About Forepaugh's

276 South Exchange Street
Saint Paul, MN 55102
View Larger Map

Forepaugh’s Restaurant is located in a beautiful and historic mansion overlooking the lovely Irvine Park. Just outside Downtown St. Paul, Forepaugh's is walking distance to the Excel Energy Center. This gorgeous, multi-functional, state of the art venue is disguised as a charming and quaint Victorian home. The 8 intimate and artfully decorated dining rooms straddle the past and future gracefully, featuring both period décor and brilliantly conceived, cutting edge New American Cuisine. The wine list is expansive and supported by a wine cellar/chef tasting room that is available for small, intimate gatherings. The comfortable and cozy bar features the finest in distinctive liquors and specialty drinks. And the service is excellent. Join us for a celebration or a romantic dinner or a drink before the game or concert. Business groups, rehearsal dinners, wedding receptions and parties of any shape or size are encouraged as we have many private dining options.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday-Thursday 5pm-9pm (last seating), Friday and Saturday 5pm-10pm (last seating). Sunday brunch 11am-2pm.
Happy Hour: 4 pm to 7 pm Tuesday-Saturday; 2 p.m. to close on Sunday

Cross Street:
Walnut

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(651) 224-5606

Website:
http://www.forepaughs.com/

Catering:
Forepaugh's does cater to outside venues. Please call Mimi at 651.224.5606 for more information.

Parking Details:
Forepaugh's offers valet parking or complimentary parking in our large lot across the street next to the Ramsey House.

Public Transit:
We are just a short walk to bus stops on 7th Street.

Executive Chef:
Donald Gonzalez

Private Party Facilities:
Forepaugh's offers numerous options for private parties ranging from a wine cellar that serves as our Chef's table to a rooftop patio overlooking Irvine Park. We have a handsome first floor dining room with wood burning fireplace or third floor area overlooking the lights of downtown St. Paul. Leather wallpaper adorns our parlor while Mrs. Forepaugh's original dining room table and chairs grace the Lanpher Room.

Many a wedding ceremony have been held at Forepaugh's! In addition, we host holiday parties, groom's dinners, bridal showers, corporate functions and business meetings and wedding receptions.

While we can seat 175, the entire house with decks, front porch and yard has played host to hundreds.

Private Party Contact:
Mimi: (651) 224-5606

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Forepaugh's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (54)
Historic (54)
Romantic (47)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (47)
Good for a Date (46)
Cozy (44)
Quiet Conversation (39)
Neighborhood Gem (34)
Fireplace (22)
Notable Wine List (21)
Private Room (21)
Worth the Drive (21)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Authentic (15)
Good for Groups (12)
Business Meals (10)
Scenic View (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Fun (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Seasonal (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Casual (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Family Style (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Healthy (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Sports (1)
Dancing (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Vegan (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
1765 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Mansion built in the 1800s. Very beautif ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

Mansion built in the 1800s. Very beautiful inside and out. If I had the money I would propose to myself in one of the rooms available to reserve for special occasion dinners.

Amazing food and service. Valet parking. Elegance. Fine dining. Wear your best dress. Tables are close together but worth the reservation. Quietest restaurant I have been to and very unique and memorable. My dates were all too impressed

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Healthy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

food was great, service was excellent, I ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

food was great, service was excellent, I would return for any other special occasion

Tags: Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was wonderful and explained a ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Our server was wonderful and explained all food items on the brunch menus.

She also told us some fun history facts and we toured the floors. We had a lovely time.

Thank you! Also Rebecca who took our reservation was great!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Fun, Good for a Date, Private Room, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a wonderful evening, food was ama ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We had a wonderful evening, food was amazing and the entire staff very welcoming.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was great, the service wa ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The restaurant was great, the service was great, staff were friendly, but the place was very cold.

It was cold outside and the heat in the room could not keep up with the cold. This was the only reason for my rating on ambiance. The place is delightful, but I needed gloves.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

Very cute setting, excellent service, an ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Very cute setting, excellent service, and superb food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went for New Year's Eve dinner. Set menu ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went for New Year's Eve dinner. Set menu paired with wine for each course. Food and wine were both very good. Server had too many tables and struggled to keep up, so service was poor despite the set menu.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Extremely slow service, 1st course arriv ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Extremely slow service, 1st course arrived an hour after our reservation. Dinner took 3 hours. Food was really good though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value1

Kitchen was terribly slow, especially si ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Kitchen was terribly slow, especially since NYE had a fixed menu. It took 4 hours. At one point, we waited over an hour between courses. I was extremely disappointed, especially considering the cost of the NYE meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Our first experience with Forepaugh's wa ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our first experience with Forepaugh's was on New Year's Eve. Disappointingly, it was not what we had expected. I would not recommend eating here if it is one of their "fixed" menus - meaning, everyone is served the same meal. We thought because there would not be a number of different meals to prepare, it would go quite fast, right? That was not the case. Our reservation was for 5 p.m. in which we arrived at 4:45 p.m. and was not seated until 5:45 p.m. We were seated at a corner table that was quite drafty on a cold Minnesota evening. We had asked if the floor board heating could be turned on but, never received a response, nor were we asked if we wanted to move. Our first course finally was served at approximately 6:15 p.m. and it was cold. Most of the dishes served were not hot, unfortunately, and we thought the quality of the food was far from being worthy of the price. The time in between the courses was far from acceptable. Again, all the meals were the same - why would it take so long to prepare? Anyway, after 4 hours we were on our way home. We may try Forepaugh's again but, we will definitely avoid the days that have a set menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

The setting is great. It is a place wher ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The setting is great. It is a place where you can carry on a conversation without shouting. If the food was better it would be a GO to place. My partner felt that Salmon Crudo was bland. I have the French onion soup from downstairs menu and felt that it was too salty. I was very excited to see Beef Wellington on the menu it is one of my very favorite dishes. We both asked for the Beef Wellington rare. One was done medium and the second rare. The waiter was very gracious and had a second one prepared very quickly. This one rare. It was good but what I had hoped for. Would not order again.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

The ambiance is fantastic. The at the d ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The ambiance is fantastic. The at the door warm welcome felt like visiting a friend at home. We love the history and feel of all the rooms, the roaring fireplace and the menu selection. We had a memorable evening in this beautiful 1870s Victorian mansion with tasty food, good service and more. I enjoyed the Beef Wellington and everyone liked what they had ordered. This was a fun way to celebrate a birthday with friends over the holidays and would be fitting for any occasion.

Tags: Fireplace, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A very fun place to share a meal. Great ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 30, 2016

A very fun place to share a meal. Great food. Great service. Great restaurant.

Tags: Cozy, Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went there for an anniversary. The only ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Went there for an anniversary. The only downside was it was a little pricey, considering the Twin Cities has such a wide range of amazing food for very reasonable prices. That aside, it was the perfect place to celebrate our 1 year. Cozy, quiet, romantic. They seated us away from other large groups, and the service is very attentive without being overbearing. The mansion is beautiful, the food and drinks were very good. A fun place to dress up and pretend you have more money than you do-they definitely treat you as such.

Tags: Private Room, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Historic, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Slow service. One of us did not get what ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Slow service. One of us did not get what we ordered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

The staff was very helpful in assisting ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The staff was very helpful in assisting our handicapped friend to the table. They even brought him a different chair to help with his comfort. The food review is uneven: the beef wellington was not as good as other places / the salads were excellent / French onion soup was "OK" / the walleye tasted good but was a bit "soupy" in presentation. Desserts were excellent. We ate two nights later at Perkins for one tenth of the cost and it was just as satisfying. Sorry.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Scenic View, Romantic, Fireplace, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Me and my wife went here for our 20th we ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Me and my wife went here for our 20th wedding anniversary. It had a nice vibe to it and the food was fantastic. The wallpaper was peeling in some places but the place is well over 100 years old! Overall, we had a wonderful evening with great food and drinks! Thanksf!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The host is fantastic and just the highl ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 21, 2016

The host is fantastic and just the highlight of the experience. The food was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

My family of 5 went for a before Christm ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 19, 2016

My family of 5 went for a before Christmas get-together. The food was good. Everyone enjoyed their menu choice. The waiter was pleasant and accomodating. . The only disappointing aspect was the fact that it took forever to get our food. We ate 3 courses and were there for 3 hours. We enjoy a leisurely meal, but that seemed a little extreme.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We enjoyed a wonderful Sunday brunch. Th ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We enjoyed a wonderful Sunday brunch. The four of us all ordered something different and all were pleased. We'll return.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a wonderful brunch with family to ce ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Had a wonderful brunch with family to celebrate birthdays. Although a limited menu, the food was delicious and the portions were perfectly filling but not overbearing. Get the donuts, you won't regret it!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Bar Seating, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambience and located across from a ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great ambience and located across from a historical site. We visited for Sunday brunch to scout out a place to hold meetups for a fashion group. I look forward to bringing my group here.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Afternoon Tea, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Cozy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you're looking for a unique, historic ...

 
·Dined on December 18, 2016

If you're looking for a unique, historic setting and fantastic food, Forepaugh's is the place. After you buy three courses, wine, dessert, etc., expect a fat bill. Because of that, it's a special-occasion restaurant for us. But what a wonderful place to go for that special occasion. Because of its layout (dining rooms on three floors) there is more privacy than many restaurants. We were also encouraged to walk around and explore the amazing historic house. We asked if the ghost stories were true and were told yes. In fact, we think we were able to capture one on camera (at least it's fun to believe that we were)! For many reasons, I highly recommend Forepaugh's, especially for a special celebration or for that date you really want to impress.

Tags: Historic, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a delightful evening celebrating ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We had a delightful evening celebrating two birthdays. My only complaint, and this is minor, is that in rather small rooms, it did get noisy when a table for 10 was seated next to us. It was the holiday season, so I think that made a difference. There were six in our group and everyone said they had a good meal, enjoyed the beautiful building and would all go back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Not familiar with any other offers from ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Not familiar with any other offers from this establishment. If Forepaugh's reached out to advertise more I could be more knowledgeable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

You feel like you are their most importa ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 15, 2016

You feel like you are their most important guest from the time you walk in until you leave. The service was only surpassed by the food. Everything was elegant, relaxed and well timed. One of our guest was surprised to find that 3 hours had passed because of how well timed the courses were. There is no lag however you are not rushed out the door either. I did notice their was a table being sat at the same time that commented that they had theater tickets and they were served quickly and left within an hour. Excellent attention to your needs

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall, a lovely dinner interrupted onl ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Overall, a lovely dinner interrupted only by a slightly rowdy group of "gentlemen" who were there before the hockey game. After they left everything was perfect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing. Staff was very thoughtful. An ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Amazing. Staff was very thoughtful. An absolute pleasure!

Tags: Historic, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Fun, Romantic, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My second time at this restaurant. I lo ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 10, 2016

My second time at this restaurant. I loved it so much the first time, I had to bring my husband back. Decided to eat before seeing a play at the Ordway. Love this place. The food and drinks are wonderful. The staff is always very friendly and helpful!

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I haven't been there in ten or more year ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 8, 2016

I haven't been there in ten or more years and my friend wanted to go for his birthday dinner. Good food and great atmosphere for a relaxing conversation with friends. I highly recommend this restaurant for the food, service and the ambience.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and ambiance at Forepaugh's was ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 6, 2016

The food and ambiance at Forepaugh's was outstanding. Our party of 4 met to celebrate 2 birthdays and then head over to a concert at the Excel. Our service was sooo slow, we received our dinner ~10-15 mins before we had to leave for the concert. We ate in a rush, food was outstanding. We had it pre-arranged w/restaurant to have a special dessert for our 2 birthdays and never had an opportunity to celebrate that part of our meal. We all found that to be very disappointing. Yes, I would definitely return for the food/ambiance but never if I had to make it to an event nearby.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

Staff was VERY accommodating (i.e. eleva ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Staff was VERY accommodating (i.e. elevator, attempting to seat us at the table he and his (deceased) wife use to sit at) to our 92 yr old friend and went out of there way to make his special birthday ... special!!

Food was incredibly delicious and prepared as ordered!!

Wine is too pricey.

The lighting was too dim; several tables including ours used the flashlight on our cell phones to read menu, bill, etc

Tags: Good for Groups, Private Room, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Try the beef wellington! Historic locati ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Try the beef wellington! Historic location. Victorian style.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was special. Delicious food, ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Everything was special. Delicious food, beautifully prepared. The setting is warm and cozy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The ambiance is outstanding-- super old ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 4, 2016

The ambiance is outstanding-- super old home with ornate woodwork. The food was OK-- nothing spectacular. Do NOT recommend the Salmon Crudo. The Beef Wellington was delicious. Great atmosphere and fun drinks-- food was acceptable.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

A great dinner overall. Went on a fixed ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2016

A great dinner overall. Went on a fixed 5 course meal for Thanksgiving. Food was well presented and tasted "okay"

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Ate Thanksgiving dinner there. The food ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Ate Thanksgiving dinner there. The food was excellent and the service was great. Will go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thoroughly enjoyable Thanksgiving meal. ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyable Thanksgiving meal. Interesting presentations. I found the soup to be absolutely exquisite - it should be classified as a controlled substance! Our server was top notch. All in all my wife and I had a very pleasant and memorable holiday thanks to Forepaughs.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We visited here for thanksgiving lunch, ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We visited here for thanksgiving lunch, and it was lovely! Do note that is a multi level restaurant. There is an elavator, but stairs are unavoidable for some tables & wash room access. The decor is a lovely, restored mansion in a historic area of town. What a local one-of-a- kind gem in St Paul!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was tasty and the service was p ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The food was tasty and the service was prompt and courteous.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.