About Forepaugh's

276 South Exchange Street
Saint Paul, MN 55102
View Larger Map

Forepaugh’s Restaurant is located in a beautiful and historic home overlooking the lovely Irvine Park. Just outside Downtown St. Paul, Forepaugh's is walking distance to the Excel Energy Center. This gorgeous, multi-functional (read: wifi), state of the art venue is disguised as a charming and quaint Victorian mansion. The 7 intimate and artfully decorated dining rooms straddle the past and future gracefully, featuring both period décor and brilliantly conceived, cutting edge New American Cuisine. The wine list is expansive and supported by a wine cellar/chef tasting room that is available for small, intimate gatherings. The comfortable and cozy bar features the finest in distinctive liquors and specialty drinks. And the service is excellent. Join us for a celebration or a romantic dinner or a drink before the game or concert. Business groups, rehearsal dinners, wedding receptions and parties of any shape or size are encouraged as we have many private dining options.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday-Thursday 5pm-9pm, Friday and Saturday 5pm-10pm. Sunday brunch 11am-2pm.
Happy Hour: 4 pm to 7 pm Tuesday-Saturday; 2 p.m. to close on Sunday

Cross Street:
Walnut

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(651) 224-5606

Website:
http://www.forepaughs.com/

Catering:
Forepaugh's does cater to outside venues. Please call Mimi at 651.224.5606 for more information.

Parking Details:
Forepaugh's offers valet parking or complimentary parking in our large lot across the street next to the Ramsey House.

Public Transit:
We are just a short walk to bus stops on 7th Street.

Executive Chef:
Donald Gonzalez

Private Party Facilities:
Forepaugh's offers numerous options for private parties ranging from a wine cellar that serves as our Chef's table to a rooftop patio overlooking Irvine Park. We have a handsome first floor dining room with wood burning fireplace or third floor area overlooking the lights of downtown St. Paul. Leather wallpaper adorns our parlor while Mrs. Forepaugh's original dining room table and chairs grace the Lanpher Room.

Many a wedding ceremony have been held at Forepaugh's! In addition, we host holiday parties, groom's dinners, bridal showers, corporate functions and business meetings and wedding receptions.

While we can seat 175, the entire house with decks, front porch and yard has played host to hundreds.

Private Party Contact:
Mimi: 6512245606x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Forepaugh's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Romantic
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Special Occasion
Minneapolis - St. Paul
6 More
Best Overall
Twin Cities / St. Paul
Best Food
Twin Cities / St. Paul
Best Service
Twin Cities / St. Paul
Best Ambiance
Twin Cities / St. Paul
Romantic
Twin Cities / St. Paul
Special Occasion
Twin Cities / St. Paul
Best Restaurants in St. Paul ›

special occasion (93)
romantic (87)
neighborhood gem (43)
See All
fit for foodies (37)
scenic view (28)
notable wine list (26)
great for brunch (17)
great for outdoor dining (16)
good for groups (16)
great for lunch (8)
hot spot (6)
late-night find (6)
vibrant bar scene (3)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1566 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exquisite food.

Dined on May 22, 2016

We tried several dishes that we don't normally eat, and loved them all. The chorizo stuffed dates wrapped in bacon knocked my socks off!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Wellingtons were ordered medium and medi ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Wellingtons were ordered medium and medium rare, but delivered as well and medium well. The flavor in general was good, but over cooking just killed the overall dish. For a restaurant that claims to be "known for our Beef Wellington", I was very disappointed. I wanted to return the steaks, but my wife doesn't like to return food. It was her birthday, so I wasn't going to argue. The rest of the meal was fine. Sides were okay, the Seasonal Greens salad was nice, and the desserts were good, but nothing I would rate as a cut above. The staff was friendly and the house itself was interesting, but that won't be enough to bring us back. For the price, there are better options out there.

food3
ambience5
service5
value2

The building is beautiful, the service e ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

The building is beautiful, the service exemplary, but I was disappointed in the food. I expected to be impressed, but the portions were small and I’m probably just not that much of a foodie to appreciate some of the strange combinations. Leek soup was only OK, and not very warm. The chicken was just chicken – actually a little dry. The sweet potato gnocchi and braised artichokes did nothing for me. The arancini was great, but I needed a few more of them. Deserts were good, but overall this was not the special experience I was hoping for - especially for these prices.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This hasn't been my first time her, so I ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

This hasn't been my first time her, so I can say that the service here is always great and the food is cooked to perfection. The idea of dinning in a haunted Victorian mansion is the reason I first chose to come to this resturant and the food and atmosphere is why I keep coming back! If you are looking for a romantic night, look no further and this place is great for special occasions as well! 10/10 Would dine again!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent ambience. Personalized service ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Excellent ambience. Personalized service. Well thought out dishes. Delicious food.

food4
ambience5
service5

The shrimp was plated perfectly and tast ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

The shrimp was plated perfectly and tasted even better! The green salad was also great, and the beef wellington was fantastic. Nicely done.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Forepaugh's is the best

Dined on May 13, 2016

Service and attention to detail was superb. The host (forgot his name) was friendly and welcoming. Matt the server knew the menu very well and could explain preparation, pairings and flavor. Leif, our water man, was awesome. We never had an empty glass. I was a bit disappointed in their signature dish - Beef Wellington. It is much different than it was ten years ago with the mushroom pate and the phyllo crust fully encased around the beef. The lattice pastry and the veiny spinach pate did not do it for me. Bring back the old version please. The meat was perfect, but I wondered why the waiter did not ask how we preferred to have our meat done.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Forepaughs

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food, service and ambiance was excellent!! Save the reservation experience for a special occasion, since it is rather pricy. I'm looking forward to coming back again for happy hour. This place is a gem!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Nice Mother's Day Treat

Dined on May 8, 2016

Very much enjoyed the Mother's Day brunch. Scones were tasty and beef tenderloin was excellent. Mom was thrilled and we all got a great memory from it. Thanks!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We loved the peace and quiet which is so ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

We loved the peace and quiet which is so hard to come by. We had a great evening - wonderful service and food. The restaurant is lovingly restored to absolute beauty.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brunch

Dined on May 1, 2016

We had the French Toast and Quiche for Brunch and everything was delicious! Our server was very attentive. We had a marvelous time, and we hope to be back soon.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Romantic, great service, and delicious food

Dined on May 1, 2016

My man and I celebrated our 2nd year anniversary at Forepaugh's this year and we were very impressed with the service we received that night. The centerpieces and candle light made the environment romantic and very appropriate for our celebration. Although Forepaugh's is a busy restaurant, the big party downstairs did not disturb our dinner at all. This was our first time here but we will definitely be back! We highly recommend this place for anyone celebrating a special occasion, or even a dinner date.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

A night out.

Dined on April 29, 2016

We had a very good time and enjoyed the food. Our service was excellent!

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience! Took wife for one year ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Great experience! Took wife for one year anniversary and was not let down. Ben did a great job explaining the different options. Went with the beef Wellington, chorizo stuffed dates and brussle sprouts. Would definitely return!

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Birthday Dinner Celebration

Dined on April 22, 2016

A group of friends were together for a birthday celebration. The ambiance was perfect for visiting and having a good time. The service was exceptional, the 'Molly' tour was fun, and we were served beautiful complimentary desserts to celebrate our birthdays. Thank you Forepaughs!

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Reliably Excellent

Dined on April 19, 2016

My wife and I recently dined at Forepaugh's for her birthday. The food was excellent, the service impeccable, and the atmosphere was perfect. Fabulous bar for pre- or post-dinner drinks, and the historic setting is great for special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Forepaughs is an amazing experience!

Dined on April 17, 2016

If you are in the Twin Cities this is an absolute must! The food, the staff, the ambience, the history, the " ghosts" and the maitre 'd make this an A+ experience. I would be remiss if I did not mention the General Manager - she is top notch. They are lucky to have her on board. She assisted us in making plans with very special Minnesota friends leaving no detail overlooked. We are from Michigan and having never been to the resturaunt before the assist was greatly appreciated. Finally - book the wine room if you have a party of 8. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Great place for a nice quiet dinner

Dined on April 16, 2016

It was our 17th year anniversary and wanted to try something new. We were torn between two restauraunt stay day. We decided Forepaughs. Glad we did. Good and atmosphere was very cozy. I we to sit next to the fireplace. Our server was great but reason for 3 stars on service was she forgot the bread all night. It was something my wife and I was looking forward to trying. But all in all, it is was a great experience. The pork belly was prepared to perfection, also the Lemon Shrimp.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4

The Beef Wellington was excellent!

Dined on April 9, 2016

The Beef Wellington was excellent!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional Service!!!!

Dined on April 9, 2016

Proposed to my fiancée. Staff was amazing from the gentleman opening the door to the food server! Absolutely outstanding!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent yet again

Dined on April 6, 2016

This was my second time here, and this time it was for a date, which Forepaugh's is perfect for. It's so beautiful, and the food is phenomenal, as usual. We walked around the house after our meal, which was almost my favorite part. There's just something about that house that is absolutely amazing! I can't wait to come back, we're already planning on it!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a wonderful time on the top floor ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

We had a wonderful time on the top floor. The food was outstanding and the service was top-notch!

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Delicious food in a haunted Victorian Manor

Dined on April 2, 2016

I've been to Forepaughs a few times through the last 15 years. The first few times I always remember the atmosphere. This last time I will remember the food. Its a really interesting restaurant. Being set in a old Victorian mansion means there are twists, turns, different levels, "cubbies" and different rooms all throughout. Each one a bit different from the other. It's really what I remembered as a kid. However, this time around the food is what I'll remember. We both had the beef wellington and it was amazing. Everything on the plate had a wonderful taste and they all went together perfectly. We also had the brussel sprouts, which were top notch. If you think you don't like brussel sprouts I challenge you to try them here, and I bet it changes your mind. The staff and our waiter were awesome. Friendly, knowledgable, quick. The only downside is it is a bit spendy, but what do you expect from a high class, interesting atmosphere restaurant with insanely good food. Expensive, but at the same time totally well worth it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

Review

Dined on March 27, 2016

Quaint, small town, charm. Elegant historic home boasts a cozy romantic ambience. Food average, expensive for the quality of the food. Salmon was good, not great but appreciated the taste. Prime rib was also good, not great. Flavorful food .... Desserts very average- would have expected something more delicious. Loved the home, would definitely come for a small plate or drink with a friend. Would like to experience outdoor neighborhood dining. Great location and vintage charm. Comfortable.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a wonderful place for a holiday ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

This is a wonderful place for a holiday meal, a romantic dinner, or an after opera/theater stop. The bar and its menu are warm, friendly and perfect for a casual cocktail or snack. The dining rooms are simply beautiful, dripping with historic charm. The food is very good. The staff is warm and welcoming each step along the way. Our holiday meal on Easter was leisurely, professionally presented but without a hint of snootiness, and the fixed menu was well thought-out, albeit too much food for all of us. The historic neighborhood adds to the ambiance.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Enjoyed our Brunch

Dined on March 20, 2016

had a group of 6 for brunch and had a great time. We had a room to ourselves at 11:00 am which was fabulous (maybe unusual?). All had something different to eat and everyone mentioned the food was great. Servers maybe need a bit more training - seem low on energy - but that was minor.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Frequent diners

Dined on March 19, 2016

We have been to Forepaughs for family occasions, parties, and quiet dinners, and we have been delighted by the food and service and impressed by the ambiance each time. We recommend it to friends often.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Amazing food!

Dined on March 18, 2016

Every bite was amazing! I recommend the spinach leek soup for the first course, the lemon shrimp for the second, and the beef Wellington for the third! We took a tour of the house and we definitely recommend to ask to see the wine room. Would love to be able to have a private party there! The only sort of negative thing is that the portion sizes are small comparable to the prices. But you pay extra for the ambiance, exquisite food, and the experience that is fine dining. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone that felt like celebrating at a upscale restaurant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely fabulous! The ambiance is ama ...

Dined on March 18, 2016

Absolutely fabulous! The ambiance is amazing and just walking around the house is worth the trip. The first course was forgettable but the rest of the meal was amazing! Pork belly with sweet potato and pear, chorizo stuffed dates, and the filet was the best I'd ever had. The deconstructed banana cream pie was unique and delicious. Be prepared, the portions are relatively small and the prices are high compared to some other places but we left full and completely satisfied. This will definitely become a regular place for us for when we want a special night out.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Time

Dined on March 1, 2016

I had ask our Maitre d John for some special arrangements for a birthday surprise for my wife. All was perfect and John and staff were a delight. Need to check out their wine cellar for a special gathering.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Selection

Dined on February 27, 2016

Wonderful experience and great service. Our dinner was very tasty, however I would have preferred more choices in the first, second, and third courses.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Ambiance plus delicious food

Dined on February 26, 2016

Ask for a tour. It's entertaining to hear the ghost stories. Then you can retreat to one of the dining rooms for a 5-star meal and quiet time with friends or loved ones. We had lemon shrimp, chorizo stuffed dates, beef wellington, the Brussels sprouts and the filet. I know they are known for their beef wellington, but I actually preferred the filet. Everything was done to perfection and the wine list and suggestions from our waitress were exceptional. Highly recommended!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

75th Birthday

Dined on February 26, 2016

They were so great from the moment we walked in the door. Food very elegant and server was extremely knowledgeable regarding the menu items. This was truly a memorable dining experience especially for the "Birthday Girl"!! Many thanks to all of the Forepaugh's staff .

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Poor food. Chicken burnt; walleye undercooked.

Dined on February 21, 2016

Waitress was sometimes nowhere to be found and always apologizing. We did finally find her outside. Overpriced. I suggest taking 10 of your friends to Old Country Buffet where the food is better and you will still have money left over.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

Lovely spot

Dined on February 21, 2016

We really enjoyed our meal. The place is quaint. The service was a little slow and scattered like they had too much to do. The food was excellent but could have been a little hotter. It was nice and quiet which was fabulous.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Unusually slow

Dined on February 21, 2016

I have been to Forepaugh's on several occasions. Always charming and wonderful. There were 5 of us for a 6:15 reservation and food service was really slow. Drinks, water, bread...all well timed and our server was very sweet. Not sure what was happening in the kitchen but by the time our food arrived (over 2 hours) we were ready to leave. I hope this was just an off night for the kitchen. I love this place and have great memories of previous evenings.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

High Price for low impact

Dined on February 21, 2016

Unfortunately, our $200+ dollar meal included luke warm soup, small portions, and nothing that jumped out as outstanding flavor. Beautiful house, but tight quarters and not very accessible for older adults or larger individuals. Fabulous wait staff, but, after you add the cost of coat checking, valet parking, and drinks at the bar, this was a very expensive night out.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and a perfect place for a ...

Dined on February 16, 2016

Great service and a perfect place for a meal prior to a show! Nothing but great things to say and the atmosphere is extremely intimate. Definitely a top ,not so hidden gem in the cities that is not a chain or carbon copy of what you find in every medium to large city. Class and character!

food3
ambience5
service3

Long wait between first and second cours ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Long wait between first and second course. We sat next to a window and that was slightly drafty. The food was quite tasty but the menu should have allowed for, perhaps two options on every course. I don't like beets or salmon so the salad was inedible. Overheard another guest say he was allergic to shellfish. (Lobster bisque). I want to ensure that at those prices I'm enjoying every course. The bisque, passionfruit sorbet, and filet were quite amazing though. Enjoyable to dine in a house so rich with local history.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentine's Night

Dined on February 14, 2016

Went to forepaughs for valentine's day dinner, the host was the most professional and accommodating host I have experienced. Our waitress was pleasant, knowledgeable, and made sure we didn't wait at all. Every course was delicious and unique. We will definitely be returning soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.