Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.
Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. Find a similar spot.

Restaurants you may also like

Real Seafood Company - ToledoReal Seafood Company - Toledo
(1289)
$$$$
Seafood | Toledo, Toledo
Booked 15 times today
Zia's - ToledoZia's - Toledo
(515)
$$$$
Italian | Toledo, Toledo
Booked 14 times today
Kobe BayKobe Bay
(2)
$$$$
Hibachi | Toledo, Toledo
Booked 2 times today
Cousino's SteakhouseCousino's Steakhouse
(148)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Toledo, Toledo
Scene - Hollywood Casino - ToledoScene - Hollywood Casino - Toledo
(18)
$$$$
American | Toledo, Toledo
Final Cut Steak & Seafood - Hollywood Casino - ToledoFinal Cut Steak & Seafood - Hollywood Casino - Toledo
(726)
$$$$
Steak | Toledo, Toledo
Booked 8 times today
31Hundred Restaurant & Lounge31Hundred Restaurant & Lounge
(12)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Toledo, Toledo
J. Alexander's - ToledoJ. Alexander's - Toledo
(7)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Toledo, Toledo
Booked 4 times today
BRAVO Cucina Italiana - Toledo - Franklin ParkBRAVO Cucina Italiana - Toledo - Franklin Park
(139)
$$$$
Italian | Toledo, Toledo
Booked 4 times today
Revolution GrilleRevolution Grille
(643)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Sylvania, Toledo
Booked 11 times today
bd's Mongolian Grill - Toledobd's Mongolian Grill - Toledo
(37)
$$$$
Asian | Toledo, Toledo
Booked 1 time today
Degage Jazz Cafe & Fine Dining and Degage Express: Soups, Sandwiches & SuchDegage Jazz Cafe & Fine Dining and Degage Express: Soups, Sandwiches & Such
(187)
$$$$
French American | Maumee, Toledo
Booked 7 times today
Rosie's Itailian GrilleRosie's Itailian Grille
(433)
$$$$
Italian | Toledo, Toledo
Booked 13 times today
Ciao! - SylvaniaCiao! - Sylvania
(630)
$$$$
Italian | Sylvania, Toledo
Booked 7 times today

About Forrester's on the River

26 Main St.
Toledo, OH 43605
View Larger Map

Forrester�s on the River is a casual fine dining restaurant that serves American cuisine in a friendly atmosphere. Stop by with colleagues for a steakhouse burger or a traditional Reuben sandwich. Sit out on the patio and take in the view of downtown. Come in for a drink with friends after work and snack on pretzels and lager cheese or bay wings that have been hand breaded and spun in a house sauce. For larger appetites, entr�es at Forrester's include fish and chips, grilled salmon, grilled chicken Marsala or a full menu of steak choices.

Forrester�s has many specials and events throughout the week, including wine tastings and live musicians, as well as happy hour specials on both food and drinks.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Front Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(419) 691-2626

Website:
http://www.forrestersontheriver.com/

Entertainment:
We offer live entertainment every Thursday, Friday and Saturday evening. Bands range from 70's and 80's Classic Rock, to Jazz and Blues Bands inside the restaurant. On the weekends in the summer months we feature live DJ Jim Liebhar.

Catering:
Chef Jason Rodemich caters events from 10 - 500 people. Most catering is based in house, but we can come to you. Flexible menu options are available upon request.

Parking Details:
We offer spacious parking lots located just outside of our facility. Valet parking will be available on the weekends in the coming months.

Executive Chef:
Brian Joyce

Private Party Facilities:
We are available for Rehearsal Dinners, Business Meetings, Private Parties, Weddings and Special Events. CJ's Terrace at the Docks is our Banquet Facility capable of holding up to 300 guests. We also have two conference rooms for smaller events.

Private Party Contact:
Chelsea McQueary: 4196912626x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Sort By:
S
166 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Fries and chips

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 12, 2015

I was there for lunch with 3 friends. We all ordered sandwiches and 3 of us chose the chips. Two of us were given the crumbs from the bottom of the bag. They were so small, you couldn't pick them up without having them fall from your fingers. Now, if you are offering chips as a side, they should be full, hearty chips that you can pick up. We all had a good laugh over the crumbs on our plates. Really????????

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Highly recommend!!!

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on December 5, 2015

Great experience. Steaks were right on the mark!!! It was easy to communicate within my group and not have to talk over other noises in the restaurant. Our Waitress did a phenomenal job of serving and great timing on keeping drinks full. Couldn't ask for anything more.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ruben was very good.

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 4, 2015

Ruben was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Food Temp

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on November 14, 2015

Although our food was prepared they way we ordered it....the temperature of the food was disappointing. It came out warm and not hot!!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Delicious, private, quiet, and beautifl

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 7, 2015

Dinner was Awesome! Took the wife out for her birthday before the walleye game, She was impressed by the place and loved the view. The wait staff was excellent and made sure we were taken care of. The food order was perfect. We showed up a half hour early and there were no issues, they took us right in as they were not busy yet. I recommend this spot to anyone who wants a great meal, great service, and not pay an arm and a leg. me and the wife were only $60 for a steak dinner(garlic potatoes(yummy), spinach, the steak was huge) chicken Parmesan (came with 2 huge chicken breasts and pasta), and drinks. I cannot say enough good things about this place!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great waiter.

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 28, 2015

Great waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Celebration at Forrester's

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on October 26, 2015

Ormisby is a super waiter & took care of our special dietary needs, as well as making us feel very welcome. Dinner was super & it was a great place to celebrate the wedding of our friends.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Good food!

vip
 (Toledo)·Dined on October 23, 2015

We have been here many times and really enjoy dining here. The only problem is if you are there at sunset you probably will have to put up with the sun shining in your eyes. They have said they were getting some window shades but have not and it has been open for years.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

waitress was scarce. the restaurant was ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on October 16, 2015

waitress was scarce. the restaurant was not packed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

Great food

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on September 26, 2015

Food was great fast service nice to sit outside look out at the water

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The view was amazing.

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 26, 2015

The view was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Sat night dinner

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on September 20, 2015

We appeared to be an afterthought for the waitress, who forgot to bring our water until reminded, did not bring us small plates for our appetizer until we were nearly done, did not bring bread until right before our dinners arrived, etc.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

only bad

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on September 14, 2015

It was my mom's birthday we worked both nights so we went two days after and they didnt wanna do anything special just because her birthday passed ...but other then that it was great the server was nice and the food was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Slow and bland.

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on August 22, 2015

We were unfortunate enough to dine while the restaurant was hostin two different wedding parties. We were seated, and patrons that were seated AFTER us were served BEFORE we were. The service was friendly but slow due to the wedding parties. The food was bland and flavorless. My pasta was served cool, not warm or hot. My wife's meal was served without the requested vegetables.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

kitchen

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on August 22, 2015

We had to wait 2 hours for our food to be ready, there was some mixup in the kitchen with the tickets for meals processing. manager gave us a discount on our bills.

It was really loud though.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Food and service was good. We went out t ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on August 8, 2015

Food and service was good. We went out to celebrate my boyfriends birthday. The appetizer took a minute to come out. He ordered the 22oz Porterhouse, but they were out of it, so the waiter had to come back so he could choose something else. Then for dessert he ordered cheese cake based off the servers recommendation and then the waiter came back to say they were out of that too. My Boyfriend ended up ordering something that wasn't on the menu and wasn't offered to us originally. Other than that the food was good. The atmosphere was awesome and the scenery was pleasant.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Terrible waitress

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on August 7, 2015

The waitress was the worst I have ever experienced. Got our appetizers without plates or silverware. Took way too long to take our order. Got a salad without dressing, asked the food runner for oil and vinegar and was more then halfway done with salad when waitress brought oil and vinegar. Had to ask several times for a refill on water. Other then the horrible waitress, food was excellent!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

OK place

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on August 1, 2015

Wait staff seemed untrained or new to serving. Appetizer was delivered at the same time as the dinner.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Beautiful View but lacks good food and service.

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on July 31, 2015

Had dinner at Forester's. Service started slow and continued to get slower as evening progressed. Had to wait an exceptionally long time for bread which was just a type of roll. Ordered filet medium and received a well done dry filet. Asked for manager and his excuse was, "with the restaurant business, sometimes things don't go right". I did not want to be that "sometime"! Got another filet, after my husband was finished with his meal, which was better but still lacked good taste. The manager said he would adjust the bill but when it came there was no adjustment! Had to call him over to have him honor his request. We will not go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Dinner on the River

vip
 (Toledo)·Dined on July 26, 2015

Excellent service by "O", prompt and friendly. Great burger, juicy and full of flavor. I don't recommend the Bang-bang shrimp appetizer, which was basically shrimp smothered in hot sauce. The grilled chicken/dried cherry salad was boring, not enough cherries, cheese, etc., and the chicken was on the dry side.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Terrible food. Hostess acted like my res ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on July 24, 2015

Terrible food. Hostess acted like my reservation was a huge inconvenience to her. We will never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Over rated

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on July 19, 2015

I went with a few friends on a Sunday evening. I had the burger which they advertise for and it was ok at best. The biggest thing was the service. The waitress was nice and did a good job overall the lady who was the food runner was the issue. She appeared to be in a bad mood. She tossed food on the table and was not nice when she delivered the food. And overall had a bad attitude walking around the restaurant. Secondly the restaurant was hot. I felt that the air was not adjusted for the warm muggy day it was so it was kinda uncomfortable on the inside. And lastly my wife ordered cheesecake. I can't believe they charge $7 for a small slice of cheesecake from a box that we can't get b at SAMS. That I felt ripped off. I won't be making any special trips to go here. I feel I can get better food and service at a chili's which is sad because u want local businesses to do well.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

The water view is good.....the food, not so much.

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 16, 2015

The ambiance made my mouth water thinking I was about to get a real treat. Not. I seen a huge towering burger being walked by to another table. I HAD to try it! Yuck. Dry as a bone. Came with approximately 5 steak fries with unknown little pieces of something looking like shoestring french fries almost like they were cooked together and was accidentally scooped in. One of us had a steak dinner, two of us burgers. The steak was dry as a bone as well. We were seated by the window for the river view. We asked that the shade be pulled down a little because the sun was blinding. We were told it doesn't go down and how stupidly it was made. It was suggested we could put sunglasses on. We asked if we could move. We were told we could move to a booth that was pointed to. We looked over and the sun was blasting that one, as well. So, we opted for the sunglasses in lieu of moving everything. We left hungry, blinded, and out hundred bucks.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Dissappointed

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on June 5, 2015

The service was terrible. Staff seemed confused and not friendly. The food took an hour and it was only burgers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1

First time was a CHARM

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on June 2, 2015

Dinner on the 27th of May was VERY FLAVORFUL and the waiter was very very good! We failed to get his name :( our fault not his, but he was a newly established Toledoian as he had just moved 3 weeks prior to Toledo from Louisiana. Very conversational and attentive as he was needed...in other words he was not hovering over the table. My wife and I had an enjoyable evening by the river. One down side is the high ceilings carry the noise and even though we were not very close to the open bar area the group that was there was quite boisterous and that did distract from the ambiance. We will be back and plans worked out such that my wife and daughter were there again just last week and we all plan on going again this week.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Birthday Celebration

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on May 30, 2015

This was a special birthday dinner for my husband. If I'd looked, I would have known in advance - but the restaurant provides the birthday guest with a free meal - what a nice surprise that was!

Our server was very attentive and polite - checking back several times to be sure everything was to our liking...one person in our party ordered a med rare steak that did come out overcooked, but the server and restaurant owner both did everything they could have done to make it right. The entire meal was redone to the guests satisfaction, and the owner insisted in taking it off the bill.

Bottom line - would return...esp if the weather were warm and beautiful to enjoy the lovely outside dining spot riverside - and recommend this to anyone looking for a unique dining experience in our area!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Dinner at Forrester's

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on May 26, 2015

First time I dined at Forrester's it was excellent, both food and service. This time food and service were ok but definitely not worth the price. Probably won't return. One person in our party had to send her steak back as it was way overdone. It took forever for her to get her replacement dinner. All the rest in the party had finished dinner before her replacement dinner came and they were not busy.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Graduation Celebration

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 17, 2015

Our reservation was 4:30 on Sunday and we were seated promptly. Service was courteous but relatively slow given the number of people in the restaurant. The Appetizers were good - especially the crab cakes (which were like mom used to make in Maryland)

I give the food an average rating overall. My medium-rare rib eye was well seasoned but more well done than medium rare. The others in my party were satisfied with their entrees.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Great brunch for Mother's Day!

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on May 10, 2015

Has improved greatly on days of high traffic. Have attended several times during special occasions where there appeared to be not enough of the "high draw" food, and not enough bar/wait staff. We found this time that they were much more prepared which made the visit more enjoyable.

Our normal visits there are always good and the view is awesome! The bar staff is always great!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The restaurant is very understaffed. Th ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on May 2, 2015

The restaurant is very understaffed. There was only one bartender for the entire restaurant. We waited at least 30 minutes for our drinks and 45 minutes before our salads were served. No sooner were they served, then our entrees followed - immediately! Our server told us that several tables left without paying their bills because of lack of service. Needless to say, this was not a good experience. Our server was delightful, but embarrassed.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

just right

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on May 1, 2015

The food was freshly made, straight from kitchen to table. Servers were personable and attentive .

Generous amount, reasonable price.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

It was not stated on line when we made o ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on April 5, 2015

It was not stated on line when we made our reservation that the only food being served that day was an Easter Buffet. When we arrived at 3pm we were told that they were closing at 4pm. Since the food had been out since 11am, everything was dried out. and limp. It was dreadful and we will never go there again. Restaurant is in great need of refurbishment as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4

Great Food !

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on April 5, 2015

The only concern was that even though i made an online reservation, that was never relayed to the hostess. She couldn't find my name for the time slot on Easter Sunday. I even got an emailed reminder the day before.

Regardless, the hostess was able to accommodate us and found a table. The food was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Over priced

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on March 28, 2015

I ordered the rib eye. I asked for medium rare and got medium, at best. Judging by how thin and small the steak was, it would have been difficult to cook medium rare. I expected a lot more for $26.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4

Solid restaurant

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 27, 2015

Excellent service and solid food with a variety of offerings. Excellent steaks and a wide variety of seafood and veggie offerings. A varied wine list and good drinks. Located on the Maumee River and is a hot spot in warmer temperatures.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Bad from the start

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 21, 2015

The hostess sat us at a table in direct sunlight. I asked to be moved to a booth or other table in shade, which there were at least 7 available in the area we were at. The host said no, the restaurant was very strict on reservations. I asked the hostess if we could lower the sun blinds. I was told the sun blinds didn't go any lower. Why have sun blinds on a west facing window if they don't go down further than a foot? Our waitress was kind enough to ask someone and was able to move us to a different table. When we left, there were still 5 booths available! Also, before leaving, another group came in, was sat in the sun, and was moved not only once, but two times! Nothing makes me more upset at a restaurant than having different treatment for different guests. Don't lie to me. Food was decent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

The food was great. Service great.

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on March 21, 2015

Since we ate dinner at 6:00 p.m., the sun was shining in our eyes. We asked that the blinds be lowered, but were told it was not possible. We will be sure to eat after dark from here on.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5

Food not worth the price

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 15, 2015

Food was not great. Sun shines directly in and in your eyes and they can't do anything about it. Had a reservation but when we go there was told it was a 20 min wait. Once the manager got invovled, we were seated. View is great and our server was very good.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

Good but should be better

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on March 12, 2015

I love their location and the view of the river/downtown. The bar is quite good with nice happy hour specials. The food was just OK for the price...not bad, but just could have been better overall. However, still a solid choice.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

jean

vip
 (Toledo)·Dined on March 8, 2015

great tasting food and the view over looking the river is very relaxing.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.