HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Permanently Closed - Forrester's on the River

3.8
170 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
Top Tags:
  • Scenic View (229)
  • Great for Outdoor Dining (166)
  • Special Occasion (145)

Similar Restaurants

About

This restaurant is permanently closed.

Forrester�s on the River is a casual fine dining restaurant that serves American cuisine in a friendly atmosphere. Stop by with colleagues for a steakhouse burger or a traditional Reuben sandwich. Sit out on the patio and take in the view of downtown. Come in for a drink with friends after work and snack on pretzels and lager cheese or bay wings that have been hand breaded and spun in a house sauce. For larger appetites, entr�es at Forrester's include fish and chips, grilled salmon, grilled chicken Marsala or a full menu of steak choices.

Forrester�s has many specials and events throughout the week, including wine tastings and live musicians, as well as happy hour specials on both food and drinks.

Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steakhouse, American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation


Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 8:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(419) 691-2626
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Brian Joyce
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
We are available for Rehearsal Dinners, Business Meetings, Private Parties, Weddings and Special Events. CJ's Terrace at the Docks is our Banquet Facility capable of holding up to 300 guests. We also have two conference rooms for smaller events.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Chelsea McQueary: (419) 691-2626
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Chef Jason Rodemich caters events from 10 - 500 people. Most catering is based in house, but we can come to you. Flexible menu options are available upon request.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Front Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
We offer spacious parking lots located just outside of our facility. Valet parking will be available on the weekends in the coming months.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
We offer live entertainment every Thursday, Friday and Saturday evening. Bands range from 70's and 80's Classic Rock, to Jazz and Blues Bands inside the restaurant. On the weekends in the summer months we feature live DJ Jim Liebhar.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine
What 170 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
3.8  based on all time ratings
3.8
food
3.8
service
4.0
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
76% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
GreatLaker4 (Detroit)
3.0  Dined on December 12, 2015

I was there for lunch with 3 friends. We all ordered sandwiches and 3 of us chose the chips. Two of us were given the crumbs from the bottom of the bag. They were so small, you couldn't pick them up without having them fall from your fingers. Now, if you are offering chips as a side, they should be full, hearty chips that you can pick up. We all had a good laugh over the crumbs on our plates. Really????????

Report
Helpful
Bubba (Toledo)
5.0  Dined on December 5, 2015

Great experience. Steaks were right on the mark!!! It was easy to communicate within my group and not have to talk over other noises in the restaurant. Our Waitress did a phenomenal job of serving and great timing on keeping drinks full. Couldn't ask for anything more.

Report
Helpful
DDBORKPE (Columbus)
4.0  Dined on December 4, 2015

Ruben was very good.

Report
Helpful
misssangria (Toledo)
4.0  Dined on November 14, 2015

Although our food was prepared they way we ordered it....the temperature of the food was disappointing. It came out warm and not hot!!

Report
Helpful
JHeaton (Atlanta)
5.0  Dined on November 7, 2015

Dinner was Awesome! Took the wife out for her birthday before the walleye game, She was impressed by the place and loved the view. The wait staff was excellent and made sure we were taken care of. The food order was perfect. We showed up a half hour early and there were no issues, they took us right in as they were not busy yet. I recommend this spot to anyone who wants a great meal, great service, and not pay an arm and a leg. me and the wife were only $60 for a steak dinner(garlic potatoes(yummy), spinach, the steak was huge) chicken Parmesan (came with 2 huge chicken breasts and pasta), and drinks. I cannot say enough good things about this place!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Las Vegas)
3.0  Dined on October 28, 2015

Great waiter.

Report
Helpful
Ellen (Toledo)
5.0  Dined on October 26, 2015

Ormisby is a super waiter & took care of our special dietary needs, as well as making us feel very welcome. Dinner was super & it was a great place to celebrate the wedding of our friends.

Report
Helpful
vipmythoughts (Toledo)
5.0  Dined on October 23, 2015

We have been here many times and really enjoy dining here. The only problem is if you are there at sunset you probably will have to put up with the sun shining in your eyes. They have said they were getting some window shades but have not and it has been open for years.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Toledo)
3.0  Dined on October 16, 2015

waitress was scarce. the restaurant was not packed

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Toledo)
5.0  Dined on September 26, 2015

Food was great fast service nice to sit outside look out at the water

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Detroit)
4.0  Dined on September 25, 2015

The view was amazing.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Toledo)
3.0  Dined on September 19, 2015

We appeared to be an afterthought for the waitress, who forgot to bring our water until reminded, did not bring us small plates for our appetizer until we were nearly done, did not bring bread until right before our dinners arrived, etc.

Report
Helpful
juke (Toledo)
4.0  Dined on September 14, 2015

It was my mom's birthday we worked both nights so we went two days after and they didnt wanna do anything special just because her birthday passed ...but other then that it was great the server was nice and the food was great

Report
Helpful
JohnS (Toledo)
2.0  Dined on August 22, 2015

We were unfortunate enough to dine while the restaurant was hostin two different wedding parties. We were seated, and patrons that were seated AFTER us were served BEFORE we were. The service was friendly but slow due to the wedding parties. The food was bland and flavorless. My pasta was served cool, not warm or hot. My wife's meal was served without the requested vegetables.

Report
Helpful
Sisters (Toledo)
5.0  Dined on August 22, 2015

We had to wait 2 hours for our food to be ready, there was some mixup in the kitchen with the tickets for meals processing. manager gave us a discount on our bills.
It was really loud though.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Toledo)
3.0  Dined on August 8, 2015

Food and service was good. We went out to celebrate my boyfriends birthday. The appetizer took a minute to come out. He ordered the 22oz Porterhouse, but they were out of it, so the waiter had to come back so he could choose something else. Then for dessert he ordered cheese cake based off the servers recommendation and then the waiter came back to say they were out of that too. My Boyfriend ended up ordering something that wasn't on the menu and wasn't offered to us originally. Other than that the food was good. The atmosphere was awesome and the scenery was pleasant.

Report
Helpful
NewToArea (Toledo)
4.0  Dined on August 7, 2015

The waitress was the worst I have ever experienced. Got our appetizers without plates or silverware. Took way too long to take our order. Got a salad without dressing, asked the food runner for oil and vinegar and was more then halfway done with salad when waitress brought oil and vinegar. Had to ask several times for a refill on water. Other then the horrible waitress, food was excellent!

Report
Helpful
OKPLACE (Toledo)
4.0  Dined on August 1, 2015

Wait staff seemed untrained or new to serving. Appetizer was delivered at the same time as the dinner.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Toledo)
2.0  Dined on July 31, 2015

Had dinner at Forester's. Service started slow and continued to get slower as evening progressed. Had to wait an exceptionally long time for bread which was just a type of roll. Ordered filet medium and received a well done dry filet. Asked for manager and his excuse was, "with the restaurant business, sometimes things don't go right". I did not want to be that "sometime"! Got another filet, after my husband was finished with his meal, which was better but still lacked good taste. The manager said he would adjust the bill but when it came there was no adjustment! Had to call him over to have him honor his request. We will not go back!

Report
Helpful
vipHammers (Toledo)
4.0  Dined on July 26, 2015

Excellent service by "O", prompt and friendly. Great burger, juicy and full of flavor. I don't recommend the Bang-bang shrimp appetizer, which was basically shrimp smothered in hot sauce. The grilled chicken/dried cherry salad was boring, not enough cherries, cheese, etc., and the chicken was on the dry side.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
9