About Frankie Bones Restaurant & Lounge - Hilton Head Island

Frankie Bones Restaurant and Lounge
"Steaks, Chops, Seafood, and Martinis"



Step through the revolving door and into a swanky restaurant with all the style of the Rat Pack era. Big booths, soft lighting and snappy service will take you back to the 50's and 60's big city lounges of Chicago, Las Vegas and New York.
The huge Italian – American menu has something for everyone!
Hand cut steaks, chicken and veal dishes, fresh seafood, pastas,
flatbread pizzas, and house made desserts!
Serving lunch and dinner daily, and our fabulous Brunch every Sunday!

1301 Main St
Hilton Head Island, SC 29926
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American, Steak

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm;
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm;
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Merchant St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 682-4455

Website:
http://www.frankieboneshhi.com/

Catering:
Let the professional staff at Frankie Bones cater your next event! Call today for a catering consultation and custom proposal.

Parking Details:
Public Lot - Plenty of parking!!

Public Transit:
On Bus Line and Taxi Cab accessible.

Executive Chef:
Luke Lyons

Private Party Facilities:
Frankie Bones offers two private dining rooms, our lounge for groups of 8 - 14, and The Boardroom for groups up to 42.

Private Party Contact:
Phil LeClaire: (843) 682-4455

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Call us about our next Wine Dinner Event!

Frankie Bones Restaurant & Lounge - Hilton Head Island Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (41)
Casual (37)
Good for a Date (36)
See All
Special Occasion (33)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
Bar Seating (29)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Worth the Drive (24)
Great for Lunch (23)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Fun (18)
Comfort Food (17)
Happy Hour (17)
Outstanding Value (17)
Hot Spot (17)
Good for Groups (17)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Private Room (15)
Cozy (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Authentic (12)
Modern Decor (10)
People Watching (9)
Romantic (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Business Meals (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Healthy (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Great Beer (5)
Family Style (5)
Seasonal (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Spicy (2)
Historic (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Scenic View (1)
Dancing (1)
Organic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
1353 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 2 days ago

Good restaurant with consistently good food.

One of the people in our party had an overcooked steak.

The meal was replaced and comped with apologies from the manager.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 2 days ago

Beautiful evening. Ate outside. Good food. Waitress was the best.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 3 days ago

LOVED IT!!! Can't wait to return with my husband this time!! Awesome food, excellent service and terrific value!!

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

We always like Frankie Bones! Dependable--with an interesting menu. We have been 3 times during our three week visit and the service has been outstanding.

Tags: Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

Best filet I had since the last time I had one at Frankie Bones. Keep on menu!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Everything about the food and dining experience was fantastic! The only area of improvement would be the first impression at the hostess stand--their demeanor, and organization. They were just very unfriendly to begin with, and we overheard one of them say "we are workin' on it, it just takes a little longer sometimes" to another patron asking about the wait. We did have a reservation and were sat 15 minutes late, and we didn't mind because we were there for the dining--but there was no apology or any kind of appreciation of our patience or anything like that--which is unusual in that type of setting. My boyfriend and his family and I enjoyed the experience overall, however, and would recommend it to locals and visitors!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Excellent location for lunch / dinner with friends.

Tags: Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We enjoyed another good meal at Frankie Bones. The Prince Edward Island mussels were a great appetizer and we especially like the bread dipped in the tasty broth. Three out of four of us had seafood and the fourth had the filet mignon. It was a busy Friday night and service was a little slow.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We are never disappointed with our meal. Service is excellent, menu extensive and food is delicious. Only issue is the loudness which is always present.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Always wonderful. You can never go wrong here. Make reservations far in advance as they are always packed.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 13, 2017

A nicely appointed family experience great for a friendly, casual as well as general business meeting. With indoor and outdoor seating, it satisfies all levels of "business casual" meetings. The staff is attentive, professional and has always welcomed me and my guests.

Tags: Family Style, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Just one of our favorites in Hilton Head which has many, many from which to choose! Try them and you will agree.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Our waiter was amazing. Forgot his name but he was awesome.

The front desk staff was friendly and extremely nice

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Awesome food and service. We had a long day traveling and dinner hit the spot!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Every time we are in the area we eat at Frankie Bones. The drinks,service,and food are always great.

Tags: Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 9, 2017

We invited a couple long time friends who also have a home elsewhere and have not eaten in a long while at Frankie Bones. We had a great table in the back where we could visit & enjoy a wonderful meal. Even though it was busy and moderate noise at the filled tables around us, we still had were able to have quiet conversation together. One of them uses a walker now and very easy getting in, server put it out of the way & brought it back when needed - very accommodating. We had terrific service! Food as always was excellent - Salmon, Schnitzel, chicken, & prime rib were all delicious.

Tags: Happy Hour, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Authentic, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 8, 2017

excellent ambiance with lively crowd, but not too loud

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 7, 2017

We had Prime Rib, Lobster Mac, Pork Chop - all of which were great as usual. One of us had a stuffed shrimp over pasta off the specials that was pretty good, but probably would not order again for the price.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2017

i have wintered in hilton head for the last ten years. frankie bones is one of my go to places. whether i am at the bar or eating with friends, service is always attentive without being overbearing and the food is wonderful. also nice selection of wines by the glass.

Tags: Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Great classic style restaurant with excellent food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We took my mother-in-law for early dining on a Sunday. The main dishes were very good. The chicken noodle soup, which I love, was just luke warm, which was disappointing since it was a chilly evening. My mother-in-law had prime rib rare and loved it, and my husband had the pork schnitzel. I had the teriyaki steak and shrimp and it was very good also. This is a very popular place on the island and for good reason - it is reliably good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We enjoy dining at Frankie Bones. My favorite is the veal piccata.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 28, 2017

One of the few places on the island where we have been able to have both a very good meal and conversation. We were there on a busy Friday night but asked to be seated in a quiet spot. The location they gave us was perfect.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 27, 2017

You are one of our favorites, especially the early bird. We're coming back next Saturday, would request Katie as our server.

Tags: Organic, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Das Essen war gut bis auf die Baby Back Ribs. Diese waren hart und überwürzt. Hätten wir nicht Gäste gehabt, wären die Ribs zurückgegangen

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Once again Frankie bones gets 5 STARS! If you want it very crowded, go between 5:30 and 7:30. There are a lot of people on the island that like the "early bird specials". Everything here is outstanding, whether early bird, or not. The price is not reflective of the quality of the food, which is always excellent. Their diverse menu has something for everyone. The staff is always attentive and fun. FB's is hard to beat for any appetite!

Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Excellent meal at an excellent restaurant. My husband got his usual - the homemade noodle soup, Frankie's signature ribeye and skinny fries. I enjoyed the wedge salad and penne with chicken. Dave, our server, was efficient and attentive. Love this place!

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Fun place for dinner, people were definitely enjoying it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 18, 2017

The food quality is excellent and consistent. Each time we dine here we are amazed at how perfect our meals are. Great selection of entrees and munchies. Love the wines too. Have recommended to friends many times. You gotta try it!

Tags: Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Great dinner at Frankie Bones, our waitress Joann was attentive, pleasant & efficient. The Butternut Squash soup was flavorful and velvety smooth, the pumpkin seed garnish was a nice touch, the warm bread & seasoned butter provided a great start to the meal. Our entrees Veal Picatta and Tilapia & Shrimp were very good. My only recommendation would be to have a bit of pasta instead of the whipped potatoes as a side for the Veal.

We were seated near the bar so it was a bit noisy, but not disturbing.

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Had not been there in quite a while, but hasn't lost a beat. Have always liked this restaurant -which is a favorite of many folks, us included. The menu is varied and always well prepared. We have never had anything but a very good meal at Frankie Bones. And the restaurant is always full. That says something. Have eaten there now 4-5 times over the last few yrs. and will go back. Both my wife and I had filet mignon , and it was tender and nicely cooked (med. rare). And the accompanying veggies were nicely cooked. The house green salad was also tasty. Had two glasses of cab. sauvignon (Gott and Coppola), both of which were excellent. Frankie Bones is a winner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We frequent Frankie Bones and always have a great experience, tonight was no different.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Great value for delicious meals at a reasonable price! Will visit many times!

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Frankie Bones was as good as all the positive reviews I read before we dined there for the first time. Hot plates, serving delicious food, with good service and nice ambiance for a fair price. Excellent!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Healthy, Private Room, Special Occasion, People Watching, Authentic, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 12, 2017

we had a most enjoyable evening with fine wine, food and service that was impeccable. One of our favorite spots for dinner. Always a highlight but suggest reservations as very busy.

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Great dinner with out of town friends who loved everything about Franki Bones. Our server, Keith, was outstanding.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Seasonal, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Great birthday dinner!

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Private Room, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Wonderful as always. The food, the server, and the atmosphere.

Tags: Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We have eaten at this restaurant many time before & always liked it. This time we were off to a bad start when we were led to a booth; I requested a table rather than the booth. The hostess then offered us another booth which received a blast of cold air every time the restaurant door was opened. Having requested one change I didn't feel like requesting another. The food was fair but not as good as it has been in the past.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 6, 2017

good food but the 1st time ever there where the service was atrocious...many choices on island to go back anytime soon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Fun/lively restaurant~ excellent service and management. Outdoor dining weather permitting. Very popular so reservation is recommended. Gluten free menu.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Private Room, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Perfect get together with friends. Great food and exceptional service from Dave. Thank You!!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Frequent customers. One our favorite places on Hilton Head. Our food on this occasion was better than ever. Great efficient service. Cozy booths.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Enjoyed our dinner. Food was high quality and very tasty. Pretty tight quarters. Service was great and few were well taken care of. Overall good but wasn't anything super special.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Enjoyable family dinner, great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 3, 2017

I was looking forward to going back to Frankie Bones as I understood it had been renovated. It looked exactly the same to me, and....the menu hasn't changed. If it has, its changed very little. Very disappointed as FB used to be a great place to go. To me, it seems stale.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

our server was excellent, very friendly and responsive to our many questions. i should have taken her suggestion on what to eat, however, I chose to try something else. Not happy with my choice.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Food was incredible with fast service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 29, 2016

I did not like the rib-eye. There was a strange line of fat going through the meat.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Couple of hiccups have dined there 15 times without any will continue to as the GM Phillip was very professional in handling the feedback I provided. No major problems.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.