About Forno Restaurant & Wine Bar

Forno Restaurant & Wine Bar specializes in seasonal, local, and sustainable Modern Italian Cuisine, featuring handmade pastas and brick oven pizzas. Located in the Bromo Tower Arts District, across from the Hippodrome Theater, next to Everyman theater, and a short walk from Oriole Park at Camden Yards, Royal Farms Arena, M&T Bank Stadium, Baltimore Convention Center, the Inner Harbor, and tons of other downtown attractions. Forno offers daily specials, including weekday happy hour and bottomless brunch on the weekends. Our late night menu offers a variety of brick oven pizzas that your tastebuds will love. We also offer gluten-free pizzas and pastas along with a variety of vegetarian options.

17 N. Eutaw St
Baltimore, MD 21201
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Italian, Modern European, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Tue–Sun 11:30 am–11:00 pm

Cross Street:
Eutaw and Fayette

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(443) 873-9427

Website:
http://www.fornobaltimore.com/

Parking Details:
We offer validated parking for the Landmark CenterPoint parking garage located at 310 N. Baltimore St. You may access our restaurant directly from the parking garage, via our back entrance.

Public Transit:
Light Rail, Bus

Executive Chef:
Matthew Audette

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Forno Restaurant & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

Noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (25)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Good for a Date (15)
See All
Casual (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Cozy (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Special Occasion (9)
Fun (8)
Authentic (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Romantic (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Business Meals (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Seasonal (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Vegan (1)
Great Beer (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
611 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

Overall the dining experience was fine, but the food lacked taste. We mentioned the pasta did not have any taste and it was removed. At the same time it was removed the bread was brought. Not sure why the bread was brought after the appetizers and the main meal. The server was nice, but I did notice his nails seemed dirty. It's just not something you want to see when someone is handing you food. The staff was very pleasant and ambiance was very nice.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

A little disappointed at the fall menu......food was just ok......need to add some exciting things, out of the ordinary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Our meals and service were fantastic. Perfect pre-theater dinner. Thank you!

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Cozy, Happy Hour, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was excellent, but service was a little slow. Worth the trip, but leave yourself time.

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Expensive for puny portions that were nice but not anything special. Overrated . Good only for a business lunch where ambiance is good, business is paramount and food need only be an amenity.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

A great place to dine when attending a show at the Hippodrome. We came in to Baltimore from Pennsylvania for a matinee and appreciated the convenience of Forno, plus the food was perfect. Unusual modern Italian, very interesting dishes and pizzas, plus small plates made for a great dining experience.

The reservation process was not perfect but worked out fine. We used Open Table and were unable to get our preferred time, perhaps due to being rather late in making it. Forno's telephone listing went straight to voice mail, and stated the mail box was full, which did not elicit confidence, but the hostess worked with us for a table. She was very pleasant and helpful.

Overall we certainly enjoyed Forno, and we will return again.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 7, 2017

I chose Forno Restaurant and Wine Bar because it is across the street from the France Merrick PAC Hippodrome Theater where we were going directly following our brunch. The food was very good and our service provider was perfect! On our request, they seated us at a private table and timed our meal so we didn't feel rushed. Our reservations were 2.5 hours before the performance. Overall, Forno is a great place to dine in Baltimore!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Convenient before shows at Hippodrome. Food is mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

First time there but will be back food, service all outstanding. Waitress Jude made us feel right home very personable she truly added to the enjoyment of the evening

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 5, 2017

We have enjoyed Forno on several occasions. Never disappointed. We have had the same server numerous times and she is most pleasant and accommodating. Kudos to her!! She made our experience very positive.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Entrees served at the same time as appetizers. Service was inconsistent. The table next to us waited over twenty minutes for someone to take their order.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Great pre-show place right across from Hippodrome. Inventive Italian cuisine; very delicious. Friendly, professional servers.

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Forno keeps getting better and better. Excellent wine selections; great calamari; very good pasta dishes. It gets a little loud, but that's a common problem these days.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 4, 2017

We had a 6:00 p.m. dinner reservation and were delayed due to a traffic accident on I-83. We called Forno's and they had no problem changing our reservation to 6:30 p.m. We were impressed given that many others go to this restaurant prior to attending a show at the Hippodrome.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Came in before a show. Kitchen backed up and it took us close to a hour to get our food. Waiter was very apologetic and we made the show.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 3, 2017

My husband and I dined here just before a show at the Hippodrome this past week - what a fabulous place! We arrived a little early so we sat at the bar and enjoyed happy hour - great wines for $5 a glass. (They also have beer and cocktail specials.) Once seated, we shared a salad, the vegetable of the day, which was Brussels sprouts, and a lovely pasta dish. Everything was fresh, lots of flavor, and simply delicious. Our waiter was friendly and very attentive, but not over-bearing. Love the ambiance here - romantic, cozy, upscale. Super convenient location if you are seeing a show at the Hippodrome - it is literally across the street. Can't wait to return!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Very good as usual and fun, too. Everybody enjoyed the evening.

Tags: Casual, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Authentic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Good place to go before the theater. Nice menu with many options. Location very convenient for two theaters in area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 24, 2017

We had tickets for a Sunday matinee and so for the first time tried Forno for brunch. We had an outstanding flatbread pizza with a salad plus coffee and juice at an outstanding price. The waitress was friendly, prompt, and right on top of the water situation (we drink a lot of it ).

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Even though it was later in the evening on a slow night, the food and service were excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Wonderful meal! The short rib was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 21, 2017

Meal was SLOW in arriving to the table and was luke-warm when it did. We go there because of its location; it, for now, is the best choice in an area with lots of mediocrity.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Pasta dish was very good - pepper lamb over papparadelle. Caesar salad average. Fried oysters sub par. Wine choices on the wine list are good. Extremely convenient location for the Hippodrome and Everyman Theaters. Will probably try again so as to see the range of their food offerings.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Good spot before hitting the local theaters. Delicious house-made pasta in small/large portions.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Our food was delicious. Our waiter was knowledgeable, courteous and helpful. We had a terrific before theatre meal and we'll go again.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly, Cozy, Fun, Healthy, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Delicious wood fired pizza. Other interesting menu items. Went two nights in a row. Happy to give warm recommendation.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Our main courses were very flavorful ( eggplant ravioli and papperadelle( sp?) pasta) but I have to agree with other reviewers who noted that the pasta is seriously underdone. I know what al dente is and my ravioli needed another minute and a half to reach that level. Salads and wine are seriously over priced, although that seems to be the tendency lately. The salad, while large, was mostly romaine lettuce and was $10.00. On a positive note, we were seated in a booth as I had requested and our server was competent and cheerful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Restaurants near performance venues don't need to be great. They can stay in business just by catering to the crowds going to the show across the street. Forno is right across the street from the Hippodrome Theater - but they break the mold. I have had multiple excellent meals there. Decor is rustic. Menu changes but always has pizza. We had a spicy one with chicken and peppers and a small side pasta. The gnocchi is not the typical kind but was delicious in the marinara sauce. Extensive wine, beer, and cocktail list including some original cocktails. Server, Jude, was great. I work nearby and need to eat here more often!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Some of the best food I've ever had. Great service. Friendly staff!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 3, 2017

excellent taste and serving size for the brick-oven pizza, and the Aglio di Pollo is very good if you like medium spicy peppers with heat that builds in your mouth with each piece.

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Food was excellent and offered small plate.
Delightful service. Owner was friendly and checked on satisfaction.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 29, 2017

We went during Baltimore Restaurant Week and two of us ordered from the special menu, two of us from the regular menu. All four of us were quite pleased with the food. Portions were not large but we all left feeling full enough to be satisfied. The menu is creative and interesting with something for everyone. Our waitress made it all the better with friendliness and being knowledgeable to guide between choices.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Great Italian choices, fresh made pasta, delicious flat breads, great service. Perfect place to eat before or after a show. I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 22, 2017

What a great find! Was looking for something close to Camden Yards before a game. Nice menu with light options and terrific wine. Our server Kyle was excellent!

Tags: Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Excellent food. Lobster pizza is a must try. Home made pasta is fabulous. This is a real gem in the city.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Cozy, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Perfect location for a really good dinner before an O's game. Parked on street and then was able to easily walk to game. We'll be back and can hopefully try one of their wine pairing dinners.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Great food , fantastic service!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The server voided our check- so we waited almost an hour for our meal.
When it came out it was hard and more "al dente" than a hearty pasta should be.
Pizza was good- white pizza with truffle oil and mushrooms. crust was perfect.
Server not only voided our check but avoided our table after her mistake.
We had a show to catch so I thought 2 hours was enough time for dinner but I was wrong. It was my 11 year olds birthday and I never even had a chance to ask for a dessert for he since we had no time to eat it. I wanted more and got less than I expected.
I would not recommend this to anyone for anything but pizza and a bar.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 2, 2017

It was pretty ok

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Their pizza is my favorite. Fresh topping creations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.