Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

About Fortify Kitchen and Bar

At Fortify Kitchen & Bar, expect great food, delicious cocktails and impeccable service in a comfortable environment. We will always support sustainability in our area by using produce sourced from local small farms and growers, all natural, hormone-antibiotic free meats and proteins, and sustainable seafood sources and give back to the great community we call home!

69 N.Main St.
Clayton, GA 30525
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Contemporary Southern, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Wednesday - Sunday: 11:30am-2:30pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - Close

Cross Street:
Hiawassee St. And North Main St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(706) 782-0050

Website:
http://www.fortifyclayton.com/

Catering:
Fortify is committed to bringing sustainable and locally sourced items to your special gathering!  We are available for catering any event needs you may have either in the restaurant or off site.  Please call the restaurant for more information and to schedule a meeting.

Parking Details:
Street and public parking

Executive Chef:
Jamie Allred

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Fortify Kitchen and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (76)
Good for a Date (64)
Local Ingredients (63)
See All
Creative Cuisine (63)
Worth the Drive (55)
Good for Anniversaries (52)
Fit for Foodies (50)
Neighborhood Gem (45)
Good for Birthdays (40)
Casual (39)
Authentic (31)
Handcrafted Cocktails (31)
Romantic (28)
Bar Seating (27)
Great for Lunch (25)
Fun (22)
Organic (22)
Cozy (20)
Hot Spot (18)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Good for Groups (17)
Business Meals (16)
Gluten Free Options (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Comfort Food (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Happy Hour (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Seasonal (7)
Great Beer (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Disabled Access (3)
People Watching (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Tapas (2)
Vegan (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
916 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 16, 2017

A must eat for Clayton, GA

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Our dining experience was excellent as usual. The restaurant opens at 5:00 and we had 5:15 reservations. We happened to arrive early and the never-smiling hostess seated anyone without a reservation ahead of us and told us she had to wait to seat us until our scheduled reservation....but there were far more empty tables than occupied ones. It was embarrassing to me as I had suggested Fortify to the group, none of whom had ever eaten there before. It really made no sense at all to make us wait. We would have been better off NOT making a reservation.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 5, 2017

The food was outstanding. Highly recommend the veal. Waiter was excellent. Great restaurant!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Small town location with a trendy atmosphere. Service and food were both excellent. Very fairly priced also. We'd return for sure!

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Delicious food and great service!! Great for special occasions but also casual dress.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Organic, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Great evening. Food, wine, server, atmosphere were wonderful. Austin was a great server and the kitchen served wonderful food. Also enjoyed sister restaurant next door while visiting clayton. Real find. Wish we lived closer!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 3, 2017

My wife found Fortify online a few weeks, and after our first visit we immediately began to say that this would be GREAT place to bring visiting friends. So, friends visited this weekend, and we drove over (35 minutes) for dinner. All good service and food (I had never had anything like the spectacular peanut butter freddo with caramelized bananas for dessert!). Excellent striped bass on succotash, trout, crab cakes, pork loin. We ran the happy gamut. Will obviously come again!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 2, 2017

One of my favorite places in Clayton to dine. Food and drink is always amazing!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 2, 2017

As usual; great food; great service (Matt); never disappointing. Wish I lived here full time!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 2, 2017

I've been flying from Indianapolis to Clayton since 2011 and always look forward to dining at Fortify. Food is consistently great with great service and atmosphere. Local farm to table food with great chef too. There really is no other restaurant I enjoy more than this place. Carlton, the bartender is very nice. Owner Jack and GM Cisco are a great team. Keep doing what you're doing.

Tom Nasser

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 27, 2017

The special (scallops) was delicious, as were a number of other menu items. We always enjoy the food at Fortify.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Such a wonderful gem in Clayton , GA . We discovered Fortfy last year and returned this summer. Great food and ambiance , it is a must if you are looking for a nice restaurant near Lake Burton.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

I have enjoyed your establishment in the past and always love bringing visitors, to the area, there.

Tags: Fun, Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options, Organic, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Our experience at Fortify was wonderful! Food, service, and atmosphere was perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 22, 2017

The things Jamie does with fish, and Carlton does with beverages are amazing. And then, add to the dining, the service and attention you get, and I don't know anywhere better. (and we dine out A LOT)

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

We were there the day before the eclipse. With a reservation we had no trouble being seated. Our server Jeremy was superb. We enjoyed the featured charred salad, and shared the scallop entre. It was nearly 30 minutes from finishing our salad until the entre arrived but the dish was quite tasty. We topped it off with blueberry creme brulee and coffee. All in all a good experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Very enjoyable and delicious meals. We were a party of 5 and every one of us were greatly satisfied with every course. Would definitely go again if in area.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Casual, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 17, 2017

One wouldn't expect to find such an outstanding restaurant in a small town like Clayton, GA. But there it is serving creative, delicious food with made with local ingredients. Better make a reservation if you expect to get a seat.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 16, 2017

I was nervous to travel with all of my food allergies to a small town in GA but this place is a gem!! Everyone's meal was amazing! They addressed my food allergies and went out of their way to accommodate me. They brought me an amazing GF roll. The best was the blueberry crime brûlée!! It was outstanding!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Cozy, Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Awesome dinner and drinks! Cisco was wonderful too

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Very attentive staff ... The food (Scallops & Pork Chop) were both well prepared, very tasty and good sized portions

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 12, 2017

This experience at Fortify was unusual and we don't think characteristic of the restaurant .
This is the best restaurant in Clayton , even tho this experience was less than ideal.
Maybe more staff on a very busy night like our visit would help-or maybe it was just one of those nights!

But here's the story...we were seated 35 minutes past our reservation time...we were told upon arrival that they were running about 15 minutes behind. We didn't mind and had a drink (standing room only) at the bar while waiting-Carlton makes THE BEST El Bonito, a spicy sweet jalapeno basil martini!!! It was a fun atmosphere, even tho we were standing.

But things went down hill after we were finally seated in the back room in a corner facing the wall-worst ambiance ever(refuse the back if just 2 of you and a special occasion). There were several large parties in there and it was VERY loud. Matt, our server, and the entire restaurant was too busy -our 2nd round of drinks took 20 minutes to come out. I had specifically requested that Carlton make my drink, because it was so yummy...what Matt brought was an entirely different cocktail because he didn't ask Carlton to make it. Jack stepped in and 10-15 minutes later, I had the "Carlton" El bonito that was perfect.

Because they were soo busy, we may have been a little neglected in the back. If we were in the main dining area, the next 20 minute wait for our food delivery, wouldn't nearly have been so bad but staring at the corner that long, was . However, when the food finally arrived,it was scrumptious, plentiful, perfectly cooked (I had the filet) and hot.
Jack again came to check on things and generously offered dessert because of our wait and the drink snafu...He managed the situation professionally and was genuinely apologetic. We were so full because the dinner was so good, we(disappointingly) couldn't fit dessert, so he bought our last round of drinks.
We will ALWAYS eat at Fortify when we visit Clayton-it's one our favorites!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Authentic, Romantic, Healthy, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2
value4

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

This restaurant is the gem of Clayton, GA. Service was attentive without hovering. Food was excellent. Ambiance was nice with a casual laid back vibe.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Excellent food and service. I had the Filet that was incredible. Carlton behind the Bar is an
artist.

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Excellent food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

We have eaten at Fortify for lunch before and wanted to share this place with friends. We called ahead for reservations. Glad we did as they were very busy. The service staff was excellent. Austin was wonderful. He was very knowledgeable about the menu and was accommodating with any special requests. The food was very pleasant to the eye and palate. We would recommend Fortify to anyone visiting the Clayton, GA area.

Tags: Healthy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Food delicious. Server Jeremey very attentive. We'll definitely be back, next time with friends

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Fun, Organic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Every course kept getting better. Great farm to table restaurant with seasonings that did not over-power the fresh ingredients.

Tags: Authentic, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Great as always, food, service and atmosphere are fantastic. Enjoyed ourselves!

Tags: Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Casual, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

The food was as good as I had heard it was. Few places have as good of food as this restaurant. The service was outstanding.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Notable farm to table at its best with great craft drafts to pair with. Service was great with knowledgeable wait staff.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

My only complaint is the acoustics. It is very loud, making conversation difficult.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 1, 2017

We drove to Fortify from Snellvile, GA. and it was worth drive. The food was very good as was the service, I wish they had beers on tap instead of the can but other than that it was great! We will return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Wonderful food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

I would highly recommend anyone in the area making a reservation and taking the time to visit and enjoy. The food was fabulous and the service outstanding. This is my third time and I will say every time I am back in the area I will be visiting for a great relaxing experience. Go see them and enjoy!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

We were staying in an Airbnb in the Clayton area for a weekend getaway and Fortify was recommended to us. We thoroughly enjoyed it-our server was excellent, the food was absolutely delicious and we like that much of it was locally sourced. It was a very busy place on a Saturday night and I would recommend reservations. Would definitely go back! The only thing that would have been nice is beer on tap, but I had a delicious Moscow Mule.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Wonderful meal once again. Terrific food in an upscale casual environment. Every bite was delicious. Had to wait a little longer than anticipated given we had a reservation, but worth the wait.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Was delicious, service excellent and loved the ambiance!! Will definitely go again when near...

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Cozy, Happy Hour, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Best meal I've had in quite some time! Urban vibe in a small town Main Street. Dinner was excellent and the creme brûlée was the BEST I've had - ever!!

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

One of the best farm to table cuisine restaurants in NE GA!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Hot Spot, Paleo Friendly, Organic, Seasonal, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.