Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 5 times today

Galletto Ristorante

4.3
812 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary Italian
Perfect For:
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasion
  • Pre/post Theatre
Located in lively downtown Modesto, California, Galletto Ristorante offers a seasonal Italian-inspired menu designed by executive Chef Michael Goularte with an emphasis on local farms and producers. The cuisine is complemented by an extensive list of wines, craft beers and signature cocktails. Enjoy impeccable service from our professional wait staff as you gather with friends and family in our beautiful dining room or dine al fresco on our covered Vine Arbor Patio. Galletto is the ideal venue for private dining events, cocktail socials, corporate meetings, baby showers and wedding receptions. Special events can be accommodated in one of our 3 private dining rooms, our Vine Arbor Patio and Bocce Court. We invite you to join us and experience an exceptional dining experience at Galletto Ristorante.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary Italian, Seafood, Steak
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Monday- Friday 11:30am to 9:00pm
Saturday 4:30pm to 9:00pm
Sunday 4:00pm to 9:00pm
Happy Hours: Monday-Friday 2:00pm to 7:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(209) 523-4500
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Michael Goularte
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
We offer full service catering. Call Special Events at 209-523-3165 or visit our website www.galletto.biz
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
11th St.
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Parking lot located at corner of 11th & K streets.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Rooms available: Family Room, Sala, Vault, Vine Arbor, Bocce Terrace and Off-site locations.
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 812 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.4
service
4.6
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Quiet
88% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Outstanding all the way around. Thank you.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 15, 2018

My husband and I have been going to Galetto's since they opened. I am extremely disappointed with the change in menu as it seems like it has become almost too fancy with over complicated dishes. Once we sat down and looked at the menu, I wanted to leave because the menu seems to have changed so much that nothing sounded appetizing. I am not even a picky eater, am willing to try new things, and will pay a high price for really great food. Despite this, the service was great and the ambiance at the restaurant is the same, which we also appreciate every time we eat here.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Quisine and attentiveness of our waiter was excellant...would highly recommend this establishment! Only disconcerting complaint was that the Maitre'd rushed us from our table at the end of our meal so that they could turnover our table...which kind of killed our overall "Prom Night" dining experience. I understand that there were other reservations following ours, but there definitely wasn't a table shortage that we could see, when we were approached about giving up our table. It kind of felt like we were just a couple of high school kids, and that it was ok to move us along.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Such a beautiful restaurant with a lot of nice foods to choose from. Perfect for dates, special occasions, and small get togethers with friends.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 7, 2018

The quality of the food was excellent. I ordered the special, Half Rack of Lamb. I asked waiter before ordering how many ribs, he said four. When served it was three ribs. We brought in our own wine, we don't mind a corkage and expect it but then waiter poured wine on top of different wine, not good. He should have a least waive corkage for one bottle. We were seated inside at an interior table but one of the seats at the four seat table was up close to an interior column, we asked for the table next to this one and they gladly obliged but we should not have been offered the table in the first place. Yes I will return. Yes I recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Busy, beautiful place. Very good service and nice food selection

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

It was my first experience dinning at Gallettos. My wife has dined here before but I had not. We where celebrating our 21 st wedding anniversary so I thought I would give it a try. It was easy to go online and make reservations for my preferred time and I received a confirmation phone call a few hours later. Parking was good we where able to park close even though it was prime dinner time. We where seated right away and given complimentary glasses of champagne and both the host and server greeted us with "happy anniversary ". The menus also had the occasion printed on the top, I thought was a nice touch. The server was very friendly and helpful. The food was reasonably priced and the quality of my filet was outstanding. My wife ordered the New York and hers was outstanding as well. The portions where perfect and the flavor was delicious. My overall experience was great and I have already recommended this restaurant to my co-workers. I will definitely be dining again soon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

The food was amazing and the staff was wonderful! I can’t wait to go back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Been eating at Galletto's for years. Consistently high quality food and service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

The service and our dinner was excellent! We thoroughly enjoyed the presentation and atmosphere of this downtown restaurant. We had the salmon, the New York Harris Ranch steak, and the Carbonara pasta. It is the place to dine and enjoy a leisurely dinner.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Food was decent. We had the Fritto Misto appetizer, Citrus salad, Rustica pizza and the house special which was Shrimp pasta which a pesto Alfredo sauce. The citrus salad and Rustica pizza was amazing. The Fritto Misto and House special pasta seemed over seasoned with salt. We finished off the dinner with a Peanut Butter SemiFreddo and the drip coffee and Cafe Mocha. Our waitress forgot the Care Mocha! By the time she came by again, we were done with the dessert and just asked for the bill. Overall, it wasn’t a bad experience but left thinking i would rather have spent a little more money and went to DEWZ.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

We had a wonderful time . The employees went out of their way to make our daughter’s birthday evening one to remember. Their attention to detail made us feel welcomed and pampered! And the food was amazing! 5 stars all the way!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 14, 2018

Local favorite spot. The filet was unreal, could have cut it with a plastic fork.

Only complaint was there was no drawn butter for the crab and no creamy horseradish for the steak.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 12, 2018

Had dinner here after a concert at the Gallo Center--easy walking distance. We love the ambiance of this restaurant. It's an old bank and the kitchen is open to the restaurant with a gigantic copper hood. Very rustic Italian.
We are on the Keto diet, but the menu options were still good for us. And our server (I's sorry I can't remember her name) was very patient and helpful.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 1, 2018

Thinking it may be new management. We had a great meal and the service was exceptional.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 1, 2018

Great place for dinner before a show Gallo!
Nice bar, awesome service, great food !

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 27, 2018

I was dissapointed with our visit. It took a long time to receive our lunch and the place was not very busy and we waited even longer after ordering desert. The coffee drink was sour. I will not return for the price

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 26, 2018

I wanted a lovely Sunday night dinner, so back to Galletto I came. I had the house made sausage antipasto. Wonderful! The the Galletto salad. And the lasagna. I was going to stop with that, but the tiramisu called my name. It was magnificent. I definitely enjoyed it all.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

The service was top notch, the meal was outstanding, and we left looking forward to returning one of these days!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 22, 2018

We shared the sausage appetizer, beet salad, and short ribs. Truly an outstanding meal. We dine at Galletto every other month. We always have a positive experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Food was great! Very nice place for date night. Would definitely come again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

I’d had an upsetting day so I decided I wanted to treat myself to a very nice dinner and relaxation time. I started with the amazing bruschetta special (mascarpone, lemon and capers, with smoked salmon). They were wonderful. Then my favorite Galletto salad (with the anchovies). The the lasagna. I had the lasagna for the first time the last time I came to Galletto. It was the perfect comfort food for the evening. Rich, meaty, and satisfying. Wonderful evening. I also was lucky enough to have the wait person who is always so happy to see me. Just what I needed.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 16, 2018

Galletto's is a restaurant for all seasons. They have good food and a great ambiance. They are perfect for pre and post theater dining.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 15, 2018

Wine list expensive.
Gallo hearty burgundy should be replaced with some Gallo Sonoma choices. Poor choice of Craft Beer. Dust Bowl IPA was the only choice Offered . Also Menu needs additional description in English. Listing everything with Italian names probably adds to the ambiance but does little to impress.. South wall seating not very private. Dividers or booth arrangement would be much better for a so called special place to go. Prices are a little high and a more personal dining experience would be more sophisticated. The Galleto is upscale for Modesto, but it is still Modesto, No need to dress up here. Restaurant is nice but not really special.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 15, 2018

Valentine’s Day, very good food the restaurant was cold inside and the restrooms are up stairs, I had a cast on my leg so I was hoping not to have to do the climb, the waitress needs a little bit of training. The manager stopped by and greeted us very nice man. Overall over priced this was a special menu, ver good food but. It worth $200 for two people.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 11, 2018

Very slow service, cold restraunt , over cooked entree

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2018

I finally had the house lasagna! I’ve been looking at it on the menu for some time, but specials have pulled me away. But this time, it was what sounded right. It was absolutely amazing. Perfect homemade pasta. An amazing meat sauce that has filet and ribeye ground and cooked in it. I loved the atmosphere as always and the service is great and very friendly. It may be odd to comment on, but I used the restroom for the first time. I was so impressed there was an elevator to get to the second floor where they are located. And the restrooms lived up to the rest of the place. Great experience!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 9, 2018

SERVICE WAS FAIR.... OUR WAITRESS WAS NICE BUT SEEMED ANNOYED WITH ME (I WAS LATE AND PICKY :(
MY SISTER AND MOTHER ORDERED THE SAME ENTREE AND BOTH HAD OLD BREAD WITH VISIBLE MOLD ON IT. THE SANDWICH DID HAVE BASIL TYPE SAUCE, BUT I KNOW MOLD WHEN I SEE IT AND IT WAS DEFINITELY MOLDY BREAD. THEY WERE VERY NICE AND SWITCHED OUT THE ENTREE BUT DID NOT BELIEVE WHAT WE SAW ON THE BREAD TO BE MOLD.... IT WAS MOLD!! THEY SHOULD HAVE REMOVED THE 2 MOLDY ITEMS FROM OUR CHECK, BUT THEY DID NOT!! OUR ORDER AMOUNTED TO $209.00 FOR 4 PEOPLE AND THAT DOES NOT INCLUDE TIP.
I WILL NOT BE RETURNING! BUT THEY COULD HAVE HAD OUR ENTIRE PARTY AS RETURN CUSTOMERS IF THEY WOULD HAVE REMOVED THE ITEMS FROM OUR CHECK. CREDITING OUR CHECK FOR THE 2 MOLDY ITEMS WOULD HAVE POSITIVE EFFFECTS. WE WOULD HAVE RETURNED IN THE FUTURE FOR LUNCHES, DINNER AND SPECIAL OCCASIONS... I WOULD HAVE TOLD FRIENDS, NEIGHBORS AND FAMILY MEMBERS OF OUR EXPERIENCE AND HOW AWESOME THEY WERE TO HAVE REMOVED THE ITEMS FROM OUR CHECK. THAT DID NOT HAPPEN AND WE WILL NOT RETURN.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 7, 2018

We celebrated my husband 50 th bday , the food was great, service was exelent , my only concern was ..... missing white table cloth.... it was disappointing and noticeable :(

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 3, 2018

Food was alright- maybe a little bland for our tastes- overall experience was good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 2, 2018

I came here for my birthday and absolutely enjoyed the experience! The food and service was amazing!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 25, 2018

Always fabulous and service attentive! Our favorite restaurant in Modesto!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 21, 2018

Our meal started off badly when, even with a reservation, they seated us next to the kitchen where my husband kept getting bumped as staff walked in and out. We could have and should have asked for another table, but we didn’t. We had tickets to a show downtown and this was one of the few places open on a Sunday evening. After this experience I am reminded why we haven’t been here in years. The menu was very odd for an Italian restaurant. Bread was adequate. Wine list overpriced. We both ordered the minestrone soup to start. A different staff member brought out two bowls of soup, but our waiter directed her to the table next to us. A few moments later the patrons at that table realized that they had the wrong soup. They had ordered the clam chowder. How they didn’t realize the difference between minestrone and clam chowder is beyond me, but that was the case. I ordered the chicken piccata and it was okay. However, the broccolini that came on the side was over cooked and the pasta was bland and flavorless. My husband ordered risotto. He said it was just okay. We ordered off of the bottom of the wine list and the tab was still $170. Way over priced for the quality of the food and service. Won’t return. We will go to our other favorite restaurants.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 21, 2018

The ambience was nice. The service was great! Waiter always made sure we were ok. The rest of staff were very helpful & polite as well. I’d go back for sure.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 13, 2018

As always, my wife and enjoyed a great evening. Service was impeccable.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 5, 2018

Typically, you can't go wrong with Galletto's. My swordfish just happened to be oversalted so I wasn't as happy with my meal. However, when I complained, the server took the dish and returned promptly with a new less salty dish. My husband loves the martini's and everything else is perfect there.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 4, 2018

Very dissatisfied with the flavors and presentations. Two appetizers, both very poorly executed. Four entrees; filet nice cut and cooked to order however sides totally flavorless! Roasted beet salad, zero flavor overall! Beets very tiny but no flavor, and the portion overall huge and no acid to help balance the dandelion greens. Risotto of the day so spiced with heat it was uncomfortable to eat! Margarita pizza overall the best item ordered. Salmon special was cooked to order but again the sides had zero flavor or season!! Beur Blanc had no season and was watery! Overall a terrible Birthday dinner! Dessert options were so poor we didn’t bother. Once again the lack of attention to portion, seasoning, and preparation has made it impossible to recommend. Prices are usual for the area.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2017

A wonderful place for a delicious New Year's Eve dinner!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2017

My wife and I went to Galletto for a New Year's Eve dinner arriving around 7:15 (we had a reservation for 7:30). We were seated immediately in the outer garden part of the restaurant. This section is much quieter for conversation, and there were plenty of heaters so we were very comfortable. The menu was fixed with prime rib, mashed potatoes, and grilled Brussel sprouts, with salad or soap as a starter, and tiramisu for dessert. The prime rib was outstanding (a very generous portion) as was the rest of the meal. The service was very prompt and gracious despite the large crowd. Overall a great experience!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2017

New Year’s fixed price three course dinner was wonderful. Prime rib was perfect. The puréed potatoes and celery root were lovely. Haven’t had celery root in some time and I really enjoyed it. Tiramisu was a surprise. I usually don’t like tiramisu. Lady fingers can be dry and it’s easily over alcoholed. This was wonderful. Silky smooth and creamy, I definitely ate the whole thing. Service was great as usual. Lovely New Year’s eve for me!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
21