About Gabriel's - Santa Fe

4 Banana Ln
Santa Fe, NM 87506-0910
View Larger Map

Five minutes north of the Opera on Hwy 285, savor the cuisine of the Southwest and Old Mexico at the eatery Zagat labels "one of America's top restaurants, a true Mexican classic, rated excellent in all categories." Enjoy the spacious outdoor patio with a spectacular mountain view. Inside, the thick adobe walls and kiva fireplaces create a cozy, romantic atmosphere. Featuring guacamole made fresh at your table, renowned margaritas, authentic Mexican cuisine and handmade corn tortillas. Lunch and dinner served daily.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican / Southwestern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner:
Winter: Sunday - Thursday: 2:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 2:30pm - 9:30pm
Summer: Sunday - Thursday: 2:30pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 2:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Exit 176, Hwy 285

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 455-7000

Website:
http://www.gabrielsofsantafe.com/

Executive Chef:
Saul Valtierra Padilla

Private Party Facilities:
Gabriel's is perfectly suited to accomodate groups from 10 to 100 in both private and semi-private dining rooms. Please contact us for details.

Private Party Contact:
Claire Gabriel: 5054557000

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Gabriel's - Santa Fe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.0

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
New Mexico
Outdoor Dining
Santa Fe / Mountains
Most Booked
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Restaurants in Santa Fe ›

great for outdoor dining (76)
good for groups (53)
special occasion (43)
See All
kid-friendly (35)
great for lunch (34)
fit for foodies (32)
scenic view (27)
neighborhood gem (26)
romantic (12)
great for brunch (9)
hot spot (8)
late-night find (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
notable wine list (2)
Sort By:
Newest
297 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were there on a Sunday evening with 7 ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined 5 days ago

We were there on a Sunday evening with 7pm reservations for 4 people. It was raining so we were seated inside but in a back room next to a large party (20 or so) celebrating a wedding. Took forever to get drinks, place order and get our food and check. Not the best first impression!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

Amazing ambiance + their signature guaca ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 5 days ago

Amazing ambiance + their signature guacamole make this a must every time I visit home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

2nd time to be there. Got table right ne ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 5 days ago

2nd time to be there. Got table right next to kitchen. Noise was annoying and very loud! Had to ask for a waiter, asked twice for chips & salsa, asked 2nd waiter for a drink. Waiter we had not personable at all. Food was good.

Not sure I would go again.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

As always, the food and atmosphere were ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined 5 days ago

As always, the food and atmosphere were perfect. Our party of 3 had a fantastic time. I live in Santa Fe, and if I want northern New Mexico food, this is my go-to restaurant. I also take visitors here because it is a lovely drive north of town and provides a great intro to our beautiful area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our group of 15 was accommodated well. ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined 6 days ago

Our group of 15 was accommodated well. Table was ready and waiting as requested. The large round table in a separate room was the perfect setting for us. Dinner was quite tasty.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Awesome and delicious. Every dish was pe ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 7 days ago

Awesome and delicious. Every dish was perfect and the posole is out of this world. An absolute go-to restaurant!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Beautiful weather for dining on their pa ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Beautiful weather for dining on their patio. The food was delicious and the service was fine.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were so disappointed with our experie ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We were so disappointed with our experience at Gabriel's. The waiter was rushing the entire time and could barely stand still to take our order. He did not interact with us at all just grunted and kept running. The food was cold when it got to the table and overall was less than average.

Will NEVER return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Sit out on the patio for table side made ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Sit out on the patio for table side made guacamole and the view

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is the best place in Santa Fe for h ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This is the best place in Santa Fe for homemade guacamole and fajitas. Our family has really enjoyed dining at Gabriels for years. The only issue some people may have is the location as it is a little ways outside of the city. The drive is worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best guacamole in own, made table si ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The best guacamole in own, made table side. The other offerings are just OK, nothing extraordinary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

great food, service and table side guaca ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

great food, service and table side guacamole! Enjoyed the outdoor brick patio, flowers and ambience.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing margaritas and tables use guacam ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Amazing margaritas and tables use guacamole service. I had a bit of a disappointing entree - my chicken burrito had little or no seasoning. First time I've experienced that here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Found this restaurant on a Southwest Air ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Found this restaurant on a Southwest Airlines magazine. We booked a table on the patio for the ambiance.

The food was great and generous portions and the Margaritas were oh so good.

Service was good and waiter attentive.

This restaurant is about 20 minutes away from downtown Santa Fe.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

35 minute wait even with reservations. O ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

35 minute wait even with reservations. Out of entre I ordered. Food was above average; I expected better. Sangria was mediocre. Margarita was pretty good. Wait person was pleasant.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

I have heard Gabriel's talked up for yea ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I have heard Gabriel's talked up for years, so my expectations were high, probably too high. We were seated in a corner, in a space that seemed to have no waitstaff or even fillers of glasses. The waiter who served us was good when he finally came over, but it felt like we weren't even at one of his tables. Went for a special occasion, which I pretty much regretted from the moment we sat down.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Outstanding table side guacamole and veg ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Outstanding table side guacamole and vegetarian tamales. Fish tacos were excellent, as was the top shelf margarita. Nice drive north of Santa Fe. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Fantastic for pre-opera dinner! Tablesid ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Fantastic for pre-opera dinner! Tableside guacamole is the best!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated on their last night with f ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We celebrated on their last night with friends visiting from out of state. We had an outdoor table, at an end, so it was very quiet.

Our party of six enjoyed margaritas, and guacamole made tableside before our dinner. The guac was excellent. Five of us ordered dishes which came with side plates, plus tortilla dishes. So much food! Actually, we could have split the main entree between a party of two. Fortunately, they do have take-home containers.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Restaurant is beautiful. Waiters were ve ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Restaurant is beautiful. Waiters were very nice, however, did not come by very often at all. One person in our party asked for a glass of tea five times before he got it. Our water glasses were consistently empty.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

As residents of Santa Fe, Gabriel's is a ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

As residents of Santa Fe, Gabriel's is a favorite when we want to go out for reliably good and reasonably priced food with fairly quick and attentive service. The guacamole made at your table is awesome and a favorite.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Terrible experience...we sat in the insi ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Terrible experience...we sat in the inside , not theoutside on a warm evening. The dining room was hot and stuffy. Waiters and staff made lots of noise and there was a constant clatter of dishes. Although it was not crowded we waited 15 minutesfor a server to appear, and 5 more toget a glass of water. Beer was Lukewarm, frozen margaritas wereok . before dinner was served, awaiter spilled a full tray of meals on the floor behind me. My legs were covered with enchilada goo and refried beans. They moved us to another table and gave me a towel to wipe off. The food eventually cameand it was ok, but not anything special. Go to Taco Bell and get an equivalent meal for a lot less money and aggravation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

This restaurant remains to be one of the ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

This restaurant remains to be one of the best in New Mexico. Last time my wife ate here was 14 years ago and it has only gotten better (which is hard since they were already at the top!) We will be back when we are in the area again.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gabriel's has never disappointed me or m ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Gabriel's has never disappointed me or my family. I'm always assured I will have great food and service.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great place for dinner before the Oper ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

A great place for dinner before the Opera...Food was very good, and tasty with hot food hot and cold food cold! The only disappointment was the service. The restaurant was very busy and probably could have used more servers but we waited at least 10 minutes once our meal was over to get the check. Then we waited another 5-10 minutes for the server to pick up the credit card and return it to us...I would have gotten dessert and coffee but was concerned that about the timeliness of the service so left instead.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Excellent mexican food in a relaxed frie ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Excellent mexican food in a relaxed friendly atmosphere with great service.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Gabriel's for our 43rd weddin ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

We went to Gabriel's for our 43rd wedding anniversary. The service was excellent. The table side Guacamole was very good. Some reviews said it was bland but the server is right there making it so you can request the additions that will make it how you like it. The server was more than happy to add a little more lime and salt to make it taste great. We had the seafood fajitas and they where good also. Great place for casual dining.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Sat outside and patio area is great. Fo ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Sat outside and patio area is great. Food was quite tasty and authentic

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

An excellent overall New Mexico-cuisine ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

An excellent overall New Mexico-cuisine restaurant. Great apps. Fresh guacamole made at your table. Huge serving of tasty chili con queso. Entrees were very good too, with a nice featuring of somewhat unusual seafoods, such as scallops and lump crab. Outdoor dining area is very nice. Service could have been a tad more attentive, but in general a very good dining experience. Will return to Gabriel's next time I am in the Santa Fe area and will definitely recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Our lunch was very good, as always. It w ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Our lunch was very good, as always. It was a lovely, warm day, so we chose to sit outside. The patio was full of flowers and fountains, and there was plenty of shade under the umbrellas. I missed my favorite margharita, since I was driving, but the iced tea was fine. Note: Don't miss the guacamole, no matter what else you order. 'Nuff said.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time at Gabriels, all ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

This was our first time at Gabriels, all was very good and will take guests when they come to Santa Fe.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We do not recommend Gabriel's. The table ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

We do not recommend Gabriel's. The table side guacamole was just bland. My husband and I did not care for the meal we each ordered so we traded plates and still did not like the food. Another waiter noticed we were not eating and asked if something was wrong but did not wait to hear our story before he took our plates away. We spent $50 and walked away very dissatisfied. I completed the restaurant survey given to us with the bill including our email address but did not hear back from the manager. It's been 4 days.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

We were happy to have chosen Gabriel's f ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

We were happy to have chosen Gabriel's for Father's Day. We always have good experiences there and Sunday was no exception. Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience was horrible. We arrived ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Our experience was horrible. We arrived when the restaurant opened at 11:30 on Father's Day. Several other people were sat down after us received their drinks and chips and salsa before we did. Finally we got a waiter and they sent over the gentleman to make the guacamole . We had to get up and ask for chips to eat our guacamole. I asked for an iced tea and never received it till I asked again. My daughter asked for no pico de gallo on her dish and it had it on her meal. We drove from Albuquerque to celebrate the special day. It has always been our special spot to eat. We will not even back for a while.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

beautiful spot,very pleasant outdoor pat ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

beautiful spot,very pleasant outdoor patio dining,close to town,good food,reasonably priced.

Just a good choice in Santa Fe

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Even though very busy the night we were ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Even though very busy the night we were there, the staff accommodated our every need in a very timely and professional manner. All performed with extreme politeness and friendliness.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was prompt and attentive. G ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The service was prompt and attentive. Guacamole is a specialty. Is it made fresh and to order at the table. Typical but well-prepared New Mexican cuisine served in a lively and busy restaurant. Very good value given the size of the portions and the quality of the dishes. Enthusiastically recommended.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Always awesome food and service!!!

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Always awesome food and service!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Guacamole was fresh made table side and ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Guacamole was fresh made table side and delicious! Margaritas were tasty and food was great. They sing and give you a sombrero if it's your birthday (plus a tasty dessert). Will be going again very soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Horrible Service

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

I would have given a better review, if it wasn't for the subpar service that we received while dining at this establishment. We saw our waiter a total of three times over the course of our hour and a half dining experience. The first time was when he took our order, the second was when he brought our food, and the third is when we had to hunt him down for the check. Our drinks were empty for 3/4 of our hr and half stay. We were never offered another drink. Had our waiter come by, this may have been discovered. The food was good but this experience made our stay less than enjoyable. My husband and I both got a beef taco that was drenched in chili and it was mushy. We couldn't pick it up and was a pile of mush. The beed was flavorful but not really what you are expecting when you order a taco. Very disappointing!!

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.