About Forno Restaurant & Wine Bar

Forno Restaurant & Wine Bar specializes in seasonal, local, and sustainable Modern Italian Cuisine, featuring handmade pastas and brick oven pizzas. Located in the Bromo Tower Arts District, across from the Hippodrome Theater, next to Everyman theater, and a short walk from Oriole Park at Camden Yards, Royal Farms Arena, M&T Bank Stadium, Baltimore Convention Center, the Inner Harbor, and tons of other downtown attractions. Forno offers daily specials, including weekday happy hour and bottomless brunch on the weekends. Our late night menu offers a variety of brick oven pizzas that your tastebuds will love. We also offer gluten-free pizzas and pastas along with a variety of vegetarian options.

17 N. Eutaw St
Baltimore, MD 21201
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Italian, Organic, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Sunday 11:30am - 12 midnight

Cross Street:
Baltimore and Fayette

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(443) 873-9427

Website:
http://www.fornobaltimore.com/

Parking Details:
We offer validated parking for the first 2 hours in the Landmark CenterPoint parking garage located at 310 N. Baltimore St. You may access our restaurant directly from the parking garage, via our back entrance.

Private Party Facilities:
Forno is available for private bookings. With a 130-seated capacity, a 45 seated private dinning room, as well as a 6-seat private chef's table, there are several options for private dinning, cocktail receptions and other functions. For inquiries, please email fornomanagement@gmail.com

Private Party Contact:
Ricky Johnson: (443) 873-9427

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Cafe, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

$25 - Pasta and Wine Pairing

Specials

$25 - Pasta and Wine Pairing
Details

Bolognaise Tagliatelle with Forno Ricotta & Basil paired with a glass of Field Recordings 'Fiction' Red Blend

Terms and Conditions: Excludes tax and service

Valid For: 1 - 10 People

Starts: September 9, 2016

Ends: February 28, 2017

Availability: Sun 6:00PM-9:30PM
Tue-Fri 11:30AM-2:30PM 7:30PM-9:30PM
Sat 6:00PM-9:30PM

Forno Restaurant & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (50)
Good for a Date (28)
Fit for Foodies (26)
See All
Casual (26)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Fun (16)
Good for Groups (15)
Bar Seating (14)
Notable Wine List (13)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Special Occasion (12)
Authentic (12)
Cozy (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Wood Oven (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
Quick Bite (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Business Meals (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Romantic (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Healthy (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Private Room (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Seasonal (4)
Vegan (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Family Style (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Organic (2)
People Watching (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Historic (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
498 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Very good food and convenient to the Hippodrome and the Everyman Theatre. Food is tasty and a lot healthier than many of the local spots. Service was friendly and relatively efficient considering that our server had too many tables. He did forget a number of little things we asked for (dressing on the side, extra fork, more water, etc) but on the whole he was pretty good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 6 days ago

We decided to have Dinner at Forno because it's located directly across from the

Hippodrome Theater. We were going to see Shen Yun. WOW what a incredible dining

experience. Cory was our server and went over and beyond for us. We let her know we

had about 3 hrs. before our event and wanted a leisurely dinner not rushed. She got our

drinks and appetizers and let us enjoy them first before taking our dinner order. The meatballs

and fried Oysters were so good! I loved the Brodetto (seafood stew) it was loaded with seafood

Yum! My husband enjoyed the Aglio pizza. We enjoyed the ice cream for dessert and Cappuccino. We definitely will be going back again!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food is absolutely the best I've ever had at this price. The service was very friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Good pizza, but the crust was a bit hard.

The tasty salad could have been bit cheaper.

Very good service.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Really great meal! Everything was terrific, including possibly the best Caesar Salad I've ever had. The bone-in lamb was outstanding. Very pronounced and delightful flavors.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Went for a dinner with friends prior to a show at the Hippodrome. Server was very pleasant and efficient. Food was all amazingly delicious, and we loved being able to order small portions of pasta, which was more than enough. Pizza was tasty. They asked if we were going to a show when we arrived, and most likely that's why our dinners were out in a flash. Highly recommend Forno!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 4, 2017

This was a great choice for our pre theater meal. It is close to Everymans and the Hippodrome. Food was great. Service was also great.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 1, 2017

The food... delicious and beautifully presented grilled octopus, plus vegan thin-crust pizza... was excellent. Very good waitress. Pleasant atmosphere. Very convenient to Everyman and Hippodrome theatres.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Wood Oven, Vegan, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Forno never disappoints! Food was excellent as always, as was the service. Great meal - highly recommended!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great place for dinner before a show at the Hippodrome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Food was good and service was efficient and friendly. The

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 27, 2017

I am a vegetarian. Pasta or Pizza was the only option for me other than salad. I was hoping for a vegetarian meal that was not all carbs. I did like the place and my companion loved his meal. The place just needs a vegetarian option.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We often choose Forno before a show at the nearby theatre. The food and wine are unique and very good, excellent service and atmosphere.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Interesting recipes, well executed. Flawless service!

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 25, 2017

A good choice for a meal before a Show at the Hippodrome. Since it is considered Modern Italian the gnocchi was not what you would normally expect but the presentation and ingredients supplementing the dish made it tasty and interesting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Farm pizza lacked the veggies. But was still tasty

Tags: Vegan, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 24, 2017

... solid, creative food with an Italian influence ... prompt, helpful service ... small plates, mix/match choices (though limited) make for a mini-adventure ...

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Overall, we absolutely loved the place, the food was excellent and the ambience was perfect. The only thing it was lacking was a knowledgeable server. I get that it could have been his first week or so and his service was great, but man - he didn't know the answer to a thing. Getting a description was equal to pulling teeth and his table greet was serverley lacking. It ended with "and yeah, that's basically it." No info about a special, nothing about the bone marrow dish they apparently had? I overheard him mention it to the next table and had to practically beg to figure out how it was prepared - which ended up being bare compared to the dish we received. It wasn't what I was hoping for when I ordered it for $12, but it wasn't bad. The prosciutto and arugula pizza was the best pizza we've ever had though. The figs balanced the savory and salty so perfectly. I'd definitely recommend the place!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great restaurant, with fantastic food, and excellent service. Our server, Adrian, was very knowledgeable and attentive. We had a wonderful experience and will definitely be back. Bravo!

Tags: Happy Hour, Cozy, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Quick Bite, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 14, 2017

First time here and will definitely be back! Grabbed dinner before a show at the Hippodrome - perfect in every way!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Romantic, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 14, 2017

My friend and I enjoyed dinner before a show at the Hippadrome this past weekend. We started with the local greens salad which was delicious! We shared an order of meatballs which were very tasty and the Farmer's pizza. The eggplant pesto was delicious, I even asked for more to add to the pizza. The rest if the veggies on the pizza were also delicious. For dessert I had the spiced carrot cake, amazing! My friend had the chocolate pot de creme, which was also fantastic. Our waiter was attentive and friendly. Would absolutely go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Excellent food and service. Very aware of theatre schedule. Great evening.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The pizza we ordered was very salty. We were offered a different pizza but that too was salty to our taste. The coffee was lukewarm. The table next to us sent their coffee's back! I am not sure I will go back. I felt sorry for the waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 7, 2017

This is a favorite spot for us to go before Everyman theater performances. Everything was delicious as always. I loved the Crispy Skin Salmon - perfection! Raves around the table for everyone else's orders - especially the Tender Duck Confit. Our 6:15 reservation allowed us to relax and get us to the 8pm Everyman show with a few minutes to spare. Highly recommended!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Food was excellent and well prepared. Service was a little spotty- a couple of dishes came out in the wrong order (cheese plate without the wine, veggie side dish before the main dish it belonged with). Our waiter forgot to bring coffee with our dessert.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Very nice menu--hard to decide what to order because of appealing choices. Delicious and abundant serving of calamari, pizza and tenderloin more than filled us up. Nice casual atmosphere, as well.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 1, 2017

our first time there and we really enjoyed the food choices

Very relaxed and comfortable, will definitely be back

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Dinner was fine, actually quite good. Desert was slow, the server simply disappeared, and the hot coffee was ice cold. Instead of apologizing, replacement was sent, again cold, and very slow. Still no server. He made no attempt to absorb the $3.00 cost, as a courtesy, leaving a foul taste and experience to remember. A weak effort, from what seems to be a decent restaurant.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Pizzas were good sized for the price. Pasta was way overpriced.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Authentic, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Outstanding as always. Service and food always exceed expectations.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Awesome stop before your Hippodrome experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Excellent as always, but both pasta dishes were too salted.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We enjoy dining at Forno before a show and this visit did not disappoint. Salad was good, fresh but would have been better with less dressing. Calamari appetizer was of generous size. Tasty garnished with hot red peppers. Occasional fishy taste. The absolute star of the dinner was the short rib! Crunchy coating covering melt-in-your mouth rib presented on a bed of sautéed greens, cubed butternut squash and squash purée. Delectable! Service, as usual, was great.

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Often our choice for dinner before the Hippodrome performances. The waiter was very good as was the food We will see you again next month.

Tags: Historic, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Management wasn't very accommodating on seating requests. Very convenient if going to the Hippodrome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 23, 2016

I love Forno's interpretation of "New Italian" cuisine. The chef uses classic dishes such as ravioli and stuffs them with lamb or mushrooms. The seasonings are rich and suitably selected. Fried oysters and mussels were excellent the evening we dined. Innovative takes on vegetables such as cauliflower. Nice variety of wine selections by the glass.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 20, 2016

We ate here before a performance at Everyman. Our server, Cory, was the perfect mix of skill and attentiveness without hovering. She was upbeat and made helpful suggestions. My salad was very fresh and my tagliatelle was quite tasty. My husband had a seafood pasta and the kitchen put a different sauce on it at his request. This is a pleasant restaurant with a number of different seating options. We will return when we have our next theater performance.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Wood Oven, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Forno is our go-to option for pre-show dinners when we go to Everyman Theater, and they once again served tasty food with a great attitude. They were also very helpful in accommodating some last-minute changes and glitches in our plans.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We were very disappointed in Forno. We had obviously a much higher expectation based on reviews we had read. The food was mediocre at best and the portions were small even though we ordered large portions. Those portions were expensive for a restaurant of this type. Although the service was fine and our waitress attentive, the atmosphere was loud and crowded (we were sitting less than two feet from the next diners -- our tables were maybe a foot apart). If you are looking for a bar atmosphere, it might work, but we were expecting a more elegant experience. In short, we will never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Excellent dinner wonderful restaurant experience!!

Tags: Healthy, Private Room, Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Organic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Good service, good wine and good food in a pleasant and relaxed environment.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Never disappoints

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Great place for a pre-theater drink and nibbles! Waiter continuously disappeared, service not the best, but have been there for lunch and service was much better. Overall, I highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 15, 2016

I like the variety. Always a special always something new

Tags: Casual, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Always a pleasant experience. Good food in a

nice atmosphere.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 11, 2016

I was very impressed with the service - we had to call and change the time of our reservation and they were very accommodating. We arrived at 8pm on a Saturday - people were lined up but our table was ready and waiting - we really appreciated that after being outside freezing all day at a football game!

Our server was so professional, competent, friendly and gracious. The wine she recommended was excellent.

Nearly all the food was fantastic - I had this eggplant and garlic soup that was fabulous!. The gnocchi was great too. I tasted my daughter's chicken pizza and the peppers were way too strong for my taste. Wish they had bread for the table.

I would definitely go again - it was a great experience.

Tags: Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Organic, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Good for Groups, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Awesome meatballs

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The menu changes with the season! Everything was fresh and absolutely delicious! Many menu items are "out of the box ideas" but amazing!

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 8, 2016

The eggplant soup was exceptional, rich and flavorful.

We also had fried oysters which were perfectly prepared.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 8, 2016

It's was great as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.