About Galvez Bar & Grill

2024 Seawall Boulevard
Galveston, TX 77550
View Larger Map

Galvez Bar & Grill is the go-to restaurant for local seafood as well as cocktails. Galvez Bar & Grill features fresh seafood from Galveston’s Pier 19, steak, Po Boys, award-winning Gumbo, salads and a variety of bar bites including filet mignon sliders and flatbread pizzas. Its Sunday Champagne Brunch is a top choice for Open Table users and was named as one of the top 100 brunch restaurants in the U.S.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Southwest, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Breakfast: Monday - Saturday: 6:30am - 11:00am, Sunday: 6:30 a.m. - 10:30 a.m.

Cross Street:
21st Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(409) 515-2145

Website:
http://www.hotelgalvez.com/dining.aspx

Entertainment:
Jazz Duo on Friday and Saturday evenings and pianist during Sunday Brunch from 11am-2pm.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet and parking in north lot when dining.

Executive Chef:
Bobby Ross

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Ghost Tour Dinners offered on the second Thursday of the month at 6p.m. Advance reservations required.

Galvez Bar & Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Houston
Best Overall
Galveston
Best Ambiance
Galveston
4 More
Best Value
Galveston
Scenic View
Galveston
Special Occasion
Galveston
Most Booked
Galveston
Best Restaurants in Galveston ›

great for brunch (23)
special occasion (21)
scenic view (12)
See All
good for groups (11)
romantic (8)
fit for foodies (7)
neighborhood gem (5)
kid-friendly (5)
great for lunch (4)
notable wine list (2)
hot spot (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
284 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Nice dinner, nothing particularly special

Dined on June 9, 2016

We were staying at the Galvez, and had driven for 4-5 hours returning from Corpus Christie. We were looking for an above average restaurant, with a nice wine list. Well... I'd say that the menu didn't particularly wow me, and I settled for a Ceasar Salad with Blackened Shrimp. My husband had the special for the night, a blackened snapper. Both were good. Not fantastic (we're foodies) but Very good. Drinks were good, the wine list was OVER PRICED. I simply can't see paying 5 times the retail for a bottle of wine. Overall.. food was good, well prepared, but nothing really stood out, one way or another. Service was great.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience1
service2

Make sure to request a table next to a w ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Make sure to request a table next to a window if your reservation is for two. Service was mediocre at best. Had to get my own silver ware from waiter station. Food was pretty good. Mimosas were terrible.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Awesome brunch.

Dined on May 29, 2016

Everything about this brunch is awesome. The only thing that I was a little disappointed with was the fact that the food is all set up in a narrow hallway which creates a lot of long lines. I would suggest that the food be positioned in different stations to allow people who are interested in only one particular type of food to get that food without having to stand in a long line that provides access to everything at one time.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect for birthdays!

Dined on May 27, 2016

Hostess decorated table and even delivered a birthday card for my husband. It made the meal very special!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Beautiful old hotel

Dined on May 15, 2016

Beautiful old hotel- service very good- food was fine not exceptional.

Tags: great for brunch
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

Untrained staff, overcooked fish

Dined on May 7, 2016

Went here on Mother's Day weekend. Mom and I each ordered the Red Snapper market special. Fish arrived dry and overcooked. Told the waiter and he brought tartar sauce. Should have sent it back. A trained staff would never let this happen. Stick with beef or pasta, I don't think they have properly trained chef's for fish preparation or we got them on a bad night....but on Mother's Day weekend?? C'mon Galvez, you can do better.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Biscuit

Dined on April 24, 2016

The quality of the food selections was outstanding for a buffet. We thoroughly enjoyed the made to order omelet station. The waffles were great. The eggs benedict were tasty with plenty of hollandaise. The cold seafood selections were fresh and well prepared. The beef was good, but a bit overdone for our preference. The ham was tender and juicy. Desserts were awesome. Our server, David, was attentive and kept our drinks filled at all times.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice atmosphere

Dined on April 17, 2016

Food and service excellent... But they don't adhere to dress code of smart casual as advised on website. Too many baseball caps and t shirts.. Even a woman in Texans jersey..at Sunday brunch!!

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Girls Weekend in Galveston

Dined on April 17, 2016

We reserved for Sunday Brunch at the Galvez as part of the Galveston Food and Wine Fest. The experience was a nice wrap up to a wonderful weekend of great food and wine and meeting Chef Irvine and Rob Walsh. The brunch at the Galvez was just what you would expect, wonderful salads, prime rib, baked ham, salmon, chicken, crab, shrimp, omelet station, waffle station and a room full of desserts. Accompanied by mimosas it was a prefect brunch.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best brunch around

Dined on April 17, 2016

Perfect brunch spot for special occasions, Valentine's Day, or just because. Great selection of seafood and brunch items, and service is above and beyond. I've been twice, and it just keeps getting better!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Dining Experience

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Wonderful Saturday evening with superb service, lovely atmospere and impressive food. Since we were staying at the hotel, we could have gone anywhere in Galveston for dinner. I'm so glad we stayed "in" for the evening. The hotel is grand and the restaurant lives up to the same status in quality. A more casual style makes it comfortable for anyone to enjoy, and the adjoining bar area with live music provides enjoyable background music - but not too loud to distract. A great evening!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Coolbeans

Dined on April 10, 2016

Love, love, love the Sunday Brunch. Buffet is plentiful with good variety in selections including omelets, waffle and craving stations.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Nice location with a small menue (which ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

Nice location with a small menue (which is a positive) as it indicates they make it fresh. Service was friendly, knowledge on food and beverages could be improved. The wine list is very basic

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Galveston getaway

vip
Dined on March 18, 2016

The Galvez Bar & Grill ha a great atmosphere, the food was delicious to my taste buds and appealing to the eyes. The staff was awesome, they took care of our every need. The view is awesome, not mention it is located inside a 5 star luxury hotel. We had a perfect lunch.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Best brunch anywhere! Amazing, fresh foo ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

Best brunch anywhere! Amazing, fresh food.

food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Total disappointment

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

This is a buffet. I generally stay away from buffets because they feature quantity versus quality. This was no exception. The Belgian waffle bar had toppings such as sprinkles and chocolate chips...no strawberries--and only melted butter! There was a giant vat of white stuff that looked like whipped Crisco, and apparently we weren't the only ones who questioned the mystery mountain as it was undisturbed when we left. Perhaps it was supposed to be whipped cream? The snapper was very overcooked and tough, and the sauce tasted like a reconstituted powder. The pastries, including desserts, all looked (and the ones I tried) tasted like they were purchased from a big box store. The carved beef was tough and tasteless. The food was completely unremarkable. The only thing that looked good was the custom omelette bar, but the line was incredibly long. The service was no different. We took four trips to the buffet, and two of those times we had to bus our table ourselves. The signs on several of the foods were wrong. There were no serving utensils in several of the items the whole time we were there. It was $100 with tip for two people. I've travelled with the kids' sports teams to those chain restaurant "golden" buffets and was much more impressed with the food, the service, and the price.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentines Brunch

Dined on February 14, 2016

This was a special occasion for us and the Galvez Brunch did not disappoint. Great service, very attentive waitress and the food was terrific. Kitchen staff was constantly checking the serving line to be sure that everything was there and fresh

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Valentine's Day brunch

Dined on February 14, 2016

Wonderful food selection, extremely friendly staff, gorgeous view and definitely worth the price. We'll be back and have highly recommended the Galvez to our friends!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brunch at the Galvez

Dined on February 14, 2016

Can't beat it, the best brunch in the area, fantastic food, great service, great view and ambience.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect Valentines Brunch

Dined on February 14, 2016

Great place for our valentines brunch. It was a first time visit for both of us. The selection was amazing, there were choices we wouldn't think were available for a brunch. Loved the dessert table and the waffle bar. Also, the unlimited mimosas were great!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still Stuffed

Dined on January 31, 2016

Amazing definitely the best buffet I have been to. Everything was fabulous. I would not recommend this to families with hyper children.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, scenic view
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Too crowded today.

Dined on January 24, 2016

We visit Galvez for brunch sometimes. Today it was extremely crowded. Long lines to the buffet. :(

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great brunch

vip
Dined on January 10, 2016

Every time my nephew visits from New York, he wants to do brunch at the Galvez. Food selection is outstanding. Food is well-presented and well-prepared. Atmosphere is great. You will not leave hungry!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We do the Sunday Brunch about once a year.

Dined on January 3, 2016

We prefer to experience Galveston on the off season. It's a special time most don't know about. The Galvez Bar & Grill Sunday brunch makes our visit special. There was a time when champagne brunch was a staple at the finer hotels. The Galvez Bar & Grill keeps that tradition alive. Our server, Cassandra was a delight and attended to our every need. The gentleman greeting guest at the front door is a Galvez treasure. The pianist was great and knew just the right kind of music to play to enhance the experience. We will return. Maybe even during peak season.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Galvez Treat

vip
Dined on January 3, 2016

Our first time eating at the Bar and Grill at the Galvez and it won't be our last. Our waiter was very cordial and efficient. The food choices were many and varied, made it hard to make a decision. We did begin with the Campechana which is one of the best I have ever tasted, and the portion size was very ample. Then my husband headed for the gumbo which was tasty. I tried the shrimp poboy. Yum! Great shrimp, great bread, great sauce. We had wine with dinner, some good choices there. We will try dessert another time, when we have room for it. All in all, a nice easily paced evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Great food; terrible service

Dined on January 1, 2016

Dined on NYE. Service started out great and then went downhill quickly! Food was great. Atmosphere is interesting as the restaurant is practically in the hotel lobby.

Tags: romantic, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Great experience with 1 sad miss

vip
Dined on December 13, 2015

Brunch was great -good food, good selection and good service. Oysters on the half shell was great, but ran out half way thru the brunch. The one miss that's not excusable for a restaurant of this caliber is that the misspelled the name on the reservation card, which the lady who led us to the table left it 'proudly' on the table with the last name as 'Wrong' instead of Wong!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Although I gave the food 5 stars, the En ...

Dined on December 13, 2015

Although I gave the food 5 stars, the English muffin in the Eggs Benedict was too hard to cut and we were there early. But since the egg was perfect, that compensated for the English muffin. Service was impeccable.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Still The Best in Galveston

Dined on November 15, 2015

we have been eating the brunch at the Galvez for what seems like forever; at least 20 years or longer. The food has always been superb and the selections countless. when we want to celebrate a special occasion or event, Sunday Brunch at the Galvez is where we go. Awesome!!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Galvez the service was exceptional

Dined on November 1, 2015

Galvez the service was exceptional people friendly and courteous the whole experience was delightful in short great value for money Galvez the service was exceptional people friendly and courteous the whole experience was delightful in short great value for money

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding Service

Dined on October 25, 2015

The service at the Hotel itself was Outstanding! The FOOD was to die for! Breakfast buffet, lunch and room service was Fabulous and Dinner took the Cake! Great time!! Hat off to the Chef!! Donald and Leticia

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience5
service3

Great Sunday Brunch

vip
Dined on September 27, 2015

Had a relaxing Sunday brunch with my teen daughter. Food was good - a lot of choices. Seafood was fresh. Station chefs were friendly and helpful. It was raining outside so we dined inside with a view of the Gulf - very peaceful.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5

Great Service!

Dined on September 12, 2015

We were there to celebrate my husband's birthday. Our server, Nanette, was absolutely great. She made sure that we were happy one way or another. She met each of our needs and followed through on each request that we made. There was a manager there named Pamela, and she was great as well in making sure that we were enjoying our meal and that our server was taking great care of us. We'll definitely go back for other occasions!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3

Sunday Funday Brunch

Dined on September 6, 2015

Went with a few friends and was thoroughly impressed with the brunch buffet. The shrimp was amazing, the eggs Benedict fantastic, and the bottomless mimosas made it all the better. Our server was somewhat inexperienced, but did not detract from the wonderful time we had.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Relaxing and Enjoyable Brunch

Dined on August 30, 2015

The atmosphere was Southern Coast charm, with a heavenly brunch/lunch to delight anyone's appetite. Your choices are many from fresh fruit, lox and bagels, cheese, salad, cold shrimp and oysters, to breakfast omelets, crisp bacon, potatoes, biscuits waffles, to pasta station, carving station with prime rib and ham to redfish and chicken. The best was last, and the desserts were scrumptious.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5

GALVEZ BRUNCH

Dined on August 23, 2015

Nice atmosphere, good food, plessent and helpful servers

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

Best Brunch Buffet in Galveston

Dined on August 9, 2015

Absolutely fabulous. So much seafood!!! Great wait staff. Views of Ocean. In person piano player. Wonderful eating experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely Brunch

Dined on August 9, 2015

Awesome brunch, excellent service, free valet parking, senior rate and a visit to the historic hotel Galvez. A definite go-back-to.

Tags: great for brunch
food4
ambience4
service2

Sunday Brunch with My Daughter

Dined on August 2, 2015

This is the second time my daughter & I have gone to brunch @ The Galvez. We enjoyed yourselves very much, as well as the food choices. We experienced long periods of time without our waitstaff being available to provide service (drink refills). Other than that, we are good. We will return for brunch. Thank you.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Galvez Brunch

Dined on July 19, 2015

We celebrated my husband's 40th birthday at the Champagne brunch by the Hotel Galvez. Food was very good, omelets made to order, salad, pastas, etc....the best waffles and cheesecake! We had fantastic service and enjoyed our family time with plenty of choices for everyone in our party.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.