Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

About Galletto Ristorante

Galletto Ristorante is located amid the vitality of Modesto, California's newly renovated downtown. They specialize in providing inspired cuisine, impeccable service and unparalleled indoor and outdoor facilities for an intimate dinner or a large party. Uniquely designed to answer the needs of their private and professional community for exceptional dining and meeting experiences, Galletto Ristorante brings together the elements you are looking for.

1101 J St.
Modesto, CA 95354
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday- Friday 11:30am to 9:00pm
Saturday 4:30pm to 9:00pm
Sunday 4:00pm to 9:00pm
Happy Hours: Monday-Friday 2:00pm to 7:00pm

Cross Street:
11th St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(209) 523-4500

Website:
http://www.galletto.biz/

Catering:
Call Special Events at 209-523-3165 or visit our website www.galletto.biz

Parking Details:
Parking lot located at corner of 11th & K streets.

Executive Chef:
Michael Goularte

Private Party Facilities:
The restaurant has several rooms available for small to medium to large parties. Please call for details or visit our website at www.galletto.biz

Private Party Contact:
Special Events: (209) 523-3165

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Rooms available: Family Room, Sala, Vault, Vine Arbor, Bocce Terrace and Off-site locations.

Galletto Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (21)
Good for a Date (20)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
See All
Special Occasion (20)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Open Kitchen (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Business Meals (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Cozy (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Casual (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Private Room (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Wood Oven (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Historic (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Scenic View (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Healthy (3)
Authentic (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Fireplace (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Fun (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Family Style (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Tapas (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Seasonal (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
692 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food was great, but I think I ate so much I felt sick afterwards.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Loved the quinoa salad with fried avocado. Only downside to restaurant was old cracking wall bordering our booth.

Tags: Healthy, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Food was good but the service was extremely slow for as empty as the restaurant was, probably only two other small tables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Excellent food with an outdoor European patio ambiance. We had delicious crispy Calamari, lemon, fennel, and olives. I had a salad. My husband had pate and oysters. The pizza crust was crispy and light with Burrata Mozzarella. We had delicious creamy peanut butter chocolate semi freddo. I highly recommend Gallettos for any occasion.

Tags: Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Tapas, Afternoon Tea, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Very attentive server! Filet melted in your mouth. Great walking to Gallo....
Little pricey !

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 20, 2017

We enjoyed this restaurant very much. We had dinner here before a concert at Gallo Theater. This place was great, food and service. We only had one complaint. It was very cold. The air conditioning was on and it was uncomfortably cold. It was only 62 degrees outside so we weren't sure why they had it so cool.
Two of us had Crab Louie. Normally served with asparagus, avocado and lots of hard boiled egg. They came without much ingredients EXCEPT plenty of crab, and it was very very good. One and the halibut and it was excellent. One had the lasagne and said it was very good. Overall a great experience and we would return if in the area.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Great Friday stop for appetizers and drinks. Sat on couches in lounge. Very relaxing after a long work week. Service was excellent!

Tags: Wood Oven, Tapas, Historic, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Ashley and support team performed
There tasks flaulessly. Also displayed a good sense of humor. We do our best to go there for all our special occations. Kudos to entire staff

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Me and my wife came to Galletos for a date night. The service was great. The food was amazing. Our cocktails were perfect. We had cappuccinos for dessert and they were fantastic. It wasn't the first time we came but a positive review was overdue.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Cozy, Fun, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Best Risotto in town. Great location. Easy parking. Consistently good.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Menu items were seasonal and enticing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Great Service from Fredy he was very attentive and appreciated his recommendations. on wine and food.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

What a beautiful restaurant! The food was great and so was the atmosphere. We sat in the outdoor section and saw that they had a bocce ball court. Our waiter was very thoughtful and attentive. I recommend this place for anyone looking for a great place to eat on special occasions.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Very pleasant evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on March 9, 2017

My wife and I celebrated our wedding anniversary. We even got a nice menu with a "Happy Anniversary " note. We both loved everything. Our waitress was great since minute one until the end. Definitely coming back 🙂

Tags: Authentic, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 6, 2017

My daughter and son in law visited us so we took them here for dinner... we were showed to a lovely booth, which is what we prefer! A plus

We were not too hungry so we skipped apps and ordered main courses right away...men ordered the steak fillet and my daughter had chicken carbonara and I had the sausage dish... the guys loved the steak. The chicken was swimming in heavy carbonara sauce and my sausage came on a bed of navy beans? Was ok but didn't complement the sausage which was grilled ... not a great choice after all.

You may want to skip the latter two if ordering from their dinner menu.

We also brought a bottle of wine with us, the corkage was 20 dollars ... okay.... these guys own Gallo winery... umm can they be a tad generous to us locals who dine there???

Mixed feelings for now... and as for the waiter, he kept forgetting our requests for tea, mocktail, lemons etc.... will wait to go back again! Perhaps they will pull up their socks in regards to all these comments, who knows... we like to support the local downtown eating establishments... but .....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Excellent food. I had the chiopino and my wife had the filet. both were excellent as was the beet salad. The Manhattans were also excellent.

Tags: Private Room, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Wood Oven, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Truly wonderful experience. Our hostess, waiter, & waitress was absolutely great. We showed up early to our reservation and they seated us immediately. When we seen the personalized menu stating our 17th anniversary was spectacular and added to the "pampering" we felt. We will return. Oh, and the food was delicious and cheaply priced too!

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Loved it amazing great Amazing customer service i will be back again food was on point....

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Authentic, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Historic, Fun, Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We go often, it's about a block from the Gallo Center for the Arts. Parking not an issue, great food. The antipasto (salumi) is a must for us. Mark was a terrific server!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Never a disappointment.

Had the calamari, crab louie salad, and the lobster linguine. It was to die for! Going back soon!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Molecular Gastronomy, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Perfect in every way! Really enjoyed dinner - it was delicious!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Private Room, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Took a shot on OpenTable for this restaurant - did not expect to find such a nice place with really good food in Modesto. We both enjoyed our dinner and then went to Gallo Center for concert. Would like to do this again sometime soon.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Everything was great, from the food to service. We had a very memorable evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I am consistently disappointed by this restaurant. I paid $130 for a fish stick dinner last night that was advertised as Alaskan Cod. Long John Silvers makes a better fish stick. Never going back to this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great value and great atmosphere. Service was very good and the food was great. It would have been nice to have more dinner choices. I would have like more pasta dishes.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Private Room, Great for Brunch, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The service was great
the food was phenomenal
and the atmosphere was excellent

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Nice simplistic atmosphere with class. The food was great. A lot of seafood dishes in season at the time of this posting. Service was on par with the best. Make a reservation!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 14, 2017

First time coming, even though I work and live close, chose it cause I wanted fancy Italian. The ambiance was great, even impressed my hard to impress husband, Loved the old music always loved Dean Martin. Started with some great focaccia bread with olive oil/vinegar to dip in. Went whole hog with sharing seared scallops for antipasti, never had them before, my husband said they were cooked perfectly, he got potato leek soup and I got the wedge salad, both were great. Ribeye for him with seasoned fries and lobster fettuccine for me, came with sqid ink pasta with a brandy cream sauce. Ended with tiramisu and a peanut butter cake dish. All was wonderful but I don't like paying separately for soup or salad, should come automatically with the dinner. Total price with ice tea to drink $132 for dinner for two. (Plus tip) 😀

Tags: Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Good food as always. The hostess could have been a little less snooty

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Incredible food, always something special and we enjoying trying new dishes. Fabulous drinks and everyone treats you first class! One of our favorites for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great dinner before the show at Gallo ! Service and food was wonderful ! Atmosphere very warming and inviting! Will be back again for sure:)

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 1, 2017

We had a private room and it was great!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 30, 2017

It was great out waitress was very attentive and helpful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Have always enjoyed Galletto's. We were a bit disappointed in the food, portions seemed to be lacking. Menu selections limited.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 20, 2017

I am not impressed with this restaurant. The new menu was limited for choices to eat. The service was so slow. Restaurant had 6 tables but it took 2hours for lunch. Our server was nice and attentive. Ridiculous amount of time. I do not like to go there. Food not that great.

Tags: Private Room, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Food was very good. Drinks were also very good. Mark was a knowledgeable and excellent waiter. Table cloths would be nice. Fun evening as usual.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Casual, Open Kitchen, Wood Oven, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great service; good food; high prices. Also, it's hard to find parking.

Tags: Happy Hour, Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We were pleasantly surprised. We booked this restaurant because it was within walking distance to The Gallo Center. We had a great meal and everything tasted amazing except the dessert was not that notable. I highly recommend the risotto and beer salad! Service was very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Sort of empty before George Winston concert, hostess sat us near kitchen entry. Asked her why and she said she didn't know, so moved us to a booth. Experience improved, place has definitely lost the appeal but manageable. Menu is definitely tired nothing creative but my meal was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.