About Fortify Kitchen and Bar

69 N.Main St.
Clayton, GA 30525
View Larger Map

At Fortify Kitchen & Bar, expect great food, delicious cocktails and impeccable service in a comfortable environment. We will always support sustainability in our area by using produce sourced from local small farms and growers, all natural, hormone-antibiotic free meats and proteins, and sustainable seafood sources and give back to the great community we call home!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Contemporary Southern, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Wednesday - Saturday: 11:30am-2:30pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - Close

Cross Street:
Hiawassee St. And North Main St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(706) 782-0050

Website:
http://www.fortifyclayton.com/

Catering:
Fortify is committed to bringing sustainable and locally sourced items to your special gathering!  We are available for catering any event needs you may have either in the restaurant or off site.  Please call the restaurant for more information and to schedule a meeting.

Parking Details:
Street and public parking

Executive Chef:
Jamie Allred

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Fortify Kitchen and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Atlanta / Georgia
Neighborhood Gem
Atlanta / Georgia
Contemporary American
Atlanta / Georgia
Best Restaurants in Clayton ›

Special Occasion (77)
Local Ingredients (74)
Fit for Foodies (71)
See All
Creative Cuisine (69)
Neighborhood Gem (64)
Worth the Drive (61)
Good for a Date (57)
Good for Anniversaries (55)
Handcrafted Cocktails (41)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Romantic (30)
Casual (29)
Bar Seating (28)
Authentic (26)
Hot Spot (24)
Healthy (23)
Organic (23)
Modern Decor (21)
Cozy (20)
Seasonal (20)
Gluten Free Options (20)
Good for Groups (19)
Notable Wine List (19)
Fun (18)
Great for Lunch (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Business Meals (14)
Comfort Food (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Outstanding Value (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Great Beer (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Tapas (7)
Molecular Gastronomy (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Happy Hour (6)
People Watching (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Private Room (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Vegan (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Scenic View (2)
Historic (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Fireplace (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Family Style (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
654 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Fortify never let's me down. It's such a ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 7 days ago

Fortify never let's me down. It's such a nice atmosphere and is really our "go to place" in Clayton. Love the local waitstaff, too!

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Organic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had an incredible meal. Wild caught flou ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 7 days ago

Had an incredible meal. Wild caught flounder stuffed with oyster dressing. Too full for dessert. but the table next to us had something awesome with chocolate and ice cream.

Tags: Local Ingredients, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was an out of town guest visiting Clay ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 30, 2016

I was an out of town guest visiting Clayton friends and we wanted to try a new dining place. It was a delightful surprise! The food was divine and service was incredible! Our server, Austin, was extremely attentive, warm, and gracious. My friend, the "birthday girl", said it was one of the best meals she has ever had. I would highly recommend Fortify and plan on returning next visit.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Flounder with oysters, and Swiss cheese ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Flounder with oysters, and Swiss cheese in the broccoli soup,,,,, perfect ! Also Carlton's cocktail of the day ...... different and fun.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This gem in Rabun County is always worth ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 27, 2016

This gem in Rabun County is always worth the drive. The food is very creative and consistently good, the Service excellent, and the overall experience never disappoints!

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very enjoyable experience. Food was deli ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Very enjoyable experience. Food was delicious, it lived up to the exceptional reviews.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Vegan, Authentic, Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Hard chairs (no cushion) , terrible bar ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Hard chairs (no cushion) , terrible bar stools, no privacy, very loud, seated one foot from the next table. Lamb tasted like pot roast. Way over cooked. Had requested quite corner with a very early reservation (meaning I made the resv. several days in advance). Didn't happen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

Enjoyed Thanksgiving meal. great food, e ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Enjoyed Thanksgiving meal. great food, excellent waitstaff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Third year in a row of celebrating Thank ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Third year in a row of celebrating Thanksgiving with a sumptuous meal at FORTIFY. Am thankful for Chef Jamie Allred and Jack Nolan's on-going commitment to excellence. They've set a high bar in the community's increasingly well known field-to-table culture.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food excellent and creative, as always; ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Food excellent and creative, as always; staff friendly, competent, and accommodating.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing as always AMAZING! ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 23, 2016

The food was amazing as always AMAZING! The service was impeccable. This is a place I have to visit every time I come home for a visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu is innovative and always except ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The menu is innovative and always exceptional. Local products are used extensively. It is expensive and not the place to drop in for your weekly feed. For special occasions it is nice. In terms of dress code it is better than WalMart. The staff is very attentive. It is a Northern Georgia treasure worth a visit.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

An outstanding restaurant with great ser ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 19, 2016

An outstanding restaurant with great service and amazing food that you don't have to drive out of town for!

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fun, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband took me to the mountains to c ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 18, 2016

My husband took me to the mountains to celebrate my 40th birthday. Fortify was the perfect dinner spot - good music, great decor, excellent service and delicious food.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Great Food...unique menu...Friendly and ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great Food...unique menu...Friendly and personable staff...special touches that make you feel special...perfect place for an evening out! Recommend highly!

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner was excellent, as always! Bill & ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Dinner was excellent, as always! Bill & Pat and Crunk and I enjoyed the evening at Fortify!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was superb! Cocktails, entre ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Everything was superb! Cocktails, entrees and dessert were delicious and perfectly prepared.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wanted to have a foodie friend from Seat ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Wanted to have a foodie friend from Seattle join me for dinner and Fortify was the perfect choice. Carlton took care of us from creating our cocktails, describing and recommending an amazing meal to recommending a Cotes du Rhone to enjoy with our meal. It was all perfect.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a pretty solid place, especially ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 6, 2016

This is a pretty solid place, especially when you compare it to the limited options in Clayton.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Really enjoyed our dinner...food was gre ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Really enjoyed our dinner...food was great and the service was outstanding.....the owner stopped by our table 2 times.....checking on us and thanking us for our patronage.....lovely restaurant.....can't wait to go back

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, People Watching, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, great atmosphere, waiter ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Excellent food, great atmosphere, waiters friendly and knowledgeable about the menu..... goes the extra mile to give that personal touch!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We drive to Clayton, over the mountain b ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We drive to Clayton, over the mountain because we always have great food, great service, just great.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Organic, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb food, helpful and friendly server ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Superb food, helpful and friendly servers, lovely ambiance--well-done, Fortify!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jamie is one of the most creative chefs ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Jamie is one of the most creative chefs in the nation, blending locally grown produce with spices, meat, poultry or fish in innovative combinations of flavors and textures. And he creates vegetarian plates with the same flair. Breads, pastries and ice cream are all made fresh in-house. Save room for the pistachio ice cream with chocolate tart! And Carlton is a magician with delicious cocktails like the Cilantro Cherry Smash (bing cherry, cilantro, pineapple, lime juice and vodka). One piece of advice -- ya gotta go!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as alwayswith great food and g ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Excellent as alwayswith great food and great service!

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great and the service was o ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The food was great and the service was outstanding. I thought the seating was a little close and I watched the hostess seat customers next to others when there were tables available between. Some folks love the social aspect but I prefer a little more space.

I went there to try the rainbow trout but switched to the special "Monk fish". It was prepared well and a filling portion. I would like to go back for that rainbow trout experience.

Overall the experience was great.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent service and delicious food. ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Excellent service and delicious food. This is my favorite restaurant in the area. The specials for both entree and drink are imaginative and very good.

Tags: Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great birthday dinner Friday night at Fo ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Great birthday dinner Friday night at Fortify. Our friends who had never been there before also thought the food and service was excellent!

Tags: Casual, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

As always food and service were excellen ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 25, 2016

As always food and service were excellent. Keep it up! Thank you.

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another outstanding meal at Fortify. C ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Another outstanding meal at Fortify. Couldn't be happier. Best restaurant in the area by far.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Food was delightful. And Jeremy was a gr ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Food was delightful. And Jeremy was a great server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Waitstaff knowledgable & attentive. Bart ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Waitstaff knowledgable & attentive. Bartender ditto. Pork dish with okra , corn. Mashed potatoes was creative and delicious.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Everything a fine casual dining experien ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Everything a fine casual dining experience should be. Great food great service. Will definitely be on my return visit list!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We saw Fortify Kitchen and Bar on Georgi ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We saw Fortify Kitchen and Bar on Georgia Traveler on GPB. It looked so delicious that we drove 2.5 hours from Canton. We were not disappointed. Everything from cocktails to service was exceptional. We ordered the filet and crab cakes. Both entrees were the best we've ever had. Rare to say but the drive was definitely worth it. We will return...

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was great and so was the servic ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The food was great and so was the service. Kendall was wonderful.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant was very well run and a p ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The restaurant was very well run and a positive experience. Less so our experience with Open Table, which after filling out the form and declining to receive email offers, we pressed continue and got a screen that told us oops, the previous information was invalid and to start over. A couple of times with this and we shifted to another restaurant, again managed by Open Table, and experienced the same thing. So disquieted by this experience were we that we decided to reserve a table in a restaurant in Rome. In the meantime an email arrived confirming our reservation at Fortify so we decided to go ahead with that and are glad we did. While waiting to be seated at Fortify we got a call from the other restaurant and I had to cancel, briefly telling them why. We understand there is hacking and its also quite possible we simply misread the form instructions, but the experience was very frustrating regardless.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

A gem in the North Georgia mountains. My ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 21, 2016

A gem in the North Georgia mountains. My wife and I have eaten there on several different occasions and the experience gets better every time. Highly recommend!

Tags: Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ate at Fortify two other times and it wa ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Ate at Fortify two other times and it was delicious. It was good this time but the squash soup sweet and the filet very salty. Gouda appetizer delicious.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Service & staff friendly and professiona ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Service & staff friendly and professional. Loved the staff recommendations on fish, it's preparation and brussel sprouts and okra. My friend loved their hand crafted martinis.

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Casual, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great farm to table food with a lot of l ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Great farm to table food with a lot of local produce incorporated into the menu. Portions are plentiful so plan ahead if you want to include their wonderful desserts. The craft cocktails before dinner are excellent so plan to enjoy one while deciding on your main course. Everyone one was welcoming and ensured our experience was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.