About Franck's

A hidden gem in the Knudsen`s Corner area of Holladay, Utah.

Franck`s is a casual fine dining restaurant set in a renovated old home with a warm, contemporary design. The dining room is small and cozy; it’s a friendly neighborhood "getaway". Franck`s menu may be described as American with a French flare. On the menu you will find classic American comfort food such as fried chicken, meatloaf, and steak as well as classic French dishes such as escargot, cheese fondue, etc.

At Franck`s our chef and his team prepares your meal as you watch him in our open kitchen and on our dining room `chef cam`! Franck`s sets a new standard for excellence in cuisine, service and ambiance at reasonable prices.

6263 S. Holladay Blvd
Salt Lake City, UT 84121
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm
Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
6200 South

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 274-6264

Website:
http://www.francksfood.com/

Entertainment:
Monthly Wine Dinners

Catering:
Please call for details.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Service

Executive Chef:
Robert Perkins

Private Party Facilities:
Please call for details.

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Franck's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (47)
Fit for Foodies (46)
Special Occasion (45)
See All
Creative Cuisine (45)
Good for Anniversaries (44)
Neighborhood Gem (43)
Romantic (41)
Great for Outdoor Dining (29)
Quiet Conversation (29)
Notable Wine List (27)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Worth the Drive (26)
Cozy (22)
Tasting Menu (22)
Comfort Food (14)
Local Ingredients (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Authentic (10)
Business Meals (10)
Fireplace (9)
Open Kitchen (7)
Scenic View (7)
Fun (6)
Casual (6)
Seasonal (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Great Beer (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tapas (1)
Family Style (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
1544 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 3 days ago

Mike at Francks was amazing. He went above and beyond what ANY restaurant manager would do to accommodate my dietary restrictions. Mike ensured we had an excellent time, a great meal and a beautiful setting. Highly recommend Francks.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 19, 2017

We love Franck's! We've been here a handful of times. The brussel sprouts are amazing. First time we went my husband insisted I try them and I was thinking "I'm pretty sure there are better things on the menu than brussel sprouts". Oh my goodness I'm glad I trusted him. They are amazing! Toasty and delicious. The soup there is shockingly good too with lots of depth. The chef has an amazing talent of pairing the foods in the entrees as a peculiar yet perfect medley. Seems like everything I've ordered tastes amazing when getting a little of everything in one bite. It's very expensive, but you get what you pay for! Oh, and please try the carrot cake. My mouth is watering...I need to stop now lol.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Everything was fantastic and the service was amazing! We will definetly be back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Love this neighborhood gem. The premises are great - you have the option to sit inside or out... both are equally as lovely. Sitting inside reminds me of sitting at a friends house... comfortable, nice without all the fuss. Outside is like sitting in your friends back yard... perfect on the warm evenings.

The wine list is extensive. Better know your french wines, there aren't many California wines on the list.

The service was impeccable. Everyone we dealt with fantastic and our server was very engaging and fun.

The food itself was great. Loved the crispy brussel sprouts. I ordered the fried chicken. It was crunchy and delicious. However, I am very sensitive to salt, and there was a lot of salt in the meal. So much so that I couldn't finish it. I recently moved here from California and I'm finding that food here in Utah in general has a lot of salt in it... Francks was no exception. Will I go back to Francks? Yes, absolutely. But I probably will go for an appetizer and a few glasses of wine and not for dinner.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Fun, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Francks is outstanding every time we go. Be sure and try the tomato pie appetizer... awesome!
Their signature fried chicken and the meatloaf are the best in the world. Seems like odd entrees for a fine dining restaurant but trust me... you'll love it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Always a great menu, great service and ambiance. We go back frequently as the menu changes. Must try the soups as they are always unique.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We had a delightful dinner Friday night for the first time in awhile. I am not sure what has changed, but it was delicious! Desserts still have room for improvement, we tried and did not really like either of them. It did not diminish how good dinner was. If you have been avoiding Franck's-it might be time to try again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Ghastly food. I can't believe the meatloaf is recommended with that atrocious sauce and over salted potatoes. It looked like dog food piled into a mold. I couldn't eat it. Our server was pretentious and uncomfortable. I will never recommend Francks to anyone. Terrible wedding anniversary experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 1, 2017

It was an impressive menu. Every item was a combination of taste, texture and appearance. We have already recommended it to friends and family. Unbelievable service. Thanks for the experience.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Organic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Patio is great. Food just OK, nothing special. Not enough choices

Tags: Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We love the patio and servers recommendations. Always pleasant and enjoyable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Love the fondue with a great bottle of wine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 28, 2017

We got to Francks early and were able to get an outdoor table on the shaded patio. It was lovely. My husband got what he always gets - Mary's Chicken. I ordered the fish special which was Pacific Cod. I am VERY picky about fish - it has to be extremely fresh and it has to be cooked exactly right. This was it was a nice thick cut, it had a light summery sauce with some arugula drifting on the edges that did not cloak the fish but enhanced it. It is the best fish dish I have had in maybe 10 years and we travel all over the US and Europe. It was fabulous!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Had selected this restaurant via the internet as I needed a nice location for a business dinner.
Definitely a success. Outstanding meal. The menu is one of the most innovative I have seen.
Our waiter was Tristan and his knowledge of the menu, as well as the ability to describe all the choices and share what were his preferences was valued.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Simply the best in the valley: best chef, including the kitchen staff - best management - best wait staff - best small-restaurant ambiance including close-in parking - (I'm forgetting something) - ah yes, BEST FOOD.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Loved the food and the ambiance of the patio. All the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 23, 2017

The food was unique and beautifully presented! Mikael was a great waiter. Timed courses perfectly and did not intrude at any time! Delightful meal!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 22, 2017

We've been going to Franck's for years and have never been disappointed. We've gone for special occasions, Tuesday night tasting and Thursday night burgers and enjoyed them all

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Franck's has the best food in the valley. That's because they have the best chef and best kitchen staff. It's also the most welcoming small restaurant in the valley. That's because they have the best wait staff and manager. Franck's also has the best 'value' in the valley in 'Tuesday's Tasting Menu'.

Salt Lake City offers a variety of good restaurants but nothing beats Franck's.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 17, 2017

This restaurant continues to WOW me! The chef is so incredibly creative that his offerings are always a culinary adventure. I would never imagine some of the ingredients he uses would go together so well. The service is impeccable without fail. It was our 5th trip to the restaurant in the past year. The dining environment is personal and feels like having dinner at an old friend's. I love this place!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We had a lovely unrushed evening with friends. Highly recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 17, 2017

I felt like the waitress was underwhelmed with her job. She did not approach us quickly. We sat uncomfortably for several minutes. We were one of four tables indoors. Pretty quiet evening. I could not see a reason to take so long to greet us. Didn't check in regularly. Had empty drink glasses that someone else addressed. She was generally not very upbeat. Otherwise it was a nice evening. Atmosphere is lovely. Food is very rich but very good.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We always like dining at Franck's. We usually go for special occasions, often when there is a prix fixe menu.

This was a Father's Day outing, and there was not a prix fixe menu, so we ordred from the menu.

We very much enjoyed the meal, the service, and of course the company.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Food is beyond excellent. The Chefs and Waitress' are fantastic. Wine is way way overpriced. Parking is bad. You shouldn't have to pay Valet's to park in your parking lot! This is nuts.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 15, 2017

If you like a great place with super service and food go here. They will not let you down.

Tags: Healthy, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Outstanding as always. Tasting Tuesday is always awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Franck's is hands down the best restaurant in Utah! Their Cuisine and service ranks for me in the top 5 of my dining experiences throughout the world! This is a true gem that should be visited by everyone to experience the kitchen's passion for food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Franck's is our favorite restaurant. Best chef; best manager; best kitchen staff; best wait staff; best parking convenience......oh, and best food! Nothing like it in the valley and Tuesday's Tasting Menu is also the best value. That would explain why we've been here...on Tuesday...over sixty five times in the last three and a half years.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 13, 2017

We were celebrating our anniversary and was not disappointed. Very much enjoyed the food and the dinning experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 9, 2017

The food is original, beautiful, and absolutely delicious!! We have had amazing service each time we have been to Franck's as well. Definitely one of our favorites.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Lovely patio ambiance. Food was generally delicious except a pasta dish with a rare tri-tip garnish. Ugh, this was not good.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Dined here many times. Ordered scallops, served in a heavy sauce. Scallops were very small. Not as good as the original preparation. They should get back the the basics of where they started. Nice fresh fish, not salmon. Duck and other good dishes.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 2, 2017

This was our first visit to Franck's and it won't be our last! We were feeling a little jealous of our daughter who is in Paris this week but found that the lovely food at Franck's was every bit as good as the food we have had in France! The service was warm and professional. We loved everything about Franck's and will return again to celebrate another special occasion!

Tags: Late-night Find, Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 2, 2017

We're regular patrons of Franck's, but dined on the patio for the first time. What a delightful ambience! The food was as good as ever--spectacular--and an evening on the patio just made it perfect. The tomato pie appetizer was fabulous!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Best food in the valley and the best 'value' in 'Tuesday's Tasting Menu. 'Soup' is the unadvertised second course of the Tasting Menu but is available on the regular menu as well. Franck's award-winning chef prepares a sweet/savory soup combo each week that is beyond delicious. We've been here over sixty times in the last four years and every meal was memorable. You may have guessed: this is our 'favorite' restaurant.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We had a great night out for anniversary service was exceptional food was delightful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 27, 2017

First time is the last time.

Food was ok. Nothing all that special. Service slow and messed up our order. We were there to celebrate but left frustrated and not impressed. I would like to believe it was an isolated incident but it was so bad I wouldn't risk another attempt

Over priced over hyped ruined a special night. We won't be back...ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 27, 2017

JulieB: We celebrated our anniversary dinner at this restaurant and found the hospitality and food to be excellent! The atmosphere is nice with an outdoor seating area in a garden atmosphere. The food was presented well and the fusion of flavors was worth it. The meal was priced well with a range of options from moderate to expensive tastes. We will come again!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 27, 2017

I eat fish but no other dairy or animal products. Since this is a French restaurant and the dishes have a tendency to be very rich I was concerned. The waiter and the chef made sure my fish and sides were prepared clean and presented beautifully. This was the best meal I have eaten in a long time. Beatiful outdoor area and wonderful service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.