Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 6 times today

Foundation Restaurant and Bar

4.2
84 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Perfect For:
  • Bar Seating
  • Good for a Date
  • Vibrant Bar Scene
A contemporary American eatery with a great bar imported from San Francisco. The Foundation R & B features an array of American and imported whiskeys, vodkas, gins, tequilas and cordials with emphasis on classic America cuisine with California flair.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Comfort Food, Californian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch
Mon–Fri 11:00 am–4:00 pm
Dinner
Mon, Tue, Sat 4:00 pm–9:00 pm
Wed–Fri 4:00 pm–9:30 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(916) 321-9522
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Jeramie Smith
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Our banquet room seats up to 50 of your guests. We do not charge banquet room fee for parties of 35 or more.*
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Matt Sin: (916) 321-9522
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
We specialize in weddings, office parties, BBQ's, open house events and more. We offer full beverage service including wine, beer and spirits.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
4th & L Street
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Close proximity to all major bus stations, light rail and hotels.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Private Room, Takeout, Wine
What 84 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.2based on recent ratings
4.1
food
4.3
service
3.9
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
100% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined 7 days ago

Overall it was a pretty decent place the server was very distracted.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 14, 2018

We were serenaded for the first 25 minutes of our meal by a chorus of F bombs and vulgarities coming from the drunken pickup scene at the bar area. Why they seated a party with children so close to the bar when the separate seating area was half-empty is beyond me. The OpenTable reference to private parking is inaccurate and misleading - there are only commercial parking lots nearby ($20 per car) and the restaurant DOES NOT validate. Good luck finding a spot on the street. This place is mediocre at best - definitely not worth an additional $20 parking penalty.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Our server was excellent. She was attentive and bubbly. Loved her attitude. Of course I can’t remember her name now

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 12, 2018

The service was excellent. The food came out quick and the staff were attentive and friendly. The Korean barbeque short rib appetizer was delicious.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Went here for my boyfriends birthday. Very nice restaurant, food and service was awesome!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Great menu, food and great service! The staff are attentive and remember you! Cam, our server was so terrific! Love Foundation!!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 6, 2018

I wrote on my reservation that it was a special occasion and would like a piece of cake as a surprise. I had to remind the waiter and busboy in front of my friend who had the celebration. Not much of a surprise and no good selections of cake either. I have had better at lower priced places.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

I’m a season ticket number for the Sacramento Kings and I eat very often at foundations bar and restaurant again everything was superb and our server Cameron top-notch the best

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Went here to have dinner before the kings game. The was super sweet and friendly. Restaurant was very clean and neat. Time to get food to table from order was good. Had the salmon sandwich and meatball sandwich and both were cooked perfect with the right amount of seasoning and flavors. We definitely will go back to this restaurant.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Foundation is GREAT for dinner before a Kings game!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

The short rib stroganoff was fantastic as was the cream of asparagus soup with a dollop of crab on the top. Decent wine list by the glass and well priced.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 4, 2018

We had a pleasant dinner with friends before a King's Game. This is a mix between a sports bar with TV's and restaurant separated by a 1/2 wall. I made reservations through open table and then called the restaurant to confirm they were received(I read there were some issues with open table reservations). The restaurant sent a text confirmation which I though was nice. Drinks were inexpensive, and dinner was very good and fairly priced. I had the beef short rib Banh Mi Sandwich- meat was very lean and thinly sliced. Our friends had the meatloaf and said it was very good. I would recommend this restaurant

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 2, 2018

We had dinner here before an event at golden 1. The service was excellent and it was very busy! It is right across the street from the parking garage and a short walk to the Golden 1. Food was also excellent Great salads and flat breads

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 27, 2018

Everything was wonderful at Foundation! They did not have my reservation through Open Table but accommodated us anyway. Don’t know what they would have done if they didn’t have a table but they made me feel that they would have worked it out. Their hostess was very gracious!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 23, 2018

I should have realized due to the location that it was a “Sports bar”.. I guess if you want quick & cheap before going to Golden 1 arena it’s fine. I’m tired of restaurants where the food is mostly “bar” food. Greasy, pretend Asian fusion and all tastes the same. We shared the fish tacos and the short rib salad and I couldn’t tell the difference

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Service was attentive but not overdone. Food was delicious. A little in the cold side (temperature wise), so take a light sweater. Would definitely recommend this place.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 26, 2018

Great service great food and atmosphere

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 24, 2018

Pleasant servers. Good size servings.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 19, 2018

We loved this warm and friendly place.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 18, 2018

We tried Foundation because they participated in the Sacramento Downtown Dining campaign. Our previous experience was that this event is a good way to try out new-to-us restaurants and this foray to 4th and L St. was truly worth the effort to put up with the traffic and the rain!
I had the salmon and my wife had the short rib. Both were excellent and our server was attentive and efficient. I expect we’ll return to try something else on the nicely varied menu.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 16, 2018

Good food, great service, conveniently located across from the Golden 1 center.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 15, 2017

Been here a few times and always solid food and drinks are great and a honestly the price point is perfect

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 12, 2017

Kings game hangout

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 25, 2017

We went early for happy hour but there was a time discrepancy. Open table showed happy hour until 630 but the restaurant ended at 600.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 20, 2017

Misto appetizer was tough, cold and chewy, meatball sandwich was cold with more bread than meatballs, and those were the small frozen from a bag! Friend’s hamburger was good. Service was spotty with little follow up.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on November 18, 2017

Never again!! Last night was the second service failure we experienced at The Foundation. We arrived on time for our reservation and were told we didn’t have one. I showed the hostess my confirmation. She said they have lots of problems with open table. I asked if you have so many problems why do you use it. I showed her 2 pieces of proof we had a reservation. I showed her the open table app, showing the current reservation and the confirmation email. She was unapologetic for the error. She said it wasn’t her fault. Not at any time did we blame her. It was a busy night at the restaurant as most of the patrons were concert goers. I even told the hostess I had called and confirmed my reservation that afternoon. She asked what time I called and I showed her I called at 2:19 pm. She said that was impossible because the don’t open until 4. The customer service at this restaurant is appalling. I felt like the hostess was just short of calling me a liar. She should have apologized and said let me see what I can do to make this right. I felt like she was hoping we would back down and leave. We didn’t and eventually we were seated. There are many other options by the Golden 1 Center and I suggest you avoid the foundation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 17, 2017

We went here before a Kings game and were sat right a way. The waiter was very attentive and the food was delivered quickly. The food was somewhat of a comfort food that hit the spot. I would go here again before an event being so close to the Arena.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 24, 2017

Blackened salmon paella was pretty good. Beef short ribs were fatty but tasty.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 21, 2017

The chicken gnocchi was amazing!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on September 14, 2017

Food was great. Service was not good at all! Very disappointed.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 22, 2017

Great food great drinks

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 2, 2017

Lively atmosphere, excellent server very tasty food

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 2, 2017

Great service! So close to golden center!
Love ❤️ it!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 23, 2017

The Foundation was a great choice for a date. Although there was a mix up with the hostess not being able to find my OpenTable reservation (I made it a month in advance), they were still able to sit us. The service was professional and very friendly. Our table was wobbly and they replaced it with a new one. Food was really tasty and reasonably priced. But the drinks are what set them apart from other bars I've been to. You definitely get your money's worth with their drinks! By the time I was done with my first cranberry vodka, I was buzzing. Overall, awesome place. I would recommend this place to others.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 22, 2017

Food was very good. However, service was a little slow and table was pretty small.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 12, 2017

We had a reservation before the Roger Waters concert. We were sat promptly and greeted right away by our server. We had drinks, apps and entree and all were great! Our server was pleasant and very attentive! I also appreciated seeing teamwork between servers bringing the service level up. Great job Foundation! We will be back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 3, 2017

There was a problem when we first arrived. The restaurant had overbooked reservations.
After waiting about 20+ minutes, I asked to speak to the manager. Cameron, the manager, came over. He was very apologetic for the problem of not getting seated when we arrived. He worked out an amicable solution to our problem. He got us a table and offered to pay for our first round of drinks. He is an example of knowing how to treat a customer.

The rest of our evening was perfect. The food as always was very good Our server did a great job of taking care of us.

Thanks again to Cameron for taking a bad situation and turning it into a positive experience. Other restaurant managers could learn from him on how to treat a customer.

We will definitely be back

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on June 3, 2017

We were going to a NKOTB concert at the Golden 1 Center right across the street so we made reservations for 530pm. Thought that was plenty of time for a party of 4. We weren't even seated until 645pm, and some people who arrived AFTER us and had reservations AFTER us still got seated BEFORE us just cuz the guy threw a fit!! Soooo wrong! That's what I call rewarding bad behavior! We didn't get our food til 715pm and the concert started at 730pm! The food and drinks were delicious BUT we missed the opening act 'cuz we were eating and getting our bill! Ugh!!!! So frustrating! Won't be going back there.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 3, 2017

Went here before a concert at the Golden 1 Center. It was great, but they seemed unprepared for that many people! They ran out of menus and glass and silverware. But, they made it work and it's a solid place! Delicious food and friendly service. Definitely recommend.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 29, 2017

They had no record of our reservation, yet I showed
them my confirmation. The same thing occurred on the 27th. However, they got us seated and all was well.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3

Tweets by Foundation Restaurant and Bar