Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.57mi
  4. Distance: 0.61mi
  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.57mi
  4. Distance: 0.61mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.57mi
  4. Distance: 0.61mi
  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.57mi
  4. Distance: 0.61mi

About Food Works

Voted one of Chattanooga’s Best Restaurants, Food Works strives to provide its guests with a quality experience in a refined, yet relaxed atmosphere. Located on Chattanooga’s North Shore, we are situated in the beautifully renovated and historic Signal Knitting Mill.

With a variety of items to choose from, our menu focuses on “progressive southern” cuisine with global influences showcasing our culinary team’s ability to put new spins on old classics. The spacious bar features an array of imported, domestic and craft beers along with an extensive wine list as well as specialty martinis. Enjoy a cocktail inside or on our patio with family and friends before indulging in a delicious meal.

205-C Manufacturers Rd
Chattanooga, TN 37405-3253
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Global, International, Contemporary Southern

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Brunch: Sunday 10:00am - 3:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm
Dinner: Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Dinner: Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Cherokee Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(423) 752-7487

Website:
http://www.foodworksrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Food Works Catering creates flawless events that can accommodate your specific needs, tastes and budget like no other. We offer everything from carry-out service to complete full-service catering, which entails everything from the planning, staffing and item rentals to the set-up & execution of your event. We approach every event, big or small, with enthusiasm and precision, whether you’re planning a casual theme party or a sophisticated black tie dinner, from the trendy to the traditional.

Parking Details:
Parking is available in our lot along with a large public lot across the street.

Public Transit:
A free electric shuttle bus stop is roughly 2 blocks away.

Executive Chef:
Jeremy Allin

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Food Works Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.2

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (25)
Good for a Date (22)
Casual (20)
See All
Great for Lunch (19)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Sunday Lunch (19)
Comfort Food (17)
Special Occasion (16)
Business Meals (15)
Fun (14)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Historic (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Family Style (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Cozy (7)
Authentic (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Healthy (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Waterfront (3)
Seasonal (3)
Private Room (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Quick Bite (2)
People Watching (2)
Romantic (2)
Scenic View (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
302 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

The service was excellent and was right on time. Food was great with more than enough. Location was great, parking around the area was plentiful. Employees were friendly and professional. I would recommend brunch on Sunday.

Tags: Family Style, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Casual, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Visiting from Nashville- and we all agreed we will go back!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Casual, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The waiter was awful and ever said "I guess so" when we requested another drink.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Great lunch - generous portions. Friendly service. Nice ambiance. Reasonably priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Our experience was excellent, the food was exceptional and our server "Dennis" was absolutely the best he took great care of us and was most entertaining, could not ask for better. Definitely a favorite place.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great dining experience with good drinks and excellent food

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 31, 2017

There were four of us, two of us would give it a 5 rating which was the horseradish salmon but the other two meals were just okay. The Ahi was dry and had little flavor and the steak was good but not great. Service was good! Wine list leaves a lot to be desired. Would not give it over a 4 total overall rating. Good but not great as stated earlier.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 27, 2017

The best Mahi Fish Tacos ever!! A must try! Everything was so flavorful.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Went for brunch with a great friend. Had a lovely time, sweet waitress, delicious meal!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Fish special was excellent. Salmon just ok. Delicious bread Nice view of the city from second floor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We had an early dinner here prior to attending a performance. We enjoyed the relative quiet and easy parking. It was helpful that we could make a reservation, removing anxiety from whether we would secure a table without worrying about getting to the theater on time.
The menu had so many options suitable for an early meal, ranging from full meals to dinner salads to sandwiches.
Service was attentive, professional, and friendly. Food was perfectly cooked and vegetables were fresh. Servings were generous and prices very reasonable. We would definitely be pleased to return.

Tags: Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Quick Bite, Disabled Access, Healthy, Comfort Food, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Great experience, really good food! Seated immediately. Energetic and friendly staff. There is an upstairs seating space that is big and nice. I'll be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Best French toast ever and $1 mimosas! Too bad we were only visiting for the weekend or else we would be regulars!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Food Works is one of my favorite lunch places. I have used it as a destination for many business lunches. I really like their lunch menu options, the setting is rustic, but relatively quiet for conversation and it is reasonably priced. I highly recommend trying Food Works for lunch.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Historic, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 19, 2017

I always enjoy dining at Food Works..the food is wonderful!!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The kitchen must have been overloaded. It took an hour for our food to appear and some of the shrimp was only partially cooked. The other dishes were good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 18, 2017

This is my 2nd time visiting Food Works and they did not disappoint. Everyone their is very welcoming and nice. I love eating brunch and that's the main reason why I picked this restaurant. The chicken & waffles are delicious. Their butter mixture is really good. How can you not order the $1 mimosa or better yet a double for $2!! Someone in my party had the Smoked beef brisket hash and it was absolutely delicious. I will definitely return for brunch again.

Tags: Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We eat at Foodworks fairly often and always enjoy it. It's convenient and the food is interesting and good. Would recommend it.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Our reservation for 8 was set for 1 pm. We were not seated until 2. Other groups who did not have a reservation were seated before us. The hostess apparently had us slated for a particular table and kept telling us that as soon as that group left we would be seated. Finally, another spot was made for us because that group was not leaving. While the service was great and food delicious, the reservation system apparently has serious flaws for larger groups.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Denise was such a fun waiter! enjoyed spending the afternoon brunching with him!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Fun, Outstanding Value, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 10, 2017

To be honest, I had ordered something else. And, they accidentally mixed up my meal. But, we took one bite and had to keep it! They offered to fix it with the right meal, but we were already hooked. I loved the Grilled Chicken meal!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Food was good, service was mediocre. Won't deter us from coming back - food and wine were good!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Been there numerous times. Never an issue. Great menu. Great food. Great place for groups. Casual, but not TOO casual. One of our "go to" places.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 5, 2017

My girlfriends and I were in town to run the Chattanooga half marathon. We came in for brunch to celebrate our run. The wait was a little long but was well worth it. I had chicken and waffles, two friends had crab cake eggs Benedict, and another enjoyed the caramel French toast. Everyone thought their food was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Shrimp and Grits was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Fantastic! Will definitely go again. Food and drinks were amazing. With making an online reservation just one hour before we went, we walked in and immediately were seated (other parties without a reservation waited for up to 3 hours we were told.)

Tags: Modern Decor, Outstanding Value, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Google had the wrong closing time for Sat.................................gfgh

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great ambiance! The food was tasty , reasonable prices! Fast service , good selection of plates! I got black bean burger and my spouse the schrimp and grits! We both were please and the drinks were excellent too! Martinis were excellent too!! Our waitress was ok a little no much of personality !! I said that because I work at the public service industry and personality is a big deal!!!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Historic, Good for Groups, Private Room, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Fun, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Great staff and love the exposed brick and decor! Our waiter was very helpful with his favorite dishes.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Always enjoy the food here. The horseradish crusted salmon is my favorite! I love half-price wine on Mondays. Will definitely be back!

Tags: Disabled Access, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 18, 2017

For Valentine's good food good service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Had a reservation for 7, and we were seated very promptly. Food was very tasty and attractive. I felt like it was generally a good value for the price. Be forewarned - you cannot order from the regular lunch menu on the weekends. My only major complaint was that I told the server that one of our party eats vegan. She did check with kitchen about how one vegetable was prepared and apparently the chef did not offer to alter preparation. My daughter ultimately ordered pasta and it was delivered to the table with cheese on top. I didn't want to send it back because we had already waited quite a long time for our food. I would go back but do not recommend for vegan or vegetarian eaters.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fun, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great food. My favorite shrimp and grits dish of all time. Loved the Blackberry margarita! Wait staff is excellent!!

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentines night. The medium rare filet came out without the portabello mushrooms and blue cheese I ordered. When my dinner returned the steak was then over cooked. The waiter had been there 2 weeks and was poor. This is unusual for Foodworks. I felt compelled to write this review in hopes Foodworks will use this as coaching moment. I'll be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great rustic place to dine. Lighting could be a little better in certain areas . But, love atmosphere and food. One of my favs.

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Casual, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 14, 2017

All in all it when great. There was a little issue with our reservation not being ready when we got there (ten minutes early - but several other 6:30 and even 6:45 reservations were seated before us). Other than that, the service was good and the food, as always, was great.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Casual, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My wife and my first visit since the fire a few years back. Was one of our favorite places to dine. After this visit, we find back at the top of our long list. Prices fair and service was great. The quality of the food was above expectation. Welcome back Food Works. WE will be back soon.
John and Barbara

Tags: Seasonal, Healthy, Cozy, Comfort Food, Authentic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

One of our favorites of all time and places. We love brunch and this is a repeat place for us.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Our server seemed rushed the entire time. They also brought out our entrees before we were finished with our salads. The food was fantastic (steak and salmon) but it wasn't the best service we've had. Cheap corkage fee but we poured it for ourselves the whole night.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Food was delicious! Enjoyed the brunch selections. Will return.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.