About Frankie's Italian Kitchen & Bar

765 Beatty Street
Vancouver, BC V6B 2M4
View Larger Map

Frankie’s offers traditional, simple and fresh Italian meals based on family recipes with the flavours of southern Italy as well as newly inspired Italian dishes in a contemporary but classic setting. The menu offers a wide selection of fresh house-made pastas and traditional comfort fare..The bar offers classic cocktails and the wine list is focused on well represented and down-to-earth British Columbia VQA wines and imported Italian wines. Frankie’s, true Italian, family food & friends.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Breakfast: Monday - Sunday: 7:00am - 11:00am

Cross Street:
Robson

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 688-6368

Website:
http://www.frankiesitaliankitchen.ca/

Parking Details:
Local pay parking includes street, parking lots and hotel parking lot

Public Transit:
One block south from the Stadium Sky Train Station.

Private Party Facilities:
Frankie's offers private dining for groups of 10 to 100 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Judy Maille: 6046092210x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Frankie's Italian Kitchen & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

4.0

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (21)
Casual (15)
Special Occasion (15)
See All
Good for a Date (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Comfort Food (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Romantic (10)
Business Meals (10)
Authentic (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Cozy (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Fun (6)
Happy Hour (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Live Sports (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Family Style (3)
People Watching (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Healthy (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Live Music (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Tapas (2)
Seasonal (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Private Room (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
172 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great lasagna!!!! Martini could improve. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Great lasagna!!!!

Martini could improve.....arrived at room temperature not icy cold and tasted more like lemonade despite paying a premium for grey goose vodka.

But lasagna was great

Tags: Casual, Quick Bite, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Nice ambiance, great service, fair price ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 3 days ago

Nice ambiance, great service, fair prices and very comfortable atmosphere. A dependable choice.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and value! Our party of 5 wil ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food and value! Our party of 5 will return soon.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Open Kitchen, Wood Oven, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great service, and great food. Our group ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

Great service, and great food. Our group was really pleased.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Both our meals were VERY good however th ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 7 days ago

Both our meals were VERY good however the service was sadly lacking. It was like we were forgotten and it wasn't even busy. We asked for some bread with our meal twice, and had to ask a third time while half way through our meal.

We've been numerous times but won't be returning or recommending in the future. The Pub side is much more attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

We were there for a lunch mid-week. The ...

 
·Dined on November 24, 2016

We were there for a lunch mid-week. The experience was not great, not bad. I have had the evenings are quite different and perhaps will try the jazz evening to see but would not go there for lunch again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

Pasta is freshly made, and is some of th ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Pasta is freshly made, and is some of the best we've had in Vancouver. It is difficult to find an authentic Italian restaurant in Vancouver, but Frankie's food is very authentic. My wife had Pasta Carbonarra which was very good and very similar to what we've had in Rome. I had the Shrimp/Scampi Tagatelle which was also very good, the shrimp were perfectly cooked. It was nice to be in a spacious restaurant where you are not crammed in beside other diners (like many Vancouver restaurants, we had a nice private booth. All in all a nice dinner to make you forget about the rainy weather outside. We would definitely go back if we have a craving for good pasta!

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We went to Frankie's based on a friend o ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 16, 2016

We went to Frankie's based on a friend of a friends recommendation. Oops! The room was ordinary and cold looking, it was not very busy, so my noise recommendation is based on my guess because of all the hard surfaces.

There were three of us, and we decided to start with the antipasto platter for two. It came with two decent sized pieces of cheese, and one huge pile of prosciutto and another huge pile of spicy salami, and a small Loaf of crusty bread. It tasted fine, but presentation was lacking and, really, there was no I imagination used here at all!

We were working our way through the appetizer, enjoying the chance to visit, when all our mains arrived! We we not remotely ready. Does one really have to advise restaurant staff how to properly pase a meal, in a near empty restaurant, at seven pm?

One of us had the Tuna panini and thought it very good. The seafood tagliatelle of my other friend was okay. My order was minestrone, which was adequate, but not stellar. With it I asked for the crostini burratta. I received the burrata caprese. I pointed out the error and shortly received the correct order. I needn't have bothered. The dish was a few (5) thin pieces of toaste baguette, topped with an ice cold salas-like Tomatoe topping, and an ice cold crummy like topping that may have been burrata, bit the icy temperature and the unnessesary tomato compote thing, made it impossible to taste what should have been room temperature creamy heaven, maybe complimented by a little fresh basil, and some delectable toasts or bread. I was not impressed at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Good for the price but I was expecting a ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Good for the price but I was expecting a little better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

OMG one of the best Italian dinners I've ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 7, 2016

OMG one of the best Italian dinners I've had. Would recommend it to everyone. It's only a 5 mins walk from Queen E Theatre get before a show.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Seasonal, Romantic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

we ate with friends at Frankie's after a ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 6, 2016

we ate with friends at Frankie's after a BC Lions game recently, the food was great, pizza beer and pasta. wonderful food, great friendly server and very nice restaurant/pub. Would highly recommend eating here. We made a reservation as it was very busy, we were 10 minutes late but our window seat table was still waiting for us. we had a great time there

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time to Frankie's. W ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 31, 2016

This was our first time to Frankie's. We had read alot of reviews on it and decided to try it for a birthday dinner.

Service was very good. We had two appetizers two mains and a dessert and were extremely pleased with them all. We felt it was reasonably priced as well.

We are looking forward to going back..

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice place. Went prior to heading to a C ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Nice place. Went prior to heading to a Canucks match. Food was pretty good and service fine. Prices are reasonable and the food was served very quickly. No complaints.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

We had Queen E. theatre tickets and enjo ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We had Queen E. theatre tickets and enjoyed a lovely dinner before the show. It was a rainy night & Frankie's was close to the theatre so we had one stop parking. Thank you!

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my second time eating here befor ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 22, 2016

This is my second time eating here before going to the QE Theatre. Hot (very important to me) and tasty food (amazing squid-and I usually don't like it breaded and deep fried) as well as pasta. The service was cheerful and quick if you let then know you have a tight timeline. I'll be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Our first time to Frankie's and we thoro ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Our first time to Frankie's and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Good food and good service. We will definitely dine here again .

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our last visit we were rushed out. I co ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Our last visit we were rushed out. I complained and didn't receive a response. I was reluctant to return but must say this experience was excellent. And we will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Server was delightful. Let me borrow hi ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Server was delightful. Let me borrow his glasses..

Food was delicious and atmosphere was very cozy and warm.

Prices we're surprisingly reasonable for downtown Vancouver.

I'll recommend this place and I'll be back there for sure.

Tags: Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

We were on our way to the Canucks game a ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 19, 2016

We were on our way to the Canucks game and wanted something close by. Frankie's came up and after a quick look at the menu, it was booked . Menu and prices were great and appealed to all taste buds and pocketbooks. We had the Buratta and tomato salad(all 4 of us) and then a variety of pasta dishes - all under $20. Each one was excellent - hot, flavourful, accompanied by parmesan and fresh ground pepper. Perfect for a cold fall night. I had the seafood conchigolioni and it was awesome. Probably the best part of our night was Laura our wait person. She offered me up a taster of one of the wines , waited patiently while our party arrived separately and had a great personality for dealing with customers. A previous review had commented on the service, and we had no issue at all with the service. The front desk guys at the hotel were also very accomodating with the parking and details on leaving the car if we wanted to during the game. Will return and recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great authentic Italian restaurant for f ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Great authentic Italian restaurant for families. Good beer on tap, great place to go before a game

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Family Style, Outstanding Value, Casual, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wanted to be close to BC Place for pre-g ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Wanted to be close to BC Place for pre-game dinner/drinks and Frankie's Kitchen fits the bill. On-line reservation a couple days before our event

was easy and Frankie's made sure our request for a cozy table close to front window was honoured. Server was prompt and efficient. Ambience was what we have come to expect from Frankie's and the food was delivered in good time and proper temp. Caesar salad was fresh and dressing light but hit all the right flavours. Pizza was very tasty. Prices were in line with similar restaurants. No hesitation to recommend Frankie's Kitchen.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Casual, Cozy, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

If you're hoping for a nice quiet romant ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 9, 2016

If you're hoping for a nice quiet romantic Italian restaurant, this isn't it. They play the same music as an upbeat chain restaurant - hip hop, techno with a pounding baseline. We just wanted to relax, have some wine and great food - we had an awful experience, despite the amazing service from server-extraordinaire Laura.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5

The food is above average, pasta amazing ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The food is above average, pasta amazing, and chicken marsala to die for! Extra sauce makes for a happy experience. Service so personal, and friendly! Great night all round! Cheers!!!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We are season ticket holders for both Fo ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We are season ticket holders for both Football and Hockey, we have tried numerous times

to get into Frankies for pre-game food. Unfortunately, we didn't have a good waiter and at

5:30 they were no longer serving Lasogna. The Waiter suggested Veal Parmesan which was absolutely horrible. After the food was delivered we did not see our server again.

I have in the past been to Frankies and thought it was great, so we will attempt to visit this restaurant again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Food and Service was great! Atmosphere w ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Food and Service was great! Atmosphere was pleasant. Little street parking, so plan ahead and probably walk a bit to get to restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We found Frankie's on line and close to ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 20, 2016

We found Frankie's on line and close to Rogers Arena and BC place.... The service was awesome thank you Meleesha ! (sorry if I missed the spelling) we came early but our table was ready... Enjoyed taking our time with a cocktail and then appies. Caprese Salad

Fresh Delicious we also tried the cheese risotto bites that were a new Italian risotto cheese deep fried appie.... Mmm.. The home made Lasagne is called Nona's and it is what you expect Nona to make ... Thick ...cheesie and freshly made inhouse pasta." Chicken Marsala was mouth watering... Definitely worth trying... As the Restaurant got full.. We enjoyed the service that we received without being rushed out the door... The wine special... Red I choose... Was the the best price and I had a taster first.... Definitely a good buy.. No need to get the more expensive ones! We returned after the concert for coffee and dessert... Tirramusu was Perfect.. House made and perfect size....a great spot to get a cab from there ... A good tip... As impossible to get one from GM place.. Definitely on my list on my next trip to Vancouver.... Loved it🎉🍷

Tags: Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Cozy, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Modern Decor, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in Vancouver for two nights. Fra ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We were in Vancouver for two nights. Frankies was very close to our hotel. Went there the first night in town for convenience. The second night in town for convenience and we had enjoyed the first night. Had excellent Caesar Salad both times. Had seafood special (Halibut) the first night- excellent; second night tried the Lamb Shank, also excellent.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Mothers birthday dinner. Food was amazin ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Mothers birthday dinner. Food was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent pre-theatre dining. Great serv ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Excellent pre-theatre dining. Great service and loved the food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came to dinner on Thursday, 01 Sep fo ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 2, 2016

We came to dinner on Thursday, 01 Sep for dinner prior to attending an 2000 hrs curtain at the Queen Elizabeth Theatre across the street. The restaurant was very full and busy. The service was less than attentive as the wait staff was scrambling. Even the drinks took unusually long to get served.

While the meal was well prepared but is was over 15 minutes before we saw and waiter and took over 45 minutes to get our meals after ordering. While we allowed 1 hr 45 mins for dinner, we were concerned about the slow service so we did not order desert as we would have been late.

The food itself was hot and tasty but overall it was not up to the standard we had during our meal there in the spring.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

We have been to Frankie's before and it ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 1, 2016

We have been to Frankie's before and it was very good. This time the steaks were a bit on the tough side, although quite tasty. We also found it very noisy this time and had a difficult time carrying on a conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

we were in a rush to get to the theatre ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 29, 2016

we were in a rush to get to the theatre (Book of Mormon) and the restaurant was very very busy. the staff accommodated us and got our order pushed thru in a timely manor. and the food was great. pasta takes less time. we will go back to try some of the other features as we all love good Italian food.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I have been to Frankie's twice, about a ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 29, 2016

I have been to Frankie's twice, about a year and a half apart, and had exceptional dinners both times. Each time was with groups of 6+ and everyone really enjoyed their meals -- reasonably priced pastas and other Italian fare. Lovely ambiance that looks quite upscale given the restaurant's reasonable pricing.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Family Style, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food needed more seasoning

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 19, 2016

The food needed more seasoning

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Excellent Italian food and very good win ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Excellent Italian food and very good wine, right next to BC Place. My husband and I shared a salad, main and dessert and it was plenty. We go here fairly often before events, and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was the second time I've been to Fr ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 11, 2016

This was the second time I've been to Frankie's and it was just as good as the first time. My favourite is the gnocchi but everything is good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Celebrated my 25th birthday here. There ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Celebrated my 25th birthday here. There were 8 of us and each of us enjoyed our food and cocktails. Only downfall was that one of their servers called in sick so service was a little slow. But they did bring me a dessert of my choosing with a lit candle and the staff sang me happy birthday which was lovely.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We were a large group of 11 and everythi ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 27, 2016

We were a large group of 11 and everything was just perfect!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Arrived on time for reservation at 6:30p ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 27, 2016

Arrived on time for reservation at 6:30pm and were seated right away. Drink and food order was taken by 6:45pm. Got drinks 20 min later. Then waited on our food.....and waited....and waited, while our table was being avoided by our waitress, but they were busy so I thought I'd cut her some slack and not complain. Finally the manager came over to our table at 7:45pm and informed us that the kitchen had burnt our pizza and our food would be out in 15 min. The pizza arrived, and then the shrimp scampi 10 min after, even though we asked to be at the table the same time. The manager was very apologetic and did comp the food on our bill without a request. During our wait I ordered a spiced rum and coke which when brought was clearly a dark rum and coke, the waitress when flagged down insisted and argued that it was a spiced rum, which is was not. By then I just wanted to get out of there as we had to rush down our food to get to our concert starting in a few min down the street. Food was ok when it finally arrived, nothing to write home about. Due to the issues that we encountered, with the food delivery and serving staff we will not be dining there in the future. This was a special anniversary and birthday combo dinner for my wife, which turned into a food gulp down and run instead.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Food was great. Service decidedly poor. ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 25, 2016

Food was great. Service decidedly poor. Friends who were with us said they had been twice in the last month and service wasn't so slow and unenthusiastic. While the food was good, I wouldn't go back for that reason. Too many other great resto's in the neighbourhood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.