About G by Mike Isabella

2201 14th Street NW
Washington, DC 20009
View Larger Map

G by Mike Isabella offers a four-course Italian tasting menu featuring an antipasti board, pasta and meat courses, along with a supplement option.

Each week, Chef Isabella presents Sunday Gravy, a recreation of his family’s traditional end-of-the-week feasts. Expect classics like crispy calamari, a classic Caesar salad, house made spaghetti served with pomodoro sauce and a traditional meat gravy with meatballs, sausage and pork shoulder.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
14th and W

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 234-5015

Website:
http://gbymikeisabella.com/

Catering:
Mike Isabella Concepts offers Italian catering in the style of G Tasting. Please email events@kapnosdc.com for more information.

Parking Details:
G by Mike Isabella offers Valet Parking Thursday, Friday, and Saturday beginning at 5:00pm outside the Kapnos W Street entrance. Please note that Valet Service ends at close of service and is $15 per vehicle. Street parking can also be found nearby.

Public Transit:
G by Mike Isabella is located 3 blocks from U Street/African-Amer Civil War Memorial/Cardozo metro station (13th st & U st exit).

Executive Chef:
Mike Isabella

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • G by Mike Isabella
  • G by Mike Isabella
  • G by Mike Isabella
  • G by Mike Isabella
  • G by Mike Isabella
G by Mike Isabella
G by Mike Isabella
G by Mike Isabella
G by Mike Isabella
G by Mike Isabella

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

G by Mike Isabella offers reservation of the entire G space for larger groups. Please email for more information.

G by Mike Isabella Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.0

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (9)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Special Occasion (4)
See All
Good for Groups (4)
Great for Lunch (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Scenic View (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
123 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Traditional Italian dishes with a little ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 4 days ago

Traditional Italian dishes with a little bit of a unique twist.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Wonderful evening with friends. Had alwa ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful evening with friends. Had always wanted to try this restaurant and was very pleased with the menu offered during Restaurant Week. Very creative menu.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was raining and the valets didn't kno ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

It was raining and the valets didn't know a restaurant called G...bad start. But, the staff inside were helpful and our waitress was phenomenal. We had the chef's selection - the entree was skirt steak - great flavors and veggies but the meat was very chewy - the rest of the meal was yummy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Tasting menu food was fine (though nothi ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Tasting menu food was fine (though nothing was especially outstanding) but we weren't impressed with the wine list. We chose 2 white and 2 red wines, all Greek - this seemed to be the specialty of the place, in fact they share both wine lists and bathrooms with Kapnos :). One of each was not good, and one of each was OK. Service was great, they were helpful with substitutions. Overall, while the food was absolutely enjoyable and we had a good time, it is not necessarily worth the price.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The service was fantastic. The food was ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The service was fantastic. The food was hit or miss: the appetizer plate was tasty and the diversity wonderful, but the carbonara was oversalted - we even had a replacement made, and it was still too salty. The tortellini was overlooked and mushy, but very flavorful. The tiramisu was ho-hum, but the tahini chocolate mousse was amazing. A very mixed experience. Would choose Kapnos over G.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Great service. The wine pairings were go ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great service. The wine pairings were good as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and idea. The tasting men ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Excellent food and idea. The tasting menu is amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was good, very creative and I thoug ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Food was good, very creative and I thought it was delicious. I think the tasting menu is an odd concept for a casual restaurant like G, but you can order a la cart. The place was completely empty when I went, which could be good or bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

We've been to G for both sandwiches at l ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We've been to G for both sandwiches at lunch and dinner multiple times. This is the first time we went for the "Sunday gravy" dinner and it was amazing. Way more food than we could possibly hope to eat and all of it was phenomenal. Highly recommend it to anybody who loves Italian cuisine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Cheerful service but slow meal. We had r ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Cheerful service but slow meal. We had reservations at 8:15, seated by 8:30 and did not finish their three course tasting menu until almost midnight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Sunday Gravy was fantastic!!!!! Highly ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Sunday Gravy was fantastic!!!!! Highly recommended!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

More than just sandwiches

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Tried the dinner service for G; considering I like Kapnos there were high expectations. Overall, did not disappoint.

Olives were fresh and tasty. Prix-fixe menu was filling, if not vegetarian friendly (for my date). The antipasto board alone would bring me back. Pastas were filling, if a tad on the salty side. The Nutella pannacota was an incredible way to end the meal.

The venue is one open room, so expect a loud experience. The wine list was not the most vibrant, but the waitstaff was great; kind enough to sample multiple open bottles until we found the one for our night.

Go with a group of friends, get some antipasto, dessert, and enjoy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

The $40 pre-fix is an amazing deal! High ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

The $40 pre-fix is an amazing deal! Highly recommend this for a date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Nice antipasti plate, disappointed with ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Nice antipasti plate, disappointed with dessert. In between dishes were quality foods, just strange dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

inspired cooking, time after time

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

the antipasti is a master class in thinking simply and imaginatively about seasonal vegetables, but what's most distinctive to me about this place, compared with other acclaimed dc restaurants, is that again and again i come away not just excited about what i ate but full of ideas for cooking at home. in other words, this is an inspiring and generous place--not to mention truly italian in its level of family-feeling. when we brought 90-year-old with all manner of walking implements, everyone on staff made her feel she totally belonged in a cool logan circle restaurant on a jam-packed friday night. in terms of the food and the spirit, nothing else on 14th street comes close.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Red snapper and beef entres were delicious!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Doesn't seem great for large groups, but great cozy spot for a date or double date!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

2nd time here. Amazing pasta and wine se ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

2nd time here. Amazing pasta and wine selection! Can't wait for my next visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Was expecting more...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Even though it mainly operates as a sandwich shop, at night they have a full menu. We indulged the $40 tasting menu. The pasta course (gnocchi) had lemon zest which was a little unusual in a pork ragu. Then I tried the short ribs. I love salty food (microwave popcorn anyone?), but I found this to be too salty for my tastes.

Dessert highligt was the banana cream.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Great ambiance, excellent service, excel ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

Great ambiance, excellent service, excellent cocktail/beer/wine selection, amazingly tasty food. I highly recommend it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was good! However, expect spi ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Everything was good! However, expect spicy food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great tasting menu, wine pairing to be desired

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

We ordered the tasting menu, and the food was delicious. However, the wait staff was not knowledgeable about the wine pairings that came with each dish. I was rather disappointed that they did not describe the wines or even identify them when they poured with each course. I expected better service at G.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

My wife and I went on Valentine's Day fo ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

My wife and I went on Valentine's Day for the special San Valentino dinner. Five courses of amazingness. It was delicious pretty much all around. Especially the antipasto. We both agreed that the beef short rib entree probably could have been better but the chestnut sauce with it was extremely delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Food was really good, especially the pas ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Food was really good, especially the pastas.

Service was awful. Don't come here in a rush. They sat us 20 minutes after our reservation without any apologies. Then for both courses, some people received their food 10-15 min after the other people in our party. No apologies for this either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

John

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Had the Valentines Day 5 course tasting menu. Everything was unique and impressive. Table service was impeccable and the plates were adequately portioned.

Most importantly, they honored a request to do something special for my wife after a particularly tough year. Complimentary glasses of a delicious Rose champagne.

Impressively creative and professionally executed menu. Will be back to this and his other venues.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome Experience

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

I could not rave about G by Mike Isabella more. The food was outstanding and I am a very picky eater. Everything tasted great, the service was outstanding and I cannot wait until our next outing.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went for the normal prix fixe menu on ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

I went for the normal prix fixe menu on a recommendation from a friend, but unfortunately restaurant week had been extended. The food was very underwhelming. I had the cheese plate, braised lamb with polenta, and blondie. The best thing about the meal was the lamb itself, but it was still nowhere near the top 10 best lamb dishes I've had. Service was excellent, and while I didn't get to try the menu I came for, I probably won't be back. There are better restaurants within walking distance.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

We walked thru Kapnos to get to G. Thin ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

We walked thru Kapnos to get to G. Think G is a hidden gem and we enjoyed being only two in restaurant. Food was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Quiet night

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 2, 2016

Went for Restaurant Week (only menu available). The charcuterie plate (for 2) was fabulous and huge. I asked for additional crostini because it's a little hard to eat all that cheese and meat without some crackers or bread. Dinner was the red snapper (excellent) and the lamb stew (eh). Most of the stew elements were fine but the lamb pretty haggard. Bread pudding for dessert good but tiramisu eh. It was a Monday night so no crowd and not much noise. Good reasonably priced wines. Attentive and pleasant server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Bad food, ordered a pasta which had too ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 1, 2016

Bad food, ordered a pasta which had too much pepper, I just felt a dish of pepper in my mouth.the food is not cheap, 2 people --120$

But the worst part was the service. Even it was 8:30pm, they made me feel like it was midnight and they want it to throw me out of the restaurant and close.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Wanted to like it, but...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

My wife and I went for Restaurant Week and we probably won't ever come back. The antipasto was the highlight. Both the lamb dish and the pasta were, well, kinda greasy. The lamb had some kind of white sauce surrounding it that resembled the fat you scoop off a meaty casserole after you leave it overnight in the fridge. Yuck. Wine was good. Ordered a bottle of very nice Greek wine, a pinot noir, very reasonably priced. Desert course, a "blondie" brownie and something else I've completely forgotten, however, was equally meh. My wife never finished hers! I wanted so much to like this place, we love Kapnos next door, perhaps the sandwiches here are better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Average Restaurant Week

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

We went as a group of 4 for Restaurant week, and can't say any of us walked away very impressed. The starters were great; a salad, fingerling potatoes and the charcuterie board. The chicken liver spaghetti was pretty good as well - my boyfriend go the lamb which was slightly overcooked. The desserts were especially average - mine was basically a 'nutella' cookie with ice cream on top; the description sounding better than the actual result. The waitress took care of us and everything came out correctly, on time, etc. just wasn't blown away by any of the plates or flavors once the appetizer round ended. Not to mention our bill came back much higher than we expected; noticing they charged for the bread we asked for - but weren't told was a charge. It was average at best; not worth the $150 per couple we ended up spending on RW.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Had a nice time here during Restaurant Week 2016

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on January 27, 2016

The main plus here is the service. The wait staff that took care of us were all very attentive and included the manager and assistant manager (I am guessing). It's a small space, so don't bring alot of stuff with you. There is another (sister?) restaurant next door that maybe uses the same kitchen (??). Anyway, the food was tasty. I was surprised that I liked my friend's chicken liver spaghetti since I don't like chicken liver (smile)! I ordered a salad as first course, and that was wise. As the second, main course was grease (good but grease) for both of us. The menu is not extensive but tries to accommodate the carnivores, omnivores and vegans alike. Portions may look a tad small, but it is more than enough when you start digging in. Nice place. I would certainly go again.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Tons of food, and it was all amazing!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on January 18, 2016

Tons of food, and it was all amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Tasting Menu!

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on January 15, 2016

I was amazed at the quality and value of the tasting menu. For only $40, I had a four-course meal. Each course was delicious and showcased a diversity of flavors. I would highly recommend dinner here (or lunch - the sandwiches are phenomenal!) for any occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Dinner

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

Thanks for a great dinner! Entrees, wine and dessert were all delectable. Friendly and effective service.

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not worth cost

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

We had been before for lunch and really enjoyed it. We went for NYE because it was what we were looking for- small, neighborhood place with appealing menu. The dishes were good but unfortunately we just did not feel it was worth the cost. The protein portion of our entrees were very small. We would go back for lunch but probably not for dinner.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Glad we went...will go again

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on December 12, 2015

We took friends from the NY NJ area who were looking for Italian. When I couldn't get reservations for the restaurant I wanted to take them I picked a place I had never been. I think they were a bit skeptical at the menu but it turned out to be top notch-from appetizers to dessert a pleasant surprise all around. Will definitely go back. Only negative is, for older ears it is LOUD inside.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Good restaurant week menu

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on December 6, 2015

My friend enjoyed the restaurant week selection. The staff was able to accommodate a food sensitivity. Enjoyed the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We've been here twice and both times were thrilled

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on December 5, 2015

My wife and I along with a friend have gotten the tasting menu with wine parings. For $40 for the menu, this can't be beat. Everything was wonderful but for me, as someone that does not usually care for dessert, that the chocolate/nutella cake they severed that night has stayed with me speak volumes about the place. Plus the service was (again) beyond great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Not-so-small plates

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on November 28, 2015

We'd eaten and enjoyed the two affiliates of G -- the sandwich shop that uses the same premises at lunchtime and Kapnos next door -- several times. We figured that the $40 dinner tasting menu would provide a relatively modest amount of well-prepared food. We were on the mark on the second account, not so much on the first.

The food was generally of a very high quality, and would have earned a five-star rating but for two miscues. First, while the tagliatelle in a cauliflower-cheese sauce was exceptional -- the pasta was perfectly cooked and the sauce was both a good complement and well balanced -- platings were erratic. Both my spouse and I ordered this dish but one of our plates was inundated in the sauce, and the other had a more normal saucing. Someone in the kitchen needed to monitor what was coming out more closely. Second, while the lamb is my meat course -- presumably from the spit at Kapnos -- was exceptional, its accompaniments were not. These included an overly soupy (and under flavored) polenta and salty kale, which did not complement either each other or the lamb optimally.

The platings -- which included a very generous portion of charcuterie, cheeses, and some great risotto balls as opening and full-size desserts -- were a good deal larger than we anticipated based on our meals at Kapnos. So we left feeling satisfied, but quite stuffed -- the restaurant is quite a good value.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.