Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details

Restaurants you may also like

ElementElement
(355)
Contemporary American | Soulard / Benton Park, Downtown
Reserve Now
SqWiresSqWires
(298)
Contemporary American | St. Louis, Downtown
Reserve Now
Eleven Eleven MississippiEleven Eleven Mississippi
(2316)
Californian | Soulard / Benton Park, Downtown
Reserve Now
Square One Brewery & DistillerySquare One Brewery & Distillery
(430)
Gastro Pub | Soulard / Benton Park, Downtown
Reserve Now
Vin de SetVin de Set
(2189)
Provencal | Soulard / Benton Park, Downtown
Reserve Now
Drunken Fish - Ballpark VillageDrunken Fish - Ballpark Village
(124)
Sushi | Downtown St. Louis, Downtown
Reserve Now
Anthony's BarAnthony's Bar
(65)
American | Downtown St. Louis, Downtown
Reserve Now
Bud Brew HouseBud Brew House
(88)
American | Downtown St. Louis, Downtown
Reserve Now
Mango Peruvian RestaurantMango Peruvian Restaurant
(992)
Peruvian | Downtown St. Louis, Downtown
Reserve Now
FOX Sports Midwest Live!FOX Sports Midwest Live!
(63)
American | Downtown St. Louis, Downtown
Reserve Now
Frazer's Restaurant & LoungeFrazer's Restaurant & Lounge
(48)
American | Soulard / Benton Park, Downtown
Reserve Now
Lombardo's TrattoriaLombardo's Trattoria
(171)
Italian | Downtown St. Louis, Downtown
Reserve Now
Cardinals NationCardinals Nation
(268)
American | Downtown St. Louis, Downtown
Reserve Now
Tony's - St. LouisTony's - St. Louis
(791)
Italian | St. Louis, Downtown
Reserve Now
Robust - DowntownRobust - Downtown
(65)
Contemporary American | Downtown St. Louis, Downtown
Reserve Now

About Franco

1535 South Eighth
St. Louis, MO 63104
View Larger Map

Franco offers classic, rustic French cuisine. We utilize only the best and freshest ingredients and support our local farmers as much as possible. Located in historic Soulard we are 20 feet away from the Soulard Farmers Market, the oldest market west of the Mississippi. Everyday our chef walks the market and changes the menu to incorporate the inspirational seasonal bounty he finds. Some of our favorites are Braised Lamb Shank, Steak Frites and Steamed Mussels.

Franco opened in late 2006 and received the honor of being named St. Louis Best New Restaurant by Sauce Magazine, The Riverfront Times, Alive Magazine and St. Louis Magazine.

The interior of the restaurant received an AIA design award. It is beautiful and elegant while staying approachable and inviting.

Franco has several different seating options with two private dining rooms, bar, and outdoor patio.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - Close

Cross Street:
Carroll Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 436-2500

Website:
http://www.eatatfranco.com/

Catering:
Franco is happy to work with any guest to create a menu specific to their needs while providing interesting and exciting new catering options, with a French influence.

Parking Details:
There is a 125 space lot directly across the street. During the day the lot is metered, but after 5:30 parking is free.

Public Transit:
Metrolink at Busch Stadium is only a 10 min walk north from us. This makes us an ideal place to eat real food before or after the game.

Executive Chef:
Jonathan Dreja

Private Party Facilities:
Franco has beautiful spaces to host your private events. We offer private Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Happy Hour and Cocktail Receptions for private groups of up to 200 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Event Coordinator: 8889273816

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Sweetbreads Roll With Foie Gras Mayo
Mussels
Pommes Frites
Grilled Bistro Steak
Bread and Butter
Pan-seared Scallops
Fall Harvest Salad
Sautéed Dumplings
Cod with Capers
Caesar Salad
Sauteed mushrooms and gnocchi
Mixed Greens
Steak And Frites
Cassoulet
Cast Iron Skillet Fried Chicken
Fresh Fig Salad
Chocolate Banana Bread Pudding With Caramel Ice Cream
Peanut Butter And Butter Jelly Semifreddo
Coq Au Biere
Foie Gras
Sweetbreads
Grilled Shrimp Salad
Champagne
Water
Pan-seared Scallops and whipped Potatoes
Seafood Stew
Poulet Confit
frog legs
Pig Ears
Squash Blossoms Stuffed With Brie
Roasted Beet Frisee Salad
Pork Chop
Duck Confit
Chocolate Tart
Cheese Plate
Martini
Bacon And Caramelized Onion Flatbread
Sort By:
Newest
957 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was a good run...

Dined on February 21, 2016

RIP Franco, you will me sorely missed. You were a favorite spot for special occasion dinners and fancy date nights. Your food was always superb, and the menu was always new and interesting. I'm glad we got to come in and say goodbye one more time!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place, sad to see it closing. Enj ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

Great place, sad to see it closing. Enjoyed the food as well as the paired wine. Sorry it took me so long to get in.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service3

Thank u for the years of dinners. the pl ...

Dined on February 19, 2016

Thank u for the years of dinners. the place will be missed. *Permanently Closed*

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So sad to see it go

Dined on February 16, 2016

Amazing food and service as always. We thoroughly enjoyed our final meal here and hope to see the staff at other local restaurants in the future. Thanks for the memories Franco!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always good

Dined on February 14, 2016

I knew I could count on Franco to deliver for Valentine's Day. Franco always got all our high holidays...birthdays, anniversaries etc. There will soon be a great void to fill. I'll return for a send off salute Saturday for steak and pomme frittes.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

the cassoulet and lamb shank make it a destination

Dined on February 14, 2016

Each time we have been to this restaurant the lamb shank is visually stunning and equally as tasty. This time one if also ordered the cassoulet (hard to find in STL). Both entrees were fantastic and priced extremely well. The service was friendly and efficient. We got home from dinner and I read they are closing this Saturday. STL is losing a wonderful date restaurant and Soulard will miss it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The lamb chop was great! Cork-fee of $15 ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

The lamb chop was great! Cork-fee of $15 was acceptable. Cheese platter was decient. Our waiter was great. Overall experience was good except waiting for 30 mins for our table.... our reservation was at 9pm and we sat down around 9:30pm....

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful Valentine dinner

Dined on February 13, 2016

Luke was very supportive with the choices- the food was delicious - ambiance exquisite -

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Restaurant now closed.

Dined on February 13, 2016

The restaurant is now closed, but IF it were open, I'd recommend going. Top notch food and service. I heard Franco's has another location, but the one we went to closed the week after we visited. Bummer. It was a good find.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Lamb shank excellent.

Dined on February 13, 2016

Lamb, salad, french onion soup. nand creme brule very good. Steak though was way undercooked than ordered and was tough to cut. chicken was kind of bland. was expecting better for premium cost. Wine list was excellent as well as service aand ambiance.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A bit of France

Dined on February 4, 2016

When you feel like a quiet meal reminiscent of a small place in central France, you can rely upon Franco. We have been going here about ten years, a few times a year, and although they have gone through a few head chefs the food has been consistent. We enjoy sitting on a window ledge in the bar, with a bottle of cre'mant, a plate of white anchovies, and a cone of fries. On our last visit, Patti had the whole fish, a loup de mer, and it was very nicely cooked, well-boned, and tasty; it disappeared. During ball season, you can sit in the bar and watch the Cards game on the single tv in the upper southwest corner, if you choose the right seat. This is cool little place to go as a couple or to meet some friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Terrific

Dined on January 31, 2016

We came with a group and shared several appetizers and ordered various entrees. Each and every dish was amazing. There were varied dishes that had such depths of flavor and texture. All in our group enjoyed the evening and the effort put into every dish.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The menu offers many adventuresome dishe ...

Dined on January 31, 2016

The menu offers many adventuresome dishes. My husband and I were both delighted by our meal, both the choice of wines and the quality of preparation and presentation.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great food, great service

Dined on January 24, 2016

wife and i got caviar to start, then grilled strip steak and lamb shank for entrees. the it was a busy night and the service was fantastic. attentive, total knowledge of the menu and wine list, but unobtrusive. the strip was grilled perfectly (rare as requested), house made pasta with the lamb shank was just as good or better than stelina and pastaria. well worth the price for that service and quality of the meal. i've already recommended it to friends and will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite escape!

Dined on January 18, 2016

This is my husbands and I's favorite escape. It has a great ambiance, knowledgeable staff, excellent season option, locally sourced food and overall a great place to enjoy good company.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently Good

Dined on January 17, 2016

Franco is our spot for birthdays, anniversary and the like. Seasonal menu items. Excellent food, service and selection of wine. Definitely go again, next up Valentine's Day

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Not what it was...

Dined on January 17, 2016

Disappointing return to a previous favorite. Excellent service and ambiance, but less than wonderful dinner. Two trout entrees were very good, one cassoulet was not special and one lamb shanks dinner truly not good. App's of oysters and beet salads were just fine. Two out of three desserts were good - the homemade chocolate ice cream was a miss; great taste, but consistency told me it had been in the freezer too long. Too expensive not to be better. Generally not the top notch cuisine of prior visits, but I would return for more of the good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simple But Elegant

vip
Dined on January 17, 2016

I returned to one of our favorite restaurants in St Louis and enjoyed the understated beauty of the space and the simple but elegant presentation of the bistro dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

delicious, well-made food

Dined on January 15, 2016

Four of us had a perfect dinner with exceptionally well made, fragrant and delicious fare, accompanied by an excellent pinot noir. Very friendly service in interesting, elegant decor. We will return soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

This Resteraurt, Francos is always wonde ...

Dined on January 5, 2016

This Resteraurt, Francos is always wonderful and delightful it my favourite and my wife's favorite as well.Thank you.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

More French Countryside then Fine Dinning

Dined on December 29, 2015

Nice portions and hearty meals! We all tried something different and thought it was all very good. Not blown away, but very solid meal and nice night!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Soulard's best

vip
Dined on December 29, 2015

Franco is a wonderful bistro. Starters such as scallops, faux graux, onion soup and more all are terrific. Great salads too. Hard to decide on dinners as so many are great. Lamb shanks, steaks, trout, other fish and many more are all good. So good, we are making our second visit this week!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A GREAT find!

Dined on December 24, 2015

A friend recommended this place for us to take our parents for their Christmas dinner. Wow, was this place ever so amazing. The food is authentic French food and very rich and vibrant. They were offering a special for snapper that everyone ordered and absolutely loved it. The server told us their seafood is fresh everyday. I had the roasted chicken and it was so moist and tasty. This is a wonderful place to bring on a special occasion or date night.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

from Illinois

Dined on December 13, 2015

Very convenient on-off interstate! Parking across street. Staff knows their business and were attentive but not overly so. Menu had some never tried that before items which were amazing! Overall the kind of place those who want a dining experience, without shocking prices, are always looking for.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4

New Find

vip
Dined on December 5, 2015

I have seen this restaurant many times, but never heard anyone that had been there. One of the best ever, the food was just outstanding. We will be back, and back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food

Dined on November 27, 2015

I took my daughters for a special occasion. We each had great food and enjoyed the service and ambience greatly.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved it!

Dined on November 22, 2015

We had a date night at Franco, first time here and it was great! Brandon was a terrific server and they had one of the best cheese and charcuterie boards I have ever had! The mussels were amazing as was the steak! Can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great French Food

vip
Dined on November 21, 2015

The food is always great here, as is the service and the ambience. It is always a pleasure.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Lovely

Dined on November 21, 2015

Franco was great. I took my fiancé there to get away from the wedding planning and we really enjoyed ourselves and the food. We had the scallops which were delicious. Great wine menu. Excellent selection for the price.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Linda Lou

Dined on November 14, 2015

Our server, Brandan, was very attentive and knowledgeable about the menu. The meal was delicious and the overall experience was delightful. We look forward to returning.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

FRANCO IS FINE

Dined on November 14, 2015

We've visited Franco's many times and have never been disapointed. Very good food, very good service and an ambiance for romance, special occasions or just fine dining with friends. Tables are spaced perfectly for privacy. Window seats are fun. Somewhat of a limited menu but all items are wonderful. Great wine selection

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently satisfies

vip
Dined on November 3, 2015

We come back regularly and always enjoy the superb quality of classic French dishes that are featured here. A comfortable place for business casual and formal affairs as well. Would find this a perfect place to entertain business and professional guests.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Franco generally has nightly specials an ...

Dined on November 1, 2015

Franco generally has nightly specials and seasonal entrees. The cassoulet is terrific. But then, it's ALL good.

food5
ambience5
service5

We had three different courses each and ...

vip
Dined on October 27, 2015

We had three different courses each and it was all incredible. The loup de Mer was perfectly cooked and served over the best sweet corn and crawfish!! Our server was very knowledgable of the menu and perfectly attentive.

food3
ambience4
service4

Its the little things....

Dined on October 23, 2015

My wife and I live in different cities and were meeting in St. Louis for a long weekend together, a first time visit for both of us. We selected Franco based on a Group-on I purchased and the reviews of others. Our server Luke greeted us and recited the dinner / drink special for the evening (10/22), the smokey Bloody Mary sounded interesting so we each ordered one along with a French onion soup to share. My wife had the Oven Roasted Buttonwood Farms Chicken, I had the steak special offered that evening. The side of Brussels Sprouts (w/chorizo, roast garlic, Parmesan, in butter) sounded delicious so we ordered one of those to share as well. The soup was great, and the two dinner entrees were also quite good. Unfortunately the side dish, ordered was not cooked properly, with the majority still too firm to poke with your fork, so they were sent back. although we were feeling full, the Tahitian Vanilla Creme Brulee sounded so tasty we decided to split one for desert... the caramelized sugar crust was so hard it was difficult to break trough it with the spoon, in addition, it also had a very 'burnt' flavor. It was extremely disappointing, but after sending back the Brussels Sprouts we did not feel as though we could complain about this desert. What should have been a nice treat to top off the delicious dinner entrees ended up leaving a bad taste in our mouths in the end. In addition to that the drink specials were $2.00 more (each) on the bill than was quoted by our server, it was an "interesting" cocktail but certainly not worth $10.00 each... If we had it to do over, we would save the $26 for mediocre two cocktails & one burnt desert Honestly, we thought the room ambiance was very nice, our server, Luke, friendly and attentive, but we both felt we would probably not return when we visit the city next, nor could we really recommend it.

food5
ambience5
service4

The best restaurant in Soulard.

vip
Dined on October 18, 2015

Starters are great. Onion soup, scallops, faux gras, and main are wonderful too. Love lamb shanks, trout, fish of the day, chicken all are great.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding in every way

Dined on October 9, 2015

We had a delightful evening. The French Onion Soup was full of great flavor. The roasted beet salad looked and tasted great. The Seafood Stew and the baked chicken main courses tasted delicious. We would recommend Franco to anyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

A favorite spot

vip
Dined on September 28, 2015

We are never disappointed here. This is up-to-date classic French and you can expect freshly sourced ingredients, perfectly seasoned sauces, generous portions, wonderful homemade bread and desserts. The restaurant in historic building has a wide-open casual atmosphere but still manages to feel intimate and special. Two of the waitstaff we especially like are beyond-excellent; knowledgeable and attentive but never hovering. Fun cocktails and nice wine list; draft beer too. The menu changes with the seasons and we are always planning ahead to which delicious-sounding item we want to order "next time."

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4

Excellent Food, Modern Atmosphere

Dined on September 27, 2015

Everything was delicious, and the appetizers we ordered (scallops and steak and tuna tartare) were completely outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great!

Dined on September 16, 2015

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our evening. Great food and great atmosphere!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.