About Fork

199 N. 8th Street
Boise, ID 83702
View Larger Map

Fork offers cuisine inspired from the Northwest region using the finest and freshest locally sourced ingredients. Fork also offers hand-crafted cocktails, a large selection of regional wines and beers in a rustic yet very warm, welcoming setting. Fork is open for lunch and dinner daily and offers a full-service Saturday brunch with a featured bloody Mary bar and fresh, local ingredients sourced from the Capital City Public Market on Saturday & Sunday mornings (9:30-2:00pm).

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM, Friday - Saturday: 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM, Sunday: 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Brunch is served every Saturday & Sunday from 9:30am - 2:00pm (year round). Our fantastic lunch menu is available 7 days a week starting at 11:30am.

Special Events Fork offers a fantastic Build Your Own Bloody Mary Bar!...every Saturday & Sunday from 10:00am to 3:00pm.

Cross Street:
Idaho

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(208) 287-1700

Website:
http://boisefork.com/

Catering:
Catering is not offered at this time.

Parking Details:
Street parking is available (metered Mon.-Fri. from 9:00am-6:00pm).
Self-parking is available on at two pay lots adjacent to the building:
1) Eastman parking garage (entrances on Idaho Street and Main Street) just West of the restaurant on the South side of the street.
2) Capital Terrace garage located on Idaho Street West of the restaurant.
Both accept credit cards. The first hour of parking is free and each additional hour is $2.50.

Public Transit:
◦Fifteen weekday routes that operate between the hours of 5:15 a.m.and 6:45 p.m.
◦Eight Saturday routes that operate between the hours of 7:45 a.m. and 6:45 p.m.

Executive Chef:
Wiley Earl

Private Party Facilities:
Menu:
For groups of twelve or more we are happy to create a limited menu from which your guests will order at the event. Custom menus are printed on FORK stationary and placed at each setting. We are happy to create a special heading or include your logo on the menu.
Menu selections are made from our private dining menus or we can customize a menu for you.
Accommodations:
FORK is wheelchair accessible, music volume can be adjusted or turned off in your private dining room for your event and lighting level is adjustable to suit your needs.
We are pleased to accommodate any food allergies or dietary restrictions. Please notify us as soon as possible so that we may create something special!
Audio/Visual:
FORK's PDR is equipped with Audio/Visual components for you and your guests to enjoy Power Point presentations, Anniversary/Birthday photos or watch your favorite TV show/event on our 110" screen.
Please contact us directly for pricing.

Private Party Contact:
Cameron Lumsden: 2082871700x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Fork offers a fantastic Build Your Own Bloody Mary Bar!...every Saturday from 11:30 to 3:00pm.

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Fork Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Idaho
Best Ambiance
Boise
Best Value
Boise
2 More
Fit for Foodies
Boise
Most Booked
Boise
Best Restaurants in Boise ›

fit for foodies (88)
good for groups (67)
hot spot (65)
See All
special occasion (64)
great for lunch (55)
neighborhood gem (46)
vibrant bar scene (30)
great for brunch (30)
great for outdoor dining (28)
romantic (23)
notable wine list (17)
kid-friendly (15)
late-night find (14)
scenic view (6)
Sort By:
Newest
1134 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience2
service3

Vastly overrated. Cuisine unimaginative ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Vastly overrated. Cuisine unimaginative and uninspired. Dingy surroundings.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great!

Dined on May 16, 2016

Great food. Spare ribs were fantastic! Has the butter cake for desert. You will not be disappointed here.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

It was okay

Dined on May 8, 2016

We went for Mother's Day dinner. It was busy but not super crowded, but we felt like we were packed in like sardines. The tables are so close together you feel like your having dinner with the tables next to you. The food was okay. We ordered the fried asparagus which looked amazing but was very bland-it desperately needed seasoning. We also ordered the grilled cheese & tomato soup fondue. The soup was delicious, but the grilled cheese was disappointing. The cheese wasn't melted so it was basically toasted bread with sliced cheese-not great. We also ordered the burger which came with fries. The burger was good, but the fries and the sauce they came with were again, very bland. Our server was friendly and kept our drinks full, but our food took a long time. Not her fault, but frustrating none the less. I don't think we'll be back.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Fork many times...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We have been to Fork many times. We were there both May 8th and 9th...once with out of town friends and once with family for a birthday dinner. I ordered the pork chop on the 8th and it came out over done and quite dry...but otherwise very tasty. On the 9th I ordered their special spare ribs and I found them to be VERY salty. I took half of the order home and could not even finish it there because of the salt. My Husband's steak was delicious on the 9th. The service both nights was outstanding, as usual! We will be back again.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server was able to seat us 20 min early ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Server was able to seat us 20 min early at a booth. The service was great and the food was excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

Not so happy....

Dined on May 7, 2016

Our party of 6 had a reservation and came here after the BSU graduation. We had to wait for over half an hour to get our orders taken and then wait about 40+ minutes to get our food. We had burgers and salad...the fries were cold... and had ordered 2 bottles of wine while we were waiting. I was really disappointed in the slow service. My trout salad had literally 6 bites of fish on it. Not impressed with anything.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing

Dined on May 7, 2016

The atmosphere and food here is phenomenal. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for good food!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service1
value4

Don't set your expectations too high

Dined on May 4, 2016

I ordered a bottle of Veuve Clicquot champagne for our table and told the waiter my party of 3 was celebrating. He didn't know how to pour champagne. When I finally asked him for more champagne, I had to ask him to pour it. I wouldn't mind pouring my own wine if it were a 10 bottle but I think the restaurant ought to take care of it if they're charging twice the shelf price at $100 a bottle. He poured the bottle into my glass but held it over my lamb so I had to hold my hand underneath it to stop it from dripping into my plate. Even when made aware that he was dripping ice bucket water into my food, he continued to pour in his current position. I'd have ordered another bottle if our waiter came round often enough for us to actually drink the first one. The pesto for the lamb was a little bland, pork on nachos a little dry, table wasn't quite large enough (but I don't hold that against them), and I was offered a free dessert on a return visit for the inconvenience of having water dripped into my food. A dessert doesn't quite make up for dripping ice bucket water into my food or the fact that my table didn't receive the service expected when celebrating but it's what was offered. No one at the table received anything from the manager by the time we'd paid our tickets. Overall: Not too loud, lovely building, reservations are a great idea, great location, fair prices. Limited options for specific beverages (Veuve Clicquot is the only champagne on the menu), I could make the food we ordered better at home, wait staff needs additional training and managerial staff needs to follow through on statements. Regardless, I'd visit again but it wouldn't be my first choice.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

MY TOP 3 FAVORITE RESTAURANT IN BOISE

Dined on April 27, 2016

ALWAYS A FAVORITE. THE CHICKEN AND WAFFLES IS TO DIE FOR

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Got it right

Dined on April 24, 2016

Good mix of location, ambiance, food and price! Not a snobby over priced cave. Small, cool and affordable for casual dinner in a cool building with a date or friends. We will be back.

Tags: great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service3

The Grown Up Ham & Cheese and Tomato Bas ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

The Grown Up Ham & Cheese and Tomato Basil Soup were outstanding!

food4
ambience4
service4

Fork is a very popular restaurant for go ...

vip
Dined on April 20, 2016

Fork is a very popular restaurant for good reason! The food is excellent and it's in a prime location in downtown Boise. The Smoked Trout salad was delicious!

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

It is always great food and fun at Fork ...

Dined on April 18, 2016

It is always great food and fun at Fork and service was quick.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

HIghly Disappointed

Dined on April 16, 2016

This has always been my favorite restaurant hands down. This was the place we recommended to our friends and out of town visitors. It was always the most reasonably priced best food in town. We came in Friday night for my birthday. My kids were with us too. We were all excited to have dinner because it has always been great in the past. This experience was anything but good. It took us forever to order. We waited for everyone to get their food because nothing was brought out at the same time. Once we were able to start eating the sides were incomplete. Some of us had to wait for utensils, no steak knives for the steak. We thought we would order desserts. We only ordered 3 different ones to share and were brought tiny tea plates then another waitress brought us actual dessert plates after noticing the mistake. The food was also not to the Fork standard we are used to. It was substandard and unacceptable. It may be a long time if ever before I go back to this Boise icon. I am not one to ever say anything when my experience has been bad but this one just broke my heart because of all the times we have enjoyed it in the past.

food2
ambience2
service2
value2

I met an old friend for lunch.

Dined on April 15, 2016

We were rushed through our meal,very disappointing.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great entries and desserts. Best burger ...

vip
Dined on April 13, 2016

Great entries and desserts. Best burger ever!

food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Disappointed, Kind Of

Dined on April 10, 2016

We ordered waffles/fried chicken; the waffles were good, but the chicken was severely over-fried---really difficult to cut because it was so over cooked. Good Bloody Marys--just can't recommend the waffles/fried chicken. Great service.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good service and ambiance

Dined on April 4, 2016

Arrived at 8:30 and the restaurant closed at 9. Not rushed at all. They had run out of pork bellies for the Mac & Cheese but asked and substituted bacon - it was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is always delicious. The servic ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

The food is always delicious. The service was faster than in previous visits (last 4 months). We will continue to go to Fork for great food and special occasions.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Creatively prepared & enthusiastically served

Dined on April 1, 2016

We loved our experience at Fork. The focus on fresh and local ingredients is appreciated. And when you get a server like Michelle, it makes the meal even more special. Thanks.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

Great Servers and Food

Dined on April 1, 2016

I have only been to Fork twice. Both times the service and food was excellent. A bit loud but ok. Its a bit expensive but it is worth every penny. The desserts are to die for especially the butter cake.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Boise Visit

Dined on March 28, 2016

Great lunch. I had the adult grilled cheese and tomato bisque soup.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We LOVE Fork!

Dined on March 27, 2016

We go to Fork just about every time we are in Boise. We love the vibe, the food is excellent and consistent, they have a great specialty cocktail menu, and it is located in the heart of downtown in a cool old building. The bar scene is fun and we will often eat dinner at the bar. Or, there are great booths along the window. We haven't sat out there, but there is also dining on the sidewalk that looks fun. You MUST try the short ribs!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding Experience

Dined on March 27, 2016

We celebrated our first grandchild at Fork. It was an excellent dining experience and the server was wonderful. Every dish was outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The Urban burger with fries is a must tr ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

The Urban burger with fries is a must try. Love this restaurant!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A place to return to

Dined on March 24, 2016

Wonderful, fresh food. attentive service, warm atmosphere. All of our dinners were great, the service was prompt and unobtrusive, the bar had a good variety, the dessert----WoW! This is my second time back, i will eat here again

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great!

Dined on March 24, 2016

Eating at Fork is always a fun and delicious experience. I can't wait to go back. Just remember to save room for the butter cake!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Lively and tasty

Dined on March 23, 2016

We took 4 children to an early dinner at Fork. The kid menu is fine and the menu has interesting dishes. It is very noisy which is part of a vibrant experience. But having to holler to the person next to you is rather challenging. The restaurant is kid-friendly which is a plus and the cuisine worth returning to enjoy.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food & fun atmosphere

Dined on March 22, 2016

After a long day of touring Boise State me and my daughter stopped for dinner. The staff was very friendly, the food was great. We enjoyed the busy atmosphere and will come back if my daughter chooses Boise State!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

everything great but the wait

Dined on March 22, 2016

I enjoyed everything about the restaurant, there are unique flavors here that you can't find anywhere else in Boise. My only qualm was that because they were busy, we had to wait a while 1 hour for our food. Our server did bring us potato chips on the house to make up for the wait. Our meals were worth the wait.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I took my high stakes work group

Dined on March 17, 2016

While my work team is the best - they are serious about getting something good to eat. We had a colleague from out of town with us and wanted to show him a little of what Boise has to offer. Fork did not disappoint. We had a great time. The food and service were great. The company also terrific. Our guest left saying, "I really liked this place." Mission accomplished!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the local sourcing of ingredients.

Dined on March 14, 2016

Love the local sourcing of ingredients.

food5
ambience5
service5

Ambiance, check. Menu, familiar (cobb, r ...

vip
Dined on March 11, 2016

Ambiance, check. Menu, familiar (cobb, rueben, BLT) but upscale. The light coming in the window where we were sitting was beautiful. Great service.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great time with friends!

Dined on March 10, 2016

We had a great time and dessert was extra yummy! It was a little loud due to a couple of big party tables...was still fun!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Consistently great food, comfortable and fun.

Dined on March 9, 2016

Never get anything but the best food, atmosphere, and service every time I go! In a city full of great choices to dine, FORK is a star.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a group of 6, and everyone loved ...

Dined on March 8, 2016

We had a group of 6, and everyone loved what they had. The pork chop was amazing. Server was excellent.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great!

Dined on March 7, 2016

Met a friend for lunch and the food was fabulous! Would go back and have a drink next time!

Tags: great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Always enjoy great food and service at F ...

Dined on March 3, 2016

Always enjoy great food and service at Fork.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

On the money for my birthday dinner!

Dined on February 29, 2016

Our waiter, Chris, was friendly, knowledgeable, and timely. Once we introduced ourselves, he continued to call us by name. The atmosphere was casual yet austere.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Tasty Dinner

Dined on February 29, 2016

I would highly recommend this place for dinner. The VooDoo chicken transported me back to Morocco. We enjoyed everything we had here.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.