Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

About Foundation Restaurant and Bar

A contemporary American eatery with a great bar imported from San Francisco. The Foundation R & B features an array of American and imported whiskeys, vodkas, gins, tequilas and cordials with emphasis on classic America cuisine with California flair.

400 L Street
Sacramento, CA 95814
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
4th & L Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 321-9522

Website:
http://foundationsacramento.com/

Catering:
We specialize in weddings, office parties, BBQ's, open house events and more. We offer full beverage service including wine, beer and spirits.

Parking Details:
Validated parking on 5th & L.

Public Transit:
Close proximity to all major bus stations, light rail and hotels.

Executive Chef:
Jeramie Smith

Private Party Facilities:
Our banquet room seats up to 50 of your guests. We do not charge banquet room fee for parties of 35 or more.*

Private Party Contact:
Matt Sin: (916) 321-9522

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Foundation Restaurant and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.7

ambience

3.7

value

3.8

Noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Bar Seating (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Cozy (1)
See All
Good for a Date (1)
Great Beer (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Sort by
S
61 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2017

We went early for happy hour but there was a time discrepancy. Open table showed happy hour until 630 but the restaurant ended at 600.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 21, 2017

Misto appetizer was tough, cold and chewy, meatball sandwich was cold with more bread than meatballs, and those were the small frozen from a bag! Friend’s hamburger was good. Service was spotty with little follow up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 19, 2017

Never again!! Last night was the second service failure we experienced at The Foundation. We arrived on time for our reservation and were told we didn’t have one. I showed the hostess my confirmation. She said they have lots of problems with open table. I asked if you have so many problems why do you use it. I showed her 2 pieces of proof we had a reservation. I showed her the open table app, showing the current reservation and the confirmation email. She was unapologetic for the error. She said it wasn’t her fault. Not at any time did we blame her. It was a busy night at the restaurant as most of the patrons were concert goers. I even told the hostess I had called and confirmed my reservation that afternoon. She asked what time I called and I showed her I called at 2:19 pm. She said that was impossible because the don’t open until 4. The customer service at this restaurant is appalling. I felt like the hostess was just short of calling me a liar. She should have apologized and said let me see what I can do to make this right. I felt like she was hoping we would back down and leave. We didn’t and eventually we were seated. There are many other options by the Golden 1 Center and I suggest you avoid the foundation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 18, 2017

We went here before a Kings game and were sat right a way. The waiter was very attentive and the food was delivered quickly. The food was somewhat of a comfort food that hit the spot. I would go here again before an event being so close to the Arena.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 25, 2017

Blackened salmon paella was pretty good. Beef short ribs were fatty but tasty.

Tags: Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 22, 2017

The chicken gnocchi was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Food was great. Service was not good at all! Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Great food great drinks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Lively atmosphere, excellent server very tasty food

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

Great service! So close to golden center!
Love ❤️ it!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 24, 2017

The Foundation was a great choice for a date. Although there was a mix up with the hostess not being able to find my OpenTable reservation (I made it a month in advance), they were still able to sit us. The service was professional and very friendly. Our table was wobbly and they replaced it with a new one. Food was really tasty and reasonably priced. But the drinks are what set them apart from other bars I've been to. You definitely get your money's worth with their drinks! By the time I was done with my first cranberry vodka, I was buzzing. Overall, awesome place. I would recommend this place to others.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Food was very good. However, service was a little slow and table was pretty small.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 12, 2017

We had a reservation before the Roger Waters concert. We were sat promptly and greeted right away by our server. We had drinks, apps and entree and all were great! Our server was pleasant and very attentive! I also appreciated seeing teamwork between servers bringing the service level up. Great job Foundation! We will be back!

Tags: Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 3, 2017

There was a problem when we first arrived. The restaurant had overbooked reservations.
After waiting about 20+ minutes, I asked to speak to the manager. Cameron, the manager, came over. He was very apologetic for the problem of not getting seated when we arrived. He worked out an amicable solution to our problem. He got us a table and offered to pay for our first round of drinks. He is an example of knowing how to treat a customer.

The rest of our evening was perfect. The food as always was very good Our server did a great job of taking care of us.

Thanks again to Cameron for taking a bad situation and turning it into a positive experience. Other restaurant managers could learn from him on how to treat a customer.

We will definitely be back

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 3, 2017

We were going to a NKOTB concert at the Golden 1 Center right across the street so we made reservations for 530pm. Thought that was plenty of time for a party of 4. We weren't even seated until 645pm, and some people who arrived AFTER us and had reservations AFTER us still got seated BEFORE us just cuz the guy threw a fit!! Soooo wrong! That's what I call rewarding bad behavior! We didn't get our food til 715pm and the concert started at 730pm! The food and drinks were delicious BUT we missed the opening act 'cuz we were eating and getting our bill! Ugh!!!! So frustrating! Won't be going back there.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Went here before a concert at the Golden 1 Center. It was great, but they seemed unprepared for that many people! They ran out of menus and glass and silverware. But, they made it work and it's a solid place! Delicious food and friendly service. Definitely recommend.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 29, 2017

They had no record of our reservation, yet I showed
them my confirmation. The same thing occurred on the 27th. However, they got us seated and all was well.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Comfort Food
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Good and fun before a King's game. Happy atmosphere and fun servers.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Very average food. Mussels and French dip sandwich were cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Had the fish tacos, pesto bread & grilled artichoke off the happy hour menu, all were delicious and the bartender was on top of it! Gave me a fresh beer as soon as mine was all most gone :)

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Decent food for sacramento. Large portions. Good drinks. Will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

vip
 (London)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Our server was very attentive and pleasant. The food was quite mediocre in every respect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 22, 2016

My meal was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We ended up staying in the bar and ordered from the happy hour menu. It was very good!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 20, 2016

We attended prior to a concert. It was very busy. We gave ourselves plenty of time for slow service. It is a convenient resturant to use for the Golden 1 center.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Friendly atmosphere right down the street from the Golden 1 Center. I had the pork chop and my friend had the cheeseburger. The food is delicious and the service is just right, not intrusive. Moderate prices. Great appetizers (chicken wings etc.).

Tags: Quick Bite, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Great location to golden 1 arena, met friends for dinner before concert

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 8, 2016

This place was OK but nothing memorable. Food was rather bland not very creative. They must have gotten a special deal on pappardelle, everything on the menu seemed to have this pasta.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Good food but had to wait one hour because of Paul McCartney concert at golden 1 center.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 4, 2016

First opening night for Golden One Center and the restaurant handled everything so smoothly! From drinks, appetizers and to dinner! Awesome service! thank you to Min and Sean!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 6, 2016

We go to foundation every time we travel to Sacramento. I have never had a poorly prepared dish served there. Happy hour menu is fun and food choices are inexpensive and varied.

Tags: Comfort Food, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 15, 2016

The food was good, but not memorable. We cleaned our plates because the food tastes good, but there was nothing to make it stand out. Nothing took it up a notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 24, 2016

Nothing too wonderful. The crab cakes I was really looking forward to trying were soooo fishy tasting. Polenta balls were bland. Mussels were ok. Service was good but not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2016

Good food, decent vibe. We both had the Gorgonzola Burger which was excellent. She had the salad, I had the fried. Both side choices were great.

Good staff... we were originally seated in a nice booth, only to find that the large group in the same room was ridiculously loud. Our server was happy to move us into the other room, which was overall louder, but didn't have the outbursts of yelling that the big group was producing. Of course, loud people are not Foundation's fault. Too bad, that booth would've been more romantic and fun, and easier to talk in.

Overall, recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 14, 2016

I was disappointed that they advertise appetizers at half off until 6:30 pm. and confirmed it with the waiter before ordering. When we received the bill and questioned the charges only 1 of the 4 were half off. I looked at the regular menu and even that one was only a few dollars off, not half.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 2, 2016

Very well kept establishment. Service is impeccable. Cameron our waiter was amazing! Food is delicious and expertly prepared. Wouldn't hesitate to choose another location for dinner. Thanks Foundation! 😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 13, 2016

Hubby and I came here for an early Valentine's Day dinner. Foundation offered a good looking pre-fixe menu for Valentine's but we decided against it. We started with the Parmesan artichokes. So good. Nice and flavorful with a little crunch from breadcrumbs. I had the steak Oscar and my husband had the short rib stroganoff. He ended up having food envy of my steak. It was cooked to a perfect medium rare and the toast points were a perfect addition. My husband loved the stroganoff. Can't wait to come back and try more dinner options.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 20, 2016

I found the food good and the service was good as we were attended to regularly. My friends did not care for the restaurant. They felt that the server could have actually tried the food and made recommendations. It would seem that she really hadn't tried anything on the menu and talked disparagingly about some of the menu items. (In her defense not everyone loves the same thing and not everyone has money/time to go out to eat.) Having dinner with a couple of former servers and excellent cooks, in their own right, this did not go over well....

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2016

We were seated right on time with our reservation. The noise level was a little loud due to the speaker right above the booth. Loved the 3 course/ $35 option for the event & all the offerings were delicious: especially the artichoke starter & the main course of salmon oscar. The service was not exceptional. No name given, wrong food brought out at one point & he couldn't seem to keep track of who had what ( there were only three of us so not a large party) which resulted in plates being set down in front of the wrong person throughout the three courses. Got kind of funny but I'm used to a little more retention at restaurants of this level. Overall good experience & we will be coming back to try other dishes!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 12, 2016

Everything was wonderful. Service was great and good was even better

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.