About Frankie's Italian Kitchen & Bar

Frankie’s offers traditional, simple and fresh Italian meals based on family recipes with the flavours of southern Italy as well as newly inspired Italian dishes in a contemporary but classic setting. The menu offers a wide selection of fresh house-made pastas and traditional comfort fare..The bar offers classic cocktails and the wine list is focused on well represented and down-to-earth British Columbia VQA wines and imported Italian wines. Frankie’s, true Italian, family food & friends.

765 Beatty Street
Vancouver, BC V6B 2M4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Breakfast: Monday - Sunday: 7:00am - 11:00am

Cross Street:
Robson

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 688-6368

Website:
http://www.frankiesitaliankitchen.ca/

Parking Details:
Local pay parking includes street, parking lots and hotel parking lot

Public Transit:
One block south from the Stadium Sky Train Station.

Private Party Facilities:
Frankie's offers private dining for groups of 10 to 100 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Judy Maille: (604) 609-2210

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Frankie's Italian Kitchen & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.8

ambience

3.8

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (12)
PrePostTheatre (9)
GoodForDates (7)
See All
NeighborhoodGem (6)
Birthdays (6)
ComfortFood (5)
Groups (5)
Foodies (4)
Authentic (4)
FamilyStyle (3)
HappyHour (3)
SpecialOccasions (3)
Cozy (3)
Fun (3)
Anniversaries (3)
QuickBite (3)
TastingMenu (3)
LateNightFind (3)
NotableWineList (2)
LiveMusic (2)
QuietConversation (2)
ModernDecor (2)
GlutenFree (2)
Brunch (1)
LiveSports (1)
BarSeating (1)
BusinessMeals (1)
ChildFriendly (1)
Romance (1)
WoodOven (1)
Tapas (1)
Dancing (1)
Lunch (1)
SundayLunch (1)
Seasonal (1)
PeopleWatching (1)
VibrantBarScene (1)
Sort By:
S
172 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 2 days ago

Frankie's is a great place to have a good Italian dinner before a football game. The location is perfect and the the food is dependably good.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 5 days ago

Our waitress was awesome, very attentive and made everything perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Pretty bland food and horrible service. Shocking since the Frankie's in chilliwack is consistently good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Stayed in hotel attached. Had breakfast which was a buffet that was suggested to us by our server it was very nice. However, we also stopped in for a couple appetizers and couple drinks in the afternoon and staff were not very friendly and the food was pricey for not much food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Great italian food. We set outside and listened to the live music from the jazz club attached to the restaurant .Great service and food.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Live Music, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Had a great evening but the noise level was a little over the top - would help to have the lounge doors closed so diners could enjoy a conversation.....

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Great food and our server Anastasia was terrific. Quick service before a concert

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Table was jammed in behind a pillar. Service very slow. Noise level very high.
Food was only O.K. Nothing special. Seemed the waitperson was trying to hurry us along to get us out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Disappointing experience. Food and drinks were poorly prepared. Order a bit muddled, water glass was chipped. Servce and dining room itself was decent but not as good an experience as we've had in the past.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Mother's Day

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Slow service. Drinks took along time. Server need to learn how to pour wine. Over all it was good. I will go back to try again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Enjoyed the restaurant, and although there were a number of larger parties, the service was good, and the noise level tolerable.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 20, 2017

We were a disappointed with the food. Our linguine was clumped together in hard pieces like it was dried on to the pan and my friends gnocchi was flavourless. However, its a great location for pre-concert dining, the drinks were good, the service was good, the food... fair. I'd go back for drinks and appies, rather than nice dinner. Its too bad as the location is excellent and the fact that it was half empty spoke volumes, as it should have been busting at the seems that night!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Our server was top notch. She did everything right. I would hire her if I owned a restaurant. Food was very good quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Huge, empty room. A few servers and a bartender having a continuous loud conversation through out the night. Service was sub-par. Removed bread and olive oil/balsamic with three pieces still left (and way before appetizers arrived). Also removed olive dish (still three olives in it).

Mussels were huge, but lacking in flavour, and also had that slimy quality that makes one question freshness / cooking method.

Sauce on pizza lacked salt, but the meatballs were excellent!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Had appies before the game, then returned for dinner after. Each dish was delicious and well-presented. Smells emanating from the kitchen, and spying plates at neighbouring tables makes you want to order 'one of everything'. Not your typical BW hotel restaurant. (Oh, and breakfast was great too).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We stopped in for a bite before the Whitecaps game and enjoyed an excellent meal, great service and good value for our dollar. We were so glad that we went their before the game and, all together, it made for an excellent evening out! Sincere thanks to Frankie and the staff!

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Great for Brunch, Wood Oven, Comfort Food, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Our family of four was downtown for an event at Rogers Arena. We were looking for a restaurant we had never tried for dinner beforehand. Frankie's had a pretty decent rating so we booked a 5:30 reservation.

We were sat promptly at our table and attended to by our delightfully Italian server who also brought a warm loaf of bread with olive oil and balsamic.

As new patrons to the restaurant, she welcomed us and told us that all their pasta and sauces were made from scratch and suggested a few of her favourite menu items. We took her advice on the riccini as an appetizer (delicious) and the rigatoni salisicci which was beautifully prepared with perfectly cooked pasta. The kids had linguini Alfredo which got a big thumbs up. My wife ordered the tomato and burrata salad and loved every bite.

Dessert was Gelato and passion fruit sorbet for the kids and Tiramisu for my wife and I to share.

The food took a bit longer than we expected but our water was kept fresh and our server was attentive throughout the meal.

The restaurant is within the Georgian Court Hotel which made it a bit casual for an otherwise upscale dinner experience. We'd definitely return again with friends in the future. Might try the jazz bar connected to the restaurant for a bit of a change.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Food was amazing! And the bourbon sours were as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Family Style, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Teresa was our server and she went above and beyond with her service!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Live Sports, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Lovely as always, Frankie's has a great atmosphere and delicious food!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Groups, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We love going to Frankie's Italian Kitchen before or after the theatre. The food is delicious and the service excellent. We'll be back!

Tags: Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I always make reservations , and I had requested specifically that I wanted to be seated in the dining room. When I arrived, I was seated in the noisy, cocktail lounge which has uncomfortable low chairs and little ambience. The service was the by far, the worst I have received anywhere in a very long time, and it was a memorable experience for all the wrong reasons. It seemed like there was only one waiter serving the entire lounge, which seemed odd for a busy Friday night at 7 pm, they obviously have a staffing issue that needs to be addressed promptly. We received no service for quite some time after we arrived. I ordered a soup for appetizer, and asked two different people for bread, and it never arrived until about 20 min after I had finished my soup. When it did arrive, we were not offered oil and vinegar, and had to ask again to get some butter as there was none provided voluntarily.
I had to ask the server several times for more water, and he never did bring it or refill our glasses throughout the entire meal. We asked if we could share a piece of cheesecake for dessert. It took 20-30 min to arrive, and that was after we asked several people where it was and when it would be arriving. The server mentioned that the cheesecake would be on the house and a manager would be coming over to talk to us but that never happened.
Before the server brought the cheque, I specifically asked him to separate it for us. When he brought it 15 min later, it was all on one tab and not split. I asked him again to separate it for us again, and this time he did, but then charged us for the cheesecake that he said would be "on the house" and also charged my mom for a 9 oz glass of wine, when she had ordered a 6 oz.
Needless to say, it was not a pleasant experience, and despite the fact that I've always enjoyed the food, I would not return, based on the terrible service and attitude that went along with it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 11, 2017

From the beginning to the end, the service is always very good, the food is excellent and you never feel rushed there. All in all a great dinner!

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Wine was not cole, food portions were tiny and pricy, so the value just wasn't there. It was quite busy and took a long time for the server to attend to us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Great place to enjoy a pre theatre meal. The pasta dishes were delicious. The wine was
reasonably priced. Our server wasn't pushy, but was attentive to our time line. Would recommend this place for sure.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Great location for theatre at QE. Have been several times and always had good service and great food. It is noisy when it is busy before a theatre event. Was cold inside as it was snowing out and the door to the restaurant is left open by patrons coming in. Then the wind comes through each time someone goes into the hotel lobby. Our special coffees at the end of our meal were not hot. The shrimp tagliatelle and lasagne we had were delicious.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Everything was just okay - except for the service which I found lacking especially considering it wasn't busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great service, fun waitress. Did not feel rushed. Kids loved the food too.

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 5, 2017

This was our first visit and last visit. The service was awful, they forgot our table and instead of apologizing and making it right they completely ignored us, got the order wrong and we had to keep flagging other servers to help us because ours didn't come, we wanted to order more drinks but no one came back. He had the nerve to come with our bills and didn't say a word or apologize. It could have been a simple fix but instead it was awkward and completely unprofessional. We were polite and didn't want to make a fuss but I would not recommd this resturant to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Service was slow and inattentive. Frequently had to get the attention of the server ourselves. We were there for over two hours because the food took so long, and the server never informed us of the wait or really apologized for it until we brought it up.

...and when the food came, it was mediocre. I could cook better. It tasted like it had been left out for a while (pasta sticking to each other, hard dry noodles, etc.). Would not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Food was good; but, continuity of service was poor. The waitress who came with our food could hardly manage 2 plates and did a very poor job of the food presentation. Definitely took away from the overall experience.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 1, 2017

We dined early, so restaurant was quiet when we arrived. Prompt, efficient service. Friendly server with helpful tips about the menu. Menu was more extensive than anticipated which was great. The meatball appetizer tasted like homemade, comfort food and was very filling could have been an entree. Braised lamb was a hit. Very comfortable place to have a wonderful evening with friends. We would go again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Usually the 2nd time at a restaurant doesn't compare with the first as the movies do with sequels. This 2nd visit was actually BETTER than our 1st.

Our server, Laura was FANTASTIC! She came with a fresh refill as my original Iced Tea was watering itself down from the melting ice, WITHOUT me asking for a refill. She also was very understanding and catering to my child's allergy to egg. Most servers treat it as more of a burden than anything, but not Laura!

Can't rave enough about Frankie's! Just an FYI, I don't think there is an actual "Frankie" in the restaurant. Nonetheless, GREAT place, GREAT food, and GREAT service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Of the 4 meals 1 was very poor - the veal was dry and tough and the pasta was dry and cold. The other three meals - lamb and pasta dishes were spot on. The decor is terrific, although it does get very noisy as they fill-up. It's a great location for theater and sports events and offers a good alternative to Yaletown. I would definitely recommend and return. Thanks for a great evening!

Tags: Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Hampshire)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Fantastic food & service, we had seafood linguine which was very good. Would highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Went for dinner before a Canucks game. This will now be a part of my regular Canucks pregame ritual. Food was amazing service was excellent. We even made a point of coming back after the game.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Casual, Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Tapas, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Live Sports, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on January 20, 2017

We were there for a quick meal before going to the theatre. The service was friendly and (given our request) suitably fast. We both had pasta which I would characterize as decent, though not outstanding. All in all I would say that it provides a good meal at a reasonable price but I couldn't say it is a restaurant you would make a special trip for. There is also a jazz bar next door which is intriguing but we weren't in it.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Wonderful service and really beautiful, authentic Italian food. Love the mix of flavours - the fungi pizza is a must-try! Would come back for it again.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We throughly enjoyed our meals and our service was excellent. We shared two appetizers between three people and then each had a main course. Two of us had special coffees and one had dessert. The wine was perfect and the whole meal excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.