About Fortify Kitchen and Bar

69 N.Main St.
Clayton, GA 30525
View Larger Map

At Fortify Kitchen & Bar, expect great food, delicious cocktails and impeccable service in a comfortable environment. We will always support sustainability in our area by using produce sourced from local small farms and growers, all natural, hormone-antibiotic free meats and proteins, and sustainable seafood sources and give back to the great community we call home!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Contemporary Southern, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Wednesday - Saturday: 11:30am-2:30pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - Close

Cross Street:
Hiawassee St. And North Main St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(706) 782-0050

Website:
http://www.fortifyclayton.com/

Catering:
Fortify is committed to bringing sustainable and locally sourced items to your special gathering!  We are available for catering any event needs you may have either in the restaurant or off site.  Please call the restaurant for more information and to schedule a meeting.

Parking Details:
Street and public parking

Executive Chef:
Jamie Allred

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Fortify Kitchen and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (60)
Creative Cuisine (58)
Special Occasion (52)
See All
Good for a Date (49)
Worth the Drive (46)
Good for Anniversaries (41)
Fit for Foodies (39)
Neighborhood Gem (38)
Handcrafted Cocktails (32)
Casual (24)
Bar Seating (21)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Romantic (21)
Organic (20)
Authentic (20)
Gluten Free Options (18)
Fun (17)
Cozy (17)
Hot Spot (15)
Seasonal (14)
Business Meals (14)
Modern Decor (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Healthy (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
People Watching (5)
Private Room (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Great Beer (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Historic (3)
Tapas (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Vegan (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Family Style (1)
Scenic View (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Fireplace (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
689 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food and presentation. Love the am ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great food and presentation. Love the ambience including the brick wall and decor. One of the better class restaurants in Clayton.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

It is always a great experience when we ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 6, 2017

It is always a great experience when we eat and we have brought several friends with us that always love it:)

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We found this restaurant through open ta ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We found this restaurant through open table on line. It was my birthday and we wanted a special place to celebrate. We stayed at the Dilliard House and had planned on going to Waynesville NC to a very special restaurant there. When snow was forecast we decided to look for something closer. This restaurant is wonderful! It is equal to the special place we were planning to go! We had the Butternut Squash Soup, and Green Tomatoes to start. Both were great. The artisan bread and two butters they serve with the meal were fantastic! Loved the multigrain and cheese straws! Entrees were the Lamb and the Filet. Both were perfectly cooked. Sides of Buttermilk mashed potatoes and collards were perfectly cooked as well. For the desert I had the chocolate tart with the pistachio ice cream and my husband had the Mocha Cream Brûlée. Both were excellent! Prices are high but the food is excellent! A wonderful place for a very special meal. Our server, Matthew did a wonderful job serving us and helping us with questions about the menu. Manager checked on our table as well. Excellent Restaurant! We have a friend with a birthday in a couple of weeks we will certainly tell them of this place!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious meal. U inquest choices and gr ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Delicious meal. U inquest choices and great services! Bar had great selections too. We will go back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always very good. The cockta ...

 
·Dined on January 5, 2017

The food is always very good. The cocktails are hand crafted a delicious! Worth the drive from Highlands, NC, which is 21 miles.

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Healthy, Modern Decor, Organic, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always excellent. A real gem in a small ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Always excellent. A real gem in a small town. Well done, Jack and Jamie!

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding restaurant. Always our go t ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Outstanding restaurant. Always our go to restaurant in the area!

Tags: Organic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Delicious and delightful dinner....Alway ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Delicious and delightful dinner....Always🙃

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

New Year's Eve was made very special eve ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Year's Eve was made very special evening at Fortify with the great food and service.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fortify is one of our favorite restauran ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Fortify is one of our favorite restaurants. We were so excited to spend New Year's Eve there. Unfortunately our dinner was rushed and fast. We specifically asked our server to not bring our food until we had enjoyed our pre-dinner drinks. She promised that she wouldn't and the food showed up immediately. We barely finished one course when the other one was there. We were trying to make the dinner last so we would be up at midnight. We were done with 3 hours to spare. There wasn't even anybody behind us. Very unfortunate. Food as always was delicious and creative. Our waitress must have been new. She also was not very chatty and fun like the staff usually is. We will definitely go again. Hopefully the restaurant will address this before next time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

For a New Year's eve, this restaurant fi ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

For a New Year's eve, this restaurant fit the bill with a combination of lobster and filet - everything came out hot and delicious. We drove about 25-30 minutes to get there and it was worth it!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Delicious as always!

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Delicious as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Between lunch and dinner, my wife and I ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Between lunch and dinner, my wife and I dined here about a dozen times last year. Fortify has always had its outstanding moments, but has become more consistent over time. For lunch, the Reuben made with housemade pastrami is a real winner. For dinner, the vegetable sides, virtually always farm to table, are often creative and always delicious. The wine list is limited but well selected, both for quality and range. The service is practically always excellent. This is a gem of a restaurant that locals and tourists can always count on.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Food was excellent. You did not feel lik ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food was excellent. You did not feel like you were pushed to dine. Service was attentive while efficient. Wine list is excellent as well. Bar was a nice touch and we'll stocked. Service

Tags: Business Meals, Happy Hour, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This restaurant has potential, but needs ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This restaurant has potential, but needs some work. The ambiance and the concept is outstanding. Not a lot of other really nice restaurants in Clayton. The packed house indicates a need for a place like this.

We were somewhat disappointed in the food. It does have a variety of menu choices. However the menu and the server's description of each one has so many ingredients and flavors it is hard to know what you will get. Keep the dishes more simple.

The front end staff - hostess, manager and the gentleman who checked on or table were excellent.

We will give it one more try because we want to have a nice restaurant there, but they must fix their menu.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Excellent cocktails from a knowledgeable ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Excellent cocktails from a knowledgeable and friendly bartender to complement the fine food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

As always we love coming to Fortify. My ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 30, 2016

As always we love coming to Fortify. My in-laws live in Clayton and its just a wonderful time being able to have a "date night" with my wife and enjoying a special place that is Fortify. Our meals were fantastic. My wife's filet she said tasted a bit more salty than she liked but when I tasted it is was like butter. I had the duck and it was absolutely delicious.

Great hidden gem with wonderful and various flavors.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food healthy portions rivals any ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great Food healthy portions rivals any restaurant in Atlanta Ga

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My favorite restaurant, especially for s ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 28, 2016

My favorite restaurant, especially for special occasions. The Food is always delicious with great service.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, dining with Fortify was a fan ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 27, 2016

As always, dining with Fortify was a fantastic experience. The fresh made bread bucket with cheese and duck fat spreads were emptied quickly. The Shrimp & Grits were the best ever. The service and personalities of the staff are always a big part of dining here. Carlton's beverage's are delightful! Another wonderful dinner at Fortify.

Tags: Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Molecular Gastronomy, People Watching, Historic, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Healthy, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great food and service. Consiste ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Always great food and service. Consistent good food and service. Nice wine selection. Even on xmas eve dinner was delicious without wait. Recommend chestnut soup superb. Gouda fritters. Specials are always delight. Homemade cream.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was superb at this restaurant. ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The food was superb at this restaurant. The elk was cooked to perfection and very tender. It was a farm to table restaurant and is a wonderful place to dine in downtown Clayton, Georgia.

Tags: Seasonal, Gluten Free Options, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love this restaurant! Have been com ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We love this restaurant! Have been coming since it opened and we travel about 30 miles to get there. Staff is great - owner is usually on site and recognizes his regulars. Food is fantastic and special requests are honored.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Grapefruit blush cocktails is the be ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The Grapefruit blush cocktails is the best cocktail I have ever had. It was not in the list but asked the server if they could make it, it is so refreshing. Appetizers of Oyster Rockefeller and Fried Oysters were both excellent. Kale Ceaser also great. From out entrees they thought of the dish was excellent. I had scallops with roots vegetables and butternut squash puree, my husband had Red grouper, which was cooked to perfection, will collards, and a grit cake. My entrée was very salty and I could only eat the scallops, the same for my husband, the fish was great but other items on the plate were very salty. We will be back just hope the chef can ease up on the salt a little bit.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Fortify is always a satisfying experienc ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Fortify is always a satisfying experience, but it is always more than I expect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always the best meal by Chef Jamie Allre ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Always the best meal by Chef Jamie Allred. Want to try the relatively new (2016) restaurant next door - Fortify Pi.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We are here for our anniversary and have ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 16, 2016

We are here for our anniversary and have been coming up to Clayton for the past 20 years, and have never imagined to find food this good here. This place is for the foodie who appreciates well thought out and prepared unique dishes that excite. No pomp and circumstance here, just great atmosphere with food at the center of the experience. The only improvement I'd make is to have more comfortable chairs.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Staff are very attentive to patrons. Lo ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Staff are very attentive to patrons. Local farm to table items on menu. fantastic food and ambiance. Bartender is fabulous and serves handcrafted cocktails. Great service.

Tags: Happy Hour, Afternoon Coffee, Gluten Free Options, Hot Spot, Cozy, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dining experience that exceede ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Excellent dining experience that exceeded expectations. Nice bar selections and amazing food and service.

Nice casual dining with varied menu that would suit most anyone

Had the special Elk rack chop that was outstanding; can't wait to go back to try some other menu items as well.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Always awesome! We eat there almost eve ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Always awesome! We eat there almost every weekend when we go to our mountain home. Like eating with your family!!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner was delicious...great combination ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Dinner was delicious...great combination of fresh local fish and vegetables with beautiful presentation. Our waiter was excellent...all staff very attentive. Cisco also stopped by the table to check on our needs. Lovely atmosphere...very friendly. Menu was so creative and tempting!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fortify never let's me down. It's such a ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Fortify never let's me down. It's such a nice atmosphere and is really our "go to place" in Clayton. Love the local waitstaff, too!

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Organic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had an incredible meal. Wild caught flou ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Had an incredible meal. Wild caught flounder stuffed with oyster dressing. Too full for dessert. but the table next to us had something awesome with chocolate and ice cream.

Tags: Local Ingredients, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was an out of town guest visiting Clay ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 30, 2016

I was an out of town guest visiting Clayton friends and we wanted to try a new dining place. It was a delightful surprise! The food was divine and service was incredible! Our server, Austin, was extremely attentive, warm, and gracious. My friend, the "birthday girl", said it was one of the best meals she has ever had. I would highly recommend Fortify and plan on returning next visit.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Flounder with oysters, and Swiss cheese ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Flounder with oysters, and Swiss cheese in the broccoli soup,,,,, perfect ! Also Carlton's cocktail of the day ...... different and fun.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This gem in Rabun County is always worth ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 27, 2016

This gem in Rabun County is always worth the drive. The food is very creative and consistently good, the Service excellent, and the overall experience never disappoints!

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very enjoyable experience. Food was deli ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Very enjoyable experience. Food was delicious, it lived up to the exceptional reviews.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Vegan, Authentic, Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Hard chairs (no cushion) , terrible bar ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Hard chairs (no cushion) , terrible bar stools, no privacy, very loud, seated one foot from the next table. Lamb tasted like pot roast. Way over cooked. Had requested quite corner with a very early reservation (meaning I made the resv. several days in advance). Didn't happen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

Enjoyed Thanksgiving meal. great food, e ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Enjoyed Thanksgiving meal. great food, excellent waitstaff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Third year in a row of celebrating Thank ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Third year in a row of celebrating Thanksgiving with a sumptuous meal at FORTIFY. Am thankful for Chef Jamie Allred and Jack Nolan's on-going commitment to excellence. They've set a high bar in the community's increasingly well known field-to-table culture.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, , Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.