HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Sun, 2/25
Time
10:30 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 3 times today

Founders Inn Swan Terrace Grill

4.1
268 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Romantic
  • Good for a Date
  • Worth the Drive
Founders Inn Swan Terrace Grill presents an American Grill House menu combining the freshest product from Virginia’s best artisans. Our Award Winning Culinary team expertly creates dishes inspired by the culinary heritage of Virginia and the Eastern Seaboard. Special events include an award-winning Sunday Brunch buffet.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Steak, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Breakfast: Daily: 7:00am - 10:30am
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(757) 366-5777
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Ian Robbins
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Please inquire about your next cantered event with us!
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Centerville Turnpike
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Convenient and complimentary parking
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
HRT
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Resident Pianist during our award-winning Sunday Brunch all year round and everyday through Lunch in December!
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Please join us on New Year's Eve for an amazing 3-course dinner!

During special holiday events such as Easter, Mother's Day, Thanksgiving and Christmas, the award winning team of chefs at Founders Inn, led by Executive Chef Ian Robbins and Executive Sous Chef Josh Kelly, create magnificent feasts to include premium dairy products, the freshest seafood, aged prime rib, locally grown fruits and vegetables and tempting treats for dessert all prepared to perfection.
Additional
Banquet, Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 268 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.1  based on recent ratings
4.2
food
4.3
service
4.6
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Quiet
88% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
ericap 
1.0  Dined on February 17, 2018

Terrible service! waitress ruined my evening by completely ignoring our table! I had to ask a nearby waiter to help us and he was the only reason we didn't just storm off! Food was good they are in desperate need of hiring nicer staff like the gentleman who salvaged the night.

Report
Helpful
GMac (Richmond)
5.0  Dined on February 16, 2018

What a nice dinner. The service, food and ambiance were just excellent. Beautiful night in a beautiful place!

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Richmond)
1.0  Dined on February 15, 2018

I do not know what happened with in the last couple weeks to make the service and food quality deteriorate so rapidly. My first experience was wonderful, the service and food were both fantastic but my last experience was the complete opposite. I asked the hostess if they had a shrimp cocktail or soke kind of shrimp appetizer and she suggested I go somewhere else. The waitress was barely attentive to our table and for more than half our time there we were literally the only customers. The food was horrible in comparison to my last visit which was only a couple weeks ago. I actually bragged about this place after my first experience and wondered why they were not completely booked up every night. Well, now I know why.

Report
Helpful
sewolf (Richmond)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

Excellent Valentine's Day experience. Four course meal along with wine pairings. FAVORITE was dessert, of course - chose the chocolate/peanut butter and banana cake as well as the crème brule. The onion soup an winter squash soups were super fantastic - both in flavor and amount provided. Second course choices included croquette and a waffle dish. though different, both choices were excellent. All parties opted for the steak as the main course. The twice-baked potato was excellent! The cauliflower was only grill-roasted and could have used some seasoning and butter. Similarly, the steak was disappointingly under-seasoned though grilled nicely. We will be going back again even if it is not a holiday. Definitely check out the Sunday brunch!!!!

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Richmond)
5.0  Dined on January 26, 2018

The worst part actually leads to one of their best qualities as well. That is the fact that they do not have a wide menu selection, but the few choices they have are always cooked to perfection. They took the saying K.I.S.S. ( keep it simple stupid ) and made it work.
The service was very attentive but not overbearing. The atmosphere is quiet and could be very romantic. The price of the food is well worth it, similar restaraunts cost atleast $20 more per person.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Richmond)
5.0  Dined on January 19, 2018

Every time possible, I utilize the Swan Terrace for connecting with people. The setting is beautiful, only outdone by the professional service and award-winning menu. This place is exemplary in SE VA; always a delight!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Los Angeles)
5.0  Dined on January 14, 2018

Excellent food! Got more than our money’s worth.

Report
Helpful
timbrwlf (Richmond)
3.0  Dined on January 13, 2018

My friends and I visited for our annual Christmas /New Years dinner and exchange of gifts. It was not up to par. We have done this same thing for the past 5 years. My wife ordered the filet mignon and it was to tough to cut. Her potatoes were cold in middle. One of the other men and I ordered the lamb chops. They were moist and tasty. One of the ladies ordered their pasta special and complained that the shrimp were so small you could barely see them. The third man ordered the same but the waiter gave him a similar dish from the menu (seafood diablo) The third woman ordered chicken from the Fixe Prie menu. There was only one wait person for multiple tables so we saw him very seldom. Others filled in but they were understaffed.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Orlando)
3.0  Dined on December 21, 2017

Stuffed chicken was over cooked, hard and dry with little stuffing. Desert was frozen hard.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Richmond)
5.0  Dined on December 13, 2017

The food, atmosphere and service were outstanding! We enjoyed something called their Colonial Buffet, which was a holiday buffet for the Christmas Season. From being greeted at the door, to being seated by the window to see the holiday lights outside, to the scrumptious buffet, and the excellent service I know I'll return on another occasion.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Richmond)
5.0  Dined on December 13, 2017

The buffet was very good and the staff attentive. The Christmas decorations were wonderful.

Report
Helpful
Jimbo (Richmond)
3.0  Dined on December 9, 2017

Made reservations and accommodated immediately upon our arrival.

Pros:
Atmosphere/Ambiance
Service
Salmon entree
Customer service

Cons:
Filet Mignon entree

Seated in a nice seat by the window. Ordered filet mignon and salmon. Bread arrived with balls of butter on a dish. The butter dish was a coffee cup saucer. Trying for an upscale look, but failed with the saucer as the butter dish. Personally, I don't really care. Just thought I'd mention for those who do. Salmon in sauce, garlic mashed potatoes and vegetable medley were delicious. Reasonably priced at $20.00. The filet was VERY small. Much smaller than anticipated. Isn't advertised as a petite filet either, but it was very, very small. Ordered medium, but it was served well-done. Returned to kitchen for a new filet. Enjoyed salmon while my better half patiently waited. Finished my salmon dinner. Server offered soup or salad while we waited for filet. I asked for She Crab Soup when the filet was served. Both finally arrived, but it was about 15 minutes AFTER I had finished my salmon. We knew this filet might also be overcooked knowing how long it had been since it was re-ordered. When the second filet arrived, it was cooked identical to the first one. We asked for a manager, and the manager (Katherine) was very quick to get to the table. She asked for the steak to be cut down the center; which also showed that the filet was over-cooked. In agreement that the filet was cooked well-done, she offered to make things right. We didn't want to wait around for a third opportunity, so we politely refused. She did provide us with a complimentary brunch the following day. The lunch items at the brunch buffet were very good. Stay away from the breakfast items on the hot bar. Most, including the scrambled eggs, were cold.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Richmond)
3.0  Dined on December 9, 2017

We have dined here several times. Food is very good. Staff is polite and competent. A little too long between the soup/salad and arrival of the main course. Will return again.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Richmond)
3.0  Dined on November 29, 2017

Love the ambience and on most occasions, the food. We had reservations for 7:00 and several of the food items on the buffet were dry due to sitting under a holding lamp. Also, didn't know ahead of time that the buffet was our only option.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Richmond)
4.0  Dined on November 24, 2017

First of all we were disappointed that there was no seafood buffet, my bad I guess I didn’t get the memo they had discontinued it this summer. Ok, so we ordered from the menu and the food was good. Apparently the heat wasn’t working so we wore our jackets through our meal. It was also way to noisy for mom who wears a hearing aid to hear anything since we were seated next to the very noisy kitchen. Overall the food was good and the service was good and they apologized for the lack of the seafood buffet and gave us a discount card for the Italian buffet night. A for effort!

Report
Helpful
Diane1 (Pittsburgh)
5.0  Dined on November 8, 2017

We went to celbrate a co workers Birthday. Very nice buffet with lots og choices and get the bread pudding with special cream sauce. Outstanding even if you don't like bread pudding, I can guarantee you will love this one!

Report
Helpful
vipTomD (Richmond)
3.0  Dined on October 22, 2017

We've been to the Swan Terrace for brunch many times and we've kept going back because it's been great. But...this past Sunday, they were a bit off their game, so to speak. Omelet was undercooked, beef was iffy, etc. Hopefully, this time was an anomaly and not a trend.

Report
Helpful
nancy25 (Richmond)
2.0  Dined on September 23, 2017

The staff was very accommodating to our party of 6 by moving the table to a spot not as close to the hostess station. The food, appetizer (soup) and entrees were cold, not even lukewarm. When something was said to the waitress about the soup, she apologized but obviously made no effort to make sure the entrees were hot. Nice touch for the two birthday ladies,, 2 coconut cakes. 3 coffees were ordered but no one got them.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New York Area)
2.0  Dined on August 27, 2017

The food wasn't great at all. The boy took our drink order, the waitress forever to come to our table. We had already gotten our food by the time she came. Will not be going back there for brunch.

Report
Helpful
Chris (Richmond)
3.0  Dined on August 22, 2017

Great restaurant, however I didn't realize they only offered the Pasta buffet on Tuesdays. I chose this restaurant to celebrate my husband's birthday specifically for their menu items. We were very disappointed when we realized you could not order off the menu. I went back and checked the website and did not see that Tuesday's did not offer their menu anywhere on the website. The pasta buffet had a great selection and the service was great, however it was overpriced. I would love to try the restaurant again when they offer their full menu.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
14