About Frankie's Italian Kitchen & Bar

765 Beatty Street
Vancouver, BC V6B 2M4
View Larger Map

Frankie’s offers traditional, simple and fresh Italian meals based on family recipes with the flavours of southern Italy as well as newly inspired Italian dishes in a contemporary but classic setting. The menu offers a wide selection of fresh house-made pastas and traditional comfort fare..The bar offers classic cocktails and the wine list is focused on well represented and down-to-earth British Columbia VQA wines and imported Italian wines. Frankie’s, true Italian, family food & friends.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Breakfast: Monday - Sunday: 7:00am - 11:00am

Cross Street:
Robson

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 688-6368

Website:
http://www.frankiesitaliankitchen.ca/

Parking Details:
Local pay parking includes street, parking lots and hotel parking lot

Public Transit:
One block south from the Stadium Sky Train Station.

Private Party Facilities:
Frankie's offers private dining for groups of 10 to 100 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Judy Maille: 6046092210x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Frankie's Italian Kitchen & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.8

ambience

3.8

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (20)
Good for Groups (18)
Fit for Foodies (16)
See All
Great for Lunch (14)
Romantic (12)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Family Style (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Business Meals (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Private Room (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Seasonal (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Scenic View (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Live Sports (1)
Fun (1)
Authentic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
145 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Mothers birthday dinner. Food was amazin ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Mothers birthday dinner. Food was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent pre-theatre dining. Great serv ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Excellent pre-theatre dining. Great service and loved the food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came to dinner on Thursday, 01 Sep fo ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

We came to dinner on Thursday, 01 Sep for dinner prior to attending an 2000 hrs curtain at the Queen Elizabeth Theatre across the street. The restaurant was very full and busy. The service was less than attentive as the wait staff was scrambling. Even the drinks took unusually long to get served.

While the meal was well prepared but is was over 15 minutes before we saw and waiter and took over 45 minutes to get our meals after ordering. While we allowed 1 hr 45 mins for dinner, we were concerned about the slow service so we did not order desert as we would have been late.

The food itself was hot and tasty but overall it was not up to the standard we had during our meal there in the spring.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

We have been to Frankie's before and it ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

We have been to Frankie's before and it was very good. This time the steaks were a bit on the tough side, although quite tasty. We also found it very noisy this time and had a difficult time carrying on a conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

we were in a rush to get to the theatre ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

we were in a rush to get to the theatre (Book of Mormon) and the restaurant was very very busy. the staff accommodated us and got our order pushed thru in a timely manor. and the food was great. pasta takes less time. we will go back to try some of the other features as we all love good Italian food.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I have been to Frankie's twice, about a ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

I have been to Frankie's twice, about a year and a half apart, and had exceptional dinners both times. Each time was with groups of 6+ and everyone really enjoyed their meals -- reasonably priced pastas and other Italian fare. Lovely ambiance that looks quite upscale given the restaurant's reasonable pricing.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Family Style, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food needed more seasoning

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The food needed more seasoning

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Excellent Italian food and very good win ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Excellent Italian food and very good wine, right next to BC Place. My husband and I shared a salad, main and dessert and it was plenty. We go here fairly often before events, and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was the second time I've been to Fr ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

This was the second time I've been to Frankie's and it was just as good as the first time. My favourite is the gnocchi but everything is good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Celebrated my 25th birthday here. There ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Celebrated my 25th birthday here. There were 8 of us and each of us enjoyed our food and cocktails. Only downfall was that one of their servers called in sick so service was a little slow. But they did bring me a dessert of my choosing with a lit candle and the staff sang me happy birthday which was lovely.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We were a large group of 11 and everythi ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

We were a large group of 11 and everything was just perfect!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Arrived on time for reservation at 6:30p ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Arrived on time for reservation at 6:30pm and were seated right away. Drink and food order was taken by 6:45pm. Got drinks 20 min later. Then waited on our food.....and waited....and waited, while our table was being avoided by our waitress, but they were busy so I thought I'd cut her some slack and not complain. Finally the manager came over to our table at 7:45pm and informed us that the kitchen had burnt our pizza and our food would be out in 15 min. The pizza arrived, and then the shrimp scampi 10 min after, even though we asked to be at the table the same time. The manager was very apologetic and did comp the food on our bill without a request. During our wait I ordered a spiced rum and coke which when brought was clearly a dark rum and coke, the waitress when flagged down insisted and argued that it was a spiced rum, which is was not. By then I just wanted to get out of there as we had to rush down our food to get to our concert starting in a few min down the street. Food was ok when it finally arrived, nothing to write home about. Due to the issues that we encountered, with the food delivery and serving staff we will not be dining there in the future. This was a special anniversary and birthday combo dinner for my wife, which turned into a food gulp down and run instead.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Food was great. Service decidedly poor. ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Food was great. Service decidedly poor. Friends who were with us said they had been twice in the last month and service wasn't so slow and unenthusiastic. While the food was good, I wouldn't go back for that reason. Too many other great resto's in the neighbourhood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

We went for our anniversary and I had re ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We went for our anniversary and I had requested if we could get a nice table. But the staff went way beyond with the service! They offered us complimentary sparkling rose, and dessert was on the house! The service, food and wine was excellent! We had a lovely evening! I would highly recommend this restaurant to friends and family!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I had the best lamb shank of my life at ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

I had the best lamb shank of my life at this restaurant and my wife thoroughly enjoyed her seafood linguini. Meat, cheese and olive platter was also fantastic. Wait staff was helpful and courteous. We will definitely be going back to this gem!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We were going to a concert so made reser ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We were going to a concert so made reservations for Friday night and the waitress we had was outstanding very funny and made our dining experience very enjoyable. The food was great as ususal nice size portions and ambiance very up beat - would def go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Happy that we made reservations at Frank ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Happy that we made reservations at Frankie's for the night of the Adele concert. We saw many people turned away at the door. The food was tasty, hot when served. I had the rigatoni with Italian sausage. Total comfort food, wonderfully seasoned and prepared. The service was excellent. Lots of staff who were friendly and helpful. A brilliant start to an all round memorable night. Thanks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Went there before a soccer game. The re ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Went there before a soccer game. The restaurant was busy with perhaps not enough staff. The service was definitely lacking. Had long pasta which should always indicate that you need a spoon to twirl....had to ask for it. Nobody came around for water refills. Food was mediocre. It was not very hot, and not enough sauce on the pasta, so a bit dry. Have been there before and had a better experience. I would assume that on game nights the restaurant would know that it would be busy and staff accordingly.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

The service was great. Fire alarm was go ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The service was great. Fire alarm was going off so got some excitement when the fire truck showed up. Was only a false alarm. We both had eggs Benny and they were cool but the taste was good. Potatoes were really good. Nice atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Disappointed at the way they serve your ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Disappointed at the way they serve your food. We ordered an appetizer, pasta and a pizza to share between 2 of us. They 'plonked' the plates on the table (not placing in front of us)! Then all the 3 dishes came together! Is that how the Italians eat? When I asked the server, she said she forgot to ask us how we want our food served. Hellooo???? I think its more of discrimination as I am Asian! I overheard she asked a couple of nearby tables how they want their food as they are Caucasians. This spoils our dinner!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

Had a nice meal before attending show at ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Had a nice meal before attending show at the QE. A bit noisy but there was a football game on so restaurant was full. Will definitely cme back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

It was a very busy evening and the place ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

It was a very busy evening and the place was very loud - hard to hear people at our own table. We sat down at 5:20 pm and didn't get out main course until 7 pm. The waitress had a sour look on her face and was not very engaging. She did not give us an update re our food until 6:50, indicating then that our food was being plated - no bread was brought to the table but she did fill our water glasses twice. One of the people at our table ordered risotto and had to send it back because it was undercooked. It was too late for her to order anything else since we were going to an event so we just shared our meals with her. The other 3 meals were just OK - nothing to write home about. This is the 3rd time that I have given Frankie's a try and based on all 3 experiences, I will not go there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Our son selected "Frankie's" for its men ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Our son selected "Frankie's" for its menu and proximity to the Queen Elizabeth Theatre where we attended the "Tedeschi Trucks" event as part of the Vancouver Jazz Festival. We were thrilled of the 'gluten-free options' as my wife has become gluten intolerant. Fortunately, our son's telephone had a 'flashlight option' as I would never have been able to read the menu in the dim lighting! Ambience is fine, visibility is also important.

The food was excellent and reasonably priced. Our server was an absolute gem....conscious of our needs, respectful and pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We loved the ambiance of this place with ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We loved the ambiance of this place with the beautiful wood floors. The food was lovely and the service was excellent. The location was so convenient being only one block away from Queen Elizabeth theatre and quite close to BC place as well. We would definitely have dinner at Frankie's again.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food, service and ambience was excel ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food, service and ambience was excellent. I would definitely return and recommend to others to go. I had the special for the day, halibut and it was excellent!!!! Tiramisu was amazing!!!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb Italian cuisine. Great service a ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Superb Italian cuisine. Great service and ambiance. Servers were attractive and had a pleasant demeanor. Good spaghetti carbonara is hard to find - theirs was superb!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the calamari was tough and little flavou ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

the calamari was tough and little flavour , Caesar salad also lacking flavour no fresh ground pepper offered. We found the sound of music and other customers conversation to be very loud but the décor and seating very pleasant and comfortable. The Lasagne and Shrimp Taglitale were delicious and our waitress was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

We enjoyed the jazz trio for my birthday ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

We enjoyed the jazz trio for my birthday! The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We spilt red wine on me and I lost my glasses and they found them and kept them for me. The food is delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Disappointed I was taking a client and u ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Disappointed I was taking a client and using gift cards and the server kept making it ridiculously obvious and uncomfortable the food was mediocre. Too bad

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

As always wonderful food.

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

As always wonderful food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Don't bother

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Unfortunately the food was mediocre and the service however cheery was not particularly attentive. I would not recommend or return to Frankie's

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Great Jazz Club. There was a great jazz ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Great Jazz Club. There was a great jazz band. Very reasonable price, $15 cover charge. Reasonably priced drinks, lively audience everyone was engaged and ultimately most of us were up dancing. It was great night out for less than $100 for 2.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been here many times and it's consi ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

I've been here many times and it's consistently good. It's a shame they don't have the Kim Crawford Sauvignon Blanc on the wine list anymore - we used to look forward to ordering that. Alas, wine lists do change. Our server was excellent; she went above and beyond. I wish I got her name. My only complaint about the evening was when we arrived, we asked if we could have one of the empty tables by the window. The hostess told us they were reserved, but they remained empty all evening.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

All the food was delicious!!! Lasagna, ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

All the food was delicious!!! Lasagna, chicken, risotto no complaints.

Risotto appy was to DIE for but the polenta fries were lacking flavor of any kind.

Highly recommend this restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Disappointing

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

I went there having read the reviews. The service was amazing as there were lots of servers and they were always rushing around but not focused on the customer. They all seemed to be wanting to get to the back room as soon as possible. I had to ask for my water to be refilled, they didn't top my wine glass up and the restaurant was about 20% full. Diss appointing service.

The food was ok, just average .... nothing special and not worth the price.

I would not return and definitely not recommend to anyone. Such a shame !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Amazing food! Amazing drinks! Sat on the ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Amazing food! Amazing drinks! Sat on the patio on a warm summer evening. Quick service. Friendly staff! Highly recommended. Every item from appetizer to entree to dessert was fabulous!! And this is coming from a large Italian background!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the perfect place for a quick, ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

This was the perfect place for a quick, but yummy dinner before the big concert. We came early for our reservation and were graciously seated. Our server was bubbly, warm and attentive. I had the chopped salad, and my friends had a salad and pizza. Great food, easy going atmosphere, and they are well used to people wanting to move along efficiently to their next venue, be it Rogers Arena, BC Place or The QE Theatre. All are a very convenient walking distance.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place before a show

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Went to Frankie's for the first time before heading to show at the Queen Elizabeth Theatre.

Got there early, had a 5:00 pm reservation as the show was at 7:30. Gave us a nice quiet corner.

Very soon it seemed like there was a large before show crowd. Was very pleased with the décor, ambience. Service was prompt and friendly.

Our meal came shortly after we'd finished appetizer.

Everything we ate was very good. Both had pasta. We are critical Italian food lovers and we were not disappointed.

Very good B52 coffee.

Would go back there in a heartbeat, especially before a show.

Very good value for money. Not overpriced by any stretch of the imagination!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent meals

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

We had dinner before attending the Paul McCartney concert. Highly recommended, only a short walk from the arena. Excellent meal; reservations highly recommended - we saw lots of people turned away because they did not have reservations.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fully book?

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

We called to make the reservation and they said it was fully book. I did the book online and works fine...

The restaurant was totally empty btw..

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.