Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.10mi
  2. Distance: 5.08mi
  3. Distance: 5.19mi
  4. Distance: 7.76mi
  1. Distance: 1.10mi
  2. Distance: 5.08mi
  3. Distance: 5.19mi
  4. Distance: 7.76mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.10mi
  2. Distance: 5.08mi
  3. Distance: 5.19mi
  4. Distance: 7.76mi
  1. Distance: 1.10mi
  2. Distance: 5.08mi
  3. Distance: 5.19mi
  4. Distance: 7.76mi

About Funistrada

Italian-American neighborhood dining in the heart of downtown "Burdickville"

Please visit our website for further information, sample menus and directions. We look forward to having you as our guest!

*We DO NOT have a children's menu/young children are strongly discouraged. We are a small space ~ limits are in place for larger parties.

4566 W MacFarlane Rd
Maple City, MI 49664
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:


Dinner beginning @ 5:30pm - 9:00pm, seasonal days of operation

Cross Street:
Olive St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(231) 334-3900

Website:
http://www.trattoria-funistrada.com/

Entertainment:
nope

Catering:
We do not have catering services.

Parking Details:
parking is limited - carpooling is recommended!

Executive Chef:
Jake Noonan

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wine

Funistrada Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.7

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Worth the Drive (24)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Good for a Date (21)
See All
Fit for Foodies (18)
Cozy (18)
Authentic (15)
Special Occasion (14)
Romantic (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Casual (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Comfort Food (6)
Fun (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Historic (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Scenic View (2)
Family Style (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
People Watching (1)
Business Meals (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Healthy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
425 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Wonderful as always!! A favorite of all who attended.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Menu needs updating. Been going there for many years and it never changes. There are daily specials but those seem old too and often they run out early in the evening on weekends. Still a great place to dine but it could be better.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Fantastic food as always, in a relaxed setting with good service.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We have been there three times and have come away quite happy. They some how manage to make their food taste just a bit uniquely different which is refreshing. We'll be back!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Tucked in the shadow of Glen Lake, cute 19 table spot which is very popular with locals year round and tourists in summer. Reservations required. Angie is a long time waitress and extremely friendly/knowledgeable. Great asparagus year round...Saltumbucco like no other.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Northern MI)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Best Italian food For miles. Restaurant is very consistent and always great.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Northern MI)·Dined on April 12, 2017

We had a wonderful experience at a Wednesday Date Night where entrees are bogo. Try the house special veal dish. Casual dress as are most places in northern MI.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 6, 2017

First time to Funistrada and won't be our last. Full house for Thursday night pasta special.
What an off season value. Delicious pasta, homemade meatballs and great service. Nice wine,
charming atmosphere, a happy place!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 6, 2017

We just love our dinners at Funistrada. In the winter, Wednesday is Date Night and Thursday is Pasta night, both with special prices. And the service is warm and efficient. Summertime nights get really busy, so we like Funistrada even better in the winter!

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 5, 2017

This was our first time and found Wednesday was their date night special with discounts provided for dinners. The food was very good and the service wonderful. My wife, 18 year old son and I give it five stars out of five.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on March 25, 2017

It was our 5th time there and the other 3 times were great! But food was disappointing by all 4 parties.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on March 22, 2017

We have enjoyed each of our meals at Funistrade. Got the table we wanted through on-line reservations; the food was great, and the service.

We shall see you again!

MD, Grand Rapids, MI

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Always a great meal with wonderful service. Wonderful resource to have in the great Leelanau County.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Funistrada is a must visit on the Leelanu Pennisula. The food is authentic and exceptional and the staff is always in a good mood! W

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 10, 2017

It was a great experience for the six of us . We had pasta beef and fish they were all perfect

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Thank you for such an incredible cozy dining experience with the most exquisite food!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 4, 2017

One of many times eating at Funistrada and always a pleasure. Great food and the staff is very accommodating. Have never had a bad or even mediocre meal there. Looking forward to another meal next time we are in Leelanau.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Always a great experience, both the food and the service, and plan to return often when in Northern Michigan.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The food was absolutely delicious and generous servings. The wait staff was kind and funny too. Great wine and such good dessert!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great food and service. Excellent timing of courses.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Although we'd visited Glen Arbor before, I only just happened to stumble upon Funistrada via Open Table...and I am SO GLAD I did! This was one of the best meals my husband and I have ever shared. I had the Veal Saltimbocca (Funistrada is apparently known for its veal dishes?!?) and my husband had the Penne w/spicy Italian sausage in marinara sauce. Both were to die for. Extensive wine list and great local beer selection, as well. We'll absolutely return to Funistrada. Can't wait!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We had a lovely evening out. Really like the staff, the food, the people dining. It was special. Thank you

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Funistrada never disappoints! The staff is friendly and the food is fabulous. It is always consistent. The only drawback is that it is difficult to get a table in the high season - a testament to the quality of the restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Sally and I enjoyed our evening very much. Food great, wine great, service great, you get the picture. Thank you.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Special Occasion, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Always fantastic. Our favorite Italian restaurant - anywhere

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Always enjoy Funistrada for the wonderful food, exceptional and friendly service. The food and service are always consistently good. A great place to meet friends and have a fun evening. Wonderful place to eat in Leelanau County.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 12, 2017

When you visit northern Michigan in the dead of winter and many restaurants and business are closed, it is wonderful to have Funistrada. The food and service is consistently excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Tough to get into, especially in summer, but well worth the wait. Good food and drink. Good service.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Every time my wife and I go here it seems like it's snowing but it's worth the drive in the wintery conditions. The Salmon Piccata is outstanding! Make sure to have reservations even in the dead of winter.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Once a month I visit Funistada because its never failed on an awesome dinner and great atmoshpere!

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Funistrada is our favorite restaurant in the Glen Arbor and Traverse City area. The food is excellent, the atmosphere is charming, and the service is friendly and efficient. In an area that is full of good restaurant choices this one stands out as a hidden gem.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We have never been let down by the food or service at Funistrada. Consistently great dinning, but they need to push local wines on their menu more.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Look forward every year to spending an evening with great friends and food to celebrate our anniversary!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Awesome as always - Keep up the good work!

Best date night

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Excellent as always. The Veal Saltimbocca is superb.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Always a good meal and pleasant experience. So happy they are open year around.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 27, 2016

My husband and I have visited the Traverse City area twice over the last six months. We discovered this gem of a restaurant in Maple City on our first trip and will definitely keep returning to it while up north. Although a small venue, it has big tastes! From start to finish, this restaurant is absolute perfection. Bring your appetite, you will need it - along with a reservation (a couple of weeks in advance)! Love, love, love!

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Funistrada is a great cozy spot for amazing Italian food! I recommend getting the anniversary chicken, so good! Will be coming back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on November 10, 2016

GREAT SPOT - GOING BACK AGAIN SOON. great spot - going back again soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Superb dining experience. Would recommend highly to family and friends. Loved the cozy atmosphere

Tags: Great Beer, Good for a Date, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.