Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.00mi
  2. Distance: 2.00mi
  3. Distance: 4.70mi
  4. Distance: 5.38mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.00mi
  2. Distance: 2.00mi
  3. Distance: 4.70mi
  4. Distance: 5.38mi

About Gabriel's - Santa Fe

Five minutes north of the Opera on Hwy 285, savor the cuisine of the Southwest and Old Mexico at the eatery Zagat labels "one of America's top restaurants, a true Mexican classic, rated excellent in all categories." Enjoy the spacious outdoor patio with a spectacular mountain view. Inside, the thick adobe walls and kiva fireplaces create a cozy, romantic atmosphere. Featuring guacamole made fresh at your table, renowned margaritas, authentic Mexican cuisine and handmade corn tortillas. Lunch and dinner served daily.

4 Banana Ln
Santa Fe, NM 87506-0910
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican / Southwestern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner:
Winter: Sunday - Thursday: 2:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 2:30pm - 9:30pm
Summer: Sunday - Thursday: 2:30pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 2:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Exit 176, Hwy 285

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 455-7000

Website:
http://www.gabrielsofsantafe.com/

Executive Chef:
Saul Valtierra Padilla

Private Party Facilities:
Gabriel's is perfectly suited to accomodate groups from 10 to 100 in both private and semi-private dining rooms. Please contact us for details.

Private Party Contact:
Claire Gabriel: (505) 455-7000

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Gabriel's - Santa Fe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Worth the Drive (21)
Great for Outdoor Dining (18)
Casual (18)
See All
Authentic (13)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Good for a Date (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Scenic View (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Fun (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Romantic (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Family Style (6)
Spicy (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Business Meals (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Cozy (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Great Beer (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Fireplace (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Vegan (2)
Historic (2)
Happy Hour (2)
People Watching (1)
Tapas (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Organic (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
430 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 18, 2017

This is our "Go To" place for lunch and dinner. The food is excellent and the service is top notch. We always recommend this place to our out of town visitors. Eat in the patio if you have a chance. Don't miss out on the guacamole made your table side. It's great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Vegan, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 16, 2017

The staff was not friendly at all

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 13, 2017

A favorite every time we visit Santa Fe - the table-side guacamole is not to be missed - everything always delicious and the service great.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 12, 2017

We were meeting friends we haven't been with in years. Never have we had such awful service. We'd been going there since it's opening over 20 years ago. Our waiter actually disappeared for an hour!!! We had to ask the sweet girl who was bussing our appetizer empty dishes to send our waiter, so we could order our entrees. Ordering drink refills, water, etc. was a joke. It was a Monday. Could that have been the reason?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Get the guacamole especial - delicious.

I had the crab enchiladas, which were also very good.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Went to Gabriel's on our way from Albuquerque to Taos. We are a band and crew who had just flown from Atlanta after playing at a festival there, and on our way to Taos to play the following day. As Tour Manager, I wanted to select a restaurant on our route, with vegetarian options and would please all concerned. I made a reservation for 11, which we we given a nice outdoor table. I was informed that they normally only accept groups no larger than 8.

Gabriel's was a very popular choice. Everyone was pleased to have stopped at Gabriel's. Food was great, and the drinks excellent.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 31, 2017

There are many excellent Mexican, northern New Mexican restaurants in Santa Fe. The food here was ok but not excellent or outstanding.

I would recommend it once if your party are tourists. The driver must not imbibe in the ok margueritas since this facility is out of town.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Do not go to this restaurant if you notice they are not busy when you enter. We've been going to Gabriel's for a number of years. We typically take guests to this restaurant who are visiting Santa Fe because the food is always good. But, the past few times when the restaurant was not very busy, we've been embarrassed by the very poor and indifferent service. Our friends visiting from Scottsdale will no longer go with us to Gabriel's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Love the overall restaurant. When we arrived they acted like they did not know we had a reservation a tab rudely only to approach the table later and ask we were the reservation party. Waiter was undesirable at best and simple did not care. Enjoy the atmosphere and food.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Great food and drinks. Wonderful view from outside dining.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 28, 2017

The appetizer was badly burnt. We only got a portion of our table side guacamole dip, the young man dropped half the avocado and never replaced it in the dip. Our waiter was almost non existent at our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Great attentive service. Best tableside guacamole!

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Great Al Fresco dining. Friendly staff. Good food & drinks. Casual & fun.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Lovely describes the whole experience from the staff to the food and the environment. Really good food with fast and friendly service. Perfect outdoor dining.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Authentic, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Try the Steak Fajitas that come still grilling on a super hot plate with slightly oily peppers and onions. The Margarita are very tasty, and the freshly made guacamole--prepared at your table--is a big reason folks seem to come back. Make sure you tell the ladies at the reservation podium that you made a reservation, and made one with Open Table, because we had to appeal to be credited for the meal by Open Table after the restaurant did not inform them we honored our reservation.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Very poor dining experience. The food was oily in one case and had been reheated in the other. The waiter was unhelpful, abrupt and acted like he was just too busy even though the restaurant was not very busy. This is not a good example of Santa Fe dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 21, 2017

A group of ten of us met for dinner. Great food, good service, very pleased!!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We have been to Gabriel's dozen of times and have NEVER been disappointed. They have discovered the secret to a perfect restaurant. Great food, reasonable prices, attentive service, and affordable margaritas. If you are in Santa Fe, this is worth the drive. Locals consider it the best New Mexican restaurant in the northern half of the state (only because we don't know the southern part that well!). We have had nearly all of the dishes on the menu (which has remained roughly the same over the past 20 years - an indication of its popularity) and all are great.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 19, 2017

A special request by my son for his graduation. Out of town guests lived it as much as those of us who are regulars.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Excellent as usual. It was Mothers Day and very busy. Still great service and timely food delivery

Tags: Tapas, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 14, 2017

One person from our party was at the restaurant 20 min. early but when the rest of us got there (3 mins late) they said they had called the name 3 times and then given up our table. We waited about 20 mins for another table and the waiter messed up our drink order. Our food didn't come out for about an hour. The food was good though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Creative New Mexico and Mexican cuisine in a traditionally inspired location. We'll be back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 14, 2017

As always, good food and pleasant servers. The night before Mother's Day was probably not the best choice but we had reservations so the wait was tolerable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We've been coming here as a family since Gabriel opened this wonderful tribute to Southwestern cuisine. Gabriel is a wonderful host and the cuisine is our favorite in Northern NM. Thanks to the team!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We returned after 8 years! We moved hundreds of miles away. They actually remembered us! This was one of our favorite restaurants & nothing had changed. My Puerta Vallarta entree was wonderful & the beef fajitas were fabulous. Their guacamole was so delicious as usual. Restaurant is really hidden, so use your GPS! It's on Hwy. 285 just south of Buffalo Thunder Casino & Resort. Enjoy - inside or on the beautiful patio.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We've been to Gabriel's many times in the past 3 years we've lived in Santa Fe and even considered it a favorite but recently we have notice an overall decline of service. In fact I would describe the service we've received in our last few visits as "indifferent". A total lack of caring whether we were getting attention and given a blank stare if we demand service. This past Cinco de Mayo we made reservations for us and a few friends. The special table request was totally ignored so our special needs friend with her service dog was jammed up near the front entrance where the dog was right in traffic. The margarita top shelf drinks were way watered down and tasted down right awful and to add insult-to-injury we got the same crappy attitude and poor service as the past few visits so, haste la vista Gabriel's. We're taking our dinero to a restaurant that appreciates loyal customers. Too many rude waiters!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 2, 2017

We had a reservation for 8, and 9 people showed up. They accommodated us with a smile. Food was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Good food, good service. :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Wonderful place, great food, and terrific ambience. The waiter was not so great. I asked what vodkas they have, his response was he do not know and he did not offer to check with the bartender. After that the waiter seemed not too interested in serving us.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Delicious Old Mexico cuisine, good service and guacamole made fresh at your table makes Gabriel's a unique dining experience. Gracias!

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Great good, good value. The service was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 8, 2017

This was highly recommended from several locals so understandably I was excited and there is probably the issue. It did not meet my expectations for food and quality and really not worth the drive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Wonderful, attentive service and delicious food. We will happily return.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 31, 2017

While not your typical New Mexico style cooking (flooded with red or green), we felt their interpretation of Mexican food was quite average. Just didn't seem to have the unique flavors?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Fo od was just OK. Nothing to write home about. There is much better Mexican food in Santa Fe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Little disappointed in our meal this time. Drinks were great. The guacamole prepared tableside was done by a new person who probably needs more supervision. Not up to the usual standard for Gabriel's. My seafood frajitas were very oily and not particularly appetizing. The extra tomatillo sauce had an off taste. The ribs were OK, but nothing extraordinary. We come many times; this was probably our most disappointing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 26, 2017

A group of 10 friends met for dinner and we had a great meal, drinks and lots of fun. Everyone said their food was very good and the Guacamole was wonderful. This was our third trip to Gabriel's and we will definitely be back. Many more items on the menu to try!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 25, 2017

It was an awesome date location and a nice drive from Albuquerque

Tags: Historic, Family Style, Romantic, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 24, 2017

I had dinner with my wife, my son and my grandson. I had the Brochette de Mariscos. The meal was very good although I expected more on the plate than what I got. Nevertheless the service was fast and friendly. This is our favorite restaurant and our "go to" place when we have out of town visitors. The quality of the food is consistent as is the service. I highly recommend Gabriels!

Tags: Spicy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Casual, Disabled Access, Romantic, Vegan, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Comfort Food, Fun, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 16, 2017

My 4th trip to Santa Fe area with friends or family and always take guests to Gabriel's -- fun, guacamole mixed at your table and is absolutely the BEST. Thank You!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.