Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

About Galletto Ristorante

Located in lively downtown Modesto, California, Galletto Ristorante offers a seasonal Italian-inspired menu designed by executive Chef Michael Goularte with an emphasis on local farms and producers. The cuisine is complemented by an extensive list of wines, craft beers and signature cocktails. Enjoy impeccable service from our professional wait staff as you gather with friends and family in our beautiful dining room or dine al fresco on our covered Vine Arbor Patio. Galletto is the ideal venue for private dining events, cocktail socials, corporate meetings, baby showers and wedding receptions. Special events can be accommodated in one of our 3 private dining rooms, our Vine Arbor Patio and Bocce Court. We invite you to join us and experience an exceptional dining experience at Galletto Ristorante.

1101 J St.
Modesto, CA 95354
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary Italian, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Monday- Friday 11:30am to 9:00pm
Saturday 4:30pm to 9:00pm
Sunday 4:00pm to 9:00pm
Happy Hours: Monday-Friday 2:00pm to 7:00pm

Cross Street:
11th St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(209) 523-4500

Website:
http://www.galletto.biz/

Catering:
We offer full service catering. Call Special Events at 209-523-3165 or visit our website www.galletto.biz

Parking Details:
Parking lot located at corner of 11th & K streets.

Executive Chef:
Michael Goularte

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Rooms available: Family Room, Sala, Vault, Vine Arbor, Bocce Terrace and Off-site locations.

Galletto Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

Noise

Quiet

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (15)
Special Occasion (15)
Notable Wine List (13)
See All
Romantic (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Business Meals (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Authentic (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Casual (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Cozy (3)
Fun (3)
Healthy (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (2)
People Watching (2)
Seasonal (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
733 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on October 9, 2017

Service was excellent and food delicious. It is my wife favorite restaurant and now will be my too.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Love the decor, service was good, food was good......but not spectacular....on the expensive side, nice place to,have dinner before a show at the Gallo....
We have also tried the happy hour a different night and it was really good and on the Good,price range...

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Service was excellent. Food and appetizer were cooked to perfection! Food choices and pricing aligned with their well balanced menu. Very nice wine list although a bit overpriced. Very delightful evening!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Casual, Authentic, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 3, 2017

our lunch and food were outstanding - the service was helpful and prompt. we could easily walk and were greeted promptly. Thank you for making our lunch an awesome meal!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Good food, Great service and very good wine list. Private room was perfect for business dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Great food except the chicken was undercooked and shockingly they did not comp the item.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on September 30, 2017

One of the best meals we've had in a while. We brought our own wine. $20 corkage fee but they waive that if you buy one of their bottles of wine. So our friends bought a white to go with salads and appetizers and we brought the red for our entrees. Perfect! The entire staff was helpful. And we didn't feel rushed. We got to enjoy our entire dinner before going to Gallo.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on September 30, 2017

We ate at the bar happy hour....Sandra the bartender was great, awesome pizza and Cesar salad.

Tags: Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on September 21, 2017

The caprese salad was wonderful. My husband had the ribeye steak and it was cooked perfectly to his specifications. I had the seafood fettucini and it was very good. Only slight negative is that is was so loud in there that we could barely have a conversation and kept having to repeat ourselves. The waiter even misunderstood part of the order as he couldn't hear us well. Been here many times so I think it was our seat location. We will definitely be back as the food and service are always great

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Always great service, but maybe time to expand the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 18, 2017

The best venu and exquisite menu Great service great food great atmosphere

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Cozy, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Terrible experience. Staff was very slow to react to mistakes out of the kitchen. In the end they appropriately took ownership of the problems. It was unfortunate. I've been there before and not experienced such bad service and had such issues out of the kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

The server was very pleasant and made excellent suggestions. The Halibut special was very good. The menu would satisfy most tastes. I highly recommend it

Tags: Healthy, Casual, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Always a pleasure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 1, 2017

A must for those who prefer excellent service and great food at reasonable prices. The reception and wait staff were very accommodating, and the menu had a good variety of selections. We will be back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Birthday! Thanks had a great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

We arrived early for our reservation but were seated immediately. Planned to have a drink at the bar but having it at the table was just as good. We had salads and entrees which were excellent but sadly, no room for dessert. Service was highly attentive by several different personnel in addition to our main server who orchestrated service. Pricing is reasonable for food and drink. We'll definitely be back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Fun, Afternoon Coffee, Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 9, 2017

I'v often dined here over the years but have never left a review until now. Overall, it is a lovely looking restaurant, housed in an old bank, with high ceilings and comfortable dining areas, both booths and freestanding tables. The food can be hit and miss at times; often we are told that certain items aren't available or have been replaced with other items. Example, yesterday, no mozzarella for the the caprese salad so substituted a different soft cheese. Not a big deal, but when it happens regularly one begins to notice. Meals are usually good, but service is the main challenge. Yesterday's was slow, even though few people were there when we were dining. I like the place, but more attention to detail of service is needed to be extra special.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Excellent meal before enjoying Billy Elliot at the Gallo🤗

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Our server was extremely efficient, friendly & nice - we got exceptional service from her and the bus staff - thank you

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 1, 2017

The food was phenomenal - I had the Duck Breast which was cooked to perfection. It was fork tender with a beautifully crisp skin. The lasagna was delectably cheesy and the Bolognese had an authentic Italian flavor. We finished with a fresh peach dessert and Gelato - delicious! Galletto's is very reliable with fantastic seasonal fare.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 31, 2017

The had wrote / printed Happy Anniversary on our menus . And served complimentary Champagne to us . Outstanding food and wait staff a notch above most places . I highly recommend this establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Always a great service, and a great meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

Food was fresh & delicious & the service was impeccable. I like that is it quiet enough to hold a normal conversation. Love the building (I remember when it was a bank in the early 60's!) and decor.

Tags: Casual, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

It was absolutely amazing! Our server was great and timely! Ontop of it my boyfriend asked me to marry him and we got an amazing dessert to celebrate! Overall I highly reccomend this place to anyone!

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

It was my Husbands 70th birthday..bartender was so sweet makes great drinks and food was delicious...love this place

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 15, 2017

What's happening with Galletto? I remember that not long ago, this restaurant was pretty good. My first impressions about the food were excellent. But over time, this opinion has changed. I always thought that you should give second chances and convinced my husband to give it several tries; but what a disappointment! Every time is worse! The menu seems like it's too limited, not enough choices and the items in it they aren't good. I particularly ordered the duck with quinoa entree and PLEASE! Bland and watery ( the quinoa ) and the duck undercooked! My quinoa recipe is way better and testier. Don't you suppose to go to a " fine " restaurant to eat something different and delicious? No matter how expensive, if it's excellent, you don't mind paying for it, right? Cocktails were good ( Martinis and Black Label ) though. But definitely NO MORE tries to Galletto. Oh, in case of need, I could share my quinoa recipe anytime... Just saying...

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on July 9, 2017

I went one last Sunday (one week after I went by myself here for the first time). Love restaurants open on Sundays! Ordered mostly different dishes. They were great too! Still had the cinnamon bread pudding for dessert. Wonderful.

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Jessica is a wonderful server!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on July 2, 2017

I was looking for a nice restaurant open on Sunday. Galletto was my find. I had a lovely dinner with great service. Pleasant surroundings. I will return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on June 30, 2017

Had a very lovely dinner with 10 guests including myself to celebrate my 25th birthday dinner. I made reservations a few weeks in advance and the day of reservation I needed to add two more guest to my party which was no problem for the restaurant. I greatly appreciated how accommodating they were.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Fun, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great place to celebrate a special occasion. Presentation was lovely. Very welcoming!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Very enjoyable meal. Service was excellent, as was the food. Had probably the best Caesar Salad and Spaghetti Carbonara I have ever had.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 13, 2017

We had a 5:30 reservation for 7 so we could get to the 7 pm show at Gallo Theater. Galletto's rolled with the changing numbers and the lateness of our arrival. They served our food in a timely manner and got us out of the restaurant in time for the show. The risotto was a big hit with the table. We had an eater who does not like mushrooms and raved about it. It is a hit every time we go. Don't pass up on the marguerite pizza, it's even better eaten cold after the showQ

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 13, 2017

We went to this restaurant a year ago and had a very good meal and sat on the garden patio, which is lovely. This time they seated us inside and, while our server was very nice and timely, the food was just average. Will give them another try since these experiences were so different

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Great night out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We've eaten here twice now and the food is excellent. We've eaten the chicken parmesan, the rib-eye, fish risotto and a pizza. Everything is fresh and tasteful.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Great food, good service in a very nice setting. Excellent choice for a pre-theater meal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 4, 2017

We enjoyed the handcrafted cocktails at the bar before dinner. The wedge salad was excellent, and the beet salad was a hit. We had the scallops appetizer for our main course, and they were cooked perfectly. The semifreddo dessert was shared by all, and was fabulous. The room is lovely, with high ceilings and lots of wood. We will be back

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Overall great food, wine and service. It has a nice, quiet romantic vibe inside. I wish we would have been seated outside, on our way out I noticed how beautiful and quaint their outdoor patio is. It felt a little livelier with the music they were playing.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.