About Franck's

6263 S. Holladay Blvd
Salt Lake City, UT 84121
View Larger Map

A hidden gem in the Knudsen`s Corner area of Holladay, Utah.

Franck`s is a casual fine dining restaurant set in a renovated old home with a warm, contemporary design. The dining room is small and cozy; it’s a friendly neighborhood "getaway". Franck`s menu may be described as American with a French flare. On the menu you will find classic American comfort food such as fried chicken, meatloaf, and steak as well as classic French dishes such as escargot, cheese fondue, etc.

At Franck`s our chef and his team prepares your meal as you watch him in our open kitchen and on our dining room `chef cam`! Franck`s sets a new standard for excellence in cuisine, service and ambiance at reasonable prices.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm
Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
6200 South

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 274-6264

Website:
http://www.francksfood.com/

Entertainment:
Monthly Wine Dinners

Catering:
Please call for details.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Service

Executive Chef:
Robert Perkins

Private Party Facilities:
Please call for details.

Additional:
Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Join us for a special Father's Day Pre-Set 3 Course Brunch! Served from 10am-2pm. Cost is $45 per person and Children 12yrs and younger $27. Tax & Gratuity not Included.

Franck's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Utah
Best Food
Utah
Best Value
Utah
7 More
Notable Wine List
Utah
Best Overall
Salt Lake City
Best Food
Salt Lake City
Best Service
Salt Lake City
Best Value
Salt Lake City
Fit for Foodies
Salt Lake City
Notable Wine List
Salt Lake City
Best Restaurants in Holladay / Midvale / Sandy / Union ›

special occasion (83)
fit for foodies (74)
romantic (63)
See All
neighborhood gem (62)
notable wine list (40)
great for outdoor dining (24)
scenic view (18)
good for groups (15)
late-night find (8)
great for brunch (7)
hot spot (3)
great for lunch (2)
kid-friendly (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1233 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent as usual.

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

Excellent as usual.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still the overall best in the valley

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

You all have your favorite restaurants....and this is mine (ours). Tuesday's Tasting Menu is a revelation: best 'value', best variety, and best presentation. The wait staff is professional and attentive; Brian and Wendy are 'our' personal wait staff. Just kidding.....but only just. We have a chance to observe other staff during dinner but these two are our long-time favorites. The kitchen staff, led by head chef Robert Perkins, is exceptional. Mike, the maitre d keeps everything humming AND he's responsible for the gorgeous flowers in front of the restaurant entrance. This is a charming place that we can't recommend highly enough. BUT WE KEEP TRYING! LOL

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Phenomenal

Dined on May 13, 2016

My lady and I went there on a whim right before she took me to a show. I had been dying to try it, and it was the perfect time. We were the first ones there and had the patio all to ourselves. The waiter was a riot, and the food was definitely worth the cost. We will go back again and again.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best meal here yet

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

I have dined here before and enjoyed it however this meal was exceptional. Our server, Wendy, remembered me and was top notch as before. A creative romaine "Cesar" salad was a good start but the fried chicken was one of the best entrees I have had in a very long time. They were able to provide two breast pieces. The coating was light and crisp with no grease and the meat was flavorful, juicy and tender. I enjoyed every bite. Will go back for more next time I am in Salt Lake area.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Expected more....

Dined on May 9, 2016

Went for Mother's Day Dinner. Menu was a price fixe deal, which I was not aware of, so you had no choices for any of the foods. Food was good (although not excellent as I was anticipating), and the proportions were quite small. While finer restaurants do typically serve smaller portions, this seemed even less than that standard. I heard very nice things about the establishment, and this was my first time there, having recently moved to Utah from the Midwest. I may give them another try, hoping that their full menu and service on a normal day will be much better than I experienced this past weekend.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place!

Dined on May 9, 2016

This was my first time going to Franck's. I absolutely loved it. The atmosphere was very nice and elegant! The food was absolutely to die for! I would recommend anyone who is thinking about trying this place to just do it, you will not regret it!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Went there for mother's day brunch. Fan ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Went there for mother's day brunch. Fantastic!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An amazing restaurant! This was my first ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

An amazing restaurant! This was my first visit and I was extremely pleased! Delicious food, wonderful service... The only regret I have is that I didn't order more!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious as always!

Dined on May 6, 2016

My friends took me here for my birthday dinner and it was delicious. I loved the brussel sprouts appetizer. We also had the beets as an appetizer and they were delightful. I had the weekly burger special and it was so incredible good. Yum. Never disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food

Dined on May 3, 2016

The food is always good. We especially love trying their soups - very creative.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience!

Dined on May 1, 2016

The presentation, selection, creativity, service, flavor and ambiance was outstanding. I have already recommended to a friend.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

BF loved the food, I thought it was horrible.

Dined on May 1, 2016

My boyfriend loved the good, I thought it was horrible. The bread was good anyway!

food5
ambience4
service5

Frequent diner always a pleasure.

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Frequent diner always a pleasure.

food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Ok experience, too small and too noisy

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

This was our first time at the restaurant. The ambience was good, though we thought the restaurant was very small with tables closely positioned. Unfortunately we had a very inconsiderate roudy people next to ours which made our experience less enjoyable. Our waiter was great but I didn't see what the whole fuss was about related to their "meat loaf". The food was ok. It wasn't fantastic. I much prefer Kimi's Chop and Oyster restaurant though. The thing that ruined it for us was the person who was clearing our table. All of us noticed his poor attitude whereby we had to point this out to our main waiter who was great. Our dessert took way to long. We waited and waited and it was not worth the wait. The custard cake was not moist and horrible. I'd not order any desserts from Franks for sure. My cocktail, which was some sort of a martini was way too sweet. It was then watered right down to correct its sweetness. There were hardly any alcohol in it. I felt that it was a waste of my money for sure.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love coming to Franks.

Dined on April 24, 2016

My wife and I have been coming to Franks for 7 years or so. It's our favorite place to go for special occasions. I don't think you can find another restaurant with food that enlightens your taste buds the way the food at Franks does. They do a fantastic job of making you feel appreciated. The manager comes over and say Hello every time we come. All the staff there are extremely nice. Like I said, we love coming to Franks.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

"I loved the relaxed feel of your establishment.

Dined on April 23, 2016

Service, food presentation and our waitress were excellent. The meatloaf was to die for and the Sea Bass was fantastic. My wife enjoyed the Salmon which was outstanding... Hats off the Franck's and Staff.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

Incredible food and service

Dined on April 20, 2016

I loved everything about Francks except the noise level. Delicious food, great service, wonderful location and dining room. Best food I have ever tasted! I just couldn't hear what my companion was saying.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First timers...but not last timers!

Dined on April 17, 2016

We feel lucky to have been able to make last-minute reservations and Francks last Saturday evening. Everything tasted great and we will definitely return!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Where does the 'excellence' end??

vip
Dined on April 13, 2016

Tuesday, April 12th. Ho hum....another boringly exceptional Tasting Menu - Starter: Diver Scallop, Aerated Chorizo, Clam chowder, Lemon Puree. Main: Surf and Turf on Toast - Grey Goose Battered White Shrimp, Fromage Blanc, Shaved Wagyu Sirloin. Dessert: Parmesan Creme Brulee, Tomato Jam, Vanilla Bean-Tomato Ice Cream. Oh......and lest we forget, there's always an unadvertised 'soup' course that was an ward-winner in a 2016 Utah competition and the most incredible combination of sweet and savory you'll ever taste in a soup. This is a 'Tuesday' only tasting menu, fellow diners. Different every week and always memorable. Franck's also offers a full traditional menu but we're stuck on this particular offering. Those of you familiar with Tuscany will know EXACTLY where Franck's is located: immediately to the south. Both restaurants share a patio and parking lot. Next time you're thinking of going to Tuscany, 'treat' yourself to Franck's instead.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Burger Thursday's

Dined on April 8, 2016

At first a little uncertain, I came away a big fan of Burger Thursday. An excellent Wagyu sirloin patty, creatively dressed and seasoned. Paired with a nice Epic MidMountain ale. If you want cheap, there is the Cottonbottom across the road. But if you want experience what a talented kitchen staff can do with the hamburger, this is a great place to visit on Thursdays. Warning...they DO sellout.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best 'deal' in the valley.......

vip
Dined on April 6, 2016

I'm referring to Tuesday's Tasting Menu: three superb courses plus an 'unadvertised' soup course. This week? a Corvina Sea Bass starter, a delicious sweet lemon soup, a Pork Belly Flauta main, and a Dulce de Leche Cheese Cake dessert. $30: as I said, the best deal in the valley and everything is prepared to perfection and presented in a way that will make you think that $30 must be a misquote. Oh, they have a full menu and everything we've tried at Franck's has been delicious but we're stuck on that Tasting Tuesday gig. BTW, we're also hooked on an excellent Pinot Noir by Meiomi in case that wine vintage appeals to you. For those of you who actually read these reviews you'll recognize the frequency of our visits to Franck's. That's no accident. There are many fine restaurants in the valley but this is our favorite.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great experience

Dined on April 2, 2016

If you have never been to Francks you are missing out! Some of the best food in Utah hands down, not your normal fare.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Food and service were great. Everyone ou ...

Dined on April 1, 2016

Food and service were great. Everyone out of four loved their dinner - all different entrees.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great restaurant

Dined on March 27, 2016

We have been to Franck's several times. The food, service, wine list, and location are all wonderful.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3

Nice Easter brunch.

Dined on March 27, 2016

Nice Easter brunch.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Easter Sunday

Dined on March 27, 2016

Their Easter four course brunch was a wonderful dining experience. Inventive and well executed...featuring some great locally-sourced items, and lovely use of salmon and brisket in featured elements. Capped with a marvelous dessert that reinvents old thoughts of tapioca. Too cool for outside dining...but soon. Suggestion to dining families: when there is a set, fixed menu...think about how your children will respond to what is offered, rather than asking the kitchen to go "off script"...

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter took special care of our birt ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Our waiter took special care of our birthday party of 6. He explained each entree and keep our wine glasses topped off. Consider buying your wine at the restaurant, they have a huge list....and they charge $20 for each corkage. Good was Devine, service impeccable, we will all. Be back, again!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Completely Reliable

Dined on March 25, 2016

Franck's burger Thursday is a great opportunity to dine lavishly and spend moderately. My wife and I order the burger sans bun, and don't miss the buns a bit. More broadly, Franck's is, in my view, among the world's best restaurants (and I've traveled extensively worldwide). If I have a criticism, it isn't about the quality of fare as much as about the escalating prices of special events. To be clear, Franck's wine maker dinners are a thing of rare beauty and epicurean delight. Recently, though, the per person cost (before tax and tip) have climbed north of $100. We like the occasional indulgence, but have experienced magnificent dining at Franck's for somewhat less than that. I'm disappointed that I've felt it appropriate to pass on such opportunities, and hope that diners less inclined to balk at those affairs will keep them taking place. The food and wine are brilliant, but at some point, which in my case Franck's has begun to cross, I have to decide good sense ought to prevail over hedonism. All of that said, Franck's restaurant is much more than special events. Items on the menu, as well as the wine list, will remind no one of even high end chain options (in terms of price, but more importantly in terms of quality). It is truly a culinary gem.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this amazing restaurant

Dined on March 20, 2016

Franck's is a hidden treasure of a restaurant. You need to find it! This place is special, like you stepped back in time a few decades to when people dressed up and dined. The garden entry is simple and quiet. Once inside, you realize you just walked into one of those places all your friends wish they knew about. The servers are friendly with great interest in finding the food you will enjoy the most. The food is designer comfort food, created by a Chef that knows how to feed all of your senses. It's gorgeous on the plate and delicious to taste. Love.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was amazing. We shared three appeti ...

Dined on March 18, 2016

Food was amazing. We shared three appetizers and then split a main course and a dessert. I love the fondue appetizer and the meatloaf is incredible. I've never had a bad meal at Franck's

food3
ambience1
service4
value2

Never Again

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

Franck's is the noisiest restaurant I've ever eaten at. It was loud and just flatly obnoxious. It was extremely hard to understand the waiter, although he was very pleasant and could sense the difficulty we had. The food was ok. We passed on the appetizers. All but one of them had a bunch of cheese and the other had candied nuts. That says something but I'm not quite sure what. Three of us had the Escolar and one had the pork shank. Nothing particularly special, but not bad dishes. We also passed on desert. Nothing was appealing to any of us. Great but very expensive wine list. We had glasses of the pairings offered on the menu, and perhaps that was the best part of the meal. I won't be returning. Too many other great places in this valley.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Happy 44th Birthday

Dined on March 10, 2016

My husband and I don't eat out much, because I cook a lot. We are very particular where we eat out as well. We have had some negative experiences with fine dining places and feel we don't get our "bang for our buck". Franck's has restored our faith in dining. From now on, we consider ourselves regular customers and recommend Franck's to all of our friends and family. The food is amazing and "Biscuit" presents his dishes well. The wait staff is extremely friendly, attentive, and knowledgable about the menu. I am grateful that my husband met me at the door all dressed up and suggested that we finally try Franck's, because we had been wanting to try it.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still the best......

vip
Dined on March 9, 2016

See my other two hundred fifty thousand reviews of this restaurant to get an idea of how Pam and I feel about Franck's. Okay...it's not two hundred and fifty thousand....but it's a lot! This continues to be our favorite restaurant in the valley and Tuesday's Tasting Menu continues to be our choice once there. Chef Robert Perkins is indeed gifted and he's backed up by an excellent kitchen staff. The servers are outstanding with Brian and Wendy getting special mention. Mike, the excellent Maitre D, tops it all off. This is a private residence that has been turned into a dining delight. Can't recommend it highly enough.....but we keep trying!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tuesday Tasting at Franck's...Superb

Dined on March 9, 2016

Tried our first Tuesday Tasting on March 8th to celebrate a birthday. It will not be our last! The food was delicious, creative, wonderful. The wine pairings were perfect. Our servers could not have been better, professional, friendly, attentive (without hovering). An overall delightful experience. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3

Since Franck left the restaurant severa ...

vip
Dined on March 5, 2016

Since Franck left the restaurant several years ago, the food has not been as good. We ordered 2 appetizers and 2 entrees. Two of them were over salted and the Brussels sprouts had too much balsamic vinegar on them. A little goes a long way! $20 for wine corkage is a bit much. This isn't Park City!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They just want to make you very happy

Dined on March 4, 2016

We eat at this neighborhood gem pretty often. Why? They just want to do everything possible to ensure you have a good time. The food is consistently excellent, wait staff is great and the manager really cares about delivering a really good experience. We are so fortunate to have this restaurant close to our home.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ho hum.............(NOT)

vip
Dined on March 2, 2016

Anybody who actually 'reads' Open Table reviews know three things: we have a 'lot' of reviews for this restaurant, every one is positive, and we're big fans of Tuesday's Tasting menu. We've recommended Franck's to a dozen couples over the years and there's one common theme in their replies: we had no idea where this restaurant 'IS' - SO... almost everyone in the valley knows where Mark Eaton's 'Tuscany' restaurant is and Franck's is immediately south of Tuscany; in fact they share the same parking lot! Fans of Tuscany whom occasionally may like something 'other than' Italian should try this fine restaurant....now that you all know where Franck's IS! LOL

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The soup was AMAZING!!! Mushroom white ...

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

The soup was AMAZING!!! Mushroom white chocolate truffle?!? Sounds not great but was sensational. Love this place.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

PHENOMENAL!

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

Franck's was once again the best eating experience I have ever had in Salt Lake. The flavors, the inventiveness of what they are creating, seriously unprecedented in the city. A must experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really nice experience

Dined on February 27, 2016

My husband and I dined at Franck's last weekend. It was only my second visit to this restaurant and my husband's first. The first visit, we experienced a couple mishaps, (service oriented) nothing very bad, but was a little disappointing given what I had heard about the place. This visit was excellent in every way, so now I know they pay attention to detail and that our first visit was not the norm. It made me very happy to know that now we have a wonderful new choice for fabulous dining and will not hesitate to go back or recommend to friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.