Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 9 times today

Forno Restaurant & Wine Bar

4.4
739 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary Italian
Top Tags:
  • Pre/post Theatre
  • Good for a Date
  • Casual
Forno Restaurant & Wine Bar specializes in seasonal, local, and sustainable Modern Italian Cuisine, featuring handmade pastas and brick oven pizzas. Located in the Bromo Tower Arts District, across from the Hippodrome Theater, next to Everyman theater, and a short walk from Oriole Park at Camden Yards, Royal Farms Arena, M&T Bank Stadium, Baltimore Convention Center, the Inner Harbor, and tons of other downtown attractions. Forno offers daily specials, including weekday happy hour and bottomless brunch on the weekends. Our late night menu offers a variety of brick oven pizzas that your tastebuds will love. We also offer gluten-free pizzas and pastas along with a variety of vegetarian options.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary Italian, Modern European, Wine Bar
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Tue–Sun 11:30 am–11:00 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(443) 873-9427
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Matthew Audette
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Eutaw and Fayette
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
We offer validated parking for the Landmark CenterPoint parking garage located at 310 N. Baltimore St. You may access our restaurant directly from the parking garage, via our back entrance.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Light Rail, Bus
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 739 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.4
service
4.3
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
89% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 4 days ago

This is a lovely restaurant with a perfect location for pre-theatre dining.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Food is always good here..... the pizza is especially good for young people

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

I love Forno. A total gem. Great food and great service. I had a wonderful pre-theater date with my 3 year old. It was super kid friendly but also delicious!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 9, 2018

This is my "go to" place for pre or post Hippodrome musical or concert events. LOVE FORNOS!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2018

Love the homemade pasta. A real neighborhood gem.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 6, 2018

I have been a subscriber to the Hippodrome since it's inception. Several times during the season, friends and I will have brunch at Forno before the Sunday matinee. Up until my last 2 visits, it has been wonderful and delicious. However, yesterday, the service was slow, and the food was less than mediocre. We arrived by 11:30, were seated promptly, ordered by 11:45, and did not get our food until 12:35. We had a 1:00 curtain. This does not make for pleasant dining. In addition, the food did not live up to prior visits. I would rate it as just above mediocre. We probably will not go back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Generally disappointed. Had been here previously for dinner and really, really liked it. Came for lunch on a Saturday and was really disappointed in both the food quality and limited menu. I wasn't expecting a brunch menu, and wasn't really in the mood for breakfast food. My only other options were a burger or pizza. We ordered one of each and split, and both were burnt - burger bun and pizza crust. At least they were consistent. We didn't have time to request our food be recooked because we had to get to a show across the street. Will go back for dinner, but not for lunch unless I actually want breakfast.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Forno is a great place to dine before or after a show at the Hippodrome or Everyman Theater.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

What a pleasant surprise! Pre-show dinner with friends. Appetizers: fried calamari (crispy, different, nice tomato dipping sauce), meatballs (3 nice size, hearty), arancini (3, nice texture inside and out), and nice salad. Entrees: lobster pizza (a bit wet, cornmeal crust), spaghetti bolognese, and short ribs (tender, juicy, lovely caramelized carrots). Good size portions. Excellent cocktails and beer list. Overall an excellent experience. Gets very noisy though.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2018

Four of us dined at Forno’s before attending a play at the Hippodrome. The restaurant had a good crowd but not so full as to be annoying. Food was satisfactory. And, the service was fantastic. Our waiter was friendly, competent, and made the evening even more enjoyable. Thanks Forno!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 2, 2018

Our waiter Brandon was so nice- as always. He patiently explains everything.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 2, 2018

All our food came out luke warm at best. When we let the server know he was less than happy and it showed the rest of the evening. The meal tasted good and if we were not on a tight time frame as we were seeing a show we would have had our server send it back and warm it up.
When dessert was served we had no utensils. When we asked we were given 2 tea spoons and a serving spoon to eat ice cream. Not sure we would knock ourselves out to go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Great service with surprisingly good food.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 29, 2018

The place is super cute. The waiter was pretty good. The Ceasars salad was way too small for ten bucks and no dressing. I asked for the anchovies never got. We ordered the lobster pizza. Not good at all. But was convienent to hippendrome and service was fast enough.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

I went for dinner with my wife. We loved our pizza. The place has a good collection of wines. I highly recommend for a quiet dinner. Overall a very good experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Perfect place to eat pre show at the Hippodrome. Delish food and great service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 17, 2018

Food was delicious, we had an enclosed booth which made it easy to talk. Server was friendly and professional.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Lovely food and service.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Sadly enough, my experience was not good for the three of us. Personally, my chopped salad was not chopped, and little or no dressing to taste. I did ask for additional dressing, had to ask another wait staff to get it, as my waitress was not available for a long time...my dinner of pasta and short rib was dry also. I think the pizza could be the draw there, but the family next to us, had to return their pizza as it was burned black. Guess it was just a bad day/evening. I tried to call and make a complaint, to no avail.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Forno is a hidden gem! Brunch is always so great, and the bottomless deal is one of the best I have seen. AND there's never anyone there but it's great!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Nice!! Drinks are great...food as well

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

We had a delicious brunch last week sitting outside. The entree were a good size and the gluten-free pizza was exceptional. The crust was definitely one of the best I have ever had.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Best in the last few visits

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Creative menu. Delicious food. Excellent waiter/service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

It was a great place to catch up with my friend.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Forno is the closest restaurant to two performance venues: Everyman Theatre (local ensemble) and the Hippodrome (touring acts). We dine regularly before Everyman. They have a decent selection, including vegetarian, a mix of flatbreads and reasonably priced half portions and entrees, some inventive dishes.

On the plus side, we prefer a particular booth, and we’re almost always able to get it. On the minus, service foul-ups have more than once resulted in our receiving a complex portion or dessert, as was the case tonight.

Overall a very decent pre-theater. Ensue and we’ll continue to patronize.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Made reservations for 2 for pre-theatre seating, but I-95 and city traffic was horrible and we arrived later than expected. I called on the way stating that we were becoming delayed due to traffic and the hostess told us not to worry. When we arrived, the restaurant was full and the wait time was 2 hours. However, our reservation was still honored and we were seated right away. Service was great and we didn't feel rushed to eat to be on time for curtain time. Our food was tasty and well portioned, but wasn't hot, which is the only disappointment.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Had a bad experience with food. Manager tried to make it right but all I wanted was what we ordered and have it cooked corrected

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Had dinner before a concert. Excellent menu. Excellent wine list. Cheese plate with pecans and truffle honey was outstanding. Bianca Pizza was perfect. Great wines ar reasonable prices and nice pours.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 28, 2018

Truly uninspired. I had hopes given what I saw on their facebook page but there was nothing like that on the menu. Tasteless pizza, a weird cocktail, uncrispy, “crispy meatballs,” tasteless calamari, overcooked cauliflower, though a decent, if way overdressed, caesar salad. It’s a shame. The area desperately needs a good restaurant but unfortunately, Forno is not it. Plus, the server didn’t even tell us about the day’s specials, which was fine since they were equally blah, and our water glasses stayed empty.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 27, 2018

This was our second time at Forno's. Overall 4 stars. This time we shared a Caesar salad. Both of us were disappointed..dressing very plain and very little cheese. Not worth the $10 price. My husband ordered 1/2 order of the Spaghetti Bolognese and liked as well as last time. I ordered the mussels with sausage again and although good broth, many shells empty and only 3 measly pieces of sausage. Found bread to be bland. Not as tasty as last time.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 25, 2018

I was a little disappointed we were enjoying our appetizer and wine the the pasta course we ordered came out and then 1 minute later the entree followed. Spacing was not goid

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Outstanding! Super-quick service and great-tasting food!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

We were a little late getting to brunch for our Hippodrome show but we had quick service and got to the show with plenty of time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 22, 2018

Always great food

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 22, 2018

Forno is our favorite pre-theater restaurant. The food is always excellent along with the service. Our waiter Milek handled a very uncomfortable situation very professionally. Make your reservations early.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Great homemade gluten free pasta

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 17, 2018

While the service was wonderful and the atmosphere funky and peaceful, some of the food was lacking. My meal of slow roasted short ribs with palenta was cold and my husband's potato gnocchi was underwhelming. The crispy Brussels Sprouts however, were fantastic!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

The food & drinks were amazing, the service was stellar and the atmosphere was beautiful! We always come here before a concert at the Arena, but make an effort to come more than that, as well. Always a treat!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Pizza was really good..... brunch was @ another level... if you have sweet tooth get the pumpkin pancakes.... way too good
I would venture there again

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
19

Tweets by Forno Restaurant & Wine Bar