About Fortify Kitchen and Bar

69 N.Main St.
Clayton, GA 30525
View Larger Map

At Fortify Kitchen & Bar, expect great food, delicious cocktails and impeccable service in a comfortable environment. We will always support sustainability in our area by using produce sourced from local small farms and growers, all natural, hormone-antibiotic free meats and proteins, and sustainable seafood sources and give back to the great community we call home!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Contemporary Southern, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Wednesday - Sunday: 11:30am-2:30pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - Close

Cross Street:
Hiawassee St. And North Main St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(706) 782-0050

Website:
http://www.fortifyclayton.com/

Catering:
Fortify is committed to bringing sustainable and locally sourced items to your special gathering!  We are available for catering any event needs you may have either in the restaurant or off site.  Please call the restaurant for more information and to schedule a meeting.

Parking Details:
Street and public parking

Executive Chef:
Jamie Allred

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Fortify Kitchen and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Atlanta / Georgia
Best Food
Atlanta / Georgia
Best Value
Atlanta / Georgia
3 More
Fit for Foodies
Atlanta / Georgia
Contemporary American
Atlanta / Georgia
Most Booked
N. GA Mountains / Wine Country
Best Restaurants in Clayton ›

Fit for Foodies (138)
Special Occasion (134)
Neighborhood Gem (110)
See All
Romantic (62)
Good for Groups (61)
Hot Spot (56)
Great for Lunch (52)
Notable Wine List (40)
Vibrant Bar Scene (32)
Great for Brunch (25)
Late-night Find (11)
Kid-friendly (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Scenic View (5)
Sort By:
Newest
537 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Special place, special food, special ser ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 6 days ago

Special place, special food, special service for special people. Worth the time to drive to Clayton in the NE GA mountains (90 min. from Atlanta, Greenville or Asheville). Lots of shops too!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Made reservations for 7:00 arrived 6:50 ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 7 days ago

Made reservations for 7:00 arrived 6:50 weren't seated till 7:15 even though there were several (3) open tables up front. We were seated at the worst table in the back far left against the wall . Water came immediately - waiter 15 minutes for drink order then 10 minutes to get the drink. There was little attentiveness - nice waiter but couldn't keep up any kind of service. Never even asked about a second drink. Wife wasn't feeling well barely touched her steak but was asked without looking "how was your meal "? Food was good - service was awful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

The food was outstanding both in quality ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined 7 days ago

The food was outstanding both in quality and preparation. Very creative menu. I like everything about this place, but they certainly need to add staff at such a busy time of year. This area has difficulty attracting and retaining personnel that have experience in upscale dining.

I guess it starts with the bar. 1 bartender, a full bar of both diners and pre dining cocktails. There must have been a full house of diners (front room for sure). So we sat there for close to 12-15 minutes before he even looked at us. When he finally did, he was pleasant and professional....He had to "manage" the staff....had to ask waiters to bus the bar diners...and was giving other waiters lots of instructions....I thought that was an indication of poor management on managements part.

Our reservation was for 6:30. It was probably close to 7 when we were seated. Our waiter was very pleasant and knowledgable about the menu and had tasted the specials (A GOOD SIGN in my opinion). He did seem to disappear for LONG stretches of time. He was not in the front dining room while M.I.A. so I must assume he was either waiting tables in the back room or was sloughing off somewhere. I had to ask the "manager" to order me a drink! Again, the waiter was VERY nice and when present VERY professional....just not "attentive".

So my guess is there is a shortage of staff....but they do seem to want to do a good job and are all very pleasant.

I'd say this is one of the top restaurants in the region, NE Ga./Western NC

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

My grouper entree, a special, was so tas ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 7 days ago

My grouper entree, a special, was so tasty I came back the next evening to enjoy it again. Our server, Jeremy, was professional, warm and solicitous. A great evening!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service vs food ? 'Equally outstanding'. ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 7 days ago

Service vs food ? 'Equally outstanding'. Whoops,,, forgot bar ------ also outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall we enjoyed Fortify. But, we had ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Overall we enjoyed Fortify. But, we had reservations and did not get seated for 20 minutes past our reservation time ( and we were 10 minutes early.... so long wait .

the noise level was almost unbearable . it was difficult to carry on a conversation at our table .

fortunately , the food was good and helped us forget these two unpleasentries

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

At airport, so review short. Took friend ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

At airport, so review short. Took friend for his first visit for his birthday and he loved the food, service and atmosphere. Builds and remodels houses and liked old wood on bar, walls and tables; also liked high ceilings, colors of vents that made them unnoticeable and sound buffers on ceiling. Wants to come back for starter I ordered -- fried green tomatoes. Yum!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

OUTSTANDING in every way from menu optio ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

OUTSTANDING in every way from menu options to cocktails through dinner with well selected reasonable wines. The desserts are worth the calories! Did I mention the service and food were OUTSTANDING

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Last three visits, dinner was just terri ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Last three visits, dinner was just terrible. Last dinner, I ordered the cobia special . So thin you literally could see thru it! Our friends took their meals home to their dogs . Has really gone down since a year ago. Staff, however, was excellent! For the money, we won't return.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

Good food,good service,interesting menu ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Good food,good service,interesting menu

Would go back

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Food was very good though seafood on ent ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food was very good though seafood on entree seemed small. Attentive waitstaff except when it was time to receive our check

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our first time, certainly not disappoint ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Our first time, certainly not disappointed! Scallop appetizer was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Outstanding, as always. Trout, grits bow ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Outstanding, as always.

Trout, grits bowl and beef cut were the choices of the evening.

All excellent- trout here the best anywhere.

Breads also very good.

Service friendly, knowledgeable and helpful.

Wine list good and reasonable.

Try FortifyPi next door for a casual pizza too!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I have enjoyed dinning at Fo ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

My wife and I have enjoyed dinning at Fortify on several occasions and have never been disappointed. The food is excellent and the service is prompt, friendly and attentive. In the top five of our favorite places to dine in the state of Georgia. Shrimp Bowl is as good or better than any I have eaten on the coast.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is always good. Service did not mat ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food is always good. Service did not match as we waited over an hour on food, others that came in after us were already being served, and the server refused to acknowledge the fact or address it even though we had to ask him and another server why it was taking so long to serve our dinners.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Fried green tomatoes...fabulous. Filet m ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Fried green tomatoes...fabulous. Filet mignon is phenomenal. Cocktails...superb! We had a great night at Fortify and will come back every time we're in town! I highly recommend!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and atmosphere, fantastic ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Great service and atmosphere, fantastic and creative food. An excellent dining experience.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I visited this restaurant in 2015 and ga ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

I visited this restaurant in 2015 and gave it a 5-Star Rating. I could not this year. The food was still quite delicious overall, but the overall impression compared to 2015 has gone down. Most of the sauces added to various plates (antipasto, fish) were either bland or not complimentary to the dish. Example, serving pesto with the delicacy of rainbow trout is too overwhelming. And it's not creative for a chef with this many awards. Same thing with the various "butters" served with the bread which were bland. Even the "mustard vinegar" served with the antipasto was not appetizing.

The restaurant has many accolades but I sense the chef may be stretched with two restaurants side by side and his sous chefs not as creative. For a tiny town in the North Georgia Mountains it's still fine dining.

The restaurant is noisy and air conditioning is inconsistent. We asked to be moved to another table and were told it was impossible due to the seating times of the other tables. Not an acceptable solution in my opinion. I suggest you take a jacket or wrap so you can stay warm.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Mashed potatoes with crab cakes does not ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Mashed potatoes with crab cakes does not excite. Iced tea had very little ice. Had to search the bottom of the galvanized bucket to find enough bread to go around. Major disappointment and I will not be taking anyone else there. Oh yes, the okra was good, but otherwise nothing to write home about. Way over-priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

It was an excellent meal (they had trout ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

It was an excellent meal (they had trout, my favorite) and the service was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Hands down, my favorite local restaurant ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Hands down, my favorite local restaurant! The service is as impeccable as the food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food that was scrumptious and heal ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Great food that was scrumptious and healthy! The pear cocktail was outstanding!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely delicious food- fresh and inn ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Absolutely delicious food- fresh and innovative. The chef specials focused on locally sourced ingredients. he appetizers were incredible, especially the gouda fritters and fried green tomatoes. The fish was cooked and seasoned to perfection. What a great farm to table restaurant- better than most if not all you would find in the Highlands and surrounding areas.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every entree was perfection, steak, veal ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Every entree was perfection, steak, veal & fish. I can speak for the veal, chef recommended perfect preparation. For my money this is the best restaurant in our market, which runs from Silva to Clayton-including Highlands.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We sat in the back section and they had ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We sat in the back section and they had had an air conditioner go out so it was a little warm back there. I am guessing at the total bill because I was lucky enough to have had someone buy the dinner for four including myself. We had a few drinks that might have made that amount a bit higher too.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was as advertised fantastic! Servic ...

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food was as advertised fantastic! Service was way to fast, we were done in 45 minutes and that was with drinks, appetizer and main course. Felt like we were rushed through dinner. Server was not very informative as to the menu or any recommendations. Although he told us what was available as specials he did not provide any details as to their content. Only upon hearing another server at another table were we enlightened to the menu, but too late. Not sure if I would go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Good food and wine. Good service and se ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Good food and wine. Good service and selection. Recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We loved that Fortify had great gluten f ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We loved that Fortify had great gluten free options. The servers were very well versed on the menu and easily answered our questions. Great "clean eating" options. Thanks for a great evening, Fortify!

Rebecca R

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always so great to get to go to Fortify! ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Always so great to get to go to Fortify! We love the food that has a definite gourmet touch. The staff are super friendly and very efficient. We always come here when we are in town.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always very good. Carlton is ...

 
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The food is always very good. Carlton is a superb new addition as is Jeremy, whom we have known for years in the Highlands dining scene. You will not be disappointed with the food, drinks, service or value at Fortify! Jamie and Jack are hitting it out of the park!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's a great place to enjoy occasionally ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

It's a great place to enjoy occasionally. Too pricey for frequent dinner meals. Food and service is excellent. Great to have such an upscale restaurant in our little town.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Jack Nolan may be the hardest working re ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Jack Nolan may be the hardest working restaurant owner/manager I know about. He strives for perfection and a great customer experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great experience. Wonderful foo ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Always a great experience. Wonderful food and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love Fortify and I love taking new peopl ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Love Fortify and I love taking new people there...and we adore our favorite waitress, Hillary!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love going to Fortify. The atmosphere ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We love going to Fortify. The atmosphere is fun but the food is excellent. The menu changes often, which is a plus. The wait staff is attentive and helpful with choosing selections in the menu. The bartenders definitely know how to pour a great drink and create new specialty drinks as well. Their scallop appetizer is one of my favorites but the chocolate caramel tart is the perfect ending to my meal. I usually get one to go too.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a very nice evening. Food was de ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We had a very nice evening. Food was delicious. It is a little noisy.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was odd but very good. Service was ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Food was odd but very good. Service was very good. Atmosphere - no atmosphere. Noise level moderate. Uncomfortable. If I'm going to spend that kind of money I'll go to Chophouse 47 in Greenville and get atmosphere, music, service and great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value1

First visit for us, after many recommend ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

First visit for us, after many recommendations from friends. Wonderful, wonderful menu selection; delicious, and very well prepared. Most enjoyable evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value4

Still a wonderful restaurant. Never disa ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Still a wonderful restaurant. Never disappoints!!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food. We will definitely be ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Outstanding food. We will definitely be back when we next visit the area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.