About Fugakyu Japanese Cuisine Lynnfield

427 Walnut Street
Lynnfield, MA 01940
View Larger Map

Enter this true House of Exquisite Elegance where fine cuisine isn’t just our business; it’s our passion. FuGaKyu"s extensive menu of traditional and nouveau Japanese cuisine, includes sushi, sashimi, tempura, as well as unique entrees rarely found outside of Japan. Our extensive sake list includes handmade sake imported from Japan. Our Lynnfield location is the largest Japanese restaurant in New England. Its two floors include a sushi bar, a cocktail bar, common dining areas, bamboo-enclosed booths, screened Tatami rooms and several private function rooms.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:30pm

Cross Street:
I-95/128

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(781) 334-3833

Website:
http://www.fugakyu.net/

Executive Chef:
Edward Leung

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

FuGaKyu offers several options for your next event. We have numerous booths with sliding doors for an intimate dinner, traditional tatami room requiring you to sit on the floor, and separate rooms for private or corporate functions. Whether you are a group of 5 or 60.

Fugakyu Japanese Cuisine Lynnfield Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.9

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Japanese
Boston / New England
Best Restaurants in Lynnfield ›

fit for foodies (14)
good for groups (13)
great for lunch (10)
See All
neighborhood gem (8)
special occasion (8)
great for outdoor dining (7)
romantic (7)
hot spot (5)
kid-friendly (5)
late-night find (3)
scenic view (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
86 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our server was incredibly friendly and w ...

Dined 3 days ago

Our server was incredibly friendly and we really enjoyed her service! The space and ambiance is beautifully sleek. The food....OUT OF THIS WORLD!! Very fresh!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Great for sushi but don't get anything e ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

Great for sushi but don't get anything else. I got steak Teriyaki and it was horrible. I should have sent it back but service was so horribly slow I didn't want to waste my time. There was no one in the restaurant on a Saturday night so service shouldn't have been so bad but the waitress was no where to be found and was really really terrible.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service5

Great waitress. Authentic environment an ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Great waitress. Authentic environment and experience. Super fresh. Sushi menu has many crab themed rolls...would like to see more variety with tuna,salmon based rolls.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

BIG BIG BIG lunch!!1 Split a lunch, big ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

BIG BIG BIG lunch!!1 Split a lunch, big and YUMMY! Loved it. Mark

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

The food here was great; I've been to t ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

The food here was great; I've been to the FuGakyu in Brookline and it was fantastic. There were some things, however, that were a little disappointing. Let me just first say, the environment was great. We arrived before the rush during the weekend, so the atmosphere was quiet. My friend and I used one of the booths that closes - great touch! The individual who seated us was fine, very friendly. I'm not one to judge, or to hold grudges, though I felt our waiter was having an off day. He did not seem at all excited, gave us our menus and left. We thought little of it. A little while later he returned, took our order with an aloofness and little excitement, and mumbled enough that I couldn't figure out if he was agreeing with me or asking me to specify what I wanted. His overall behavior was odd enough that my friend and I picked up on it and glanced over at each other. Fast forward to the appetizer - it was good, we ordered the vegetable kushi-katsu. I was a bit disappointed it was *only* fried zucchini, as other places have garnished it with onions or other vegetables. Before we were finished eating, our waiter came back and took the plate away while refilling our water. We didn't notice as it was happening, but it was disappointing as there was little reason to finish eating the appetizer without the sauce! The entrees were excellent, though we felt the sushi could have had more presentation (for this being a pricier restaurant). The waiter checked on us twice in 15 minutes, so it was a little disruptive, but still a nice dinner. It took a little while for us to get some attention to process our check and to get our check, and the waiter initially forgot my food that I requested to take home (a simple mistake I suppose). Overall, decent experience, but I do tie enthusiasm of the staff and presentation of the food into the price of an expensive restaurant. I'll probably eat here again, I just hope the servers are as excited to be there as I am. =)

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Nice private room

Dined on May 14, 2016

We had a large group of 12 people and reserved a private room. The room was great, only downside is how loud it gets in a small room with 12 people all talking at once! Food was great, drinks were delicious. Food is priced high but quality is excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing. Great food & the waiter suggest ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Amazing. Great food & the waiter suggesting a boat to share all of our choices was a wonderful idea (& really worked out!)

food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Not worth it

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

We were there at 5 pm so the service was fine. I emailed ahead since I have a gluten sensitivity and was told I would have options. When I arrived I actually had very few options. I stuck with some basic sushi. My husband ordered a steak medium and it came medium well and wasn't really a good cut of steak - gristle - hard to cut. The prices are high for the value. I'd rather eat at Oyes in Reading or Sakura in Wakefield.

food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent service and delish sushi thoug ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

Excellent service and delish sushi though pricey.

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food & great service!

Dined on March 26, 2016

Amazing food & great service!

food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Friendly server but HORRIBLE otherwise.

Dined on March 19, 2016

Although we were seated promptly everything else went downhill from there. Upon being seated we placed our drink order. Approximately 45 minutes later our drinks arrived. The server apologized but to wait that long was ridiculous. From there, when entrees were brought out, one in our party had to wait ten minutes before their entree arrived. After entrees were all brought received, we realized that server never brought the soups that came with our meals. Once again the server apologized and brought them out but come on!! Prices are not reflective of either quality of food or service. I did complain to manager when we were leaving and had the feeling I wasn't the only one who had done so. I also ran into a friend who was also having dinner there and they were not pleased wit their experience either. I will not be returning.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place

Dined on March 12, 2016

Love this place! Food was really good and waitress was super nice and attentive. Will definitely be going back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Wrong place, Wrong time?

vip
Dined on March 9, 2016

Disappointed. Restaurant was empty and quiet. The two drinks we picked from the Special Drink menu were unavailable. The kumomoto oysters on the menu came out as a COMPLETELY different kind of oyster. The service was so unfortunate. Not that it's an excuse but maybe our waitress was newer? We were left to wait a long time to place our food order. Our food arrived pretty quickly but in the middle of eating our meal, we were told it was last call. So we said okay thanks. Then an unexpected last minute diner joined our table after the last call announcement and the restaurant was still able to accommodate his quick order so I was grateful for that. However, we made the mistake of not asking last call for what. We thought it was last call for the bar or last call for sushi. But then after we were done with our meal, we asked what there was for dessert and then we found out, last call meant it was for EVERYTHING. Then we asked what kind of dessert was on the menu and we were told, "I don't know the kitchen is completely locked up and I can't look". As we left, we asked the host at the front desk, what was on their menu for dessert and he let us know the selection and let us know that the kitchen closes 30 minutes before the restaurant closes. Again, maybe the waitress was newer and didn't know how to answer our basic questions but it felt more like she didn't care much to make any effort. Beware that you won't be able to get food 30 minutes before closing. Maybe they should change their operating hours to reflect the kitchen hours. Other places serve food until their closing times so it's a little misleading. The sushi was good quality though and my friend said the ramen was pretty good so it wasn't a total waste of an evening.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Need to upgrade Chopsticks

Dined on March 5, 2016

My husband and I went on Saturday at 5:15 for his birthday. We have been to the Brookline store many times but have wanted to try this new location. It is in an outlet mall so parking was free and easy to find. They gave us a semiprivate room with sliding doors, so that was nice, probably because we were so early and had made a reservation, but nevertheless it felt more authentic. The French Rose wine that we wanted (there are 2 on the menu) was not available, but we substituted a very good French white. We ordered seaweed salad and it was very good, also an excellent hot appetizer of sea bass with sweet miso sauce. For the entre we ordered an assorted sashimi plate that was plentiful for the price, and the fish, especially the salmon and tuna, were nice big slices and very fresh and good. The green tea ice cream was really good and came with a surprise which we enjoyed. Our server was a young girl, very friendly and knowledgeable. The only thing that surprised us was that they served thin wooden chopsticks that you can get at the cheapest Chinese restaurant. And to make matters worse, after our appetizers, we were not even given a new set. I was not very happy about this, and feel that a restaurant of this caliber and style should be using much better quality chopsticks. They really need to upgrade this aspect of their presentation and service. I would go back again, especially when the weather is warmer so we could walk around the shops after the meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4

Be sure to explore the maki roll selecti ...

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

Be sure to explore the maki roll selection beyond the typical go-to items like spicy tuna and California rolls. There is much more to the menu! The scorpion roll was especially tasty.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love at first bite!

Dined on January 1, 2016

From a foodie herself, I highly recommend this place just because the sushi is on point and their booths offer privacy doors (which is awesome, making things a little more romantic!). The prices are somewhat fair and equal to the quality of their sushi, the only thing I recommend to the restaurant is slightly bigger portions. It wasn't a deal breaker for me but something I did notice compared to other restaurants I have been to, quantity should overpower the price just a little! It brings customers back more and more, getting the bang for their buck. I also loved the fried ice cream, it's my dessert go-to! Just a little smaller than what I expected, but not a big issue for me! All in all, this place is great and will be my sushi go-to given its right down the road! Another plus is that it's in the mall, so it's nice to go there for a bite after shopping for a few hours.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Dinner on New Year's Eve 2015

Dined on January 1, 2016

My close friend met me here for New Year's Eve the other night, we had reservations for 8:15pm. I made the reservations last minute online at Open Table and we were lucky there were still tables left. Overall we had a nice time, the food was good and the service was decent. We wished we'd booked earlier that day or a previous day as the cool booths with privacy sliding doors were all taken, but we were still pleased with the available table we got. Would definitely go back and recommend to friends & co-workers.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service2

Sukiyaki cooked at table is always delic ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

Sukiyaki cooked at table is always delicious and fun experience.

food5
ambience5
service5

Service was quick and food was excellent

Dined on January 1, 2016

Service was quick and food was excellent

food4
ambience4
service4

Great Sushi Spot

Dined on December 13, 2015

I have been to their location in Brookline, which is great. I love this new location in Lynnfield in Market St. If you are in the mood for sushi, this is a great choice. Excellent food and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Sushi!

vip
Dined on December 12, 2015

We went here after my husband got off work. He'd been in before for lunch, but I hadn't. Great looking restaurant (lots of outdoor tables in the summer), very friendly service and delicious food. We had the pork gyoza, sashimi appetizer and three rolls (spicy tuna, spicy yellowtail and scorpion). This definitely was top among sushi restaurants in the greater Boston area for us so far - portion size was very fair and prices very reasonable. We'll be back!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Authentic Japanese Cuisine

Dined on November 3, 2015

If you want authentic Japanese cuisine at a high level of quality, go to FuGaKyu. I met a college classmate for lunch. He ordered a bento — a lacquered box with the meal in compartments — and I had the sushi & sashimi plate. I've visited Japan six times, and all the food at FuGaKyu, from the miso soup through the main course to the sectioned orange, looked and tasted as I would have expected in a fine restaurant in Japan. My classmate enjoyed his salmon teriyaki and all the accompaniments as well. Service was flawless, prompt, and attentive. The decor in the area where we were seated is modern — shiny and angular, the result of being located in a newly constructed building in a new outdoor mall. You wouldn't mistake it for 18th Century Edo, but they've done what they can to make it attractive with Japanese elements. There are other areas where the ambience may match the authenticity of the food. so I'm giving it a "very good." The location is also convenient — adjacent to Rte. 128 (I-95, for you out-of-staters) in Lynnfield. So the place to go for Japanese food in eastern Massachusetts is FuGaKyu. I have no doubt the Brookline and Sudbury locations offer equally excellent dining.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service4

Half Disappointing

vip
Dined on October 24, 2015

Having been to Fugaku in Brookline many times, we were excited to try the Lynnfield restaurant. We were with another couple who don't eat sushi so we were a little worried about that but there were plenty of cooked items to choose from. I saw mixed reviews on line so I was a little nervous but our sushi was delicious, everything we ordered was fresh and looked great. On the other hand, our friends, who ordered entrees from the kitchen, were very disappointed. The steak teriyaki was ordered medium and came out well done the first time, rare the second time and finally cooked properly the third time. Of course we were almost done with all of our other meals when she finally got hers. The other cooked meal was ok but certainly looked like it wasn't worth $30. Prices overall seem a little high.

food2
ambience3
service3

Quality for the price wasn't on par

Dined on September 12, 2015

I've eaten at many local area restaurants, the sushi here was slightly above average, but the appetizers and entrees were average at best for the cost. 2 rolls of Maki, 2 appetizers and an entree, with 1 draft beer came to $70, and the sushi was the best part of the meal. Our server was great but didn't ask if we wanted actual silverware. (I am proficient with chopsticks but my girlfriend is not). You could get a better meal at the Mandarin Reading for 1/2 or 2/3 the cost.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

Our favorite place

vip
Dined on September 9, 2015

Our kids love the "closed" room. We always ask for the booth and have the door closed. My girls (4 and 5 yr old) loves Fugakyu. It was my daughter's first day of kindergarten and we asked her where she wanted to go to celebrate, she asked for Fugakyu. My younger daughter has peanuts allergy and I know everything is safe for her which is so nice.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the booths with the doors!

Dined on August 22, 2015

Love the booths with the doors!

food5
ambience5
service5

Sushi was amazing!! Everything was very ...

Dined on August 16, 2015

Sushi was amazing!! Everything was very fresh and tasty! Ambiance was quiet, clean, trendy...waitress Chelsea was very sweet and attentive! We will be back!

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing dining experience

Dined on June 22, 2015

We have been to Fugakyu several times and each time has been a great experience. The food, atmosphere and service combined makes for an amazing dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience2
service2

why be open late

vip
Dined on June 21, 2015

hours said they were open late we got there and the stools were up with the exception of our table. it was so uncomfortable that we left without even eating.

Tags: late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

Best sushi in the area

Dined on June 19, 2015

We tried this the other night and have to say it was some of the best sushi we've had. Great service and location too. Can't wait to return.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great service

vip
Dined on June 18, 2015

Although it is usually quiet when I come here, I am always greeted with a smile and great service, especially by Diane and Cat!! The sushi is delicious! They have some innovative rolls and the lunch is a great value!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience1
service4

Excellent food and personable waitress

Dined on June 13, 2015

The food was excellent and the waitress was lovely. Unfortunately, a young family with an overtired and persistently crying baby was seated right next to us and the parents were not considerate enough to remove the crying baby. We will return to experience the dining expereince when we are not trying to rush out of there.

food5
ambience5
service5

Yummy!!

Dined on May 27, 2015

The food was great. Sushi was amazing. It was expensive so not an everyday place for dinner, but will definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

High quality is Lynnfield

vip
Dined on May 27, 2015

Excellent , fresh, trustworthy quality Japanese in the suburbs. I went because I enjoyed the Brookline Fugaku and I wasn't disappointed. The lunch portions are very generous so go hungry or share.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5

I love Diane and Cat! The sushi is deli ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2015

I love Diane and Cat! The sushi is delicious and their lunch specials are a great value! Glad it is close to where we live!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Love the little booths!!! Perfect for my ...

Dined on May 21, 2015

Love the little booths!!! Perfect for my trucker mouthed husband! :) Mandy was a fantastic waitress. Checking in an appropriate amount but never too much or too little. Thank you!!

food4
ambience1
service2

Second time not impressed

Dined on March 1, 2015

My sister really wanted to go to FagaKyu for her birthday after I told her how great it was on Valentine's Day. We went and we had a party of 6. Instead of placing us in an open area they placed us in one of the boxes. They are just that extremely cramped and claustrophobic boxes. There are vents over head that amplified whatever anyone was saying. Our waitress came in and yelled so loudy it was awful becuase my parents had questions and although she was knowledgable everything needed a story and it was all turned up to 11. So if you get a southern waitress ask to move to a different waited area. She spoke over what people were ordering so she brought my sister the wrong thing on her birthday... Needless to say I did a lot of explaining afterwards that that was nothing like the experience I had on my date 2 weeks before. I'll keep going back but I dont think it will be with her.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience2
service4

Food and service was great. Might want t ...

Dined on February 21, 2015

Food and service was great. Might want to consider turning up heat, it was freezing I kept jacket on the whole time

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, late-night find
food4
ambience4
service4

Fugakyu was amazing!

Dined on February 14, 2015

We dined at Fugakyu in Lynnfield (Market Street) on Feb 14th. (We were actually there to celebrate my daughter's birthday, not Valentine's!) The service was fantastic. The waitress was very patient and answered all of our questions regarding the menu. Her recommendations were so good! The food was perfect. The Makimono and Sushi were very good. Our entries were also beautifully prepared, presented and tasted fantastic. I would definitely go back and would recommend this restaurant to others. No complaints at all.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4

Very cool! We sat in a private booth! ...

vip
Dined on January 24, 2015

Very cool! We sat in a private booth! Sushi was amazing and fresh. We got the hot pot and that was really delicious as well. Great experience!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.