About Franck's

A hidden gem in the Knudsen`s Corner area of Holladay, Utah.

Franck`s is a casual fine dining restaurant set in a renovated old home with a warm, contemporary design. The dining room is small and cozy; it’s a friendly neighborhood "getaway". Franck`s menu may be described as American with a French flare. On the menu you will find classic American comfort food such as fried chicken, meatloaf, and steak as well as classic French dishes such as escargot, cheese fondue, etc.

At Franck`s our chef and his team prepares your meal as you watch him in our open kitchen and on our dining room `chef cam`! Franck`s sets a new standard for excellence in cuisine, service and ambiance at reasonable prices.

6263 S. Holladay Blvd
Salt Lake City, UT 84121
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm
Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
6200 South

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 274-6264

Website:
http://www.francksfood.com/

Entertainment:
Monthly Wine Dinners

Catering:
Please call for details.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Service

Executive Chef:
Robert Perkins

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Franck's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.5

noise

Quiet

95% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (37)
Neighborhood Gem (37)
Creative Cuisine (36)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Special Occasion (32)
Good for a Date (32)
Romantic (30)
Great for Outdoor Dining (29)
Quiet Conversation (27)
Worth the Drive (27)
Notable Wine List (24)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Tasting Menu (22)
Cozy (21)
Local Ingredients (18)
Good for Groups (11)
Authentic (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Scenic View (8)
Seasonal (7)
Business Meals (4)
Fun (4)
Casual (4)
Great Beer (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Organic (2)
Tapas (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Live Music (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1586 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

It is one of my favorite restaurants in Salt Lake. The food was fantastic and the service excellent. I loved the brussel sprouts. I also loved their combination of flavors.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 7 days ago

Over the course of four years, we've been to Franck's almost seventy times for 'Tuesday's Tasting Menu'. I receive this 'menu' online so I have a chance to peruse it before making a reservation for any particular week. The tasting menu is different every week and the variety that head chef, Robert Perkins, comes up with is amazing.

This week it was a Calamari Milanese for the main course. I love seafood and knew that the Scallop Tataki 'starter' was going to be right up my alley but I've never really developed a taste for calamari. Still....I knew from experience that if anyone was going to change my mind, it would be Robert. He did....this calamari steak was incredible.

This is our favorite restaurant and the Salt Lake Valley has a LOT of good restaurants. See you Tuesday!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 17, 2017

As usual the service and wine were exceptional. This is our go to restaurant to use to entertain guests

Tags: Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Amazing food, great service is what we have experienced everytime!! Thank you, Mike.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 13, 2017

I have been eating at Franck's for many years. I love the quiet atmosphere and the hi-definition TV that you can watch your chef make your fabulous meal. The salads have at Franck's have never been a strength (maybe it is a French thing) but it is more that made up by the apps, entrees, and desserts.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Every tasting Tuesday that I go to, only verifies to me that this officially the best restaurant in Utah.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Everything was wonderful, as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Creative food, wonderful flavors. Cozy ambiance. Best dinner we've had in a long time.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Great food and fun atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Awesome dinner and service! Looking for to our next visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 6, 2017

We've been going to Franck's for many years. It is always good, but last night was particularly good. It was a beautiful evening on the lovely patio..and the food was superb (as always). I opted for the trout, which seemed to taste better with every bite. Others at the table had the signature meatloaf and fried chicken. Franck's never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Can't say enough about this delightful small restaurant - and if you scroll through the reviews you'll see that I mean that 'literally'. Best restaurant in the valley on many levels. Tuesday's Tasting Menu is a staple for us. We LOVE this place and have been here dozens of times.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 2, 2017

The Chef is putting out amazing food. Visual and palate vibrant. Unusual and intensely flavorful. If you don't get the tomato pie appetizer you are really missing out. My wife and I ate outside and loved it. All entrees, desserts and appetizers were delicious- no misses. Waldorf Astoria quality. Best sea bass I've had in years. We had not been in about 5 years and decided we're coming back often.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Chef Rob creates wonderful dishes, coaxing amazing flavors out of every ingredient

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Best 'deal' in the valley in the form of Tuesday's Tasting Menu. Best chef; best kitchen and wait staff, best manager, best parking access, and best exterior appearance including the 'patio' for summer dining. We love this place!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Don't go after 7. 1st time st 7 was great, this time it was terrible

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Well run restaurant, fun creative food and good service although a bit slow due to staffing levels. A great place we will be back when we are in SLC.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 26, 2017

The best restaurant in Utah. I love bringing friends and family here to experience the amazing food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

The restaurant is located in a beautiful area along the Wasatch Mountains. The outdoor dining experience was great. Food was amazing - a little bit on the pricy side, but for special occasions you have to splurge sometimes. Would recommend.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Amazing. Always amazing. Subscribe to the Tasting Tuesday emails. So worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Franck's has the best chef in the valley and his name isn't Franck. LOL Robert Perkins consistently outperforms with his Tuesday Tasting Menu, which Pam and I have now experienced over sixty five times. A lovely small local restaurant that oozes charm and is staffed by an exceptional kitchen staff, wait staff, and manager. A manicured exterior and 'close to the door' parking just add to an already compelling dining location. We LOVE this place!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 22, 2017

simply one of the best dining experiences ive had in slc! a must try!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Beautiful setting especially outside. Food was good but it seemed like chef was trying too hard to be inventive and dishes ended up being overly complex. Also nearly every fish had an element of sweet to it, even mashed potatoes had white chocolate in them! Ingredients were impeccable however and service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Excellant atmosphere, great food and lovely setting.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Everything is always perfect at Franks. Love it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

The food was good, but I expected a larger selection. The service was good, the server was attentive and came by frequently. Overall nice evening.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Franck's is our favorite restaurant....and always will be so long as Chef Robert Perkins is in that kitchen. He has plenty of help: the kitchen and wait staffs are both outstanding and the interior is intimate and welcoming. Franck's 'Tuesday Tasting Menu' is a standard for us but I've never had 'anything' here I didn't like. We've been here over seventy times in the last four years.

Hi Mike!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Fun, Good for a Date, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 13, 2017

The appetizers were very, very good. Crispy Brussel Sprouts are always a favorite. The salads were good and the Beet/White Chocolate soup was outstanding. Our party did not like the sweetness of the red grouper sauces. The fish was well prepared, but the sweetness of the dish distracted rather than added to the dish. The s'mores dessert had some odd flavorings not to the taste of our party. Everything else was superb. I'd still recommend Franck's, but not the grouper or the s'more dessert. Service was just right, as usual.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We love the food, the staff, and the ambience. We love the different soups and entree selections. Very creative menu.

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Seasonal, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Everything was excellent from Valet to Maître D' to waitress and of course the food.

Tags: Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Romantic, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Wonderful service and amazing creative food. Dont miss the soups, you have never tasted anything like them. Wine list is good but VERY pricey.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

Took my wife for her birthday as I've done many times. The waiter was indifferent to this when it came up. We used to get a waitress who made us feel at home and would bring out a little complimentary dessert after,in acknowledgment of the special occasion . The brussel sprouts which are always delicious seemed to have about half the quantity of b. sprouts and more filler. The meatloaf is the one thing that would bring us back again,but it might be time to search for other fine dining to celebrate birthdays and anniversaries.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 2, 2017

As always, Frank's never disappoints. Chef Robert Perkins and his team deliver creative, delicious plates pleasing to the eye and palate. The Tasting menu on Tuesdays is a great way to get acquainted with this gem.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Organic, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Cozy, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 2, 2017

We tried the tasting menu. At $35 / plate, it was a very low price, but the amount of food we got was also rather small. I walked out having eaten a tasty meal, and yet still slightly hungry. I would have paid a little extra for one more course.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Franck's is the best small restaurant in Salt Lake City. For those of you unfamiliar with Franck's but are fans of Log Haven, this is for you: attractive both inside and out, the 'kicker' is the food. Robert Perkins is a chef of rare talent but he doesn't work his magic alone. Both the kitchen and wait staff are excellent and Mike, the manager, is a treasure.

Franck's has an excellent 'full menu' but Tuesday's 'Tasting Menu' is the best deal in the valley at $35.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 30, 2017

We had a group of 6 for dinner and it was a great time. Started with a large number of appetizers (all but the biscuits were incredible) and hardly had room for the main course. Everyone enjoyed the meal and service was excellent. Highly recommend anyone go!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 27, 2017

We come here a few times a year for special occasions. It's a favorite in our family, and the patio is adorable. The Brussels sprouts and fondue are staple menu items that are ordered every time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Best small restaurant in the valley and best 'value' in Tuesday's Tasting Menu'. We've been here over sixty five times in the last four years and I've always driven away talking about the experience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 25, 2017

The place is friendly and a little unique. Food is excellent. Plan plenty of time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Mike at Francks was amazing. He went above and beyond what ANY restaurant manager would do to accommodate my dietary restrictions. Mike ensured we had an excellent time, a great meal and a beautiful setting. Highly recommend Francks.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.