Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.10mi
  2. Distance: 5.08mi
  3. Distance: 5.19mi
  4. Distance: 7.76mi
  1. Distance: 1.10mi
  2. Distance: 5.08mi
  3. Distance: 5.19mi
  4. Distance: 7.76mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.10mi
  2. Distance: 5.08mi
  3. Distance: 5.19mi
  4. Distance: 7.76mi
  1. Distance: 1.10mi
  2. Distance: 5.08mi
  3. Distance: 5.19mi
  4. Distance: 7.76mi

About Funistrada

Italian-American neighborhood dining in the heart of downtown "Burdickville"

Please visit our website for further information, sample menus and directions. We look forward to having you as our guest!

*We DO NOT have a children's menu/young children are strongly discouraged. We are a small space ~ limits are in place for larger parties.

4566 W MacFarlane Rd
Maple City, MI 49664
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:


Dinner beginning @ 5:30pm - 9:00pm, seasonal days of operation

Cross Street:
Olive St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(231) 334-3900

Website:
http://www.trattoria-funistrada.com/

Entertainment:
nope

Catering:
We do not have catering services.

Parking Details:
parking is limited - carpooling is recommended!

Executive Chef:
Jake Noonan

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wine

Funistrada Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.5

Noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (32)
Good for a Date (31)
Worth the Drive (30)
See All
Special Occasion (28)
Cozy (25)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Authentic (23)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Romantic (19)
Notable Wine List (17)
Local Ingredients (15)
Fun (14)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Casual (11)
Comfort Food (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Business Meals (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Healthy (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Seasonal (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
483 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined 4 days ago

One of our favorite spots when we are visiting Glen Arbor

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Love this restaurant. Food is outstanding, and our waitress Patricia made it an especially great experience. Worth the drive and a restaurant to be sure to stop at when visiting Glen Arbor area. We’ll be back!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 9, 2017

This restaurant was recommended by a friend. We have been coming to the Glen Lake area for about 4 years and hadn't heard of it. We loved that it was kind of out of the way, yet busy for a Sunday nite -- so a strong following. Food was great, good wine selections, fabulous dessert.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Almost a good time at Funistrada! The food is consistently delicious. I had the salmon and linguine in a gorgonzola sauce, and it was superb!! Two other diners had egglant parm, and loved it as well. Another had lasagna and the other had the anniversary chicken--all were very satisfied and several had enough to take home.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

Always love eating at this place. Warm atmosphere, good food. House salad was ruined this time by too much vinegar in the dressing. Mentioned it to waitress who simply ignored the comment while she whisked away our barely touched salads. Not good.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Key West)·Dined on October 4, 2017

We visit this establishment a couple times a year while visiting the area. Love the food and ambiance. Our server (Patricia) was discreetly attentive and pleasant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Funistrada never fails to please. The food and service are always excellent (the Salmon Piccata and Anniversary Chicken are two favorites) and the cozy atmosphere sets it apart from other restaurants in the area making it the perfect spot for all occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Best saltimbocca in the US! Great staff and great service. Perfect for any occasion.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 28, 2017

Delightful dinner, friendly service. We're not from the area but will return and highly reccomend! Many thanks to our adorable waitress!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 28, 2017

The food!!!
The service!!!

Fabuloustrada!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on September 25, 2017

We love Funi, it's where we always celebrate special occasions and go to enjoy a nice dinner with friends and family. Service is friendly, pacing for the meal is great, menu is classic and always delicious!

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Wonderful menu and our dinners were delicious. Nice wine selection, reasonably priced. Top dining experience of the week.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Good anti pasta salad. Best veal saltimboca I ever had. Spaghetti was past al dente, cannoli & cappuccino were average.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Once again our visit to Funistrada was wonderful. I will certainly look forward to a return visit and would suggest it to friends.
I was surprised at the additional charge for the tomato salad...($5.) in place of your house antipasto salad. It was good but not worth the up charge. I will not do that again.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Been coming here for the last 17 years.....always an amazing meal. Wonderful waitstaff, authentic Italian cuisine in a quiet, off the beaten path little spot. The BEST food in all of Leelanau!! Do yourself a favor and try this gem!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on September 16, 2017

The food is delicious and the staff is delightful! Always a great dinner @ Funistrata!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Funistrada came highly recommended by friends that have places in the area. There was no doubt that this place was frequented by 'locals' who were warmly greeted by the hostess Susie.

We went for my wife's birthday and called ahead to see if we could bring a special bottle of wine. They accommodated, which made the meal all-the-more special.

The food was spectacular; I had the veal saltmbocca and my wife had the chicken saltimbocca. Both were perfectly salty and bathed in subtle juices. I had the heirloom tomato salad ahead of time.

Of the many places we have eaten in Michigan, Funistrada is right at the top of the list!

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 15, 2017

This is consistently our favorite Italian restaurant in Michigan. The veal dishes exceed expectations but then again so do all the entrees. It's quiet and relaxing. The service is friendly yet professional. We're already looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

This was our 3rd visit to Funistrada. We try to come up to celebrate our wedding anniversary . We have bee married for 56 years. The food is always exceptional.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 9, 2017

This restaurant has fabulous food. It is always outstanding. Just make sure you make a reservation because it is almost always full.

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 9, 2017

First visit. We will be back! Nice service cozy atmosphere.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Wonderful as usual. We both had pasta and the house salad and everything was excellent. Service is always pleasant and professional. Funistrada is one of our very favorite restaurants anywhere. We always try to come here two times when we are in Glen Arbor for vacation. We love it!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Great food great folks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Fantastic meal. Exceptional service. Clearly a five star experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

This was a yearly get-together of friends. We always enjoy this wonderful restaurant and especially the excellent veal dishes. The service was excellent.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 27, 2017

We come here often and still love the food but this was the worst service we have ever had. Our waitress took a long time to first see us and first brought us a wine that was more than double the price we ordered. She then disappeared after our entriescame and we had to wait a very long time to move on in the meal from clearing plates to hearing. Next course options to getting the bill to paying the bill. If service hadn't been so slow we would have ordered dessert but we gave up and skipped even though we would have enjoyed it. Still love the food but hope we never get the waitress we had again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 25, 2017

We live out of town. Each year we come because we love the area. Our trip would not be complete without dining at your lovely restaurant.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

We live in Ann Arbor. Every time we come up north, we always make sure that we make a reservation for dinner at Funistrada. It's absolutely one of our favorite restaurants for dinner when we visit the Glen Arbor area.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

We brought our son out to dinner at funistrada. He had been visiting us from California. We lived in upstate New York for 26 years with excellent Italian restaurants. We wanted him to experience great Italian food in upper Michigan to remind him of his home town. We all had a fantastic meal and now a favorite restaurant!

Tags: Tapas, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Favorite restaurant.
Love the food.. anniversary chicken, half moon veal ravioli, salads, appetizers, and all.
Great service too.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Fun, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

As always, delicious food and fabulous service! Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Casual, Fun, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

Service was excellent from the time we walked in the door. Food was out of this world and our waitress (Sarah) was not only a wonderful server but she had a fantastic sense of humour. I would recommend this anyone who is going to be within 25 miles of Glen Lake (Michigan).

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Casual, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Another great meal at Funistrada. One of the best restaurants in Leelanau. If you're ever in this area, don't miss Funistrada.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Wonderful as always! Excellent food, great service, charming ambience. We love this place!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We always enjoy this outstanding restaurant! Great Italian food with wonderful service. Definitely should go if you haven't been!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Best restaurant in the Glen Arbor area and the staff is always wonderful.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Always great, we love to go , especially when we have company , or want to get together with friends

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 5, 2017

We were in Maple City two years ago and couldn't get in. We made this reservation over a month ago. It was worth the wait. Our service was exceptional. The food and wine were amazing. We will definitely come back . Restaurant only seats 60 people...reservations are a necessity.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The food is fabulous, as is the service and ambiance. For us, Funistrada is the real deal...perfect!

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Fun, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Lovely evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.