About Frankie's Italian Kitchen & Bar

765 Beatty Street
Vancouver, BC V6B 2M4
View Larger Map

Frankie’s offers traditional, simple and fresh Italian meals based on family recipes with the flavours of southern Italy as well as newly inspired Italian dishes in a contemporary but classic setting. The menu offers a wide selection of fresh house-made pastas and traditional comfort fare..The bar offers classic cocktails and the wine list is focused on well represented and down-to-earth British Columbia VQA wines and imported Italian wines. Frankie’s, true Italian, family food & friends.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Breakfast: Monday - Sunday: 7:00am - 11:00am

Cross Street:
Robson

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 688-6368

Website:
http://www.frankiesitaliankitchen.ca/

Parking Details:
Local pay parking includes street, parking lots and hotel parking lot

Public Transit:
One block south from the Stadium Sky Train Station.

Private Party Facilities:
Frankie's offers private dining for groups of 10 to 100 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Judy Maille: 6046092210x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Frankie's Italian Kitchen & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4

service

4.1

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (34)
fit for foodies (24)
special occasion (23)
See All
neighborhood gem (20)
romantic (20)
great for lunch (11)
great for outdoor dining (9)
late-night find (9)
notable wine list (8)
great for brunch (6)
vibrant bar scene (5)
hot spot (3)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
112 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I've been here many times and it's consi ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

I've been here many times and it's consistently good. It's a shame they don't have the Kim Crawford Sauvignon Blanc on the wine list anymore - we used to look forward to ordering that. Alas, wine lists do change. Our server was excellent; she went above and beyond. I wish I got her name. My only complaint about the evening was when we arrived, we asked if we could have one of the empty tables by the window. The hostess told us they were reserved, but they remained empty all evening.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Disappointing

Dined on May 14, 2016

I went there having read the reviews. The service was amazing as there were lots of servers and they were always rushing around but not focused on the customer. They all seemed to be wanting to get to the back room as soon as possible. I had to ask for my water to be refilled, they didn't top my wine glass up and the restaurant was about 20% full. Diss appointing service. The food was ok, just average .... nothing special and not worth the price. I would not return and definitely not recommend to anyone. Such a shame !

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food! Amazing drinks! Sat on the ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Amazing food! Amazing drinks! Sat on the patio on a warm summer evening. Quick service. Friendly staff! Highly recommended. Every item from appetizer to entree to dessert was fabulous!! And this is coming from a large Italian background!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This was the perfect place for a quick, ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

This was the perfect place for a quick, but yummy dinner before the big concert. We came early for our reservation and were graciously seated. Our server was bubbly, warm and attentive. I had the chopped salad, and my friends had a salad and pizza. Great food, easy going atmosphere, and they are well used to people wanting to move along efficiently to their next venue, be it Rogers Arena, BC Place or The QE Theatre. All are a very convenient walking distance.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great place before a show

Dined on May 1, 2016

Went to Frankie's for the first time before heading to show at the Queen Elizabeth Theatre. Got there early, had a 5:00 pm reservation as the show was at 7:30. Gave us a nice quiet corner. Very soon it seemed like there was a large before show crowd. Was very pleased with the décor, ambience. Service was prompt and friendly. Our meal came shortly after we'd finished appetizer. Everything we ate was very good. Both had pasta. We are critical Italian food lovers and we were not disappointed. Very good B52 coffee. Would go back there in a heartbeat, especially before a show. Very good value for money. Not overpriced by any stretch of the imagination!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent meals

Dined on April 21, 2016

We had dinner before attending the Paul McCartney concert. Highly recommended, only a short walk from the arena. Excellent meal; reservations highly recommended - we saw lots of people turned away because they did not have reservations.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Fully book?

Dined on April 19, 2016

We called to make the reservation and they said it was fully book. I did the book online and works fine... The restaurant was totally empty btw..

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Sun Run weekend dinner with friends :)

Dined on April 17, 2016

We booked a reservation online for Saturday evening. The ambience and decor is beautiful and felt upscale. Service was prompt and courteous. Entrees were reasonably priced and good portion size. We were a group of four and ordered a variety of entrees and all were fresh and delicious. We also had the pistachio brule which was amazing, cheesecake and yummy tiramisu. Great food presentation and a wonderful atmosphere to spend time with dear friends. Will definitely be visiting again when at the coast and am already raving about it to my friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Pizza was tasty 😊

vip
Dined on April 6, 2016

Pizza was tasty 😊

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

This was my second visit. Although the ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

This was my second visit. Although the food was good, My lasagne was not hot, just a bit more than warm. We found the prices a bit high as well. Our server was lovely and this review is not reflective of her.

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

So-so

Dined on March 29, 2016

Food was mediocre, restaurant was nearly empty. When you enjoy good food, it's probably not one to frequent.

food5
ambience5
service2

I will come back, however need to improv ...

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

I will come back, however need to improve in the waitress service a bit. Food good and great atmosphere

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome !

Dined on March 17, 2016

This is our second visit to Frankie's in less than 6 months. We came here for dinner before a hockey game. Everything was top rate, food, service, atmosphere. This is a destination restaurant for us a we live out of town. Would highly recommend Frankie's to everyone!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Perfect before the theatre

Dined on March 12, 2016

Great spot for something before either Queen E or BC Place event.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Place for a Pre-Game meal

Dined on March 6, 2016

I went here with a friend recently for a pre-game lunch prior to a Whitecaps game at BC Place. I got a reservation as I assumed that it would be busy but it wasn't too crowded. The waiting staff were very friendly and helpful, even charging my iPhone for me at the bar while I ate. We both had pizzas and a glass of Blue Buck - a great Victoria craft beer. The pizzas were great with a very authentic crust and excellent toppings. I had the Frankie's special pizza which was perfect and much better than anything I could have got at the game. The place was perfect for what I was looking for. I will definitely come back and may try the place for dinner sometime.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good experience

Dined on March 5, 2016

Really enjoyed being here -- fun being in the old Georgian Court locatdion. The Salt Spring mussels with spicy sausage was fabulous. Service excellent and responsive. We were early, so noise level delightfully low, but we will be back for the jazz next door. Many thanks.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

A good find just off Robson Street

Dined on February 28, 2016

This was my first visit to Frankie's. My wife has a number of food issues and they were more than happy to accommodate them. They will make sauces from scratch and adjust ingredients if required. The food was very good. Great tastes and a good selection of dishes to choose from. They are very family friendly and the staff are very approachable and helpful. There is a jazz club next door where you can enjoy an evening of jazz with dinner from Frankie's. Details can be found on their website. We will be heading there on our next visit.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This has become our go to place for meal ...

Dined on February 19, 2016

This has become our go to place for meals before hockey games with clients

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place!

Dined on February 15, 2016

The service and the food were excellent! We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Ray

Dined on February 14, 2016

It was a very enjoyable evening. Great service and value. At the end of my meal I started getting heart palpitations. That usually means MSG. My wife sensed a bit too salty. I'd go back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Nice restaurant, good service, food was ...

Dined on February 5, 2016

Nice restaurant, good service, food was just OK, nothing special

food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent Italian food. Interesting menu ...

vip
Dined on January 31, 2016

Excellent Italian food. Interesting menu. Attentive server

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Will go back!

Dined on January 30, 2016

Went there on a Friday night for a romantic dinner with the boyfriend. Everything was great. Will definitely go back for girl's night or other celebration parties.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Poor Service and Mediocre Food

Dined on January 28, 2016

Tried this restaurant during dine out, hostess sat us down and placed the menu (did not give us the dine out menu) on the table and walked away, waited 20 minutes before a server even said hello to us, they were not that busy, and then took another 15 before out drinks came. Food was too salty and the desert canolli was hard as a rock, ate about half the meal and afterwards went to Cactus club to finish our evening. That said I would not recommend this restaurant, good luck but probably close with-in 1 year or so.

food1
ambience3
service1
value1

oh frankie :-(

Dined on January 24, 2016

If you love (or even like) Italian food, you may want to go somewhere else. If you want respectful service, you may want to go somewhere else. I and a few friends went to Frankie's Italian Kitchen for Dine Out Vancouver. Our server started by smiling and kneeling at our table and brightly asking, "And where are you visiting us from?" Weird. Granted our party was visibly Asian but we were speaking English and not carrying any luggage or anything tourist related. Collectively, I and my friends have lived in Vancouver for over one hundred years. We told the server we were locals and there for Dine Out Vancouver. He seemed taken aback and became flustered. He then, after stating he was our server, never served us. He was still working, I saw him at other tables. Another server took over and she was cheerful but impatient and no mention of why she had taken over as our server. She asked if we had any questions about the menu and we said we did. After quickly answering the first question, she cut us off and said "Think about that and I will come back", all while looking over her shoulder like she was busy and we were bothering her. The restaurant was only one third full at the time. The food? Very disappointing and low quality. I had: soggy crostini, very dry veal parm covered with goopy salty "composta". Worst of all was the lemon pistachio cannoli, the pastry was so hard and thick it could have cracked dental work (seriously, not kidding). The cannoli pastry tasted like it was bought frozen from the store, reheated and then later filled with the cream. Genuinely sorry to have to say all this Frankie, but gotta tell it like it is.

food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Food so so and not recommended at this price point

Dined on January 21, 2016

The service was very slow especially for a weds evening with moderate restaurant volume .We tried both the veal parmigiana and the two pasta dish on the dine out menu. Veal was overcooked , dry and not flavourful and the pasta was just okay. The vegetable was a dark green leafy item that was bitter and neither of us liked. My desert was a cream filled cylindrical hard pastry shell which was okay but difficult to eat because of the hardness of the shell. Tiramisu was notcreamy and not up to par for an Italian restaurant at this price point.

food5
ambience5
service4

great ambiance, delicious food. Three ...

Dined on January 19, 2016

great ambiance, delicious food. Three servers took their turns to come to us and asked how is everything. Personally we didnt like that but overall service was good.

food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Great Find in Beautiful Vancouver

Dined on January 17, 2016

This is a wonderful place to experience some really great jazz in an intimate setting. I have been to two jazz venues in Seattle the 'Triple Door' and 'Jazz Alley'. This place is better in two ways the room is smaller so you can really get a chance to experience the music and the food is better. The price is comparable and slightly cheaper. The group playing that night was very accomplished and had played gigs in New York and across North America. For all you jazz fans this is a great find. Even if you aren't a big jazz fan the music played the night was very accessible so it is worth a try anyway. I have been to a number of live entertainment spots in Vancouver as of late and been disappointed but had a great time here.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great music scene

Dined on January 4, 2016

Had a good time there, great musician performing there. Food above average, service was slow at times . Waited a little longer for food to come, then soup ,salad , appy came all at once. Overall was good consider place was packed

Tags: great for brunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food & service were superb. Reasonable prices.

Dined on December 30, 2015

We were looking for a good restaurant close to the Queen E Theatre, and Frankie's Italian Kitchen totally fit the bill. The food was excellent, the place has a lovely atmosphere, service was very good, and the prices are totally reasonable. I liked the restaurant so much that I went back again the next night! I can highly recommend the mushroom risotto.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was super good and the service too.

Dined on December 27, 2015

Food was super good and the service too. Reasonable price. Good location. But music was a bit loud

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service4

Tasty Dinner Spoiled by Noisy Table

Dined on December 13, 2015

My sister and I enjoyed a girl's getaway weekend and were staying at The Blu Hotel. We decided the menu looked appetizing for what we wanted and we really enjoyed the Chicken Marsala and the arancini appetizer, and didn't stay for dessert, though we both wanted to finish with a sweet. The fact it was even difficult to hear our own conversation did spoil our evening and to go hunting for another restaurant within walking distance on a rainy Saturday night was not an option. The really rowdy table did a good job of clearing out the restaurant, so I hope the other servers did manage to have a decent night with tips. Unfortunate night for us, despite the good food. This is not something the management can foresee and not sure how they could have handled the noisy diners without perhaps making it worse.

food4
ambience2
service4

Pre opera dinner

Dined on December 6, 2015

The food and drinks were great and the service fine. But the entire experience was spoiled by the noise level that made it impossible to hear each other. The noise seemed to come from the pre-hockey crowd.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience3
service2

Around the Corner

Dined on November 17, 2015

Not a bad place for dinner. We were staying around the corner from this place at a local hotel. We were wanting to stay close due to the nasty weather outside. Found this place on googlemaps.com and thought we would give it a shot. The food was ok, nothing to write home about. There was no happy hour which I thought was strange since it is basically in the lobby of another hotel. It was pricey as well, I paid $51CAD for a steak dinner and a mixed drink. There were only a two other small groups of folks in the place and yet it was like pulling teeth to be waited on.

food5
ambience5
service5

Lori Seifried

Dined on November 15, 2015

We had an amazing evening out for dinner. Great Wine, great service and fantastic food. For sure will go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience4
service2

Excellent Food

Dined on November 5, 2015

The food was excellent and generously portioned. Our server was disinterested but the rest of the staff were lovely so we can't complain.

Tags: fit for foodies
food2
ambience3
service4

OK Breakfast

Dined on November 4, 2015

Aftering staying over night at the Georgian Court Hotel we decided to have breakfast at Frankie's as we had dined for dinner on a previous occasion and found the food,ambience and service very good. Although this time the service and ambience were also very good, the breakfast was just ok. My husband thought his eggs somewhat greasy and I thought my oatmeal was too runny. Having said they it may have been an off morning,and we would still recommend them for lunch or dinner

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service5

Great Service & Great food

Dined on October 24, 2015

Enjoyed a pregame dinner. Seated at a large table with good sports screen views. Service was prompt and friendly. Sequencing of orders was perfect and plates arrived piping hot form the kitchen. Our server was attentive but also discrete. Will be there before the next game.

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience4
service4

Good location for dinner before the game

vip
Dined on October 23, 2015

Food was ok. Deep fried calamari rings were overcooked so tough and rubbery. Minestrone soup was good as well as wine list selections. Shrimp scampi pasta cream sauce was very rich. Quick to congeal when plate got cold. Lasagne was good.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

The New Jazz Cellar

Dined on October 16, 2015

I went with a friend for dinner and jazz. We were regulars at the Jazz Cellar on West Broadway. We found a very similar experience at Frankie's. There was the same great line up of musicians, very good food, drink and service an a similar if not slightly more sophisticated ambiance. The audience followed Cory's whisper-quiet policy during sets. Everyone seemed intently interested in the music. Food selection and price was reasonable and quite similar. The whole experience was satisfying. We are glad that Cellar Jazz has found a new home. We'll be back.J

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.