About Funistrada

4566 W MacFarlane Rd
Maple City, MI 49664
View Larger Map

Italian-American neighborhood dining in the heart of downtown "Burdickville"

Please visit our website for further information, sample menus and directions. We look forward to having you as our guest!

*We DO NOT have a children's menu/young children are strongly discouraged. We are a small space ~ limits are in place for larger parties.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:


Dinner beginning @ 5:30pm - 9:00pm, seasonal days of operation

Cross Street:
Olive St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(231) 334-3900

Website:
http://www.trattoria-funistrada.com/

Catering:
We do not have catering services.

Parking Details:
parking is limited - carpooling is recommended!

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Anniversary Chicken
  • Bistecca di Balsamico
Anniversary Chicken
Bistecca di Balsamico

Funistrada Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Special Occasion
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Most Booked
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
3 More
Best Overall
Northern Michigan
Special Occasion
Northern Michigan
Most Booked
Northern Michigan
Best Restaurants in Glen Arbor / Maple City ›

fit for foodies (62)
neighborhood gem (52)
special occasion (49)
See All
romantic (30)
notable wine list (19)
good for groups (11)
hot spot (9)
late-night find (5)
kid-friendly (4)
great for outdoor dining (1)
scenic view (1)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
314 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Awesome food. Sarah is the best server ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

Awesome food. Sarah is the best server and treats us so well.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice place, good food, great location. S ...

vip
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined 5 days ago

Nice place, good food, great location.

Suggestion to have a bartender on staff to make drinks. We noticed servers making their own drinks, and this caused slow service for their other tables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Funistrada never disappoints! Our family ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined 7 days ago

Funistrada never disappoints! Our family visited twice while visiting Glen Arbor for a week. It's one of our favorite restaurants anyplace, including the big city! The service is always wonderful and the food is both exceptional and consistent. Their veal entrees cannot be matched anywhere...anywhere.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It has a wonderful menu with chef specia ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

It has a wonderful menu with chef specials nightly. I would highly recommend it to anyone.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice place. Nice people. Good service. ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Nice place. Nice people. Good service. Food was mediocre at best. Bread and house salad were

disappointing. Bread was tough; salad nothing special. Veal Saltimboca was poor. The so-called "famous" Tiramisu for dessert was dry and really, really lacked a decent amount of the mascarpone cheese. We had looked forward to this dinner after reading all the great reviews. We had planned to return next week, since we are in the area on vacation. We canceled that reservation and have taken Funistrada off our list of restaurants in the area. Will not return, sadly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Funistrada always delivers a wonderful d ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Funistrada always delivers a wonderful dining experience. We visited twice last week while on vacation and had two exceptional meals. The staff is always fun and they bring a friendly, positive attitude to the table. And the food is outstanding. The veal is as good as you can find anywhere!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a terrific meal there! The lobs ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We had a terrific meal there! The lobster ravioli and asparagus appetizers were outstanding. Our main meals were perfect as was the service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service excellent. Great ambien ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Food and service excellent. Great ambience. Don't miss the desserts!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorite dining spots in the G ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

One of my favorite dining spots in the Glen Lake area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Delicious food with excellent service. T ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Delicious food with excellent service. Thanks again for a wonderful evening.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place. Best veal saltimbocca in No ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Great place. Best veal saltimbocca in Northern Michigan.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very quaint Italian restaurant with exce ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Very quaint Italian restaurant with excellent food and service!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Italian food! You feel like family ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Best Italian food! You feel like family. Outstanding service.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Funistrada twice, once i ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We have been to Funistrada twice, once in November 2015 (a Thursday) and then again June 2016 (a Sunday). We loved the place in November, but were mildly disappointed in June. I had the same dish both times - a special with broccolini, white beans and sausage. It was excellent the first time around, but I can only rate it 'good' this time - the sausage was too spicy and the sauce was overly garlicky. My wife had lemon artichoke chicken and was likewise disappointed - one of the pieces of chicken was more coating than chicken, and difficult to cut. The other pieces were thicker, but not as tasty as she was expecting

The salad, the wine (Mawby Sex), desert ( panna cotta) and service were excellent.

Funistrada was crowded on both occasions (2015 and 2016). The November clientele were mostly couples, whereas there were several large parties in June. Plus the June dinner was on a Sunday. Whether these impacted food preparation, I can't say, but the meals weren't up to the same standard as our excellent meals in November.

We will be back, but probably off-season.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Love love going every time.. We never ge ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Love love going every time.. We never get tired of Funistrada. I love how consistent they are with everything. Food, atmosphere, and staff are always wonderful. The chefs know what they are doing and always get our complements!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Funistrada isourveryfavorite restaurant. ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Funistrada isourveryfavorite restaurant. We enjoy any chance to dine there.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My favorite restaurant. That says it all ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

My favorite restaurant. That says it all, but the revie won't be posted unless use 50 characters!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really going to Funistrada when we ar ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

We really going to Funistrada when we are "up north". It is always an outstanding and special experience. We just love it!!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is a fabulous restaurant. People at ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

This is a fabulous restaurant. People at the B & B we were at were raving about it so we quickly booked a reservation for that night. Cute place. The menu had loads of choices that we would have happily had. The food was delicious and very generous in portion size.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Always a favorite in the North woods! Fr ...

vip
 (Toledo)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Always a favorite in the North woods! Fresh pasta, salads, lots of innovative Italian dishes. We come every time we are in the area, never disappoints ..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

Up North Michigan - small restaurant nea ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Up North Michigan - small restaurant near Big Glen Lake, local ingredients, homemade ravioli, menu has variety of selections, good wine list, friendly servers. Make your reservation - tables fill quickly!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent choices, and the specials we ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Excellent choices, and the specials we had to try to narrow down from an awesome list. We ended up with two appetizers because we couldn't decide. Food was fantastic. The only drawback was a large table seated next to us, and two of the women were so loud, it overpowered our own conversation. We ended up listening to their group the entire evening. But that was not the fault of the restaurant. We will be back!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Wonderful food, took some home the portions were ample. Wine was devine. Pricy but worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Phenomenal food, dedicated, fun staff.

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Phenomenal food, dedicated, fun staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Hard to find but quaint location

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We were in the Glen Arbor area and had made reservations at Funistrada based on information from a friend. Cell phone lost cell power on both phones, due to the high hills in the area. Finally, we got through and called and Helen talked us in very easily. My anti pasta salad needed more meat/cheese and flavor. Picata needed flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Great experience. My steak was as good ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Great experience. My steak was as good as any I have had anywhere else. Appetizers included mussels, and asparagus wrapped in prosciutto. Both were quite good, particularly the latter; very crisp asparagus. Our server was funny and attentive without being intrusive. I have eaten at Funistrada several times and would return without hesitation. Best of luck to you.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful as Always

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We have dined at Funistrata several time before and have always been very pleased, and this occasion was no exception. Excellent food, good wine, attentive staff, and charming ambience. Pricey but worth it. Definitely recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

great meal!

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Group of 4 went to Funistrada during restaurant. We all had different entrees. All were very good. Enjoyed the meal very much.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The food was outstanding and the service ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

The food was outstanding and the service excellent. We were there to celebrate a birthday and to participate in Glen Arbor's Restaurant Week.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

great food, terrific family run business ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

great food, terrific family run business - we've never had a bad meal at Funistrada.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great place to celebrate a special occasion

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

The food was great and the service was even better. We will go back, for sure.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Consistent

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on March 16, 2016

Funni is consistently good, we enjoy the mid week specials during the off season for a good value. Otherwise a bit pricey. I wish most restuants had a good inexpensive house wine option or if you charge 10-12 dollars a glass it should be better than average grocery store wine.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Funistrada, please just say you don't welcome kids

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

We've been enjoying family meals at Funistrada for years. While Funistrada doesn't have a kids' menu, they were always happy to serve the kids a side portion of pasta with meatballs. That was perfect for their appetites, and we enjoyed having a cozy meal at what was one of our favorite neighborhood places.

Over the years we've felt the welcome has worn off. In our most recent visit, our server shared that the owners have decided to no longer allow kids to order a side item or a salad as their entree. The economics of a diner not ordering an entree doesn't work for the owners.

Personally I don't get this math. My daughter (who is nine) ordered an appetizer salad, plus a drink and a dessert, along with a (large) pasta side. The bill for her meal was more than it would be for an adult diner who didn't order a full three-course meal. Yet we were told for the first time (after dining here for years) that the owners won't tolerate this going forward. I am willing to bet that if a adult couple dined at Funistrada and one of them ordered the appetizer portion of lobster gnocchi as a main, plus a salad, there would be no issue. But if a nine year old does the same, we're made to feel unwelcome.

Funistrada will lose out on all of our future business (including the date night meals we have without the kids)....and any positive recommendations we would have made to the many friends and family that visit the area on vacation.

Even though I don't like the approach the owners are taking, it's their restaurant and they can do as they choose. My big gripe with Funistrada is....just be honest about the fact that you don't welcome kids! There are other restaurants in the area that are explicit and state upfront that they do not serve children. Funistrada, do the same. If you are ok with an adult ordering a side as a main but not with a kid doing that, just admit it. Let people know so they can make more informed decisions. You'd be doing everyone a favor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

First Time Diners....We'll Be Back

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

We picked the restaurant offline and decided to take a chance for one of our evenings of a weekend away. We loved it. Food was excellent and service was great. We really enjoyed our evening and we'll be back sometime soon.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great neighborhood spot

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Food was good, service too.....have been before and will be back!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Always top notch

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

We went on a Thursday and ordered the pasta for two and bottle of wine special. The food was

delicious as usual. There is always a great warm and friendly feel to the restaurant and the hostess Mason and our waitress Angie were friendly and provided excellent service. I wish I could eat there more often ....every time we go there it is one of the highlights of our time up north.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

recommended by the locals

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on January 22, 2016

A great find on a snowy Friday night. Great pasta. Great apps. Really friendly and we'll done. Reasonably priced for a cut above. I would love to visit again.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Meal!

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on January 15, 2016

We celebrated my husband's birthday at the Funistrata! Excellent meal and service. My husband, as usual, had the the salmon with Gorgonzola sauce on pasta. His all time favorite at the Funistrata. I had one of the specials, a NY strip steak with truffle butter on top. Yummy, and I don't usually get steak at a restaurant. The pickled beet salad was very tasty, but rather vinegar-ish. Oh yes, the duck stuffed ravioli were outstanding. We have never had less than a wonderful meal there.

We will be back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Consistently high quality food.

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on January 14, 2016

Consistently high quality food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Consistently excellent food and service

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on January 7, 2016

Funistrada is consistent. Very good food, personal service and excellent value on the nights when the restaurant has their special menu. My friend and I have visited often on Thursday night off-season when the special features two dinners and a good bottle of wine for about $42 for two people. This special includes an adequate salad, a pasta dish that tastes fresh and home made, warm fresh bread with the appropriate dipping spices and olive oil and a reasonably good bottle of either red or white wine. We had the red and it was quite good. Additional appetizers and desserts are available beyond the nightly special and these are usually quite good even if the prices are a little on the high side. I was particularly impressed when the chilled Sambuca I ordered as an after dinner drink was served with the appropriate three floating coffee beans (Con la Mosca). Suzy was our server on our most recent visit and her service was outstanding! No request went unanswered and her personal attention to us and lively spirit added to the enjoyment of the evening (others at the restaurant could learn a thing or two from her!). We will be returning.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.