Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.10mi
  2. Distance: 5.08mi
  3. Distance: 5.19mi
  4. Distance: 7.76mi
  1. Distance: 1.10mi
  2. Distance: 5.08mi
  3. Distance: 5.19mi
  4. Distance: 7.76mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.10mi
  2. Distance: 5.08mi
  3. Distance: 5.19mi
  4. Distance: 7.76mi
  1. Distance: 1.10mi
  2. Distance: 5.08mi
  3. Distance: 5.19mi
  4. Distance: 7.76mi

About Funistrada

Italian-American neighborhood dining in the heart of downtown "Burdickville"

Please visit our website for further information, sample menus and directions. We look forward to having you as our guest!

*We DO NOT have a children's menu/young children are strongly discouraged. We are a small space ~ limits are in place for larger parties.

4566 W MacFarlane Rd
Maple City, MI 49664
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:


Dinner beginning @ 5:30pm - 9:00pm, seasonal days of operation

Cross Street:
Olive St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(231) 334-3900

Website:
http://www.trattoria-funistrada.com/

Entertainment:
nope

Catering:
We do not have catering services.

Parking Details:
parking is limited - carpooling is recommended!

Executive Chef:
Jake Noonan

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wine

Funistrada Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (36)
Cozy (30)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
See All
Special Occasion (27)
Good for a Date (26)
Authentic (25)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Worth the Drive (21)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Local Ingredients (20)
Romantic (18)
Notable Wine List (16)
Casual (14)
Comfort Food (10)
Fun (9)
Good for Groups (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Seasonal (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Business Meals (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Organic (2)
Family Style (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Historic (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Vegan (1)
Spicy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
451 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

Another great meal at Funistrada. One of the best restaurants in Leelanau. If you're ever in this area, don't miss Funistrada.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful as always! Excellent food, great service, charming ambience. We love this place!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We always enjoy this outstanding restaurant! Great Italian food with wonderful service. Definitely should go if you haven't been!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Best restaurant in the Glen Arbor area and the staff is always wonderful.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Always great, we love to go , especially when we have company , or want to get together with friends

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 5, 2017

We were in Maple City two years ago and couldn't get in. We made this reservation over a month ago. It was worth the wait. Our service was exceptional. The food and wine were amazing. We will definitely come back . Restaurant only seats 60 people...reservations are a necessity.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The food is fabulous, as is the service and ambiance. For us, Funistrada is the real deal...perfect!

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Fun, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Lovely evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 15, 2017

We had an delicious dinner, although my husband's NY strip was full of gristle. Both chicken dishes were outstanding. We come to Funistrada each summer and on this particular night, the noise level was extremely high; certainly no fault of yours--- just a few exuberant men diners! We always look forward to our visits and will return.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on June 2, 2017

We went to Funistrada for my wife's birthday. We had never been there before. Sarah was our waitress. She was extremely helpful. The service was great. The food was fantastic. And we had a great table. Can't wait to get back there.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on June 1, 2017

One of the hidden gems on the Leelanau Peninsula. Great staff, truly wonderful food.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Outstanding meal and service every time we go. A gem in the heart of the Leelanau Pennisula!

Tags: Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Wonderful as always. Seasonal appetizer of local asparagus and morel mushrooms is a standout!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 26, 2017

It's always feels like home when we come up to Funistrada for a dining experience. The staff is exceptional--friendly and knowledgeable. And the food is fantastic. We've been coming north for years to enjoy the scenery and the cuisine.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Funistrada has been consistently wonderful every since it opened some years ago. The food and service are top notch, with fresh ingredients and thoughtful preparation given at every meal. The veal saltimbocca is the best anywhere!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Best of the best hole in the wall place for authentic Italian! One of my favorite place for over 15 years!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Fun, Romantic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cancún)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Good food, lots of specials to supplement the regular menu. Service was excellent and very personal. Not family friendly as they discourage bringing children.

Tags: Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The service and food were excellent!

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Always fantastic with great service and warm smiles--both staff & guests

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Vegan, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Spicy, Comfort Food, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Always enjoy dinner at funistrada!! The food is wonderful and the wait staff are professional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Funistrada was outstanding as always. The service is great and they have wonderful authentic Italian food. We are never disappointed when we're up north!

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This is my favorite restaurant in the Traverse City area. The food is better than restaurants in Italy. They have a great selection and outstanding service. Must book several weeks ahead to get a table.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The Funistrada experience is wonderful. Thanks to Suz for a wonderful evening!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Authentic, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Our waitress Suzie was great, and the food was pretty divine. Kind of silly but if you're a meatball connoisseur, these are silky soft and herby delicious.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Had dinner here during Glen Arbor Restaurant Week. Great hospitality and great meal. Looking forward to dining here on our next visit to Glen Arbor.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on May 6, 2017

As always superb! Great date night with my wife. The Lobster Ravioli appetizers was original and surprisingly light. I had my favorite the veal saltimbocca. Wife had the lemon artichoke chicken. For dessert we split the NY Cheesecake with raspberry sauce drizzled on top. Tasted like it was fit for a king. :)

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Wonderful as always!! A favorite of all who attended.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Menu needs updating. Been going there for many years and it never changes. There are daily specials but those seem old too and often they run out early in the evening on weekends. Still a great place to dine but it could be better.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Fantastic food as always, in a relaxed setting with good service.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We have been there three times and have come away quite happy. They some how manage to make their food taste just a bit uniquely different which is refreshing. We'll be back!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Tucked in the shadow of Glen Lake, cute 19 table spot which is very popular with locals year round and tourists in summer. Reservations required. Angie is a long time waitress and extremely friendly/knowledgeable. Great asparagus year round...Saltumbucco like no other.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Northern MI)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Best Italian food For miles. Restaurant is very consistent and always great.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Northern MI)·Dined on April 12, 2017

We had a wonderful experience at a Wednesday Date Night where entrees are bogo. Try the house special veal dish. Casual dress as are most places in northern MI.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 6, 2017

First time to Funistrada and won't be our last. Full house for Thursday night pasta special.
What an off season value. Delicious pasta, homemade meatballs and great service. Nice wine,
charming atmosphere, a happy place!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 6, 2017

We just love our dinners at Funistrada. In the winter, Wednesday is Date Night and Thursday is Pasta night, both with special prices. And the service is warm and efficient. Summertime nights get really busy, so we like Funistrada even better in the winter!

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 5, 2017

This was our first time and found Wednesday was their date night special with discounts provided for dinners. The food was very good and the service wonderful. My wife, 18 year old son and I give it five stars out of five.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on March 25, 2017

It was our 5th time there and the other 3 times were great! But food was disappointing by all 4 parties.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on March 22, 2017

We have enjoyed each of our meals at Funistrade. Got the table we wanted through on-line reservations; the food was great, and the service.

We shall see you again!

MD, Grand Rapids, MI

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Always a great meal with wonderful service. Wonderful resource to have in the great Leelanau County.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Funistrada is a must visit on the Leelanu Pennisula. The food is authentic and exceptional and the staff is always in a good mood! W

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.