About Forepaugh's

276 South Exchange Street
Saint Paul, MN 55102
View Larger Map

Forepaugh’s Restaurant is located in a beautiful and historic home overlooking the lovely Irvine Park. Just outside Downtown St. Paul, Forepaugh's is walking distance to the Excel Energy Center. This gorgeous, multi-functional (read: wifi), state of the art venue is disguised as a charming and quaint Victorian mansion. The 7 intimate and artfully decorated dining rooms straddle the past and future gracefully, featuring both period décor and brilliantly conceived, cutting edge New American Cuisine. The wine list is expansive and supported by a wine cellar/chef tasting room that is available for small, intimate gatherings. The comfortable and cozy bar features the finest in distinctive liquors and specialty drinks. And the service is excellent. Join us for a celebration or a romantic dinner or a drink before the game or concert. Business groups, rehearsal dinners, wedding receptions and parties of any shape or size are encouraged as we have many private dining options.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday-Thursday 5pm-9pm, Friday and Saturday 5pm-10pm. Sunday brunch 11am-2pm.
Happy Hour: 4 pm to 7 pm Tuesday-Saturday; 2 p.m. to close on Sunday

Cross Street:
Walnut

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(651) 224-5606

Website:
http://www.forepaughs.com/

Catering:
Forepaugh's does cater to outside venues. Please call Mimi at 651.224.5606 for more information.

Parking Details:
Forepaugh's offers valet parking or complimentary parking in our large lot across the street next to the Ramsey House.

Public Transit:
We are just a short walk to bus stops on 7th Street.

Executive Chef:
Donald Gonzalez

Private Party Facilities:
Forepaugh's offers numerous options for private parties ranging from a wine cellar that serves as our Chef's table to a rooftop patio overlooking Irvine Park. We have a handsome first floor dining room with wood burning fireplace or third floor area overlooking the lights of downtown St. Paul. Leather wallpaper adorns our parlor while Mrs. Forepaugh's original dining room table and chairs grace the Lanpher Room.

Many a wedding ceremony have been held at Forepaugh's! In addition, we host holiday parties, groom's dinners, bridal showers, corporate functions and business meetings and wedding receptions.

While we can seat 175, the entire house with decks, front porch and yard has played host to hundreds.

Private Party Contact:
Mimi: 6512245606x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Forepaugh's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Romantic
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Special Occasion
Minneapolis - St. Paul
7 More
Contemporary American
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Best Overall
Twin Cities / St. Paul
Best Food
Twin Cities / St. Paul
Best Service
Twin Cities / St. Paul
Best Ambiance
Twin Cities / St. Paul
Romantic
Twin Cities / St. Paul
Special Occasion
Twin Cities / St. Paul
Best Restaurants in St. Paul ›

special occasion (70)
romantic (62)
neighborhood gem (33)
See All
fit for foodies (30)
scenic view (20)
notable wine list (20)
great for outdoor dining (19)
great for brunch (13)
good for groups (10)
great for lunch (6)
hot spot (5)
vibrant bar scene (5)
late-night find (2)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1592 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Service was great. The host John was awe ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 3 days ago

Service was great. The host John was awesome and told us some great stories. The mansion is fun with lots of cool rooms.

The food was good, but nothing spectacular.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

THe environment and ambiance were as exp ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 6 days ago

THe environment and ambiance were as expected - historical and museumish - the service was quite personal and the food was good The presentation of the meal was as good as I've seen anywhere I just thought that the menu was a "little pricey"

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Food and service were excellent and ambi ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Food and service were excellent and ambiance was very good. It was very nice to have Chef Miech visit our table during the serving of salads/soup and entrees. We have been dining at Forepaugh's since the 1980s, so it is good to see quality has been maintained and we will be returning some Thursday for a patio grilling event. Need to visit some of upstairs dining rooms to better compare redecoration to earlier visits under previous ownership, including our daughter's wedding reception there on the second floor. Would love to be seated outdoors next time on roof,weather permitting, for great views of Irvine Park and The Ramsey House. A la carte pricing of each item/course can get pricey.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The house itself was very pretty. Nice ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The house itself was very pretty. Nice to be able to get into some of these Victorian's. The food was tasty as well.

Unfortunately, there were some downfalls with the staff. While we were immediately greeted and the Maitre D seemed very much like a gentelman...he admitted that he made my husbands reservations. Yet, he had to ask AGAIN if we were there for a special occasion -yes buddy 15 year wedding Ann! My husband told you this over the phone! Again, when our server FINALLY came to our table to take our drink order she asked if it was a special occasion. REALLY!? WOW Not good. Why are we having to tell you 3 times of our very special day? Made me sad.

It took a very long time for our server to come to our table for our drink order & was a continuous problem the entire evening. At one point my husband had asked for a drink refill 3 times. I had ordered the mashed potatoes and when my fillet came out my potatoes were missing. When I pointed this out to my server she said, oh I think they are under you fillet (there was little white stuff under the meat.) She goes yeah, I guess there isn't much there...well your husband has alot on his plate...I guess you'll have to share his! UNBELIEVABLE! I literally couldn't believe she told me this. After she walked away, I discovered that was a sauce under my fillet and NOT potatoes. I had to tell her she was wrong and she ended up bringing me some.

Our Maitre D came into our dining area to tell every table individually that he was leaving. He spend a decent amount of time at each table and shook the male's hands. When he got to our table, he was quick with a good-bye and never shook my husbands hand : ( This made us feel awful. Were we not up to his standards?

Oh and lastly I noticed that the Maitre D was giving a few different small groups tours around the house, but told us to help ourselves by touring the house whenever we wanted to. Not sure why they got a tour and we didn't.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

The food is way too expensive! Very smal ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The food is way too expensive! Very small portions

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

We- myself, my son , my husband and his ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We- myself, my son , my husband and his 96 year old mother went for brunch. The staff could not be nicer and any more attentive. The food was fantastic; we all loved what we ordered. We aged from 21 to 96 and each of us totally enjoyed it. Thank you! I believe Ben was our waiter and I wish I knew the lady who was hostess because she was outstanding!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This visit was my first with Forpaugh's ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

This visit was my first with Forpaugh's and it was an absolute delight! My date and I were impressed by the food and the presentation, the wait staff was attentive without being intrusive, and the atmosphere was very romantic. The only thing I would have changed was the volume of the music but we were directly under a speaker and I never asked the staff about it.

You can be sure I'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Over 50 years ago, when I was in high sc ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Over 50 years ago, when I was in high school, Forepaugh's was my parent's favorite restaurant. Over the years, it remains one of my favorites. They have certainly stood the test of time. On our last visit, something was off. They did not quite match up to our previous high expectations.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I wish I could rate the food but we wait ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

I wish I could rate the food but we waited so long (over an hour) without so much as a salad appearing that we had to leave.

Apparently there was some kind of kitchen crisis. While I appreciate that issues happen, and liked that they comped our drinks, a place like this should never be so far gone as to tell you that they have no idea "if or when" food might be coming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

Great service!!

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Great service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We started with the chicken samosas whic ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

We started with the chicken samosas which were overlooked. I ordered the 4 cheese Mac n cheese dish. My dish had no sauce. The pasta was dry and unappetizing. They had placed breadcrumbs (not sure you could call it gremolata) on top which made it even worse. I returned the dish and didn't order anything else. They brought us a dessert for free which was a deconstructed banana pie. It was awful. The custard tasted like a packaged banana pudding and the base was dry and bland. I will not return to Forepaughs as it is overpriced and the food is mediocre to say the least.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

Problem with kitchen delayed our meals p ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Problem with kitchen delayed our meals prior to a concert. Free after dinner drink was provided to us and delay was not the fault of our waiter.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

This was a special occasion. We had a g ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

This was a special occasion. We had a group of 12 so with drinks and desert it averaged about $50.00 per person - that's reasonable for a special dinner. It was an 85th birthday party. The food was very good. The service was good as well.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

Supremely fantastic customer service. My ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Supremely fantastic customer service. My wife and I came for our anniversary dinner and we were given complimentary champagne and the food came out within minutes of ordering. Our server was almost always at hand without hovering or stopping in enough to be bothersome. I was very impressed with the overall experience and the food was perfect. I also thought it was nice that we were encouraged to walk around after we finished our meal and explore the house. Really unique restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, very attentive service a ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Excellent food, very attentive service and period atmosphere made for a special evening to be long remembered.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice brunch although limited options. B ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Nice brunch although limited options. Beautiful view from the terrace!

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

We love coming here for Happy Hour and o ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We love coming here for Happy Hour and other special occasions to relax on the porch, enjoy the food, drink, weather and each other.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The Matre'd went out of his way to acco ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

The Matre'd went out of his way to accommodate our request for a special table and to make us feel special for our anniversary. The waitress was very nice and friendly. Great ambiance and location. Food is special, but perhaps not so fantastic relative to price. Definitely worth checking out, however.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and beverages! Ben was a rea ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Great food and beverages! Ben was a really great server....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Worth the drive to St. Paul!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Coming from Chicago I'm a bit of a tough critic on food, but Forepaugh's didn't disappoint! Their signature beef wellington didn't disappoint and my wife had the pork chop and had them bread it, HIGHLY RECOMMEND that addition. Dessert didn't disappoint either! quite a sweet topper. For all that Minneapolis has to offer, I'll still make sure I come here on my next trip!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ambience

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Wish we could have stayed seated in the first room by a window that the hostess sat us at before being moved to another area. Although they did apologize, the place where we were taken did not have the same ambience and the wallpaper was falling off the walls and ceiling :( Overall a good experience tho :)

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always special

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

We haven't been to Forepaugh's in quite a while and the ownership has changed hands. It has always been a special place for us and we were so pleased to find the restaurant is as beautiful and romantic as ever and the food is outstanding. The staff is warm, friendly and knowledgable. The walleye preparation is unique and so delicious. We thoroughly enjoyed our evening and hope it won't be so long before we get there again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Genuine Class

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

This is the second time my wife and I have come here for our anniversary. The service, ambience, food, and attention to detail is at the top of what the Twin Cities has to offer. Highly recommended when you want the best and need to treat yourself.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were there for HH and sat in the fron ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

We were there for HH and sat in the front porch. Two of us had sandwiches, Cuban and something else, and both were delicious! We were disappoint in the bread pudding, which was more like a muffin...also, they were having trouble with the freezer, so the small portion of the ice cream was melting, almost a liquid. I guess in retrospect, we should not have been charged for the pudding. However, the service was superb and we will definitely return.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Exquisite food.

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We tried several dishes that we don't normally eat, and loved them all. The chorizo stuffed dates wrapped in bacon knocked my socks off!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wellingtons were ordered medium and medi ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Wellingtons were ordered medium and medium rare, but delivered as well and medium well. The flavor in general was good, but over cooking just killed the overall dish. For a restaurant that claims to be "known for our Beef Wellington", I was very disappointed. I wanted to return the steaks, but my wife doesn't like to return food. It was her birthday, so I wasn't going to argue.

The rest of the meal was fine. Sides were okay, the Seasonal Greens salad was nice, and the desserts were good, but nothing I would rate as a cut above.

The staff was friendly and the house itself was interesting, but that won't be enough to bring us back. For the price, there are better options out there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

The building is beautiful, the service e ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The building is beautiful, the service exemplary, but I was disappointed in the food. I expected to be impressed, but the portions were small and I’m probably just not that much of a foodie to appreciate some of the strange combinations. Leek soup was only OK, and not very warm. The chicken was just chicken – actually a little dry. The sweet potato gnocchi and braised artichokes did nothing for me. The arancini was great, but I needed a few more of them. Deserts were good, but overall this was not the special experience I was hoping for - especially for these prices.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

This hasn't been my first time her, so I ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

This hasn't been my first time her, so I can say that the service here is always great and the food is cooked to perfection. The idea of dinning in a haunted Victorian mansion is the reason I first chose to come to this resturant and the food and atmosphere is why I keep coming back! If you are looking for a romantic night, look no further and this place is great for special occasions as well! 10/10 Would dine again!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent ambience. Personalized service ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Excellent ambience. Personalized service. Well thought out dishes. Delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The shrimp was plated perfectly and tast ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

The shrimp was plated perfectly and tasted even better! The green salad was also great, and the beef wellington was fantastic. Nicely done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Service and ambiance always amazing. Foo ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Service and ambiance always amazing. Food disappointing yet again. Over-cooked this time, under-cooked last time. Not worth it for the money when the food does not live up to everything else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Forepaugh's is the best

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Service and attention to detail was superb. The host (forgot his name) was friendly and welcoming. Matt the server knew the menu very well and could explain preparation, pairings and flavor. Leif, our water man, was awesome. We never had an empty glass.

I was a bit disappointed in their signature dish - Beef Wellington. It is much different than it was ten years ago with the mushroom pate and the phyllo crust fully encased around the beef. The lattice pastry and the veiny spinach pate did not do it for me.

Bring back the old version please. The meat was perfect, but I wondered why the waiter did not ask how we preferred to have our meat done.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Forepaughs

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The food, service and ambiance was excellent!! Save the reservation experience for a special occasion, since it is rather pricy. I'm looking forward to coming back again for happy hour. This place is a gem!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice Mother's Day Treat

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Very much enjoyed the Mother's Day brunch. Scones were tasty and beef tenderloin was excellent. Mom was thrilled and we all got a great memory from it. Thanks!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We loved the peace and quiet which is so ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We loved the peace and quiet which is so hard to come by. We had a great evening - wonderful service and food. The restaurant is lovingly restored to absolute beauty.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was amazing but service was slow

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Food was amazing but service was slow

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Brunch

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

We had the French Toast and Quiche for Brunch and everything was delicious! Our server was very attentive. We had a marvelous time, and we hope to be back soon.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Romantic, great service, and delicious food

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

My man and I celebrated our 2nd year anniversary at Forepaugh's this year and we were very impressed with the service we received that night. The centerpieces and candle light made the environment romantic and very appropriate for our celebration. Although Forepaugh's is a busy restaurant, the big party downstairs did not disturb our dinner at all. This was our first time here but we will definitely be back! We highly recommend this place for anyone celebrating a special occasion, or even a dinner date.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A night out.

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

We had a very good time and enjoyed the food. Our service was excellent!

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience! Took wife for one year ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Great experience! Took wife for one year anniversary and was not let down. Ben did a great job explaining the different options. Went with the beef Wellington, chorizo stuffed dates and brussle sprouts. Would definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.