About Frankie Bones Restaurant & Lounge - Hilton Head Island

1301 Main St
Hilton Head Island, SC 29926
View Larger Map

Frankie Bones Restaurant and Lounge
"Steaks, Chops, Seafood, and Martinis"



Step through the revolving door and into a swanky restaurant with all the style of the Rat Pack era. Big booths, soft lighting and snappy service will take you back to the 50's and 60's big city lounges of Chicago, Las Vegas and New York.
The huge Italian – American menu has something for everyone!
Hand cut steaks, chicken and veal dishes, fresh seafood, pastas,
flatbread pizzas, and house made desserts!
Serving lunch and dinner daily, and our fabulous Brunch every Sunday!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American, Steak

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm;
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm;
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Merchant St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 682-4455

Website:
http://www.frankieboneshhi.com/

Catering:
Let the professional staff at Frankie Bones cater your next event! Call today for a catering consultation and custom proposal.

Parking Details:
Public Lot - Plenty of parking!!

Public Transit:
On Bus Line and Taxi Cab accessible.

Executive Chef:
Luke Lyons

Private Party Facilities:
Frankie Bones offers two private dining rooms, our lounge for groups of 8 - 14, and The Boardroom for groups up to 42.

Private Party Contact:
Phil LeClaire: 8436824455x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Call us about our next Wine Dinner Event!

Restaurant Photos

Meatball Sandwich
Sauerkraut Balls
P.E.I. Mussels
Beer Battered Halibut
Veal Parmigiana Sandwich
Carrot Cake
Veal Parmigiana
Veal Saltimbocca
Meatball Sliders
lasagna
Escargot
Cheesecake
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese
Salmon and Goat Cheese Salad
Sauteed Chicken Breast Sandwich With Roasted Red Peppers, Arugula, Buffalo Mozzarella & Pesto
Bananas Fosters Cheesecake
Asparagus, Mushroom & Brie Cheese Omelette
Mussels
Housemade Pistachio Cannoli
Penne with Chicken
Pork Schnitzel
Chicken & Roasted Red Pepper Flatbread
Mini Version Our Famous Crabcake
s'mores
Double Cut Pork Chop

Frankie Bones Restaurant & Lounge - Hilton Head Island Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Hilton Head
Neighborhood Gem
Hilton Head
Most Booked
Hilton Head
Best Restaurants in Hilton Head ›

neighborhood gem (88)
fit for foodies (75)
special occasion (73)
See All
good for groups (62)
great for lunch (48)
hot spot (36)
vibrant bar scene (34)
romantic (30)
kid-friendly (25)
great for brunch (22)
notable wine list (22)
great for outdoor dining (14)
late-night find (12)
scenic view (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1129 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The restaurant was recommended by a frie ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

The restaurant was recommended by a friend and we had a good time. However, the portions were small and the filet mignon was a bit tough. For the price, I was a bit underwhelmed.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Early Fare is excellent. Includes prime ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 5 days ago

Early Fare is excellent. Includes prime rib, staek, seafood, & pasta selections. Regular menu is extensive as well. Good food, good service

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A special restaurant we visit each trip ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

A special restaurant we visit each trip to HHI because the food and service never disappoint us. Very accommodating to our family. The Scallops with truffle risotto is the top!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a pleasant experience at this res ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 6 days ago

Always a pleasant experience at this restaurant. Food, service, ambiance one of the most consistent in the area. Highly recommend!!!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

This restaurant consistently performs fa ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 7 days ago

This restaurant consistently performs far above average when it comes to food and service. We had a party of 7, including 3 kids and were seated promptly in the Director's Room. Our server did an outstanding job of explaining the menu items and made some great recommendations. Our food was served all together hot and tasty. In Serge Group of restaurants, this is one of the top two.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great price fix value the service was kn ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 7 days ago

great price fix value the service was knowledgeable to what was my pick for dinner

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress Katie was terrific and made ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Our waitress Katie was terrific and made our dining experience at Frankie Bones a pleasure. The food was very good and compatable to some of the better restaurants we have been too.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything we had was delicious. Service ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Everything we had was delicious. Service was prompt and polite and our waiter was very attentive. I would definitely eat here again!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We were seated exactly at the time of ou ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We were seated exactly at the time of our open table reservation. Out waitress was genuinely friendly and helpful. The food left a lot to be desired in terms of our expectations. The salads were Lilliputian in size. While flavorful, the house and Caesar were puny. Kids pasta was over cooked according to my 9 year old. Anytime a home meal beats a restaurant meal one needs to question the value. You don't need need to watch Food Network to know that you eat with your eyes first. Our plates were sad. The blackened chicken with fettuccine was way too salty for even tolerant tastebuds. The plate even looked questionable in terms of cleanliness. The frutti de mare had a nice sauce but could we not just slap something onto a plate? Did someone not let the chef or sous chef have a break? It just didn't seem like anyone in the kitchen really cared what was being set on the table. The only highlight was the smores dessert with the mini habachi to toast the mashmallows. So having had an otherwise great culinary experience this past week on HHI with establishments that really wanted my business , Frankie's just fell short. I would encourage the managers and owners to not rest on your laurels and to strive to really earn your customers loyalty no matter what party of the country they are visiting from. Improve the kitchen and you would get my 5 stars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Consistently great food, service, and am ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Consistently great food, service, and ambiance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

One of our favorite spots to dine. Just ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

One of our favorite spots to dine. Just wish we could do it more often!

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

the waiter carr is very good was lucky q ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

the waiter carr is very good was lucky quite a few times when he was inside outside too hot

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous as always, but I think you need ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Fabulous as always, but I think you need to know what to get. We had the cold antipasto plate (cipollini onions are wonderful) and filet mignons which were delicious! Our friends had prime rib and chicken paisano which I don't think they were too crazy about. Our waiter, Carr, was delightful. We still highly recommend. I went back two days later around 2:00 to pick up some of those wonderful onions (arranged by Carr), and I have to say making a late lunch date there might be a winner - lots of parking, not too crowded, staff still very pleasant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and service was outstanding. Despit ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Food and service was outstanding. Despite reservations well in advance, we were seated at the worst table in the place. Right at the intersection of the kitchen, bar and a parade of guests coming and going. Also the air flow was poor. We asked for another table, nothing available. Will return and hope for a better table.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was excellent. The ribeye, one ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The food was excellent. The ribeye, one of the best I have ever had.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent restaurant! Second year to go ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Excellent restaurant! Second year to go there and we will definitely be back next year.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Another enjoyable evening. Nicole, our w ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Another enjoyable evening. Nicole, our waitperson is excellent.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Steaks, Excellent Service, Delici ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Great Steaks, Excellent Service, Delicious Desserts

We dined there twice in one week while on vacation. It's that good!!!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a 2 person reservation at 9:15, w ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We had a 2 person reservation at 9:15, were seated in a large booth with a very crowded room. My complaint was that is was very stuffy and the carpet looked like it needed a good vacuuming, busy and lots of large groups that's fine. We moved to the bar which was empty, only to be joined by a trio of drunk and obnoxious young women, loud conversation and then proceeded to play their own iPod music at the bar! classy! The bartender knew them and should have told the group to turn off the iPhone music. I left immediately and my husband didnt t finish his drink nor did we eat our appetizers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Great service, (Dave)Great food, a littl ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Great service, (Dave)Great food, a little noisy, very very hot that night!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

We dined at FB's one night during our fa ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We dined at FB's one night during our family beach trip! Very courteous staff and the food was spot on! we will be back next year at least once for sure!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Outstanding food and service. Our party ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Outstanding food and service. Our party of six was visiting HHI and we will definitely go back on future trips to the island.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

My husband and I had been told to go to ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

My husband and I had been told to go to Frankie Bones, I guess I should have asked for what. The only good thing was the bread and our server told us that came from New Yotk. My husband had the veal parm and it was barely edible. He was so annoyed after we left that he had not complained. I had the salmon and goat cheese salad. It was good but the portion was small.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

On vacation. Went for birthday dinner. ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

On vacation. Went for birthday dinner. The food was excellent and we had a great time.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always, the food was good and the ser ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

As always, the food was good and the service good also. I was disappointed, though, that they didn't have mussels this time. I order them every time I'm there as an appetizer. They are the best! Also, I love that you can make a reservation and almost always are seated immediately even when there are a lot of people waiting.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent food, Great service, Killer de ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Excellent food, Great service, Killer desserts!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic experience, server was wonderf ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Fantastic experience, server was wonderful with our eleven and eight year old daughters. Wonderful entrees, well-made cocktails, meal paced well. A great job all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Extremely attentive, friendly and engagi ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Extremely attentive, friendly and engaging waiter. He really help make the evening enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

ALWAYS the best and on their game! We a ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

ALWAYS the best and on their game! We are never disappointed.....and thank you for our celebratory piece of cheesecake, Frankie Bones!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very accommodating seating us quickly ev ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Very accommodating seating us quickly even though it was our mistake entering the wrong date for our reservation.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We have been many times NEVER disappoin ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We have been many times NEVER disappointed. I recommended it to two families at pool today . Make a reservation

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I visited Frankie Bones for ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

My wife and I visited Frankie Bones for a date night on vacation. I had been recommended by a family member and I had also read good reviews online. Unfortunately our experience was not a good one.

We had a 7:30 reservation but arrived very early. They offered to seat us early outside, but it was raining so we declined. They acted very irritated and both a hostess and a manager seemed displeased. We opted to keep our reservation and sit at the bar until our table was ready. The hostess said "it could be awhile" and handed us a pager. Nothing else was said.

Once we got to the bar, we were treated similarly by the bartender. When she learned we were waiting for a table she seemed perturbed and less interested in serving us, despite the fact that we immediately ordered drinks. While drinking our second round of drinks, the first hostess that had been very rude approached us and asked us to scoot to one side of the bar or another so that a group of people just coming in could sit together. I typically don't mind helping other people out, but the way she asked was rude and without tact.

We brushed off our first 3 or 4 bad encounters and tried to look forward to dinner. Once we were sat at our table, however, things didn't really change much. I even made an attempt early on to be very engaging and enthusiastic with our waitress. This didn't pay off. Our waitress was less than interested in our table. She stopped a total of 3 times at our table. When my wife asked for a recommendation about pasta, she only pointed her to her favorite steak on the menu.

Our food came out promptly and was very good. My ribeye was prepared well and the marinade was tasty. That being said, we were never checked on. We were not asked if we wanted to see a desert menu and had to request coffees.

We expected a lot going in based on reviews and recommendations. Maybe we just caught the perfect storm of awful on this particular evening, but I doubt I would give Frankie Bones a second shot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

As always, an excellent meal from the sa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

As always, an excellent meal from the salads to the entrées.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Excellent service. Food was delicious. G ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Excellent service. Food was delicious. Great full service bar loved the fried calamari and fried green tomatoes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Normally excellent but food was terrible ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Normally excellent but food was terrible. First time I've had to return a steak in a long time.

I will try again despite this experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

Excellent menu selection. Busy restauran ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Excellent menu selection. Busy restaurant but was set up for privacy. Very comfortable dining experience. Food was excellent. Very affordable kids menu. Excellent dessert options. Service was good. Could see management walking the restaurant to ensure service was timely. Food came out in a timely manner. Will definitely revisit on next trip.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Frankie Bones was excellent - as always. ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Frankie Bones was excellent - as always. One of our favorite spots when visiting HHI.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Returned to Frankie Bones again as we al ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Returned to Frankie Bones again as we always do....probably 5-6 times a year. Frankie Bones is a can't miss spot on Hilton Head. Great food, great service, wonderful ambiance, and best of all it's always fun. Love the low lighting and club feel. Enjoy the big high-backed maroon leather booths. This time we had a party of 7-----3 adults and 4 upper teens---everybody loved it. Recommend reservations days in advance, very popular, always busy.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A fun new place! We really enjoyed the w ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

A fun new place! We really enjoyed the wide variety of food options and fun environment! We will definitely be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Although food & service were their usual ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Although food & service were their usual good, the noise level was so bad that we just wanted to eat & get out.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.