About Fusion

3501 Atlantic Ave
Virginia Beach, VA 23451
View Larger Map

Fusion, located inside the Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront, features fabulous views of the Atlantic Ocean through its floor to ceiling windows. Featuring regional contemporary American cuisine, our fresh bold flavors will tantalize your taste buds while you enjoy our tapas style dishes. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, our wine list is primarily new world with over 16 selections by the glass. With multiple fresh catch features daily, pair your favorite with a pairing made by our own sommelier. Lunch and dinner plates range between $7 and $19 a plate, wine by the glass range from $6 to $16 a glass, and our Happy Hour specials daily from 4pm-7pm. Come, experience, and enjoy.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Tapas / Small Plates, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 6:30 am - 11:00 am;


Lunch: Daily: 11:30 am - 4:30 pm;


Dinner: Daily: 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
36th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 425-9000

Website:
http://www.sheratonvirginiabeach.com/fusion-restaurant

Catering:
Whatever your meeting needs are, our VA Beach meeting facilities at Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel are sure to have a fitting space. Our flexible meeting space options can conveniently accommodate events for 20 or large-scale conventions for 400. Our talented and attentive staff is committed to making your event a stress-free success.

Parking Details:
We feature complimentary valet parking for our guests.

Public Transit:
On the Tide route.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Daily 5:30PM - 6:30PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Fusion Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

2.0

service

3.4

ambience

3.6

value

1.5

noise

Moderate

0% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (2)
Sort By:
Newest
101 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food is beyond bad. For a table of 4 ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The food is beyond bad. For a table of 4 we ordered 4 different entrees. Everything tasted bad. They couldn't even make potatoes taste good. The fried potatoes that came with the steak looked and tasted like powder inside the fried shell. The only good thing about the restaurant is the view and design inside.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

When the three of us arrived at the rest ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

When the three of us arrived at the restaurant, the hostess seemed quite upset when we requested a table near the lovely, large blue-tinted window overlooking the ocean rather than the table in the middle of the room. Yes, they had to clean and set-up the table near the window, but really, you would have thought we had asked for her first born rather than to move some cutlery a few feet. The waitstaff was quite pleasant throughout the meal.

Ambiance was quite nice, with a very pleasant band fronted by someone who sounded a good deal like Jeff Buckley. The food, well...I had the Divers Scallops on a bed of spinach and pickled red onions - this was probably the most flavorful dish but there was only one note and I got bored with it after my initial hunger was slaked. My 12 yo daughter had the rotisserie chicken and seemed to enjoy it, but her side of 'cornbread' wasn't touched. My boyfriend chose the Mahi Mahi special. It was dry and the side of what we think was polenta was quite bland. Like the cornbread, it came in a small cast-iron pan. Kinda cute. My daughter liked the chocolate molten-cake dessert but we declined and went for gelato afterwards.

Overall a resounding 'meh.'

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Ordered NY Strip, medium, came well done ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Ordered NY Strip, medium, came well done and charred, with bland potatoes and runny creme brûlée. My guest ordered a burger, also medium, came cooked through and through and dry. Her dessert was peach cobbler w/ice cream. The ice cream, vanilla, was the best part. With all the other options available in this area, Fusion is one and done for me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

Interesting menu with options pleasing t ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

Interesting menu with options pleasing to many.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Nice location by the VA beach......had a ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Nice location by the VA beach......had a nice scenic window view......food was only fair

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Beware of menu changes

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

I was looking forward to trying a new restaurant and had a good idea of what I wanted from the posted menu. When I arrived, the menu was changed to a special prix fix menu for V-Day and you could only choose from that menu. Additionally, I'm not a big drinker and several items on the menu (appetizer and dessert) had alcohol included but not listed on the menu. The food itself was average but priced super high. I wouldn't go back.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Too much for too little

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

The restaurant is within a hotel. On Feb. 13, they only offered a set menu at $55 per person. This was not advertised on OpenTable beforehand. We would have booked elsewhere had we known.

The food was OK, not great. The server was assigned too many tables and could not keep track of our needs as well as those with the numerous other tables he had assigned to him. Our entrée order arrived somewhere between warm and cold. It was difficult to get our drinks refilled and details about our order were forgotten or overlooked.

It isn't worth the price. I would not go back unless I heard food quality had improved and service staff was sufficient to meet the needs of their customers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

The food hot and delicious- no extra sea ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

The food hot and delicious- no extra seasoning required. Our filet mignons were cooked perfectly. Our waitress was very attentive and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful view, good food, great service

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on December 12, 2015

Our visit was to celebrate my oldest daughter graduation from Old Dominion University, and we were all glad we chose it. The view was amazing, the food was very good, all 6 dishes, and the service was spot on. Not rushed or ever without a refill, all the food came out at the same time, and all very good. Good place to get a good bite, enjoy the ocean view and follow it up with a walk along the beach.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sorry food was horrible sent a meal back

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on October 29, 2015

Sorry food was horrible sent a meal back Restaurant was empty no reason to have to wait to be waited on drinks ordered on the rocks poor pour for price of top shelf drinks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2

Three of my party's meals were just fine ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 9, 2015

Three of my party's meals were just fine. However, I suggest not ordering the shortribs. It was obvious to everyone in my group that the Fusion kitchen has no idea how to cook this type of meat. Shortribs NEED TO BE slow braised for a long period of time, to allow the connective tissue and cartilage to break down. This restaurant basically served very nicely flavored chewy meat with a rubberbands consistency. In my opinion, the shortribs were prepared by an inexperienced new short order cook with no supervision, rather than an experienced chef. Steak was good, meatloaf was good, crab cales were just soso.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Great view

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 16, 2015

The restaurant faces Virginia Beach and the view of the ocean and boardwalk are great. We were seated right at the window. The she-crab soup was awesome, and we also had the cheese platter, which was good. We ordered shrimp pasta and the sauce was not good, and the pasta was not cooked properly. Unfortunately the meals did not keep up with the view. There were also a lot of families in the restaurant and the noise level was high. As the restaurant is just off the lobby, it seems a lot of people just use the area as a public area.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Great vegan options!

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 10, 2015

The chef did an outstanding job creating a balanced vegan meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Ocean-front Gem!

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 3, 2015

First visit and very pleasantly surprised. We ordered the bison which was done to perfection-spicy, not gamy and great treat for the palate.

Ambience, service and food were all exceptional . Server was very familiar with the menu and guided us through it.

The view of the ocean-front is unparalleled!

Prices were modest, given location and offerings,

Highly recommended and will definitely be returning!

Mac

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

There is only like 10 things on the menu ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 16, 2015

There is only like 10 things on the menu and the staff never came back to bring the check. I had to go looking for someone to pay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

We'll be back!

vip
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on April 13, 2015

We were seated at a window table overlooking the boardwalk and ocean. Since it's off season and it was a Monday night it was quiet and we weren't rushed through our meal. Since our table was directly across from the kitchen entrance it was very annoying that the wait staff have to announce loudly "corner" "corner" to avoid any collisions. Maybe they can put mirrors up???? The food was delicious and beautifully presented. My husband had fresh catch tuna and I had the tuna & salmon tacos with a fresh homemade salsa on top. They did not have a gluten free menu but offered that the Chef would work with my husband's dinner selections. We had creme Brule for dessert and it was wonderful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

When we were first seated the waiter cam ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 11, 2015

When we were first seated the waiter came up and asked for a drink order. It took over 30 minutes before our drinks were served to our table. And our waiter wasn't the one who server it....it was another server. I believe the reason why we were served was because I told hostess that I was going to leave and unless we were served. We decided at that point to leave. After 35 minutes of sitting & not even having our appetizer or dinner order being taken it was time to go. Total disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Not a great lunch place at all!

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on April 4, 2015

We arrived and were not greeted with any kind of happiness, the hostess even looked upset that we were even there. There was only 1 other family in the restaurant, with 2 kids and they were running around playing (the little girl kept playing right by our table even after I tried to block her path, she just ran right by and the parents didn't or staff didn't do anything about it). The food took forever to come out and they even messed up the salmon dish as it needed to be prepared gluten free. We only order mac & cheese, shrimp and grits, a salad, the salmon and a cup of soup, which was the smallest cup of soup and side of mac & cheese I'd ever seen in my life.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

A hotel brunch spot trying to be a dinner spot.

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on March 7, 2015

We were looking for something upscale with a view. The large windows overlooking the ocean are wonderful but the feel of the place is sunk by lights that are too bright, staff that are too loud & chummy, & food that sounds fancy but proved muddled & disappointing.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Nice place

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on February 15, 2015

We had the Bison meatloaf & crab cakes. Both were very good. The only negative is the length of time to get the meal. The place was empty, but still took over 2.5 hours to eat.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Slow pace meal, low noise

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on February 14, 2015

Went for Valenitne's day dinner. We had a slow paced meal. No pressure to hurry, finish, pay or leave. Food is very good and the staff is friendly. Valet parking is a plus.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

DID NOT DISAPPOINT!

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on February 14, 2015

Outstanding :) Was hesitant to try Fusion, since we had never eaten there before & it was Valentine's Day. Also a few reviews were worrisome, BUT we felt special from the moment we arrived until we left. Heather was very helpful over the phone prior to our visit answering some questions & welcomed us upon our arrival. We were seated at a promised oceanfront window table & then experienced very attentive service from Sharon the rest of the evening. Appetizers were outstanding~~very flavorful she crab soup & an awesome fried green tomato salad! Our entrees were crab cakes over spinach & meatloaf, which is one of the house specialties. Love that some of the entrees are available at half portion, which I selected. It was more than ample & I couldn't eat all of it. However did leave a little room for dessert & we split a chocolate banana tart, which was uniquely presented. It was also my birthday & I was very pleased how special the whole evening was~~from Heather's greeting, Sharon's outstanding service, & the delicious food!! Thank you :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sad V-Day dinner

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on February 14, 2015

Service was not up to par. Could not even get refills on water.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

We enjoyed a quiet night in a corner ocean booth

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on January 31, 2015

We had heard that Fusion had good food and we wanted to try it during the off-season. The food and service were excellent. There was an almost-full moon over the ocean and not a cloud in the sky, so their dining room above the boardwalk was perfect. As recommended by Villa, we tried all of the house specials - lump crab cakes, roasted beet and arugula salad, she crab soup, bison meatloaf and the apple tart (with sea salt caramel gelato). In addition to planning OUR return trip, we hope to bring some business associates there for our next lunch meeting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Restaurant Week - Great Food...Rough Service

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on January 17, 2015

We had the Pre Fixe dinner as it was Restaurant Week at Virginia Beach. Entertaining upgrades on chili cheese fries (oxtail chili, cheese curds, fried egg), chicken and waffles (sweet potato waffle and bourbon infused syrup), and fried PB&J sandwich for dessert.

Selections were well-prepared and portions were good, however it was hard to focus on the food due to the inconsistencies in service. With a less-than-full venue and set menu, we expected things would flow fairly smoothly, but it took over 30 minutes to get an appetizer and, once finished, another 30 to get the main course. Dessert then came with no pause after the main course. Our server indicated she would return to fill water glasses but failed to. We ordered a bottle of wine, but were brought a glass of some other wine and a bottle of beer; later the manager came to tell us they didn't have our wine. We got a different bottle.

To be fair, the restaurant gave us a 20% discount on the food (I think they realized it was botched service even without us having to say anything). Then we noticed we were also charged for the glass of wine we never accepted. The check went back to get corrected.

Enjoyed the meal, but it had several hiccups in service and just felt like food took too long to get to our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Very good for a hotel restaurant

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on January 17, 2015

Fusion is inside the Sheraton. It's normally a great restaurant with great food. This time, we went for Virginia Beach Restaurant Week 2015, so the menu was not their regular stuff. This menu was iffy. There was one slice of soggy fried green tomato under the salad. The Lamb burger was undercooked and greasy. The Dark rum apple sauce that accompanied the beignets tasted like baby food. The Poutine was delicious (although it was more chili fries than poutine). The Chicken and waffles were also delicious. The Grilled PB&J was interesting. I would recommend sticking to their regular menu. Definitely try their Bison meatloaf; regular meatloaf is gross compared to this stuff (heaven)!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Fusion

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on January 13, 2015

I've always lived down the street but never tried Fusion. Went for restaurant week with a group of girls, and I will definitely be back. The only thing that was unfortunate was how dead it was - made dinner conversation awkward knowing everyone in the building could hear us. But, the service was great, the food was delicious, and we had a great table over looking the beach. Apparently they have an amazing happy hour too.. I'll be stopping in again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Breathtaking

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on January 10, 2015

The view was breathtaking and the food was wonderful!!! Everyone was so friendly. The day we went in their heat was broken but they were so nice and accommodating. They had heaters throughout the dinning room and made sure we were comfortable. My husband and I will definitely be going there again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

staff was the best part of evening

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on November 2, 2014

The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The food was petty good, but not exceptional.

The downfalls are pretty hard to overcome. The lighting was too bright and glaring and the room reverberated with the noise in the lounge area that included children running around, screaming, and chanting cheers. You knew you were dining in a hotel (more like high end hampton inn, not boutique.)

If you want to attract locals, partition the lounge area, add background music, dim the lights a bit, get rid of the blazing lights over the oceanfront dining tables, and add valet parking.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4

The food was great and the tidewater pla ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on October 30, 2014

The food was great and the tidewater platter was plentiful. The scenery was wonderful as we sat by the window and enjoyed the yachts and the water.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

This was perfect setting for our group o ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on October 19, 2014

This was perfect setting for our group of eight. The restaurant offers a beautiful view of the ocean in a quiet relaxing environment. It was very easy to hear the conversation at our table with very little background noise. Best of all, the menu offers a nice variety of options that are prepared in an attractive way with great flavor . The fish tacos were delicious and my hamburger was at least an inch and a half thick and served on a tasty bun.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Just OK

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 26, 2014

It's the beach, so don't get your hopes up. If you're looking for an OK place to eat, then you're in luck because Fusion is OK . The biggest issue I had is that a restaurant that looks out on the water really should focus on the water. Seafood selections are very limited, and what they have tasted like it was shipped in from another time zone.

Our server didn't even know what beers were on tap. She had to go back and ask, a bottle of wine we ordered was not available. We were told only after we had ordered...

The food itself was decent, but not great. On the whole I'd say for the price there are a lot of better options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1

surprisingly good

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on September 13, 2014

With a splendid view over the Atlantic beach, the menu is suggestive of a fast-food establishment - until your dish arrives. Actually, everything we had was great and served nicely and in an original way. Service was occasionally a bit slow - but overall fine. Having read the lukewarm reviews - we were positively surprised. Not a place to have your anniversary - but after a day at the beach - not a bad choice.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Good service

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 17, 2014

Good food. Despite what other reviewers experienced, service was nor slow. Would definitely come back again.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Could be great but ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 1, 2014

Second time there, it has a good ocean view and is convenient if staying at the Sheraton (20% off for Starwood members). Neither the bar or restaurant were crowded but it took over 15 minutes to get a glass of wine. Food came out much faster and the Pork Chops and Salmon entrees were quite good. The menu is limited but the chef does a good job with it. It is pricey and could be so much more if all would come together.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Nice view, but food disappointing

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 19, 2014

Was there for both breakfast and dinner. The scrambled eggs at the breakfast buffet tasted like they were made from a powder mix. The bacon was pretty good. My yellowfin tuna at dinner was good, but my daughter's fish tacos did not taste like they were made from fresh fish, and other family members' dishes seemed like they were made with frozen shrimp and chicken. It's physically a nice place, and the service was friendly, but the food quality was disappointing.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Fine dining on the Boardwalk

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 14, 2014

Wanted fine dining while vacationing in Virginia Beach without having to leave the Boardwalk. Found it at Fusion. Beautiful decor, perfect views above the ocean, exquisite tuna and crab cakes, lovely presentation, attentive service, good wine list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Scenic view

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 7, 2014

Was in the mood for seafood, but not a buffet on the north oceanfront. Read reviews, examined the menu and decided to try Fusion. True to other reviews, had good wine selections and excellent food. Portions were small, but we were prepared for this. Nice scenic view and a server who was attentive and friendly.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Went before the fireworks at the boardwa ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 6, 2014

Went before the fireworks at the boardwalk. Friendly and convenient. Pricey for the portion sizes but the food was good.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Good View of the Ocean

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 6, 2014

We ate at this restaurant for a late night meal on July 4th. The food was good...but not memorable. The service was good...until we wanted our check, and then we couldn't find anyone help us. The view of the ocean would have been better if it had been before nightfall. Overall, it was a decent evening but we probably won't be back.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.