Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 1.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 1.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 1.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 1.12mi

About Founders Inn Swan Terrace Grill

Founders Inn Swan Terrace Grill presents an American Grill House menu combining the freshest product from Virginia’s best artisans. Our Award Winning Culinary team expertly creates dishes inspired by the culinary heritage of Virginia and the Eastern Seaboard. Special events include and all you can eat Sunday Brunch buffet, an all you can eat Pasta Night buffet (every Tuesday), and an all you can eat Seafood Night (every Thursday). Specialty dinner items include our signature 10oz. Founders Cut Delmonico, Filet Mignon, Crab Cakes, and Oysters Rockefeller.

5641 Indian River Road
Virginia Beach, VA 23464
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 7:00am - 10:30am
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Centerville Turnpike

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 366-5777

Website:
http://www.foundersinn.com/dining-en.html

Parking Details:
Convenient and complimentary parking

Executive Chef:
Michael Bergen

Additional:
Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please join us on New Year's Eve for an amazing 3-course dinner! Please call the Swan Terrace at (757)366.5777 to make reservations.

During special holiday events such as Easter, Mother's Day, Thanksgiving and Christmas, the award winning team of chefs at Founders Inn, led by Executive Chef Michael Bergen, create magnificent feasts to include premium dairy products, the freshest seafood, aged prime rib, locally grown fruits and vegetables and tempting treats for dessert all prepared to perfection.

Founders Inn Swan Terrace Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (7)
Worth the Drive (4)
Authentic (3)
See All
Great for Brunch (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Casual (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Romantic (2)
Business Meals (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Fun (1)
Seasonal (1)
Private Room (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Scenic View (1)
Organic (1)
Cozy (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Family Style (1)
Open Kitchen (0)
Sort By:
S
247 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 11, 2017

I love this place; perfect for the business/friend connection over great food!

Tags: Healthy, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Fantastic selections, everything was fresh, friendly staff. Not crowded.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Sat outside for Sunday brunch which was great, it allowed us to enjoy the gardens. The restaurant itself is a hotel restaurant. A little dated, but clean and most people were smartly dressed in church wear. There was live piano music and for a buffet the food was good, with a nice selection & variety. The staff was very nice and approachable. Overall an enjoyable experience & I would return for brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 6, 2017

The lunch was very tasty! The environment was wonderful and the staff were very friendly and attentive. Keep in mind we were dining for lunch on a weekday at this particular time. I have dined with the Swan Terrace Grill a few times before where it has been busy and the staff are just as friendly and the food is still really yummy!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 27, 2017

The food was a typical hotel buffet. It wasn't crowded - which was a plus - so there wasn't a wait to walk through the buffet or order your omelet.

Despite having a reservation, no one greeted us at the door and it took a while to get seated.

There was only one waitress servicing the entire dining room so the service was pleasant, but slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Celebrated our 51st wedding anniversary,staying at Founders Inn and dining in at Swann Terrace. Without a doubt, our best weekend experience to date! Everything from registration to checkout was par excellant. We had a five star dining experience on 6/17/17 , Chef Angel prepared our New Zeland Lamb Chops to perfection. Thanks again for a most memerable anniversary weekend.

Tags: Organic, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 16, 2017

My wife and I dine at Swan Terrace about three or four times a year. This past Friday night was wonderful. I had the Founders Cut and my wife had the Atlantic Salmon. The staff was alert and personal. It was a great evening and we will do it again next month.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Excellent fresh seafood -- jumbo shrimp and oysters on the half shell. Wonderful array of delicious buffet items. Great for family gatherings.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 18, 2017

We went to celebrate our 32nd wedding anniversary. The description on Open Table made it sound awesome. But it couldn't have been further from the truth! The description indicated that on Thursday nights there was a seafood buffet. We wanted seafood but not necessarily a buffet. We thought we'd look at it and if we weren't interested we would just order off the menu. It also said the dress code was smart casual. I put on a summer dress, my husband a button down shirt and dress pants. We show up to a musty smelling place where everybody is wearing shorts and shirts. Then they tell us there's a burger bar buffet that also includes chicken and steak kabobs, salad bar and desserts. As we walk across the room, the carpet is so old and dirty that my sandals kept sticking to it! The hardwood floor was no better! And the table was gross and sticky! We were then told that we couldn't order from the menu, we could only do the buffet. We really should have left, it was awful! I'm not sure why it has 4.5 stars in the reviews. Even if the food was good, which it wasn't (tough steak, under cooked chicken, canned pork and beans), the place was grossly filthy!!! I will never set foot in that place again! Open Table you need to re-evaluate the description!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Restaurant did not honor our reservation because it was closed (special occasion). Manager was extremely rude and told us it was our fault for missing their cancellation phone call that morning, literally minutes before we were scheduled to be there. Manager then lied about rebooking us later in the day. Completely ruined the Mother's Day I had planned for my wife. Spend your money elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Our waitress heard my husband say it was my 79th Birthday and she surprised me with a small cake that said Happy Birthday. It was very special and particularly sitting next to a warm fire.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We had a great time, great food, great atmosphere. The only drawback was it took so long for our food to arrive

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Pre-Prom dinner. Excellent food, very prompt service. Will keep this place in mind for future dinners.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The lunch buffet and other special events prompted me to try this for dinner. Very nice for a late dinner too-- good presentation and atmosphere.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great food and service. We just happened to be sitting near a large party that was a bit too noisy.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 26, 2017

I come here for brunch often on special occasions.. However, when i came yestersay, i mentioned on phone that it was my anniversary and they agreed to give a "happy anniversary" dessert , but they forgot. I did not mention it to the waiter, because i thought he would bring it with thw check but never did. So i left disappointed .

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Our neighborhood ladies group thoroughly enjoyed the buffet lunch, everything was fresh and tasted good. The apple slaw was a great hit with everyone!

Tags: Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Outstanding food. Inexperienced staff. Our waiter spilled wine all over a guest and we had to ask utensils.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Attentive service . Delicious food. Elegant restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Amazing! I brought my family for Sunday brunch. Everything was so delicious. They made omelettes, there was waffles, pancakes, potatoes, chicken, fruit, desserts, you name it, they had it. Emily was our server and she is WONDERFUL! Everyone was so attentive and pleasant. We cannot wait to go back!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My husband and I were attending a marriage conference there and went on our date night to the Swann Terrace. We enjoyed the food, but it wasn't excellent. We enjoyed the atmosphere.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Very delicious food and awesome atmosphere. Wait or was very knowledgeable of wines and beers to help give us a great experience.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great food
Great service
Classy ambience
Good value

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 22, 2017

This place is lovely for a Sunday brunch.
The food was very well prepared.
There was a lot of food.
The seafood items were great.
I recommend this place without reservations.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The staff is incredible.... especially when they recognize you be face and remember your name. Extremely attentive and polite. Love coming back to the Founder Inn.....Wish you gives offered points or rewards for stays.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Wound up going for dinner instead of lunch. Buffet style
Dinner not as mentioned on open table. Very disappointed. Chicken very dry. Pasta station was good. Salad bar very basic and limited. Salmon honey also very dry and looked like it had been out for awhile. Restaurant was cold and a little too bright for a nice quiet dinner. Not very impressed and misled by previous reviews by people who obviously don't dine out too often.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Josh provided us with extraordinary service. The pasta buffet was varied and very enjoyable. Recommend putting slices of pizza back on the buffet-great for "small fry".

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We were extremely disappointed as nowhere in the paperwork when I made the reservation did it state that dinner was Buffet. We arrived at 7:45 so I suspect the food had been on the Buffet for a while.They ran out of Prime rib and the replacement piece was overcooked -could have past for Pot Roast. We had family in for dinner & they were disappointed & we were embarrassed as both were expecting a sit down meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 16, 2016

We decided on this place for our office Christmas Lunch; our staff was very pleased with the service and food. Thank you for making it such a great experiance. It was very festive and that Christmas Tree!! Beautiful!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 15, 2016

We told the server we were going to a symphony performance after dinner. We allowed 2 hours for the meal. Our appetizers took 55 minutes (soup and oysters) and the soup was barely warm. The entree came out soon after and everthing was good, but aftet waiting so long for the appetizers, we were rushed to finish our meal and get to the performance. The restaurant was not crowded at all. Overall, not a good experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 13, 2016

You are never disappointed at Swan Terrace with good food, great music and lovely people to take care of you. The buffet is delicious and varied; fruit very sweet and good; meats cooked to perfection and the atmosphere is the best. Highly recommend for any occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We were pleased overall with our dining experience. We were celebrating an early Christmas Holiday get together. The only disappointment was the selection of desserts. This hasn't ever been a problem in years past. Otherwise we thoroughly enjoyed our outing.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Our waiter Tony was exceptional. He was extremely polite and attentive. Even though our reserved table place in the middle of a birthday party with toddlers running around and people having loud conversation leaning and on our table to snap pictures - Tony made sure that we were well taken care of.

I enjoy the Founders in for Brunch....the business meeting was a success, I am looking forward to my annual company Christmas party on December 3rd..

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 29, 2016

It was very quiet, our server was courteous, knowledgeable and checked on us regularly but not obtrusively. The food was great, clearly fresh vegies. It was a birthday celebration and there was a complimentary one to two serving coconut cake, very fresh and light.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Admittedly, I am a regular; because the selection and service are stellar! Did I mention the gorgeous setting? Swan Terrace sets the highest example of fine dining experience!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Good food, freshly prepared. Great service by a friendly and knowledgeable waitress. If in the area again, I will try again.

Tags: Healthy, Late-night Find, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Food and service were ourstanding. The ambiance was classy. Am going back for thanksgiving buffet.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 7, 2016

The carved out watermelons of a shark ,penguin and fish. These wonderfully made art pieces were surrounded by hand pattied crab cakes, eat and peel shrimp as well as FRESH shucked oysters. Excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 3, 2016

Sunday brunch should have been perfect on this visit, however, our assigned waitress just visited us, twice-Coffee, drinks delivery. During the duration of our stay, several dining staff pickup our used dishes. We have to locate the where about of our assigned waitress, because of the bills.
Assigned waiter/waitress should not be reassigned, without replacement to take care of the dinning customers.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 28, 2016

We enjoy Swan Terrace several times during the year for dinner with special friends. We particularly enjoy the pasta Tuesdays...glad they have resumed. The chefs are friendly and patient with the decision making process and are excellent at their profession.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.