Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details
See affiliated restaurants ›

Restaurants you may also like

Cafe Trio Cottonwood
303 reviews
Italian | Holladay / Midvale / Sandy / Union, Salt Lake City
Reserve Now
Oasis Cafe - Salt Lake City
274 reviews
American | Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City
Reserve Now
The Paris Bistro
62 reviews
French | Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City
Reserve Now
Sea Salt
84 reviews
Italian | Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City
Reserve Now
Kimi's Chop & Oyster House
172 reviews
Seafood | Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City
Reserve Now
Flatbread Neapolitan Pizzeria – Salt Lake City
89 reviews
Pizzeria | Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City
Reserve Now
Pago
1010 reviews
Contemporary American | Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City
Reserve Now
Somi Vietnamese Bistro
6 reviews
Vietnamese | Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City
Reserve Now
Mazza - 9th and 9th
77 reviews
Lebanese | Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City
Reserve Now
Harbor Seafood & Steak Co
108 reviews
Seafood | Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City
Reserve Now
Tsunami Restaurant - Sugarhouse
Reviews Coming Soon
Japanese | Sugarhouse, Salt Lake City
Reserve Now
The Five Alls
87 reviews
Continental | Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City
Reserve Now
The Sugarhouse Barbeque Company
12 reviews
Barbecue | Sugarhouse, Salt Lake City
Reserve Now
Manoli's
111 reviews
Greek | Downtown, Salt Lake City
Reserve Now
Aristo's
485 reviews
Greek | Downtown, Salt Lake City
Reserve Now

About Fresco Italian Cafe

1513 South 1500 East
Salt Lake City, UT 84105
View Larger Map

Chef Adrian Harris takes pride in creating innovative Italian food using fresh, seasonal, and local produce. We feature fresh house-made pastas, along with a nightly risotto that should not be missed. Join us on the candle lit patio, tucked back behind The King's English Bookstore, or dine with us inside in our intimate, cottage-like dining room. Browse the books at the bookstore before dinner, or have a glass of wine and wait in our garden where we grow and use some of our own produce. We do not take reservations for our patio, but we do our best to accommodate all requests. Due to the intimate size of our restaurant, parties of 5 or more should call the restaurant in order to make a reservation. We look forward to you dining with us!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday-Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30 pm, Closed Sunday

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 486-1300

Website:
http://www.frescoitaliancafe.com/

Parking Details:
undefined

Public Transit:
UTA Bus Number 52

Executive Chef:
Mikel Trapp

Private Party Facilities:
Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Cherie Bartleson: 8014861300x11

Additional:
Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining

Restaurant Photos

Fresco Italian Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

romantic (24)
special occasion (23)
fit for foodies (23)
See All
neighborhood gem (22)
great for outdoor dining (12)
notable wine list (10)
good for groups (6)
hot spot (3)
great for lunch (3)
late-night find (3)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
693 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Always loved Fresco's. Was their last ni ...

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

Always loved Fresco's. Was their last night after 30 years.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fresco Closing

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

The special occasion was the unfortunate closing of Fresco. We will miss it so much! Had to go for one last wonderful meal. For those of you who have never been, I'm sorry you never had the chance to experience this amazing little gem of a restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Delectable! Always a treat! So sorry to ...

Dined on March 29, 2016

Delectable! Always a treat! So sorry to find that they're closing after 30 years.

food5
ambience5
service5

Goodbye friend!

Dined on March 29, 2016

Goodbye friend!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food!

Dined on March 27, 2016

Thanks for the years of great food and memories! A truly wonderful experience that will be missed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautifully delicious vegetarian eggplan ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

Beautifully delicious vegetarian eggplant meatballs!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorite restaurants

Dined on February 28, 2016

I love this place. It always has really good food, great service and perfect ambiance for a more romantic/special night. It is a hidden gem that not many people know about, yet I've been going there since I was a kid (I'm 38 now). I highly recommend. I've never had a bad meal there.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Valentines dinner yet

Dined on February 15, 2016

I made a reservation for Valentines, and the food was incredible. Every course was delicious. It was our first time going to Fresco, and we will definitely be back.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Very romantic quaint location with fabul ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Very romantic quaint location with fabulous food. Tight quarters can be a bit noisy. Window seating can be a little cool in the winter. Though this restaraunt is amazing. I Highly recommend it.

food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Very over priced for what was offered.

Dined on February 14, 2016

Spent 150 dollars for a meal that would have cost 45 at macaroni grill. Had heard good things but very underwhelming. Waay too much money for what we got.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Nice but not as good as it use to be.

vip
Dined on February 7, 2016

Went for an anniversary and splurge. Fresco has always been a favorite but just did not seem to have the same feel or the food as special as in the past. Still nice and intimate setting but there is a lot of competition in the valley now to rival Fresco.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's been too Long

Dined on January 31, 2016

Wish I hadn't stayed away so long. Have always had a superb experience here. Food is exceptional, good service and decent ambiance. Our (food critical) group of four eat out often and all enjoyed our various dishes. It's in the details and these guys get it. Will be going back very soon. Small, so make reservations.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Princess

vip
Dined on January 31, 2016

We always love eating at Fresco's. The food is always outstanding and the service is great! We always recommend this restaurant to friends.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

I had a lamb pasta that was out of this ...

Dined on January 30, 2016

I had a lamb pasta that was out of this world AND I took some home. We had a late reservation for 7 during Sundance and a late arrival of folks from the airport. Friendly staff, good Italian red wine special and everyone, including our vegetarian, loved their meal. First time here. We will be back!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fresco's rocks it with great food!

Dined on January 30, 2016

Quite, quaint bistro type place with a romantic vibe! Great for a quite dinner or to pop the big question.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, drinks and ambience

Dined on January 23, 2016

Appetizers and main dishes are spot on. Cocktails and wine are also paired well. Desserts could have been better. Pork chops were one of the best I have ever tried. Risotto is also a specialty.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was impressive.

Dined on January 1, 2016

Ambience, fabulous food. great preparation and presentation. Staff very caring.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Small but great menu

vip
Dined on December 27, 2015

Fresco's never disappoints. Dinner was superb, with new menu items. Will be back again

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

3 separate dishes were ordered and all 3 ...

Dined on December 27, 2015

3 separate dishes were ordered and all 3 were very good. The veal bolognese was the favorite of the evening. The Wagyu beef was tender. The chefs risotto of the day was also very good. Simple wine selections for every dish. Wait staff was very responsive and unobtrusive.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We loved it and are dining there again w ...

Dined on December 27, 2015

We loved it and are dining there again with friends! It is small, quiet, reasonable and the menu is great. The only thing we did not care for were the smoked tomatoes in the seafood pasta dish. It seemed to overpower the seafood. The kale and warm squash salad was wonderful! The service was top notch too! Love the setting and the bookstore being open was a nice touch, as we completed our Christmas shopping.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent, as always!

Dined on December 27, 2015

Fresco is always a delight, and dinner this week was no exception. The Risotto of the day was with braised short ribs, and was amazing. I always wish I had just a bit more room there, but I think that's part of what makes it so charming.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Simply delicious

Dined on December 17, 2015

Everything was wonderful. From the root vegetable soup and polenta appetizers, to the pasta and chicken involtini. My out of town guests couldn't stop raving about the meal!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Great Italian food

Dined on December 13, 2015

A hidden, neighborhood gem with great Italian food is an apt description. Our party of six loved the ambiance and service. Food? Two of us are vegetarians, but not to worry, there are a few very good options and Chef will adapt and accommodate almost any menu item. We had a scrumptious vegetarian Bucatini with eggplant meatballs. Others had the Risotto, seafood pasta, and pork chop with mushrooms. Delicious and a hit all around. We will all go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

A Sugarhouse Favorite!

Dined on December 10, 2015

We Love Fresco so much that we got Married in the restaurant! It's wonderful chef preferred food with amazing flavors and beautiful Plates. You will not be disappointed!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Fresco Italian Restaurant

Dined on November 29, 2015

The food was superb and service exceptional. The noise level was the only distraction.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

Great new chef.

Dined on November 22, 2015

The service was excellent. The food was delicious. It's always a treat to dine at Fresco's.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience3
service3

Very disappointed with the food

Dined on November 21, 2015

We wanted to love our dinner out -- but didn't. Underwhelmed by all dishes -- from the over-salted mushroom torta (the restaurant did remove it from our bill, which was nice), to the bland risotto cakes to the average branzino to the mediocre dessert. And the tables seemed crammed in, crowded. We won't be back.

food5
ambience4
service5

Great consistent place

Dined on November 13, 2015

This is one of the best and most consistent restaurants in Salt Lake City.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

Fresco was good again

Dined on October 24, 2015

The food was prepared with care and excellence. It was very tasty, which separates it from most restaurant food available today. Unfortunately the beef was quite chewy - not the fault of the chief but something an upscale restaurant should be able to avoid. Sending it back isn't really practical because of the time to cook another meal. The hostess was great. Open Table screwed up by not forwarding the specifics of my request but the hostess was good on her feet and got us an acceptable table despite a Friday night crunch.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

FABOULOUS FOOD

Dined on October 23, 2015

We had 8 people and all thoroughly enjoyed the food ordered. The restaurant is small and quiet, so not for a party scene. The service, chef and venue were all outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The gem of Salt Lake City. Everything w ...

vip
Dined on October 20, 2015

The gem of Salt Lake City. Everything was outstanding. I have been many times and I am never disappointed.

food4
ambience3
service3

Special Occasion

Dined on October 18, 2015

I reserved ahead of the date and I love the intimacy of Fresco, but they seated us at a table right outside the kitchen...other tables were available and I was disappointed that we were seated at an inferior spot.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Donna

vip
Dined on October 17, 2015

A lovely, quiet, intimate little restaurant with wonderful food and wonderful service; who could as for anything more??? Thank you, Fresco Italian Cafe, and Robert, for a memorable dining experience in Salt Lake City!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Delightful, lovely setting; delicious fresh meal!

Dined on October 17, 2015

In searching for an Italian restaurant to take my husband to for his birthday, a friend told me about the Fresco Italian Cafe. I found it to be highly rated online, and decided to try it. Making the reservation was easy through OpenTable. We were a little late getting out of a movie we saw before dinner, so I quickly called and let them know we were on our way. The October weather that evening was mild, and they let us choose where to sit-inside or out. We chose to sit outside around the back-it was charming and quiet-3 tables there. There were stepping stones and a brick patio-be careful, some bricks are wobbly. Our server was great, very attentive. The meal was excellent-freshly delicous in every way. The spiced pear salad was divine, as was my chicken entree and my husband's caesar salad and veal entree. For dessert we shared pistachio cake with pistachio gelato on a platter on which "Happy Birthday" was written in chocolate-so perfectly delicious. I can't wait to go back for dinner again soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food in a lovely setting.

vip
Dined on October 13, 2015

Excellent food in a lovely setting.

food4
ambience5
service3

Cool place with ok service

Dined on October 11, 2015

The ambiance is fantastic. The service wasn't very attentive. Pasta dishes were good...I would not recommend any meat dish. Potato soup was excellent.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Special dinner place for conversation

vip
Dined on October 8, 2015

Everyday is a special menu. Very original Italian dishes and well-paired wines. Comfortable for couples and conversation.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Lovely meal, lots of extras

vip
Dined on October 3, 2015

We always like eating at Fresco Cafe. Ambiance is wonderful, waiters are friendly, and the food is very good. We would like to see more VEGAN and non-pasta offerings and more veggies, though, since we are vegan and also don't want to put on more pounds! What about a "veggie" pasta with no flour, just made of carrots or zucchini?

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience1
service2

Small house like environment. Creaky flo ...

vip
Dined on October 3, 2015

Small house like environment. Creaky floors, creaky door. Not the ideal romantic setting. Service was lacking. Food was good though.

food5
ambience5
service5

Delightful Evening

Dined on September 12, 2015

We were only in SLC for a couple of days and picked Fresca ahead of time. Its location in the Sugar House neighborhood is perfect. The food was delicious, service attentive with no sense of being rushed. We chose to sit inside and it was very quiet but the patio dining area is lovely and very reminiscent of Italy. The noise level was a little louder but still pleasant. The soup that evening was amazing... crab (I think) with corn. My husband chose the seafood linguine and said it was delicious. I opted for two appetizers - the roasted peach and the cheese and charcuterie plate (saving room for dessert) - and enjoyed every mouthful. Fresco's bread is also delish, btw. Our son went with the gnocchi and was also very happy. All in all, a wonderful meal. If we return, we'll definitely go back. That peach appetizer was so good, I need seconds!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.