Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

About Galletto Ristorante

Located in lively downtown Modesto, California, Galletto Ristorante offers a seasonal Italian-inspired menu designed by executive Chef Michael Goularte with an emphasis on local farms and producers. The cuisine is complemented by an extensive list of wines, craft beers and signature cocktails. Enjoy impeccable service from our professional wait staff as you gather with friends and family in our beautiful dining room or dine al fresco on our covered Vine Arbor Patio. Galletto is the ideal venue for private dining events, cocktail socials, corporate meetings, baby showers and wedding receptions. Special events can be accommodated in one of our 3 private dining rooms, our Vine Arbor Patio and Bocce Court. We invite you to join us and experience an exceptional dining experience at Galletto Ristorante.

1101 J St.
Modesto, CA 95354
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary Italian, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Monday- Friday 11:30am to 9:00pm
Saturday 4:30pm to 9:00pm
Sunday 4:00pm to 9:00pm
Happy Hours: Monday-Friday 2:00pm to 7:00pm

Cross Street:
11th St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(209) 523-4500

Website:
http://www.galletto.biz/

Catering:
We offer full service catering. Call Special Events at 209-523-3165 or visit our website www.galletto.biz

Parking Details:
Parking lot located at corner of 11th & K streets.

Executive Chef:
Michael Goularte

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Rooms available: Family Room, Sala, Vault, Vine Arbor, Bocce Terrace and Off-site locations.

Galletto Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

Noise

Quiet

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (27)
Romantic (24)
Special Occasion (24)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Notable Wine List (19)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Business Meals (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Good for Groups (11)
Cozy (10)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Casual (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Authentic (4)
Tapas (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Seasonal (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort by
S
778 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined 5 days ago

As always, my wife and enjoyed a great evening. Service was impeccable.

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 6, 2018

Typically, you can't go wrong with Galletto's. My swordfish just happened to be oversalted so I wasn't as happy with my meal. However, when I complained, the server took the dish and returned promptly with a new less salty dish. My husband loves the martini's and everything else is perfect there.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 5, 2018

Very dissatisfied with the flavors and presentations. Two appetizers, both very poorly executed. Four entrees; filet nice cut and cooked to order however sides totally flavorless! Roasted beet salad, zero flavor overall! Beets very tiny but no flavor, and the portion overall huge and no acid to help balance the dandelion greens. Risotto of the day so spiced with heat it was uncomfortable to eat! Margarita pizza overall the best item ordered. Salmon special was cooked to order but again the sides had zero flavor or season!! Beur Blanc had no season and was watery! Overall a terrible Birthday dinner! Dessert options were so poor we didn’t bother. Once again the lack of attention to portion, seasoning, and preparation has made it impossible to recommend. Prices are usual for the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 1, 2018

A wonderful place for a delicious New Year's Eve dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 1, 2018

My wife and I went to Galletto for a New Year's Eve dinner arriving around 7:15 (we had a reservation for 7:30). We were seated immediately in the outer garden part of the restaurant. This section is much quieter for conversation, and there were plenty of heaters so we were very comfortable. The menu was fixed with prime rib, mashed potatoes, and grilled Brussel sprouts, with salad or soap as a starter, and tiramisu for dessert. The prime rib was outstanding (a very generous portion) as was the rest of the meal. The service was very prompt and gracious despite the large crowd. Overall a great experience!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on January 1, 2018

New Year’s fixed price three course dinner was wonderful. Prime rib was perfect. The puréed potatoes and celery root were lovely. Haven’t had celery root in some time and I really enjoyed it. Tiramisu was a surprise. I usually don’t like tiramisu. Lady fingers can be dry and it’s easily over alcoholed. This was wonderful. Silky smooth and creamy, I definitely ate the whole thing. Service was great as usual. Lovely New Year’s eve for me!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Food was excellent and staff did a great job, but it took forever to get our food, we ordered at 6:30 and didn’t get our food until 7:45. Oh, food is pricey but very good. I would go back, hopefully they won’t make me wait as long.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on December 30, 2017

Staff was terrific; food was excellent! However, the prices were a little high.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2017

Birthday dinner,, very attentive,, the menu even said Happy Birthday,, so did the desert plate

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 27, 2017

Great service, classic bar, delicious meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 25, 2017

We had a wonderful Christmas Eve dinner. The food was excellent and we enjoyed the private dinning room we were seated in. My husband said we would be back for a date night.

Tags: Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on December 25, 2017

Christmas Eve Dinner. Restaurant was beautiful, service warm and welcoming and the food was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 23, 2017

Always an enjoyable experience. Great food and atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 22, 2017

We love Galletto Ristorante!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 20, 2017

Anniversary celebration. Greeted with Happy Anniversary by hostess and complimentary sparkling wines. We ordered the salmon bruschetta which was very good, split Caesar, chicken picatta(both very good) and steak which was amazing. I love the space (an old bank) and service was excellent. Great evening!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 19, 2017

The food was amazing and the atmosphere sophisticated and relaxing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 17, 2017

It would have been a great night had my steak not been just a big piece of fatty meat. The service was great, the potato puree that I had with my steak was delicious and so was the Swiss chard. My wife had the lasagna which was a little watery for her taste. Ambience is beautiful and quiet enough to have a comfortable conversation.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on December 17, 2017

Our food was great and the service was awesome. We had some what of a wait, however our server and management were very apologetic, we did not mind the wait as our food and drinks were delicious. We will be back

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 16, 2017

Very accommodating to a changing schedule. Good food recommendations. Friendly staff. Good follow through to requests. Great mixed drinks and wines.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 10, 2017

Galletto Ristorante was where my wife and I went to celebrate our anniversary. It was an extremely amazing meal with tremendous service. It was our first time, and it definitely will not be our last. I highly recommend Galletto Ristorante!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 10, 2017

My fiancé did not like the grilled sausage, there was too much going on inside it too complicated of a taste. He also did not have an entree bc he ordered the lamb and as soon as he took one bite he lost his appetite it was so bad. The only way he could describe it was that the meat went bad. The manager did an excellent job of trying to make it right for him but it was too late he had lost his entire appetite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on December 9, 2017

Great Place to go. I enjoyed every minute of it. It's worth the time and money spent.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 9, 2017

I took my wife because we were celebrating our anniversary and the food wasn’t cooked properly took the plate back 3 times as our meat wasn’t cooked as we liked, mine over cooked. If your going to charge that much for a plate it has to be on point. Manager was also not understanding my frustration. Other restaurants in town of this caliber with better food and less mistakes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

 
·Dined on December 7, 2017

The experience was above expectations and the best restaurant I’ve eaten at in Modesto!! Food was spectacular, price wasn’t overboard but it’s not cheap ($70 for 2). I would recommend this place to anyone looking to impress a girl, wine and dine their wife or celebrate your anniversary!! 10 out of 10 in all categories!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Tapas, Casual, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vegan, Spicy, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 3, 2017

Server was top notch!! Ambiance was very pleasant, food was tasty and the seasonal aspect was great, super fresh farm to table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 3, 2017

Had my mom's bday here. It was perfect. Thank you!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 2, 2017

Was amazeing with excellent service and great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2017

For some reason we hadn’t eaten at Galletto’s in a number of years but sure won’t wait so long going back. Excellent food, drinks and service. Definitely a special occasion destination.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Romantic, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 27, 2017

Love the fall menu!!! Had the amazing lamb shank again. Perfect. The service was great as always. Lovely, relaxing experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 19, 2017

I was taking my adult daughter to the Gallo Center for a performance. I had heard good things about this restaurant and because it was convenient we went. I was not disappointed!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 19, 2017

This was an amazing meal!!! I had not been able to go since summer and the menu has changed for the fall. I had the Galletto salad with the anchovies. It was marvelous as usual. Then the Lamb Shank. It was so tender I needed no knife and the sauce was rich and comforting. Great Brussels sprouts too (which I don’t usually like). Wonderful night out.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 18, 2017

Service was excellent, the food was delicious. They aknowledged our special occasion at every opportunity. Including serving complementary champagne! We will be returning.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 16, 2017

Was in town for business. Drove past Galetto’s when checking out the area near the hotel. It looked nice, so I made a reservation. The building had been a bank. I liked everything about the experience. The environment, the lighting and music were great as was the food and service. An unexpected find in Modesto.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 14, 2017

I met my cousin and a friend at Galletto Restaurant or dinner. We sat out on the patio, it was lovely by the fireplace! We split a salad, halibut (delicious) and steak. It was perfect! Drinks were good too.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 13, 2017

Family get together with 10 people from California, Wisconsin and Florida and everyone enjoyed the food and experience. It happened to be veterans day weekend and they had a special thanks for two of us who served the country. Many thanks for a wonderful evening.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 11, 2017

One of the finest and elegant dining opportunities between Fresno and Sacramento!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 8, 2017

Great ambiance and food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 7, 2017

My friend and I made reservations for a pre-theatre dinner and belated birthday celebration, and chose Galletto's as it had been a long time since we'd been there and we were curious to see what, if anything, had changed.
We were treated to complimentary champagne and customized menus! What a delight. The Misto Fristo recipe has changed (all for the better in my opinion) and our salads and entrees were excellent. In the past I would have rated the food as a B- this time it was an A, and I will be back sooner than later. Thank you so much for such a great experience. You wowed us!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Organic, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 6, 2017

Very disappointed chicken park taken off menu. Was my favorite and a staple in Italian restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Galletto is a nice place to dine. It's very comfortable and classy with a nice bar area as well. The food is always good, but we always seem to wait too long for our waiter, bread, drinks, etc. We weren't in a hurry, but it was definitely too long of a wait for a night that wasn't crowded. I do like the ambiance of the restaurant, but it was actually so dark we had to hold our menus by the candle in order to read it. We will return, but if we were eating before a performance at Gallo and had to leave by a certain time, I would recommend a different place.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.