About Frankie's Italian Kitchen & Bar

765 Beatty Street
Vancouver, BC V6B 2M4
View Larger Map

Frankie’s offers traditional, simple and fresh Italian meals based on family recipes with the flavours of southern Italy as well as newly inspired Italian dishes in a contemporary but classic setting. The menu offers a wide selection of fresh house-made pastas and traditional comfort fare..The bar offers classic cocktails and the wine list is focused on well represented and down-to-earth British Columbia VQA wines and imported Italian wines. Frankie’s, true Italian, family food & friends.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Breakfast: Monday - Sunday: 7:00am - 11:00am

Cross Street:
Robson

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 688-6368

Website:
http://www.frankiesitaliankitchen.ca/

Parking Details:
Local pay parking includes street, parking lots and hotel parking lot

Public Transit:
One block south from the Stadium Sky Train Station.

Private Party Facilities:
Frankie's offers private dining for groups of 10 to 100 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Judy Maille: (604) 609-2210

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Frankie's Italian Kitchen & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (20)
Good for a Date (18)
Casual (18)
See All
Good for Groups (16)
Cozy (15)
Special Occasion (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Comfort Food (13)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Business Meals (10)
Authentic (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Romantic (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
Fun (6)
Family Style (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Live Sports (4)
Live Music (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Seasonal (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
People Watching (2)
Tapas (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Private Room (1)
Vegan (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Fireplace (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
182 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Out family went ahead of a show at the Q ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 7 days ago

Out family went ahead of a show at the Queen Elizabeth (short 2 minute walk!). Food arrived promptly and waiter made great suggestions. Enjoyable evening and delicious food!

Tags: Seasonal, People Watching, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful service and really beautiful, ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Wonderful service and really beautiful, authentic Italian food. Love the mix of flavours - the fungi pizza is a must-try! Would come back for it again.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We throughly enjoyed our meals and our s ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We throughly enjoyed our meals and our service was excellent. We shared two appetizers between three people and then each had a main course. Two of us had special coffees and one had dessert. The wine was perfect and the whole meal excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Frankies has a casual friendly vibe. Th ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Frankies has a casual friendly vibe. The dining room is lovely and very comfortable. The food is good. There is a good list of appetizers, the pasta is homemade and great. Entries are tasty and very good value for your money.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

I arrived early and first and was seated ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 17, 2016

I arrived early and first and was seated by the door; found it too cold and asked for another table when it became available. The staff, especially our waitress, was marvellously accommodating and seated us further inside. All evening she, our waitress, was very helpful and contributed to our evening enormously. The noise level was very high on arrival due to the pre-hockey game crowd but once they cleared out, the sound was much more suitable for chatting with our friends.

The Prawn Scampi pasta was really good although the lasagna served looked a little on the small side, however, we all went home well satisfied. Frankie's made our celebratory evening a memorable one!! We all look forward to dining there again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Cozy, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Went for office Christmas party. Good fo ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Went for office Christmas party. Good food and excellent service.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our go-to place before concerts and game ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Our go-to place before concerts and games. Awesome food, great atmosphere and very accommodating.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loud after the game ended, waitress did ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Loud after the game ended, waitress did warn us at least

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful service and excellent food. O ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Wonderful service and excellent food. Our waiter was attentive. Bread before the meal was very tasty

Tags: Late-night Find, Good Vegetarian Options, , Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Will try the Jazz bar. Will return to t ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Will try the Jazz bar.

Will return to the restaurant because of it's convenient location near Roger's Arena and Queen Elizabeth Theater. Food is good, but not fabulous (e.g. pizza toppings amazing, crust too soft; risotto blend of sauce and mushroom outstanding, but slightly overcooked).

Tags: Live Music, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Great lasagna!!!! Martini could improve. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Great lasagna!!!!

Martini could improve.....arrived at room temperature not icy cold and tasted more like lemonade despite paying a premium for grey goose vodka.

But lasagna was great

Tags: Casual, Quick Bite, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Nice ambiance, great service, fair price ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Nice ambiance, great service, fair prices and very comfortable atmosphere. A dependable choice.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and value! Our party of 5 wil ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great food and value! Our party of 5 will return soon.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Open Kitchen, Wood Oven,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great service, and great food. Our group ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great service, and great food. Our group was really pleased.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Both our meals were VERY good however th ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Both our meals were VERY good however the service was sadly lacking. It was like we were forgotten and it wasn't even busy. We asked for some bread with our meal twice, and had to ask a third time while half way through our meal.

We've been numerous times but won't be returning or recommending in the future. The Pub side is much more attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

We were there for a lunch mid-week. The ...

 
·Dined on November 24, 2016

We were there for a lunch mid-week. The experience was not great, not bad. I have had the evenings are quite different and perhaps will try the jazz evening to see but would not go there for lunch again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

Pasta is freshly made, and is some of th ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Pasta is freshly made, and is some of the best we've had in Vancouver. It is difficult to find an authentic Italian restaurant in Vancouver, but Frankie's food is very authentic. My wife had Pasta Carbonarra which was very good and very similar to what we've had in Rome. I had the Shrimp/Scampi Tagatelle which was also very good, the shrimp were perfectly cooked. It was nice to be in a spacious restaurant where you are not crammed in beside other diners (like many Vancouver restaurants, we had a nice private booth. All in all a nice dinner to make you forget about the rainy weather outside. We would definitely go back if we have a craving for good pasta!

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We went to Frankie's based on a friend o ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 16, 2016

We went to Frankie's based on a friend of a friends recommendation. Oops! The room was ordinary and cold looking, it was not very busy, so my noise recommendation is based on my guess because of all the hard surfaces.

There were three of us, and we decided to start with the antipasto platter for two. It came with two decent sized pieces of cheese, and one huge pile of prosciutto and another huge pile of spicy salami, and a small Loaf of crusty bread. It tasted fine, but presentation was lacking and, really, there was no I imagination used here at all!

We were working our way through the appetizer, enjoying the chance to visit, when all our mains arrived! We we not remotely ready. Does one really have to advise restaurant staff how to properly pase a meal, in a near empty restaurant, at seven pm?

One of us had the Tuna panini and thought it very good. The seafood tagliatelle of my other friend was okay. My order was minestrone, which was adequate, but not stellar. With it I asked for the crostini burratta. I received the burrata caprese. I pointed out the error and shortly received the correct order. I needn't have bothered. The dish was a few (5) thin pieces of toaste baguette, topped with an ice cold salas-like Tomatoe topping, and an ice cold crummy like topping that may have been burrata, bit the icy temperature and the unnessesary tomato compote thing, made it impossible to taste what should have been room temperature creamy heaven, maybe complimented by a little fresh basil, and some delectable toasts or bread. I was not impressed at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Good for the price but I was expecting a ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Good for the price but I was expecting a little better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

OMG one of the best Italian dinners I've ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 7, 2016

OMG one of the best Italian dinners I've had. Would recommend it to everyone. It's only a 5 mins walk from Queen E Theatre get before a show.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Seasonal, Romantic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

we ate with friends at Frankie's after a ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 6, 2016

we ate with friends at Frankie's after a BC Lions game recently, the food was great, pizza beer and pasta. wonderful food, great friendly server and very nice restaurant/pub. Would highly recommend eating here. We made a reservation as it was very busy, we were 10 minutes late but our window seat table was still waiting for us. we had a great time there

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time to Frankie's. W ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 31, 2016

This was our first time to Frankie's. We had read alot of reviews on it and decided to try it for a birthday dinner.

Service was very good. We had two appetizers two mains and a dessert and were extremely pleased with them all. We felt it was reasonably priced as well.

We are looking forward to going back..

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice place. Went prior to heading to a C ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Nice place. Went prior to heading to a Canucks match. Food was pretty good and service fine. Prices are reasonable and the food was served very quickly. No complaints.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

We had Queen E. theatre tickets and enjo ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We had Queen E. theatre tickets and enjoyed a lovely dinner before the show. It was a rainy night & Frankie's was close to the theatre so we had one stop parking. Thank you!

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first time to Frankie's and we thoro ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Our first time to Frankie's and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Good food and good service. We will definitely dine here again .

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This is my second time eating here befor ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 22, 2016

This is my second time eating here before going to the QE Theatre. Hot (very important to me) and tasty food (amazing squid-and I usually don't like it breaded and deep fried) as well as pasta. The service was cheerful and quick if you let then know you have a tight timeline. I'll be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Our last visit we were rushed out. I co ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Our last visit we were rushed out. I complained and didn't receive a response. I was reluctant to return but must say this experience was excellent. And we will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Server was delightful. Let me borrow hi ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Server was delightful. Let me borrow his glasses..

Food was delicious and atmosphere was very cozy and warm.

Prices we're surprisingly reasonable for downtown Vancouver.

I'll recommend this place and I'll be back there for sure.

Tags: Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

We were on our way to the Canucks game a ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 19, 2016

We were on our way to the Canucks game and wanted something close by. Frankie's came up and after a quick look at the menu, it was booked . Menu and prices were great and appealed to all taste buds and pocketbooks. We had the Buratta and tomato salad(all 4 of us) and then a variety of pasta dishes - all under $20. Each one was excellent - hot, flavourful, accompanied by parmesan and fresh ground pepper. Perfect for a cold fall night. I had the seafood conchigolioni and it was awesome. Probably the best part of our night was Laura our wait person. She offered me up a taster of one of the wines , waited patiently while our party arrived separately and had a great personality for dealing with customers. A previous review had commented on the service, and we had no issue at all with the service. The front desk guys at the hotel were also very accomodating with the parking and details on leaving the car if we wanted to during the game. Will return and recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great authentic Italian restaurant for f ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Great authentic Italian restaurant for families. Good beer on tap, great place to go before a game

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Family Style, , Casual, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wanted to be close to BC Place for pre-g ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Wanted to be close to BC Place for pre-game dinner/drinks and Frankie's Kitchen fits the bill. On-line reservation a couple days before our event

was easy and Frankie's made sure our request for a cozy table close to front window was honoured. Server was prompt and efficient. Ambience was what we have come to expect from Frankie's and the food was delivered in good time and proper temp. Caesar salad was fresh and dressing light but hit all the right flavours. Pizza was very tasty. Prices were in line with similar restaurants. No hesitation to recommend Frankie's Kitchen.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Casual, Cozy, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

If you're hoping for a nice quiet romant ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 9, 2016

If you're hoping for a nice quiet romantic Italian restaurant, this isn't it. They play the same music as an upbeat chain restaurant - hip hop, techno with a pounding baseline. We just wanted to relax, have some wine and great food - we had an awful experience, despite the amazing service from server-extraordinaire Laura.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5

The food is above average, pasta amazing ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The food is above average, pasta amazing, and chicken marsala to die for! Extra sauce makes for a happy experience. Service so personal, and friendly! Great night all round! Cheers!!!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We are season ticket holders for both Fo ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We are season ticket holders for both Football and Hockey, we have tried numerous times

to get into Frankies for pre-game food. Unfortunately, we didn't have a good waiter and at

5:30 they were no longer serving Lasogna. The Waiter suggested Veal Parmesan which was absolutely horrible. After the food was delivered we did not see our server again.

I have in the past been to Frankies and thought it was great, so we will attempt to visit this restaurant again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Food and Service was great! Atmosphere w ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Food and Service was great! Atmosphere was pleasant. Little street parking, so plan ahead and probably walk a bit to get to restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We found Frankie's on line and close to ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 20, 2016

We found Frankie's on line and close to Rogers Arena and BC place.... The service was awesome thank you Meleesha ! (sorry if I missed the spelling) we came early but our table was ready... Enjoyed taking our time with a cocktail and then appies. Caprese Salad

Fresh Delicious we also tried the cheese risotto bites that were a new Italian risotto cheese deep fried appie.... Mmm.. The home made Lasagne is called Nona's and it is what you expect Nona to make ... Thick ...cheesie and freshly made inhouse pasta." Chicken Marsala was mouth watering... Definitely worth trying... As the Restaurant got full.. We enjoyed the service that we received without being rushed out the door... The wine special... Red I choose... Was the the best price and I had a taster first.... Definitely a good buy.. No need to get the more expensive ones! We returned after the concert for coffee and dessert... Tirramusu was Perfect.. House made and perfect size....a great spot to get a cab from there ... A good tip... As impossible to get one from GM place.. Definitely on my list on my next trip to Vancouver.... Loved it🎉🍷

Tags: Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, , Cozy, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Modern Decor, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in Vancouver for two nights. Fra ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We were in Vancouver for two nights. Frankies was very close to our hotel. Went there the first night in town for convenience. The second night in town for convenience and we had enjoyed the first night. Had excellent Caesar Salad both times. Had seafood special (Halibut) the first night- excellent; second night tried the Lamb Shank, also excellent.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Mothers birthday dinner. Food was amazin ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Mothers birthday dinner. Food was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent pre-theatre dining. Great serv ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Excellent pre-theatre dining. Great service and loved the food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came to dinner on Thursday, 01 Sep fo ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 2, 2016

We came to dinner on Thursday, 01 Sep for dinner prior to attending an 2000 hrs curtain at the Queen Elizabeth Theatre across the street. The restaurant was very full and busy. The service was less than attentive as the wait staff was scrambling. Even the drinks took unusually long to get served.

While the meal was well prepared but is was over 15 minutes before we saw and waiter and took over 45 minutes to get our meals after ordering. While we allowed 1 hr 45 mins for dinner, we were concerned about the slow service so we did not order desert as we would have been late.

The food itself was hot and tasty but overall it was not up to the standard we had during our meal there in the spring.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.