About Food Works

205-C Manufacturers Rd
Chattanooga, TN 37405-3253
View Larger Map

Voted one of Chattanooga’s Best Restaurants, Food Works strives to provide its guests with a quality experience in a refined, yet relaxed atmosphere. Located on Chattanooga’s North Shore, we are situated in the beautifully renovated and historic Signal Knitting Mill.

With a variety of items to choose from, our menu focuses on “progressive southern” cuisine with global influences showcasing our culinary team’s ability to put new spins on old classics. The spacious bar features an array of imported, domestic and craft beers along with an extensive wine list as well as specialty martinis. Enjoy a cocktail inside or on our patio with family and friends before indulging in a delicious meal.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Global, International, Contemporary Southern

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Brunch: Sunday 10:00am - 3:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm
Dinner: Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Dinner: Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Cherokee Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(423) 752-7487

Website:
http://www.foodworksrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Food Works Catering creates flawless events that can accommodate your specific needs, tastes and budget like no other. We offer everything from carry-out service to complete full-service catering, which entails everything from the planning, staffing and item rentals to the set-up & execution of your event. We approach every event, big or small, with enthusiasm and precision, whether you’re planning a casual theme party or a sophisticated black tie dinner, from the trendy to the traditional.

Parking Details:
Parking is available in our lot along with a large public lot across the street.

Public Transit:
A free electric shuttle bus stop is roughly 2 blocks away.

Executive Chef:
Jeremy Allin

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Food Works Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
East Tennessee
Best Value
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Fit for Foodies
Chattanooga / Cleveland
1 More
Most Booked
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Restaurants in Chattanooga ›

Great for Brunch (25)
Special Occasion (23)
Good for Groups (21)
See All
Great for Lunch (19)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Hot Spot (9)
Romantic (8)
Kid-friendly (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Scenic View (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Casual (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Business Meals (2)
Cozy (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Fun (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
People Watching (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
Newest
223 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This restaurant has good appetizers and ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined 6 days ago

This restaurant has good appetizers and salads; more of a good place to go have drinks and appetizers. Stay away from the main entrees; we had 6 people at our table and all 6 said their food was no good. Maybe sandwiches are ok, but the main dinner entrees are pi

Tags: Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Best shrimp and grits I've ever had.

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 7 days ago

Best shrimp and grits I've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

They were quite busy when we arrived. Ap ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

They were quite busy when we arrived. Apparently, a party of 20 arrived. Oddly, because of that they ran out of menus. Odd!? Service was a bit slow that evening as a result it appears. Fortunately, service picked up, and the food was excellent. Our second time there, and we'll be back. I had the Asian Salad, and Chili Bowl appetizer. My wife has a small Caesar Salad and the Crab Cake, which she found a bit too spicy. Overall, a solid four stars for that evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Everything was excellent; however, their ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Everything was excellent; however, their was a large sorority gathering during our visit. As a result, the noise level was extreme. Very difficult to carry on a conversation. This problem is exacerbated when there is live music.

Tags: People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

FoodWorks was delicious! I had the Crab ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

FoodWorks was delicious! I had the Crab Cake Benedict and it was out of this world!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ordered the manicotti. This is not an It ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Ordered the manicotti. This is not an Italian restaurant so I should have known better, but the pasta was tough, and the filling not very cheesy-creamy (although it was advertised as five cheese manicotti).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Unique rustic feel, cute lighting and gr ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Unique rustic feel, cute lighting and great layout. It wanst too noisy at all as my 3 yr old son was able to sleep through dinner. I didnt like my 1st drink an they were understanding ,made me what i did like an was very good about it. Delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I loved this place!Made a day trip to ar ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

I loved this place!Made a day trip to area from AL with the hopes of finding a place with good food and great mimosas. Food works was perfect for both. The amount of food that you get for the price is amazing. The drinks were great prices and delicious. Can't wait to stop in Chatt again :)

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my favorite place in Chattanooga ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

This is my favorite place in Chattanooga for brunch. Never disappoints!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server, Alison, was wonderful. We we ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Our server, Alison, was wonderful. We were out for my birthday. she was wonderfully accommodating and hilarious!! We drove down from Nashville and chose Foodworks from a previous positive experience there.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had guests from Chicago and they thou ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

We had guests from Chicago and they thought it was great. Neat place and great food. My wife and I already knew this and that is why we took our guests there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

On our last night in Chattanooga, after ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

On our last night in Chattanooga, after numerous meals of uninspired quality and imagination, we tried Food Works. What a find. Situated in a upcoming, cool and trendy area of North Chattanooga, Food Works delivered a surprising top flight meal. From the drink and wine menu to the broad appeal of entrée dishes from every form of fish, seafood, fowl, pork and beef (as well as vegetarian) to a well planned children's menu, Food Works hit the target dead-on. No one had any reservations about what they were served, how they were served nor hesitation about wanting to return to try other selections. I certainly hope that the local patrons keep this restaurant humming for years to come!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My husband and I decided to try somethin ...

vip
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

My husband and I decided to try something 'old; ' we hadn't been here in a long time. We always liked the atmosphere. We were pleasantly surprised at the new menu. We decided to forego any appetizer (we like trying fried green tomatoes when they're available). We were asked if we wanted bread. My hubby never turns down bread. It was good even though the butter was a little overpowering with the amount of garlic. I ordered a house salad and my husband had some of it. It was really tasty. The mixed greens with the bacon and spiced pecans hit the spot. We were glad we got the salad.....it took a long time.... a long time .....for our food to come out. When it finally was delivered, my husband's pasta was lukewarm so were my black bean cakes. Good thing both dishes were flavorful! I read a review where someone else commented on the food not being delivered timely. We'll go again and hope service (not the wait person - the food expediter) is more on the ball. We will let management know if it happens again. The restaurant was not busy when we were there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

This is our "go to" place to eat when ma ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

This is our "go to" place to eat when making our Atlanta-Nashville runs because they welcome our dogs on their outdoor deck. In fact the most recent time, I spoke with them to confirm the reservation, and when we arrived there were already bowls of ice water on the deck! The food is always great and the service gracious. All paws up for this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Consistently good food and service. Alw ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Consistently good food and service. Always enjoy Foodworks. Great price on Mimosas, Champagne, and Bloody Marys for brunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Loved it! Only negative was several thin ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Loved it! Only negative was several things were not available on the menu. This was because of an upcoming menu change so I can understand it. I'm sure next time will be even better when they have the new menu rolled out!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I were celebrating our weddi ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

My wife and I were celebrating our wedding anniversary. We have dined her before and alway's have enjoyed our experience. Our server was covering too many tables including a party of 10. Needless to say our service was not as good as expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

We always enjoy Food Works. I would hig ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

We always enjoy Food Works. I would highly recommend their catering service also. They staff is very easy to work with.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good service and great food! Not hard to ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Good service and great food! Not hard to find and located within walking distance of shopping and other activities.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We have dined at Food Works multiple tim ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We have dined at Food Works multiple times and is our "go to" restaurant. Always great food and great service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We were met at the door, called by name ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

We were met at the door, called by name and immediately taken to our table which was preset for our party of eight. The server came out immediately, was pleasant (actually very entertaining for our little pre-wedding celebration for one of our employees) and food was served very quickly after taking our orders. Drink refills maintained throughout the service and all special requests were handled very well. Everyone was fighting over the Cuban sandwich and sweet potato chips. Will definitely return and recommend to my colleagues and friends.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

I orderer the Food Works Steak, a filet ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

I orderer the Food Works Steak, a filet mignon, medium well. My wife had the NY strip medium well, and our two kids shared a chicken fingers platter. We waited for food for over 45 mins, both steaks were burnt and my steak tasted like the cleaning fluid used to clean the grill. The kids chicken fingers and fries were burnt so they didn't eat. The staff was friendly and the waitress was exceptional. All the ambiance and personality in the world doesn't make up for horrible food though. Will not eat here again and will warn others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

This was my second time dining at Food W ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

This was my second time dining at Food Works. I returned because I liked my first experience. The food was tasty and the service was excellent. It was a Saturday afternoon first date and the atmosphere was very pleasant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, brunch was great as was the s ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

As always, brunch was great as was the service. I would recommend this to anyone looking for great food and "come as you are."

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The ambiance/setting was very different ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The ambiance/setting was very different than anything we've ever experienced. Great place to eat! Definitely recommend !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

We had to wait about 20 minutes to be se ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

We had to wait about 20 minutes to be seated. However, our server was great and attentive. The food was not on the same level as we have had before for dinner. I think we'll try a new place when we come to Chattanooga the next time. Food Works really needs to improve their menu to compete.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

I brought a couple of cupcakes for birth ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

I brought a couple of cupcakes for birthday and they charged $1.00 per person even if they didn't have one. It didn't take any extra dishes or setups. We won't be back for birthdays any more. Otherwise, we love Food Works.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We planned a dinner out w/ friends. Made ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

We planned a dinner out w/ friends. Made reservations for 8. Food works called to confirm. Great stuff! We got there and they were unprepared. Stood waiting for 1/2 hr and with uncrowded restaurant ! The waitress was brand new and knew nothing. Blank face to our request & questions. We left that table, moved outside where we had very experienced waiter/ waitress. Finally a better experience but 1hr after the reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

exceptional !

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The brunch was very good. A reservation is a good idea because the restaurant is packed on the weekends for brunch. Nice menu sure to please anyone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food Works has become one of our favorit ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Food Works has become one of our favorite places to visit. We have enjoyed everything from Mother's Day brunch to lunch with friends. The prices are reasonable and the food is top notch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We were seated next to a huge wedding pa ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

We were seated next to a huge wedding party , so they were constantly standing by our table and talking loudly. We had to actually move their things so we could stand. Very poor service. Dessert was awesome!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Good food for a reasonable price. Recomm ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Good food for a reasonable price. Recommend booking in advance at weekends. Service is very friendly and you are not rushed. Can be a little noisy at peak times although there is a side section upstairs which is quieter.

Definitely recommend this place.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Excellent food and atmosphere

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

I've been to this restaurant probably 8 or 10 times in the past two years. The food is always outstanding. My favorite is the Sat/Sun brunch. Excellent food and drinks. The only potential negative with this restaurant is that the servers/bartenders are usually very slow, and they do not come back to the table as often as I think that they should.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Graduation Dinner

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Our party of 15 had reservations at 5:30 on Saturday May 7th. Table was ready on time. We were seated on the second floor. Great atmosphere, excellent menu. Our waitress was very attentive . . . . even offered to take a picture of our group after dinner. I will be sure and recommend Food Works to my friends.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Graduation Celebration

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

I am so glad I made a reservation for Food Works through Open Table. The food was delicious and the atmosphere was perfect! I plan to return on my next trip to Chattanooga! I would highly recommend the brunch options.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food works is one of my favorite places ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Food works is one of my favorite places to eat. The ambiance is always nice and staff is great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Needs to Improve

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Friday night dinner. Restaurant was not empty, but not busy for a weekend, whereas surrounding competition was hopping. Seafood (salmon & flounder) were both over-cooked.

Calamari appetizer was good.

This used to be a great, reliable, all-occasion restaurant and something has changed within the last year. Not sure what, but someone needs to get this restaurant back on track.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Love the Foodworks

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

My waffle came out a little too done, first time ever. It was the fastest replacement. Was impressed with the fast service on that. Always great. Make reservations, it fills up. Chicken and waffles and the brunch potatoes are a fave!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Loved it!

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

The ambiance at Foodworks is wonderful! It is that old building low lighting classy feel. Great for an intimate date or a family or friends get together. They also have one of the best brunches in town! Love the mimosas!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food Works 4/17

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

I reserved a table Sunday morning for brunch and requested that we get a seat outside. The hostess reserved us a table for outdoor brunch. Our waiter, Will, was extremely helpful and had a great attitude. He kept the mimosas coming, just like we asked. With the warmer months upon us, I will definitely be having brunch out on their patio again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.