Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.00mi
  2. Distance: 2.00mi
  3. Distance: 4.70mi
  4. Distance: 5.38mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.00mi
  2. Distance: 2.00mi
  3. Distance: 4.70mi
  4. Distance: 5.38mi

About Gabriel's - Santa Fe

Five minutes north of the Opera on Hwy 285, savor the cuisine of the Southwest and Old Mexico at the eatery Zagat labels "one of America's top restaurants, a true Mexican classic, rated excellent in all categories." Enjoy the spacious outdoor patio with a spectacular mountain view. Inside, the thick adobe walls and kiva fireplaces create a cozy, romantic atmosphere. Featuring guacamole made fresh at your table, renowned margaritas, authentic Mexican cuisine and handmade corn tortillas. Lunch and dinner served daily.

4 Banana Ln
Santa Fe, NM 87506-0910
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican / Southwestern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner:
Winter: Sunday - Thursday: 2:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 2:30pm - 9:30pm
Summer: Sunday - Thursday: 2:30pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 2:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Exit 176, Hwy 285

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 455-7000

Website:
http://www.gabrielsofsantafe.com/

Executive Chef:
Saul Valtierra Padilla

Private Party Facilities:
Gabriel's is perfectly suited to accomodate groups from 10 to 100 in both private and semi-private dining rooms. Please contact us for details.

Private Party Contact:
Claire Gabriel: (505) 455-7000

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Gabriel's - Santa Fe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.0

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (54)
Authentic (40)
Worth the Drive (39)
See All
Casual (34)
Local Ingredients (28)
Good for Groups (26)
Special Occasion (26)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Scenic View (22)
Fun (20)
Great for Lunch (17)
Good for a Date (17)
Spicy (16)
Sunday Lunch (16)
Comfort Food (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Romantic (13)
Good Vegetarian Options (13)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Seasonal (8)
Business Meals (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Cozy (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Bar Seating (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
People Watching (3)
Vegan (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Tapas (2)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
518 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 4 days ago

The best Tex-Mex restaurant but it is 10 miles outside Santa Fe, so very few know about it. The table side guacamole is it's signature appetizer, but this time we also ordered the queso. It came in a huge serving bowl and was even better than the guac! Great margaritas, too!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 9, 2017

Had a reasonable meal at a reasonable price and the service was good - can not ask for much more.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 8, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants in Santa Fe. The best guacamole on the planet! Located in the high desert with beautiful views as you drive out from Santa Fe. Not to be missed!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Compared to other New Mexican restaurants in the area, Gabriel's just doesn't measure up. The food is unremarkable. There is a reason we were seated early on a weekend evening.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Food great, love the New Mexican decor and ambiance. Service slow, had to request water twice, took a long time to order meals, no waiters returned to check on us during the meal.. BUT food brought promptly and fortunately there were not problems to require a waiter's assistance.

Reasonably priced but not inexpensive.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Such a Fabulous dinner! Tableside guacamole was perfect and followed by the crab enchiladas. Then we topped it off with sopapillas with honey and butter. They have a outdoor patio which looked fun but it was starting to rain. The drive there from Sante Fe was worth it too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 3, 2017

Views are awesome. Patio seating was exquisite. It’s a fun trip! Loved it!

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Gabriel's of Santa Fe has been one if my VERY favorite restaurants in the Santa Fe area for the more than 20 years that I have been coming here! The food is always great and the service excellent! They have many wonderful Gluten Free options and good allergy awareness. There is something for everyone and their Margaritas are top notch, especially if you order one made with Patron Silver or other "Top Shelf" brand of tequilla!
Their Table-Side Guacamole (The ORIGINAL!)
is to DIE for, especially if you participate and get yours made JUST how YOU like it! I NEVER miss it! On my most recent stay, I had the Guac, a Marg and the Green Chili Stew - Yum! Perfect for a cold and rainy eve... The atmosphere can be on the boisterous/loud side if you come on a Fri or Sat before an
Opera in the summer or Homecoming, as in my case, but whenever you come, it's WORTH the drive north of Santa Fe - Trust me! I hope to eat here for another 20 years!

Tags: Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Travelling through Santa Fe, we always try to dine here. Service is great, food is always spot on, and the value is quite reasonable. Would recommend.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Food was good but service was poor. I never felt so rushed be a server I hardly saw in my life. We had barely been seated and he asked for our drink orders. I asked for a moment. By time he came back my wife was half way through her drink. Our food came and I still did not have my drink. Like tables around us, we had to find our own water refills. The kitchen staff delivering food to the tables were very fast and noisy. I will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Always great food and wonderful ambiance. Our go-to place for our date-night!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Spicy, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Great for traditional food. The guacamole is wonderful!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 22, 2017

This restaurant was on so many "best" lists for Santa Fe restaurants and it did not disappoint. Perfect for seeing the great mountain sunsets! Wonderful food and drinks. Very much worth the drive!

Tags: Late-night Find, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 19, 2017

Gabriel's is our go-to restaurant for a pleasant dinner out. The food is consistently good, as is the service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Service was terrible. Had to ask many times for our waiter for drinks and food. Only good thing was guacomole.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
·Dined on September 18, 2017

We had a wonderful meal here for our Anniversary. Great staff and the food was very tasty. We will be back again next time we are in Santa Fe.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 17, 2017

My friend and I had reservations for 6:30 and got there at about 5 to have cocktails at the bar before being seated for dinner. The service at the bar was great and we received special attention from one of the servers (Robert, I think) who made guacamole for us and who was especially friendly.

At 6:30 we were seated on the patio, which is a beautiful setting, and the food was very good as usual. The reason for the less than stellar reviews is that our server, Juan, was gruff and un-attentive, which is rare at Gabriel's in my experience. Maybe he was just having a bad day, but his attitude put a damper on an otherwise perfect evening.

Tags: Happy Hour, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 11, 2017

The food was not good. Would not come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Food was cold. Not much flavor. More Mexican genre than New Mexican food. Guacamole was good but very little for six people. Far out of Santa Fe for dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
·Dined on September 5, 2017

Food was good, not great. In New Mexico you want and expect great green chili, and it was good but not great.

The place is very nice and the outdoor patio is wonderful. We tried to go the night before and couldn't get in so it is a popular place.

I would eat here again and would recommend it to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

Our favorite good in Santa Fe. Never been disappointed.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Gabriel's never disappoints. The service has always been great (thank you Sergio). This is a "go to" place when we have out of town guests visiting.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 4, 2017

The at-table guacamole was amazing. Our meals, though, were kind of bland. We all thought the food could have been spiced more/better. Great atmosphere and great guacamole. May go back if I'm nearby.

Tags: Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Highly recommend the guacamole and fajitas. Our waiter, Peter, was a gem.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 1, 2017

I may have reviewed Gabriel's before but it bears repeating. We went for margaritas and guacamole. We also shared a shrimp quesadilla. It was all we needed on a Friday evening. We sat outside of course and it was a lovely evening. The table side guacamole was excellent. Gabriel's is good for just appetizers or for a full meal. The patio is so wonderful this time of year.

Tags: People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Lots of flies on the patio. No Bueno! But the food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Wonderful food and staff!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Gabriel's is a Northern New Mexico institution. The food is consistently great.

Tags: Spicy, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 27, 2017

The menu was broad with New Mexican and more standard bistro fare. Plus a nice selection of vegetarian options. We sat on the patio, which I would recommend as a pleasant late summer early fall choice. The food was tasty, the service attentive and the prices very competitive. Give it a try.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

We have dined at Gabriel's many times over the year and have never had a meal we didn't love. This time we took friends from California, and they loved it too, You must get the guacamole. Making a reservation through Open Table was quick and convenient and I'm glad we did as they restaurant filled quickly.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Gabriel's is a great place to experience New Mexican cuisine. The surroundings feel historic, the wait staff is excellent, the table side assembly of guacamole made to your likes is fun and tastes great! This restaurant is outside of the Santa Fe clamor but food is comparable to the best offered in the city.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Our waiter was not friendly at all and rushed everything . He literally just did his job. We ordered guacamole which is made at your table- well nothing special and then it was almost thrown on our table to hurry onto the next table. It was very impersonal, and won't be bringing any more visiting friends back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 24, 2017

The food is amazing!! Sit outside and enjoy the beautiful view.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

My review is based on my taste of spicy foods. What is normal for most people is too spicey for me. I ordered the least spicy dish which was a mole chicken. The sauce was heavy and overwhelming to the taste. The portions were generous and filling.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Spicy, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Gabriel's made-at-the-table guacamole is outstanding and goes beautifully with their great margaritas. Our Crab Enchiladas were outstanding. We loved sitting on the patio. Only disappointment was that they didn't acknowledge our anniversary, something we had noted on the reservation.

Tags: Fun, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Excellent table side guacamole, delicious chips and salsa, refreshing margaritas, enchiladas suisas outstanding, and tasty sopapillas. The patio is a charming setting. We come back every time we're in Santa Fe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Great local restaurant that any visitor to Santa Fe would love to spend that afternoon at with friends

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Guacamole was the best preparation in the last 20 years. Fresh and tasty. Great bus service. Restaurant was packed due to Indian Market but we got in pretty quickly due to our Open Table reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 20, 2017

There was a shockingly high volume because it was Indian Market weekend. I have no idea how they managed the volume so well (better service than most every restaurant in Santa Fe under average conditions). They took our order quickly, brought drinks quickly, took our food order quickly, delivered hot, amazing, accurately meals and were attentive during the meal. They were efficient without being brusque. I'm so incredibly impressed. We walked around the restaurant after we ate and had no idea there were so many rooms full of such large groups. And did I mention the drinks and food were great. I would definitely return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 19, 2017

The food at Gabriel's is always very good. Their service is spotty - this visit the service was slow and confused. We were seated in the back area past the kitchen and the traffic noise level were awful (also near the women's restroom). Go for the food, if you also want ambience or service, go someplace else.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Authentic, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.