Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

About Galvez Bar & Grill

Galvez Bar & Grill is the go-to restaurant for local seafood as well as cocktails. Galvez Bar & Grill features fresh seafood from Galveston’s Pier 19, steak, Po Boys, award-winning Gumbo, salads and a variety of bar bites including filet mignon sliders and flatbread pizzas. Its Sunday Champagne Brunch is a top choice for Open Table users and was named as one of the top 100 brunch restaurants in the U.S.

2024 Seawall Boulevard
Galveston, TX 77550
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Southwest, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Breakfast: Monday - Saturday: 6:30am - 11:00am, Sunday: 6:30 a.m. - 10:30 a.m.

Cross Street:
21st Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(409) 515-2145

Website:
http://www.hotelgalvez.com/dining.aspx

Entertainment:
Jazz Duo on Friday and Saturday evenings and pianist during Sunday Brunch from 11am-2pm.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet and parking in north lot when dining.

Executive Chef:
Bobby Ross

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Ghost Tour Dinners offered on the second Thursday of the month at 6p.m. Advance reservations required.

Galvez Bar & Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

77% would recommend it to a friend

Sunday Lunch (20)
Special Occasion (17)
Great for Brunch (17)
See All
Scenic View (14)
Historic (13)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Waterfront (10)
Worth the Drive (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Romantic (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Family Style (6)
Authentic (6)
Casual (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
People Watching (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Live Music (4)
Business Meals (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Fun (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Healthy (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Great Beer (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Cozy (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Tapas (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
365 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 16, 2017

The Galvez was always known as the Traditional standard. This was my first visit to her since she was taken over by The Wyndham The main lobby is now a combination of the reception/sign-in desk, a walk-up bar, a casual restaurant and a "formal" restaurant. It is very difficult to tell one area from another. Somewhere in the mix there is also an area of "lobby seating". My husband and I had evening dinner reservations and wandered around from the walk-up bar to the lobby seating and then were finally directed to the "restaurant" which was just an extension of another area. No dividing wall or sense of privacy.

Now comes the meal part of this review. All I can say is "don't". I ordered a Caesar Salad - and was told by the waiter that this consisted of leaves of romaine lettace tied together and served with Ranch Dressing!!! Caesar Salad??? Next came the Shrimp with Polenta with a fairly spicy sauce. The polenta was deep fried, over fried is a better word, and was tasteless. The sauce was acceptable and the shrimp non-descript. Quite frankly I feel the meal was sub-standard and would never eat
there again.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Ambiance is good; food puzzling at best. Service pleasant enough but slow and not anticipatory.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The Hotel Galvez Sunday Brunch is the best brunch in the area

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Sunday Brunch was well done. Numerous selections and great presentation from chefs making special requests. Service was great, glasses kept full champagne!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Beautiful historic dining. Food great with a Cajun twist for Mardi Gras Only downside, no chicken dishes - all pork beef or fish. Also the piano player quit playing around 12:45 and this took away from the classic feel. Service great!

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We had their Sunday brunch. The food was awesome, the staff was great. It's pricy for everyday but really enjoyable for a special occasion.

Tags: Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 26, 2017

A group of us went to the Mardi Gras Sunday brunch and several people mentioned it was their favorite part of the whole weekend. Fantastic options and fun environment. Will definitely return during our next Galveston vacation!

Tags: Comfort Food, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I had the Grilled Salmon with potatoes and vegetables. The salmon was perfectly cooked and seasoned as well as the vegetables. My only complaint is that there was a little too much butter and oil covering it all. Otherwise, great choice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The Sunday brunch at Hotel Galvez is absolutely scrumptious. We were so impressed by the variety and quality of food. The omelette, pasta, and carving stations are outstanding. It's also fun to see which new ice sculpture they'll have on display. Highly recommended!

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Excellent brunch with great variety and good quality. The thing to do in Galveston Sunday mornings.

Tags: Scenic View, Historic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Our waiter, Miguel, did a great job. He was very accommodating and very attentive.

Tags: Spicy, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I was very pleased with the different choices that I got to choose from.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Super helpful and friendly staff. They were able to accomodate a large group , which was really appreciated! Food and selection were delicious!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great Food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Love, love, love this restaurants Sunday Brunch!! Beautiful historic hotel with lovely scenic views of the seawall, should you get a seat by the window.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Good for a Date, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Great food, spectacular ambiance, very good service

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

This was not my first visit, I came here for my anniversary and wanted to bring my friends to sample the greatest Brunch in the Houston Galveston area. There were 2 things that I did not care for on the buffet, they put rye bread in the bread pudding and the prime rib was very tough. I loved the smoked salmon it was my favorite. The server was very gracious always filled our glasses and took good care of us. Thanks from the Joneses

Tags: Historic, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Everything we tried was outstanding. A very special dining experience!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Family Style, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 9, 2017

We were disappointed in the food. The cornbread muffins served before the meal were dry. We had the calamari appetizer which was bland and rubbery. My wife had the seafood cobb salad, which was ok but lacked flavor. I had the daily catch, blackened redfish, and it was also cooked properly but lacked flavor. All in all we expected more flavor.
Fortunately the service was great, which saved the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Their usual great Sunday Buffett. But can you imagine no black eye peas or cabbage served on New Years Day. Most of their staff has trouble understanding English and got irritated easily when you misunderstood them. Maybe just a bad night New Year's Eve..

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

First time for Brunch on New Year's Day. Wasn't what I expected and thought that it could have been a little more special. Food and drink was good. Service was exceptional. Just didn't have the excitement that was hoping it would for the cost.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

So sorry to say our special New Years Eve dinner was not up to expectation. Poor service. Poor quality of food
They did apologize and say we were not the only ones who complained. Sad for such a beautiful and well established hotel to have such a bad dinner experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went to this restaurant in the historic Galvez Hotel for New Year's Eve. We ordered the special New Year's Eve dinner, which proved to be a mistake. I have dined there before and the food was much better in the past. The main course - steak and lobster - was the most disappointing. The steak was tasteless and the lobster tail had little meat on it. The service started out fine, but then got very slow for the dessert and for getting the bill. We practically had to tackle the waiter to get the dessert served. The restaurant was not at all crowded at this time as we ate fairly late, so not sure what the problem was.
The general ambiance and the jazz band were enjoyable, but didn't make up for the disappointing dinner.

Tags: Historic, Scenic View, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food was ok, but nothing special. Steak was warm and they need to heat it up again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Loved staying at the Galvez, but thought the special $85/person New Year's Eve meal was just so so. Service was extremely slow, and I was disappointed in the quality of the food.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Had a terrible New Year's Eve dining experience. Have eaten at the Galvez several times before and liked it -- even at their large Thanksgiving buffet, but after this experience will not be back. We ordered their 4 course dinner being offered for the night (you could also order off their regular menu). Took over an hour to get our cocktails and place our food order -- at this point knew not to have high expectations for the night, but we were not in any hurry seeing that it was New Year's Eve. The first course arrived which was a salad -- the salad was much too cold and you could tell it had been plated hours earlier. After a while our main course arrived -- our appetizer still had not been served -- at this point we asked to speak to the manager. We accepted our main courses and later the appetizer was served. Most of the steaks were not cooked to our order -- most were way over cooked -- the waiter had no idea how any of the steaks he was serving were cooked. What a disaster. The manager did deduct 50% of the food cost from our bill -- just wished we would have had a nice dining experience instead.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The waitstaff was working hard, but they were stretched thin. It is New Years eve, and we knew a big formal dinner is being planned for later tonight.
Our food ( Shrimp gumbo, fish tacos) was cold. We were hesitant to eat it because it seemed like it had been sitting around. My husband's seafood salad came without dressing, and when he requested some, the waitress brought him a tiny portion. The food would have been good if it wasn't cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Nanette, our server was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Brunch at the Galvez is a special occasion in its own right. The food is delicious and the beachfront view is outstanding. Watching the activity and the people is fun. The hotel is nicely decorated for Christmas.

Tags: People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The experience was awesome and I had a great time.The best restaurant ever. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Tags: Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Healthy, Hot Spot, Family Style, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We went to the Galvez buffet to celebrate my niece's birthday. The food did not disappoint. There was plenty of fresh boiled shrimp and crab legs. The seafood campechana was the best I've had anywhere. Some of the meat items on the buffet were a bit overcooked, but that's not unusual on a buffet, and they had plenty of freshly prepared and carving stations to compensate. It wasn't even necessary to partake of those items on the buffet with everything else being offered. Our service left something to be desired, but I think that was particular to our table, as we noticed others around us had their drinks refilled constantly and were never waiting for anything. Our server seemed to be mainly serving tables in a distant part of the restaurant and we were a bit of an afterthought for her. Took ages to get our bill and drink refills were slow in coming. Overall, it was an outstanding value for the price of the buffet. We had a really enjoyable meal with a great view of the Gulf.

Tags: Waterfront, Historic, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Excellent champage buffet brunch for the price. They have a pasta station, omelet sttion and carving station ith two roasts. Oysters on the shell, shrimps and crab claws. Also breakfast items and plenty of desserts.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Stayed at the Hotel Galvez to attend a show at the Grand Opera House. Had dinner there before the show as a convenience. My wife and I split a spinach salad and each had the onion soup. Both were excellent. We wanted to eat light since it was right after Thanksgiving, so we skipped the main course and jumped to desert. We each had the pecan pie. It hit the spot. Love the stay and the meal.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 23, 2016

We had a beautiful meal and the service was excellent! The Gorgonzola scalloped potatoes are out of this world!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 28, 2016

I can't comment a whole lot since my husband and I went for a late night snack of appetizers for him and the shrimp gumbo and spinach salad for me which were all quite adequate. What made the visit memorable was the very nice service from our greeter and subsequent wait person, Kay. She was SO sweet and accommodating and made us feel right at home.

Tags: Business Meals, Historic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The Sunday Brunch Buffet was remarkable, as always. We have been enjoying them for decades, and we have never been disappointed. The service is outstanding, the food is delicious, and the views from the dining room windows are breathtaking. Whether you want breakfast, seafood, healthy, or a hearty meal, you can't go wrong with the Sunday Buffet. I will come again!! Oh, and keep those mimosa glasses filled!

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Afternoon Coffee, Quick Bite, Fun, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We went to try their Sunday brunch & it was a good experience. The hotel was beautiful & being right off the beach the view was wonderful for taking in brunch while sipping on mimosas. The food was good, but not great. They had a good variety of items on the brunch buffet from king crab, prime rib, gumbo & endless mimosas. Their service was excellent. Their brunch buffet is definitely a must try once experience for the price. We later tried their regular bar & grill menu and actually liked it better than the brunch buffet.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Historic, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 25, 2016

A restaurant not to miss on any trip to Galveston .

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Outstanding restaurant, great food excellent service.
Only drawback is they do not honor open table members at all times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Cobb salad was horrible, only pale and white iceberg lettuce, stale bacon bits sprinkled sporadically as all other ingredients were just sprinkled on top. Asked to be served with vinegar and oil. Only oil was some olive/soybean blend (not real olive oil) and they didn't have any balsamic vinegar in the restaurant. "Shrimp and grits" was nothing like the description on the menu, the shrimp was all battered and fried over a deep fried polenta "square" and then covered with some sort of jambalaya-like sauce--nasty. Only club sandwich was good, but if you can't get a club sandwich right, might as well be at McDonalds.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.