About Forno Restaurant & Wine Bar

Forno Restaurant & Wine Bar specializes in seasonal, local, and sustainable Modern Italian Cuisine, featuring handmade pastas and brick oven pizzas. Located in the Bromo Tower Arts District, across from the Hippodrome Theater, next to Everyman theater, and a short walk from Oriole Park at Camden Yards, Royal Farms Arena, M&T Bank Stadium, Baltimore Convention Center, the Inner Harbor, and tons of other downtown attractions. Forno offers daily specials, including weekday happy hour and bottomless brunch on the weekends. Our late night menu offers a variety of brick oven pizzas that your tastebuds will love. We also offer gluten-free pizzas and pastas along with a variety of vegetarian options.

17 N. Eutaw St
Baltimore, MD 21201
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Italian, Organic, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Sunday 11:30am - 12 midnight

Cross Street:
Baltimore and Fayette

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(443) 873-9427

Website:
http://www.fornobaltimore.com/

Parking Details:
We offer validated parking for the first 2 hours in the Landmark CenterPoint parking garage located at 310 N. Baltimore St. You may access our restaurant directly from the parking garage, via our back entrance.

Private Party Facilities:
Forno is available for private bookings. With a 130-seated capacity, a 45 seated private dinning room, as well as a 6-seat private chef's table, there are several options for private dinning, cocktail receptions and other functions. For inquiries, please email fornomanagement@gmail.com

Private Party Contact:
Ricky Johnson: (443) 873-9427

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Cafe, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Forno Restaurant & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (58)
Casual (34)
Good for a Date (32)
See All
Fit for Foodies (31)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Fun (17)
Special Occasion (15)
Cozy (15)
Bar Seating (14)
Romantic (13)
Wood Oven (13)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Quick Bite (10)
Authentic (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Great for Brunch (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Open Kitchen (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Business Meals (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Vegan (4)
Seasonal (4)
Historic (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Private Room (3)
Healthy (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Tapas (2)
Family Style (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Organic (2)
People Watching (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Fireplace (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
528 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined a day ago

All around fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food and location for pre-theater (Everyman or Hippodrome) dining. But tell them we had to throw away the delicious half pizza my friend was taking home b/c the Hippodrome would not allow it in!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 14, 2017

We went to Forno because we were seeing a show at The Hippodrome. It is very convenient and we had heard some good reviews. Our waiter was ok, but not great. The drinks seemed focused more on being edgy than tasty. The food was very good, but very, very rich. If I went again I would get a salad and an appetizer to (hopefully) cut down on the richness.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 13, 2017

An excellent choice pre-theater with great location.
Very good pizza too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 8, 2017

An excellent place for dinner prior to attending a performance at the Hippodrome or Everyman Theater. We were pleasantly surprised by the high quality of the food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Excellent food. Spectacular service. Great place to eat before theater.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Nice, knowledgeable staff. This is helpful because the menu has some interesting choices. Perfect for Pre-theater or concert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great food and really nice atmosphere. The decor was romantic but not over-the-top. The wait-staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. It was pretty chill/quiet when we went but I bet it gets crazy at other times. The pizza was delicious and they have a great wine list. The cocktails looked fantastic too but I didn't get to sample one.

Tags: Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, People Watching, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 24, 2017

This was a great find, but in a bit of a sketchy neighborhood. Excellent food, professional and friendly service, lovely atmosphere inside.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Organic, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 24, 2017

The pasta was fair and the wine was average for 14 dollars a glass.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 24, 2017

First time we ate there and we had a very pleasant evening. Good food. The lamb shank was delicious! Great service and creative ambience. Very convenient when you have tickets to the Hippodrome!

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Romantic, Historic, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Picked Forno for pre-concert dinner. I looked like a food genius! Wines by the glass were exceptional, antipasto plate was one of the best I've ever had (cold cuts and cheeses were top notch, pickled veggies brought the plate to another level), and Caesar salad was large enough to share. As for the entrees my wife devoured her tagliatelle bolognese (she orders it everywhere, and this was one of the best renditions she's had), and the duck confit dish I ordered was spectacular. There were several other pastas and entrees I wanted to try, and we will be back for sure. Great find!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 22, 2017

My husband and I like to eat here before attending performances at Everyman. I had requested a booth when I made the reservation and that request was honored. The small tables are not comfortable for us. Our server was knowledgeable about the menu and answered questions. We shared asparagus which was delicious, nicely roasted and topped with an egg. My husband got a pork stew which he liked; I got tagliatelle which was also good. The pasta is homemade and delicious. The rolls are yeasty and our server surprised us by adding a couple extra to those we were taking home. Unfortunately, we didn't have time for dessert. We will come again.

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Perfect place to get a few drinks and some food in a relaxing atmosphere before seeing a show at the Hippodrome!

Tags: Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 15, 2017

I went here for a business meal with two colleagues and we had such a nice experience. Our waitress was very sweet and helpful and we all were impressed with the ambiance and the food. We shared calamari for appetizer (huge!! very good.) and we each got a pizza and left with quite a bit of leftover pizza. I would say the pizzas are large enough to share between two people, especially with an appetizer.

I would definitely recommend this for a nice dinner out with friends/family or with colleagues.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Seemed like a nice little place to get some good food with handmade pasta. The look of the place was very nice but very dark. Being dark isn't a bad thing but just an observation. The service was good and the waiter was helpful and knowledgeable regarding the menu. The main reason I choose this place was the fresh handmade pasta as I can be a sucker for good pasta... My wife and I ordered the Truffle Fettuccine & Bolognaise Tagliatelle for our entrees. Amazingly enough, I never knew that that Fettuccine and Tagliatelle are the exact same pastas according to this restaurant... Getting past that, the bolognaise was ok at best and the truffle fettuccine had mushrooms that were so chewy I ended up eating around them or just picking them all out. The restaurant was busy and to be honest I've already had a long day and didn't bother complaining too much as I was going to chalk this up to not picking the right restaurant that night. On a good note, the olive oil cake with blueberry ice cream and grapefruit curd was very good for dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We ordered a bottle of Prosecco and the waiter brought wine glasses. When he sat them down, asked why he was using wine rather than champagne glasses. He said "flutes; flutes are so 20th Century". I was merely curious with my inquiry and I felt that the waiter was quite condescending in his response and tone. When I mentioned that the last time we there and ordered Prosecco it was served in "flutes" he ignored me. In addition, he was less than attentive and took until we had finished our appetizer to return to take our order after promising to come back in a few minutes. Overall, we had a nice meal and great conversation but I felt uncomfortable and would definitely request an alternate server if we go back and he is there.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Interesting menu choices. Something different for a change.
We'll definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 3, 2017

We meet at Forno with friends prior to attending Everyman. Each time, the food is good and fresh, and the specials are imaginative. It is also an excellent value, given the quality of the food and the prices for both food and beverages. The wait staff has always been very friendly, knowledgeable and efficient.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value, Fun, Casual, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Great food, good service, nice atmosphere. Mushroom truffle soup was outstanding, pastas always delicious. Great spot for a pre-show dinner for the Hippodrome.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Great food. Great location for shows at the Hippodrome. Pleasant, efficient staff.

Tags: Happy Hour, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Always wonderful! I always come here before shows at the hippodrome, and I never have a dish that isn't wonderful. Also great service, excellent wine selection, good cocktails and nice draft beer selection. The staff is always friendly and helpful.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Seasonal, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Enjoyed our evening. Food was good as always. Our waiter Kyle was great--friendly, helpful & non-hovering!

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 1, 2017

We always choose Forno whenever we are attending the Hippodrome and Everyman. Always a great meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 1, 2017

I had a wonderful night at Forno! We made our reservation online, and they seated us as soon as we arrived. One person in our party cannot have dairy, so they made a pizza with vegan cheese - it was delicious! We also ordered a pasta dish which came out perfectly. It was very reasonable and the staff was very courteous.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Perfect for dining before a show at the Hippodrome

Tags: Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 26, 2017

This place was terrible! Empty on a Saturday night. With the exception of the calamari all the food we had was not good. We left hungry rather than order more.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We did not know this was one of the top 50 restaurants. We were blown away with the food. We learned later this was included as one of the top restaurants and we can see why. We cannot wait to return.

Tags: Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Had dinner before a show. Others had same idea and restaurant was packed. Our very polite waiter did his best but he was overwhelmed. Food was good.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Very good food and convenient to the Hippodrome and the Everyman Theatre. Food is tasty and a lot healthier than many of the local spots. Service was friendly and relatively efficient considering that our server had too many tables. He did forget a number of little things we asked for (dressing on the side, extra fork, more water, etc) but on the whole he was pretty good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We decided to have Dinner at Forno because it's located directly across from the
Hippodrome Theater. We were going to see Shen Yun. WOW what a incredible dining
experience. Cory was our server and went over and beyond for us. We let her know we
had about 3 hrs. before our event and wanted a leisurely dinner not rushed. She got our
drinks and appetizers and let us enjoy them first before taking our dinner order. The meatballs
and fried Oysters were so good! I loved the Brodetto (seafood stew) it was loaded with seafood
Yum! My husband enjoyed the Aglio pizza. We enjoyed the ice cream for dessert and Cappuccino. We definitely will be going back again!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food is absolutely the best I've ever had at this price. The service was very friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Good pizza, but the crust was a bit hard.
The tasty salad could have been bit cheaper.
Very good service.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Really great meal! Everything was terrific, including possibly the best Caesar Salad I've ever had. The bone-in lamb was outstanding. Very pronounced and delightful flavors.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Went for a dinner with friends prior to a show at the Hippodrome. Server was very pleasant and efficient. Food was all amazingly delicious, and we loved being able to order small portions of pasta, which was more than enough. Pizza was tasty. They asked if we were going to a show when we arrived, and most likely that's why our dinners were out in a flash. Highly recommend Forno!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 4, 2017

This was a great choice for our pre theater meal. It is close to Everymans and the Hippodrome. Food was great. Service was also great.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 1, 2017

The food... delicious and beautifully presented grilled octopus, plus vegan thin-crust pizza... was excellent. Very good waitress. Pleasant atmosphere. Very convenient to Everyman and Hippodrome theatres.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Wood Oven, Vegan, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Forno never disappoints! Food was excellent as always, as was the service. Great meal - highly recommended!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great place for dinner before a show at the Hippodrome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Food was good and service was efficient and friendly. The

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.