About Frankie's Italian Kitchen & Bar

Frankie’s offers traditional, simple and fresh Italian meals based on family recipes with the flavours of southern Italy as well as newly inspired Italian dishes in a contemporary but classic setting. The menu offers a wide selection of fresh house-made pastas and traditional comfort fare..The bar offers classic cocktails and the wine list is focused on well represented and down-to-earth British Columbia VQA wines and imported Italian wines. Frankie’s, true Italian, family food & friends.

765 Beatty Street
Vancouver, BC V6B 2M4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Breakfast: Monday - Sunday: 7:00am - 11:00am

Cross Street:
Robson

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 688-6368

Website:
http://www.frankiesitaliankitchen.ca/

Parking Details:
Local pay parking includes street, parking lots and hotel parking lot

Public Transit:
One block south from the Stadium Sky Train Station.

Private Party Facilities:
Frankie's offers private dining for groups of 10 to 100 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Judy Maille: (604) 609-2210

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Frankie's Italian Kitchen & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.9

ambience

3.9

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (16)
Casual (15)
Good for Birthdays (11)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Good for a Date (10)
Special Occasion (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Business Meals (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Fun (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Cozy (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Seasonal (3)
People Watching (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Romantic (3)
Live Music (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Authentic (2)
Tapas (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Family Style (1)
Spicy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
249 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 4 days ago

a nice "Italian" surprise in Vancouver...went here because of YELP recommendations...was not disappointed in any way...go give it a try

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Great service, great food. I went there on a business meal of 10 people. They accommodated all of our request and the food was great.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Great spot, close to stadium. Friendly helpful staff

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Had the meatball starter, the lasagna, and an unpronounceable pasta...each was prepared perfectly with complex flavours; and although all three dishes had tomato-based sauces, each was unique enough to be completely distinct from the others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Excellent food and a broad ranging wine list. Good value with excellent service and a wonderful location for special events at either BC Place or Rogers Arena.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

Lovely restaurant, with solid service and food! Would recommend, especially to those going to an event at BC Place or Rogers Arena.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 26, 2017

We were on our way to see a show at Rodgers it was a very convenient location. Nice decore and great martinis and wine selection. I made the reservation so I was nervous about the food. Everyone seemed to like their dish. I would recommend this place.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Had a very friendly server but she seemed forgetful as it was extremely busy. We had to ask for our bread and she got one order wrong, so my friend had to wait for them to re-cook his meal. But the restaurant took it upon themselves to correct this without us having to say anything and they comped our drinks. This was a much appreciated gesture.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

Calamari was good. Meat and cheese tray was good. Salmon salad was not great. My mom
And I both needed new pieces of salmon as first pieces were very dry and over cooked. 2nd pieces were better but still Judy okay.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Went here before an event at queen e theatre . Very happy with my meal , lasagna was great, one of my friends had spaghetti she felt it needed more sauce but otherwise good, and the third person had Margareita pizza which she also enjoyed. Desserts were also good ,and they have a small but very nice wine list. Service was also very good overall. Noise level is a bit high but not excessively so , could still easily carry a conversation. overall we really enjoyed it, , would recommend , particularly if attendng an event at queen e or BC place, and would definitely return myself.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Excellent food, music and atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Very disappointing! The service was very slow. They were offering a second round of drinks before we even had any food. The foccacia bread took way too long to arrive. They messed up our orders so one of four of us didn't have dinner arrive when the rest of us did. She ended up eating by herself. Really? They brought a second glass of wine to one of us who didn't order it and then the person who ordered had to wait. We had 90 minutes to eat and we had to hurry them along to get our bill so we could pay and make our show. The food was okay but nothing special. We won't eat here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The location was great, service was outstanding, great menu selection, however, the food quality was below what I would have expected for the price (which was not outrageous).

One of the appetizers was dry, another missing a key ingredient, lobster was dry/tough with the seafood linguine, my fingerling potatoes were cold, asparagus was tough/stringy, and my ling cod was more rare than undercooked (as it should be served). It was disappointing. However, I may go back to checkout the live jazz.

Tags: Live Music, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Hadn't been there before. Booked a reservation for 7 pm on a Thursday. Got there and fresh ice water was already on the table for everyone, which was very nice! Food was great. Very happy with the service.

Tags: Seasonal, Casual, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 5, 2017

My sister and her two teenage sons were in town for a visit and we were heading to the Whitecaps game. Frankie's was a great spot for the 7 of us to have a pre game dinner. The service was prompt and friendly and everyone really enjoyed their meals.
The only drawback was the very loud live jazz in the bar next door, making conversation a bit difficult.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 2, 2017

We had reservations for 2 and were seated in a high traffic area (table for 4) although booths were available and others seated after us. It did distract from our meal and the ambiance we have experienced in the past.

Tags: Comfort Food, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Frankie's is a great place to have a good Italian dinner before a football game. The location is perfect and the the food is dependably good.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Our waitress was awesome, very attentive and made everything perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Pretty bland food and horrible service. Shocking since the Frankie's in chilliwack is consistently good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Stayed in hotel attached. Had breakfast which was a buffet that was suggested to us by our server it was very nice. However, we also stopped in for a couple appetizers and couple drinks in the afternoon and staff were not very friendly and the food was pricey for not much food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Great italian food. We set outside and listened to the live music from the jazz club attached to the restaurant .Great service and food.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Live Music, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 31, 2017

We had a reservation and got seated right away and then waited over 10 minutes before tracking down a server our self as none came to our table. We were there as had an event at Rodgers arena so on a time budget. Our food took quiet a while to get to the table and then when it did get there one of the plates the wrong dish. We just accepted it and moved on.

The pasta's were all good.

I liked the atmosphere with the bar next to it that had live music and would probably give them a further chance and would recommend with the this caveat.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Had a great evening but the noise level was a little over the top - would help to have the lounge doors closed so diners could enjoy a conversation.....

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Great food and our server Anastasia was terrific. Quick service before a concert

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Table was jammed in behind a pillar. Service very slow. Noise level very high.
Food was only O.K. Nothing special. Seemed the waitperson was trying to hurry us along to get us out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Disappointing experience. Food and drinks were poorly prepared. Order a bit muddled, water glass was chipped. Servce and dining room itself was decent but not as good an experience as we've had in the past.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Slow service. Drinks took along time. Server need to learn how to pour wine. Over all it was good. I will go back to try again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Went to Frankie's before the U2 concert. Can't beat this convenient location. The rest of Vancouver agreed, apparently... despite reserving several weeks in advance, when I arrived there was a delay getting a table, then server tried seating us outside (too cold), then in their jazz club next door (very different ambience, too loud to talk with friends), finally got back to main dining room, and after some waiting got a table there. Because it was an event night things were super-busy, but server was very pleasant and did her best. Food and wine were all good, we all liked our dishes.
Tip: If going on an event night, reserve in advance and allow plenty of time for service then relax and settle in for drinks and food in la dolce vita.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Enjoyed the restaurant, and although there were a number of larger parties, the service was good, and the noise level tolerable.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Went here when visiting Vancouver from the UK. Some what disappointed that we ordered calamari to share as a starter but the mains came out before the starter. They offered to take the mains back and get the starter but we declined. However the mains were very nice. Price about average for the area but wine expensive.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 19, 2017

We were a disappointed with the food. Our linguine was clumped together in hard pieces like it was dried on to the pan and my friends gnocchi was flavourless. However, its a great location for pre-concert dining, the drinks were good, the service was good, the food... fair. I'd go back for drinks and appies, rather than nice dinner. Its too bad as the location is excellent and the fact that it was half empty spoke volumes, as it should have been busting at the seems that night!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Great food, great service for large party. Will return!

Tags: Live Music, Tapas, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Our server was top notch. She did everything right. I would hire her if I owned a restaurant. Food was very good quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Huge, empty room. A few servers and a bartender having a continuous loud conversation through out the night. Service was sub-par. Removed bread and olive oil/balsamic with three pieces still left (and way before appetizers arrived). Also removed olive dish (still three olives in it).

Mussels were huge, but lacking in flavour, and also had that slimy quality that makes one question freshness / cooking method.

Sauce on pizza lacked salt, but the meatballs were excellent!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Had appies before the game, then returned for dinner after. Each dish was delicious and well-presented. Smells emanating from the kitchen, and spying plates at neighbouring tables makes you want to order 'one of everything'. Not your typical BW hotel restaurant. (Oh, and breakfast was great too).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We stopped in for a bite before the Whitecaps game and enjoyed an excellent meal, great service and good value for our dollar. We were so glad that we went their before the game and, all together, it made for an excellent evening out! Sincere thanks to Frankie and the staff!

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Our family of four was downtown for an event at Rogers Arena. We were looking for a restaurant we had never tried for dinner beforehand. Frankie's had a pretty decent rating so we booked a 5:30 reservation.

We were sat promptly at our table and attended to by our delightfully Italian server who also brought a warm loaf of bread with olive oil and balsamic.

As new patrons to the restaurant, she welcomed us and told us that all their pasta and sauces were made from scratch and suggested a few of her favourite menu items. We took her advice on the riccini as an appetizer (delicious) and the rigatoni salisicci which was beautifully prepared with perfectly cooked pasta. The kids had linguini Alfredo which got a big thumbs up. My wife ordered the tomato and burrata salad and loved every bite.

Dessert was Gelato and passion fruit sorbet for the kids and Tiramisu for my wife and I to share.

The food took a bit longer than we expected but our water was kept fresh and our server was attentive throughout the meal.

The restaurant is within the Georgian Court Hotel which made it a bit casual for an otherwise upscale dinner experience. We'd definitely return again with friends in the future. Might try the jazz bar connected to the restaurant for a bit of a change.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great place for dinner after stadium or concert events. We have eaten there many times but unfortunately the night of rugby 7's they were understaffed & out of many of our choices.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 8, 2017

The restaurant was empty and still the service was very slow. Our waiter was surly and had to be asked three times for some water. The food was only mediocre. We shall not go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.