Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

About Fortify Kitchen and Bar

At Fortify Kitchen & Bar, expect great food, delicious cocktails and impeccable service in a comfortable environment. We will always support sustainability in our area by using produce sourced from local small farms and growers, all natural, hormone-antibiotic free meats and proteins, and sustainable seafood sources and give back to the great community we call home!

69 N.Main St.
Clayton, GA 30525
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Contemporary Southern, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Wednesday - Saturday: 11:30am-2:30pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - Close

Cross Street:
Hiawassee St. And North Main St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(706) 782-0050

Website:
http://www.fortifyclayton.com/

Catering:
Fortify is committed to bringing sustainable and locally sourced items to your special gathering!  We are available for catering any event needs you may have either in the restaurant or off site.  Please call the restaurant for more information and to schedule a meeting.

Parking Details:
Street and public parking

Executive Chef:
Jamie Allred

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Fortify Kitchen and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (59)
Good for a Date (55)
Special Occasion (54)
See All
Creative Cuisine (54)
Worth the Drive (46)
Neighborhood Gem (46)
Good for Anniversaries (42)
Fit for Foodies (40)
Handcrafted Cocktails (38)
Bar Seating (31)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Authentic (29)
Casual (28)
Romantic (22)
Fun (20)
Gluten Free Options (19)
Great for Lunch (18)
Healthy (17)
Organic (16)
Seasonal (16)
Hot Spot (16)
Comfort Food (14)
Modern Decor (14)
Notable Wine List (14)
Business Meals (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Cozy (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Happy Hour (10)
Outstanding Value (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Great for Brunch (7)
People Watching (7)
Great Beer (6)
Private Room (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Vegan (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Historic (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Scenic View (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
740 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

Very good meal as usual. Best restaurant in Clayton

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

A wonderful farm-to-table restaurant in Clayton, Georgia. Very well-done decor with sound-deadening panels on the ceiling to keep noise levels down. The gluten-free fried Chicken Livers with Collard Greens, gravy, and a small cornbread muffin as an appetizer was the best example of fried Chicken Livers that I have ever experienced!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Always great food and friendly waitstaff. Our favorite Friday night restaurant!

Tags: Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Excellent as always! The place was jammed on St Patrick's Day, but we still had great service and an overall good meal. Great place to go in Clayton!

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Another great St. Patrick's Day dinner of corned beef, pasture raised and full of flavor! We are never disappointed with the food and service at Fortify!!!

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 15, 2017

As always service was great and food was excellent. Great neighborhood restaurant , Always feel welcome

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Organic, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Bartender Carlton met us at the door--he was a delight.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great dining! All around, wonderful value. Can't wait to revisit

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We fly down 1-2 times a month just to eat dinner here. The people are very nice and service is great!!! Bartender is the best!

Tom

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Having been told that Fortify is the best area restaurant, we decided to have dinner there on my birthday. After inquiring as to the size of the entrees, we told the waiter we would split one...crab cakes. There was an $8.00 charge to split; however, when the plates were brought to our table, we were glad we did not each order a separate entree. Each crab cake was a reasonably good size and was accompanied by a large amount of flavored mashed potatoes and a vegetable...beets on one plate, collard greens on the other. Accompanied by delicious warm bread...all we cared to eat. The waiter was very courteous...when he came to the table which was infrequent after another wait staff team member brought our meals. He did not come around to inquire how everything was and/or if we wanted more to drink, etc. The waiter could have/should have been more attentive.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 10, 2017

I HAVE LIVED IN CLAYTON ALL OF MY LIFE AND I AM SO PROUD THAT WE HAVE FORTIFY FOR MY FAMILY AND TO OFFER FRIENDS AND VISITORS TO OUR COMMUNITY. MY FAMILY HAS A LONG STANDING BUSINESS ON MAIN STREET AND THIS IS SUCH A PLUS FOR OUR TOWN. THANK YOU TO YOU AND YOUR STAFF.

Tags: Modern Decor, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Easy reservation process, great food, super service, friendly staff going the extra mile, love all the special touches.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 8, 2017

We are very lucky to have such a great restaurant in Clayton. Everyone tries to make your dining experience a memorable one.
We really enjoy the creativity of chef Jamie especially with unusual ingredients like pigs ears!! Absolutely delicious!
Keep it up Fortify!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 5, 2017

My wife thought the polenta was not the best.....but, my trout was exquisite.

Tags: Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 1, 2017

My new husband requested dinner at Fortify this evening for his birthday. As always, the service was top notch, and our dinners were interesting and delicious. We live Fortify!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fun, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 28, 2017

The ambiance is lovely, quiet and relaxing (we went during the week). We had reservations for early on a Tuesday night and it was not crowded at all (rainy night in Clayton). More people did come as it got later. We had the pork tenderloin-melts in your mouth, trout-filleted and delicious, scallops-not very many and substituted mashed potatoes for polenta. The appetizers, grouper bites and gouda balls were delicious, scampi with shells not too many bites and lots of sauce with delicious bread.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Visiting Clayton for the first time in two years. It was a high priority to return to Fortify for dinner and we were not disappointed!!! Bartenders were great. My wife and I talked about our meal for two days afterwards. Thanks Again for a great trip to Clayton!!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Casual, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 25, 2017

My wife would likely give you 5s where I give 4s. I have to process too much to find a main course given no choices with the sides; that is, in some cases I might prefer a different main course but I dislike some of the sides. Also, I think $10 for a cocktail (I almost always get Old Fashioned) even with Knob Creek is a bit excessive bordering on pretentious.

Tags: Organic, Casual, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Our food was delicious in every way. I love good food and am so pleased that Clayton has this to offer. I would send all my friends to Fortify.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 22, 2017

This is the Best resturaunt and we will drive 2 1/2 hours to get there, we love it. Very creative and delicious food. The Gouda fritters are and all time favorite of ours. I love that they source their food from local farmers, is is delicious!!!! I only wished we lived closer to Fortify.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Fortify has outdone itself and put together some great vegetarian/vegan options lately, even if they sometimes need just a little tweaking to be fully vegan. Super appreciated, and even more delicious. They have even done that at Fortify Pi next door (their pizza joint). I'm so appreciative and impressed.

Tags: Vegan, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 21, 2017

absolutely wonderful! We drove 1 hour 45 min to eat there and will do it again!!!

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Organic, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Fortify is an incredible farm to table restaurant. The new menu is incredible. The cocktails are perfect. Waitstaff is great! I had the quail which was delicious. I can't wait to go back a try other items on the new menu!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Bar Seating, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Fortify is so special. Attention to every detail--beautiful space and food. Beautiful AND delicious.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 19, 2017

So, after being seated right up front, near the hostess' desk, our party of 4 waited, menus in front of us with only water glasses filled, for 15 minutes and no one approached us. People scurried all around us but not one person stopped to see why we had no bread or drinks or anything but water. Others were seated around us, bread brought to them, and orders taken. We finally stopped a server as he was hurrying by and asked him to send our server over as we had been waiting quite a while. Our server finally arrived, apologized and said he did not know it was his table. That is understandable. What is not understandable is that NO ONE (even the hostess) thought to see why we were just sitting there - not eating or drinking.

Fortunately the food, when received, was superb as usual. As were the drinks.

I will be returning as I know this is not the norm at Fortify but had to vent.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Food was good and substantial. But felt the seating was way too crowded lacking intimacy. Noisy.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Always great food and wine.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Phenomenal, we went there on a Thursday evening and then wanted to go back on Saturday night - of course Saturday was fully booked. The food was innovative and fantastic. The chef makes creative combinations that are just amazing. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 16, 2017

My wife and I make it to Fortify a few times a year. The food is alway great. The service is good and the owner almost always comes by the table to say hello. I can't wait for our next trip to Fortify.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We have family in the area and have enjoyed eating at Fortify twice. It is definitely a place we recommend for the delicious food, casual atmosphere, and excellent service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The evening was wonderful. That was some of the best food that I have tasted. The cocktails were delicious and the bartender was very helpful. I was thankful for the gluten-free options on the menu. I can't wait to come back again. I have already recommended it to several of my friends.

Tags: Scenic View, Late-night Find, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I don't care where you are if you want to take a drive to Clayton make sure and save time for the food at Fortify. This is one of the best restaurants I have been to and that includes Atlanta, and many other cities.
Food and service is outstanding!!!! Don't miss it!
Also next door is their Pizza, Fantastic as well!!!!

Tags: Seasonal, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Historic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Cozy, Fun, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I saw a review on Georgia Traveler and it sounded interesting. We drove over 100 miles each way so that I could treat my Valentine to one of her favorite meals, on that special day. They seated us early, before our reservation, as we arrived early from our long drive. The food and service were both excellent, in a casual yet elegant atmosphere, at a reasonable price. Our visit was very enjoyable, and my wife said it was worth the trip.

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This was our first time dining at Fortify. We had always heard good things about the restaurant and decided to try it for Valentine's Day. Not disappointed. Atmosphere, drinks, food and service all outstanding. We will definitely not be a stranger there. Thank you Jack and Matt for the wonderful experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Casual, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Our second visit, retired couple, for Valentine's specials. The food is excellent in quality, combinations, and selection, with pleasant ambiance despite almost a full house early in the evening on a Saturday. Also found berry and bourbon drink very good but don't remember the name, it was a special as I remember.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Fortify is our very favorite restaurant!!! It is consistently perfect! You MUST go!!!

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Everything was delicious but the chicken livers were incredible!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Always great! Never disappoints! Staff is always friendly and helpful.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 3, 2017

This restaurant is a great place to have an excellent meal. My wife had the Trout and said it was outstanding and delicious. I had the Grit Bowl and they did not disappoint. Nice size shrimp, andouille sausage and big strips of chicken strips. Again outstanding and delicious. This was our first time and we have already made reservations for this Friday.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 31, 2017

The service at Fortify is always wonderful, and the waiters remember your name. The ambiance is very relaxing, and the timing of the food is perfect. You never feel rushed, but you also don't feel like you have to wolf down your food to make room for the table to be cleared.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.