About Frankie's Italian Kitchen & Bar

Frankie’s offers traditional, simple and fresh Italian meals based on family recipes with the flavours of southern Italy as well as newly inspired Italian dishes in a contemporary but classic setting. The menu offers a wide selection of fresh house-made pastas and traditional comfort fare..The bar offers classic cocktails and the wine list is focused on well represented and down-to-earth British Columbia VQA wines and imported Italian wines. Frankie’s, true Italian, family food & friends.

765 Beatty Street
Vancouver, BC V6B 2M4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Breakfast: Monday - Sunday: 7:00am - 11:00am

Cross Street:
Robson

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 688-6368

Website:
http://www.frankiesitaliankitchen.ca/

Parking Details:
Local pay parking includes street, parking lots and hotel parking lot

Public Transit:
One block south from the Stadium Sky Train Station.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Frankie's Italian Kitchen & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

3.9

value

3.9

Noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (38)
Special Occasion (20)
Comfort Food (19)
See All
Good for a Date (17)
Casual (16)
Cozy (11)
Authentic (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Fun (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Romantic (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Live Music (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Business Meals (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Healthy (3)
Live Sports (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great Beer (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Late-night Find (2)
People Watching (2)
Seasonal (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Vegan (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort by
S
304 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 5 days ago

We had a reservation and the restaurant was only half full. However, we were directed to a less than desirable table, very small against the wall at the back. Why? Lots of nice booths and open spots that were much nicer. Perhaps the hostess should ask 'where would you like to sit?'

PS - We were well-dressed and professional presented.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 9, 2017

We had not been before and felt that the menu offered very good value, and the food was quite decent. I wasn't expecting the portions to be as big (salad and risotto), so I will skip the appetizer next time. The risotto was outstanding!!

We will be back prior to any concert/event in the area for sure.

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 9, 2017

OK food, good service (even though our appy plates remained at the table until we left). Somehow got the table closest to the washrooms; table was bumped by every patron cutting through the area. Live music started at 8:PM, and we were told that we had to go because our table was now taken; had to chug our $100 wine on the way out the door.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
·Dined on December 9, 2017

Good place to get together before a concert/show, but definitely not an intimate setting. There were quite a few large groups there that were pretty much yelling the whole time, we had a hard time having a conversation. Wait staff were all super friendly, service was great! Food was good, pastas were delicious, but the quality of the some ingredients (tomatoes) could be improved.

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 5, 2017

Nice little spot. The food is quite good and the service is excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on December 2, 2017

We met for dinner before going to the Cirque de Soliel event. Service was quick, food tasty and ambiance very pleasant. The location was ideal for the event. I will visit Frankie's again and will recommend it to others.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Cozy, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 26, 2017

First time dining here.
All staff were friendly and accommodating.
Food was good.
Atmosphere was nice.
Caught the Jazz performance.
Good quality jazz.

We would come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 26, 2017

First time here. Ordered risotto and was delicious until found a piece of hair... management comp the dish but said it was not from kitchen... “must have been in the air and fell in?” Well it certainly NOT our hair!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on November 26, 2017

Service was great but food was not. The salad was a large tomato cut into four pieces with a piece of cheese thrown in the centre. Pasta is not the specialty it was not nice tasting. Dessert was good. I was very disappointed

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

 
·Dined on November 26, 2017

Frankie’s is conveniently located when attending performances taking place in and around the immediate area. Have been several times and never been disappointed.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 20, 2017

Excellent service, great food, reasonable prices. Able to accommodate a past favourite that was not on the menu. Not every restaurant can accommodate 8 people and make it seem effortless. We’ll be back

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 20, 2017

My wife and I enjoy a three course Italian meal and found that by sharing each of an appetizer, pasta and main dish, we had a wonderful (and very filling) meal. The staff were very nice and accommodating, and the Malbec suited the lamb very well.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on November 20, 2017

I would probably recommend Frankie's with some reservations. It's a pleasant place, with good service in a great central location. The food is okay -- reliable, but nothing special, with a reasonable wine list.

Tags: Live Sports, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 19, 2017

Great place for really tasty food before theartre or a game. It was quite noisy at first but then many left for the game as it was an hour earlier than the theatre but this will not deter us from returning.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 18, 2017

Hidden gem. Great Italian food. Nice upscale setting. Perfect for groups going to events.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Fun, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, People Watching, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Tea, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 16, 2017

Service was not bad, food was ok, other than my wife's dinner showed up to the table about one minute before everyone else finished theirs ( they comped her meal) and then they ran out of wine and beers that four people had originally ordered. Then at the end they couldn't get the bill sorted out it was ridiculous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on November 16, 2017

Great food and atmosphere. Good location and helpful staff.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 16, 2017

Enjoyed the food great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 15, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed our evening. A perfect location if you are going to a show downtown.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 13, 2017

We booked it through open table for 12:45 lunch, when we arrived, the door was locked and we couldn't get in. Had to find another nearby place to have our lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Jazz - outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 11, 2017

This was our first time here and the food was amazing! It did take a while for the waiter to come and get our order but it was very busy so it was understandable. But regardless food was amazing will come back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 9, 2017

Booked at Frankie’s after searching for “fine dinning” near our hotel. Was NOT disappointed! Services was great, food was delicious, and the clientele was a mix of casual dress to people in suits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 9, 2017

My husband had 2 excellent appetizers as his dinner .....the carpaccio and the prawns . I had the scampi prawn pasta entree which had the same number of prawns as my husband's appi plus pasta which was a little dry and had several large lumps of "glued " together pasta which really should not have been served .....a little surprising for an Italian restaurant !

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
·Dined on November 9, 2017

With a plethora of servers standing around chatting, the lack of attention to everyone i saw walk in the door was uncomfortable. We closed our menus after deciding on what to order and it took more than 10 minutes for anyone to either acknowledge that, tell us our server was on the way or bring the table water etc.

After that we had the pleasure of Watching an elderly gentleman with a cane wait at the host stand for easily 15 minutes before he took a menu from the host stand and sat himself. This seemed to be the only way to get someones attention as they came over immediately and seemed to reprimand him for his actions.

The food came from the kitchen in meer minutes after the starters and was hot but the timing interrupted the appetizers making for an awkward moment when they didnt know where to put the main course due to lack of space. The main course was decent and well laid out and seemed fresh, wine list was also pretty good.

Overall: if this was a food truck and didnt have servers it would be an excellent grab and go experience. With the girls who seemed to not care about guests and the kitchen or servers inability to time the tables it felt clunky and very much like everyone was either new or unionized.

All 1st world problems but I couldn't recommend this place confidently to a friend and in a city flush with other options that should matter.

Try sitting yourself at the bar and ordering there. Might elevate the experience?

Tags: Live Sports, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 4, 2017

We chose this restaurant for its location across from BC Place. We made the reservation for 5.15pm to give the 4 of us time to eat our meal without rushing and be in time to make it through security before the game started. The staff were overwhelmed and, I suspect, the kitchen as well. The wait for our meals, even with our early reservation, had us gulping our food to get out in time. I think management should consider hiring more staff on days of major events. Our best planning was foiled by their poor planning.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 28, 2017

The lasagna was lacking sauce, it probably had the amount of one tablespoon, the meat was also very dry and the lasagna sheets just seemed a little under al dente.
The pizza was a very small portion that would be fit for a 5 year old, again it was lacking a lot of sauce and really not much flavour.
The place wasn't busy for a Friday night, perhaps only half full but yet somehow our water cups were empty 2 times through the night. The table across from us, who had a different waiter, always had their cup filled.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined on October 27, 2017

The lamb shank melts in your mouth and is delicious and so is the risotto that comes with it.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 21, 2017

Even though I screwed up our reservation the staff still accommodated me! Bless them it was so lovely!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 19, 2017

The four of us all agreed the meals were very tasty and well presented. The waiter is a true "professional", good at his job and appeared to enjoy it. We will certainly go back and sometime, also visit the jazz bar.

The only negative thing was that one of the party has limited vision and our corner booth was a tad dark. Next time (and elsewhere) we would ask for a second or taller candle to provide a bit more light. But that has nothing to do with the restaurant as such which we all enjoyed!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 15, 2017

Really enjoyed our visit here! Feels special without being "fru-fru." It has a nice romantic candlelight feel but is by no means stuffy. I can't wait to go back, the Aranchini were divine! Our bill was also very reasonable.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Unfortunately the service was slow, and we were on a time schedule for the opera.
The waiter apologized and gave us a coupon for a dessert for another night.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

The food was excellent. They have a happy hour so if you get there early, you can have a few happy hour drinks and appy’s. Our waiter was very busy and was not attentive to our needs at all. If we wanted his attention we had to flag him down and then he told us he didn’t have time answer questions or pretty much hang around until we knew exactly what we wanted. Sometimes you have questions about the menu but he wasn’t interested. He pretty much put a damper on the meal part of our evening. There were 8 of us so you would think he would pay attention to us knowing there would be a good tip at the end. If I go back again, I will not be in his section.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

We enjoyed the food totally. Some of the best Italian we’ve experienced. Our somewhat surly waiter put a damper on the meal even though we were spending $$$$$.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Had a very enjoyable and delicious meal. Arrived 1 hour early, but we were accomodated and seated immediately. Our waitress Laura was excellent!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 11, 2017

I love the food but the music ambience could be much better. Rather than Justin Bieber and R&B songs, they can play classic or lounge music to apply with the restaurant settings. Also, it was my birthday and I asked for a best table, they didn't cared for and we got a small table in the corner when the place isn't that full.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

 
·Dined on October 9, 2017

Had a fantastic meal, service was great, will definitely be going back next time in town.

Tags: Casual, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Asked for a quiet table in my reservation and again when I arrived, but got seated smack dab in the front of the bar where it was very noisy. The music was too loud to hear our waitress and each other. Sat for a good 10 minutes before anyone came by to offer water and take a drink order. Service was very slow and the restaurant wasn't that busy. Two of our meals were served about 5 minutes before the third person got theirs. The food was quite good. We had a vegetarian in our group and she was able to request a pasta dish without meat, even though the menu doesn't state this. It would be nice to have more vegetarian options on the menu.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Springfield)·Dined on October 6, 2017

We had a delicious Italian dinner including excellent wine with friends when we were in town pre-cruise. It was within easy walking distance of our downtown hotel.

Tags: Disabled Access, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on October 2, 2017

Went here before Coldplay Concert, and we were a bit late, which was no problem with the restaurant. Our server was fantastic - quick and witty, which we all liked, and kept us on schedule for the concert.
It was unanimous that both the food and service was great, and you couldn't find a better value and location for a real pre concert/pregame meal.
See you again soon!

Tags: Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.