About Fortify Kitchen and Bar

69 N.Main St.
Clayton, GA 30525
View Larger Map

At Fortify Kitchen & Bar, expect great food, delicious cocktails and impeccable service in a comfortable environment. We will always support sustainability in our area by using produce sourced from local small farms and growers, all natural, hormone-antibiotic free meats and proteins, and sustainable seafood sources and give back to the great community we call home!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Contemporary Southern, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Wednesday - Sunday: 11:30am-2:30pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - Close

Cross Street:
Hiawassee St. And North Main St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(706) 782-0050

Website:
http://www.fortifyclayton.com/

Catering:
Fortify is committed to bringing sustainable and locally sourced items to your special gathering!  We are available for catering any event needs you may have either in the restaurant or off site.  Please call the restaurant for more information and to schedule a meeting.

Parking Details:
Street and public parking

Executive Chef:
Jamie Allred

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Fortify Kitchen and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Atlanta / Georgia
Best Food
Atlanta / Georgia
Best Value
Atlanta / Georgia
3 More
Fit for Foodies
Atlanta / Georgia
Contemporary American
Atlanta / Georgia
Most Booked
N. GA Mountains / Wine Country
Best Restaurants in Clayton ›

fit for foodies (130)
special occasion (125)
neighborhood gem (103)
See All
romantic (56)
good for groups (55)
great for lunch (52)
hot spot (50)
notable wine list (40)
great for brunch (30)
vibrant bar scene (26)
late-night find (10)
great for outdoor dining (8)
kid-friendly (6)
scenic view (4)
Sort By:
Newest
490 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent addition to the Clayton area o ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent addition to the Clayton area of delicious food and great ambience!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is excellent but the price of ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 3 days ago

The food is excellent but the price of the food is excessive..I don't go often due to the prices unfortunately.

One thing I would change is..don't put blue cheese in the mash potatoes.

And don't mix squash casserole with all the other foods..I like to taste the foods separately.

The steak was perfectly cooked..and in the past I had the pork chop..it was also very excellent..

Tags: great for brunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We find this place to be delightful . A ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 7 days ago

We find this place to be delightful . A very warm and friendly atmosphere. The food especially the filet mignon is SUPERB! It is an unexpected treasure in North Georgia that offers fine dining on a par with the Buckhead restaurants.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We waited 40 minutes after our reservati ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 7 days ago

We waited 40 minutes after our reservation to be seated. They did offer us each a free glass of wine which eased the pain. After we were seated, we enjoyed our appetizers. Then we waited quite some time for the main course. Shortly after they arrived, there was a medical "event" at an adjoining table which required paramedics. Of course, this is unavoidable but the issue is how it is handled. I had to move from my chair around to the banquette and watched as all of this unfolded, half hour or more. No offer was made to move us to another table, no offer was made to take up our meals and replace them when it was all over, no offer was made to re-heat them , but we both thought the food was great prior to all of this. When I pointed this out, the manager became quite unpleasant and implied that I was being insensitive to his situation. In the end, they insisted on "comping" our meal which I did not request. It's very unfortunate that we had this experience. Otherwise, I'd likely be giving another of those glowing reviews.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Delicious food. They are great at takin ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Delicious food. They are great at taking advantage of seasonal produce which I love.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Keep up the great job. Well trained sta ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Keep up the great job. Well trained staff both friendly and knowledgeable. It is so nice to come to Fortify. The menu is always interesting and the food presentations are excellent. As for the flavors of the food they are wonderful and the cooking is always consistent, not an easy thing to do. Thanks for another terrific dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was recommended by a friend and was pret ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Was recommended by a friend and was pretty disappointed in where we were seated. We made reservations 2 weeks in advance online and were stuck in a corner looking at a wall. Worse seat in the house I feel like. Do not think we would go again. Was not very impressed with food. Would take some talking in to to try again. Pretty noisy restraunt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

The restaurant was recommended for our v ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The restaurant was recommended for our vacation time in Sky Valley. It was a great find and date night for my husband and I. The small candle light on the table was a fitting touch to the romantic setting. The waitress was well informed and attentive.

We'll be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We drove about an hour to Fortify to cel ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We drove about an hour to Fortify to celebrate our anniversary. We had eaten there before and knew we could expect a great dining experience. The food was delicious and creative. The ingredients were fresh and local. Our server was a delightful young man who took good care of us, too. We will definitely be back! We loved it so much that we went the next night to their sister restaurant next door - Fortify Pi!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, needs premium liquor, second ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Great food, needs premium liquor, second great dinner!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

I used to love coming here but this last ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

I used to love coming here but this last experience was awful. The entree was a fish special but was fishy and rolled in cornmeal. My husband's grits entree was too saucy, mushy, too much sausage not enough shrimp.

Service was really slow. And it ain't cheap to have such inferior food. The vegetables served with my fish were tasteless and mushy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

So nice to have a high quality meal away ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

So nice to have a high quality meal away from the "big city" of Atlanta.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Our favorite place to celebrate, in this ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Our favorite place to celebrate, in this case a delayed birthday celebration for me. The chef is genius . The food is creative including the farm to table selections. My husband had filet mignon and I had the scallops. I started with a kale salad that showcased the wonderful peaches and mushrooms. We shared what I would call a creative deconstructed peach cobbler adding homemade vanilla bean ice cream to finish off a wonderful meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Farm to Table selections were beyond gr ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Farm to Table selections were beyond great ! The fried squash and cassolette were our choices then the pompano fish dinner special was as always also outstanding. Being a meat guy it's hard to believe that I order the seafood 'special' at least 90% of the time. But am always glad I did. Oh Yeah and the 'special Blackberry' cocktail was a winner as far as both of us were concerned.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were outstanding. Every ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Food and service were outstanding. Everything prepared to perfection. The trout was delicious. Amazing find in the small city of Clayton, Georgia.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Possibly the Best Restaurant in Georgia. ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Possibly the Best Restaurant in Georgia. Nothing in Highlands comes close. Love everything about it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went there for our anniversary and we ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We went there for our anniversary and were not disappointed. The atmosphere, food, and service were all top notch. From the beginning, we were pleased as we walked into a very cool setting. We loved the atmosphere. We were greeted by a very energetic waitress who made suggestions since it was our first time there, and then offered to remove from our bill if not satisfied. There was no need! The food was spot on and superb. From appetizers to main course to dessert, we could not have been happier! We cannot wait to go back! My wife stated it was "the best Filet she has ever eaten"!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Again and again and again -------------- ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Again and again and again -------------- always different, and new, and fun, and great !

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, we had a terrific experience a ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

As usual, we had a terrific experience at Fortify! The scallop appetizer was outstanding and both of our fish entrees were cooked expertly. The service was casual and friendly despite another busy night. Fortify is as good as many Atlanta restaurants costing 25% more! Well done!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a great dinner spot in Clayton, ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

This is a great dinner spot in Clayton, GA. I've been 3 times and always had a good experience. The table is always ready when the reservation is made. The staff is friendly and helpful. This past weekend we started off with the Gouda Fritters (a must try), for my entree I had the Sea Bass special. I was blown away by the quality of the fish and presentation. Make sure you save room for desert, you won't want to miss the chocolate tart. On a side note we had the wife of the chef/owner as our waitress who was very nice and welcoming. I think this place is so consistent because the owners do such a good job running the place. Kudos to these owners!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely a fabulous meal. Hillary, ou ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Absolutely a fabulous meal. Hillary, our server, was excellent and the Filet Mignon with the bacon-onion marmalade was one of the best dinners I have had in years. Everything from appetizers to desserts was delicious. You will not go wrong dining at Fortify. I just wish they were closer to my home, but then I would be there at least weekly.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Jack was a ltitle slow in his response ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Jack was a ltitle slow in his response but rest of staff was great!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Very good presentation. Limi ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great food. Very good presentation. Limited wine list. Noisy. If you do not like banquette seating and prefer less noise then specify a table away from the bar when you make your reservation.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

our family, 4 adults, 1 two years old ch ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

our family, 4 adults, 1 two years old child and 1 baby, were treated royally! the duck butter was a hit with all of us. the shrimp and grits were as creamy and delicious as any you could eat in charleston, s.carolina! the striped bass from massachusetts was extra special!! can't wait to return.....

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a great restaurant with consiste ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

This is a great restaurant with consistent and excellent food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second very enjoyable dinner with unique ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Second very enjoyable dinner with unique and exceptionable food preparations. Unique in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Only criticism was the semifreedo ordere ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Only criticism was the semifreedo ordered for dessert was frozen solid. Taste was excellent but, putting a spoon to it was like trying to cut into a brick.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience was Great. The food was w ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Our experience was Great. The food was wonderful. The service was excellent! Have already recommended the restaurant to other people. Look forward to our return visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Top Shelf Farm to Table Dining away from ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Top Shelf Farm to Table Dining away from the big city. Culinary artisans transform country staples into fantastic dishes. A welcome change from the usual fare in most restaurants. Prices are a little above average and well worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always a tremendous place to eat! Food i ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Always a tremendous place to eat! Food is fresh and chef prepared.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Immediate attention to be seated. Normal ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Immediate attention to be seated. Normally not a bread person... But their table selections are too good to pass. Food is extrem tasty... Would be for a special occasion ! Drinks a little pricey! But good. Be aware of 8.00 split charge for sharing a plate with child. Is worth going ... Will have dinner again

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful Brunch for Father's Day. Di ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Wonderful Brunch for Father's Day. Dinners are a bit pricey ($100+) so we usually go here for special occasion.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My date had never been there before, but ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

My date had never been there before, but I had. We were both impressed with the quality of food and the service. Everything was delicious. The only bad thing was for dessert, my date got home made vanilla ice creams and I had strawberry ice cream. We both loved his, but mine almost had a cotton candy kind of taste to it. We had the special for dinner, grouper, and it was cooked to perfection.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

All around excellent! Food is delicious ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

All around excellent!

Food is delicious, service is great and very consistant. Fortify is a real find in a small town.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service!! We will def ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Excellent food and service!! We will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Best food, service, and martinis in Nort ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Best food, service, and martinis in North Georgia.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Everything about our evening at Fortify ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Everything about our evening at Fortify was excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary dinner with friends. Overal ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Anniversary dinner with friends. Overall excellent experience and I highly recommend. Somewhat expensive but the food was superb. Four different meals and all were exceptional in taste and presentation. Dining here is an unforgettable pleasure. We'll most certainly return often.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

My sister HAD to personally compliment c ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

My sister HAD to personally compliment chef Jaime All red. She was visiting from Chicago and she is an excellent home cook.

Thank heavens we finally have a wonderful restaurant in Clayton.

Our cocktails were excellent. Our server ... total professional.

Thank you

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite places to eat. Alway ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

One of our favorite places to eat. Always a great evening with friends to share great food & laughs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.