About Gabriel's - Santa Fe

Five minutes north of the Opera on Hwy 285, savor the cuisine of the Southwest and Old Mexico at the eatery Zagat labels "one of America's top restaurants, a true Mexican classic, rated excellent in all categories." Enjoy the spacious outdoor patio with a spectacular mountain view. Inside, the thick adobe walls and kiva fireplaces create a cozy, romantic atmosphere. Featuring guacamole made fresh at your table, renowned margaritas, authentic Mexican cuisine and handmade corn tortillas. Lunch and dinner served daily.

4 Banana Ln
Santa Fe, NM 87506-0910
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican / Southwestern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner:
Winter: Sunday - Thursday: 2:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 2:30pm - 9:30pm
Summer: Sunday - Thursday: 2:30pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 2:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Exit 176, Hwy 285

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 455-7000

Website:
http://www.gabrielsofsantafe.com/

Executive Chef:
Saul Valtierra Padilla

Private Party Facilities:
Gabriel's is perfectly suited to accomodate groups from 10 to 100 in both private and semi-private dining rooms. Please contact us for details.

Private Party Contact:
Claire Gabriel: (505) 455-7000

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Gabriel's - Santa Fe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Worth the Drive (15)
Casual (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
See All
Authentic (13)
Local Ingredients (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Good for a Date (10)
Spicy (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Historic (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Fun (8)
Cozy (8)
Special Occasion (8)
Fireplace (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Business Meals (5)
Family Style (5)
Romantic (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Scenic View (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
People Watching (3)
Great Beer (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Seasonal (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Private Room (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
378 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always visit and this was a aweful exper ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Always visit and this was a aweful experience makes me want to think about ever returning as i said i always stop in and it always ok but today was horrible and it wasnt like they were busy like ive seen before

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

A nice way to start the new year & thank ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 2, 2017

A nice way to start the new year & thank my husband for all his support and love. Many tasty vegetarian options and a New Mexican classic. The guacamole made at the table is a fun speciality. Near the opera, Buffalo thunder casino, and points north of Santa Fe.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Casual, Great for Lunch, Fireplace, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The tableside guacamole was outstanding. ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The tableside guacamole was outstanding. Service was attentive without being intrusive. While it is Mexican food the menu is slightly different than a lot of the other restaurants in the santa Fe area providing a nice change

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Third time to visit this place while vac ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Third time to visit this place while vacationing in Santa Fe. Consistently delicious! Something for everyone in my family of 6. Great ambiance, friendly and efficient staff, worth the drive a little north of Santa Fe plaza on Taos highway. Great chips, salsa, guacamole house-made beside your table to your liking. Had enchiladas verduras first time every...amazing. Piping hot sopapillas and honey for dessert. Highly recommended!!

Tags: Spicy, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

With the exception of the Margaritas and ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 29, 2016

With the exception of the Margaritas and the guacamole which were very good, everything else was forgettable to say the least. No condiments in the food, even the tortilla chips were pretty bad. Would not recommend at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

We had to wait 35 minutes for our reserv ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We had to wait 35 minutes for our reservation. We have been to Gabriel's many times and the food is always outstanding. This time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

I have never understood the popularity o ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 27, 2016

I have never understood the popularity of Gabriel's. It's fine, but nothing outstanding. We used to go for ribs & my visiting mom wanted to take us there after Christmas for them; she remembered having them a few years back. Two of 5 of us got ribs. The price is higher & the portion is significantly smaller. Instead of three sections of ribs stacked (a full rack), there were just two sections (2/3 rack). My husband felt it wasn't worth the price. My mom had a chile relleno &it was soggy and missing some of the "coating". My brother had a combo with a tamale & burrito. He said the flavor was good but there was way to much tortilla relative to the filling & it was just too "bready". He wished he'd gotten two tamales instead. Their food was "fair" to "good" but not great or excellent by any standard.

I ordered chicken fajitas. I prefer the chicken sliced before cooking so that it's juicier & has more flavor (more "edges" with seasoning). This breast was cooked whole then sliced. It was bordering dry & had no real flavor. The beans were fine & I thought the guacamole & pico condiments were generous compared to other places (e.g., Chili's). However, after several bites I bit into something hard & found a piece of METAL in the chicken. It looked like a the black coating from the cast iron platter that the fajitas are served on. There were small bits of it all through the partially chewed bit of meat that was in my mouth so I spit it into a napkin. The waiter came over & I told him about it. He brought me a new platter but I couldn't eat it. They packaged it to go but I ended up throwing it out. I didn't trust it. The 2nd platter was so hot it actually splattered oil all over the table around it, on my sister's hand, & on my shirt for about 3 minutes. Both platters were swimming in oil. No need for that when grilled.

The room we were in was SO LOUD we couldn't hear each other talk at our small table. It just wasn't what we expected, not fun. Couldn't wait to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Nice place

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Nice place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Always a great experience!

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Always a great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

They have a wide variety of choices. Th ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 15, 2016

They have a wide variety of choices. The margs were good. Our waiter was outstanding.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food is outstanding and the service ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The food is outstanding and the service is the best in New Mexico.

Tags: Special Occasion, Spicy, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Outstanding Value, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friends were down for the holiday from o ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Friends were down for the holiday from out of state. We made a reservation at Gabriel's on the way to the distillery where we met up with more friends. It made for a great day with good food and the lovely atmosphere at Gabriel's. Even the artwork was good to show friends why I'm glad to be a New Mexican.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are vacationing in Santa Fe and as in ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 21, 2016

We are vacationing in Santa Fe and as in the years past made the 13 minute drive up to Gabriel's. Well worth the trip. Food and service is always good and the ambience is excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gabriel's never fails to please! Perfect ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Gabriel's never fails to please! Perfect accommodations for birthday while still wanting quiet conversation...excellent food...attentive service...lovely music and views.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Made our evening as everything was great ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Made our evening as everything was great & our friends, who are finishing a month long tour of SW USA loved it too! Ta RDG

Tags: Family Style, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Spicy, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Wood Oven, Fireplace, Historic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Great Beer, Authentic, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Genuinely friendly service. Margarita wa ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Genuinely friendly service. Margarita was hand crafted and wonderful- not syrupy sweet like so many restaurants serve. The hand made corn tortillas were scrumptious. My carnitas were well flavored, not over spiced. My husband had fajitas with steak, shrimp and scallops - all cooked exactly right and delicious. Congratulations to the kitchen!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food on the pricey side. We went around ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Food on the pricey side.

We went around 5pm and was seated right by the door. Had to ask to be reseated.

Service was ok nothing great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Grabriel's was excellent as usual. Top ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Grabriel's was excellent as usual. Top notch service and terrific food. The fresh guacamole made tableside is a treat not to be missed.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

They were closing, but stayed open for o ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 30, 2016

They were closing, but stayed open for our party of seven. Best Guacomole in Santa Fe, hands down. Great food, great service. Thank you, Carlos and the staff.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A local favorite, food as good as you'll ...

 
·Dined on October 27, 2016

A local favorite, food as good as you'll find in Santa Fe... But for less $

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food and great service. Nice to fi ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Great food and great service. Nice to find a local favorite. Best chili rellenos I've ever had!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Wood Oven, Comfort Food, Fireplace, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

I had heard a lot about this restaurant ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I had heard a lot about this restaurant so was a little disappointed with the food. While it was good, it wasn't fantastic and bit overpriced. The margarita was VERY small for the price. I didn't hate the experience but I probably wouldn't go back.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Always a great, romantic dinner. Tablesi ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Always a great, romantic dinner. Tableside guacamole is the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love Gabriel's , and go there for din ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We love Gabriel's , and go there for dinner and their wonderful guacamole made at table side when we visit Santa Fe .

Tags: Seasonal, Casual, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

We selected Gabriel's based on a suggest ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on October 13, 2016

We selected Gabriel's based on a suggestion from a family member who had just been there with work associates. We were absolutely delighted to be there and to celebrate my birthday. I didn't expect the singing trio with a dessert and candle!! all delightful. We are likely to return even though we're in the area only 7 nights!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tapas, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wish it hadn't taken three trips to Sant ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Wish it hadn't taken three trips to Santa Fe to finally eat here. A little tricky to find off southbound expressway but well worth it. Tableside guacamole a must. We went with seafood options which are relatively hard to find elsewhere. San Diego fish tacos and crab enchiladas were both excellent!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had friends visiting from Oregon/Washing ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Had friends visiting from Oregon/Washington so we went to my favorite place and they lived it as well. It is consistently the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was all good, but guacamole especiál ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 8, 2016

It was all good, but guacamole especiál was a standout and should be a mandatory starter. 😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Loved it, atmosphere was fabulous, food ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Loved it, atmosphere was fabulous, food was so so good. I had not eaten there in the fall and winter. I was afraid sitting inside would not be as much fun. The atmosphere was so good, food was awesome, service was great. Had reservation and was seated within five minutes. So crowded people had been waiting 1 hour. Just perfect.

Tags: Private Room, Worth the Drive, Casual, Comfort Food, Cozy, Spicy, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Only go for the guacamole. There are bet ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Only go for the guacamole. There are better restaurants with better food in Santa Fe.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Great fun place, out of the way, with go ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Great fun place, out of the way, with good food. It was cool so we ate inside, but the outdoor patio looked wonderful. Our waiter was not very friendly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Spicy, Outstanding Value, Family Style, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

I was disappointed in my veggie tamales. ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 2, 2016

I was disappointed in my veggie tamales. They were dry and pretty much tasteless.

My partner enjoyed her meal but I wouldn't go back unless I was in the mood for their homemade guacamole.

Too many other good places in the area to settle for bland

Tags: Happy Hour, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Black bean enchiladas were amazing, good ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Black bean enchiladas were amazing, good beer list. Always have guacamole made at your table. Fun to see, great entertainment for kids. Nice atmosphere, attentive staff.

Tags: Historic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Casual, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Sunday Lunch, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our servers were friendly and very atten ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Our servers were friendly and very attentive to filling water and such. The sopapias were delicious. We ate with you twice. I visited years ago with my sisters and knew I needed to bring my husband to enjoy your food.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, People Watching, Fun, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Spicy, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We've been to Gabriel's many times in th ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We've been to Gabriel's many times in the past and thought it was fabulous. This time the service was horrible. We ordered guacamole at our table and the guy seemed in a hurry and the taste was bland. We ordered margaritas and they were also bland. We waited a long time for our food and they said they had a big party they were waiting on. We finally just left and the manager and waiter did not care. They never apologized, it is such a shame they know longer care about servive. We wondered if there was a change in ownership since it was opposite to the past. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value2

Had reservations here and our table was ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Had reservations here and our table was ready at the time of reservation. The food was outstanding and the service was top notch. The posole and shrimp & scallop fajitas 👍. We will definitely return.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good but not exceptional. The s ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Food was good but not exceptional. The service was average and we had to request basic things like place service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Basic Southwestern fare - nothing stood ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Basic Southwestern fare - nothing stood out. Staff was attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We ate there on a Saturday night at 7:30 ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 18, 2016

We ate there on a Saturday night at 7:30 and the patio was almost full. The food (chile rellenos) was good and plentiful (we got the large portion and split.) The service was very rushed but courteous. We stayed awhile to talk after dinner and by 9 p.m. the place was totally empty.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value5

Very good Mexican spot. The guacamole ta ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Very good Mexican spot. The guacamole table service was wonderful. The chicken mole good, and I didn't care as much for the chile relleno though it was traditional, a little too much batter crust for my preference. The service was very friendly and attentive, and really nice casual patio. I'd go back.

Tags: Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.