About Fork

199 N. 8th Street
Boise, ID 83702
View Larger Map

Fork offers cuisine inspired from the Northwest region using the finest and freshest locally sourced ingredients. Fork also offers hand-crafted cocktails, a large selection of regional wines and beers in a rustic yet very warm, welcoming setting. Fork is open for lunch and dinner daily and offers a full-service Saturday brunch with a featured bloody Mary bar and fresh, local ingredients sourced from the Capital City Public Market on Saturday & Sunday mornings (9:30-2:00pm).

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM, Friday - Saturday: 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM, Sunday: 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Brunch is served every Saturday & Sunday from 9:30am - 2:00pm (year round). Our fantastic lunch menu is available 7 days a week starting at 11:30am.

Special Events Fork offers a fantastic Build Your Own Bloody Mary Bar!...every Saturday & Sunday from 10:00am to 3:00pm.

Cross Street:
Idaho

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(208) 287-1700

Website:
http://boisefork.com/

Catering:
Catering is not offered at this time.

Parking Details:
Street parking is available (metered Mon.-Fri. from 9:00am-6:00pm).
Self-parking is available on at two pay lots adjacent to the building:
1) Eastman parking garage (entrances on Idaho Street and Main Street) just West of the restaurant on the South side of the street.
2) Capital Terrace garage located on Idaho Street West of the restaurant.
Both accept credit cards. The first hour of parking is free and each additional hour is $2.50.

Public Transit:
◦Fifteen weekday routes that operate between the hours of 5:15 a.m.and 6:45 p.m.
◦Eight Saturday routes that operate between the hours of 7:45 a.m. and 6:45 p.m.

Executive Chef:
Wiley Earl

Private Party Facilities:
Menu:
For groups of twelve or more we are happy to create a limited menu from which your guests will order at the event. Custom menus are printed on FORK stationary and placed at each setting. We are happy to create a special heading or include your logo on the menu.
Menu selections are made from our private dining menus or we can customize a menu for you.
Accommodations:
FORK is wheelchair accessible, music volume can be adjusted or turned off in your private dining room for your event and lighting level is adjustable to suit your needs.
We are pleased to accommodate any food allergies or dietary restrictions. Please notify us as soon as possible so that we may create something special!
Audio/Visual:
FORK's PDR is equipped with Audio/Visual components for you and your guests to enjoy Power Point presentations, Anniversary/Birthday photos or watch your favorite TV show/event on our 110" screen.
Please contact us directly for pricing.

Private Party Contact:
Cameron Lumsden: 2082871700x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Fork offers a fantastic Build Your Own Bloody Mary Bar!...every Saturday from 11:30 to 3:00pm.

Restaurant Photos

Asparagus Fries
Halibut Burger
Cinnamon Roll With Butterscotch Frosting
Butter Cake
Chicken & Waffle Sliders
Corn Encrusted Trout
Bloody Mary Bar
Idaho Trout
Salmon Carpachio
Fork's Signature Warm Butter Cake
Grilled Portobello Sandwich
Steak Sandwich
Grilled Artichokes
Idaho Rainbow Trout
Salmon
Rosemary Parmesan Frys And Grilled Artichoke
Sage Advice
Bamsammy Bacon, Avocado, Egg
Fish Tacos With Mushrooms And Seabeans
Bosc Pear Salad
Alaskan Salmon
Urban Burger & Fries
fish tacos
beef short ribs
Tomato And Basil Fondue With Grilled Cheese
Urban Burger

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Fork Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Idaho
Most Booked
Idaho
Fit for Foodies
Boise
1 More
Most Booked
Boise
Best Restaurants in Boise ›

Fit for Foodies (92)
Special Occasion (79)
Great for Lunch (64)
See All
Hot Spot (61)
Neighborhood Gem (58)
Good for Groups (55)
Great for Outdoor Dining (46)
Great for Brunch (35)
Vibrant Bar Scene (33)
Romantic (23)
Notable Wine List (23)
Late-night Find (19)
Kid-friendly (14)
Scenic View (7)
Sort By:
Newest
1221 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great brunch. Had the vanilla custard fr ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined 3 days ago

Great brunch. Had the vanilla custard french toast and a side of maple bacon. Both were delicious. Our server was courteous, friendly, and competent. The only thing I didn't care for was the huckleberry bellini (not very much like a bellini and mostly tasted like champagne not huckleberry), but other than that our entire party was very satisfied with our experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Casual, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Unfortunately the last 2 times I have di ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 4 days ago

Unfortunately the last 2 times I have dined here our server forgot to put in our food orders and service was REALLY slow as we waited over 20 minutes to get a drink and over an hour to get our meal. If I didn't like the food I wouldn't ever go back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

I've never had a bad experience at the F ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined 4 days ago

I've never had a bad experience at the Fork. The pesto raviloi keeps me coming back for more and the coffee is always fresh and the hot butter cake is delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is the second time we have dined he ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 5 days ago

This is the second time we have dined here. Food is awesome as always. The service was slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Everything was great although it took ab ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined 5 days ago

Everything was great although it took about 30 minutes to get outdoors after ordering.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Great food!!

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great food!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Table next to us came in well after us a ...

vip
 (Northern MI)
·Dined 6 days ago

Table next to us came in well after us an was served before us. We had no apps, and even asked ahead of time if food would be out rather soon based on our choices. We were told yes. We waited much longer than that table

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

The food was good nothing great but good ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The food was good nothing great but good enough. I had the trout which was done perfectly although the description sounded better than it tasted. I wanted to love this place more but just could not 😔

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We really enjoy the wonderful food here ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We really enjoy the wonderful food here. It never disappoints.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was way too salty; I love salt , th ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Food was way too salty; I love salt , this was over the top. Couldn't taste the food. Not Just one dish; all dishes(minus the asparagus fries; those could use salt)My waiter called me "Hun" mutiple times..my streak requested med well came out med rare; asked to cook a bit longer came back Balck and grey. Had a bottle of wine; poured first class only, waiter Checked on us and never poured again with empty glasses and he wasn't "slammed" 3rd time with simular experience Never again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Went for a mid week lunch. Apparently th ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Went for a mid week lunch. Apparently the health department was there slowing down the kitchen while doing a routine inspection. Appreciated our server being concerned about the wait time and his positive attitude. Appetizer ended up getting comped which was nice and appropriate given the time. Food was great and liked our server. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Called ahead and requested "special" de ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Called ahead and requested "special" dessert for an occasion... Staff handled request with ease. Really great service for a party of 5. Menu limited to bar eats sort of - but you can still get a decent steak here. Great drinks, full bar, fun atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

We always enjoy the food and the service ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

We always enjoy the food and the service is usually great. We prefer a booth or outside due to the noise level in the other parts of the restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed Made reservation for 1pm be ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Disappointed

Made reservation for 1pm because that was first time available although only 2/3 rds full when we arrived 3 minutes early. Our party of 3 each ordered breakfast and coffee. One cup was returned (because there was lipstick) on the edge. Had French toast as appetizer split 3 ways (perfect and It would have been too much otherwise). Our three breakfast items arrived 47 minutes after being ordered (so the first thing I did was take a bite and found it to be barely warm (while being served on a hot plate) I reluctantly finished it and my wife asked if I would like to try hers. I took a bite 17 minutes after mine was served and it was the same temperature that mine was when served earlier. One can concluded that mine had be cooked approximately the same amount of time when I received it. (Problems in the kitchen???)

The Fork has always been the standard for us. One would think that for Sunday Brunch the first stringers would be on the field. Yes, we will try it again. Recommend it, probably with qualifications.

We eat out almost daily and don't mind paying top dollar for good quality and service. This was not to be expected from the Fork.

Waitperson was barely a five/ten and laughed off the lipstick on the side of the cup. At least she was going through the motion of trying to hold on to a job. If she were in training, Sunday brunch is not the time/place. If not, then the Fork needs to revise its training process, fire her or both.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

Even though we were the first people sea ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Even though we were the first people seated for Brunch at 9:30 AM, we did not get our food for 45 minutes. When we got our food, my chicken was very over cooked & dry and my friend's dish was barely room temperature . I had eaten their chicken and waffles before and it was incredibly delicious! I went back specifically for chicken and waffles. It was very disappointing. I sent my first plate back and they did send out a new chicken and waffles. I was charged full price. Which was fine, but usually a restaurant will do their best to accommodate a kitchen error and for sending out inedible food. I was disappointed the server was actually OK with bringing the meal out, as she did agree that the chicken look burnt from just looking at it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

very nice evening. Great service and foo ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

very nice evening. Great service and food. the only drawback was how loud it was in the bar/dining area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We went here for my husbands birthday an ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We went here for my husbands birthday and we had a great time. The food is good and they have interesting food combinations that make it fun to try new things. The pulled pork is yummy, and the fried asparagus is a great starter.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great menu, food and service. Would reco ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Great menu, food and service. Would recommend this restaurant. Not your typical hum-ho restaurant menu. Food was nicely prepared and service was efficient and courteous.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My only disappointment was open table se ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

My only disappointment was open table sent me a note with a note stating we had no showed! It later was corrected.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant and good prices to be d ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Great restaurant and good prices to be downtown. Great location and good views. Food is really good and not expensive!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Fork was recommended by one of the coupl ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Fork was recommended by one of the couples we were having dinner with and it was a fantastic experience!!! The wait staff was friendly and efficient. Great job of suggestive selling! Food was delivered very quickly and presentation was very nice. I will definitely be returning to Fork and recommend it to others.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fork is a good, solid restaurant with a ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Fork is a good, solid restaurant with a wide variety of dinner choices and very attentive service. The salads are very generous portions and the BCS is a real winner. Burgers are another good choice with tasty fries to accompany. We were seated in a corner booth which was comfortable and made for easy conversation amongst our group. It's a great location within the Boise downtown area and a place we'll be back to visit soon.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The lamb chops with roasted carrots were ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The lamb chops with roasted carrots were wonderful. My girlfriend's salmon also wonderful. Our table was ready and the service fantastic. My girlfriend wanted to go there for the dessert and it was to her liking. Thank you for a great birthday experience for my girlfriend.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Xoxo "I love the relaxed feel of this pl ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Xoxo "I love the relaxed feel of this place – like a comfortable dining room in a friends home. I definitely would return to try more dishes. The potato-leek soup was amazing and the Bibb lettuce salad was refreshing. The table was split on the monkfish – one person thought it was great, but another felt that the tastes didn't quite mesh. Everyone loved the flat iron steak. Service was well-timed and friendly, wines were affordable."

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Great food; OK service; but so loud that ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great food; OK service; but so loud that conversation was nearly impossible without yelling across the table. At times we could not hear the server and our hearing generally is OK. The noise level was such that it distracted from the good food. I would not recommend it for anyone who wants to converse with their dinner companion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value3

Excellent place for a date night meal. F ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Excellent place for a date night meal. Food and service were excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall we had a good dining experience. ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Overall we had a good dining experience. However, there was "too much sauce" and the place is overpriced. Boise seems to have a hard time to get away from the beer and burgers. And if you insist on beer and burgers I would suggest to go to one of the excellent local brew houses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Worth a stop but save your spot. Fork ha ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Worth a stop but save your spot. Fork has a small but interesting menu. Locally sourced food, unique flavors and a good value, keeps us coming back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent restaurant. I particularly ap ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Excellent restaurant. I particularly appreciate how they accommodate my need to be gluten free. They always have multiple choices and seem to understand the need to "protect" the food from cross-contamination.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The hostess (Sophie?) could tone down he ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The hostess (Sophie?) could tone down her attitude towards guests and other hostesses. Our server and food were terrific.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I honestly go to the Fork for their dess ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

I honestly go to the Fork for their desserts. The food always is good and perfect proportions. It's a fun place that I love to visit when I'm in town, but I really wish they would have chicken and waffles on a weekend day.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Center cut pork chop was excellent. Wou ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Center cut pork chop was excellent. Would absolutely recommend and return this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dinner on the patio with yummy app ...

vip
 (Idaho)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Great dinner on the patio with yummy appetizers, delicious meals, nice bottles of rose wine, and a dessert to share. Excellent service from a fun server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Open Table reservation did not work at F ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Open Table reservation did not work at Fork. The hostess said this happens frequently with OT reservations. They were nice enough to seat our group without waiting. Excellent food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Very disappointed the group I was with o ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Very disappointed the group I was with ordered a drink we had there about a year ago Buzz n' Bing . The waitress didn't know about it said she looked In the book they had with all their drinks. The bartender ended up making a drink for us, it wasn't it at all was awful! Very citrus we sent them back ordered Cosmo they were awful told them we didn't like them. The waitress did take our drinks off the bill which was nice. I came back to California thought I would try and find the drink, well the drink we asked for is on the menu on this app open table! & the bartender and waitress had no clue!!! The only reason we want there cuz of the drink it was so yummy! I took pic of the drink on the menu with my phone won't let me post it here, but is on the menu here unless they take it down now. Here it is:

Buzz n' Bing: local Idaho vodka, local honey simple, house branded local Bing cherries, lemon juice, & Chambord served up!

The sandwiches we had are ok....... So disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

We made our reservation 2 weeks in advan ...

vip
 (Idaho)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

We made our reservation 2 weeks in advance. they put us in the back room, to the left, next to a large table. they said the booths were reserved.

I thought we had a reservation???

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3

Took my wife to Fork for our 17th weddin ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Took my wife to Fork for our 17th wedding anniversary and we were very impressed. It was a little loud, being seated next to a larger, boisterous group but we still enjoyed the evening. The drinks were great, food was very high quality and extremely tasty. It's a great date place, but it is a little more spendy so I doubt I'd bring my whole family.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Met a friend from college and her tween- ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Met a friend from college and her tween-age daughters for brunch and we all loved our food. Our server was very friendly and knowledgeable about the menu too. Another great dining experience at Fork!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and service has gone down since we ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Food and service has gone down since we first started going here. Had the prime rib and it was so bland. The service was very slow with refills.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

The drinks were incredible and the food ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The drinks were incredible and the food delicious. A busy Saturday night made us thankful for reservations, and a bit disappointed by the large number of noisy kids at 8.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.