About Franck's

6263 S. Holladay Blvd
Salt Lake City, UT 84121
View Larger Map

A hidden gem in the Knudsen`s Corner area of Holladay, Utah.

Franck`s is a casual fine dining restaurant set in a renovated old home with a warm, contemporary design. The dining room is small and cozy; it’s a friendly neighborhood "getaway". Franck`s menu may be described as American with a French flare. On the menu you will find classic American comfort food such as fried chicken, meatloaf, and steak as well as classic French dishes such as escargot, cheese fondue, etc.

At Franck`s our chef and his team prepares your meal as you watch him in our open kitchen and on our dining room `chef cam`! Franck`s sets a new standard for excellence in cuisine, service and ambiance at reasonable prices.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm
Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
6200 South

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 274-6264

Website:
http://www.francksfood.com/

Entertainment:
Monthly Wine Dinners

Catering:
Please call for details.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Service

Executive Chef:
Robert Perkins

Private Party Facilities:
Please call for details.

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Franck's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (54)
Good for Anniversaries (47)
Romantic (39)
See All
Creative Cuisine (38)
Special Occasion (38)
Fit for Foodies (36)
Cozy (33)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Worth the Drive (27)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Fireplace (24)
Notable Wine List (24)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Business Meals (18)
Tasting Menu (18)
Local Ingredients (16)
Comfort Food (14)
Open Kitchen (13)
Authentic (11)
Fun (10)
Healthy (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Seasonal (8)
Casual (7)
Modern Decor (6)
People Watching (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Scenic View (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Organic (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Spicy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Vegan (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Historic (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
1434 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Amazing food with service to match. Try ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 3 days ago

Amazing food with service to match. Try the Brussels & meatloaf, you won't be disappointed. The soup was delightful as well. We really enjoyed it.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went here for my husbands birthday. W ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 3 days ago

We went here for my husbands birthday. We received a gift card and a recommendation to try the Brussels sprouts and meatloaf. We ordered both. The brussel sprouts were amazing! One of those life changing foods! The meatloaf was very flavorful and very rich. It did however lack in texture, but it was a very good entree. We saved room for dessert and we were slightly disappointed. We ordered the chocolate peanut butter dessert and it was okay. The flavors were all subtle and nothing stood out or really played off each other. It's a romantic environment with very attentive staff. Our overall experience was very positive. I would highly recommend this restaurant. Everyone needs to try these brussel sprouts!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed. Haven't been to Frank's f ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 4 days ago

Disappointed. Haven't been to Frank's for many years due to previous experience. Service by Mikael was superb. I had the Pork Shank which was excellent. The salad was terrible. The chef seems to try to complicate his flavors too much. The others in our party had the same feeling that the food was too complex with flavors that clashed.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Everything was just outstanding. The foo ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 6 days ago

Everything was just outstanding. The food is absolutely unique, delicious and beautiful. True artistry with food and tastes even better than it looks, if you can believe that! The only thing I would change is larger portion sizes, as even with a 5 course dinner was still on the verge of still being hungry, but perhaps that is just my "grew up poor" side showing, as I'm used to larger portion sizes. I will definitely be back though and hopefully soon! This place has me excited for more!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Fireplace, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I ate at Franck's for Val ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 6 days ago

My husband and I ate at Franck's for Valentine's Day, and we were very impressed with the whole evening. They did a 4 course set menu for $80, and it was worth every penny. Both of us commented how nice it was not to have to think about ordering and knowing that we would be getting a phenomenal meal. We even asked the chef after dinner if we could request a set menu on other occasions because it was such a nice touch for an evening. The food was all outstanding, courses came out at the perfect temperature, and the soup was mouth-wateringly delicious and creative, as always. Thank you for a wonderful evening to Chef Robert, Mike, and our server, David. You guys knocked it out of the park again, and we will be back!

Tags: Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was wonderful, drinks were not stro ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was wonderful, drinks were not strong at all. I ordered a moscow mule and I could not taste the vodka whatsoever, didn't appreciate that it was $12 afterwards. I left a note on the reservation asked to be seated in a romantic spot and they stuck us by the hall where the cold draft went through. There was more seating available as well. So that part was probably the most irritating.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Our waiter (I believe his name was Mikel ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Our waiter (I believe his name was Mikel?) was outstanding, knowledgeable and kept the pace of dinner just perfect. The crispy brussels sprouts were genuinely the best I've ever had. Temperature and texture was perfect, flavor was tart, and just the right balance of sweet and salty. We did a soup course of a banana curry soup and they live up to their awards for delicious and unusual soup. Wagyu sirloin and scallops tataki for the main course. Simply delicious! Watching the kitchen staff prepare our meal was a fun touch. The wine suggestion was delicious. Dining room was small, & itimate but enough open space that we didn't feel on top of the other tables. Loved it here and we will be back!

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant was great in every way! ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This restaurant was great in every way! Service was fantastic!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Fireplace, Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was first time in this beautiful place ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 9, 2017

I was first time in this beautiful place and I love it! The food is delicious, the service was very nice, I definitely recommend this restaurant!

Tags: , Kid-friendly, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second visit to Franck's... ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 8, 2017

This was our second visit to Franck's....in 2017....we've actually been here dozens and dozens of times over the last four plus years and we have no intention of tinkering with that record. We're here every Tuesday that our schedule permits. Why Tuesday? Tuesday's Tasting Menu. Chef Robert Perkins does this amazing thing once a week. Four course tasting menu (Foodies will know what that is) including an unadvertised soup course. There are other 'tasting menus' in the valley. I've seen them as low as sixty dollars a person. Franck's is $35. In addition to this 'best deal in the valley', Franck's has a warm welcoming ambiance, a sensational wait and kitchen staff, and a parking lot thirty feet from the front door. Okay, I'm done!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Even better this time than the fine norm ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Even better this time than the fine norm we have come to expect. Superb dishes, all three of our distinct choices. Creative menu and artistic presentations.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Delish food. Nice ambience. Surprising i ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Delish food. Nice ambience. Surprising ingredients that seem to work.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very well prepared. The dis ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The food was very well prepared. The dishes featured unique flavor combinations that made for an enjoyable culinary experience. The presentation was beautiful. Fun textures as well.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The valet to start off was a really nice ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 3, 2017

The valet to start off was a really nice touch. Inside the restaurant it is really cozy with a fireplace and being able to watch your meal being prepped on a large tv inside the dining area. The food plated was really beautiful and ingredient combinations were really exciting. They do a limited number of burgers with a beer that you must mention in your reservation notes. I look forward to going back there just for that! Service was amazing!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fireplace, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Everytime we go there is a new menu item ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Everytime we go there is a new menu item and it is always incredible. The soup--no matter what it is--always get it. It's sensational. Every. Single. Time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Tasting menu this week was exceptional f ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Tasting menu this week was exceptional from the 1st course to the last (dessert) - creative, unique blend of ingredients, different flavors and textures, and ultimately very, very satisfying. After all these years, this place still delivers great cuisine!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Service wa great. Marla was terrific. Fo ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Service wa great. Marla was terrific. Food was excellent. A real gem.

Tags: Historic, Casual, Authentic, Fun, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant, a bit upscale. Menu ch ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great restaurant, a bit upscale. Menu changes every so often, so options vary. Our service was great. Take advantage of one of the appetizers.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been to Franck's before and enjo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 26, 2017

We have been to Franck's before and enjoy the restaurant. The staff is always friendly and helpful.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Franck's was perfect for our business di ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Franck's was perfect for our business dinner. The food was EXCELLENT and the atmosphere FANTASTIC!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every meal we have at Franck's is fantas ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Every meal we have at Franck's is fantastic. I swear the menu changes weekly, there is always something new to try but with plenty of classics on the menu as well. The braised golden beets with goat cheese panna cotta were excellent, along with the soup (a must have with every Franck's meal). The lamb belly was a new dish we tried tonight and was cooked perfectly. The wagu is always good and tonight wasn't any different. Chinese mustard and pomegranate really went well with the outstandingly tender beef. Brown butter tart and miso pot de creme complimented out our perfect meal. Thanks as always for the excellent time Franck's, I'm sure we will see you in a couple of weeks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I decided to try Francis aft ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

My wife and I decided to try Francis after reading all the great reviews. I have to say we weren't disappointed. It was great. My only caution is while they do have a few gluten free items, they are very limited, there were only 2 entrees to choose from.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When we first walked in you could tell t ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 21, 2017

When we first walked in you could tell that it was warm and inviting!! Took my spouse on a date night and it was 100% worth it!! They have a real fireplace and very nice table set up. The waiter actually spent time with us and explained dishes to us and helped us find the perfect bottle of wine! He didn't try and just rush and get through it, it was very very classy. We will for sure be going back.

The food: I can't say OMG enough!! She had the Cod and I have the Pork Shank! PHENOMENAL!!! The meat melted off the bone and was so rich and tasty. Her Cod was a nice size piece too and she ranked it #1 food she's ever eaten at (#1 is in London, can't really beat that, I'm sorry)

But if you're going for a friends dinner, date night, special occasion, etc. This is 10000% the place to go!

The cost: prices weren't that bad compared to other places that give you a hamsters portion. The size of the food is worth the money you pay for it. Drinks are inexpensive as well, my suggestion if you like wine, ask the waiter what they recommend and order the bottle. It seems like a lot of money but when it $12 per glass getting a bottle and getting 3-4 glasses out of it makes that a great deal!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service from all staff members was e ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The service from all staff members was excellent. The fondue was amazing and the entrees lived up to their price. A very enjoyable evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We absolutely loved this place. It was s ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We absolutely loved this place. It was small and cozy. Our waiter was amazing!

Tags: People Watching, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best food in Utah! I felt like I was in ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Best food in Utah! I felt like I was in New York City. Excellent!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been very happy through the years ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 18, 2017

We've been very happy through the years of dining. Never been disappointed .

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Fun, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Franck's is our favorite restaurant and ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Franck's is our favorite restaurant and so long as Robert Perkins is the head chef, always will be. This unpretentious culinary wizard produces a weekly 'Tuesday Tasting Menu' that is four courses (including an unadvertised soup) that will have foodies coming back again and again. No, you don't get to 'choose' your meal - that's the job of the rest of the restaurant's full menu, but you DO get to enjoy one of the more memorable dining experiences most of us will ever have. Great presentation and amazing taste variety will have you talking about this place for a week.....so there has to be a 'catch', right?!! Tasting menus at other fine restaurants are pricey to say the least. Franck's will cost you $35. This IS the best deal in the valley...it's also the best food...and it 'happens' every Tuesday.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Easily the best in Utah!! We've been her ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Easily the best in Utah!! We've been here a number of times and always fails to disappoint!! Everything is an exploration into how to use spices in a new, different and delicious way. We'll be continuing to come back often.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just absolutely outstanding creative foo ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Just absolutely outstanding creative food! Can't wait to go back and enjoy another meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant with good food. Certain ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great restaurant with good food. Certainly not an every night dinner, but good for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had an out-of-town guest (who has tra ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 12, 2017

We had an out-of-town guest (who has traveled worldwide and eaten some of the finest restaurants in the world) and a mixed group of older adults and college-age adults. EVERYONE loved the food! We were seated near the screen where we could watch the kitchen and see our meals prepared. The service was fabulous and they were very kind when some of guests were 20 minutes late after our reservation. It's low key so people in jeans or people dressed up would feel welcome. The food is so fun because it is an adventure in dining with familiar items with new flavors. You won't break the bank for great food.

Tags: Disabled Access, Fireplace, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You will never be disappointed by anythi ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 6, 2017

You will never be disappointed by anything you order. The food is always delicious and beautifully presented. The intimate and cozy atmosphere makes dining a pleasure. The service is always great.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went to Franck's for our anniversary, ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went to Franck's for our anniversary, it was New Year's Eve so the menu was fixed and probably not what we would normally order. That being said we were aware of the menu and both interested in broadening our horizons - the food, service, and ambience were exceptional! We will definitely go back when we are in Salt Lake City. The chef is in fact a magician!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had been told numerous times to try F ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had been told numerous times to try Franck's and were excited to do so. We signed on for the New Year's Eve 5 course meal, and were sorely disappointed. While a couple dishes had great flavor and their ingredients were very fresh, the recipes were weird and the flavor combinations just trying way too hard to be something that didn't need to be. We'll go back and try again, but beware the expensive special occasion menu like this.

Tags: Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Never disappoints and always blows me aw ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Never disappoints and always blows me away with flavor combinations that I would never concoct.

Tags: Fireplace, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New Year's eve at Franck's: This was ou ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Year's eve at Franck's: This was our first time here for this particular event since our previous four New Year's Eves were spent at The Forage. THAT superb restaurant has closed. Having said that Pam and I are certainly no strangers to Franck's. We've been 'regulars' at Tuesday's Tasting Menu for over four years and Franck's continues to be our favorite restaurant. The head chef, Robert Perkins, is a big reason for that but he's backed up by a superb kitchen crew (loved that dessert, Angie!) and a talented wait staff (Wendy and David just to name two). Add a 'homey' interior with fireplace, great seasonal exterior and interior decorations, an attended parking lot fifty feet from the front door, a manager, Mike, that's always available to greet you, address special needs or answer questions...and you have a welcoming atmosphere that we consider to be the best in the valley. We'll be here next New Year's Eve as well. Before that, of course, we'll be her for twenty or so Tasting Tuesdays!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really great food. Try the meatloaf! T ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Really great food.

Try the meatloaf!

The unique soups are AMAZING!

The deserts devine!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Family Christmas dinner. The fo ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Amazing Family Christmas dinner. The food and service were perfect. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a fantastic experience at Franck' ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Always a fantastic experience at Franck's! There is nothing you can eat here that isn't amazing.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.