About Fountain Cafe - Doubletree - Mission Valley

7450 Hazard Center Dr.
San Diego, CA 92108
View Larger Map

The Doubletree Mission Valley offers a variety of dining choices including Fountain Cafe for breakfast, Windows Lounge for poolside or lounge dining and Cafe Pronto for quick grab and go sandwiches and salads. Ask us about private dining options.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Regional Mexican

Hours of Operation:

Breakfast: Monday - Sunday 6:30am -11:00am.
Lunch: Monday - Sunday 11:00am - 4:00pm.
Dinner: Monday - Sunday 4:00pm - 10:00pm.

Cross Street:
Mission Center Rd. - Located inside the Doubletree Hotel

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 297-5466

Website:
http://www.sandiegomissionvalley.doubletree.com/

Entertainment:
Available upon request.

Catering:
From birthdays to meetings to team building functions, our banquet and catering staff will assist in planning your event.

Parking Details:
Free for the first 3 hours dining or all-day free parking available with minimum of $15 in dining charges.

Public Transit:
The Mission Valley Trolley Hazard Center station is located just across the street from the main entrance to our hotel.

Executive Chef:
Christopher Haas

Private Party Facilities:
Featuring 18,000 sq. ft. of meeting and catering space ranging in size from 10 to 500 guests for your private dining and catering event.

Private Party Contact:
Catering Department: 6196884024x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
Our famous Champagne Easter Brunch is on March 27, 2016 from 10 AM to 3 PM! Enjoy Bottomless Mimosas, the delicious Action Stations, the Kids Buffet, and the Dessert Bar. Make your reservation today!

Restaurant Photos

  • Fountain Cafe - Doubletree - Mission Valley
  • Fountain Cafe - Doubletree - Mission Valley
  • Fountain Cafe - Doubletree - Mission Valley
Fountain Cafe - Doubletree - Mission Valley
Fountain Cafe - Doubletree - Mission Valley
Fountain Cafe - Doubletree - Mission Valley
Sort By:
Newest
25 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I appreciated the excellent for Mother's Day!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The service was excellent, the good was perfect! It was a quiet evening with s great waiter who provided wonderful suggestions! We will be back and will recommend others!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brunch for the family

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The ambiance was nice the food was ok. They had it set up across such a large space that you might not have remembered to go back all the way to the front. The desserts were mediocre. If you want to take young children to a nice brunch this is the place. The food was more like family food.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

Went for Mother's Day Brunch, first dini ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Went for Mother's Day Brunch, first dining experience here. Food was better than expected, but desserts were not good. Our server was very attentive, but did not speak much, if any, English, so any requests beyond the usual (I asked for just orange juice instead of a mimosa) required him to find a manager to translate. Overall a good experience, but not sure we'll be returning for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Price was a big high but food was fantas ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Price was a big high but food was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Okay, but updated needed

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on November 26, 2015

Had Thanksgiving buffet dinner here. The staff had a bit of difficulty keeping up with the supplies of food in the buffet. There were many choices, but fewer choices that kept up with demand may have been a better idea. Never did get to sample the mashed potatoes since the pan was empty even after several trips back . What food was available was very good though. The service also left a bit desired. Empty plates were left on the table until we asked the server to clear it. The server was very friendly, but did not seem to have the training needed to meet the upper height of service the restaurant was striving for.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Thanksgiving Brunch Buffet

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on November 26, 2015

The Thanksgiving Brunch Buffet was delicious and very affordable. The service from all of the Staff was fantastic too. A few notables: Mac 'n cheese, stuffing, and gravy were outstanding.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and selection

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on November 26, 2015

Our server William was excellent. Lots of wonderful food choices. Endless mimosas was very nice.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The best brunch in town, service was excellent.

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on November 26, 2015

Thank YOU Chef Chris the cuisine was awesome (as usual)! Elizabeth you do a outstanding job making sure we receive everything we desire. The Fountain Cafe is the ONLY place we consider going for special holidays. Score 10+++++++

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Thanksgiving Brunch

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on November 26, 2015

Nice setting for Thanksgiving Brunch. The turkey was very moist and tender. Many side offerings. The Chef was very visible and came to each table a few times and shared secrets as to how he likes preparing various dishes. When I made reservations, I mentioned we would be bringing a bottle of champagne. When we arrived, they had an ice bucket already set up table side. The deserts were plentiful and the Cherries Jubilee was prepared beautifully. Overall, a nice alternative to cooking for Thanksgiving.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Went for Easter Brunch. Awesome choices ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on April 5, 2015

Went for Easter Brunch. Awesome choices of food. Food was incredible. Staff super friendly and attentive. Atmosphere very relaxing and comfortable. Will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Neighborhood Gem

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on November 27, 2014

Beautiful surroundings spacious dinning area excellent assortment for all dinners.

Convient parking and also trolley accessible.

Staff very friendly and helpful.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our Thanksgiving dinner was the best we ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on November 27, 2014

Our Thanksgiving dinner was the best we had! Our service from Elizabeth was outstanding ! This restaurant is one of the best to have holiday meals and they serve more than just Thanksgiving they do all holidays that's nice to know.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Thanksgiving Dinner

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on November 27, 2014

This was my very first time eating out for thanksgiving I thought the room was beautiful, the ambiance was nice, the service was excellent. My family and I enjoyed the sparkling apple cider. I was a little disappointed about the food. The beef was a little tough, the macaroni had no taste, but the turkey was great. I thought it would have been great to have some of the more traditional food like ham, potatoes, gravy and yams and for desserts something a little more traditional as well. My family wanted to give me a break from cooking I felt bad for them because I know they were disappointed too.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Fountain Cafe is Spectacular!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on November 27, 2014

We have be coming to Double Tree / Fountain Cafe brunch for years and it just keeps getting better and better. The food, service and ambiance is absolutely 110%!!!! When you compare this to any other "major" hotel brunches / holiday meals they don't even come close. The food is created (that's right "created") with gourmet touches, special ingredients, it is delicious and wonderful tasting. The menu offers something for everyone starting with the huge selection of appetizers consisting of roasted vegetables, cheeses, fruits, sliced meats (oh the Prosciutto was AWESOME), traditional olive marinates, salads, made from scratch soups. The main course selections brings offering of juicy carved turkey, prime rib, salmon, chicken, tempura prawns (to name a few) and absolutely ever side dish you can imagine. The deserts - this is where Chef Chris really "accelerates" ~ you think you have died and gone to heaven. H-o-m-e-m-a-d-e cakes, pies, cookies and if that wasn't impressive enough they have Flaming Cherry Jubilee serviced with vanilla ice cream, YUM!!!!,

Beside the food the other reason we come here time and time again is the service. Jeff the Manager actually is out on the floor, in the restaurant making sure that everything is running smoothly. Chef Chris is also out on the floor overseeing that the food is fresh, full and making sure he can accommodate any special requests. The Servers are all rated "10+" ~ especially Sheba, Elizabeth, the two of them always have a smile, always ready to serve and please you.

The Fountain Cafe won't let you down, hands down the best place for Holiday brunch! Make your reservations early - they sell out :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Holiday Buffets

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on November 27, 2014

My Family is made up of diverse cultual groups and it has always been hard to come up with a menu that everyone can enjoy when we gather for the Holidays. So for years we were buffet hopping to find a venue that has a variety of great food and upscale atmosphere. The Fountain Cafe is now our Holiday tradition because the menu has something for all of us and the staff makes us feel special. The location is easy to find and there is plenty of free parking. The wait staff is helpful and they are good to keep the Mimosa's topped off for us.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

It could have been great

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on November 27, 2014

The staff who seated us had no clue where the tables were according to their own seating map. The service staff were superb. There was a lovely assortment of appetizers, entrees, sides, and salads. The food was hot and presented nicely. The desserts were ordinary with the exception of the fantastic chocolate truffles. There wasn't even any apple pie. How could you serve a Thanksgiving meal without apple pie? This was our third time dining at their Thanksgiving buffet. The first time was spectacular. The second was horrendous. We took several years away and returned this year to give them another chance. It appears as if the chef does not like herbs or citrus. All of the dishes tasted unfinished. If any type of herb had been added, or some citrus, then I'm certain the salads, sides, entrees, and soups would have been wonderful. Instead they were flat and disappointing. With a price tag of $40 per person, this was an expensive, lack-luster, disappointing Thanksgiving meal for my family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5

mothers day

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 11, 2014

they usually don't have a brunch. I didn't want to go to the Casino so found the Doubletree and it had a nice verity and everything was very good

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Mother's Day Brunch

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 11, 2014

Service was friendly and helpful and very attentive. Food was amazing on the selection and quality. Price was reasonable for what you got. I would defiantly go again.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food but...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 11, 2014

When we arrived, we arrived about 10 minutes early. I walked up to the desk where they were checking everyone in, pointed out my name and reservations and they said they are still getting things set up and give them a couple minutes. This went on for about 10 minutes and we finally got seated, 5 minutes after our reservation to a table that had already been ready since we arrived. I was a little mad since it was a Mother's Day Brunch and my wife and I had waited for a Brunch Buffet for awhile. We don't go all out and eat buffets a lot for a couple of years now but when we do its usually a special occasion. Once seated I can't knock the servers and the waiters, they were there every moment and got everything we needed while eating.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Delicious Food; Great Service

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 20, 2014

Out of town for Easter Brunch, we were delighted with our experience. Since we found this during an internet search, we had some reservations about how it would turn out. Those reservations quickly disappeared. The variety of food was wonderful. Be careful with large parties. Automatic service charge was unexpectedly added to the bill -- even though it was a buffet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Magnificent!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on November 28, 2013

We were on vacation in San Diego during Thanksgiving - I browsed the internet and came across this restaurant - LUCKY US!! Oh my goodness,..... the food was outstanding - the service was awesome - and my six year old told the waiter to tell the chef that he was a good 'cooker' - and the chef came out and talked to her! It was so adorable and my husband is normally hard to please, but he loved it!! I'm serious - the BEST food we had the whole time we were in San Diego was right here! And we tried several restaurants and loved all of them - but if I had to rate one as the best, this was it!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Very pleasant experience

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on November 28, 2013

I took my daughter and granddaughter here for Thanksgiving dinner which was buffet style. We had a lovely table next to the fountain. The food was nicely presented and kept hot in individual warming trays. Even though our reservation was at the end of their service the choices were abundant. Turkey was moist and very flavorful as was the prime rib. We asked for and received a bone to take home to my dog. She loved that.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Thanksgiving Buffet

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on November 28, 2013

This is our second year using the Fountain café for our Thanksgiving family feast. We enjoyed it all, and appreciate that it does not get crowded or noisy. The guy filling the mimosa glasses stood right behind us and kept ours full the entire meal. We will go again next year, and will keep them in mind for other family outings when we are in their neighborhood.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Thanksgiving buffet

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on November 28, 2013

It was our first time eating here and it was a reasonably priced thanksgiving buffet with endless mimosas! A good variety of food on top of the usual Thanksgiving spread. Spacious area and descent ambiance. Our mimosa server was very attentive and topped off our drink all throughout. Dessert was fun with the themed fall/thanksgiving but could use a bit more attention on variety of tastes (pumpkin was repeated in a few desserts). But overall, if you're looking to eat good quality food without having to pay an arm and a leg, try this spot, you might like it :)

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Uh-Oh!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on November 28, 2013

After twenty-five years of holiday cooking my wife went on strike. Who could blame her since our family has grown into a mob. So, being the thoughtful husband that I am, I decided to cut her a break, as if I had a choice, remember, she's on strike. A week before Thanksgiving I decided to search the internet for a restaurant that had it all: outstanding food, service and a relaxing ambience, AND, was open on Thanksgiving day. Fortunately no searching was necessary, OpenTable popped right up with a recommendation for the Fountain Cafe at the Doubletree Hotel, Mission Valley in America's Finest City: San Diego, CA.

Big mistake, man. Now my wife declaired holiday dinner out as a new family tradition.

Thanks a lot, OpenTable . . . I think!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.