocktails & wine set the tone. Dinner choices were unique & beautifully prepared/presented. Everything was delicious and the bison was a special treat.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wow!

Dined on February 25, 2016

Incredible experience at the top of the Lions head gondola in Vail. The grandkids loved the ride in the snow cat. We went up in the daylight in the views were spectacular.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Top notch food and a memorable experienc ...

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

Top notch food and a memorable experience for the family. A must do when visiting Vail.

food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Excellent ambiance , lousy sommelier

Dined on February 13, 2016

I was there for a special evening birthday dinner with my girlfriend. The ambiance and server (Ally) were great!!! The food was fabulous. Afterwards we sat by the fireplace and enjoyed our wine then walked out on the deck under the stars. The only negative experience we had was with the sommelier, he took forever to get to the table, he finally showed up after we had finished our first course (Ally had to go fetch him) then he was very arrogant and rude and was not helpful at all. We did not get our bottle of wine until well into our dinner ( Ally had to fetch him again to bring us our wine, then she apologize for the lateness). It is too bad we had that unnecessary experience given the high quality of the gourmet food and excellent server. Please train your sommelier in customer service and soft skills or you might try to get another sommelier.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and impeccable service!!!

Dined on February 13, 2016

The food is always winderful! The service is excellent and very peso al! The snowcat ride from the gondola is a real treat too! This was our second trip and will definitely go back again!

Tags: scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service1

The food and presentation was excellent ...

Dined on February 11, 2016

The food and presentation was excellent . The snow cat ride to the restaurant was a lot of fun. The only thing that was disappointing was the service. Our 2 waiters were also serving a private room so we did not get the proper attention. For the cost of the meal it was disappointing.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

mountain experience

vip
Dined on February 10, 2016

great way to change up your dinner expericne by taking gondola ride up the mountain at night, followed by a covered snowcat ride to the restaurant. Food was very good, with a nice ambience.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Much Improved

vip
Dined on February 10, 2016

Although we enjoyed Game Creek on previous visits, our recent visit was a much improved experience. The service was impeccable...attentive and knowledgeable without being intrusive. The new chef prepared both tasty and well presented fare. The lamb chops, done sous vide style, were wonderful. Bring your appetite!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Each course was excellent. Really apprec ...

vip
Dined on February 3, 2016

Each course was excellent. Really appreciated the great service of the sommelier

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Ride a gondola, then a snowcat then enjo ...

vip
Dined on February 3, 2016

Ride a gondola, then a snowcat then enjoy a wonderful meal in an awesome building.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Game Creek

vip
Dined on January 30, 2016

Spectacular location with spectacular food and excellent service. Unique access by snowcat. Great for special occasions and worth the cost.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

The ratrack trip takes 6 min and if it s ...

Dined on January 27, 2016

The ratrack trip takes 6 min and if it snows, it is awsome! Food os good. A bit expensive but worth the experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was truly an experience to not be m ...

Dined on January 27, 2016

This was truly an experience to not be missed. While a bit pricey, it met every expectation and the food was incredible and served with grace and elegance. We went for a birthday celebration and thoroughly enjoyed the evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Treat

vip
Dined on January 23, 2016

We hosted a dinner here. The service was amazing! Very attentive. The Chef visited the table as we did the Chef's Choice. We had a beautiful bottle of Amarone Wine. The Sommelier was delightful and talented.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing restaurant in a beautiful setting

Dined on January 22, 2016

It was a truly special location is a truly special spot, you have to ride up to gondola to the base then you ride in the snow cat to get to the actual restaurant. On our night there was a full moon end it was truly beautiful. The food was amazing the service impeccable, we had a delicious bison steak with grilled shallots and venison, butternut squash tortellini and rabbit, followed by some deliciously prepared and presented desserts. It was truly 5-Stars and if you go to Vail with someone special, youMust take them there! We ride in the front seat of the snowcat on the way back down which was a real treat. All in all it was a fantastic restaurant and we couldn't have had a better experience! Thank you Game Creek Club.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great location, really enjiyed the skicat trip

Dined on January 15, 2016

A ski guide in Vail recommended this restaurant to my group and we were really happy with the outcome. The food was great, service was good, friendly staff and quick. Riding the gondola in the dark and the drive on the ski-cat only added to this enjiyable experience.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience in Vail! A must dinner ...

Dined on January 15, 2016

Great experience in Vail! A must dinner spot when visiting the area. Our kids enjoyed the snowcat ride. Food and service was great.

food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Needs help

Dined on January 14, 2016

Cold food, super slow service. After waiting half an hour before a waiter came to the table, and the first course taking another 45 minutes after that, everyone was too tired and hungry to even complain. An hour later came the main course of which we didn't eat (cold or overlooked) we got the check and left with deserts in a bag. When we got home we all laughed very hard at the tiny deserts and threw it in the trash. 2 adult 2 kids. $500.

Tags: scenic view
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Game Creek is a fun trip but dining not so great

vip
Dined on January 9, 2016

The trip to game creek starts with a gondola ride up from Lionshead to Eagle's Nest and then a snow cat trip to the chalet. This part is awesome and a very fun experience and the best part of the night. The food is mediocre at best. The Wagyu beef can only be served medium rare and not any hotter than that, the sole fish was served cold, the trout was quite fishy in taste, the kids beef took 3 tries to get to the proper temperature, the sticky toffee pudding was undercooked and doughy, and the cheesecake for dessert was nondescript. Service was fair at best--especially given this price point. If you want a fine dining experience, there are so many other options in Vail--dont spent the money on this one. The highlight was the gondola ride and the snow cat--everything else was disappointing.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Its Like Dining in Your Own Castle

vip
Dined on January 3, 2016

I love eating at Game Creek. I love bringing good friends who are visiting for the first time to this area. They love taking a sleigh ride up to Game Creek Bowl, seeing the beautiful vistas that all of us take for granted. Game Creek has such a beautiful setting that is elegant and service that isimpeckable. I've always had such lovely meals. They are innovative and dellicious. The wines are nicely priced with such a vriety. Fabulous!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

The price of $325 per person with no dri ...

vip
Dined on January 1, 2016

The price of $325 per person with no drinks was excessive. Very nice place, however, it was just a dinner, there was no New Year's experience, no music.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Magical dinner, with a snowcat ride bonus

vip
Dined on December 31, 2015

To access Game Creek at night, guests take the gondola up from Lionshead and then ride in snowcats for the last portion. Our daughters got to sit in the front seat of the snowcat with the driver and watch the incredible scenery as the snowcat traveled across a black diamond run to the restaurant. They absolutely loved the experience! The kitchen readily accommodated the one person in our family with gluten and dairy allergies, and they served him gluten-free bread. Our dinner was fantastic in every aspect: terrific service from the greeter at the gondola (with fleece blankets for the ride!) to the awesome snowcat driver to the outstanding waitstaff, amazing food, and a beautiful dining room. Game Creek is my first choice for a truly special night in Vail.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience2
service2

I was incredibly disappointed with our d ...

vip
Dined on December 28, 2015

I was incredibly disappointed with our dinner.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our annual Christmas Eve dinner

vip
Dined on December 25, 2015

We have spent Christmas Eve dinner at Game Creek for over a decade. It never fails to make the evening feel very special. Great food, great ambiance and the ride on the snow cat to get there is very fun. In the summer, the views are spectacular!! And the ride is in an open jeep.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Definite must

Dined on December 19, 2015

Gondola and snowcat ride make it an unique experience. The food was excellent. Though attentive, the transition between courses was slow. All in all - highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Game Creek, great for occasion at Vail

Dined on December 19, 2015

Great place, unique venue. Food is very good, although served in the french style, smaller portions. Great for adults, couples, or small groups. Not great for kids.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value1

Over priced but fun

vip
Dined on December 18, 2015

Very expensive. Fun trip on the gondola and snow cat. Food is good but not anything extraordinary. Wine list is expensive. Very few bottles under 150. Our food came out warm but not hot. Seemed it had been sitting for a while. Long delay between 1st and 3D courses. I would not go again.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Ride the Lionshead gondola in the darkne ...

vip
Dined on December 17, 2015

Ride the Lionshead gondola in the darkness and frigid air covered in blankets to its top. Watch Vail lighted in Christmas splendor as it disappears over the hills. Take a (new) snow cat / groomer with 12 person heated cabin to the restaurant nestled high in the mountains. Isn't the way up alone worth the price of dinner? Thrilled already, we entered the warmly decorated inn, had intoxicating drinks at the bar, and were seated. 3 or 4 course prix fixed menu - we chose tortellini and ahi tuna w seared foie gras for appetizers, then venison and cod for main courses, paired w a lovely 2008 red burgundy. Desserts were beignets sticky toffee bread pudding. All were excellent, and were accompanied by a reassuring visit from the chef. This was perhaps the best Vail experience in the last 5 yrs of winter skiing here. We are told the summer is even more spectacular.... Special kudos to Josh, our knowledgable sommelier for his spot on choices and his offering of glasses of white burgundy to begin a memorable evening NOTE We are serious foodies. We reserve 5 stars for the likes of le Bernadin, Jean Georges, Meadowood in the US and the Epicure and Meurice in Paris. For Vail, this is 5 stars.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great brunch, beautiful location

Dined on August 16, 2015

If you are in the Vail area during the summer, take advantage of the opportunity to eat here, because otherwise it is members only. The Sunday brunch is great, well worth the money. Prime Rib, shrimp, scallops are the highlights for lunch. Omelets and waffles (blackberry/lemon with creme fresh) are the stars of breakfast. Great view of the mountains after a free ride up on the gondola.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service4

Outstanding mountain-top brunch!

vip
Dined on July 26, 2015

This was our first visit to Game Creek. Often the places with the best views don't give their food and service much attention. Game Creek is the exception - they serve one of the most elegant and satisfying Sunday brunches we've had and it is served up with the bonus of breathtaking views of the vast mountain range around Vail. From the Welcoming Game Creek greeter at the base of the Eagle Bahn Gondola who made us feel like VIP guests and the helpful shuttle drivers who connect you from the top of the Gondola to the restaurant 1/2 mile across the ridge to the friendly professional servers at the top, no one rested on their view-laurels here. The fresh crab-claws, shrimp, salmon and innovative salads were a delicious start to a freshly stocked brunch that included savory pulled-pork Eggs Benedict on jalapeno cornbread, custom made omelets, delicious french toast and sliced Colorado lamb. The desserts were obviously the work of an adept pastry chef - No one was in a rush to turn the tables quickly and all the Vail resort employees were friendly and accommodating. We are anxious to come back for a summer dinner!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5

Best view in the Valley. Great experienc ...

vip
Dined on July 19, 2015

Best view in the Valley. Great experience.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.