About Funistrada

4566 W MacFarlane Rd
Maple City, MI 49664
View Larger Map

Italian-American neighborhood dining in the heart of downtown "Burdickville"

Please visit our website for further information, sample menus and directions. We look forward to having you as our guest!

*We DO NOT have a children's menu/young children are strongly discouraged. We are a small space ~ limits are in place for larger parties.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:


Dinner beginning @ 5:30pm - 9:00pm, seasonal days of operation

Cross Street:
Olive St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(231) 334-3900

Website:
http://www.trattoria-funistrada.com/

Catering:
We do not have catering services.

Parking Details:
parking is limited - carpooling is recommended!

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Anniversary Chicken
  • Bistecca di Balsamico
Anniversary Chicken
Bistecca di Balsamico

Funistrada Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Most Booked
Northern Michigan
Best Restaurants in Glen Arbor / Maple City ›

fit for foodies (49)
special occasion (39)
neighborhood gem (35)
See All
romantic (24)
notable wine list (18)
good for groups (7)
hot spot (7)
kid-friendly (3)
late-night find (3)
great for brunch (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
301 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We have been to Funistrada twice, once i ...

Dined 3 days ago

We have been to Funistrada twice, once in November 2015 (a Thursday) and then again June 2016 (a Sunday). We loved the place in November, but were mildly disappointed in June. I had the same dish both times - a special with broccolini, white beans and sausage. It was excellent the first time around, but I can only rate it 'good' this time - the sausage was too spicy and the sauce was overly garlicky. My wife had lemon artichoke chicken and was likewise disappointed - one of the pieces of chicken was more coating than chicken, and difficult to cut. The other pieces were thicker, but not as tasty as she was expecting The salad, the wine (Mawby Sex), desert ( panna cotta) and service were excellent. Funistrada was crowded on both occasions (2015 and 2016). The November clientele were mostly couples, whereas there were several large parties in June. Plus the June dinner was on a Sunday. Whether these impacted food preparation, I can't say, but the meals weren't up to the same standard as our excellent meals in November. We will be back, but probably off-season.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love love going every time.. We never ge ...

Dined 3 days ago

Love love going every time.. We never get tired of Funistrada. I love how consistent they are with everything. Food, atmosphere, and staff are always wonderful. The chefs know what they are doing and always get our complements!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Funistrada isourveryfavorite restaurant. ...

Dined 4 days ago

Funistrada isourveryfavorite restaurant. We enjoy any chance to dine there.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite restaurant. That says it all ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

My favorite restaurant. That says it all, but the revie won't be posted unless use 50 characters!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We really going to Funistrada when we ar ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

We really going to Funistrada when we are "up north". It is always an outstanding and special experience. We just love it!!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This is a fabulous restaurant. People at ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

This is a fabulous restaurant. People at the B & B we were at were raving about it so we quickly booked a reservation for that night. Cute place. The menu had loads of choices that we would have happily had. The food was delicious and very generous in portion size.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience2
service4

Always a favorite in the North woods! Fr ...

vip
Dined on June 9, 2016

Always a favorite in the North woods! Fresh pasta, salads, lots of innovative Italian dishes. We come every time we are in the area, never disappoints ..

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Up North Michigan - small restaurant nea ...

Dined on June 8, 2016

Up North Michigan - small restaurant near Big Glen Lake, local ingredients, homemade ravioli, menu has variety of selections, good wine list, friendly servers. Make your reservation - tables fill quickly!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent choices, and the specials we ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

Excellent choices, and the specials we had to try to narrow down from an awesome list. We ended up with two appetizers because we couldn't decide. Food was fantastic. The only drawback was a large table seated next to us, and two of the women were so loud, it overpowered our own conversation. We ended up listening to their group the entire evening. But that was not the fault of the restaurant. We will be back!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious

Dined on June 4, 2016

Wonderful food, took some home the portions were ample. Wine was devine. Pricy but worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience4
service5

Phenomenal food, dedicated, fun staff.

vip
Dined on May 26, 2016

Phenomenal food, dedicated, fun staff.

food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Hard to find but quaint location

Dined on May 21, 2016

We were in the Glen Arbor area and had made reservations at Funistrada based on information from a friend. Cell phone lost cell power on both phones, due to the high hills in the area. Finally, we got through and called and Helen talked us in very easily. My anti pasta salad needed more meat/cheese and flavor. Picata needed flavor.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience. My steak was as good ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Great experience. My steak was as good as any I have had anywhere else. Appetizers included mussels, and asparagus wrapped in prosciutto. Both were quite good, particularly the latter; very crisp asparagus. Our server was funny and attentive without being intrusive. I have eaten at Funistrada several times and would return without hesitation. Best of luck to you.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful as Always

Dined on May 8, 2016

We have dined at Funistrata several time before and have always been very pleased, and this occasion was no exception. Excellent food, good wine, attentive staff, and charming ambience. Pricey but worth it. Definitely recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

great meal!

Dined on May 7, 2016

Group of 4 went to Funistrada during restaurant. We all had different entrees. All were very good. Enjoyed the meal very much.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was outstanding and the service ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

The food was outstanding and the service excellent. We were there to celebrate a birthday and to participate in Glen Arbor's Restaurant Week.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

great food, terrific family run business ...

Dined on April 14, 2016

great food, terrific family run business - we've never had a bad meal at Funistrada.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place to celebrate a special occasion

Dined on March 26, 2016

The food was great and the service was even better. We will go back, for sure.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Consistent

Dined on March 16, 2016

Funni is consistently good, we enjoy the mid week specials during the off season for a good value. Otherwise a bit pricey. I wish most restuants had a good inexpensive house wine option or if you charge 10-12 dollars a glass it should be better than average grocery store wine.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Funistrada, please just say you don't welcome kids

Dined on February 20, 2016

We've been enjoying family meals at Funistrada for years. While Funistrada doesn't have a kids' menu, they were always happy to serve the kids a side portion of pasta with meatballs. That was perfect for their appetites, and we enjoyed having a cozy meal at what was one of our favorite neighborhood places. Over the years we've felt the welcome has worn off. In our most recent visit, our server shared that the owners have decided to no longer allow kids to order a side item or a salad as their entree. The economics of a diner not ordering an entree doesn't work for the owners. Personally I don't get this math. My daughter (who is nine) ordered an appetizer salad, plus a drink and a dessert, along with a (large) pasta side. The bill for her meal was more than it would be for an adult diner who didn't order a full three-course meal. Yet we were told for the first time (after dining here for years) that the owners won't tolerate this going forward. I am willing to bet that if a adult couple dined at Funistrada and one of them ordered the appetizer portion of lobster gnocchi as a main, plus a salad, there would be no issue. But if a nine year old does the same, we're made to feel unwelcome. Funistrada will lose out on all of our future business (including the date night meals we have without the kids)....and any positive recommendations we would have made to the many friends and family that visit the area on vacation. Even though I don't like the approach the owners are taking, it's their restaurant and they can do as they choose. My big gripe with Funistrada is....just be honest about the fact that you don't welcome kids! There are other restaurants in the area that are explicit and state upfront that they do not serve children. Funistrada, do the same. If you are ok with an adult ordering a side as a main but not with a kid doing that, just admit it. Let people know so they can make more informed decisions. You'd be doing everyone a favor.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First Time Diners....We'll Be Back

Dined on February 20, 2016

We picked the restaurant offline and decided to take a chance for one of our evenings of a weekend away. We loved it. Food was excellent and service was great. We really enjoyed our evening and we'll be back sometime soon.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Great neighborhood spot

Dined on February 14, 2016

Food was good, service too.....have been before and will be back!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always top notch

Dined on February 12, 2016

We went on a Thursday and ordered the pasta for two and bottle of wine special. The food was delicious as usual. There is always a great warm and friendly feel to the restaurant and the hostess Mason and our waitress Angie were friendly and provided excellent service. I wish I could eat there more often ....every time we go there it is one of the highlights of our time up north.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

recommended by the locals

Dined on January 22, 2016

A great find on a snowy Friday night. Great pasta. Great apps. Really friendly and we'll done. Reasonably priced for a cut above. I would love to visit again.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent Meal!

Dined on January 15, 2016

We celebrated my husband's birthday at the Funistrata! Excellent meal and service. My husband, as usual, had the the salmon with Gorgonzola sauce on pasta. His all time favorite at the Funistrata. I had one of the specials, a NY strip steak with truffle butter on top. Yummy, and I don't usually get steak at a restaurant. The pickled beet salad was very tasty, but rather vinegar-ish. Oh yes, the duck stuffed ravioli were outstanding. We have never had less than a wonderful meal there. We will be back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Consistently high quality food.

Dined on January 14, 2016

Consistently high quality food.

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Consistently excellent food and service

Dined on January 7, 2016

Funistrada is consistent. Very good food, personal service and excellent value on the nights when the restaurant has their special menu. My friend and I have visited often on Thursday night off-season when the special features two dinners and a good bottle of wine for about $42 for two people. This special includes an adequate salad, a pasta dish that tastes fresh and home made, warm fresh bread with the appropriate dipping spices and olive oil and a reasonably good bottle of either red or white wine. We had the red and it was quite good. Additional appetizers and desserts are available beyond the nightly special and these are usually quite good even if the prices are a little on the high side. I was particularly impressed when the chilled Sambuca I ordered as an after dinner drink was served with the appropriate three floating coffee beans (Con la Mosca). Suzy was our server on our most recent visit and her service was outstanding! No request went unanswered and her personal attention to us and lively spirit added to the enjoyment of the evening (others at the restaurant could learn a thing or two from her!). We will be returning.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A Gem

Dined on January 4, 2016

In a busy summer resort area Funistrada is a no fry zone and much appreciated for its wonderful pastas, seasonal selections and great food. The desserts are in house and irresistible, The Goodness shall rest in infamy.

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A very welcoming and charming restaurant.

Dined on January 1, 2016

Funistrada is just a great spot for an always delightful meal. Some of the simplest dishes are the best. The wine list is excellent and filled with interesting choices of value. And if you need recommendations, ask Patricia.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic as always

Dined on December 31, 2015

We are never disappointed when we dine at Funistrada!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Not Worth a Long Drive

Dined on December 18, 2015

The service and environment were pleasant enough for a birthday or anniversary, but the food was pedestrian, especially for the price. For folks from the Traverse City, both Pepe Nero and Trattoria Stella offer a better experience for about the same price.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best

vip
Dined on December 18, 2015

We love coming to dine at Funistrada when ever we are up north. Our server Angie is the best!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Best food ever around. We could not get ...

Dined on December 12, 2015

Best food ever around. We could not get a reservation in late October, all booked up but the wait was worth it. Wine was great, appetizer was great, my duck was outstanding!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Authentic Italian in NW Michigan

Dined on December 5, 2015

This was our second visit to Funistrada, and although I wouldn't say the food will make you swoon and roll your eyes in ecstasy, it was just as good and enjoyable as on our first visit. The restaurant is small, but the atmosphere is cozy without feeling cramped, which adds greatly to the authentic "Italian experience." Most of the patrons seem to be locals, and we felt a bit less welcome because of this. I understand why the staff turns up the warmth with regulars, but it does make non-regulars feel like they've crashed a private club uninvited.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

My Leelanau Favorite

Dined on November 29, 2015

Funistrada is far and above my favorite restaurant in the county. The food is unbelievable (Have the veal saltimbocca. Trust me), the wine list is extensive, and the service is kind, prompt, and friendly without being overbearing. My only complaint with Funistrada is the noise level can be a little high. It's a small restaurant, and the close quarters leads to higher conversation volumes. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food1
ambience2
service2

Disappointed

Dined on November 26, 2015

Had reservations and when we showed up could not get a table and we crammed into a high top booth next to the kitchen. Slow service.

food5
ambience4
service5

Hip, Delicious, Charming and Intimate.

Dined on November 18, 2015

This intimate restaurant has a surprisingly hip & delicious cuisine out in the middle of nowhere. The food is prepared just right, with a few Gluten-Free options, and Nitrate-Free as well. Perfect for me. The food is fresh and local. That atmosphere is friendly and charming. It is both "Up North" and "Tribeca." I will absolutely return, and recommend, too. Reservations are required b/c this place easily fills up.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5

Fantastic Meal, Long Overdue!

Dined on November 12, 2015

Bill's wife Pat here. Glen Arbor has been our vacation destination since 2008. We have been wanting to go to Funistrada for years. It's either been closed when we've been up here, or we didn't get there for whatever reason. We came up for four days last week and were happy to see that Funistrada had off-season specials on Wednesday and Thursdays. Thursday night is Pasta night: 2 pasta dinners & a bottle of wine for $43. We had a choice of about 13 pasta dishes, the house salad or some upgrade salads, and a bottle of Spanish red or white wine. We each upgraded to one of the specials. Bill had a cold salad/appetizer of farro, arugula, local beets, goat cheese crumbles, pistachios, and a lemony kind of sweet dressing. I had a taste; it had good, complex flavors. I opted for the romaine with warm, local beets, goat cheese crumbles, and herb vinaigrette dressing. It was so tasty! Both were excellent, and unique, despite both containing beets and goat cheese. Bill chose one of the special entrees, penne with Italian sausage, broccolini, and white beans in spicy garlic oil. He liked it enough to order it again in the future. I had another special entree, braised veal ravioli in marinara sauce. It was so delicious, I ate all of it. We had the red wine, which was surprisingly good. It was nice to be able to take the half bottle of wine that we didn't drink with us. Our dessert was perfection! It was an excellent example of panna cotta (with raspberry sauce), and a nice, light ending to the meal. We split one, which was a good idea, because I could have eaten all of it, but would have been too full after all that ravioli! We highly recommend Funistrada for an outstanding meal, and friendly, efficient service.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Another great meal

Dined on November 8, 2015

As usual, Holly and Tom's hospitality and culinary talents came together in another enjoyable evening. Service and food are always top notch, and the friendly atmosphere is the icing on the Funi cake.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved this place!!

Dined on November 4, 2015

Besides the fabulous food-fron salad to entree to dessert, everything was perfect!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.