About Galletto Ristorante

1101 J St.
Modesto, CA 95354
View Larger Map

Galletto Ristorante is located amid the vitality of Modesto, California's newly renovated downtown. They specialize in providing inspired cuisine, impeccable service and unparalleled indoor and outdoor facilities for an intimate dinner or a large party. Uniquely designed to answer the needs of their private and professional community for exceptional dining and meeting experiences, Galletto Ristorante brings together the elements you are looking for.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday- Friday 11:30am to 9:00pm
Saturday 4:30pm to 9:00pm
Sunday 4:00pm to 9:00pm
Happy Hours: Monday-Friday 2:00pm to 7:00pm

Cross Street:
11th St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(209) 523-4500

Website:
http://www.galletto.biz/

Catering:
Call Special Events at 209-523-3165 or visit our website www.galletto.biz

Parking Details:
Parking lot located at corner of 11th & K streets.

Executive Chef:
Michael Goularte

Private Party Facilities:
The restaurant has several rooms available for medium to large parties. Please call for details or visit our website.

Private Party Contact:
Special Events: 2095234500x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Rooms available: Family Room, Sala, Vault, Vine Arbor, Bocce Terrace and Off-site locations.

Restaurant Photos

Center Cut Sirloin Steak
Dirty Stoli Martini
Pink Grapefruit Sorbet
Italian Cheese And Cold Cut Platter With Siscilian Olives
Black Sea Bass On Corn Relish
The Leaning Leprechaun
Fuzzy Pirate
Prociutto Wrapped Wild Mushroom Risotto
Carbonara
Gnocchi

Galletto Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Fit for Foodies
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Special Occasion
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
1 More
Most Booked
Modesto
Best Restaurants in Modesto ›

special occasion (22)
notable wine list (20)
romantic (17)
See All
fit for foodies (17)
good for groups (10)
neighborhood gem (6)
great for outdoor dining (5)
great for lunch (5)
hot spot (2)
late-night find (1)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
582 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Seated right away by friendly hostess. ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined 3 days ago

Seated right away by friendly hostess. Great food and service. Server knowledgeable about the menu and specials. Great atmosphere. Met up with an old friend that was in town. She loved the place.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Service was excellent as they made our s ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Service was excellent as they made our son's 21st birthday dinner wonderful!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great! I cannot express ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Everything was great! I cannot express how the night went. The food was out of this word. I would highly recommend Galleto's!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an early dinner before catching a ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We had an early dinner before catching a movie on a Tuesday evening. When we arrived, there was one other customer--a single dining by himself. It seemed to me that the service could have been more prompt given we were the only ones in the place who were placing an order but that aside, the wait staff was friendly and provided decent service. The food was good; my husband had the trout special which he devoured before before I could snag a bite--he enjoy it very much. I went with the pesto parpadelle and it was excellent. We split a scoop of their oatmeal raisin gelato for dessert and it really did taste like an oatmeal cookie!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Wonderful atmosphere and food. Everyone ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Wonderful atmosphere and food. Everyone raved about their dinner and dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Definitely worth your money and your tim ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Definitely worth your money and your time. We had a great experience here for a 20 year work anniversary and really enjoyed ourselves.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had the pesto risotto and it was delish! ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Had the pesto risotto and it was delish! Service was amazing and great time with my friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Just a very nice place with very good co ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Just a very nice place with very good constant food great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dinning experience

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We really enjoyed our self. We were fitted right away. Waiter's were very attentive , but not overbearing. The risotto was amazing, what a great cheese sauce. We will differently be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place, never disappoints!

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

This restaurant never disappoints. Great service and excellent menu. They have my favorite appetizer foie gras and wine Rambauer. Great specials. I had the Halibut and it was delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was very cold, and it took them ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

The food was very cold, and it took them a long time to bring the food out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Server was attentive without being intru ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Server was attentive without being intrusive. Helpful with his menu suggestions. Menu options were well balanced. The filet was one of the best I have ever had. A very enjoyable dining experience. We will be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we were a group of six with reservations ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

we were a group of six with reservations. Food and service was top notch!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

If you're looking for a romantic setting ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

If you're looking for a romantic setting or a night out with friends this is a great place to go downtown. The food is delicious and the service is outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Wonderful atmosphere and our filets were ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Wonderful atmosphere and our filets were delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I do not like to write reviews but thank ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

I do not like to write reviews but thank you anyway for the opportunity!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Foodie for fun

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Always wanted to try this restaraunt so we ate here before Gallo show. Food was excellent but everything is alacart not fond of that. But excellent tasting food, and great happy hour prices. Alittle pricey for portions given. Great service

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

So lucky to have this spot close to home ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

So lucky to have this spot close to home. Chef Michael infuses local products that are fun to see on the menu--and isn't afraid to try new ideas. Love, love it!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

perfect

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on March 14, 2016

place is fantastic! the food is great and the service is very good. Two thumbs up!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

very nice restaurant

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

the food was all very good - but the portions fairly small and the prices were more san francisco prices than what i would have expected for the Valley. Very nice beet salad, excellent chicken wing appetizer, and very rich and decadent carbonara.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Vibrate Affair

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

From the easy reservation setup online, to when I paid for my check. The atmosphere and ambiance was excellent. Mellow lights for a romantic getaway date. Which I choose for my fiance' birthday. To excellent service, we were seated right away. The booths are excellent for a date. Excellent wine selection by the way. Food was very tasty, with a white sauce base, which is an North Italian tradition. I prefer the tomato sauce base myself of South Italy. But was excellent and I really recommend this experience, that and the price was decent. Diffently five star quality. Great job

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Generally a great experience! This parti ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

Generally a great experience! This particular night, we stopped in before a painting class later that evening. Our waiter forgot to put in our order of multiple appetizers to share, so only our salad came out before we had to leave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Always a great meal

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

We always have a great meal, the service is always 'spot-on'. Galletto's is a 'never miss' for us when we are in town.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful Dining Experience

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

It was my birthday and my husband took me out for a drive. We were on Hwy 99 when I googled restaurants in Modesto. Galletto Ristorante popped up and after reviewing the menu, we made reservations online. We had a wonderful and delicious lunch. Nicci was our server, who was very personal and attentive. We couldn't had asked for a better experience. We will definitely return to try other entrees.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed.

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on February 18, 2016

Galletto's has been a long time favorite but, I was very disappointed with this visit. The service was great but, the food was not good. I had the beet salad which was extremely salty. For entree I had the risotto which was very bland and the meat in the dish was tough and tasteless. I would not reccomend going there to anyone and don't plan on returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

Fabulous food

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 16, 2016

Loved the duck and all the accompaniments. It was cooked perfect! Others had the Risotto and enjoyed it also.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointing Valentine's

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

The food was average at best. The tables were too close together. We were extremely disappointed at the end of the night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

First time

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

I must say the food was outstanding. Well worth the price, service was excellent.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

I have dined here on several occasions and have been disappointed but on this occasion I was. I was not informed before hand that it was a limited menu. Also the service was up to par. We had to ask for everything, olive oil, balsamic vinegar, salt, pepper, etc.. Their were no condiments for the oysters and when ask, we were told that they were not available. All in all not the best experience for my fiancé and myself. Specially when I had bragged about your restaurants food and service.

William

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Nice evening

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Everything was outstanding! We enjoyed our evening and they made accomadations to our dietary needs! Wine and dessert were fantastic!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Trying too hard

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Great downtown location, good ambiance, very limited selective menu. Trying very hard to be a five star top Chef style upscale restaurant, but in Modesto if falls short. Very limited menu.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Great Italian spot in Modesto

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Our waitress Bethany was one of the best. She was patient and answer all our questions and even fired up the food after we finished our appetizer and even share ingredients in our food.

Just an amazing experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Made a special occasion even more special

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on February 5, 2016

Came to Galleto's for my birthday. Not only was the food amazing, the service was outstanding as well. They even made special menus that said happy birthday "my name" at the top, which was a personal touch that was quite a surprise for me! I absolutely love Galleto's and definitely recommend it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Downtown Gem

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on February 1, 2016

A great place for fine dining right in the downtown area of Modesto. Simple menu. Executed well. Great service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect date night

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

Went there with my girlfriend. The service was great, wine was excellent and food was amazing. Loved our experience there.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress Christie (?) was excellent, ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

Our waitress Christie (?) was excellent, very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great experience!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

Our server JB? From South Carolina was outstanding. Just the right mix of attentive, friendly informative, charm & without the arrogance that sometimes come with the high end restaurants. Thanks JB!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A constant favorite

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 5, 2016

We always go to Galletos when in Modesto. It never fails. The food is fresh, seasonal, contemporary. There is always a standard dish on the menu for traditionalist such as my husband. He loves their steak, Caesar salads and martinis. I had the fillet tip risotto with Gorgonzola. It was excellent but a little rich for me. We had oysters as an appetizer that were some of the best I've ever had.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Atomsphere

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on January 5, 2016

Pleasant dining experience as conversation was a priority and we like the kitchen in the dining area witch adds atmosphere. The service was excellent and we enjoyed the interaction with the staff.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been here many times and usually l ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

We've been here many times and usually love it. This time we were very disappointed with the service and the food. They should inform you when making a reservation of their intent to seat you outside on the patio( yes, they have space heaters, but it was 34 degrees out!) when we asked for a table inside, the hostess told us they would not be seating anyone else inside and we'd have to take a table outside or not get a table at all! We spoke directly with manager, and she eventually "found" us a table inside a half an hour past our reserved time. Our server was inconsistent and inattentive. Had to ask for wine list, bread, pepper for salad, Parmesan for pasta. Pasta was gummy, grilled peppers that were served with duck were blazingly spicy, coffee was full of grounds! We've been here several times a year since it opened and have had lovely dinners, tonight they were definitely off their game. We'll probably give them another chance to redeem themselves though!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.