Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.10mi
  2. Distance: 5.08mi
  3. Distance: 5.19mi
  4. Distance: 7.76mi
  1. Distance: 1.10mi
  2. Distance: 5.08mi
  3. Distance: 5.19mi
  4. Distance: 7.76mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.10mi
  2. Distance: 5.08mi
  3. Distance: 5.19mi
  4. Distance: 7.76mi
  1. Distance: 1.10mi
  2. Distance: 5.08mi
  3. Distance: 5.19mi
  4. Distance: 7.76mi

About Funistrada

Italian-American neighborhood dining in the heart of downtown "Burdickville"

Please visit our website for further information, sample menus and directions. We look forward to having you as our guest!

*We DO NOT have a children's menu/young children are strongly discouraged. We are a small space ~ limits are in place for larger parties.

4566 W MacFarlane Rd
Maple City, MI 49664
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:


Dinner beginning @ 5:30pm - 9:00pm, seasonal days of operation

Cross Street:
Olive St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(231) 334-3900

Website:
http://www.trattoria-funistrada.com/

Entertainment:
nope

Catering:
We do not have catering services.

Parking Details:
parking is limited - carpooling is recommended!

Executive Chef:
Jake Noonan

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wine

Funistrada Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Worth the Drive (24)
Good for a Date (20)
Fit for Foodies (19)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Cozy (16)
Special Occasion (14)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Authentic (11)
Romantic (11)
Casual (10)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Fun (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Comfort Food (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Family Style (3)
Historic (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Scenic View (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
People Watching (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
416 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined 3 days ago

It was our 5th time there and the other 3 times were great! But food was disappointing by all 4 parties.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined 3 days ago

It was our 5th time there and the other 3 times were great! But food was disappointing by all 4 parties.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined 6 days ago

We have enjoyed each of our meals at Funistrade. Got the table we wanted through on-line reservations; the food was great, and the service.

We shall see you again!

MD, Grand Rapids, MI

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 6 days ago

Always a great meal with wonderful service. Wonderful resource to have in the great Leelanau County.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Funistrada is a must visit on the Leelanu Pennisula. The food is authentic and exceptional and the staff is always in a good mood! W

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 10, 2017

It was a great experience for the six of us . We had pasta beef and fish they were all perfect

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Thank you for such an incredible cozy dining experience with the most exquisite food!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 4, 2017

One of many times eating at Funistrada and always a pleasure. Great food and the staff is very accommodating. Have never had a bad or even mediocre meal there. Looking forward to another meal next time we are in Leelanau.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Always a great experience, both the food and the service, and plan to return often when in Northern Michigan.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The food was absolutely delicious and generous servings. The wait staff was kind and funny too. Great wine and such good dessert!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great food and service. Excellent timing of courses.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Although we'd visited Glen Arbor before, I only just happened to stumble upon Funistrada via Open Table...and I am SO GLAD I did! This was one of the best meals my husband and I have ever shared. I had the Veal Saltimbocca (Funistrada is apparently known for its veal dishes?!?) and my husband had the Penne w/spicy Italian sausage in marinara sauce. Both were to die for. Extensive wine list and great local beer selection, as well. We'll absolutely return to Funistrada. Can't wait!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We had a lovely evening out. Really like the staff, the food, the people dining. It was special. Thank you

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Funistrada never disappoints! The staff is friendly and the food is fabulous. It is always consistent. The only drawback is that it is difficult to get a table in the high season - a testament to the quality of the restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Sally and I enjoyed our evening very much. Food great, wine great, service great, you get the picture. Thank you.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Special Occasion, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Always fantastic. Our favorite Italian restaurant - anywhere

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Always enjoy Funistrada for the wonderful food, exceptional and friendly service. The food and service are always consistently good. A great place to meet friends and have a fun evening. Wonderful place to eat in Leelanau County.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 12, 2017

When you visit northern Michigan in the dead of winter and many restaurants and business are closed, it is wonderful to have Funistrada. The food and service is consistently excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Tough to get into, especially in summer, but well worth the wait. Good food and drink. Good service.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Every time my wife and I go here it seems like it's snowing but it's worth the drive in the wintery conditions. The Salmon Piccata is outstanding! Make sure to have reservations even in the dead of winter.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Once a month I visit Funistada because its never failed on an awesome dinner and great atmoshpere!

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Funistrada is our favorite restaurant in the Glen Arbor and Traverse City area. The food is excellent, the atmosphere is charming, and the service is friendly and efficient. In an area that is full of good restaurant choices this one stands out as a hidden gem.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We have never been let down by the food or service at Funistrada. Consistently great dinning, but they need to push local wines on their menu more.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Look forward every year to spending an evening with great friends and food to celebrate our anniversary!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Awesome as always - Keep up the good work!

Best date night

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Excellent as always. The Veal Saltimbocca is superb.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Always a good meal and pleasant experience. So happy they are open year around.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 27, 2016

My husband and I have visited the Traverse City area twice over the last six months. We discovered this gem of a restaurant in Maple City on our first trip and will definitely keep returning to it while up north. Although a small venue, it has big tastes! From start to finish, this restaurant is absolute perfection. Bring your appetite, you will need it - along with a reservation (a couple of weeks in advance)! Love, love, love!

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Funistrada is a great cozy spot for amazing Italian food! I recommend getting the anniversary chicken, so good! Will be coming back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on November 10, 2016

GREAT SPOT - GOING BACK AGAIN SOON. great spot - going back again soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Superb dining experience. Would recommend highly to family and friends. Loved the cozy atmosphere

Tags: Great Beer, Good for a Date, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Funistrada is a great restaurant! If we lived closer, we'd be dining with them at least twice a month...but alas, we live about 2 1/2 hours away and after a big Italian wine and fabulous meal this dining experience requires an overnighter in Traverse City. If you love wonderful Italian dinner this is a must stop if in the Traverse area.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Reservations are a must, even in the off-season. Food is outstanding; special entrees as well as desserts make each visit unique. Do not recommend for children as there is no kids menu and seating is at a premium. If you like small places where you may strike up a conversation with your the diners at the adjoining table, happy sounds all around you, really good pasta dishes...then this is the place for you!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on November 3, 2016

As always, Funistrada was a delightful treat! Food, Atmosphere, & Service all outstanding!
Can't wait to return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 2, 2016

We have been there many, many times and they never disappoint. Very friendly service and nice atmosphere. We enjoy taking friends and family to Funistrada and they are always anxious to go back. Funistrada is one of the gems that makes a vacation in Glen Arbor one of the best ever. They are open year around which is a delight as many businesses are seasonal, i.e. summer, however it is nice for those of us who brave the cold winters for cross-county skiing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We eat here a few times each year, and every time is delightful. Close to Sleeping Bear Dunes Area - a little tough to get to, but the easy, approachable and knowledgeable staff and outstanding food make every visit worth while. They are busy - advance reservations are really really necessary many nights. Our last visit - I had NY Stsrip with balsamic reduction - full flavor, sauce was terrific, steak was cooked perfectly as ordered and most delicious. My wife had the duck which was, as usual, outstanding (can something be usually outstanding? Here it can!)

Highly and heartily recommended!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Always delicious food and the best wait staff around. Have taken friend's there that have never been before and it is never a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Great food, terrific service, casual and fun. Northwoods supper club type feel, interesting history of owners informs the spirit of the place. Nice little bar area in addition to intimate number of tables. The food is outstanding - authentic, delicious Italian. The real spumoni for dessert (enough to be shared but I ate most of it myself it was so good). As a bonus, easily accessible if you have mobility issues.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Fun, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Always a great place to dine. Never disappoints. Just wish I had room for dessert!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Cozy, Seasonal, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on October 22, 2016

This was the fourth time we have had dinner here. They never disappoint with exceptional food and service. Always a terrific time. Highly recommended !!!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.