About Forno Restaurant & Wine Bar

Forno Restaurant & Wine Bar specializes in seasonal, local, and sustainable Modern Italian Cuisine, featuring handmade pastas and brick oven pizzas. Located in the Bromo Tower Arts District, across from the Hippodrome Theater, next to Everyman theater, and a short walk from Oriole Park at Camden Yards, Royal Farms Arena, M&T Bank Stadium, Baltimore Convention Center, the Inner Harbor, and tons of other downtown attractions. Forno offers daily specials, including weekday happy hour and bottomless brunch on the weekends. Our late night menu offers a variety of brick oven pizzas that your tastebuds will love. We also offer gluten-free pizzas and pastas along with a variety of vegetarian options.

17 N. Eutaw St
Baltimore, MD 21201
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Italian, Organic, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Sunday 11:30am - 12 midnight

Cross Street:
Baltimore and Fayette

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(443) 873-9427

Website:
http://www.fornobaltimore.com/

Parking Details:
We offer validated parking for the first 2 hours in the Landmark CenterPoint parking garage located at 310 N. Baltimore St. You may access our restaurant directly from the parking garage, via our back entrance.

Private Party Facilities:
Forno is available for private bookings. With a 130-seated capacity, a 45 seated private dinning room, as well as a 6-seat private chef's table, there are several options for private dinning, cocktail receptions and other functions. For inquiries, please email fornomanagement@gmail.com

Private Party Contact:
Ricky Johnson: (443) 873-9427

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Cafe, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Forno Restaurant & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (60)
Casual (30)
Good for a Date (27)
See All
Fit for Foodies (26)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Cozy (17)
Notable Wine List (15)
Fun (15)
Special Occasion (13)
Wood Oven (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Romantic (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Authentic (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Open Kitchen (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Seasonal (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Vegan (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Private Room (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Tapas (3)
Business Meals (3)
Healthy (3)
People Watching (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Historic (2)
Family Style (2)
Organic (2)
Fireplace (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
544 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

We decided to try this restaurant before an O's game. We tried to get a 5:00 or 5:30 reservation that morning but they were unavailable so we took 4:30. At 5 there was only one other table filled. They chose to seat a table of 9 right next to us when everything else was empty. Wine list was extensive but small print in a dark room made it difficult to read. Food took quite some time even though the only " dinner " people were the two tables. I got a pasta dish and would have liked some bread to soak up the sauce. Food was fine and priced reasonably. Napkins were really old small dish rags that barely covered half of my lap. No atmosphere, no music, dark even though it wasn't sunset yet. If I lived nearby I might try again but would not go out of my way. We left at 5:45 and still numerous empty tables, no idea why we couldn't get a later reservation.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great food and fantastic service! Went for dinner before a show and had a great time. Thank you Adrian for taking good care of us :)

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We had an amazing time! 10/10! Will be sure to go back any time we see a show at the Hippodrome. Food was amazing and could have asked for a better waitstaff.

Tags: Wood Oven, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 9, 2017

The food was delicious and our service was amazing. The waiter was very knowledgeable and the food came out quick.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 9, 2017

This was my second visit. This time for a business luncheon, previously for brunch. Both meals were excellent, served by friendly servers, and in a cozy, pleasant atmosphere. Now I need to try them for dinner! Too bad I live in Boston!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Open Kitchen, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Had never been there, met a colleague while attending a conference in Baltimore. The brick oven pizzas are a little creative and unique - i had the artichoke pizza and added some of my own ingredients - my colleague did the same with the margherita. They were both great - the artichoke had just the right level of tang and brightness from the kalamata olives. Even tho i was in a hotel, i took some back and put it in the mini-fridge and enjoyed it later that evening after working.
Friendly staff, attractive and comfortable space, and good value.

Tags: Family Style, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Pizza was ok. Meatballs were hard as a rock and not tasty. We were eating before a kids show and there weren't enough high chairs for the kids in the restaurant and there weren't that many. When you are located across the street from a theatre, you'd think that you'd be a bit better prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Nice quiet table for a late lunch to talk business. Restaurant almost empty at 2 PM on a Thursday. Good service and good food. I'll go back.

Tags: Private Room, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Love this place. The food is innovative and tasty. Brock oven pizza is also really good. My only complaint is that the wine is waaaay overpriced. $7.50 for 3 oz is way too much. $14 for a usual pour. The cinnamon panna cota is one of the best deserts I've ever had.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Excellent food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Just a great find - superb food and service - for those near the Baltimore stadiums, it is well worth the short walk either before or after a game. The owner makes his presence known which adds to the comfort and ambiance of an intimate gathering place. Ordered a side vegetable dish of sliced fennel stalks, with bacon, onion and who knows what secret sauce , knowing it would be different and maybe not so great - are you kidding me - absolutely brilliant !!! Go, you won't be dissapointed

Tags: Cozy, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Fun, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 23, 2017

My friends and I have eaten her several times before or after the theater. Consistently good, fresh food. We appreciate the changing menu!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Great game night meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Nice place for before or after the Hippodrome. Very fresh ingredients, home made pasta and great pizzas. You'll need a reservation, but worth trying out for yourself!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The changing menu offers a wide and unique variation of food. The hostess was personable and professional. The server was knowledgeable and very friendly. Took time to explain ingredients and meals. OUTSTANDING!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 22, 2017

All around fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Love going to Forno before shows at The Hippodrome! I've never been disappointed with the food or the service. And the Affagato is to die for!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Great food and location for pre-theater (Everyman or Hippodrome) dining. But tell them we had to throw away the delicious half pizza my friend was taking home b/c the Hippodrome would not allow it in!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 14, 2017

We went to Forno because we were seeing a show at The Hippodrome. It is very convenient and we had heard some good reviews. Our waiter was ok, but not great. The drinks seemed focused more on being edgy than tasty. The food was very good, but very, very rich. If I went again I would get a salad and an appetizer to (hopefully) cut down on the richness.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 13, 2017

An excellent choice pre-theater with great location.
Very good pizza too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 8, 2017

An excellent place for dinner prior to attending a performance at the Hippodrome or Everyman Theater. We were pleasantly surprised by the high quality of the food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Excellent food. Spectacular service. Great place to eat before theater.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Nice, knowledgeable staff. This is helpful because the menu has some interesting choices. Perfect for Pre-theater or concert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great food and really nice atmosphere. The decor was romantic but not over-the-top. The wait-staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. It was pretty chill/quiet when we went but I bet it gets crazy at other times. The pizza was delicious and they have a great wine list. The cocktails looked fantastic too but I didn't get to sample one.

Tags: Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, People Watching, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 24, 2017

This was a great find, but in a bit of a sketchy neighborhood. Excellent food, professional and friendly service, lovely atmosphere inside.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Organic, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 24, 2017

The pasta was fair and the wine was average for 14 dollars a glass.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 24, 2017

First time we ate there and we had a very pleasant evening. Good food. The lamb shank was delicious! Great service and creative ambience. Very convenient when you have tickets to the Hippodrome!

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Romantic, Historic, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Picked Forno for pre-concert dinner. I looked like a food genius! Wines by the glass were exceptional, antipasto plate was one of the best I've ever had (cold cuts and cheeses were top notch, pickled veggies brought the plate to another level), and Caesar salad was large enough to share. As for the entrees my wife devoured her tagliatelle bolognese (she orders it everywhere, and this was one of the best renditions she's had), and the duck confit dish I ordered was spectacular. There were several other pastas and entrees I wanted to try, and we will be back for sure. Great find!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 22, 2017

My husband and I like to eat here before attending performances at Everyman. I had requested a booth when I made the reservation and that request was honored. The small tables are not comfortable for us. Our server was knowledgeable about the menu and answered questions. We shared asparagus which was delicious, nicely roasted and topped with an egg. My husband got a pork stew which he liked; I got tagliatelle which was also good. The pasta is homemade and delicious. The rolls are yeasty and our server surprised us by adding a couple extra to those we were taking home. Unfortunately, we didn't have time for dessert. We will come again.

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Perfect place to get a few drinks and some food in a relaxing atmosphere before seeing a show at the Hippodrome!

Tags: Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 15, 2017

I went here for a business meal with two colleagues and we had such a nice experience. Our waitress was very sweet and helpful and we all were impressed with the ambiance and the food. We shared calamari for appetizer (huge!! very good.) and we each got a pizza and left with quite a bit of leftover pizza. I would say the pizzas are large enough to share between two people, especially with an appetizer.

I would definitely recommend this for a nice dinner out with friends/family or with colleagues.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Seemed like a nice little place to get some good food with handmade pasta. The look of the place was very nice but very dark. Being dark isn't a bad thing but just an observation. The service was good and the waiter was helpful and knowledgeable regarding the menu. The main reason I choose this place was the fresh handmade pasta as I can be a sucker for good pasta... My wife and I ordered the Truffle Fettuccine & Bolognaise Tagliatelle for our entrees. Amazingly enough, I never knew that that Fettuccine and Tagliatelle are the exact same pastas according to this restaurant... Getting past that, the bolognaise was ok at best and the truffle fettuccine had mushrooms that were so chewy I ended up eating around them or just picking them all out. The restaurant was busy and to be honest I've already had a long day and didn't bother complaining too much as I was going to chalk this up to not picking the right restaurant that night. On a good note, the olive oil cake with blueberry ice cream and grapefruit curd was very good for dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We ordered a bottle of Prosecco and the waiter brought wine glasses. When he sat them down, asked why he was using wine rather than champagne glasses. He said "flutes; flutes are so 20th Century". I was merely curious with my inquiry and I felt that the waiter was quite condescending in his response and tone. When I mentioned that the last time we there and ordered Prosecco it was served in "flutes" he ignored me. In addition, he was less than attentive and took until we had finished our appetizer to return to take our order after promising to come back in a few minutes. Overall, we had a nice meal and great conversation but I felt uncomfortable and would definitely request an alternate server if we go back and he is there.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Interesting menu choices. Something different for a change.
We'll definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 3, 2017

We meet at Forno with friends prior to attending Everyman. Each time, the food is good and fresh, and the specials are imaginative. It is also an excellent value, given the quality of the food and the prices for both food and beverages. The wait staff has always been very friendly, knowledgeable and efficient.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value, Fun, Casual, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Great food, good service, nice atmosphere. Mushroom truffle soup was outstanding, pastas always delicious. Great spot for a pre-show dinner for the Hippodrome.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Great food. Great location for shows at the Hippodrome. Pleasant, efficient staff.

Tags: Happy Hour, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Always wonderful! I always come here before shows at the hippodrome, and I never have a dish that isn't wonderful. Also great service, excellent wine selection, good cocktails and nice draft beer selection. The staff is always friendly and helpful.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Seasonal, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Enjoyed our evening. Food was good as always. Our waiter Kyle was great--friendly, helpful & non-hovering!

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 1, 2017

We always choose Forno whenever we are attending the Hippodrome and Everyman. Always a great meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.