About Galvez Bar & Grill

2024 Seawall Boulevard
Galveston, TX 77550
View Larger Map

Galvez Bar & Grill is the go-to restaurant for local seafood as well as cocktails. Galvez Bar & Grill features fresh seafood from Galveston’s Pier 19, steak, Po Boys, award-winning Gumbo, salads and a variety of bar bites including filet mignon sliders and flatbread pizzas. Its Sunday Champagne Brunch is a top choice for Open Table users and was named as one of the top 100 brunch restaurants in the U.S.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Southwest, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Breakfast: Monday - Saturday: 6:30am - 11:00am, Sunday: 6:30 a.m. - 10:30 a.m.

Cross Street:
21st Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(409) 515-2145

Website:
http://www.hotelgalvez.com/dining.aspx

Entertainment:
Jazz Duo on Friday and Saturday evenings and pianist during Sunday Brunch from 11am-2pm.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet and parking in north lot when dining.

Executive Chef:
Bobby Ross

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Ghost Tour Dinners offered on the second Thursday of the month at 6p.m. Advance reservations required.

Galvez Bar & Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Houston
Best Ambiance
Galveston
Best Value
Galveston
2 More
Scenic View
Galveston
Special Occasion
Galveston
Best Restaurants in Galveston ›

great for brunch (33)
special occasion (29)
good for groups (16)
See All
scenic view (14)
fit for foodies (13)
romantic (8)
kid-friendly (7)
great for lunch (6)
neighborhood gem (5)
hot spot (4)
notable wine list (3)
vibrant bar scene (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
294 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

even though made reservations had to wai ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 4 days ago

even though made reservations had to wait in line for over 20 min to get a table with people who had reservations and ones who didn't

they were nice when I talked to the manager but doesn't seem like anything will change

Makes it hard for elderly or those with physical problems that make the standing a long time hard

It was to celebrate a birthday and everyone seemed to have read it on the reservation (except hostesses) and wished him a happy birthday and made him feel special

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

It IS a great brunch. Awesome selection ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 4 days ago

It IS a great brunch. Awesome selection - all inclusive. The problem is timing it right, and we timed it all wrong. We had 11:30am appointment, but due to the lack of decent cab service in Galveston or regular shuttle service between Wyndham properties, we were around 10 minutes later. When we got there, the line to check-in a little over 10 minutes long, so checked in around 11:52am. Then we waited another 10+ minutes in the buffet line.

By 12:45pm, there was no line at all. I think if you hit it right at 11am, or wait until 12:30pm or later, then you will have a great experience...

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Both mine and my wife's birthday. Was w ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Both mine and my wife's birthday. Was wonderful food at a beautiful hotel. We will return soon to dine.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is billed as one of the top 10 Sund ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

This is billed as one of the top 10 Sunday brunches in Texas and one of the top 100 in the country, far cry from it. It was more like a Golden Corral than an elegant special Hotel brunch. To begin with, the whole thing is very disorganized, long lines to check in, despite reservations, not enough staff to deal with the crowds. There are also long lines at the buffet, because it should be separated into stations instead of one long serving line. There are some people only wanting bread or salad or seafood, or perhaps wanting just hot items, but you have to wait in a long line of people stretching out into the hotel lobby. It is very unsanitary, food sitting out while people walk by and use their fingers which they are eating food and licking food while serving, I saw a young kid using her spoon to get ice cream from the scoop off and then licking her spoon and using it again on the public scoop. There should be a person serving it and there should be containers of hot water to dip them in, rather than just a plate. The seafood, was not of good quality, the desserts were not at all good, the hot food was more like what is served in a High School cafeteria, rather than a 4 diamond resort. Nannette gave us good service, and kept our glasses filled with Mamosas, but I kept seeing people taking plates back rather than getting fresh ones. The carving station ham was VERY Salty and the beef was fatty and tough. The fish was very fishy, I saw a lot of it remaining on plates. All in all, it was not worth the price and not at all one of the top Sunday brunches. If this is the best, I'd hate to see the worst. Very disappointed. It was also very noisy and lots of loud people. Not at all enjoyable. I would not recommend it at all. We also had dinner the night before in the restaurant, and the service was slow and the place very noisy, despite only a few people there, the food was OK but not at all what one expects from a 4 diamond resort. The 4 diamond rating is not deserved.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

Beautiful setup & delicious food.

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Beautiful setup & delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

Dinner was delicious.. Service was slow, ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Dinner was delicious.. Service was slow, and flies circled us throughout our whole meal.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

We brought our family and everything was ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We brought our family and everything was excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I decided to make a reser ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

My husband and I decided to make a reservation on Open Table for the Galvez Grill. It has been probably 10 years since we have been there. It was amazing - just like we remembered. The newly upgraded decorations are wonderful but still keeping the nostalgia that comes with the memories of years gone by. I have to say, the key-lime pie was amazing! Thank you for making this a wonderful and absolutely memorable occasion.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You are missing out if you come to Galve ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

You are missing out if you come to Galveston and don't have brunch on Sunday at the Galvez! We have made this a yearly tradition. The are multiple rooms full of food, a very impressive seafood display with endless crab legs and your mimosa glass will never be empty. Highly recommend!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were quite good. Nice w ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Food and service were quite good. Nice wine list at reasonable prices. I marked experience down to a 4 because of two annoying flies that would not go away.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Nice dinner, nothing particularly special

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

We were staying at the Galvez, and had driven for 4-5 hours returning from Corpus Christie. We were looking for an above average restaurant, with a nice wine list.

Well... I'd say that the menu didn't particularly wow me, and I settled for a Ceasar Salad with Blackened Shrimp. My husband had the special for the night, a blackened snapper. Both were good. Not fantastic (we're foodies) but Very good. Drinks were good, the wine list was OVER PRICED. I simply can't see paying 5 times the retail for a bottle of wine.

Overall.. food was good, well prepared, but nothing really stood out, one way or another. Service was great.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Make sure to request a table next to a w ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Make sure to request a table next to a window if your reservation is for two. Service was mediocre at best. Had to get my own silver ware from waiter station. Food was pretty good. Mimosas were terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2

Awesome brunch.

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Everything about this brunch is awesome. The only thing that I was a little disappointed with was the fact that the food is all set up in a narrow hallway which creates a lot of long lines. I would suggest that the food be positioned in different stations to allow people who are interested in only one particular type of food to get that food without having to stand in a long line that provides access to everything at one time.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Perfect for birthdays!

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Hostess decorated table and even delivered a birthday card for my husband. It made the meal very special!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful old hotel

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Beautiful old hotel- service very good- food was fine not exceptional.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Untrained staff, overcooked fish

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Went here on Mother's Day weekend. Mom and I each ordered the Red Snapper market special. Fish arrived dry and overcooked. Told the waiter and he brought tartar sauce. Should have sent it back. A trained staff would never let this happen. Stick with beef or pasta, I don't think

they have properly trained chef's for fish preparation or we got them on a bad night....but on

Mother's Day weekend?? C'mon Galvez, you can do better.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

Biscuit

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

The quality of the food selections was outstanding for a buffet. We thoroughly enjoyed the made to order omelet station. The waffles were great. The eggs benedict were tasty with plenty of hollandaise. The cold seafood selections were fresh and well prepared. The beef was good, but a bit overdone for our preference. The ham was tender and juicy. Desserts were awesome. Our server, David, was attentive and kept our drinks filled at all times.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice atmosphere

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Food and service excellent... But they don't adhere to dress code of smart casual as advised on website. Too many baseball caps and t shirts.. Even a woman in Texans jersey..at Sunday brunch!!

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Girls Weekend in Galveston

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

We reserved for Sunday Brunch at the Galvez as part of the Galveston Food and Wine Fest. The experience was a nice wrap up to a wonderful weekend of great food and wine and meeting Chef Irvine and Rob Walsh. The brunch at the Galvez was just what you would expect, wonderful salads, prime rib, baked ham, salmon, chicken, crab, shrimp, omelet station, waffle station and a room full of desserts. Accompanied by mimosas it was a prefect brunch.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best brunch around

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Perfect brunch spot for special occasions, Valentine's Day, or just because. Great selection of seafood and brunch items, and service is above and beyond. I've been twice, and it just keeps getting better!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Dining Experience

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Wonderful Saturday evening with superb service, lovely atmospere and impressive food. Since we were staying at the hotel, we could have gone anywhere in Galveston for dinner. I'm so glad we stayed "in" for the evening. The hotel is grand and the restaurant lives up to the same status in quality. A more casual style makes it comfortable for anyone to enjoy, and the adjoining bar area with live music provides enjoyable background music - but not too loud to distract. A great evening!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Coolbeans

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Love, love, love the Sunday Brunch. Buffet is plentiful with good variety in selections including omelets, waffle and craving stations.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice location with a small menue (which ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Nice location with a small menue (which is a positive) as it indicates they make it fresh. Service was friendly, knowledge on food and beverages could be improved. The wine list is very basic

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Galveston getaway

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

The Galvez Bar & Grill ha a great atmosphere, the food was delicious to my taste buds and appealing to the eyes. The staff was awesome, they took care of our every need. The view is awesome, not mention it is located inside a 5 star luxury hotel. We had a perfect lunch.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Best brunch anywhere! Amazing, fresh foo ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Best brunch anywhere! Amazing, fresh food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Total disappointment

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

This is a buffet. I generally stay away from buffets because they feature quantity versus quality. This was no exception. The Belgian waffle bar had toppings such as sprinkles and chocolate chips...no strawberries--and only melted butter! There was a giant vat of white stuff that looked like whipped Crisco, and apparently we weren't the only ones who questioned the mystery mountain as it was undisturbed when we left. Perhaps it was supposed to be whipped cream? The snapper was very overcooked and tough, and the sauce tasted like a reconstituted powder. The pastries, including desserts, all looked (and the ones I tried) tasted like they were purchased from a big box store. The carved beef was tough and tasteless. The food was completely unremarkable. The only thing that looked good was the custom omelette bar, but the line was incredibly long. The service was no different. We took four trips to the buffet, and two of those times we had to bus our table ourselves. The signs on several of the foods were wrong. There were no serving utensils in several of the items the whole time we were there. It was $100 with tip for two people. I've travelled with the kids' sports teams to those chain restaurant "golden" buffets and was much more impressed with the food, the service, and the price.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Valentines Brunch

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

This was a special occasion for us and the Galvez Brunch did not disappoint. Great service, very attentive waitress and the food was terrific. Kitchen staff was constantly checking the serving line to be sure that everything was there and fresh

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentine's Day brunch

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Wonderful food selection, extremely friendly staff, gorgeous view and definitely worth the price. We'll be back and have highly recommended the Galvez to our friends!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Brunch at the Galvez

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Can't beat it, the best brunch in the area, fantastic food, great service, great view and ambience.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect Valentines Brunch

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Great place for our valentines brunch. It was a first time visit for both of us. The selection was amazing, there were choices we wouldn't think were available for a brunch. Loved the dessert table and the waffle bar. Also, the unlimited mimosas were great!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Still Stuffed

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

Amazing definitely the best buffet I have been to. Everything was fabulous. I would not recommend this to families with hyper children.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Too crowded today.

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

We visit Galvez for brunch sometimes. Today it was extremely crowded. Long lines to the buffet. :(

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Great brunch

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on January 10, 2016

Every time my nephew visits from New York, he wants to do brunch at the Galvez. Food selection is outstanding. Food is well-presented and well-prepared. Atmosphere is great. You will not leave hungry!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We do the Sunday Brunch about once a year.

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

We prefer to experience Galveston on the off season. It's a special time most don't know about. The Galvez Bar & Grill Sunday brunch makes our visit special. There was a time when champagne brunch was a staple at the finer hotels. The Galvez Bar & Grill keeps that tradition alive.

Our server, Cassandra was a delight and attended to our every need. The gentleman greeting guest at the front door is a Galvez treasure. The pianist was great and knew just the right kind of music to play to enhance the experience.

We will return. Maybe even during peak season.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Galvez Treat

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

Our first time eating at the Bar and Grill at the Galvez and it won't be our last. Our waiter was very cordial and efficient. The food choices were many and varied, made it hard to make a decision. We did begin with the Campechana which is one of the best I have ever tasted, and the portion size was very ample. Then my husband headed for the gumbo which was tasty. I tried the shrimp poboy. Yum! Great shrimp, great bread, great sauce. We had wine with dinner, some good choices there.

We will try dessert another time, when we have room for it. All in all, a nice easily paced evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food; terrible service

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Dined on NYE. Service started out great and then went downhill quickly! Food was great. Atmosphere is interesting as the restaurant is practically in the hotel lobby.

Tags: romantic, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Great experience with 1 sad miss

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on December 13, 2015

Brunch was great -good food, good selection and good service. Oysters on the half shell was great, but ran out half way thru the brunch. The one miss that's not excusable for a restaurant of this caliber is that the misspelled the name on the reservation card, which the lady who led us to the table left it 'proudly' on the table with the last name as 'Wrong' instead of Wong!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Although I gave the food 5 stars, the En ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on December 13, 2015

Although I gave the food 5 stars, the English muffin in the Eggs Benedict was too hard to cut and we were there early. But since the egg was perfect, that compensated for the English muffin. Service was impeccable.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Still The Best in Galveston

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on November 15, 2015

we have been eating the brunch at the Galvez for what seems like forever; at least 20 years or longer. The food has always been superb and the selections countless. when we want to celebrate a special occasion or event, Sunday Brunch at the Galvez is where we go. Awesome!!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Galvez the service was exceptional

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on November 1, 2015

Galvez the service was exceptional people friendly and courteous the whole experience was delightful in short great value for money Galvez the service was exceptional people friendly and courteous the whole experience was delightful in short great value for money

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.