Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.00mi
  2. Distance: 2.00mi
  3. Distance: 4.70mi
  4. Distance: 5.38mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.00mi
  2. Distance: 2.00mi
  3. Distance: 4.70mi
  4. Distance: 5.38mi

About Gabriel's - Santa Fe

Five minutes north of the Opera on Hwy 285, savor the cuisine of the Southwest and Old Mexico at the eatery Zagat labels "one of America's top restaurants, a true Mexican classic, rated excellent in all categories." Enjoy the spacious outdoor patio with a spectacular mountain view. Inside, the thick adobe walls and kiva fireplaces create a cozy, romantic atmosphere. Featuring guacamole made fresh at your table, renowned margaritas, authentic Mexican cuisine and handmade corn tortillas. Lunch and dinner served daily.

4 Banana Ln
Santa Fe, NM 87506-0910
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican / Southwestern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner:
Winter: Sunday - Thursday: 2:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 2:30pm - 9:30pm
Summer: Sunday - Thursday: 2:30pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 2:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Exit 176, Hwy 285

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 455-7000

Website:
http://www.gabrielsofsantafe.com/

Executive Chef:
Saul Valtierra Padilla

Private Party Facilities:
Gabriel's is perfectly suited to accomodate groups from 10 to 100 in both private and semi-private dining rooms. Please contact us for details.

Private Party Contact:
Claire Gabriel: (505) 455-7000

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Gabriel's - Santa Fe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.0

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (42)
Worth the Drive (36)
Casual (30)
See All
Authentic (28)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Local Ingredients (21)
Special Occasion (20)
Good for Groups (19)
Scenic View (17)
Good for a Date (17)
Fun (15)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Great for Lunch (14)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Spicy (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Romantic (8)
Seasonal (7)
Cozy (5)
Business Meals (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Vegan (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Tapas (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Great Beer (2)
Family Style (1)
People Watching (1)
Fireplace (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Organic (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
472 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 3 days ago

We have eaten at Gabriel's a number of times. The food has always been excellent, particularly the guacamole, which is the BEST! This time, however, my wife's entree and that of one of our friend's were ho-hum at best. We will go back, but this was a disappointment.

Tags: Vegan, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined 5 days ago

Good Mexican food at a reasonable price. Service is friendly and the food has always been reliable. Lots of outdoor dining available.

Tags: Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

This used to be a great place. However, the tableside guac was not as abundant & with higher price. The chile relleno was dreadful with soggy thick batter & the taco was awful. The fajitas were fair. The grilled chicken burnt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 7 days ago

This time I was disappointed. I had reserved with notation it was Birthday celebration, and I also reminded hostess when she seated us. She said she would tell our waiter. But nothing special happened. I finally mentioned Birthday, and waiter said no one had told him. So we did not receive the traditional birthday celebration or cake at Gabriel's, and I am keenly disappointed. We also were seated in a room I had never seen before and it felt like an annex. Not the experience I had anticipated for my husband's birthday 😔

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Food and service was great,... We found it quite loud

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 7, 2017

This restaurant came highly recommended.
To our great disappointment the frozen margaritas tasted like flavored water and the chicken mole was dry and tough as a shoe sole. Hardly edible.
Service was friendly and very good.
We hope it was just a night off and not the way their food always taste.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Gabriel's is one of my favorite restaurants and I often go there for Birthdays or take visitors from out of town.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Casual, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Great place to have dinner before the Santa Fe Opera!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Spicy, Fun, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

We had a reservation for 6pm for a large group. We arrived to find that the kitchen was closed. I got an email at 6:30pm telling me that the kitchen was closed so my reservation was cancelled. Too late to do us any good! There is no other restaurant near here, so this really put us in a bind!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Nice outdoor dining area. The food was good but nothing exceptional. My burrito could have used far less beans and more meat.

They also need to address the pesky fly situation.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 31, 2017

My friend and me love to come here for the margaritas and guacamole. They have the best in town! If that is what you are looking for, I would highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 30, 2017

We love eating at Gabriel's, especially patio dining during the summer! Great Southwestern food, lovely ambiance, delicious margaritas. Just a few miles north of Santa Fe, worth the drive!

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Nice setting but the food is utterly bland. Looking for the spicy southwest, this is not it.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

I had never had guacamole prepared at my table before. It was fun to watch the young waiter do his magic with a bit of showmanship and it was especially satisfying because I was able to ask him to leave out the hot stuff. The others at my table had all the hot they wanted served in a separate dish. It was so creamy and delicious! Be careful, though, it's very tempting to just fill up on this appetizer. You must leave room, because the entrees are not only delicious but the portions are large!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Average at best - better dining options without the drive are available in Santa Fe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Friendly, professional staff. Pleasant ambience. Hanging art always interesting to view. Table-side guacamole is exceptional--best guacamole in entire Santa Fe area, in our opinion. Restaurant always appears very clean--not typical in Santa Fe.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Authentic New Mexican cuisine, fresh ingredients, attentive staff.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

I've always enjoyed eating at Gabriel's and have taken friends there every time we have guests
from out of town and on several occasions we've introduced Santa Fe residents who never made the effort to go out there before and are now regulars. This was the first time I'd gone to the trouble to make reservations and was a little surprised that the wait was only a few minutes shorter than all the other times when we've not bothered . The guacamole is still the "best in town " and the waiters and other personnel are still very friendly and trying hard to please the growing customer list. I am very happy that you've become so popular. Keep up the good work !

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Table needed to be recleaned by the hostess before we were seated, she apologized profusely & was very nice. She was very disappointed in the way the table presented when she escorted us to our table. She was on it though & noticed it before noticed before we were seated. Brochettes de mariscos very disappointing. Our mistake ordering seafood at an inland restaurant. Their mistake was having it on the menu. Service was spotty, waiter was trying though, "learning'. Tableside guacamole very good. This was not our first visit to this establishment.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Service was quick. The food was terrific!!!! A must-have is the The made by the table guacamole!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Gabriel's is always wonderful. The food and atmosphere are always
outstanding.

This visit we had to ask for one person's drink 2 times, extra plates for guacamole 3 times, and we had no forks in our napkin roll. We finally got the attention of a head waiter who brought them immediately. This isn't our first visit when the service was lacking.

We love to eat at Gabriel's, but generally, the service is very mediocre.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 15, 2017

This visit was not great. My husband and I were seated in the back by the open kitchen and it was so loud we could not have a normal conversation. Loud kitchen staff and loud customers, with poor acoustics. My taco and enchilada were cold, beans dry, and taste-wise unimpressive, but my husband loved his seafood fajitas. The tableside qucamole was good. Service was rushed and everyone seemed stressed due to crowds. I don't desire to return.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Food was great as always. Guacamole made at your table is simply delicious.

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Casual, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 14, 2017

My cousin took my wife and me to Gabriel's several years ago. We loved it. Great food. Love the Guac! We have been back every time we come to Santa Fe from Oklahoma City. Recommended it to my daughter who had to come for business and Gabriel's won her away from another historically celebrated Santa Fe eatery. It is our favorite in the Southwest. Great atmosphere. Our service this time was excellent. Very attentive wait staff without hovering. Friendly and professional. Everyone there was having a great time. Keep up the good work. We recommend it to everyone who comes to Santa Fe.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Table made guacamole was very good. Food was average. Very loud, server was rude.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 12, 2017

My husband and I were told by several coworkers to eat at this restaurant. We ate there twice during a recent business travel week. It was wonderful! The guacamole appetizer was the best that we have ever eaten. The entrees were as follows: chicken fajitas, carne adovada, chicken taco salad and beef soft tacos carbon. They were all excellent. Service was excellent even while they were quite busy. We had reservations at 6 pm but we arrived 15-30 minutes early each time and were seated immediately. Noise was moderate but was able to hold a conversation.

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Vegan, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Special Occasion, Cozy, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Romantic, Spicy, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Gabriel's is our favorite place to eat when we come to Santa Fe. It's a terrific location for dinner before the opera during the summer, as it is not far from the opera grounds. There is easy on and off the highway access and ample parking. The food is authentic, varied, and delicious. It's great fun to have guacamole made table side to your specifications. The margaritas are excellent. Gabriel's is one of only a few places that serves Arroz con Pollo.

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The food was excellent as always. The service seems to have gotten slower since we
were there last year. No one seems in a hurry to bring your requested item. Still some of the best Mexican food we have eaten without being too "heavy".

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 7, 2017

If waiter knows you are going to Opera, they will serve you quickly. Table side guacomole is a specialty.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 5, 2017

What a difference a year makes. Our second visit a year later was very disappointing. The quality of the food was significantly worse and the service was terrible. Our waiter couldn't tell the difference between corn and flour tortillas and tried to argue with us over it instead of fixing the error. The food was bland, cold and disappointing. A big difference from a year ago :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Great food! The Caveat de Piñon sundae was a memorable ending.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Worst service. Took an hour to get our food. Same for everyone in the dining room where we were seated; all were angry. One meal was cold when it arrived; other meal was good. No one from the restaurant made any effort to apologize to anyone. May be our worst dining experience ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Delicious Santa Fe style New Mexican and Mexican food with a beautiful mountain view. The patio is downright romantic while being kid-friendly at the same time. Our waiter steered us toward options that did not include bell peppers and helped my husband pick out some lovely seafood fajitas with squash and carrots instead. I enjoyed the Taos-style blue corn taco and enchilada with shredded beef inside and red and green chile "Christmas" sauce on top. Ask for a complimentary sopapilla after supper - they'll be happy to bring you one with honey.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Food was very good, but the service was very slow and seemed as it the servers were short handed. I would definitely make this a must to eat place while in Sante Fe, but be sure to leave plenty of time for food n even simple things like a glass of water.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Love the patio seating area, great tableside guacamole and excellent food. Our favorite place in Santa Fe for casual dining.

Tags: Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Food was excellent, and the churros y chocolate for desert was the best!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Spicy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Sensational night. Food is always fabulous. Had vegetarian quesadilla and I am not a vegetarian. Chips and guacamole was 😋.

Tags: Disabled Access, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Gabriel's - Santa Fe is the place to which we always bring our out-of town guests. The guacamole made to order is a Gabriel's special that can't be beat. We have lived in Santa Fe for six years and Gabriel's ranks as one of Santa Fe's best.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 24, 2017

It is our favorite restaurant well worth the drive from Albuquerque!!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Guacamole is the best I ever had ,
The beer and food is always good
Eat there every time we are in Santa Fe

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.