About Founders Inn Swan Terrace Grill

5641 Indian River Road
Virginia Beach, VA 23464
View Larger Map

Founders Inn Swan Terrace Grill presents an American Grill House menu combining the freshest product from Virginia’s best artisans. Our Award Winning Culinary team expertly creates dishes inspired by the culinary heritage of Virginia and the Eastern Seaboard. Special events include and all you can eat Sunday Brunch buffet, an all you can eat Pasta Night buffet (every Tuesday), and an all you can eat BBQ on the Terrace. Specialty dinner items include our signature 10oz. Founders Cut Delmonico, Filet Mignon, Crab Cakes, and Oysters Rockefeller.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 7:00am - 10:30am
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Centerville Turnpike

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 366-5777

Website:
http://www.foundersinn.com/dining-en.html

Parking Details:
Convenient and complimentary parking

Executive Chef:
Michael Bergen

Additional:
Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
During special holiday events such as Easter, Mother's Day, Thanksgiving and Christmas, the award winning team of chefs at Founders Inn, led by Executive Chef Michael Bergen, create magnificent feasts to include premium dairy products, the freshest seafood, aged prime rib, locally grown fruits and vegetables and tempting treats for dessert all prepared to perfection.

Specials

Pasta Night

Tuesdays from 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM

BBQ on the Terrace

Thursdays from 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Specials

Pasta Night

Tuesdays from 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

Come and enjoy a delicious buffet featuring a chef attended pasta station with a variety of pastas, sauces and toppings. Create your own unique pasta with great wine specials! 17.95 for adults, 3.95 for kids 5 - 12, kids 4 and under are free. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 29, 2016 - Oct 29, 2016 on Tuesdays from 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM.

BBQ on the Terrace

Thursdays from 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

Enjoy a feast of pork BBQ, catfish, sausage, chicken and beef kabobs, chili, locally grown fruit and vegetables along with tempting desserts from our in-house pastry shop all prepared to perfection. Live music and drink specials!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jul 7, 2016 - Oct 27, 2016 on Thursdays from 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM.

Founders Inn Swan Terrace Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (11)
Romantic (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
See All
Good for Groups (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Scenic View (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Fireplace (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Casual (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Cozy (1)
Healthy (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
Newest
200 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food and service were ourstanding. The a ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Food and service were ourstanding. The ambiance was classy. Am going back for thanksgiving buffet.

Tags: Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The carved out watermelons of a shark ,p ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The carved out watermelons of a shark ,penguin and fish. These wonderfully made art pieces were surrounded by hand pattied crab cakes, eat and peel shrimp as well as FRESH shucked oysters. Excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sunday brunch should have been perfect o ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Sunday brunch should have been perfect on this visit, however, our assigned waitress just visited us, twice-Coffee, drinks delivery. During the duration of our stay, several dining staff pickup our used dishes. We have to locate the where about of our assigned waitress, because of the bills.

Assigned waiter/waitress should not be reassigned, without replacement to take care of the dinning customers.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

We enjoy Swan Terrace several times dur ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

We enjoy Swan Terrace several times during the year for dinner with special friends. We particularly enjoy the pasta Tuesdays...glad they have resumed. The chefs are friendly and patient with the decision making process and are excellent at their profession.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, ambience not as special ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Excellent food, ambience not as special as the food and prices, however. Great customer service. Noise level from groups of patrons took away from the specialness of our 25th Anniversary dinner.

If they could update the dining room to more spread out tables, that would be nice.

Overall, its a great restaurant!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was attentive without being over ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Service was attentive without being overpowering. One would never guess that there were three weddings going on on site while we ate.Our waiter got our bills out to us in plenty of time to make it to a play across campus. Everyone's dish was exactly as they had ordered and no one was disappointed. Wish I'd had room for it, dessert looked amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Italian buffet was fantastic. Would hig ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Italian buffet was fantastic. Would highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

How disappointing

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

They only had a very limited buffet for lunch. The information on open table was lacking. Servers were nice even as they informed us at 2;45 that the buffet was being taken down. Sad face.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Restaurant was nice and service was good.

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

If you are expecting stuffed chicken like Ruth Chris, then you will be disappointed. The salad was a little limp and the chicken was dry. On the bright side the waitress was nice and the ambiance was great.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

a delightful dining experience

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our 41st wedding anniversary. We were not displeased in any way with our selection of Saw Terrance. It was a delightful dining experience.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice place for birthday celebration

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

We've been to this restaurant last Sunday for the first time, we wanted to taste the buffet. It was a very successful experience. The staff was professional and took care of everything. There is a broad range of dishes proposed like seafood, cold fishes, well prepared fishes and meats, plenty of desserts and you can also taste the delicious breakfast. The supervisor paid attention to my birthday and offered a dedicated dessert to celebrate. The setting is also very pleasant. We'll come back there very soon with our friends.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great atmosphere and excellent cuisine.

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Great atmosphere and excellent cuisine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Experience Elegnance

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

I wanted to take a girl friend to a relaxing luncheon. She has have a lot going on. Since I had been here a couple of times and really enjoyed the surrounding and the beauty and the relaxing setting I decided to treat her. This was her first time and she truly enjoyed it. The food, services, were all ratings A.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great brunch place

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Very good brunch menu; great variety. Food well-prepared, mostly scratch-prepared. Service always very good; staff well-trained, attentive and polite.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Improved a lot

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Been a while since I had been here, the quality had declined, but recent reviews were positive so gave it another try. It has gotten back a lot of it's former glory. Service was excellent, good food options, and the only problem with the food was the roast was a little cold. Otherwise there was a ton of great options. Will be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Swan Terrace Grill

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

The food was mediocre. Lamb chops were ordered welldone, arrived medium rare. The waitress did not ask if the food was properly prepared. The steak dinner arrived cold. Overall experience was very disappointing. Will never eat there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

Overall the dining experience was fairly ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Overall the dining experience was fairly good - I would not recommend the restaurant to a friend. Service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Would not go back again

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Restaurant week gave me the motivation to try Swan Terrace. Poor choice! The food was lukewarm, my meal came with Mascarpone mashed potatoes but was served roasted potatoes. I hate roasted potatoes! Server never mentioned that there was a substitution. Dessert was the only good part of the meal. However it was advertised as Canadian Maple Crème Brûlé - where was the maple flavor? Meal came with Asparagus bundles. Bundle was 4 very skinny pieces of Asparagus. Portions were small. Husband wanted real dinner when we came home. Bad experience will NEVER go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Overall Great Place For Finer Dining

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

A little out of date in ambience but overall nice quiet romantic atmosphere. Food was delicious and speedy. Several servers around which is nice if you need a lot of attention but otherwise found them a little distracting

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food so, so. Sangria was superb!

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

A friend and I dined during restaurant week. The crab bisque was watery and lacking flavor. The Delmonico steak was grizzly and overcooked. The lamb was perfect and tender. The crème brulee came out burnt and we returned it. Another came out but was still partially burnt. We tried it anyhow and the crème was separated. Not good at all. The best part of the evening was the house made SANGRIA. There is a white and a red. We ordered a pitcher of white and it was not overly sweet. The red had a more spicy taste to it but not overly sweet either. I would go back just to drink Sangria during the summer, since there is no bar to chill at.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

Not What we Expected

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on February 25, 2016

We visited during Restaurant week and it wasn't crowded when we arrived. We ordered one of the plates offered for the special pricing. Our appetizers arrived and the Crab Bisque was very good, the BLT salad was ok. When we received our entrée the potatoes were cold and the chicken crepes dish was warm at best. We both enjoyed our dessert, which we agreed was the best part of the meal. When asked how the meal was, we truthfully told them about our food not being served hot. When our bill was presented they had graciously compensated by taking off the price of our drinks. Over all the food was good, but for the price they charge, probably not worth the cost. I doubt we will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Not impressed!

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on February 24, 2016

Service was very slow and had to ask for wine menu and bread. Steak order had no flavor. A disappointing night out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Horrible is too weak a word, let's try deplorable.

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on February 23, 2016

We have travelled all over the United States and the world quite extensively, and frequently dine out. We never expected to find the "Worst dining experience of our lives" in our own backyard. Below even standard food quality was topped off by the slowest service from a staff that not only did not seem interested in serving the clientele, but also not interested in working with each other. We spent 45 minutes waiting for appetizers before spending another hour and a half waiting for our entrees to arrive my wife ordered the "lamb chops with mashed potatoes" which turned out to be a "lamb chop with roasted red potatoes". I ordered the Delmonico Steak (sliced so thin that a deli would almost consider it shaved) with "roasted red potatoes" which turned out to be mashed potatoes. Both came accompanied by the Chefs choice of vegetable, which ended up being 2 asparagus stalks and a thin slice of Red pepper. Neither meal would have even passed as a poor meal at a third world truck stop. We arrived for dinner at 5:30pm and the restaurant had only 4 other guests and as we waited patiently for over two and a quarter hours, watched as others who arrived either suffered along with us or left without their meals. Finally after two and a quarter hours the Manager asked for our dessert order. Determined to outlast the will of our torturers we ordered the Fried Banana Cheesecake (which was actually a churro stuffed with banana ice cream) and the Flaming Maple Creme Brûlée. After another 40 minutes the Manager came to the table and told us the kitchen was still cooking our desserts, and offered to pack them to go, if we wanted. Ice cream and Flaming Creme brûlée to go? After almost 3 hours we left thoroughly disappointed and swearing to never step foot in the Swan Terrace again. The only reason the place gets 1 star, is because I don't think I can enter a zero rating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The filet mignon and wine (Seven Falls C ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

The filet mignon and wine (Seven Falls Cabernet) were excellent, garlic potatoes were good. Only veggies available were carrots and asparagus. They were out of ice cream. Coffee was lukewarm, and the replacement pot was also lukewarm. Fried caramel banana cheesecake did not contain any cheesecake, as far as I could tell. Service was friendly, albeit slow--nearly 2 hours for the two of us, arrival, entree and dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

The brunch was delicious; huge selection ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

The brunch was delicious; huge selection of breakfast and lunch items, they have a seafood bar with amazing fresh crab cakes. We had a nice window seat in a quiet corner so not many other diners nearby. Service was fast and pleasant, staff was friendly and energetic, you have to try this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a lovely lunch. The food was deli ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

We had a lovely lunch. The food was delicious, especially the broccoli cheddar soup! The sweet potatoes and pulled pork was also very good. Everyone was very friendly and accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Noise and wrong meal

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on January 29, 2016

The kitchen is very open and creates noise the atmosphere , we kept hearing the staff talk. Waitress got my order wrong, should have suggested keeping my husbands order warm so that we could enjoy the meal together.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Sunday brunch is exceptional.

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on January 10, 2016

I enjoy myself each time I come to brunch. The food is great and staff are attentive.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

We visited on a night that to our surpri ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on January 6, 2016

We visited on a night that to our surprise , was Tuscan night. We were told they did not offer the normal menu and the nights Tuscan menu was served buffet style.

Most of the food was tasty. The dishes that were dry was the crab ravioli and the salmon.

Overall we enjoyed the meal and the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

Great brunch

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

Had a wonderful time with a friend who had not gone before. She enjoyed the atmosphere and food. I always enjoy the restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Very Disappointing

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on December 17, 2015

I love Founder's Inn at the holiday season. The decorations are festive and grand. Four of us made reservations for dinner to be followed by the Messiah at Regent University. We had two hours to eat and drive literally behind the Swan Terrace which should've made for a relaxing evening. I'd asked for a seating by the fireplace which was not honored for starters. We were seated and drink orders taken and brought to the table immediately. We ordered shortly afterwards. Our meal didn't come for AN HOUR with no explanation from our server. We had to ask for refills on beverages and had to ask about our meal. FINALLY it arrived and two of the four meals were stone cold, not even warm! Unacceptable but now we were pressed for time. One patron ate hers cold and the other asked for it to be put in the microwave, which took another 15 minutes! There were a lot of server-type people around and asking if they could help, but apparently the kitchen staff is lacking for staff. We will not be back next year! We were not the only people having problems. We heard and noticed 3 other tables with the same concern. It was not crowded in there at all, maybe 8 tables with people so I'm not sure what the problem is!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

Dining Diva

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on December 8, 2015

Great experience at Swan Terrace, food was delicious, buffet price for lunch a little high but they offer menu items as well. Great place for get together, special party, dining with friends. Beautful setting, Christmas time is lovely there with tree. Friendly servers, quick, keep check on you.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

if you enjoy food this is the place to go

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on November 22, 2015

Looking for a good Brunch place and found this restaurant . A very pleasant surprise. Eating here is a marathon not a race!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful experience

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on November 22, 2015

Founders Inn Swan Terrace Grill is one of my favorite spots. The atmosphere is relaxing. I have taken friends and family to celebrate special occasions. The food variety and dessert selection is just amazing. The staff is friendly and attentive. I look forward to my next visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The crab cakes tasted stale. My husband ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on November 7, 2015

The crab cakes tasted stale. My husband's brisket was great and the mashed potatoes were good also. We thought we were getting seasonal vegetables but both got asparagus and neither of us like it. Overall the service was great but we were disappointed in the crab cake taste and the choice of vegetable. The bread however was very good.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Love the ambience.

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on October 15, 2015

Love the ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Memorable dishes; creative menu choices. ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on September 18, 2015

Memorable dishes; creative menu choices. Thoughtful service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Sunday Brunch

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on February 1, 2015

I have not seen a Sunday Brunch or service of this quality in quite some time. Price was more than reasonable and included 1 mimosa and all non alcoholic drinks in addition to the buffet. Servers were top notch, polite and very attentive. The staff went out of their way to make you feel special and welcome. Food was spectacular and included a cooked shrimp already peeled, fresh oysters, salmon and cooked to order crab cakes. There was also an omelet station and waffles were available. Carving station was prime rib. Additionally there were 6 additional cooked entrees and two vegetables. Salad bar was bountiful and included a great assortment of cheeses..

I wrote in the comment section that it was my girlfriend birthday and they made her a special dessert served on china with Happy Birthday spelled in chocolate without being asked.

Based on this experience I will definitely be a return customer and would highly recommend their brunch Can't wait to try for a regular dinner service.

Tom

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A graat place for a pleasant Sunday lunc ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on February 1, 2015

A graat place for a pleasant Sunday lunch on cold winters day by the fireside.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Best Brunch Buffett

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on January 25, 2015

We went for Sunday Brunch and the selections where from breakfest items to seafood. The diining area is comfortable and open. Great food and service

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.