About G by Mike Isabella

2201 14th Street NW
Washington, DC 20009
View Larger Map

G by Mike Isabella offers a four-course Italian tasting menu featuring an antipasti board, pasta and meat courses, along with a supplement option.

Each week, Chef Isabella presents Sunday Gravy, a recreation of his family’s traditional end-of-the-week feasts. Expect classics like crispy calamari, a classic Caesar salad, house made spaghetti served with pomodoro sauce and a traditional meat gravy with meatballs, sausage and pork shoulder.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
14th and W

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 234-5015

Website:
http://gbymikeisabella.com/

Catering:
Mike Isabella Concepts offers Italian catering in the style of G Tasting. Please email events@kapnosdc.com for more information.

Parking Details:
G by Mike Isabella offers Valet Parking Thursday, Friday, and Saturday beginning at 5:00pm outside the Kapnos W Street entrance. Please note that Valet Service ends at close of service and is $15 per vehicle. Street parking can also be found nearby.

Public Transit:
G by Mike Isabella is located 3 blocks from U Street/African-Amer Civil War Memorial/Cardozo metro station (13th st & U st exit).

Executive Chef:
Mike Isabella

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • G by Mike Isabella, Washington, DC
  • G by Mike Isabella, Washington, DC
  • G by Mike Isabella, Washington, DC
  • G by Mike Isabella, Washington, DC
  • G by Mike Isabella, Washington, DC
G by Mike Isabella, Washington, DC
G by Mike Isabella, Washington, DC
G by Mike Isabella, Washington, DC
G by Mike Isabella, Washington, DC
G by Mike Isabella, Washington, DC

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:15PM - 10:00PM

Thu - Sat 5:00PM - 6:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

G by Mike Isabella offers reservation of the entire G space for larger groups. Please email for more information.

G by Mike Isabella Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.6

service

3.9

ambience

3.5

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

71% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Special Occasion (4)
See All
Good for Groups (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Authentic (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Seasonal (2)
Family Style (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Romantic (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Cozy (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
137 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Stellar food all around. Went with a fri ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

Stellar food all around. Went with a friend for Sunday Gravy which is $40/person. Being used to the small plates/tapas scene in town, we were shocked by how much food we were served for that price point. My friend and I could barely eat half and took him the other half for the next day's dinner. Wonderful price for the amazing and variety of food one receives. Appetizers, entrees and dessert were all yummy!

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere. Food was good. We tr ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Great atmosphere. Food was good. We tried a little of everything. Quick service and prices weren't bad. Would definitely eat here again!

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

G was really good. The food is a good pr ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 16, 2016

G was really good. The food is a good price, and it was very quick. I would recommend the sandwiches and the broccolini. If you are looking for a easy and tasty weeknight spot, I would definitely try G.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Food too spicy

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Food too spicy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

We had eaten at G about a year ago and r ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We had eaten at G about a year ago and really liked it. However, they have now changed the menu-no more interesting entrees, just what they call small plates that are really enough for two and pastas , pizza and salads. We each ordered a salad (each one was enough for two so one would have been enough but no one told us this). My Greek salad was fresh but drowning in capers. My partner's Caesar was blah. I ordered fried calamari/shrimp which was pretty tasteless and not enhanced by the accompanying tomato sauce. My partner had baked ziti which was served in a small iron skillet and looked like a big glop of pasta and melted cheese. He said it was spicy and just ok. All of this plus one glass of wine and a diet Coke was not cheap. $70 for a disappointing meal won't bring us back to G.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

The place used to be good months ago and ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The place used to be good months ago and I made a reservation thinking that they still had the set menu. Now it is heavy, rich in carb Italian good. Unfortunatly I will not be going back.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

Disappointing. Chicken parm sandwich wa ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Disappointing. Chicken parm sandwich was not made fresh. Breading on chicken was discolored and the basil in sandwich was black. Very few entrees to choose from. Vegetable side dishes are good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value1

The "Sunday Evening Gravy" is a terrific ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The "Sunday Evening Gravy" is a terrific value and great and plentiful food. At $40 fixe prix for a four-course meal served to be shared family style, the food was plentiful and more than the two of us could finish. This is only available on Sunday evenings from 6pm to 10pm. Easily 1/4 of the food went home with us in containers to be savored again. While the "gravy" implies pasta and sauce, and there were such dishes, there was also a wonderful trio (separate dishes) of burrato, calamari and roasted brussel sprouts as the starter. The main and pasta dishes both had Italian 'gravy' (sauce) incorporated, and there was a dessert choice. Everything was wonderful - my nephew (a foodie) declared the spaghetti the best he's ever had, and I preferred the pepper-cream sauce on another pasta.

Tags: Authentic, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

I went for dinner and must say the most ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 30, 2016

I went for dinner and must say the most stand-out aspect about this place for me was the value, the portions are large and the price is right. The atmosphere is pretty casual, you still feel like you are sitting in a sandwich shop, but the food was so good I'll be back for sure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

Limited menu. Use a lot of hot spice. Or ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Limited menu. Use a lot of hot spice. Ordered a simple side of spaghetti and the sauce was so hot had to send it back. Olives made your eyes water. There were 6 of us and the meals did not come out together and there was substantial time between serving them. Not impressed at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Although the menu, unbeknownst to us, ha ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Although the menu, unbeknownst to us, has changed, the chef made us a tasting menu feast. The service was attentive. Altogether special!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Awful. Booked a reservation here prior t ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Awful. Booked a reservation here prior to a show at the 9:30 club up the street. While nominally listed as Italian, there was nothing Italian about the menu except a few pasta dishes. The promotion as a "tasting menu" is completely inaccurate. We ordered 6 dishes comprising various sides, appetizers, and pastas to make an attempt at the tasting menu but each dish was a heaping pile of salty, oily, smoke infused disaster. Too large of portions and not one worth eating again. Our waiter specifically recommended we try the arancini appetizer, which we did. I kid you not, I think they served us Totino's pizza rolls in a ball form. I have had better food from school cafeteria vending machines. Next time I'll just get a plate of nachos at the show and save a hundred bucks for something else.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

We arrive, and notice immediately that t ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We arrive, and notice immediately that the AC was not working, and while the restaurant was fairly empty, no one welcomed us or offered water. We opted to leave after minutes due to the heat and lack of service. Won't be coming again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

A daytime sandwich shop offering a limit ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 26, 2016

A daytime sandwich shop offering a limited dinner menu in spare surroundings. But such great food, a terrific wine list, and a fine place to sit for a few hours with good friends while being well cared for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Traditional Italian dishes with a little ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Traditional Italian dishes with a little bit of a unique twist.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Wonderful evening with friends. Had alwa ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 17, 2016

Wonderful evening with friends. Had always wanted to try this restaurant and was very pleased with the menu offered during Restaurant Week. Very creative menu.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was raining and the valets didn't kno ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 30, 2016

It was raining and the valets didn't know a restaurant called G...bad start. But, the staff inside were helpful and our waitress was phenomenal. We had the chef's selection - the entree was skirt steak - great flavors and veggies but the meat was very chewy - the rest of the meal was yummy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Tasting menu food was fine (though nothi ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Tasting menu food was fine (though nothing was especially outstanding) but we weren't impressed with the wine list. We chose 2 white and 2 red wines, all Greek - this seemed to be the specialty of the place, in fact they share both wine lists and bathrooms with Kapnos :). One of each was not good, and one of each was OK. Service was great, they were helpful with substitutions. Overall, while the food was absolutely enjoyable and we had a good time, it is not necessarily worth the price.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The service was fantastic. The food was ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 30, 2016

The service was fantastic. The food was hit or miss: the appetizer plate was tasty and the diversity wonderful, but the carbonara was oversalted - we even had a replacement made, and it was still too salty. The tortellini was overlooked and mushy, but very flavorful. The tiramisu was ho-hum, but the tahini chocolate mousse was amazing. A very mixed experience. Would choose Kapnos over G.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Great service. The wine pairings were go ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great service. The wine pairings were good as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and idea. The tasting men ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Excellent food and idea. The tasting menu is amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was good, very creative and I thoug ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Food was good, very creative and I thought it was delicious. I think the tasting menu is an odd concept for a casual restaurant like G, but you can order a la cart. The place was completely empty when I went, which could be good or bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

We've been to G for both sandwiches at l ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 26, 2016

We've been to G for both sandwiches at lunch and dinner multiple times. This is the first time we went for the "Sunday gravy" dinner and it was amazing. Way more food than we could possibly hope to eat and all of it was phenomenal. Highly recommend it to anybody who loves Italian cuisine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Cheerful service but slow meal. We had r ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Cheerful service but slow meal. We had reservations at 8:15, seated by 8:30 and did not finish their three course tasting menu until almost midnight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Sunday Gravy was fantastic!!!!! Highly ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Sunday Gravy was fantastic!!!!! Highly recommended!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

More than just sandwiches

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 11, 2016

Tried the dinner service for G; considering I like Kapnos there were high expectations. Overall, did not disappoint.

Olives were fresh and tasty. Prix-fixe menu was filling, if not vegetarian friendly (for my date). The antipasto board alone would bring me back. Pastas were filling, if a tad on the salty side. The Nutella pannacota was an incredible way to end the meal.

The venue is one open room, so expect a loud experience. The wine list was not the most vibrant, but the waitstaff was great; kind enough to sample multiple open bottles until we found the one for our night.

Go with a group of friends, get some antipasto, dessert, and enjoy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

The $40 pre-fix is an amazing deal! High ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 9, 2016

The $40 pre-fix is an amazing deal! Highly recommend this for a date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Nice antipasti plate, disappointed with ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 4, 2016

Nice antipasti plate, disappointed with dessert. In between dishes were quality foods, just strange dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

inspired cooking, time after time

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 6, 2016

the antipasti is a master class in thinking simply and imaginatively about seasonal vegetables, but what's most distinctive to me about this place, compared with other acclaimed dc restaurants, is that again and again i come away not just excited about what i ate but full of ideas for cooking at home. in other words, this is an inspiring and generous place--not to mention truly italian in its level of family-feeling. when we brought 90-year-old with all manner of walking implements, everyone on staff made her feel she totally belonged in a cool logan circle restaurant on a jam-packed friday night. in terms of the food and the spirit, nothing else on 14th street comes close.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Red snapper and beef entres were delicious!

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 16, 2016

Doesn't seem great for large groups, but great cozy spot for a date or double date!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

2nd time here. Amazing pasta and wine se ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 9, 2016

2nd time here. Amazing pasta and wine selection! Can't wait for my next visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Was expecting more...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 27, 2016

Even though it mainly operates as a sandwich shop, at night they have a full menu. We indulged the $40 tasting menu. The pasta course (gnocchi) had lemon zest which was a little unusual in a pork ragu. Then I tried the short ribs. I love salty food (microwave popcorn anyone?), but I found this to be too salty for my tastes.

Dessert highligt was the banana cream.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Great ambiance, excellent service, excel ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 11, 2016

Great ambiance, excellent service, excellent cocktail/beer/wine selection, amazingly tasty food. I highly recommend it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was good! However, expect spi ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 6, 2016

Everything was good! However, expect spicy food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great tasting menu, wine pairing to be desired

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 27, 2016

We ordered the tasting menu, and the food was delicious. However, the wait staff was not knowledgeable about the wine pairings that came with each dish. I was rather disappointed that they did not describe the wines or even identify them when they poured with each course. I expected better service at G.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

My wife and I went on Valentine's Day fo ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2016

My wife and I went on Valentine's Day for the special San Valentino dinner. Five courses of amazingness. It was delicious pretty much all around. Especially the antipasto. We both agreed that the beef short rib entree probably could have been better but the chestnut sauce with it was extremely delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Food was really good, especially the pas ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Food was really good, especially the pastas.

Service was awful. Don't come here in a rush. They sat us 20 minutes after our reservation without any apologies. Then for both courses, some people received their food 10-15 min after the other people in our party. No apologies for this either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

John

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Had the Valentines Day 5 course tasting menu. Everything was unique and impressive. Table service was impeccable and the plates were adequately portioned.

Most importantly, they honored a request to do something special for my wife after a particularly tough year. Complimentary glasses of a delicious Rose champagne.

Impressively creative and professionally executed menu. Will be back to this and his other venues.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome Experience

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 7, 2016

I could not rave about G by Mike Isabella more. The food was outstanding and I am a very picky eater. Everything tasted great, the service was outstanding and I cannot wait until our next outing.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went for the normal prix fixe menu on ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 6, 2016

I went for the normal prix fixe menu on a recommendation from a friend, but unfortunately restaurant week had been extended. The food was very underwhelming. I had the cheese plate, braised lamb with polenta, and blondie. The best thing about the meal was the lamb itself, but it was still nowhere near the top 10 best lamb dishes I've had. Service was excellent, and while I didn't get to try the menu I came for, I probably won't be back. There are better restaurants within walking distance.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.