About Food Dance

401 E.Michigan
Kalamazoo, MI 49007
View Larger Map

We're very serious about food, but atmosphere is casual at Food Dance. We begin by sourcing the freshest ingredients from our family of farms. Starting with Norm's free range eggs in your omelet to J&S farm's fruit we preserve in-house for our cocktails, you will find great full flavored food on our menus. We work to build relationships with the farmers, ranchers, cheese makers and producers of fine food that share our same values.

We look forward to giving you a great experience; celebrating, meeting or just enjoying one of our fabulous cocktails inspired by the seasons. Join us for breakfast, lunch or dinner.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Saturday: 7:00am - 11:00am, Sunday: 8:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Pitcher St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(269) 382-1888

Website:
http://www.fooddance.net/

Catering:
Catering: Delivery or Pick up
We love sharing food. In today’s busy world, we know you don’t always have time to sit down with us and break bread. However, that doesn’t mean we aren’t there for you. Whether you’re planning a business meeting, luncheon, extravaganza or you just can’t bear to turn on the oven–available for delivery, pick up or an onsite party.
Honest-to-goodness, farm-fresh food ready for you whenever you need it

Deliveries-Let us bring it to you–our same farm-fresh goodness delivered to your home, office or secret lair.

Parking Details:
We offer parking directly behind our building in our own lot plus additional parking in a detached south lot with visible signage. There is also some on the street parking available.

Executive Chef:
Julie Stanley, Head Chef Brad McKenzie

Private Party Facilities:
We have 3 beautiful rooms that can be reserved individually or in combination, for 15-110 guests. Choices are almost endless. Whether you imagine a business breakfast or lunch, a festive cocktail party, a sit-down dinner or dessert & coffee bar, we have a menu selection you & your guests will love.

Private Party Contact:
Event Coordinator: 2693821888x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We offer many events throughout the year such as cooking classes, farm to fork dinners, beer & cheese tastings and more. Make reservations for these events @ fooddance.net

Restaurant Photos

The Bed & Breakfast Burger
Cinnamon Apple French Toast Layers
Biscuits & Gravy
The Two Step
Chicken Liver Pâté
Caesar Salad
Burger Of Brilliance
Hooks Cheddar Cheese
Boudin Blanc Sausage
Bloody Mary
Smoked Whitefish Rillette
Mini Cake
Ginger-Mint Lemonade
Mediterranean Feta
Caramel Corn Panna Cotta
Zingerman's Bread
Argentinean Steak Sandwich
Food Dance Burger
Dessert Nachos
Food Dance Pad Thai
Roasted Corn Soup With Bacon
Tomato Terrine
Jeni's Sweet Potato With Torched Marshmallows Ice Cream
Bruschetta
Artisan Cheese & Cured Meat Plate
Smoothie
Jeni's Goat Cheese With Red Cherries Ice Cream
Crab Cakes
Fresh Peach & Ginger Lemonade
Seared Sea Scallops
Crackers
Grilled Salmon
Applewood Smoked Bacon
Square Dance
House Coppa
Tartar Of Beef
Huevos Supremos
Orange Creamsicle
Focaccia Bread
Creamy Tomato Soup
Raspberry Creme Brulee
duck sausage
B.B.Q. Rock Steady
La Quercia Prosciutto
House Made Preserves
Watusi
Butternut Squash Scramble
House-Made Ketchup
Sourdough Toast & Housemade Preserves
Pig In The Garden
Headcheese
Fresh Squeezed Orange Juice
The Food Dance Burger
Butternut Squash Apple Soup
Melba Crisp
Crispy Bread
Pork Terrine
Jeni's Splendid Peach Buttermilk Ice Cream
Two Eggs & Meat
Hand-Cut French Fries & House-Made Ketchup
Apricot Tarte Tatin
Smoked Whitefish Scrambles
Salami Scramble
Chocate Cake Dessert Bite
Jeni's Ice Cream
Sesame Ginger Wild Alaska Salmon
Jeni's Salty Caramel Ice Cream
Marcoot Jersey Creamery Creamy Havarti
Bread and Butter
Curried Chickpeas
Cheesecake Dessert Bite
Sundried Tomato Bruschetta
Feta Cheese Dip
Laack Cheddar
Clancy's Fancy Hot Sauce
Bridgeport Red
Pulled Pork Burrito
Candy Canes
White Grapefruit Juice
Ketel One Martini
Shrimp
Huevo Rancheros
Creme Brulee Baked French Toast
Fried Chickpeas
Beef Tartare
Pan Seared Halibut
Peach Raspberry Crisp
Rocksteady Sandwich
Biscuit Chicken Gravy
Chocolate Layer Cake
Bed And Breakfast Burger
Ribeye (Wood-Fire Grilled)
Olive Oul Raspberry Cake
Pappardelle
Seamless Ravioli
Winter Soup Trio
Winter Vegetable Salad
Julie's French Toast
Maple Salmon Salad
Cranberry Upside Down Cake

Promotions

Tuesdays with a Twist: $7 cocktails from our list!

Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Michigan Made: 20% off beer, wine, spirits MI made

Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Draft Beer Night: featuring MI craft beer $3-$5

Mondays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

40% Off Select Wines

Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Promotions

Tuesdays with a Twist: $7 cocktails from our list!

Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details
Indulge in hand crafted cocktails by our "liquid chefs" using fresh, local, seasonal ingredients & interesting spirits. We barrel age & infuse spirits w everything from fruits, nuts, herbs, roots & vegetables to smoke, tea & various botanicals. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid May 21, 2016 - Sep 21, 2016 on Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM.
Michigan Made: 20% off beer, wine, spirits MI made

Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details
Closer. Fresher. Better. We strive to serve the most incredibly freshest and most flavorful ingredients in all we do. Local ingredients provide that & allow us to know where our food/drink come from. Imbibe while supporting our local community. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid May 21, 2016 - Sep 21, 2016 on Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM.
Draft Beer Night: featuring MI craft beer $3-$5

Mondays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details
We serve regional craft drafts in support of our mission to know where our food & drink come from. This isn't a selfless endeavor, we also feel that regional craft breweries offer wonderful beers, of all varieties. So roll out the local barrel. Excludes Tax and Tip. Draft Beer only. Special valid May 21, 2016 - Sep 21, 2016 on Mondays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM.
40% Off Select Wines

Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details
40% Off Select Wines. Excludes Tax and Tip. Bottles under $50. Special valid May 21, 2016 - Sep 21, 2016 on Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Food Dance Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Best Food
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Best Service
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
5 More
Best Ambiance
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Fit for Foodies
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Great for Lunch
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
American
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Most Booked
Kalamazoo
Best Restaurants in Kalamazoo ›

fit for foodies (61)
good for groups (48)
special occasion (41)
See All
great for lunch (28)
neighborhood gem (23)
great for brunch (23)
romantic (15)
hot spot (15)
notable wine list (13)
kid-friendly (10)
vibrant bar scene (6)
late-night find (5)
great for outdoor dining (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
553 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A relaxed but upscale decor with very cr ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

A relaxed but upscale decor with very creative food, farm to table. We order the roasted garbanzo beans each time we go - light and tasty. Trout was good, but not exceptional. Mac and Cheese was excellent. Unique salad dressing - rhubarb and clove - was very good and a nice new taste combination. Waiter, Reese, was exceptional!! Our small group of friends had a great time gathering at Food Dance.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I'm a train buff and it was great to see ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

I'm a train buff and it was great to see a couple of locomotives roll by just after we were seated immediately upon our arrival. Foodwise, my pork chop was adequate but my companions raved about their entrees. We had prompt, friendly service and were provided information to help us decide between menu options. We had heard about Food Dance and we were happy to finally try it out.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

EXCELLENT Birthday Dinner! Love the Far ...

Dined on June 6, 2016

EXCELLENT Birthday Dinner! Love the Farm to Table Concept. VERY FRESH! Will definitely return!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Try it, you'll like it!

Dined on June 4, 2016

Accepts reservations, review the menu carefully, order carefully and you'll be delighted. Don't miss dessert!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Good not great food.....very high prices ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Good not great food.....very high prices......great service....................

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

great food every time. great service e ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

great food every time. great service every time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner with Friends

Dined on May 14, 2016

Great food, great drinks, great service...great time! Casual enough to be relaxed, but a great menu and knowledgeable staff...Thanks!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food Dance is our favorite restaurant in ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Food Dance is our favorite restaurant in Kalamazoo. We were delighted to host friends from Chicago on Saturday -- they loved it as much as we do! Our server was spectacular! She was very efficient but also funny and charming. We had a great time, and the food was wonderful -- no food was left at the end! We had a great time!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Dining Experience

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

First time in Kalamazoo and was delighted by the city, the marathon, craft breweries and Food Dance. Our server was excellent, wish I could remember her name:( Enjoyed her Bell's Beer and red wine recommendations. Food was excellent. I ordered the square dance salad with salmon and my husband ordered the pasta special. All was delicious! I would highly recommend this dining experience to everyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated Mothers' Day the evening before.

Dined on May 7, 2016

We gathered children and their spouses, foodies among them, for a pre-Mothers' Day evening out. The food, service and overall experience were outstanding. Everyone loved Food Dance!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great

Dined on May 5, 2016

My husband and I have eaten here many times and always had a great experience. This time we took our 13 yr old to enjoy dinner before our movie and as always the food and service was great! Will recommend and return!!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food Dance

Dined on May 2, 2016

It was a great lunch for my staff for a belated Administrative Professionals Day!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and service were great! We abs ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

The food and service were great! We absolutely loved the menue choices.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Graduation Weekend

Dined on April 30, 2016

Food dance is so popular there is always a bit of a wait. My mother loves this restaurant and I knew that when I graduated, she'd want to eat there. I made a reservation for 8pm the Friday before WMU's graduation and the table was ready right at 8pm! This is the first time I made a reservation and everything went so smoothly, I'd definitely do it again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, terrific service!

Dined on April 29, 2016

Celebrated my daughter' college graduation! Food was great, table service was terrific!! Would highly recommend! Their confirmation process prior to our dining date was very professional too. They really know how to run a restaurant. Great experience overall!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Masterful dishes and excellent service

Dined on April 15, 2016

Every dish was like another song! Flavors were balanced in harmony. Creative takes on traditional ingredients, which were all of the highest quality, made the dining experience a memorable one. We'll be back the next time we're in town! We can't try everything in one night.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Great place for appetizers, salads and drinks

Dined on April 9, 2016

We celebrated a birthday, and as usual, ordered appetizers and drinks first, which were all great. The salad came at an appropriate time after the appetizers, and those too were excellent. It was when the entrees were served that we were disappointed. Two out of five of us did not care for them - with one, the steak was tough and chewy and flavorless and with the other, the duck was also flavorless. With the third, the pork chop was good but not as moist as it could have been. If it didn't have the sweet potato hash to mix it with, then it would have been labeled dry. The other two meals were fine. For as much money as we spent, we would have expected better. The entrees don't seem to change much, which is disappointing as well. Next time we visit, we agreed we will order all appetizers, salads and drinks only.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner at Food Dance

Dined on April 4, 2016

Excellent meal, excellent service, inviting ambience. Food Dance is worth a special trip just for the experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, as always!

Dined on April 4, 2016

Excellent food, as always!

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Birthday dinner

Dined on March 22, 2016

Had my husband's birthday dinner here with our two sons. Great appetizers, food was delicious. We had excellent service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

A little lower than normal

Dined on March 19, 2016

This visit to Food Dance was disappointing. I've had fabulous meals there before, not this time. The fried were soggy. The broccoli soup was gross.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience

Dined on February 27, 2016

Online reservations went perfect, table ready when walking through door. Friendly, fast service, food was portioned perfectly and excellent quality.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food Dance - great atmosphere and tremendous food

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

Went to food dance and had the Duck Thai. It had awesome flavor with just the right amount of heat from the Thai sauce. The duck was cooked perfect nice and tender. My wife had a squash risotto special and was thrilled. This place has become a favorite for dinner as well as weekend breakfast.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

28th anniversary celebration

Dined on February 20, 2016

Several people recommended this delicious restaurant, we are so glad we dined there.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food Dance An Experience

Dined on February 19, 2016

Once again, Food Dance does not disappoint. Great for parents wanting to take their Western Michigan University or Kalamazoo College students AND THEIR ROOMMATES out for a great meal. Diverse menu sure to please everyone.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and attentive staff.

Dined on February 14, 2016

Great adventurous food and attentive staff make this an awesome place to go for a special occasion.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Always fresh and local-a favorite!

Dined on February 13, 2016

Food Dance never disappoints. What Chef Brad can come up with for the seasonal menus are absolutely amazing, and they pair so well with the menu staples that have made Food Dance a favorite in Kalamazoo. The wine and cocktail list are stellar for such a small town, and the food is one of the best in West Michigan. Hats off to the great service, wonderful timing, and quality and locally-sourced ingredients. It all really shines through for a dinner experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

steak overdone

Dined on February 13, 2016

The steak special was advertised as being cooked "medium-rare", not as a "suggestion" but thats the way it was advertised. The waitress asked if medium-rare was good. I told her, perfect. It is very hard to cook a steak as thin as that mid rare. It was medium-well. It did have good flavor and was fatty enough to be moist. Perhaps dont cut the steaks so thin. I realize you are not a steak house, but when you pay over 30 dollars for a steak, a half of a potato and some carrots you might expect a decently cut steak.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Mac and Cheese

Dined on February 12, 2016

The mac and cheese was great but the chicken wasn't cooked well to be worth $5. I felt like it was microwaved and chopped into my mac and cheese. I would recommend grilling it to make it worth the money.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Girls night out

Dined on February 6, 2016

I was underwhelmed by the quality after reading the reviews. The entrees were very overpriced. We shared the crab cakes which were small and lacked flavor and then also shared the pad thai. The Pad Thai was $20! It was actually below average and had about 3 pieces of chicken. Overall the service and location was above average but the food and prices missed the mark.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Place to eat - never disappointed

Dined on February 2, 2016

Excellent Service and Food - Atmosphere is always great as is the Service.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

date night special

Dined on January 30, 2016

Very nice area, quick service. The on-line reservation was so easy and we walked right in, excellent with no delays or waiting. We were returning customers, so one dish was very good as expected, the other meal was not as expected and guest was not happy with the meal. Service was fast and friendly. Cost was within range for type of restaurant and meals.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food Dance

Dined on January 30, 2016

Had a great meal with the 3 for 25.00, however I found out after I ordered my wine, that I could have gone with a recommended wine for a little savings after looking at the menu. everything was pretty good, I had the sausage, then a salad and then the roast beef. All we good, nothing out of this world, but I did like the smaller portions.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

The good and the bad

Dined on January 23, 2016

As always, Food Dance provided a good meal for Restaurant Week. My wife and I enjoyed the flavorful salmon dish. However, we had to send the dessert back as it was flavorless and tasted old. Our waitress was excellent and attended to our every need.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Nicely prepared quality food!

Dined on January 23, 2016

Good special occasion restaurant. Took my daughter for dinner and she really enjoyed it. Some interesting dishes! The vegetarian dish was very good but would be nice to have more entree selections. Great service!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great evening.

Dined on January 14, 2016

Dined at Food Dance on a Thursday evening. Great selection of beer, wine and alcohol. Good service and excellent food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food Dance -- always great!

Dined on January 9, 2016

Food Dance is our favorite restaurant in Kalamazoo. Their food is consistently tasty and healthy -- with regular fun surprises. Service is always helpful and responsive. We love going there!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food1
ambience5
service4
value3

Nice Restaurant, Poor Dish

Dined on January 2, 2016

I've eaten at Food Dance before and have greatly enjoyed it. The drinks are great and the service is good. The last time, though, my meal was just terrible. Don't order the Grilled Butternut Squash. The squash itself was hard, not cooked very much, the lentils were all right, but the mushrooms were mealy and had a very unpleasant taste that extended onto the arugula beneath them, which I then couldn't eat either. I still very much like Food Dance and would both recommend it and would eat there again, but that particular dish was terrible

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

New Year's Flop

Dined on January 1, 2016

We were very disappointed. Bad service, bad food, and seated literally right on a wall. I was glad to be right handed. Overall a terrible visit and I left hungry after $65 per person tab.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great New Years Eve menu

vip
Dined on January 1, 2016

The fixed price menu was just tremendous on New Years Eve. The service was excellent and the food was awesome. We had a great time and already looking forward to next year.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.