About Galletto Ristorante

1101 J St.
Modesto, CA 95354
View Larger Map

Galletto Ristorante is located amid the vitality of Modesto, California's newly renovated downtown. They specialize in providing inspired cuisine, impeccable service and unparalleled indoor and outdoor facilities for an intimate dinner or a large party. Uniquely designed to answer the needs of their private and professional community for exceptional dining and meeting experiences, Galletto Ristorante brings together the elements you are looking for.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday- Friday 11:30am to 9:00pm
Saturday 4:30pm to 9:00pm
Sunday 4:00pm to 9:00pm
Happy Hours: Monday-Friday 2:00pm to 7:00pm

Cross Street:
11th St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(209) 523-4500

Website:
http://www.galletto.biz/

Catering:
Call Special Events at 209-523-3165 or visit our website www.galletto.biz

Parking Details:
Parking lot located at corner of 11th & K streets.

Executive Chef:
Michael Goularte

Private Party Facilities:
The restaurant has several rooms available for medium to large parties. Please call for details or visit our website.

Private Party Contact:
Special Events: (209) 523-4500

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Rooms available: Family Room, Sala, Vault, Vine Arbor, Bocce Terrace and Off-site locations.

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Dirty Stoli Martini - Galletto Ristorante, Modesto, CA
Center Cut Sirloin Steak - Galletto Ristorante, Modesto, CA
Pink Grapefruit Sorbet - Galletto Ristorante, Modesto, CA
Italian Cheese And Cold Cut Platter With Siscilian Olives - Galletto Ristorante, Modesto, CA
Black Sea Bass On Corn Relish - Galletto Ristorante, Modesto, CA
Gnocchi - Galletto Ristorante, Modesto, CA
Prociutto Wrapped Wild Mushroom Risotto - Galletto Ristorante, Modesto, CA
The Leaning Leprechaun - Galletto Ristorante, Modesto, CA
Fuzzy Pirate - Galletto Ristorante, Modesto, CA
Carbonara - Galletto Ristorante, Modesto, CA

Galletto Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (23)
Special Occasion (20)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
See All
Romantic (15)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Cozy (8)
Open Kitchen (8)
Business Meals (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Authentic (4)
Private Room (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Healthy (3)
Seasonal (3)
Family Style (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Casual (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
People Watching (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Fireplace (2)
Historic (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great Beer (1)
Fun (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
656 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was very good. Drinks were also ver ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was very good. Drinks were also very good. Mark was a knowledgeable and excellent waiter. Table cloths would be nice. Fun evening as usual.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Casual, Open Kitchen, Wood Oven, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service; good food; high prices. A ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Great service; good food; high prices. Also, it's hard to find parking.

Tags: Happy Hour, Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Sort of empty before George Winston conc ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Sort of empty before George Winston concert, hostess sat us near kitchen entry. Asked her why and she said she didn't know, so moved us to a booth. Experience improved, place has definitely lost the appeal but manageable. Menu is definitely tired nothing creative but my meal was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

We were pleasantly surprised. We booked ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

We were pleasantly surprised. We booked this restaurant because it was within walking distance to The Gallo Center. We had a great meal and everything tasted amazing except the dessert was not that notable. I highly recommend the risotto and beer salad! Service was very good!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Phenomenal. The servers are great and th ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Phenomenal. The servers are great and the food is like art, both visually stunning and delicious.

Tags: Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my hubby for his birthday. He was d ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Took my hubby for his birthday. He was disappointed no lasagna but loved his filet. My risotto was excellent.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Lovely birthday dinner. The seared scall ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Lovely birthday dinner. The seared scallops appetizer was perfect!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not impressed at all especially for the ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Not impressed at all especially for the price per person and portion sizes! Not very great for a dinner menu with only one thing to choose from! Prime rib was medium asked for blood rare, not tasty at all, minestrone soup was vegetable soup with only 3 croutons barely Parmesan and barely had any potatoes with the prime rib! Drinks over priced for the basic alcohol drink! Service was nothing to brag about and atmosphere was cold n not cozy or scenery to write home about! Very dissatisfied with it all especially the price for a dissatisfied meal n cocktail!!! Will never go back or recommend! Get a new cook n servers!!! Might have better turn over!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Waiter named Marc... was the worst. Ask ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Waiter named Marc... was the worst. Asked for 6 different wines they were out of, wound up ordering by the glass and had one. Two main appetizers were out as well... As far as Im concerned, Marc owes me a refund on two dinners. I should have stiffed him on the tip but gave 15% anyway.. Its Christmas Time... normally good for 25-30% on tips. Waiter set a bad tone, had a bad attitude, never smiled. Finally had to ask what they did have so we could order.. He didnt have a clue we were not happy! BOB

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Nice atmosphere for a date night, good f ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Nice atmosphere for a date night, good food and great service. In walking distance of the Gallo Center.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

We go to Galleto's for birthdays and our ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on December 7, 2016

We go to Galleto's for birthdays and our anniversary. My wife has Celiac Sprue and there are always gluten free options. We had the Filet and substituted the horseradish mashed red potatoes with roasted red potatoes, I had seasoned fries, with roasted brussel sprouts. When we have a special occasion Galletto's is our go to place.

Tags: Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

It's been a long time since I've eaten h ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 2, 2016

It's been a long time since I've eaten here. I had heard from friends that it was too pretentious, but I am glad that I decided to take a friend there for a special birthday lunch because the service was very good. They did forget to do the personalize menu, not a big thing, but it was their suggestions when I made the reservation, so I expected them to follow through. Everything else went smoothly. Our server was attentive. The butternut squash ravioli was very good. I think that I would like to see about arranging a larger gathering at Galleto Ristorante; perhaps I can change some minds about this restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My wife and I went here for our annivers ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 30, 2016

My wife and I went here for our anniversary and it was absolutely amazing. The restaurant itself was beautiful and so relaxing. The staff made our night extra special with happy anniversary menus, champagne, and a very special happy anniversary desert. The food, the drinks, and the service were all amazing. This will be our new anniversary location from now on.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was served with tasteful appearance ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Food was served with tasteful appearance and the quality was excellent.

Tags: People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Casual, Good for Groups, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We celebrated our 10 year anniversary he ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 14, 2016

We celebrated our 10 year anniversary here. The food was delicious and the service was great. We are definitely coming back for another great meal soon.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went here with my husband for purchase ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 13, 2016

I went here with my husband for purchase anniversary to try somthing out of our normal in reasrunts. We booked reservations earlier that day to insure a table. We arrived at the restaurant and where sitter right away. The staff awnsered all our questions. The food was fresh tasting, cooked to perfection. They also have a superb wine selection. We would recommend to all our friends family now.

Tags: Scenic View, Healthy, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

we were very pleased with the bar maid a ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 10, 2016

we were very pleased with the bar maid and our dinner. would return.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Overall it was a nice dinning experience ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Overall it was a nice dinning experience. Being it was a Monday night and on Halloween the restaurant was not very crowded. Which was nice as we could comfortably carry on a conversation with out having to yell. Many restaurants can be so noisy that you can't have a nice conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Excellent location, food and service. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Excellent location, food and service. Great for business meals

Tags: Cozy, People Watching, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was great! Food was ok, nothing ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Service was great! Food was ok, nothing special for the price. Salad was very basic, pasta was under cooked.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Absolutely perfect! Atmosphere, food, se ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Absolutely perfect! Atmosphere, food, service - all excellent and I highly recommend it if you are planning to be in or near downtown Modesto.

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Business Meals, Authentic, Special Occasion, Private Room, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the best place to dine in Modest ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 19, 2016

This is the best place to dine in Modesto.

Servers friendly. Food tasty. Excellent wine list.

Solid bar.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Galletto is awesome, the food was absolu ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Galletto is awesome, the food was absolutely wonderful, from preparation to presentation, very pleasing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely loved the food, service was g ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Absolutely loved the food, service was great, and the restaurant is beautiful! The only thing I was disappointed in was when I made a reservation I put on there that it was my husbands birthday and when the restaurant called to confirm we talked about how it was my husbands birthday. I was a little disappointed that the waitress didn't say happy birthday or that they didn't do anything special.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Let me start by saying I have high expec ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Let me start by saying I have high expectations from this restaurant as one of the best in The Modesto area. I have been here before and thoroughly enjoyed the meal., but this time was different. The restaurant was very busy so some of these observations may result from that. We arrived early for our reservation and ended up getting the table closest to the kitchen access door. Lots of foot traffic so it was not a peaceful location. Our waiter was not familiar with the menu, wine list (which Galletto's is known for), and we had long gaps in between courses. The food was good. We had the calamari appetizer (Fritto Misto) which had calamari, green beans, red onion and olives all deep fried. A surprisingly tasty treat. I had the Galletto salad, a Caesar salad and the waiter asked if I wanted anchovies with that. Traditional Caesar dressing has anchovies mixed in so I thought I would go traditional. The salad arrived with two anchovies gracefully poised on the top. Yeah, not what I had envisioned so they sat on the side. Our main courses were the pappardelle (wide pasta with a pesto and sausage sauce) and the puttanesca bucatini (pasta with tomato sauce and chili flakes). Both dishes were good but not what I would have expected from Galletto's. The setting is beautiful and the wine list is impressive. Just disappointed with the quality of service and the average food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Staff was very friendly, speedy and cons ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Staff was very friendly, speedy and considerate. I was there to celebrate my anniversary with my wife and we were very please with the complimentary dessert. Food was delicious and the atmosphere was great!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter "Josh" was AWESOME!

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Our waiter "Josh" was AWESOME!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

It was my boyfriend's birthday celebrati ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 25, 2016

It was my boyfriend's birthday celebration and they treated him well. Nice exerience!

Tags: Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Fun, Healthy, Good for a Date, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We dine at Galletto's often. Always a ve ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We dine at Galletto's often. Always a very nice experience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was good as always although this ti ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Food was good as always although this time we had to send back my wife's filet as it was to chard and we both order medium rare. Mine came perfect and tasted great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We felt very welcome and taken care of. ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We felt very welcome and taken care of. The food was very good. Smaller portions which I appreciate. I wanted to try everything!

Tags: Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I loved the meat and cheese ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on September 13, 2016

My wife and I loved the meat and cheese tray. The New York Strip Steak was good. The "full" size of pasta was pretty small. Tasty but small. Our server was the least good part. She chewed gum and generally seemed less .... refined.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Surprisingly excellent food and service. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Surprisingly excellent food and service. Volume of music was too much but otherwise perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was Amazing and Waiter made us feel ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Food was Amazing and Waiter made us feel like we were VIP's!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time my parents went and they love ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on August 14, 2016

First time my parents went and they loved it! It was their 25th anniversary and they were fascinated by the place. They enjoyed every part of the event, food, service. Thank you very much.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After requesting possible vegan entrees ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on August 7, 2016

After requesting possible vegan entrees when making reservation, nothing was readily available. Other food was attractively served, but mediocre. Service was extremely slow, and other guests arriving after us were served before us. Total experience was a disappointment for guests coming from San Francisco for the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Food was outstanding. The farm to fork ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Food was outstanding. The farm to fork philosophy is spot on. Service was good and didn’t miss a beat.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was very slow, the server to ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 6, 2016

The service was very slow, the server took a long time to take drink orders and subsequently our meal order. When did come for drink orders she never asked anyone at the table if they wanted anything other than the wine we brought even though three people didn't drink wine. We sat down at 6:15 and didn't get our meal until 7:40 even though the waitress knew we were going to a local event. She asked us when we sat down so we felt comfortable that our almost two hours we had at the restaurant would be enough. Instead we had to engulf our food. She then had the nerve to ask if we wanted dessert or anything else when she knew we were late and seemed annoyed when we said that we needed our bill. Besides the service everyone liked the flavor except one pasta with a pesto type sauce which was more like a glib of cheese and way too much garlic. I have been there a few times and enjoyed it but not sure if I will go back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value3

The food was great. Our waitress was ru ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 31, 2016

The food was great. Our waitress was rude and we received horrible service. Waited about 20 minutes to even get water. We almost walked out.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

The hostess made fun of the spelling of ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 29, 2016

The hostess made fun of the spelling of my not-so-common name when I made my reservation. This was an odd way to encourage a customer to come to a restaurant. In addition to this, the food was exceptionally disappointing. The fritto misto was good, but the beet salad seemed like the beets, cheese, and walnuts were being rationed. The beet salad was comprised of mostly very tough kale greens with two extremely small beets sliced and just a four or five tiny bits of cheese. The last thing that was very disappointing was the risotto that had an odd tang to it, lacked flavor, and seemed overly crunchy. I expected a much better tasting meal for the price. It seemed like the key ingredients were being rationed. I will not be returning to Galletto Ristorante in the future. There are much better places for Italian food in this town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.