About Fork

199 N. 8th Street
Boise, ID 83702
View Larger Map

Fork offers cuisine inspired from the Northwest region using the finest and freshest locally sourced ingredients. Fork also offers hand-crafted cocktails, a large selection of regional wines and beers in a rustic yet very warm, welcoming setting. Fork is open for lunch and dinner daily and offers a full-service Saturday brunch with a featured bloody Mary bar and fresh, local ingredients sourced from the Capital City Public Market on Saturday & Sunday mornings (9:30-2:00pm).

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM, Friday - Saturday: 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM, Sunday: 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Brunch is served every Saturday & Sunday from 9:30am - 2:00pm (year round). Our fantastic lunch menu is available 7 days a week starting at 11:30am.

Special Events Fork offers a fantastic Build Your Own Bloody Mary Bar!...every Saturday & Sunday from 10:00am to 3:00pm.

Cross Street:
Idaho

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(208) 287-1700

Website:
http://boisefork.com/

Catering:
Catering is not offered at this time.

Parking Details:
Street parking is available (metered Mon.-Fri. from 9:00am-6:00pm).
Self-parking is available on at two pay lots adjacent to the building:
1) Eastman parking garage (entrances on Idaho Street and Main Street) just West of the restaurant on the South side of the street.
2) Capital Terrace garage located on Idaho Street West of the restaurant.
Both accept credit cards. The first hour of parking is free and each additional hour is $2.50.

Public Transit:
◦Fifteen weekday routes that operate between the hours of 5:15 a.m.and 6:45 p.m.
◦Eight Saturday routes that operate between the hours of 7:45 a.m. and 6:45 p.m.

Executive Chef:
Wiley Earl

Private Party Facilities:
Menu:
For groups of twelve or more we are happy to create a limited menu from which your guests will order at the event. Custom menus are printed on FORK stationary and placed at each setting. We are happy to create a special heading or include your logo on the menu.
Menu selections are made from our private dining menus or we can customize a menu for you.
Accommodations:
FORK is wheelchair accessible, music volume can be adjusted or turned off in your private dining room for your event and lighting level is adjustable to suit your needs.
We are pleased to accommodate any food allergies or dietary restrictions. Please notify us as soon as possible so that we may create something special!
Audio/Visual:
FORK's PDR is equipped with Audio/Visual components for you and your guests to enjoy Power Point presentations, Anniversary/Birthday photos or watch your favorite TV show/event on our 110" screen.
Please contact us directly for pricing.

Private Party Contact:
Cameron Lumsden: 2082871700x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Fork offers a fantastic Build Your Own Bloody Mary Bar!...every Saturday from 11:30 to 3:00pm.

Restaurant Photos

Asparagus Fries
Halibut Burger
Cinnamon Roll With Butterscotch Frosting
Butter Cake
Chicken & Waffle Sliders
Corn Encrusted Trout
Bloody Mary Bar
Idaho Trout
Salmon Carpachio
Fork's Signature Warm Butter Cake
Grilled Portobello Sandwich
Steak Sandwich
Grilled Artichokes
Idaho Rainbow Trout
Salmon
Rosemary Parmesan Frys And Grilled Artichoke
Sage Advice
Bamsammy Bacon, Avocado, Egg
Fish Tacos With Mushrooms And Seabeans
Bosc Pear Salad
Alaskan Salmon
Urban Burger & Fries
fish tacos
beef short ribs
Tomato And Basil Fondue With Grilled Cheese
Urban Burger

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Fork Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Idaho
Best Overall
Boise
Best Ambiance
Boise
2 More
Fit for Foodies
Boise
Most Booked
Boise
Best Restaurants in Boise ›

fit for foodies (90)
special occasion (67)
great for lunch (62)
See All
hot spot (58)
good for groups (56)
neighborhood gem (55)
great for outdoor dining (44)
great for brunch (33)
vibrant bar scene (30)
notable wine list (19)
romantic (18)
late-night find (17)
kid-friendly (16)
scenic view (10)
Sort By:
Newest
1191 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent restaurant. I particularly ap ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent restaurant. I particularly appreciate how they accommodate my need to be gluten free. They always have multiple choices and seem to understand the need to "protect" the food from cross-contamination.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The hostess (Sophie?) could tone down he ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined 4 days ago

The hostess (Sophie?) could tone down her attitude towards guests and other hostesses. Our server and food were terrific.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Center cut pork chop was excellent. Wou ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Center cut pork chop was excellent. Would absolutely recommend and return this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dinner on the patio with yummy app ...

vip
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Great dinner on the patio with yummy appetizers, delicious meals, nice bottles of rose wine, and a dessert to share. Excellent service from a fun server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Open Table reservation did not work at F ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Open Table reservation did not work at Fork. The hostess said this happens frequently with OT reservations. They were nice enough to seat our group without waiting. Excellent food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Very disappointed the group I was with o ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Very disappointed the group I was with ordered a drink we had there about a year ago Buzz n' Bing . The waitress didn't know about it said she looked In the book they had with all their drinks. The bartender ended up making a drink for us, it wasn't it at all was awful! Very citrus we sent them back ordered Cosmo they were awful told them we didn't like them. The waitress did take our drinks off the bill which was nice. I came back to California thought I would try and find the drink, well the drink we asked for is on the menu on this app open table! & the bartender and waitress had no clue!!! The only reason we want there cuz of the drink it was so yummy! I took pic of the drink on the menu with my phone won't let me post it here, but is on the menu here unless they take it down now. Here it is:

Buzz n' Bing: local Idaho vodka, local honey simple, house branded local Bing cherries, lemon juice, & Chambord served up!

The sandwiches we had are ok....... So disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

We made our reservation 2 weeks in advan ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

We made our reservation 2 weeks in advance. they put us in the back room, to the left, next to a large table. they said the booths were reserved.

I thought we had a reservation???

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3

Took my wife to Fork for our 17th weddin ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Took my wife to Fork for our 17th wedding anniversary and we were very impressed. It was a little loud, being seated next to a larger, boisterous group but we still enjoyed the evening. The drinks were great, food was very high quality and extremely tasty. It's a great date place, but it is a little more spendy so I doubt I'd bring my whole family.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Met a friend from college and her tween- ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Met a friend from college and her tween-age daughters for brunch and we all loved our food. Our server was very friendly and knowledgeable about the menu too. Another great dining experience at Fork!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and service has gone down since we ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Food and service has gone down since we first started going here. Had the prime rib and it was so bland. The service was very slow with refills.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

The drinks were incredible and the food ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The drinks were incredible and the food delicious. A busy Saturday night made us thankful for reservations, and a bit disappointed by the large number of noisy kids at 8.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We love Fork! We dine there every time w ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We love Fork! We dine there every time we are in Boise.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience. Excellent service. ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Wonderful experience. Excellent service. Great waiter (? Brandon). Would recommend highly

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

had a great lunch and great waitress. s ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

had a great lunch and great waitress. she was very personable and gave great service to us. Thank you!

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The service was great but the food for t ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The service was great but the food for the price was very good. The Double R steak was not close to a $23 value, the spareribs were very fatty. The flavors were excellent but the portions were very underwhelming. The wines were very nice. Overall Fork was gave us a very pretentious feel as if they are trying to be much better than they are in reality. The burgers looked amazing and I will probably go back and try Fork again.

This was our 10 year anniversary and I should have done my research a bit better. We were hoping for something very special and we were disappointed. The food is tasty but don't go in expecting over-the-top!

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

What a great experience! The food, serv ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

What a great experience! The food, service and atmospheric here was great. We will definitely be back. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my second time dining at Fork a ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

This was my second time dining at Fork and I am a fan. I will be back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dandy place! We enjoyed our meal very mu ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Dandy place! We enjoyed our meal very much. Lively atmosphere.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We were given an gift card to use at For ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

We were given an gift card to use at Fork and had never been here. Very nice. Parked in parking garage--then short walk away. Very good food and service.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

5 out of the 6 of us had various salads. ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

5 out of the 6 of us had various salads. Two thought the grilled salmon was not good. No flavor. All five thought the prices were high for the flavor of the dishes... Presentation was nice tho. Burger and fries were yummy

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Food was excellent. The Tomato Basil Fon ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Food was excellent. The Tomato Basil Fondue is reason enough to come back. But overall ambiance and food was outstanding. The only issue was service. Our server spoke in a very soft tone and he was not Johnny on the Spot in regards to asking if we wanted another drink. We ordered three, but probably would've ordered six if we hadn't been sitting with empty cocktail glasses for 15 minutes. We will return to explore more of the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

FORK! The food was amazing! Our server w ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

FORK! The food was amazing! Our server was so polite, kept our water full and left us alone while we were chatting. He was so kind because we just a couple quick hours to catch up. We tried the gluten free brownie bowl and that was sooo good! It has spiced nuts on it and that was such an interesting and unexpected addition to the flavor.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had high expectations, as this place ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We had high expectations, as this place was packed. The service was good, people were friendly. Ordered the trout and it was ok. Not a ton of flavor or really a whole lot to it. I think the Rosemary Parm fries were the best thing we had. We ordered a few beers on tap that were wonderful. The bread pudding was the weirdest consistency I have ever had, not a fan of it all all.

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Trout was so fresh. It was great! As wa ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Trout was so fresh. It was great! As was the Huckleberry Gemini martini. Service was the best part!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was a very vibrant, cool place in a ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

This was a very vibrant, cool place in a fun and happening neighborhood. My partner and I went for lunch. She got the grown up grilled cheese and I got the recommended voodoo chicken, and the brownie sundae for dessert. The chicken was lightly spiced and VERY tender. It came on potatoes, but I would opt for the vegetables next time. The thin sauce turned the potatoes into soup. Everything was great, the presentation could have been a bit better. The drinks were STRONG.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The waiter was impatient with us because ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The waiter was impatient with us because it was loud in the restaurant and we asked him to repeat himself. He didn't give us much attention after we got our food. The food was sub par, I would find it comparable to Olive Garden. The chicken was over cooked and there was way too much char on it, which overpowered the ravioli. I paid 4 extra $$ for chicken and I barely got a decent portion. The pesto served over the ravioli was bland overpowered by the excessive use of sunflower seeds. The ambiance was creative however

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Excellent food, dessert and service. Ha ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Excellent food, dessert and service. Had I known the portion sizes would have been smaller, I would have ordered an appetizer to round out the meal. Otherwise, I loved it!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

"Fork" continues to be our favorite rest ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

"Fork" continues to be our favorite restaurant in Boise, despite a poor experience from a year ago at our daughter's birthday dinner (One of our meals came out 30 minutes after the rest of the group had finished eating--and when it did, it was undercooked and had to be sent back. The wait staff did not offer to comp any of it). We came back and gave it another chance we were NOT disappointed. The service was on point. The food was unique, delicious, and incredibly fresh. The wine list offered a great selection of reds and whites, especially a few choices from the local Idaho wineries (Cinder's Tempranillo stands out). Great beer menu too. We highly recommend "Fork" to any and all our friends and relatives who are lucky enough to be traveling to Boise.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Met for a brunch date. Food was amazing, ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Met for a brunch date. Food was amazing, service was just right and the Bloody Mary bar was excellent. Definitely a top rate, farm to table experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Was really surprised by significant decl ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Was really surprised by significant decline in the quality of food at FORK with no associated price decrease. The server was very unpleasant as well. Alternated between extremes. Was overly nice one moment and borderline hostile the next. She made the entire table very uncomfortable.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

This place was awesome. Our waitress too ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

This place was awesome. Our waitress took excellent care of us. Warm butter cake was to die for.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A group of 7 of us came for a birthday l ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

A group of 7 of us came for a birthday lunch. Our reservation was at 11:30 so it wasn't too busy yet. Our order was finally taken at 12:00. At 12:30 I had to find our server because we still didn't have our food. The order consisted of sandwiches and salads. The excuse was the kitchen got slammed however two tables that were seated after us were served before us. Three of us had to take our lunch to go because we had to get back to work. At that point it was 12:40. Food was a little cold not the best I've had there. We won't be going again for lunch since this is has happened before.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

This is my second trip to Fork. Open Tab ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

This is my second trip to Fork. Open Table made the reservation easy. The meal was excellent.

This was my first time trying the butter cake. It was worth the trip just for the butter cake but the entire meal was great.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious lunch of grilled artichoke and ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Delicious lunch of grilled artichoke and shrimp cocktail. Sat outside on the patio. Love Fork restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a group of seven. We had to ask 2 ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

We had a group of seven. We had to ask 2 times for water. Our food came out one plate at a time during a span of 10 minutes. We also had to send 2 plates back because salad dressing wasn't on the side and another because we asked for no onions and the dish came with them. By the time the dishes came back, 15 more minutes had passed. They did not comp the dishes.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Fork is consistently one of the best res ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Fork is consistently one of the best restaurants in Boise. Fresh, creative dishes served in ample portions and the price doesn't break the bank.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful brunch!

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Wonderful brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was almost too noisy - the hardest pa ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

It was almost too noisy - the hardest part was hearing our waitress. I think she may have been new. At our table, tucked in the corner by the wall, we did not have any trouble carrying on a conversation. We all enjoyed our food very much and would return.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Corn-crusted trout with polenta was good ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Corn-crusted trout with polenta was good, not great. Salmon quiche was very different. I'm used to quiche having some a solid, baked structure. This quiche was kind of runny, almost the consistency of cottage cheese. Waitress explained that it had a lot of cream cheese in it. Really needed some seasoning too. We wouldn't order it again. Our daughter had kid's spaghetti with chicken meatballs. The sauce has a slight chili-like taste. It's different than your typical marinara, but she ate most of it. Overall an enjoyable Father's Day brunch. Next time we'll order some different items.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Best place in town, would highly recomme ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Best place in town, would highly recommend to anybody!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.