About Funistrada

4566 W MacFarlane Rd
Maple City, MI 49664
View Larger Map

Italian-American neighborhood dining in the heart of downtown "Burdickville"

Please visit our website for further information, sample menus and directions. We look forward to having you as our guest!

*We DO NOT have a children's menu/young children are strongly discouraged. We are a small space ~ limits are in place for larger parties.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:


Dinner beginning @ 5:30pm - 9:00pm, seasonal days of operation

Cross Street:
Olive St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(231) 334-3900

Website:
http://www.trattoria-funistrada.com/

Catering:
We do not have catering services.

Parking Details:
parking is limited - carpooling is recommended!

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Anniversary Chicken
  • Bistecca di Balsamico
Anniversary Chicken
Bistecca di Balsamico

Funistrada Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Best Food
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Best Service
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
11 More
Best Ambiance
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Best Value
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Special Occasion
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Most Booked
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Best Overall
Northern Michigan
Best Food
Northern Michigan
Best Service
Northern Michigan
Best Ambiance
Northern Michigan
Best Value
Northern Michigan
Special Occasion
Northern Michigan
Most Booked
Northern Michigan
Best Restaurants in Glen Arbor / Maple City ›

Fit for Foodies (66)
Neighborhood Gem (57)
Special Occasion (53)
See All
Romantic (30)
Notable Wine List (24)
Good for Groups (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Late-night Find (5)
Kid-friendly (3)
Scenic View (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
328 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This restaurant is a must when we stay i ...

vip
·Dined 5 days ago

This restaurant is a must when we stay in northern Michigan. So much that we dine several times in the short month of our stay. Every entree is great. My favorite is the penne puttanesca chicken. Lots of olives, chicken, and right amount of heat. I also order the veal raviol; which is usually on the specials board. My husband always orders the chicken piccatta.

This place is extremely popular and fills up fast. It is worth the trip out to Maple City. Hands down, best restaurant in the area.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Funistrada is going strong after 17 year ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Funistrada is going strong after 17 years. Angie, our server, was helpful, kind, smart, and enjoyable. Absolutely great place.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Enjoyable overall experience. Service an ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Enjoyable overall experience. Service and food both very good. Beautiful location with scenic drive to restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Absolutely love Funistrada! The food is ...

vip
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Absolutely love Funistrada! The food is fresh and delicious, the staff friendly and hospitable. Try the prosciutto wrapped asparagus and anniversary chicken, you won't be disappointed!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have a summer cottage nearby and make ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

We have a summer cottage nearby and make it a point to dine at Funistrada several times a year when we are on vacation. The food is wonderful and service is always great. It's a special place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

THis is the best resturant in northern M ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

THis is the best resturant in northern MI. Great variety of dishes for all tastes. Our favorite is the veal chop and the cheese tortilini. Really great food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We think this is the best restaurant in ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We think this is the best restaurant in Leelanau County and one of our overall favorite restaurants anywhere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good birthday meal We enjoyed our food ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Good birthday meal

We enjoyed our food of lasagne and the excellent house salad and delicious Italian wine. The server was very helpful with the wine choice, just very busy so not as warm and friendly. Our table was ok, bu would have preferred a booth or bench. I do love the food here. It was a little noisy and wish they would expand their dining space a bit.

Always a great experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Once again a wonderful meal at Funistrad ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Once again a wonderful meal at Funistrada! After a great meal, had the best cheesecake of our lives--had the raspberry cheesecake two weeks ago and I thought it would never be better, but the coconut cheesecake beat all expectations!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great summer dinner -- make your reserva ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Great summer dinner -- make your reservation far in advance

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While the main menu is great, the specia ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

While the main menu is great, the specials make the experience even better. This is not a place for young children or large boisterous parties. The restaurant is small and there is not a kids menu. Also recommend saving room for dessert.

Reservations required and need to be made at least 1 week in advance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great place with excellent food. Need a ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great place with excellent food. Need a reservation a week or more in advance in summer high season unless you want a really early or late dinner. Veal is excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome food. Sarah is the best server ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Awesome food. Sarah is the best server and treats us so well.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice place, good food, great location. S ...

vip
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Nice place, good food, great location.

Suggestion to have a bartender on staff to make drinks. We noticed servers making their own drinks, and this caused slow service for their other tables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

The food was tasty but far overpriced fo ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The food was tasty but far overpriced for what it was. Overall, I enjoyed my experience but would only go back for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Funistrada never disappoints! Our family ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Funistrada never disappoints! Our family visited twice while visiting Glen Arbor for a week. It's one of our favorite restaurants anyplace, including the big city! The service is always wonderful and the food is both exceptional and consistent. Their veal entrees cannot be matched anywhere...anywhere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It has a wonderful menu with chef specia ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

It has a wonderful menu with chef specials nightly. I would highly recommend it to anyone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been coming to La Funistrada for ye ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

I've been coming to La Funistrada for years now and every time, the food and the service are exceptional. You wouldn't expect to find legitimate Italian cuisine on the side of a rural road in Northern Michigan, but there it is! I HIGHLY recommend this restaurant and look forward to coming back many times in the future!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice place. Nice people. Good service. ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Nice place. Nice people. Good service. Food was mediocre at best. Bread and house salad were

disappointing. Bread was tough; salad nothing special. Veal Saltimboca was poor. The so-called "famous" Tiramisu for dessert was dry and really, really lacked a decent amount of the mascarpone cheese. We had looked forward to this dinner after reading all the great reviews. We had planned to return next week, since we are in the area on vacation. We canceled that reservation and have taken Funistrada off our list of restaurants in the area. Will not return, sadly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Funistrada always delivers a wonderful d ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Funistrada always delivers a wonderful dining experience. We visited twice last week while on vacation and had two exceptional meals. The staff is always fun and they bring a friendly, positive attitude to the table. And the food is outstanding. The veal is as good as you can find anywhere!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a terrific meal there! The lobs ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We had a terrific meal there! The lobster ravioli and asparagus appetizers were outstanding. Our main meals were perfect as was the service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service excellent. Great ambien ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Food and service excellent. Great ambience. Don't miss the desserts!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorite dining spots in the G ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

One of my favorite dining spots in the Glen Lake area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Delicious food with excellent service. T ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Delicious food with excellent service. Thanks again for a wonderful evening.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place. Best veal saltimbocca in No ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Great place. Best veal saltimbocca in Northern Michigan.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very quaint Italian restaurant with exce ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Very quaint Italian restaurant with excellent food and service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Italian food! You feel like family ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Best Italian food! You feel like family. Outstanding service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Funistrada twice, once i ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We have been to Funistrada twice, once in November 2015 (a Thursday) and then again June 2016 (a Sunday). We loved the place in November, but were mildly disappointed in June. I had the same dish both times - a special with broccolini, white beans and sausage. It was excellent the first time around, but I can only rate it 'good' this time - the sausage was too spicy and the sauce was overly garlicky. My wife had lemon artichoke chicken and was likewise disappointed - one of the pieces of chicken was more coating than chicken, and difficult to cut. The other pieces were thicker, but not as tasty as she was expecting

The salad, the wine (Mawby Sex), desert ( panna cotta) and service were excellent.

Funistrada was crowded on both occasions (2015 and 2016). The November clientele were mostly couples, whereas there were several large parties in June. Plus the June dinner was on a Sunday. Whether these impacted food preparation, I can't say, but the meals weren't up to the same standard as our excellent meals in November.

We will be back, but probably off-season.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Love love going every time.. We never ge ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Love love going every time.. We never get tired of Funistrada. I love how consistent they are with everything. Food, atmosphere, and staff are always wonderful. The chefs know what they are doing and always get our complements!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Funistrada isourveryfavorite restaurant. ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Funistrada isourveryfavorite restaurant. We enjoy any chance to dine there.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My favorite restaurant. That says it all ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

My favorite restaurant. That says it all, but the revie won't be posted unless use 50 characters!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really going to Funistrada when we ar ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

We really going to Funistrada when we are "up north". It is always an outstanding and special experience. We just love it!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is a fabulous restaurant. People at ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

This is a fabulous restaurant. People at the B & B we were at were raving about it so we quickly booked a reservation for that night. Cute place. The menu had loads of choices that we would have happily had. The food was delicious and very generous in portion size.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Always a favorite in the North woods! Fr ...

vip
 (Toledo)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Always a favorite in the North woods! Fresh pasta, salads, lots of innovative Italian dishes. We come every time we are in the area, never disappoints ..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

Up North Michigan - small restaurant nea ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Up North Michigan - small restaurant near Big Glen Lake, local ingredients, homemade ravioli, menu has variety of selections, good wine list, friendly servers. Make your reservation - tables fill quickly!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent choices, and the specials we ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Excellent choices, and the specials we had to try to narrow down from an awesome list. We ended up with two appetizers because we couldn't decide. Food was fantastic. The only drawback was a large table seated next to us, and two of the women were so loud, it overpowered our own conversation. We ended up listening to their group the entire evening. But that was not the fault of the restaurant. We will be back!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Wonderful food, took some home the portions were ample. Wine was devine. Pricy but worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Phenomenal food, dedicated, fun staff.

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Phenomenal food, dedicated, fun staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Hard to find but quaint location

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We were in the Glen Arbor area and had made reservations at Funistrada based on information from a friend. Cell phone lost cell power on both phones, due to the high hills in the area. Finally, we got through and called and Helen talked us in very easily. My anti pasta salad needed more meat/cheese and flavor. Picata needed flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Great experience. My steak was as good ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Great experience. My steak was as good as any I have had anywhere else. Appetizers included mussels, and asparagus wrapped in prosciutto. Both were quite good, particularly the latter; very crisp asparagus. Our server was funny and attentive without being intrusive. I have eaten at Funistrada several times and would return without hesitation. Best of luck to you.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.