About Forepaugh's

276 South Exchange Street
Saint Paul, MN 55102
View Larger Map

Forepaugh’s Restaurant is located in a beautiful and historic home overlooking the lovely Irvine Park. Just outside Downtown St. Paul, Forepaugh's is walking distance to the Excel Energy Center. This gorgeous, multi-functional (read: wifi), state of the art venue is disguised as a charming and quaint Victorian mansion. The 7 intimate and artfully decorated dining rooms straddle the past and future gracefully, featuring both period décor and brilliantly conceived, cutting edge New American Cuisine. The wine list is expansive and supported by a wine cellar/chef tasting room that is available for small, intimate gatherings. The comfortable and cozy bar features the finest in distinctive liquors and specialty drinks. And the service is excellent. Join us for a celebration or a romantic dinner or a drink before the game or concert. Business groups, rehearsal dinners, wedding receptions and parties of any shape or size are encouraged as we have many private dining options.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday-Thursday 5pm-9pm, Friday and Saturday 5pm-10pm. Sunday brunch 11am-2pm.
Happy Hour: 4 pm to 7 pm Tuesday-Saturday; 2 p.m. to close on Sunday

Cross Street:
Walnut

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(651) 224-5606

Website:
http://www.forepaughs.com/

Catering:
Forepaugh's does cater to outside venues. Please call Mimi at 651.224.5606 for more information.

Parking Details:
Forepaugh's offers valet parking or complimentary parking in our large lot across the street next to the Ramsey House.

Public Transit:
We are just a short walk to bus stops on 7th Street.

Executive Chef:
Donald Gonzalez

Private Party Facilities:
Forepaugh's offers numerous options for private parties ranging from a wine cellar that serves as our Chef's table to a rooftop patio overlooking Irvine Park. We have a handsome first floor dining room with wood burning fireplace or third floor area overlooking the lights of downtown St. Paul. Leather wallpaper adorns our parlor while Mrs. Forepaugh's original dining room table and chairs grace the Lanpher Room.

Many a wedding ceremony have been held at Forepaugh's! In addition, we host holiday parties, groom's dinners, bridal showers, corporate functions and business meetings and wedding receptions.

While we can seat 175, the entire house with decks, front porch and yard has played host to hundreds.

Private Party Contact:
Mimi: 6512245606x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Forepaugh's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Romantic
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Special Occasion
Minneapolis - St. Paul
5 More
Best Service
Twin Cities / St. Paul
Best Ambiance
Twin Cities / St. Paul
Outdoor Dining
Twin Cities / St. Paul
Romantic
Twin Cities / St. Paul
Special Occasion
Twin Cities / St. Paul
Best Restaurants in St. Paul ›

Special Occasion (62)
Romantic (49)
Neighborhood Gem (36)
See All
Fit for Foodies (26)
Great for Outdoor Dining (25)
Scenic View (18)
Notable Wine List (17)
Good for Groups (16)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Good for a Date (10)
Cozy (10)
Historic (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Private Room (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Authentic (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Seasonal (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Fireplace (1)
Business Meals (1)
Healthy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Casual (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1621 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We planned to celebrate our dating anniv ...

 
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We planned to celebrate our dating anniversary with a nice dinner at Forepaugh's, a place my girlfriend and I had discussed dining at for a long time and one where she'd yet to visit. While the ambience/host greeting, seating was good we each had to send our diners back as I was served the wrong entrée and my girlfriend's food was terrifically undercooked. Fortunately, my original entrée was taken off the bill and at least I was allowed to keep/eat on the wrongly-served entrée to while I waited for the correct one to arrive, which took over 90 minutes to arrive from our initial seating time. I understand that we had a newer server that evening (who'd keyed in the wrong menu item yet failed to acknowledge that fact even though that error was chronicled on the receipt) and that mistakes do occur- we would've appreciated a more honest, prompt response and perhaps an incentive to come back and give them another chance to make good on the less-than-optimal dining experience during what was a special night for us.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

We went to Forepaugh's for my birthday a ...

 
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We went to Forepaugh's for my birthday and it was an excellent choice. Great food, neat atmosphere, lovely service. When the food was a little slow to arrive (understandably, since they had a wedding party), they gave us some extra desserts. Great place for a special occasion or a date.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It had been many years since we had been ...

 
·Dined on September 17, 2016

It had been many years since we had been to Fotepaugh's because we have moved out of the area. We always went there for special occasions. Last week-end we were back in town and thought that go there for dinner. The service was good, it seemed like the same place we remembered until we saw the menu. It had changed completely from what we remembered. I know that there are new owners. My wife had the escallops and was happy with them. I had the beef wellington and it was chewy. I was not happy with the chooses we had on the menu. You use to be able to get onion soup, now it is only served in the bar. I had to have our server sneak it up to me. You also have three courses now and you pay for each course. We are not cheap people but I do like value for my money. I know that I'm not speaking for everybody but you asked what I thought. It's just not a place we would come back to and I'm sorry for that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

My husband and I brought out of town fri ...

 
·Dined on September 17, 2016

My husband and I brought out of town friends to Forepaugh's Saturday night. We had looked at the menu ahead of time and we're excited for them to try walleye. We were so disappointed. The fish was dried out, cut into strips like fish sticks, had no taste, and was a portion for a small child. It actually was embarrassing for my husband and me-- we had spoken highly of Forepaugh's. We insisted on paying the bill as we didn't want them to fork out $30 for 3 slices of dried out fish. We hadn't been to Forwoaugh's in a long time and I don't think we'll go back for dinner in a long time. I love the building and the bar-- we'll probably just get drinks next time.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

I have heard good things about this rest ...

 
·Dined on September 16, 2016

I have heard good things about this restaurant, but, they completely blew my mind. The food was pricey, but, UNBELIEVABLE. They had 1 waitress helping the 5 tables on our floor. It seems like too many people considering she walked through the menu with each table. Apparently you need to be patient.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Scenic View, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great customer service. Very welcoming a ...

 
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Great customer service. Very welcoming and friendly. Food was good for the most part but it's not something i would pay for ever again. The beef wellington pastry was a little burnt for my taste. The steak itself wasn't really anything outstanding as well. The chicken dishes are really tender and good though. The desserts were okay. Again, nothing really outstanding. We did get a free dessert for my date's birthday. Overall, it was a good fancy date experience. Love the mansion.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Our server was very busy, taking care of ...

 
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Our server was very busy, taking care of at least 5 tables in our room. We were celebrating my husbands 60th birthday with 6 others and our orders seemed to take a relatively long time. My husband ordered his steak Medium well. It was at most Medium RARE and needed to be cooked further. By the time it was ready (a full 10-15 minutes) everyone else had finished their meals, so he had his steak boxed up. His meal was comped but it did put a real damper on the night and a bad experience is what we will remember.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Overall great experience at Forepaugh's. ...

 
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Overall great experience at Forepaugh's. I would definitely plan dinner there again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. We will defi ...

 
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Excellent food and service. We will definitely come back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Afternoon Coffee, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in a room by ourselves for a gro ...

 
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We were in a room by ourselves for a group of 9 which was nice, it was easy to visit, we had good service and food was very good though prices a bit high.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Had heard about this place for years and ...

 
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Had heard about this place for years and just finally got around to making it there. Very cool place with lots of history. Would love to head back with a few couples for a night out.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The worst meal of my life the Beef Welli ...

 
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The worst meal of my life the Beef Wellington i wouldn't feed to my dog. Burnt & dry Huge disappointment

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

We had a great experience. I was disapp ...

 
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We had a great experience. I was disappointed they couldn't get us a table by a window for our anniversary. The gentleman that seated us apologized for this stating they were very busy. We ate nearly our entire meal in a room to ourselves. Only during our dessert did another couple come in (their anniversary too) and were seated by the wall right next to us. All other tables in the room were empty. I didn't get that and it was irritating. Food was great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

My friend and I were offered the option ...

 
·Dined on August 26, 2016

My friend and I were offered the option of eating on the upstairs patio. We thought we would try it. Big mistake. We were basically left out there with minimal service until it was too dark out there to even have desert. We moved ourselves inside for desert. Slow if not absent service. They were obviously over booked. Food o.k.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Food is exceptional, along with the ser ...

 
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Food is exceptional, along with the service. Beautiful venue.

Tags: Private Room, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic as always! Their cocktails ar ...

 
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Fantastic as always! Their cocktails are superb, the meals are delicious, and the staff is professional, courteous and so very kind and friendly. We love going to Forpaughs and we know we are always in for a treat!

Tags: Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

love, love, loved it. the host was so in ...

 
·Dined on August 19, 2016

love, love, loved it. the host was so inviting and personable. the food was served in perfectly sized portions and most tasty.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed to celebrate a birthday there ...

 
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We enjoyed to celebrate a birthday there. The table was nice and the server very helpful. The food was very tasty. The price was high but because it was a special occasion we did not care. I have been there many years ago and can only afford to go there only a few times. We were very happy with our selection of place and food.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The hospitality was outstanding and our ...

 
·Dined on August 10, 2016

The hospitality was outstanding and our dinner choices were excellently prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant it well known to lovers ...

 
·Dined on August 7, 2016

This restaurant it well known to lovers of fine dining in the Twin Cities. My recent visit fully confirmed its reputation for me. The dishes are imaginative and perfectly prepared. The patio seating seems to be new. It was a wonderful idea. The views of the mansion itself, plus the neighborhood of St Paul all around are stunningly beautiful.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have had some good dining experiences ...

 
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I have had some good dining experiences at Forepaugh's; this one was just so-so. The food was good but not great. Service was inattentive and the waiter was just annoying - very flippant and somewhat patronizing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Overpriced, small portions, not overly i ...

 
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Overpriced, small portions, not overly impressed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Excellent food and service. I would hig ...

 
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Excellent food and service. I would highly recommend for a special occasion or for entertaining business guests. A very enjoyable experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always special and always wonderful. Di ...

vip
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Always special and always wonderful. Dinner on the rooftop patio with generous cocktails and appetizers. The white gazpacho was excellent. Scallops, walleye and beef Wellington all scored high marks. And this is one of the loveliest places in Saint Paul for dining.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fantastic. And while it is ...

 
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The food was fantastic. And while it is on the expensive side, it was well worth it. The portions were perfect. Left feeling very well fed, learned some foodie terms & had a wonderful night celebrating my mother's birthday!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Waiter and busboy were terrific. Beef W ...

 
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Waiter and busboy were terrific. Beef Wellington was amazing. Green salad and its dressing were very tasty without being overwhelming. The Deconstructed Banana Pie was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We were greeted when we arrived, the sta ...

 
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We were greeted when we arrived, the staff was very friendly. They asked if we were celebrating a special occasion and were glad to hear that we were celebrating our wedding anniversary with them. We were seated promptly, offered a free toast when she found out about our special occasion. She explained the menu, offered a few opinions about her favorites and was very good throughout the whole meal. The food was solid and I felt the prices were fine. I would return and I will recommend that people visit there too.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Let me start by saying that John (matre ...

 
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Let me start by saying that John (matre 'd) greeted us with the most friendly welcome to a restaurant I have ever had. Forepaugh's was the home of a rich St Paul merchant who built this home in the 1870s, lived in it for a few years, and then died. The maid died too. Hmmm. Ghost story? You decide.

More importantly, the food was excellent, starting with the pork belly appetizer and continuing through the beef wellington and walleye entrées. The service was extraordinary in every sense of the word. It is a higher end restaurant so the price is higher that Wendy's (sarc) but well worth it.

We travelled from Florida to eat at this restaurant, so it is worth any length of trip to experience really fine dining at Forepaugh's.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was great. The host John was awe ...

 
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Service was great. The host John was awesome and told us some great stories. The mansion is fun with lots of cool rooms.

The food was good, but nothing spectacular.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

THe environment and ambiance were as exp ...

 
·Dined on July 17, 2016

THe environment and ambiance were as expected - historical and museumish - the service was quite personal and the food was good The presentation of the meal was as good as I've seen anywhere I just thought that the menu was a "little pricey"

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Food and service were excellent and ambi ...

 
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Food and service were excellent and ambiance was very good. It was very nice to have Chef Miech visit our table during the serving of salads/soup and entrees. We have been dining at Forepaugh's since the 1980s, so it is good to see quality has been maintained and we will be returning some Thursday for a patio grilling event. Need to visit some of upstairs dining rooms to better compare redecoration to earlier visits under previous ownership, including our daughter's wedding reception there on the second floor. Would love to be seated outdoors next time on roof,weather permitting, for great views of Irvine Park and The Ramsey House. A la carte pricing of each item/course can get pricey.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The house itself was very pretty. Nice ...

 
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The house itself was very pretty. Nice to be able to get into some of these Victorian's. The food was tasty as well.

Unfortunately, there were some downfalls with the staff. While we were immediately greeted and the Maitre D seemed very much like a gentelman...he admitted that he made my husbands reservations. Yet, he had to ask AGAIN if we were there for a special occasion -yes buddy 15 year wedding Ann! My husband told you this over the phone! Again, when our server FINALLY came to our table to take our drink order she asked if it was a special occasion. REALLY!? WOW Not good. Why are we having to tell you 3 times of our very special day? Made me sad.

It took a very long time for our server to come to our table for our drink order & was a continuous problem the entire evening. At one point my husband had asked for a drink refill 3 times. I had ordered the mashed potatoes and when my fillet came out my potatoes were missing. When I pointed this out to my server she said, oh I think they are under you fillet (there was little white stuff under the meat.) She goes yeah, I guess there isn't much there...well your husband has alot on his plate...I guess you'll have to share his! UNBELIEVABLE! I literally couldn't believe she told me this. After she walked away, I discovered that was a sauce under my fillet and NOT potatoes. I had to tell her she was wrong and she ended up bringing me some.

Our Maitre D came into our dining area to tell every table individually that he was leaving. He spend a decent amount of time at each table and shook the male's hands. When he got to our table, he was quick with a good-bye and never shook my husbands hand : ( This made us feel awful. Were we not up to his standards?

Oh and lastly I noticed that the Maitre D was giving a few different small groups tours around the house, but told us to help ourselves by touring the house whenever we wanted to. Not sure why they got a tour and we didn't.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

The food is way too expensive! Very smal ...

 
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The food is way too expensive! Very small portions

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

We- myself, my son , my husband and his ...

 
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We- myself, my son , my husband and his 96 year old mother went for brunch. The staff could not be nicer and any more attentive. The food was fantastic; we all loved what we ordered. We aged from 21 to 96 and each of us totally enjoyed it. Thank you! I believe Ben was our waiter and I wish I knew the lady who was hostess because she was outstanding!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This visit was my first with Forpaugh's ...

 
·Dined on July 8, 2016

This visit was my first with Forpaugh's and it was an absolute delight! My date and I were impressed by the food and the presentation, the wait staff was attentive without being intrusive, and the atmosphere was very romantic. The only thing I would have changed was the volume of the music but we were directly under a speaker and I never asked the staff about it.

You can be sure I'll be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Over 50 years ago, when I was in high sc ...

 
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Over 50 years ago, when I was in high school, Forepaugh's was my parent's favorite restaurant. Over the years, it remains one of my favorites. They have certainly stood the test of time. On our last visit, something was off. They did not quite match up to our previous high expectations.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I wish I could rate the food but we wait ...

 
·Dined on July 6, 2016

I wish I could rate the food but we waited so long (over an hour) without so much as a salad appearing that we had to leave.

Apparently there was some kind of kitchen crisis. While I appreciate that issues happen, and liked that they comped our drinks, a place like this should never be so far gone as to tell you that they have no idea "if or when" food might be coming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

Great service!!

 
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Great service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We started with the chicken samosas whic ...

 
·Dined on July 5, 2016

We started with the chicken samosas which were overlooked. I ordered the 4 cheese Mac n cheese dish. My dish had no sauce. The pasta was dry and unappetizing. They had placed breadcrumbs (not sure you could call it gremolata) on top which made it even worse. I returned the dish and didn't order anything else. They brought us a dessert for free which was a deconstructed banana pie. It was awful. The custard tasted like a packaged banana pudding and the base was dry and bland. I will not return to Forepaughs as it is overpriced and the food is mediocre to say the least.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

Problem with kitchen delayed our meals p ...

 
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Problem with kitchen delayed our meals prior to a concert. Free after dinner drink was provided to us and delay was not the fault of our waiter.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.