About Funistrada

4566 W MacFarlane Rd
Maple City, MI 49664
View Larger Map

Italian-American neighborhood dining in the heart of downtown "Burdickville"

Please visit our website for further information, sample menus and directions. We look forward to having you as our guest!

*We DO NOT have a children's menu/young children are strongly discouraged. We are a small space ~ limits are in place for larger parties.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:


Dinner beginning @ 5:30pm - 9:00pm, seasonal days of operation

Cross Street:
Olive St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(231) 334-3900

Website:
http://www.trattoria-funistrada.com/

Catering:
We do not have catering services.

Parking Details:
parking is limited - carpooling is recommended!

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Anniversary Chicken
  • Bistecca di Balsamico
Anniversary Chicken
Bistecca di Balsamico

Funistrada Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Best Food
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Best Service
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
15 More
Best Ambiance
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Best Value
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Fit for Foodies
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Romantic
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Special Occasion
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Most Booked
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Best Overall
Northern Michigan
Best Food
Northern Michigan
Best Service
Northern Michigan
Best Ambiance
Northern Michigan
Best Value
Northern Michigan
Fit for Foodies
Northern Michigan
Romantic
Northern Michigan
Special Occasion
Northern Michigan
Most Booked
Northern Michigan
Best Restaurants in Glen Arbor / Maple City ›

Neighborhood Gem (61)
Fit for Foodies (60)
Special Occasion (54)
See All
Romantic (33)
Notable Wine List (22)
Worth the Drive (11)
Good for a Date (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Good for Groups (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Cozy (7)
Late-night Find (4)
Authentic (4)
Casual (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Seasonal (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Fun (1)
People Watching (1)
Scenic View (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
Newest
342 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great time had by all! We eagerly look f ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great time had by all! We eagerly look forward to each time we get to dine with the awesome crew of Funi

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Funistrada was recommended to me by a fa ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Funistrada was recommended to me by a family member who has a home in the area, so he knows where to go. Four of us went there. We loved the menu selection, and the food was wonderful. We found the wait staff to be warm, and helpful. In fact the service was excellent.

We agreed that we would definitely go back again. My advice is to make a reservation a few days in advance, since it's an up north favorite, Funistrada is busy even out of season.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful neighborhood Italian restauran ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Wonderful neighborhood Italian restaurant. Casual but best make a reservation. We went on a Monday night and there was a good crowd. I had the chicken saltimboca and it was excellent. Nice wine list, friendly and informative servers and yummy desserts.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best!! The food, the service, the a ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

The best!! The food, the service, the ambience!! It's our favorite place for dinner

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Romantic, Cozy, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite restaurants in the G ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants in the Glen Arbor area: good food, generous drinks, good value, consistent.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

We have been to Funistrada several times ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

We have been to Funistrada several times and have always enjoyed the experience. The food is outstanding. The staff is very friendly, professional and attentive. On our most recent visit we were a little disappointed. Although the service and food did not disappoint, there was a table of guests who were extremely loud and obnoxious. I felt like I was in a sports bar and not a fine dining establishment. This ruined our dining experience. I know it was not the fault of the establishment but I wish the manager would have asked them to lower their conversation.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Absolutely superb experience. Owner oper ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Absolutely superb experience. Owner operated, long tenured servers with great attitude. Excellent food. Always consistent, never disappoints.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was attentive and polite through ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Service was attentive and polite throughout. Food and drinks were served with a normal wait. Food was good, serving size was plentiful (too much for me and my wife but surely adequate for a normal-big eater). I had reservations which were probably needed since we ate at 7:45 on a Thursday night.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We live in Notrhport and inevitably make ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

We live in Notrhport and inevitably make plans at Funistrada 5-6 times a year with family, friends and as a couple. The food is the highlight as well as the setting, well worth the drive. Unfortunately, for the birthday celebration for my spouse last week, requested by my spouse for her all time favorite restaurant and meal (spegetti and meatballs), we were told you were out of that very dish. This is the primary dish ordered and the main draw for this special occasion. We were told you could reduce the price for just a plate of pasta with sauce. Long story short, the dish is typically 24.00, we were charged 19.00 for a relatively small portion of pasta and swimming in so much sauce it felt more like soup. It was the first time we have ever been disappointed, but we were none the less.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Great food as always. Barb, our waitper ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Great food as always. Barb, our waitperson, was attentive, prompt, informative and courteous.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Funistrada is always excellent. One of t ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Funistrada is always excellent. One of the best veal chops anywhere. Strip steak bistecca great as well. We've been going for years and years.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dined here for many years. The f ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

We have dined here for many years. The food is always good and the s Erving is top notch. I would highly recommend it!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding restaurant! Need to book 1 ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Outstanding restaurant! Need to book 1 month in advance if you want your choice of dining time, because it is clearly well known by all who have previously visited.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had eggplant Parmesan which was so de ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We had eggplant Parmesan which was so delicious, tender and full of flavor! My husband order veal piccata so it paired very well with the eggplant Parmesan. ( we usually share our dishes to try more things) our waitress was very attentive and bubbly! We were celebrating our anniversary and it was a fantastic dining experience! Loved our table for two by the window.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This restaurant is a must when we stay i ...

vip
·Dined on August 19, 2016

This restaurant is a must when we stay in northern Michigan. So much that we dine several times in the short month of our stay. Every entree is great. My favorite is the penne puttanesca chicken. Lots of olives, chicken, and right amount of heat. I also order the veal raviol; which is usually on the specials board. My husband always orders the chicken piccatta.

This place is extremely popular and fills up fast. It is worth the trip out to Maple City. Hands down, best restaurant in the area.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Funistrada is going strong after 17 year ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Funistrada is going strong after 17 years. Angie, our server, was helpful, kind, smart, and enjoyable. Absolutely great place.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Enjoyable overall experience. Service an ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Enjoyable overall experience. Service and food both very good. Beautiful location with scenic drive to restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Absolutely love Funistrada! The food is ...

vip
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Absolutely love Funistrada! The food is fresh and delicious, the staff friendly and hospitable. Try the prosciutto wrapped asparagus and anniversary chicken, you won't be disappointed!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have a summer cottage nearby and make ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

We have a summer cottage nearby and make it a point to dine at Funistrada several times a year when we are on vacation. The food is wonderful and service is always great. It's a special place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

THis is the best resturant in northern M ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

THis is the best resturant in northern MI. Great variety of dishes for all tastes. Our favorite is the veal chop and the cheese tortilini. Really great food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We think this is the best restaurant in ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We think this is the best restaurant in Leelanau County and one of our overall favorite restaurants anywhere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good birthday meal We enjoyed our food ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Good birthday meal

We enjoyed our food of lasagne and the excellent house salad and delicious Italian wine. The server was very helpful with the wine choice, just very busy so not as warm and friendly. Our table was ok, bu would have preferred a booth or bench. I do love the food here. It was a little noisy and wish they would expand their dining space a bit.

Always a great experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Once again a wonderful meal at Funistrad ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Once again a wonderful meal at Funistrada! After a great meal, had the best cheesecake of our lives--had the raspberry cheesecake two weeks ago and I thought it would never be better, but the coconut cheesecake beat all expectations!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great summer dinner -- make your reserva ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Great summer dinner -- make your reservation far in advance

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While the main menu is great, the specia ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

While the main menu is great, the specials make the experience even better. This is not a place for young children or large boisterous parties. The restaurant is small and there is not a kids menu. Also recommend saving room for dessert.

Reservations required and need to be made at least 1 week in advance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great place with excellent food. Need a ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great place with excellent food. Need a reservation a week or more in advance in summer high season unless you want a really early or late dinner. Veal is excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome food. Sarah is the best server ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Awesome food. Sarah is the best server and treats us so well.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice place, good food, great location. S ...

vip
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Nice place, good food, great location.

Suggestion to have a bartender on staff to make drinks. We noticed servers making their own drinks, and this caused slow service for their other tables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

The food was tasty but far overpriced fo ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The food was tasty but far overpriced for what it was. Overall, I enjoyed my experience but would only go back for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Funistrada never disappoints! Our family ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Funistrada never disappoints! Our family visited twice while visiting Glen Arbor for a week. It's one of our favorite restaurants anyplace, including the big city! The service is always wonderful and the food is both exceptional and consistent. Their veal entrees cannot be matched anywhere...anywhere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It has a wonderful menu with chef specia ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

It has a wonderful menu with chef specials nightly. I would highly recommend it to anyone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been coming to La Funistrada for ye ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

I've been coming to La Funistrada for years now and every time, the food and the service are exceptional. You wouldn't expect to find legitimate Italian cuisine on the side of a rural road in Northern Michigan, but there it is! I HIGHLY recommend this restaurant and look forward to coming back many times in the future!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice place. Nice people. Good service. ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Nice place. Nice people. Good service. Food was mediocre at best. Bread and house salad were

disappointing. Bread was tough; salad nothing special. Veal Saltimboca was poor. The so-called "famous" Tiramisu for dessert was dry and really, really lacked a decent amount of the mascarpone cheese. We had looked forward to this dinner after reading all the great reviews. We had planned to return next week, since we are in the area on vacation. We canceled that reservation and have taken Funistrada off our list of restaurants in the area. Will not return, sadly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Funistrada always delivers a wonderful d ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Funistrada always delivers a wonderful dining experience. We visited twice last week while on vacation and had two exceptional meals. The staff is always fun and they bring a friendly, positive attitude to the table. And the food is outstanding. The veal is as good as you can find anywhere!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a terrific meal there! The lobs ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We had a terrific meal there! The lobster ravioli and asparagus appetizers were outstanding. Our main meals were perfect as was the service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service excellent. Great ambien ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Food and service excellent. Great ambience. Don't miss the desserts!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorite dining spots in the G ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

One of my favorite dining spots in the Glen Lake area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Delicious food with excellent service. T ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Delicious food with excellent service. Thanks again for a wonderful evening.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place. Best veal saltimbocca in No ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Great place. Best veal saltimbocca in Northern Michigan.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very quaint Italian restaurant with exce ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Very quaint Italian restaurant with excellent food and service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.