About Franck's

A hidden gem in the Knudsen`s Corner area of Holladay, Utah.

Franck`s is a casual fine dining restaurant set in a renovated old home with a warm, contemporary design. The dining room is small and cozy; it’s a friendly neighborhood "getaway". Franck`s menu may be described as American with a French flare. On the menu you will find classic American comfort food such as fried chicken, meatloaf, and steak as well as classic French dishes such as escargot, cheese fondue, etc.

At Franck`s our chef and his team prepares your meal as you watch him in our open kitchen and on our dining room `chef cam`! Franck`s sets a new standard for excellence in cuisine, service and ambiance at reasonable prices.

6263 S. Holladay Blvd
Salt Lake City, UT 84121
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm
Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
6200 South

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 274-6264

Website:
http://www.francksfood.com/

Entertainment:
Monthly Wine Dinners

Catering:
Please call for details.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Service

Executive Chef:
Robert Perkins

Private Party Facilities:
Please call for details.

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Franck's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (55)
Special Occasion (48)
Creative Cuisine (46)
See All
Fit for Foodies (44)
Good for Anniversaries (43)
Romantic (39)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Notable Wine List (25)
Cozy (23)
Fireplace (23)
Worth the Drive (22)
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
Tasting Menu (19)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Comfort Food (13)
Casual (12)
Business Meals (12)
Open Kitchen (12)
Local Ingredients (11)
Authentic (9)
Fun (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Scenic View (5)
Healthy (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Seasonal (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
People Watching (2)
Family Style (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Organic (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Historic (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
1504 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 2 days ago

We had a great night out for anniversary service was exceptional food was delightful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined 2 days ago

First time is the last time.

Food was ok. Nothing all that special. Service slow and messed up our order. We were there to celebrate but left frustrated and not impressed. I would like to believe it was an isolated incident but it was so bad I wouldn't risk another attempt

Over priced over hyped ruined a special night. We won't be back...ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 3 days ago

Great ambiance, great service. Our waiter, Steven M, was charming, efficient, and professional.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 4 days ago

Delicious and unique fine dining! Great for foodies or a romantic date (or foodies on a romantic date) or a special occasion. Locally sourced food, creatively prepared with a beautiful presentation. The fried chicken is a menu staple. The chicken is coated with an excellent crust which is fried to a deep, golden perfection, revealing the most juicy chicken you've ever tasted! Try the whole menu (it's all good!) but if you can't decide, go with the fried chicken. You won't regret it!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 6 days ago

We live two blocks from East High; downtown restaurants are all within five to ten minutes drive time and we do visit many of them a couple of times a year.

We've just finished our fifth 'Tasting Tuesday' at Franck's; this coming week will be the sixth - in a row. While our personal schedule doesn't permit us to go every week we do get there an average of twice a month; we've now been there over sixty times for this incomparable dining treat - at $35 it's also the best 'deal' in the valley.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Superbly creative, as always. Franck' is literally a unique restaurant, offering dishes generally not found on ordinary menus. The menu changes often, so there are new, unexpected, items whenever we dine there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Fort those of you keeping score, we have just completed four weeks in a row at Frank's 'Tasting Tuesday'. The coming week will make five.

So why this intense loyalty? Best chef and kitchen staff. Best wait staff. Best management. Co-best internal ambiance (along with Log Haven). Best external ambiance (okay, so La Caille has the best external ambiance but Franck's is the best of 'small' properties). Best 'tasting menu': content and price. Best overall menu variety. Great wine list. Great table presentation. Best parking convenience. Oh, and best food in the valley!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 16, 2017

The food was phenomonal. The chefs are amazing, if I could afford it I would go to try the tasting menu every week. Our server was very helpful with the menu, and the overall service was wonderful. The ambiance is cozy and delightful. One of my favorite restaurants.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's day dinner with friends, food was delicious, and we will probably come back again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Another awesome meal at Franck's. Mother's Day menu was exceptional. Great food and as usual very attentive service. The presentation and mixture of ingredients that you would not expect is always amazing. This is the best place for a nice special occasion meal in SLC. Would also recommend for the weeknight burgers or the other specials they do during the week where it is less expensive but you get a really great meal and experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We were with a party of 4 and 2 meals came out and we waited and waited maybe 10 min. they were horrified when they realized their error and brought the other meals out and offered us free dessert - which we took them up on and they were amazing! Great customer service - thats the way its done!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We were celebrating both a birthday and an anniversary. Mike was so awesome- he went outside and put a table cloth up over the existing shade to help with the sun that was shining in one of the persons eyes that was with us. He then took care of two appetizers we had ordered...much to our surprise! The food was great and also the service! I highly recommend this restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Franks has a great selection of gourmet foods. Everything is just perfect for a special evening. The service is superb and the staff very attentive. The one word I would use is superb!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The meat loaf was absolutely amazing! Definitely plan to come back again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Everything about the dinner was fabulous. We had the fondue which was amazing, crispy brussell sprouts to die for. Our group had the swordfish, fried chicken and the burger. All were above and beyond what we expected. Everyone was tasting everything and loving it. The occasion was for my son's 22nd birthday. We took a pic at the end of the dinner and my son posted it on face book with the caption "Fabulous Birthday, Franck's is a must" The service was the best I have ever had. Already planning for our nest time. Thank you Franck's!!!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 10, 2017

This was my third visit to Franck's and it was outstanding as usual. The menu always sparks a conversation and new comers quickly realize they're in for something different. I would say my only complaint is that the menu tends to be on the sweet side of things as opposed to savory but that's typical of Utah fine dining across the board. But this is truly a minor point. Overall I love coming to this place and look forward to going again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 10, 2017

So what was on Franck's 'Tuesday Tasting' menu this week? Oh - pretty much what all of you were planning for dinner at home.

Starter: a new mushroom based salad featuring tempura morels and sweet & sour shiitakes. The underlying pesto sauce is really really good.

Soup: Watermelon & chili with goat cheese; Robert Perkins, Franck's head chef, has won awards for his sweet-savory soups.

Main: Pig cheek: Grilled and glazed. Preparing this is a long process but for those foodies who have never tried it - and do so - I predict you will 'look' for it in the future. The tenderness of this dish is amazing.

Dessert: Applause to Angie for her goat cheese & thyme creme brulee. Truly inspired.

Pam and I are here every Tuesday our schedule permits. We love this place.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Francks is hands down my best dining experience in the entire Salt lake city area.. it's a must see!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Awesome restaurant!! Great great food. Good place for a anniversary.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Extraordinary as always. Held a business meeting with NYC guests, they were shocked and said it was comparable to their favorites in NYC. The patio was open, the service impeccable, and the wine list good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Franck's never disappoints. Mike, the host, is such a nice and fun guy. Service is impeccable, attentive, but not overbearing. Mike suggested that I try a glass of cabernet franc; when I didn't like it, he switched out my glass for something else - complimentary! I highly recommend the brussel sprouts, meatloaf, and carrot cake. This is my go-to place for special occasions.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Franck's is a superb neighborhood restaurant in the Cottonwood area, just south of Tuscany Restaurant. They share the same parking lot - but there the similarity ends. Franck's has a more varied menu - including a 'Tuesday Tasting Menu' that is out of this world. That Tasting Menu is also the best deal in the valley at thirty five dollars.

Food variety and taste, excellent wait-staff, lovely table presentation, attentive management, warm ambiance and Chef Robert Perkins are all compelling reasons we love this restaurant. We've been to Tuscany several times in the last four years; we've been to Franck's over fifty times in that same time period.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 26, 2017

We went to Tastng Tuesday and it was a definite culinary experience! The food was not only delicious but inspired, full of different flavors and textures. Our favorites were the fried chicken breast with a crunchy crust and a spicy coconut sauce and the chocolate panacotta with blueberry sorbet. I also enjoyed the hot cherry, cracked pepper soup with goat cheese. And the apetiser...white shrimp with yogurt foam and chive blossom! Yummmm!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 26, 2017

My second visit to Franck's and another excellent experience. It has long been on my list of favorite restaurants in the Salt Lake area, but I think I will now advance it to most favorite. A bit of wait tonight for the entrée, but well worth it. Quality does take some time. Attentive server checked in with us at just the right interval. Wagyu beef entrée was very good and priced better than most. But the entrée was exceeded by the excellent tomato pie appetizer, peppercorn soap, and dessert. I'll head back there soon and try the tasting menu next time.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 26, 2017

'Tasting Tuesday' at Franck's: best value (and food) in the valley.

Best Chef: Robert Perkins.

Best serving, kitchen, and management staffs.

Best (along with Log Haven) ambiance.

Best exterior appearance.

Best access to restaurant from parking area.

This just might be our favorite restaurant. LOL LOL

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 25, 2017

My husband and I had a lovely evening at Franck's on Tuesday. I chose to do the tasting menu, and my husband had a 3 course meal plus dessert from the regular menu. We each tasted a bit of everything, and we ate and loved every bite, aside from a small bit of carrot cake that we were too full to finish. The food was beautiful, delicious, and creative. The dining room was cozy; the staff friendly, knowledgeable, and attentive. We were there for 2 hours, but it was very relaxing, and neither of us realized how much time had passed until we were finished and bothered to look at the time. We will go back again when time and finances allow. Worth every penny!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The chef is brilliant. Both my wife and I were blown away with the best tasty and creative dishes.

Tags: Business Meals, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We love going to Franck's. Our waitress Marla is always awesome. Great service and she always remembers us. Franck's has taken over our favorite dinner date spot.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 22, 2017

David has waited on us a few times. He is wonderful and even remembered us.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 21, 2017

The food was wonderful and creative! Every dish was a delicious surprise. Textures were fun. The service was helpful, knowledgeable and friendly.

Tags: Family Style, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Great food, unique combinations that always seem to work. Even if you think you wont like that kind of soup....always order the soup. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 20, 2017

We always love going to Franck's, and this visit was no exception. We tried the new smashed beet appetizer, and it was delicious. We have a hard time choosing between all our favorites on the menu, but went with the fondue and tomato pie for appetizers. The brussels sprouts are another favorite appetizer. Chef Robert's soups are constantly changing and so so good. I really don't look at what the soup on the menu is anymore, I just order it because I know I won't be disappointed. We had meatloaf and fried chicken for entrees, and my mouth is watering now just thinking about it. Save room for dessert too, even if you just share one at the table. Can't wait for our next visit!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

This was our first time at Francks. We were very surprised on the beautiful location and great service. We were there for the Easter Bunch and the food was outstanding. It was a little pricey but we would go back again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Service was excellent from the moment we were greeted by the valet attendant. Food was top notch, the fondue exceptional. A great evening all in all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Practically everything about our experience was fantastic at Franck's The location was in a beautiful, private setting. It made me feel like I was getting away from it all.
Our server, Tristan, was warm and friendly. He gave us a brief explanation of what was available and made it easy for me to figure out what I wanted to order. We were able to watch the chefs as they prepared the food. There was a screen that was available for anyone to watch The presentation of the food was pure artwork.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 9, 2017

One of Salt Lake's most creative chef's

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Open Kitchen, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We had the best time and great food. The service was fantastic and we enjoyed watching the kitchen on the tv guessing what was ours. What a great experience and memory. We will deffinently return.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Experience enhanced by excellent service!
Most flavorful food we've had in SLC area. Interesting to watch meal prepared on TV screen. Outstanding!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Comfort Food, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 5, 2017

We went for our anniversary and it was amazing. Great food, wonderful service. Will go back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.