About Gabriel's - Santa Fe

4 Banana Ln
Santa Fe, NM 87506-0910
View Larger Map

Five minutes north of the Opera on Hwy 285, savor the cuisine of the Southwest and Old Mexico at the eatery Zagat labels "one of America's top restaurants, a true Mexican classic, rated excellent in all categories." Enjoy the spacious outdoor patio with a spectacular mountain view. Inside, the thick adobe walls and kiva fireplaces create a cozy, romantic atmosphere. Featuring guacamole made fresh at your table, renowned margaritas, authentic Mexican cuisine and handmade corn tortillas. Lunch and dinner served daily.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican / Southwestern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner:
Winter: Sunday - Thursday: 2:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 2:30pm - 9:30pm
Summer: Sunday - Thursday: 2:30pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 2:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Exit 176, Hwy 285

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 455-7000

Website:
http://www.gabrielsofsantafe.com/

Executive Chef:
Saul Valtierra Padilla

Private Party Facilities:
Gabriel's is perfectly suited to accomodate groups from 10 to 100 in both private and semi-private dining rooms. Please contact us for details.

Private Party Contact:
Claire Gabriel: 5054557000

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Gabriel's - Santa Fe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.9

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
New Mexico
Most Booked
New Mexico
Outdoor Dining
Santa Fe / Mountains
1 More
Most Booked
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Restaurants in Santa Fe ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (82)
Good for Groups (53)
Special Occasion (45)
See All
Kid-friendly (33)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Scenic View (31)
Great for Lunch (30)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Romantic (19)
Casual (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Worth the Drive (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Authentic (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Good for a Date (4)
People Watching (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Spicy (3)
Fun (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Business Meals (2)
Historic (2)
Family Style (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Fireplace (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
Newest
337 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Basic Southwestern fare - nothing stood ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined 6 days ago

Basic Southwestern fare - nothing stood out. Staff was attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We ate there on a Saturday night at 7:30 ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We ate there on a Saturday night at 7:30 and the patio was almost full. The food (chile rellenos) was good and plentiful (we got the large portion and split.) The service was very rushed but courteous. We stayed awhile to talk after dinner and by 9 p.m. the place was totally empty.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value5

Very good Mexican spot. The guacamole ta ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Very good Mexican spot. The guacamole table service was wonderful. The chicken mole good, and I didn't care as much for the chile relleno though it was traditional, a little too much batter crust for my preference. The service was very friendly and attentive, and really nice casual patio. I'd go back.

Tags: Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

Gabriel's has been a favorite since we d ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Gabriel's has been a favorite since we discovered it several years ago. The food is good, especially the guacamole, the service is good, we love sitting outdoors in nice weather and the view great!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

To begin, our server was out of his elem ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

To begin, our server was out of his element. He was unavailable most of the time and he tended to be unpleasant. Everything was incredibly slow. We're locals and this was probably our worst Gabriels experience. Management claimed they were busy. It's a restaurant--it's supposed to be busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

We love Gabriel's. They always honor ou ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We love Gabriel's. They always honor our reservation immediately. This time our waiter was a bit distracted but not enough to downrate our experience.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Too touristy for us, so not worth the dr ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Too touristy for us, so not worth the drive fm Santa Fe.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Food is always delicious, and drinks are ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Food is always delicious, and drinks are fantastic.

Tags: People Watching, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Loud! Wait staff in too much of a rush i ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Loud! Wait staff in too much of a rush instead of being sure to get the details right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

What a disappointment. I have been to Ga ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

What a disappointment. I have been to Gabriel's off and on for more than 20 years and have continued to support it, mostly due to its proximity to the Santa Fe Opera. This last visit will be my last. The kitchen was blamed for its inefficient service, long wait for food delivery, INCORRECT orders for three of our six diners, and COLD food for the other three diners. The 'upper management' comped only our two orders of very pricey guacamole-- this after I had approached the management stand three times to plead for correction, after which we were not even offered desserts, coffee-- and, after ALL of the botched service, I had to again approach the service desk to request our check. Incredibly disappointing after a long run of attempted second chances...

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

The service was extremely slow this trip ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The service was extremely slow this trip where normally they have excellent service. We ate on the patio as we normally do this time of year and the restaurant did not seem overly crowded. Not sure what the issue was.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Great as always. We come here every tim ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great as always. We come here every time we go to the Santa Fe Opera.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We love Gabriel's ever since we discover ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

We love Gabriel's ever since we discovered it 2 years ago. This meal was an anniversary celebration. Initially we were being ignored (they were quite busy on a Thursday evening) but after talking to the manager our server was absolutely great and apologized profusely. Made for a wonderful evening. We will definitely go back and we highly recommend the restaurant. The guacamole table side prep is good but the preparer should automatically offer a small plate to spoon the guacamole into to avoid double-dipping. (We had to ask).

Tags: Family Style, Bar Seating, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

One of the best for Northern New Mexico ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

One of the best for Northern New Mexico food/dishes...have the freshest ingredients, and few, if any dishes swimming in grease. No draft beer, which is a strike against them. Like many places, the food and service are best when they're busy. Popular with locals and tourists, so, reservations a good idea.

Tags: Fireplace, Spicy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Excellent food of New Mexico and Mexico! ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Excellent food of New Mexico and Mexico! We can consider this comfort food of the Southwest!

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great as always!!! Been there many time ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Great as always!!! Been there many times in the past decade.

Tags: Great for Lunch, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Very loud, very busy restaurant with a g ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Very loud, very busy restaurant with a great outdoor patio seating area.

The food is really good but inconsistent, we went two times while we were in Santa Fe.

The furst experience was better then our second trip.

The waiter on our second visit was not friendly or helpful rather indifferent, food the second visit was just ok.

I would go back and give it another try.

Tags: People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

We had eaten here three years ago outsid ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We had eaten here three years ago outside and loved our meal and the experience. We went back this year and it was so crowded. We got seated almost right away with our reservation but our table was inside and right by the kitchen. I'm very sensitive to noise so it was especially bad for me. The food was good, table side quac was great. I'd go back but make sure I requested out door seating and go at an off time. It was Indian Market and there were crowds every where.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value5

Amazing view. Great outside seating. Foo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Amazing view. Great outside seating. Food solid. Not a fan of the waitstaff rushing around from table to table for no particular reason as it wasn't particularly busy the evening I dined there. Appeared interested in either getting off shift early and/or turning tables more quickly.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

is my favorite restaurant! Whether lunch ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

is my favorite restaurant! Whether lunch, dinner, or dessert & a glass of wine. Make time to stop and enjoy!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience at gabriels this time was ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Our experience at gabriels this time was much better than last winter .we were very pleased. We were treated much better this time and will plan to eat there again. Lunch during the winter months didn't seem to have any supervision of the waiter!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

I don't know which was worse, the food o ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I don't know which was worse, the food or the service. The quality of the food was on a par with a fast food restaurant. Our server was not friendly, inattentive, didn't know much about the drinks menu, and brought the wrong bottle of wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

Loved the sweet potato enchiladas! Amaz ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Loved the sweet potato enchiladas! Amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good Mexican food. Fun atmosphere. Our r ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Good Mexican food. Fun atmosphere. Our reservation was honored with prompt seating. It was noisy, but a nice noisy. It is quite a way from downtown Santa Fe.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food, service, and value. Gab ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Excellent food, service, and value. Gabriel's also serves among the best tableside fresh guacamole in the southwest. We frequently recommend Gabriel's both to tourists and locals like ourselves.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Well worth the drive outside of downtown ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Well worth the drive outside of downtown Santa Fe. The outside

courtyard was refreshing and tropical. The food was fantastic

with the best green chile rellenos I have tasted. The Prickly Pear

Cactus margs were delicious. We enjoyed dinner so much, we

went back the next day after a visit to the Bandelier National

Monument.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Patio dining was at its best here!! The ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Patio dining was at its best here!! The hostess and server were perfection. Table side Guacamole was awesome!! Loved our food and the skinny Margaritas. Will return again!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best table side Guacamole EVER! We come ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Best table side Guacamole EVER! We come to the area once a year. Always always make sure we go to Gabriel's for at least 2 meals. Once for a leisurely lunch, once on our way to the Santa Fe open air opera.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gabriel's was good. Just had a "used to ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Gabriel's was good. Just had a "used to be great " vibe. Restaurant needs some updating. Friendlier service. Our waiter was good but I didn't feel an energy nor much welcoming from other staff. Some areas were cluttered. This restaurant has a lot of potential. Mis management and not keeping up with times can slowly choke it. Table side Guac tasted good but there was nothing special about the prep. I think it's a great marketing service. But it has to be presented better. Pulling an ugly utility cart beside your table takes away from the experience. There was no socialization from the preparer. We drove a long time for it and ... Just slightly disappointing.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Service was extremely slow. We had a par ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Service was extremely slow. We had a party of 7 but other tables received prompt service. One entree was unavailable but we were not told for almost one hour. Finally, our waiter gave some excuse about someone else taking the last serving. The manager came over later and told us that that entree was dropped in the kitchen and offered a rush replacement. Meanwhile, the other entrees were obviously sitting under warming lamps judging by their appearance and taste. Very disappointed! Will never go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

I'm afraid this place has gone downhill ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

I'm afraid this place has gone downhill since our last experience. The table side guacamole was flat at best, the margaritas were subpar, food was just ok. Be a while before we go back

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Very good quality Mexican food. Great v ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Very good quality Mexican food. Great vegetarian tamales and traditional rellenos. They are known for their guacamole, but if you get it you might want to skip entrees. The quacamole is a meal by itself. You can get similar entrees in Santa Fe, but they will be twice the price. The building that the restaurant is in is also a neat place with an inside plaza.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Mexican food not quite up to its reputat ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Mexican food not quite up to its reputation. Tableilside guacamole prep was the highlight. Excellent. Otherwise food was average.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Very nice evening. On vacation and had ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Very nice evening. On vacation and had been unhappy with selections in Taos and previous trip to Santa Fe. Was very pleased with everything here and would go again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a wonderful time! The food was gr ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We had a wonderful time! The food was great and the sangria - excellent. Great to dine outside in the summertime. We went right before heading to the Santa Fe Opera - perfect location.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

We made our reservation thru Open Table, ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We made our reservation thru Open Table, and it worked out great. When we arrived, there was a significant line waiting to be seated. We were directed to simply walk to our outdoor table and meet our friends. The capable wait staff was managing things quite well.

Water, chips and salsa arrived shortly, followed by drink orders. We ordered the guacamole dip which was made fresh at the table - a treat for out-of-state friends. It was a busy night but our food arrived in a reasonable time. Everyone's plate was as-ordered, the flavors delightful, and appreciated by all. So, a very enjoyable evening at Gabriels.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

One of the members of my party would hav ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

One of the members of my party would have given a 5 star on every category.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

we were a little disappointed this go ro ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

we were a little disappointed this go round. I myself had a great meal, the other 5 had somewhat cold meals. It may have been the fact that it was extremely busy but that hasn't been a problem in our past visits. Guacamole was delicious as always. Service was great. Not saying we won't be back, we will. Great overall restaraunt.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

THE QUACAMOLE IS FANTASTIC AND FUN TO OR ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

THE QUACAMOLE IS FANTASTIC AND FUN TO ORDER AS THEY PREPARE TABLESIDE. FISH TACOS TORTILLA WAS SOGGY AND FISH FELL THROUGH TORTILLA. FLAVOR GREAT MINUS THE TORTILLA. SERVICE WAS GOOD. SERVER DISAPPEARED FOR AWHIILE. OVERALL WE WERE PLEASED AND HAPPY TO BE AT GABRIELS. WE WILL GO BACK.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

We were in Santa Fe for a wedding the ne ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

We were in Santa Fe for a wedding the next day and had to have dinner at Gabriel's. The food and service was great the problem was we were in a room where the kitchen and serving was done from and the noise level was very bad. I will never sit there again. We had a hard time communicating. We should have asked to be moved and there was room in other parts of the resturant so there was no need to seat us there.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.