About Food Works

205-C Manufacturers Rd
Chattanooga, TN 37405-3253
View Larger Map

Voted one of Chattanooga’s Best Restaurants, Food Works strives to provide its guests with a quality experience in a refined, yet relaxed atmosphere. Located on Chattanooga’s North Shore, we are situated in the beautifully renovated and historic Signal Knitting Mill.

With a variety of items to choose from, our menu focuses on “progressive southern” cuisine with global influences showcasing our culinary team’s ability to put new spins on old classics. The spacious bar features an array of imported, domestic and craft beers along with an extensive wine list as well as specialty martinis. Enjoy a cocktail inside or on our patio with family and friends before indulging in a delicious meal.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Global, International, Contemporary Southern

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Brunch: Sunday 10:00am - 3:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm
Dinner: Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Dinner: Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Cherokee Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(423) 752-7487

Website:
http://www.foodworksrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Food Works Catering creates flawless events that can accommodate your specific needs, tastes and budget like no other. We offer everything from carry-out service to complete full-service catering, which entails everything from the planning, staffing and item rentals to the set-up & execution of your event. We approach every event, big or small, with enthusiasm and precision, whether you’re planning a casual theme party or a sophisticated black tie dinner, from the trendy to the traditional.

Parking Details:
Parking is available in our lot along with a large public lot across the street.

Public Transit:
A free electric shuttle bus stop is roughly 2 blocks away.

Executive Chef:
Jeremy Allin

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Food Works Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
East Tennessee
American
East Tennessee
Best Overall
Chattanooga / Cleveland
3 More
Best Ambiance
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Value
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Most Booked
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Restaurants in Chattanooga ›

Great for Brunch (20)
Great for Lunch (13)
Special Occasion (13)
See All
Good for a Date (12)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Good for Groups (10)
Fun (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Hot Spot (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Casual (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Cozy (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Business Meals (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Family Style (3)
Romantic (3)
Historic (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
People Watching (2)
Authentic (2)
Scenic View (2)
Healthy (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
242 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Dinner was good. The service is okay unt ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 3 days ago

Dinner was good. The service is okay until they disappear after the food is delivered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

We had the perfect location in the resta ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 4 days ago

We had the perfect location in the restaurant for all 11 of us to be able to chat and hear each other from one end of the table to the other. Our waiter was EXCELLENT. He was attentive, anticipated needs well, and was so personable. He was patient when taking ALL our orders and attended to our table without hovering and without staying away too long.

I would recommend that you close the drapes on the other side of the upper level. Those seated with their backs to the wall had a clear view of a wait-station that was quite unattractive. Also, one drape was partially closed and I think the gentleman sitting at that table felt like he was "on display" to our table.

All in all, we LOVE Food Works and will continue to come.

Tags: Family Style, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Healthy, Hot Spot, Disabled Access, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food. Great service.

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Glad we used open table. Got right in a ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Glad we used open table. Got right in ahead of the crowd. Would highly recommend the fried green tomatoes. Our waitress was outstanding. She had great attitude disputed being run ragged by the crowd. She was also very accommodating with our handicapped guest.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

So thankful to Foodworks for being open ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 24, 2016

So thankful to Foodworks for being open on Thanksgiving. However, our arrival was a little rough. We stood at an empty front desk for a few minutes, then we were not greeted, but apparently expected to follow the lady who took us to our seat and threw our menus on the table without a word. It was to point where I went back to the front desk to make sure that we were actually supposed to be sitting there and didn't follow her by mistake. She was not pleased with my question. After the disappointing start, everything else was great. Server was awesome, food was perfect. Will be back.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Glad to find a thanksgiving reservation. ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Glad to find a thanksgiving reservation. I didn't know we were getting real thanksgiving food!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was okay; the servant was not frien ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Food was okay; the servant was not friendly at all, and even though our experience was unpleasant mainly due to the loud dirty mouthed people next to us, I kind of blame the restaurant management for not doing anything about it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value4

The brunch is always great!!! The servi ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The brunch is always great!!! The service is consistently good. The only issue is that it seems to take the food longer than normal to come out.

Definitely will be back for brunch!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Foodworks is our go to place. Their brun ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Foodworks is our go to place. Their brunch is second to none. Service is always good and it's a fun building to dine in.

Tags: Fun, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service. Waitress was kn ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Great food and service. Waitress was knowledgeable, flexible, and helpful. Highly recommend!

Tags: Fun, Tasting Menu, Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love that when it is take your dog to wo ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Love that when it is take your dog to work day that we have places like FoodWorks who accept four-legged friends. We sat on the patio and upon arrival had a bowl of fresh, cold water for our extra guest. Food was spot on, as always. Waitress was very attentive. We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a great place for casual dining. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 26, 2016

This is a great place for casual dining. Food is good (especially Sunday brunch), and the atmosphere is lively.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

My chicken and waffles was wonderful. An ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 23, 2016

My chicken and waffles was wonderful. And it was nice to be seated when our reservation was for. Crab cake Benedict left something to be desired

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Fantastic server really understood what ...

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Fantastic server really understood what I wanted and needed! Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and food delivery were slow due ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Service and food delivery were slow due to rehearsal dinner in the back. Took almost 45 minutes to get two sandwiches.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

This was our first time dining here and ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 11, 2016

This was our first time dining here and it was our anniversary. The food and service were perfect. Delicious menu with a great price!

Tags: Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brunch menu is phenomenal!! Service was ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Brunch menu is phenomenal!! Service was very fast even though it was crowded!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We loved coming to Food Works for brunch ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We loved coming to Food Works for brunch in the beginning, but lately we've been remembering how good the dinners are. The extensive menu and the great cocktail and dessert list will please everyone. There is even a kids menu. Upstairs seating is fairly quiet for good conversations. The servers are always great!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was subpar and does not fit the cul ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Food was subpar and does not fit the culture the area/restaurant desires to be associated with.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

This restaurant has good appetizers and ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 24, 2016

This restaurant has good appetizers and salads; more of a good place to go have drinks and appetizers. Stay away from the main entrees; we had 6 people at our table and all 6 said their food was no good. Maybe sandwiches are ok, but the main dinner entrees are pi

Tags: Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Best shrimp and grits I've ever had.

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Best shrimp and grits I've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

They were quite busy when we arrived. Ap ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 17, 2016

They were quite busy when we arrived. Apparently, a party of 20 arrived. Oddly, because of that they ran out of menus. Odd!? Service was a bit slow that evening as a result it appears. Fortunately, service picked up, and the food was excellent. Our second time there, and we'll be back. I had the Asian Salad, and Chili Bowl appetizer. My wife has a small Caesar Salad and the Crab Cake, which she found a bit too spicy. Overall, a solid four stars for that evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Everything was excellent; however, their ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Everything was excellent; however, their was a large sorority gathering during our visit. As a result, the noise level was extreme. Very difficult to carry on a conversation. This problem is exacerbated when there is live music.

Tags: People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

FoodWorks was delicious! I had the Crab ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 11, 2016

FoodWorks was delicious! I had the Crab Cake Benedict and it was out of this world!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ordered the manicotti. This is not an It ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Ordered the manicotti. This is not an Italian restaurant so I should have known better, but the pasta was tough, and the filling not very cheesy-creamy (although it was advertised as five cheese manicotti).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Unique rustic feel, cute lighting and gr ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Unique rustic feel, cute lighting and great layout. It wanst too noisy at all as my 3 yr old son was able to sleep through dinner. I didnt like my 1st drink an they were understanding ,made me what i did like an was very good about it. Delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I loved this place!Made a day trip to ar ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 3, 2016

I loved this place!Made a day trip to area from AL with the hopes of finding a place with good food and great mimosas. Food works was perfect for both. The amount of food that you get for the price is amazing. The drinks were great prices and delicious. Can't wait to stop in Chatt again :)

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my favorite place in Chattanooga ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 14, 2016

This is my favorite place in Chattanooga for brunch. Never disappoints!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server, Alison, was wonderful. We we ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Our server, Alison, was wonderful. We were out for my birthday. she was wonderfully accommodating and hilarious!! We drove down from Nashville and chose Foodworks from a previous positive experience there.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had guests from Chicago and they thou ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 9, 2016

We had guests from Chicago and they thought it was great. Neat place and great food. My wife and I already knew this and that is why we took our guests there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

On our last night in Chattanooga, after ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 3, 2016

On our last night in Chattanooga, after numerous meals of uninspired quality and imagination, we tried Food Works. What a find. Situated in a upcoming, cool and trendy area of North Chattanooga, Food Works delivered a surprising top flight meal. From the drink and wine menu to the broad appeal of entrée dishes from every form of fish, seafood, fowl, pork and beef (as well as vegetarian) to a well planned children's menu, Food Works hit the target dead-on. No one had any reservations about what they were served, how they were served nor hesitation about wanting to return to try other selections. I certainly hope that the local patrons keep this restaurant humming for years to come!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My husband and I decided to try somethin ...

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on July 30, 2016

My husband and I decided to try something 'old; ' we hadn't been here in a long time. We always liked the atmosphere. We were pleasantly surprised at the new menu. We decided to forego any appetizer (we like trying fried green tomatoes when they're available). We were asked if we wanted bread. My hubby never turns down bread. It was good even though the butter was a little overpowering with the amount of garlic. I ordered a house salad and my husband had some of it. It was really tasty. The mixed greens with the bacon and spiced pecans hit the spot. We were glad we got the salad.....it took a long time.... a long time .....for our food to come out. When it finally was delivered, my husband's pasta was lukewarm so were my black bean cakes. Good thing both dishes were flavorful! I read a review where someone else commented on the food not being delivered timely. We'll go again and hope service (not the wait person - the food expediter) is more on the ball. We will let management know if it happens again. The restaurant was not busy when we were there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

This is our "go to" place to eat when ma ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 29, 2016

This is our "go to" place to eat when making our Atlanta-Nashville runs because they welcome our dogs on their outdoor deck. In fact the most recent time, I spoke with them to confirm the reservation, and when we arrived there were already bowls of ice water on the deck! The food is always great and the service gracious. All paws up for this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Consistently good food and service. Alw ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Consistently good food and service. Always enjoy Foodworks. Great price on Mimosas, Champagne, and Bloody Marys for brunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Loved it! Only negative was several thin ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on July 12, 2016

Loved it! Only negative was several things were not available on the menu. This was because of an upcoming menu change so I can understand it. I'm sure next time will be even better when they have the new menu rolled out!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I were celebrating our weddi ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on July 2, 2016

My wife and I were celebrating our wedding anniversary. We have dined her before and alway's have enjoyed our experience. Our server was covering too many tables including a party of 10. Needless to say our service was not as good as expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

We always enjoy Food Works. I would hig ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 28, 2016

We always enjoy Food Works. I would highly recommend their catering service also. They staff is very easy to work with.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good service and great food! Not hard to ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Good service and great food! Not hard to find and located within walking distance of shopping and other activities.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We have dined at Food Works multiple tim ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 24, 2016

We have dined at Food Works multiple times and is our "go to" restaurant. Always great food and great service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We were met at the door, called by name ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 22, 2016

We were met at the door, called by name and immediately taken to our table which was preset for our party of eight. The server came out immediately, was pleasant (actually very entertaining for our little pre-wedding celebration for one of our employees) and food was served very quickly after taking our orders. Drink refills maintained throughout the service and all special requests were handled very well. Everyone was fighting over the Cuban sandwich and sweet potato chips. Will definitely return and recommend to my colleagues and friends.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.