About Food Works

205-C Manufacturers Rd
Chattanooga, TN 37405-3253
View Larger Map

Voted one of Chattanooga’s Best Restaurants, Food Works strives to provide its guests with a quality experience in a refined, yet relaxed atmosphere. Located on Chattanooga’s North Shore, we are situated in the beautifully renovated and historic Signal Knitting Mill.

With a variety of items to choose from, our menu focuses on “progressive southern” cuisine with global influences showcasing our culinary team’s ability to put new spins on old classics. The spacious bar features an array of imported, domestic and craft beers along with an extensive wine list as well as specialty martinis. Enjoy a cocktail inside or on our patio with family and friends before indulging in a delicious meal.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Global, International, Contemporary Southern

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Brunch: Sunday 10:00am - 3:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm
Dinner: Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Dinner: Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Cherokee Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(423) 752-7487

Website:
http://www.foodworksrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Food Works Catering creates flawless events that can accommodate your specific needs, tastes and budget like no other. We offer everything from carry-out service to complete full-service catering, which entails everything from the planning, staffing and item rentals to the set-up & execution of your event. We approach every event, big or small, with enthusiasm and precision, whether you’re planning a casual theme party or a sophisticated black tie dinner, from the trendy to the traditional.

Parking Details:
Parking is available in our lot along with a large public lot across the street.

Public Transit:
A free electric shuttle bus stop is roughly 2 blocks away.

Executive Chef:
Jeremy Allin

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Food Works Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (24)
Good for a Date (21)
Great for Lunch (20)
See All
Good for Groups (19)
Sunday Lunch (18)
Casual (16)
Fun (15)
Special Occasion (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Bar Seating (13)
Historic (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Business Meals (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Family Style (7)
Authentic (6)
Cozy (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Healthy (5)
Seasonal (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Romantic (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Private Room (2)
People Watching (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Waterfront (1)
Spicy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
272 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Always enjoy the food here. The horseradish crusted salmon is my favorite! I love half-price wine on Mondays. Will definitely be back!

Tags: Disabled Access, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

For Valentine's good food good service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Had a reservation for 7, and we were seated very promptly. Food was very tasty and attractive. I felt like it was generally a good value for the price. Be forewarned - you cannot order from the regular lunch menu on the weekends. My only major complaint was that I told the server that one of our party eats vegan. She did check with kitchen about how one vegetable was prepared and apparently the chef did not offer to alter preparation. My daughter ultimately ordered pasta and it was delivered to the table with cheese on top. I didn't want to send it back because we had already waited quite a long time for our food. I would go back but do not recommend for vegan or vegetarian eaters.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fun, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great food. My favorite shrimp and grits dish of all time. Loved the Blackberry margarita! Wait staff is excellent!!

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentines night. The medium rare filet came out without the portabello mushrooms and blue cheese I ordered. When my dinner returned the steak was then over cooked. The waiter had been there 2 weeks and was poor. This is unusual for Foodworks. I felt compelled to write this review in hopes Foodworks will use this as coaching moment. I'll be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value4

 
·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great rustic place to dine. Lighting could be a little better in certain areas . But, love atmosphere and food. One of my favs.

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Casual, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on February 14, 2017

All in all it when great. There was a little issue with our reservation not being ready when we got there (ten minutes early - but several other 6:30 and even 6:45 reservations were seated before us). Other than that, the service was good and the food, as always, was great.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Casual, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on February 14, 2017

My wife and my first visit since the fire a few years back. Was one of our favorite places to dine. After this visit, we find back at the top of our long list. Prices fair and service was great. The quality of the food was above expectation. Welcome back Food Works. WE will be back soon.

John and Barbara

Tags: Seasonal, Healthy, Cozy, Comfort Food, Authentic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 12, 2017

Our server seemed rushed the entire time. They also brought out our entrees before we were finished with our salads. The food was fantastic (steak and salmon) but it wasn't the best service we've had. Cheap corkage fee but we poured it for ourselves the whole night.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

 
·Dined on February 5, 2017

Food was delicious! Enjoyed the brunch selections. Will return.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on February 2, 2017

Food Works has a great variety, and I am very picky. Great atmosphere for both business meals and evening out with a special someone.

Tags: Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 1, 2017

Our group of 13 was really happy with the service and the selections on the menu. This is a great alternative to dining downtown where parking can be scarce. Foodworks has great parking.

Tags: Happy Hour, Historic, Casual, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 28, 2017

I love coming to Food Works but this time my fish was not cooked all the way. I had to send it back to get fully cooked so by the time our group was finished eating my food came out. Not the best experience but understand the mistake. This won't keep us from coming back. It's usually a great time and food.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

We went around 12:15 on Saturday. The food was excellent. The atmosphere was great. We really enjoyed and found the inside to be a really cool building. Very open and well decorated.

The sweet potato chips with blue cheese fondue was delicious. We had a chicken biscuit with gravy and egg. The breakfast potatoes were delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Overall great the salmon was the best dish

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Always enjoy their friendly and accommodating staff! We've always had a wonderful experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Long time Chattanooga favorite, the food and cocktails are consistently great and the bar has a fun atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

Rachel, our server, was fantastic and personable. She gave us undivided attention which we would've never known she had other tables. We celebrated our son's 2nd Birthday, and Rachel plus great drinks and food made it amazing! We look forward to returning to this gem. It would be nice to have a FoodWorks in Middle Tennessee (hint).

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 28, 2016

All was good except the length of time between ordering the meal and its actual being served. This is not a reflection on the wait staff, but on the kitchen. 45 minutes elapsed. Food Works was not full to capacity. It was explained that a large group was being served at this time. That is a staffing issue. Wait staff was courteous and responsive.

Tags: Fun, Family Style, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
·Dined on December 28, 2016

We came here for a late dinner, and the atmosphere had already died down a bit. The service was good, as was the food!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on December 26, 2016

I've enjoyed FoodWorks every time I've been there, including this brunch. Yummy Breakfast burrito and mimosa(s).

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

Server was personable but somewhat inattentive. Food was very good. Restaurant was fairly busy but the noise level was not bothersome. worth a trip back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

We have been to Food Works several times but the last two we have been seated at a table in the bar and had sub-par service. It is of no fault to the bartender, as he has too many responsibilities by himself. The two times we booked with Open Table we were seated in the bar. I'm not sure if there is a correlation, but that is our experience. If we do go back, we will request not to be seated in the bar area.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

We went to Food works with our family of 9 for Brunch on Christmas Eve and had a wonderful experience. It was worth the 2 hr trip we took to get there. All of us had different items off the brunch menu, some of us had even 2! It was busy since it was a Holiday but that did not have any impact on the quality or taste of the food. Service was slowed down but we expected it. So glad that Open Table helped us make the reservations even though it was short notice and that we were able to experience Food Works. Well worth the trip, we can heartily recommend ANYTHING on the Brunch menu.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on December 21, 2016

Had a great time.. Food was excellent.. Rachael our server was very helpful and worked hard.

Great Service!

Tags: Historic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 11, 2016

I have always enjoyed dining at Foodworks, it's in my neighborhood, the managers are great,

The food is consistently well-made with fresh, local ingredients that remind you of "where you are". The kitchen staff is exemplary. The beauty of Foodworks is all of its many facets. You can come in for a romantic dinner for two, you can entertain business clients, you can bring your children for lunch or dinner.

Tags: Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on December 10, 2016

I made this reservation through Open Table and requested a table on the first floor. I was treating my daughter and 12 year old granddaughter to dinner before the theater. Instead we were put at a table on the second floor furthest from the steps. Didn't even overlook the first floor.

I ordered the strip steak, but it was quite rare so sent it back to be cooked a bit more. It took a long time for my steak to be brought back and by that time my guests had finished their meals. Because we had waited so long, and now had to leave to get to the theater in time, I didn't have time to my meal and had to take it to-go.

Our waitress Allison was very good. Without asking her, she took the price of my meal off the tab. While the food was good, the reason I would think about going back to Food Works is because Allison handled this disappointing situation professionally.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 10, 2016

As always a great visit and food. Will continue for the best brunch in Chattanooga

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 9, 2016

my husband, daughter, son in law and I went before going to the Tivoli for the Nutcracker. The food was great and service also. I've been there several times before and they never disappoint!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 4, 2016

Dinner was good. The service is okay until they disappear after the food is delivered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
·Dined on December 4, 2016

We had the perfect location in the restaurant for all 11 of us to be able to chat and hear each other from one end of the table to the other. Our waiter was EXCELLENT. He was attentive, anticipated needs well, and was so personable. He was patient when taking ALL our orders and attended to our table without hovering and without staying away too long.

I would recommend that you close the drapes on the other side of the upper level. Those seated with their backs to the wall had a clear view of a wait-station that was quite unattractive. Also, one drape was partially closed and I think the gentleman sitting at that table felt like he was "on display" to our table.

All in all, we LOVE Food Works and will continue to come.

Tags: Family Style, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Healthy, Hot Spot, Disabled Access, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 2, 2016

Great food. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on November 26, 2016

Glad we used open table. Got right in ahead of the crowd. Would highly recommend the fried green tomatoes. Our waitress was outstanding. She had great attitude disputed being run ragged by the crowd. She was also very accommodating with our handicapped guest.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on November 24, 2016

So thankful to Foodworks for being open on Thanksgiving. However, our arrival was a little rough. We stood at an empty front desk for a few minutes, then we were not greeted, but apparently expected to follow the lady who took us to our seat and threw our menus on the table without a word. It was to point where I went back to the front desk to make sure that we were actually supposed to be sitting there and didn't follow her by mistake. She was not pleased with my question. After the disappointing start, everything else was great. Server was awesome, food was perfect. Will be back.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on November 24, 2016

Glad to find a thanksgiving reservation. I didn't know we were getting real thanksgiving food!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 20, 2016

Food was okay; the servant was not friendly at all, and even though our experience was unpleasant mainly due to the loud dirty mouthed people next to us, I kind of blame the restaurant management for not doing anything about it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value4

 
·Dined on November 20, 2016

The brunch is always great!!! The service is consistently good. The only issue is that it seems to take the food longer than normal to come out.

Definitely will be back for brunch!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
·Dined on November 13, 2016

Foodworks is our go to place. Their brunch is second to none. Service is always good and it's a fun building to dine in.

Tags: Fun, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 28, 2016

Great food and service. Waitress was knowledgeable, flexible, and helpful. Highly recommend!

Tags: Fun, Tasting Menu, Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 27, 2016

Love that when it is take your dog to work day that we have places like FoodWorks who accept four-legged friends. We sat on the patio and upon arrival had a bowl of fresh, cold water for our extra guest. Food was spot on, as always. Waitress was very attentive. We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 26, 2016

This is a great place for casual dining. Food is good (especially Sunday brunch), and the atmosphere is lively.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
·Dined on October 23, 2016

My chicken and waffles was wonderful. And it was nice to be seated when our reservation was for. Crab cake Benedict left something to be desired

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on October 18, 2016

Fantastic server really understood what I wanted and needed! Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 14, 2016

Service and food delivery were slow due to rehearsal dinner in the back. Took almost 45 minutes to get two sandwiches.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on October 11, 2016

This was our first time dining here and it was our anniversary. The food and service were perfect. Delicious menu with a great price!

Tags: Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 2, 2016

Brunch menu is phenomenal!! Service was very fast even though it was crowded!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on October 1, 2016

We loved coming to Food Works for brunch in the beginning, but lately we've been remembering how good the dinners are. The extensive menu and the great cocktail and dessert list will please everyone. There is even a kids menu. Upstairs seating is fairly quiet for good conversations. The servers are always great!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2016

Food was subpar and does not fit the culture the area/restaurant desires to be associated with.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 24, 2016

This restaurant has good appetizers and salads; more of a good place to go have drinks and appetizers. Stay away from the main entrees; we had 6 people at our table and all 6 said their food was no good. Maybe sandwiches are ok, but the main dinner entrees are pi

Tags: Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 24, 2016

Best shrimp and grits I've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.