About Frankie Bones Restaurant & Lounge - Hilton Head Island

1301 Main St
Hilton Head Island, SC 29926
View Larger Map

Frankie Bones Restaurant and Lounge
"Steaks, Chops, Seafood, and Martinis"



Step through the revolving door and into a swanky restaurant with all the style of the Rat Pack era. Big booths, soft lighting and snappy service will take you back to the 50's and 60's big city lounges of Chicago, Las Vegas and New York.
The huge Italian – American menu has something for everyone!
Hand cut steaks, chicken and veal dishes, fresh seafood, pastas,
flatbread pizzas, and house made desserts!
Serving lunch and dinner daily, and our fabulous Brunch every Sunday!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American, Steak

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm;
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm;
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Merchant St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 682-4455

Website:
http://www.frankieboneshhi.com/

Catering:
Let the professional staff at Frankie Bones cater your next event! Call today for a catering consultation and custom proposal.

Parking Details:
Public Lot - Plenty of parking!!

Public Transit:
On Bus Line and Taxi Cab accessible.

Executive Chef:
Luke Lyons

Private Party Facilities:
Frankie Bones offers two private dining rooms, our lounge for groups of 8 - 14, and The Boardroom for groups up to 42.

Private Party Contact:
Phil LeClaire: 8436824455x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Call us about our next Wine Dinner Event!

Restaurant Photos

Meatball Sandwich - Frankie Bones Restaurant & Lounge - Hilton Head Island, Hilton Head Island, SC
Beer Battered Halibut - Frankie Bones Restaurant & Lounge - Hilton Head Island, Hilton Head Island, SC
Sauerkraut Balls - Frankie Bones Restaurant & Lounge - Hilton Head Island, Hilton Head Island, SC
P.E.I. Mussels - Frankie Bones Restaurant & Lounge - Hilton Head Island, Hilton Head Island, SC
Veal Parmigiana Sandwich - Frankie Bones Restaurant & Lounge - Hilton Head Island, Hilton Head Island, SC
Carrot Cake - Frankie Bones Restaurant & Lounge - Hilton Head Island, Hilton Head Island, SC
Veal Parmigiana - Frankie Bones Restaurant & Lounge - Hilton Head Island, Hilton Head Island, SC
Veal Saltimbocca - Frankie Bones Restaurant & Lounge - Hilton Head Island, Hilton Head Island, SC
Escargot - Frankie Bones Restaurant & Lounge - Hilton Head Island, Hilton Head Island, SC
Cheesecake - Frankie Bones Restaurant & Lounge - Hilton Head Island, Hilton Head Island, SC
Meatball Sliders - Frankie Bones Restaurant & Lounge - Hilton Head Island, Hilton Head Island, SC
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese - Frankie Bones Restaurant & Lounge - Hilton Head Island, Hilton Head Island, SC
Salmon and Goat Cheese Salad - Frankie Bones Restaurant & Lounge - Hilton Head Island, Hilton Head Island, SC
Bananas Fosters Cheesecake  - Frankie Bones Restaurant & Lounge - Hilton Head Island, Hilton Head Island, SC
Sauteed Chicken Breast Sandwich With Roasted Red Peppers, Arugula, Buffalo Mozzarella & Pesto - Frankie Bones Restaurant & Lounge - Hilton Head Island, Hilton Head Island, SC
lasagna - Frankie Bones Restaurant & Lounge - Hilton Head Island, Hilton Head Island, SC
Asparagus, Mushroom & Brie Cheese Omelette - Frankie Bones Restaurant & Lounge - Hilton Head Island, Hilton Head Island, SC
Mussels - Frankie Bones Restaurant & Lounge - Hilton Head Island, Hilton Head Island, SC
Housemade Pistachio Cannoli - Frankie Bones Restaurant & Lounge - Hilton Head Island, Hilton Head Island, SC
Penne with Chicken - Frankie Bones Restaurant & Lounge - Hilton Head Island, Hilton Head Island, SC
Pork Schnitzel - Frankie Bones Restaurant & Lounge - Hilton Head Island, Hilton Head Island, SC
Chicken & Roasted Red Pepper Flatbread - Frankie Bones Restaurant & Lounge - Hilton Head Island, Hilton Head Island, SC
Mini Version Our Famous Crabcake - Frankie Bones Restaurant & Lounge - Hilton Head Island, Hilton Head Island, SC
s'mores - Frankie Bones Restaurant & Lounge - Hilton Head Island, Hilton Head Island, SC
Double Cut Pork Chop - Frankie Bones Restaurant & Lounge - Hilton Head Island, Hilton Head Island, SC

Frankie Bones Restaurant & Lounge - Hilton Head Island Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Hilton Head
Best Restaurants in Hilton Head ›

Special Occasion (44)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Good for Birthdays (28)
See All
Casual (26)
Worth the Drive (24)
Good for Groups (24)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Good for a Date (20)
Bar Seating (17)
Hot Spot (17)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Comfort Food (16)
Outstanding Value (16)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Great for Lunch (14)
Romantic (13)
Happy Hour (12)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Business Meals (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Kid-friendly (9)
Authentic (9)
Cozy (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Family Style (7)
Fun (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Private Room (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Modern Decor (5)
People Watching (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Healthy (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great Beer (2)
Seasonal (2)
Live Music (1)
Vegan (1)
Historic (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Live Sports (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Dancing (1)
Spicy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
1243 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Once again, an excellent meal, excellent ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 2 days ago

Once again, an excellent meal, excellent service. Everyone needs to try it once.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We patronize Frankie Bones often and fou ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We patronize Frankie Bones often and found that their food is consistent and well prepared. My wife has celiac disease and cannot have gluten but the gluten free menu was helpful. There are several choices however, the dish she had was just ok. (Spaghetti squash prima vera) she did order a side of marinara sauce to enhance the flavor. My meal was excellent, as usual.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a pleasant experience at Frankie ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Always a pleasant experience at Frankie Bones.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great food and atmosphere!

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Great food and atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wouldn't miss dining at least once on ou ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Wouldn't miss dining at least once on our yearly trip to Hilton head! We love this place. Second choice is wiseguys!

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Dancing, Quick Bite, Spicy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for Thanksgiving and everything was ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Went for Thanksgiving and everything was excellent. I had prime rib which was cooked exactly the way I wanted. My husband had the turkey. He also enjoyed his. We will definitely return.

Tags: Bar Seating, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Had an excellent Thanksgiving meal. Wou ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Had an excellent Thanksgiving meal. Would not hesitate to return again, when I'm in the area.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is a great place with great food, s ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 23, 2016

This is a great place with great food, service and decor. Consistent in the 15 times I have eaten there.... not cheap by any means but it is all about value not price.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My server was very knowledgeable and sta ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 23, 2016

My server was very knowledgeable and staged the meal well. We very much enjoyed the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is pretty standard for t ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on November 21, 2016

This restaurant is pretty standard for the SERG chain. Consistent food and service, nice atmosphere, island pricing. We had a good meal, but nothing outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We always enjoyed Frankie Bones. The foo ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We always enjoyed Frankie Bones. The food is amazing and the service is excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Both of us had steak and it was cooked p ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Both of us had steak and it was cooked perfectly the way we requested and our server was very attentive. We went for our anniversary and could have picked a more upscale restaurant but picked Frankie Bones because we have never had a bad meal there. The bar area and restaurant are always lively and a very popular place. We had drinks at the bar until our table was ready and people were friendly and we had a good time on the Friday night we were there. We got the pumpkin cheese cake to go and it was delicious. You can't go wrong at Frankie Bones.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Outstanding food, service and comfortabl ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Outstanding food, service and comfortable. Frankie Bones is the kind of restaurant that you would love to have your spouse of friends share a meal. The food is remarkably good. I had the cheeseburger potato soup which was excellent and their signature rib eye steak. This is my new favorite restaurant on Hilton Head Island.

Tags: Happy Hour, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice restaurant. Great decor. Ni ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Very nice restaurant. Great decor. Nicely prepared meals. The seating wasn't the best and the service was a little lackluster.

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Great food! Service somewhat slow, howe ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Great food! Service somewhat slow, however that is not typical.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Excellent service. Food was well presen ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Excellent service. Food was well presented and hot when it arrived at the table. Seafood trio was enjoyed by two of our party, crab cakes by another and veal parmigiana by another. Everyone enjoyed their meal. Food tasted great. Service was not rushed and our server was engaging and professional. Well done Frankie Bones !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Our first time at the restaurant & our l ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Our first time at the restaurant & our last. How disappointing to go to an Italian restaurant & order a typical dish (veal parmesian) & have the veal come out so burnt that it can be seen without trying. There is no way the waiter could not see how burnt it was. We sent it back immediately & another was brought out. I understand the veal being flattened out to the width of a pancake. However, the veal had quite a bit of grizzle. Take the time to remove the grizzle & serve a few smaller pieces instead. The sauce was watery & lacked flavor. A shame for such a beautiful restaurant. There are too many other good Italian restaurants to bother giving them a second chance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

The chef had an off-night. We have freq ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The chef had an off-night. We have frequented FB's numerous times and our expectations are established. This visit was anything but what we have found to be consistent. The bisque special was overpowered with sherry and the Cod Savannah lacked in quality. Though the sauce was rich and flavorful it wasn't able to mask the age of the fish. The beet salad was superb, the swordfish and prime rib were good as always, and the service was outstanding. We requested to sit in the Board Room which is usually quieter but regrettably two large parties were also seated in the same space. We were still able to hold our own conversation, just a lot of energy in the room.

Tags: Casual, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

My husband and I dined with another coup ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 12, 2016

My husband and I dined with another couple. The men both has strip steaks which they said were excellent. Steaks at this restaurant are consistently of excellent quality. The service was also excellent. I had the special, char-grilled swordfish. Unfortunately the swordfish was served over butter nut squash risotto and the risotto was so salty that it overpowered the taste of the swordfish. We will still return to this restaurant, but I will be careful to substitute potatoes if risotto comes with the meal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

As always just a great meal at reasonabl ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 12, 2016

As always just a great meal at reasonable price. Service is always super. Had out of town guests, they raved about Frankie Bones after dinner.

Tags: Business Meals, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As one who orders meatballs whenever the ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

As one who orders meatballs whenever they're on the menu, I was delighted with the spaghettini & meatballs...among the best I've had. Can't wait to get back to enjoy this dish again!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We had an excellent meal...friendly atmo ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 10, 2016

We had an excellent meal...friendly atmosphere....service great....and friends we were with - irreplaceable

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Get the Ribeye! I have eaten ribeye in r ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Get the Ribeye! I have eaten ribeye in restaurants all over the country, but this was unique and memorable! I always thought that John Q's in Cleveland had the best, but it has closed its doors, so this steak moves into my number one spot! The coffee rub on the outside, seared, and a medium, to medium rare interior made this a mouthwatering delight! The rest of the menu has many Italian American selections and my wife had the eggplant parmesan. Being Italian and an avid cook, we didn't expect much, but was surprised at the quality of the sauce, the light tasty coating, and the pile of cheese and pasta that made this a memorable dish! We will be bringing the whole family down in March and we will definitely fill this place! I realize there are some negative reviews, but trust me, this is a great restaurant, with great service (our server Morgan was terrific) and great food!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Glad we found this restaurant on our tri ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Glad we found this restaurant on our trip. We went there twice!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was not our first time at this rest ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 6, 2016

This was not our first time at this restaurant. I decided to try the Cannelloni. My wife had the Chicken Picata. Both were excellent. We have yet to be disappointed in the food or service.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Authentic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We brought a friend with us for her firs ...

 
 (London)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We brought a friend with us for her first visit. She was delighted with the drink and food selection.

Thanks for a great evening as usual.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant with a nice variety for ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Great restaurant with a nice variety for everyone. Food & service are excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Reliably good food at Frankie Bones. Lo ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Reliably good food at Frankie Bones. Love that they are on Open Table because it is difficult to get in without a reservation. It's always busy. We took my husband's mother for an early dinner this night, which is a great value.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Casual, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food and service was very good. Minor pr ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Food and service was very good. Minor problem with the wait time to be seated with our reservation that the staff and Manager handle very nicely to make it right, along with their sincerest apologies .

Tags: Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We have dined at Frankie Bones multiple ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We have dined at Frankie Bones multiple times over the years. The preparation and quality of the food is very good. Although the noise level is high, you can still have a business meeting or enjoyable conversation dinner in the restaurant. They are usually busy, so reservations are a must, and be prepared to wait a bit past your seating time. Cocktails are well made, and all chef selections have been delicious.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Authentic, Private Room, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I've eaten here before. Reservations are ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 29, 2016

I've eaten here before. Reservations are highly recommended as it's a very popular spot. I've yet to have less than stellar food or bad service. The drinks selections are very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were a group of 8 seated in the back ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 20, 2016

We were a group of 8 seated in the back room. Also in the room, separated into two tables, was a group of about 20 people, celebrating an event of some sort.

The noise was intolerable, and it spoiled my meal completely.

Tags: Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Another fantastic dinner never disappoin ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Another fantastic dinner never disappoints and service is always outstanding

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Quick Bite, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to Frankie Bones with my husband an ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Went to Frankie Bones with my husband and another couple for my birthday celebration. We were seated in a booth near the bar which was fine. Victoria was our server and did an excellent job. She was just the right amount of friendly and attentive. As usual, the food was excellent. The two guys chose from the Oktoberfest menu, I had shrimp scampi and my friend had the very tasty seafood chowder with a Cobb salad. There were no leftovers because we ate every delicious bite. Victoria presented me with a piece of the Black Forest cake which we all shared. A very pleasant experience was had by all.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ate at 6:30 and they were out of the ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 17, 2016

We ate at 6:30 and they were out of the speciality potato pancakes very disappointed.

Waiter didn't recommend a substitute. a little touristy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

We had a group of post Mathew survivors ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We had a group of post Mathew survivors from our neighborhood and were fortunate enough to have the private room. The Octoberfest menu was great and our server, Morgan was excellent!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Frankie Bones. We have never ha ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 14, 2016

We love Frankie Bones. We have never had a bad experience there. The only thing I will say is that my wife had gotten an email stating that the Serg Group was giving 25% discount on food until the 20th of October. We were not given that and didn't feel that we should have to ask.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We almost always have a nice evening whe ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 14, 2016

We almost always have a nice evening whether it is just the two of us or we are entertaining out of town friends or family. The "Community Support" coupon was a great idea since some of us had spent a lot of money during the evacuation.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Oktoberfest at Frankie Bones is great. S ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Oktoberfest at Frankie Bones is great. Size of Black Forest cake was unreal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

My steak was not warm and not tasty. Mys ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 1, 2016

My steak was not warm and not tasty. Mystified lobster was not warm. We,were not happy with our anniversary dinner. They did comp our wine which was appreciated.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.