About Galletto Ristorante

1101 J St.
Modesto, CA 95354
View Larger Map

Galletto Ristorante is located amid the vitality of Modesto, California's newly renovated downtown. They specialize in providing inspired cuisine, impeccable service and unparalleled indoor and outdoor facilities for an intimate dinner or a large party. Uniquely designed to answer the needs of their private and professional community for exceptional dining and meeting experiences, Galletto Ristorante brings together the elements you are looking for.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday- Friday 11:30am to 9:00pm
Saturday 4:30pm to 9:00pm
Sunday 4:00pm to 9:00pm
Happy Hours: Monday-Friday 2:00pm to 7:00pm

Cross Street:
11th St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(209) 523-4500

Website:
http://www.galletto.biz/

Catering:
Call Special Events at 209-523-3165 or visit our website www.galletto.biz

Parking Details:
Parking lot located at corner of 11th & K streets.

Executive Chef:
Michael Goularte

Private Party Facilities:
The restaurant has several rooms available for medium to large parties. Please call for details or visit our website.

Private Party Contact:
Special Events: 2095234500x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Rooms available: Family Room, Sala, Vault, Vine Arbor, Bocce Terrace and Off-site locations.

Restaurant Photos

Dirty Stoli Martini - Galletto Ristorante, Modesto, CA
Center Cut Sirloin Steak - Galletto Ristorante, Modesto, CA
Pink Grapefruit Sorbet - Galletto Ristorante, Modesto, CA
Italian Cheese And Cold Cut Platter With Siscilian Olives - Galletto Ristorante, Modesto, CA
Black Sea Bass On Corn Relish - Galletto Ristorante, Modesto, CA
Gnocchi - Galletto Ristorante, Modesto, CA
Prociutto Wrapped Wild Mushroom Risotto - Galletto Ristorante, Modesto, CA
The Leaning Leprechaun - Galletto Ristorante, Modesto, CA
Fuzzy Pirate - Galletto Ristorante, Modesto, CA
Carbonara - Galletto Ristorante, Modesto, CA

Galletto Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Special Occasion
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Most Booked
Modesto
Best Restaurants in Modesto ›

Special Occasion (21)
Good for a Date (21)
Romantic (17)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Business Meals (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Cozy (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Authentic (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Scenic View (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Family Style (3)
Healthy (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Historic (2)
Casual (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
People Watching (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Fireplace (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great Beer (1)
Fun (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Seasonal (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
611 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It's been a long time since I've eaten h ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 3 days ago

It's been a long time since I've eaten here. I had heard from friends that it was too pretentious, but I am glad that I decided to take a friend there for a special birthday lunch because the service was very good. They did forget to do the personalize menu, not a big thing, but it was their suggestions when I made the reservation, so I expected them to follow through. Everything else went smoothly. Our server was attentive. The butternut squash ravioli was very good. I think that I would like to see about arranging a larger gathering at Galleto Ristorante; perhaps I can change some minds about this restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My wife and I went here for our annivers ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined 5 days ago

My wife and I went here for our anniversary and it was absolutely amazing. The restaurant itself was beautiful and so relaxing. The staff made our night extra special with happy anniversary menus, champagne, and a very special happy anniversary desert. The food, the drinks, and the service were all amazing. This will be our new anniversary location from now on.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was served with tasteful appearance ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Food was served with tasteful appearance and the quality was excellent.

Tags: People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Casual, Good for Groups, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We celebrated our 10 year anniversary he ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 14, 2016

We celebrated our 10 year anniversary here. The food was delicious and the service was great. We are definitely coming back for another great meal soon.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went here with my husband for purchase ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 13, 2016

I went here with my husband for purchase anniversary to try somthing out of our normal in reasrunts. We booked reservations earlier that day to insure a table. We arrived at the restaurant and where sitter right away. The staff awnsered all our questions. The food was fresh tasting, cooked to perfection. They also have a superb wine selection. We would recommend to all our friends family now.

Tags: Scenic View, Healthy, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

we were very pleased with the bar maid a ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 10, 2016

we were very pleased with the bar maid and our dinner. would return.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Overall it was a nice dinning experience ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Overall it was a nice dinning experience. Being it was a Monday night and on Halloween the restaurant was not very crowded. Which was nice as we could comfortably carry on a conversation with out having to yell. Many restaurants can be so noisy that you can't have a nice conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Excellent location, food and service. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Excellent location, food and service. Great for business meals

Tags: Cozy, People Watching, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was great! Food was ok, nothing ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Service was great! Food was ok, nothing special for the price. Salad was very basic, pasta was under cooked.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Absolutely perfect! Atmosphere, food, se ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Absolutely perfect! Atmosphere, food, service - all excellent and I highly recommend it if you are planning to be in or near downtown Modesto.

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Business Meals, Authentic, Special Occasion, Private Room, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the best place to dine in Modest ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 19, 2016

This is the best place to dine in Modesto.

Servers friendly. Food tasty. Excellent wine list.

Solid bar.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Galletto is awesome, the food was absolu ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Galletto is awesome, the food was absolutely wonderful, from preparation to presentation, very pleasing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely loved the food, service was g ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Absolutely loved the food, service was great, and the restaurant is beautiful! The only thing I was disappointed in was when I made a reservation I put on there that it was my husbands birthday and when the restaurant called to confirm we talked about how it was my husbands birthday. I was a little disappointed that the waitress didn't say happy birthday or that they didn't do anything special.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Let me start by saying I have high expec ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Let me start by saying I have high expectations from this restaurant as one of the best in The Modesto area. I have been here before and thoroughly enjoyed the meal., but this time was different. The restaurant was very busy so some of these observations may result from that. We arrived early for our reservation and ended up getting the table closest to the kitchen access door. Lots of foot traffic so it was not a peaceful location. Our waiter was not familiar with the menu, wine list (which Galletto's is known for), and we had long gaps in between courses. The food was good. We had the calamari appetizer (Fritto Misto) which had calamari, green beans, red onion and olives all deep fried. A surprisingly tasty treat. I had the Galletto salad, a Caesar salad and the waiter asked if I wanted anchovies with that. Traditional Caesar dressing has anchovies mixed in so I thought I would go traditional. The salad arrived with two anchovies gracefully poised on the top. Yeah, not what I had envisioned so they sat on the side. Our main courses were the pappardelle (wide pasta with a pesto and sausage sauce) and the puttanesca bucatini (pasta with tomato sauce and chili flakes). Both dishes were good but not what I would have expected from Galletto's. The setting is beautiful and the wine list is impressive. Just disappointed with the quality of service and the average food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Staff was very friendly, speedy and cons ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Staff was very friendly, speedy and considerate. I was there to celebrate my anniversary with my wife and we were very please with the complimentary dessert. Food was delicious and the atmosphere was great!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter "Josh" was AWESOME!

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Our waiter "Josh" was AWESOME!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

It was my boyfriend's birthday celebrati ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 25, 2016

It was my boyfriend's birthday celebration and they treated him well. Nice exerience!

Tags: Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Fun, Healthy, Good for a Date, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We dine at Galletto's often. Always a ve ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We dine at Galletto's often. Always a very nice experience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was good as always although this ti ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Food was good as always although this time we had to send back my wife's filet as it was to chard and we both order medium rare. Mine came perfect and tasted great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We felt very welcome and taken care of. ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We felt very welcome and taken care of. The food was very good. Smaller portions which I appreciate. I wanted to try everything!

Tags: Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I loved the meat and cheese ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on September 13, 2016

My wife and I loved the meat and cheese tray. The New York Strip Steak was good. The "full" size of pasta was pretty small. Tasty but small. Our server was the least good part. She chewed gum and generally seemed less .... refined.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Surprisingly excellent food and service. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Surprisingly excellent food and service. Volume of music was too much but otherwise perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was Amazing and Waiter made us feel ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Food was Amazing and Waiter made us feel like we were VIP's!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time my parents went and they love ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on August 14, 2016

First time my parents went and they loved it! It was their 25th anniversary and they were fascinated by the place. They enjoyed every part of the event, food, service. Thank you very much.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After requesting possible vegan entrees ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on August 7, 2016

After requesting possible vegan entrees when making reservation, nothing was readily available. Other food was attractively served, but mediocre. Service was extremely slow, and other guests arriving after us were served before us. Total experience was a disappointment for guests coming from San Francisco for the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Food was outstanding. The farm to fork ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Food was outstanding. The farm to fork philosophy is spot on. Service was good and didn’t miss a beat.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was very slow, the server to ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 6, 2016

The service was very slow, the server took a long time to take drink orders and subsequently our meal order. When did come for drink orders she never asked anyone at the table if they wanted anything other than the wine we brought even though three people didn't drink wine. We sat down at 6:15 and didn't get our meal until 7:40 even though the waitress knew we were going to a local event. She asked us when we sat down so we felt comfortable that our almost two hours we had at the restaurant would be enough. Instead we had to engulf our food. She then had the nerve to ask if we wanted dessert or anything else when she knew we were late and seemed annoyed when we said that we needed our bill. Besides the service everyone liked the flavor except one pasta with a pesto type sauce which was more like a glib of cheese and way too much garlic. I have been there a few times and enjoyed it but not sure if I will go back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value3

The food was great. Our waitress was ru ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 31, 2016

The food was great. Our waitress was rude and we received horrible service. Waited about 20 minutes to even get water. We almost walked out.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

The hostess made fun of the spelling of ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 29, 2016

The hostess made fun of the spelling of my not-so-common name when I made my reservation. This was an odd way to encourage a customer to come to a restaurant. In addition to this, the food was exceptionally disappointing. The fritto misto was good, but the beet salad seemed like the beets, cheese, and walnuts were being rationed. The beet salad was comprised of mostly very tough kale greens with two extremely small beets sliced and just a four or five tiny bits of cheese. The last thing that was very disappointing was the risotto that had an odd tang to it, lacked flavor, and seemed overly crunchy. I expected a much better tasting meal for the price. It seemed like the key ingredients were being rationed. I will not be returning to Galletto Ristorante in the future. There are much better places for Italian food in this town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

Seated right away by friendly hostess. ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 27, 2016

Seated right away by friendly hostess. Great food and service. Server knowledgeable about the menu and specials. Great atmosphere. Met up with an old friend that was in town. She loved the place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Service was excellent as they made our s ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on July 21, 2016

Service was excellent as they made our son's 21st birthday dinner wonderful!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great! I cannot express ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Everything was great! I cannot express how the night went. The food was out of this word. I would highly recommend Galleto's!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an early dinner before catching a ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 13, 2016

We had an early dinner before catching a movie on a Tuesday evening. When we arrived, there was one other customer--a single dining by himself. It seemed to me that the service could have been more prompt given we were the only ones in the place who were placing an order but that aside, the wait staff was friendly and provided decent service. The food was good; my husband had the trout special which he devoured before before I could snag a bite--he enjoy it very much. I went with the pesto parpadelle and it was excellent. We split a scoop of their oatmeal raisin gelato for dessert and it really did taste like an oatmeal cookie!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Wonderful atmosphere and food. Everyone ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on June 21, 2016

Wonderful atmosphere and food. Everyone raved about their dinner and dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Definitely worth your money and your tim ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 15, 2016

Definitely worth your money and your time. We had a great experience here for a 20 year work anniversary and really enjoyed ourselves.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had the pesto risotto and it was delish! ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on June 14, 2016

Had the pesto risotto and it was delish! Service was amazing and great time with my friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Just a very nice place with very good co ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on June 2, 2016

Just a very nice place with very good constant food great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dinning experience

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on May 22, 2016

We really enjoyed our self. We were fitted right away. Waiter's were very attentive , but not overbearing. The risotto was amazing, what a great cheese sauce. We will differently be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place, never disappoints!

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 6, 2016

This restaurant never disappoints. Great service and excellent menu. They have my favorite appetizer foie gras and wine Rambauer. Great specials. I had the Halibut and it was delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was very cold, and it took them ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 30, 2016

The food was very cold, and it took them a long time to bring the food out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.