About Galvez Bar & Grill

2024 Seawall Boulevard
Galveston, TX 77550
View Larger Map

Galvez Bar & Grill is the go-to restaurant for local seafood as well as cocktails. Galvez Bar & Grill features fresh seafood from Galveston’s Pier 19, steak, Po Boys, award-winning Gumbo, salads and a variety of bar bites including filet mignon sliders and flatbread pizzas. Its Sunday Champagne Brunch is a top choice for Open Table users and was named as one of the top 100 brunch restaurants in the U.S.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Southwest, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Breakfast: Monday - Saturday: 6:30am - 11:00am, Sunday: 6:30 a.m. - 10:30 a.m.

Cross Street:
21st Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(409) 515-2145

Website:
http://www.hotelgalvez.com/dining.aspx

Entertainment:
Jazz Duo on Friday and Saturday evenings and pianist during Sunday Brunch from 11am-2pm.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet and parking in north lot when dining.

Executive Chef:
Bobby Ross

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Ghost Tour Dinners offered on the second Thursday of the month at 6p.m. Advance reservations required.

Galvez Bar & Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (13)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Special Occasion (10)
See All
Historic (10)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Waterfront (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Romantic (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Family Style (3)
Business Meals (3)
People Watching (3)
Live Music (3)
Cozy (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Healthy (2)
Fun (2)
Casual (2)
Authentic (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
347 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was not my first visit, I came here ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 2 days ago

This was not my first visit, I came here for my anniversary and wanted to bring my friends to sample the greatest Brunch in the Houston Galveston area. There were 2 things that I did not care for on the buffet, they put rye bread in the bread pudding and the prime rib was very tough. I loved the smoked salmon it was my favorite. The server was very gracious always filled our glasses and took good care of us. Thanks from the Joneses

Tags: Historic, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything we tried was outstanding. A ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 2 days ago

Everything we tried was outstanding. A very special dining experience!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Family Style, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were disappointed in the food. The co ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 9, 2017

We were disappointed in the food. The cornbread muffins served before the meal were dry. We had the calamari appetizer which was bland and rubbery. My wife had the seafood cobb salad, which was ok but lacked flavor. I had the daily catch, blackened redfish, and it was also cooked properly but lacked flavor. All in all we expected more flavor.

Fortunately the service was great, which saved the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Their usual great Sunday Buffett. But ca ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Their usual great Sunday Buffett. But can you imagine no black eye peas or cabbage served on New Years Day. Most of their staff has trouble understanding English and got irritated easily when you misunderstood them. Maybe just a bad night New Year's Eve..

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

First time for Brunch on New Year's Day. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

First time for Brunch on New Year's Day. Wasn't what I expected and thought that it could have been a little more special. Food and drink was good. Service was exceptional. Just didn't have the excitement that was hoping it would for the cost.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

So sorry to say our special New Years Ev ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

So sorry to say our special New Years Eve dinner was not up to expectation. Poor service. Poor quality of food

They did apologize and say we were not the only ones who complained. Sad for such a beautiful and well established hotel to have such a bad dinner experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

We went to this restaurant in the histor ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went to this restaurant in the historic Galvez Hotel for New Year's Eve. We ordered the special New Year's Eve dinner, which proved to be a mistake. I have dined there before and the food was much better in the past. The main course - steak and lobster - was the most disappointing. The steak was tasteless and the lobster tail had little meat on it. The service started out fine, but then got very slow for the dessert and for getting the bill. We practically had to tackle the waiter to get the dessert served. The restaurant was not at all crowded at this time as we ate fairly late, so not sure what the problem was.

The general ambiance and the jazz band were enjoyable, but didn't make up for the disappointing dinner.

Tags: Historic, Scenic View, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Food was ok, but nothing special. Steak ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food was ok, but nothing special. Steak was warm and they need to heat it up again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Loved staying at the Galvez, but thought ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Loved staying at the Galvez, but thought the special $85/person New Year's Eve meal was just so so. Service was extremely slow, and I was disappointed in the quality of the food.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Had a terrible New Year's Eve dining exp ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Had a terrible New Year's Eve dining experience. Have eaten at the Galvez several times before and liked it -- even at their large Thanksgiving buffet, but after this experience will not be back. We ordered their 4 course dinner being offered for the night (you could also order off their regular menu). Took over an hour to get our cocktails and place our food order -- at this point knew not to have high expectations for the night, but we were not in any hurry seeing that it was New Year's Eve. The first course arrived which was a salad -- the salad was much too cold and you could tell it had been plated hours earlier. After a while our main course arrived -- our appetizer still had not been served -- at this point we asked to speak to the manager. We accepted our main courses and later the appetizer was served. Most of the steaks were not cooked to our order -- most were way over cooked -- the waiter had no idea how any of the steaks he was serving were cooked. What a disaster. The manager did deduct 50% of the food cost from our bill -- just wished we would have had a nice dining experience instead.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

The waitstaff was working hard, but they ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The waitstaff was working hard, but they were stretched thin. It is New Years eve, and we knew a big formal dinner is being planned for later tonight.

Our food ( Shrimp gumbo, fish tacos) was cold. We were hesitant to eat it because it seemed like it had been sitting around. My husband's seafood salad came without dressing, and when he requested some, the waitress brought him a tiny portion. The food would have been good if it wasn't cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Nanette, our server was amazing!

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Nanette, our server was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Brunch at the Galvez is a special occasi ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Brunch at the Galvez is a special occasion in its own right. The food is delicious and the beachfront view is outstanding. Watching the activity and the people is fun. The hotel is nicely decorated for Christmas.

Tags: People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

The experience was awesome and I had a g ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The experience was awesome and I had a great time.The best restaurant ever. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Tags: Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Healthy, Hot Spot, Family Style, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to the Galvez buffet to celebrat ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We went to the Galvez buffet to celebrate my niece's birthday. The food did not disappoint. There was plenty of fresh boiled shrimp and crab legs. The seafood campechana was the best I've had anywhere. Some of the meat items on the buffet were a bit overcooked, but that's not unusual on a buffet, and they had plenty of freshly prepared and carving stations to compensate. It wasn't even necessary to partake of those items on the buffet with everything else being offered. Our service left something to be desired, but I think that was particular to our table, as we noticed others around us had their drinks refilled constantly and were never waiting for anything. Our server seemed to be mainly serving tables in a distant part of the restaurant and we were a bit of an afterthought for her. Took ages to get our bill and drink refills were slow in coming. Overall, it was an outstanding value for the price of the buffet. We had a really enjoyable meal with a great view of the Gulf.

Tags: Waterfront, Historic, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Excellent champage buffet brunch for the ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Excellent champage buffet brunch for the price. They have a pasta station, omelet sttion and carving station ith two roasts. Oysters on the shell, shrimps and crab claws. Also breakfast items and plenty of desserts.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Stayed at the Hotel Galvez to attend a s ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Stayed at the Hotel Galvez to attend a show at the Grand Opera House. Had dinner there before the show as a convenience. My wife and I split a spinach salad and each had the onion soup. Both were excellent. We wanted to eat light since it was right after Thanksgiving, so we skipped the main course and jumped to desert. We each had the pecan pie. It hit the spot. Love the stay and the meal.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a beautiful meal and the service ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 23, 2016

We had a beautiful meal and the service was excellent! The Gorgonzola scalloped potatoes are out of this world!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I can't comment a whole lot since my hus ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 28, 2016

I can't comment a whole lot since my husband and I went for a late night snack of appetizers for him and the shrimp gumbo and spinach salad for me which were all quite adequate. What made the visit memorable was the very nice service from our greeter and subsequent wait person, Kay. She was SO sweet and accommodating and made us feel right at home.

Tags: Business Meals, Historic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

The Sunday Brunch Buffet was remarkable, ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The Sunday Brunch Buffet was remarkable, as always. We have been enjoying them for decades, and we have never been disappointed. The service is outstanding, the food is delicious, and the views from the dining room windows are breathtaking. Whether you want breakfast, seafood, healthy, or a hearty meal, you can't go wrong with the Sunday Buffet. I will come again!! Oh, and keep those mimosa glasses filled!

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Afternoon Coffee, Quick Bite, Fun, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went to try their Sunday brunch & it ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We went to try their Sunday brunch & it was a good experience. The hotel was beautiful & being right off the beach the view was wonderful for taking in brunch while sipping on mimosas. The food was good, but not great. They had a good variety of items on the brunch buffet from king crab, prime rib, gumbo & endless mimosas. Their service was excellent. Their brunch buffet is definitely a must try once experience for the price. We later tried their regular bar & grill menu and actually liked it better than the brunch buffet.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Historic, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

A restaurant not to miss on any trip to ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 25, 2016

A restaurant not to miss on any trip to Galveston .

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Cobb salad was horrible, only pale and w ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Cobb salad was horrible, only pale and white iceberg lettuce, stale bacon bits sprinkled sporadically as all other ingredients were just sprinkled on top. Asked to be served with vinegar and oil. Only oil was some olive/soybean blend (not real olive oil) and they didn't have any balsamic vinegar in the restaurant. "Shrimp and grits" was nothing like the description on the menu, the shrimp was all battered and fried over a deep fried polenta "square" and then covered with some sort of jambalaya-like sauce--nasty. Only club sandwich was good, but if you can't get a club sandwich right, might as well be at McDonalds.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3

Nice setting, doesnt even seem like your ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 6, 2016

Nice setting, doesnt even seem like your on Galveston Island. Staff was nice but sometimes were slow to check on us.

Tags: Fun, Afternoon Tea, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Romantic, People Watching, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

An abundant Sunday brunch and unlimited ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 28, 2016

An abundant Sunday brunch and unlimited mimosas in a historic hotel. A bit pricey ($42 PP) but lovely for a special occasion or elegant treat. There was a great variety of delicious food and service was attentive without being overbearing.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous Sunday Brunch. Just about ever ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Fabulous Sunday Brunch. Just about every imaginable food, all deliciously prepared and presented. Oysters on the half shell, fresh pasta station, omelet station, carved to order prime rib and a whole room full of desserts. Plus the bottomless mimosas!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I treat my friend for her Birthday and s ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 19, 2016

I treat my friend for her Birthday and she loved it The food and the music made it so special

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome brunch!

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Awesome brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Bad food, didn't get some things that we ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Bad food, didn't get some things that we'd ordered, and the hot dishes arrived cold -- just bad food. Bad ambience - felt like we were in a cool hotel with a Denny's stuck in the middle of it. People in shorts and flip flops allowed in and kids running around - it would be okay for a hotel lunch or breakfast restaurant but not for a supposedly nice and relatively expensive dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

We were seated up against a wall with no ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 7, 2016

We were seated up against a wall with no space at a tiny table. The buffet was crowded, and it was difficult to find what you wanted...spoons, bowls, etc. The price was high based on the quality of the food served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

The Sunday Brunch is fantastic! If you g ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on August 7, 2016

The Sunday Brunch is fantastic! If you go away Hungary it is your own fault!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall great. We found that the pasta b ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Overall great. We found that the pasta bar was cold for every one including the table next to us. Dirty plates and silverware too. Our waitress was amazing. Food and mimosa's were ok.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

I went to the Galvez Bar & Grill before ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 5, 2016

I went to the Galvez Bar & Grill before a trip to the theatre. The food was very good. I had a salad and fish tacos. It was light and yummy. Perfect.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Champagne brunch with a Country Club fla ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Champagne brunch with a Country Club flair. Wait staff was slow, but food excellent.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

"Anniversary" was written on our reserva ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 31, 2016

"Anniversary" was written on our reservation card. The hostess never said anything about our anniversary nor did she explain the food stations as other staff did. Our waitress was amazing other than she never mentioned our anniversary either. The food was outstanding. We were sat a window table overlooking the gulf. The view was fantastic. My husband and I had a great time and enjoyed the wonderful food.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The Sunday brunch buffet was phenomenal. ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 31, 2016

The Sunday brunch buffet was phenomenal. There were so many choices, from traditional breakfast to seafood to prime rib, pretty much everything was delicious, and the selection was incredible. Also, mimosas are included with the buffet. Need I say more.

Minor gripes: I really wanted biscuits and gravy, and they only had biscuits. I survived. Also, the service wasn't great. I know it was a buffet, but for the cost of the buffet (I believe it's $45/person), I would expect refills on my drink. We had to chase down our waitress multiple times to ask for things like coffee refills and our check. We actually had to ask for the check 3 times before we got it, and it took an hour for her to bring it to us. That was a little frustrating, but again, we survived, and the extra hour of waiting gave our stomachs time to make some room for another plate.

It was the perfect end to my bachelorette weekend, and arguably a pretty good solution for a hangover. I'd do it again.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value2

Kinda quiet with a live piano+ bass jazz ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Kinda quiet with a live piano+ bass jazz duo at the bar that was very nice. Great kids accommodations being the hotel's every meal restaurant. They gave us a table with a nearby spot to stash the stroller, dedicated kids menu, they ate free. We were surprised that the wine list had so many moderately priced options, convinced us to snag a bottle rather than just a glass. The food was great. The gumbo is excellent, non-okra, dark roux, without overcooked seafood.

The staff kinda disappears at times. Not complaining, we appreciated the slow pace and family time. Overall we had a great meal in a very nice hotel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good Was cold, greasy, undercooked and t ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Good Was cold, greasy, undercooked and tasteless. Presentaion was nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

It IS a great brunch. Awesome selection ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 24, 2016

It IS a great brunch. Awesome selection - all inclusive. The problem is timing it right, and we timed it all wrong. We had 11:30am appointment, but due to the lack of decent cab service in Galveston or regular shuttle service between Wyndham properties, we were around 10 minutes later. When we got there, the line to check-in a little over 10 minutes long, so checked in around 11:52am. Then we waited another 10+ minutes in the buffet line.

By 12:45pm, there was no line at all. I think if you hit it right at 11am, or wait until 12:30pm or later, then you will have a great experience...

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

even though made reservations had to wai ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 24, 2016

even though made reservations had to wait in line for over 20 min to get a table with people who had reservations and ones who didn't

they were nice when I talked to the manager but doesn't seem like anything will change

Makes it hard for elderly or those with physical problems that make the standing a long time hard

It was to celebrate a birthday and everyone seemed to have read it on the reservation (except hostesses) and wished him a happy birthday and made him feel special

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.