Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 5 times today

Formaggio Grill Kailua

4.0
442 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Perfect For:
  • Notable Wine List
  • Special Occasion
  • Comfort Food
Savor over 50 wines by the glass at Kailua's toast of the town. Indulge yourself with an array of succulent steaks, chops, prime rib and fresh Hawaiian fish. Enjoy savory hot pot classics, thin crust pizzas, pasta and Panini. In the mood for a burger? Try our world famous 'Kobe' Panini. Other crowd pleasers include the 'watermelon & rocket salad' and the 'lobster bisque to live for' gets rave reviews nightly. Taste unique wines from around the world to perfectly pair with the casual Mediterranean gourmet fare.

The interior is a warm and comfortable environment with welcoming tones of Tuscan reds and golds, decorated with the art of Ron Genta. Soft lowered lights cast aglow about the restaurant, reflecting off of the plush red stools and wooden friendship bar-style tables.

Achieving that perfect blend of "upscale" yet casual, Formaggio Grill is the "gathering place" for the Windward side. Come enjoy the good food, fine wine, and great friends at Formaggio Grill in Kailua.

Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Mediterranean
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Sunday from 11:30 am - 4:00 pm

Wine O' Clock w/ Special Tapas from 4:30 pm - 6:00 pm daily

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:30 pm - 9:30 pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30 pm - 10:30 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(808) 263-2633
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, JCB, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Christopher Merez
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
From PARTY PLATTERS to BENTO BOXES we offer affordable catering to fit all your needs.

1. CARRY-OUT Catering: Drop by Formaggio Grill and pick up the food. It will be boxed up and ready to go.

2. DROP-OFF Catering:
Let us bring the food out to you. Enjoy the convenience of home or office delivery. *

3. SET UP & SERVE Catering: We will set up, service, take-down and clean so you can relax and enjoy. *

4. NEED A PLACE TO PARTY?: The Gallery at Formaggio Grill is our beautiful private room with comfortable seating for up to 36 guests. *

*Additional fees or minimums may apply.

icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Kailua Road
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
FREE PARKING at the front and rear of Hahani Plaza. Additional free parking at adjacent shopping center lots across the street. Adjacent post office parking lot requires small $2.00 fee after 5:00 pm
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Da Bus stops across the street on Kailua Road with service to 10:00 pm.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Live music on Friday and Saturday from 9:30pm - 11:30pm.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 442 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.0based on recent ratings
4.2
food
4.0
service
3.8
ambience
3.8
value
Noise · Moderate
90% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

A great surprise that I didn't expect. This restaurant exceeded my expectations. The food was excellent, and very upscale. I had the special of the day which was a Rib Eye Steak, Steak Diane style with cauliflower mash. Excellent choice! I also had the onion soup which I loved. I would recommend and will go back again.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 17, 2018

I made a reservation at 7:15pm and got there 15mins early. I was told I still had 15mins to wait and then they would seat us. 7:15pm came and no one came out to call me. I waited a few mins and then went in the restaurant when I noticed that they were seating walk in people before their reservation people (like me). When we finally got seated the service was just super slow. We had to wait just to get served water. I don’t think they should be taking open table reservation if that are unable to to seat the guest for the u time they book for.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 17, 2018

We picked this place because of the variety on the menu, they had fish and beef and things teens were happy with too. Our waiter seemed overloaded or indifferent, hard to tell. The Beef Bourguignon was very hearty and good, others had the Crab Crusted Salmon, Filet and Caesar salad, I heard no complaints!
The place was clean but it's just a large room / strip mall type of location. We waited maybe 5 minutes with a reservation. Overall a nice place for dinner in Kailua.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Calamari starters were amazing. The rest of the meal ok, nothing outstanding. I didn't like my steak placed on top of my mash and the red wine sauce wasn't great.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 4, 2018

First time at Formaggio, had the beef bourguignon and thought it was kind of salty. The Caesar salad was rather bland, but my family enjoyed the shrimp pasta, and Bleu cheese rib eye, calamari appetizer. Had only chocolate or vanilla gelato for dessert selection. My dad really enjoyed his wine selection, server was very friendly & helpful making menu selections. I would give the place another chance.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

We had the beet salad, and each had the onion soup. Both were excellent
I ordered the double lobster tails. I enjoyed them. I also had a glass of red wine number 232 (I think) it was terrific.
My partner ordered the steak with blue cheese . He really liked it.
I had the creme brûlée for desert . It was a nice meal and atmosphere was very pleasant, bathroom was very clean.
We've dined here before but this dinner and service was the best . They added lobster to the menu which is my favorite . We will be back again very soon !!! Thank you

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

We were greeted warmly and seated even though our other couple wasn’t there quite yet. It was refreshing not having to wait to be seated. We ordered cocktails and appetizer while we browsed the menu. Upon our friends arrival the waitress was immediately at our elbow catering to our needs. It was refreshing and a thoroughly enjoyable experience. I think our waitress’ name was Sheila but I can’t remember. She was a small young woman with blonde hair in an upsweep style. She was wonderful.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Food was amazing...go chefs! Ambience a little loud and bar like.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 17, 2018

The service was really good. The servers were nice, attentive and we never had to ask for refills. The food was outstanding! The appetizer servings were very generous. We had the garlic shrimp hummus and fried calamari. Each appetizer could’ve been an entree. The fried calamari also had fried jalapeños, mushrooms and zucchini and the hummus had 4 shrimps with plenty of toasted baguette slices. We would definitely order again. We also shared the Beef Bourguignon, grilled ahi with linguine and garlic shrimp with pancetta linguine. All great, balanced taste, hot and generous size portions. Will definitely go back. Plenty of parking and very comfortable.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Made birthday reservations for my husband and I. Got amazing appetizers and a bottle of wine. Next time we think we will skip dinner because the appetizers were big portions and quite satisfying.
Service was amazing. We will definitely be back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 14, 2018

The preset menu was for 2 course and it was 65.00 per person. I know it was Valentine's day but still would have preferred the rest of the menu

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Very nice setting, the steaks were great, lots of food.

Employees were very cordial.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 13, 2018

Great place for a date with good food and wine. Definitely going back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 13, 2018

Great food, always specials off the menu!
Our server not personable!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 9, 2018

Our meals were delicious. Service was pleasant and attentive. It was quite noisy, making conversation difficult but over all a very good meal.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 9, 2018

Good service, good choices, Haole flavors and a good wine list

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 20, 2018

Wonderful experience! Super food! Super service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 19, 2018

Love the sangria! Food is always solid...wish they still had the gnocchi! Always a great experience...plan on sitting and sipping awhile...they are not a place to go if your in a rush but that is part of the wine bar experience!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 9, 2018

Of the four of us who went to dinner, one said their food was good. That was the French onion soup. Everything else was just ok, not awful but not good. We tried the bruschetta, the crab and cheese dip, the escargot, the Fish special, the fingerling potatoes (VERY heavy on the garlic). The service was very good. It was so loud in there we couldn't hear each other at all. The good service doesn't make up for bad food relative to the price. I had eaten here before but now I know why I hadn't been back in three years, unfortunately.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 6, 2018

This is my favorite place. I always have an amazing time great food and wine.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 6, 2018

We made a Saturday lunch reservation on Open Table for 1p. We arrived to the restaurant and it was not open--opens at 4:30p?? on Saturdays....

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 27, 2017

Usually service is outstanding, but this time is wasn’t so good. Took 30 mind for server to return and take our otder. Then another 45 to get the good. Appetizer (salad) was forgotten and we just got the main meal. Dessert ice cream cane melted. Server knew and explained that’s why she put in a cup, instead of ala mode. Server was nice but young and inexperienced, for a higher end restaurant. We go there almost every month, but may stop now. Sad to see things get worse. The manager is on vacation and may have contributed to the drop in service.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on December 25, 2017

We were expecting a Kobe Steak house and we got a Smokey grill house. Really hard to breath so we walked out.

On a different note they lost our original reservations and apparently lost their liquor license so it was a byob.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 25, 2017

We went here on Christmas evening for dinner. Service was great, food was great, everything was great!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 24, 2017

Service was poor, food was good

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 24, 2017

Great place for Christmas Eve dinner! Salmon, Tuna, and Filet were all perfect. Good food, good wine, and great service.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 23, 2017

My steak was Luke warm and slightly overcooked...while my son's lobster Mac showed up to the table late and piping hot. Clearly the kitchen had timing issues and my steak was the victim.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 4, 2017

Very nice team of servers. The primary server was great. A bit pricey though.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 2, 2017

The food was fantastic. The restaurant seemed short servers. No one came by to see if we needed a second drink. It took a while for anyone to serve us. Once the food starting coming, it came at a decent pace and all ended up well.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 23, 2017

Food was awesome as always. Unfortunately service was a bit off due to a few large parties.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on September 23, 2017

The restaurant was a little crowded, and had one noticeable large party of 10+. The drinks and appetizers arrived quickly. However, after it arrived we put in our dinner order and waited for over 40 minutes for our entrees to arrive. The experience would have been much more palatable if management, or wait staff stopped by in the 40+ minute wait to check on each table and reassure them by letting them know the kitchen was backed up. We witnessed one table completely walk out of the restaurant in disgust after receiving the same service, and treatment we did with wine still at the table. The one bright spot was after waiting for 45 minutes for a small mushroom pizza to arrive, our waiter kindly removed the charge from our bill, and saved this review from being much worse.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 9, 2017

Food was really good. Price was a little much for what we got but not too high that I wouldn't go back. Great service from the moment we stepped in the front doors.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 3, 2017

the Lobsrer Mac and cheese is worth a trip over the Pali. very friendly atmosphere, nice art extraordinary crem e brûlée which changes, I recently had hibiscus raspberry and it was really delicious.

very nice wine selection

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 26, 2017

Excellent service...the bone in Delmonico is outstanding.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 11, 2017

Always good food and great atmosphere. There menu is unique, and the service and wine selections are amazing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 4, 2017

Amazing food and service I love the ambience and the manger. He is so nice. The chefs are amazing.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on July 24, 2017

Good food and service, just a bit pricey

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 1, 2017

We tried this place a few years ago and were a bit disappointed due to avg service. We decided to give it another go...excellent across the board. Well done!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 23, 2017

Food was above average. Calamari fritti with vegetables were delicious. Salmon with Crabmeat on top was also tasty. I would have preferred a choice of rice versus vegetables as a side. Boyfriend had the famous Wagyu burger which he thought was delectable. Overall great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 22, 2017

Great as usual, excellent food and service. A bit on the warm side it could have used a little more a/c.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
12