About Fork

199 N. 8th Street
Boise, ID 83702
View Larger Map

Fork offers cuisine inspired from the Northwest region using the finest and freshest locally sourced ingredients. Fork also offers hand-crafted cocktails, a large selection of regional wines and beers in a rustic yet very warm, welcoming setting. Fork is open for lunch and dinner daily and offers a full-service Saturday brunch with a featured bloody Mary bar and fresh, local ingredients sourced from the Capital City Public Market on Saturday & Sunday mornings (9:30-2:00pm).

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM, Friday - Saturday: 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM, Sunday: 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Brunch is served every Saturday & Sunday from 9:30am - 2:00pm (year round). Our fantastic lunch menu is available 7 days a week starting at 11:30am.

Special Events Fork offers a fantastic Build Your Own Bloody Mary Bar!...every Saturday & Sunday from 10:00am to 3:00pm.

Cross Street:
Idaho

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(208) 287-1700

Website:
http://boisefork.com/

Catering:
Catering is not offered at this time.

Parking Details:
Street parking is available (metered Mon.-Fri. from 9:00am-6:00pm).
Self-parking is available on at two pay lots adjacent to the building:
1) Eastman parking garage (entrances on Idaho Street and Main Street) just West of the restaurant on the South side of the street.
2) Capital Terrace garage located on Idaho Street West of the restaurant.
Both accept credit cards. The first hour of parking is free and each additional hour is $2.50.

Public Transit:
◦Fifteen weekday routes that operate between the hours of 5:15 a.m.and 6:45 p.m.
◦Eight Saturday routes that operate between the hours of 7:45 a.m. and 6:45 p.m.

Executive Chef:
Wiley Earl

Private Party Facilities:
Menu:
For groups of twelve or more we are happy to create a limited menu from which your guests will order at the event. Custom menus are printed on FORK stationary and placed at each setting. We are happy to create a special heading or include your logo on the menu.
Menu selections are made from our private dining menus or we can customize a menu for you.
Accommodations:
FORK is wheelchair accessible, music volume can be adjusted or turned off in your private dining room for your event and lighting level is adjustable to suit your needs.
We are pleased to accommodate any food allergies or dietary restrictions. Please notify us as soon as possible so that we may create something special!
Audio/Visual:
FORK's PDR is equipped with Audio/Visual components for you and your guests to enjoy Power Point presentations, Anniversary/Birthday photos or watch your favorite TV show/event on our 110" screen.
Please contact us directly for pricing.

Private Party Contact:
Cameron Lumsden: 2082871700x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Fork offers a fantastic Build Your Own Bloody Mary Bar!...every Saturday from 11:30 to 3:00pm.

Restaurant Photos

Asparagus Fries
Halibut Burger
Cinnamon Roll With Butterscotch Frosting
Butter Cake
Chicken & Waffle Sliders
Corn Encrusted Trout
Bloody Mary Bar
Idaho Trout
Salmon Carpachio
Fork's Signature Warm Butter Cake
Grilled Portobello Sandwich
Steak Sandwich
Grilled Artichokes
Idaho Rainbow Trout
Salmon
Rosemary Parmesan Frys And Grilled Artichoke
Sage Advice
Bamsammy Bacon, Avocado, Egg
Fish Tacos With Mushrooms And Seabeans
Bosc Pear Salad
Alaskan Salmon
Urban Burger & Fries
fish tacos
beef short ribs
Tomato And Basil Fondue With Grilled Cheese
Urban Burger

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Fork Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Idaho
Best Value
Boise
Fit for Foodies
Boise
1 More
Most Booked
Boise
Best Restaurants in Boise ›

fit for foodies (84)
good for groups (63)
special occasion (62)
See All
great for lunch (61)
hot spot (57)
neighborhood gem (50)
great for outdoor dining (39)
great for brunch (31)
vibrant bar scene (26)
romantic (15)
kid-friendly (15)
notable wine list (14)
late-night find (13)
scenic view (7)
Sort By:
Newest
1163 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Met for a brunch date. Food was amazing, ...

Dined 3 days ago

Met for a brunch date. Food was amazing, service was just right and the Bloody Mary bar was excellent. Definitely a top rate, farm to table experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Was really surprised by significant decl ...

Dined 3 days ago

Was really surprised by significant decline in the quality of food at FORK with no associated price decrease. The server was very unpleasant as well. Alternated between extremes. Was overly nice one moment and borderline hostile the next. She made the entire table very uncomfortable.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place was awesome. Our waitress too ...

Dined 6 days ago

This place was awesome. Our waitress took excellent care of us. Warm butter cake was to die for.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

A group of 7 of us came for a birthday l ...

Dined 6 days ago

A group of 7 of us came for a birthday lunch. Our reservation was at 11:30 so it wasn't too busy yet. Our order was finally taken at 12:00. At 12:30 I had to find our server because we still didn't have our food. The order consisted of sandwiches and salads. The excuse was the kitchen got slammed however two tables that were seated after us were served before us. Three of us had to take our lunch to go because we had to get back to work. At that point it was 12:40. Food was a little cold not the best I've had there. We won't be going again for lunch since this is has happened before.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my second trip to Fork. Open Tab ...

Dined 7 days ago

This is my second trip to Fork. Open Table made the reservation easy. The meal was excellent. This was my first time trying the butter cake. It was worth the trip just for the butter cake but the entire meal was great.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious lunch of grilled artichoke and ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Delicious lunch of grilled artichoke and shrimp cocktail. Sat outside on the patio. Love Fork restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

We had a group of seven. We had to ask 2 ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

We had a group of seven. We had to ask 2 times for water. Our food came out one plate at a time during a span of 10 minutes. We also had to send 2 plates back because salad dressing wasn't on the side and another because we asked for no onions and the dish came with them. By the time the dishes came back, 15 more minutes had passed. They did not comp the dishes.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Fork is consistently one of the best res ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Fork is consistently one of the best restaurants in Boise. Fresh, creative dishes served in ample portions and the price doesn't break the bank.

food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful brunch!

Dined on June 19, 2016

Wonderful brunch!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was almost too noisy - the hardest pa ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

It was almost too noisy - the hardest part was hearing our waitress. I think she may have been new. At our table, tucked in the corner by the wall, we did not have any trouble carrying on a conversation. We all enjoyed our food very much and would return.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Corn-crusted trout with polenta was good ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Corn-crusted trout with polenta was good, not great. Salmon quiche was very different. I'm used to quiche having some a solid, baked structure. This quiche was kind of runny, almost the consistency of cottage cheese. Waitress explained that it had a lot of cream cheese in it. Really needed some seasoning too. We wouldn't order it again. Our daughter had kid's spaghetti with chicken meatballs. The sauce has a slight chili-like taste. It's different than your typical marinara, but she ate most of it. Overall an enjoyable Father's Day brunch. Next time we'll order some different items.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best place in town, would highly recomme ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Best place in town, would highly recommend to anybody!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter, Wyatt, was great. He recomm ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Our waiter, Wyatt, was great. He recommended quite a few items and all were ordered and enjoyed. He was very personable, lots of fun and took a lot of ribbing. He is a real pro.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We'll go to Fork every time we're in Boi ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We'll go to Fork every time we're in Boise! Great people, good and wine!!!!!!!!!!!!!!'n

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

We went Fork for an early Father's Day c ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

We went Fork for an early Father's Day celebation. The resturant was packed on a Wednesday night. Reservations are recommended. The atmosphere was lively,food great, service was a little spotty. I would recommend highly for a Boss downtown experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4

Best in Boise. From cocktails to apps ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Best in Boise. From cocktails to apps to entree the best you'll find for creative use of local ingredients. Masterful chef. Great value. Lovely whether you're inside outside or at the bar.

food5
ambience5
service5

I've had the same server here twice and ...

vip
Dined on June 13, 2016

I've had the same server here twice and he's rad. Good job, Fork. Good is good too!

food3
ambience4
service5

Great service. Better than average food ...

vip
Dined on June 13, 2016

Great service. Better than average food for a pub styled place. Enjoyable.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Our waiter was great. The hostesses had ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Our waiter was great. The hostesses had a bit of an attitude

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always tasty local spot-Tuesday Chicken & Waffels

Dined on June 8, 2016

Yummm! Always our go-to for special occasions and for out of town visitors.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love

Dined on June 5, 2016

I love that all the food is local. They offer great food, drinks, environment, and service. The only draw back is that they free birthday dessert. Other than that place to go.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Not allergy friendly!

Dined on June 4, 2016

Terrible gluten free options during brunch hours and no regular bottled water! Tap water is terrible and not everyone wants a carbonated drink. It was a birthday reservation and we got a horrible table next to another large group. There was nothing gluten free and simple for my daughter to order and the manager had no other options that weren't on the menu. Then when we settled on a gluten free item that was labeled on the menu as gluten free the waitress had to come back and tell us the chips were fried with bread products. THEN DONT LABLE IF GF! We had to leave hungry and walk around to find food, which we did, at a place with less stars. will never go back to Fork!

food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Fork

Dined on May 30, 2016

I think that Boise has a lot better restaurants to offer. Fork attempts to be amazing but the food isn't great. The service was terrible. We finished out meal and waited 15 minutes for the waitress to come take our dessert order. The salad was mediocre at best and the ranch had no flavor. My boyfriend had the pulled pork sandwich and it was awful. The best part of the meal was the onion rings.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and service

Dined on May 29, 2016

I disappointed little because there was no entertainment for kids . No coloring or anything. If we didn't have any kids, it was perfect.

Tags: great for brunch
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The service was very good but the kitche ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

The service was very good but the kitchen was slow and we had an unusually long wait for our meals. Unfortunately the lamb special was flawed by meat so tough it was difficult to cut with the steak knife let alone chew. The manager was very nice and told us that they had other guests with the same experience and did not charge us for either meal. The staff was very friendly and apologized for the issues. We found the atmosphere to be very noisy that evening making it hard for conversation etc. With that said, however, we will come back to Fork because the food was generally very tasty and well presented.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lively

Dined on May 26, 2016

We were visiting from out of town for the day and ate dinner here. We both enjoyed our meals and the plate presentations were artistic. The server was awesome and even though they were pretty busy we got our meals quickly. I love the historic bank building that they are located.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing from the bar to our table. Servi ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Amazing from the bar to our table. Service just right! Attentive without being intrusive! Drinks awesome! Food beyond delicious. Wish I lived in Boise, I'd be there all the time!

food4
ambience4
service4

Love the diverse menu and there is a gre ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Love the diverse menu and there is a great wine list with local wines.

food3
ambience2
service3

Vastly overrated. Cuisine unimaginative ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

Vastly overrated. Cuisine unimaginative and uninspired. Dingy surroundings.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great!

Dined on May 16, 2016

Great food. Spare ribs were fantastic! Has the butter cake for desert. You will not be disappointed here.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

It was okay

Dined on May 8, 2016

We went for Mother's Day dinner. It was busy but not super crowded, but we felt like we were packed in like sardines. The tables are so close together you feel like your having dinner with the tables next to you. The food was okay. We ordered the fried asparagus which looked amazing but was very bland-it desperately needed seasoning. We also ordered the grilled cheese & tomato soup fondue. The soup was delicious, but the grilled cheese was disappointing. The cheese wasn't melted so it was basically toasted bread with sliced cheese-not great. We also ordered the burger which came with fries. The burger was good, but the fries and the sauce they came with were again, very bland. Our server was friendly and kept our drinks full, but our food took a long time. Not her fault, but frustrating none the less. I don't think we'll be back.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Fork many times...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We have been to Fork many times. We were there both May 8th and 9th...once with out of town friends and once with family for a birthday dinner. I ordered the pork chop on the 8th and it came out over done and quite dry...but otherwise very tasty. On the 9th I ordered their special spare ribs and I found them to be VERY salty. I took half of the order home and could not even finish it there because of the salt. My Husband's steak was delicious on the 9th. The service both nights was outstanding, as usual! We will be back again.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server was able to seat us 20 min early ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Server was able to seat us 20 min early at a booth. The service was great and the food was excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

Not so happy....

Dined on May 7, 2016

Our party of 6 had a reservation and came here after the BSU graduation. We had to wait for over half an hour to get our orders taken and then wait about 40+ minutes to get our food. We had burgers and salad...the fries were cold... and had ordered 2 bottles of wine while we were waiting. I was really disappointed in the slow service. My trout salad had literally 6 bites of fish on it. Not impressed with anything.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing

Dined on May 7, 2016

The atmosphere and food here is phenomenal. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for good food!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service1
value4

Don't set your expectations too high

Dined on May 4, 2016

I ordered a bottle of Veuve Clicquot champagne for our table and told the waiter my party of 3 was celebrating. He didn't know how to pour champagne. When I finally asked him for more champagne, I had to ask him to pour it. I wouldn't mind pouring my own wine if it were a 10 bottle but I think the restaurant ought to take care of it if they're charging twice the shelf price at $100 a bottle. He poured the bottle into my glass but held it over my lamb so I had to hold my hand underneath it to stop it from dripping into my plate. Even when made aware that he was dripping ice bucket water into my food, he continued to pour in his current position. I'd have ordered another bottle if our waiter came round often enough for us to actually drink the first one. The pesto for the lamb was a little bland, pork on nachos a little dry, table wasn't quite large enough (but I don't hold that against them), and I was offered a free dessert on a return visit for the inconvenience of having water dripped into my food. A dessert doesn't quite make up for dripping ice bucket water into my food or the fact that my table didn't receive the service expected when celebrating but it's what was offered. No one at the table received anything from the manager by the time we'd paid our tickets. Overall: Not too loud, lovely building, reservations are a great idea, great location, fair prices. Limited options for specific beverages (Veuve Clicquot is the only champagne on the menu), I could make the food we ordered better at home, wait staff needs additional training and managerial staff needs to follow through on statements. Regardless, I'd visit again but it wouldn't be my first choice.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

MY TOP 3 FAVORITE RESTAURANT IN BOISE

Dined on April 27, 2016

ALWAYS A FAVORITE. THE CHICKEN AND WAFFLES IS TO DIE FOR

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Got it right

Dined on April 24, 2016

Good mix of location, ambiance, food and price! Not a snobby over priced cave. Small, cool and affordable for casual dinner in a cool building with a date or friends. We will be back.

Tags: great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service3

The Grown Up Ham & Cheese and Tomato Bas ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

The Grown Up Ham & Cheese and Tomato Basil Soup were outstanding!

food4
ambience4
service4

Fork is a very popular restaurant for go ...

vip
Dined on April 20, 2016

Fork is a very popular restaurant for good reason! The food is excellent and it's in a prime location in downtown Boise. The Smoked Trout salad was delicious!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.