Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

About Galvez Bar & Grill

Galvez Bar & Grill is the go-to restaurant for local seafood as well as cocktails. Galvez Bar & Grill features fresh seafood from Galveston’s Pier 19, steak, Po Boys, award-winning Gumbo, salads and a variety of bar bites including filet mignon sliders and flatbread pizzas. Its Sunday Champagne Brunch is a top choice for Open Table users and was named as one of the top 100 brunch restaurants in the U.S.

2024 Seawall Boulevard
Galveston, TX 77550
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Southwest, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Breakfast: Monday - Saturday: 6:30am - 11:00am, Sunday: 6:30 a.m. - 10:30 a.m.

Cross Street:
21st Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(409) 515-2145

Website:
http://www.hotelgalvez.com/dining.aspx

Entertainment:
Jazz Duo on Friday and Saturday evenings and pianist during Sunday Brunch from 11am-2pm.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet and parking in north lot when dining.

Executive Chef:
Bobby Ross

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Ghost Tour Dinners offered on the second Thursday of the month at 6p.m. Advance reservations required.

Galvez Bar & Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.8

ambience

4.2

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

67% would recommend it to a friend

Sunday Lunch (11)
Great for Brunch (10)
Special Occasion (9)
See All
Waterfront (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Scenic View (5)
Historic (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Romantic (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Fun (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Live Music (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Family Style (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Cozy (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
People Watching (1)
Fireplace (1)
Live Sports (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Business Meals (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Healthy (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Seasonal (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Casual (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Organic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Vegan (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Sort By:
S
384 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 2 days ago

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Love the wide variety and choices of food. Polite and tentative service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Ofcourse the atmosphere of the Galvez was awesome along with the valet services a plus, but since I was last there for brunch 1 1/2yrs. ago it seems that the choices of food items has lessened & the quality of the food is not as good. The waiter assigned to our table was not attentive, we sat without refills , water & mimosas, for long periods of time when I finally seen her again I whispered to her that she should keep her eyes on our drinks as the other waiters were doing with their tables, it went smoother after that, almost bothersome. I & another in my party are not sure if we will come back again for brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Terrible service. Cold coffee, without coffee spoons. Slow service. Had to ask for everything, the waitress did not anticipate even the simple things, like replacing used silverware. Plates were stacked up on the end of our table most of the time. When we left, my main course plate was still sitting beside our dessert plates. This place is too nice for mediocre, fast-food style service!

The hotel also lost power (not their fault, storm hit), but unfortunately, while the lobby got lighting and a/c, the a/c never kicked on in the arboretum and it got really hot! This did not help our experience. It was supposed to be the awesome end to my daughter's sweet sixteen weekend. Not impressed.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Decided to dine here for historic purposes. Very disappointed. Service was terrible. I had to get place setting from next table as had no silverware when appetizer came. Food just ok but not what we thought from advertisement. This is mostly a bar scene with food and not an evening dining in my opinion. We will choose one of the neighboring chains on our next visit.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Endless mimosas, great service and many delicious food choices for Sunday brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 3, 2017

There was no one in the restaurant. We asked for a lemon piccata sauce for our fish and they charged us an additional $5.00. I am not accustomed to restaurants charging me extra for a sauce like this and the fish was dry. I think they have a ways to go before I would recommend this restaurant. The waiter was good and professional but the food was disappointing.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Excellent brunch. Many options from pasties, waffle bar, freshly made omelets, apple wood smoked bacon/sausage, eggs benedict, smoked salmon, crab legs, oysters on the half shell, assorted veggie options, pastas, mashed potatoes, prime rib, roasted pork and many assorted desserts, not to mention never ending mimosas!!! Seating in bar area for single diners with live piano player. About $45 + gratuity. Excellent value, quality with touch notch service. My champagne glass was never empty. Beautiful, historic hotel.

Tags: Organic, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Live Music, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Historic, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Vegan, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 23, 2017

First I would like to preface this by saying that we were here for Easter Brunch and it was excellent. So good, in fact, that we decided to return the next weekend. Big mistake, should have stayed away. We had reservations for 11:15 AM, arrived at 11:05, valet'd the car and went inside to find that there was a long line to check in. 11:25 we finally arrived at the check-in stand. It only got worst after that, everything was a line, we finally abandoned the thought of getting to the salad/cold bar and went to the pasta and omelet stations. Went back, line still out the restaurant so went to the roast beef station.
The cause, apparently, was that the hotel entertained a wedding party using the buffet as the meal, obviously, this overwhelmed the inadequate preparations of the buffet team. If they had prepared the same as they did for Easter Sunday this would have been avoided. Will I be back? Probably not if I find a line to talk with the hostess.

Tags: Special Occasion, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 23, 2017

This was our second time for the Sunday brunch. The first time it was excellent all the way round. Food, service, experience, ambiance. This time the food was still excellent, but this was overshadowed by the horrible set up and experience. We had a reservation for 1100 and arrived a little before 1100. There was already a huge line of folks just waiting to check in. They did not even begin checking folks in until a few minutes after 1100, thus, we were not even seated until almost 1130. I cannot imagine why they could not begin taking names as folks arrived?? And then just call them when their table was ready like at any other restaurant? One staff member told me it is because they seat the reservations as they check in, but take the names of the walk-ins. That still makes no sense to me if you don't start that process until 1100. This also completely threw off the pacing of the buffet, leaving it virtually empty for the first 30-40 minutes, and then completely backed up with lines out the door after that, literally waiting 20 minutes in the food line before getting to the main table. And this then is what makes it not worth the cost... with an 1100 reservation, you should have time to to get through the buffet several times before your parking expires at 1... but not so! The first time (since we were seated by 1130) there was no wait at all and barely anyone in the buffet yet, but when we went up again, it was the 20 minute wait. I will say that the last time we were there we had a much later reservation, and that by the time we left today (just before 1) it was running smoothly with no crazy back ups, so this may just be an issue of the morning. The food is good, but the poor organization just makes it not worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value1

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Heard manager yelling at an employee. Wine and salad were pretty bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Service is slow, slow, slow. Holiday weekend and they seemed to have enough staffing, but waiter would disappear for a long period of time. Other tables around us had the same issue - waiting on the waiter! Food was ok, but not worthy of the price. I love this hotel and so wish the quality of items on dinner menu would improve.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We reserved a table over a month ago.. when we got there, we got "the only table we have left". All they want is your money, the service is awful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We were celebrating our anniversary and had never eaten at this restaurant. It was a nice atmosphere, very good food and service, and a nice surprise when our waitresses brought us a piece of Key lime pie with "Happy Anniversary" written on the plate. Very thoughtful.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 2, 2017

I made reservations online, which were honored. I was the first one at the restaurant and was sat promptly. Unfortunately, while waiting for my party (about 30 mins) not a single server acknowledged me or seemed to want to help me. It wasn't until the rest of the party was sitting down, that I had to still flag someone to retrieve our server. Once there, the server was attentive. But either way, I do not think that this is a good way to treat a guest. At least acknowledge the person and make them feel like they're welcome. The food was amazing! They pretty much had a selection available for all taste buds! A bit pricey, but you get what you pay for. Which was outstanding food. Again, the service, not the best that I've experienced.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The Hotel Galvez brunch lives up to its reputation and then some! It was very difficult deciding, so much to choose from and so little time (I could have grazed all day!) And to top it off service was great with never ending mimosas and more. My new go to destination whenever on the island is Hotel Galvez!

Tags: Business Meals, Quick Bite, Waterfront, Seasonal, Late-night Find, Great for Brunch, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Live Sports, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Healthy, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Historic, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Afternoon Tea, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Food took forever and the portions were very small. I had the ahi tuna salad and literally got 4 super thin small pieces of meat and some lettuce for $18. Waiter took forever to take orders and drinks. For the price I wasn't impressed at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 16, 2017

The Galvez was always known as the Traditional standard. This was my first visit to her since she was taken over by The Wyndham The main lobby is now a combination of the reception/sign-in desk, a walk-up bar, a casual restaurant and a "formal" restaurant. It is very difficult to tell one area from another. Somewhere in the mix there is also an area of "lobby seating". My husband and I had evening dinner reservations and wandered around from the walk-up bar to the lobby seating and then were finally directed to the "restaurant" which was just an extension of another area. No dividing wall or sense of privacy.

Now comes the meal part of this review. All I can say is "don't". I ordered a Caesar Salad - and was told by the waiter that this consisted of leaves of romaine lettace tied together and served with Ranch Dressing!!! Caesar Salad??? Next came the Shrimp with Polenta with a fairly spicy sauce. The polenta was deep fried, over fried is a better word, and was tasteless. The sauce was acceptable and the shrimp non-descript. Quite frankly I feel the meal was sub-standard and would never eat
there again.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Ambiance is good; food puzzling at best. Service pleasant enough but slow and not anticipatory.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The Hotel Galvez Sunday Brunch is the best brunch in the area

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Sunday Brunch was well done. Numerous selections and great presentation from chefs making special requests. Service was great, glasses kept full champagne!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Beautiful historic dining. Food great with a Cajun twist for Mardi Gras Only downside, no chicken dishes - all pork beef or fish. Also the piano player quit playing around 12:45 and this took away from the classic feel. Service great!

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We had their Sunday brunch. The food was awesome, the staff was great. It's pricy for everyday but really enjoyable for a special occasion.

Tags: Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 26, 2017

A group of us went to the Mardi Gras Sunday brunch and several people mentioned it was their favorite part of the whole weekend. Fantastic options and fun environment. Will definitely return during our next Galveston vacation!

Tags: Comfort Food, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I had the Grilled Salmon with potatoes and vegetables. The salmon was perfectly cooked and seasoned as well as the vegetables. My only complaint is that there was a little too much butter and oil covering it all. Otherwise, great choice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The Sunday brunch at Hotel Galvez is absolutely scrumptious. We were so impressed by the variety and quality of food. The omelette, pasta, and carving stations are outstanding. It's also fun to see which new ice sculpture they'll have on display. Highly recommended!

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Excellent brunch with great variety and good quality. The thing to do in Galveston Sunday mornings.

Tags: Scenic View, Historic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Our waiter, Miguel, did a great job. He was very accommodating and very attentive.

Tags: Spicy, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I was very pleased with the different choices that I got to choose from.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Super helpful and friendly staff. They were able to accomodate a large group , which was really appreciated! Food and selection were delicious!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great Food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Love, love, love this restaurants Sunday Brunch!! Beautiful historic hotel with lovely scenic views of the seawall, should you get a seat by the window.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Good for a Date, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Great food, spectacular ambiance, very good service

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

This was not my first visit, I came here for my anniversary and wanted to bring my friends to sample the greatest Brunch in the Houston Galveston area. There were 2 things that I did not care for on the buffet, they put rye bread in the bread pudding and the prime rib was very tough. I loved the smoked salmon it was my favorite. The server was very gracious always filled our glasses and took good care of us. Thanks from the Joneses

Tags: Historic, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Everything we tried was outstanding. A very special dining experience!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Family Style, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 9, 2017

We were disappointed in the food. The cornbread muffins served before the meal were dry. We had the calamari appetizer which was bland and rubbery. My wife had the seafood cobb salad, which was ok but lacked flavor. I had the daily catch, blackened redfish, and it was also cooked properly but lacked flavor. All in all we expected more flavor.
Fortunately the service was great, which saved the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Their usual great Sunday Buffett. But can you imagine no black eye peas or cabbage served on New Years Day. Most of their staff has trouble understanding English and got irritated easily when you misunderstood them. Maybe just a bad night New Year's Eve..

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

First time for Brunch on New Year's Day. Wasn't what I expected and thought that it could have been a little more special. Food and drink was good. Service was exceptional. Just didn't have the excitement that was hoping it would for the cost.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

So sorry to say our special New Years Eve dinner was not up to expectation. Poor service. Poor quality of food
They did apologize and say we were not the only ones who complained. Sad for such a beautiful and well established hotel to have such a bad dinner experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went to this restaurant in the historic Galvez Hotel for New Year's Eve. We ordered the special New Year's Eve dinner, which proved to be a mistake. I have dined there before and the food was much better in the past. The main course - steak and lobster - was the most disappointing. The steak was tasteless and the lobster tail had little meat on it. The service started out fine, but then got very slow for the dessert and for getting the bill. We practically had to tackle the waiter to get the dessert served. The restaurant was not at all crowded at this time as we ate fairly late, so not sure what the problem was.
The general ambiance and the jazz band were enjoyable, but didn't make up for the disappointing dinner.

Tags: Historic, Scenic View, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.