About Food 101

4969 Roswell Rd
Atlanta, GA 30342
View Larger Map

Serving hearty food with rural roots & an urban polish, Food 101 caters to those seeking a dining experience reminiscent of days gone by. Created by talented chef Justin Keith, the menu features proven classics with an inventive twist. This neighborhood Atlanta eatery exudes comfort not only through its food, but also through its relaxed atmosphere.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm- 10:00pm; Dinner: Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm; Brunch 11:00am - 3:00

Cross Street:
Belle Isle Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 497-9700

Website:
http://food101atl.com/

Catering:
Food 101 offers pick up and delivery catering service.
Also, Food 101 menu could deliver to you by using mobilewaiter.com

Executive Chef:
Justin Keith

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Food 101 is available for private events.

Restaurant Photos

Food 101
Food 101
Food 101
Food 101
Food 101
Food 101
Food 101
Crispy Fried Chicken Skins
Rainbow Trout Special
Cinnamon Peach Cobbler
Seared Duck Special
Heirloom Caprese Salad
Bourbon Maple Cheesecake With Bacon Jam
Bourbon Pecan Pie
Baby Back Ribs
Cornmeal Crusted Rainbow Trout Special
Cornmeal Crusted Catfish Special
Grilled Sirloin
Coconut Crusted Salmon
Sweet And Salty Chocolate Cake
Seafood Charcuterie Board
Meatloaf Sandwich Special
Grilled Pound Cake With Bacon Bourbon Ice Cream
Charred Spanish Octopus
Scallop crudo
Duck Pastrami
Bibb Salad
Catfish Pate
Bacon Hush puppies
Mussles And Fries
Pumpkin Pancakes
Harris Farm Short Rib Pasta
Beef Tartare
House Smoked Ham Hock
Chicken and Waffle Sandwich
Tanglewood Farms CLT
Beef Brisket Skillet
Duck Confit Banh Mi
Southern Chicken Biscuit
Peter's Bacon Chocolate Waffle
Pumpkin Spiced Pancakes
Pork Belly Sliders
Peer's Bacon Chocolate Waffle
Chicken Fried Steak
Low Country Skillet
House Cured Salmon
Pork Rinds
Seared Ahi Tuna
New England Cod
Pan Seared Rainbow Trout
Asparagus Tart
Pickled Gulf Oysters
Grilled Scottish Salmon
Duck
Grilled Elote
Vegetable Plate
Blackberry Vanilla Bbq Chicken Leg
House Salad
steak tartare
Pumpkin Spice Bread Pudding
Shrimp And Biscuits
Cream Of Chestnut Soup
Beef Short Rib
Peanut Butter And Banana Cream Pancakes
Fried Soft Shell Crab
Marinated Olives
Smoked Tomato And Goat Cheese Bisque
Steelhead Trout Salad
Kobe Beef Corn Dog
Lobster Rolls
Beef Carpaccio
Bbq Chicken Tacos
Lamb Tenderloin
BBQ Chicken and Waffles
Pralines And Buttermilk Ice Crean
Oysters Rockefeller
PEI Mussles
Arugula And Endive Salad
Pork Shank
Grilled Chicken salad
Fried Chicken Salad
Dessert Assortment
Rappahannock Oysters
Foie Gras
3 Cheese Lobster Mac
Heirloom Caprese Skewers
Scallops With Chorizo Vinaigrette
Mahi Mahi Reuben
Fried Green Beans
Sauteed Shrimp And Crab Salad
Southwest Chicken And Waffle
Bratwurst Sausage
Blueberry crumb cake
Creole Gumbo
shrimp salad
Roasted Figs
Peekytoe Crab Fritters
Pumpkin Ravioli
Bloody Mary Bar
pan roasted duck breast

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Food 101 has a wonderful Private Dining Room available for all needs. No matter what size or what occasion, the staff here at Food 101 is here to make sure every detail exceeds your expectation – from the menu to the memories. Our private room can accommodate up to approximately 40 people. br

Food 101 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Atlanta / Georgia
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Atlanta
Best Restaurants in Sandy Springs ›

Fit for Foodies (44)
Neighborhood Gem (42)
Great for Lunch (35)
See All
Good for Groups (31)
Special Occasion (28)
Great for Brunch (25)
Great for Outdoor Dining (18)
Notable Wine List (15)
Romantic (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Hot Spot (12)
Kid-friendly (10)
Late-night Find (4)
Scenic View (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1163 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Definitely need to work on gluten free o ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 3 days ago

Definitely need to work on gluten free options. They have very few! Prohibits frequent return to restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was awesome and the service was ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The food was awesome and the service was great!! This is a fun spot for brunch with bottomless mimosas and live music.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dined here for the first time Friday and ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Dined here for the first time Friday and loved the ambiance; I'm in love with industrial/rustic decor. The menu reads well, but I can't say they execute. Had the fried chicken, mashed potatoes and sub'd for collards (you'd expect that to be the side instead of green beans), and none of them blew me away. We also ordered the short rib with pimento grits and greens, and the short rib was not as juicy as I'd hope. The grits were great if you like coarse ones that are like porridge. The pb&j cheesecake was a nice finish. Overall, not the best southern food but if you don't normally eat that way, you wouldn't notice.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Another great dinner! The chef creative ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Another great dinner! The chef creatively combines the freshest seasonal ingredients for a tasting delight. Our pleasures this time included oysters with serrano peppers and watermelon, scallops with succotash and duck with rice noodles and peaches. Topped off with a creamy slice of key lime pie!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Wonderful food and perfect service from ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Wonderful food and perfect service from beautiful Pam. Food 101 is the only place to come when your in Atlanta

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every dish fresh and delightful - none o ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Every dish fresh and delightful - none of the institutional / faster-food preparations. Very nice menu variety.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

The food was exceptionally good and the ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food was exceptionally good and the bar manger was knowledgable . His recommendation for drinks were excellent. Will definitely revisit this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is at least my fourth dinner at Foo ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

This is at least my fourth dinner at Food 101. Our waitress Heather was very busy but she was just great. Personable yet professional, ensured our needs were met and always had us in the corner of her eye in case we needed something in spite of the rush. The beef short ribs were just mouth watering. I don't even like collard greens but I made them disappear. My husband had the duck. It was a little too crispy and the portion wasn't as noteworthy as my entree. For dessert, we tried the S'mores ice cream. Menu says 2 scoops but there was only 1. It was pretty good, but the peanut butter fudge we had a few years ago is still the dessert we reminisce over! It's a bit loud in the dining room and we had to walk through smokers outside to get to the front door, otherwise I would have rated the ambience higher. The decor is cozy and rustic. Not pretentious, but nice enough for a date night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

The s'mores ice cream was out of this wo ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The s'mores ice cream was out of this world. It was incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Food was prepared well but the steak was ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Food was prepared well but the steak was TOUGH.........................What else is there to say. Not a good piece of meat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Love this place!!! My mom was in town a ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Love this place!!! My mom was in town and my boyfriend and I wanted to treat her to this local gem. Food was fantastic and Todd the bartender is super knowledgeable about all kinds of beverages and knows the menu front to back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a family gathering that went aw ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

This was a family gathering that went awry because the food here was somewhere between totally ordinary and overpriced. While the service was adequate, each of our meals was lacking anything memorable beyond the tough ribs that were served to my husband. He described him as the worst ribs he'd ever . We would never return to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

a real surprise, especially the ahi tuna ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

a real surprise, especially the ahi tuna poke entree. I'd go back just for it. And our waitress from Russia was a real gem as she knew the menu inside and out. Attentive without intruding.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

The service and food were very good my c ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The service and food were very good my clients who had not been here before enjoyed it very much, the noise level was good, the last time it was a bit noisy but it was later in the afternoon

My client had the crab cake sandwich and raved about it, I had the smoked turkey cobb , it was large enough to take some home for later.

It's great neighborhood restaurant

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our lunch was great. The crab cakes were ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Our lunch was great. The crab cakes were mostly meat with very little filling. My husband enjoyed the shrimp and grits. The service was a little slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

The third time we have been there and th ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The third time we have been there and the second time Ksenia has taken care of us. We brought two friends who saw the Instagram pics that I posted and wanted to come, they were not disappointed! Ksenia was WONDERFUL taking care of us, cocktails were awesome and food was outstanding. I will sing the praises of this restaurant for a long time. I also wish that you would go teach other places how service and food SHOULD be done!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great fried chicken. Perfectly cooked wi ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Great fried chicken. Perfectly cooked without greasy finish. The food here is excellent. Everyone had a good dish, from the low-country boil to the burger.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

The food is simple yet fantastically sea ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The food is simple yet fantastically seasoned. The ambience is lovely. The service was alright, the hostess and wait staff seemed a bit stoic and/or distracted. However, I would be willing to visit again before forming a concrete opinion.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Good menu selection and excellent servic ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Good menu selection and excellent service. Even the cornbread was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Innovative food and fantastic service. ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Innovative food and fantastic service. Ksenia took excellent care of us and we thoroughly enjoyed, our meal. We're going back and taking friends this weekend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was amazing and drinks were spo ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The food was amazing and drinks were spot on! The servers were all friendly and attentive. Save room for dessert. It's delicious!

We absolutely plan to go back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Every time we go to Food 101, we wonder ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Every time we go to Food 101, we wonder why we don't go more often. The food is great, and the portions are the the perfect size. It's worth the drive to go.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for all occasions. I really ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Great place for all occasions. I really like the 7 layer salad and the Big Mick burger

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service with a great local fee ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Excellent service with a great local feel. Server was super proficient and personable and accommodating

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were a party of 6. We had reservation ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We were a party of 6. We had reservations and were seated immediately even though our entire party wasn't with us. That was great. Major thunderstorms in Atlanta that night.

We started with Cheese board and cocktails. And pimenyo cheese. Pimento cheese was great. But both came with 3 tiny slices of bread. How hard would it to add few extra slices of bread for a large table ?

For entrees 2 Carolina trout; lobster cobb salad; scallops; fried chicken; and a low country boil. No complaints on the trout or fried chicken. The scallops came out very differently than described on the menu (grapefruit instead of blood orange and the addition of fennel - even after dinner specifically asked server about fennel in the dish) The boil - "really not good" was the quote from our diner. The lobster cobb salad had the addition of what we hope was a leftover piece of the root on the plate.

The cobb salad and the scallops would have definitely been entrees we woyld have liked to have asked our server about but he was pretty absent and when he did graze by we felt like we were an annoyance.

His mood and temperment deteriorated during the evening. We spotted occasionally hanging out at the bar texting.

Gratuity was added on to our bills which only added to our disappointment.

Everyone has an off day. But give us the heads up or ask a teammate for help.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

The portions were generous. However the ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The portions were generous. However the food lacked seasoning and flavor. Ironically, all of us at dinner commented that all of the dishes were under seasoned. Our server was a little slow at first, but when we told her we had to be out of there at a certain time she got better. Had the food been well seasoned Food 101 would of received higher marks.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

They were out of a lot of menu items. I ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

They were out of a lot of menu items. I went for lunch and apparently the kitchen didn't prep as they should have for lunch so I was told the deviled eggs wouldn't be ready until dinner. They were out of the pastrami sandwich and sautéed spinach. And when it was time for dessert I wanted the Sweet & Salty, which was also not ready and wouldn't be until dinner. So I didn't get anything for dessert. Then around 3:30ish, the manager came over to the table to apologize for having to "put us out" before dinner because there were some maintenance and electrical issues they had to fix in the main dining room before dinner (5pm). So we paid out check and left. But the food tasted great and the wine selection was pretty good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Too much noise Don't like drinking from ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Too much noise

Don't like drinking from mason jar in an upscale restaurant. I requested a proper glass to drink from.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Based on the pictures and the menu, we w ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Based on the pictures and the menu, we were expecting a much better experience. Food was poorly executed: The pretzel bread was dry and tasteless, the pimento cheese seemed to have been flavored only with (copious amounts of) salt, and out of a menu with lots of interesting salads, the waitress recommended the Jerk Chicken Salad, which was nothing notable. Service was negligent: Our server stopped by so infrequently that we waited ten minutes for her to appear when we wanted out bill. This was supposed to have been a fun lunch with a friend who was in town from Miami, but I wound up being embarrassed for having taken her to Food 101.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Took a client to Food 101 for business l ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Took a client to Food 101 for business lunch and after what I experienced,it's now my go to place for future such meetings.Wonderful atmosphere,a very welcoming and personable staff + our server,Ksenia K.,was the best I've encountered in quite some time.She was extremely professional,but also very friendly and fun to talk.Will return very soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very disappointing. The avacado in the ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Very disappointing. The avacado in the lobster salad was so hard It felt like balsa wood. It should not have been served. After I pointed it out to the server, I expected more than an apology. Also, my mother-in-law, who is easily pleased and loves short ribs, didn't like her dinner, either. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Great place to eat and always consistent ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great place to eat and always consistent. Staff is always helpful and friendly.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We've been to 101 many times and this wa ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We've been to 101 many times and this was our best meal yet. When we expressed that we had dietary concerns, Chef Sweat came out and walked us through every dish. This was beyond expected and made the evening a great success. Halibut, duck, fried chicken, and meatloaf were all wonderfully prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Good food and service, and the 50% off b ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Good food and service, and the 50% off bottles of wine were nice! All four of us liked our food. Perhaps the best dish was the fried green tomato appetizer. Nice neighborhood restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Good food. A little slim on the meat tha ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Good food.

A little slim on the meat that came with the salad...but flavor and temp were spot on.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food is excellent, the prices reason ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food is excellent, the prices reasonable, the menu interesting and the service friendly and efficient. A good place for a get-together with friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I have really tried to like this place s ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I have really tried to like this place since it is so close, but the food just doesn't measure up. I had the spare ribs (Father's Day special) and they were tough, dry and chewy with just a spoonful of sauce plopped on top. It was as if they had been sitting around for hours (or days). The slaw and green beans were nothing special. I should have stuck with their regular menu as my daughter's trout was very good. Staff was courteous but were mostly standing around chatting among themselves in the bar area. I really wish this was better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Chicken Fried AND SCALLOPS great, Lindse ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Chicken Fried AND SCALLOPS great, Lindsey did a great job serving us!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food 101 never disappoints! From the fr ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Food 101 never disappoints! From the fried green tomatoes to the tuna tostados and scallops the meal was awesome. The perfect spot to go before a Chastain concert.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Basically Good.

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Food and service were good, but the loud live music was annoying. Trying to have a nice brunch and conversation was difficult with the live music. It would have been much nicer with no music.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.