About Forno Restaurant & Wine Bar

Forno Restaurant & Wine Bar specializes in seasonal, local, and sustainable Modern Italian Cuisine, featuring handmade pastas and brick oven pizzas. Located in the Bromo Tower Arts District, across from the Hippodrome Theater, next to Everyman theater, and a short walk from Oriole Park at Camden Yards, Royal Farms Arena, M&T Bank Stadium, Baltimore Convention Center, the Inner Harbor, and tons of other downtown attractions. Forno offers daily specials, including weekday happy hour and bottomless brunch on the weekends. Our late night menu offers a variety of brick oven pizzas that your tastebuds will love. We also offer gluten-free pizzas and pastas along with a variety of vegetarian options.

17 N. Eutaw St
Baltimore, MD 21201
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Italian, Modern European, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Saturday 11:30am - 11pm

Cross Street:
Eutaw and Fayette

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(443) 873-9427

Website:
http://www.fornobaltimore.com/

Parking Details:
We offer validated parking for the Landmark CenterPoint parking garage located at 310 N. Baltimore St. You may access our restaurant directly from the parking garage, via our back entrance.

Public Transit:
Light Rail, Bus

Executive Chef:
Matthew Audette

Private Party Facilities:
Forno is available for private bookings. With a 130-seated capacity, a 45 seated private dinning room, as well as a 6-seat private chef's table, there are several options for private dinning, cocktail receptions and other functions. For inquiries, please email fornomanagement@gmail.com

Private Party Contact:
Ricky Johnson: (443) 873-9427

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Complimentary Pastry of the Day
10% Off Your Bill

Specials

Complimentary Pastry of the Day
Details

Complimentary pastry of the day (changes daily)

Terms and Conditions: Maximum of 20 diners. Excludes Tax, excludes service.

Valid For: 1 - 20 People

Starts: June 27, 2017

Ends: December 27, 2017

Availability: Sun 11:00AM-2:00PM
Sat 11:00AM-2:00PM

10% Off Your Bill
Details

10% off your bill (excludes other ongoing promotions; i.e. happy hour)

Terms and Conditions: Maximum of 20 diners. Excludes Tax, excludes service.

Valid For: 1 - 20 People

Starts: June 27, 2017

Ends: December 27, 2017

Availability: Tue-Sat 5:00PM-9:30PM

Forno Restaurant & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (45)
Good for a Date (23)
Creative Cuisine (22)
See All
Casual (19)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Notable Wine List (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Fun (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Cozy (12)
Good for Groups (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Special Occasion (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Authentic (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Romantic (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Business Meals (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Seasonal (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
People Watching (2)
Tapas (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Family Style (1)
Great Beer (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Vegan (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
582 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 3, 2017

excellent taste and serving size for the brick-oven pizza, and the Aglio di Pollo is very good if you like medium spicy peppers with heat that builds in your mouth with each piece.

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Food was excellent and offered small plate.
Delightful service. Owner was friendly and checked on satisfaction.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 29, 2017

We went during Baltimore Restaurant Week and two of us ordered from the special menu, two of us from the regular menu. All four of us were quite pleased with the food. Portions were not large but we all left feeling full enough to be satisfied. The menu is creative and interesting with something for everyone. Our waitress made it all the better with friendliness and being knowledgeable to guide between choices.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Great Italian choices, fresh made pasta, delicious flat breads, great service. Perfect place to eat before or after a show. I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 22, 2017

What a great find! Was looking for something close to Camden Yards before a game. Nice menu with light options and terrific wine. Our server Kyle was excellent!

Tags: Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Excellent food. Lobster pizza is a must try. Home made pasta is fabulous. This is a real gem in the city.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Cozy, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Perfect location for a really good dinner before an O's game. Parked on street and then was able to easily walk to game. We'll be back and can hopefully try one of their wine pairing dinners.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Great food , fantastic service!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The server voided our check- so we waited almost an hour for our meal.
When it came out it was hard and more "al dente" than a hearty pasta should be.
Pizza was good- white pizza with truffle oil and mushrooms. crust was perfect.
Server not only voided our check but avoided our table after her mistake.
We had a show to catch so I thought 2 hours was enough time for dinner but I was wrong. It was my 11 year olds birthday and I never even had a chance to ask for a dessert for he since we had no time to eat it. I wanted more and got less than I expected.
I would not recommend this to anyone for anything but pizza and a bar.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 2, 2017

It was pretty ok

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Their pizza is my favorite. Fresh topping creations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 2, 2017

We wouldn't return if it weren't so close and convenient to the Hippodrome. Food is mediocre. Bottomless mimosa is 90% juice (even when asked to put more champagne in it). The one shining light is their sourdough bread - amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 30, 2017

One of my favorites!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 29, 2017

We enjoyed another great dinner at Forno! Our favorite place to sit is the booth behind the hostess stand, and we were pleased to see that it was available (I had requested it when I booked via Open Table). Our waiter Kyle did a great job, and his suggestion of the wine we chose that night was perfect. We love to eat here every time we have our tickets to the HIppodrome! We look forward to another great meal in the fall when the season resumes!

Tags: Comfort Food, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Excellent meal and service.the tagliatelle was delicious and the lobster pizza with its caramelized onion superb. Attentive service, too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We went here for Sunday brunch and everything from the french toast to the pizza was delicious. We did not have bloody marys or mimosas but the unlimited deal with brunch seems great! Delicious, authentic wood fired pizzas!

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Our waiter was excellent from wine recommendation to enter choice. The food came a little too quickly but all in all it was the best experience I've had there.

Tags: Quick Bite, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Waiter was inattentive. Not at all interested in the service of a couple of lunchers. Food was not served hot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 15, 2017

I had higher hopes for Forno after reading ratings on OT. Maybe I just ordered the wrong thing (Cod BLT sandwich) which was tasty, but nearly impossible to eat without a bib(!), especially on the tiny plate. The size of the plates was oddly small compared to the size of the sandwich. I was at business lunch so had to make an extra effort for it to not explode all over me. My colleague ordered a Margarita pizza which looked good but I didn't sample. Good food quality so I'd be willing to give it another try.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Forno is very convenient, both to the Hippodrome and Arena, as well as other downtown attractions. However, it is very noisy - we had a hard time talking to each other across the table. Also, the service was slow. Our wine was not served until after our appetizers came. The server told us that he was waiting for wine glasses! He also never served us bread. The menu is limited, but the food is very tasty. We did not try any pizzas, but the ones we saw looked very good.

Tags: Hot Spot, Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Loved the variety of food and wine! Our server made our experience! Knowledgeable, fun, and sweet! It was her first night and we were her first table. Would have never known. Fun restaurant!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fun, Hot Spot, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 13, 2017

This is a good place for pre-theater dining for the Hippodrome & Everyman. There are not other restaurants of this quality in the area so it requires a reservation weeks in advance on nights when both theaters have shows on. So I make our reservations way in advance when we go to theater, so we can be sure of a delicious and creative meal that can be served quickly and get us out for curtain time.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Our dinner celebrating a retirement and a birthday was very nice. We attended Everyman Theatre afterwards so we had a relatively light dinner sharing watermelon soup which was perfect for a very warm evening, a beet salad with creamy feta and sugared crispy pine nuts (a first for us and it was great on the salad) and for the main course, pizza which was fresh tomatoes with a crispy crust. I like mine with meat and it was very good.

We have dined at Forno in the past and have always been impressed with the food and the friendly staff. Our waiter, I'm sorry I don't recall his name, was wonderful! He was so very pleasant and helpful with selecting and refilling our drinks. Such a nice young man is a real plus when it comes to excellent service. The hostess was funny and very welcoming and started off our dinner with a big smile.

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 13, 2017

As good as the food at Forno is their staff is even better. I had asked for a quiet table because my husband is hearing impaired and we were shown to the most quiet and intimate table in the restaurant. I ask for a quiet table every time I make a reservation anywhere but have never gotten this level of consideration. The hostess could not have been more welcoming which really started our evening off on a perfect note. Our server, Kyle, knew the menu and wine list cold and was an enormous help to the four of us. He was ably assisted by another server. If we had one thing to offer as an area of improvement it would be that there was an extraordinarily long lapse between our salad and entrees. Kyle knew we were headed to the theater so he did make sure we had time to enjoy coffee and dessert and still make the opening curtain. We'll go back for sure.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The lobster pizza blew me away. The arugula added a mild nuttiness that complemented the mild flavor of the lobster.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Mule cocktail was very good, Mojito was very short on mint. Calamari was large and delicious, eggplant ravioli was also very good. The entree special was not available. No protein could be added to salads service was a bit slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Good food and interesting wine list. What's not to like?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Arrived at our 5:30 PM reservation time and it was on the early side so many of the tables were empty, however, they seated us at a very sunny table in front of window, asked to sit at any of the other four empty tables and was told that all the tables were pre-arranged for the evening. Someone came over to help with the shades, which were broken. When they left, I had to rig the shades otherwise we would left. My hands got filthy from the dust, when the hostess came rushing over to tell me not to fuss with the already broken shades.
Ordered antipasto and a pasta appetizer, both of which tasted good, only problem, the pasta came out when the antipasto was already done, so the entire table did not eat together. Asked for extra crustini for the antipasto, never came. Same thing for the 2nd round of drinks.
Entrees came out approximately 30 minutes after table was cleared, trout was completely burned. The pizza was good, the eggplant ravioli was good, the confit chicken was meh. How would anyone ever let a plate with black burned fish ever leave the kitchen? They did wind up taking off, thank goodness the pizza was large enough for two people.
Ambiance? Wooden tables and uncomfortable wooden chairs on the small side and not flat, so it cut circulation to legs. Napkins are miniscule and do not cover your lap. Waiter never came back after entrees were served to check on us. Also, we noticed when we were getting ready to leave, that other tables were getting bread and butter, we never were offered.
I can't believe this was top 50 in Baltimore magazine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 9, 2017

The service was fabulous. I ordered trout and it was overcooked. I liked the veggie sides but my husband would have preferred something more substantial. Potatoes were not an option.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Has the ignominy of serving the worst restaurant meal of my life. Ordered gnocchi in tomato sauce, and received a plate of burnt tomato sauce with three charred crisps of something. Obviously the bottom of the pot. The fact that was served to me shows no quality control and belies antipathy from the kitchen. A memorable meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Delicious and very reasonable price for a quality downtown restaurant. Great before Oriole's game. Discounted parking and an easy walk to stadium.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Our Saturday night dinner at Forno was terrific. It was our first time at Forno; we were a party of five going to the evening play at Everyman Theatre. We wanted to order an abundance small/medium plates to share, tapas-style; also, we wanted all vegetarian choices, to accommodate two of us. The server was imaginative & helpful with our idea; in the end we got two double choices (a double order of one salad & a double order of the haricots vert & pesto special), two pizzas, and two pasta choices (one w/eggplants, one gnocci). The salad & green beans were served first. It worked! The wine was good, too, as was dessert.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Organic, Tapas, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Fun, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The evening started off GREAT. We have been here a number of times before. Our server Ryan was very attentive UNTIL it was time for the Entree. We had to request our Entree with another server 20 minutes after Ryan told us it was almost ready. It was finally delivered by someone else. My wife's trout was so over cooked she could not eat it - and NO ONE ever came back to check on us. We tried to get some attention. We were only able to flag down Ryan when it was time for the check (before a theatre time we shared when we first sat down) and too late to correct the entree problem. Of course he removed the trout from the bill, but that was not the point. We are happy to pay for good food and service. This expected great experience turned disappointing. We will seek other restaurants in the future to dine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 2, 2017

We chose Forno for pre-theatre dining in the heart of Baltimore's theatre district, but we will go back for a casual meal anytime we are downtown. The food was very good and fresh. We shared the seasonal salad as the salad portions are quite generous--mixed, tender greens with beets, goat cheese and caramelized walnuts in a vinaigrette dressing. We enjoyed the artichoke pizza and eggplant ravioli. Great choices--not too heavy and very flavorful. One thing I especially like here (and restaurants that also do this) is there were salt and pepper mills on the tables--no need asking our server for one of those huge, showy pepper mills that is in the hands of someone else. It's a small thing, but much appreciated.

The interior is simple, modern, rustic Italian -- without any kitschy checked table cloths and wine bottles with melted candles. We made reservations through Open Table and asked for a quiet corner in the comments area and our table was tucked into a corner where we could talk and hear each other easily!

I would recommend Forno for simple, tasty food, without a lot of glitz and with nice atmosphere.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 1, 2017

We treated a couple of colleagues to Forno's for a farewell luncheon. We were seated immediately, the hostess and wait staff were friendly and helpful, and the food was delicious!

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Wonderful pre or post theater choice for Everyman or the Hippodrome. Caesar salads and sharing a fresh-ingredient pizza with an affordable glass of wine are our go-to menu, but larger entrees are a treat too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Food was outstanding, but expensive. The pasta was good, but some selections are better than other. The lobster pizza was outstanding. The expresso / ice cream dessert was excellent. The only downside was the server who wasn't having a good day.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Forno is a relatively good restaurant, but could be a very good restaurant. The menu is heavy on meat, and there are very few vegetarian options for one who does not eat meat or seafood unless one wants to dine on pizza. Even the vegetables seem to include some type of meat. At our last visit, our server suggested pasta with pomodoro sauce and veggies as a vegetarian option. The pasta arrived, sans veggies. The server was busy as so many folks are dining pre theatre, and we were unable to get his attention, until the check came. When we mentioned that there were no veggies with the pasta, his reaction was "Oh". No appology, no effort to make a small accomodation on the check as the dish was charged as pomodoro with veggies. Customer service "zero" at this visit.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We decided to try this restaurant before an O's game. We tried to get a 5:00 or 5:30 reservation that morning but they were unavailable so we took 4:30. At 5 there was only one other table filled. They chose to seat a table of 9 right next to us when everything else was empty. Wine list was extensive but small print in a dark room made it difficult to read. Food took quite some time even though the only " dinner " people were the two tables. I got a pasta dish and would have liked some bread to soak up the sauce. Food was fine and priced reasonably. Napkins were really old small dish rags that barely covered half of my lap. No atmosphere, no music, dark even though it wasn't sunset yet. If I lived nearby I might try again but would not go out of my way. We left at 5:45 and still numerous empty tables, no idea why we couldn't get a later reservation.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We had an amazing time! 10/10! Will be sure to go back any time we see a show at the Hippodrome. Food was amazing and could have asked for a better waitstaff.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.