About Forno Restaurant & Wine Bar

17 N. Eutaw St
Baltimore, MD 21201
View Larger Map

Forno Restaurant & Wine Bar specializes in seasonal, local, and sustainable Modern Italian Cuisine, featuring handmade pastas and brick oven pizzas. Located in the Bromo Tower Arts District, across from the Hippodrome Theater, next to Everyman theater, and a short walk from Oriole Park at Camden Yards, Royal Farms Arena, M&T Bank Stadium, Baltimore Convention Center, the Inner Harbor, and tons of other downtown attractions. Forno offers daily specials, including weekday happy hour and bottomless brunch on the weekends. Our late night menu offers a variety of brick oven pizzas that your tastebuds will love. We also offer gluten-free pizzas and pastas along with a variety of vegetarian options.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Italian, Organic, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Sunday 11:30am - 12 midnight

Cross Street:
Baltimore and Fayette

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(443) 873-9427

Website:
http://www.fornobaltimore.com/

Parking Details:
We offer validated parking for the first 2 hours in the Landmark CenterPoint parking garage located at 310 N. Baltimore St. You may access our restaurant directly from the parking garage, via our back entrance.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Cafe, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Forno Restaurant & Wine Bar
Forno Restaurant & Wine Bar

Specials

$25 - Pasta and Wine Pairing

Specials

$25 - Pasta and Wine Pairing
Details

Bolognaise Tagliatelle with Forno Ricotta & Basil paired with a glass of Field Recordings 'Fiction' Red Blend

Terms and Conditions: Excludes tax and service

Valid For: 1 - 10 People

Starts: September 9, 2016

Ends: November 30, 2016

Availability: Sun 6:00PM-10:00PM
Tue-Fri 1:15PM-2:30PM 7:45PM-10:00PM
Sat 7:45PM-10:00PM

Private Dining

Forno is available for private bookings. With a 130-seated capacity, a 45 seated private dinning room, as well as a 6-seat private chef's table, there are several options for private dinning, cocktail receptions and other functions. For inquiries, please email fornomanagement@gmail.com

Forno Restaurant & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (27)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Special Occasion (16)
See All
Good for Groups (15)
Notable Wine List (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Great for Lunch (14)
Casual (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Romantic (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Good for a Date (7)
Happy Hour (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Wood Oven (4)
Healthy (4)
Fun (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Cozy (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Business Meals (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Family Style (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
425 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent food, fun atmosphere, will def ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent food, fun atmosphere, will definitely come back

Tags: Wood Oven, Casual, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We love Forno for our pre-theatre dining ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 6 days ago

We love Forno for our pre-theatre dining! The menu is creative and changes frequently; we never feel as if we're going to "the same old place."

Service is consistently friendly and efficient even when most patrons are Everyman-bound.

- a small critique - I like my coffee HOT - not just warm enough

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love coming here - food is always good, ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Love coming here - food is always good, service great (and friendly), and near the theatre.

Tags: Casual, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a perfect very early Sunday dinne ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We had a perfect very early Sunday dinner and loved it. The food is interesting and really good, great veg choices, pizzas, loved the dessert, olive oil lemon cake with blueberry jasmine ice-cream , just delightful!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have been to this restaurant many tim ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We have been to this restaurant many times. The food is always great!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Three of us enjoyed the Saturday Brunch. ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Three of us enjoyed the Saturday Brunch. Each liked her entrée with fresh spring veggies. The Bloody Mary had just the right heat. We had to ask for bread, but it was worth the wait. Service was very good. We especially enjoyed the three different flavors of in-house made ice cream. It is a great dining spot before or after a show.

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Really good food. Great atmosphere. Gr ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Really good food. Great atmosphere. Great before and after events

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Casual, Live Sports, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great pre-concert (Royal Farms Arena) or ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Great pre-concert (Royal Farms Arena) or Pre-Play(Hippodrome) spot! Seated at exactly our reservation time and speedy service!

Tags: Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

never ceases to amuse us. 20th time ther ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

never ceases to amuse us. 20th time there and just love the owners, staff and food!! Great Baltimore moderate restaurant.... Nothing pretentious....

Tags: Organic, Fun, Casual, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second visit this month, again had a won ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Second visit this month, again had a wonderful time. Will be back next time I'm craving Italian!

Tags: Hot Spot, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Casual, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were headed to the Hippodrome, dinner ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We were headed to the Hippodrome, dinner was good. It was a little noisier then other times thought it was not as busy. It is definitely a good place to go before a show.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We went back after more than a year and ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

We went back after more than a year and were not disappointed. Their specialty cocktails are one of a kind with their house infused concoctions. The fresh made oven baked pizzas are delicious with locally sourced ingredients. The home made pastas are worth trying especially the Bolognese sauce! It is a hot spot during theater season since the restaurant is across the street from the famous Hippodrome theater. Reservations a must on those days

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were incredible; we ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The food and service were incredible; we will definitely go back and everything was absolutely amazing. Highly recommend and can't wait to try their bottomless brunch on Saturdays and Sundays!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

My daughter and I were in town for a con ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

My daughter and I were in town for a convention and had an itch for some Italian food. I did a check online and found Forno. They had good reviews which was great but as soon as I read they served "homemade pasta" it was a done deal. I make my own pasta all the time and if you've ever had it you know there's just no comparison. to prepackaged pasta. The Gnocchi with Spinach and Italian sausage was outstanding as was our other dish with a bolognese sauce. Forgot the name of it but it was delicious. If you're in Baltimore and near the inner Harbor/Mount Vernon area I highly recommend checking this place out for some good Italian food. If you're idea of really good Italian food is the Olive Garden then this place might not be for you although I'm sure the chef can have someone run to the store and pick up a jar of sauce for you.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Pleasantly surprised with this restauran ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Pleasantly surprised with this restaurant. The people were so nice, and the food was delicious. It was right across the street from where we were seeing a show, and they even gave us a ticket that took a lot off of our parking in the garage down the street. Great place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Since we dined on a theatre night, servi ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Since we dined on a theatre night, service in the bar area was most confusing to say the least. The small high top next to the bar is where we planted and found after a long wait in line at the bar, that wait staff needed to take our order for wine and beer. Go figure. They were quick and got us out on time however.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great for prior to show as well as if I ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Great for prior to show as well as if I was as neighborhood stop

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always enjoy this place - make a point t ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Always enjoy this place - make a point to go any time I have tickets to the theater - have recommended to many.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The restaurant was unexpectedly quiet on ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The restaurant was unexpectedly quiet on a Saturday evening. Why? The food was mediocre. The service was prompt but we had to ask for bread. I ordered a squid ink risotto with asparagus and lobster. I could not find any lobster and the dish was a bland black lump. My wife ordered a sausage and gnocchi dish which was prettier in appearance but was not that dramatically good.

We arrived on time and were seated promptly. I suspect we were receiving the last food before the kitchen closed for the evening @ 11pm on a Saturday night in Baltimore. That being said, I wont write this place off until I've had an opportunity to try them at an earlier hour of the evening.

Great place to go just prior to a show at the Hippodrome across the street.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

I have never been disappointed dining at ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

I have never been disappointed dining at Forno. The food is always excellent with wonderful service. I recommend making reservations well in advance if there is a show at the Hippodrome or Everyman Theatre as this is a popular dining spot for those attending a show.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Enjoyable every time

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Dined at Forno prior to attending the theater. They did a great job getting us in and out on time. The server was great...the food was delicious and the ambience was upbeat and lively. Been there before and will go there again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This little neighborhood gem is just del ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

This little neighborhood gem is just delightful! The rustic, inviting decor, the selection of hops and the brick oven pizzas are awesome! We went pre-theatre and had a great time, so convenient to the Hippodrome & Royal Farms Arena venues! Check it out for sure, you won't be disappointed. The salads, apps and entrees were also superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent date night

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

I absolutely love Forno. The food is amazing, as is the ambiance. I can't wait to go back for another date night with the husband.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A bit disappointed

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

I have been to this restaurant several times before. I have to say that I was disappointed with the food and the service this time. I ordered the pasta bolognaise. and it came out very quickly, but was on the cold side and the pasta was clumped together and a bit hard. It tasted like it was sitting there for a while. The farmers pizza was also ordered that was very flavorful. We ordered 2 desserts. Both were just ok. The chocolate mousse with salted caramel was just ok, the brownies that were on top were hard and tasted a bit stale. The salted caramel sauce was outstanding. The Mango semifreddo was ok. It didn't really taste like mango though. I have had the chocolate hazel nut semifreddo several times before and that has always been wonderful and one of the reason's that we keep coming back. Our waiter seem to be pre occupied. It seems that he has 2/3 tables in our section and tables elsewhere in the restaurant. He wasn't very attentive, didn't visit us often, and took a while to get back to us.

I will chalk this up to a bad night in the restaurant, perhaps there were new people in the kitchen. I will try it again and hope for better results.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

Convenient for the Theater

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

We visited Forno prior to going to a show at The Hippdrome. Not only is it very convenient, the food was very, very good. Having had pasta the first time I dined there, this past time I had the pizza...it was delicious. And the Affogato for dessert was to die for!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Convenient, good food

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Went to Forno before preformance at Royal Farms with friends. Food was better than average but the menu is limited. The waiter was poor...didn't even know the size of the pizzas (their signature dish), had to request more beer, salt and pepper twice before he could remember. the kitchen was slow on Thurs night so on busy weekends it could be an issue. Would recommend it if you love Italian food and have lots of time. Napkins gave us a good laugh...they use red shop rags for napkins. Guess it adds to the rustic theme.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Surprise find

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

In a neighborhood not known for culinary excellence a decade ago, this was a wonderful surprise!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I did not receive my 100 points for dini ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

I did not receive my 100 points for dining here on 6/7/2016.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Great atmosphere. Really great pizzas. A ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Great atmosphere. Really great pizzas. Also calamari with lemon sauce was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Serves the purpose

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

There aren't many places to dine near Everyman. We cycle between Heidi's, Maiwand Grill and Forno. Forno is by far the nicest of the 3 in terms of ambience. The food is fine - but not my favorite. The pizza is really good - but I don't like to eat a lot of pizza. Their other dishes are pretty uneven. Some are heavily spiced, and others - like the gnocchi - are really quite unbalanced in terms of flavor. The gnocchi itself is clearly homemade, but bland and weak-textured. I did have a lovely cocktail and the dessert was really good - the chocolate mousse with brownie and yummy salted caramel. We'll go back - but will wish we had another nice place to choose from.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We were there for a pre-theater dinner. ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

We were there for a pre-theater dinner. It was fine for that, but it is not a great Italian restaurant, but a reasonable one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

The calamari was excellent. The mussels ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

The calamari was excellent. The mussels were undercooked and came out cool, like they had sat for a while. The flat bread was excellent. The service was great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Great pre-theater dinner spot!

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Ambiance, food and value are great. In fact, food is very tasty and I've tried a variety of menu items, including various appetizers. Service seems hit and miss. It is quick and efficient, especially for the pre-theater crowd, but seems to lack in friendliness and engagement. I will continue to return, however, since it is an ideal spot before watching a show at Hippodrome or Everyman Theatre. Thanks.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Disappointed

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

We are season ticket holders at Everyman Theatre and have seen Forno advertised in playbills for a few years. We decided to try it before our play last week and I was really optimistic about it, even after seeing mixed reviews. We started with a glass of wine, a bit on the warm side even for red wine. I had the Caesar salad and the server made a point of letting us know that the anchovies were in the dressing. Anchovies are a turn-off for my husband, but I had the salad and it was fine - more of a deconstructed salad. I tasted no anchovies at all and wondered why the server told us about them being in the dressing. For dinner, I had the bologna se and my husband had the pizza. The server said the bolognese was one of her favorites. I found it only so-so. It was very bland. Edible, but not enjoyable. My husband's pizza had a nice thin crust, but it was limp (I could see as soon as he picked up a slice the it wouldn't be crispy). And it had too much cheese. I heard the server interact with a couple next to us - apparent regulars - including discussion about the dessert menu. I waited for ours, thinking I might try some gelato. It never came. Our meal came to nearly $100 and wasn't worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

After Work Meeting Spot

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Perfect spot for a quiet but upscale place to hold a meeting. Food is always delicious

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very close to the theater- food was just ok

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Server was great, very attentive. Salads were nice and large. We ordered small pasta dishes and they were small. The gnocchi dish had exactly 12 gnocchi. The squid ink risotto was better than it sounded, but there were only 2 small pieces of lobster in the dish. Nice that there was gluten free pasta as an option. Server was able to get us out in time for our theater start time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Kevin was an awesome server. Attentive w ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Kevin was an awesome server. Attentive without being intrusive and very knowledgeable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My friend and I had tickets to Everyman ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

My friend and I had tickets to Everyman Theater, and Forno is a great pre-show option. The wine list was extensive, and the server was knowledgable about the wine choices. We split the asparagus appetizer, and a truffle pizza. I would recommend letting the server know in the beginning that you are going to a show, however, as they did not rush to get the check to us. I recommend this place to anyone who is in that part of town for a show. Not sure I'd go as a destination in itself

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

We were there on a Sunday night. It was ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We were there on a Sunday night. It was not crowded at all. The food was really sub-par. It was one of those occasions where I spent $150 for a meal (for four people - no alcohol) and knew, just as the food was served, that it would be disappointing. The service was slow. And one final point: they have a choice of a full or a half-portion for things like pasta. I chose a half-portion, for $14.00, and it was TINY.

I don't mind paying a moderate to high price for fair to excellent food. But I hate paying money for just plain bad food, and I'm sorry to say that is what we got at Forno.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

This is our go-to venue for dinner befor ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

This is our go-to venue for dinner before our Everyman shows. The food is tasty, the servers are pleasant, and we are generally very satisfied each time.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.