About Formaggio Grill Kailua

305 Hahani St
Kailua, HI 96734
View Larger Map

Savor over 50 wines by the glass at Kailua's toast of the town. Indulge yourself with an array of succulent steaks, chops, prime rib and fresh Hawaiian fish. Enjoy savory hot pot classics, thin crust pizzas, pasta and Panini. In the mood for a burger? Try our world famous 'Kobe' Panini. Other crowd pleasers include the 'watermelon & rocket salad' and the 'lobster bisque to live for' gets rave reviews nightly. Taste unique wines from around the world to perfectly pair with the casual Mediterranean gourmet fare.

The interior is a warm and comfortable environment with welcoming tones of Tuscan reds and golds, decorated with the art of Ron Genta. Soft lowered lights cast aglow about the restaurant, reflecting off of the plush red stools and wooden friendship bar-style tables.

Achieving that perfect blend of "upscale" yet casual, Formaggio Grill is the "gathering place" for the Windward side. Come enjoy the good food, fine wine, and great friends at Formaggio Grill in Kailua.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Friday, Saturday and Sunday from 11:30 am - 4:00 pm

Wine O' Clock w/ Special Tapas from 4:30 pm - 6:00 pm daily

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:30 pm - 9:30 pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30 pm - 10:30 pm

Cross Street:
Kailua Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 263-2633

Website:
http://www.formaggio808.com/

Entertainment:
Live music on Friday and Saturday from 9:30pm - 11:30pm.

Catering:
From PARTY PLATTERS to BENTO BOXES we offer affordable catering to fit all your needs.

1. CARRY-OUT Catering: Drop by Formaggio Grill and pick up the food. It will be boxed up and ready to go.

2. DROP-OFF Catering:
Let us bring the food out to you. Enjoy the convenience of home or office delivery. *

3. SET UP & SERVE Catering: We will set up, service, take-down and clean so you can relax and enjoy. *

4. NEED A PLACE TO PARTY?: The Gallery at Formaggio Grill is our beautiful private room with comfortable seating for up to 36 guests. *

*Additional fees or minimums may apply.

Parking Details:
FREE PARKING at the front and rear of Hahani Plaza. Additional free parking at adjacent shopping center lots across the street. Adjacent post office parking lot requires small $2.00 fee after 5:00 pm

Public Transit:
Da Bus stops across the street on Kailua Road with service to 10:00 pm.

Executive Chef:
Christopher Merez

Private Party Facilities:
Celebrate life in The Gallery at Formaggio Grill. Our beautiful new room offers intimate private dining in an elegant yet remarkably relaxed setting. It features a double vaulted arched ceiling with Italian blown glass chandeliers. Commissioned pieces of 'wine art' by eclectic artist Ron Genta grace the gallery walls. It's the perfect place to gather with business associates or family and friends. There is comfortable seating for up to 36 guests all at one table. Our big screen monitor and Bose stereo complements your audio / visual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Wes Zane: 8082632633x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Garlic'd Ribeye
Crab Crusted Salmon
Sangria
Ribeye Steak
Lobster Bisque
Cheesecake
Filet Mignon With Fried Onions And Bearnaise Sauce
French Onion
Grand Marnier Creme Brulee
Sweet potato fries
Caprese Salad
Brie & broccoli pastry
Risotto Cakes
Processco
Cono Sur Pinot Noir From Chile
Beef Bourguignon
Truffle Fries
Anchovies
Lamb Taco
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese
Truffle Oil French Fries
pizza puttanesca
Beet Salad
Onion Soup
Kahlua creme brulee
Fonduta
Bananas Foster French Toast
Crab Cakes
Kobe Burger Panini
Petite Filet Mignon
Chocolate Souffle
Tiramisu
Kiawe Smoked Prime Rib
Formaggio De La Casa
Chicken Parmesan

Formaggio Grill Kailua Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Oahu
Best Restaurants in Kailua ›

notable wine list (4)
romantic (4)
neighborhood gem (4)
See All
fit for foodies (2)
good for groups (2)
special occasion (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
late-night find (1)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
341 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

I love the Kobe burger, the paella, and ...

Dined 5 days ago

I love the Kobe burger, the paella, and the hot pots here. win elist is good, manager is really friendly and helpful. Service this past visit was slow, the burger had mayonaise despite repeated requested to NOT have it on there, so I wasnt able to enjoy it as I usually do. But, we will go back.. I do wish they would bring back the prime rib french dip.. that was also a delicious meal.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service3

I'm torn...My meal was good. Had the Kob ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

I'm torn...My meal was good. Had the Kobe burger...very delicious. My date had the steak and lobster. The steak was mediocre at best and the lobster was the worst I've had in my life. Just horrible. I love lobster but I had to spit it out it was so awful. Service was ok, nothing exceptional.

food5
ambience5
service5

The food was great as well as the servic ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

The food was great as well as the service..the house sangria is a must.. And the escargot was amazing.. Defined coming back

food3
ambience4
service2

Grilled vegetables very good. Ahi was ok ...

Dined on June 6, 2016

Grilled vegetables very good. Ahi was okay...risotto rather tasteless.

food5
ambience4
service4

Quality food at fair prices. A bit loud ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Quality food at fair prices. A bit loud for me, but not too loud. Nice energy about the restaraunt. Super friendly staff. Will for sure go back.

food5
ambience4
service5

Fondue was awesome, as was the kale and ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Fondue was awesome, as was the kale and beet salad (I added salmon which was perfectly cooked). Worth the drive from Ewa Beach--we'll be back!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great choice

Dined on March 18, 2016

Had been awhile since I had been here. Glad I came back. Excellent food. Had the fish special and Paella. Great drinks. All around nice evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Went to their weekend lunch. The shrimp ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

Went to their weekend lunch. The shrimp humus was mixed with oil and spices and served with bread. The sangria was full of fresh fruit. A unique and enjoyable meal for much less than other places on the island.

food4
ambience4
service4

Good food and family friendly. You have ...

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

Good food and family friendly. You have to try the lobster mac n cheese!

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A solid go-to for a nice dinner

vip
Dined on February 22, 2016

My husband and I like to bring people here because there's something for everyone, and the ambiance is good for couples night or going out with a group. We've been here on New Years Eve and various holidays, and it never disappoints. Good food, friendly staff, nice ambiance.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

Service & drinks great, ambience & food lacking.

Dined on February 15, 2016

This was my third visit to Formaggio Grill Kailua and feel confident in my decision to avoid visiting this location any further. My last visit was on Valentine's Day 2016. Although the service and drinks were great, the ambience and food were sub par. Our meal consisted of the Calamari Fritti ($11.25) and Escargo Bleu ($14.25) appetizers, Steak Neptune ($4o) and Lobster Risotto ($47) entrees, and Gelato with Aged Balsamic Vinegar ($5.95). The Escargo and Gelato were the only items that were decent. The Calamari was oily, Steak Neptune was under sauced, and the Lobster was extremely salty and difficult to separate from the shell slices. In addition on previous visits live music was present though on Valentine's day nothing was scheduled. The mood was moderate to loud, and the tables were a little too close together.

food5
ambience4
service5

Thank you for seating us on time.

Dined on February 15, 2016

Thank you for seating us on time.

food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Forget Formaggio

Dined on January 19, 2016

So disappointed in the fare at Formaggio Kailua. The food was entirely forgettable and, in my case, nearly inedible. I ordered the paella, but the sauce tasted like it had sat on the stove for too long, and the seafood tasted far from fresh. It was a congealed mess. I've had wonderful, delicately cooked paella before but this dish wasn't even close. With the restaurant's overpriced menu and underwhelming fare, we won't be returning anytime soon.

Tags: notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Best Premium Burger in Kailua

vip
Dined on January 18, 2016

Formaggio's continues to be our "go to" spot when we have a hankering for a great burger. Their wagyu beef burger continues to be the best premium burger in our beach community, bar none. We've tried others but we continue to return here. And the bartender makes a killer rye manhattan. Burger, fries and manhattan...it's all good ;)

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good restaurant in Kailua

vip
Dined on January 5, 2016

One of the better restaurants for dinner in Kailua.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A family favorite in Kailua

Dined on December 30, 2015

Good location, great service and consistently good food. Very family friendly and accommodating for special requests. Would always recommend to friends, especially the fantastic wine selection.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place, hidden gem! Excellent food!

Dined on December 28, 2015

Great place, hidden gem! Excellent food!

food3
ambience2
service1

Took at least 5 minutes before anyone no ...

Dined on December 27, 2015

Took at least 5 minutes before anyone noticed we were even there waiting for someone to greet us even though the servers passed us a few times to type in their orders in the machine right in front of us. No smile or warm feeling from the waiter. The appetizer we ordered was the delicious Fonduta that came with 6 pieces of crostini and costing $15.50. We asked for a little more bread to finish off the fondou. If I'd know we'd be charged for it, I would have portioned the crostini, and not asked for more bread, it wasn't even more crostini. I thought they gave complimentary bread like most restaurants do or at least make up for the long wait to be greeted and served. I used to love coming here and thought it was worth the drive from Kapolei to come out for a long overdue date night without the kids.

food1
ambience1
service1
value5

Christmas Day

Dined on December 26, 2015

Overpriced, below average service and when making a reservation we were seated in the 'family room' where kids were allowed to run around, spin and scream at the top of their lungs without notice from the staff. My 12 ounce prime rib was 6 ounces of fat, green beans were uncooked and my wife's lobster macaroni was bland. The one good thing was the wine since they only had to uncork it rather than prepare it. My holiday was very happy because of my date, not because of anything the restaurant did. I will never return.

Tags: kid-friendly, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

Blah

vip
Dined on December 25, 2015

the food, service and ambiance were all rather mediocre. If you're into that kind of an experience this is the place for you

food4
ambience4
service5

We enjoyed the Live entertainment very m ...

Dined on November 21, 2015

We enjoyed the Live entertainment very much. It's too bad it's only late on the weekends. I always see more people during that time. Great night : )

food4
ambience4
service4

Caring

vip
Dined on November 12, 2015

Brought in Mrs. Wong. They were very helpful with her condition. The food was very enjoyable as well. The noise level unfortunately was very loud. The high ceilings and open kitchen causes the noises to bounce off the walls. If you go try and not to sit facing the parking lot. All the cars come and park and leave their lights on so the blind you. :( OVer all a great place to eat. Thank you for caring for Mrs. Wong.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service3

some good and some bad

Dined on November 9, 2015

My guest said it was the best Mac and Cheese she's ever had and the calamari was also good. The lobster bisque was so salty it was inedible and confirmed by everyone at the table. The return of the dish was not handled as well as hoped by the server but it was removed from the bill. A simple confirmation from the chef would have been appreciated .

food4
ambience4
service5

Appetizer & Main Dish

Dined on November 9, 2015

The calamari & escargot was very good. Prime Rib was Bomb. So soft you could cut it with a butter knife. Only thing is I wish it came out much warmer. I am not one for room temp food. I like my food more on the hot side. Other than that I will definitely eat there again and of course will order the Prime Rib.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

It was just .... ok

Dined on November 8, 2015

Wasn't so impressed this second time around. Come to think of it I wasn't impressed the first time around. But I went here out of desperation since I was last minute eating. The food was actually decent wasn't amazing, but decent. They were packed and did their best to make sure we were taken cared of. The staff is very nice and restaurant was very clean. Just not my place I guess

food5
ambience4
service5

Great Dining Experience...

Dined on October 10, 2015

Taking our mom for her 80th birthday celebration was nothing short of fabulous! The ten of us enjoyed an array of entrees and appetizers in which we were able to share a taste of. Everything was wonderful including the succulent ribeye steak and scampi, a marvelous rack of ribs, splendid paella, moist fresh salmon, crunchy bruschetta, amazing French onion soup, terrific prime rib and scampi paired with signature mashed potatoes, tasty calamari, fabulous pasta and shrimp, and even a juicy burger just to name a few. The presentations of the dishes were awesome and the temperatures for each item was right on. We also enjoyed a few bottles of some fine wine which were exquisite to our palates. The service was excellent as there was virtually little wait time and everyone smiled! The lighting was a little dim but the ambiance suited the occasion. The location was perfect being that most of us are from the windward side and parking wasn't a problem. Management was great as they made it a point to check on us periodically to see if everything was going well. They even came by to make conversation and say happy birthday to our mom topped off with a complimentary dessert for her. We highly recommend paying a visit to Formaggios in Kailua for any occasion; you won't regret it. Though the prices may seem a bit on the higher side for some of the entrees, overall it's a fair range. This wonderful evening was well worth it. We will definitely return in the near future.

Tags: late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful Experience, Great food, great service

Dined on September 27, 2015

Went to Formaggio for our wedding anniversary and we sat at the bar and had a full menu and the choices were extensive and elaborate. We really enjoyed the food and the service was very attentive and on point. They even surprised us with a complimentary dessert for our anniversary. We loved it and will definitely return and recommend to family and friends. It was our third time at Formaggio.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service4

Wine bar

Dined on September 13, 2015

This place is amazing for winos. Great wine list and has wine on tap!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food1
ambience1
service1

Had high hopes of this restaurant from h ...

vip
Dined on September 9, 2015

Had high hopes of this restaurant from hearing that's it's one of the nicer ones in Kailua , unfortunately I left disappointed . My favorite part and only reason why I'm giving it 2 stars is the sangria , but my ribs were very dry and my husbands Chicago style sandwich had no flavor. Very unhappy with my meal and paying $85 and not even wanting to eat what I ordered is a huge let down .

food1
ambience3
service1

Not a Fan.

vip
Dined on September 1, 2015

We were told that the lobster was Maine Lobster...which it wasn't. The lobster was overcooked as was the prime rib (even though we had asked for medium). Waiter was not as attentive for a restaurant that only had a total of six guests in it.

food4
ambience5
service3

Classy Neighborhood Gem

Dined on September 1, 2015

This restaurant was sophisticated with a creative menu and great wine list. Much more romantic than family oriented. They were accommodating to the child that was part of our party, though.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Always wonderful food! The warm beet & ...

vip
Dined on August 30, 2015

Always wonderful food! The warm beet & kale salad, French onion soup, zucchini & squid, shrimp with pesto won't disappoint!

food5
ambience4
service4

Hot spot

Dined on August 29, 2015

Great food, good service, & hip crowd...the owner/manager recognized that my husband & I were wine lovers (probably based on the bottle that we brought to the restaurant) and was very friendly and welcoming...he even had a special dessert made for us to compliment our wine. We will definitely be returning to dine there again...not just for the service, but also for the great food :)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

Greatly Improved from last Visit

Dined on July 18, 2015

Although still quite noisy, the food has kicked up a few notches and now matches the wine list. Red wines are served at room temperature which was about 78 degrees. Ask for a cooler to get it down to 63 degrees where it is much more enjoyable. Nice evening.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4

burger is awesome

Dined on July 12, 2015

we eat at Formaggio often. their wagyu beef burger is outstanding. But even better is their take on a sliced steak sandwich. Thin sliced prime rib served with the au jus. Its delicious.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was outstanding and the service ...

vip
Dined on July 5, 2015

The food was outstanding and the service exceptional. Nothing else much to say on that.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service4

Lunch on Sunday

Dined on June 14, 2015

Had lunch around noon on Sunday. Restaurant was very quiet. Service was casual but good. Menue is somewhat limited. Kobe beef burger was one of the best hamburgers I've had. Decorations in restaurant are odd, with an eclectic collection of art. Overall the experience was good for lunch, but probably wouldn't go back.

food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place!

Dined on June 7, 2015

This was our second time here and we love it. The wine was great. We got the calamari for an appetizer both times! It's so good. Also for dinner I got the crab crusted salmon, which is amazing and my husband gets the steak. Also amazing! We love this place so much, so we go here on all of our date nights!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Enjoyable evening

Dined on June 1, 2015

Spent the evening enjoying wine and a delicious Ribeye. Nice wine list, great ambiance, and the food was outstanding! Will definitely visit again! Wine bar, and seats available for watching the chefs at work! Great night!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food1
ambience1
service1

Horrible service, food mediocre-

Dined on May 11, 2015

What is the point of making a reservation if the restaurant is going to make you wait an hr before being seated? My reservation was at 7, but was seated at 8 despite showing up early. We ended up being seating in their back room with no ambiance... So much for having a romantic date. Ended up getting food a full hour and a half later even though we ordered appetizers, soup, and entrées. I don't know why I bothered making the drive into Kailua for mediocre steak. Save yourself the trouble and stick with any steakhouse in town.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.