Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.00mi
  2. Distance: 2.00mi
  3. Distance: 4.70mi
  4. Distance: 5.38mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.00mi
  2. Distance: 2.00mi
  3. Distance: 4.70mi
  4. Distance: 5.38mi

About Gabriel's - Santa Fe

Five minutes north of the Opera on Hwy 285, savor the cuisine of the Southwest and Old Mexico at the eatery Zagat labels "one of America's top restaurants, a true Mexican classic, rated excellent in all categories." Enjoy the spacious outdoor patio with a spectacular mountain view. Inside, the thick adobe walls and kiva fireplaces create a cozy, romantic atmosphere. Featuring guacamole made fresh at your table, renowned margaritas, authentic Mexican cuisine and handmade corn tortillas. Lunch and dinner served daily.

4 Banana Ln
Santa Fe, NM 87506-0910
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican / Southwestern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner:
Winter: Sunday - Thursday: 2:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 2:30pm - 9:30pm
Summer: Sunday - Thursday: 2:30pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 2:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Exit 176, Hwy 285

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 455-7000

Website:
http://www.gabrielsofsantafe.com/

Executive Chef:
Saul Valtierra Padilla

Private Party Facilities:
Gabriel's is perfectly suited to accomodate groups from 10 to 100 in both private and semi-private dining rooms. Please contact us for details.

Private Party Contact:
Claire Gabriel: (505) 455-7000

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Gabriel's - Santa Fe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Authentic (10)
Fun (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Good for a Date (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Family Style (8)
Fireplace (8)
Spicy (7)
Romantic (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Historic (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Cozy (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Great Beer (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Scenic View (3)
Business Meals (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Bar Seating (2)
People Watching (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Healthy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Private Room (1)
Seasonal (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Organic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
400 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Delicious Old Mexico cuisine, good service and guacamole made fresh at your table makes Gabriel's a unique dining experience. Gracias!

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Great good, good value. The service was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 8, 2017

This was highly recommended from several locals so understandably I was excited and there is probably the issue. It did not meet my expectations for food and quality and really not worth the drive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Wonderful, attentive service and delicious food. We will happily return.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 31, 2017

While not your typical New Mexico style cooking (flooded with red or green), we felt their interpretation of Mexican food was quite average. Just didn't seem to have the unique flavors?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Fo od was just OK. Nothing to write home about. There is much better Mexican food in Santa Fe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Little disappointed in our meal this time. Drinks were great. The guacamole prepared tableside was done by a new person who probably needs more supervision. Not up to the usual standard for Gabriel's. My seafood frajitas were very oily and not particularly appetizing. The extra tomatillo sauce had an off taste. The ribs were OK, but nothing extraordinary. We come many times; this was probably our most disappointing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 26, 2017

A group of 10 friends met for dinner and we had a great meal, drinks and lots of fun. Everyone said their food was very good and the Guacamole was wonderful. This was our third trip to Gabriel's and we will definitely be back. Many more items on the menu to try!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 25, 2017

It was an awesome date location and a nice drive from Albuquerque

Tags: Historic, Family Style, Romantic, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 24, 2017

I had dinner with my wife, my son and my grandson. I had the Brochette de Mariscos. The meal was very good although I expected more on the plate than what I got. Nevertheless the service was fast and friendly. This is our favorite restaurant and our "go to" place when we have out of town visitors. The quality of the food is consistent as is the service. I highly recommend Gabriels!

Tags: Spicy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Casual, Disabled Access, Romantic, Vegan, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Comfort Food, Fun, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 16, 2017

My 4th trip to Santa Fe area with friends or family and always take guests to Gabriel's -- fun, guacamole mixed at your table and is absolutely the BEST. Thank You!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Lovely food and service-- we could not have enjoyed it more -- do not miss the outstanding mole

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 4, 2017

This place never disappoints, every time we have been here they have made our time special. To the food, and and to the drinks served they have it down.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Our family of 3 generations met for lunch befor traveling to Taos Ski Valley for the week. The menu is full of delicious choices... we always begin with double orders of table side guacamole and margaritas. Yum! The outside patio is a great escape for travel weary kids to run off steam before and after the meal. The fireplace adds a nice ambiance and the service is so helpful, quick and gracious. We will return again and again!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Groups, Historic, Fireplace, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We were seated immediately on arriving. Water was delivered to our table withing 30 seconds of being seated. Our waiter greeted us 10 seconds later. The guacamole cart was at out table in 1 minute. I was in a state of shock, as I am used to neglectful service in Santa Fe. The food was not as spicy as I like, but it was still good.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Every employee is active and available. They treat you like part of the family and remember your face. The drinks were great and the food was awesome. I'd go there any day of the week.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Spicy, Good for a Date, Private Room, Great Beer, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I remember eating here when I was a kid. It was awesome. Nice quiet surrounding and good food. I recently took my fiance and the in laws. I was disappointed in the fact that it was very loud very crowded and when I made a special request I still had to ask for it. I ate the Chile rellanos and for some reason it was sweet like a dessert. I always support local places. But with this experience and the price for this experience was beyond the price range we should have payed. I'm sorry but I was made a fool. I bragged and bragged about this place for years but it was different 10 years ago.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My wife met up there for dinner on Valentine's Day. The hostess sat us by the window overlooking the patio. The restaurant was tastefully decorated with Valentine's balloons and decor. It was a delightful evening of fresh tasting delicious food and company made more enjoyable as we watched the light of the New Mexico sunset beautifully paint the snow capped Sangre de Christo mountains in shades of golds and reds. This is why Gabriel's is good choice when craving a New Mexican inspired meal.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Fun, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Gabriels is a local favorite. It has a lovely atmosphere and wonderful New Mexican food reasonably priced. My family and friends love going there!

Tags: Spicy, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We had a blast! All was excellent, both wait staff & food & ambience, Ta RDG

Tags: Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 24, 2017

I had the guacamole made tableside. Do not have tomatos added they are like mush and ruined it. My guc is better. I ordered the chicken fajitas and most of the onions weee burnt just dripping in oil. Tasteless. Came with a scoop of rice and a tiny cup of beans. The pico was kinda running. I'm not from the area so I probably won't go back to see. If I chose the wrong thing so maybe you can try it and tell me. I have never understood why a margarita does not come in a margarita glass!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Always visit and this was a aweful experience makes me want to think about ever returning as i said i always stop in and it always ok but today was horrible and it wasnt like they were busy like ive seen before

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 2, 2017

A nice way to start the new year & thank my husband for all his support and love. Many tasty vegetarian options and a New Mexican classic. The guacamole made at the table is a fun speciality. Near the opera, Buffalo thunder casino, and points north of Santa Fe.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Casual, Great for Lunch, Fireplace, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The tableside guacamole was outstanding. Service was attentive without being intrusive. While it is Mexican food the menu is slightly different than a lot of the other restaurants in the santa Fe area providing a nice change

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Third time to visit this place while vacationing in Santa Fe. Consistently delicious! Something for everyone in my family of 6. Great ambiance, friendly and efficient staff, worth the drive a little north of Santa Fe plaza on Taos highway. Great chips, salsa, guacamole house-made beside your table to your liking. Had enchiladas verduras first time every...amazing. Piping hot sopapillas and honey for dessert. Highly recommended!!

Tags: Spicy, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 29, 2016

With the exception of the Margaritas and the guacamole which were very good, everything else was forgettable to say the least. No condiments in the food, even the tortilla chips were pretty bad. Would not recommend at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We had to wait 35 minutes for our reservation. We have been to Gabriel's many times and the food is always outstanding. This time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 27, 2016

I have never understood the popularity of Gabriel's. It's fine, but nothing outstanding. We used to go for ribs & my visiting mom wanted to take us there after Christmas for them; she remembered having them a few years back. Two of 5 of us got ribs. The price is higher & the portion is significantly smaller. Instead of three sections of ribs stacked (a full rack), there were just two sections (2/3 rack). My husband felt it wasn't worth the price. My mom had a chile relleno &it was soggy and missing some of the "coating". My brother had a combo with a tamale & burrito. He said the flavor was good but there was way to much tortilla relative to the filling & it was just too "bready". He wished he'd gotten two tamales instead. Their food was "fair" to "good" but not great or excellent by any standard.

I ordered chicken fajitas. I prefer the chicken sliced before cooking so that it's juicier & has more flavor (more "edges" with seasoning). This breast was cooked whole then sliced. It was bordering dry & had no real flavor. The beans were fine & I thought the guacamole & pico condiments were generous compared to other places (e.g., Chili's). However, after several bites I bit into something hard & found a piece of METAL in the chicken. It looked like a the black coating from the cast iron platter that the fajitas are served on. There were small bits of it all through the partially chewed bit of meat that was in my mouth so I spit it into a napkin. The waiter came over & I told him about it. He brought me a new platter but I couldn't eat it. They packaged it to go but I ended up throwing it out. I didn't trust it. The 2nd platter was so hot it actually splattered oil all over the table around it, on my sister's hand, & on my shirt for about 3 minutes. Both platters were swimming in oil. No need for that when grilled.

The room we were in was SO LOUD we couldn't hear each other talk at our small table. It just wasn't what we expected, not fun. Couldn't wait to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Nice place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Always a great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 15, 2016

They have a wide variety of choices. The margs were good. Our waiter was outstanding.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The food is outstanding and the service is the best in New Mexico.

Tags: Special Occasion, Spicy, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Outstanding Value, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Friends were down for the holiday from out of state. We made a reservation at Gabriel's on the way to the distillery where we met up with more friends. It made for a great day with good food and the lovely atmosphere at Gabriel's. Even the artwork was good to show friends why I'm glad to be a New Mexican.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 21, 2016

We are vacationing in Santa Fe and as in the years past made the 13 minute drive up to Gabriel's. Well worth the trip. Food and service is always good and the ambience is excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Gabriel's never fails to please! Perfect accommodations for birthday while still wanting quiet conversation...excellent food...attentive service...lovely music and views.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Made our evening as everything was great & our friends, who are finishing a month long tour of SW USA loved it too! Ta RDG

Tags: Family Style, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Spicy, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Wood Oven, Fireplace, Historic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Great Beer, Authentic, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Genuinely friendly service. Margarita was hand crafted and wonderful- not syrupy sweet like so many restaurants serve. The hand made corn tortillas were scrumptious. My carnitas were well flavored, not over spiced. My husband had fajitas with steak, shrimp and scallops - all cooked exactly right and delicious. Congratulations to the kitchen!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Food on the pricey side.
We went around 5pm and was seated right by the door. Had to ask to be reseated.
Service was ok nothing great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Grabriel's was excellent as usual. Top notch service and terrific food. The fresh guacamole made tableside is a treat not to be missed.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 30, 2016

They were closing, but stayed open for our party of seven. Best Guacomole in Santa Fe, hands down. Great food, great service. Thank you, Carlos and the staff.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.