About Franck's

A hidden gem in the Knudsen`s Corner area of Holladay, Utah.

Franck`s is a casual fine dining restaurant set in a renovated old home with a warm, contemporary design. The dining room is small and cozy; it’s a friendly neighborhood "getaway". Franck`s menu may be described as American with a French flare. On the menu you will find classic American comfort food such as fried chicken, meatloaf, and steak as well as classic French dishes such as escargot, cheese fondue, etc.

At Franck`s our chef and his team prepares your meal as you watch him in our open kitchen and on our dining room `chef cam`! Franck`s sets a new standard for excellence in cuisine, service and ambiance at reasonable prices.

6263 S. Holladay Blvd
Salt Lake City, UT 84121
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm
Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
6200 South

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 274-6264

Website:
http://www.francksfood.com/

Entertainment:
Monthly Wine Dinners

Catering:
Please call for details.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Service

Executive Chef:
Robert Perkins

Private Party Facilities:
Please call for details.

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Lemongrass Coconut Fried Chicken - Franck's, Salt Lake City, UT
  • Spicy Cauliflower Butterscotch Soup - Franck's, Salt Lake City, UT
  • Seared Duck Breast  - Franck's, Salt Lake City, UT
  • Southern Fried Chicken - Franck's, Salt Lake City, UT
  • Pork Milanesa - Franck's, Salt Lake City, UT
  • Franck's Meatloaf - Franck's, Salt Lake City, UT
  • Escargot Provencial - Franck's, Salt Lake City, UT
  • sous vide steak - Franck's, Salt Lake City, UT

Report a photo problem

Lemongrass Coconut Fried Chicken - Franck's, Salt Lake City, UT
Spicy Cauliflower Butterscotch Soup - Franck's, Salt Lake City, UT
Seared Duck Breast  - Franck's, Salt Lake City, UT
Southern Fried Chicken - Franck's, Salt Lake City, UT
Pork Milanesa - Franck's, Salt Lake City, UT
Franck's Meatloaf - Franck's, Salt Lake City, UT
Escargot Provencial - Franck's, Salt Lake City, UT
sous vide steak - Franck's, Salt Lake City, UT

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Celebrate at Franck's with a special 4 course pre set menu on Valentine's Day. Cost is $80.00 per person tax and gratuity not included, Regular dining will not be available.
Reservations have a 72hr cancelation window. If needing to cancel before the window your card will not be charged.

Franck's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (37)
Good for Anniversaries (34)
Good for a Date (34)
See All
Fit for Foodies (33)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Romantic (25)
Cozy (23)
Notable Wine List (19)
Worth the Drive (18)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Local Ingredients (16)
Business Meals (15)
Open Kitchen (15)
Tasting Menu (13)
Comfort Food (12)
Fireplace (11)
Authentic (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Seasonal (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Healthy (7)
Fun (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Casual (6)
Scenic View (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Organic (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Historic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Spicy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1400 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great restaurant with good food. Certain ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 3 days ago

Great restaurant with good food. Certainly not an every night dinner, but good for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had an out-of-town guest (who has tra ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 5 days ago

We had an out-of-town guest (who has traveled worldwide and eaten some of the finest restaurants in the world) and a mixed group of older adults and college-age adults. EVERYONE loved the food! We were seated near the screen where we could watch the kitchen and see our meals prepared. The service was fabulous and they were very kind when some of guests were 20 minutes late after our reservation. It's low key so people in jeans or people dressed up would feel welcome. The food is so fun because it is an adventure in dining with familiar items with new flavors. You won't break the bank for great food.

Tags: Disabled Access, Fireplace, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You will never be disappointed by anythi ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 6, 2017

You will never be disappointed by anything you order. The food is always delicious and beautifully presented. The intimate and cozy atmosphere makes dining a pleasure. The service is always great.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went to Franck's for our anniversary, ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went to Franck's for our anniversary, it was New Year's Eve so the menu was fixed and probably not what we would normally order. That being said we were aware of the menu and both interested in broadening our horizons - the food, service, and ambience were exceptional! We will definitely go back when we are in Salt Lake City. The chef is in fact a magician!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had been told numerous times to try F ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had been told numerous times to try Franck's and were excited to do so. We signed on for the New Year's Eve 5 course meal, and were sorely disappointed. While a couple dishes had great flavor and their ingredients were very fresh, the recipes were weird and the flavor combinations just trying way too hard to be something that didn't need to be. We'll go back and try again, but beware the expensive special occasion menu like this.

Tags: Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Never disappoints and always blows me aw ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Never disappoints and always blows me away with flavor combinations that I would never concoct.

Tags: Fireplace, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New Year's eve at Franck's: This was ou ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Year's eve at Franck's: This was our first time here for this particular event since our previous four New Year's Eves were spent at The Forage. THAT superb restaurant has closed. Having said that Pam and I are certainly no strangers to Franck's. We've been 'regulars' at Tuesday's Tasting Menu for over four years and Franck's continues to be our favorite restaurant. The head chef, Robert Perkins, is a big reason for that but he's backed up by a superb kitchen crew (loved that dessert, Angie!) and a talented wait staff (Wendy and David just to name two). Add a 'homey' interior with fireplace, great seasonal exterior and interior decorations, an attended parking lot fifty feet from the front door, a manager, Mike, that's always available to greet you, address special needs or answer questions...and you have a welcoming atmosphere that we consider to be the best in the valley. We'll be here next New Year's Eve as well. Before that, of course, we'll be her for twenty or so Tasting Tuesdays!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really great food. Try the meatloaf! T ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Really great food.

Try the meatloaf!

The unique soups are AMAZING!

The deserts devine!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Family Christmas dinner. The fo ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Amazing Family Christmas dinner. The food and service were perfect. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a fantastic experience at Franck' ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Always a fantastic experience at Franck's! There is nothing you can eat here that isn't amazing.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We tried Francks for my daughter in laws ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We tried Francks for my daughter in laws Birthday and were extremely happy with the service and quality of our meals! Can't wait to return!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was amazing and service excepti ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The food was amazing and service exceptional! Highly recommend!

Tags: , Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a great dining experience. The ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 28, 2016

This was a great dining experience. The food was a good portion and very tasty. The menu was updated. The wait staff was attentive and intuitive. Drinks and tableware was replenished quickly. Furthermore the waiter recommended a wine similar to one we had earlier that was everything promised and the price point was similar. No gouging. All in all a fantastic culinary experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The crunchy brussell spouts are the best ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 21, 2016

The crunchy brussell spouts are the best! We had a great meal, and a great time visiting at this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the sous vide steack and the pear ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Loved the sous vide steack and the pear tart. Waitress knew her stuff , easy to find and park. Overall great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was amazing about this place. ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Everything was amazing about this place. The menu, the food, the ambiance and the staff were amazing. Ask for Wendy as you server!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Fun, Great for Brunch, Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Chef: Robert Perkins. Best tasting ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Best Chef: Robert Perkins. Best tasting menu: Tuesdays. Best 'value' for tasting menu: $35. Excellent wait staff and ambiance. This is our favorite restaurant on so many levels. They serve comfort food as well as eye popping variations. We're here as often as our schedule permits.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, , Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fabulous. My client said i ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 7, 2016

The food was fabulous. My client said it was the best steak that she has ever had, and she is from NY!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've only had a few dining experiences i ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 3, 2016

I've only had a few dining experiences in SLC that can compete (Valter's Osteria comes to mind, as does the now closed Cafe Fresca). Easily the best main course I've had in years, if not ever, and we eat out a ton and really, really love food. I ordered the fried chicken with the AMAZING sauce (regularly on the menu we were told), my spouse ordered the calamari steak with ham risotto and ham foam (not a regular on the menu), and both were just beyond words delicious. I will say the beets appetizer was only good, with the yogurt panna cotta and beet combo seeming a bit unbalanced, maybe missing some sweetness (I think a touch of honey and it would have been amazing, but as is it was simply good). But the entrees...I just can't wait to go back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food and service. Don't hesita ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Wonderful food and service. Don't hesitate to ask servers for suggestions and explanations. They are very helpful and knowledgable. Food is amazing. Meatloaf is a must have.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent choice by my business associat ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Excellent choice by my business associates... they had been there before and were very impressed. It met all expectations.

Great food, excellent wine list, and a terrific young man that was our waiter. We will come back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We've been here dozens of times for Tues ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We've been here dozens of times for Tuesday's Tasting menu but THIS week's visit to our favorite restaurant happened to be on a Saturday....so fried chicken and meat loaf it was!

Before I forget it, Franck's introduced a 'tomato pie' to their 'starter' menu within the last year and it's just impossible to do justice to that creation in my description here. Let's just say it's one of our favorite appetizers of all time.

Franck's is a little piece of dining heaven. Joined at the ownership hip with Tuscany - they even share a parking lot - Pam and I clearly prefer the more intimate setting at Franck's. Oh, and we also prefer the food. We both 'like' Tuscany but it doesn't have the 'flair' of a meal at Franck's. Robert Perkins is the head chef here and he is a treasure. He's supported by a talented kitchen and wait staff but it's Robert that makes Franck's unique. If he ever leaves I'm going to have to slit my wrists.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the first time I've eaten out f ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 24, 2016

This was the first time I've eaten out for Thanksgiving. Francks was exceptional, amazing value and great service.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Went for Thanksgiving. Amazing food, gre ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Went for Thanksgiving. Amazing food, great service and an overall great time.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once again, we had an exceptional meal. ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Once again, we had an exceptional meal. The soups are always a fun adventure. We will continue to be frequent diners.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great for a fun entertaining night! took ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great for a fun entertaining night! took my parents that had never been there and we were treated royally! wait staff is just awesome!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Marla is the best, she helps make the ex ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Marla is the best, she helps make the experience wonderful. The foods is outstanding, we so enjoy Mike and the staff. This is the best place for a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The Fondue is an awesome conversation ki ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 16, 2016

The Fondue is an awesome conversation kick-starter. The Brussels Sprouts were really unique and outstanding in that. The Lamb Shank is unctuous and sublime. Deserts worth hording. ~m

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I have been fortunate to have eaten at s ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 13, 2016

I have been fortunate to have eaten at some of the finest restaurants around. I would rank this in the top 3 - it was outstanding. The atmosphere is comfortable and intimidate but not overly fancy. The food and flavor and creativity are off the charts. Get the Francks speciality steak it is unbelievable!!! Would highly recommend you won't be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The fried Brussels sprouts were fantasti ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The fried Brussels sprouts were fantastic - as usual, and the unique soup was bowl-licklingly good. The fried chicken was tasty, with a perfect fried coating.

We were very disappointed with the Wagyu short ribs. Either the sauce or the meat itself had a flavor that seemed to be spoiled. It could have been an odd flavor profile, but it definitely smelled and tasted "off".

We have NEVER had one single item that we didn't love at Franck's - until now. We will be back because the service is always perfect - and the food usually is as well, but it may take awhile to forget that unfortunate taste.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was awesome as usual. We lov ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Everything was awesome as usual. We love this place. The food is excellent, the service is excellent and we love the ambience. Great place for a special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Delicious food with a unique flare in al ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Delicious food with a unique flare in almost every dish. The salad wasn't that great - just a baby romaine chopped in thirds with a fun dressing and sprinkled additions, but the brussel sprouts were amazing. And I don't even usually like brussel sprouts. The wagyu steak was also superb with a very subtle asian flare.

The atmosphere was quiet, at least when they first open. It was too cold to dine outside, but from what I saw it would be a very nice outdoor dining experience. The restaurant even has their own herb garden.

Expect to pay close to $100 for a couple, and that's without any wine. We will definitely be back some day to try their tasting menu and for future, special occasions.

Tags: Fireplace, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Franck's is a favorite for my husband an ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Franck's is a favorite for my husband and myself - we return over and over again. The food is always imaginative and wonderfully cooked and the staff is very knowledgeable and attentive.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the food and our server was very kn ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Love the food and our server was very knowledgable about each dish and the preparation. Very patient and our food was served at a great pace!

Tags: Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Fireplace, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

everything was pretty good specially the ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 5, 2016

everything was pretty good specially the dessert, great environment and pretty great service

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Good food, friendly staff, great experi ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Good food, friendly staff, great experience overall. Only thing that was slightly irritating is how long we waited to have our orders taken. The people before us got their orders taken before ours, and our waiter took quite some time to deliver just a Coke to our table. But hey, it happens and sometimes you forget things. Overall, I love Francks.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Every time we visit Franck's, we have a ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Every time we visit Franck's, we have a great experience. The food is creative and the presentation is beautiful. Always a huge fan of the meatloaf and Brussels sprouts which are things I would NEVER typically order OR eat!

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A little disappointed. Not the best tas ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 2, 2016

A little disappointed. Not the best tasting menu I have had at Francks. The tasting menu has increased in price from $30 to $35. Portions seemed smaller (entree was two small street tacos) $15 corkage fee is too high. Service was excellent as always.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

We celebrated our anniversary at Francks ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We celebrated our anniversary at Francks. The food was excellent and the service was fabulous. Our server was attentive without being intrusive. Very happy with our experience there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We hadn't been to Franck's in awhile and ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We hadn't been to Franck's in awhile and thought we'd go back. We were pretty disappointed, especially given previous experiences. Our waitress ("Jessica") was lackluster at best; this was made even more apparent by the clearly excellent service being provided by one of her colleagues ("Mikael") taking care of the tables around us. Our "Romaine" salad was not romaine but head lettuce. The special appetizer, an ahi poke, was chunks of clearly frozen, tasteless ahi in a watery sauce. The scallop entree with risotto was very good, but the salmon entree was about a 2 oz piece of fish, overcooked (not hard to understand, given how small/thin it was) in a unremarkable sauce.

We've had good meals at Franck's before (maybe we should have stuck with the staples: meatloaf and friend chicken), but for an "imaginative" restaurant, this was pretty lame.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.