Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 1.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 1.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 1.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 1.12mi

About Founders Inn Swan Terrace Grill

Founders Inn Swan Terrace Grill presents an American Grill House menu combining the freshest product from Virginia’s best artisans. Our Award Winning Culinary team expertly creates dishes inspired by the culinary heritage of Virginia and the Eastern Seaboard. Special events include and all you can eat Sunday Brunch buffet, an all you can eat Pasta Night buffet (every Tuesday), and an all you can eat Seafood Night (every Thursday). Specialty dinner items include our signature 10oz. Founders Cut Delmonico, Filet Mignon, Crab Cakes, and Oysters Rockefeller.

5641 Indian River Road
Virginia Beach, VA 23464
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 7:00am - 10:30am
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Centerville Turnpike

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 366-5777

Website:
http://www.foundersinn.com/dining-en.html

Parking Details:
Convenient and complimentary parking

Executive Chef:
Michael Bergen

Additional:
Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please join us on New Year's Eve for an amazing 3-course dinner! Please call the Swan Terrace at (757)366.5777 to make reservations.

During special holiday events such as Easter, Mother's Day, Thanksgiving and Christmas, the award winning team of chefs at Founders Inn, led by Executive Chef Michael Bergen, create magnificent feasts to include premium dairy products, the freshest seafood, aged prime rib, locally grown fruits and vegetables and tempting treats for dessert all prepared to perfection.

Founders Inn Swan Terrace Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (6)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Good for a Date (4)
See All
Great for Lunch (4)
Healthy (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Authentic (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Casual (3)
Historic (3)
Business Meals (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Private Room (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Family Style (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Fireplace (2)
Romantic (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Scenic View (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Organic (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Cozy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Neighborhood Gem (0)
Fun (0)
Open Kitchen (0)
Sort By:
S
238 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined 5 days ago

We went to celebrate our 32nd wedding anniversary. The description on Open Table made it sound awesome. But it couldn't have been further from the truth! The description indicated that on Thursday nights there was a seafood buffet. We wanted seafood but not necessarily a buffet. We thought we'd look at it and if we weren't interested we would just order off the menu. It also said the dress code was smart casual. I put on a summer dress, my husband a button down shirt and dress pants. We show up to a musty smelling place where everybody is wearing shorts and shirts. Then they tell us there's a burger bar buffet that also includes chicken and steak kabobs, salad bar and desserts. As we walk across the room, the carpet is so old and dirty that my sandals kept sticking to it! The hardwood floor was no better! And the table was gross and sticky! We were then told that we couldn't order from the menu, we could only do the buffet. We really should have left, it was awful! I'm not sure why it has 4.5 stars in the reviews. Even if the food was good, which it wasn't (tough steak, under cooked chicken, canned pork and beans), the place was grossly filthy!!! I will never set foot in that place again! Open Table you need to re-evaluate the description!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Our waitress heard my husband say it was my 79th Birthday and she surprised me with a small cake that said Happy Birthday. It was very special and particularly sitting next to a warm fire.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We had a great time, great food, great atmosphere. The only drawback was it took so long for our food to arrive

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Pre-Prom dinner. Excellent food, very prompt service. Will keep this place in mind for future dinners.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The lunch buffet and other special events prompted me to try this for dinner. Very nice for a late dinner too-- good presentation and atmosphere.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Historic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great food and service. We just happened to be sitting near a large party that was a bit too noisy.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 26, 2017

I come here for brunch often on special occasions.. However, when i came yestersay, i mentioned on phone that it was my anniversary and they agreed to give a "happy anniversary" dessert , but they forgot. I did not mention it to the waiter, because i thought he would bring it with thw check but never did. So i left disappointed .

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Our neighborhood ladies group thoroughly enjoyed the buffet lunch, everything was fresh and tasted good. The apple slaw was a great hit with everyone!

Tags: Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Attentive service . Delicious food. Elegant restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Outstanding food. Inexperienced staff. Our waiter spilled wine all over a guest and we had to ask utensils.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Amazing! I brought my family for Sunday brunch. Everything was so delicious. They made omelettes, there was waffles, pancakes, potatoes, chicken, fruit, desserts, you name it, they had it. Emily was our server and she is WONDERFUL! Everyone was so attentive and pleasant. We cannot wait to go back!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My husband and I were attending a marriage conference there and went on our date night to the Swann Terrace. We enjoyed the food, but it wasn't excellent. We enjoyed the atmosphere.

Tags: Private Room, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Very delicious food and awesome atmosphere. Wait or was very knowledgeable of wines and beers to help give us a great experience.

Tags: Historic, Fireplace, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great food
Great service
Classy ambience
Good value

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 22, 2017

This place is lovely for a Sunday brunch.
The food was very well prepared.
There was a lot of food.
The seafood items were great.
I recommend this place without reservations.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The staff is incredible.... especially when they recognize you be face and remember your name. Extremely attentive and polite. Love coming back to the Founder Inn.....Wish you gives offered points or rewards for stays.

Tags: Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Historic, Business Meals, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Wound up going for dinner instead of lunch. Buffet style
Dinner not as mentioned on open table. Very disappointed. Chicken very dry. Pasta station was good. Salad bar very basic and limited. Salmon honey also very dry and looked like it had been out for awhile. Restaurant was cold and a little too bright for a nice quiet dinner. Not very impressed and misled by previous reviews by people who obviously don't dine out too often.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Josh provided us with extraordinary service. The pasta buffet was varied and very enjoyable. Recommend putting slices of pizza back on the buffet-great for "small fry".

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We were extremely disappointed as nowhere in the paperwork when I made the reservation did it state that dinner was Buffet. We arrived at 7:45 so I suspect the food had been on the Buffet for a while.They ran out of Prime rib and the replacement piece was overcooked -could have past for Pot Roast. We had family in for dinner & they were disappointed & we were embarrassed as both were expecting a sit down meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 16, 2016

We decided on this place for our office Christmas Lunch; our staff was very pleased with the service and food. Thank you for making it such a great experiance. It was very festive and that Christmas Tree!! Beautiful!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 15, 2016

We told the server we were going to a symphony performance after dinner. We allowed 2 hours for the meal. Our appetizers took 55 minutes (soup and oysters) and the soup was barely warm. The entree came out soon after and everthing was good, but aftet waiting so long for the appetizers, we were rushed to finish our meal and get to the performance. The restaurant was not crowded at all. Overall, not a good experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 13, 2016

You are never disappointed at Swan Terrace with good food, great music and lovely people to take care of you. The buffet is delicious and varied; fruit very sweet and good; meats cooked to perfection and the atmosphere is the best. Highly recommend for any occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We were pleased overall with our dining experience. We were celebrating an early Christmas Holiday get together. The only disappointment was the selection of desserts. This hasn't ever been a problem in years past. Otherwise we thoroughly enjoyed our outing.

Tags: Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Our waiter Tony was exceptional. He was extremely polite and attentive. Even though our reserved table place in the middle of a birthday party with toddlers running around and people having loud conversation leaning and on our table to snap pictures - Tony made sure that we were well taken care of.

I enjoy the Founders in for Brunch....the business meeting was a success, I am looking forward to my annual company Christmas party on December 3rd..

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 29, 2016

It was very quiet, our server was courteous, knowledgeable and checked on us regularly but not obtrusively. The food was great, clearly fresh vegies. It was a birthday celebration and there was a complimentary one to two serving coconut cake, very fresh and light.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Admittedly, I am a regular; because the selection and service are stellar! Did I mention the gorgeous setting? Swan Terrace sets the highest example of fine dining experience!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Good food, freshly prepared. Great service by a friendly and knowledgeable waitress. If in the area again, I will try again.

Tags: Healthy, Late-night Find, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Food and service were ourstanding. The ambiance was classy. Am going back for thanksgiving buffet.

Tags: Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 7, 2016

The carved out watermelons of a shark ,penguin and fish. These wonderfully made art pieces were surrounded by hand pattied crab cakes, eat and peel shrimp as well as FRESH shucked oysters. Excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 3, 2016

Sunday brunch should have been perfect on this visit, however, our assigned waitress just visited us, twice-Coffee, drinks delivery. During the duration of our stay, several dining staff pickup our used dishes. We have to locate the where about of our assigned waitress, because of the bills.
Assigned waiter/waitress should not be reassigned, without replacement to take care of the dinning customers.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 28, 2016

We enjoy Swan Terrace several times during the year for dinner with special friends. We particularly enjoy the pasta Tuesdays...glad they have resumed. The chefs are friendly and patient with the decision making process and are excellent at their profession.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 22, 2016

Excellent food, ambience not as special as the food and prices, however. Great customer service. Noise level from groups of patrons took away from the specialness of our 25th Anniversary dinner.
If they could update the dining room to more spread out tables, that would be nice.
Overall, its a great restaurant!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 18, 2016

Service was attentive without being overpowering. One would never guess that there were three weddings going on on site while we ate.Our waiter got our bills out to us in plenty of time to make it to a play across campus. Everyone's dish was exactly as they had ordered and no one was disappointed. Wish I'd had room for it, dessert looked amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 7, 2016

Italian buffet was fantastic. Would highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 30, 2016

They only had a very limited buffet for lunch. The information on open table was lacking. Servers were nice even as they informed us at 2;45 that the buffet was being taken down. Sad face.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 16, 2016

If you are expecting stuffed chicken like Ruth Chris, then you will be disappointed. The salad was a little limp and the chicken was dry. On the bright side the waitress was nice and the ambiance was great.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 9, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our 41st wedding anniversary. We were not displeased in any way with our selection of Saw Terrance. It was a delightful dining experience.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 20, 2016

We've been to this restaurant last Sunday for the first time, we wanted to taste the buffet. It was a very successful experience. The staff was professional and took care of everything. There is a broad range of dishes proposed like seafood, cold fishes, well prepared fishes and meats, plenty of desserts and you can also taste the delicious breakfast. The supervisor paid attention to my birthday and offered a dedicated dessert to celebrate. The setting is also very pleasant. We'll come back there very soon with our friends.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 19, 2016

Great atmosphere and excellent cuisine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 10, 2016

I wanted to take a girl friend to a relaxing luncheon. She has have a lot going on. Since I had been here a couple of times and really enjoyed the surrounding and the beauty and the relaxing setting I decided to treat her. This was her first time and she truly enjoyed it. The food, services, were all ratings A.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.