Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

About Fortify Kitchen and Bar

At Fortify Kitchen & Bar, expect great food, delicious cocktails and impeccable service in a comfortable environment. We will always support sustainability in our area by using produce sourced from local small farms and growers, all natural, hormone-antibiotic free meats and proteins, and sustainable seafood sources and give back to the great community we call home!

69 N.Main St.
Clayton, GA 30525
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Contemporary Southern, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Wednesday - Sunday: 11:30am-2:30pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - Close

Cross Street:
Hiawassee St. And North Main St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(706) 782-0050

Website:
http://www.fortifyclayton.com/

Catering:
Fortify is committed to bringing sustainable and locally sourced items to your special gathering!  We are available for catering any event needs you may have either in the restaurant or off site.  Please call the restaurant for more information and to schedule a meeting.

Parking Details:
Street and public parking

Executive Chef:
Jamie Allred

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Fortify Kitchen and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (78)
Creative Cuisine (77)
Local Ingredients (72)
See All
Worth the Drive (66)
Good for a Date (64)
Fit for Foodies (53)
Neighborhood Gem (52)
Good for Anniversaries (51)
Good for Birthdays (46)
Handcrafted Cocktails (42)
Healthy (37)
Bar Seating (35)
Casual (32)
Authentic (30)
Great for Lunch (28)
Fun (27)
Romantic (26)
Organic (23)
Good for Groups (22)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Business Meals (20)
Cozy (17)
Hot Spot (17)
Notable Wine List (16)
Comfort Food (16)
Gluten Free Options (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (13)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Seasonal (11)
Great Beer (11)
Modern Decor (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Great for Brunch (8)
Paleo Friendly (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Disabled Access (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Vegan (6)
Historic (5)
People Watching (5)
Tasting Menu (3)
Private Room (3)
Family Style (2)
Spicy (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Scenic View (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Dancing (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
867 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 2 days ago

What a delightful meal! All four of us were pleasantly surprised by this first class restaurant tucked away in. Clayton! Well trained staff. Attention to detail.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Carlton made our night! What a fantastic person! Our server (can't remember his name, but his girlfriend's name is April) was so genuine and gracious. He was super attentive and made the dinner perfect. Lisa at Lake Rabun Hotel recommended your rssturant and Carlton in particular. She should be recognized, since 3 couples went there on her advice.

Thank you for an excellent and memorable evening,
Doug and Linda

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Both the food and service was fabulous! Loved the friendly atmosphere. Would certainly recommend Fortify and go back again when in the area.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

The food was fresh, beautifully presented and the flavors were absolutely delicious as were the specialty cocktails. Our sever was knowledgeable, friendly and super efficient. This place is a neighborhood gem!

Tags: Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

Clayton seems to get most its traffic from the nearby lakes and mountains so summer is busy. The food at Fortify is why you come. I recommend the gaspacho, fish and chicken dishes and great vegetables. The servers are also very good. The "front of the house," however, lacks the charm and warmth you'd expect from this type community. Put on a smile folks! The picture view is from inside out to Main St.

Tags: People Watching, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

We had a wonderful meal and an excellent experience. The restaurant was full and we hope that Jamie can keep it up. Fortify is an important community gem!

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Great food, service, and atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 15, 2017

My wife and I have eaten at Fortify many times with family and friends. It never disappoints. The food is creative and delicious. The service is always excellent.

Tags: Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 12, 2017

The food was incredible and the service was attentive and friendly. Would definitely recommend a visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 12, 2017

The food is excellent, featuring a wonderful blend of flavors and ingredients! We recommend the antipasto appetizer. It's awesome! The flounder special the evening we dined at Fortify was exceptionally delicious, too!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Casual, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 12, 2017

As always Jack and Jamie combine world class cuisine with Southern hospitality and excellent service. Local food sources and artistic pairing of herbs and spices make for a kaleidoscope of flavor. A "10" for sure!
Steve and Elaine

Tags: Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Casual, Cozy, Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 12, 2017

As always, Fortify provided excellent food and friendly service. No better restaurant in north Georgia!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Outstanding menu, food, preparation , presentation, service and value. We enjoyed our anniversary dinner and could not have been more satisfied and happy with our choice of restaurant. Farm to table quality was truly outstanding. We highly recommend Fortify. During the dinner hours, recommend getting reservations.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 11, 2017

We went to Fortify for our anniversary dinner, and it really was a treat. The two of us split an appetizer, the dinner, and the dessert and still ended up taking food home. We were especially impressed with the flavor level of the dishes - lots of complimentary flavors going on in each one. We've been there a couple of other times, and we just can't seem to stray away from the Gouda Fritters for our appetizer. It seems like a good rut to be in, though.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Cisco was an excellent server. The steak was done properly.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 9, 2017

We are up at Lake Burton quite a bit and have watched Fortify grow from its roots. great people, amazing food and simply as good as any food in any major American city! special thanks to Jack and Cisco for their consistent service and welcoming attitude..... Fortify is a MUST GO TO place if you're in the area!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Marvelous as usual. It's what we've grown to expect.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Usually excellent, but slow service this trip. Had to ask for their bread/butters. Great martini, great food. Bacon wrapped Halibut was a tad salty for me, the squash casserole was excellent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 6, 2017

The food was outstanding, and the service was just right - not lacking nor overdone. Our only complaint was the noise level. The wood floors and bare brick walls really bounce the sound around. It was hard to have a conversation across the table. In fact, we had some trouble hearing our waiter. I should note that ALL of the tables were occupied, so that certainly has some bearing on the noise level. This would not keep us from going back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Delicious, creative, wonderful... as always! Prosciutto wrapped and roasted halibut was excellent. Loved the field pea and spinach risotto. And, the chocolate caramel tart is always the best dessert ever...don't forget the homemade vanilla ice cream!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Great find in Clayton. Energetic atmosphere , brick walls and a delicious menu. I've like to see more main course salad options, and I would suggest you bring cold water to the table, not lukewarm. Our server was happy to bring us ice when we asked, but I think most people like cold water.

Delicious food, great vegetables. Especially the okra and corn with curry. They also have a vegetarian option and it sounded delicious.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Always amazing! My pork chop was fantastic as well as the French Pear martini. Well done to the staff and owners.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 4, 2017

They have gotten very good at accommodating vegan dietary needs and the vegetable and rice entre is spectacular.

Tags: Vegan, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Just exceptional food in a great location with staff manager and chef who cares about every detail.

Tags: Authentic, Hot Spot, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Arvin was an excellent server

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 1, 2017

I seldom eat steak, but had the filet Saturday...best ever! Fried green tomatoes and soft shell crab also excellent!

Well done, we.ll be back!

Tags: Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Healthy, Special Occasion, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Fantastic experience! The service the food and the atmosphere was perfect! Great wine selection and our server recommended the perfect wine for our "supper"!

Tags: Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Love the feel of Fortify. Great energy, food and decor. A gem in Clayton.

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 25, 2017

This restaurant is a great find and worth the price. Great atmosphere and location in downtown Clayton. We were just starting our vacation in the Northeast Georgia mountains and this was a "date night" out to celebrate. There were only a few people at the bar at our early dinner reservations at 5:30 on a Sunday, but the place was filling up by the time we finished our meal. Our server, Mathew, was efficient and attentive and we had our drinks and food served just in time. We started with cocktails; my wife had the cosmo blanco and I had an old-fashioned. Great craft cocktails. We chose the special appetizer of quail egg rolls, tender quail meat in crispy egg roll with a sweet sauce. Matthew brought bread with pecan butter and black-eyed pea hummus! The hummus was incredible! My wife ordered the filet mignon and I had the ribeye. My ribeye came with blue cheese pototoes au gratin. Delicious! One of the side dish options was okra and corn curry which we both ordered at Matthew's recommendation and it was also delicious and unique. We completed the experience with the flourless bourbon chocolate cake and 2 scoops of homemade blackberry ice cream. Everything was outstanding and we will be back!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We eat here often. And cocktails are fantastic. Food is usually very good. Just seems this tim

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We have eaten here many times and just love it! The food is absolutely delicious and creative and the presentation is beautiful. The Waitstaff is professional, fun and well versed in the menu items and how the menu items taste. It's always fun to hear the specials for the evening because they are so unique. If you are ever in the area, we highly, highly recommend this restaurant! You won't be disappointed.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Best restaurant near Franklin, NC. Worth the drive every time!

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We had been out of town for about 3 weeks and were excited about getting back to Fortify for a delicious 'farm to table' meal. We each had the grouper special, and it was fresh and served beautifully. We sat by the front window where we got to see everyone who came and went from the restaurant, and were able to strike up an interesting conversation with a patron at the bar. Jack's always attentive, and Carlton.....need I say more??

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 23, 2017

We all loved everything. Best place we tried during trip.

Tags: Fun, Afternoon Coffee, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Healthy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 23, 2017

This was an excellent restaurant with great service, excellent food and a very pleasant atmosphere. Highly recommended!

Tags: Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Always amazing!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Three picky women had the most enjoyable meal with Jeremy as our waiter. His presentation of the food choices made us all want to try something different so we could have a broader experience by sharing a taste. The food was perfectly cooked and the unfamiliar combinations wetted our palettes for more. We even splurged and share the dessert . We are already planning another visit with more family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Fortify is one of those unusual places that you just do not run aross very often. It is in Clayton, Georgia, where one does not expect to find a great restaurant. The people who run this restaurant obviously have some significant skills. The food is outstanding. The only problem with the place is that it is fairly isolated and you have to make plans to get there and get back to wherever, like Highlands, or the lakes, or your mountain cabin. But I love this place, and although it is a bit expensive for the region (ATL prices), it is a remarkable place and I hope the proprietors just knock it out of the ballpark!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fun, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Fantastic food! Would go any time we are in the area❗️❗️❗️

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Have been here many times and for food and service it is NEVER a disapointment!

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.