About Franck's

6263 S. Holladay Blvd
Salt Lake City, UT 84121
View Larger Map

A hidden gem in the Knudsen`s Corner area of Holladay, Utah.

Franck`s is a casual fine dining restaurant set in a renovated old home with a warm, contemporary design. The dining room is small and cozy; it’s a friendly neighborhood "getaway". Franck`s menu may be described as American with a French flare. On the menu you will find classic American comfort food such as fried chicken, meatloaf, and steak as well as classic French dishes such as escargot, cheese fondue, etc.

At Franck`s our chef and his team prepares your meal as you watch him in our open kitchen and on our dining room `chef cam`! Franck`s sets a new standard for excellence in cuisine, service and ambiance at reasonable prices.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm
Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
6200 South

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 274-6264

Website:
http://www.francksfood.com/

Entertainment:
Monthly Wine Dinners

Catering:
Please call for details.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Service

Executive Chef:
Robert Perkins

Private Party Facilities:
Please call for details.

Additional:
Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Lemongrass Coconut Fried Chicken
  • Spicy Cauliflower Butterscotch Soup
  • Seared Duck Breast
  • Southern Fried Chicken
  • Pork Milanesa
  • Franck's Meatloaf
  • Escargot Provencial
  • sous vide steak
Lemongrass Coconut Fried Chicken
Spicy Cauliflower Butterscotch Soup
Seared Duck Breast
Southern Fried Chicken
Pork Milanesa
Franck's Meatloaf
Escargot Provencial
sous vide steak

Promotions

Four Course Prix Fixe Meal for $65.00

Monday Jul 18, 2016 from 6:30 PM - 6:30 PM

Promotions

Four Course Prix Fixe Meal for $65.00

Monday Jul 18, 2016 from 6:30 PM - 6:30 PM

Details
Four Course Prix Fixe Meal for $65.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid on Monday Jul 18, 2016 from 6:30 PM - 6:30 PM.

Franck's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Utah
Best Food
Utah
Best Value
Utah
6 More
Notable Wine List
Utah
Best Overall
Salt Lake City
Best Food
Salt Lake City
Best Service
Salt Lake City
Best Value
Salt Lake City
Fit for Foodies
Salt Lake City
Best Restaurants in Holladay / Midvale / Sandy / Union ›

special occasion (83)
fit for foodies (76)
romantic (65)
See All
neighborhood gem (60)
notable wine list (40)
great for outdoor dining (35)
scenic view (19)
good for groups (14)
great for brunch (11)
late-night find (6)
great for lunch (4)
hot spot (3)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1250 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What an amazing restaurant, location, am ...

Dined 2 days ago

What an amazing restaurant, location, ambiance, food, service, etc. It was an all around wonderful experience such that we were the last ones to leave. Everyone took great care of us and the food was amazing. Every dish we had at our table was special.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unbeatable entrees and desserts paired w ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Unbeatable entrees and desserts paired with heavenly service. Beautiful location and ambiance.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

FOOD WAS UNIQUE AND AMAZING. SERVICE WA ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

FOOD WAS UNIQUE AND AMAZING. SERVICE WAS HELPFUL AND ATTENTIVE. FULLY RECOMMENDED!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Enjoyed an early Father's Day dinner wit ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Enjoyed an early Father's Day dinner with my husband. The food was very good and unique but only for an occasional special occasion , a little pricy for our budget.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best meals at a restaurant in ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

One of the best meals at a restaurant in a long time. The Tuesday special sampling was fantastic. I wanted to find something new for our 33 wedding anniversary. I have already recommended Francks to friends and relatives with some of the best food, ambience, and service in SLC. Thanks for a wonderful evening!!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Franck's is an awesome restaurant. They ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Franck's is an awesome restaurant. They have some of the best food I have ever had anywhere. Definitely the best restaurant in the state of Utah!!!! Always innovating with new tastes, and smells. The location is outstanding, the staff is exceptional, and anyone will love it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Favorite SLC restaurant for my wife and ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Favorite SLC restaurant for my wife and me, we went there this time for her birthday. Introduced our 25 year old daughter to it, of course she loved it. Such interesting food/flavor combinations. Superb wait staff as usual.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great first experience at Franc ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

We had a great first experience at Franck's. The waitress was very attentive and informative regarding the menu. She was genuinely interested in making sure our first impression was a good one. Everything we tried was fantastic! Great atmosphere for a quiet romantic evening.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I mentioned my anniversary when I signed ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

I mentioned my anniversary when I signed up for a table through Open Table - a few different staff members congratulated us and asked about our celebration. The staff was very friendly, exceptionally helpful with the menu and made a wonderful meal even better. I had my first experience with a sous vide steak - AMAZING! The steak was served with an awesome assortment of tastes that really set the meat off. My husband had the sea bass - a generous portion of lovely fish. It was served with a sauce that he said could make shingles tasty. We shared a carrot cake - not to be missed (if you have room!). I highly recommend Frank's.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Marvelous dinner experience

Dined on June 8, 2016

I have only been to Francks a dozen or so times over 10-15 years and have always been impressed. I think the best restaurant in SLC.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Restaurant

Dined on June 4, 2016

Our service was excellent! Our waiter was so attentive and knowledgeable about the menu. Our food was excellent from the watermelon soup to the Brussels sprout salad (my favorite). We will definitely come here again and soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

DELICIOUS FOOD!!!!

Dined on June 4, 2016

The food was innovative and delicious! Hard to choose just one of the entrees as they all sounded amazing to me. Will most definitely be coming back to try more of the chefs great food choices.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience3
service1

Downhill? Food not as good. Service was ...

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

Downhill? Food not as good. Service was laughable. Brought entrees while my wife had a forkful of salad. Asked to take her meatloaf twice before finished.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

special Grad meal

Dined on June 2, 2016

We love Franks. The food was excellent again! The patio was open and the birds were chirping...it was a perfect location to take my recent HS grad for a special meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Tasting menu an adventure

Dined on June 1, 2016

This was our first visit and we went specifically for the tasting menu. We were not disappointed. The creativity of the menu was impressive. We looked forward to every course. The service was top knotch, from the hostess greeting to our server Wendy and everyone else who delivered food or cleared off our table. We enjoyed sitting out on the patio and will definitely return!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great again

Dined on May 28, 2016

We love Franck's - we took friends who had never been before. They loved it also. We love the different combinations of tastes we experience when ever we go. Our friends are always jealous when they hear we went to Franck's with out them.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Franck's just keeps on truckin'....

vip
Dined on May 25, 2016

I write a lot of Opentable reviews of this place. I do so after each visit; it's the least I can do to compensate, in some small way, for the experiences we've had in this delightful restaurant. Those of you who have ordered the Tasting Menu (Tuesday's only) have probably shared our amazement at the Imagination of the kitchen staff and the extraordinary presentation. Add an excellent wait staff and we can't wait for our next visit. Robert Perkins is the head chef at Franck's and he was absent in the kitchen this week. Not a beat was missed; the Tasting Menu was superb and the place was virtually full. Robert IS a magician when it comes to food preparation and oversight of the plating but it's VERY satisfying to see the rest of the kitchen staff produce a meal like they did this week without his presence. They are 'excellent' observers & students. So what did we have this week? Oh nothing much: Crumb Crusted Soft Shell Crab, Snake River Farms Pork Short Rib, an Apple and Huckleberry Toasted Coconut Streusel with whipped coconut......you know, the kind of stuff you probably have at home!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent as usual.

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

Excellent as usual.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still the overall best in the valley

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

You all have your favorite restaurants....and this is mine (ours). Tuesday's Tasting Menu is a revelation: best 'value', best variety, and best presentation. The wait staff is professional and attentive; Brian and Wendy are 'our' personal wait staff. Just kidding.....but only just. We have a chance to observe other staff during dinner but these two are our long-time favorites. The kitchen staff, led by head chef Robert Perkins, is exceptional. Mike, the maitre d keeps everything humming AND he's responsible for the gorgeous flowers in front of the restaurant entrance. This is a charming place that we can't recommend highly enough. BUT WE KEEP TRYING! LOL

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Phenomenal

Dined on May 13, 2016

My lady and I went there on a whim right before she took me to a show. I had been dying to try it, and it was the perfect time. We were the first ones there and had the patio all to ourselves. The waiter was a riot, and the food was definitely worth the cost. We will go back again and again.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best meal here yet

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

I have dined here before and enjoyed it however this meal was exceptional. Our server, Wendy, remembered me and was top notch as before. A creative romaine "Cesar" salad was a good start but the fried chicken was one of the best entrees I have had in a very long time. They were able to provide two breast pieces. The coating was light and crisp with no grease and the meat was flavorful, juicy and tender. I enjoyed every bite. Will go back for more next time I am in Salt Lake area.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Expected more....

Dined on May 9, 2016

Went for Mother's Day Dinner. Menu was a price fixe deal, which I was not aware of, so you had no choices for any of the foods. Food was good (although not excellent as I was anticipating), and the proportions were quite small. While finer restaurants do typically serve smaller portions, this seemed even less than that standard. I heard very nice things about the establishment, and this was my first time there, having recently moved to Utah from the Midwest. I may give them another try, hoping that their full menu and service on a normal day will be much better than I experienced this past weekend.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place!

Dined on May 9, 2016

This was my first time going to Franck's. I absolutely loved it. The atmosphere was very nice and elegant! The food was absolutely to die for! I would recommend anyone who is thinking about trying this place to just do it, you will not regret it!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Went there for mother's day brunch. Fan ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Went there for mother's day brunch. Fantastic!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An amazing restaurant! This was my first ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

An amazing restaurant! This was my first visit and I was extremely pleased! Delicious food, wonderful service... The only regret I have is that I didn't order more!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious as always!

Dined on May 6, 2016

My friends took me here for my birthday dinner and it was delicious. I loved the brussel sprouts appetizer. We also had the beets as an appetizer and they were delightful. I had the weekly burger special and it was so incredible good. Yum. Never disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food

Dined on May 3, 2016

The food is always good. We especially love trying their soups - very creative.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience!

Dined on May 1, 2016

The presentation, selection, creativity, service, flavor and ambiance was outstanding. I have already recommended to a friend.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

BF loved the food, I thought it was horrible.

Dined on May 1, 2016

My boyfriend loved the good, I thought it was horrible. The bread was good anyway!

food5
ambience4
service5

Frequent diner always a pleasure.

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Frequent diner always a pleasure.

food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Ok experience, too small and too noisy

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

This was our first time at the restaurant. The ambience was good, though we thought the restaurant was very small with tables closely positioned. Unfortunately we had a very inconsiderate roudy people next to ours which made our experience less enjoyable. Our waiter was great but I didn't see what the whole fuss was about related to their "meat loaf". The food was ok. It wasn't fantastic. I much prefer Kimi's Chop and Oyster restaurant though. The thing that ruined it for us was the person who was clearing our table. All of us noticed his poor attitude whereby we had to point this out to our main waiter who was great. Our dessert took way to long. We waited and waited and it was not worth the wait. The custard cake was not moist and horrible. I'd not order any desserts from Franks for sure. My cocktail, which was some sort of a martini was way too sweet. It was then watered right down to correct its sweetness. There were hardly any alcohol in it. I felt that it was a waste of my money for sure.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love coming to Franks.

Dined on April 24, 2016

My wife and I have been coming to Franks for 7 years or so. It's our favorite place to go for special occasions. I don't think you can find another restaurant with food that enlightens your taste buds the way the food at Franks does. They do a fantastic job of making you feel appreciated. The manager comes over and say Hello every time we come. All the staff there are extremely nice. Like I said, we love coming to Franks.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

"I loved the relaxed feel of your establishment.

Dined on April 23, 2016

Service, food presentation and our waitress were excellent. The meatloaf was to die for and the Sea Bass was fantastic. My wife enjoyed the Salmon which was outstanding... Hats off the Franck's and Staff.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

Incredible food and service

Dined on April 20, 2016

I loved everything about Francks except the noise level. Delicious food, great service, wonderful location and dining room. Best food I have ever tasted! I just couldn't hear what my companion was saying.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First timers...but not last timers!

Dined on April 17, 2016

We feel lucky to have been able to make last-minute reservations and Francks last Saturday evening. Everything tasted great and we will definitely return!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Where does the 'excellence' end??

vip
Dined on April 13, 2016

Tuesday, April 12th. Ho hum....another boringly exceptional Tasting Menu - Starter: Diver Scallop, Aerated Chorizo, Clam chowder, Lemon Puree. Main: Surf and Turf on Toast - Grey Goose Battered White Shrimp, Fromage Blanc, Shaved Wagyu Sirloin. Dessert: Parmesan Creme Brulee, Tomato Jam, Vanilla Bean-Tomato Ice Cream. Oh......and lest we forget, there's always an unadvertised 'soup' course that was an ward-winner in a 2016 Utah competition and the most incredible combination of sweet and savory you'll ever taste in a soup. This is a 'Tuesday' only tasting menu, fellow diners. Different every week and always memorable. Franck's also offers a full traditional menu but we're stuck on this particular offering. Those of you familiar with Tuscany will know EXACTLY where Franck's is located: immediately to the south. Both restaurants share a patio and parking lot. Next time you're thinking of going to Tuscany, 'treat' yourself to Franck's instead.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Burger Thursday's

Dined on April 8, 2016

At first a little uncertain, I came away a big fan of Burger Thursday. An excellent Wagyu sirloin patty, creatively dressed and seasoned. Paired with a nice Epic MidMountain ale. If you want cheap, there is the Cottonbottom across the road. But if you want experience what a talented kitchen staff can do with the hamburger, this is a great place to visit on Thursdays. Warning...they DO sellout.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best 'deal' in the valley.......

vip
Dined on April 6, 2016

I'm referring to Tuesday's Tasting Menu: three superb courses plus an 'unadvertised' soup course. This week? a Corvina Sea Bass starter, a delicious sweet lemon soup, a Pork Belly Flauta main, and a Dulce de Leche Cheese Cake dessert. $30: as I said, the best deal in the valley and everything is prepared to perfection and presented in a way that will make you think that $30 must be a misquote. Oh, they have a full menu and everything we've tried at Franck's has been delicious but we're stuck on that Tasting Tuesday gig. BTW, we're also hooked on an excellent Pinot Noir by Meiomi in case that wine vintage appeals to you. For those of you who actually read these reviews you'll recognize the frequency of our visits to Franck's. That's no accident. There are many fine restaurants in the valley but this is our favorite.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great experience

Dined on April 2, 2016

If you have never been to Francks you are missing out! Some of the best food in Utah hands down, not your normal fare.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Food and service were great. Everyone ou ...

Dined on April 1, 2016

Food and service were great. Everyone out of four loved their dinner - all different entrees.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.