About Galvez Bar & Grill

2024 Seawall Boulevard
Galveston, TX 77550
View Larger Map

Galvez Bar & Grill is the go-to restaurant for local seafood as well as cocktails. Galvez Bar & Grill features fresh seafood from Galveston’s Pier 19, steak, Po Boys, award-winning Gumbo, salads and a variety of bar bites including filet mignon sliders and flatbread pizzas. Its Sunday Champagne Brunch is a top choice for Open Table users and was named as one of the top 100 brunch restaurants in the U.S.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Southwest, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Breakfast: Monday - Saturday: 6:30am - 11:00am, Sunday: 6:30 a.m. - 10:30 a.m.

Cross Street:
21st Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(409) 515-2145

Website:
http://www.hotelgalvez.com/dining.aspx

Entertainment:
Jazz Duo on Friday and Saturday evenings and pianist during Sunday Brunch from 11am-2pm.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet and parking in north lot when dining.

Executive Chef:
Bobby Ross

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Ghost Tour Dinners offered on the second Thursday of the month at 6p.m. Advance reservations required.

Galvez Bar & Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Houston
Best Ambiance
Galveston
Special Occasion
Galveston
2 More
Seafood
Galveston
Most Booked
Galveston
Best Restaurants in Galveston ›

Great for Brunch (27)
Special Occasion (26)
Good for Groups (14)
See All
Fit for Foodies (11)
Scenic View (11)
Romantic (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Fun (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Good for a Date (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Waterfront (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
People Watching (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
Newest
310 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Cobb salad was horrible, only pale and w ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Cobb salad was horrible, only pale and white iceberg lettuce, stale bacon bits sprinkled sporadically as all other ingredients were just sprinkled on top. Asked to be served with vinegar and oil. Only oil was some olive/soybean blend (not real olive oil) and they didn't have any balsamic vinegar in the restaurant. "Shrimp and grits" was nothing like the description on the menu, the shrimp was all battered and fried over a deep fried polenta "square" and then covered with some sort of jambalaya-like sauce--nasty. Only club sandwich was good, but if you can't get a club sandwich right, might as well be at McDonalds.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3

Nice setting, doesnt even seem like your ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Nice setting, doesnt even seem like your on Galveston Island. Staff was nice but sometimes were slow to check on us.

Tags: Fun, Afternoon Tea, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Romantic, People Watching, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

An abundant Sunday brunch and unlimited ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

An abundant Sunday brunch and unlimited mimosas in a historic hotel. A bit pricey ($42 PP) but lovely for a special occasion or elegant treat. There was a great variety of delicious food and service was attentive without being overbearing.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous Sunday Brunch. Just about ever ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Fabulous Sunday Brunch. Just about every imaginable food, all deliciously prepared and presented. Oysters on the half shell, fresh pasta station, omelet station, carved to order prime rib and a whole room full of desserts. Plus the bottomless mimosas!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I treat my friend for her Birthday and s ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I treat my friend for her Birthday and she loved it The food and the music made it so special

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome brunch!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Awesome brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Bad food, didn't get some things that we ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Bad food, didn't get some things that we'd ordered, and the hot dishes arrived cold -- just bad food. Bad ambience - felt like we were in a cool hotel with a Denny's stuck in the middle of it. People in shorts and flip flops allowed in and kids running around - it would be okay for a hotel lunch or breakfast restaurant but not for a supposedly nice and relatively expensive dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

We were seated up against a wall with no ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We were seated up against a wall with no space at a tiny table. The buffet was crowded, and it was difficult to find what you wanted...spoons, bowls, etc. The price was high based on the quality of the food served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

The Sunday Brunch is fantastic! If you g ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The Sunday Brunch is fantastic! If you go away Hungary it is your own fault!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall great. We found that the pasta b ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Overall great. We found that the pasta bar was cold for every one including the table next to us. Dirty plates and silverware too. Our waitress was amazing. Food and mimosa's were ok.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

I went to the Galvez Bar & Grill before ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

I went to the Galvez Bar & Grill before a trip to the theatre. The food was very good. I had a salad and fish tacos. It was light and yummy. Perfect.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Champagne brunch with a Country Club fla ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Champagne brunch with a Country Club flair. Wait staff was slow, but food excellent.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

The Sunday brunch buffet was phenomenal. ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The Sunday brunch buffet was phenomenal. There were so many choices, from traditional breakfast to seafood to prime rib, pretty much everything was delicious, and the selection was incredible. Also, mimosas are included with the buffet. Need I say more.

Minor gripes: I really wanted biscuits and gravy, and they only had biscuits. I survived. Also, the service wasn't great. I know it was a buffet, but for the cost of the buffet (I believe it's $45/person), I would expect refills on my drink. We had to chase down our waitress multiple times to ask for things like coffee refills and our check. We actually had to ask for the check 3 times before we got it, and it took an hour for her to bring it to us. That was a little frustrating, but again, we survived, and the extra hour of waiting gave our stomachs time to make some room for another plate.

It was the perfect end to my bachelorette weekend, and arguably a pretty good solution for a hangover. I'd do it again.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value2

"Anniversary" was written on our reserva ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

"Anniversary" was written on our reservation card. The hostess never said anything about our anniversary nor did she explain the food stations as other staff did. Our waitress was amazing other than she never mentioned our anniversary either. The food was outstanding. We were sat a window table overlooking the gulf. The view was fantastic. My husband and I had a great time and enjoyed the wonderful food.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Kinda quiet with a live piano+ bass jazz ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Kinda quiet with a live piano+ bass jazz duo at the bar that was very nice. Great kids accommodations being the hotel's every meal restaurant. They gave us a table with a nearby spot to stash the stroller, dedicated kids menu, they ate free. We were surprised that the wine list had so many moderately priced options, convinced us to snag a bottle rather than just a glass. The food was great. The gumbo is excellent, non-okra, dark roux, without overcooked seafood.

The staff kinda disappears at times. Not complaining, we appreciated the slow pace and family time. Overall we had a great meal in a very nice hotel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good Was cold, greasy, undercooked and t ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Good Was cold, greasy, undercooked and tasteless. Presentaion was nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

even though made reservations had to wai ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

even though made reservations had to wait in line for over 20 min to get a table with people who had reservations and ones who didn't

they were nice when I talked to the manager but doesn't seem like anything will change

Makes it hard for elderly or those with physical problems that make the standing a long time hard

It was to celebrate a birthday and everyone seemed to have read it on the reservation (except hostesses) and wished him a happy birthday and made him feel special

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

It IS a great brunch. Awesome selection ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

It IS a great brunch. Awesome selection - all inclusive. The problem is timing it right, and we timed it all wrong. We had 11:30am appointment, but due to the lack of decent cab service in Galveston or regular shuttle service between Wyndham properties, we were around 10 minutes later. When we got there, the line to check-in a little over 10 minutes long, so checked in around 11:52am. Then we waited another 10+ minutes in the buffet line.

By 12:45pm, there was no line at all. I think if you hit it right at 11am, or wait until 12:30pm or later, then you will have a great experience...

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Both mine and my wife's birthday. Was w ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Both mine and my wife's birthday. Was wonderful food at a beautiful hotel. We will return soon to dine.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is billed as one of the top 10 Sund ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

This is billed as one of the top 10 Sunday brunches in Texas and one of the top 100 in the country, far cry from it. It was more like a Golden Corral than an elegant special Hotel brunch. To begin with, the whole thing is very disorganized, long lines to check in, despite reservations, not enough staff to deal with the crowds. There are also long lines at the buffet, because it should be separated into stations instead of one long serving line. There are some people only wanting bread or salad or seafood, or perhaps wanting just hot items, but you have to wait in a long line of people stretching out into the hotel lobby. It is very unsanitary, food sitting out while people walk by and use their fingers which they are eating food and licking food while serving, I saw a young kid using her spoon to get ice cream from the scoop off and then licking her spoon and using it again on the public scoop. There should be a person serving it and there should be containers of hot water to dip them in, rather than just a plate. The seafood, was not of good quality, the desserts were not at all good, the hot food was more like what is served in a High School cafeteria, rather than a 4 diamond resort. Nannette gave us good service, and kept our glasses filled with Mamosas, but I kept seeing people taking plates back rather than getting fresh ones. The carving station ham was VERY Salty and the beef was fatty and tough. The fish was very fishy, I saw a lot of it remaining on plates. All in all, it was not worth the price and not at all one of the top Sunday brunches. If this is the best, I'd hate to see the worst. Very disappointed. It was also very noisy and lots of loud people. Not at all enjoyable. I would not recommend it at all. We also had dinner the night before in the restaurant, and the service was slow and the place very noisy, despite only a few people there, the food was OK but not at all what one expects from a 4 diamond resort. The 4 diamond rating is not deserved.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

Beautiful setup & delicious food.

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Beautiful setup & delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

Dinner was delicious.. Service was slow, ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Dinner was delicious.. Service was slow, and flies circled us throughout our whole meal.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

We brought our family and everything was ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We brought our family and everything was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I decided to make a reser ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

My husband and I decided to make a reservation on Open Table for the Galvez Grill. It has been probably 10 years since we have been there. It was amazing - just like we remembered. The newly upgraded decorations are wonderful but still keeping the nostalgia that comes with the memories of years gone by. I have to say, the key-lime pie was amazing! Thank you for making this a wonderful and absolutely memorable occasion.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You are missing out if you come to Galve ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

You are missing out if you come to Galveston and don't have brunch on Sunday at the Galvez! We have made this a yearly tradition. The are multiple rooms full of food, a very impressive seafood display with endless crab legs and your mimosa glass will never be empty. Highly recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were quite good. Nice w ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Food and service were quite good. Nice wine list at reasonable prices. I marked experience down to a 4 because of two annoying flies that would not go away.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Nice dinner, nothing particularly special

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

We were staying at the Galvez, and had driven for 4-5 hours returning from Corpus Christie. We were looking for an above average restaurant, with a nice wine list.

Well... I'd say that the menu didn't particularly wow me, and I settled for a Ceasar Salad with Blackened Shrimp. My husband had the special for the night, a blackened snapper. Both were good. Not fantastic (we're foodies) but Very good. Drinks were good, the wine list was OVER PRICED. I simply can't see paying 5 times the retail for a bottle of wine.

Overall.. food was good, well prepared, but nothing really stood out, one way or another. Service was great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Make sure to request a table next to a w ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Make sure to request a table next to a window if your reservation is for two. Service was mediocre at best. Had to get my own silver ware from waiter station. Food was pretty good. Mimosas were terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2

Awesome brunch.

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Everything about this brunch is awesome. The only thing that I was a little disappointed with was the fact that the food is all set up in a narrow hallway which creates a lot of long lines. I would suggest that the food be positioned in different stations to allow people who are interested in only one particular type of food to get that food without having to stand in a long line that provides access to everything at one time.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Perfect for birthdays!

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Hostess decorated table and even delivered a birthday card for my husband. It made the meal very special!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful old hotel

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Beautiful old hotel- service very good- food was fine not exceptional.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Untrained staff, overcooked fish

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Went here on Mother's Day weekend. Mom and I each ordered the Red Snapper market special. Fish arrived dry and overcooked. Told the waiter and he brought tartar sauce. Should have sent it back. A trained staff would never let this happen. Stick with beef or pasta, I don't think

they have properly trained chef's for fish preparation or we got them on a bad night....but on

Mother's Day weekend?? C'mon Galvez, you can do better.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

Biscuit

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

The quality of the food selections was outstanding for a buffet. We thoroughly enjoyed the made to order omelet station. The waffles were great. The eggs benedict were tasty with plenty of hollandaise. The cold seafood selections were fresh and well prepared. The beef was good, but a bit overdone for our preference. The ham was tender and juicy. Desserts were awesome. Our server, David, was attentive and kept our drinks filled at all times.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice atmosphere

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Food and service excellent... But they don't adhere to dress code of smart casual as advised on website. Too many baseball caps and t shirts.. Even a woman in Texans jersey..at Sunday brunch!!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Girls Weekend in Galveston

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

We reserved for Sunday Brunch at the Galvez as part of the Galveston Food and Wine Fest. The experience was a nice wrap up to a wonderful weekend of great food and wine and meeting Chef Irvine and Rob Walsh. The brunch at the Galvez was just what you would expect, wonderful salads, prime rib, baked ham, salmon, chicken, crab, shrimp, omelet station, waffle station and a room full of desserts. Accompanied by mimosas it was a prefect brunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best brunch around

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Perfect brunch spot for special occasions, Valentine's Day, or just because. Great selection of seafood and brunch items, and service is above and beyond. I've been twice, and it just keeps getting better!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Dining Experience

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Wonderful Saturday evening with superb service, lovely atmospere and impressive food. Since we were staying at the hotel, we could have gone anywhere in Galveston for dinner. I'm so glad we stayed "in" for the evening. The hotel is grand and the restaurant lives up to the same status in quality. A more casual style makes it comfortable for anyone to enjoy, and the adjoining bar area with live music provides enjoyable background music - but not too loud to distract. A great evening!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Coolbeans

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Love, love, love the Sunday Brunch. Buffet is plentiful with good variety in selections including omelets, waffle and craving stations.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice location with a small menue (which ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Nice location with a small menue (which is a positive) as it indicates they make it fresh. Service was friendly, knowledge on food and beverages could be improved. The wine list is very basic

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Galveston getaway

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

The Galvez Bar & Grill ha a great atmosphere, the food was delicious to my taste buds and appealing to the eyes. The staff was awesome, they took care of our every need. The view is awesome, not mention it is located inside a 5 star luxury hotel. We had a perfect lunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.