About Frankie's Italian Kitchen & Bar

765 Beatty Street
Vancouver, BC V6B 2M4
View Larger Map

Frankie’s offers traditional, simple and fresh Italian meals based on family recipes with the flavours of southern Italy as well as newly inspired Italian dishes in a contemporary but classic setting. The menu offers a wide selection of fresh house-made pastas and traditional comfort fare..The bar offers classic cocktails and the wine list is focused on well represented and down-to-earth British Columbia VQA wines and imported Italian wines. Frankie’s, true Italian, family food & friends.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Breakfast: Monday - Sunday: 7:00am - 11:00am

Cross Street:
Robson

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 688-6368

Website:
http://www.frankiesitaliankitchen.ca/

Parking Details:
Local pay parking includes street, parking lots and hotel parking lot

Public Transit:
One block south from the Stadium Sky Train Station.

Private Party Facilities:
Frankie's offers private dining for groups of 10 to 100 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Judy Maille: 6046092210x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Frankie's Italian Kitchen & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.0

ambience

3.9

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (29)
special occasion (25)
fit for foodies (23)
See All
romantic (17)
neighborhood gem (14)
great for lunch (13)
great for outdoor dining (8)
great for brunch (8)
notable wine list (6)
late-night find (6)
hot spot (5)
vibrant bar scene (4)
scenic view (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
129 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Happy that we made reservations at Frank ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined 4 days ago

Happy that we made reservations at Frankie's for the night of the Adele concert. We saw many people turned away at the door. The food was tasty, hot when served. I had the rigatoni with Italian sausage. Total comfort food, wonderfully seasoned and prepared. The service was excellent. Lots of staff who were friendly and helpful. A brilliant start to an all round memorable night. Thanks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Went there before a soccer game. The re ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Went there before a soccer game. The restaurant was busy with perhaps not enough staff. The service was definitely lacking. Had long pasta which should always indicate that you need a spoon to twirl....had to ask for it. Nobody came around for water refills. Food was mediocre. It was not very hot, and not enough sauce on the pasta, so a bit dry. Have been there before and had a better experience. I would assume that on game nights the restaurant would know that it would be busy and staff accordingly.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

The service was great. Fire alarm was go ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The service was great. Fire alarm was going off so got some excitement when the fire truck showed up. Was only a false alarm. We both had eggs Benny and they were cool but the taste was good. Potatoes were really good. Nice atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Disappointed at the way they serve your ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Disappointed at the way they serve your food. We ordered an appetizer, pasta and a pizza to share between 2 of us. They 'plonked' the plates on the table (not placing in front of us)! Then all the 3 dishes came together! Is that how the Italians eat? When I asked the server, she said she forgot to ask us how we want our food served. Hellooo???? I think its more of discrimination as I am Asian! I overheard she asked a couple of nearby tables how they want their food as they are Caucasians. This spoils our dinner!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

Had a nice meal before attending show at ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Had a nice meal before attending show at the QE. A bit noisy but there was a football game on so restaurant was full. Will definitely cme back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

It was a very busy evening and the place ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

It was a very busy evening and the place was very loud - hard to hear people at our own table. We sat down at 5:20 pm and didn't get out main course until 7 pm. The waitress had a sour look on her face and was not very engaging. She did not give us an update re our food until 6:50, indicating then that our food was being plated - no bread was brought to the table but she did fill our water glasses twice. One of the people at our table ordered risotto and had to send it back because it was undercooked. It was too late for her to order anything else since we were going to an event so we just shared our meals with her. The other 3 meals were just OK - nothing to write home about. This is the 3rd time that I have given Frankie's a try and based on all 3 experiences, I will not go there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Our son selected "Frankie's" for its men ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Our son selected "Frankie's" for its menu and proximity to the Queen Elizabeth Theatre where we attended the "Tedeschi Trucks" event as part of the Vancouver Jazz Festival. We were thrilled of the 'gluten-free options' as my wife has become gluten intolerant. Fortunately, our son's telephone had a 'flashlight option' as I would never have been able to read the menu in the dim lighting! Ambience is fine, visibility is also important.

The food was excellent and reasonably priced. Our server was an absolute gem....conscious of our needs, respectful and pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We loved the ambiance of this place with ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We loved the ambiance of this place with the beautiful wood floors. The food was lovely and the service was excellent. The location was so convenient being only one block away from Queen Elizabeth theatre and quite close to BC place as well. We would definitely have dinner at Frankie's again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food, service and ambience was excel ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food, service and ambience was excellent. I would definitely return and recommend to others to go. I had the special for the day, halibut and it was excellent!!!! Tiramisu was amazing!!!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb Italian cuisine. Great service a ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Superb Italian cuisine. Great service and ambiance. Servers were attractive and had a pleasant demeanor. Good spaghetti carbonara is hard to find - theirs was superb!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the calamari was tough and little flavou ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

the calamari was tough and little flavour , Caesar salad also lacking flavour no fresh ground pepper offered. We found the sound of music and other customers conversation to be very loud but the décor and seating very pleasant and comfortable. The Lasagne and Shrimp Taglitale were delicious and our waitress was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

We enjoyed the jazz trio for my birthday ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

We enjoyed the jazz trio for my birthday! The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We spilt red wine on me and I lost my glasses and they found them and kept them for me. The food is delicious.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Disappointed I was taking a client and u ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Disappointed I was taking a client and using gift cards and the server kept making it ridiculously obvious and uncomfortable the food was mediocre. Too bad

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

As always wonderful food.

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

As always wonderful food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Don't bother

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Unfortunately the food was mediocre and the service however cheery was not particularly attentive. I would not recommend or return to Frankie's

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Great Jazz Club. There was a great jazz ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Great Jazz Club. There was a great jazz band. Very reasonable price, $15 cover charge. Reasonably priced drinks, lively audience everyone was engaged and ultimately most of us were up dancing. It was great night out for less than $100 for 2.

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been here many times and it's consi ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

I've been here many times and it's consistently good. It's a shame they don't have the Kim Crawford Sauvignon Blanc on the wine list anymore - we used to look forward to ordering that. Alas, wine lists do change. Our server was excellent; she went above and beyond. I wish I got her name. My only complaint about the evening was when we arrived, we asked if we could have one of the empty tables by the window. The hostess told us they were reserved, but they remained empty all evening.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

All the food was delicious!!! Lasagna, ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

All the food was delicious!!! Lasagna, chicken, risotto no complaints.

Risotto appy was to DIE for but the polenta fries were lacking flavor of any kind.

Highly recommend this restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Disappointing

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

I went there having read the reviews. The service was amazing as there were lots of servers and they were always rushing around but not focused on the customer. They all seemed to be wanting to get to the back room as soon as possible. I had to ask for my water to be refilled, they didn't top my wine glass up and the restaurant was about 20% full. Diss appointing service.

The food was ok, just average .... nothing special and not worth the price.

I would not return and definitely not recommend to anyone. Such a shame !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Amazing food! Amazing drinks! Sat on the ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Amazing food! Amazing drinks! Sat on the patio on a warm summer evening. Quick service. Friendly staff! Highly recommended. Every item from appetizer to entree to dessert was fabulous!! And this is coming from a large Italian background!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the perfect place for a quick, ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

This was the perfect place for a quick, but yummy dinner before the big concert. We came early for our reservation and were graciously seated. Our server was bubbly, warm and attentive. I had the chopped salad, and my friends had a salad and pizza. Great food, easy going atmosphere, and they are well used to people wanting to move along efficiently to their next venue, be it Rogers Arena, BC Place or The QE Theatre. All are a very convenient walking distance.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place before a show

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Went to Frankie's for the first time before heading to show at the Queen Elizabeth Theatre.

Got there early, had a 5:00 pm reservation as the show was at 7:30. Gave us a nice quiet corner.

Very soon it seemed like there was a large before show crowd. Was very pleased with the décor, ambience. Service was prompt and friendly.

Our meal came shortly after we'd finished appetizer.

Everything we ate was very good. Both had pasta. We are critical Italian food lovers and we were not disappointed.

Very good B52 coffee.

Would go back there in a heartbeat, especially before a show.

Very good value for money. Not overpriced by any stretch of the imagination!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent meals

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

We had dinner before attending the Paul McCartney concert. Highly recommended, only a short walk from the arena. Excellent meal; reservations highly recommended - we saw lots of people turned away because they did not have reservations.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fully book?

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

We called to make the reservation and they said it was fully book. I did the book online and works fine...

The restaurant was totally empty btw..

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Sun Run weekend dinner with friends :)

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

We booked a reservation online for Saturday evening. The ambience and decor is beautiful and felt upscale. Service was prompt and courteous. Entrees were reasonably priced and good portion size. We were a group of four and ordered a variety of entrees and all were fresh and delicious. We also had the pistachio brule which was amazing, cheesecake and yummy tiramisu. Great food presentation and a wonderful atmosphere to spend time with dear friends. Will definitely be visiting again when at the coast and am already raving about it to my friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Pizza was tasty 😊

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on April 6, 2016

Pizza was tasty 😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

This was my second visit. Although the ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

This was my second visit. Although the food was good, My lasagne was not hot, just a bit more than warm. We found the prices a bit high as well. Our server was lovely and this review is not reflective of her.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

So-so

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on March 29, 2016

Food was mediocre, restaurant was nearly empty. When you enjoy good food, it's probably not one to frequent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I will come back, however need to improv ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

I will come back, however need to improve in the waitress service a bit. Food good and great atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

Awesome !

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

This is our second visit to Frankie's in less than 6 months. We came here for dinner before a hockey game. Everything was top rate, food, service, atmosphere. This is a destination restaurant for us a we live out of town. Would highly recommend Frankie's to everyone!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect before the theatre

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Great spot for something before either Queen E or BC Place event.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Great Place for a Pre-Game meal

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

I went here with a friend recently for a pre-game lunch prior to a Whitecaps game at BC Place. I got a reservation as I assumed that it would be busy but it wasn't too crowded. The waiting staff were very friendly and helpful, even charging my iPhone for me at the bar while I ate. We both had pizzas and a glass of Blue Buck - a great Victoria craft beer. The pizzas were great with a very authentic crust and excellent toppings. I had the Frankie's special pizza which was perfect and much better than anything I could have got at the game. The place was perfect for what I was looking for. I will definitely come back and may try the place for dinner sometime.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good experience

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Really enjoyed being here -- fun being in the old Georgian Court locatdion. The Salt Spring mussels with spicy sausage was fabulous. Service excellent and responsive. We were early, so noise level delightfully low, but we will be back for the jazz next door. Many thanks.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A good find just off Robson Street

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

This was my first visit to Frankie's. My wife has a number of food issues and they were more than happy to accommodate them. They will make sauces from scratch and adjust ingredients if required. The food was very good. Great tastes and a good selection of dishes to choose from. They are very family friendly and the staff are very approachable and helpful. There is a jazz club next door where you can enjoy an evening of jazz with dinner from Frankie's. Details can be found on their website. We will be heading there on our next visit.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

This has become our go to place for meal ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

This has become our go to place for meals before hockey games with clients

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place!

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

The service and the food were excellent! We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ray

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

It was a very enjoyable evening. Great service and value. At the end of my meal I started getting heart palpitations. That usually means MSG. My wife sensed a bit too salty. I'd go back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice restaurant, good service, food was ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on February 5, 2016

Nice restaurant, good service, food was just OK, nothing special

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Excellent Italian food. Interesting menu ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

Excellent Italian food. Interesting menu. Attentive server

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Will go back!

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

Went there on a Friday night for a romantic dinner with the boyfriend. Everything was great. Will definitely go back for girl's night or other celebration parties.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.