About Frankie Bones Restaurant & Lounge - Hilton Head Island

1301 Main St
Hilton Head Island, SC 29926
View Larger Map

Frankie Bones Restaurant and Lounge
"Steaks, Chops, Seafood, and Martinis"



Step through the revolving door and into a swanky restaurant with all the style of the Rat Pack era. Big booths, soft lighting and snappy service will take you back to the 50's and 60's big city lounges of Chicago, Las Vegas and New York.
The huge Italian – American menu has something for everyone!
Hand cut steaks, chicken and veal dishes, fresh seafood, pastas,
flatbread pizzas, and house made desserts!
Serving lunch and dinner daily, and our fabulous Brunch every Sunday!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American, Steak

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm;
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm;
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Merchant St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 682-4455

Website:
http://www.frankieboneshhi.com/

Catering:
Let the professional staff at Frankie Bones cater your next event! Call today for a catering consultation and custom proposal.

Parking Details:
Public Lot - Plenty of parking!!

Public Transit:
On Bus Line and Taxi Cab accessible.

Executive Chef:
Luke Lyons

Private Party Facilities:
Frankie Bones offers two private dining rooms, our lounge for groups of 8 - 14, and The Boardroom for groups up to 42.

Private Party Contact:
Phil LeClaire: 8436824455x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Call us about our next Wine Dinner Event!

Restaurant Photos

Meatball Sandwich
Sauerkraut Balls
P.E.I. Mussels
Beer Battered Halibut
Veal Parmigiana Sandwich
Carrot Cake
Veal Parmigiana
Veal Saltimbocca
Meatball Sliders
lasagna
Escargot
Cheesecake
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese
Salmon and Goat Cheese Salad
Bananas Fosters Cheesecake
Sauteed Chicken Breast Sandwich With Roasted Red Peppers, Arugula, Buffalo Mozzarella & Pesto
Asparagus, Mushroom & Brie Cheese Omelette
Mussels
Housemade Pistachio Cannoli
Penne with Chicken
Pork Schnitzel
Chicken & Roasted Red Pepper Flatbread
Mini Version Our Famous Crabcake
s'mores
Double Cut Pork Chop

Frankie Bones Restaurant & Lounge - Hilton Head Island Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Hilton Head
Neighborhood Gem
Hilton Head
Most Booked
Hilton Head
Best Restaurants in Hilton Head ›

Neighborhood Gem (86)
Special Occasion (86)
Fit for Foodies (58)
See All
Good for Groups (58)
Romantic (40)
Kid-friendly (40)
Hot Spot (35)
Great for Lunch (34)
Notable Wine List (26)
Vibrant Bar Scene (24)
Great for Brunch (16)
Worth the Drive (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Casual (13)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Late-night Find (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Cozy (5)
Family Style (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Business Meals (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Tasting Menu (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Fun (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Seasonal (2)
Authentic (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Historic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Private Room (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1190 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Frankie Bones is one of our favorites. ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined 4 days ago

Frankie Bones is one of our favorites. Good food in pleasant surroundings.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Service from the kitchen was very fast, ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 5 days ago

Service from the kitchen was very fast, as the kitchen staff delivered very quickly. Our waitress had too many tables to serve, so drink orders were very slow being filled. Good food for the price, the marinara sauce was more American than Italian, i.e., very little spices used.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

We were a party of four. We have been co ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 7 days ago

We were a party of four. We have been coming for several years while vacationing on Hilton Head. We enjoy the variety on the menu. We love the coffee rubbed ribeye. You have one of the best beet salads on the island! See you in the spring.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, excellent service!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Excellent food, excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were visiting HH for a girls vacation ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We were visiting HH for a girls vacation and needed somewhere that was child friendly but still had a nice setting. We were not disappointed! The staff was friendly, we were seated quickly, and the waitress was prompt. The food was wonderful! From the hot bread that was served to the meals themselves, we were not disappointed. This was our first trip to Frankie Bones but it won't be our last!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

very enjoyable evening started at wise g ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

very enjoyable evening started at wise guys next door for a drink then passed through patio for our dinner consisting of calamari appetizer main course of main lobster cooked perfectly, pasta seafood and a seafood alfrado all served with salads and fresh warm bread the service from David was excellent

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great dining , braised short ribs were f ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Great dining , braised short ribs were fantastic, meatloaf great...liver and onions disappointing

Outstanding waiter, Carr...knowledgeable , great wine suggestions , attentive but not intrusive.

Great night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We go to Frankie Bones a couple times a ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We go to Frankie Bones a couple times a month and always enjoy the food, especially the mussels appetizer. Unfortunately we were disappointed this last time, especially the mussels. Also, we were seated next to a very noisy table of six and had trouble hearing one another. That's not the restaurant's fault but it affected the dining experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

This was a return trip. The server was p ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

This was a return trip. The server was prompt and pleasant. Our drinks and food were delivered in a timely fashion, with some in the group getting appetizers as diner. All enjoyed there dishes. The only down side was being seated at a table by the kitchen exit. We will probably go back.

Tags: Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Early bird dinner was outstanding - make ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Early bird dinner was outstanding - make reservations as place was very busy

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were great. The pa ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

The food and service were great. The pasta was wonderful.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We love to take "out of towners" to Fran ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

We love to take "out of towners" to Frankie's. The food is consistently good.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Seated immediately at our reservation ti ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Seated immediately at our reservation time. Server took just one of our party of 5 drink order for some reason and left. Recovered a little after that. Food was ok, except my wives ribs were not edible. We would have sent them back, but the server never checked on us again until it was way too late. They did take her entree off bill. Have had better experiences in the past. Maybe just an off night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Food arrived warm at best and had to be ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Food arrived warm at best and had to be sent back. It was seafood so it couldn't be warmed/cooked too much because that would have made the fish hard. Decaf coffee was warm and had to be sent back. I am hoping that this was a one-time think as I have never been disappointed with Frankie Bones in the past.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

our waitress was the best -- pleasant an ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

our waitress was the best -- pleasant and super friendly.

Tags: Wood Oven, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We loved everything we ordered! The spa ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

We loved everything we ordered! The spaghetti squash primavera was surprisingly delicious. Petite filet mignon is really petite, so make sure you don't expect a huge serving. The carrot cake was delectable and the cannoli was to die for! The waitstaff was very attentive. All-around great dining experience. We will definitely go there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Be sure to make Frankie Bones one of you ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Be sure to make Frankie Bones one of your main dining choices while in Hilton Head. The menu offers a wide variety of all cuisines, but in particular seafood and great Italian delights. The atmosphere is cozy with most seated in booths. Pricing is pretty standard, but you will not leave feeling ripped off.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Love this Place!!! Great food and servic ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Love this Place!!! Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food is not as good as it used to be. .. ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Food is not as good as it used to be. .......,.............@@&$&&"@&)

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

We had friends in town so made a reserva ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

We had friends in town so made a reservation. The food was great, as always. I had the shrimp scampi, which is a bit different than normal scampi as it is served with rice instead of pasta, but it was very good. Our friends had crab cakes and one of the salmon choices and my husband had the seafood trio. I love their Sangria. Had a glass with my dinner. The food is consistently good here.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Visitors to Hilton Head Island every yea ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Visitors to Hilton Head Island every year and this has become one of our favorite restaurants. Food, ambiance and service are always great.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was outstanding and our server was ...

 
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Food was outstanding and our server was the best we've had at any restaurant this year. Great restaurant

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was quite good. Server was less tha ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Food was quite good. Server was less than stellar. We were confused by this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

The food was delicious and service was e ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The food was delicious and service was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was too salty to the point that you ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food was too salty to the point that you could not taste it.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Food and service were awesome!!! We alwa ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food and service were awesome!!! We always make Frankie Bones part of our trip to Hilton Head!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Prime rib was good as always. The potato ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Prime rib was good as always. The potato casserole has been going downhill for years, will never have it be a side on my plate again. What ever happened to the wonderful potato casserole you had years age when you first opened, in individual crocks, hot, bubbly and very tasty. What you serve is is undescrible mush. Nothing unique or special, just takes up space on the plate.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We went here on the recommendation of th ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We went here on the recommendation of the concierge at our hotel. Best meal in HHI! Pecan crusted crab cakes were to die for. Even better, the sweet potatoes were made with mascarpone cheese...heavenly. The coffee marinated ribeye specialty was even better than an otherwise perfect filet. Just don't let your children order the tiramisu, it's like 80 proof. Stick to the blueberry cheesecake if they have it.

Tags: Romantic, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is an amazing place to dine. The fo ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

This is an amazing place to dine. The food is wonderful!! The service is wonderful also. We returned her for my birthday. Keith was our waiter. He is THE BEST. I told them it was my birthday and they surprised me with a delicious piece of cheese cake with strawberries. I just cannot say enough good about this place. They have early bird specials with wine prices as low as 2.75 a glass. Everything is from scratch. I got the spaghetti squash and it was superb.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ribeye wasn't very good

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Ribeye wasn't very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

We enjoyed an excellent dinner to celebr ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We enjoyed an excellent dinner to celebrate my daughter's 18th birthday. Great food, great service. Will be back on our next trip to HH

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food and service were terrific as al ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The food and service were terrific as always, Frankie Bones is required dining when we come to Hilton Head!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always great food and reasonable happy h ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Always great food and reasonable happy hour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place to have a special dinner

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great place to have a special dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall a good dining experience but did ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Overall a good dining experience but did not enjoy the signature Ribeye dish.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Professional and pleasant service from E ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Professional and pleasant service from Ellie. Great ribeye! Had a very good overall experience. Our favorite annual "last night in HHI" dinner spot.

Wish there was a little more attention to detail on food allergies here, but it seems the whole island claims to be allergy friendly, but they have a way to go to make me feel comfortable enough feeding my son safely in restaurants away from our home town. Ordered green beans cooked without oil due to allergies and they came out with what appeared to be some residue from mashed potatoes on them?! Probably reusing and sharing utensils in the back which could pose cross contamination problems.

Either way, we will be back---we will just bring our own food for our son.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very disappointed with Frankie Bones. E ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Very disappointed with Frankie Bones. Extremely slow service. Food was mediocre.

Our daughter ordered kids spaghetti.....it was like they opened a can of cheap chef boyardee.

Adult dinners were not much better. I had a signature pasta dish...the sauce was a watery mess.

I've eaten at several other restaurants owned by the same group and have really enjoyed them which makes Frankie even more a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

The pork schnitzel was perfectly cooked. ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The pork schnitzel was perfectly cooked. The calamari was also very good as well. Staff was very nice and table was ready when promised.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been several times, love the atmos ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We've been several times, love the atmosphere. The food is mediocre. Would recommend that people get appetizers and drinks . At least that is our plan in the future. I had the meatball entre and there was more filler in it than anything. mushy and kind of gross. maybe overworked in the kitchen. would never get that again. spouse had ribeye and a LOT of it was grizzle and fat.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Menu had a large variety of interesting ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Menu had a large variety of interesting choices. Different combinations; hard to decide what to try. Result was wonderful

Cod Savannah. Busy popular place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.