Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 1.95mi
  3. Distance: 1.99mi
  4. Distance: 2.04mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 1.95mi
  3. Distance: 1.99mi
  4. Distance: 2.04mi

About Frankie Bones Restaurant & Lounge - Hilton Head Island

Frankie Bones Restaurant and Lounge
"Steaks, Chops, Seafood, and Martinis"



Step through the revolving door and into a swanky restaurant with all the style of the Rat Pack era. Big booths, soft lighting and snappy service will take you back to the 50's and 60's big city lounges of Chicago, Las Vegas and New York.
The huge Italian – American menu has something for everyone!
Hand cut steaks, chicken and veal dishes, fresh seafood, pastas,
flatbread pizzas, and house made desserts!
Serving lunch and dinner daily, and our fabulous Brunch every Sunday!

1301 Main St
Hilton Head Island, SC 29926
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American, Steak

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm;
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm;
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Merchant St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 682-4455

Website:
http://www.frankieboneshhi.com/

Catering:
Let the professional staff at Frankie Bones cater your next event! Call today for a catering consultation and custom proposal.

Parking Details:
Public Lot - Plenty of parking!!

Public Transit:
On Bus Line and Taxi Cab accessible.

Executive Chef:
Luke Lyons

Private Party Facilities:
Frankie Bones offers two private dining rooms, our lounge for groups of 8 - 14, and The Boardroom for groups up to 42.

Private Party Contact:
Phil LeClaire: (843) 682-4455

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Call us about our next Wine Dinner Event!

Frankie Bones Restaurant & Lounge - Hilton Head Island Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (57)
Special Occasion (56)
Casual (49)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (48)
Good for Anniversaries (45)
Worth the Drive (42)
Good for Birthdays (42)
Fun (38)
Comfort Food (34)
Bar Seating (33)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Good for Groups (31)
Great for Lunch (30)
Happy Hour (30)
Cozy (28)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Pre/post Theatre (25)
Romantic (25)
Hot Spot (23)
Authentic (21)
Notable Wine List (20)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Business Meals (18)
Great for Brunch (17)
Sunday Lunch (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Modern Decor (16)
Outstanding Value (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (16)
Private Room (14)
People Watching (12)
Local Ingredients (10)
Kid-friendly (9)
Great Beer (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Family Style (8)
Healthy (7)
Historic (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Seasonal (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Vegan (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Tapas (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Waterfront (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
Spicy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
1458 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined a day ago

I hate that 3 stars seems like a bad review. It was good, although maybe not quite worth the prices. Not a dining experience I will carry with me because it was so fabulous, however. It is a little annoying that despite having a reservation (at 7:45, mind you), I had to wait 10 minutes, and then was seated at a table in the bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 2 days ago

Awesome restaurant. We always eat here when in HHI. Great service and food. Highly recommend this one.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 3 days ago

This is a fantastic restaurant I would recommend it for all occasions.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 4 days ago

We visited Frankie Bones on May 20 for our tenth anniversary dinner. Should you decide to visit this restaurant, make reservations at LEAST 2-3 days in advance if at all possible, or your only availability will be at 9:00pm or later.

The staff was great. Our server did an excellent job. She was personable, had fun with us, and was able to take a joke or two as presented. She instructed us upfront that she had a trainee working with her, so there would be two of them serving us for our meal.

The food was out of this world great. I had the 8 oz. filet with whipped potatoes along with a cup of Lasagna soup (yes soup). My wife had the bone-in pork chop served on a bed of Gouda Mac-N-Cheese along with a salad. Both entrees, the salad, the soup, and side items were excellent. In fact, my wife said the pork chop was one of, if not the, best she's ever had.

Our only "complaint" (excluding the price, which we were aware of when made the reservation) was the amount of time it took to receive our entrees. From the time we sat down, it was only about 10-15 minutes until we got our salad, soup, and bread. As the evening went along, it was close to an hour before we received our entrees. As I said above, the food was excellent ... so that made the wait time before receiving it much more manageable.

Overall, we loved the experience, the food, the service, and the atmosphere. We would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for a great meal who doesn't mind the cost of having a great one. "You get what you pay for" with this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

We go every time we are in HH. Great service! Good value wine list.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

My wife's Beef Speidini was ordered cooked Med. Rare, but came out red and raw (these are small pieces of beef). After awhile locating our server, she sent it back to be cooked a little more; the server came back and told us it was receiving priority attention. About 20 or 25 minutes later, my wife had decided she didn't want it (or anything more) - we did have salads first, and I was just about done with my dinner (she helped a little), so when a manager showed up with the food and she said she didn't want it anymore - it was too late - he started to explain that it took time to bring it (the small pieces of beef) up to temperature, at which point I couldn't stand the BS anymore, and told him I can cook and if that meat had 5 minutes more heat it would be well done, mot med. rare. He turned on his heel and walked off, saying something I couldn't hear (I hate people who do that - don't have the guts to say something to your face), but I assume it wasn't nice. Anyway that's finished Frankie Bones for us - we had eaten there earlier and enjoyed it, but with a jerk for a manager like that, we will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 4 days ago

There were six of us for an anniversary dinner. We were lucky enough to arrive prior to 6:00 p.m. so got to take advantage of some "early dining" options including wine. Everyone seemed quite happy with their meals. 3 people had the Filet Oscar and 3 of us had the Schnitzel and everything looked and tasted great. Those Schnitzel's are HUGE so we took some home and heated them up along with breakfast the next day.
Our waitress was VERY GOOD and was training another at the same time but they kept up, were very quick, courteous and responsive. The menu is extensive so would definitely like to go back and try some of the other offerings.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

The coffee marinated rib eye steak was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was so-so.......menu was gigantic.....hard to do everything well

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

We enjoy Frankie Bones soooo much that we make sure we visit every time we come to Hilton Head. The food is delicious and if you use the Early Bird Menu you certainly receive great food at a bargain price!!! The service is always exceptional.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

We were there on 5/18 and had a wonderful dinner. We both chose a seafood combo plate which was prepared perfectly. Drinks were also good and the carrot cake a great choice for a shared desert. The service was attentive to perfection.
We hope your visit there is just as special as ours.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

Always good food and great service! It is my favorite Hilton Head dining place!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Great food. Great service. Excellent drinks. Good menu selections. Tiramisu is the best.
Great variety of steaks.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Our favorite place on HHI!!! Many choices and we love early bird wine and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Love the ambiance/decor. Service was prompt and attentive. Husband raved about his steak. Deviled crab stuffed shrimp scampi was delicious!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 15, 2017

This place is fabulous. We love it ever time we go.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Was seated in the back room at a table for four next to the service room. Very noisy and extremely busy as servers went by the table continuously. Service was slow; and waiter acknowledged and apologized for same. Food was good; but not exceptional nor unique.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We ate at Frankie Bones for Mother's Day. The food was good but not great. We had Prime Rib and Veal. Both were good but we wouldn't have the same meal again. That said, the menu is interesting and has a lot of appetizer and entrée options that I would consider in a future trip. Table service was excellent and I appreciated that.

Tags: Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Awesome food and drink options and great service! Love the restaurant decor, everyone was really nice and welcoming. We went to have dinner for Mothers Day and my mom received a Frankie Bones glass cup as a gift, I thought that was sweet!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Historic, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Happy Hour, Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Really fantastic Sunday Brunch. Everything, food, service etc was all spot on!

Tags: Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

A local institution! Interesting surroundings and excellent food and service. Always a winner!

Tags: Authentic, Great for Brunch, Fun, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

They got part of an order wrong so one of us ate while the other waited for the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 12, 2017

May 12, 2017

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Kiefe was an amazing!!!! He was very friendly and informative. Thank you so much

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 11, 2017

We had liver and onions! It was great! Also skinny fries good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Good time with friends, great food and service. We will definitely be back and would recommend to friends.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Food was great! Service was great! Even got a call before we arrived saying the table we requested would not be available in time for us to be seated at the time of our reservation. Given two choices; a later reservation or a different table. That was nice. At least they weren't scrambling when we got there trying to figure out where they were going to put us. Since we had guests we chose the different table which was a booth in the bar which is never conducive to dinner conversation and was even worse because it was Derby night. It was still a nice evening with good food.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great ambiance, great meal!!! Hope to be there with weather that will let us eat outside. We will be back!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Everything was great as always. We dine often for lunch and dinners. Happy with the place and service is always excellent.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Nice atmosphere, great food and attentive service. I ordered the tilapia almandine and my husband had veal parm. We were both very happy. Wedge salad was excellent. Wish I had room for dessert, there were great choices.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Very little offered for vegan or vegetarian. Early dining menu wasn't much of a deal. Didn't like that we were placed in a booth next to the kitchen especially at 4:00 when there were plenty of booths open and we had a reservation that they couldn't find. We did it thru open table. Not sure I would go back again.

Tags: Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Good menu selection - daily specials are always reasonable. Service always prompt and efficient.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Celebrated our anniversary here for the forth year in a row. Always great food, service, and atmosphere! Highly recommended!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Food was fabulous and everything was cooked to perfection.
A little on the noisy side, and the service was a little bit on the slow end, but we were
in no hurry, so was fine.

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 24, 2017

We enjoyed our dinner at Frankie Bones, however, unfortunately I was served the wrong entrée. As it turns out, the entrée that was served incorrectly was fine and I continued with my meal. I did not notify the manager of the arrow at the time because I did not want to get the server in trouble, in the mail that was served, was very good.… Just not what I ordered.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 21, 2017

On our annual golf outing we always go here for dinner which was a little disappointing this year. 2 of us had the veal piccata and the veal was tough. The manager did take one off the bill and said he would speak to the chef. The other interesting thing was the hostess walking around every 10 minutes checking on the progress of the every table and making notes on her clip board, felt like big brother was watching. I talked with her on her last trip, she was pleasant but I didn't see the need since there were many empty tables when we left. Will talk to the group and will probably go back next year.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Anniversary

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We enjoyed. Fantastic vacation getaway meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 17, 2017

When we arrived we were taken to be seated right next to the food galley and kitchen. There were other places to be seated and we asked to be seated elsewhere. They did that but they said they had plans for the other booths. Some booths sat empty the entire time we were there.
I find it embarrassing for us and the guests that we had with us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 17, 2017

We were in Hilton Head for the week, and this was the least impressive restaurant we ate at for the entire week. Poor food quality, and average ambience and service. Skip this place and go elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.