About Fugakyu Japanese Cuisine Lynnfield

Enter this true House of Exquisite Elegance where fine cuisine isn’t just our business; it’s our passion. FuGaKyu"s extensive menu of traditional and nouveau Japanese cuisine, includes sushi, sashimi, tempura, as well as unique entrees rarely found outside of Japan. Our extensive sake list includes handmade sake imported from Japan. Our Lynnfield location is the largest Japanese restaurant in New England. Its two floors include a sushi bar, a cocktail bar, common dining areas, bamboo-enclosed booths, screened Tatami rooms and several private function rooms.

427 Walnut Street
Lynnfield, MA 01940
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
I-95/128

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(781) 334-3833

Website:
http://www.fugakyu.net/

Executive Chef:
Edward Leung

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

FuGaKyu offers several options for your next event. We have numerous booths with sliding doors for an intimate dinner, traditional tatami room requiring you to sit on the floor, and separate rooms for private or corporate functions. Whether you are a group of 5 or 60.

Fugakyu Japanese Cuisine Lynnfield Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (8)
Private Room (8)
Special Occasion (8)
See All
Authentic (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Casual (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Fun (4)
Cozy (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Healthy (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Romantic (2)
Business Meals (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Tapas (2)
Family Style (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Spicy (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
People Watching (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
125 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Excellent food and service, table 22 is a bit noisy. Food selection creative and diverse.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 19, 2017

This is a great place for sushi. Incredibly fresh, tasty and beautifully presented. The booths with doors that close make it a perfect place for a romantic private dinner. It is a rare place that doesn't try to cram in one table right next to another table. Privacy is a treat. The wait staff is very attentive, but not intrusive. This is a must try restaurant. I highly recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The private rooms screened off rooms are a delight and that is primarily why we met there for a recent dinner. Food was very good -- not exceptional - but very good. But it is pricey -- about 25%-35% too expensive for what you eat. Location is wonderful with ample parking at Market Square. And the service was good too. Bottom line: food is good, ambiance is excellent, but the cost is high.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Always delicious! Service was wonderful at the bar and the hostess at the front is always pleasant!! Sushi was delicious! And my Kung pu Shrimp was spicy and on point!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Small Get together with friends

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We went at 6:00 on a Saturday. The restaurant wasn't too busy and we got a great table. We started with soup- my husband had miso w/ lobster (very generous with the lobster) and I had the hot and sour soup (which was delicious and vegetarian). The sushi was great. We ordered 7 different rolls. The pineapple sweet potato was my favorite. The garden roll was my least favorite (too heavy on the pickle, IMO). They had some unusual sushi combinations. Everything was very fresh. Our waitress was super nice and very attentive. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We sat in a very private booth, the service was very good. The Maki was good, but I have had better. The entrees were delicious and very large. We had one House special Rice with Chicken, the chicken was very tender. Also had the Ramen Noodle Bowl with Vegetables. All the food was fresh made and very tasty. The menu has been expanded to include some Chinese dishes. Would be a great place for lunch also. They have nice outdoor seating.

Tags: Business Meals, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Great food. It's a bit on the pricey side but you don't feel bad about it for the quality of the food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Food was excellent as always but the maitre d' was rude and seemed to be overwhelmed with multiple parties arriving at the same time. Open tables were within site for 30+ minutes while guests were waiting. It was an unnecessarily negative start to the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Food and service were wonderful. We were seated in a booth with doors that close. A little claustrophobic and the seat cushions were not comfortable. The cushions are individual on a bench with space between each cushion. They slid. Would have preferred a table. Next time!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 22, 2017

We were there to celebrate my daughter's 19th birthday. There was 10 of us, including 4 small children. Our table was great, sunken into the floor, and also our table was closed off by doors. It was private, the kids could make all kinds of noise without bothering anyone else in the restaurant. The food was delicious. We got several types of sushi along with rice and a noodle dish. Perfect and our wait staff was great too.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Private Room, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Overall a bad experience at a restaurant that started with great food. Do not order shrimp grilled as teriyaki or any other way. They over cook it to dry rubber. The spicy salmon maki, which is usually great, was more crumb than salmon. Our waiter was nice but was way too busy to even ask about the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Was really surprised by the quality of the food! Great atmosphere and super fresh fish for the area. Some of the better sushi I have eaten in Boston, which I did not expect from a mall-type locale. We only had a few basic rolls, but they were all quite good, with crisp seaweed.

Tags: Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Hi - My boyfriend and I have been to the Fugakyu in Lynnfield 3 times now and it just doesn't live up to the standard of the one in Brookline. We went for a date night and sushi is our favorite date night food. We love getting apps and mai tais then a few rolls. It always feels like we are being rushed and no one checks in on us between dropping off drink or food. We were hoping to enjoy our time and have a few drinks before eating our meal but by the time everything was done we hadn't even finished our second drink. It just seems impersonal and too quick for the price. I also think there are not as many specialty roll options. I think that will be our last time there. Just not friendly and fun like Brookline.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The food was great, but it was very slow to come out. Our appetizers came out at a very slow pace, the salmon teriyaki came out ten minutes before the sushi

Tags: Family Style, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 24, 2017

I thought the sushi was average... I got sick from the crunchy roll.... not returning

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Food was fine, but not special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great food, great staff. I have gone to the Brookline restaurant for years and this location is a great addition. The green tea crepe cake is to die for. I had the Chicken Katsu and i highly recommend it. We get the little room with doors and its private and great for 4 to 5 people.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Healthy, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Sushi: excellent extensive menu options; everything I had, from the sashimi to the new-to-me maki/rolls, was top notch. Try the "Crunchy" maki!

Tags: Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 9, 2017

I much prefer the Brookline location for sushi. The host is twice unfriendly, I don't like their appetizer menu-, Limited selection, small portions, high prices. No thanks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Food and waitress were great manager was a bit rude.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 4, 2017

I had previously only been to FuGaKyu's Brookline location, but now that I live in Stoneham I will be frequenting this one! Attentive, knowledgeable waitstaff, excellent food, and a clean, comfortable setting made this a great dinner experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Decent sushi, but I have had better for less money in the area. Chinese food is not good, stick with sushi.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We ordered a vegetable and chicken dish (don't recall name on menu) that tasted good, but was mostly vegetables and not much chicken. Also one of our drinks came filled slightly more than half full. After asking the server, she said that's how it comes. Considering that mixed drinks are averaging $ 10.00 each, I don't think that is right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Only get the Sushi. The hot appetizers and the rolls were disappointing. The sashimi and nigiri quality were excellent. Great sake choices

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Really good sushi! Disappointed with tempura dish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Food was good but not great. Way overpriced for what you get, I'm in no hurry to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The food was just average , which was surprising since we have enjoyed the Brookline location in the past. Not worth the high prices they are paying for what now feels like a chain restaurant and all that that implies. Kudos to our server however who kept the Sapporos coming and was very friendly and engaging - really saved the birthday dinner actually.

Tags: Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 22, 2016

My wife and I had a great time at Fugakyu. The sushi was delicious (we had some of the more creative maki rolls) and the service was top notch. We will definitely be going back again!

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Enjoyed a wonderful lunch. Bento boxes are the way to go for lunch. Reasonable and multiple choices. Energy was great and Jeff our waiter was adorable.

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Loved everything about my meal, just waited a little longer than we liked for table service, although our server could not have been more pleasant and accommodating once we got her attention. Overall a great experience!

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 8, 2016

I have gone to Fugakyu in Brookline for many years. About 12 years ago I moved to San Diego so the frequency of visits decreased. I always favored Hiro-san who is a genki Hawaiin and master sushi chef. I would always tell him to just make what he wants (a Hiro moriawase); I was never disappointed.

I was on a business trip last week and invited my daughter to join for dinner at the Lynnfield location. I was a bit nervous because Hiro-san didn't work there (he had btw moved back to Hawaii). However, we were sitting at the sushi bar and all of the chef's had been taught by Hiro-san and was their mentor. I must admit they learned well and we had high quality fish.

The only disappointment that I had was that they did not have uni, which is my favorite. Maybe next time.

If you like Japanese food (especially sushi/sashimi) prepared in the traditional way, I highly recommend Fugakyu in Lynnfield.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 26, 2016

The service was superb.
The food was only mediocre and the price was high.
There were 2 of us and we had one glass of wine and we split 1 app 1 roll and 1 steamed vegetable plate and our bill before tip was close to $90.00

Very remarkable was that we paid $20.00 for a roll that was not impressive with flavor or presentation unless you think a huge shrimp head is.

The Japanese food, at Mandarin, is superior to here and we are not new to Japanese cuisine.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 29, 2016

I was very disappointed with the meal, the waiter way annoying, he came over every 5 minutes to try and take our order when we did not even have a chance to look at it.

The cocktail I got was terrible it tasted like an crystal light drink with no taste of alcohol and not taste of mango.
I got a stomach ache from the food or drink not sure, overall this was nothing like the one in brookline. It has no customers and the atmosphere is cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 22, 2016

Wine flights at the bar to start and secluded booths were fun, sushi selection was huge but the two rolls I got were just OK, not very flavorful.

Tags: Good for Groups
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 4, 2016

Crave for sushi that night, went to Fugakyu Lynnfield first time, order the mini Kaiseki, plate look good, sashimi was very thick but no fish taste, seems like fish frozen for a while, a bit disapointed.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Our server was incredibly friendly and we really enjoyed her service! The space and ambiance is beautifully sleek. The food....OUT OF THIS WORLD!! Very fresh!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 24, 2016

Our dinner was absolutely delicious and our server was extremely attentive but it did not feel as if she was rushing us. We were thrilled with our experience and will continue to eat here!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great for sushi but don't get anything else. I got steak Teriyaki and it was horrible. I should have sent it back but service was so horribly slow I didn't want to waste my time. There was no one in the restaurant on a Saturday night so service shouldn't have been so bad but the waitress was no where to be found and was really really terrible.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 4, 2016

Great waitress. Authentic environment and experience. Super fresh. Sushi menu has many crab themed rolls...would like to see more variety with tuna,salmon based rolls.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.