About Foundation Room House of Blues Houston

1204 Caroline Street
Houston, TX 77002
View Larger Map

Escape, indulge and elevate your nightlife in Foundation Room at House of Blues, Houston’s luxe downtown hideaway. Nestled in the heart of the city, Foundation Room features an elegant private dining room and plush lounge perfect for after-dinner sips and socializing. From starters like the Seared Jumbo Shrimp in a Cajun lemon-beurre blanc to the 16oz. Cowboy Ribeye, the inspired menu draws from seasonal and international flavors with a distinctively Texas twist. Foundation Room boasts an extensive wine list, premium spirits and handcrafted cocktails.

Whether you are looking for an intimate night with that special someone or an unforgettable evening as a rock star VIP with your favorite band, Foundation Room offers world-class cuisine in the ultimate Rock 'n' Roll Country Club setting. Become a VIP Member to gain exclusive access to House of Blue and Live Nation tickets and Members-only events. For additional information, please call (832) 667-7795.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
International, Steakhouse, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Dallas St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(832) 667-7794

Website:
http://www.houseofblues.com/venues/clubvenues/houston/foundationroom.php

Entertainment:
Diners are encouraged to stay after dinner and enjoy our distinctive nightlife. On select nights, Foundation Room offers live entertainment provided by some of Houston's finest musicians and performers from around the world. You never know who you may find behind the microphone. For more information on the nightly entertainment, please contact the Foundation Room concierge at (832) 667-7794. To explore the benefits of becoming a Foundation Room Member, please call (832) 667-7794.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available

Executive Chef:
Brock Boyd

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Happy Hour

Saturdays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays and Fridays from 5:00 PM - 8:00 PM

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Happy Hour

Saturdays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays and Fridays from 5:00 PM - 8:00 PM

Details

Select classic beers $4, specialty beers $5, house wines and mixed cocktails $6. Half-off select Lounge menu items. Enjoy extended happy hour until 11pm every Friday. Excludes Tax and Tip. Available in the lounge area only. Special valid Oct 1, 2016 - Feb 1, 2017 on Saturdays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays and Fridays from 5:00 PM - 8:00 PM.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Tue - Thu 6:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Foundation Room offers secluded spaces for intimate dinners or larger celebrations. The Love, St. Michael's and Rama Rooms offer privacy and elegance, ideal for romantic dinners or birthday and anniversary celebrations.

Foundation Room House of Blues Houston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.6

service

3.6

ambience

4.7

value

3.3

noise

Quiet

71% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Good for a Date (4)
See All
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Cozy (3)
Private Room (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Live Music (2)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
People Watching (1)
Business Meals (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Sort By:
S
68 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Awesome Ambiance

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Awesome Ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

This was a very mediocre experience wi ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 23, 2016

This was a very mediocre experience with fairly poor service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

I loved the Indian decoration. The food ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 11, 2016

I loved the Indian decoration. The food portion were really small and pricey.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

My wife and I had dinner here before a c ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 29, 2016

My wife and I had dinner here before a concert at the House of Blues. It's really great! The food is more upscale foodie oriented, if you're looking for Denny's, go elsewhere. The atmosphere is really chic and service was great. The ability to just walk a few steps and get into the House of Blues through a private entrance is absolutely fantastic. It makes it possible to have a nice dinner in a cool location and still get to a concert in time to see the warm-up band. We will definitely eat here again.

Tags: People Watching, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Live Music, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was great. No issues at all wit ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 29, 2016

The food was great. No issues at all with the food or the menu. The service was exceedingly slow. Waitress blamed the bar for us waiting on a drink taking 30 mins to receive. The overrall dinner start to finish took 2 hours and all we ordered was 2 drinks a entree and dessert. Would not recommend coming here if you are in a hurry.

Tags: Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Ambience / Decor is amazing. Food is med ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Ambience / Decor is amazing. Food is mediocre and service is horrible. Crystal is hands down the WORST server/waitress in the world. Go to the lounge. Have a drink. Enjoy the music. The food isn't that good and the service is the worst. Beautiful atmosphere though. Creme brûlée took 45 minutes to come out and was COLD. The waitress was no where to be found. At this point I didn't want it and she dumped it in a styrofoam container and brought it back to me and laid it on the table and walked away. I won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

We recieved a warm welcome from Rocky at ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 19, 2016

We recieved a warm welcome from Rocky at the door and were invited to enjoy a drink at the bar before being seated for our reservation. We enjoyed a special crafted Lemon drop martini that was very good. The bartender was very nice introduceing himself and others staff members. We were there on a night they were doing a art display which we enjoyed viewing. Our table was excellently set and the food service was exceptional. I had ordered lamb and didn't care for it so it was quickly replaced with a wonder fish dish. The chef came to my table to see what he could do to ensure our dinner was perfect for us. It was indeed made right and the other food was excellent. Lamb is very hard to prepare and I appriecated the jesture to make it right. We had a lovely time and enjoyed our evening in a curtained booth with a delightful wine selection.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Fabulous restaurant. Wonderful service ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 3, 2016

Fabulous restaurant. Wonderful service and delicious food. Great evening!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time being at the Foundation Room ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 31, 2016

First time being at the Foundation Room and it was awesome! Everyone was very courteous and friendly. Our waitress was very helpful in introducing us to all the meals, which were so delicious by the way. I loved the decor and how intimate the setting is. Perfect for a special dinner and music was nice too. I loved my whole experience at the Foundation Room!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The cocktails & steaks were amazing! Th ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 23, 2016

The cocktails & steaks were amazing! The service was top notch - the greeter, bartender, waitress, chef & the manager were all wonderful. They stopped by our table to check on us. Our evening was truly fabulous! Highly recommend the Foundation Room!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good, but the service was ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 29, 2016

The food was good, but the service was terrible. We were there prior to a concert and were there well ahead of time. The host was very helpful but it was at least 15 minutes before the server appeared. She asked if we were attending the concert and we said yes and placed our order. 40 minutes later it showed up. That gave us a whopping 20 minutes to wolf down our expensive meal before the show. The manager said it was slow to arrive because the chicken took 30 minutes to prepare. That would have been nice know before we ordered. We found the decor over-the-top and the music too loud in the dining area. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

The food was great and the decor and amb ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food was great and the decor and ambience were some of the best I've ever experienced. It was a delight.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The music and wait staff was excellent

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 29, 2016

The music and wait staff was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Very cool restaurant. Food is good and t ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 20, 2016

Very cool restaurant. Food is good and the music is outstanding. Very nice hangout for date nights.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved everything from the minute I stepp ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2016

Loved everything from the minute I stepped into the door.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I really enjoyed ourselve ...

 
 (East Texas)·Dined on May 12, 2016

My husband and I really enjoyed ourselves. It was a nice romantic experience. The service was friendly and the good was great. I will recommend this restaurant to family and friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was absolutely amazing! The cla ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was absolutely amazing! The clam chowder was so fresh and probably the best we have ever had, and the filet was melt in your mouth delicious! The whole experience was great, but the decor is a little gaudy. Other than that we loved everything, the staff was so nice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our new favorite restaurant!

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 2, 2016

The foundation Room is absolutely amazing and has a very cool vibe! Dinner was delicious and warm bread was served right away . I had the filet that was cooked to perfection! My husband enjoyed the shrimp curry nice and spicy. Our waitress Crystal was awesome and very attentive. We are so glad we became members of The House of Blues, everyone is so nice!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great. Service, meh.

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 25, 2016

The food was great. Service, meh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Nice relaxing special place to enjoy out ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 23, 2016

Nice relaxing special place to enjoy outstanding food and drinks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent meal

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 19, 2016

Wow.. Everything was delicious.. Loved it..steak perfect, cookies and ice cream perfect.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, but way overpriced!

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 1, 2016

The food and the service was good. My party was stuck in a back room away from any entertainment. Overall, this restaurant had a snooty feel to it. It was a way overpriced, and dimly-lighted restaurant. I guess it would be okay if you were on a date for a special occasion. For us, one dining experience was enough. I mistakenly made a reservation for this restaurant, instead of The House of Bluses' other restaurant (Crossroads). Lesson learned. Oh, and did I mention, way overpriced!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

Houston Layover

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 28, 2016

We had 1 night in Houston and weren't really sure where to go. The Foundation Room had really good food and the service was really good as well. We were surprised to find one of our favorite California wines on the menu. That pretty much made our night. We were surprised that the Foundation Room really didn't have anything to do with "The House of Blues". I guess we were expecting Blues during dinner. Live or otherwise. If you are looking for a party, it is downstairs at the House of Blues, not in the Foundation Room.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The atmosphere was great, very romantic

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 21, 2016

The atmosphere was great, very romantic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Old European Twist

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 14, 2016

As you approach the entrance from the street, you can only see a whole in the wall. But once you jump on the elevator the transformation starts to happen. When the elevator doors open to your destination you are welcomed by sophisticated and friendly staff. Surrounded by eye catching art on the walls. To your right a vibrant bar scene. To your left, the tables await. As you go in to this main room you see classical European decor from floor to ceiling. Boutique like feel allows you to sit and enjoy every inch of this intimate room. Several booths with draped curtains surround the middle tables. It's a real unique experience. Reserved for that very intimate special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Staff was friendly but service was slow ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 13, 2016

Staff was friendly but service was slow .. food was excellent. . Very quiet except for when HoB next door kicked up the wall vibrating bass. We closed the curtains on the cabana style booth so that was cool. It was our Val Day dinner so we weren't in a hurry. Otherwise I could write a really bad review. I'd go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

What an amazing experience!!!

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 17, 2016

From the bartenders(whom I totally fell in love with) to the host/hostess staff.... I will without a doubt return with a smile and extra friends 😊

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Love it!

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 10, 2016

So sad to see Amber go. This place is wonderful. The best kept secret in Houston! Will be back again and again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

No dinner meals on New Years Eve

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2016

I may try it again however it definitely will NOT be on New Years Eve. When I made the reservation it was for dinner (once we were seated) we were told there would only be (finger food) on New Years Eve and for what we received I was not impressed. At 6:30 PM we were the only couple in the dinning room event though we were asked to arrive 45 minutes early to ensure timely seating.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

great service

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 19, 2015

They were expecting us. No wait, great service, and food was outstanding. Melt in your mouth steak.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was terrible.

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 21, 2015

The incense created a nice atmosphere but permeated every dish we had. Totally destroyed our dining experience

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5

Great place

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 14, 2015

Excellent food and service - way beyond my expectations! Love the ambiance here and the adjacent bar for after dinner. Access to the concert in back, but we did have a problem getting back in despite the wrist bands. We'll be back for sure!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Foundation room is special.

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 17, 2015

Decor and dining is incredible. Allot of work went into the design of the entire restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Find, Food, and Service

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 16, 2015

The atmosphere is very relaxing, sleek, and interesting. Once you step through the doors it is like wow!!!...wait...were am I?? This place is a must go...

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything is always first class at the ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 10, 2015

Everything is always first class at the Foundation Room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Unique ambiance, very quiet and excellen ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 10, 2015

Unique ambiance, very quiet and excellent service. The food was sub-par. My first dinner as a member was disappointing. I love the atmosphere. I will try dining there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

Lousy experience

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 8, 2015

Waited 10 minutes for a host while waiters walked past us multiple times without addressing us despite there being only two tables occupied, then I went to the bar to inquire and the manager sat us and apologized repeatedly. Took about 20 minutes to order, then 40 minutes to get a house salad, during which time nobody came to check on us or take drink orders. The entrees were not special yet pricey (mid-$20s to high $30s). All in all we were there two hours, didn't get dessert, and missed the opening act while having to expedite them just to be out in time to see the main act. The only positive was the manager came by a couple times in that timeframe and apologized profusely while offering free champagne.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

Great evening!!!

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 25, 2015

Could not have asked for better service, food or ambiance. Love the booth! Was great to be able to be escorted directly to the HOB 'private' entrance. We will definitely be back...the only disappointment was we also purchased a $50 food voucher with our ticket...but...it did not state the voucher was not good for The Foundation Room. Even though The Foundation Room is clearly part of the HOB venue. We will be able to use is later as we love the HOB...but they should state the voucher is NOT accepted at The Foundation Room. Other than that...if you like live music, small venues and are looking for a special evening...you can get it all right here!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderfully fantastic as always. Food is ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 22, 2015

Wonderfully fantastic as always. Food is wonderful and service even better. Can't wait to return. This place is the best kept secret in Houston. I highly recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hidden gem

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 1, 2015

This place was amazing. We felt like we were rock stars from the moment we walked it. We had a tremendous time and will be back soon.

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.