About Galletto Ristorante

1101 J St.
Modesto, CA 95354
View Larger Map

Galletto Ristorante is located amid the vitality of Modesto, California's newly renovated downtown. They specialize in providing inspired cuisine, impeccable service and unparalleled indoor and outdoor facilities for an intimate dinner or a large party. Uniquely designed to answer the needs of their private and professional community for exceptional dining and meeting experiences, Galletto Ristorante brings together the elements you are looking for.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday- Friday 11:30am to 9:00pm
Saturday 4:30pm to 9:00pm
Sunday 4:00pm to 9:00pm
Happy Hours: Monday-Friday 2:00pm to 7:00pm

Cross Street:
11th St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(209) 523-4500

Website:
http://www.galletto.biz/

Catering:
Call Special Events at 209-523-3165 or visit our website www.galletto.biz

Parking Details:
Parking lot located at corner of 11th & K streets.

Executive Chef:
Michael Goularte

Private Party Facilities:
The restaurant has several rooms available for medium to large parties. Please call for details or visit our website.

Private Party Contact:
Special Events: 2095234500x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Rooms available: Family Room, Sala, Vault, Vine Arbor, Bocce Terrace and Off-site locations.

Restaurant Photos

Dirty Stoli Martini
Center Cut Sirloin Steak
Pink Grapefruit Sorbet
Italian Cheese And Cold Cut Platter With Siscilian Olives
Black Sea Bass On Corn Relish
Gnocchi
Prociutto Wrapped Wild Mushroom Risotto
The Leaning Leprechaun
Fuzzy Pirate
Carbonara

Galletto Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Fit for Foodies
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Special Occasion
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
1 More
Most Booked
Modesto
Best Restaurants in Modesto ›

Special Occasion (19)
Notable Wine List (16)
Romantic (14)
See All
Fit for Foodies (14)
Good for Groups (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Hot Spot (3)
Great for Brunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
588 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

First time my parents went and they love ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

First time my parents went and they loved it! It was their 25th anniversary and they were fascinated by the place. They enjoyed every part of the event, food, service. Thank you very much.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After requesting possible vegan entrees ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

After requesting possible vegan entrees when making reservation, nothing was readily available. Other food was attractively served, but mediocre. Service was extremely slow, and other guests arriving after us were served before us. Total experience was a disappointment for guests coming from San Francisco for the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Food was outstanding. The farm to fork ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Food was outstanding. The farm to fork philosophy is spot on. Service was good and didn’t miss a beat.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was very slow, the server to ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The service was very slow, the server took a long time to take drink orders and subsequently our meal order. When did come for drink orders she never asked anyone at the table if they wanted anything other than the wine we brought even though three people didn't drink wine. We sat down at 6:15 and didn't get our meal until 7:40 even though the waitress knew we were going to a local event. She asked us when we sat down so we felt comfortable that our almost two hours we had at the restaurant would be enough. Instead we had to engulf our food. She then had the nerve to ask if we wanted dessert or anything else when she knew we were late and seemed annoyed when we said that we needed our bill. Besides the service everyone liked the flavor except one pasta with a pesto type sauce which was more like a glib of cheese and way too much garlic. I have been there a few times and enjoyed it but not sure if I will go back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value3

The food was great. Our waitress was ru ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The food was great. Our waitress was rude and we received horrible service. Waited about 20 minutes to even get water. We almost walked out.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

The hostess made fun of the spelling of ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The hostess made fun of the spelling of my not-so-common name when I made my reservation. This was an odd way to encourage a customer to come to a restaurant. In addition to this, the food was exceptionally disappointing. The fritto misto was good, but the beet salad seemed like the beets, cheese, and walnuts were being rationed. The beet salad was comprised of mostly very tough kale greens with two extremely small beets sliced and just a four or five tiny bits of cheese. The last thing that was very disappointing was the risotto that had an odd tang to it, lacked flavor, and seemed overly crunchy. I expected a much better tasting meal for the price. It seemed like the key ingredients were being rationed. I will not be returning to Galletto Ristorante in the future. There are much better places for Italian food in this town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

Seated right away by friendly hostess. ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Seated right away by friendly hostess. Great food and service. Server knowledgeable about the menu and specials. Great atmosphere. Met up with an old friend that was in town. She loved the place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Service was excellent as they made our s ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Service was excellent as they made our son's 21st birthday dinner wonderful!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great! I cannot express ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Everything was great! I cannot express how the night went. The food was out of this word. I would highly recommend Galleto's!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an early dinner before catching a ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We had an early dinner before catching a movie on a Tuesday evening. When we arrived, there was one other customer--a single dining by himself. It seemed to me that the service could have been more prompt given we were the only ones in the place who were placing an order but that aside, the wait staff was friendly and provided decent service. The food was good; my husband had the trout special which he devoured before before I could snag a bite--he enjoy it very much. I went with the pesto parpadelle and it was excellent. We split a scoop of their oatmeal raisin gelato for dessert and it really did taste like an oatmeal cookie!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Wonderful atmosphere and food. Everyone ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Wonderful atmosphere and food. Everyone raved about their dinner and dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Definitely worth your money and your tim ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Definitely worth your money and your time. We had a great experience here for a 20 year work anniversary and really enjoyed ourselves.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had the pesto risotto and it was delish! ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Had the pesto risotto and it was delish! Service was amazing and great time with my friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Just a very nice place with very good co ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Just a very nice place with very good constant food great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dinning experience

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We really enjoyed our self. We were fitted right away. Waiter's were very attentive , but not overbearing. The risotto was amazing, what a great cheese sauce. We will differently be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place, never disappoints!

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

This restaurant never disappoints. Great service and excellent menu. They have my favorite appetizer foie gras and wine Rambauer. Great specials. I had the Halibut and it was delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was very cold, and it took them ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

The food was very cold, and it took them a long time to bring the food out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Server was attentive without being intru ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Server was attentive without being intrusive. Helpful with his menu suggestions. Menu options were well balanced. The filet was one of the best I have ever had. A very enjoyable dining experience. We will be back.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we were a group of six with reservations ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

we were a group of six with reservations. Food and service was top notch!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

If you're looking for a romantic setting ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

If you're looking for a romantic setting or a night out with friends this is a great place to go downtown. The food is delicious and the service is outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Wonderful atmosphere and our filets were ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Wonderful atmosphere and our filets were delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I do not like to write reviews but thank ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

I do not like to write reviews but thank you anyway for the opportunity!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Foodie for fun

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Always wanted to try this restaraunt so we ate here before Gallo show. Food was excellent but everything is alacart not fond of that. But excellent tasting food, and great happy hour prices. Alittle pricey for portions given. Great service

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

So lucky to have this spot close to home ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

So lucky to have this spot close to home. Chef Michael infuses local products that are fun to see on the menu--and isn't afraid to try new ideas. Love, love it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

perfect

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on March 14, 2016

place is fantastic! the food is great and the service is very good. Two thumbs up!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

very nice restaurant

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

the food was all very good - but the portions fairly small and the prices were more san francisco prices than what i would have expected for the Valley. Very nice beet salad, excellent chicken wing appetizer, and very rich and decadent carbonara.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Vibrate Affair

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

From the easy reservation setup online, to when I paid for my check. The atmosphere and ambiance was excellent. Mellow lights for a romantic getaway date. Which I choose for my fiance' birthday. To excellent service, we were seated right away. The booths are excellent for a date. Excellent wine selection by the way. Food was very tasty, with a white sauce base, which is an North Italian tradition. I prefer the tomato sauce base myself of South Italy. But was excellent and I really recommend this experience, that and the price was decent. Diffently five star quality. Great job

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Generally a great experience! This parti ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

Generally a great experience! This particular night, we stopped in before a painting class later that evening. Our waiter forgot to put in our order of multiple appetizers to share, so only our salad came out before we had to leave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Always a great meal

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

We always have a great meal, the service is always 'spot-on'. Galletto's is a 'never miss' for us when we are in town.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful Dining Experience

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

It was my birthday and my husband took me out for a drive. We were on Hwy 99 when I googled restaurants in Modesto. Galletto Ristorante popped up and after reviewing the menu, we made reservations online. We had a wonderful and delicious lunch. Nicci was our server, who was very personal and attentive. We couldn't had asked for a better experience. We will definitely return to try other entrees.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed.

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on February 18, 2016

Galletto's has been a long time favorite but, I was very disappointed with this visit. The service was great but, the food was not good. I had the beet salad which was extremely salty. For entree I had the risotto which was very bland and the meat in the dish was tough and tasteless. I would not reccomend going there to anyone and don't plan on returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

Fabulous food

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 16, 2016

Loved the duck and all the accompaniments. It was cooked perfect! Others had the Risotto and enjoyed it also.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointing Valentine's

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

The food was average at best. The tables were too close together. We were extremely disappointed at the end of the night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

First time

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

I must say the food was outstanding. Well worth the price, service was excellent.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

I have dined here on several occasions and have been disappointed but on this occasion I was. I was not informed before hand that it was a limited menu. Also the service was up to par. We had to ask for everything, olive oil, balsamic vinegar, salt, pepper, etc.. Their were no condiments for the oysters and when ask, we were told that they were not available. All in all not the best experience for my fiancé and myself. Specially when I had bragged about your restaurants food and service.

William

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Nice evening

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Everything was outstanding! We enjoyed our evening and they made accomadations to our dietary needs! Wine and dessert were fantastic!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Trying too hard

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Great downtown location, good ambiance, very limited selective menu. Trying very hard to be a five star top Chef style upscale restaurant, but in Modesto if falls short. Very limited menu.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Great Italian spot in Modesto

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Our waitress Bethany was one of the best. She was patient and answer all our questions and even fired up the food after we finished our appetizer and even share ingredients in our food.

Just an amazing experience.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Made a special occasion even more special

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on February 5, 2016

Came to Galleto's for my birthday. Not only was the food amazing, the service was outstanding as well. They even made special menus that said happy birthday "my name" at the top, which was a personal touch that was quite a surprise for me! I absolutely love Galleto's and definitely recommend it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Downtown Gem

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on February 1, 2016

A great place for fine dining right in the downtown area of Modesto. Simple menu. Executed well. Great service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.