About Fugakyu Japanese Cuisine Lynnfield

Enter this true House of Exquisite Elegance where fine cuisine isn’t just our business; it’s our passion. FuGaKyu"s extensive menu of traditional and nouveau Japanese cuisine, includes sushi, sashimi, tempura, as well as unique entrees rarely found outside of Japan. Our extensive sake list includes handmade sake imported from Japan. Our Lynnfield location is the largest Japanese restaurant in New England. Its two floors include a sushi bar, a cocktail bar, common dining areas, bamboo-enclosed booths, screened Tatami rooms and several private function rooms.

427 Walnut Street
Lynnfield, MA 01940
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
I-95/128

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(781) 334-3833

Website:
http://www.fugakyu.net/

Executive Chef:
Edward Leung

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

FuGaKyu offers several options for your next event. We have numerous booths with sliding doors for an intimate dinner, traditional tatami room requiring you to sit on the floor, and separate rooms for private or corporate functions. Whether you are a group of 5 or 60.

Fugakyu Japanese Cuisine Lynnfield Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

4.0

ambience

4.0

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

75% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (6)
Private Room (6)
Casual (5)
See All
Good for a Date (5)
Cozy (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Authentic (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Fun (2)
Family Style (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Business Meals (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Healthy (2)
Vegan (2)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Tapas (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Romantic (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
113 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Was really surprised by the quality of the food! Great atmosphere and super fresh fish for the area. Some of the better sushi I have eaten in Boston, which I did not expect from a mall-type locale. We only had a few basic rolls, but they were all quite good, with crisp seaweed.

Tags: Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Hi - My boyfriend and I have been to the Fugakyu in Lynnfield 3 times now and it just doesn't live up to the standard of the one in Brookline. We went for a date night and sushi is our favorite date night food. We love getting apps and mai tais then a few rolls. It always feels like we are being rushed and no one checks in on us between dropping off drink or food. We were hoping to enjoy our time and have a few drinks before eating our meal but by the time everything was done we hadn't even finished our second drink. It just seems impersonal and too quick for the price. I also think there are not as many specialty roll options. I think that will be our last time there. Just not friendly and fun like Brookline.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The food was great, but it was very slow to come out. Our appetizers came out at a very slow pace, the salmon teriyaki came out ten minutes before the sushi

Tags: Family Style, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 24, 2017

I thought the sushi was average... I got sick from the crunchy roll.... not returning

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Food was fine, but not special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great food, great staff. I have gone to the Brookline restaurant for years and this location is a great addition. The green tea crepe cake is to die for. I had the Chicken Katsu and i highly recommend it. We get the little room with doors and its private and great for 4 to 5 people.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Healthy, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Sushi: excellent extensive menu options; everything I had, from the sashimi to the new-to-me maki/rolls, was top notch. Try the "Crunchy" maki!

Tags: Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 9, 2017

I much prefer the Brookline location for sushi. The host is twice unfriendly, I don't like their appetizer menu-, Limited selection, small portions, high prices. No thanks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Food and waitress were great manager was a bit rude.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 4, 2017

I had previously only been to FuGaKyu's Brookline location, but now that I live in Stoneham I will be frequenting this one! Attentive, knowledgeable waitstaff, excellent food, and a clean, comfortable setting made this a great dinner experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Decent sushi, but I have had better for less money in the area. Chinese food is not good, stick with sushi.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We ordered a vegetable and chicken dish (don't recall name on menu) that tasted good, but was mostly vegetables and not much chicken. Also one of our drinks came filled slightly more than half full. After asking the server, she said that's how it comes. Considering that mixed drinks are averaging $ 10.00 each, I don't think that is right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Only get the Sushi. The hot appetizers and the rolls were disappointing. The sashimi and nigiri quality were excellent. Great sake choices

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Really good sushi! Disappointed with tempura dish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Food was good but not great. Way overpriced for what you get, I'm in no hurry to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The food was just average , which was surprising since we have enjoyed the Brookline location in the past. Not worth the high prices they are paying for what now feels like a chain restaurant and all that that implies. Kudos to our server however who kept the Sapporos coming and was very friendly and engaging - really saved the birthday dinner actually.

Tags: Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 22, 2016

My wife and I had a great time at Fugakyu. The sushi was delicious (we had some of the more creative maki rolls) and the service was top notch. We will definitely be going back again!

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Enjoyed a wonderful lunch. Bento boxes are the way to go for lunch. Reasonable and multiple choices. Energy was great and Jeff our waiter was adorable.

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Loved everything about my meal, just waited a little longer than we liked for table service, although our server could not have been more pleasant and accommodating once we got her attention. Overall a great experience!

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 8, 2016

I have gone to Fugakyu in Brookline for many years. About 12 years ago I moved to San Diego so the frequency of visits decreased. I always favored Hiro-san who is a genki Hawaiin and master sushi chef. I would always tell him to just make what he wants (a Hiro moriawase); I was never disappointed.

I was on a business trip last week and invited my daughter to join for dinner at the Lynnfield location. I was a bit nervous because Hiro-san didn't work there (he had btw moved back to Hawaii). However, we were sitting at the sushi bar and all of the chef's had been taught by Hiro-san and was their mentor. I must admit they learned well and we had high quality fish.

The only disappointment that I had was that they did not have uni, which is my favorite. Maybe next time.

If you like Japanese food (especially sushi/sashimi) prepared in the traditional way, I highly recommend Fugakyu in Lynnfield.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 26, 2016

The service was superb.
The food was only mediocre and the price was high.
There were 2 of us and we had one glass of wine and we split 1 app 1 roll and 1 steamed vegetable plate and our bill before tip was close to $90.00

Very remarkable was that we paid $20.00 for a roll that was not impressive with flavor or presentation unless you think a huge shrimp head is.

The Japanese food, at Mandarin, is superior to here and we are not new to Japanese cuisine.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 29, 2016

I was very disappointed with the meal, the waiter way annoying, he came over every 5 minutes to try and take our order when we did not even have a chance to look at it.

The cocktail I got was terrible it tasted like an crystal light drink with no taste of alcohol and not taste of mango.
I got a stomach ache from the food or drink not sure, overall this was nothing like the one in brookline. It has no customers and the atmosphere is cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 22, 2016

Wine flights at the bar to start and secluded booths were fun, sushi selection was huge but the two rolls I got were just OK, not very flavorful.

Tags: Good for Groups
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 4, 2016

Crave for sushi that night, went to Fugakyu Lynnfield first time, order the mini Kaiseki, plate look good, sashimi was very thick but no fish taste, seems like fish frozen for a while, a bit disapointed.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Our server was incredibly friendly and we really enjoyed her service! The space and ambiance is beautifully sleek. The food....OUT OF THIS WORLD!! Very fresh!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 24, 2016

Our dinner was absolutely delicious and our server was extremely attentive but it did not feel as if she was rushing us. We were thrilled with our experience and will continue to eat here!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great for sushi but don't get anything else. I got steak Teriyaki and it was horrible. I should have sent it back but service was so horribly slow I didn't want to waste my time. There was no one in the restaurant on a Saturday night so service shouldn't have been so bad but the waitress was no where to be found and was really really terrible.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 4, 2016

Great waitress. Authentic environment and experience. Super fresh. Sushi menu has many crab themed rolls...would like to see more variety with tuna,salmon based rolls.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 22, 2016

BIG BIG BIG lunch!!1 Split a lunch, big and YUMMY!

Loved it.

Mark

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 21, 2016

The food here was great; I've been to the FuGakyu in Brookline and it was fantastic. There were some things, however, that were a little disappointing.

Let me just first say, the environment was great. We arrived before the rush during the weekend, so the atmosphere was quiet. My friend and I used one of the booths that closes - great touch! The individual who seated us was fine, very friendly. I'm not one to judge, or to hold grudges, though I felt our waiter was having an off day. He did not seem at all excited, gave us our menus and left. We thought little of it. A little while later he returned, took our order with an aloofness and little excitement, and mumbled enough that I couldn't figure out if he was agreeing with me or asking me to specify what I wanted. His overall behavior was odd enough that my friend and I picked up on it and glanced over at each other. Fast forward to the appetizer - it was good, we ordered the vegetable kushi-katsu. I was a bit disappointed it was *only* fried zucchini, as other places have garnished it with onions or other vegetables. Before we were finished eating, our waiter came back and took the plate away while refilling our water. We didn't notice as it was happening, but it was disappointing as there was little reason to finish eating the appetizer without the sauce!

The entrees were excellent, though we felt the sushi could have had more presentation (for this being a pricier restaurant). The waiter checked on us twice in 15 minutes, so it was a little disruptive, but still a nice dinner. It took a little while for us to get some attention to process our check and to get our check, and the waiter initially forgot my food that I requested to take home (a simple mistake I suppose).

Overall, decent experience, but I do tie enthusiasm of the staff and presentation of the food into the price of an expensive restaurant. I'll probably eat here again, I just hope the servers are as excited to be there as I am. =)

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2016

We had a large group of 12 people and reserved a private room. The room was great, only downside is how loud it gets in a small room with 12 people all talking at once! Food was great, drinks were delicious. Food is priced high but quality is excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Amazing. Great food & the waiter suggesting a boat to share all of our choices was a wonderful idea (& really worked out!)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 30, 2016

We were there at 5 pm so the service was fine. I emailed ahead since I have a gluten sensitivity and was told I would have options. When I arrived I actually had very few options. I stuck with some basic sushi. My husband ordered a steak medium and it came medium well and wasn't really a good cut of steak - gristle - hard to cut. The prices are high for the value. I'd rather eat at Oyes in Reading or Sakura in Wakefield.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 2, 2016

Excellent service and delish sushi though pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 26, 2016

Amazing food & great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 19, 2016

Although we were seated promptly everything else went downhill from there. Upon being seated we placed our drink order. Approximately 45 minutes later our drinks arrived. The server apologized but to wait that long was ridiculous. From there, when entrees were brought out, one in our party had to wait ten minutes before their entree arrived. After entrees were all brought received, we realized that server never brought the soups that came with our meals. Once again the server apologized and brought them out but come on!! Prices are not reflective of either quality of food or service. I did complain to manager when we were leaving and had the feeling I wasn't the only one who had done so. I also ran into a friend who was also having dinner there and they were not pleased wit their experience either. I will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 12, 2016

Love this place! Food was really good and waitress was super nice and attentive. Will definitely be going back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 12, 2016

We were seated right away in a very cozy booth. The booth had sliding frosted doors so that you can have privacy. Definitely a good place to go on a nice date and get to know someone.

Tags: Private Room, Casual, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 9, 2016

Disappointed. Restaurant was empty and quiet. The two drinks we picked from the Special Drink menu were unavailable. The kumomoto oysters on the menu came out as a COMPLETELY different kind of oyster. The service was so unfortunate. Not that it's an excuse but maybe our waitress was newer? We were left to wait a long time to place our food order. Our food arrived pretty quickly but in the middle of eating our meal, we were told it was last call. So we said okay thanks. Then an unexpected last minute diner joined our table after the last call announcement and the restaurant was still able to accommodate his quick order so I was grateful for that. However, we made the mistake of not asking last call for what. We thought it was last call for the bar or last call for sushi. But then after we were done with our meal, we asked what there was for dessert and then we found out, last call meant it was for EVERYTHING. Then we asked what kind of dessert was on the menu and we were told, "I don't know the kitchen is completely locked up and I can't look". As we left, we asked the host at the front desk, what was on their menu for dessert and he let us know the selection and let us know that the kitchen closes 30 minutes before the restaurant closes. Again, maybe the waitress was newer and didn't know how to answer our basic questions but it felt more like she didn't care much to make any effort. Beware that you won't be able to get food 30 minutes before closing. Maybe they should change their operating hours to reflect the kitchen hours. Other places serve food until their closing times so it's a little misleading. The sushi was good quality though and my friend said the ramen was pretty good so it wasn't a total waste of an evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 5, 2016

My husband and I went on Saturday at 5:15 for his birthday. We have been to the Brookline store many times but have wanted to try this new location. It is in an outlet mall so parking was free and easy to find. They gave us a semiprivate room with sliding doors, so that was nice, probably because we were so early and had made a reservation, but nevertheless it felt more authentic. The French Rose wine that we wanted (there are 2 on the menu) was not available, but we substituted a very good French white. We ordered seaweed salad and it was very good, also an excellent hot appetizer of sea bass with sweet miso sauce. For the entre we ordered an assorted sashimi plate that was plentiful for the price, and the fish, especially the salmon and tuna, were nice big slices and very fresh and good. The green tea ice cream was really good and came with a surprise which we enjoyed. Our server was a young girl, very friendly and knowledgeable. The only thing that surprised us was that they served thin wooden chopsticks that you can get at the cheapest Chinese restaurant. And to make matters worse, after our appetizers, we were not even given a new set. I was not very happy about this, and feel that a restaurant of this caliber and style should be using much better quality chopsticks. They really need to upgrade this aspect of their presentation and service. I would go back again, especially when the weather is warmer so we could walk around the shops after the meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.