Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

About Fortify Kitchen and Bar

At Fortify Kitchen & Bar, expect great food, delicious cocktails and impeccable service in a comfortable environment. We will always support sustainability in our area by using produce sourced from local small farms and growers, all natural, hormone-antibiotic free meats and proteins, and sustainable seafood sources and give back to the great community we call home!

69 N.Main St.
Clayton, GA 30525
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Contemporary Southern, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Wednesday - Saturday: 11:30am-2:30pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - Close

Cross Street:
Hiawassee St. And North Main St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(706) 782-0050

Website:
http://www.fortifyclayton.com/

Catering:
Fortify is committed to bringing sustainable and locally sourced items to your special gathering!  We are available for catering any event needs you may have either in the restaurant or off site.  Please call the restaurant for more information and to schedule a meeting.

Parking Details:
Street and public parking

Executive Chef:
Jamie Allred

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Fortify Kitchen and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.5

Noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (63)
Local Ingredients (61)
Special Occasion (61)
See All
Creative Cuisine (60)
Good for Anniversaries (59)
Fit for Foodies (56)
Worth the Drive (50)
Neighborhood Gem (42)
Casual (40)
Good for Birthdays (37)
Authentic (32)
Romantic (29)
Handcrafted Cocktails (29)
Bar Seating (26)
Cozy (25)
Great for Lunch (21)
Fun (20)
Healthy (20)
Hot Spot (18)
Notable Wine List (18)
Good for Groups (17)
Organic (17)
Business Meals (16)
Comfort Food (16)
Seasonal (14)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Gluten Free Options (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Great for Brunch (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Tapas (5)
Great Beer (4)
People Watching (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Spicy (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort by
S
970 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Great for date night.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful Trout! Husband had Trigger Fish and Friend had the Filet Mignon. It was all superb!!! Best cocktails ever and they have excellent bourbon choices!! Also, love the farm to table fresh veggie choices!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Unbelievable experience! Can't wait to go back!!!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Seasonal, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Tapas, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

It was as awesome as the reviews I had read, the mixologist , Caralton did not only make fantastic drinks , but was very personable. The food was fantastic, as good as any 5 star restaurant in a big city. So happy I was able to experience Fortify!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

Fortify is by far the very best restaurant in the entire state of Georgia!! And if you think that is just hyperbole I challenge you to find something better! This place has it all covered!! First off the food is amazing!!! The bartender Carlton is a true professional something that is missing from most establishments. His service as well as the entire staff will impress even the toughest critic!! The atmosphere is really nice very comfortable. Make reservations or you won’t get a seat. You can walk in and sit at the bar which I would highly recommend if you can get a seat but that’s like getting a seat on the 50 yard line at the Super Bowl!! Get the filet mignon you’ve never ever tasted anything better anywhere I promise you!!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 12, 2017

One of my wife’s and myself’s favorite places to dine. Had the pork tenderloin and it was one of the best meals I’ve had at Fortify. Will be back soon and often

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 11, 2017

We visit this restaurant quite often. We always have a great time, great food and drinks. Highly recommend it.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Seasonal, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Our favorite restaurant! Service is excellent and friendly and the food is unique and delicious! The appetizers are wonderful....Their selection of vegetable sides is always unique and their sauces, homemade butters, and homemade pistachio ice-cream are out of this world!!! A little loud at times but well worth a visit for any and all occasions! The servers are well trained, know the menu and are very friendly and helpful. Ask them anything about any item on the menu and they can tell you all about it. Absolutely the best filet I have ever had! If you are ever near Clayton, GA, Fortify should be on your TO-DO list!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for a Date, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 4, 2017

Food was amazing! Gouda Fritters, lamb and crab cakes were out of this world. Our server, Jeremy, was a gem!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 4, 2017

Excellent menu with gluten free options, local meats, locally ground grains and the flourless chocolate cake with pecan brittle was to die for.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Once again, Jamie hit's the entrée out of the park with the grilled grouper. So fresh that I thought the fishing boat was anchored outside the back door! Who needs to drive 8 hours to the Gulf for a delicious seafood meal, when we can enjoy the same flavors while sitting in the North Georgia Mountains!

We also enjoyed a delicious appetizer of grilled oysters, with parmesan cheese. They too were fresh and delicious.

Bravo Jamie, Jack and Carlton!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Jeremy is on point with exceptional service! He was the reason we dined 2 consecutive nights! great food and ambience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Four friends enjoyed a nice Friday evening dinner together--good food, nice service. Seating in the rear, while not so attractive as the front, is much more pleasant because of the noise level. Back corner table was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 31, 2017

The gouda fritters were delicious. For our mains we ordered trout and crab cakes and both were full of flavor. I would eat here again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2017

There were four of us on a very rainy Saturday night. The restaurant was crowded as it almost always is. The server was Cisco who was very personable, prompt, and willing to offer opinions on the menu. We each got a different menu item for entrees and every item was wonderful. For the appetizers we had the fried oysters and since no one ordered what I consider their signature dish, the Grit Bowl, we ordered that for an additional app. My friend considers himself a "Foodie" and was over the moon about the food and the fact that Jamie the chef came to our table to meet him and posed for a photo. I can't recommend this place enough. I love it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on October 29, 2017

Great meal, Quail appetizer was wonderful. The crab cakes were very good - the fish special that night was good but not great.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 28, 2017

The hostess must have gotten up on the wrong side of the bed. She avoided eye contact and ignored us. Was unable to smile or talk. Clearly the only negative of the whole evening. If it was my business I'd fire her.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 26, 2017

Always a great experience!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 26, 2017

It was great! The meal was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 24, 2017

Loved the food! I took our server, Matt's, recommendation and tried one of the specials for the evening - the Barramundi - it was excellent. The food is mostly sourced locally and a real find in Clayton Ga.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Casual, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Organic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 24, 2017

We dine here every time we are in the area- it never disappoints! We usually sit at the bar, as Carlton is one of our favorite mixologists.

Tags: Casual, Hot Spot, Authentic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 21, 2017

We have dined at Fortify several times—food, service and staff are always great! Highly recommend!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Excellent meal. Friendly staff. Lovely environment .
We will be back when we return to the mountains !

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 21, 2017

personable and the food and service were outstanding

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Second time here, just as great as the first. Did not disappoint.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 20, 2017

As good as any restaurant in Atlanta. We love to take our friends and Fortify never disappoints.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 20, 2017

Back to Fortify for our anniversary. We love the service, menu selection and the wine/beer selection. The chef and staff are great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 20, 2017

Excellent place that we make a point to visit each time in Clayton!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 19, 2017

Wanted to come here for the blalock fillet and it was all I had anticipated. We enjoyed everything about Fortify. Service was Great.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Went while in area based on number one in Trip Advisor - ok but not great. Food was good but a looooong wait for it. Sort of loud. All had fried green tomatoes for shared appetizer and were very good. I had trout - I'm s fried guy and this is a more "fancy" type place. But if in area of Clayton probably is top place but not cheap!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on October 15, 2017

We visited Fortify when it first opened and really enjoyed it- the food and the ambiance.
This visit was just ok if that. Everything we ordered seemed to be an attempt to add just one more thing to go over the top. The fried green tomato appetizer was good but heavy for an appetizer. The scallops had too much going on. My husbands trout was the best but the pesto was too much. The green beans side appeared to be canned green beans and cooked too long. We did not have dessert.
Clayton needs a nice restaurant like Fortify but overall we did not have as good an experience as we had had previously.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Very nice, food was creative and yummy! I had the venison and my wife had a rock fish special. Service good too. Will go back when in Clayton.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 14, 2017

WE drive 30+ miles and consider it worth the drive. One of our favorite mountain restaurants.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vegan, Live Sports, Bar Seating, Paleo Friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Organic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Fortify is an unexpected gem in north Georgia. Almost don’t want to write a good review because it’s already getting hard to get in there. We had to go at 5:30 to get a table on Saturday night. But it was well worth it. There are some unusual but creative dishes with local ingredients. Caters especially to the mountain and mountain lakes second home crowd who demand quality creative cuisine.

Tags: Cozy, Hot Spot, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

My wife who studied Indian cooking for 25 years, is also certified in Thai cooking and was the first Japanese woman to work in an Italian restaurant in Japan said your's was the best lamb and other sides and Especially salads she ever had. Perhaps some accustical material on the ceilings and walls would help soften the stronger verbal reverb and a larger salad plate for the pecan salad might be better plated and avoid a food avalanche. Overall the help and services were very attentive and perfectly timed with their removal, cooking and delivery. One of our favorite restaurants ever.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Healthy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 13, 2017

The food was absolutely UHmazing! Fresh ingredients, cooked to beyond perfection. Exceptional service from our server, Jeremy. Wonderful wine to compliment our meal. Need I say more?! As first time guests, our experience left us committed to returning... frequently! Definitely a favorite!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 12, 2017

Fortify never disappoints!! We have been to Fortify at least a dozen times and it never gets old. We had three of the specials for the night.. An appletini with a salted caramel rim, grilled octopus and pecan crusted Rock fish. All three were brilliant and very tasty. We love the fact that they create specials every week. The fall menu is amazing! My hubby ordered the venison and it was fantastic. Chef Jamie is very talented. Oh, and order the Chocolate Tarte. You're welcome!

Tags: Good for Groups, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Fortify never fails to please my taste buds! Jamie always offers a variety of new and inventive cuisine. Jeremy, our server, is so very efficient and funny! They did forget my dining companion's birthday but that is understandable. Can't wait to try their Farmers' Dinner next week! Hope they have them again next year! Clayton certainly offers a plethora of outstanding dining as well as upscale shops.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Spicy, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Great as always...good restaurant ...good people....good food ....good wine ....good bar.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Vegan, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on October 7, 2017

The food was excellent, very unique and portioned just right. The atmosphere was wonderful. The drinks were perfect. All in all a wonderful place and would definitely go back when in the area again. The only reason I gave the service 4 stars was because at the end of the meal, our waiter became scarce. I'm sure it was because they became busy but the service up to that point was very attentive.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Authentic, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.