About Forno Restaurant & Wine Bar

Forno Restaurant & Wine Bar specializes in seasonal, local, and sustainable Modern Italian Cuisine, featuring handmade pastas and brick oven pizzas. Located in the Bromo Tower Arts District, across from the Hippodrome Theater, next to Everyman theater, and a short walk from Oriole Park at Camden Yards, Royal Farms Arena, M&T Bank Stadium, Baltimore Convention Center, the Inner Harbor, and tons of other downtown attractions. Forno offers daily specials, including weekday happy hour and bottomless brunch on the weekends. Our late night menu offers a variety of brick oven pizzas that your tastebuds will love. We also offer gluten-free pizzas and pastas along with a variety of vegetarian options.

17 N. Eutaw St
Baltimore, MD 21201
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Italian, Organic, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Sunday 11:30am - 12 midnight

Cross Street:
Eutaw and Fayette

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(443) 873-9427

Website:
http://www.fornobaltimore.com/

Parking Details:
We offer validated parking for the Landmark CenterPoint parking garage located at 310 N. Baltimore St. You may access our restaurant directly from the parking garage, via our back entrance.

Public Transit:
Light Rail, Bus

Executive Chef:
Matthew Audette

Private Party Facilities:
Forno is available for private bookings. With a 130-seated capacity, a 45 seated private dinning room, as well as a 6-seat private chef's table, there are several options for private dinning, cocktail receptions and other functions. For inquiries, please email fornomanagement@gmail.com

Private Party Contact:
Ricky Johnson: (443) 873-9427

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Forno Restaurant & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (58)
Casual (31)
Fit for Foodies (25)
See All
Good for a Date (25)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Cozy (18)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Fun (15)
Notable Wine List (14)
Special Occasion (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Bar Seating (12)
Happy Hour (12)
Great for Lunch (12)
Authentic (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Romantic (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Wood Oven (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Open Kitchen (7)
Business Meals (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Seasonal (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Healthy (4)
Hot Spot (4)
People Watching (3)
Organic (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Private Room (3)
Tapas (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Historic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Vegan (1)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Family Style (1)
Great Beer (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
565 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

We went here for Sunday brunch and everything from the french toast to the pizza was delicious. We did not have bloody marys or mimosas but the unlimited deal with brunch seems great! Delicious, authentic wood fired pizzas!

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

Our waiter was excellent from wine recommendation to enter choice. The food came a little too quickly but all in all it was the best experience I've had there.

Tags: Quick Bite, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 6 days ago

Waiter was inattentive. Not at all interested in the service of a couple of lunchers. Food was not served hot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 7 days ago

I had higher hopes for Forno after reading ratings on OT. Maybe I just ordered the wrong thing (Cod BLT sandwich) which was tasty, but nearly impossible to eat without a bib(!), especially on the tiny plate. The size of the plates was oddly small compared to the size of the sandwich. I was at business lunch so had to make an extra effort for it to not explode all over me. My colleague ordered a Margarita pizza which looked good but I didn't sample. Good food quality so I'd be willing to give it another try.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Forno is very convenient, both to the Hippodrome and Arena, as well as other downtown attractions. However, it is very noisy - we had a hard time talking to each other across the table. Also, the service was slow. Our wine was not served until after our appetizers came. The server told us that he was waiting for wine glasses! He also never served us bread. The menu is limited, but the food is very tasty. We did not try any pizzas, but the ones we saw looked very good.

Tags: Hot Spot, Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Loved the variety of food and wine! Our server made our experience! Knowledgeable, fun, and sweet! It was her first night and we were her first table. Would have never known. Fun restaurant!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fun, Hot Spot, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 13, 2017

This is a good place for pre-theater dining for the Hippodrome & Everyman. There are not other restaurants of this quality in the area so it requires a reservation weeks in advance on nights when both theaters have shows on. So I make our reservations way in advance when we go to theater, so we can be sure of a delicious and creative meal that can be served quickly and get us out for curtain time.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Our dinner celebrating a retirement and a birthday was very nice. We attended Everyman Theatre afterwards so we had a relatively light dinner sharing watermelon soup which was perfect for a very warm evening, a beet salad with creamy feta and sugared crispy pine nuts (a first for us and it was great on the salad) and for the main course, pizza which was fresh tomatoes with a crispy crust. I like mine with meat and it was very good.

We have dined at Forno in the past and have always been impressed with the food and the friendly staff. Our waiter, I'm sorry I don't recall his name, was wonderful! He was so very pleasant and helpful with selecting and refilling our drinks. Such a nice young man is a real plus when it comes to excellent service. The hostess was funny and very welcoming and started off our dinner with a big smile.

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 13, 2017

As good as the food at Forno is their staff is even better. I had asked for a quiet table because my husband is hearing impaired and we were shown to the most quiet and intimate table in the restaurant. I ask for a quiet table every time I make a reservation anywhere but have never gotten this level of consideration. The hostess could not have been more welcoming which really started our evening off on a perfect note. Our server, Kyle, knew the menu and wine list cold and was an enormous help to the four of us. He was ably assisted by another server. If we had one thing to offer as an area of improvement it would be that there was an extraordinarily long lapse between our salad and entrees. Kyle knew we were headed to the theater so he did make sure we had time to enjoy coffee and dessert and still make the opening curtain. We'll go back for sure.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The lobster pizza blew me away. The arugula added a mild nuttiness that complemented the mild flavor of the lobster.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Mule cocktail was very good, Mojito was very short on mint. Calamari was large and delicious, eggplant ravioli was also very good. The entree special was not available. No protein could be added to salads service was a bit slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Good food and interesting wine list. What's not to like?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Arrived at our 5:30 PM reservation time and it was on the early side so many of the tables were empty, however, they seated us at a very sunny table in front of window, asked to sit at any of the other four empty tables and was told that all the tables were pre-arranged for the evening. Someone came over to help with the shades, which were broken. When they left, I had to rig the shades otherwise we would left. My hands got filthy from the dust, when the hostess came rushing over to tell me not to fuss with the already broken shades.
Ordered antipasto and a pasta appetizer, both of which tasted good, only problem, the pasta came out when the antipasto was already done, so the entire table did not eat together. Asked for extra crustini for the antipasto, never came. Same thing for the 2nd round of drinks.
Entrees came out approximately 30 minutes after table was cleared, trout was completely burned. The pizza was good, the eggplant ravioli was good, the confit chicken was meh. How would anyone ever let a plate with black burned fish ever leave the kitchen? They did wind up taking off, thank goodness the pizza was large enough for two people.
Ambiance? Wooden tables and uncomfortable wooden chairs on the small side and not flat, so it cut circulation to legs. Napkins are miniscule and do not cover your lap. Waiter never came back after entrees were served to check on us. Also, we noticed when we were getting ready to leave, that other tables were getting bread and butter, we never were offered.
I can't believe this was top 50 in Baltimore magazine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 9, 2017

The service was fabulous. I ordered trout and it was overcooked. I liked the veggie sides but my husband would have preferred something more substantial. Potatoes were not an option.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Delicious and very reasonable price for a quality downtown restaurant. Great before Oriole's game. Discounted parking and an easy walk to stadium.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The evening started off GREAT. We have been here a number of times before. Our server Ryan was very attentive UNTIL it was time for the Entree. We had to request our Entree with another server 20 minutes after Ryan told us it was almost ready. It was finally delivered by someone else. My wife's trout was so over cooked she could not eat it - and NO ONE ever came back to check on us. We tried to get some attention. We were only able to flag down Ryan when it was time for the check (before a theatre time we shared when we first sat down) and too late to correct the entree problem. Of course he removed the trout from the bill, but that was not the point. We are happy to pay for good food and service. This expected great experience turned disappointing. We will seek other restaurants in the future to dine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Our Saturday night dinner at Forno was terrific. It was our first time at Forno; we were a party of five going to the evening play at Everyman Theatre. We wanted to order an abundance small/medium plates to share, tapas-style; also, we wanted all vegetarian choices, to accommodate two of us. The server was imaginative & helpful with our idea; in the end we got two double choices (a double order of one salad & a double order of the haricots vert & pesto special), two pizzas, and two pasta choices (one w/eggplants, one gnocci). The salad & green beans were served first. It worked! The wine was good, too, as was dessert.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Organic, Tapas, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Fun, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 2, 2017

We chose Forno for pre-theatre dining in the heart of Baltimore's theatre district, but we will go back for a casual meal anytime we are downtown. The food was very good and fresh. We shared the seasonal salad as the salad portions are quite generous--mixed, tender greens with beets, goat cheese and caramelized walnuts in a vinaigrette dressing. We enjoyed the artichoke pizza and eggplant ravioli. Great choices--not too heavy and very flavorful. One thing I especially like here (and restaurants that also do this) is there were salt and pepper mills on the tables--no need asking our server for one of those huge, showy pepper mills that is in the hands of someone else. It's a small thing, but much appreciated.

The interior is simple, modern, rustic Italian -- without any kitschy checked table cloths and wine bottles with melted candles. We made reservations through Open Table and asked for a quiet corner in the comments area and our table was tucked into a corner where we could talk and hear each other easily!

I would recommend Forno for simple, tasty food, without a lot of glitz and with nice atmosphere.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 1, 2017

We treated a couple of colleagues to Forno's for a farewell luncheon. We were seated immediately, the hostess and wait staff were friendly and helpful, and the food was delicious!

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Food was outstanding, but expensive. The pasta was good, but some selections are better than other. The lobster pizza was outstanding. The expresso / ice cream dessert was excellent. The only downside was the server who wasn't having a good day.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Forno is a relatively good restaurant, but could be a very good restaurant. The menu is heavy on meat, and there are very few vegetarian options for one who does not eat meat or seafood unless one wants to dine on pizza. Even the vegetables seem to include some type of meat. At our last visit, our server suggested pasta with pomodoro sauce and veggies as a vegetarian option. The pasta arrived, sans veggies. The server was busy as so many folks are dining pre theatre, and we were unable to get his attention, until the check came. When we mentioned that there were no veggies with the pasta, his reaction was "Oh". No appology, no effort to make a small accomodation on the check as the dish was charged as pomodoro with veggies. Customer service "zero" at this visit.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We decided to try this restaurant before an O's game. We tried to get a 5:00 or 5:30 reservation that morning but they were unavailable so we took 4:30. At 5 there was only one other table filled. They chose to seat a table of 9 right next to us when everything else was empty. Wine list was extensive but small print in a dark room made it difficult to read. Food took quite some time even though the only " dinner " people were the two tables. I got a pasta dish and would have liked some bread to soak up the sauce. Food was fine and priced reasonably. Napkins were really old small dish rags that barely covered half of my lap. No atmosphere, no music, dark even though it wasn't sunset yet. If I lived nearby I might try again but would not go out of my way. We left at 5:45 and still numerous empty tables, no idea why we couldn't get a later reservation.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great food and fantastic service! Went for dinner before a show and had a great time. Thank you Adrian for taking good care of us :)

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We had an amazing time! 10/10! Will be sure to go back any time we see a show at the Hippodrome. Food was amazing and could have asked for a better waitstaff.

Tags: Wood Oven, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 9, 2017

The food was delicious and our service was amazing. The waiter was very knowledgeable and the food came out quick.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 9, 2017

This was my second visit. This time for a business luncheon, previously for brunch. Both meals were excellent, served by friendly servers, and in a cozy, pleasant atmosphere. Now I need to try them for dinner! Too bad I live in Boston!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Open Kitchen, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Had never been there, met a colleague while attending a conference in Baltimore. The brick oven pizzas are a little creative and unique - i had the artichoke pizza and added some of my own ingredients - my colleague did the same with the margherita. They were both great - the artichoke had just the right level of tang and brightness from the kalamata olives. Even tho i was in a hotel, i took some back and put it in the mini-fridge and enjoyed it later that evening after working.
Friendly staff, attractive and comfortable space, and good value.

Tags: Family Style, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Pizza was ok. Meatballs were hard as a rock and not tasty. We were eating before a kids show and there weren't enough high chairs for the kids in the restaurant and there weren't that many. When you are located across the street from a theatre, you'd think that you'd be a bit better prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Nice quiet table for a late lunch to talk business. Restaurant almost empty at 2 PM on a Thursday. Good service and good food. I'll go back.

Tags: Private Room, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Love this place. The food is innovative and tasty. Brock oven pizza is also really good. My only complaint is that the wine is waaaay overpriced. $7.50 for 3 oz is way too much. $14 for a usual pour. The cinnamon panna cota is one of the best deserts I've ever had.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Excellent food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Just a great find - superb food and service - for those near the Baltimore stadiums, it is well worth the short walk either before or after a game. The owner makes his presence known which adds to the comfort and ambiance of an intimate gathering place. Ordered a side vegetable dish of sliced fennel stalks, with bacon, onion and who knows what secret sauce , knowing it would be different and maybe not so great - are you kidding me - absolutely brilliant !!! Go, you won't be dissapointed

Tags: Cozy, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Fun, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 23, 2017

My friends and I have eaten her several times before or after the theater. Consistently good, fresh food. We appreciate the changing menu!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Great game night meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Nice place for before or after the Hippodrome. Very fresh ingredients, home made pasta and great pizzas. You'll need a reservation, but worth trying out for yourself!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The changing menu offers a wide and unique variation of food. The hostess was personable and professional. The server was knowledgeable and very friendly. Took time to explain ingredients and meals. OUTSTANDING!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 22, 2017

All around fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Love going to Forno before shows at The Hippodrome! I've never been disappointed with the food or the service. And the Affagato is to die for!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Great food and location for pre-theater (Everyman or Hippodrome) dining. But tell them we had to throw away the delicious half pizza my friend was taking home b/c the Hippodrome would not allow it in!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 14, 2017

We went to Forno because we were seeing a show at The Hippodrome. It is very convenient and we had heard some good reviews. Our waiter was ok, but not great. The drinks seemed focused more on being edgy than tasty. The food was very good, but very, very rich. If I went again I would get a salad and an appetizer to (hopefully) cut down on the richness.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.