About Fork

199 N. 8th Street
Boise, ID 83702
View Larger Map

Fork offers cuisine inspired from the Northwest region using the finest and freshest locally sourced ingredients. Fork also offers hand-crafted cocktails, a large selection of regional wines and beers in a rustic yet very warm, welcoming setting. Fork is open for lunch and dinner daily and offers a full-service Saturday brunch with a featured bloody Mary bar and fresh, local ingredients sourced from the Capital City Public Market on Saturday & Sunday mornings (9:30-2:00pm).

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM, Friday - Saturday: 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM, Sunday: 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Brunch is served every Saturday & Sunday from 9:30am - 2:00pm (year round). Our fantastic lunch menu is available 7 days a week starting at 11:30am.

Special Events Fork offers a fantastic Build Your Own Bloody Mary Bar!...every Saturday & Sunday from 10:00am to 3:00pm.

Cross Street:
Idaho

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(208) 287-1700

Website:
http://boisefork.com/

Catering:
Catering is not offered at this time.

Parking Details:
Street parking is available (metered Mon.-Fri. from 9:00am-6:00pm).
Self-parking is available on at two pay lots adjacent to the building:
1) Eastman parking garage (entrances on Idaho Street and Main Street) just West of the restaurant on the South side of the street.
2) Capital Terrace garage located on Idaho Street West of the restaurant.
Both accept credit cards. The first hour of parking is free and each additional hour is $2.50.

Public Transit:
◦Fifteen weekday routes that operate between the hours of 5:15 a.m.and 6:45 p.m.
◦Eight Saturday routes that operate between the hours of 7:45 a.m. and 6:45 p.m.

Executive Chef:
Wiley Earl

Private Party Facilities:
Menu:
For groups of twelve or more we are happy to create a limited menu from which your guests will order at the event. Custom menus are printed on FORK stationary and placed at each setting. We are happy to create a special heading or include your logo on the menu.
Menu selections are made from our private dining menus or we can customize a menu for you.
Accommodations:
FORK is wheelchair accessible, music volume can be adjusted or turned off in your private dining room for your event and lighting level is adjustable to suit your needs.
We are pleased to accommodate any food allergies or dietary restrictions. Please notify us as soon as possible so that we may create something special!
Audio/Visual:
FORK's PDR is equipped with Audio/Visual components for you and your guests to enjoy Power Point presentations, Anniversary/Birthday photos or watch your favorite TV show/event on our 110" screen.
Please contact us directly for pricing.

Private Party Contact:
Cameron Lumsden: 2082871700x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Fork offers a fantastic Build Your Own Bloody Mary Bar!...every Saturday from 11:30 to 3:00pm.

Restaurant Photos

Asparagus Fries
Halibut Burger
Cinnamon Roll With Butterscotch Frosting
Butter Cake
Chicken & Waffle Sliders
Corn Encrusted Trout
Bloody Mary Bar
Idaho Trout
Salmon Carpachio
Fork's Signature Warm Butter Cake
Grilled Portobello Sandwich
Steak Sandwich
Grilled Artichokes
Idaho Rainbow Trout
Salmon
Rosemary Parmesan Frys And Grilled Artichoke
Sage Advice
Bamsammy Bacon, Avocado, Egg
Fish Tacos With Mushrooms And Seabeans
Bosc Pear Salad
Alaskan Salmon
Urban Burger & Fries
fish tacos
beef short ribs
Tomato And Basil Fondue With Grilled Cheese
Urban Burger

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Fork Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Idaho
Fit for Foodies
Boise
Most Booked
Boise
Best Restaurants in Boise ›

Fit for Foodies (79)
Special Occasion (67)
Neighborhood Gem (54)
See All
Great for Lunch (53)
Hot Spot (49)
Great for Outdoor Dining (48)
Good for Groups (43)
Vibrant Bar Scene (31)
Great for Brunch (26)
Notable Wine List (23)
Romantic (18)
Late-night Find (18)
Good for a Date (16)
Local Ingredients (14)
Casual (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Kid-friendly (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Fun (10)
Scenic View (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Business Meals (5)
People Watching (4)
Authentic (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Great Beer (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Healthy (3)
Historic (3)
Spicy (2)
Organic (2)
Live Music (1)
Seasonal (1)
Private Room (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Cozy (1)
Family Style (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1246 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Fork is a modern restaurant located in a ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined 3 days ago

Fork is a modern restaurant located in an old bank building in downtown Boise. It has a sister Italian restaurant next door that shares the kitchen. Great steak! Filet and brisket were tender and juicy and cooked just right. Fired asparagus appetizer was lightly battered and fresh. All or most ingredients are locally sourced. Loud but fun. Service at start was poor... 20 minutes sitting at table before anyone came over... desp ite other servers constantly passing by... no teamwork here!

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Great food and great atmosphere. Love t ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great food and great atmosphere. Love the Loyal to Local theme. Good to have reservations even during the week as usually always busy. Enjoy the seasonal favorite cocktails. Bar staff especially friendly . Great service.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Healthy, Casual, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great local food and fun place to gather ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Great local food and fun place to gather - we enjoyed the Boise Chopped Salad and my friend had the tomato soup fondue (small plate). Service was excellent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Organic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoy the creative and diverse menu o ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We enjoy the creative and diverse menu options. The food presentation is great, and the service is spot-on, just the right amount of attention and care.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food & excellent service.

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great food & excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went to the Fork for our anniversary. In ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Went to the Fork for our anniversary. In the past food has been excellent. This time not so much. I ordered a ravioli dish. It was tasteless and lukewarm. Very disappointed this time.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value3

Food and cocktails are great. Main comp ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Food and cocktails are great. Main complaint is the noise level, it is quite loud.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Our lunch was just okay. Nothing specia ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Our lunch was just okay. Nothing special...we ordered the tomato soup (tasty!), handmade chips (over cooked), and the ham/cheese grilled sandwich. the ham tasted horrible... the melted cheese was very sparce.. we also ordered some cocktails... mojito and the pear grapefruit fizz... both were just okay. We were visiting from California, so maybe we have a higher standard for local farm to table food? On the positive side, the atmosphere and bar area were great! Looks like a good place to take a date or meet friends for a bite.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Nice restaurant; food delivery a little ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Nice restaurant; food delivery a little on the slow side, even though we had reservations. Food was good though once delivered.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We met a friend there for lunch. The out ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We met a friend there for lunch. The outdoor tables were full, but indoors was nice. Two of us had breakfast and the other did lunch. Food was fine.

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Great Beer, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had such a nice experience as our fir ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

We had such a nice experience as our first visit to Boise. Our server Michelle was delightful and knowledge able of the menu. We followed her recommendationd and enjoyed our meals. Thank you !

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A bit disappointed overall. Limited men ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

A bit disappointed overall. Limited menu and not many healthy type options. I did have a salad that was pretty good and it was huge. The short ribs were good and also a large serving. Some decent wines on the list. Maybe for more casual dining, this is a good place..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We've been to Fork before, so we knew wh ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

We've been to Fork before, so we knew what we were in for. The food was good, but for some reason the service was awful this time. It took 20 mins to get the drink menu and then 15 mins for the drinks to come. A re-order was needed because the server didn't know that they were out of one of the drinks (and we were surprised at the new glassware -- obviously a switch from16oz to 12oz, probably to save money?) Our food came a few minutes after the appetizer, but with no silverware. Several requests for the bill. We set aside 90 mins for the meal (with babysitter,) but found that we were scrambling to get the bill at the end and get home. Needless to say we aren't in a mad rush to go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

I was pleased that Fork gave us a great ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

I was pleased that Fork gave us a great table as requested via Open Table reservation. The service was very nice and not over bearing. The food was very good. We felt the price for the meal was very acceptable, we have paid much more in similar restaurants so that was very nice. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone and it also seems suitable for families with well behaved children.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a great Sunday Brunch! Good food ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We had a great Sunday Brunch! Good food and service. We frequent often for Dinner, and now we will return for Brunch!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the second time we've dined at f ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

This is the second time we've dined at fork. We went there for brunch. It was ok but not spectacular. It was a fun concept to customize your own Bloody Mary. Was REALLY disappointed in the quiche. Very salty and small portion compared to the salad that was served alongside. Nothing but lettuce and a lot of vinegar. Definitely not a dish I'll order again. The Northwest scramble was really good and I would order again.

Tags: Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Fabulous evening. Our only complaint was ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Fabulous evening. Our only complaint was that the table seemed too big--we felt farther apart than most restaurant tables. We switched and sat next to each other instead of across to feel more connected and improve conversation.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

I went with my mom who was visiting from ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

I went with my mom who was visiting from out of town. We both enjoyed our cocktails and appetizers. I ordered the prime rib special and my mom the filet. I ordered the prime rib medium rare. When it showed up with was between medium and medium well. I politely told the waitor because it was expensive and I expected it to be cooked correctly. He said "well at this time of night you can't really get medium rare", to which I said why didn't you tell me that when I ordered?? I certainly would have ordered something else. Since he wasn't honest when I ordered I felt like it ruined the evening. So I sent it back and ordered something else. It took forever my mom had finished her meal while we were waiting for mine. I would come back for ambience cocktails and apps but nothing else.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Outstanding server!

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Outstanding server!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter wasn't as attentive as he sho ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Our waiter wasn't as attentive as he should been, the food was great but a little under cooked although that could've just been miscommunication between the waiter and i.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Very noisy and average food. Lately the ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Very noisy and average food. Lately the food has not been good as it was a year ago. Too bad as we used to love going there.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Service from Mi'chele was amazing! Ever ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Service from Mi'chele was amazing! Every time I come to Boise I dine here. Great food! Great service! Great atmosphere!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great brunch. Had the vanilla custard fr ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great brunch. Had the vanilla custard french toast and a side of maple bacon. Both were delicious. Our server was courteous, friendly, and competent. The only thing I didn't care for was the huckleberry bellini (not very much like a bellini and mostly tasted like champagne not huckleberry), but other than that our entire party was very satisfied with our experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Casual, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The best quiche I've ever had! The eggs ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The best quiche I've ever had! The eggs were so light and fluffy! The service was stellar.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Had a late breakfast/lunch on a busy Sat ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Had a late breakfast/lunch on a busy Saturday during one of their ongoing street festivals. When we checked in for our reservation they didn't take our name and OpenTable thought we were a no show. Servers were very pleasant, and the coffee was excellent (no espresso machine).

Food was excellent and arrived timely and hot. Park in the parking structure right across the street, hard to find street parking.

Tags: People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Unfortunately the last 2 times I have di ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Unfortunately the last 2 times I have dined here our server forgot to put in our food orders and service was REALLY slow as we waited over 20 minutes to get a drink and over an hour to get our meal. If I didn't like the food I wouldn't ever go back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

I've never had a bad experience at the F ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I've never had a bad experience at the Fork. The pesto raviloi keeps me coming back for more and the coffee is always fresh and the hot butter cake is delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is the second time we have dined he ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

This is the second time we have dined here. Food is awesome as always. The service was slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Everything was great although it took ab ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Everything was great although it took about 30 minutes to get outdoors after ordering.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Great food!!

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Great food!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Table next to us came in well after us a ...

vip
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Table next to us came in well after us an was served before us. We had no apps, and even asked ahead of time if food would be out rather soon based on our choices. We were told yes. We waited much longer than that table

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

A fun place with a vibe. Menu limited. W ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

A fun place with a vibe. Menu limited. Wife ordered the filet mignon that was RAW; followed by a second one equally raw delivered by the manager. How does that happen? Got an apology but that was it......will think twice before going again.

Tags: Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The food was good nothing great but good ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The food was good nothing great but good enough. I had the trout which was done perfectly although the description sounded better than it tasted. I wanted to love this place more but just could not 😔

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We really enjoy the wonderful food here ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We really enjoy the wonderful food here. It never disappoints.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was way too salty; I love salt , th ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Food was way too salty; I love salt , this was over the top. Couldn't taste the food. Not Just one dish; all dishes(minus the asparagus fries; those could use salt)My waiter called me "Hun" mutiple times..my streak requested med well came out med rare; asked to cook a bit longer came back Balck and grey. Had a bottle of wine; poured first class only, waiter Checked on us and never poured again with empty glasses and he wasn't "slammed" 3rd time with simular experience Never again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Went for a mid week lunch. Apparently th ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Went for a mid week lunch. Apparently the health department was there slowing down the kitchen while doing a routine inspection. Appreciated our server being concerned about the wait time and his positive attitude. Appetizer ended up getting comped which was nice and appropriate given the time. Food was great and liked our server. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Called ahead and requested "special" de ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Called ahead and requested "special" dessert for an occasion... Staff handled request with ease. Really great service for a party of 5. Menu limited to bar eats sort of - but you can still get a decent steak here. Great drinks, full bar, fun atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

We always enjoy the food and the service ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

We always enjoy the food and the service is usually great. We prefer a booth or outside due to the noise level in the other parts of the restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed Made reservation for 1pm be ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Disappointed

Made reservation for 1pm because that was first time available although only 2/3 rds full when we arrived 3 minutes early. Our party of 3 each ordered breakfast and coffee. One cup was returned (because there was lipstick) on the edge. Had French toast as appetizer split 3 ways (perfect and It would have been too much otherwise). Our three breakfast items arrived 47 minutes after being ordered (so the first thing I did was take a bite and found it to be barely warm (while being served on a hot plate) I reluctantly finished it and my wife asked if I would like to try hers. I took a bite 17 minutes after mine was served and it was the same temperature that mine was when served earlier. One can concluded that mine had be cooked approximately the same amount of time when I received it. (Problems in the kitchen???)

The Fork has always been the standard for us. One would think that for Sunday Brunch the first stringers would be on the field. Yes, we will try it again. Recommend it, probably with qualifications.

We eat out almost daily and don't mind paying top dollar for good quality and service. This was not to be expected from the Fork.

Waitperson was barely a five/ten and laughed off the lipstick on the side of the cup. At least she was going through the motion of trying to hold on to a job. If she were in training, Sunday brunch is not the time/place. If not, then the Fork needs to revise its training process, fire her or both.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

Even though we were the first people sea ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Even though we were the first people seated for Brunch at 9:30 AM, we did not get our food for 45 minutes. When we got our food, my chicken was very over cooked & dry and my friend's dish was barely room temperature . I had eaten their chicken and waffles before and it was incredibly delicious! I went back specifically for chicken and waffles. It was very disappointing. I sent my first plate back and they did send out a new chicken and waffles. I was charged full price. Which was fine, but usually a restaurant will do their best to accommodate a kitchen error and for sending out inedible food. I was disappointed the server was actually OK with bringing the meal out, as she did agree that the chicken look burnt from just looking at it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.