Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

About Galletto Ristorante

Galletto Ristorante is located amid the vitality of Modesto, California's newly renovated downtown. They specialize in providing inspired cuisine, impeccable service and unparalleled indoor and outdoor facilities for an intimate dinner or a large party. Uniquely designed to answer the needs of their private and professional community for exceptional dining and meeting experiences, Galletto Ristorante brings together the elements you are looking for.

1101 J St.
Modesto, CA 95354
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday- Friday 11:30am to 9:00pm
Saturday 4:30pm to 9:00pm
Sunday 4:00pm to 9:00pm
Happy Hours: Monday-Friday 2:00pm to 7:00pm

Cross Street:
11th St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(209) 523-4500

Website:
http://www.galletto.biz/

Catering:
Call Special Events at 209-523-3165 or visit our website www.galletto.biz

Parking Details:
Parking lot located at corner of 11th & K streets.

Executive Chef:
Michael Goularte

Private Party Facilities:
The restaurant has several rooms available for small to medium to large parties. Please call for details or visit our website at www.galletto.biz

Private Party Contact:
Special Events: (209) 523-3165

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Rooms available: Family Room, Sala, Vault, Vine Arbor, Bocce Terrace and Off-site locations.

Galletto Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (19)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Good for a Date (15)
See All
Notable Wine List (15)
Business Meals (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Romantic (13)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Cozy (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Authentic (5)
Fun (4)
Casual (4)
Seasonal (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Scenic View (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Private Room (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Fireplace (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Historic (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Family Style (1)
People Watching (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
717 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 7 days ago

We arrived early for our reservation but were seated immediately. Planned to have a drink at the bar but having it at the table was just as good. We had salads and entrees which were excellent but sadly, no room for dessert. Service was highly attentive by several different personnel in addition to our main server who orchestrated service. Pricing is reasonable for food and drink. We'll definitely be back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Fun, Afternoon Coffee, Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 9, 2017

I'v often dined here over the years but have never left a review until now. Overall, it is a lovely looking restaurant, housed in an old bank, with high ceilings and comfortable dining areas, both booths and freestanding tables. The food can be hit and miss at times; often we are told that certain items aren't available or have been replaced with other items. Example, yesterday, no mozzarella for the the caprese salad so substituted a different soft cheese. Not a big deal, but when it happens regularly one begins to notice. Meals are usually good, but service is the main challenge. Yesterday's was slow, even though few people were there when we were dining. I like the place, but more attention to detail of service is needed to be extra special.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Excellent meal before enjoying Billy Elliot at the Gallo🤗

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Our server was extremely efficient, friendly & nice - we got exceptional service from her and the bus staff - thank you

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 1, 2017

The food was phenomenal - I had the Duck Breast which was cooked to perfection. It was fork tender with a beautifully crisp skin. The lasagna was delectably cheesy and the Bolognese had an authentic Italian flavor. We finished with a fresh peach dessert and Gelato - delicious! Galletto's is very reliable with fantastic seasonal fare.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 31, 2017

The had wrote / printed Happy Anniversary on our menus . And served complimentary Champagne to us . Outstanding food and wait staff a notch above most places . I highly recommend this establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Always a great service, and a great meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

Food was fresh & delicious & the service was impeccable. I like that is it quiet enough to hold a normal conversation. Love the building (I remember when it was a bank in the early 60's!) and decor.

Tags: Casual, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

It was absolutely amazing! Our server was great and timely! Ontop of it my boyfriend asked me to marry him and we got an amazing dessert to celebrate! Overall I highly reccomend this place to anyone!

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

It was my Husbands 70th birthday..bartender was so sweet makes great drinks and food was delicious...love this place

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 15, 2017

What's happening with Galletto? I remember that not long ago, this restaurant was pretty good. My first impressions about the food were excellent. But over time, this opinion has changed. I always thought that you should give second chances and convinced my husband to give it several tries; but what a disappointment! Every time is worse! The menu seems like it's too limited, not enough choices and the items in it they aren't good. I particularly ordered the duck with quinoa entree and PLEASE! Bland and watery ( the quinoa ) and the duck undercooked! My quinoa recipe is way better and testier. Don't you suppose to go to a " fine " restaurant to eat something different and delicious? No matter how expensive, if it's excellent, you don't mind paying for it, right? Cocktails were good ( Martinis and Black Label ) though. But definitely NO MORE tries to Galletto. Oh, in case of need, I could share my quinoa recipe anytime... Just saying...

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on July 9, 2017

I went one last Sunday (one week after I went by myself here for the first time). Love restaurants open on Sundays! Ordered mostly different dishes. They were great too! Still had the cinnamon bread pudding for dessert. Wonderful.

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Jessica is a wonderful server!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on July 2, 2017

I was looking for a nice restaurant open on Sunday. Galletto was my find. I had a lovely dinner with great service. Pleasant surroundings. I will return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on June 30, 2017

Had a very lovely dinner with 10 guests including myself to celebrate my 25th birthday dinner. I made reservations a few weeks in advance and the day of reservation I needed to add two more guest to my party which was no problem for the restaurant. I greatly appreciated how accommodating they were.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Fun, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great place to celebrate a special occasion. Presentation was lovely. Very welcoming!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Very enjoyable meal. Service was excellent, as was the food. Had probably the best Caesar Salad and Spaghetti Carbonara I have ever had.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 13, 2017

We had a 5:30 reservation for 7 so we could get to the 7 pm show at Gallo Theater. Galletto's rolled with the changing numbers and the lateness of our arrival. They served our food in a timely manner and got us out of the restaurant in time for the show. The risotto was a big hit with the table. We had an eater who does not like mushrooms and raved about it. It is a hit every time we go. Don't pass up on the marguerite pizza, it's even better eaten cold after the showQ

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 13, 2017

We went to this restaurant a year ago and had a very good meal and sat on the garden patio, which is lovely. This time they seated us inside and, while our server was very nice and timely, the food was just average. Will give them another try since these experiences were so different

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Great night out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We've eaten here twice now and the food is excellent. We've eaten the chicken parmesan, the rib-eye, fish risotto and a pizza. Everything is fresh and tasteful.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Great food, good service in a very nice setting. Excellent choice for a pre-theater meal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 4, 2017

We enjoyed the handcrafted cocktails at the bar before dinner. The wedge salad was excellent, and the beet salad was a hit. We had the scallops appetizer for our main course, and they were cooked perfectly. The semifreddo dessert was shared by all, and was fabulous. The room is lovely, with high ceilings and lots of wood. We will be back

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Overall great food, wine and service. It has a nice, quiet romantic vibe inside. I wish we would have been seated outside, on our way out I noticed how beautiful and quaint their outdoor patio is. It felt a little livelier with the music they were playing.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Galletto's is a great place to have a nice dinner. The food is great and the staff are all nice people. They treat you kindly and with respect. You know they value and appreciate you for choosing their place to dine at over other selections you have at your disposal. I strongly recommend this ristorante.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The food was great, but I think I ate so much I felt sick afterwards.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Loved the quinoa salad with fried avocado. Only downside to restaurant was old cracking wall bordering our booth.

Tags: Healthy, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Food was good but the service was extremely slow for as empty as the restaurant was, probably only two other small tables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Excellent food with an outdoor European patio ambiance. We had delicious crispy Calamari, lemon, fennel, and olives. I had a salad. My husband had pate and oysters. The pizza crust was crispy and light with Burrata Mozzarella. We had delicious creamy peanut butter chocolate semi freddo. I highly recommend Gallettos for any occasion.

Tags: Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Tapas, Afternoon Tea, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 19, 2017

We enjoyed this restaurant very much. We had dinner here before a concert at Gallo Theater. This place was great, food and service. We only had one complaint. It was very cold. The air conditioning was on and it was uncomfortably cold. It was only 62 degrees outside so we weren't sure why they had it so cool.
Two of us had Crab Louie. Normally served with asparagus, avocado and lots of hard boiled egg. They came without much ingredients EXCEPT plenty of crab, and it was very very good. One and the halibut and it was excellent. One had the lasagne and said it was very good. Overall a great experience and we would return if in the area.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Very attentive server! Filet melted in your mouth. Great walking to Gallo....
Little pricey !

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Great Friday stop for appetizers and drinks. Sat on couches in lounge. Very relaxing after a long work week. Service was excellent!

Tags: Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Ashley and support team performed
There tasks flaulessly. Also displayed a good sense of humor. We do our best to go there for all our special occations. Kudos to entire staff

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Me and my wife came to Galletos for a date night. The service was great. The food was amazing. Our cocktails were perfect. We had cappuccinos for dessert and they were fantastic. It wasn't the first time we came but a positive review was overdue.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Cozy, Fun, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Best Risotto in town. Great location. Easy parking. Consistently good.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Menu items were seasonal and enticing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Great Service from Fredy he was very attentive and appreciated his recommendations. on wine and food.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 10, 2017

What a beautiful restaurant! The food was great and so was the atmosphere. We sat in the outdoor section and saw that they had a bocce ball court. Our waiter was very thoughtful and attentive. I recommend this place for anyone looking for a great place to eat on special occasions.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Very pleasant evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on March 8, 2017

My wife and I celebrated our wedding anniversary. We even got a nice menu with a "Happy Anniversary " note. We both loved everything. Our waitress was great since minute one until the end. Definitely coming back 🙂

Tags: Authentic, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.