Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.57mi
  4. Distance: 0.61mi
  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.57mi
  4. Distance: 0.61mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.57mi
  4. Distance: 0.61mi
  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.57mi
  4. Distance: 0.61mi

About Food Works

Voted one of Chattanooga’s Best Restaurants, Food Works strives to provide its guests with a quality experience in a refined, yet relaxed atmosphere. Located on Chattanooga’s North Shore, we are situated in the beautifully renovated and historic Signal Knitting Mill.

With a variety of items to choose from, our menu focuses on “progressive southern” cuisine with global influences showcasing our culinary team’s ability to put new spins on old classics. The spacious bar features an array of imported, domestic and craft beers along with an extensive wine list as well as specialty martinis. Enjoy a cocktail inside or on our patio with family and friends before indulging in a delicious meal.

205-C Manufacturers Rd
Chattanooga, TN 37405-3253
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Global, International, Contemporary Southern

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Brunch: Sunday 10:00am - 9:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm
Dinner: Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Dinner: Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Cherokee Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(423) 752-7487

Website:
http://www.foodworksrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Food Works Catering creates flawless events that can accommodate your specific needs, tastes and budget like no other. We offer everything from carry-out service to complete full-service catering, which entails everything from the planning, staffing and item rentals to the set-up & execution of your event. We approach every event, big or small, with enthusiasm and precision, whether you’re planning a casual theme party or a sophisticated black tie dinner, from the trendy to the traditional.

Parking Details:
Parking is available in our lot along with a large public lot across the street.

Public Transit:
A free electric shuttle bus stop is roughly 2 blocks away.

Executive Chef:
Jeremy Allin

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Food Works Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (20)
Good for a Date (20)
Special Occasion (19)
See All
Casual (18)
Sunday Lunch (17)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Great for Lunch (13)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Business Meals (10)
Fun (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Authentic (5)
Romantic (5)
Cozy (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Healthy (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Great Beer (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Live Sports (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Scenic View (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
People Watching (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort by
S
395 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

Food Works always hits the ball out of the park. I'm a frequent dinner guest but this was my first brunch experience. The place was packed but our Open Table Reservation was honored and we were quickly seated. The service was prompt and the food was delicious.

Tags: Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

This was my 54th birthday meal. We go to Food Works for brunch all the time. Today was just horrible. Our food was cold. Not room temperature but cold. Not everything came out at one time. My extra grit cake was 10 minutes later. A water refill was requested from two different servers and finally my friend just got up and went to the kitchen. I asked for more hollandaise. After I reminded our server a second time she returned with cold hollandaise. I asked why it was cold and she said "we serve hollandaise cold" WHAT!?!!? We request to speak to a Manager a second time and finally someone showed up. He had no explanation why our meal was such a disaster. Portions have been shrinking there for several months. Now serving cold Crab Benedict and icebox potatoes is a bridge too far. We love to eat at local restaurants and there are several options in downtown Chattanooga. Sad to see what was one of our favorite places plummet in quality and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

 
·Dined 5 days ago

We had a party of 10 for a reservation at 5 o’clock. The restaurant was half empty when we arrived and became busier as time went by. I don’t know if only having one waiter for a party of 10 is normal, but he seemed visibly overwhelmed throughout our meal and was serving other tables as well. We were there over 2 hours by the time it was all said and done and were very frustrated at the speed of service, or lack thereof. The food was great, but service was seriously lacking, which was unfortunate. Hopefully the next trip will be better!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

I had the fish tacos and they were excellent. Everyone in our party seemed to enjoy their meal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on December 31, 2017

Good food & great service. It was our first time here, and the entrance was a bit hard to find (at night) on a frigid night. Wish we had known the entrance was in the back of the building away from the road.

Tags: Healthy, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 31, 2017

New Year’s Eve early dinner fun! My little one’s favorite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 30, 2017

Great place to eat. Good menu. I highly recommend it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 29, 2017

Delicious fresh food - get the Bruchetta!!! Service was great too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 28, 2017

We arrived a little late to our reservation because our movie ran long but we were seated right away. Our waiter was great and the food was too!

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Great Beer, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 26, 2017

Chicken piccata and mashed potatoes were great, the fries and calamari could haven been better - more yellow pepper rings than squid, fries w/o salt but loaded with garlic - seems they were both fried in oil that wasn't sufficiently preheated. Steaks were nice, but fat was not sufficiently rendered - despite these culinary flaws, I would go back. Not as pretentious as many of the Downtown restaurants can be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on December 25, 2017

Very Slow service - lacking attentiveness. Food Works is known for their blue cheese dip and sweet potato chips and was so looking forward to this appetizer but the blue cheese was tasteless and thickened with so much flour it had no taste. Crab cake was actually a salmon cake that our server said was on a previous menu. It was so fishy and smelly I had to send it back. Did not have the desserts available listed on the menu. Will not be returning and do not recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 24, 2017

We love Foodworks. Great food. Great service. Love it.

Tags: Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Live Sports, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 24, 2017

One of favorite places. Good food, good atmosphere. Would recommend going for brunch.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 17, 2017

I really was impressed by my server, Sam. She was attentive, resourceful and fast. The overall experience was excellent, and caused me to go ahead and book for this next Sunday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 17, 2017

Great food and service but way too packed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
·Dined on December 16, 2017

Everything I have ever eaten here has been excellent-the vegetables in particular.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 10, 2017

Good food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on December 5, 2017

I was in charge of choosing a restaurant for our company Christmas Lunch. I have eaten at food works on several occasions and have always been pleased. I needed to find a place that would appeal to everyone's taste in food, and I was told by all that I made a great choice! The Korean BBQ chicken wings were a HUGE hit!!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on December 5, 2017

Whenever we come to Chattanooga to see friends and family we always make a point of eating at Foodworks. On this last trip we met with 11 friends and family. The food was great, drinks were great and we were off in the back so our fun and frivolity would not bother the other diners. Love Foodworks.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 25, 2017

Our group of 12 was there to celebrate a birthday. We had a fantastic experience and could not have been happier! Great food, atmosphere and service!
Thanks!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 23, 2017

Awesome spot. We've come here for Thanksgiving the last 3 years (and often during the year for Sunday brunch etc.), never disappointed.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 19, 2017

I had really high hopes for our anniversary dinner, but was underwhelmed by this restaurant. The chairs were terribly uncomfortable (no booths), and every footfall that passes by one’s table can be felt as a thud. My chicken was burnt but my pasta was underdone. My husband’s lasagna was good, though. I loved the ambiance, and wished the food had been as good as the atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 19, 2017

Great food. Eat here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 19, 2017

Don't forget to make a reservation. Service was the best ever. The Brunch menu had great choices and deciding was tough. The food was served perfectly, just the right temperature and taste was wonderful.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 18, 2017

The food is generally excellent. There are a variety of brunch items on Sat. and Sun. The service is also great. Don't forget to have a mimosa or BMary during brunch!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Cozy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 16, 2017

Truffle fries were great! Ordered kale salad and there were more spinach leaves than kale. They also put almost a half cup of flax and sunflower seeds on the salad, so much so, I could not see the greens underneath.
The portion sizes are really large. The waitstaff and hostess were not nice or helpful. Waitress could not make dessert recommendations and complained about walking up stairs. Entire group was not impressed with the service. Also ordered black bean quinoa burger and it was not very good.
Not sure if I will be back again, but others enjoyed their dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Good place to go especially Sunday brunch with 2.00 mimosas and Bloody Mary specials.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on November 12, 2017

This place is amazing! The staff is very welcoming and the atmosphere is nice. There’s a variety of entrees available which are very creative. This place is very casual and great for either a date or friends/family outing. I definitely recommend the crab cake Benedict or the shrimp and grits!

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Quick Bite, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on November 5, 2017

Excellent all around! I️ highly recommend Food Works.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Great restaurant. The food was excellent and very tasty. Our server was friendly and attentive. Good value money. The wine was a bit on the pricey side. We will definitely dine here again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Excellent starters. Huge portions on salads and meals. Meals good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 31, 2017

The spinach artichoke dip was amazing. Loved the little bit of spice with it. The food was really good with large portions. For desert I had a milk and cookies cream brûlée. It was out of this world delicious. Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 27, 2017

Loved the horseradish-crusted salmon! Server took a little time to warm up.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 15, 2017

It was not that great to be honest. It started off wrong when found a insect in my cocktail. It went hill from there. Never once did the manager stop by and give a apology for the service and for finding a insect in my drink. I was just disappointed all the way around.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Good food, reasonable prices in a cool old building. Good choice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 8, 2017

The food was fabulous the wings with the Korean BBQ was amazing along with the MAC and Cheese. All the staff was great. Everyone should try this spot before it gets over saturated.

Tags: Live Sports, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Went for brunch. This place is one of the best spots in Chattanooga for brunch with their amazing food menu and $1 mimosas. Can’t go wrong

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Excellent food. They really make your dining experience one you'll not soon forget. The brunch menu in particular has some great offerings such as the crab cake Benedict, avocado toast Benedict, breakfast borrito and horsey crusted salmon...to name a few. Have a few mimosas while you're there! Enjoy!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

I always have a good experience when dining at Food Works and several of my friends that had not previously known about the restaurant have now began to frequent it. I really enjoy the atmosphere and the food is really good. I must also give the staff a big thumbs up. The servers are always friendly and helpful.

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Always enjoy Food Works. We often go for Brunch and enjoy $1 Mimosas and champagne. Dinner is always good, too. Nice atmosphere. Can be a bit busy at times and prefer to have a reservation.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.