About Fortify Kitchen and Bar

69 N.Main St.
Clayton, GA 30525
View Larger Map

At Fortify Kitchen & Bar, expect great food, delicious cocktails and impeccable service in a comfortable environment. We will always support sustainability in our area by using produce sourced from local small farms and growers, all natural, hormone-antibiotic free meats and proteins, and sustainable seafood sources and give back to the great community we call home!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Contemporary Southern, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Wednesday - Sunday: 11:30am-2:30pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - Close

Cross Street:
Hiawassee St. And North Main St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(706) 782-0050

Website:
http://www.fortifyclayton.com/

Catering:
Fortify is committed to bringing sustainable and locally sourced items to your special gathering!  We are available for catering any event needs you may have either in the restaurant or off site.  Please call the restaurant for more information and to schedule a meeting.

Parking Details:
Street and public parking

Executive Chef:
Jamie Allred

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Fortify Kitchen and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Atlanta / Georgia
Fit for Foodies
Atlanta / Georgia
Contemporary American
Atlanta / Georgia
1 More
Most Booked
N. GA Mountains / Wine Country
Best Restaurants in Clayton ›

Special Occasion (137)
Fit for Foodies (133)
Neighborhood Gem (113)
See All
Romantic (62)
Hot Spot (57)
Good for Groups (56)
Great for Lunch (51)
Notable Wine List (39)
Vibrant Bar Scene (33)
Local Ingredients (25)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Worth the Drive (22)
Great for Brunch (22)
Good for a Date (17)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Healthy (13)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Bar Seating (11)
Late-night Find (10)
Authentic (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Casual (7)
Seasonal (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Organic (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Business Meals (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Scenic View (5)
Fun (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Cozy (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Tapas (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Great Beer (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
People Watching (1)
Vegan (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
Newest
569 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Consistent quality. The specials are alw ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 4 days ago

Consistent quality. The specials are always a sure thing. We love taking our foodie friends here for the seasonal fresh food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great value. Fresh, local "farm ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 5 days ago

Always a great value. Fresh, local "farm to table" is a signature theme. Worth a drive then take in the beautiful mountains and enjoy "small town America" away from the hustle and bustle.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food. I order the pork and it was ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great food. I order the pork and it was fantastic. My only complaint would be that the barbecue sauce was overpowering, but it was easy to avoid and not eat. My boyfriend had the filet and said that it was the best he's had and very tender. Overall it was a very good meal and a good atmosphere to spend time with friends in.

Tags: Great Beer, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

One of the best restaurants in the state ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

One of the best restaurants in the state, and surprisingly in Clayton GA. What a treat!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A surprising delight, menu changes with ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

A surprising delight, menu changes with local availability of ingredients. Prices most reasonable for quality of dining experience.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best steak ever, ever. Plus excellent s ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Best steak ever, ever. Plus excellent staff, Carlton is wonderful.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Once again fortify kitchen did not let u ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Once again fortify kitchen did not let us down ‼️ All four of us loved our dinners & Fried Gouda balls were delicious.

I also have food allergies and they are always very willing to work with me👍🏻

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome dinner! Never had a bad meal at ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Awesome dinner! Never had a bad meal at Fortify. Great service.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

employees very friendly, food delicious, ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

employees very friendly, food delicious, wonderful choices, recommended to others and will return many more times.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Casual, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is spectacular. Best steak, gr ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The food is spectacular. Best steak, great Gluten free options. Fresh Vegetables. Staff is very friendly and attentive.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent farm to table food for NE GA M ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Excellent farm to table food for NE GA

My steak had great flavor and wife enjoyed her fish dish

We had the chocolate tart and did not enjoy too rich for us

Service was good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Absolutely 'wowed' friends visiting from ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Absolutely 'wowed' friends visiting from Florida !

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding restaurant . The food and se ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Outstanding restaurant . The food and service are both outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What am amazing find! This is a wonderfu ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

What am amazing find! This is a wonderful little restaurant at the south end of the Blue Ridge Mountains in Clayton, Georgia. The food was wonderful, the food presentation was great, and I loved that much was locally sourced.

A member of our party must eat gluten free, and she was amazed by the number of choices she had.

I was impressed by our waiter, who was able to provide very detailed information on sourcing and ingredients.

I would return for another meal in a heartbeat. Don't miss the opportunity to try this restaurant!

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We have dined at Fortify and normally en ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

We have dined at Fortify and normally enjoy the entire experience and this time, as every time, the food was exceptional. Unusual about this experience was the experience itself. We sat in one of the booth tables that are about 6 or 8 inches from the next table. The party next to us was loud and having a conversation that we didn't need to overhear, didn't want to overhear, and couldn't help but overhear. We will ask to sit at a table and not a booth next time.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We had tried to get in one year ago, but ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We had tried to get in one year ago, but it was packed . This year we made a reservation! Dinner was very good. Gazpacho for me and Gouda fritters for my wife as starters. Then a veal for me and the filet for her. Both were delicious, while the steak / filet was more flavorful. Service was ok, a little bit slow in the beginning, but our server was very helpful! We will come back! Ambience is nice and unique.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

One word the food is "Amazing"

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

One word the food is "Amazing"

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A fabulous and friendly addition to Clay ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

A fabulous and friendly addition to Clayton's dining scene!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Seasonal, Authentic, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Second time to Fortify and it was delici ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Second time to Fortify and it was delicious! Service is great. Great specials. They change the menu around which keeps things interesting!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was a professional cook for almost 8 y ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

I was a professional cook for almost 8 years. My reviews are usually lengthy, as someone missing the mark with one aspect or another. The food was simply superb.

Tags: Authentic, Seasonal, Kid-friendly, Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first visit to Fortify but ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

This was our first visit to Fortify but won't be our last. The food was excellent with good portions. However, our waitress (Shandra?) was green and needs more training. We had to summon her all during the meal. The other waiters in the room were gracious enough to lend help. But we will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

My sister and I agreed that this was the ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

My sister and I agreed that this was the best dining experience we've had in "years"!!! The staff was attentive, relaxed, and polite and each dish was excellent. I would drive an hour and a half just to have dinner at Fortify!!! and in the future, when my husband asks where I'd like to have dinner for birthdays or anniversaries, it's "Fortify" without question. It's a pleasure to experience a restaurant where the chef and owners have combined great food with wonderful hospitality. Thank you, Fortify!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent place for dinner! The food wa ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Excellent place for dinner! The food was prepared perfectly, all four of us loved our selections. Two of us are gluten sensitive so the gluten free options were great. The gluten free rolls were the best we've ever had. Carlton, our server, was the best. Very informed and took great care of us. I would highly recommend this restaurant if you are in the area.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fortify never disappoints! Great trout ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Fortify never disappoints! Great trout with a dill pesto (yes, dill!). Creative cocktails by Carlton. Then stroll downtown Clayton to see where you will go to eat or shop the next day or trip!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, People Watching, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

EXCELLENT SERVICE AND FOOD-HAS BEEN CONS ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

EXCELLENT SERVICE AND FOOD-HAS BEEN CONSISTENTLY EXCELLENT SINCE THEY OPENED-JACK IS A REAL PLEASURE

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The only thing I didn't like was how clo ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The only thing I didn't like was how close the other tables were to ours. Seem to lose some privacy. Other than that everything was great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Jack and his team have again displayed t ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Jack and his team have again displayed the essence of what it takes to present a complete, EXCELLENT dining experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome food by Jamie and his kitchen cr ...

 
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Awesome food by Jamie and his kitchen crew and cocktails made by Carlton. This place is so good, we drive 22 miles one way to eat here twice per month.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Casual, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fortify is one of the best restaurants i ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Fortify is one of the best restaurants in the world. The service could be a little faster, but the food couldn't be better.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Organic, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was awesome. Fresh and prepared ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

The food was awesome. Fresh and prepared thoughtfully.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a very enjoyable dining experienc ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Always a very enjoyable dining experience. Great food, cocktails and service. Can't get enough of the Gouda fritters!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the lamb and my husband had veal N ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

I had the lamb and my husband had veal New York strip! Absolutely delicious! We also had fried green tomatoes as an appetizer and the Fortify salad. The best meal we have ever had in a restaurant in Rabun County, and we have been coming to Lake Burton since 1964!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special place, special food, special ser ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Special place, special food, special service for special people. Worth the time to drive to Clayton in the NE GA mountains (90 min. from Atlanta, Greenville or Asheville). Lots of shops too!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Made reservations for 7:00 arrived 6:50 ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Made reservations for 7:00 arrived 6:50 weren't seated till 7:15 even though there were several (3) open tables up front. We were seated at the worst table in the back far left against the wall . Water came immediately - waiter 15 minutes for drink order then 10 minutes to get the drink. There was little attentiveness - nice waiter but couldn't keep up any kind of service. Never even asked about a second drink. Wife wasn't feeling well barely touched her steak but was asked without looking "how was your meal "? Food was good - service was awful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

The food was outstanding both in quality ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The food was outstanding both in quality and preparation. Very creative menu. I like everything about this place, but they certainly need to add staff at such a busy time of year. This area has difficulty attracting and retaining personnel that have experience in upscale dining.

I guess it starts with the bar. 1 bartender, a full bar of both diners and pre dining cocktails. There must have been a full house of diners (front room for sure). So we sat there for close to 12-15 minutes before he even looked at us. When he finally did, he was pleasant and professional....He had to "manage" the staff....had to ask waiters to bus the bar diners...and was giving other waiters lots of instructions....I thought that was an indication of poor management on managements part.

Our reservation was for 6:30. It was probably close to 7 when we were seated. Our waiter was very pleasant and knowledgable about the menu and had tasted the specials (A GOOD SIGN in my opinion). He did seem to disappear for LONG stretches of time. He was not in the front dining room while M.I.A. so I must assume he was either waiting tables in the back room or was sloughing off somewhere. I had to ask the "manager" to order me a drink! Again, the waiter was VERY nice and when present VERY professional....just not "attentive".

So my guess is there is a shortage of staff....but they do seem to want to do a good job and are all very pleasant.

I'd say this is one of the top restaurants in the region, NE Ga./Western NC

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

My grouper entree, a special, was so tas ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

My grouper entree, a special, was so tasty I came back the next evening to enjoy it again. Our server, Jeremy, was professional, warm and solicitous. A great evening!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service vs food ? 'Equally outstanding'. ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Service vs food ? 'Equally outstanding'. Whoops,,, forgot bar ------ also outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall we enjoyed Fortify. But, we had ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Overall we enjoyed Fortify. But, we had reservations and did not get seated for 20 minutes past our reservation time ( and we were 10 minutes early.... so long wait .

the noise level was almost unbearable . it was difficult to carry on a conversation at our table .

fortunately , the food was good and helped us forget these two unpleasentries

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

At airport, so review short. Took friend ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

At airport, so review short. Took friend for his first visit for his birthday and he loved the food, service and atmosphere. Builds and remodels houses and liked old wood on bar, walls and tables; also liked high ceilings, colors of vents that made them unnoticeable and sound buffers on ceiling. Wants to come back for starter I ordered -- fried green tomatoes. Yum!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

OUTSTANDING in every way from menu optio ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

OUTSTANDING in every way from menu options to cocktails through dinner with well selected reasonable wines. The desserts are worth the calories! Did I mention the service and food were OUTSTANDING

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.