Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

About Fortify Kitchen and Bar

At Fortify Kitchen & Bar, expect great food, delicious cocktails and impeccable service in a comfortable environment. We will always support sustainability in our area by using produce sourced from local small farms and growers, all natural, hormone-antibiotic free meats and proteins, and sustainable seafood sources and give back to the great community we call home!

69 N.Main St.
Clayton, GA 30525
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Contemporary Southern, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Wednesday - Sunday: 11:30am-2:30pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - Close

Cross Street:
Hiawassee St. And North Main St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(706) 782-0050

Website:
http://www.fortifyclayton.com/

Catering:
Fortify is committed to bringing sustainable and locally sourced items to your special gathering!  We are available for catering any event needs you may have either in the restaurant or off site.  Please call the restaurant for more information and to schedule a meeting.

Parking Details:
Street and public parking

Executive Chef:
Jamie Allred

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Fortify Kitchen and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (67)
Good for a Date (66)
Special Occasion (61)
See All
Creative Cuisine (60)
Worth the Drive (53)
Fit for Foodies (51)
Good for Anniversaries (48)
Neighborhood Gem (48)
Handcrafted Cocktails (45)
Good for Birthdays (38)
Bar Seating (34)
Romantic (29)
Casual (29)
Authentic (28)
Fun (24)
Healthy (24)
Great for Lunch (22)
Notable Wine List (20)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Seasonal (19)
Organic (19)
Gluten Free Options (18)
Modern Decor (18)
Business Meals (18)
Hot Spot (17)
Comfort Food (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Good Vegetarian Options (15)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Good for Groups (14)
Cozy (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Outstanding Value (10)
Great for Brunch (9)
Great Beer (8)
People Watching (7)
Private Room (6)
Vegan (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Historic (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Spicy (1)
Family Style (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
774 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

Food is always great with excellent presentation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

I'm a longtime fan of FORTIFY -- and now FORTIFY PI -- and love to bring visiting foodie friends to both. The food and service does not disappoint!

Tags: Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Organic, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Private Room, Sunday Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

Superb continuation of a superlative restaurant, its cuisine and staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 16, 2017

My husband and I had a lovely Easter meal here. Food is always so well prepared and out of the ordinary! Service is excellent.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

First of all, we went to the wrong location next door and the lady told us that happened all the time, so it needs to be explained that there are two sections to the restaurant. We were seated promptly and water and menus were brought to the table in a timely manner. The waiter returned for out entree order and we weren't ready, so he took our drink orders...that was the last we saw of him for about 10 minutes and the place was nearly empty. The food arrived and it was presented nicely and was delicious...I thought the amount on the Filet Mignon was very small and I didn't weigh the meat, but I'd doubt that I got a 6 oz. piece. In short, we thought the food was outstanding and the service only mediocre, but we're going to come back for another try.

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great food. Great service. Love the ambience. It's a really pleasant drive to get there. The town of Clayton is charming though little is open on Sunday. Check it out👍🏻

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Had the quail and wild rice soup/stew for an appetizer. Blew my socks off.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We are from Atlanta and I don't think I've ever had such an amazing meal! The pork chop special was divine. Heads literally turned when the waiter served us. From the presentation to our palates, everything was perfect. Next time we are in the area, we will return for another unforgettable evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The drinks, the halibut entree, the sides, and the service were all excellent. The staff asked several times if we were satisfied, and if we needed anything, without hovering. If I had any complaint, it would be that when the restaurant is full, it is very noisy from people talking, an difficult to carry on a conversation. All in all, it is well worth a drive and the noise level!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Healthy, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Reservations were easy to make online, friendly staff upon arrival. No waiting with reservations, great menu selections, great presentation, GREAT food and drink.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great food ad service. A little wait even though we had reservations but not much. Staff called me day before I confirm reservation and answer my question about corkage fee ($15).
Halibut special was fantastic along with pork tenderloin entree.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great food. Lousy watery Martini

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 14, 2017

First and only time we have had bad service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Always a favorite place to dine for my wife and I. Great food, great atmosphere and great service.

Worth the drive ; worth any drive !!!!

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We travelled up from Atlanta to dine here after watching the review on Georgia Traveller. The menu is simple but adequate and the wine list was good.
It would be good to know at the time of booking that there are 2 seating areas. We were seated at the back section - it was stuffy and smokey (smoke from the kitchen filtered into the room). It was not a good impression for first time diners. The front rooms looked very lively and much more pleasant. When we mentioned that to our server, she told us that we have to specially request for the front room.
We ordered the freshly shucked oysters on half shells, the rib eye fillet (special of the day) and the fillet mignon plus a bottle of wine. The meat were cooked to perfection. However, the oysters had bits of shells in almost all of them. They did take it off the bill only after we mentioned it to the manager. Initially we mentioned it to the bus boy (coz he was clearing the plates and therefore the evidence) and to our server as well but nothing was done.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I almost hate to leave a good review for Fortify ... I don't want too many other people knowing about it! But I will anyway. My wife and I, and also friends, have had several delightful dinners here. For some, it is a bit of a drive to Clayton, GA, and who would think -- Clayton?? But the community is thriving, due to its proximity to the Rabun County lakes, Highlands, gateway to North Carolina, beautiful scenery, etc. The owner(s) are friendly and always check on you, the cuisine is creative and wonderful - had a delightful Red Snapper special with an interesting sauce (didn't make notes), some ramps (!!), brussel sprouts ... finished off with a super banana cream and chocolate shaving pudding (something like that, don't remember what they called it). The bread is fresh and warm, interesting cocktails, a reasonable wine list ... I could go on. I hope Fortify lasts for the long run, we look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Organic, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fun, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Fortify isn't just great by Rabun County standards. It's fabulous by metro Atlanta standards. Great taste and presentation. Memorable dishes which are so tasty and authentic, yet magical. Always remarkable, this last time was the best ever. Thank you, Chef Jamie!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Cozy, Modern Decor, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Always delicious. Always friendly waitstaff. Great bartender (shout out to Carlton!). Jack's the consummate host.

Tags: Healthy, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 6, 2017

As always the best!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 5, 2017

We dine here regularly and have written reviews in the past supposing that we had the best meal ever ! WELL ! We were wrong in the past because our recent meal was the best ever. The fish was perfect, the asparagus/ramp sauce proved once again that the chef can concoct a new taste SENSATION, and then the barman can add uniqueness that adds to your pleasure.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Great meal and service. Beware of police targeting out of town guests as you leave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Four state get together for bothers and sisters. A first!
Only one issue.... sat in back room and every time the rest room door swung closed it created a very noisy BANG. Needs to be addressed for ambiance sake

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 1, 2017

visiting clayton for the weekend with kids.

1. we could only get a two person reservation but we called the restaurant and they accommodated the kids too. very nice service
2. great cocktails - tried their spin on the old fashioned and cosmo, both delicious
3. absolutely amazing filet, kids loved the grits bowl.

we skipped desserts but overall a great contemporary food experience in north georgia

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Absolutely loved this restaurant! The food was all fantastic and cooked to perfection, cocktail was delightful and atmosphere was perfect. So glad we found this place and we will be heading back soon!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Wonderful gluten free options for our celiac family

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Quite a gem in Clayton, GA. A weekend getaway for my wife and myself from ATL. We were happy to find this spot with good cocktails, varied menu and food that was very good. Possibly a tad heavy handed on the sauces?? If in the area we highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Excellent in all ways. Great food, healthy menu, pleasant atmosphere. Will be back without question.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Healthy, Bar Seating, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Organic, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 30, 2017

The chef is incredibly creative, making innovative use of local ingredients with delicious results. The staff are friendly, competent, and attentive. We eat there almost once a week and are never disappointed. The standard menu is varied enough for a wide range of tastes, and the specials--often seafood--are always exciting! Among our favorites are the trout, the crabcakes, the grit bowl, and the filet mignon.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Casual, Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy, Spicy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Modern Decor, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Enjoyed our evening there . Food was good.

Plan to come again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 29, 2017

We have enjoyed this restaurant in the past, but this week's visit was disappointing. It's not managed well and the service is not on par with the food.
Food had been very good in last two visits, and worth the price. But not this time. The Fortified Salad was not quite as advertised (brussel sprouts and beets, listed as first ingredients, were there only in tiny slivers at the bottom of the salad —hard to even find and hardly a taste element at all) and the feta also was in very small supply. Mainly a soggy sweet plate of greens. Kale Caesar was much better. And the duck, which sounded good, was actually pretty dry and not very interesting. Short ribs were good. All in all, it felt like there was not much effort to please and when finished we were happy to skedaddle, not at all tempted to linger for dessert.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Amazing as always! This is our #1 restaurant choice if we have a night away and are staying close to home. However I will add that I would pick Fortify over all of the amazing restaurant options in Atlanta. It is that good! You cannot go wrong with the service, food and drinks at this place. All outstanding!

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Fun, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Wonderful restaurant and atmosphere. This is our choice every time we visit Clayton. The shrimp and grits cake is delicious and the unique cocktails are scrumptious. We love the open front room with the cute bar area.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Love this restaurant, but despite having a reservation for just a party of 2 we were seated in the back room and it was a totally different feel. If your going - ask to be seated in the main part of the restaurant - the back room was virtually empty and we felt a little like second class patrons. That being said - great restaurant and great value - just make sure they seat you up front.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Very good meal as usual. Best restaurant in Clayton

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Fortify is just plain good. Top to bottom. Excellent service, fantastic staff at each interaction and great food creatively prepared for any taste.

The bartender greeted us warmly and the host got our table situated so quickly I couldn't even order a drink at the bar before we were seated.

Our server was knowledgeable, funny and friendly. The meal was awesome and included lots of local flavor. The wine list included local wines and the house made desert was stellar.

We will definitely be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Organic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 22, 2017

A wonderful farm-to-table restaurant in Clayton, Georgia. Very well-done decor with sound-deadening panels on the ceiling to keep noise levels down. The gluten-free fried Chicken Livers with Collard Greens, gravy, and a small cornbread muffin as an appetizer was the best example of fried Chicken Livers that I have ever experienced!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Always great food and friendly waitstaff. Our favorite Friday night restaurant!

Tags: Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Excellent as always! The place was jammed on St Patrick's Day, but we still had great service and an overall good meal. Great place to go in Clayton!

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Another great St. Patrick's Day dinner of corned beef, pasture raised and full of flavor! We are never disappointed with the food and service at Fortify!!!

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 15, 2017

As always service was great and food was excellent. Great neighborhood restaurant , Always feel welcome

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Organic, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.