About Gabriel's - Santa Fe

4 Banana Ln
Santa Fe, NM 87506-0910
View Larger Map

Five minutes north of the Opera on Hwy 285, savor the cuisine of the Southwest and Old Mexico at the eatery Zagat labels "one of America's top restaurants, a true Mexican classic, rated excellent in all categories." Enjoy the spacious outdoor patio with a spectacular mountain view. Inside, the thick adobe walls and kiva fireplaces create a cozy, romantic atmosphere. Featuring guacamole made fresh at your table, renowned margaritas, authentic Mexican cuisine and handmade corn tortillas. Lunch and dinner served daily.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican / Southwestern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner:
Winter: Sunday - Thursday: 2:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 2:30pm - 9:30pm
Summer: Sunday - Thursday: 2:30pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 2:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Exit 176, Hwy 285

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 455-7000

Website:
http://www.gabrielsofsantafe.com/

Executive Chef:
Saul Valtierra Padilla

Private Party Facilities:
Gabriel's is perfectly suited to accomodate groups from 10 to 100 in both private and semi-private dining rooms. Please contact us for details.

Private Party Contact:
Claire Gabriel: 5054557000

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Gabriel's - Santa Fe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
New Mexico
Best Value
Santa Fe / Mountains
Great for Lunch
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Restaurants in Santa Fe ›

great for outdoor dining (40)
good for groups (36)
great for lunch (28)
See All
special occasion (27)
kid-friendly (23)
fit for foodies (18)
neighborhood gem (16)
great for brunch (9)
scenic view (9)
hot spot (5)
vibrant bar scene (4)
romantic (4)
notable wine list (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
251 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I am in love with their mole! I ordered ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

I am in love with their mole! I ordered the vegetarian enchiladas and it comes with green sauce. They were willing to substitute the mole sauce instead and it was fabulous. I wish I was a local because I'd go back for more. Their salsa was also spicy, which I really liked. Most places make it too mild. I was a little disappointed in the table side guacamole. It was a little bland and little too much garlic. Service was great.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of our favorite Santa Fe res ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

This is one of our favorite Santa Fe restaurants. We have been eating there for a very long time. Tried the fish tacos for the very first time - delicious grilled red snapper. Mighty fine! But then I have not had anything there that I did not enjoy.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

We ate outside on a beautiful evening. T ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

We ate outside on a beautiful evening. The service was terrific, the food was delicious and the guacamole made tableside is the best I've ever had!

food1
ambience3
service1
value1

This was the worst experience ever!

Dined on May 9, 2016

Bad food, bad service, condescending waiter and hostess! I will never go back and I always go to Garbles when I go to New Mexico, which is usually 6 times per year. It was mother's day and although I recognize that it was a busy time, we were treated poorly. I will not be going back or recommend anyone to Gabriel's again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A must stop when in the Santa Fe area fo ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

A must stop when in the Santa Fe area for us. Great outside if weather is right, but inside is a very acceptable second. Expansive menu provides many opportunities to try something new, although old favorites have a strong calling.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

1st time eating here

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was so different, but amazing. The waitstaff was so nice, they even have my mom roses for Mother's Day. Prices were reasonable. Can't wait to eat there again.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Mother's Day Lunch - Great

Dined on May 8, 2016

We had a reservation and had a wait a bit. The restaurant was packed and it was a bit rainy. The host and wait staff did an excellence job tending to us and the tables around us. I atmosphere was incredible, guacamole made at our table, waiter greeted us with roses for the Mother's. It was a very special occasion and we were treated very well.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Mothers day treat

Dined on May 8, 2016

Had a very enjoyable lunch with my Mom. Food was amazing as usual, staff was a little off due to a surprise rain storm, but the food, and our waiter giving my Mother a rose, saved the experience.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Service was lacking.

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

We took friends who we had bragged to about Gabriel's being so good. We sat for 20 minutes and had to flag down one of the waitstaff to send in a drink order. Took 10 minutes more to get that. Finally had a waiter take our order. Asked for water. Didn't come and had to flag down another person to actually get water. They are usually much better organized - but not tonight.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

GUACAMOLE A MUST

vip
Dined on April 26, 2016

We tried Gabriel's after a friend suggested this as a favorite Santa Fe restaurant. It's now one of ours! The table side guacamole is outstanding and the margaritas were perfect! Our fish tacos were so yummy and the kernel corn on the plate was a pleasant surprise, particularly since one of us doesn't care for rice. Beautiful art surrounded us and the restaurant was spotless.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Really enjoyed the Guac made by the table, but..

Dined on April 19, 2016

Really enjoyed the Guacamole made by the table, but the rest of the food was mediocre at best. It was your standard Mexican food fare. All and all a disappointing experience. Weather was not great, so we had to sit indoors. The outside patio looks like it would be the place to sit.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

Came to Gabriels based on other reviews ...

vip
Dined on April 11, 2016

Came to Gabriels based on other reviews and while out of the way (seems a bit in the middle of nowhere to an out of town traveler) we were not disappointed. Overall food quality, portions and taste were fantastic. Steak fajitas were expertly done and the only disappointment was that they were out of carnitas (my personal favorite) since they had a busy night the day before.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious Delite

Dined on April 9, 2016

Special get together for a group of 6 friends. We all Thoroughly enjoyed the evening and both the food and service were fantastic.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They never let us down!

Dined on March 26, 2016

We are locals who always take guests to Gabriel's. Once they've been there, returning friends and family always request to go back. We are never disappointed and appreciate the great food and service. We've lived and/or traveled in many large cities throughout the country and we feel we know how to make a fair assessment of a restaurant.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Mex Quick

Dined on March 25, 2016

Prompt service without ambiance provides tasty meal that lacks unique dining experience.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great, as always!

Dined on March 15, 2016

Gabriel's has always been one of my favorite Santa Fe restaurants. The food is always good and the prices are very moderate. When I have guests form out of town (or State) I always try to get in a trip to Gabriel's and have never been disappointed. I love the patio, in season but the inside is lovely, too.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Nice!

Dined on March 11, 2016

This was our first visit to Gabriel's & we very much enjoyed our meal. Close to Santa Fe & the tableside guacamole preparation was fun!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gabriel's is a Winner

vip
Dined on March 10, 2016

We had not been to Gabriel's for a long time because we heard it was not like it used to be. WRONG!! Food and service was great.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service3

All of the dishes we ordered were except ...

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

All of the dishes we ordered were exceptional very fresh incredibly tasty and very reasonably priced

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Classic old Santa Fe restaurant.

Dined on February 17, 2016

A bit out of town but worth the drive. The House Margarita was excellent. Did not have the table-side prepared guacamole but many others did. Food was very high quality and very good hand formed tortillas freshly cooked.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We love Gabriel's

Dined on February 15, 2016

Lunch was so wonderful we went back the next day for lunch again.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

Poor service and disappointed

Dined on February 15, 2016

To start off the night the hostess ignored me completely for at least 5 minutes while standing right next to her. I eventually had to tap her just for her to look at me even though I said excuse me multiple times trying to get her attention. Then once seated this restaurant is locally famous for their handmade guacamole done right in front of you exactly how you want it. The woman who made it just made it really quickly and didn't even allow us to add a few things to make it exactly to our liking which is what they usually do. The server who was assigned to our table only came by a few times and never checked on us unless I got his attention. They didn't have ribs on the menu which is the main reason my girlfriend wanted to go their. Very disappointed

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great experience

Dined on February 15, 2016

We went to Gabriel's for Valentine's Day Dinner. Restaurant was decorated with red balloons and Valentine wall decorations - Nice touch. Because of the date the restaurant was very crowded and we did have to wait for about 15 min. despite having reservations; there were just no tables available at the time of our arrival. Once were seated the wait staff was very attentive, food service was surprisingly quick for as busy as they were - or maybe it was because of the margaritas we had before dinner. Food was excellent. This was not our first experience at Gabriel's, but we have never been disappointed with the food, service or atmosphere.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

My entire family loved this place. The ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

My entire family loved this place. The guacamole is made at your table, and is delicious! The corn tortillas are definitely homemade. We ordered the queso and it was really good and spicy! I had the jalapeño margarita and it was really good. Service was great! My husband and I split the Puerto Vallarta and we had plenty. Would definitely go back.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great meal

Dined on February 15, 2016

Bustling, lively atmosphere without feeling overly crowded. Bit of a drive from the Plaza area, but well worth it. I had the fish tacos and they were outstanding.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food3
ambience3
service3

We go for the table side guacamole, but ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

We go for the table side guacamole, but Chilie's does the same thing for about $7.00. I always felt the chips are tasty, but a touch hard, the salsa is ' hot' Pace would be a better offering, as you would have a mild bite with flavor. We ordered the fajitas, both chicken and steak, why-oh-why do chefs insist on burying great tasting meat and chicken under a mountain of Bell peppers and onions.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Place was so busy, but the staff kept on top of it

Dined on February 14, 2016

My wife and I had gone to Gabriel's a few yrs. back for our anniversary and really enjoyed the food and staff is always great! One of the few places I don't mind going back to for special occasions. We were there for Valentines this year and they were soo busy but the wait staff kept on top and we were never needing anything!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thanks for accomodating our group!

Dined on January 24, 2016

The food was fantastic and service was prompt and courteous.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service2

This was raved about so we went- got a n ...

vip
Dined on January 17, 2016

This was raved about so we went- got a nice table. Service was ok. Had carnitas and chiles relleno. Carnitas were better- handmade tortillas were fantastic! Both of our tummies didn't feel well afterward.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful Stop in Santa Fe

Dined on January 1, 2016

We had Santa Fe as a day-long stop on a roadtrip, and after a couple of hours looking at reviews of various restaurants, chose this as one of the two places we dined at in town. We made a reservation for 8pm, but the place was slammed and we weren't seated until about 8:35, which was a bit of a bummer. However, we were treated well after that and the food came out fairly quickly. The menu had some different items on it, which was interesting, and all three of us were happy with our selections. The pico was especially fresh, and although the tableside guacamole was good, it is a little overpriced at $12, so I'd skip that unless you're a super-fan. I had the chicken and shrimp fajitas, and the other items the group ordered included the Polla Vallarta (very cheesy) and a dish that had four meats in it, which was the only one gobbled down without the need to box it for taking home. I also recommend asking for sopapillas - at $1.25 apiece, they're massive and delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

NYE madness

Dined on January 1, 2016

Jammed for NYE - waited 40 minutes past our reservation. Seemed to lack a sense of urgency to turn tables. Food was ok.

Tags: kid-friendly
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always good food

Dined on December 30, 2015

It had been a little while since we had eaten at Gabriels - though we are often up that way we always seem to go by when we are not hungry. This day however we had decided on a late lunch/early dinner and we were at the right spot at the right time. I ordered the rellenos stuffed with chicken and Mrs ordered the carnitas plate....we shared both and still had enough to fill a to-go box for the next day's lunch.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Margs & guac

Dined on December 30, 2015

Always great food, wonderful margaritas and the guacamole at your table is a treat. The service is always impecable, friendly and always willing to accommodate. Summer patio and winter fireplace is a welcome setting. Guacamole made at the table is always good.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great guac, good food, good service

Dined on December 24, 2015

Enjoyed our meal and evening. One complaint is that the "private" dining area is very noisy. The round walls bounced the piped in music and it was too loud for comfortable conversation, something we who were having a family reunion really wanted. Add the loud music to an adjoining table with noisy adult and children made things less than ideal.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

If you love Mexican food, make the drive...

Dined on November 25, 2015

It felt like going to Old Mexico. The food was delicious and well-prepared. Margaritas were awesome. The delicious guacamole was made tableside and could have made a meal all by itself. I only wish they stayed open past 9 pm...we could have talked and eaten for hours there.

food2
ambience3
service4

Over rated.

Dined on November 21, 2015

Good place for families and big eaters that prefer quantity over quality. Service was fast and friendly and the food was OK but not for foodies. The margaritas were weak and lacked kick. The online reviews over-rate it.

Tags: kid-friendly
food5
ambience3
service5

Always Good Guac

vip
Dined on November 14, 2015

Best table side guac ever and especially in santa fe! And the blue corn cheese enchiladas are outstanding! Feels good knowing the food is hand made, always fresh, and DELICIOUS! All the servers are courteous and fast!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently Great!

vip
Dined on November 12, 2015

We've eaten at Gabriel's many times and the experience is always excellent. When weather allows the patio is a treat, but any time of the year the food, service and ambiance are superb. They make a superior guacamole at tableside, so you can personalize the ingredients, and it cannot be beaten. The servers anticipate your needs and the meal flows perfectly, while they never hurry you.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was absolutely delicious! Loved it!

Dined on October 20, 2015

Perfect spot for a quiet romantic dinner. The food was delicious and the employees were friendly. You can't go wrong with this place! Enjoy!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Dining

Dined on October 18, 2015

We took our family of six to Celebrate our son's birthday. We had a great time and the staff was kind and helpful. We would recommend this venue to our friends. Thanks for the awesome service.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.