About Food Dance

401 E.Michigan
Kalamazoo, MI 49007
View Larger Map

We're very serious about food, but atmosphere is casual at Food Dance. We begin by sourcing the freshest ingredients from our family of farms. Starting with Norm's free range eggs in your omelet to J&S farm's fruit we preserve in-house for our cocktails, you will find great full flavored food on our menus. We work to build relationships with the farmers, ranchers, cheese makers and producers of fine food that share our same values.

We look forward to giving you a great experience; celebrating, meeting or just enjoying one of our fabulous cocktails inspired by the seasons. Join us for breakfast, lunch or dinner.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Saturday: 7:00am - 11:00am, Sunday: 8:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Pitcher St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(269) 382-1888

Website:
http://www.fooddance.net/

Catering:
Catering: Delivery or Pick up
We love sharing food. In today’s busy world, we know you don’t always have time to sit down with us and break bread. However, that doesn’t mean we aren’t there for you. Whether you’re planning a business meeting, luncheon, extravaganza or you just can’t bear to turn on the oven–available for delivery, pick up or an onsite party.
Honest-to-goodness, farm-fresh food ready for you whenever you need it

Deliveries-Let us bring it to you–our same farm-fresh goodness delivered to your home, office or secret lair.

Parking Details:
We offer parking directly behind our building in our own lot plus additional parking in a detached south lot with visible signage. There is also some on the street parking available.

Executive Chef:
Julie Stanley, Head Chef Brad McKenzie

Private Party Facilities:
We have 3 beautiful rooms that can be reserved individually or in combination, for 15-110 guests. Choices are almost endless. Whether you imagine a business breakfast or lunch, a festive cocktail party, a sit-down dinner or dessert & coffee bar, we have a menu selection you & your guests will love.

Private Party Contact:
Event Coordinator: 2693821888x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We offer many events throughout the year such as cooking classes, farm to fork dinners, beer & cheese tastings and more. Make reservations for these events @ fooddance.net

Restaurant Photos

Ginger-Mint Lemonade - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Mediterranean Feta - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Caramel Corn Panna Cotta - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Argentinean Steak Sandwich - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Zingerman's Bread - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Food Dance Burger - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Dessert Nachos - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Roasted Corn Soup With Bacon - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Tomato Terrine - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Food Dance Pad Thai - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
The Bed & Breakfast Burger - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Caesar Salad - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Jeni's Sweet Potato With Torched Marshmallows Ice Cream - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Bruschetta - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Jeni's Goat Cheese With Red Cherries Ice Cream - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Artisan Cheese & Cured Meat Plate - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Smoothie - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Crab Cakes - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Seared Sea Scallops - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Fresh Peach & Ginger Lemonade - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Crackers - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Chicken Liver Pâté - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Grilled Salmon - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Applewood Smoked Bacon - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Square Dance - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
House Coppa - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Huevos Supremos - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Tartar Of Beef - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Orange Creamsicle - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Boudin Blanc Sausage - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Focaccia Bread - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Burger Of Brilliance - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Creamy Tomato Soup - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Raspberry Creme Brulee - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
B.B.Q. Rock Steady - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
La Quercia Prosciutto - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
duck sausage - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
House Made Preserves - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Smoked Whitefish Rillette - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Watusi - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Butternut Squash Scramble - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Pig In The Garden - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
House-Made Ketchup - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Sourdough Toast & Housemade Preserves - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Headcheese - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Melba Crisp - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Crispy Bread - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Hooks Cheddar Cheese - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
The Food Dance Burger - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Fresh Squeezed Orange Juice - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Butternut Squash Apple Soup - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Pork Terrine - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Jeni's Splendid Peach Buttermilk Ice Cream - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Hand-Cut French Fries & House-Made Ketchup - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Two Eggs & Meat - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Apricot Tarte Tatin - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Smoked Whitefish Scrambles - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Cinnamon Apple French Toast Layers - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Salami Scramble - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Biscuits & Gravy - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
The Two Step - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Chocate Cake Dessert Bite - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Jeni's Ice Cream - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Sesame Ginger Wild Alaska Salmon - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Jeni's Salty Caramel Ice Cream - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Marcoot Jersey Creamery Creamy Havarti - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Bread and Butter - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Cheesecake Dessert Bite - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Sundried Tomato Bruschetta - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Curried Chickpeas - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Feta Cheese Dip - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Laack Cheddar - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Clancy's Fancy Hot Sauce - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Bridgeport Red - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Pulled Pork Burrito - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
White Grapefruit Juice - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Candy Canes - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Ketel One Martini - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Shrimp - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Mini Cake - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Huevo Rancheros - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Creme Brulee Baked French Toast - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Fried Chickpeas - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Beef Tartare - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Pan Seared Halibut - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Peach Raspberry Crisp - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Rocksteady Sandwich - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Bloody Mary - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Biscuit Chicken Gravy - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Bed And Breakfast Burger  - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Chocolate Layer Cake - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Olive Oul Raspberry Cake  - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Seamless Ravioli - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Winter Vegetable Salad - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Pappardelle - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Ribeye (Wood-Fire Grilled) - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Winter Soup Trio - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Julie's French Toast - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Maple Salmon Salad - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI
Cranberry Upside Down Cake - Food Dance, Kalamazoo, MI

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Food Dance Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Best Food
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Best Service
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
2 More
American
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Most Booked
Kalamazoo
Best Restaurants in Kalamazoo ›

Local Ingredients (19)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
See All
Special Occasion (12)
Casual (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Good for a Date (10)
Healthy (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Cozy (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Seasonal (7)
Business Meals (7)
Organic (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Fun (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Authentic (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Great Beer (4)
Romantic (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Vegan (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
People Watching (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Historic (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Tapas (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Private Room (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
592 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

There may be equally as enjoyable places ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 26, 2016

There may be equally as enjoyable places to eat in KZoo but I may never discover them because whenever I am in town Food Dance is a must. I've never been disappointed!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Vegan, Seasonal, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Fun, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Molecular Gastronomy, Afternoon Coffee, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I hadn't been to Food Dance for awhile a ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I hadn't been to Food Dance for awhile and it was just as good as I remember. Very good food and good service. It would be nice to have more parking and sometimes the prices seem a little higher than expected but overall I am never disappointed.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

While the food was outstanding, the lack ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 19, 2016

While the food was outstanding, the lackluster service tarnished the evening. We asked for a couple of minutes to finalize our choices but the server didn't return for 20. I also had to take care of the bill myself by finding a hostess since our server was nowhere to be found. Sitting by the windows was very cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Outstanding food outstanding service

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Outstanding food outstanding service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We found this restaurant on Open Table a ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We found this restaurant on Open Table as we were driving across the state for work. Wow!! This is a farm to table concept, we had the best waiter, excellent food, great ambiance, I would stop back again when I find myself in Kalamazoo.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time here and we absolutely loved ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 5, 2016

First time here and we absolutely loved it. Great service, great food with a broad, eclectic menu and very reasonable wine prices. We'll be back!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was fantastic. With my reservation ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Food was fantastic. With my reservation we walked right in an sat down. The servers are knowledgeable and friendly. The only con is that I wish the food portions were bigger.

I recommend the seasame ginger salmon. It's top notch.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great food, service, and atmosphere. Hav ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great food, service, and atmosphere. Have been here several times and always had a positive/consistent experience. Also used a $20 Open Table gift certificate so that was nice. :)

Tags: Great for Brunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Service can make or break a meal and our ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Service can make or break a meal and our waiter was perfect. He was personable and didn't make any mistakes with all of our special requests (which were many). Urged us to try the sausage appetizer and it was scrumptious. The fruit cup has different - it had a wide variety along with Indian Apple seeds. Go - can't go wrong.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

When is a salad not an ordinary salad?.. ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 21, 2016

When is a salad not an ordinary salad?...when it's a Food Dance salad. Fantastic squash soup as well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our second annual visit to Food Dance. ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Our second annual visit to Food Dance. Really outstanding food, service and venue! Highly recommend!!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Cozy, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Every time we go to Food Dance, we are n ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Every time we go to Food Dance, we are not disappointed. One of our favorites in Kalamazoo. They have great standbys but also awesome new features on the menu each time.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in town for an anniversary celeb ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 13, 2016

We were in town for an anniversary celebration. We let Food Dance know and they ran with it. Excellent service and amazing food and drinks. Thank you!

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Casual, Good for a Date, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in Kalamazoo for only a few days ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 13, 2016

We were in Kalamazoo for only a few days and Food Dance was the dining highlight. I ordered the salmon pate and chicken liver pate which were exceptional. My wife ordered the best beet salad she has ever had. Our main courses of salmon and duck were incredible. Food Dance made our stay in Michigan outstanding.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

We have actually been to Food Dance many ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We have actually been to Food Dance many times. We have always enjoyed their innovative menu and the fact that they use local farmers for their food. their vegetarian options are amazing- we had the goat cheese fondue and had to go back for it a second night. Fabulous!!!! The drinks were very good especially the white Manhatten. The service was great the first time back and so-so the second time. We will definately be back!!!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Tapas, Business Meals, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

loved it. The fondue was fantastic. The ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 9, 2016

loved it. The fondue was fantastic. The only negative is where they sat us. Right next to the wait stand.

We will be back

Tags: Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Had an amazing dinner with girlfriends. ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 12, 2016

Had an amazing dinner with girlfriends. Perfect place! Great food, wine and ambiance. Our server was amazing too!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, People Watching, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Organic, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The chicken pecan summer salad was good ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 10, 2016

The chicken pecan summer salad was good and the crab cakes were notable. We had their 'Fish Feature' which was Sword Fish for dinner and it was not notable, pretty meh.

What I do like about the restaurant is their emphasis on farm to table and their heavy focus on local ingredients and local farms/produce.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Really high quality,creative, tasty food ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 6, 2016

Really high quality,creative, tasty food. Very good service. Bruscetta and pate amazing, a little heavy handed with the salt on burger and veggies. Overall very good and lots of variety. Will return for sure.

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

I appreciate using Open Table to be able ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 3, 2016

I appreciate using Open Table to be able to arrange dinner, often on short notice. they are an excellent restaurant in the area and one of my wife's favorites.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We celebrated our 30th anniversary and e ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 31, 2016

We celebrated our 30th anniversary and enjoyed every aspect of this restaurant. We will definitely return as much as we can. I true treasure in Kalamazoo.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My duck dish was delicious but a pretty ...

vip
 (Key West)·Dined on August 23, 2016

My duck dish was delicious but a pretty small plat

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I have been to food dance many times and ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 14, 2016

I have been to food dance many times and it remains one of my favorite restaurants anywhere however our last visit was less than expected. Halfway through the meal, a large table of nine was seated next to us. It was clear they were a bridal shower party. They proceeded to celebrate so loudly we couldn't hear each other talking across the table from each other. They burst balloons, squealed, cheered and generally behaved as if they were the only diners in the restaurant. I don't hold food dance responsible for their rude behavior however the back rooms, behind the glass doors, were open and available. The table could easily have been moved and they could have celebrated and we could have dined in peace. I'll still go back and I still love the food but it was missed opportunity for a better experience for myself and many other diners that evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value5

We were staying in Kalamazoo on a trip. ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 12, 2016

We were staying in Kalamazoo on a trip. This was the best rated restaurant and on Opentable how could we resist. Overall this was a very good spot. The service was very good. Emily our waitress was helpful. The trout was excellent and whatever the sauce was I could have used more. My wife had the duck which was nicely done. Maybe a bit over cooked from medium rare but very good. My daughter had the mac and cheese with bacon and it was awesome. Possibly the best mac I have had mainly due to the high quality bacon. We had a meat and cheese tray appetizer which was very good. The dessert was solid and for $100 pre tip it was reasonable for the quality.

Overall an enjoyable spot and a good find from Opentable and Trip Advisor. If I am in Kalamazoo again I would go here without a doubt.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were seated promptly and given great ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 12, 2016

We were seated promptly and given great service. The food was fresh, filling, and very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great farm-to-table option in Kalamazoo. ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 2, 2016

Great farm-to-table option in Kalamazoo. The ginger salmon dish was fabulous! Many gluten free options to choose from...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent, very knowledgeable server; gr ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 2, 2016

Excellent, very knowledgeable server; great ambiance; fair prices; high quality food; delicious bread

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My poor service rating is a reflection o ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 31, 2016

My poor service rating is a reflection of our greet not our service at the table. Our server was wonderful.

Our experience started with a tutorial by the hostess on how we had made our reservation incorrectly on OpenTable. Even though I was able to select the time and make the reservation, it had not been made one hour in advance and would not normally be honored. Then we were seated. It was an odd way to be greeted and apparently had no purpose as there was a table available for us. I never recovered from the greeting, which affected my experience. Never felt welcomed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Dining at Food Dance is always a special ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Dining at Food Dance is always a special experience, whether for brunch, lunch or dinner. The waitstaff are friendly, efficient and knowledgeable. Love the food and atmosphere!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed our dinner with friends. Had fix ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 27, 2016

Enjoyed our dinner with friends.

Had fixed prix restaurant week special with wine pairing. We always enjoy eating at Food Dance one of Kalamazoo's great restaurants

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I made a special reservation for Kalamaz ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 25, 2016

I made a special reservation for Kalamazoo Food Week. What a disappointment. There were two appetizers on the special menu, and my friend and I each ordered one so we could try both. The "rice tots with tamarind ketchup" was awful. Dry, bland (no seasoning) balls of rice deep friend. There was approximately 1/2 tsp of the ketchup on the plate. I asked for more, thinking that was the key to the appetizer, but sorely, no. They could not be salvaged. We couldn't even choke them down.

My caesar salad was fine (how can you wreck that?) and my friend said his seasonal salad was good, though he didn't finish much of it.

I ordered the fried green tomatoes for the entree (other choices was pan seared salmon or chicken kabobs. The tomatoes should have been an appetizer. The chicken kabobs were a joke. One ground chicken meatball flattened on a skewer and deep fried, on a bed of so-so couscous.

We have had very nice meals (breakfast, brunch, lunch, dinner and special scheduled events) in the past. On this day the last thing we said was, "We will have to pick a different restaurant for Restaurant Week next year." Such a disappointment. Not sure I will even return. And that is coming from someone who bragged that Food Dance was my all-time favorite restaurant.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Food Dance is one of my favorite restaur ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 18, 2016

Food Dance is one of my favorite restaurants. We attended the other evening for a Birthday dinner. Overall the evening was very enjoyable, but we had several disappointments. The wine special that was listed on the menu wasn't available and the drink we chose, the blueberry shrub was terrible. I wish the sever had told us it tasted like vinegar when we ordered it. The food was very good, but the pork chop had a large amount of fat left on it for flavor. (not good if you have a phobia of fat).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

High quality local food. Smaller portion ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 9, 2016

High quality local food. Smaller portions and a bit pricey.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

The poor service probably colors my over ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 7, 2016

The poor service probably colors my overall opinion. But the food itself was mediocre, at best. I ordered Pad Thai with chicken. I asked that they make it without egg. The waitress heard me clearly - she repeated the order back to me. When it was delivered, the largest ingredient after the noodles was egg. And almost no pieces of chicken! Also, I ordered a club soda with lemon. Often I end up getting the soda with lime - but this time I didn't get it at all. I reminded her twice. But no soda. If was, of course, on the bill!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value3

Food was great! Chicken liver appetizer ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 7, 2016

Food was great! Chicken liver appetizer was outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food Dance is one of our favorite eating ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Food Dance is one of our favorite eating places in KZoo outside of the beer establishments like Bells. We like sitting at the bar. Decor is modern and somewhat understated. We go about once a year, but that is enough to be recognized, which always makes one feel good. Quiet ambiance which permits conversation without shouting.

Cocktails, beer and wine selection are good and well chosen, if not a mammoth selection. They do have a couple of Michigan wines by the glass; but I would like to see more as this would promote the locavore and farm to table ethos.

A reasonable variety of dishes from small plates to substantial entrees. Prices are reasonable. Only slight faux pas this time was the entree being delivered before the salad was finished.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great service and the food was excellent ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great service and the food was excellent. Dinner and dessert was great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A relaxed but upscale decor with very cr ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on June 20, 2016

A relaxed but upscale decor with very creative food, farm to table. We order the roasted garbanzo beans each time we go - light and tasty. Trout was good, but not exceptional. Mac and Cheese was excellent. Unique salad dressing - rhubarb and clove - was very good and a nice new taste combination. Waiter, Reese, was exceptional!! Our small group of friends had a great time gathering at Food Dance.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I'm a train buff and it was great to see ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 11, 2016

I'm a train buff and it was great to see a couple of locomotives roll by just after we were seated immediately upon our arrival. Foodwise, my pork chop was adequate but my companions raved about their entrees. We had prompt, friendly service and were provided information to help us decide between menu options. We had heard about Food Dance and we were happy to finally try it out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

EXCELLENT Birthday Dinner! Love the Far ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 6, 2016

EXCELLENT Birthday Dinner! Love the Farm to Table Concept. VERY FRESH! Will definitely return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.