Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

About Fortify Kitchen and Bar

At Fortify Kitchen & Bar, expect great food, delicious cocktails and impeccable service in a comfortable environment. We will always support sustainability in our area by using produce sourced from local small farms and growers, all natural, hormone-antibiotic free meats and proteins, and sustainable seafood sources and give back to the great community we call home!

69 N.Main St.
Clayton, GA 30525
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Contemporary Southern, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Wednesday - Sunday: 11:30am-2:30pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - Close

Cross Street:
Hiawassee St. And North Main St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(706) 782-0050

Website:
http://www.fortifyclayton.com/

Catering:
Fortify is committed to bringing sustainable and locally sourced items to your special gathering!  We are available for catering any event needs you may have either in the restaurant or off site.  Please call the restaurant for more information and to schedule a meeting.

Parking Details:
Street and public parking

Executive Chef:
Jamie Allred

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Fortify Kitchen and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (75)
Local Ingredients (74)
Good for a Date (72)
See All
Special Occasion (71)
Worth the Drive (61)
Fit for Foodies (59)
Neighborhood Gem (59)
Handcrafted Cocktails (56)
Good for Anniversaries (53)
Good for Birthdays (49)
Bar Seating (44)
Casual (36)
Authentic (30)
Healthy (29)
Romantic (29)
Fun (28)
Great for Lunch (28)
Notable Wine List (23)
Organic (21)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Modern Decor (20)
Comfort Food (20)
Good for Groups (18)
Hot Spot (18)
Business Meals (18)
Cozy (18)
Sunday Lunch (18)
Seasonal (18)
Gluten Free Options (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (16)
Good Vegetarian Options (15)
Great for Brunch (13)
Happy Hour (11)
Outstanding Value (10)
Great Beer (9)
Private Room (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Historic (6)
People Watching (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Vegan (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Spicy (2)
Family Style (2)
Scenic View (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Dancing (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
801 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 4 days ago

We celebrated my wife's 70th Birthday and she said it was the best ever due to the wonderful service and outstanding food. This is a great restaurant with one exception and that is the deafening sound. We recommend owners consider "under the table" sound absorbing material. They used it in one of our local restaurants with great success. Sound absorbing material is placed under each dining table and soaks up the acoustic reflection from the floor. The service and food are both so outstanding, we can overlook the sound issue, but fixing the acoustics would make it easier on those dining. Best "Old Fashioned" we ever drank!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

We enjoyed our dinner very much. Great food and atmosphere.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

Awesome. Will be back soon! Everything was great from the drinks through the desert

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Hot Spot, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

Great meal out with family. Service was spectacular, food terrific. A very enjoyable meal. The only thing I would prefer is a bit less surrounding noise. The restaurant was completely full on a Friday evening, but it was difficult to hear each other speak without speaking quite loudly.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Food was delicious and service was impeccable. Had a reservation at5:30, pretty empty but put the next customers right next to us. Tables too close together to not hear their whole conversation or them hear us.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

when you go you always know its gonna be great. and carlton is just a added pleasure.

Tags: Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Amazing service, love going for brunch after church, creative and delicious local cuisine

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food was great and the atmosphere was wonderful. This is a gem in Clayton!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Nice restaurant , good food and good service. But I find it sad to be in such a nice place and find some of the men wearing hats at the table. That really subtracts from the overall good feeling of the place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Always a favorite place to go in Clayton. Fun and talented bartender. Excellent and personable waitstaff.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Historic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 10, 2017

We celebrated our 32nd Anniversary at Fortify and it turned out to be a perfect evening. The special "botanical" cocktail was to die for, the appetizer of blackened shrimp and our entrees of scallops and rabbit were absolutely delicious. Great service by Matthew and low lighting for us 50+ years and relaxing atmosphere--we thank you!

Tags: Healthy, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Food the best in a small mountain town.Trout delicious and cooked perfectly. Different and delicious anti-pasto platter (huge)! Unfortunately, timing needs work. Wine took a long time to arrive, 2nd glass came way after main course. Even after asking that we would like to take our time with the appetizer, the entrees came right on top of the app. Wait staff try hard but we felt rushed....

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Fortify is worth it! Great food served at a reasonable pace. Creative dishes. Superb bar and mixed drinks. Call for reservations as locals love this place, too.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The food was absolutely amazing. Our server was attentive and knowledgeable about the food. The price was good for the type of food you get. We will definitely be back when we are in the area again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The server was attentive and knowledgeable. The food was delicious. A little pricey for every day but perfect for a special occasion.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 4, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner after driving 45 minutes in a monsoon to get there. There was a lovely drink special, something full of strawberries, the food was superb, and we all had different desserts and they were all amazing. Great conversation, great food, well worth the drive and the rain. I love going to Fortify. I should have picked up a to-go pizza from Fortify Pie next door, though :)

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Great service. Food is well prepared. Just don't understand why the always say the will have to see if they can accommodate as they are booked and many tables would be empty?

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Once again, Chef Jamie and a warm welcome from co-owner Jack Nolan make the perfect combination at Fortify - softshell crab was on the menu this week. Along with their fabulous Kale Salad and homemade breads and spreads makes it so worth the drive to Clayton in the NE GA mountains. The red quinoa burger at lunch is a wonderful option to beef if you are so inclined. A handcrafted cocktail by Carlton makes everything special! Clayton is only 90 minutes from Atlanta, Greenville and Asheville so a perfect day trip to shop, walk, talk and eat.

Tags: Happy Hour, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Private Room, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We started with an outstanding house cocktail--and many thanks to the bartender-- left with the recipe! For main course all 3 of us opted for the Ribeye--which was one of 3 specials in addition to the menu. Sides included Apple Wood Bacon Collards, Brussel Sprouts and Buttermilk Mashed Pot. All sides were outstanding as was the star of the plate--perfectly seasoned Ribeye--consider getting sauce on the side as the seasoning was perfect. And perhaps the best Creme Brulee in eons for dessert. Superb wait staff and superb food----great asset to the Clayton dining scene.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Spent a delightful Sat. evening at Fortify. The menu offering were excellent and the food delicious (excellent service too). We look forward to a return visit.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great food and service, except for the hostess. She avoided eye contact, was abrupt and grumpy. Did not respond to my attempt to have conversation. Not the type of person I would have greeting guests.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 28, 2017

We have eaten all over the US. One of the top 2 best meals EVER! Great GF choices. Fantastic local food.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Staff, very personable and knowledgeable about the menu and food preparation! Presentation and taste of food was excellent.

A must when you visit Rabun County!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Excellent as we have grown to expect. Great food and service.

Tags: Authentic, Historic, Organic, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Oh, my goodness! My husband and I ate at Fortify while we were in Clayton for a quick getaway. We are lucky to live near a lot of notable restaurants in Atlanta, and Fortify was every bit as good as our favorite special occasion restaurants at home. I had the special - fluke on a bed of quinoa with crab - and my husband had the quail. We were both so happy with our meals. The staff and setting are welcoming. Unfortunately we were too stuffed to try dessert but lingered over coffee. What a tremendous asset for North Georgia. Go and enjoy!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Special trip to Clayton to dine at Fortify. What a wonderful experience from the moment we walked in. Very down home friendliness that you don't find often. Austin, our waiter, was very attentive and friendly. Host was also very nice and seemed to stop at each table to talk with the diners. We had short rib and filet. Both were prepared perfectly and tasted great. Maybe a bit salty. Sides were also very good. This is a must dine restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We had the Red Snapper fish special. Once again, Jamie worked his magic and provided a spectacular dish that tasted like it was just flown in from the Gulf!!! The wait staff provided professional, personal attention to us.

Bravo Fortify!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Food is always great with excellent presentation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 21, 2017

I'm a longtime fan of FORTIFY -- and now FORTIFY PI -- and love to bring visiting foodie friends to both. The food and service does not disappoint!

Tags: Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Organic, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Private Room, Sunday Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Superb continuation of a superlative restaurant, its cuisine and staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 16, 2017

My husband and I had a lovely Easter meal here. Food is always so well prepared and out of the ordinary! Service is excellent.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

First of all, we went to the wrong location next door and the lady told us that happened all the time, so it needs to be explained that there are two sections to the restaurant. We were seated promptly and water and menus were brought to the table in a timely manner. The waiter returned for out entree order and we weren't ready, so he took our drink orders...that was the last we saw of him for about 10 minutes and the place was nearly empty. The food arrived and it was presented nicely and was delicious...I thought the amount on the Filet Mignon was very small and I didn't weigh the meat, but I'd doubt that I got a 6 oz. piece. In short, we thought the food was outstanding and the service only mediocre, but we're going to come back for another try.

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great food. Great service. Love the ambience. It's a really pleasant drive to get there. The town of Clayton is charming though little is open on Sunday. Check it out👍🏻

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Had the quail and wild rice soup/stew for an appetizer. Blew my socks off.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We are from Atlanta and I don't think I've ever had such an amazing meal! The pork chop special was divine. Heads literally turned when the waiter served us. From the presentation to our palates, everything was perfect. Next time we are in the area, we will return for another unforgettable evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The drinks, the halibut entree, the sides, and the service were all excellent. The staff asked several times if we were satisfied, and if we needed anything, without hovering. If I had any complaint, it would be that when the restaurant is full, it is very noisy from people talking, an difficult to carry on a conversation. All in all, it is well worth a drive and the noise level!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Healthy, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Reservations were easy to make online, friendly staff upon arrival. No waiting with reservations, great menu selections, great presentation, GREAT food and drink.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great food ad service. A little wait even though we had reservations but not much. Staff called me day before I confirm reservation and answer my question about corkage fee ($15).
Halibut special was fantastic along with pork tenderloin entree.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great food. Lousy watery Martini

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 14, 2017

First and only time we have had bad service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.