About Funistrada

4566 W MacFarlane Rd
Maple City, MI 49664
View Larger Map

Italian-American neighborhood dining in the heart of downtown "Burdickville"

Please visit our website for further information, sample menus and directions. We look forward to having you as our guest!

*We DO NOT have a children's menu/young children are strongly discouraged. We are a small space ~ limits are in place for larger parties.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:


Dinner beginning @ 5:30pm - 9:00pm, seasonal days of operation

Cross Street:
Olive St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(231) 334-3900

Website:
http://www.trattoria-funistrada.com/

Entertainment:
nope

Catering:
We do not have catering services.

Parking Details:
parking is limited - carpooling is recommended!

Executive Chef:
Jake Noonan

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wine

Funistrada Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Worth the Drive (24)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Good for a Date (20)
See All
Cozy (17)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Special Occasion (15)
Authentic (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Romantic (13)
Casual (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Fun (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Historic (3)
Family Style (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Scenic View (2)
Great Beer (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Seasonal (1)
People Watching (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
407 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was absolutely delicious and ge ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was absolutely delicious and generous servings. The wait staff was kind and funny too. Great wine and such good dessert!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service. Excellent timing ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food and service. Excellent timing of courses.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Although we'd visited Glen Arbor before, ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Although we'd visited Glen Arbor before, I only just happened to stumble upon Funistrada via Open Table...and I am SO GLAD I did! This was one of the best meals my husband and I have ever shared. I had the Veal Saltimbocca (Funistrada is apparently known for its veal dishes?!?) and my husband had the Penne w/spicy Italian sausage in marinara sauce. Both were to die for. Extensive wine list and great local beer selection, as well. We'll absolutely return to Funistrada. Can't wait!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a lovely evening out. Really like ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We had a lovely evening out. Really like the staff, the food, the people dining. It was special. Thank you

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Funistrada never disappoints! The staff ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Funistrada never disappoints! The staff is friendly and the food is fabulous. It is always consistent. The only drawback is that it is difficult to get a table in the high season - a testament to the quality of the restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sally and I enjoyed our evening very mu ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Sally and I enjoyed our evening very much. Food great, wine great, service great, you get the picture. Thank you.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Special Occasion, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always fantastic. Our favorite Italian ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Always fantastic. Our favorite Italian restaurant - anywhere

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always enjoy Funistrada for the wonderfu ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Always enjoy Funistrada for the wonderful food, exceptional and friendly service. The food and service are always consistently good. A great place to meet friends and have a fun evening. Wonderful place to eat in Leelanau County.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

When you visit northern Michigan in the ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 12, 2017

When you visit northern Michigan in the dead of winter and many restaurants and business are closed, it is wonderful to have Funistrada. The food and service is consistently excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tough to get into, especially in summer, ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Tough to get into, especially in summer, but well worth the wait. Good food and drink. Good service.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Every time my wife and I go here it seem ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Every time my wife and I go here it seems like it's snowing but it's worth the drive in the wintery conditions. The Salmon Piccata is outstanding! Make sure to have reservations even in the dead of winter.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once a month I visit Funistada because i ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Once a month I visit Funistada because its never failed on an awesome dinner and great atmoshpere!

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Funistrada is our favorite restaurant in ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Funistrada is our favorite restaurant in the Glen Arbor and Traverse City area. The food is excellent, the atmosphere is charming, and the service is friendly and efficient. In an area that is full of good restaurant choices this one stands out as a hidden gem.

Tags: , Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We have never been let down by the food ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We have never been let down by the food or service at Funistrada. Consistently great dinning, but they need to push local wines on their menu more.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Look forward every year to spending an e ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Look forward every year to spending an evening with great friends and food to celebrate our anniversary!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome as always - Keep up the good wor ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Awesome as always - Keep up the good work!

Best date night

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, , Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as always. The Veal Saltimbocc ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Excellent as always. The Veal Saltimbocca is superb.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a good meal and pleasant experien ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Always a good meal and pleasant experience. So happy they are open year around.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I have visited the Traver ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 27, 2016

My husband and I have visited the Traverse City area twice over the last six months. We discovered this gem of a restaurant in Maple City on our first trip and will definitely keep returning to it while up north. Although a small venue, it has big tastes! From start to finish, this restaurant is absolute perfection. Bring your appetite, you will need it - along with a reservation (a couple of weeks in advance)! Love, love, love!

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Funistrada is a great cozy spot for amaz ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Funistrada is a great cozy spot for amazing Italian food! I recommend getting the anniversary chicken, so good! Will be coming back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

GREAT SPOT - GOING BACK AGAIN SOON. gre ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on November 10, 2016

GREAT SPOT - GOING BACK AGAIN SOON. great spot - going back again soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb dining experience. Would recommen ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Superb dining experience. Would recommend highly to family and friends. Loved the cozy atmosphere

Tags: Great Beer, Good for a Date, Romantic, , Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Funistrada is a great restaurant! If we ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Funistrada is a great restaurant! If we lived closer, we'd be dining with them at least twice a month...but alas, we live about 2 1/2 hours away and after a big Italian wine and fabulous meal this dining experience requires an overnighter in Traverse City. If you love wonderful Italian dinner this is a must stop if in the Traverse area.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Reservations are a must, even in the off ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Reservations are a must, even in the off-season. Food is outstanding; special entrees as well as desserts make each visit unique. Do not recommend for children as there is no kids menu and seating is at a premium. If you like small places where you may strike up a conversation with your the diners at the adjoining table, happy sounds all around you, really good pasta dishes...then this is the place for you!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, Funistrada was a delightful t ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on November 3, 2016

As always, Funistrada was a delightful treat! Food, Atmosphere, & Service all outstanding!

Can't wait to return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been there many, many times and ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 2, 2016

We have been there many, many times and they never disappoint. Very friendly service and nice atmosphere. We enjoy taking friends and family to Funistrada and they are always anxious to go back. Funistrada is one of the gems that makes a vacation in Glen Arbor one of the best ever. They are open year around which is a delight as many businesses are seasonal, i.e. summer, however it is nice for those of us who brave the cold winters for cross-county skiing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We eat here a few times each year, and e ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We eat here a few times each year, and every time is delightful. Close to Sleeping Bear Dunes Area - a little tough to get to, but the easy, approachable and knowledgeable staff and outstanding food make every visit worth while. They are busy - advance reservations are really really necessary many nights. Our last visit - I had NY Stsrip with balsamic reduction - full flavor, sauce was terrific, steak was cooked perfectly as ordered and most delicious. My wife had the duck which was, as usual, outstanding (can something be usually outstanding? Here it can!)

Highly and heartily recommended!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always delicious food and the best wait ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Always delicious food and the best wait staff around. Have taken friend's there that have never been before and it is never a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food, terrific service, casual and ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Great food, terrific service, casual and fun. Northwoods supper club type feel, interesting history of owners informs the spirit of the place. Nice little bar area in addition to intimate number of tables. The food is outstanding - authentic, delicious Italian. The real spumoni for dessert (enough to be shared but I ate most of it myself it was so good). As a bonus, easily accessible if you have mobility issues.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Fun, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great place to dine. Never dis ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Always a great place to dine. Never disappoints. Just wish I had room for dessert!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Cozy, Seasonal, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the fourth time we have had din ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on October 22, 2016

This was the fourth time we have had dinner here. They never disappoint with exceptional food and service. Always a terrific time. Highly recommended !!!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love to dine at Funistrada's whenever ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on October 20, 2016

We love to dine at Funistrada's whenever we travel to Northern Michigan staying at

The Homestead Resort. Such a lovely experience from the beginning to the end. If we

could only have such a gem in our area. Plan to see you soon and thank you so very much! :)

Tags: Casual, Healthy, Business Meals, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a good meal, great appetizers, and d ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Had a good meal, great appetizers, and decent service. Liked the ambience. Enjoyed chatting with the folks seated next to us. All in all a fun experience. Would certainly recommend and would return with enthusiasm the next time we are in the area.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding from start to finish, the se ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Outstanding from start to finish, the sever was friendly, knowledgeable, the menu had many options along with a complete accompaniment of daily specials. The wine list a wide range of varieties and price points, we enjoyed a delicious valpolicella. The food service was perfectly timed, never felt rushed or waiting. It was a wonderful evening during a fabulous stay. We will definitely return for another dinner the next time we visit.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Just love the simple, elegant ambience o ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Just love the simple, elegant ambience of this LOVELY gem of a restaurant! :-)Food and presentation... beyond our expectations! A pure delight!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was great ....but it was very ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Everything was great ....but it was very expensive. It was our first time going here and we all really liked it!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Delightfully hardy and delicious Italian ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Delightfully hardy and delicious Italian fare. Great service and really good food and wine. The food we had the Veal Saltimbocca which was decadent and the Spicy Penne with Italian Sausage - go hungry! The cheesecake also merits a mention - the plain and pumpkin were homemade with care and worth taking home if you can't manage to eat it while there!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Authentic, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The pasta dishes are nice, but I still h ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The pasta dishes are nice, but I still have a problem spending $23-$25 for a bowl of pasta. Salad with beets, and antipasta salad were nice, but I had 3 better beet salads elsewhere this weekend. Small, crowded restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Very good food. It was a wonderful dini ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Very good food. It was a wonderful dining experience. A bit out of the way, but definitely worth the drive. You must have a reservation.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our first visit to Funistrada. The meal ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Our first visit to Funistrada. The meal was great. Our waitress helped us through some selections. The special Veal Rib Chop was one of the most delicious things I've ever eaten. Wine list was excellent. After dinner cappuccino was great too. The restaurant was a little loud because it was full of happy people eating and enjoying their company. We'll be back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Fun, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.