About Game Creek Restaurant

Vail Mountain, Game Creek Bowl
Vail, CO 81658
View Larger Map

Game Creek Restaurant is located at 10,300 feet, at the top of Vail Mountain. Enjoy a gondola ride and cozy snow cat ride or shuttle in the summer to an elegant European chalet, where the ambiance is charming and the memories are long-lasting. Renowned for the fabulous view, Game Creek Restaurant features modern American style cooking with regional and seasonal ingredients. The menu is comprised of contemporary dishes and Game Creek favorites. Game Creek Restaurant offers an award-winning and extensive wine list, and personalized service. More than simply a restaurant high above Vail, Game Creek Restaurant has emerged as a true culinary destination.

Adults choose from a 3 or 4 course prix fixe menu, or may dine on our featured Chef's Table menu. We also offer a special 3-course children's menu.

Open for Dinner December through April, and for Dinner and Sunday Brunch mid-June through Labor Day Weekend.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Winter Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm (December 14 - April 1)
Open Monday, December 26
Open Sunday, February 19

Summer Hours: Dinner, Thursday-Saturday: 5:30pm-8:30pm
Sunday Brunch: 11am-2pm (Open mid June 19th - Labor Day Weekend)
Summer Apres on the Deck: 5:30-7pm with featured appetizers and drink specials.




Cross Street:
E Lionshead Circle

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(970) 754-4275

Website:
http://www.gamecreekvail.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available at the Lionshead parking structure. Please allot addtional time before your reservation for parking, accessing the gondola, and the snow cat or shuttle ride. Check in with the Game Creek greeter at the gondola 30 minutes before your reservation time.

Public Transit:
Take Free Vail in-town bus to Lionshead bus stop. Walk through Lionshead to the gondola. Plan to check in at the gondola 30 minutes before your reservation time.

Executive Chef:
Steven Topple

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Private events and weddings are world-class at Game Creek! To inquire about parties of 16 or larger, or for private party bookings, please contact Vail Group Sales Department at: 970.754.4515

Private Dining

For parties of any size, Game Creek Restaurant offers private, intimate dining options. Game Creek Restaurant is available for large private parties, weddings, and corporate dinners. Please contact Stacy Romer in our Group Sales Department for inquiries on private dining options and group events.

Game Creek Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (15)
Special Occasion (14)
Romantic (14)
See All
Good for a Date (13)
Notable Wine List (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Seasonal (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Fun (3)
Fireplace (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Cozy (3)
Worth the Drive (2)
Historic (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Healthy (2)
Family Style (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Authentic (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
People Watching (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Private Room (1)
Business Meals (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
291 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The snowcat ride is fun the driver frien ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 3 days ago

The snowcat ride is fun the driver friendly. The entire staff was great. The greeter, coat check and front of house staff amazing. Scott is great! The food excellent. The portions just right. We will be back. This is not just a meal. It's an experience Thank you.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic experience. We both ordered t ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 4 days ago

Fantastic experience. We both ordered the Chef's special 5 course meal and wine pairing and it was worth every penny. The food was fabulous and the chef came out and chatted with us for a few minutes. Wait staff was over the top as well. I originally wanted a 7:30pm reservation, but I'm so thankful that the person on the phone talked me into taking the 5:30 instead, the view was incredible and we would not have had nearly the same experience at 7:30 as it was already dark by then. Head up the gondola around 4:45 so you can grab a drink while you take in the views of the mountains (the hot cider with spiced rum is SO good!). I told my husband this is probably the best meal I've ever had. We will definitely go back here again on our next trip!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Entertained family from out of town. Uni ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Entertained family from out of town. Unique fun experience. Outstanding dinner and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Family trip to Vail - everyone loved the ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Family trip to Vail - everyone loved the gondola ride followed by cat ride to the restaurant. Service was impeccable and food was very very good. Wonderful mountain top dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great ambiance with the gondola ride ove ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Great ambiance with the gondola ride overlooking the city. and the Snow Cat ride in a blizzard was a plus will worth price!

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyable ride up and back. 7 of us and ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Enjoyable ride up and back.

7 of us and none had positive food experience. Some training needed from managers. Helen did great job

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value2

Great experience, gondola to snow cat to ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great experience, gondola to snow cat to middle of no where...great staff

Tags: Good for a Date, Family Style, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Game Creek was an experience more than a ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Game Creek was an experience more than anything else. Living in Manhattan, I go to my share of excellent restaurants. While Game Creek was delicious, it's more about the experience than the food. We found some of the dishes a little too salty and lacking other flavors (or other flavors were just overpowered by the salt). The meat and scallops were cooked perfectly! The service was exceptional.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Game Creek is not just a restaurant, it ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Game Creek is not just a restaurant, it is a five star adventure. We are given a blanket for the gondola ride to the top of the mountain We are greeted at the top and load a snow cat for fun ride thru the forrest. We arrive at the restaurant in time for sunset on the patio and then inside for a four course meal.

The meal continues the adventure with an amazing selection of wine and wonderful game choices. There are creative cocktails and fantastic desserts. After dinner we board the snow cat and head back to the gondola. The gondola ride down shares a fantastic view of the the night lights of the village. The service is excellent every step of the way on this amazing adventure.

Tags: Good for Groups, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Scallops were the best in the world... a ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Scallops were the best in the world... a little disappointed in halibut after the wonderful scallops

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Awesome restaurant. Pricy but worth it. ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Awesome restaurant. Pricy but worth it. My one suggestion, make it for adults only - or perhaps ages 15 or 16 and up. It seems like it wouldn't be a place younger kids would really appreciate until they're older. Just my 2 cents. :)

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food, amazing location. Experien ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Amazing food, amazing location. Experience to get to the restaurant is well worth it

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience! Top notch dining a ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Wonderful experience! Top notch dining and highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun experience but very expensive even f ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Fun experience but very expensive even for Vail. Once is enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The experience dining at Game Creek was ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The experience dining at Game Creek was a great way to celebrate the holidays with our teenage children. We were offered blankets for our night-time ride on the gondola, then we took a (warm) private snowcat and were dropped at the front door of the restaurant. We dressed nicely, but with winter appropriate footwear. There was a coat check, which was helpful. The level of service was excellent and the prix fixe setup was great for us. They did a great job of providing vegetarian options for me, while allowing my family to eat meat dishes. My husband said it was one of the better dining experiences he has ever had and the kids loved it too!

Tags: Fireplace, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We absolutely love Game Creek it is a mu ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 4, 2017

We absolutely love Game Creek it is a must do every time you come to Vail. The service is always exceptional, as is the food and the ambience. Very special restaurant to get to great experience wonderful for memories.

We look forward to dining there again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, People Watching, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We just love Game Creek restaurant. The ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We just love Game Creek restaurant. The chef produces extraordinarily nice creative dishes from mostly local ingredients (ok, the fish are flown in but are great). The service is impeccable. Nothing beats the gondola ride to and from. One of my top restaurants in the world.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Molecular Gastronomy, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Seasonal, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Outstanding ambiance. The perfect experi ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Outstanding ambiance. The perfect experience for a special occasion. Took my fiancee here during our Christmas holiday visit. It was perfect.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's a Vail " must do" experience..

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 27, 2016

It's a Vail " must do" experience..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

If you are looking for a unique experien ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 27, 2016

If you are looking for a unique experience, this is it!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

CHristmas Eve dinner for ten. Gondola a ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

CHristmas Eve dinner for ten. Gondola and snow cat transport to restaurant fun and exciting adventure. Food was delicious and creatively presented. Our large table was comfortable and secluded enough to feel like our own area. The service was excellent with attention and patience.will repeat again without hesitation!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely fantastic! Good and atmospher ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Absolutely fantastic! Good and atmosphere totally worth the price!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Game Creek was disappointing. Food was ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Game Creek was disappointing. Food was Luke warm and not very flavorful. Tiny very overpriced portions. Automatic 20% gratuity was a surprise. Desserts tasted like they were from the grocery store , waxy and bland. I would not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

I would give this 5 stars because every ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 22, 2016

I would give this 5 stars because every dish was excellent. However, they forgot that it was my wife's birthday and I just wanted a candle on our dessert. That tidbit was specified in my OpenTable reservation and I even reminded the hostess again when we entered. She assured me that the waiter was aware and they will take care of it.

This place is a bit pricey with the prix fix dinner, so I had to make some adjustments to other parts of our vacation to ensure we can afford this "special" event. Unfortunately it did not come out as special as I had planned and, of course, I couldn't just go back the next night to try again.

I spoke to the manager afterwards, he apologized and offered us a glass of champagne but we were really ready to start our trek back down the mountain. We appreciate the gesture but it was getting late and it wouldn't have made up for the oversight. Otherwise, it was a good dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Great overall experience. The gondola ri ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Great overall experience. The gondola ride at sunset is amazing. The food was great but pre-fix menu is pricy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The food is excellent. It is expensive b ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The food is excellent. It is expensive but worth it for a special occasion

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When you want to impress, this is the pl ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 4, 2016

When you want to impress, this is the place to go in Vail. We have been to pretty much all of the top places in Vail to eat and this was the last place we hadn't been to yet. It is pretty romantic to take the gondola up for dinner and then dine during sunset. The selections at Game Creek are also outstanding. The lamb was probably the best I have ever had and the venison that my wife had was also as good. Entrees are creative as well as the desserts and one will not be disappointed. The service is not quite the caliber of a five star restaurant with long times between courses but the servers were very attentive when we needed something. It is fairly pricey but worth the experience. One can not say you have eaten at all of the best Vail has to offer until you eat here.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Lovely, scenic ride up to the restaurant ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Lovely, scenic ride up to the restaurant brought me back to my time in Switzerland. Friendly waiter, Devin, provided attentive service and steered us to tasting menu options that best suit our palate. Tasting menu was artistic, delicious, and adequate in portion size. House cocktail specials weren't at all unique. Overall, an enjoyable time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fabulous food, atmosphere and beautiful ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Fabulous food, atmosphere and beautiful outdoor surroundings!!!!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything about Game Creek was outstand ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Everything about Game Creek was outstanding. Food, ambiance, view, staff, everything. We had a wonderful time riding the gondola up and back and then spending a very relaxing time at the restaurant taking in all that it had to offer. Will most definitely go back the next time we are in the area.

Tags: Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Fun, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A unique, gourmet dining experience with ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 20, 2016

A unique, gourmet dining experience with a mountain-top view (even more incredible at sunset).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been coming to Game Creek for ma ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 14, 2016

We have been coming to Game Creek for many years. Thought this year they dropped a notch.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value4

The view is as spectacular as it gets be ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 7, 2016

The view is as spectacular as it gets because you are literally in the middle of Vail's ski slopes. The flowers and trees and mountains are breathtaking. We went for Sunday brunch and it was $50 person. The food -- especially the fresh crab claws -- was delicious and there was a nice variety of breakfast and lunch items. Our service was not great. And I was very surprised to see that we were charged an additional $4.50 for an iced tea.

Overall, a great place, but prepare to spend some money.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

The food was mostly terrific, although n ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 6, 2016

The food was mostly terrific, although not as creative as I might have expected as suggested by the price. The staff was knowledgable and attentive from start to finish. However, it's the view and adventure of getting to and from the restaurant that makes it a memorable must-do!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Amazing dinner with the perfect ambiance ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Amazing dinner with the perfect ambiance and mountain views! This is our second visit to Game Creek and certainly we will go every time we visit Vail! The food was delicious and the service ranks extremely high. Of course one of the highlights is just getting to the restaurant! We would not hesitate to recommend all aspects of Game Creek - food, service, quality, location and atmosphere!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent. It was an expensive evening, ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Excellent. It was an expensive evening, but the food was outstanding and there is no better view while dining.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It is an absolutely beautiful place with ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 30, 2016

It is an absolutely beautiful place with one of the most beautiful views (especially with the sunset) I have seen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Amazing experience from start to finish. ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Amazing experience from start to finish. Service is outstanding - waiter, manager and chef who stopped by our table. Food was fabulous. Game Creek was one of the highlights of our trip!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a table by the window. Beautiful vi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Had a table by the window. Beautiful view that was so good we were (as were most patrons), out on the deck for pictures before and after dining.

The dining room and the bar area were beautiful. Only thing I'll mention negative about the dining room was that there were a large number of flies at the window behind the mesh blinds, most of which stayed at the window. My wife killed one that was flying around. Got a cheer from the table next to us. The staff is well aware of the issue and was clearly doing all they could do.

We ate from the Chef's Table menu. Food was outstanding, especially the duck pastrami and the marlin. I would say that the although the Wagyu was tender and flavorful, it was a bit salty. I think it was the rub that was used but, could have been the sauce. The dessert was outstanding.

Wines were excellent. We asked for the specific pairings offered with the Chef's Table menu and were glad we did. Seemed a little heavy on white wines and we're red wine people so we opted for a couple of lower cost but, excellent selections. One white and one red. Overall, the wine list gave a nice variety at all price levels.

Overall, we'd do it again. Outstanding dining experience. I'd only put it second to Victoria and Albert's in the Grand Floridian at Disney but, they don't have any views and the Game Creek Club is outstanding there. Glad they open dining to the public on certain days.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a very enjoyable brunch. Highly ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 24, 2016

We had a very enjoyable brunch. Highly recommended.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.