About Forepaugh's

276 South Exchange Street
Saint Paul, MN 55102
View Larger Map

Forepaugh’s Restaurant is located in a beautiful and historic mansion overlooking the lovely Irvine Park. Just outside Downtown St. Paul, Forepaugh's is walking distance to the Excel Energy Center. This gorgeous, multi-functional, state of the art venue is disguised as a charming and quaint Victorian home. The 8 intimate and artfully decorated dining rooms straddle the past and future gracefully, featuring both period décor and brilliantly conceived, cutting edge New American Cuisine. The wine list is expansive and supported by a wine cellar/chef tasting room that is available for small, intimate gatherings. The comfortable and cozy bar features the finest in distinctive liquors and specialty drinks. And the service is excellent. Join us for a celebration or a romantic dinner or a drink before the game or concert. Business groups, rehearsal dinners, wedding receptions and parties of any shape or size are encouraged as we have many private dining options.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday-Thursday 5pm-9pm (last seating), Friday and Saturday 5pm-10pm (last seating). Sunday brunch 11am-2pm.
Happy Hour: 4 pm to 7 pm Tuesday-Saturday; 2 p.m. to close on Sunday

Cross Street:
Walnut

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(651) 224-5606

Website:
http://www.forepaughs.com/

Catering:
Forepaugh's does cater to outside venues. Please call Mimi at 651.224.5606 for more information.

Parking Details:
Forepaugh's offers valet parking or complimentary parking in our large lot across the street next to the Ramsey House.

Public Transit:
We are just a short walk to bus stops on 7th Street.

Executive Chef:
Donald Gonzalez

Private Party Facilities:
Forepaugh's offers numerous options for private parties ranging from a wine cellar that serves as our Chef's table to a rooftop patio overlooking Irvine Park. We have a handsome first floor dining room with wood burning fireplace or third floor area overlooking the lights of downtown St. Paul. Leather wallpaper adorns our parlor while Mrs. Forepaugh's original dining room table and chairs grace the Lanpher Room.

Many a wedding ceremony have been held at Forepaugh's! In addition, we host holiday parties, groom's dinners, bridal showers, corporate functions and business meetings and wedding receptions.

While we can seat 175, the entire house with decks, front porch and yard has played host to hundreds.

Private Party Contact:
Mimi: 6512245606x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Forepaugh's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Romantic
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Special Occasion
Minneapolis - St. Paul
5 More
Best Overall
Twin Cities / St. Paul
Best Food
Twin Cities / St. Paul
Best Service
Twin Cities / St. Paul
Best Ambiance
Twin Cities / St. Paul
Best Value
Twin Cities / St. Paul
Best Restaurants in St. Paul ›

Special Occasion (55)
Romantic (43)
Good for Anniversaries (43)
See All
Historic (42)
Cozy (38)
Good for a Date (34)
Quiet Conversation (34)
Neighborhood Gem (32)
Worth the Drive (18)
Private Room (18)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Notable Wine List (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Fireplace (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Authentic (13)
Scenic View (12)
Good for Groups (9)
Business Meals (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Fun (5)
Seasonal (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Casual (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Family Style (2)
Healthy (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Vegan (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Live Sports (1)
Dancing (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
1668 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The ambiance is outstanding-- super old ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 3 days ago

The ambiance is outstanding-- super old home with ornate woodwork. The food was OK-- nothing spectacular. Do NOT recommend the Salmon Crudo. The Beef Wellington was delicious. Great atmosphere and fun drinks-- food was acceptable.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

A great dinner overall. Went on a fixed ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2016

A great dinner overall. Went on a fixed 5 course meal for Thanksgiving. Food was well presented and tasted "okay"

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Ate Thanksgiving dinner there. The food ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Ate Thanksgiving dinner there. The food was excellent and the service was great. Will go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thoroughly enjoyable Thanksgiving meal. ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyable Thanksgiving meal. Interesting presentations. I found the soup to be absolutely exquisite - it should be classified as a controlled substance! Our server was top notch. All in all my wife and I had a very pleasant and memorable holiday thanks to Forepaughs.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We visited here for thanksgiving lunch, ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We visited here for thanksgiving lunch, and it was lovely! Do note that is a multi level restaurant. There is an elavator, but stairs are unavoidable for some tables & wash room access. The decor is a lovely, restored mansion in a historic area of town. What a local one-of-a- kind gem in St Paul!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was tasty and the service was p ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The food was tasty and the service was prompt and courteous.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very unique place, great experience if y ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Very unique place, great experience if you are into something different. Food was pretty good, just was missing a little flavor and salt. Service was very good. I'd recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Lives up to its history and our experien ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Lives up to its history and our experiences that extend back over its 40 year history as a restaurant. Brought my sons this time to pass on deep memories. The staff were magnificent and added to the evening. Glad to see this treasure lives on. High end prices but food, ambience, service, history made it well worth the visit!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My first time back to Forepaugh's in ove ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 20, 2016

My first time back to Forepaugh's in over 30 years. Beautiful lighting outside and the furnishings were as expected which is nice for that period.

Our meal was superb. Portions just right. We had the walleye and scallops. The scallops almost melted in my mouth.

The highlight was our wonderful server, Andrew. He recommended things. Commented on things that "everyone" does there. he was delightful! And as we stood up to leave, we discovered it was his FIRST night. Rock Star Server!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This restaurant is a go-to for my family ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This restaurant is a go-to for my family to celebrate special occasions. The service is first class and our server was polite and knowledgeable. The cozy atmosphere makes for a perfect low-key classic where the servers don't bother you or rush out the food. Between us we had salmon sashimi, pork belly, seared scallops, filet, and beef wellington. All of the food was delicious and was well paced from the kitchen. I really appreciate when restaurants don't hurry you though a meal. The desserts were delicious as well, with a complimentary banana creme pie for the birthday in the group. This really is a neighborhood gem!

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good, but...a bit refined (fanc ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Food was good, but...a bit refined (fancy) for my taste....probably ideal for foodie types. I just prefer the basics. Prices are less expensive than similar restaurants. Desserts were GREAT!! A different dining experience with lots of small dining rooms vs. one big conventional dinning room at most places. Better for conversation than many restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

It's a beautiful restaurant. I love the ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 6, 2016

It's a beautiful restaurant. I love the history of the house. My walleye and the beet salad were amazing. The fresh warm bread, very good. my husband said his steak was fair. The fingerling potatoes were okay. The salmon crudo had no flavor. We came to celebrate our anniversary and the restaurant did a great job at making the evening special. Complimentary champagne and dessert were a nice bonus. I would definitely return.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Forepaugh's is phenomenal for special oc ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Forepaugh's is phenomenal for special occasions or just a great night out. Quiet but not too quiet. Romantic. Historic. Fantastic. Enjoy!!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

We were celebrating our anniversary and ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 2, 2016

We were celebrating our anniversary and found this the perfect place to go. The venue is amazing and the food and service will not disappoint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was excellent including the s ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Everything was excellent including the service, food and invitation to tour the building. Looking forward to a return visit during the holidays.

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While we arrived early for our reservati ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 30, 2016

While we arrived early for our reservations, the staff was very accommodating and made feel welcome.

We came to celebrate nine years of wedded bliss and we were not disappointed.

From the staff to the excellent food, our special night was a winner!

Our Waitress came to us with all sorts of recommendations, and I turned her loose and told her whatever she recommended would be fine. I cannot remember her name off hand, but she was superb. From the first course of green salad to the final course, she chose a meal that would be fit for royalty.

We plan to return soon for just having a night out.

Well done Forepaughs.

My only regret was that Molly or JL did not show up this night.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Historic, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Exquisite food, fine dining experience, ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Exquisite food, fine dining experience, excellent staff in a beautiful and historic mansion near the Mississippi River in St. Paul. The best dining experience ever, totally blew my wife away with this gift for our 10th Anniversary. Recommend to all!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Historic, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Romantic, Authentic, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place for a special occasion, food ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Great place for a special occasion, food was good but overcooked, great customer service, and the ambience was perfect.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

First, The location and design of the fa ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 28, 2016

First, The location and design of the facility is wonderful. From the moment you arrive, the reception is warm, professional, and sincere. Great rooms in which to dine. The service is unequaled from any other fine dining facility in the entire Metro. The wine list is extensive and medium priced and the food is just terrific - not under-portioned or over-abundant. My wife and I have placed this restaurant as # 1 in the top five excellent dining experiences in the Twin Cities. Following Forepaughs (and in this order) are, The Pool and Yacht Club, Kincaids (St. Paul), Tria (North Oaks) and The Porter House.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Fireplace, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Coffee, Family Style, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was absolutely delicious. Menu is a ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Food was absolutely delicious. Menu is a little limited. Absolutely love the ambiance.

Service was very slow at first (waited 7 minutes for server to take our beverage order) but improved when our food arrived.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

One of the best dining experiences I've ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 22, 2016

One of the best dining experiences I've had in St. Paul. Great atmosphere and the food was amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding experience. We will be back ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Outstanding experience. We will be back for sure. Amazing cuisine and service. Thank you for making our special occasion a perfect evening!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicous food, great service and ambianc ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Delicous food, great service and ambiance. Thanks for a memorable night!

Tags: Cozy, Private Room, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The staff was very nice. Rebecca was our ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The staff was very nice. Rebecca was our waitress. Food was delicious. The table was in an awkward spot (about two feet away from double doors to outside terace.

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We returned to this location of our wedd ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 18, 2016

We returned to this location of our wedding for our 1 year anniversary and it is second to none in all respects.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful historic setting and very eleg ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Wonderful historic setting and very elegant ambience. Food was excellent.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the historical and romantic feel. B ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Love the historical and romantic feel. Both my husband and loved the butternut squash soup! We had a terrific experience and we are planning to return again to try the downstairs menu. Thank you!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Cozy, Private Room, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Good for Groups, Historic, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Best meal I have had out in many years. ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Best meal I have had out in many years. The meat was exceptional almost melting in my mouth. The ambiance is wonderful at Forepaugh's. One cannot go wrong at this place for any type of engagement.

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent from the time we a ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Service was excellent from the time we arrived until the time we left. Meal was well paced and the food was very good.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The butternut squash soup was delicious, ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 11, 2016

The butternut squash soup was delicious, as was my walleye. However, my wife had to send her scallops back twice because they were cool to tepid. I had finished my main course by the time she received edible scallops. The scallops tasted fine, but this situation was a strong negative. Forepaugh's, to its credit, did not charge for the scallops.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

A wonderful dining experience. Fantasti ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 8, 2016

A wonderful dining experience. Fantastic cuisine.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fourpaugh's was the perfect intimate atm ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Fourpaugh's was the perfect intimate atmosphere I was looking for a birthday date night. The date appetizer was outstanding, and the staff was excellent. I was not impressed by the beef wellington, however, but the overall experience was great! It's hard to find a restaurant that is not a noisy box these days. I loved how the rooms have comfortable seating for just as few tables.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Private Room, Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Setting, service, and wonderful food. W ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Setting, service, and wonderful food. What a place. Fun for a date, or a group. Even valet parking.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Special Occasion, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant was wonderful! The food ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 6, 2016

This restaurant was wonderful! The food was fantastic and the staff were all very pleasant and helpful. The manager, Ben, took time out of his busy schedule to give us a tour and tell us the history of the house. The house is absolutely gorgeous. The atmosphere is very comfortable and quite so you can enjoy a great meal and conversations with friends.

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Neighborhood gem. Great food and servic ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Neighborhood gem. Great food and service. Highly recommended.

Tags: Historic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved the food -- it was fantastic! The ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Loved the food -- it was fantastic! The service was exceptional. We will definitely be dining there again.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had the Ryder Cup special. Soup,salad, c ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Had the Ryder Cup special. Soup,salad, cheesecake were excellent.Ribeyes not so hot. I asked for medium rare and it came rare. Very bloody. Wife had hers medium and it was a perfect medium rare. A little disappointed for our 50th anniversary. (Had been here previously for another anniversary and had the Beef Willington which was excellent)

Our server Lori...was absolutely outstanding. Very attentive . And took care of our every request.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Went went hear for our 1 year wedding an ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Went went hear for our 1 year wedding anniversary after getting engaged here. Great food in a historic building. The service is always great. Also right next to the cozy Irvine Park!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were at Forepaugh's for our 51st anni ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We were at Forepaugh's for our 51st anniversary. My husband ordered the filet and I ordered the scallops. We also ordered asparagus and the potatoes for side dishes. Everything was delicious. The waiter (Matthew) was very accommodating. We wanted a small dish of ice cream for dessert and we received a small dish of ice cream. It tasted like salted caramel and was a wonderful closing for a delicious meal. The service was great and we were very glad we celebrated at Forepaugh's. Hats off to all!

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

wonderful setting, with great menu, serv ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 1, 2016

wonderful setting, with great menu, server was excellent and described the menu perfectly.

Tags: Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.