About Frankie Bones Restaurant & Lounge - Hilton Head Island

1301 Main St
Hilton Head Island, SC 29926
View Larger Map

Frankie Bones Restaurant and Lounge
"Steaks, Chops, Seafood, and Martinis"



Step through the revolving door and into a swanky restaurant with all the style of the Rat Pack era. Big booths, soft lighting and snappy service will take you back to the 50's and 60's big city lounges of Chicago, Las Vegas and New York.
The huge Italian – American menu has something for everyone!
Hand cut steaks, chicken and veal dishes, fresh seafood, pastas,
flatbread pizzas, and house made desserts!
Serving lunch and dinner daily, and our fabulous Brunch every Sunday!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American, Steak

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm;
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm;
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Merchant St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 682-4455

Website:
http://www.frankieboneshhi.com/

Catering:
Let the professional staff at Frankie Bones cater your next event! Call today for a catering consultation and custom proposal.

Parking Details:
Public Lot - Plenty of parking!!

Public Transit:
On Bus Line and Taxi Cab accessible.

Executive Chef:
Luke Lyons

Private Party Facilities:
Frankie Bones offers two private dining rooms, our lounge for groups of 8 - 14, and The Boardroom for groups up to 42.

Private Party Contact:
Phil LeClaire: 8436824455x

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Call us about our next Wine Dinner Event!

Restaurant Photos

Meatball Sandwich
Sauerkraut Balls
P.E.I. Mussels
Beer Battered Halibut
Veal Parmigiana Sandwich
Carrot Cake
Veal Parmigiana
Veal Saltimbocca
Meatball Sliders
lasagna
Escargot
Cheesecake
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese
Salmon and Goat Cheese Salad
Bananas Fosters Cheesecake
Sauteed Chicken Breast Sandwich With Roasted Red Peppers, Arugula, Buffalo Mozzarella & Pesto
Asparagus, Mushroom & Brie Cheese Omelette
Mussels
Housemade Pistachio Cannoli
Penne with Chicken
Pork Schnitzel
Chicken & Roasted Red Pepper Flatbread
Mini Version Our Famous Crabcake
s'mores
Double Cut Pork Chop

Frankie Bones Restaurant & Lounge - Hilton Head Island Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Hilton Head
Neighborhood Gem
Hilton Head
Most Booked
Hilton Head
Best Restaurants in Hilton Head ›

Neighborhood Gem (93)
Special Occasion (89)
Fit for Foodies (76)
See All
Good for Groups (64)
Great for Lunch (45)
Romantic (43)
Kid-friendly (39)
Hot Spot (38)
Vibrant Bar Scene (31)
Notable Wine List (28)
Great for Brunch (27)
Great for Outdoor Dining (17)
Late-night Find (10)
Scenic View (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1165 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was quite good. Server was less tha ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 4 days ago

Food was quite good. Server was less than stellar. We were confused by this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

The food was delicious and service was e ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 4 days ago

The food was delicious and service was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food and service were awesome!!! We alwa ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 5 days ago

Food and service were awesome!!! We always make Frankie Bones part of our trip to Hilton Head!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went here on the recommendation of th ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We went here on the recommendation of the concierge at our hotel. Best meal in HHI! Pecan crusted crab cakes were to die for. Even better, the sweet potatoes were made with mascarpone cheese...heavenly. The coffee marinated ribeye specialty was even better than an otherwise perfect filet. Just don't let your children order the tiramisu, it's like 80 proof. Stick to the blueberry cheesecake if they have it.

Tags: Romantic, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is an amazing place to dine. The fo ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

This is an amazing place to dine. The food is wonderful!! The service is wonderful also. We returned her for my birthday. Keith was our waiter. He is THE BEST. I told them it was my birthday and they surprised me with a delicious piece of cheese cake with strawberries. I just cannot say enough good about this place. They have early bird specials with wine prices as low as 2.75 a glass. Everything is from scratch. I got the spaghetti squash and it was superb.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ribeye wasn't very good

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Ribeye wasn't very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

We enjoyed an excellent dinner to celebr ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We enjoyed an excellent dinner to celebrate my daughter's 18th birthday. Great food, great service. Will be back on our next trip to HH

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food and service were terrific as al ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The food and service were terrific as always, Frankie Bones is required dining when we come to Hilton Head!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always great food and reasonable happy h ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Always great food and reasonable happy hour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place to have a special dinner

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great place to have a special dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall a good dining experience but did ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Overall a good dining experience but did not enjoy the signature Ribeye dish.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Professional and pleasant service from E ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Professional and pleasant service from Ellie. Great ribeye! Had a very good overall experience. Our favorite annual "last night in HHI" dinner spot.

Wish there was a little more attention to detail on food allergies here, but it seems the whole island claims to be allergy friendly, but they have a way to go to make me feel comfortable enough feeding my son safely in restaurants away from our home town. Ordered green beans cooked without oil due to allergies and they came out with what appeared to be some residue from mashed potatoes on them?! Probably reusing and sharing utensils in the back which could pose cross contamination problems.

Either way, we will be back---we will just bring our own food for our son.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very disappointed with Frankie Bones. E ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Very disappointed with Frankie Bones. Extremely slow service. Food was mediocre.

Our daughter ordered kids spaghetti.....it was like they opened a can of cheap chef boyardee.

Adult dinners were not much better. I had a signature pasta dish...the sauce was a watery mess.

I've eaten at several other restaurants owned by the same group and have really enjoyed them which makes Frankie even more a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

The pork schnitzel was perfectly cooked. ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The pork schnitzel was perfectly cooked. The calamari was also very good as well. Staff was very nice and table was ready when promised.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been several times, love the atmos ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We've been several times, love the atmosphere. The food is mediocre. Would recommend that people get appetizers and drinks . At least that is our plan in the future. I had the meatball entre and there was more filler in it than anything. mushy and kind of gross. maybe overworked in the kitchen. would never get that again. spouse had ribeye and a LOT of it was grizzle and fat.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Menu had a large variety of interesting ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Menu had a large variety of interesting choices. Different combinations; hard to decide what to try. Result was wonderful

Cod Savannah. Busy popular place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was good. Waitress was very good. K ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Food was good. Waitress was very good. Kitchen was not as fast as I would like. Would definitely return and recommend to others.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

We visit Frankie Bones every time we are ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We visit Frankie Bones every time we are in Hilton Head and have never been disappointed. Food is excellent, an excellent value and service is second to none.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service in a fairly p ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Excellent food and service in a fairly pleasant, all-be-it slightly crowded, atmosphere.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fabulous! Frankie bones is a favorite an ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Fabulous! Frankie bones is a favorite and we go every year. After I made the open table reservation I called to request a table not a booth. I was told unfortunately due to several large parties the tables in side rooms were all taken and it would have to be a booth unless we wanted outdoor seating. However, when we got there they had made it work and we had a 5 top table waiting!! So appreciative that they were accommodating to our request. The food was delicious as always and service was wonderful. One of our favorite places!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We've been to this restaurant a number o ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

We've been to this restaurant a number of times and we've never been disappointed. It's one of our favorites when we visit the island.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Other than the hostess seating someone a ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Other than the hostess seating someone ahead of us without aa reservation, there is not a single negative about this restaurant. The drinks were good, the food was the best we have had the whole time on the island. Our server was attentive made great recommendations.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Wonderful experience. We will be returni ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Wonderful experience. We will be returning to Frankie Bones next year on our vacation as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

FrankieBonez was great. Favorite restaur ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

FrankieBonez was great. Favorite restaurant in Hilton Head.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous again! We come back every year ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Fabulous again! We come back every year! The lobster Mac and cheese is AWESOME!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my second visit with a 9 month ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

This was my second visit with a 9 month span between visits. I will return in 6 weeks during my 43 rd anniversary week. Open Table will be my method of reserving a table. The table was ready 5 minutes ahead of time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I went for the 1st time a ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

My husband and I went for the 1st time and loved it! Great menu!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food at a reasonable price along w ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Great food at a reasonable price along with great service and wonderful atmosphere makes for a fantastic dining experience!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The only thing I was disappointed in was ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

The only thing I was disappointed in was my entree. Eggplant parm.... a huge portion of pasta and small ( about 4 small slices) of eggplant. When I make eggplant parm, it is more like a casserole or lasagna, layered.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Server did not want to comply with our s ...

vip
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Server did not want to comply with our simply request.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Since I had booked our reservations thro ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Since I had booked our reservations through OpenTable, the restaurant did an OK job with seating us but we were sorta stuffed into the back room. I think Frankie Bones would have been within their rights to tell us we just couldn't be seated at that time. I have had a better time at Frankie Bones, not crowded into a space and with a server who wasn't trying to keep 4 large tables served. I think our server had 3 tables of 10 and our group of 6. He was busy and did pretty well. All in all, we may not try a Saturday evening with the grandchildren again until they are older. I appreciated Frankie Bones getting us seated at the time we requested but it was hard on the server and the children.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

After a couple of disappointing dinners ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

After a couple of disappointing dinners elsewhere, this was a refreshing change. We dined very early because we were seeing an 8 p.m. show, and that may have explained the reasonable noise levels. The restaurant was far from empty, however. Our server, whose name may have been Carl (two times I could not tell what he said) had 3 tables seated almost simultaneously, so the service wasn't perfect. But he did his job well, recommended a good wine, and was efficient.

We split apps between 3 people; the twice baked potato spring rolls and the chilled beet salad. Both were very good. I had the grouper special, and it was outstanding. My friend had the pork schnitzel, which he enjoyed very much. My husband had the spaghetti with meatballs, which was very disappointing considering that it is a "notable" item. It was almost devoid of seasoning.

The biggest suggestion for improvement is to change the menus! The restaurant is part of a group, but is not what I would call a chain. The menus are gigantic, multi-page, awful plastic things that would be right at home at a beach bar. Plain, printed paper menus are not expensive and can easily be recycled and would be much more appropriate in the very clean, very thoughtfully decorated dining room.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent restaurant in every way. Very ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Excellent restaurant in every way. Very popular here in Hilton Head.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took of group of vacationing family memb ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Took of group of vacationing family members ranging from mid-teen to senior age. Everyone loved their meal. Notable dishes included:

-excellent calamari, fried to perfection

-lobster mac/cheese with cleaned head and tail of lobster as garnish, kids loved it!

-strawberry walnut salad with salmon added, terrific

-fried seafood trio - well executed classic

Service was constantly on point, Manager stopped by for a honk/wave, dining facilities were attractive and well decorated.

Put Frankie Bones on your Hilton Head must eat list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of our regular stops in Hilt ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

This is one of our regular stops in Hilton Head. The food is good and the menu is diverse. There is something here for everyone.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The restaurant was recommended by a frie ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The restaurant was recommended by a friend and we had a good time. However, the portions were small and the filet mignon was a bit tough. For the price, I was a bit underwhelmed.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Early Fare is excellent. Includes prime ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Early Fare is excellent. Includes prime rib, staek, seafood, & pasta selections. Regular menu is extensive as well. Good food, good service

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A special restaurant we visit each trip ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

A special restaurant we visit each trip to HHI because the food and service never disappoint us. Very accommodating to our family. The Scallops with truffle risotto is the top!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a pleasant experience at this res ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Always a pleasant experience at this restaurant. Food, service, ambiance one of the most consistent in the area. Highly recommend!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

We were looking forward to going to Fran ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We were looking forward to going to Frankie Bones, but this year it seems the service and the food were not up to par. Our waiter was not responsive and seemed to be very inexperienced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.