Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 2 times today

Formaggio Grill Kailua

4.0
453 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Notable Wine List
  • Casual
  • Good for a Date
Savor over 50 wines by the glass at Kailua's toast of the town. Indulge yourself with an array of succulent steaks, chops, prime rib and fresh Hawaiian fish. Enjoy savory hot pot classics, thin crust pizzas, pasta and Panini. In the mood for a burger? Try our world famous 'Kobe' Panini. Other crowd pleasers include the 'watermelon & rocket salad' and the 'lobster bisque to live for' gets rave reviews nightly. Taste unique wines from around the world to perfectly pair with the casual Mediterranean gourmet fare.

The interior is a warm and comfortable environment with welcoming tones of Tuscan reds and golds, decorated with the art of Ron Genta. Soft lowered lights cast aglow about the restaurant, reflecting off of the plush red stools and wooden friendship bar-style tables.

Achieving that perfect blend of "upscale" yet casual, Formaggio Grill is the "gathering place" for the Windward side. Come enjoy the good food, fine wine, and great friends at Formaggio Grill in Kailua.

Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Mediterranean
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Sunday from 11:30 am - 4:00 pm

Wine O' Clock w/ Special Tapas from 4:30 pm - 6:00 pm daily

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:30 pm - 9:30 pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30 pm - 10:30 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(808) 263-2633
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, JCB, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Christopher Merez
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
From PARTY PLATTERS to BENTO BOXES we offer affordable catering to fit all your needs.

1. CARRY-OUT Catering: Drop by Formaggio Grill and pick up the food. It will be boxed up and ready to go.

2. DROP-OFF Catering:
Let us bring the food out to you. Enjoy the convenience of home or office delivery. *

3. SET UP & SERVE Catering: We will set up, service, take-down and clean so you can relax and enjoy. *

4. NEED A PLACE TO PARTY?: The Gallery at Formaggio Grill is our beautiful private room with comfortable seating for up to 36 guests. *

*Additional fees or minimums may apply.

icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Kailua Road
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
FREE PARKING at the front and rear of Hahani Plaza. Additional free parking at adjacent shopping center lots across the street. Adjacent post office parking lot requires small $2.00 fee after 5:00 pm
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Da Bus stops across the street on Kailua Road with service to 10:00 pm.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Live music on Friday and Saturday from 9:30pm - 11:30pm.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 453 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.0based on recent ratings
4.1
food
4.1
service
3.9
ambience
3.7
value
Noise · Moderate
86% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
2.0Dined 3 days ago

Noise level unacceptable.(Lowering the ceiling with sound panels would help). Food fair. Would not go again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 17, 2018

The restaurant was not very busy, thus pretty quiet. The waitress was fantastic and explained the specials and they came out exactly as described. Food was great.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Mother’s Day. Many people had to wait despite having reservations. They were ill-prepared to handle a larger crowd. They ran out of one of the specials by 6:45 on that night. The waitstaff was disinterested at best. Would not recommend for a special night.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 14, 2018

3/5 of our guests enjoyed our meals, but service was lacking. Waitress checked on us once soon after delivering our food and that was it. No drink refills throughout our meal and she took a long time to pick up the check. There was a long wait outside but there was no sense of urgency from our waitress. We could have been out the door 10 minutes earlier.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Came here for an early dinner on Mother’s Day. Pretty casual atmosphere, you can dress up or come casual. I was a little surprised that they do not have any high chairs or kids menu. I guess it’s not too kid friendly in that sense but they do offer to make them cheese pizzas, chicken fingers, or pasta so that was a huge plus! I ate the bone in ribeye special which was tasty, cooked perfectly & huge! Yum! We also ordered the crab crusted ono with risotto stuffed bell pepper. The fish was slightly over cooked but the crab topping was good which helped balance the dryness of the fish. The risotto was disappointing. It wasn’t cooked evenly or thoroughly. There were some parts that were cold and crunchy from being under-cooked and other parts that were cooked fine. The kids cheese pizza was good as was the onion soup. Overall experience was pleasant and great. Service was on point & we were in and out in about an hour which is perfect when you have a restless 2 year old! We would come back again in the future.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

I always love everything on the menu, and when I read the description I know what I’m getting. I decided to take the suggestion of our waiter and try the Crab/Salmon special on a bed of veggies. Well what was suppose to be served on a bed of “Veggies” was 3 very small slivers of zucchini, onions and 2 potatoes sliced in 1/2. I should have asked what type of veggies. As I realize a potatoes is considered one, but I see it as a high carb (60g) loading starch, and it wouldn’t have been my choice. Maybe I should have asked specifically. So I pretty much ate the Crab/Salmon and had my 1 fork full of zucchini. (Zucchini not shown in photo because it’s was practically invisible)

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 7, 2018

Anniversary

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Very noisy, just one large open room with a high ceiling. Steaks were tasty but waaay too expensive, will not be back for sure. Supper menu too expensive for most people, this is not downtown Wiakiki! Too bad as I enjoy a good steak but our bill for two steaks, a glass of wine and one beer was over $120. For the atmosphere and location (a strip mall) I would only expect a bill of around $60.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 30, 2018

It is a nice place but come early and midweek if you want to carry on a conversation as it gets quite noisy on weekends. They have good steaks and their salad is big enough for three people to share so good value. It is also good for children and old people and middle aged people and what more do you want in this review as I am a lawyer and can go on forever.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

The food is always delicious and the service is courteous. We love Formaggio.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 25, 2018

Lobster tails are my favorite here and the onion soup. We also had the beet and kale salad and steak. I had a glass of Pinot noir that was written on the board for specials and it was fabulous. The only disappointment was they didn’t have a dessert available . It would have topped off a wonderful meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

A great surprise that I didn't expect. This restaurant exceeded my expectations. The food was excellent, and very upscale. I had the special of the day which was a Rib Eye Steak, Steak Diane style with cauliflower mash. Excellent choice! I also had the onion soup which I loved. I would recommend and will go back again.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 17, 2018

I made a reservation at 7:15pm and got there 15mins early. I was told I still had 15mins to wait and then they would seat us. 7:15pm came and no one came out to call me. I waited a few mins and then went in the restaurant when I noticed that they were seating walk in people before their reservation people (like me). When we finally got seated the service was just super slow. We had to wait just to get served water. I don’t think they should be taking open table reservation if that are unable to to seat the guest for the u time they book for.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 17, 2018

We picked this place because of the variety on the menu, they had fish and beef and things teens were happy with too. Our waiter seemed overloaded or indifferent, hard to tell. The Beef Bourguignon was very hearty and good, others had the Crab Crusted Salmon, Filet and Caesar salad, I heard no complaints!
The place was clean but it's just a large room / strip mall type of location. We waited maybe 5 minutes with a reservation. Overall a nice place for dinner in Kailua.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Calamari starters were amazing. The rest of the meal ok, nothing outstanding. I didn't like my steak placed on top of my mash and the red wine sauce wasn't great.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 4, 2018

First time at Formaggio, had the beef bourguignon and thought it was kind of salty. The Caesar salad was rather bland, but my family enjoyed the shrimp pasta, and Bleu cheese rib eye, calamari appetizer. Had only chocolate or vanilla gelato for dessert selection. My dad really enjoyed his wine selection, server was very friendly & helpful making menu selections. I would give the place another chance.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

We had the beet salad, and each had the onion soup. Both were excellent
I ordered the double lobster tails. I enjoyed them. I also had a glass of red wine number 232 (I think) it was terrific.
My partner ordered the steak with blue cheese . He really liked it.
I had the creme brûlée for desert . It was a nice meal and atmosphere was very pleasant, bathroom was very clean.
We've dined here before but this dinner and service was the best . They added lobster to the menu which is my favorite . We will be back again very soon !!! Thank you

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

We were greeted warmly and seated even though our other couple wasn’t there quite yet. It was refreshing not having to wait to be seated. We ordered cocktails and appetizer while we browsed the menu. Upon our friends arrival the waitress was immediately at our elbow catering to our needs. It was refreshing and a thoroughly enjoyable experience. I think our waitress’ name was Sheila but I can’t remember. She was a small young woman with blonde hair in an upsweep style. She was wonderful.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Food was amazing...go chefs! Ambience a little loud and bar like.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 17, 2018

The service was really good. The servers were nice, attentive and we never had to ask for refills. The food was outstanding! The appetizer servings were very generous. We had the garlic shrimp hummus and fried calamari. Each appetizer could’ve been an entree. The fried calamari also had fried jalapeños, mushrooms and zucchini and the hummus had 4 shrimps with plenty of toasted baguette slices. We would definitely order again. We also shared the Beef Bourguignon, grilled ahi with linguine and garlic shrimp with pancetta linguine. All great, balanced taste, hot and generous size portions. Will definitely go back. Plenty of parking and very comfortable.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Made birthday reservations for my husband and I. Got amazing appetizers and a bottle of wine. Next time we think we will skip dinner because the appetizers were big portions and quite satisfying.
Service was amazing. We will definitely be back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 14, 2018

The preset menu was for 2 course and it was 65.00 per person. I know it was Valentine's day but still would have preferred the rest of the menu

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Very nice setting, the steaks were great, lots of food.

Employees were very cordial.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 13, 2018

Great place for a date with good food and wine. Definitely going back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 13, 2018

Great food, always specials off the menu!
Our server not personable!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 9, 2018

Our meals were delicious. Service was pleasant and attentive. It was quite noisy, making conversation difficult but over all a very good meal.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 9, 2018

Good service, good choices, Haole flavors and a good wine list

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 20, 2018

Wonderful experience! Super food! Super service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 19, 2018

Love the sangria! Food is always solid...wish they still had the gnocchi! Always a great experience...plan on sitting and sipping awhile...they are not a place to go if your in a rush but that is part of the wine bar experience!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 9, 2018

Of the four of us who went to dinner, one said their food was good. That was the French onion soup. Everything else was just ok, not awful but not good. We tried the bruschetta, the crab and cheese dip, the escargot, the Fish special, the fingerling potatoes (VERY heavy on the garlic). The service was very good. It was so loud in there we couldn't hear each other at all. The good service doesn't make up for bad food relative to the price. I had eaten here before but now I know why I hadn't been back in three years, unfortunately.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 6, 2018

This is my favorite place. I always have an amazing time great food and wine.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 6, 2018

We made a Saturday lunch reservation on Open Table for 1p. We arrived to the restaurant and it was not open--opens at 4:30p?? on Saturdays....

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 27, 2017

Usually service is outstanding, but this time is wasn’t so good. Took 30 mind for server to return and take our otder. Then another 45 to get the good. Appetizer (salad) was forgotten and we just got the main meal. Dessert ice cream cane melted. Server knew and explained that’s why she put in a cup, instead of ala mode. Server was nice but young and inexperienced, for a higher end restaurant. We go there almost every month, but may stop now. Sad to see things get worse. The manager is on vacation and may have contributed to the drop in service.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on December 25, 2017

We were expecting a Kobe Steak house and we got a Smokey grill house. Really hard to breath so we walked out.

On a different note they lost our original reservations and apparently lost their liquor license so it was a byob.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 25, 2017

We went here on Christmas evening for dinner. Service was great, food was great, everything was great!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 24, 2017

Service was poor, food was good

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 24, 2017

Great place for Christmas Eve dinner! Salmon, Tuna, and Filet were all perfect. Good food, good wine, and great service.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 23, 2017

My steak was Luke warm and slightly overcooked...while my son's lobster Mac showed up to the table late and piping hot. Clearly the kitchen had timing issues and my steak was the victim.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 4, 2017

Very nice team of servers. The primary server was great. A bit pricey though.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 2, 2017

The food was fantastic. The restaurant seemed short servers. No one came by to see if we needed a second drink. It took a while for anyone to serve us. Once the food starting coming, it came at a decent pace and all ended up well.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
12