About Franck's

A hidden gem in the Knudsen`s Corner area of Holladay, Utah.

Franck`s is a casual fine dining restaurant set in a renovated old home with a warm, contemporary design. The dining room is small and cozy; it’s a friendly neighborhood "getaway". Franck`s menu may be described as American with a French flare. On the menu you will find classic American comfort food such as fried chicken, meatloaf, and steak as well as classic French dishes such as escargot, cheese fondue, etc.

At Franck`s our chef and his team prepares your meal as you watch him in our open kitchen and on our dining room `chef cam`! Franck`s sets a new standard for excellence in cuisine, service and ambiance at reasonable prices.

6263 S. Holladay Blvd
Salt Lake City, UT 84121
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm
Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
6200 South

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 274-6264

Website:
http://www.francksfood.com/

Entertainment:
Monthly Wine Dinners

Catering:
Please call for details.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Service

Executive Chef:
Robert Perkins

Private Party Facilities:
Please call for details.

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

Join Us the Easter Sunday for Brunch. Chef Perkins created a delightful pre-set 3 course brunch menu this Easter for you to enjoy from 10:00am - 2:00pm. Cost is $60 for adults and $30 for children under 12yrs old.

Franck's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (51)
Creative Cuisine (39)
Good for Anniversaries (39)
See All
Special Occasion (39)
Fit for Foodies (34)
Romantic (33)
Cozy (29)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Worth the Drive (24)
Fireplace (22)
Notable Wine List (20)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Local Ingredients (14)
Tasting Menu (13)
Business Meals (13)
Comfort Food (12)
Open Kitchen (11)
Authentic (11)
Casual (11)
Fun (10)
Healthy (9)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Seasonal (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
People Watching (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Scenic View (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Organic (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Spicy (1)
Family Style (1)
Vegan (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Historic (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
1457 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We have been to Franck's twice now and can't wait to go back. Always delicious and creative dishes. We are never disappointed. It's not cheap, but I feel the value for the experience is very good. The service is excellent with very attentive wait staff. The ambiance is casually elegant and small. The sound level allows you to have an intimate conversation with your dining companions. Very extensive wine list. Go! You will not be disappointed.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The vibe is casual but classy, the dining room is quiet enough to converse without straining ones voice. The menu is not extensive but uses fresh local ingredients. The roasted beet appetizer with honey goat cheese was beautiful and delicious. Our server was extremely knowledgeable about the menu but was also efficient and unobtrusive. Parking is convenient (all valet on the Saturday evening we were there). Our reserved table was ready when we arrived.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Once again, another perfectly lovely anniversary dinner, this time for our 22nd. Every aspect of our meal was beautifully prepared and a feast for the eyes and the mouth. Our server, Marla, was very attentive, but without hovering. We started with the Tomato Pie, which I highly recommend - I never knew tomatoes could taste like that! My husband followed that up with one of Chef Perkins' famous soups, an emulsion of cabbage-mustard and brie - simply divine! I ordered the House Salad with pickled zucchini and a delicious lime-cilantro dressing. Our entrees consisted of the Pork Belly for myself and the Beer Batter Salmon for my husband - perfectly cooked salmon and deliciously decadent pork belly! Although we had stuffed ourselves, we tried to save just enough room for dessert - the Carrot Cake for myself, unlike any Carrot Cake I've ever had, wrapped in a chocolate shell and layered with goat cheese frosting - while my husband stuck to his chocolate obsession and went for the Chocolate Tart, another five star dessert.

My husband and I had the good fortune to travel to France recently and dine at a Michelin Star restaurant, L'Axel, in Fontainebleau, and while our 9-course meal there was magical in every way, I would put Franck's just a bit higher in terms of flavor profiles, creativity, presentation, overall atmosphere and service.

Truly, this is the best of Utah - worth every single penny and an experience not to be missed!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Wonderful meal with excellent service , could not fault anything about this Restaurant

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 17, 2017

The only thing I would have wished for is for the restaurant to serve bread with the meal. Other than that, everything was excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Franck's is amazing! Delicious options for a new dinner experience!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Wonderful meal! Every dish was thoroughly enjoyed. Service was friendly but not intrusive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Excellent food. Great service. Reasonable price.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 15, 2017

This was our fifty-fourth time for 'Tasting Tuesday' at Franck's. Okay, so that's only an estimate but I'll bet it's close. We've been doing it for three years, as often as our schedule permits. Robert Perkins is the head chef at Franck's and his culinary inventions are the primary reason for our loyalty.....but there are plenty of others. An attentive and knowledgeable wait staff (special mention for Wendy, David & Marla) compliments an attractive exterior, a cozy dining area, 'next to the door' parking and one more: Mike, the manager, will make sure you depart with a smile on your face that will last all the way home. This has been our favorite restaurant for over three years. Our recommendation is unequivocal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great, intimate atmosphere. Food never disappoints.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Took some friends for a nice dinner. They had never been before but loved it as much as we did. Definitely will keep coming back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 12, 2017

I have talked about Franck's to my close friends and finally got them there for my birthday dinner. The food was spectacular just as I had promised them. Our reservation was for 6:00 p.m. and the restaurant filled up quickly. This caused the service to slow way down. In fact, I didn't think we were going to get our dessert. One of my friends commented that the manager visited every table, but our table. I am not sure why. Because of this, I recommend going to Franck's during non busy times (if there is such a thing).

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Dinner was great. The fried chicken and meatloaf were yummy. Exhaustive wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Always consistently high service with a unique variety of ever changing menu item. Definitely my "go to" restaurant. Make sure you always order the soup of the day ... amazing.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Great food and service. Really nice to see good restaurants like this opening up around Utah.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Franck's is the most creative and constantly delicious restaurant in Utah. We have yet to have anything less than a stellar expirience. Tasting Tuesdays are such a fun way to try all of Chef Perkins creations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Amazing as always. We just put our stomach in the chef's hands, and we are never disappointed.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We wanted to try a new place, so went to Franck's with another couple. The noise level was a bit too much for having a relaxing conversation. The food was presented beautifully, and the flavor combinations were very creative. We enjoyed the food, and the atmosphere was nice, so we'll go back, but we'll just expect our conversation to be more invigorated and loud.

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The best place to eat in Utah

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Brussel sprout starter was amazing! Spicy creamsicle soup was surprising. Battered salmon was excellent. Chocolate & peanut dessert was just right. Service and ambience were nice, but comfortable. Great all around!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The best food ever, you have to get the crispy Brussels sprouts, even if you hate them... no seriously! The fried chicken was the best I have ever had, no really!! Mickel was an amazing server and we will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Best restaurant in the valley; best tasting menu (Tuesday); best wait staff. For those of you who like Loghaven, you'll like Franck's intimacy, warm interior, and convenient parking. As 'foodies' Franck's is our favorite restaurant and has been for almost four years. Can't recommend this place highly enough.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Amazing food with service to match. Try the Brussels & meatloaf, you won't be disappointed. The soup was delightful as well. We really enjoyed it.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We went here for my husbands birthday. We received a gift card and a recommendation to try the Brussels sprouts and meatloaf. We ordered both. The brussel sprouts were amazing! One of those life changing foods! The meatloaf was very flavorful and very rich. It did however lack in texture, but it was a very good entree. We saved room for dessert and we were slightly disappointed. We ordered the chocolate peanut butter dessert and it was okay. The flavors were all subtle and nothing stood out or really played off each other. It's a romantic environment with very attentive staff. Our overall experience was very positive. I would highly recommend this restaurant. Everyone needs to try these brussel sprouts!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Disappointed. Haven't been to Frank's for many years due to previous experience. Service by Mikael was superb. I had the Pork Shank which was excellent. The salad was terrible. The chef seems to try to complicate his flavors too much. The others in our party had the same feeling that the food was too complex with flavors that clashed.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Everything was just outstanding. The food is absolutely unique, delicious and beautiful. True artistry with food and tastes even better than it looks, if you can believe that! The only thing I would change is larger portion sizes, as even with a 5 course dinner was still on the verge of still being hungry, but perhaps that is just my "grew up poor" side showing, as I'm used to larger portion sizes. I will definitely be back though and hopefully soon! This place has me excited for more!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Fireplace, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My husband and I ate at Franck's for Valentine's Day, and we were very impressed with the whole evening. They did a 4 course set menu for $80, and it was worth every penny. Both of us commented how nice it was not to have to think about ordering and knowing that we would be getting a phenomenal meal. We even asked the chef after dinner if we could request a set menu on other occasions because it was such a nice touch for an evening. The food was all outstanding, courses came out at the perfect temperature, and the soup was mouth-wateringly delicious and creative, as always. Thank you for a wonderful evening to Chef Robert, Mike, and our server, David. You guys knocked it out of the park again, and we will be back!

Tags: Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food was beautiful and unique, yet WAY overpriced for what we received. I was shocked to be sitting on a bench-seat with other guests, in a boring dining room. There was no live music, no romantic atmosphere, and no choice of food received. For $250, we should have had privacy and entrees larger than finger food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was wonderful, drinks were not strong at all. I ordered a moscow mule and I could not taste the vodka whatsoever, didn't appreciate that it was $12 afterwards. I left a note on the reservation asked to be seated in a romantic spot and they stuck us by the hall where the cold draft went through. There was more seating available as well. So that part was probably the most irritating.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Our waiter (I believe his name was Mikel?) was outstanding, knowledgeable and kept the pace of dinner just perfect. The crispy brussels sprouts were genuinely the best I've ever had. Temperature and texture was perfect, flavor was tart, and just the right balance of sweet and salty. We did a soup course of a banana curry soup and they live up to their awards for delicious and unusual soup. Wagyu sirloin and scallops tataki for the main course. Simply delicious! Watching the kitchen staff prepare our meal was a fun touch. The wine suggestion was delicious. Dining room was small, & itimate but enough open space that we didn't feel on top of the other tables. Loved it here and we will be back!

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This restaurant was great in every way! Service was fantastic!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Fireplace, Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 9, 2017

I was first time in this beautiful place and I love it! The food is delicious, the service was very nice, I definitely recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 8, 2017

This was our second visit to Franck's....in 2017....we've actually been here dozens and dozens of times over the last four plus years and we have no intention of tinkering with that record. We're here every Tuesday that our schedule permits. Why Tuesday? Tuesday's Tasting Menu. Chef Robert Perkins does this amazing thing once a week. Four course tasting menu (Foodies will know what that is) including an unadvertised soup course. There are other 'tasting menus' in the valley. I've seen them as low as sixty dollars a person. Franck's is $35. In addition to this 'best deal in the valley', Franck's has a warm welcoming ambiance, a sensational wait and kitchen staff, and a parking lot thirty feet from the front door. Okay, I'm done!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Even better this time than the fine norm we have come to expect. Superb dishes, all three of our distinct choices. Creative menu and artistic presentations.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Delish food. Nice ambience. Surprising ingredients that seem to work.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The food was very well prepared. The dishes featured unique flavor combinations that made for an enjoyable culinary experience. The presentation was beautiful. Fun textures as well.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 3, 2017

The valet to start off was a really nice touch. Inside the restaurant it is really cozy with a fireplace and being able to watch your meal being prepped on a large tv inside the dining area. The food plated was really beautiful and ingredient combinations were really exciting. They do a limited number of burgers with a beer that you must mention in your reservation notes. I look forward to going back there just for that! Service was amazing!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fireplace, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Everytime we go there is a new menu item and it is always incredible. The soup--no matter what it is--always get it. It's sensational. Every. Single. Time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Tasting menu this week was exceptional from the 1st course to the last (dessert) - creative, unique blend of ingredients, different flavors and textures, and ultimately very, very satisfying. After all these years, this place still delivers great cuisine!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Service wa great. Marla was terrific. Food was excellent. A real gem.

Tags: Historic, Casual, Authentic, Fun, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.