About Funistrada

4566 W MacFarlane Rd
Maple City, MI 49664
View Larger Map

Italian-American neighborhood dining in the heart of downtown "Burdickville"

Please visit our website for further information, sample menus and directions. We look forward to having you as our guest!

*We DO NOT have a children's menu/young children are strongly discouraged. We are a small space ~ limits are in place for larger parties.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:


Dinner beginning @ 5:30pm - 9:00pm, seasonal days of operation

Cross Street:
Olive St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(231) 334-3900

Website:
http://www.trattoria-funistrada.com/

Catering:
We do not have catering services.

Parking Details:
parking is limited - carpooling is recommended!

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Antipasto Pasta Salad - Funistrada, Maple City, MI
  • Anniversary Chicken - Funistrada, Maple City, MI
  • Bistecca di Balsamico - Funistrada, Maple City, MI
Antipasto Pasta Salad - Funistrada, Maple City, MI
Anniversary Chicken - Funistrada, Maple City, MI
Bistecca di Balsamico - Funistrada, Maple City, MI

Funistrada Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Best Food
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Best Service
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
11 More
Best Ambiance
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Best Value
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Special Occasion
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Most Booked
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Best Overall
Northern Michigan
Best Food
Northern Michigan
Best Service
Northern Michigan
Best Ambiance
Northern Michigan
Best Value
Northern Michigan
Special Occasion
Northern Michigan
Most Booked
Northern Michigan
Best Restaurants in Glen Arbor / Maple City ›

Neighborhood Gem (38)
Special Occasion (36)
Good for a Date (33)
See All
Fit for Foodies (32)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Worth the Drive (30)
Cozy (26)
Romantic (26)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Authentic (22)
Local Ingredients (19)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Casual (14)
Comfort Food (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Fun (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Seasonal (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Scenic View (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
People Watching (1)
Healthy (1)
Business Meals (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Historic (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
378 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always a good meal and pleasant experien ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 4 days ago

Always a good meal and pleasant experience. So happy they are open year around.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I have visited the Traver ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 27, 2016

My husband and I have visited the Traverse City area twice over the last six months. We discovered this gem of a restaurant in Maple City on our first trip and will definitely keep returning to it while up north. Although a small venue, it has big tastes! From start to finish, this restaurant is absolute perfection. Bring your appetite, you will need it - along with a reservation (a couple of weeks in advance)! Love, love, love!

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Funistrada is a great cozy spot for amaz ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Funistrada is a great cozy spot for amazing Italian food! I recommend getting the anniversary chicken, so good! Will be coming back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

GREAT SPOT - GOING BACK AGAIN SOON. gre ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on November 10, 2016

GREAT SPOT - GOING BACK AGAIN SOON. great spot - going back again soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb dining experience. Would recommen ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Superb dining experience. Would recommend highly to family and friends. Loved the cozy atmosphere

Tags: Great Beer, Good for a Date, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Funistrada is a great restaurant! If we ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Funistrada is a great restaurant! If we lived closer, we'd be dining with them at least twice a month...but alas, we live about 2 1/2 hours away and after a big Italian wine and fabulous meal this dining experience requires an overnighter in Traverse City. If you love wonderful Italian dinner this is a must stop if in the Traverse area.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Reservations are a must, even in the off ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Reservations are a must, even in the off-season. Food is outstanding; special entrees as well as desserts make each visit unique. Do not recommend for children as there is no kids menu and seating is at a premium. If you like small places where you may strike up a conversation with your the diners at the adjoining table, happy sounds all around you, really good pasta dishes...then this is the place for you!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, Funistrada was a delightful t ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on November 3, 2016

As always, Funistrada was a delightful treat! Food, Atmosphere, & Service all outstanding!

Can't wait to return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been there many, many times and ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 2, 2016

We have been there many, many times and they never disappoint. Very friendly service and nice atmosphere. We enjoy taking friends and family to Funistrada and they are always anxious to go back. Funistrada is one of the gems that makes a vacation in Glen Arbor one of the best ever. They are open year around which is a delight as many businesses are seasonal, i.e. summer, however it is nice for those of us who brave the cold winters for cross-county skiing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We eat here a few times each year, and e ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We eat here a few times each year, and every time is delightful. Close to Sleeping Bear Dunes Area - a little tough to get to, but the easy, approachable and knowledgeable staff and outstanding food make every visit worth while. They are busy - advance reservations are really really necessary many nights. Our last visit - I had NY Stsrip with balsamic reduction - full flavor, sauce was terrific, steak was cooked perfectly as ordered and most delicious. My wife had the duck which was, as usual, outstanding (can something be usually outstanding? Here it can!)

Highly and heartily recommended!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always delicious food and the best wait ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Always delicious food and the best wait staff around. Have taken friend's there that have never been before and it is never a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food, terrific service, casual and ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Great food, terrific service, casual and fun. Northwoods supper club type feel, interesting history of owners informs the spirit of the place. Nice little bar area in addition to intimate number of tables. The food is outstanding - authentic, delicious Italian. The real spumoni for dessert (enough to be shared but I ate most of it myself it was so good). As a bonus, easily accessible if you have mobility issues.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Fun, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great place to dine. Never dis ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Always a great place to dine. Never disappoints. Just wish I had room for dessert!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Cozy, Seasonal, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the fourth time we have had din ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on October 22, 2016

This was the fourth time we have had dinner here. They never disappoint with exceptional food and service. Always a terrific time. Highly recommended !!!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love to dine at Funistrada's whenever ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on October 20, 2016

We love to dine at Funistrada's whenever we travel to Northern Michigan staying at

The Homestead Resort. Such a lovely experience from the beginning to the end. If we

could only have such a gem in our area. Plan to see you soon and thank you so very much! :)

Tags: Casual, Healthy, Business Meals, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a good meal, great appetizers, and d ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Had a good meal, great appetizers, and decent service. Liked the ambience. Enjoyed chatting with the folks seated next to us. All in all a fun experience. Would certainly recommend and would return with enthusiasm the next time we are in the area.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding from start to finish, the se ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Outstanding from start to finish, the sever was friendly, knowledgeable, the menu had many options along with a complete accompaniment of daily specials. The wine list a wide range of varieties and price points, we enjoyed a delicious valpolicella. The food service was perfectly timed, never felt rushed or waiting. It was a wonderful evening during a fabulous stay. We will definitely return for another dinner the next time we visit.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Just love the simple, elegant ambience o ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Just love the simple, elegant ambience of this LOVELY gem of a restaurant! :-)Food and presentation... beyond our expectations! A pure delight!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was great ....but it was very ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Everything was great ....but it was very expensive. It was our first time going here and we all really liked it!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Delightfully hardy and delicious Italian ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Delightfully hardy and delicious Italian fare. Great service and really good food and wine. The food we had the Veal Saltimbocca which was decadent and the Spicy Penne with Italian Sausage - go hungry! The cheesecake also merits a mention - the plain and pumpkin were homemade with care and worth taking home if you can't manage to eat it while there!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Authentic, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The pasta dishes are nice, but I still h ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The pasta dishes are nice, but I still have a problem spending $23-$25 for a bowl of pasta. Salad with beets, and antipasta salad were nice, but I had 3 better beet salads elsewhere this weekend. Small, crowded restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Very good food. It was a wonderful dini ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Very good food. It was a wonderful dining experience. A bit out of the way, but definitely worth the drive. You must have a reservation.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our first visit to Funistrada. The meal ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Our first visit to Funistrada. The meal was great. Our waitress helped us through some selections. The special Veal Rib Chop was one of the most delicious things I've ever eaten. Wine list was excellent. After dinner cappuccino was great too. The restaurant was a little loud because it was full of happy people eating and enjoying their company. We'll be back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Fun, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lobster ravioli and the Lasagne are wond ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Lobster ravioli and the Lasagne are wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food choices. The specials are ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Wonderful food choices. The specials are always a great surprise.

Tags: Seasonal, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Who would've thought... the BEST Italian ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Who would've thought... the BEST Italian restaurant outside of Italy was in Leelanau, Michigan?

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Wonderful restaurant. Great food and se ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Wonderful restaurant.

Great food and service.

One of our favorites

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great veal. Great service. Small restaur ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Great veal. Great service. Small restaurant in historic building. Good wine list

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Amazing food, great service. Drinks are ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Amazing food, great service. Drinks are a little pricey, but the food is definitely worth it!

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We LOVE Funistrada! It never disappoints ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on September 26, 2016

We LOVE Funistrada! It never disappoints. Every time we go, we all agree that it is some of the best Italian food we've ever had.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy the food and the ambianc ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on September 26, 2016

We always enjoy the food and the ambiance at Funistrada. We like to meet friends or just a quiet dinner together.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We go to the Sleeping Bear dunes/Glen Ar ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We go to the Sleeping Bear dunes/Glen Arbor area of Michigan every year, and always look forward to a meal at Funistrada. It's best to reserve a couple of weeks in advance during summer tourist season -- the place is popular! And with good reason, because everything is outstanding. I had a perfectly cooked steak, while my wife had an excellent chicken dish. We look forward to another visit next year.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Anniversary Chicken, Veal Saltimbocc ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on September 23, 2016

The Anniversary Chicken, Veal Saltimbocca and mussels were each a mouth-watering delight. Sarah, our waitress, was personable, pleasant and gave us the perfect amount of attention! We were a bit disappointed that the Ribeye was not available as my son-in-law could talk of nothing else.....it just means we will be returning!!! Susie, the owner, made herself available to chat and welcome us to her incredible restaurant....All in all, a fabulous experience for us!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy, Authentic, Fun, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great time had by all! We eagerly look f ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great time had by all! We eagerly look forward to each time we get to dine with the awesome crew of Funi

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always love Funistrada ! When we are in ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Always love Funistrada ! When we are in town we eat there once or twice. Great food!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Funistrada was recommended to me by a fa ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on September 12, 2016

Funistrada was recommended to me by a family member who has a home in the area, so he knows where to go. Four of us went there. We loved the menu selection, and the food was wonderful. We found the wait staff to be warm, and helpful. In fact the service was excellent.

We agreed that we would definitely go back again. My advice is to make a reservation a few days in advance, since it's an up north favorite, Funistrada is busy even out of season.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful neighborhood Italian restauran ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 12, 2016

Wonderful neighborhood Italian restaurant. Casual but best make a reservation. We went on a Monday night and there was a good crowd. I had the chicken saltimboca and it was excellent. Nice wine list, friendly and informative servers and yummy desserts.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best!! The food, the service, the a ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on September 8, 2016

The best!! The food, the service, the ambience!! It's our favorite place for dinner

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Romantic, Cozy, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite restaurants in the G ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 8, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants in the Glen Arbor area: good food, generous drinks, good value, consistent.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

This is the finest spot to dine in area. ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 3, 2016

This is the finest spot to dine in area. Menu has not changed in years so you what you are going to get. All the pasta dishes are great. Try the Lobster Ravioli appetizer, Anniversary Chicken, Salmon dishes or Duck if available. Staff is awesome. Service is always great. Make reservations well in advance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.