About Formaggio Grill Kailua

305 Hahani St
Kailua, HI 96734
View Larger Map

Savor over 50 wines by the glass at Kailua's toast of the town. Indulge yourself with an array of succulent steaks, chops, prime rib and fresh Hawaiian fish. Enjoy savory hot pot classics, thin crust pizzas, pasta and Panini. In the mood for a burger? Try our world famous 'Kobe' Panini. Other crowd pleasers include the 'watermelon & rocket salad' and the 'lobster bisque to live for' gets rave reviews nightly. Taste unique wines from around the world to perfectly pair with the casual Mediterranean gourmet fare.

The interior is a warm and comfortable environment with welcoming tones of Tuscan reds and golds, decorated with the art of Ron Genta. Soft lowered lights cast aglow about the restaurant, reflecting off of the plush red stools and wooden friendship bar-style tables.

Achieving that perfect blend of "upscale" yet casual, Formaggio Grill is the "gathering place" for the Windward side. Come enjoy the good food, fine wine, and great friends at Formaggio Grill in Kailua.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Saturday from 11:30 am - 4:00 pm

Wine O' Clock w/ Special Tapas from 4:30 pm - 6:00 pm daily

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:30 pm - 9:30 pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30 pm - 10:30 pm

Cross Street:
Kailua Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 263-2633

Website:
http://www.formaggio808.com/

Entertainment:
Live music on Friday and Saturday from 9:30pm - 11:30pm.

Catering:
From PARTY PLATTERS to BENTO BOXES we offer affordable catering to fit all your needs.

1. CARRY-OUT Catering: Drop by Formaggio Grill and pick up the food. It will be boxed up and ready to go.

2. DROP-OFF Catering:
Let us bring the food out to you. Enjoy the convenience of home or office delivery. *

3. SET UP & SERVE Catering: We will set up, service, take-down and clean so you can relax and enjoy. *

4. NEED A PLACE TO PARTY?: The Gallery at Formaggio Grill is our beautiful private room with comfortable seating for up to 36 guests. *

*Additional fees or minimums may apply.

Parking Details:
FREE PARKING at the front and rear of Hahani Plaza. Additional free parking at adjacent shopping center lots across the street. Adjacent post office parking lot requires small $2.00 fee after 5:00 pm

Public Transit:
Da Bus stops across the street on Kailua Road with service to 10:00 pm.

Executive Chef:
Christopher Merez

Private Party Facilities:
Celebrate life in The Gallery at Formaggio Grill. Our beautiful new room offers intimate private dining in an elegant yet remarkably relaxed setting. It features a double vaulted arched ceiling with Italian blown glass chandeliers. Commissioned pieces of 'wine art' by eclectic artist Ron Genta grace the gallery walls. It's the perfect place to gather with business associates or family and friends. There is comfortable seating for up to 36 guests all at one table. Our big screen monitor and Bose stereo complements your audio / visual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Wes Zane: 8082632633x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Garlic'd Ribeye
Crab Crusted Salmon
Sangria
Ribeye Steak
Cheesecake
Lobster Bisque
Filet Mignon With Fried Onions And Bearnaise Sauce
French Onion
Grand Marnier Creme Brulee
Sweet potato fries
Risotto Cakes
Brie & broccoli pastry
Caprese Salad
Processco
Cono Sur Pinot Noir From Chile
Beef Bourguignon
Truffle Fries
pizza puttanesca
Truffle Oil French Fries
Anchovies
Lamb Taco
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese
Fonduta
Kahlua creme brulee
Onion Soup
Beet Salad
Bananas Foster French Toast
Kobe Burger Panini
Tiramisu
Kiawe Smoked Prime Rib
Chocolate Souffle
Petite Filet Mignon
Crab Cakes
Formaggio De La Casa
Chicken Parmesan

Formaggio Grill Kailua Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.8

ambience

4.0

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (10)
Romantic (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
See All
Fit for Foodies (4)
Special Occasion (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Healthy (2)
Great Beer (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Authentic (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Family Style (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Sort By:
Newest
350 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I arrived at 1:56 for my 2:00 reservatio ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

I arrived at 1:56 for my 2:00 reservation only to find they were closed today. I live in Honolulu and I made the drive to Kailua specifically with the sole intention to dine at this restaurant, and no other reason. I checked yelp later to find that they were in fact closed. However, I was not using yelp, as I was using OpenTable to make my dining selections today. My question and complaint is : why was I allowed to make a reservation during closed hours? I also have a screenshot of the hours of operation clearly being stated on the OpenTable app as open on Sunday's for lunch from 11:30am-4:00pm. I am very upset and feel that I can no longer rely on OpenTable to be an accurate means of booking legitimate reservations in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Excellent in every way! Food is super. ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Excellent in every way! Food is super. Management is fantastic! Goes above and beyond...

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Family Style, Great Beer, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a party of 6, all first timers, a ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

We had a party of 6, all first timers, although we live in Kailua and Kaneohe. We knew it can get loud and hard to have conversation once the restaurant is full, so we made reservations for 5:30. That was perfect, noise not a problem. Food, libations, wait staff all excellent. A bit pricey but what we expected and worth it, including large portions.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We hosted out of town guests. Food was g ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We hosted out of town guests. Food was good. Service a bit slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The lobster mac and cheese was fantastic ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The lobster mac and cheese was fantastic. I forget what my date ordered because my food was just too delicious. I honestly cannot even remember what we ordered for dessert.

All I know was that we will certainly be back here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The host and food was great, however the ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The host and food was great, however the service is very slow. We were unable to receive water refills. We were also surprised that even the bread was a charge.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

This is a good restaurant with quality f ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

This is a good restaurant with quality food. The price can be expensive depending on what you order. The wait staff needs more knowledge about wine and should be trained better. Overall, our experiences with this eatery are good especially the choices for wine by the glass.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

The food was excellent, the service plea ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The food was excellent, the service pleasant and competent, sufficiently attentive without being obtrusive. Our group of four had different selections and everyone was pleased with their meal. Absolutely no complaints.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food and service was awesome, this w ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The food and service was awesome, this was our 2nd trip here and again they did not disappoint. Highly recommend the Sangria for a drink and the Kobe Burger is AMAZING

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I love the Kobe burger, the paella, and ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I love the Kobe burger, the paella, and the hot pots here. win elist is good, manager is really friendly and helpful. Service this past visit was slow, the burger had mayonaise despite repeated requested to NOT have it on there, so I wasnt able to enjoy it as I usually do. But, we will go back.. I do wish they would bring back the prime rib french dip.. that was also a delicious meal.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

I'm torn...My meal was good. Had the Kob ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

I'm torn...My meal was good. Had the Kobe burger...very delicious. My date had the steak and lobster. The steak was mediocre at best and the lobster was the worst I've had in my life. Just horrible. I love lobster but I had to spit it out it was so awful. Service was ok, nothing exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

The food was great as well as the servic ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

The food was great as well as the service..the house sangria is a must.. And the escargot was amazing.. Defined coming back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Grilled vegetables very good. Ahi was ok ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Grilled vegetables very good. Ahi was okay...risotto rather tasteless.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Quality food at fair prices. A bit loud ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Quality food at fair prices. A bit loud for me, but not too loud. Nice energy about the restaraunt. Super friendly staff. Will for sure go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Fondue was awesome, as was the kale and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Fondue was awesome, as was the kale and beet salad (I added salmon which was perfectly cooked). Worth the drive from Ewa Beach--we'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great choice

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

Had been awhile since I had been here. Glad I came back. Excellent food. Had the fish special and Paella. Great drinks. All around nice evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Went to their weekend lunch. The shrimp ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Went to their weekend lunch. The shrimp humus was mixed with oil and spices and served with bread. The sangria was full of fresh fruit. A unique and enjoyable meal for much less than other places on the island.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Good food and family friendly. You have ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Good food and family friendly. You have to try the lobster mac n cheese!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

A solid go-to for a nice dinner

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 22, 2016

My husband and I like to bring people here because there's something for everyone, and the ambiance is good for couples night or going out with a group. We've been here on New Years Eve and various holidays, and it never disappoints. Good food, friendly staff, nice ambiance.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Service & drinks great, ambience & food lacking.

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

This was my third visit to Formaggio Grill Kailua and feel confident in my decision to avoid visiting this location any further. My last visit was on Valentine's Day 2016. Although the service and drinks were great, the ambience and food were sub par. Our meal consisted of the Calamari Fritti ($11.25) and Escargo Bleu ($14.25) appetizers, Steak Neptune ($4o) and Lobster Risotto ($47) entrees, and Gelato with Aged Balsamic Vinegar ($5.95). The Escargo and Gelato were the only items that were decent. The Calamari was oily, Steak Neptune was under sauced, and the Lobster was extremely salty and difficult to separate from the shell slices. In addition on previous visits live music was present though on Valentine's day nothing was scheduled. The mood was moderate to loud, and the tables were a little too close together.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

Thank you for seating us on time.

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Thank you for seating us on time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Forget Formaggio

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on January 19, 2016

So disappointed in the fare at Formaggio Kailua. The food was entirely forgettable and, in my case, nearly inedible. I ordered the paella, but the sauce tasted like it had sat on the stove for too long, and the seafood tasted far from fresh. It was a congealed mess. I've had wonderful, delicately cooked paella before but this dish wasn't even close. With the restaurant's overpriced menu and underwhelming fare, we won't be returning anytime soon.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Best Premium Burger in Kailua

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on January 18, 2016

Formaggio's continues to be our "go to" spot when we have a hankering for a great burger. Their wagyu beef burger continues to be the best premium burger in our beach community, bar none. We've tried others but we continue to return here. And the bartender makes a killer rye manhattan. Burger, fries and manhattan...it's all good ;)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Good restaurant in Kailua

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 5, 2016

One of the better restaurants for dinner in Kailua.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A family favorite in Kailua

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 30, 2015

Good location, great service and consistently good food. Very family friendly and accommodating for special requests. Would always recommend to friends, especially the fantastic wine selection.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place, hidden gem! Excellent food!

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on December 28, 2015

Great place, hidden gem! Excellent food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Took at least 5 minutes before anyone no ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on December 27, 2015

Took at least 5 minutes before anyone noticed we were even there waiting for someone to greet us even though the servers passed us a few times to type in their orders in the machine right in front of us. No smile or warm feeling from the waiter. The appetizer we ordered was the delicious Fonduta that came with 6 pieces of crostini and costing $15.50. We asked for a little more bread to finish off the fondou. If I'd know we'd be charged for it, I would have portioned the crostini, and not asked for more bread, it wasn't even more crostini. I thought they gave complimentary bread like most restaurants do or at least make up for the long wait to be greeted and served. I used to love coming here and thought it was worth the drive from Kapolei to come out for a long overdue date night without the kids.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Christmas Day

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on December 26, 2015

Overpriced, below average service and when making a reservation we were seated in the 'family room' where kids were allowed to run around, spin and scream at the top of their lungs without notice from the staff. My 12 ounce prime rib was 6 ounces of fat, green beans were uncooked and my wife's lobster macaroni was bland. The one good thing was the wine since they only had to uncork it rather than prepare it. My holiday was very happy because of my date, not because of anything the restaurant did. I will never return.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value5

Blah

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

the food, service and ambiance were all rather mediocre. If you're into that kind of an experience this is the place for you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

We enjoyed the Live entertainment very m ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on November 21, 2015

We enjoyed the Live entertainment very much. It's too bad it's only late on the weekends. I always see more people during that time.

Great night : )

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Caring

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on November 12, 2015

Brought in Mrs. Wong. They were very helpful with her condition.

The food was very enjoyable as well.

The noise level unfortunately was very loud. The high ceilings and open kitchen causes the noises to bounce off the walls. If you go try and not to sit facing the parking lot. All the cars come and park and leave their lights on so the blind you. :(

OVer all a great place to eat.

Thank you for caring for Mrs. Wong.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

some good and some bad

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on November 9, 2015

My guest said it was the best Mac and Cheese she's ever had and the calamari was also good. The lobster bisque was so salty it was inedible and confirmed by everyone at the table.

The return of the dish was not handled as well as hoped by the server but it was removed from the bill. A simple confirmation from the chef would have been appreciated .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Appetizer & Main Dish

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on November 9, 2015

The calamari & escargot was very good. Prime Rib was Bomb. So soft you could cut it with a butter knife. Only thing is I wish it came out much warmer. I am not one for room temp food. I like my food more on the hot side. Other than that I will definitely eat there again and of course will order the Prime Rib.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

It was just .... ok

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on November 8, 2015

Wasn't so impressed this second time around. Come to think of it I wasn't impressed the first time around. But I went here out of desperation since I was last minute eating.

The food was actually decent wasn't amazing, but decent. They were packed and did their best to make sure we were taken cared of.

The staff is very nice and restaurant was very clean.

Just not my place I guess

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Great Dining Experience...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on October 10, 2015

Taking our mom for her 80th birthday celebration was nothing short of fabulous! The ten of us enjoyed an array of entrees and appetizers in which we were able to share a taste of. Everything was wonderful including the succulent ribeye steak and scampi, a marvelous rack of ribs, splendid paella, moist fresh salmon, crunchy bruschetta, amazing French onion soup, terrific prime rib and scampi paired with signature mashed potatoes, tasty calamari, fabulous pasta and shrimp, and even a juicy burger just to name a few. The presentations of the dishes were awesome and the temperatures for each item was right on. We also enjoyed a few bottles of some fine wine which were exquisite to our palates. The service was excellent as there was virtually little wait time and everyone smiled! The lighting was a little dim but the ambiance suited the occasion. The location was perfect being that most of us are from the windward side and parking wasn't a problem. Management was great as they made it a point to check on us periodically to see if everything was going well. They even came by to make conversation and say happy birthday to our mom topped off with a complimentary dessert for her. We highly recommend paying a visit to Formaggios in Kailua for any occasion; you won't regret it. Though the prices may seem a bit on the higher side for some of the entrees, overall it's a fair range. This wonderful evening was well worth it. We will definitely return in the near future.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Wonderful Experience, Great food, great service

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 27, 2015

Went to Formaggio for our wedding anniversary and we sat at the bar and had a full menu and the choices were extensive and elaborate. We really enjoyed the food and the service was very attentive and on point. They even surprised us with a complimentary dessert for our anniversary. We loved it and will definitely return and recommend to family and friends. It was our third time at Formaggio.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wine bar

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 13, 2015

This place is amazing for winos. Great wine list and has wine on tap!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Had high hopes of this restaurant from h ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 9, 2015

Had high hopes of this restaurant from hearing that's it's one of the nicer ones in Kailua , unfortunately I left disappointed . My favorite part and only reason why I'm giving it 2 stars is the sangria , but my ribs were very dry and my husbands Chicago style sandwich had no flavor. Very unhappy with my meal and paying $85 and not even wanting to eat what I ordered is a huge let down .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Not a Fan.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 1, 2015

We were told that the lobster was Maine Lobster...which it wasn't.

The lobster was overcooked as was the prime rib (even though we had asked for medium).

Waiter was not as attentive for a restaurant that only had a total of six guests in it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Classy Neighborhood Gem

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 1, 2015

This restaurant was sophisticated with a creative menu and great wine list. Much more romantic than family oriented. They were accommodating to the child that was part of our party, though.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.