Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

About Galvez Bar & Grill

Galvez Bar & Grill is the go-to restaurant for local seafood as well as cocktails. Galvez Bar & Grill features fresh seafood from Galveston’s Pier 19, steak, Po Boys, award-winning Gumbo, salads and a variety of bar bites including filet mignon sliders and flatbread pizzas. Its Sunday Champagne Brunch is a top choice for Open Table users and was named as one of the top 100 brunch restaurants in the U.S.

2024 Seawall Boulevard
Galveston, TX 77550
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Southwest, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Breakfast: Monday - Saturday: 6:30am - 11:00am, Sunday: 6:30 a.m. - 10:30 a.m.

Cross Street:
21st Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(409) 515-2145

Website:
http://www.hotelgalvez.com/dining.aspx

Entertainment:
Jazz Duo on Friday and Saturday evenings and pianist during Sunday Brunch from 11am-2pm.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet and parking in north lot when dining.

Executive Chef:
Bobby Ross

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Ghost Tour Dinners offered on the second Thursday of the month at 6p.m. Advance reservations required.

Galvez Bar & Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.0

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (18)
Waterfront (15)
Sunday Lunch (15)
See All
Worth the Drive (11)
Special Occasion (10)
Scenic View (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Romantic (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
People Watching (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Live Music (3)
Casual (3)
Fun (3)
Historic (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Cozy (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Organic (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Vegan (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Business Meals (1)
Authentic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Family Style (1)
Seasonal (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Live Sports (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
403 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Delicious well presented buffet. Well worth a trip to experience the lovely old Hotel Galvez and the amazing buffet spread.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Amazing brunch selection and Attentive service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

The food tasted great and the ambience was befitting for our 12 th year anniversary just being in the hotel we got married at. The only problem we faced was a mouse running back and forth in the booth across from us. That scared the wife and also gave a bad taste in our mouth for some great tasting food. Then after we notified the staff, one of the waiters sat a woman and her son in that booth in spite of all of the seating available and there was plenty. The manager moved that family to a different booth and put a table cover over that table and the one next to it with reserved signs on them. He also had a pest control company place a trap u see the table but our of the view of customers.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

I was a little disappointed that our original seat by a window was given to a couple that arrived before us and asked to switch. So we were stuck behind a wall. Also, I was cut in line by quite a few gentlemen at the prime rib station and ended up having to fight to keep my spot. The gentlemen in front of me were very picky about their pieces of meat so when I got up, I wasn't picky and the woman handed me an almost all fat piece of meat. Even my boyfriend said he would not eat that. The waitress was nice, but I overheard her talking about TripAdvisor to get more money...I am in the Guest Service Industry and a Trainer/Consultant and that is not very professional. Our waitress was also definitely on island time taking her time to make rounds. But overall I did truly like it and I absolutely love the Galvez. Thank you for a good Sunday Brunch. A little pricey for the quality though...

Tags: People Watching, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Sunday Brunch is incredible! The food is very fresh and tasty, not like most buffets! Many options from oysters, crab, shrimp, lox, prime rib, ham, pastas, omelettes, waffles, and much more! The creme brulee was the best ever! Our table did not have a view, so that was disappointing. We made reservations several days prior, so I guess I should have requested a view. Other areas we walked through looked beautiful. Wish we didn't have to drive home after brunch, or we would have enjoyed those bottomless mimosas! Overall, great food!

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 30, 2017

First time visiting the Hotel Galvez & we were not disappointed! Brunch was amazing, staff was excellent! It is a great experience!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

The Caesar salad was comprised of whole romaine leaves with salad dressing and Parmesan at their base. I did not know if I should dip each leaf by hand into the dressing or cut them all and toss in the dressing. The waiter did not know either, but commented others had complained/asked about the dish. The shrimp gumbo was tasty.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 24, 2017

My sisters and mother and I had a late lunch at this establishment. The onion soup was excellent and the shrimp poor boy was good. The club sandwich and the quesadilla were passable. I believe we would have enjoyed the experience more if we had not be fighting the flies the entire meal. When we complained about the flies we were told that it was normal for the area. We will not be going back to this restaurant to eat again.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Classic elegance with contemporary menu, high quality ingredients, and courteous service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Beautiful venue and great menu. Service was print and food was delicious. Would recommend for dinner or lunch for higher end dining.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Everything exceeded our expectations. Endless mimosas. The food was delicious. Great and friendly service. Will definitely go back for more.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Noise was an issue. For a while after we arrived, there was no music and it was great. Then, they began blaring this hideous music. Our not-so-attentive waiter didn't seem too interested in our opinion on the subject. He was most interested in getting us out so they could seat someone else. Of course, that didn't keep them from tacking on a 20% tip on the bill automatically (even though I had written in a 10% tip, considering the service we got had the fact that it was a buffet). This was not our first time, but will probably be our last time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Amazing brunch. Perfect breakfast. Best part is the dessert table!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 2, 2017

The Sunday brunch at Hotel Galvez is to die for! We always make it a point to have Sunday brunch there every time we go to Galveston.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on July 2, 2017

The food was good, but not sure it was worth the hassle & I don't like waiting in long lines.

We stayed at the Tremont & drove to the Galvez after we checked out of the Tremont. That was a HUGE mistake. Took 15 minutes to find a parking spot & had a 10-15 minute walk back to the hotel, unless you are willing to fork out another $18 plus tips for the valet.

They need to set up the lines better. It took 10 minutes to go through the line. The food I wanted was almost to the end of the buffet & waiting in line for 10 minutes is just too long.

I think if you are staying at the Galvez then the buffet would be a better deal. At $43 per person plus tax & tipping $22.00 to the wait staff (that was my fault) that only brings you drinks is a bit pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 2, 2017

4th of July holiday time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Great Sunday Buffet. Service was great as well as the food. Left so stuffed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Our experience at the Galvez Sunday brunch is consistently outstanding. I live in Houston and while we have many very good places for brunch, the Galvez Sunday brunch is the number one of all. The diversity and quality of the food is superb and the service consistently good.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 23, 2017

The brunch was great. The gentleman at the omlette/waffle station was very sweet. The fruit was perfectly ripe. The bloody mary was good & spicy. Our waitress was making sure we were taken care of. I would definitely go back the next time I am down there.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Love the wide variety and choices of food. Polite and tentative service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Ofcourse the atmosphere of the Galvez was awesome along with the valet services a plus, but since I was last there for brunch 1 1/2yrs. ago it seems that the choices of food items has lessened & the quality of the food is not as good. The waiter assigned to our table was not attentive, we sat without refills , water & mimosas, for long periods of time when I finally seen her again I whispered to her that she should keep her eyes on our drinks as the other waiters were doing with their tables, it went smoother after that, almost bothersome. I & another in my party are not sure if we will come back again for brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Terrible service. Cold coffee, without coffee spoons. Slow service. Had to ask for everything, the waitress did not anticipate even the simple things, like replacing used silverware. Plates were stacked up on the end of our table most of the time. When we left, my main course plate was still sitting beside our dessert plates. This place is too nice for mediocre, fast-food style service!

The hotel also lost power (not their fault, storm hit), but unfortunately, while the lobby got lighting and a/c, the a/c never kicked on in the arboretum and it got really hot! This did not help our experience. It was supposed to be the awesome end to my daughter's sweet sixteen weekend. Not impressed.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Decided to dine here for historic purposes. Very disappointed. Service was terrible. I had to get place setting from next table as had no silverware when appetizer came. Food just ok but not what we thought from advertisement. This is mostly a bar scene with food and not an evening dining in my opinion. We will choose one of the neighboring chains on our next visit.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Endless mimosas, great service and many delicious food choices for Sunday brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 3, 2017

There was no one in the restaurant. We asked for a lemon piccata sauce for our fish and they charged us an additional $5.00. I am not accustomed to restaurants charging me extra for a sauce like this and the fish was dry. I think they have a ways to go before I would recommend this restaurant. The waiter was good and professional but the food was disappointing.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Excellent brunch. Many options from pasties, waffle bar, freshly made omelets, apple wood smoked bacon/sausage, eggs benedict, smoked salmon, crab legs, oysters on the half shell, assorted veggie options, pastas, mashed potatoes, prime rib, roasted pork and many assorted desserts, not to mention never ending mimosas!!! Seating in bar area for single diners with live piano player. About $45 + gratuity. Excellent value, quality with touch notch service. My champagne glass was never empty. Beautiful, historic hotel.

Tags: Organic, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Live Music, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Vegan, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 23, 2017

First I would like to preface this by saying that we were here for Easter Brunch and it was excellent. So good, in fact, that we decided to return the next weekend. Big mistake, should have stayed away. We had reservations for 11:15 AM, arrived at 11:05, valet'd the car and went inside to find that there was a long line to check in. 11:25 we finally arrived at the check-in stand. It only got worst after that, everything was a line, we finally abandoned the thought of getting to the salad/cold bar and went to the pasta and omelet stations. Went back, line still out the restaurant so went to the roast beef station.
The cause, apparently, was that the hotel entertained a wedding party using the buffet as the meal, obviously, this overwhelmed the inadequate preparations of the buffet team. If they had prepared the same as they did for Easter Sunday this would have been avoided. Will I be back? Probably not if I find a line to talk with the hostess.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 23, 2017

This was our second time for the Sunday brunch. The first time it was excellent all the way round. Food, service, experience, ambiance. This time the food was still excellent, but this was overshadowed by the horrible set up and experience. We had a reservation for 1100 and arrived a little before 1100. There was already a huge line of folks just waiting to check in. They did not even begin checking folks in until a few minutes after 1100, thus, we were not even seated until almost 1130. I cannot imagine why they could not begin taking names as folks arrived?? And then just call them when their table was ready like at any other restaurant? One staff member told me it is because they seat the reservations as they check in, but take the names of the walk-ins. That still makes no sense to me if you don't start that process until 1100. This also completely threw off the pacing of the buffet, leaving it virtually empty for the first 30-40 minutes, and then completely backed up with lines out the door after that, literally waiting 20 minutes in the food line before getting to the main table. And this then is what makes it not worth the cost... with an 1100 reservation, you should have time to to get through the buffet several times before your parking expires at 1... but not so! The first time (since we were seated by 1130) there was no wait at all and barely anyone in the buffet yet, but when we went up again, it was the 20 minute wait. I will say that the last time we were there we had a much later reservation, and that by the time we left today (just before 1) it was running smoothly with no crazy back ups, so this may just be an issue of the morning. The food is good, but the poor organization just makes it not worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value1

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Heard manager yelling at an employee. Wine and salad were pretty bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 14, 2017

We reserved a table over a month ago.. when we got there, we got "the only table we have left". All they want is your money, the service is awful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Service is slow, slow, slow. Holiday weekend and they seemed to have enough staffing, but waiter would disappear for a long period of time. Other tables around us had the same issue - waiting on the waiter! Food was ok, but not worthy of the price. I love this hotel and so wish the quality of items on dinner menu would improve.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We were celebrating our anniversary and had never eaten at this restaurant. It was a nice atmosphere, very good food and service, and a nice surprise when our waitresses brought us a piece of Key lime pie with "Happy Anniversary" written on the plate. Very thoughtful.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The Hotel Galvez brunch lives up to its reputation and then some! It was very difficult deciding, so much to choose from and so little time (I could have grazed all day!) And to top it off service was great with never ending mimosas and more. My new go to destination whenever on the island is Hotel Galvez!

Tags: Business Meals, Quick Bite, Waterfront, Seasonal, Late-night Find, Great for Brunch, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Live Sports, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Healthy, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Afternoon Tea, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 2, 2017

I made reservations online, which were honored. I was the first one at the restaurant and was sat promptly. Unfortunately, while waiting for my party (about 30 mins) not a single server acknowledged me or seemed to want to help me. It wasn't until the rest of the party was sitting down, that I had to still flag someone to retrieve our server. Once there, the server was attentive. But either way, I do not think that this is a good way to treat a guest. At least acknowledge the person and make them feel like they're welcome. The food was amazing! They pretty much had a selection available for all taste buds! A bit pricey, but you get what you pay for. Which was outstanding food. Again, the service, not the best that I've experienced.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Food took forever and the portions were very small. I had the ahi tuna salad and literally got 4 super thin small pieces of meat and some lettuce for $18. Waiter took forever to take orders and drinks. For the price I wasn't impressed at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 15, 2017

The Galvez was always known as the Traditional standard. This was my first visit to her since she was taken over by The Wyndham The main lobby is now a combination of the reception/sign-in desk, a walk-up bar, a casual restaurant and a "formal" restaurant. It is very difficult to tell one area from another. Somewhere in the mix there is also an area of "lobby seating". My husband and I had evening dinner reservations and wandered around from the walk-up bar to the lobby seating and then were finally directed to the "restaurant" which was just an extension of another area. No dividing wall or sense of privacy.

Now comes the meal part of this review. All I can say is "don't". I ordered a Caesar Salad - and was told by the waiter that this consisted of leaves of romaine lettace tied together and served with Ranch Dressing!!! Caesar Salad??? Next came the Shrimp with Polenta with a fairly spicy sauce. The polenta was deep fried, over fried is a better word, and was tasteless. The sauce was acceptable and the shrimp non-descript. Quite frankly I feel the meal was sub-standard and would never eat
there again.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Ambiance is good; food puzzling at best. Service pleasant enough but slow and not anticipatory.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The Hotel Galvez Sunday Brunch is the best brunch in the area

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Sunday Brunch was well done. Numerous selections and great presentation from chefs making special requests. Service was great, glasses kept full champagne!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.