About Foundation Restaurant and Bar

400 L Street
Sacramento, CA 95814
View Larger Map

A contemporary American eatery with a great bar imported from San Francisco. The Foundation R & B features an array of American and imported whiskeys, vodkas, gins, tequilas and cordials with emphasis on classic America cuisine with California flair.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
4th & L Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 321-9522

Website:
http://foundationsacramento.com/

Catering:
We specialize in weddings, office parties, BBQ's, open house events and more. We offer full beverage service including wine, beer and spirits.

Parking Details:
Validated parking on 5th & L.

Public Transit:
Close proximity to all major bus stations, light rail and hotels.

Executive Chef:
Jeramie Smith

Private Party Facilities:
Our banquet room seats up to 50 of your guests. We do not charge banquet room fee for parties of 35 or more.*

Private Party Contact:
Matt Sin: 9163219522

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Foundation Restaurant and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

77% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (3)
Casual (3)
Quick Bite (2)
See All
Hot Spot (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Good for a Date (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Historic (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Seasonal (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Business Meals (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Private Room (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
40 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our server was very attentive and pleasa ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Our server was very attentive and pleasant. The food was quite mediocre in every respect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

My meal was delicious!

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 23, 2016

My meal was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ended up staying in the bar and order ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We ended up staying in the bar and ordered from the happy hour menu. It was very good!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We attended prior to a concert. It was v ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We attended prior to a concert. It was very busy. We gave ourselves plenty of time for slow service. It is a convenient resturant to use for the Golden 1 center.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Friendly atmosphere right down the stree ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Friendly atmosphere right down the street from the Golden 1 Center. I had the pork chop and my friend had the cheeseburger. The food is delicious and the service is just right, not intrusive. Moderate prices. Great appetizers (chicken wings etc.).

Tags: Quick Bite, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great location to golden 1 arena, met fr ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Great location to golden 1 arena, met friends for dinner before concert

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual, Romantic, Historic, Local Ingredients, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This place was OK but nothing memorable. ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 9, 2016

This place was OK but nothing memorable. Food was rather bland not very creative. They must have gotten a special deal on pappardelle, everything on the menu seemed to have this pasta.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Good food but had to wait one hour becau ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Good food but had to wait one hour because of Paul McCartney concert at golden 1 center.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

First opening night for Golden One Cente ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 5, 2016

First opening night for Golden One Center and the restaurant handled everything so smoothly! From drinks, appetizers and to dinner! Awesome service! thank you to Min and Sean!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We go to foundation every time we travel ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 7, 2016

We go to foundation every time we travel to Sacramento. I have never had a poorly prepared dish served there. Happy hour menu is fun and food choices are inexpensive and varied.

Tags: Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was good, but not memorable. We ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food was good, but not memorable. We cleaned our plates because the food tastes good, but there was nothing to make it stand out. Nothing took it up a notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Nothing too wonderful. The crab cakes I ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Nothing too wonderful. The crab cakes I was really looking forward to trying were soooo fishy tasting. Polenta balls were bland. Mussels were ok. Service was good but not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Good!

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2016

Good food, decent vibe. We both had the Gorgonzola Burger which was excellent. She had the salad, I had the fried. Both side choices were great.

Good staff... we were originally seated in a nice booth, only to find that the large group in the same room was ridiculously loud. Our server was happy to move us into the other room, which was overall louder, but didn't have the outbursts of yelling that the big group was producing. Of course, loud people are not Foundation's fault. Too bad, that booth would've been more romantic and fun, and easier to talk in.

Overall, recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

I was disappointed that they advertise a ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 15, 2016

I was disappointed that they advertise appetizers at half off until 6:30 pm. and confirmed it with the waiter before ordering. When we received the bill and questioned the charges only 1 of the 4 were half off. I looked at the regular menu and even that one was only a few dollars off, not half.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Very well kept establishment. Service is ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 3, 2016

Very well kept establishment. Service is impeccable. Cameron our waiter was amazing! Food is delicious and expertly prepared. Wouldn't hesitate to choose another location for dinner. Thanks Foundation! 😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Second time was even better than the first

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Hubby and I came here for an early Valentine's Day dinner. Foundation offered a good looking pre-fixe menu for Valentine's but we decided against it. We started with the Parmesan artichokes. So good. Nice and flavorful with a little crunch from breadcrumbs. I had the steak Oscar and my husband had the short rib stroganoff. He ended up having food envy of my steak. It was cooked to a perfect medium rare and the toast points were a perfect addition. My husband loved the stroganoff. Can't wait to come back and try more dinner options.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's all about the company....

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 21, 2016

I found the food good and the service was good as we were attended to regularly. My friends did not care for the restaurant. They felt that the server could have actually tried the food and made recommendations. It would seem that she really hadn't tried anything on the menu and talked disparagingly about some of the menu items. (In her defense not everyone loves the same thing and not everyone has money/time to go out to eat.) Having dinner with a couple of former servers and excellent cooks, in their own right, this did not go over well....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

We were seated right on time with our re ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 16, 2016

We were seated right on time with our reservation. The noise level was a little loud due to the speaker right above the booth. Loved the 3 course/ $35 option for the event & all the offerings were delicious: especially the artichoke starter & the main course of salmon oscar. The service was not exceptional. No name given, wrong food brought out at one point & he couldn't seem to keep track of who had what ( there were only three of us so not a large party) which resulted in plates being set down in front of the wrong person throughout the three courses. Got kind of funny but I'm used to a little more retention at restaurants of this level. Overall good experience & we will be coming back to try other dishes!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Good

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 13, 2016

Everything was wonderful. Service was great and good was even better

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nope

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 12, 2016

Lousy service. We were ignored. Took forever to get coffee. My husband had eaten his entire dessert before it even arrived. The mushroom pasta had three mushrooms in it. We didn't see the waiter for quite a while so it was hard to get his attention to complain. He said something under his breath about the "guys in the kitchen screwing up"!

Received no discount for the terrible entree. We couldn't find him to get our check so we could get out of there. Took about ten minutes.

Nope. Won't go there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

good but not great

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 10, 2016

Salmon was end cut and thin - which resulted in overcooked fish. Tasty but small portions. Hamburger was ordered medium rare- medium and it arrived medium well done. For someone who really appreciates medium rare; it was a disappointment. Fries were thin, unfortunately, they were limp rather than crisp. Maybe a few skinny onion rings mixed in w/ fries would be interesting - but hot would have helped. We could have just experienced a "miss" and will be back to try another evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Great food, service could be improved

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 9, 2016

Ate on Friday, January 9 for dine downtown. First course, wine and food came out on time and was tasty. Wife had artichoke, I had beet salad. Both were very tasty.

Waiter came by about 25 minutes later saying our main course will be right out. Meanwhile, he served 2 other tables that arrived at least 10 minutes later than us with the same exact entrees first. He came back 10 minutes later and said our courses will be right out. He didn't offer any explanation, bread, or an appetizer while we waited. I prefer people to be honest. If the kitchen misplaced our order, dropped the food on the floor, another waiter took our order, etc then just say so. No need to lie and say our food is coming right up when it's not. I don't go to restaurants to be lied to, I can cook at home. Anyhow, the food arrived about 7-8 minutes later. The salmon I had was good, but a little well done. After waiting almost 40 minutes was not going to send it back. My wife had the steak. Very good, cooked to medium rare perfection with minimal seasoning so u could taste the meat. That's how we like it.

Dessert came out. Chocolate creme de pot was good, a little salty. I had pound cake very good.

Bill came and waiter forgot to give us a discount because we ordered a bottle of wine. Had to send check back. He fixed, we paid and left.

The steak and salad were good enough to return, but the service fell short.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Food was amazing and our waiter Cameron ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 21, 2015

Food was amazing and our waiter Cameron was as well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I had the short rib which was ok, not ex ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2015

I had the short rib which was ok, not exceptional. My wife's salmon special was very good. Enjoyable experience overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

The polenta cheese balls were absolutely ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 15, 2015

The polenta cheese balls were absolutely wonderful! The food was good however the short ribs needed more time in the pressure cooker and I wouldn't put a potato with seared tuna. Jasmine rice would be more appropriate. Service was fantastic!

As for the noise level: the music playing didn't fit the location and was a bit loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

The Brentwood corn bisque was the best p ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 27, 2015

The Brentwood corn bisque was the best part of the meal. Unfortunately, the grilled artichoke was not adequately grilled, without any lemon, and overly coated with cheese. The pork tenderloin with apple risotto and goat cheese crisps was very disappointing. It was undersalted dry tasteless meat paired with risotto that had barely any apple flavor and certainly not moist. The crisps turned out to be one big lump of over-battered fried cheese. None of the three items paired together at all. My taste buds were begging for a fruity compote or sauce. Baby back ribs were meaty, juicy and plentiful, but overly sauced. Service was adequate, but we felt nearly forgotten at the end, though we let the server know we had Theater tickets well in advance. Disappointing second visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Deliciously Classy

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 2, 2015

Tasty food, great service and a relaxing environment. This restaurant was a perfect choice for dinner and conversation.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Special Evening

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 15, 2015

Went there for Valentine's Day dinner. everything was very good and made it a special evening.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We went to Foundation during Dine Downto ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 25, 2015

We went to Foundation during Dine Downtown. My lightly seasoned steak was cooked to a perfect medium rare. My friend's salad looked delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our dinner and service was good except f ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 23, 2015

Our dinner and service was good except for the appetizer artichoke. As an artichoke lover, I found it tough and undercooked.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Dine downtown week

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 22, 2015

We both enjoyed the three course meal that was served. The Salmon Oscar was cooked perfectly. The service was fast and friendly, and we plan on returning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great food and good cocktails. Perfect f ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 3, 2015

Great food and good cocktails. Perfect for dining before ballet or play

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Pretty good

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2014

Delicious short ribs and amazing mashed potatoes with only 2 carrots and topped by parsnips intended to be crispy, but so hard to chew they almost seemed stale (I'm sure they weren't). Gorgonzola burger fantastic. Frito misto calamari was great, mostly missing in action the red onions and leeks. Fish tacos were disappointing, couldn't taste fish, not sure why -- too much breading or just not enough fish. All beautifully plated. Hoping for bigger, more varied dessert list. New Year's Eve menu looked amazing, love the artwork by front door. Will be back for another try and hope mozzarella will be back on app list. Wonderful service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Worst dining experience in Sac

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 27, 2014

I took my husband here for his birthday. When we walked in the first thing we noticed was that the restaurant smelled like fish (not fresh). The bartender had to come out from the bar to seat us. He helped to get us water otherwise it was a good 20 minutes before the waiter came to check on us. The flatbread tasted like the dough was from Pillsbury. The meatloaf was dry and the skirt steak was tough (not a good cut). The only good part of the meal was the wine that we brought with us! The wine list was sad. We have been to almost every restaurant in Sacramento, but had not checked this place out. We will not be going again. I'm glad we brought some good wine or my husband's birthday dinner would have been completely ruined.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

No one was at the hostess desk

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 4, 2014

Never even got to eat because no one was there to seat us stayed for 10 mins and then left won't go back

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Great lunch

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 10, 2014

Met my client for lunch. Had a wonderful meal. Service was outstanding. I will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Very good overall

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 10, 2014

The last time we ate here it was called the 4th Street Grill. They seemed a little understaffed for a Monday night. Food and service were good. Joel C. was our server and did a good job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great drinks, great eats

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 8, 2014

A relatively new place, but one I'd like to see stock around. Foundation has fantastic mixed drinks (lychee martini was great!) and innovative food choices that keeps things interesting. My only wish is that it was closer to midtown.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

open comfortable family dining

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 15, 2014

will add this place to our family dining rotation, food was of good quality cooked well, nice variety of amerian cuisine items and a few celelbration specials as well

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Needs some consistency

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 14, 2014

Service was attentive and friendly. We started with the Frito Misto which was missing the fennel, but the calamari was cooked perfectly. The Steamed Black Mussels were on the small side, but tender. Unfortunately the broth was extremely salty and we were not able to enjoy that. The black bean chili came steaming hot while New England Clam Chowder came more on the lukewarm side, rather than hot. We shared the Vietnamese grilled prawn salad. It was not as the menu stated it. It should have had more matchstick carrots and zucchini. There was no cilantro, no mint, and needed more lime juice. Love the grilled prawns. Definitely more of a happy hour place.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.