About Forno Restaurant & Wine Bar

17 N. Eutaw St
Baltimore, MD 21201
View Larger Map

Forno Restaurant & Wine Bar specializes in seasonal, local, and sustainable Modern Italian Cuisine, featuring handmade pastas and brick oven pizzas. Located in the Bromo Tower Arts District, across from the Hippodrome Theater, next to Everyman theater, and a short walk from Oriole Park at Camden Yards, Royal Farms Arena, M&T Bank Stadium, Baltimore Convention Center, the Inner Harbor, and tons of other downtown attractions. Forno offers daily specials, including weekday happy hour and bottomless brunch on the weekends. Our late night menu offers a variety of brick oven pizzas that your tastebuds will love. We also offer gluten-free pizzas and pastas along with a variety of vegetarian options.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Italian, Organic, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Sunday 11:30am - 12 midnight

Cross Street:
Baltimore and Fayette

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(443) 873-9427

Website:
http://www.fornobaltimore.com/

Parking Details:
We offer validated parking for the first 2 hours in the Landmark CenterPoint parking garage located at 310 N. Baltimore St. You may access our restaurant directly from the parking garage, via our back entrance.

Private Party Facilities:
Forno is available for private bookings. With a 130-seated capacity, a 45 seated private dinning room, as well as a 6-seat private chef's table, there are several options for private dinning, cocktail receptions and other functions. For inquiries, please email fornomanagement@gmail.com

Private Party Contact:
Ricky Johnson: (443) 873-9427

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Cafe, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

$25 - Pasta and Wine Pairing

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Enjoy our full dinner menu, specials on food and wine all night for Valentine's Day.

$25 - Pasta and Wine Pairing
Details

Bolognaise Tagliatelle with Forno Ricotta & Basil paired with a glass of Field Recordings 'Fiction' Red Blend

Terms and Conditions: Excludes tax and service

Valid For: 1 - 10 People

Starts: September 9, 2016

Ends: February 28, 2017

Availability: Daily 11:30AM-2:30PM 3:30PM-10:00PM

Forno Restaurant & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (43)
Casual (27)
Good for a Date (21)
See All
Fit for Foodies (19)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Good for Groups (16)
Bar Seating (15)
Fun (13)
Cozy (13)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Wood Oven (11)
Special Occasion (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Authentic (10)
Great for Brunch (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Healthy (7)
Quick Bite (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Business Meals (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Romantic (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Seasonal (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Private Room (3)
People Watching (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great Beer (2)
Family Style (2)
Organic (2)
Tapas (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Historic (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
479 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Overall, we absolutely loved the place, ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 4 days ago

Overall, we absolutely loved the place, the food was excellent and the ambience was perfect. The only thing it was lacking was a knowledgeable server. I get that it could have been his first week or so and his service was great, but man - he didn't know the answer to a thing. Getting a description was equal to pulling teeth and his table greet was serverley lacking. It ended with "and yeah, that's basically it." No info about a special, nothing about the bone marrow dish they apparently had? I overheard him mention it to the next table and had to practically beg to figure out how it was prepared - which ended up being bare compared to the dish we received. It wasn't what I was hoping for when I ordered it for $12, but it wasn't bad. The prosciutto and arugula pizza was the best pizza we've ever had though. The figs balanced the savory and salty so perfectly. I'd definitely recommend the place!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Great restaurant, with fantastic food, a ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great restaurant, with fantastic food, and excellent service. Our server, Adrian, was very knowledgeable and attentive. We had a wonderful experience and will definitely be back. Bravo!

Tags: Happy Hour, Cozy, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Quick Bite, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, , Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time here and will definitely be b ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 14, 2017

First time here and will definitely be back! Grabbed dinner before a show at the Hippodrome - perfect in every way!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Romantic, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friend and I enjoyed dinner before a ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 14, 2017

My friend and I enjoyed dinner before a show at the Hippadrome this past weekend. We started with the local greens salad which was delicious! We shared an order of meatballs which were very tasty and the Farmer's pizza. The eggplant pesto was delicious, I even asked for more to add to the pizza. The rest if the veggies on the pizza were also delicious. For dessert I had the spiced carrot cake, amazing! My friend had the chocolate pot de creme, which was also fantastic. Our waiter was attentive and friendly. Would absolutely go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food and service. Very aware o ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Excellent food and service. Very aware of theatre schedule. Great evening.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The pizza we ordered was very salty. We ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The pizza we ordered was very salty. We were offered a different pizza but that too was salty to our taste. The coffee was lukewarm. The table next to us sent their coffee's back! I am not sure I will go back. I felt sorry for the waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

This is a favorite spot for us to go bef ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 7, 2017

This is a favorite spot for us to go before Everyman theater performances. Everything was delicious as always. I loved the Crispy Skin Salmon - perfection! Raves around the table for everyone else's orders - especially the Tender Duck Confit. Our 6:15 reservation allowed us to relax and get us to the 8pm Everyman show with a few minutes to spare. Highly recommended!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent and well prepared. S ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Food was excellent and well prepared. Service was a little spotty- a couple of dishes came out in the wrong order (cheese plate without the wine, veggie side dish before the main dish it belonged with). Our waiter forgot to bring coffee with our dessert.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Very nice menu--hard to decide what to o ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Very nice menu--hard to decide what to order because of appealing choices. Delicious and abundant serving of calamari, pizza and tenderloin more than filled us up. Nice casual atmosphere, as well.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Dinner was fine, actually quite good. De ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Dinner was fine, actually quite good. Desert was slow, the server simply disappeared, and the hot coffee was ice cold. Instead of apologizing, replacement was sent, again cold, and very slow. Still no server. He made no attempt to absorb the $3.00 cost, as a courtesy, leaving a foul taste and experience to remember. A weak effort, from what seems to be a decent restaurant.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Pizzas were good sized for the price. P ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Pizzas were good sized for the price. Pasta was way overpriced.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Authentic, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

Outstanding as always. Service and food ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Outstanding as always. Service and food always exceed expectations.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome stop before your Hippodrome expe ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Awesome stop before your Hippodrome experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent as always, but both pasta dish ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Excellent as always, but both pasta dishes were too salted.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We enjoy dining at Forno before a show a ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We enjoy dining at Forno before a show and this visit did not disappoint. Salad was good, fresh but would have been better with less dressing. Calamari appetizer was of generous size. Tasty garnished with hot red peppers. Occasional fishy taste. The absolute star of the dinner was the short rib! Crunchy coating covering melt-in-your mouth rib presented on a bed of sautéed greens, cubed butternut squash and squash purée. Delectable! Service, as usual, was great.

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Often our choice for dinner before the H ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Often our choice for dinner before the Hippodrome performances. The waiter was very good as was the food We will see you again next month.

Tags: Historic, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Management wasn't very accommodating on ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Management wasn't very accommodating on seating requests. Very convenient if going to the Hippodrome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

I love Forno's interpretation of "New It ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 23, 2016

I love Forno's interpretation of "New Italian" cuisine. The chef uses classic dishes such as ravioli and stuffs them with lamb or mushrooms. The seasonings are rich and suitably selected. Fried oysters and mussels were excellent the evening we dined. Innovative takes on vegetables such as cauliflower. Nice variety of wine selections by the glass.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We ate here before a performance at Ever ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 20, 2016

We ate here before a performance at Everyman. Our server, Cory, was the perfect mix of skill and attentiveness without hovering. She was upbeat and made helpful suggestions. My salad was very fresh and my tagliatelle was quite tasty. My husband had a seafood pasta and the kitchen put a different sauce on it at his request. This is a pleasant restaurant with a number of different seating options. We will return when we have our next theater performance.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Wood Oven, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Forno is our go-to option for pre-show d ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Forno is our go-to option for pre-show dinners when we go to Everyman Theater, and they once again served tasty food with a great attitude. They were also very helpful in accommodating some last-minute changes and glitches in our plans.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We were very disappointed in Forno. We ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We were very disappointed in Forno. We had obviously a much higher expectation based on reviews we had read. The food was mediocre at best and the portions were small even though we ordered large portions. Those portions were expensive for a restaurant of this type. Although the service was fine and our waitress attentive, the atmosphere was loud and crowded (we were sitting less than two feet from the next diners -- our tables were maybe a foot apart). If you are looking for a bar atmosphere, it might work, but we were expecting a more elegant experience. In short, we will never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

Excellent dinner wonderful restaurant ex ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Excellent dinner wonderful restaurant experience!!

Tags: Healthy, Private Room, Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Organic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Good service, good wine and good food i ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Good service, good wine and good food in a pleasant and relaxed environment.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappoints

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Never disappoints

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place for a pre-theater drink and ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Great place for a pre-theater drink and nibbles! Waiter continuously disappeared, service not the best, but have been there for lunch and service was much better. Overall, I highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

I like the variety. Always a special alw ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 15, 2016

I like the variety. Always a special always something new

Tags: Casual, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Always a pleasant experience. Good food ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Always a pleasant experience. Good food in a

nice atmosphere.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I was very impressed with the service - ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 11, 2016

I was very impressed with the service - we had to call and change the time of our reservation and they were very accommodating. We arrived at 8pm on a Saturday - people were lined up but our table was ready and waiting - we really appreciated that after being outside freezing all day at a football game!

Our server was so professional, competent, friendly and gracious. The wine she recommended was excellent.

Nearly all the food was fantastic - I had this eggplant and garlic soup that was fabulous!. The gnocchi was great too. I tasted my daughter's chicken pizza and the peppers were way too strong for my taste. Wish they had bread for the table.

I would definitely go again - it was a great experience.

Tags: Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Organic, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Good for Groups, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome meatballs

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Awesome meatballs

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The menu changes with the season! Everyt ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The menu changes with the season! Everything was fresh and absolutely delicious! Many menu items are "out of the box ideas" but amazing!

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The eggplant soup was exceptional, rich ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 8, 2016

The eggplant soup was exceptional, rich and flavorful.

We also had fried oysters which were perfectly prepared.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It's was great as always!

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 8, 2016

It's was great as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We go here often for pre-theater dinners ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We go here often for pre-theater dinners. The service is always very good; on this occasion, it was stellar! The only complaint I have is that I would like a few more menu choices.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Cozy, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food, and many options, even f ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Excellent food, and many options, even for a vegetarian. We had a delightful dinner with friends..

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

it's not a bad place however I only go t ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 17, 2016

it's not a bad place however I only go there because it's within walking distance of Everyman Theatre

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Love this restaurant for pre theatre din ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Love this restaurant for pre theatre dining. Excellent Caesar salad and clams with linguine. If I have a complaint it is that the tables are a little too close, but that doesn't keep me from going.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was great, service was friendly, bu ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Food was great, service was friendly, but time from dessert order to sweets on table was over 20 minutes; we had to gulp down dessert to make the opening curtain at the Everyman next door. It didn't make sense as restaurant wasn't busy on Sunday evening.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We split a salad and each had a small pa ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 10, 2016

We split a salad and each had a small pasta dish - perfect for before the theatre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

My wife and I enjoy coming her, especial ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 10, 2016

My wife and I enjoy coming her, especially before we go to the Arena or the Hippodrome. The mussels were great, they give you a very generous portion. We typically get the brick oven pizza and I haven't had a bad one yet. They have a great wine list, excellent cocktails, and very friendly staff. Prices are a little high in my opinion, but the food is good and I enjoy the location and the convenience of being right across the street from the venues. This is a place you would want to spend some time in, you could run in and run out, but the atmosphere is very welcoming and it's easy to actually dine and enjoy yourself.

Tags: People Watching, Late-night Find, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Private Room, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Antipasti was uneventful, bread was very ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Antipasti was uneventful, bread was very stale. Meatball appetizer was good.

Caesar salad was excellent! Huge, possibly fresh anchovies. Lobster

risotto was completely without flavor. Friendly waitress with good service.

Will not rush back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.