Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.53mi
  4. Distance: 0.62mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.53mi
  4. Distance: 0.62mi

About Formaggio Grill Kailua

Savor over 50 wines by the glass at Kailua's toast of the town. Indulge yourself with an array of succulent steaks, chops, prime rib and fresh Hawaiian fish. Enjoy savory hot pot classics, thin crust pizzas, pasta and Panini. In the mood for a burger? Try our world famous 'Kobe' Panini. Other crowd pleasers include the 'watermelon & rocket salad' and the 'lobster bisque to live for' gets rave reviews nightly. Taste unique wines from around the world to perfectly pair with the casual Mediterranean gourmet fare.

The interior is a warm and comfortable environment with welcoming tones of Tuscan reds and golds, decorated with the art of Ron Genta. Soft lowered lights cast aglow about the restaurant, reflecting off of the plush red stools and wooden friendship bar-style tables.

Achieving that perfect blend of "upscale" yet casual, Formaggio Grill is the "gathering place" for the Windward side. Come enjoy the good food, fine wine, and great friends at Formaggio Grill in Kailua.

305 Hahani St
Kailua, HI 96734
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Sunday from 11:30 am - 4:00 pm

Wine O' Clock w/ Special Tapas from 4:30 pm - 6:00 pm daily

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:30 pm - 9:30 pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30 pm - 10:30 pm

Cross Street:
Kailua Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 263-2633

Website:
http://www.formaggio808.com/

Entertainment:
Live music on Friday and Saturday from 9:30pm - 11:30pm.

Catering:
From PARTY PLATTERS to BENTO BOXES we offer affordable catering to fit all your needs.

1. CARRY-OUT Catering: Drop by Formaggio Grill and pick up the food. It will be boxed up and ready to go.

2. DROP-OFF Catering:
Let us bring the food out to you. Enjoy the convenience of home or office delivery. *

3. SET UP & SERVE Catering: We will set up, service, take-down and clean so you can relax and enjoy. *

4. NEED A PLACE TO PARTY?: The Gallery at Formaggio Grill is our beautiful private room with comfortable seating for up to 36 guests. *

*Additional fees or minimums may apply.

Parking Details:
FREE PARKING at the front and rear of Hahani Plaza. Additional free parking at adjacent shopping center lots across the street. Adjacent post office parking lot requires small $2.00 fee after 5:00 pm

Public Transit:
Da Bus stops across the street on Kailua Road with service to 10:00 pm.

Executive Chef:
Christopher Merez

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Formaggio Grill Kailua Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.0

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Good for a Date (5)
See All
Comfort Food (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Cozy (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Fun (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Romantic (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Authentic (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Organic (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
411 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Food was really good. Price was a little much for what we got but not too high that I wouldn't go back. Great service from the moment we stepped in the front doors.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 4, 2017

the Lobsrer Mac and cheese is worth a trip over the Pali. very friendly atmosphere, nice art extraordinary crem e brûlée which changes, I recently had hibiscus raspberry and it was really delicious.

very nice wine selection

Tags: Good for Groups, Seasonal, Happy Hour, Casual, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Excellent service...the bone in Delmonico is outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Always good food and great atmosphere. There menu is unique, and the service and wine selections are amazing.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Authentic, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Amazing food and service I love the ambience and the manger. He is so nice. The chefs are amazing.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Fun, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Good food and service, just a bit pricey

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We tried this place a few years ago and were a bit disappointed due to avg service. We decided to give it another go...excellent across the board. Well done!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Food was above average. Calamari fritti with vegetables were delicious. Salmon with Crabmeat on top was also tasty. I would have preferred a choice of rice versus vegetables as a side. Boyfriend had the famous Wagyu burger which he thought was delectable. Overall great!

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Great as usual, excellent food and service. A bit on the warm side it could have used a little more a/c.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Good for Groups, Romantic, Casual, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Reservation for 3 was confirmed for noon on Saturday. We showed up to a bolted restaurant. No messages, no notification. No communication since.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 21, 2017

It is always uncomfortable due to the warm temperature in the restaurant. We are in awe that it has never improved 😏

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food was outstanding. Service was quite slow and rather inattentive; food arrived almost an hour after our reservation time. Very cool vibe in the dining area. Hardly any parking but we parked at Target - very convenient and only a short walk. Spare construction/renovation materials visible under the sink in the bathroom.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on April 29, 2017

I love the ambiance of Formaggio and the server was great. However, I eat a plant based diet. The only option on the menu that did not contain animal products was the bruchetta. It was good. I ordered the "warm" kale and beet salad and asked for cheese to be left off. I was told everything there is cooked in butter even the salad, so they'd sauté it in olive oil instead. It was not sauted in anything. The kale was raw and the salad was not warm. It was virtually devoid of flavor. My diner companions fish tacos were "o.k." I'd go here for drinks only.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great food!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great place to meet up with friends for drinks, fries and bruschetta! Staff are always attentive and friendly. I was surprised it wasn't crowded on a Saturday night. We sat at the bar and had a good time!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Our server was Ryan, he was fantastic! Food was good, we each had the burger and a caprese salad. Great wine list, though a bit spendy.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 24, 2017

We had a great dinner on a somewhat quiet night at Formaggio. I had the prime rib and my wife had the bone in ribeye. We were a little late, so I think I got a double portion of prime rib, it was delicious and gigantic. A great evening, thanks Formaggio!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Excellent meal. Great service and good for the whole family.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The restaurant did not open.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 6, 2017

We took our next door neighbor here for her 80th birthday at 6pm. Great menu, quiet at that time, wonderful service. I haven't been there in years. The steak with bordelaise and mushrooms was fantastic. So was brussel sprouts, warm beer and goat cheese salad, pasta and salmon! We finished with chocolate pyramid and the restaurant gave our birthday girl a complimentary tiramisu. We'll be back! Mahalo!!

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Broad selection of wines and menu items, some light and some heavy. Parking can be tight. Across the street is a large lot for other shopping center.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Very good food, very friendly and helpful service, plus short wait time :-)

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Went with a date on Valentine's Day and it was great. Good atmosphere. Friendly and attentive staff. Plus, the food was on point. The steak and onion soup is a solid flavor combo.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This place has the worst service i have ever experienced. Extremely Rude and cocky host who has no idea how to handle customers on a busy evening.
My wife and I had to wait 10 minutes at the host station while he worked on a take-out order. Then he has the nerve to come up to us and say in a cocky tone that we are late for our reservation. We weren't when we arrived.
Having a reservation and being told that i need to wait an additional 45 minutes is one thing, but that was uncalled for. His attitude almost got him knocked out....by my wife.
Lived and dined in Kailua for over 20 years.
Never going back to this place again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 14, 2017

They need to better judge how many reservations they make within an hour...perhaps it was Valentines' day but still...we had reservations at 6:30 and were not seated until pass 7:00 and then we waited for over an hour for our food. It would have been nice for them to give a complementary appetizer or wine for the long wait. Will not be returning for a while.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Reservations made yet didn't get seated for 50 min. Gift card purchased in '09 from Formaggio Kailua with no expiration date was refused by management. Reason being that it was a new owner. In my opinion it should have been honored because regardless it is the same restaurant and company....omg! terrible! will not be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Enjoyed Valentine's Day dinner. Crowded and a but slow but still a nive meal.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Love it!! Wine overpriced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Terrific food and great service and the absolute best hamburger on the island.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 12, 2016

It was a bit loud but our server did turn down the music. The acoustic in there is not great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Great food, amazing wine selection. A little noisy to be honest.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Excellent wine list, great avocado Kobe beef burger and fries.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Steak was cooked perfectly and the waitress opened our bottle of wine perfectly. Staff had excellent knowledge of the menu. Overall a great experience. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Food was okay. I liked the menu selections . Gentleman manager on duty was very friendly and helpful .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Food was too salty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 6, 2016

The food was cold. The portions small and meals were served at different times among diners at the table. One of the group of four had to wait an additional ten minutes before getting served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The Salmon Ratatouille was a special and it was delicious! Good wine list as well

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 18, 2016

I arrived at 1:56 for my 2:00 reservation only to find they were closed today. I live in Honolulu and I made the drive to Kailua specifically with the sole intention to dine at this restaurant, and no other reason. I checked yelp later to find that they were in fact closed. However, I was not using yelp, as I was using OpenTable to make my dining selections today. My question and complaint is : why was I allowed to make a reservation during closed hours? I also have a screenshot of the hours of operation clearly being stated on the OpenTable app as open on Sunday's for lunch from 11:30am-4:00pm. I am very upset and feel that I can no longer rely on OpenTable to be an accurate means of booking legitimate reservations in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Excellent in every way! Food is super. Management is fantastic! Goes above and beyond...

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Great Beer, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.