Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

About Galvez Bar & Grill

Galvez Bar & Grill is the go-to restaurant for local seafood as well as cocktails. Galvez Bar & Grill features fresh seafood from Galveston’s Pier 19, steak, Po Boys, award-winning Gumbo, salads and a variety of bar bites including filet mignon sliders and flatbread pizzas. Its Sunday Champagne Brunch is a top choice for Open Table users and was named as one of the top 100 brunch restaurants in the U.S.

2024 Seawall Boulevard
Galveston, TX 77550
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Southwest, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Breakfast: Monday - Saturday: 6:30am - 11:00am, Sunday: 6:30 a.m. - 10:30 a.m.

Cross Street:
21st Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(409) 515-2145

Website:
http://www.hotelgalvez.com/dining.aspx

Entertainment:
Jazz Duo on Friday and Saturday evenings and pianist during Sunday Brunch from 11am-2pm.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet and parking in north lot when dining.

Executive Chef:
Bobby Ross

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Ghost Tour Dinners offered on the second Thursday of the month at 6p.m. Advance reservations required.

Specials

Savor Prime Rib and Dine for Charity

Thursdays - Sundays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Specials

Savor Prime Rib and Dine for Charity

Thursdays - Sundays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Galvez Bar and Grill is offering a $22 Prime Rib Dinner Special Thursdays through Sundays. For each special sold, Hotel Galvez will donate $5 to Harvey relief efforts funded through the Galveston County Recovery Fund. Excludes Tax and Tip. Advance reservations suggested. Complimentary valet when dining. Special valid Sep 28, 2017 - Oct 29, 2017 on Thursdays - Sundays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Galvez Bar & Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (16)
Waterfront (14)
Scenic View (13)
See All
Sunday Lunch (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Special Occasion (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Good for a Date (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Romantic (7)
People Watching (6)
Casual (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Live Music (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Fun (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Cozy (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Live Sports (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Seasonal (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Vegan (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Authentic (1)
Business Meals (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Organic (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
414 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Great Prime rib special, will head down again this next weekend

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Service was poor!
Our waitress was inattentive and was lacking in ambition and in over all people skills. We felt ignored. Unfortunately for her that reflected on her tip. I am a generous tipper 20-25% and I struggled to give her a minimum 10%.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
·Dined on October 5, 2017

outstanding service by miguel. food was excellent. appreciated part of proceeds going to hurricane relief

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 5, 2017

The restaurant was open and nicely lite. The service was great and checked back several times to ensure that everything was fine. We were there for the prime rib special and the prime was tender and juicy. We will definitely be back to this restaurant again.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 1, 2017

We went for the $22 Prime Rib Special benefitting Harvey relief. It was fantastic. I highly recommend. This special is available Thursday thru Sunday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Staff was very attentive. Food was great in a beautiful setting.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, People Watching, Live Music, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Love the Galvez. Food wasn't great but our waitress not so great.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Always a "5" in my book! Thank you for the opportunity to be a part of your "Galveston Gives Back" dining on Friday; September 29, 2017. Prime rib was the best! Coffee and conversation were great and the live jazz music was very relaxing. Thanks again for a great experience!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 17, 2017

This was supposed to be the best brunch place in Galveston (it may be but certainly not comparable to the Houston brunch options). I must say we were disappointed. The food was very good but this is a buffet and felt like a cattle call. We had reservations but had to wait in a line of well over 50 people to get seated. The server did not know how to get us a bottle of Champagne that was not included with the buffet. They finally were able to make this work but was not easy to get done. Actually had to go get the manager to be able to open the cabinet. I would not recommend this for a special occasion. If you are in a large group it might be ok.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Great way to start the day. Celebrated our 29th year of marriage with a tremendous brunch. ❤️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Obviously the storm had just passed, but it was our anniversary and we wanted to do something nice, so dinne at the Galvez seemed right. The food was amazing, the waitress was not. I'm guessing she was not actually a waitress. We asked for a drink menu, twice, and were given a card out of her book with a list of beer/liquor, not not an actual drink menu, so I ended up not getting a beverage at all. The food came, and although we were only one of three tables, no one could be found to correct an issue for 6 minutes. I'm hoping that our next visit back will be better as the food/atmosphere was wonderful!

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Delicious well presented buffet. Well worth a trip to experience the lovely old Hotel Galvez and the amazing buffet spread.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Amazing brunch selection and Attentive service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

The food tasted great and the ambience was befitting for our 12 th year anniversary just being in the hotel we got married at. The only problem we faced was a mouse running back and forth in the booth across from us. That scared the wife and also gave a bad taste in our mouth for some great tasting food. Then after we notified the staff, one of the waiters sat a woman and her son in that booth in spite of all of the seating available and there was plenty. The manager moved that family to a different booth and put a table cover over that table and the one next to it with reserved signs on them. He also had a pest control company place a trap u see the table but our of the view of customers.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

I was a little disappointed that our original seat by a window was given to a couple that arrived before us and asked to switch. So we were stuck behind a wall. Also, I was cut in line by quite a few gentlemen at the prime rib station and ended up having to fight to keep my spot. The gentlemen in front of me were very picky about their pieces of meat so when I got up, I wasn't picky and the woman handed me an almost all fat piece of meat. Even my boyfriend said he would not eat that. The waitress was nice, but I overheard her talking about TripAdvisor to get more money...I am in the Guest Service Industry and a Trainer/Consultant and that is not very professional. Our waitress was also definitely on island time taking her time to make rounds. But overall I did truly like it and I absolutely love the Galvez. Thank you for a good Sunday Brunch. A little pricey for the quality though...

Tags: People Watching, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Sunday Brunch is incredible! The food is very fresh and tasty, not like most buffets! Many options from oysters, crab, shrimp, lox, prime rib, ham, pastas, omelettes, waffles, and much more! The creme brulee was the best ever! Our table did not have a view, so that was disappointing. We made reservations several days prior, so I guess I should have requested a view. Other areas we walked through looked beautiful. Wish we didn't have to drive home after brunch, or we would have enjoyed those bottomless mimosas! Overall, great food!

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 30, 2017

First time visiting the Hotel Galvez & we were not disappointed! Brunch was amazing, staff was excellent! It is a great experience!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

The Caesar salad was comprised of whole romaine leaves with salad dressing and Parmesan at their base. I did not know if I should dip each leaf by hand into the dressing or cut them all and toss in the dressing. The waiter did not know either, but commented others had complained/asked about the dish. The shrimp gumbo was tasty.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 24, 2017

My sisters and mother and I had a late lunch at this establishment. The onion soup was excellent and the shrimp poor boy was good. The club sandwich and the quesadilla were passable. I believe we would have enjoyed the experience more if we had not be fighting the flies the entire meal. When we complained about the flies we were told that it was normal for the area. We will not be going back to this restaurant to eat again.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Classic elegance with contemporary menu, high quality ingredients, and courteous service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Beautiful venue and great menu. Service was print and food was delicious. Would recommend for dinner or lunch for higher end dining.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Everything exceeded our expectations. Endless mimosas. The food was delicious. Great and friendly service. Will definitely go back for more.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Noise was an issue. For a while after we arrived, there was no music and it was great. Then, they began blaring this hideous music. Our not-so-attentive waiter didn't seem too interested in our opinion on the subject. He was most interested in getting us out so they could seat someone else. Of course, that didn't keep them from tacking on a 20% tip on the bill automatically (even though I had written in a 10% tip, considering the service we got had the fact that it was a buffet). This was not our first time, but will probably be our last time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Amazing brunch. Perfect breakfast. Best part is the dessert table!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 2, 2017

The Sunday brunch at Hotel Galvez is to die for! We always make it a point to have Sunday brunch there every time we go to Galveston.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on July 2, 2017

The food was good, but not sure it was worth the hassle & I don't like waiting in long lines.

We stayed at the Tremont & drove to the Galvez after we checked out of the Tremont. That was a HUGE mistake. Took 15 minutes to find a parking spot & had a 10-15 minute walk back to the hotel, unless you are willing to fork out another $18 plus tips for the valet.

They need to set up the lines better. It took 10 minutes to go through the line. The food I wanted was almost to the end of the buffet & waiting in line for 10 minutes is just too long.

I think if you are staying at the Galvez then the buffet would be a better deal. At $43 per person plus tax & tipping $22.00 to the wait staff (that was my fault) that only brings you drinks is a bit pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 2, 2017

4th of July holiday time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Great Sunday Buffet. Service was great as well as the food. Left so stuffed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Our experience at the Galvez Sunday brunch is consistently outstanding. I live in Houston and while we have many very good places for brunch, the Galvez Sunday brunch is the number one of all. The diversity and quality of the food is superb and the service consistently good.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 23, 2017

The brunch was great. The gentleman at the omlette/waffle station was very sweet. The fruit was perfectly ripe. The bloody mary was good & spicy. Our waitress was making sure we were taken care of. I would definitely go back the next time I am down there.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Love the wide variety and choices of food. Polite and tentative service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Ofcourse the atmosphere of the Galvez was awesome along with the valet services a plus, but since I was last there for brunch 1 1/2yrs. ago it seems that the choices of food items has lessened & the quality of the food is not as good. The waiter assigned to our table was not attentive, we sat without refills , water & mimosas, for long periods of time when I finally seen her again I whispered to her that she should keep her eyes on our drinks as the other waiters were doing with their tables, it went smoother after that, almost bothersome. I & another in my party are not sure if we will come back again for brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Terrible service. Cold coffee, without coffee spoons. Slow service. Had to ask for everything, the waitress did not anticipate even the simple things, like replacing used silverware. Plates were stacked up on the end of our table most of the time. When we left, my main course plate was still sitting beside our dessert plates. This place is too nice for mediocre, fast-food style service!

The hotel also lost power (not their fault, storm hit), but unfortunately, while the lobby got lighting and a/c, the a/c never kicked on in the arboretum and it got really hot! This did not help our experience. It was supposed to be the awesome end to my daughter's sweet sixteen weekend. Not impressed.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Decided to dine here for historic purposes. Very disappointed. Service was terrible. I had to get place setting from next table as had no silverware when appetizer came. Food just ok but not what we thought from advertisement. This is mostly a bar scene with food and not an evening dining in my opinion. We will choose one of the neighboring chains on our next visit.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Endless mimosas, great service and many delicious food choices for Sunday brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 3, 2017

There was no one in the restaurant. We asked for a lemon piccata sauce for our fish and they charged us an additional $5.00. I am not accustomed to restaurants charging me extra for a sauce like this and the fish was dry. I think they have a ways to go before I would recommend this restaurant. The waiter was good and professional but the food was disappointing.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Excellent brunch. Many options from pasties, waffle bar, freshly made omelets, apple wood smoked bacon/sausage, eggs benedict, smoked salmon, crab legs, oysters on the half shell, assorted veggie options, pastas, mashed potatoes, prime rib, roasted pork and many assorted desserts, not to mention never ending mimosas!!! Seating in bar area for single diners with live piano player. About $45 + gratuity. Excellent value, quality with touch notch service. My champagne glass was never empty. Beautiful, historic hotel.

Tags: Organic, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Live Music, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Vegan, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 23, 2017

First I would like to preface this by saying that we were here for Easter Brunch and it was excellent. So good, in fact, that we decided to return the next weekend. Big mistake, should have stayed away. We had reservations for 11:15 AM, arrived at 11:05, valet'd the car and went inside to find that there was a long line to check in. 11:25 we finally arrived at the check-in stand. It only got worst after that, everything was a line, we finally abandoned the thought of getting to the salad/cold bar and went to the pasta and omelet stations. Went back, line still out the restaurant so went to the roast beef station.
The cause, apparently, was that the hotel entertained a wedding party using the buffet as the meal, obviously, this overwhelmed the inadequate preparations of the buffet team. If they had prepared the same as they did for Easter Sunday this would have been avoided. Will I be back? Probably not if I find a line to talk with the hostess.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 23, 2017

This was our second time for the Sunday brunch. The first time it was excellent all the way round. Food, service, experience, ambiance. This time the food was still excellent, but this was overshadowed by the horrible set up and experience. We had a reservation for 1100 and arrived a little before 1100. There was already a huge line of folks just waiting to check in. They did not even begin checking folks in until a few minutes after 1100, thus, we were not even seated until almost 1130. I cannot imagine why they could not begin taking names as folks arrived?? And then just call them when their table was ready like at any other restaurant? One staff member told me it is because they seat the reservations as they check in, but take the names of the walk-ins. That still makes no sense to me if you don't start that process until 1100. This also completely threw off the pacing of the buffet, leaving it virtually empty for the first 30-40 minutes, and then completely backed up with lines out the door after that, literally waiting 20 minutes in the food line before getting to the main table. And this then is what makes it not worth the cost... with an 1100 reservation, you should have time to to get through the buffet several times before your parking expires at 1... but not so! The first time (since we were seated by 1130) there was no wait at all and barely anyone in the buffet yet, but when we went up again, it was the 20 minute wait. I will say that the last time we were there we had a much later reservation, and that by the time we left today (just before 1) it was running smoothly with no crazy back ups, so this may just be an issue of the morning. The food is good, but the poor organization just makes it not worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.