Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.10mi
  2. Distance: 5.08mi
  3. Distance: 5.19mi
  4. Distance: 7.76mi
  1. Distance: 1.10mi
  2. Distance: 5.08mi
  3. Distance: 5.19mi
  4. Distance: 7.76mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.10mi
  2. Distance: 5.08mi
  3. Distance: 5.19mi
  4. Distance: 7.76mi
  1. Distance: 1.10mi
  2. Distance: 5.08mi
  3. Distance: 5.19mi
  4. Distance: 7.76mi

About Funistrada

Italian-American neighborhood dining in the heart of downtown "Burdickville"

Please visit our website for further information, sample menus and directions. We look forward to having you as our guest!

*We DO NOT have a children's menu/young children are strongly discouraged. We are a small space ~ limits are in place for larger parties.

4566 W MacFarlane Rd
Maple City, MI 49664
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:


Dinner beginning @ 5:30pm - 9:00pm, seasonal days of operation

Cross Street:
Olive St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(231) 334-3900

Website:
http://www.trattoria-funistrada.com/

Entertainment:
nope

Catering:
We do not have catering services.

Parking Details:
parking is limited - carpooling is recommended!

Executive Chef:
Jake Noonan

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wine

Funistrada Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (32)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Worth the Drive (29)
See All
Special Occasion (29)
Cozy (26)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Authentic (24)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Local Ingredients (19)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Romantic (19)
Notable Wine List (18)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Fun (14)
Casual (11)
Comfort Food (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Seasonal (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Business Meals (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Organic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great Beer (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
468 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Been coming here for the last 17 years.....always an amazing meal. Wonderful waitstaff, authentic Italian cuisine in a quiet, off the beaten path little spot. The BEST food in all of Leelanau!! Do yourself a favor and try this gem!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined 5 days ago

The food is delicious and the staff is delightful! Always a great dinner @ Funistrata!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Funistrada came highly recommended by friends that have places in the area. There was no doubt that this place was frequented by 'locals' who were warmly greeted by the hostess Susie.

We went for my wife's birthday and called ahead to see if we could bring a special bottle of wine. They accommodated, which made the meal all-the-more special.

The food was spectacular; I had the veal saltmbocca and my wife had the chicken saltimbocca. Both were perfectly salty and bathed in subtle juices. I had the heirloom tomato salad ahead of time.

Of the many places we have eaten in Michigan, Funistrada is right at the top of the list!

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 5 days ago

This is consistently our favorite Italian restaurant in Michigan. The veal dishes exceed expectations but then again so do all the entrees. It's quiet and relaxing. The service is friendly yet professional. We're already looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 9, 2017

This restaurant has fabulous food. It is always outstanding. Just make sure you make a reservation because it is almost always full.

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 9, 2017

First visit. We will be back! Nice service cozy atmosphere.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Wonderful as usual. We both had pasta and the house salad and everything was excellent. Service is always pleasant and professional. Funistrada is one of our very favorite restaurants anywhere. We always try to come here two times when we are in Glen Arbor for vacation. We love it!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Great food great folks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Fantastic meal. Exceptional service. Clearly a five star experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

This was a yearly get-together of friends. We always enjoy this wonderful restaurant and especially the excellent veal dishes. The service was excellent.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 27, 2017

We come here often and still love the food but this was the worst service we have ever had. Our waitress took a long time to first see us and first brought us a wine that was more than double the price we ordered. She then disappeared after our entriescame and we had to wait a very long time to move on in the meal from clearing plates to hearing. Next course options to getting the bill to paying the bill. If service hadn't been so slow we would have ordered dessert but we gave up and skipped even though we would have enjoyed it. Still love the food but hope we never get the waitress we had again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 25, 2017

We live out of town. Each year we come because we love the area. Our trip would not be complete without dining at your lovely restaurant.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

We live in Ann Arbor. Every time we come up north, we always make sure that we make a reservation for dinner at Funistrada. It's absolutely one of our favorite restaurants for dinner when we visit the Glen Arbor area.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

We brought our son out to dinner at funistrada. He had been visiting us from California. We lived in upstate New York for 26 years with excellent Italian restaurants. We wanted him to experience great Italian food in upper Michigan to remind him of his home town. We all had a fantastic meal and now a favorite restaurant!

Tags: Tapas, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Favorite restaurant.
Love the food.. anniversary chicken, half moon veal ravioli, salads, appetizers, and all.
Great service too.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Fun, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

As always, delicious food and fabulous service! Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Casual, Fun, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

Service was excellent from the time we walked in the door. Food was out of this world and our waitress (Sarah) was not only a wonderful server but she had a fantastic sense of humour. I would recommend this anyone who is going to be within 25 miles of Glen Lake (Michigan).

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Casual, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Another great meal at Funistrada. One of the best restaurants in Leelanau. If you're ever in this area, don't miss Funistrada.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Wonderful as always! Excellent food, great service, charming ambience. We love this place!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We always enjoy this outstanding restaurant! Great Italian food with wonderful service. Definitely should go if you haven't been!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Best restaurant in the Glen Arbor area and the staff is always wonderful.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Always great, we love to go , especially when we have company , or want to get together with friends

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 5, 2017

We were in Maple City two years ago and couldn't get in. We made this reservation over a month ago. It was worth the wait. Our service was exceptional. The food and wine were amazing. We will definitely come back . Restaurant only seats 60 people...reservations are a necessity.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The food is fabulous, as is the service and ambiance. For us, Funistrada is the real deal...perfect!

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Fun, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Lovely evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 15, 2017

We had an delicious dinner, although my husband's NY strip was full of gristle. Both chicken dishes were outstanding. We come to Funistrada each summer and on this particular night, the noise level was extremely high; certainly no fault of yours--- just a few exuberant men diners! We always look forward to our visits and will return.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on June 2, 2017

We went to Funistrada for my wife's birthday. We had never been there before. Sarah was our waitress. She was extremely helpful. The service was great. The food was fantastic. And we had a great table. Can't wait to get back there.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on June 1, 2017

One of the hidden gems on the Leelanau Peninsula. Great staff, truly wonderful food.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Outstanding meal and service every time we go. A gem in the heart of the Leelanau Pennisula!

Tags: Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Wonderful as always. Seasonal appetizer of local asparagus and morel mushrooms is a standout!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 26, 2017

It's always feels like home when we come up to Funistrada for a dining experience. The staff is exceptional--friendly and knowledgeable. And the food is fantastic. We've been coming north for years to enjoy the scenery and the cuisine.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Funistrada has been consistently wonderful every since it opened some years ago. The food and service are top notch, with fresh ingredients and thoughtful preparation given at every meal. The veal saltimbocca is the best anywhere!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Best of the best hole in the wall place for authentic Italian! One of my favorite place for over 15 years!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Fun, Romantic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cancún)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Good food, lots of specials to supplement the regular menu. Service was excellent and very personal. Not family friendly as they discourage bringing children.

Tags: Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The service and food were excellent!

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Always fantastic with great service and warm smiles--both staff & guests

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Vegan, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Spicy, Comfort Food, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Always enjoy dinner at funistrada!! The food is wonderful and the wait staff are professional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Funistrada was outstanding as always. The service is great and they have wonderful authentic Italian food. We are never disappointed when we're up north!

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This is my favorite restaurant in the Traverse City area. The food is better than restaurants in Italy. They have a great selection and outstanding service. Must book several weeks ahead to get a table.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The Funistrada experience is wonderful. Thanks to Suz for a wonderful evening!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Authentic, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.