About Food Dance

401 E.Michigan
Kalamazoo, MI 49007
View Larger Map

We're very serious about food, but atmosphere is casual at Food Dance. We begin by sourcing the freshest ingredients from our family of farms. Starting with Norm's free range eggs in your omelet to J&S farm's fruit we preserve in-house for our cocktails, you will find great full flavored food on our menus. We work to build relationships with the farmers, ranchers, cheese makers and producers of fine food that share our same values.

We look forward to giving you a great experience; celebrating, meeting or just enjoying one of our fabulous cocktails inspired by the seasons. Join us for breakfast, lunch or dinner.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Saturday: 7:00am - 11:00am, Sunday: 8:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Pitcher St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(269) 382-1888

Website:
http://www.fooddance.net/

Catering:
Catering: Delivery or Pick up
We love sharing food. In today’s busy world, we know you don’t always have time to sit down with us and break bread. However, that doesn’t mean we aren’t there for you. Whether you’re planning a business meeting, luncheon, extravaganza or you just can’t bear to turn on the oven–available for delivery, pick up or an onsite party.
Honest-to-goodness, farm-fresh food ready for you whenever you need it

Deliveries-Let us bring it to you–our same farm-fresh goodness delivered to your home, office or secret lair.

Parking Details:
We offer parking directly behind our building in our own lot plus additional parking in a detached south lot with visible signage. There is also some on the street parking available.

Executive Chef:
Julie Stanley, Head Chef Brad McKenzie

Private Party Facilities:
We have 3 beautiful rooms that can be reserved individually or in combination, for 15-110 guests. Choices are almost endless. Whether you imagine a business breakfast or lunch, a festive cocktail party, a sit-down dinner or dessert & coffee bar, we have a menu selection you & your guests will love.

Private Party Contact:
Event Coordinator: 2693821888x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We offer many events throughout the year such as cooking classes, farm to fork dinners, beer & cheese tastings and more. Make reservations for these events @ fooddance.net

Restaurant Photos

The Bed & Breakfast Burger
Cinnamon Apple French Toast Layers
Biscuits & Gravy
The Two Step
Bloody Mary
Ginger-Mint Lemonade
Mediterranean Feta
Caramel Corn Panna Cotta
Zingerman's Bread
Argentinean Steak Sandwich
Food Dance Burger
Dessert Nachos
Food Dance Pad Thai
Roasted Corn Soup With Bacon
Tomato Terrine
Caesar Salad
Jeni's Sweet Potato With Torched Marshmallows Ice Cream
Bruschetta
Artisan Cheese & Cured Meat Plate
Smoothie
Jeni's Goat Cheese With Red Cherries Ice Cream
Crab Cakes
Fresh Peach & Ginger Lemonade
Seared Sea Scallops
Crackers
Chicken Liver Pâté
Grilled Salmon
Applewood Smoked Bacon
Square Dance
House Coppa
Tartar Of Beef
Huevos Supremos
Orange Creamsicle
Focaccia Bread
Boudin Blanc Sausage
Burger Of Brilliance
Creamy Tomato Soup
Raspberry Creme Brulee
duck sausage
B.B.Q. Rock Steady
La Quercia Prosciutto
Smoked Whitefish Rillette
House Made Preserves
Watusi
Butternut Squash Scramble
House-Made Ketchup
Sourdough Toast & Housemade Preserves
Pig In The Garden
Headcheese
Fresh Squeezed Orange Juice
Hooks Cheddar Cheese
The Food Dance Burger
Butternut Squash Apple Soup
Melba Crisp
Crispy Bread
Pork Terrine
Jeni's Splendid Peach Buttermilk Ice Cream
Two Eggs & Meat
Hand-Cut French Fries & House-Made Ketchup
Apricot Tarte Tatin
Smoked Whitefish Scrambles
Salami Scramble
Chocate Cake Dessert Bite
Jeni's Ice Cream
Sesame Ginger Wild Alaska Salmon
Jeni's Salty Caramel Ice Cream
Marcoot Jersey Creamery Creamy Havarti
Bread and Butter
Curried Chickpeas
Cheesecake Dessert Bite
Sundried Tomato Bruschetta
Feta Cheese Dip
Laack Cheddar
Clancy's Fancy Hot Sauce
Bridgeport Red
Pulled Pork Burrito
Candy Canes
White Grapefruit Juice
Ketel One Martini
Shrimp
Mini Cake
Huevo Rancheros
Creme Brulee Baked French Toast
Fried Chickpeas
Beef Tartare
Pan Seared Halibut
Peach Raspberry Crisp
Rocksteady Sandwich
Biscuit Chicken Gravy
Chocolate Layer Cake
Bed And Breakfast Burger
Ribeye (Wood-Fire Grilled)
Olive Oul Raspberry Cake
Pappardelle
Seamless Ravioli
Winter Soup Trio
Winter Vegetable Salad
Julie's French Toast
Maple Salmon Salad
Cranberry Upside Down Cake

Promotions

Tuesdays with a Twist: $7 cocktails from our list!

Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Michigan Made: 20% off beer, wine, spirits MI made

Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Draft Beer Night: featuring MI craft beer $3-$5

Mondays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

40% Off Select Wines

Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $25.00

Saturdays, Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays and Fridays from 4:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Promotions

Tuesdays with a Twist: $7 cocktails from our list!

Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details
Michigan Made: 20% off beer, wine, spirits MI made

Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details
Draft Beer Night: featuring MI craft beer $3-$5

Mondays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details
40% Off Select Wines

Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details
Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $25.00

Saturdays, Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays and Fridays from 4:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

Food Dance Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Best Food
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Best Service
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
4 More
Best Ambiance
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Fit for Foodies
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
American
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Most Booked
Kalamazoo
Best Restaurants in Kalamazoo ›

fit for foodies (60)
good for groups (44)
special occasion (40)
See All
great for lunch (26)
neighborhood gem (25)
great for brunch (21)
romantic (16)
notable wine list (15)
hot spot (14)
kid-friendly (8)
vibrant bar scene (6)
late-night find (4)
great for outdoor dining (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
559 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food Dance is one of my favorite restaur ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Food Dance is one of my favorite restaurants. We attended the other evening for a Birthday dinner. Overall the evening was very enjoyable, but we had several disappointments. The wine special that was listed on the menu wasn't available and the drink we chose, the blueberry shrub was terrible. I wish the sever had told us it tasted like vinegar when we ordered it. The food was very good, but the pork chop had a large amount of fat left on it for flavor. (not good if you have a phobia of fat).

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

High quality local food. Smaller portion ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

High quality local food. Smaller portions and a bit pricey.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

The poor service probably colors my over ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The poor service probably colors my overall opinion. But the food itself was mediocre, at best. I ordered Pad Thai with chicken. I asked that they make it without egg. The waitress heard me clearly - she repeated the order back to me. When it was delivered, the largest ingredient after the noodles was egg. And almost no pieces of chicken! Also, I ordered a club soda with lemon. Often I end up getting the soda with lime - but this time I didn't get it at all. I reminded her twice. But no soda. If was, of course, on the bill!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value3

Food was great! Chicken liver appetizer ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Food was great! Chicken liver appetizer was outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food Dance is one of our favorite eating ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Food Dance is one of our favorite eating places in KZoo outside of the beer establishments like Bells. We like sitting at the bar. Decor is modern and somewhat understated. We go about once a year, but that is enough to be recognized, which always makes one feel good. Quiet ambiance which permits conversation without shouting.

Cocktails, beer and wine selection are good and well chosen, if not a mammoth selection. They do have a couple of Michigan wines by the glass; but I would like to see more as this would promote the locavore and farm to table ethos.

A reasonable variety of dishes from small plates to substantial entrees. Prices are reasonable. Only slight faux pas this time was the entree being delivered before the salad was finished.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great service and the food was excellent ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great service and the food was excellent. Dinner and dessert was great!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A relaxed but upscale decor with very cr ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

A relaxed but upscale decor with very creative food, farm to table. We order the roasted garbanzo beans each time we go - light and tasty. Trout was good, but not exceptional. Mac and Cheese was excellent. Unique salad dressing - rhubarb and clove - was very good and a nice new taste combination. Waiter, Reese, was exceptional!! Our small group of friends had a great time gathering at Food Dance.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I'm a train buff and it was great to see ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

I'm a train buff and it was great to see a couple of locomotives roll by just after we were seated immediately upon our arrival. Foodwise, my pork chop was adequate but my companions raved about their entrees. We had prompt, friendly service and were provided information to help us decide between menu options. We had heard about Food Dance and we were happy to finally try it out.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

EXCELLENT Birthday Dinner! Love the Far ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

EXCELLENT Birthday Dinner! Love the Farm to Table Concept. VERY FRESH! Will definitely return!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Try it, you'll like it!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Accepts reservations, review the menu carefully, order carefully and you'll be delighted.

Don't miss dessert!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Good not great food.....very high prices ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Good not great food.....very high prices......great service....................

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

great food every time. great service e ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

great food every time. great service every time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner with Friends

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Great food, great drinks, great service...great time! Casual enough to be relaxed, but a great menu and knowledgeable staff...Thanks!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food Dance is our favorite restaurant in ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Food Dance is our favorite restaurant in Kalamazoo. We were delighted to host friends from Chicago on Saturday -- they loved it as much as we do! Our server was spectacular! She was very efficient but also funny and charming. We had a great time, and the food was wonderful -- no food was left at the end! We had a great time!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Dining Experience

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

First time in Kalamazoo and was delighted by the city, the marathon, craft breweries and Food Dance. Our server was excellent, wish I could remember her name:( Enjoyed her Bell's Beer and red wine recommendations. Food was excellent. I ordered the square dance salad with salmon and my husband ordered the pasta special. All was delicious! I would highly recommend this dining experience to everyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated Mothers' Day the evening before.

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We gathered children and their spouses, foodies among them, for a pre-Mothers' Day evening out. The food, service and overall experience were outstanding. Everyone loved Food Dance!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

My husband and I have eaten here many times and always had a great experience. This time we took our 13 yr old to enjoy dinner before our movie and as always the food and service was great! Will recommend and return!!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food Dance

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

It was a great lunch for my staff for a belated Administrative Professionals Day!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were great! We abs ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

The food and service were great! We absolutely loved the menue choices.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Graduation Weekend

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Food dance is so popular there is always a bit of a wait. My mother loves this restaurant and I knew that when I graduated, she'd want to eat there. I made a reservation for 8pm the Friday before WMU's graduation and the table was ready right at 8pm! This is the first time I made a reservation and everything went so smoothly, I'd definitely do it again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, terrific service!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Celebrated my daughter' college graduation! Food was great, table service was terrific!! Would highly recommend! Their confirmation process prior to our dining date was very professional too. They really know how to run a restaurant. Great experience overall!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Masterful dishes and excellent service

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Every dish was like another song! Flavors were balanced in harmony. Creative takes on traditional ingredients, which were all of the highest quality, made the dining experience a memorable one. We'll be back the next time we're in town! We can't try everything in one night.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for appetizers, salads and drinks

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

We celebrated a birthday, and as usual, ordered appetizers and drinks first, which were all great. The salad came at an appropriate time after the appetizers, and those too were excellent. It was when the entrees were served that we were disappointed. Two out of five of us did not care for them - with one, the steak was tough and chewy and flavorless and with the other, the duck was also flavorless. With the third, the pork chop was good but not as moist as it could have been. If it didn't have the sweet potato hash to mix it with, then it would have been labeled dry. The other two meals were fine. For as much money as we spent, we would have expected better. The entrees don't seem to change much, which is disappointing as well. Next time we visit, we agreed we will order all appetizers, salads and drinks only.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Dinner at Food Dance

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 4, 2016

Excellent meal, excellent service, inviting ambience. Food Dance is worth a special trip just for the experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, as always!

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on April 4, 2016

Excellent food, as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Birthday dinner

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on March 22, 2016

Had my husband's birthday dinner here with our two sons. Great appetizers, food was delicious. We had excellent service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A little lower than normal

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

This visit to Food Dance was disappointing. I've had fabulous meals there before, not this time. The fried were soggy. The broccoli soup was gross.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Great experience

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Online reservations went perfect, table ready when walking through door. Friendly, fast service, food was portioned perfectly and excellent quality.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food Dance - great atmosphere and tremendous food

vip
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Went to food dance and had the Duck Thai. It had awesome flavor with just the right amount of heat from the Thai sauce. The duck was cooked perfect nice and tender. My wife had a squash risotto special and was thrilled. This place has become a favorite for dinner as well as weekend breakfast.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

28th anniversary celebration

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Several people recommended this delicious restaurant, we are so glad we dined there.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food Dance An Experience

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

Once again, Food Dance does not disappoint. Great for parents wanting to take their Western Michigan University or Kalamazoo College students AND THEIR ROOMMATES out for a great meal. Diverse menu sure to please everyone.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and attentive staff.

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Great adventurous food and attentive staff make this an awesome place to go for a special occasion.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always fresh and local-a favorite!

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Food Dance never disappoints. What Chef Brad can come up with for the seasonal menus are absolutely amazing, and they pair so well with the menu staples that have made Food Dance a favorite in Kalamazoo. The wine and cocktail list are stellar for such a small town, and the food is one of the best in West Michigan. Hats off to the great service, wonderful timing, and quality and locally-sourced ingredients. It all really shines through for a dinner experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

steak overdone

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

The steak special was advertised as being cooked "medium-rare", not as a "suggestion" but thats the way it was advertised. The waitress asked if medium-rare was good. I told her, perfect.

It is very hard to cook a steak as thin as that mid rare. It was medium-well. It did have good flavor and was fatty enough to be moist. Perhaps dont cut the steaks so thin. I realize you are not a steak house, but when you pay over 30 dollars for a steak, a half of a potato and some carrots you might expect a decently cut steak.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Mac and Cheese

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

The mac and cheese was great but the chicken wasn't cooked well to be worth $5. I felt like it was microwaved and chopped into my mac and cheese. I would recommend grilling it to make it worth the money.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Girls night out

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

I was underwhelmed by the quality after reading the reviews. The entrees were very overpriced. We shared the crab cakes which were small and lacked flavor and then also shared the pad thai. The Pad Thai was $20! It was actually below average and had about 3 pieces of chicken. Overall the service and location was above average but the food and prices missed the mark.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Great Place to eat - never disappointed

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 2, 2016

Excellent Service and Food - Atmosphere is always great as is the Service.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

date night special

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

Very nice area, quick service. The on-line reservation was so easy and we walked right in, excellent with no delays or waiting. We were returning customers, so one dish was very good as expected, the other meal was not as expected and guest was not happy with the meal. Service was fast and friendly. Cost was within range for type of restaurant and meals.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Food Dance

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

Had a great meal with the 3 for 25.00, however I found out after I ordered my wine, that

I could have gone with a recommended wine for a little savings after looking at the menu.

everything was pretty good, I had the sausage, then a salad and then the roast beef. All

we good, nothing out of this world, but I did like the smaller portions.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The good and the bad

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

As always, Food Dance provided a good meal for Restaurant Week. My wife and I enjoyed the flavorful salmon dish. However, we had to send the dessert back as it was flavorless and tasted old. Our waitress was excellent and attended to our every need.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.