Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 3 times today
Special offers available. See details

Foundation Room House of Blues Houston

4.4
100 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Perfect For:
  • Live Music
  • Romantic
  • Good for Anniversaries
Escape, indulge and elevate your nightlife in Foundation Room at House of Blues, Houston’s luxe downtown hideaway. Nestled in the heart of the city, Foundation Room features an elegant private dining room and plush lounge perfect for after-dinner sips and socializing. From starters like the Seared Jumbo Shrimp in a Cajun lemon-beurre blanc to the 16oz. Cowboy Ribeye, the inspired menu draws from seasonal and international flavors with a distinctively Texas twist. Foundation Room boasts an extensive wine list, premium spirits and handcrafted cocktails.

Whether you are looking for an intimate night with that special someone or an unforgettable evening as a rock star VIP with your favorite band, Foundation Room offers world-class cuisine in the ultimate Rock 'n' Roll Country Club setting.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Steakhouse, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dining Room: Wednesday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 11:00pm

Lounge: Wednesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 12:00am, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 1:00am
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(832) 667-7794
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Justin Strang
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Dallas St
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Valet parking is available
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Diners are encouraged to stay after dinner and enjoy our distinctive nightlife. On select nights, Foundation Room offers live entertainment provided by some of Houston's finest musicians and performers from around the world. You never know who you may find behind the microphone. For more information on the nightly entertainment, please contact the Foundation Room Concierge at (832) 667-7794. To explore the benefits of becoming a Foundation Room Member, please call (832) 667-7794.
icon/ic_gift_cardCreated with Sketch.
Gift Card
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Foundation Room offers secluded spaces for intimate dinners or larger celebrations. The Love, St. Michael's and Rama Rooms offer privacy and elegance, ideal for romantic dinners or birthday and anniversary celebrations.

View Private Dining Details

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Tue - Thu 6:00PM - 10:00PM

What 100 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.6
service
4.6
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
100% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Excellent venue for a pre-show dinner and drinks, great service and great atmosphere

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 9, 2018

Service and food are phenomenal!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Always great to relax

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Excellent food and drinks with exceptional service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2018

WOW!!! WOW!!!! WOW!!!!
This place is top notch. The service is out of this world and great food. Rocky, the concierge was the star of the show. He went above and beyond from the moment we arrived to the sad moment we had to leave. This is an amazing place to take that special someone. Very romantic and intimate setting complete with fireplace and cozy booths.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 8, 2018

Great service. In private room.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 26, 2018

I loved the feel of the place. Very swanky Love the velvet and jeweled pillows. Koren fried chicken was delicious!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 13, 2018

The music was awesome. Juice box caviar is a very unique band that fit the room perfectly. Truffle fries were great too!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 5, 2018

My wife’s birthday dinner/date night

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 26, 2017

Enjoyed our visit!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on October 21, 2017

Slow service, mediocre food

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 27, 2017

Perfect place for a quiet date night! Rocky greeted us with a smile, offered complimentary champagne and sat us in a quiet area. Trey treated us amazing offering us an off there menu appetizer and recommended some amazing drinks. Dinner and desert were perfect and delicious. After dinner we enjoyed a drink and great music at the bar. Decor and vibe was amazing. We will be back again soon!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 23, 2017

I had fun for my first time there, I would go back. I just didn't like how the waitress wasn't happy with her tip, she was expecting more than what my boyfriend gave her from how she confronted us about it. But overall I enjoyed myself! Going back soon.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on September 23, 2017

So I came here after seeing 4 star reviews on Yelp. I thought it would be a great place to take some friends, but it wasn't. We waited 30 minutes for a table in a restaurant that was empty. Then we waited 15 minutes for water. Following that, we waited 10 more minutes for drinks, an hour for food - which was mediocre, and then waited 20 more minutes for desert. Just to add to the experience, we had to cut the dessert with a straw and eat it with our hands. Again, a desert. Eaten with hands. To top it all off, we got the bill BEFORE we even had a chance to sample the dessert option. All in all, this was a terrible experience. I would have had a better time going to a Burger King than spending here.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 23, 2017

Great place to have a meal before the show. The ambiance is very upscale. The food is ok but I have high expectations and others might find it really good. The cocktails were delicious and the wine menu was top notch with a good selection of international and domestics. Service was casual and we enjoyed our waiter an the bar manager came by to check when one of my group ordered a drink that he was considering to take off the drink menu to see if he liked it. He did. we enjoyed the meal then even came back for more cocktails after the show and the bar was quite lively with a small dance floor and a very international clientele. Superb if you are a people watcher.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 21, 2017

In a word..
Incredible.
Absolutely the best experience dining, ever. The steaks were prepared as requested, and their shrimp and grits is unmatched.
We will definitely be back.
Thanks to everyone for a great experience and a special thanks to Kearsten for such fantastic service.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 7, 2017

Extremely friendly and attentive staff. Clean and cozy atmosphere. Great for any occasion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 24, 2017

We had an excellent meal Saturday night before a concert and Trey, our waiter, took very good care of us. The ambiance is really lovely inside and we will definitely go back. Real gem!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 23, 2017

27th wedding anniversary and a show at house of blues

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 20, 2017

Everything was a 10 until the credit card issue. Please ring customers up & get authorization before they go to show. Was alarmed & notified about a pre authorization & final authorization during event WHILE I was seated! Not cool! How did I get receipt, sign for dinner & leave? Uncool, then was detained by a security employee which is against the law. Long story short. Something is or fishy about credit card transactions there. You'd better just bring cash!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 5, 2017

Food was great! Enjoyed the Wedge salad and Center cut filet. Truffle Mac&Cheese was awesome

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 20, 2017

Ambiance was great. The steak was good, but double bone pork chop was medium rare. Staff was not very knowledgeable and we had eaten half our meal before they served the wine we ordered.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 12, 2017

We had a lovely evening and the staff from beginning to end was incredible. Nice way to relax before a HOB concert.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2017

The good people of the Foundation Room always make me feel like a superstar. Love visiting them! Plus? The food is exceptional!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 24, 2017

When we got there, there was only one other table seated in the entire restaurant. The waitress was very nice but left to get our water and drinks and did not come back for quite some time. Then she said the "water boy" was supposed to get our water and she could not find him. Then he showed up about 5 minutes later with water. At this point we had been here for about 20 minutes already, then our drinks showed up. Drinks from the bar were very good, then we ordered an appetizer of crab cakes and I ordered the Shrimp and grits and my SO ordered the chicken. The waitress said she would be back with bread and the bread took another 15 minutes to get there. Then the crab cakes never showed up and we were served our main course about 20 minutes after the bread came. We also ordered a side of Mac N Cheese which did not come out with the main course. Eventually they brought out the crab cakes and Mac N Cheese and the waitress took the crab cakes off the bill for us. The crab cakes were basically mush, crab cakes should be crispy on the outside and warm and buttery on the inside, they definitely were not. The chicken was very bland and dry, the butternut squash was burned and basically inedible. The only reason I did not give one star for the food was because my shrimp and grits were very good, probably the best I've had and the Mac N Cheese was very good also when it eventually came. There was also an extremely strong smell of incense in the place, almost nauseating. For what this restaurant costs I expected much more, I can go to capital grille and spend the same amount for a much better meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2017

Was a great time and our first visit. Didn't even know the place existed.
Food was good and ambiance was fantastic. Will be back for sure.

Thanks

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 18, 2017

Not a pleasant expererience. My reservation time was not honored. Although, the hostess acknowledged our reservation and advised we would be seated as soon as table became available but that did not happen. Restaurant was recommended by a business colleague however upon my return to work I shared with him that my experience was not pleasant. I will not recommend nor visit again rather travel for business or personal.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2017

The Foundation Room is a great place for a romantic dinner or small party. We came late evening and were first timers. The place was cozy with very friendly staff. The food was really tasty and original. We wished we could have sampled everything, but we will definitely be back to try other dishes. The con is that the food I like only came in spicey, which I tend to shy away from spicey foods. I must say I was pleasantly surprised that I really liked a little spicey and my date loved it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 21, 2017

Unique, Memorable, special venue. Staff was beyond kind & generous. 1st time, won't be last.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on January 21, 2017

Make reservation same day, when we arrived we were told they had been booked for weeks already so reservation was not valid....so that was frustrating. They had a section of open seating by the bar. We found a table, went and got our menus...and waited, waited and waited for someone just to get our drink order. Then the service was just bad and the wait for the food was basically an hour. Had a table sit down right after us and order drinks from the bar (we just had water) and it was almost 30 minutes later when waitress came back to check on them without drinks...It was not that crowded even though they were 'booked'. A group of 16 showed up after us that did NOT have a reservation and they seated them within 30 minutes...not sure what was up with that. Overall not worth the money or the convenience of being next to the HOB. We were not familiar with the area so went with what made sense, will never go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2016

Singular dining experience with the most cordial and considerate staff, for New Years Eve 2016.

One would think such an extravagant and enjoyable niche restaurant like the Foundation Room would have been sold out months in advance, but bad weather and cancellations offered us what amounted to a dinner of a lifetime. The private elevator up to the 3rd floor brought us to Miguel's attention, who seated my lady and I next to the cozy little fireplace in their quaint, peaceful dining room. Rocky, one of the on-duty managers, offered us an unsolicited glass of champagne each which really set the tone for the evening.

(Side note: You would think that with a NYE bash going on not 30 ft away that we would have been bombarded with loud music and revelers, but the dining room was quite and serene thanks to some smart architectural finishes and black-out curtains).

As to the food, the BBQ scallop appetizer was heavenly, and the filet orders were cooked perfectly (mine a little less red than hers despite having ordered both medium, which was thanks to Sabrina, our server, having paid attention to our likes and dislikes). Sabrina was also courteous enough to have the kitchen whip up a special non-dairy batch of grilled potatoes due to an allergy concern, and all of the sides and vegetables were top notch. Desert was to die for, and the comp'd bottle of champagne courtesy of Freddy, another pro manager on duty that night, was as unexpected as it was a perfect end to our dining experience. We offered our sincerest thanks to Carlos, the Executive Chef, and were off to ring in the NYE in the adjacent bar and music venue. The prices for their NYE menu were very very reasonable, and Carlos invited us (and everyone else) in to try their traditional menu which I'll be sure to do in the near future.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 7, 2016

I made reservations in Foundation Room for a before concert meal (the AMAZING Andra Day), but was sadly disappointed. It was not made clear that the pre-purchased meal credit couln't be applied to FR's bill. The ambience & decor was lovely. The host was welcoming & geacious, but my server was not very attentive and could never be found when needed. I was given the option of sitting in the more lively bar area or the opposite side with secluded tables and fireplace. I hated where I was seated because another server repeatedly bumped into my chair without any regard so I felt like I was in the way. I had to wait a long time to place my order and a long time for my food. I ordered $30 Shrimp & Grits and it was disgusting 😝. The shrimp were not properly cooked & I battled between sending it back or not because everything took such a long time. Eventually, I got a new plate but was just fed up & ready to go. There was easy acess to the concert venue area. I wished I'd saved my money and just bought food from the concession stands in HOB venue.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 13, 2016

Awesome Ambiance

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 22, 2016

This was a very mediocre experience with fairly poor service.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 10, 2016

I loved the Indian decoration. The food portion were really small and pricey.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 29, 2016

My wife and I had dinner here before a concert at the House of Blues. It's really great! The food is more upscale foodie oriented, if you're looking for Denny's, go elsewhere. The atmosphere is really chic and service was great. The ability to just walk a few steps and get into the House of Blues through a private entrance is absolutely fantastic. It makes it possible to have a nice dinner in a cool location and still get to a concert in time to see the warm-up band. We will definitely eat here again.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 29, 2016

The food was great. No issues at all with the food or the menu. The service was exceedingly slow. Waitress blamed the bar for us waiting on a drink taking 30 mins to receive. The overrall dinner start to finish took 2 hours and all we ordered was 2 drinks a entree and dessert. Would not recommend coming here if you are in a hurry.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on August 26, 2016

Ambience / Decor is amazing. Food is mediocre and service is horrible. Crystal is hands down the WORST server/waitress in the world. Go to the lounge. Have a drink. Enjoy the music. The food isn't that good and the service is the worst. Beautiful atmosphere though. Creme brûlée took 45 minutes to come out and was COLD. The waitress was no where to be found. At this point I didn't want it and she dumped it in a styrofoam container and brought it back to me and laid it on the table and walked away. I won't return.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 18, 2016

We recieved a warm welcome from Rocky at the door and were invited to enjoy a drink at the bar before being seated for our reservation. We enjoyed a special crafted Lemon drop martini that was very good. The bartender was very nice introduceing himself and others staff members. We were there on a night they were doing a art display which we enjoyed viewing. Our table was excellently set and the food service was exceptional. I had ordered lamb and didn't care for it so it was quickly replaced with a wonder fish dish. The chef came to my table to see what he could do to ensure our dinner was perfect for us. It was indeed made right and the other food was excellent. Lamb is very hard to prepare and I appriecated the jesture to make it right. We had a lovely time and enjoyed our evening in a curtained booth with a delightful wine selection.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 2, 2016

Fabulous restaurant. Wonderful service and delicious food. Great evening!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3

Tweets by Foundation Room House of Blues Houston