About Frankie's Italian Kitchen & Bar

Frankie’s offers traditional, simple and fresh Italian meals based on family recipes with the flavours of southern Italy as well as newly inspired Italian dishes in a contemporary but classic setting. The menu offers a wide selection of fresh house-made pastas and traditional comfort fare..The bar offers classic cocktails and the wine list is focused on well represented and down-to-earth British Columbia VQA wines and imported Italian wines. Frankie’s, true Italian, family food & friends.

765 Beatty Street
Vancouver, BC V6B 2M4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Breakfast: Monday - Sunday: 7:00am - 11:00am

Cross Street:
Robson

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 688-6368

Website:
http://www.frankiesitaliankitchen.ca/

Parking Details:
Local pay parking includes street, parking lots and hotel parking lot

Public Transit:
One block south from the Stadium Sky Train Station.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Frankie's Italian Kitchen & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

Noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (30)
Casual (18)
Special Occasion (18)
See All
Comfort Food (16)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Good for a Date (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Great for Lunch (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Business Meals (7)
Authentic (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Cozy (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Fun (6)
Romantic (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Live Music (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Hot Spot (3)
People Watching (3)
Seasonal (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Vegan (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Healthy (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
273 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

The four of us all agreed the meals were very tasty and well presented. The waiter is a true "professional", good at his job and appeared to enjoy it. We will certainly go back and sometime, also visit the jazz bar.

The only negative thing was that one of the party has limited vision and our corner booth was a tad dark. Next time (and elsewhere) we would ask for a second or taller candle to provide a bit more light. But that has nothing to do with the restaurant as such which we all enjoyed!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Really enjoyed our visit here! Feels special without being "fru-fru." It has a nice romantic candlelight feel but is by no means stuffy. I can't wait to go back, the Aranchini were divine! Our bill was also very reasonable.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Unfortunately the service was slow, and we were on a time schedule for the opera.
The waiter apologized and gave us a coupon for a dessert for another night.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

We enjoyed the food totally. Some of the best Italian we’ve experienced. Our somewhat surly waiter put a damper on the meal even though we were spending $$$$$.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Had a very enjoyable and delicious meal. Arrived 1 hour early, but we were accomodated and seated immediately. Our waitress Laura was excellent!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 11, 2017

I love the food but the music ambience could be much better. Rather than Justin Bieber and R&B songs, they can play classic or lounge music to apply with the restaurant settings. Also, it was my birthday and I asked for a best table, they didn't cared for and we got a small table in the corner when the place isn't that full.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

 
·Dined on October 9, 2017

Had a fantastic meal, service was great, will definitely be going back next time in town.

Tags: Casual, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Asked for a quiet table in my reservation and again when I arrived, but got seated smack dab in the front of the bar where it was very noisy. The music was too loud to hear our waitress and each other. Sat for a good 10 minutes before anyone came by to offer water and take a drink order. Service was very slow and the restaurant wasn't that busy. Two of our meals were served about 5 minutes before the third person got theirs. The food was quite good. We had a vegetarian in our group and she was able to request a pasta dish without meat, even though the menu doesn't state this. It would be nice to have more vegetarian options on the menu.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on October 2, 2017

Went here before Coldplay Concert, and we were a bit late, which was no problem with the restaurant. Our server was fantastic - quick and witty, which we all liked, and kept us on schedule for the concert.
It was unanimous that both the food and service was great, and you couldn't find a better value and location for a real pre concert/pregame meal.
See you again soon!

Tags: Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

made reservations as we were dining before the coldplay concert. Arrived a little bit early, table was ready. our server was outstanding, he was personable, he checked on us just the right amount, it was obvious that he loves his job.
I had the risotto, my friend had the chicken linguine, we shared a caesar salad. Everything was good, although my first bite of risotto did have something crunchy in it, but it was only the one bite, so something was in there that shouldn't have been. Other than that the meal was most enjoyable. The bread before the meal was great too!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Had a great dinner here before a concert. Every thing was delicious and the service was great.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 26, 2017

It was our Grandsons 21st birthday and your restaurant was recommended to us,We had not been there before,but we will be back,The food was great as was everything else,Really happy we came and tried your restaurant.

Thankyou
Mike

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Took my family for our anniversary. The food was fantastic. The service however was terrible. The waiter was unbelievably rude. And unprofessional. We were rushed through everything. Couldn't ask a single question without being made to feel we were inconveniencing him. The check was dropped off just as we took our last night of food. No coffee or desert offered. We will not return. It was a special occasion made to feel as unspecial as possible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere if you want to visit with friends (and actually hear what they have to say) before a game or the theatre. Patio is there, but only one table for six, the rest are tables for four.

Good food!

Tags: Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Great service, great food. Had dinner before a football game and went back the next morning for breakfast. Both meals very good. Our go to place when over nighting in Vancouver for sporting events or theatre.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Great way to end a an afternoon at the theatre. Good food, good wine and Italian food!

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Caught a bite with a friend before attending a play at the QE. Service was really good, food was really good, decent ambience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Birthday and Musical at the Queen E.
Short staffed in kitchen- meal came 1 hr after ordering (except my husbands).
Waitress was exceptional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Good food paired well with wine suggested by the sommelier. Did not have dessert despite excellent offerings.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Great place to meet for dinner before Lions and Canucks games. Only problem was the noise level.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Stephan was a great server. Prompt with the drinks too! Risotto was truly one of the best I have ever had. We will be back....more than once!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Main complaint was server. Had a very frenetic and prickly energy. Seemed dismissive at times , we had asked for a virgin mojito and he immediately blurted out that there is no blender so they can't do ANY kind of blended drink at all. Since when are mojitos blended?? Offered no alternative. Minor in the group ended up with an exotic Pepsi. Also, had specified on reservation that we were celebrating a birthday and had presents out on table. No acknowledgment or comment on the fact it was a special occasion through out the entire evening. Food was good but probably wouldn't go back . Also not impressed with host. When we entered , we stated we had a reservation and when asked, said we'd prefer an inside table. He looked around the nearly empty dining room , and said he'd 'try' to find something for us. ??? This was my boyfriend's birthday and it certainly didn't feel special at all.

Tags: Live Music, Business Meals, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 24, 2017

We are frequent customers prior to soccer games. Kitchen is undersized for a pregame rush and bar business. They should put together a pregame rush menu or size up kitchen and staff on game days.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 22, 2017

I had chicken Marsala and my husband had the seafood linguine. Both entrees were very good. Service was great as well.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 17, 2017

a nice "Italian" surprise in Vancouver...went here because of YELP recommendations...was not disappointed in any way...go give it a try

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Great service, great food. I went there on a business meal of 10 people. They accommodated all of our request and the food was great.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Great spot, close to stadium. Friendly helpful staff

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Had the meatball starter, the lasagna, and an unpronounceable pasta...each was prepared perfectly with complex flavours; and although all three dishes had tomato-based sauces, each was unique enough to be completely distinct from the others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Excellent food and a broad ranging wine list. Good value with excellent service and a wonderful location for special events at either BC Place or Rogers Arena.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

Lovely restaurant, with solid service and food! Would recommend, especially to those going to an event at BC Place or Rogers Arena.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 26, 2017

We were on our way to see a show at Rodgers it was a very convenient location. Nice decore and great martinis and wine selection. I made the reservation so I was nervous about the food. Everyone seemed to like their dish. I would recommend this place.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Had a very friendly server but she seemed forgetful as it was extremely busy. We had to ask for our bread and she got one order wrong, so my friend had to wait for them to re-cook his meal. But the restaurant took it upon themselves to correct this without us having to say anything and they comped our drinks. This was a much appreciated gesture.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

Calamari was good. Meat and cheese tray was good. Salmon salad was not great. My mom
And I both needed new pieces of salmon as first pieces were very dry and over cooked. 2nd pieces were better but still Judy okay.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Went here before an event at queen e theatre . Very happy with my meal , lasagna was great, one of my friends had spaghetti she felt it needed more sauce but otherwise good, and the third person had Margareita pizza which she also enjoyed. Desserts were also good ,and they have a small but very nice wine list. Service was also very good overall. Noise level is a bit high but not excessively so , could still easily carry a conversation. overall we really enjoyed it, , would recommend , particularly if attendng an event at queen e or BC place, and would definitely return myself.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Excellent food, music and atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Very disappointing! The service was very slow. They were offering a second round of drinks before we even had any food. The foccacia bread took way too long to arrive. They messed up our orders so one of four of us didn't have dinner arrive when the rest of us did. She ended up eating by herself. Really? They brought a second glass of wine to one of us who didn't order it and then the person who ordered had to wait. We had 90 minutes to eat and we had to hurry them along to get our bill so we could pay and make our show. The food was okay but nothing special. We won't eat here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The location was great, service was outstanding, great menu selection, however, the food quality was below what I would have expected for the price (which was not outrageous).

One of the appetizers was dry, another missing a key ingredient, lobster was dry/tough with the seafood linguine, my fingerling potatoes were cold, asparagus was tough/stringy, and my ling cod was more rare than undercooked (as it should be served). It was disappointing. However, I may go back to checkout the live jazz.

Tags: Live Music, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Hadn't been there before. Booked a reservation for 7 pm on a Thursday. Got there and fresh ice water was already on the table for everyone, which was very nice! Food was great. Very happy with the service.

Tags: Seasonal, Casual, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 5, 2017

My sister and her two teenage sons were in town for a visit and we were heading to the Whitecaps game. Frankie's was a great spot for the 7 of us to have a pre game dinner. The service was prompt and friendly and everyone really enjoyed their meals.
The only drawback was the very loud live jazz in the bar next door, making conversation a bit difficult.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 2, 2017

We had reservations for 2 and were seated in a high traffic area (table for 4) although booths were available and others seated after us. It did distract from our meal and the ambiance we have experienced in the past.

Tags: Comfort Food, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.