About Gabriel's - Santa Fe

4 Banana Ln
Santa Fe, NM 87506-0910
View Larger Map

Five minutes north of the Opera on Hwy 285, savor the cuisine of the Southwest and Old Mexico at the eatery Zagat labels "one of America's top restaurants, a true Mexican classic, rated excellent in all categories." Enjoy the spacious outdoor patio with a spectacular mountain view. Inside, the thick adobe walls and kiva fireplaces create a cozy, romantic atmosphere. Featuring guacamole made fresh at your table, renowned margaritas, authentic Mexican cuisine and handmade corn tortillas. Lunch and dinner served daily.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican / Southwestern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner:
Winter: Sunday - Thursday: 2:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 2:30pm - 9:30pm
Summer: Sunday - Thursday: 2:30pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 2:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Exit 176, Hwy 285

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 455-7000

Website:
http://www.gabrielsofsantafe.com/

Executive Chef:
Saul Valtierra Padilla

Private Party Facilities:
Gabriel's is perfectly suited to accomodate groups from 10 to 100 in both private and semi-private dining rooms. Please contact us for details.

Private Party Contact:
Claire Gabriel: 5054557000

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Gabriel's - Santa Fe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.0

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
New Mexico
Outdoor Dining
Santa Fe / Mountains
Most Booked
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Restaurants in Santa Fe ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (87)
Good for Groups (59)
Special Occasion (51)
See All
Great for Lunch (37)
Kid-friendly (35)
Fit for Foodies (33)
Scenic View (31)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Romantic (16)
Hot Spot (11)
Great for Brunch (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Late-night Find (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Sort By:
Newest
320 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very loud, very busy restaurant with a g ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined 6 days ago

Very loud, very busy restaurant with a great outdoor patio seating area.

The food is really good but inconsistent, we went two times while we were in Santa Fe.

The furst experience was better then our second trip.

The waiter on our second visit was not friendly or helpful rather indifferent, food the second visit was just ok.

I would go back and give it another try.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

We had eaten here three years ago outsid ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We had eaten here three years ago outside and loved our meal and the experience. We went back this year and it was so crowded. We got seated almost right away with our reservation but our table was inside and right by the kitchen. I'm very sensitive to noise so it was especially bad for me. The food was good, table side quac was great. I'd go back but make sure I requested out door seating and go at an off time. It was Indian Market and there were crowds every where.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value5

Amazing view. Great outside seating. Foo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Amazing view. Great outside seating. Food solid. Not a fan of the waitstaff rushing around from table to table for no particular reason as it wasn't particularly busy the evening I dined there. Appeared interested in either getting off shift early and/or turning tables more quickly.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

is my favorite restaurant! Whether lunch ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

is my favorite restaurant! Whether lunch, dinner, or dessert & a glass of wine. Make time to stop and enjoy!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience at gabriels this time was ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Our experience at gabriels this time was much better than last winter .we were very pleased. We were treated much better this time and will plan to eat there again. Lunch during the winter months didn't seem to have any supervision of the waiter!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

I don't know which was worse, the food o ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I don't know which was worse, the food or the service. The quality of the food was on a par with a fast food restaurant. Our server was not friendly, inattentive, didn't know much about the drinks menu, and brought the wrong bottle of wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

Loved the sweet potato enchiladas! Amaz ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Loved the sweet potato enchiladas! Amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, service, and value. Gab ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Excellent food, service, and value. Gabriel's also serves among the best tableside fresh guacamole in the southwest. We frequently recommend Gabriel's both to tourists and locals like ourselves.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Well worth the drive outside of downtown ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Well worth the drive outside of downtown Santa Fe. The outside

courtyard was refreshing and tropical. The food was fantastic

with the best green chile rellenos I have tasted. The Prickly Pear

Cactus margs were delicious. We enjoyed dinner so much, we

went back the next day after a visit to the Bandelier National

Monument.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Patio dining was at its best here!! The ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Patio dining was at its best here!! The hostess and server were perfection. Table side Guacamole was awesome!! Loved our food and the skinny Margaritas. Will return again!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best table side Guacamole EVER! We come ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Best table side Guacamole EVER! We come to the area once a year. Always always make sure we go to Gabriel's for at least 2 meals. Once for a leisurely lunch, once on our way to the Santa Fe open air opera.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gabriel's was good. Just had a "used to ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Gabriel's was good. Just had a "used to be great " vibe. Restaurant needs some updating. Friendlier service. Our waiter was good but I didn't feel an energy nor much welcoming from other staff. Some areas were cluttered. This restaurant has a lot of potential. Mis management and not keeping up with times can slowly choke it. Table side Guac tasted good but there was nothing special about the prep. I think it's a great marketing service. But it has to be presented better. Pulling an ugly utility cart beside your table takes away from the experience. There was no socialization from the preparer. We drove a long time for it and ... Just slightly disappointing.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Service was extremely slow. We had a par ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Service was extremely slow. We had a party of 7 but other tables received prompt service. One entree was unavailable but we were not told for almost one hour. Finally, our waiter gave some excuse about someone else taking the last serving. The manager came over later and told us that that entree was dropped in the kitchen and offered a rush replacement. Meanwhile, the other entrees were obviously sitting under warming lamps judging by their appearance and taste. Very disappointed! Will never go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

I'm afraid this place has gone downhill ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

I'm afraid this place has gone downhill since our last experience. The table side guacamole was flat at best, the margaritas were subpar, food was just ok. Be a while before we go back

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Very good quality Mexican food. Great v ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Very good quality Mexican food. Great vegetarian tamales and traditional rellenos. They are known for their guacamole, but if you get it you might want to skip entrees. The quacamole is a meal by itself. You can get similar entrees in Santa Fe, but they will be twice the price. The building that the restaurant is in is also a neat place with an inside plaza.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Mexican food not quite up to its reputat ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Mexican food not quite up to its reputation. Tableilside guacamole prep was the highlight. Excellent. Otherwise food was average.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Very nice evening. On vacation and had ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Very nice evening. On vacation and had been unhappy with selections in Taos and previous trip to Santa Fe. Was very pleased with everything here and would go again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a wonderful time! The food was gr ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We had a wonderful time! The food was great and the sangria - excellent. Great to dine outside in the summertime. We went right before heading to the Santa Fe Opera - perfect location.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

We made our reservation thru Open Table, ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We made our reservation thru Open Table, and it worked out great. When we arrived, there was a significant line waiting to be seated. We were directed to simply walk to our outdoor table and meet our friends. The capable wait staff was managing things quite well.

Water, chips and salsa arrived shortly, followed by drink orders. We ordered the guacamole dip which was made fresh at the table - a treat for out-of-state friends. It was a busy night but our food arrived in a reasonable time. Everyone's plate was as-ordered, the flavors delightful, and appreciated by all. So, a very enjoyable evening at Gabriels.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

One of the members of my party would hav ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

One of the members of my party would have given a 5 star on every category.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

we were a little disappointed this go ro ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

we were a little disappointed this go round. I myself had a great meal, the other 5 had somewhat cold meals. It may have been the fact that it was extremely busy but that hasn't been a problem in our past visits. Guacamole was delicious as always. Service was great. Not saying we won't be back, we will. Great overall restaraunt.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

THE QUACAMOLE IS FANTASTIC AND FUN TO OR ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

THE QUACAMOLE IS FANTASTIC AND FUN TO ORDER AS THEY PREPARE TABLESIDE. FISH TACOS TORTILLA WAS SOGGY AND FISH FELL THROUGH TORTILLA. FLAVOR GREAT MINUS THE TORTILLA. SERVICE WAS GOOD. SERVER DISAPPEARED FOR AWHIILE. OVERALL WE WERE PLEASED AND HAPPY TO BE AT GABRIELS. WE WILL GO BACK.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

We were in Santa Fe for a wedding the ne ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

We were in Santa Fe for a wedding the next day and had to have dinner at Gabriel's. The food and service was great the problem was we were in a room where the kitchen and serving was done from and the noise level was very bad. I will never sit there again. We had a hard time communicating. We should have asked to be moved and there was room in other parts of the resturant so there was no need to seat us there.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We were there on a Sunday evening with 7 ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

We were there on a Sunday evening with 7pm reservations for 4 people. It was raining so we were seated inside but in a back room next to a large party (20 or so) celebrating a wedding. Took forever to get drinks, place order and get our food and check. Not the best first impression!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

Amazing ambiance + their signature guaca ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Amazing ambiance + their signature guacamole make this a must every time I visit home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

2nd time to be there. Got table right ne ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

2nd time to be there. Got table right next to kitchen. Noise was annoying and very loud! Had to ask for a waiter, asked twice for chips & salsa, asked 2nd waiter for a drink. Waiter we had not personable at all. Food was good.

Not sure I would go again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

As always, the food and atmosphere were ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

As always, the food and atmosphere were perfect. Our party of 3 had a fantastic time. I live in Santa Fe, and if I want northern New Mexico food, this is my go-to restaurant. I also take visitors here because it is a lovely drive north of town and provides a great intro to our beautiful area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our group of 15 was accommodated well. ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Our group of 15 was accommodated well. Table was ready and waiting as requested. The large round table in a separate room was the perfect setting for us. Dinner was quite tasty.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Awesome and delicious. Every dish was pe ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Awesome and delicious. Every dish was perfect and the posole is out of this world. An absolute go-to restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Beautiful weather for dining on their pa ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Beautiful weather for dining on their patio. The food was delicious and the service was fine.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were so disappointed with our experie ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We were so disappointed with our experience at Gabriel's. The waiter was rushing the entire time and could barely stand still to take our order. He did not interact with us at all just grunted and kept running. The food was cold when it got to the table and overall was less than average.

Will NEVER return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Sit out on the patio for table side made ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Sit out on the patio for table side made guacamole and the view

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is the best place in Santa Fe for h ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This is the best place in Santa Fe for homemade guacamole and fajitas. Our family has really enjoyed dining at Gabriels for years. The only issue some people may have is the location as it is a little ways outside of the city. The drive is worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best guacamole in own, made table si ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The best guacamole in own, made table side. The other offerings are just OK, nothing extraordinary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

great food, service and table side guaca ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

great food, service and table side guacamole! Enjoyed the outdoor brick patio, flowers and ambience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing margaritas and tables use guacam ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Amazing margaritas and tables use guacamole service. I had a bit of a disappointing entree - my chicken burrito had little or no seasoning. First time I've experienced that here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Found this restaurant on a Southwest Air ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Found this restaurant on a Southwest Airlines magazine. We booked a table on the patio for the ambiance.

The food was great and generous portions and the Margaritas were oh so good.

Service was good and waiter attentive.

This restaurant is about 20 minutes away from downtown Santa Fe.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

35 minute wait even with reservations. O ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

35 minute wait even with reservations. Out of entre I ordered. Food was above average; I expected better. Sangria was mediocre. Margarita was pretty good. Wait person was pleasant.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

I have heard Gabriel's talked up for yea ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I have heard Gabriel's talked up for years, so my expectations were high, probably too high. We were seated in a corner, in a space that seemed to have no waitstaff or even fillers of glasses. The waiter who served us was good when he finally came over, but it felt like we weren't even at one of his tables. Went for a special occasion, which I pretty much regretted from the moment we sat down.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Outstanding table side guacamole and veg ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Outstanding table side guacamole and vegetarian tamales. Fish tacos were excellent, as was the top shelf margarita. Nice drive north of Santa Fe. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.