About Food 101

4969 Roswell Rd
Atlanta, GA 30342
View Larger Map

Serving hearty food with rural roots & an urban polish, Food 101 caters to those seeking a dining experience reminiscent of days gone by. Created by talented chef Justin Keith, the menu features proven classics with an inventive twist. This neighborhood Atlanta eatery exudes comfort not only through its food, but also through its relaxed atmosphere.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm- 10:00pm; Dinner: Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 3:00p

Cross Street:
Belle Isle Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 497-9700

Website:
http://food101atl.com/

Catering:
Food 101 offers pick up and delivery catering service.
Also, Food 101 menu could deliver to you by using mobilewaiter.com

Executive Chef:
Justin Keith

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Food 101 is available for private events.

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:30PM - 5:45PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Fri 11:30AM - 11:45AM 5:30PM - 5:45PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Sat 5:30PM - 5:45PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Food 101 has a wonderful Private Dining Room available for all needs. No matter what size or what occasion, the staff here at Food 101 is here to make sure every detail exceeds your expectation – from the menu to the memories. Our private room can accommodate up to approximately 40 people. br

Food 101 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Atlanta / Georgia
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Atlanta
Best Restaurants in Sandy Springs ›

neighborhood gem (56)
fit for foodies (52)
good for groups (42)
See All
great for lunch (36)
special occasion (34)
great for brunch (32)
romantic (21)
great for outdoor dining (18)
kid-friendly (17)
notable wine list (16)
vibrant bar scene (15)
hot spot (15)
scenic view (2)
late-night find (2)
 (2)
 (2)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1122 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were the first to be seated, as they ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

We were the first to be seated, as they don't open until 5:30. They were very courteous and accommodating. The appetizer of rock shrimp au gratin was delicious. I had the duck with a confit rice dish... delicious. We would definitely go again.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Great time for Brunch

Dined on May 22, 2016

A friend and i went for brunch and bottomless mimosas. They definitely lived up to the name. the food was very southern but very good. Easily go again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversery Dinner

Dined on May 15, 2016

We were impressed with the changes! The staff was very friendly and informative.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Eclectic Menu

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

I love how Food 101 has great fried chicken, but also some healthier options as well. They offer 15% off for Life Time members which I love! I highly recommend Food 101 for all types of occasions whether it be business or a birthday dinner - there is always something for everyone.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

The short ribs were dry the grits and gr ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

The short ribs were dry the grits and greens made the mealmeal. Our waiter was first class! Overall we had an enjoyable evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great menu selection

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

We had an awesome kiwi cocktail that was out of this world! Would go back just for that but the variation on the menu was a plus, too!

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4

Southern Comfort food with a twist! Enjo ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Southern Comfort food with a twist! Enjoyed the patio seating as well.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brunch Must!

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Took my Mother for Mother's Day Brunch and it was amazing! Great Food, Great Ambiance, Great Time!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Terrible Service - Average Food - Will Not Go Back

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Mother's Day Brunch - granted it is a very busy day for restaurants but we were greated with "the food will take a lot longer than normal because we are so busy." Uh...then staff up for all the reservations you had. The statement was correct. We waited forever for what was average food at best...and it was expensive. Not sure why eggs, potatoes and toast take 40 minutes but I guess they do. No apologies, sporadic service and when the Manager (or Owner...not sure) came by and we told him how slow everything was, his comment was..."I know...busy day." This is our third visit to Food 101 and will be our last as all three times it was over priced mediocrity.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

seasonal,mbeen excellent.

Dined on May 8, 2016

I have dined here many times and have always had great seasonal, farm to table food and excellent service. I talked my son and his girlfriend into taking me for Mother's Day brunch and they loved it too.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Restaurant worth checking out in Sandy Springs

Dined on May 7, 2016

Went to dinner there on a Friday night to celebrate anniversary. It wasn't very crowded. I read earlier reviews about the service; I did not feel that way - the hostess (took a snap of us), another 2 waitresses came by to chat it up/socialize, and our assigned waitress helped us on the menu and checked in on us regularly. The Fried Green Tomatoes, Avocado Toast, and Rock Shrimp Au Gratin were awesome. The Georges Bank Scallops were well cooked and fresh, but the dish could have used some pop (maybe Paprika?).

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyable Brunch

Dined on May 1, 2016

Great food, excellent service. Will definitely go back. Nice variety on the menu with something for everyone in our party.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Always good

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Wife got a perfectly cooked steak and chef prepared veggies per her dietary guidelines. I went off reservation and got seasonal pulled pork enchilada. AWESOME. Comfy seats to enjoy as well! Chef always has a great menu and we love it for weekend brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Fish tacos were excellent!

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

Fish tacos were excellent!

food1
ambience1
service3
value1

TERRIBLE...Will not return

Dined on April 23, 2016

Just not a good restaurant. Poor service, ambience, food and management.

food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Plain Lousy

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

The first clue should have been that the restaurant was half empty on a Saturday night. I made a reservation on OpenTable and added in the comments that my family was celebrating my fathers birthday. There was no mention of that or any special touches that other restaurants have provided before. We had to wait for kids menus to be printed. Our dinner didn't arrive for an hour and a half after we sat down. Our server was so unprofessional and so morose that it was just uncomfortable. My trout was lukewarm and salty. I travel every week around the country for work, so I understand the level that restaurants have to meet in order to stay competitive. Unfortunately, this restaurant needs some real changes if it intends to be in business a year from now.

food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Food was very good and brunch menu was v ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Food was very good and brunch menu was varied and had something for everyone. Service was slow as I believe our waiter had too many tables to keep up with.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent kale salad with fried shrimp.

vip
Dined on March 31, 2016

Excellent kale salad with fried shrimp.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Again

Dined on March 30, 2016

Came here a few weeks ago for my birthday, and came back for a smaller dinner with some of my husband's employees. Food 101 did an amazing job again! We had the same server from last time and she was very attentive and gave great drink and food recommendations. Love this place!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great resstaurant

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

The choices at Food 101 are great and everything is delicious.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

stay away

Dined on March 27, 2016

Waitress had a personality of a wet mop, food was ok, we were never asked if we would like dessert just handed the check. Bad first impression. Here's a tip: Hire some waitresses with a better attitude!

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Nice Experience

Dined on March 27, 2016

We went to Food 101 for a birthday brunch that happened to fall on Easter Sunday. The service was decent, and the food was good, but not great. My favorite items on the menu was the fresh biscuits and mimosas. The juice paired with the champagne was fresh and light. On Sunday afternoons - or at least for Easter - it's definitely a family friendly place.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service4

Great food and atmosphere.

Dined on March 26, 2016

Great food and atmosphere.

food5
ambience5
service5

Very interesting menu! Everything we ord ...

vip
Dined on March 25, 2016

Very interesting menu! Everything we ordered was delicious. The ahi tuna appetizer was BOMB!!! The springer mountain farms fried chicken was absolutely delicious. The strip steak was flavored perfect and cooked spot on! Our server was really sweet! Very romantic atmosphere.

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Special occasion

Dined on March 22, 2016

We went to Food 101 for a birthday and we enjoyed good service and good food. I had swordfish which could have been a little more moist but very good; it was a little more spicy than I like but still very good. The goat cheese and fig appetizer was excellent. This is a southern food restaurant (which I didn't realize before) but southern food with a high degree of sophistication. The cocktails were very creative too!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great local find

vip
Dined on March 22, 2016

The space is adorable! The menu is southern inspired with a lots of cool twist.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was amazing !!!!! The pimento c ...

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

The food was amazing !!!!! The pimento cheese and pretzel bread was the best I've ever eaten. I had the Pumpkin ravioli and they are sooooo 😍😍😍 good. I was impressed with the food. The waitress was attentive and the restaurant was beautiful. I will definitely be back.

food1
ambience3
service5

I was actually surprised at how bad the ...

Dined on March 17, 2016

I was actually surprised at how bad the food was. We ordered an array of appetizers: cheese board, sliders, Brussel sprouts, and figs. The cheese board included cold hard cranberry bread which was so so disappointing. If you aren't going to bother warming the bread, I would suggest serving it with crackers. Brussel spouts had no taste, and the "garlic aioli" tasted like a jar of cheap mayonnaise that I could buy at Kroger. The figs came with some fried cheese balls which were good, but there weren't enough figs or they weren't big enough or something. I don't know what was missing, but the palette balance was off. The sliders were good, no complaints. But the only thing that was a real winner was the bleu goat cheese on the cheese board. I won't be going back to Food 101.

food2
ambience3
service1
value3

Not what I had hoped

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

We had lunch on a Sunday. The appetizer came quick, but there was a long lag before we got our small BBQ sandwich. The bun was burned and the pork was chewy. We saw another table get their food quickly but the buns were different. Overall it was not the worst food experience, but it is doubtful we will return.

food2
ambience5
service1

My first trip to Food 101 left me thinki ...

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

My first trip to Food 101 left me thinking they should retake the 101 class. Drinks were delivered promptly but we had to ask that our appetizer be brought out. Another table had been seated 10 minutes after us, got their apps and finished before ours even came out. Entrees were delivered after another 40 minutes of waiting and the poached eggs were over cooked and hard. Our meal was comped but wasn't what we wanted to happen. I hope this was just a perfect storm situation, but doubt I will give them another chance. The server did, however, get a $20 tip.

food5
ambience5
service5

Always enjoy eating here and it's becomi ...

vip
Dined on March 11, 2016

Always enjoy eating here and it's becoming a go-to. Don't pass up the roasted brussel sprouts or fried chicken!

food5
ambience5
service5

First time at Food 101 to celebrate my b ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

First time at Food 101 to celebrate my birthday with friends for brunch. The overall experience was great... Food was delicious and it made the laughs even better. Looking for a small gathering or a outing .. Great option for brunch- I will be back!!!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Conistently very good, year after year

Dined on March 6, 2016

We have gone to Food 101 since it opened and it has done a great job evolving its menu over the years while providing a consistent high level of quality and innovation. I have never had a bad meal at Food 101 more than a decade of eating there. Our compliments to the owners, chef and waitstaff who always make our visit enjoyable.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Southern Food with Flare

Dined on February 28, 2016

I ate at Food 101 based on a recommendation from a coworker - it did not disappoint! It was Sunday afternoon - there was live music and an impressive brunch menu. The food was full of flavor. It was all the southern options you crave with the finesse of an artful chef.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service3

Wish the Benedict would have been prepar ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

Wish the Benedict would have been prepared better. Eggs were hard

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always enjoy going here!

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

Great place to eat - convenient for meeting folks who live north of the perimeter! good food, attentive service, and a great selection for those who are gluten free, or on the Paleo protocol.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Birthday!

Dined on February 20, 2016

I've been here for lunch, but decided to try it for dinner with a larger group of friends for my birthday. The staff was very nice and the food was amazing! Since our party was large, we were sat in the back private room, which was really great because it was quiet and I could hear all my friends talking. The waitress was super friendly and very professional. The manager stopped by to check in on things. I even got a great slice of delicious chocolate cake to celebrate. Definitely recommend this spot!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Good Food... Good Times

Dined on February 15, 2016

The food here was good, but not outstanding. However, it was a good spot for our party of four to laugh and feel comfortable having a good time on Valentine's Day.

Tags: kid-friendly
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place!!!

Dined on February 14, 2016

None of my friends know about this place, which is upsetting!! This place is awesome, ALWAYS! The pumpkin ravioli is my favorite and my husband loves the scallops. Always a great place for us to go for special occasions and date nights. We'll continue to come back again and again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome brunch!

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

We came for Brunch on Valentine's Day. The service was great. We were seated right away. We had a kid with us, and the staff was very receptive to her needs - even filling up her sippy cup! The brunch menu had a great variety and everything we ordered was delicious. The food was awesome! Gravy biscuits, waffles, grits - all great. The Bloody Mary bar was really cool, too.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.