Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 2 times today

Fugakyu Japanese Cuisine Lynnfield

4.2
163 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Japanese
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Quiet Conversation
  • Great for Lunch
Enter this true House of Exquisite Elegance where fine cuisine isn’t just our business; it’s our passion. FuGaKyu"s extensive menu of traditional and nouveau Japanese cuisine, includes sushi, sashimi, tempura, as well as unique entrees rarely found outside of Japan. Our extensive sake list includes handmade sake imported from Japan. Our Lynnfield location is the largest Japanese restaurant in New England. Its two floors include a sushi bar, a cocktail bar, common dining areas, bamboo-enclosed booths, screened Tatami rooms and several private function rooms.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Japanese, Sushi, Chinese
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch
Daily 11:30 am–4:00 pm
Dinner
Mon–Thu, Sun 4:00 pm–9:30 pm
Fri, Sat 3:00 pm–10:30 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(781) 334-3833
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Edward Leung
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
FuGaKyu offers several options for your next event. We have numerous booths with sliding doors for an intimate dinner, traditional tatami room requiring you to sit on the floor, and separate rooms for private or corporate functions. Whether you are a group of 5 or 60.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Jackie Wuttihamrong: (844) 476-9215
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
I-95/128
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 163 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.2based on recent ratings
4.3
food
3.9
service
4.1
ambience
3.8
value
Noise · Quiet
90% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 2 days ago

One of the best Sushi restaurants in the Greater Boston area.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 3 days ago

Fugakyu is great Asian restaurant with a lot of choices available. I've always partaken in their sushi, both nigiri and rolls, with great delight. Their sake options are good as well - I especially enjoy their unfiltered selection. I will definitely eat here again with my friends and family.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Great Japanese food, generous portions, quiet atmosphere, excellent service

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Good food nice service

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Sushi selection is very big, taste yummy. I tried a bit of Chinese and it was delicious, will def going back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Bday dinner

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 29, 2018

My first experience at Fugakya with wait staff who didn’t match the cuisine. Well, st least the sushi chefs were authentic.Absolutely fantastically fresh fish and seafood (on a Thursday). Just what NE Mass needs!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

The food, service and ambiance are exceptional.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Went to dinner with family after ice skating.
Good quality raw fish.
I loved the Chilean sea bass appetizer, so good!
Some of the foods that we ordered said spicy, however no spice on it, such as the duck meal.
Our waiter was very nice & friendly.
Overall, good casual experience, would go back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Very good sushi. Enjoyed visit and loved the sliding doors for the private booths.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

First time visit. Food was excellent and so was the server. Very nice atmosphere

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Not good... average food, terrible service, no value.. would not go back

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Food was delicious and very fresh. Sushi was outstanding. Service was slow and took forever to get our check. I had to get up and go the stand to request our check. Think our waitress was new and unfamiliar with the menu as well.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Nice booths with closing doors to have great conversation with great friends!!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Showed up 15 minutes prior to reservation. At least six tables arrived and were seated after us. Finally, left after 45 minutes. Place was dysfunctional.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Our food was outstanding but the service was deplorable. We were not served our main course for 30 minutes between appetizer and main course. We were never offered dessert or coffee/tea after the meal. The waitress was literally running between tables. The restaurant seemed very short staffed. We will return because the food was so good but we will only return a few times before the poor service could drive us away.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Food was fresh and awesome, but the place is seriously understaffed. It was Valentine's Day and they only had 4 waiters running around this place. Our poor waiter was overworked. Owner walked by us multiple times and did not even stopped to appear apologetic for the service wait. Instead, we were privy to him openly disciplining his employees. My reservation was both a friendly get-together and a BUSINESS meal. Needless to say, I would not be recommending this place for a professional meeting. Your client may get cranky enough and bail on the meal slash deal all together.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

The Sushi was great. Tuna Sashimi, spicy tuna maki, salmon nigiri all fantastic. It’s a little pricey but if you want real Sushi that is high quality this place is for you. I’ll be heading back soon.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 3, 2018

The food at Fugakyu is always of good quality, but the service on my most recent visit was lacking. We waited about 20 minutes after we were given water to order and there wasn't really anyone else in the restaurant at that time. We went up to the main desk to ask if they had forgotten about us and it appears they had. The manager came over and apologized and gave us a comped sushi roll which was nice, but then we waited again after finishing what we had ordered for quite some time before being checked on. Usually Fugakyu has great food and attentive service which was why I was surprised we had to go as far as checking with the main desk twice to be assisted.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 27, 2018

We made reservations on Open Table and they told us we had a 30 minute wait. I told them I had a reservation! They told me others came in before me. They don’t seem to understand the concept of reservation.

The server was very very slow. She was nice, but they didn’t seem to have enough help. We never saw her after she dropped our food off. We wanted drink refills, but didn’t have the opportunity. We had to ask for our server twice before she came for our check. Not going back anytime soon.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 26, 2018

Great spot. Love the private booths. Fresh sushi and a creative menu

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 24, 2018

We enjoyed our large table separate from the other restaurant guests, food was great, staff was attentive and the price was right

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 20, 2018

While the food was good, the service at the hostess stand was ridiculous. We made a 7:45PM reservation, arrived at 7:30PM, and were told "people aren't leaving their tables" so were expected to wait an additional 35 minutes. I thought a reservation was supposed to hold a table for you? We managed to find one seat at the bar so we could order a drink while we waited, but then proceeded to see multiple other couples arrive w/out a reservation and were seated before us. My husband approached the hostess stand and inquired about our table about 35 min after we arrived and were told the table was empty but not set for us yet. We waited another 10 minutes and went back to the hostess inquiring if our table was ready yet, as again we had witnessed another couple get seated, and the hostess had no recollection of us whatsoever. He checked on the table and again said it wasn't cleared yet, but then we were seated and the table was fully set. We were placed next to a function room hosting a very rowdy 40th birthday party which was also less than ideal. Our server was very nice and personable, but we were never given waters, he forgot our soy sauce when the food was delivered and we had to ask twice for it, and then forgot my cocktail after checking in on us during our meal. I've heard great things about this restaurants other locations but I would not recommend coming to this one. I understand weekends can get busy, but the disorder at the hostess stand was unacceptable and nothing was done to compensate us whatsoever, not even an apology.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 20, 2018

Sushi was excellent and they can do brown rice. Service is friendly and prompt. Only downside was that it was an unusually busy day at Lynnfield so we had to wait @ 25 minutes after our reservation time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 12, 2018

Lunch specials were of great value. Food delicious!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 27, 2017

Delicious, delicious, delicious! This is the place to go for great sushi!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 24, 2017

Although I am not a sushi eater, my son said t was the best he’s ever had. I had a delicious dish of seafood,beef and chicken over veggies. I will definitely return!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 22, 2017

You cannot go wrong with Fugakyu! Amazing sushi and I've never had a bad meal there!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 22, 2017

You will not be disappointed. Went to the one in Brookline for many many years in the one in market Street is absolutely perfect

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 16, 2017

Food was amazing as always!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 25, 2017

Magnificent food and service.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on November 17, 2017

I really liked the location at coolidge corner and I had high hopes for the lynnfield location but it was disappointing. The service was good but the maki was subpar and the chinese menu wasnt well executed either (pepper pork). Especially for a sit down restaurant. Tastier sushi exist in the subburbs in Beverly and Danvers!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 15, 2017

Good was good, not great, ample servings. Service was excellent, but place was relatively empty, so she had plenty of time to check on us. Overpriced for what we got. If you love Japanese cuisine and sushi, and don't care about the price, you may love this place.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 21, 2017

Awesome private room experience and food did not disappoint. They have a small Chinese menu but for sushi fans the menu covers all the bases.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 30, 2017

Always love this place.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 23, 2017

Food was good but I would rather have my vegetables cooked in the teriyaki sauce with the meat instead of just steamed veggies. Sushi was ok I ordered the spider roll and found it to be plain.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 5, 2017

Moo was an awesome server! The food was awesome, as always.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 23, 2017

Service : people very distracting so no good attention to the client.
Food : suchi nothing special.. better at the supermarket

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 20, 2017

Excellent food and service, table 22 is a bit noisy. Food selection creative and diverse.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2017

This is a great place for sushi. Incredibly fresh, tasty and beautifully presented. The booths with doors that close make it a perfect place for a romantic private dinner. It is a rare place that doesn't try to cram in one table right next to another table. Privacy is a treat. The wait staff is very attentive, but not intrusive. This is a must try restaurant. I highly recommend it.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
5