Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.57mi
  4. Distance: 0.61mi
  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.57mi
  4. Distance: 0.61mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.57mi
  4. Distance: 0.61mi
  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.57mi
  4. Distance: 0.61mi

About Food Works

Voted one of Chattanooga’s Best Restaurants, Food Works strives to provide its guests with a quality experience in a refined, yet relaxed atmosphere. Located on Chattanooga’s North Shore, we are situated in the beautifully renovated and historic Signal Knitting Mill.

With a variety of items to choose from, our menu focuses on “progressive southern” cuisine with global influences showcasing our culinary team’s ability to put new spins on old classics. The spacious bar features an array of imported, domestic and craft beers along with an extensive wine list as well as specialty martinis. Enjoy a cocktail inside or on our patio with family and friends before indulging in a delicious meal.

205-C Manufacturers Rd
Chattanooga, TN 37405-3253
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Global, International, Contemporary Southern

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Brunch: Sunday 10:00am - 3:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm
Dinner: Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Dinner: Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Cherokee Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(423) 752-7487

Website:
http://www.foodworksrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Food Works Catering creates flawless events that can accommodate your specific needs, tastes and budget like no other. We offer everything from carry-out service to complete full-service catering, which entails everything from the planning, staffing and item rentals to the set-up & execution of your event. We approach every event, big or small, with enthusiasm and precision, whether you’re planning a casual theme party or a sophisticated black tie dinner, from the trendy to the traditional.

Parking Details:
Parking is available in our lot along with a large public lot across the street.

Public Transit:
A free electric shuttle bus stop is roughly 2 blocks away.

Executive Chef:
Jeremy Allin

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Food Works Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (26)
Good for a Date (24)
Great for Lunch (21)
See All
Casual (17)
Sunday Lunch (17)
Good for Groups (17)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Comfort Food (15)
Special Occasion (15)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Business Meals (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Historic (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Fun (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Happy Hour (9)
Authentic (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Cozy (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Family Style (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Healthy (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Private Room (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Seasonal (3)
Disabled Access (3)
People Watching (2)
Romantic (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Waterfront (1)
Spicy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
291 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 2 days ago

Fish special was excellent. Salmon just ok. Delicious bread Nice view of the city from second floor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 2 days ago

Great experience, really good food! Seated immediately. Energetic and friendly staff. There is an upstairs seating space that is big and nice. I'll be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Food Works is one of my favorite lunch places. I have used it as a destination for many business lunches. I really like their lunch menu options, the setting is rustic, but relatively quiet for conversation and it is reasonably priced. I highly recommend trying Food Works for lunch.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Historic, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 19, 2017

I always enjoy dining at Food Works..the food is wonderful!!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The kitchen must have been overloaded. It took an hour for our food to appear and some of the shrimp was only partially cooked. The other dishes were good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 18, 2017

This is my 2nd time visiting Food Works and they did not disappoint. Everyone their is very welcoming and nice. I love eating brunch and that's the main reason why I picked this restaurant. The chicken & waffles are delicious. Their butter mixture is really good. How can you not order the $1 mimosa or better yet a double for $2!! Someone in my party had the Smoked beef brisket hash and it was absolutely delicious. I will definitely return for brunch again.

Tags: Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We eat at Foodworks fairly often and always enjoy it. It's convenient and the food is interesting and good. Would recommend it.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Our reservation for 8 was set for 1 pm. We were not seated until 2. Other groups who did not have a reservation were seated before us. The hostess apparently had us slated for a particular table and kept telling us that as soon as that group left we would be seated. Finally, another spot was made for us because that group was not leaving. While the service was great and food delicious, the reservation system apparently has serious flaws for larger groups.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Denise was such a fun waiter! enjoyed spending the afternoon brunching with him!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Fun, Outstanding Value, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 10, 2017

To be honest, I had ordered something else. And, they accidentally mixed up my meal. But, we took one bite and had to keep it! They offered to fix it with the right meal, but we were already hooked. I loved the Grilled Chicken meal!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Food was good, service was mediocre. Won't deter us from coming back - food and wine were good!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Been there numerous times. Never an issue. Great menu. Great food. Great place for groups. Casual, but not TOO casual. One of our "go to" places.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 5, 2017

My girlfriends and I were in town to run the Chattanooga half marathon. We came in for brunch to celebrate our run. The wait was a little long but was well worth it. I had chicken and waffles, two friends had crab cake eggs Benedict, and another enjoyed the caramel French toast. Everyone thought their food was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Shrimp and Grits was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Fantastic! Will definitely go again. Food and drinks were amazing. With making an online reservation just one hour before we went, we walked in and immediately were seated (other parties without a reservation waited for up to 3 hours we were told.)

Tags: Modern Decor, Outstanding Value, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Google had the wrong closing time for Sat.................................gfgh

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great ambiance! The food was tasty , reasonable prices! Fast service , good selection of plates! I got black bean burger and my spouse the schrimp and grits! We both were please and the drinks were excellent too! Martinis were excellent too!! Our waitress was ok a little no much of personality !! I said that because I work at the public service industry and personality is a big deal!!!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Historic, Good for Groups, Private Room, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Fun, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Great staff and love the exposed brick and decor! Our waiter was very helpful with his favorite dishes.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Always enjoy the food here. The horseradish crusted salmon is my favorite! I love half-price wine on Mondays. Will definitely be back!

Tags: Disabled Access, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 18, 2017

For Valentine's good food good service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Had a reservation for 7, and we were seated very promptly. Food was very tasty and attractive. I felt like it was generally a good value for the price. Be forewarned - you cannot order from the regular lunch menu on the weekends. My only major complaint was that I told the server that one of our party eats vegan. She did check with kitchen about how one vegetable was prepared and apparently the chef did not offer to alter preparation. My daughter ultimately ordered pasta and it was delivered to the table with cheese on top. I didn't want to send it back because we had already waited quite a long time for our food. I would go back but do not recommend for vegan or vegetarian eaters.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fun, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great food. My favorite shrimp and grits dish of all time. Loved the Blackberry margarita! Wait staff is excellent!!

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentines night. The medium rare filet came out without the portabello mushrooms and blue cheese I ordered. When my dinner returned the steak was then over cooked. The waiter had been there 2 weeks and was poor. This is unusual for Foodworks. I felt compelled to write this review in hopes Foodworks will use this as coaching moment. I'll be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great rustic place to dine. Lighting could be a little better in certain areas . But, love atmosphere and food. One of my favs.

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Casual, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 14, 2017

All in all it when great. There was a little issue with our reservation not being ready when we got there (ten minutes early - but several other 6:30 and even 6:45 reservations were seated before us). Other than that, the service was good and the food, as always, was great.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Casual, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My wife and my first visit since the fire a few years back. Was one of our favorite places to dine. After this visit, we find back at the top of our long list. Prices fair and service was great. The quality of the food was above expectation. Welcome back Food Works. WE will be back soon.
John and Barbara

Tags: Seasonal, Healthy, Cozy, Comfort Food, Authentic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

One of our favorites of all time and places. We love brunch and this is a repeat place for us.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Our server seemed rushed the entire time. They also brought out our entrees before we were finished with our salads. The food was fantastic (steak and salmon) but it wasn't the best service we've had. Cheap corkage fee but we poured it for ourselves the whole night.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Food was delicious! Enjoyed the brunch selections. Will return.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Food Works has a great variety, and I am very picky. Great atmosphere for both business meals and evening out with a special someone.

Tags: Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Our group of 13 was really happy with the service and the selections on the menu. This is a great alternative to dining downtown where parking can be scarce. Foodworks has great parking.

Tags: Happy Hour, Historic, Casual, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 28, 2017

I love coming to Food Works but this time my fish was not cooked all the way. I had to send it back to get fully cooked so by the time our group was finished eating my food came out. Not the best experience but understand the mistake. This won't keep us from coming back. It's usually a great time and food.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We went around 12:15 on Saturday. The food was excellent. The atmosphere was great. We really enjoyed and found the inside to be a really cool building. Very open and well decorated.

The sweet potato chips with blue cheese fondue was delicious. We had a chicken biscuit with gravy and egg. The breakfast potatoes were delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Overall great the salmon was the best dish

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Always enjoy their friendly and accommodating staff! We've always had a wonderful experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Long time Chattanooga favorite, the food and cocktails are consistently great and the bar has a fun atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Rachel, our server, was fantastic and personable. She gave us undivided attention which we would've never known she had other tables. We celebrated our son's 2nd Birthday, and Rachel plus great drinks and food made it amazing! We look forward to returning to this gem. It would be nice to have a FoodWorks in Middle Tennessee (hint).

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 28, 2016

All was good except the length of time between ordering the meal and its actual being served. This is not a reflection on the wait staff, but on the kitchen. 45 minutes elapsed. Food Works was not full to capacity. It was explained that a large group was being served at this time. That is a staffing issue. Wait staff was courteous and responsive.

Tags: Fun, Family Style, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We came here for a late dinner, and the atmosphere had already died down a bit. The service was good, as was the food!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 26, 2016

I've enjoyed FoodWorks every time I've been there, including this brunch. Yummy Breakfast burrito and mimosa(s).

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.