Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 11 times today

Gabriel's - Santa Fe

4.3
584 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Mexican / Southwestern
Top Tags:
  • Casual
  • Worth the Drive
  • Great for Outdoor Dining
Five minutes north of the Opera on Hwy 285, savor the cuisine of the Southwest and Old Mexico at the eatery Zagat labels "one of America's top restaurants, a true Mexican classic, rated excellent in all categories." Enjoy the spacious outdoor patio with a spectacular mountain view. Inside, the thick adobe walls and kiva fireplaces create a cozy, romantic atmosphere. Featuring guacamole made fresh at your table, renowned margaritas, authentic Mexican cuisine and handmade corn tortillas. Lunch and dinner served daily.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Mexican / Southwestern
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner:
Winter: Monday - Thursday: 2:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Sunday: 11:30am - 9:00pm
Summer: Monday - Thursday: 2:30pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Sunday: 2:30pm - 10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(505) 455-7000
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Saul Valtierra Padilla
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Gabriel's is perfectly suited to accomodate groups from 10 to 100 in both private and semi-private dining rooms. Please contact us for details.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Claire Gabriel: (505) 455-7000
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Exit 176, Hwy 285
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 584 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.2
service
4.3
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
88% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined 5 days ago

Gabriel's is in a unique location, north of Santa Fe and not terribly close to anything, but has awesome food in a great setting. The patio seating affords views of the mountains and time to enjoy the evening breezes we are often blessed with in NM. The food is all great, the chips being my favorite, thicker than normal and no salt, but the salsa is salty to make up for it. Everything we ate was delicious, our only quibble is that the check took a long time to come, so don't expect to just grab a quick bit (we enjoy sitting and talking, so this is a plus in our minds)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Guacamole made table side. Great food. Many vegetarian options. Nice sunny patio with fountain. Popular place and I can see why.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 15, 2018

The food was decent, and the location and ambience was really nice. The service not so nice. The waiter did not greet us, was not friendly, and was gone for long periods of time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

I love Gabriel's and am NEVER disappointed there! We had a delicious lunch for mother's day and once again it didn't disappoint. Minor complaint was that we were right by the kitchen so it was super loud and the light above us was going out and flashing a bit. Otherwise, perfect!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Even though they were very crowded we were waited on as soon as we were seated.
Food came out very fast.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Great food and ambiance, but service was slow. We had to flag our server down several times throughout the evening.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Gabriel's is a great place to eat anytime of year. During cold weather, dining indoors by the fireplace is lovely, but my favorite time is during warm weather months when the patio is open. The food is authentic New Mexico cuisine. The margaritas are great, and there is a good selection of beers. While not inexpensive, the guacamole made to order at your table-side is a delicious starter. There is a consistent quality in the variety of dishes offered, from tamales to burritos to chicken mole and beyond. Just try to save room for sopaipillas for dessert. Servers are friendly, courteous and efficient. Gabriel's does a good job of handling group dining, too; we have hosted groups up to 25 people and all has gone very well. The setting is also authentic New Mexican, nestled just off Interstate 25 in Cuyamungue. Reservations are recommended for weekend dining, as there is usually a line in the evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

We brought friends visiting from California and they were impressed with facilities and enjoyed their menu items very much.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 1, 2018

Food is good and portions ample. Service is efficient and cheerful.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 29, 2018

The first dinner on the patio this year. One of the best outdoor dining experiences in Santa Fe.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Excellent!! Best meal in Santa Fe thus far! The seafood fajitas were amazing!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 29, 2018

The food was good but it took forever to get our food.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Outstanding seafood(scallop red snapper prawns) fajitas and a huge bowel of posole loaded with vegetables Guacamole was made to taste at the table great meal
Beautiful outdoor view area

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Good margaritas, not so good food. There are better places to go for well prepared Mexican food.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Great Guacamole, very good prickly pear margarita, but fajitas just ok. Same experience as in the past, great guac and good drinks, but meals just average at best.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Always good!! A must stop and eat when in Santa Fe!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 16, 2018

Great alternative/substitute for loud, crowded, somewhat overpriced establishments in the Santa Fe Plaza area. The 20 minute drive out of town is well worth it. The menu offers a wide variety of authentic Southwest dishes with local healthy, tasty ingredients. Excellent food, good value, fun casual ambiance. Highly recommend, and will visit again on my next trip to Santa Fe.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Always a great place to gather with friends for a casual dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 11, 2018

One of our favorites, just outside of Santa Fe! Food is consistently excellent, fun and relaxed!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Delicious!!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 4, 2018

We were visiting Santa Fe for the first time and had dinner at Gabriel's based on the positive reviews here (although the reviews are mixed). The guacamole was good, but good guacamole is not hard to find, even in Philadelphia, where we live. The rest of the meal was unremarkable. There are many much better restaurants in Santa Fe. We would not have another meal at this restaurant again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

It's the best Mexican food in Santa Fe. The service was excellent. We love coming here for dinner. We celebrated my birthday and we couldn't have ask for a better place to go. Every time we come into town we eat here.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Wow! I had forgotten how good this restaurant is. Highly recommended.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Great food. Great service. Fun atmosphere. Great place to go.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Very tasty food with tons of options including Gluten Free. Being an out-of-towner, this was a great spot for authentic New Mexican food. Only a few mins outside of town and easy to get to. Dont skip the tableside prepared guacamole.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

We have eaten at Gabriel's a number of times. It is one of our favorite restaurants in the Santa Fe area. It is an excelent place to have a relaxing good meal. If you like good Mexican fare , this is the place. Enjoy!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 22, 2018

Service and food are always awesome!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 13, 2018

The food was good but not much for the price. I paid $21 for steak fajitas and had maybe 6oz of steak. The margaritas were pricey at $9-$12 for a relativly small amount and clearly made with a mix you can buy at a local supermarket. Moreover, I had 3 and felt nothing. Great service and nice atmosphere though.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 11, 2018

We were 4: parents & out o town son & husand Gabriel’s food is Authentic New Mexican - green Chile is just right & abundant. Service was excellent. Margueritas were judged “watery” by the younger members of the party - so much so that they came home and mixed their own.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 6, 2018

Great atmosphere and menu options...love the amount of gluten-free and vegan/vegetarian options!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Fajitas were delicious, service was medium.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

what a great meal and fantastic service. the food was very tasty.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 15, 2018

One of our favorite places

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Table side guacamole says it all...............................................................................

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 12, 2018

Visiting from upstate New York and desiring true New Mexico cuisine; on the recommendation of many of my husband‘s coworkers, we tried Gabriel‘s. The reviews were all over the place, but we had zero complaints. A picture of silver margaritas for $45 provided us with ample cocktails for the duration of our meal and were delicious and not “weak”. The tableside guacamole was the best I’ve ever had and I do try it everywhere we go. Perfect texture, spice, quantity for two, and a cooling accompaniment to the chips and spicy salsa! My husband had the chicken chili relleno and I had the seafood fajitas. There was a very large fillet of red snapper, three big scallops, and three shrimp, ample onions, peppers, pico de Gallo, additional guacamole, and pinto beans on the side and for soft tender 4 corn tortillas (they allow a choice of corn or flour). My husband had never tried a relleno before and he loved it and I will tell you this was the most generous and delicious sizzling platter of fajitas I have ever enjoyed. We were full but had to try dessert. I can’t say no to homemade churros anywhere and the dolce de leche dipping sauce was decadent. My husband had the tres leche cake and of course it was moist, delicious and served with a little bit of chocolate sauce. The service was perfectly timed, attentive, and the restaurant couldn’t have been more professional! This is not fast food south western food; this is the real deal!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 9, 2018

The waiter was all business. Not in the least bit interested or friendly.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 4, 2018

Food was mediocre and service was inattentive. Experience certainly didn’t reflect the good reviews on Yelp and elsewhere

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 8, 2018

The food was excellent, but not exceptional for Santa Fe, where there are an abundance of excellent dining options. The restaurant itself is lovely, and the service very good. I suspect, in summer, outdoor dining is a big plus. I would certainly go again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 5, 2018

It was okay. I didn't particularly like my meal but my husband and son were happy with theirs.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 4, 2018

Excellent New Mexican cuisine served among interesting art.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
15