About Foundation Room House of Blues Houston

1204 Caroline Street
Houston, TX 77002
View Larger Map

Take a trip to exotic destinations in our Foundation Room. The private 80-seat dining room recreates the opulence of an ultra sophisticated era offering European elegance and world-class cuisine. Foundation Room provides an exclusive experience unparalleled in Houston. Whether you are looking for an intimate night with that special someone or an unforgettable evening as a Rock Star VIP with your favorite band, Foundation Room Houston offers an exquisite meal in the ultimate Rock 'n' Roll Country Club. For more information on becoming a member or to preview Foundation Room Houston, please contact (832) 667-7795.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
International, Steakhouse, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Dallas St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(832) 667-7794

Website:
http://www.houseofblues.com/venues/clubvenues/houston/foundationroom.php

Entertainment:
Diners are encouraged to stay after dinner and enjoy our distinctive nightlife. On select nights, Foundation Room offers live entertainment provided by some of Houston's finest musicians and performers from around the world. You never know who you may find behind the microphone. For more information on the nightly entertainment, please contact the Foundation Room concierge at (832) 667-7794. To explore the benefits of becoming a Foundation Room Member, please call (832) 667-7794.

Parking Details:
Due to construction on Dallas St, Valet parking is available on Caroline St. in front of House of Blues.

Executive Chef:
Brock Boyd

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cigar Room, Dancing, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Promotions

Happy Hour Sessions

Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Saturdays and Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

Happy Hour Sessions

Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Saturdays and Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details
Select classic beers $4, specialty beers $5, house wines and mixed cocktails $6. Half-off select Lounge menu items. Live music beginning at 6pm. Excludes Tax and Tip. Available in the lounge area only. Special valid May 25, 2016 - Sep 24, 2016 on Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Saturdays and Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM.
1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Tue - Thu 6:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 6:00PM - 7:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Foundation Room offers secluded spaces for intimate dinners or larger celebrations. The Love, St. Michael's and Rama Rooms offer privacy and elegance, ideal for romantic dinners or birthday and anniversary celebrations.

Foundation Room House of Blues Houston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Vibrant Bar Scene
Houston
Vibrant Bar Scene
Houston
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

romantic (13)
special occasion (12)
vibrant bar scene (10)
See All
fit for foodies (7)
hot spot (7)
good for groups (6)
late-night find (5)
notable wine list (5)
great for brunch (2)
great for lunch (2)
neighborhood gem (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
54 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved everything from the minute I stepp ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Loved everything from the minute I stepped into the door.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I really enjoyed ourselve ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

My husband and I really enjoyed ourselves. It was a nice romantic experience. The service was friendly and the good was great. I will recommend this restaurant to family and friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was absolutely amazing! The cla ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was absolutely amazing! The clam chowder was so fresh and probably the best we have ever had, and the filet was melt in your mouth delicious! The whole experience was great, but the decor is a little gaudy. Other than that we loved everything, the staff was so nice!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our new favorite restaurant!

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

The foundation Room is absolutely amazing and has a very cool vibe! Dinner was delicious and warm bread was served right away . I had the filet that was cooked to perfection! My husband enjoyed the shrimp curry nice and spicy. Our waitress Crystal was awesome and very attentive. We are so glad we became members of The House of Blues, everyone is so nice!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3

The food was great. Service, meh.

Dined on March 25, 2016

The food was great. Service, meh.

food5
ambience5
service5

Nice relaxing special place to enjoy out ...

Dined on March 23, 2016

Nice relaxing special place to enjoy outstanding food and drinks

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

Wow.. Everything was delicious.. Loved it..steak perfect, cookies and ice cream perfect.

Tags: romantic
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

Good food, but way overpriced!

Dined on March 1, 2016

The food and the service was good. My party was stuck in a back room away from any entertainment. Overall, this restaurant had a snooty feel to it. It was a way overpriced, and dimly-lighted restaurant. I guess it would be okay if you were on a date for a special occasion. For us, one dining experience was enough. I mistakenly made a reservation for this restaurant, instead of The House of Bluses' other restaurant (Crossroads). Lesson learned. Oh, and did I mention, way overpriced!

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Houston Layover

Dined on February 28, 2016

We had 1 night in Houston and weren't really sure where to go. The Foundation Room had really good food and the service was really good as well. We were surprised to find one of our favorite California wines on the menu. That pretty much made our night. We were surprised that the Foundation Room really didn't have anything to do with "The House of Blues". I guess we were expecting Blues during dinner. Live or otherwise. If you are looking for a party, it is downstairs at the House of Blues, not in the Foundation Room.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The atmosphere was great, very romantic

Dined on February 21, 2016

The atmosphere was great, very romantic

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Old European Twist

Dined on February 14, 2016

As you approach the entrance from the street, you can only see a whole in the wall. But once you jump on the elevator the transformation starts to happen. When the elevator doors open to your destination you are welcomed by sophisticated and friendly staff. Surrounded by eye catching art on the walls. To your right a vibrant bar scene. To your left, the tables await. As you go in to this main room you see classical European decor from floor to ceiling. Boutique like feel allows you to sit and enjoy every inch of this intimate room. Several booths with draped curtains surround the middle tables. It's a real unique experience. Reserved for that very intimate special occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service3

Staff was friendly but service was slow ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Staff was friendly but service was slow .. food was excellent. . Very quiet except for when HoB next door kicked up the wall vibrating bass. We closed the curtains on the cabana style booth so that was cool. It was our Val Day dinner so we weren't in a hurry. Otherwise I could write a really bad review. I'd go back again.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

What an amazing experience!!!

Dined on January 17, 2016

From the bartenders(whom I totally fell in love with) to the host/hostess staff.... I will without a doubt return with a smile and extra friends 😊

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love it!

vip
Dined on January 10, 2016

So sad to see Amber go. This place is wonderful. The best kept secret in Houston! Will be back again and again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

No dinner meals on New Years Eve

Dined on January 1, 2016

I may try it again however it definitely will NOT be on New Years Eve. When I made the reservation it was for dinner (once we were seated) we were told there would only be (finger food) on New Years Eve and for what we received I was not impressed. At 6:30 PM we were the only couple in the dinning room event though we were asked to arrive 45 minutes early to ensure timely seating.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great service

Dined on December 19, 2015

They were expecting us. No wait, great service, and food was outstanding. Melt in your mouth steak.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food1
ambience4
service5

The food was terrible.

Dined on November 21, 2015

The incense created a nice atmosphere but permeated every dish we had. Totally destroyed our dining experience

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place

Dined on November 14, 2015

Excellent food and service - way beyond my expectations! Love the ambiance here and the adjacent bar for after dinner. Access to the concert in back, but we did have a problem getting back in despite the wrist bands. We'll be back for sure!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Foundation room is special.

Dined on October 17, 2015

Decor and dining is incredible. Allot of work went into the design of the entire restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Find, Food, and Service

Dined on October 16, 2015

The atmosphere is very relaxing, sleek, and interesting. Once you step through the doors it is like wow!!!...wait...were am I?? This place is a must go...

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything is always first class at the ...

Dined on October 10, 2015

Everything is always first class at the Foundation Room.

food2
ambience5
service5

Unique ambiance, very quiet and excellen ...

Dined on October 10, 2015

Unique ambiance, very quiet and excellent service. The food was sub-par. My first dinner as a member was disappointing. I love the atmosphere. I will try dining there again.

food2
ambience4
service1

Lousy experience

vip
Dined on September 8, 2015

Waited 10 minutes for a host while waiters walked past us multiple times without addressing us despite there being only two tables occupied, then I went to the bar to inquire and the manager sat us and apologized repeatedly. Took about 20 minutes to order, then 40 minutes to get a house salad, during which time nobody came to check on us or take drink orders. The entrees were not special yet pricey (mid-$20s to high $30s). All in all we were there two hours, didn't get dessert, and missed the opening act while having to expedite them just to be out in time to see the main act. The only positive was the manager came by a couple times in that timeframe and apologized profusely while offering free champagne.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great evening!!!

Dined on August 25, 2015

Could not have asked for better service, food or ambiance. Love the booth! Was great to be able to be escorted directly to the HOB 'private' entrance. We will definitely be back...the only disappointment was we also purchased a $50 food voucher with our ticket...but...it did not state the voucher was not good for The Foundation Room. Even though The Foundation Room is clearly part of the HOB venue. We will be able to use is later as we love the HOB...but they should state the voucher is NOT accepted at The Foundation Room. Other than that...if you like live music, small venues and are looking for a special evening...you can get it all right here!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderfully fantastic as always. Food is ...

vip
Dined on August 22, 2015

Wonderfully fantastic as always. Food is wonderful and service even better. Can't wait to return. This place is the best kept secret in Houston. I highly recommend it.

food4
ambience5
service4

Hidden gem

Dined on August 1, 2015

This place was amazing. We felt like we were rock stars from the moment we walked it. We had a tremendous time and will be back soon.

Tags: romantic, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful! Great place!

vip
Dined on July 14, 2015

Amazing service and food. Will certaily go back! Our server, Trey, was amazing and the sea bass was wonderful!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Time Always!

Dined on June 27, 2015

We are members of FR- Food and service is always exceptional! Thanks Rocky & Amber!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4

The bread with various flavors and dippi ...

Dined on June 14, 2015

The bread with various flavors and dipping sauces was a great start. The salad was tasty along with a yummy vinaigrette dressing. The scallop appetizer was so/so, fresh but not very flavorful. The monkfish main dish was flavorful but a little over cooked. Decor and romantic setting was interesting. I would probably give them another try.

food3
ambience5
service4

The staff was awesome. Menu has limited ...

Dined on February 22, 2015

The staff was awesome. Menu has limited options and small portions. It's expensive but very romantic.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Time

Dined on February 22, 2015

I have been a foundation room member for awhile, but never had the time to eat there. We had a great time, the service couldn't have been better. Romantic table in front of the fire. I would and have recommended it to friends.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Pre Concert Dinner

Dined on February 18, 2015

Overall my wife and I enjoyed our dinner. She loved her lamb shank but I found my short rib to be dry and overcooked. While the staff was very friendly and attentive, be careful of suggestions they make. We were asked if we wanted still or sparkling water and were surprised that we were charged over $7 for the first 2 glasses of Voss water. The rest of the bottle was taken from our table and from there on we got our glasses filled from the pitcher that was used for everyone else. My wife requested house liquor for her drink and the waitress said she had her drink made with a premium brand because it was better and just a little more. Her drinks ended up costing more than mine. A side was suggested after we ordered. The $15 for Mac and cheese was not necessary with the amount of food that was served with our entre. The overall ambieace, location, and experience would bring us back but we would be more careful ordering. Close to 1/3 of our bill was for things we didn't need or want.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Husband 55birthday

Dined on February 7, 2015

We had the best time the staff was great and they let us be us so awesome

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Wow. Was a great time--great food and service

Dined on February 1, 2015

We were celebrating my dad's 75th birthday and did they do it right! All the staff were so accommodating and the food was outstanding!!! We had been to the night club before but never to dinner. We will be back. Thanks!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4

Quiet

Dined on January 18, 2015

Very few customers there on Friday night at 7. food was good.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find
food4
ambience5
service5

One of the best yet!!!

Dined on November 8, 2014

As a member of the foundation room we often visit different cities and the foundation room in that city if their is one. The service was excellent from beginning to end. The food was seasoned to perfection and the staff was extremely professional.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, late-night find
food1
ambience1
service1

dissapointing

Dined on October 12, 2014

sorry but had to give a bad review because it was very disappointing to receive a voice message less than 3 hours prior to my reservations stating "they have a wedding and can't accommodate our reservation". Didn't they know they had a wedding before I made the reservation or at least call me the day before or morning of the reservation to give me time to find another place to enjoy?? It was hard to find a place in such a short notice for a Saturday reservations. This was suppose to be a romantic 49th birthday dinner. I don't know if it's Open Table or Foundation Room that messed up but it was a huge inconvenience. I did return the call and the person I talked with didn't really seem to matter too much about the situation.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4

Good Experience

vip
Dined on September 28, 2014

The decor was awesome. As if we were dinning in a medieval castle ... choice of food however wasn't much to choose from

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for groups or alone!

Dined on September 19, 2014

This Foundation Room is amazing not only in ambiance, but also the staff is fabulous!! There was a luau the night I went and the entertainment was unmatched. I will for sure be going back to see Sarah, Joe and Rocky! The managers and director are always around too. The food is great as well - well done! Thanks for a great time guys!! Erika

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Top Ten

Dined on September 18, 2014

The Foundation Room at The House of Blues Houston always comes through for me! When I need to make sure that everything is going to go right, this is the place I go. The service is always wonderful, on my most recent visit the service was over the top good, thanks the Trey for making everything perfect! Love the ambiance, can't go wrong here!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.