About Food 101

4969 Roswell Rd
Atlanta, GA 30342
View Larger Map

Serving hearty food with rural roots & an urban polish, Food 101 caters to those seeking a dining experience reminiscent of days gone by. Created by talented chef Justin Keith, the menu features proven classics with an inventive twist. This neighborhood Atlanta eatery exudes comfort not only through its food, but also through its relaxed atmosphere.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm- 10:00pm; Dinner: Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 3:00p

Cross Street:
Belle Isle Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 497-9700

Website:
http://food101atl.com/

Catering:
Food 101 offers pick up and delivery catering service.
Also, Food 101 menu could deliver to you by using mobilewaiter.com

Executive Chef:
Justin Keith

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Food 101 is available for private events.

Restaurant Photos

Food 101
Food 101
Food 101
Food 101
Food 101
Food 101
Food 101
Crispy Fried Chicken Skins
Cinnamon Peach Cobbler
Rainbow Trout Special
Seared Duck Special
Bourbon Pecan Pie
Baby Back Ribs
Cornmeal Crusted Rainbow Trout Special
Heirloom Caprese Salad
Bourbon Maple Cheesecake With Bacon Jam
Cornmeal Crusted Catfish Special
Sweet And Salty Chocolate Cake
Grilled Sirloin
Coconut Crusted Salmon
Meatloaf Sandwich Special
Grilled Pound Cake With Bacon Bourbon Ice Cream
Seafood Charcuterie Board
Charred Spanish Octopus
Duck Pastrami
Bibb Salad
Scallop crudo
Catfish Pate
Bacon Hush puppies
Pumpkin Pancakes
Mussles And Fries
Chicken and Waffle Sandwich
Harris Farm Short Rib Pasta
Beef Tartare
House Smoked Ham Hock
Tanglewood Farms CLT
Beef Brisket Skillet
Duck Confit Banh Mi
Southern Chicken Biscuit
Peter's Bacon Chocolate Waffle
Pumpkin Spiced Pancakes
Pork Belly Sliders
Peer's Bacon Chocolate Waffle
Chicken Fried Steak
Low Country Skillet
House Cured Salmon
Seared Ahi Tuna
Pork Rinds
Pan Seared Rainbow Trout
Pickled Gulf Oysters
New England Cod
Grilled Scottish Salmon
Asparagus Tart
Duck
Grilled Elote
Blackberry Vanilla Bbq Chicken Leg
House Salad
Smoked Tomato And Goat Cheese Bisque
Pumpkin Spice Bread Pudding
Steelhead Trout Salad
Marinated Olives
Cream Of Chestnut Soup
Peanut Butter And Banana Cream Pancakes
steak tartare
Shrimp And Biscuits
Beef Short Rib
Vegetable Plate
Fried Soft Shell Crab
Kobe Beef Corn Dog
Lobster Rolls
Bloody Mary Bar
Pumpkin Ravioli
Fried Green Beans
pan roasted duck breast
Arugula And Endive Salad
Bbq Chicken Tacos
Heirloom Caprese Skewers
BBQ Chicken and Waffles
Rappahannock Oysters
Southwest Chicken And Waffle
Green Sneakers Martini
Fried Chicken Salad
shrimp salad
Bratwurst Sausage
Vegetable Platter
Pralines And Buttermilk Ice Crean
Scallops With Chorizo Vinaigrette
Kimchi Wings
Creole Gumbo
PEI Mussles
Pork Shank
Lamb Tenderloin
Beef Carpaccio
Pickled Beets
Blueberry crumb cake
Grilled Chicken salad
Foie Gras
Peekytoe Crab Fritters
Oysters Rockefeller
Dessert Assortment

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:30PM - 5:45PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Fri 11:30AM - 11:45AM 5:30PM - 5:45PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Sat 5:30PM - 5:45PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Food 101 has a wonderful Private Dining Room available for all needs. No matter what size or what occasion, the staff here at Food 101 is here to make sure every detail exceeds your expectation – from the menu to the memories. Our private room can accommodate up to approximately 40 people. br

Food 101 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Atlanta / Georgia
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Atlanta
Best Restaurants in Sandy Springs ›

neighborhood gem (39)
fit for foodies (39)
great for lunch (32)
See All
good for groups (32)
great for brunch (28)
special occasion (25)
great for outdoor dining (14)
kid-friendly (13)
romantic (12)
hot spot (12)
vibrant bar scene (12)
notable wine list (11)
late-night find (3)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1142 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Their health inspection score was a 73.. ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined a day ago

Their health inspection score was a 73... Upon further research, this restaurant has failed / received an "unsatisfactory" score twice over the past 2 years: a 69 in 2013 and a 67 in 2015. Clearly there is a pattern of issues and we were very disappointed since the menu looked so delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

Great place for all occasions. I really ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great place for all occasions. I really like the 7 layer salad and the Big Mick burger

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service with a great local fee ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Excellent service with a great local feel. Server was super proficient and personable and accommodating

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were a party of 6. We had reservation ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We were a party of 6. We had reservations and were seated immediately even though our entire party wasn't with us. That was great. Major thunderstorms in Atlanta that night.

We started with Cheese board and cocktails. And pimenyo cheese. Pimento cheese was great. But both came with 3 tiny slices of bread. How hard would it to add few extra slices of bread for a large table ?

For entrees 2 Carolina trout; lobster cobb salad; scallops; fried chicken; and a low country boil. No complaints on the trout or fried chicken. The scallops came out very differently than described on the menu (grapefruit instead of blood orange and the addition of fennel - even after dinner specifically asked server about fennel in the dish) The boil - "really not good" was the quote from our diner. The lobster cobb salad had the addition of what we hope was a leftover piece of the root on the plate.

The cobb salad and the scallops would have definitely been entrees we woyld have liked to have asked our server about but he was pretty absent and when he did graze by we felt like we were an annoyance.

His mood and temperment deteriorated during the evening. We spotted occasionally hanging out at the bar texting.

Gratuity was added on to our bills which only added to our disappointment.

Everyone has an off day. But give us the heads up or ask a teammate for help.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

The portions were generous. However the ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The portions were generous. However the food lacked seasoning and flavor. Ironically, all of us at dinner commented that all of the dishes were under seasoned. Our server was a little slow at first, but when we told her we had to be out of there at a certain time she got better. Had the food been well seasoned Food 101 would of received higher marks.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

They were out of a lot of menu items. I ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

They were out of a lot of menu items. I went for lunch and apparently the kitchen didn't prep as they should have for lunch so I was told the deviled eggs wouldn't be ready until dinner. They were out of the pastrami sandwich and sautéed spinach. And when it was time for dessert I wanted the Sweet & Salty, which was also not ready and wouldn't be until dinner. So I didn't get anything for dessert. Then around 3:30ish, the manager came over to the table to apologize for having to "put us out" before dinner because there were some maintenance and electrical issues they had to fix in the main dining room before dinner (5pm). So we paid out check and left. But the food tasted great and the wine selection was pretty good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Too much noise Don't like drinking from ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Too much noise

Don't like drinking from mason jar in an upscale restaurant. I requested a proper glass to drink from.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Based on the pictures and the menu, we w ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Based on the pictures and the menu, we were expecting a much better experience. Food was poorly executed: The pretzel bread was dry and tasteless, the pimento cheese seemed to have been flavored only with (copious amounts of) salt, and out of a menu with lots of interesting salads, the waitress recommended the Jerk Chicken Salad, which was nothing notable. Service was negligent: Our server stopped by so infrequently that we waited ten minutes for her to appear when we wanted out bill. This was supposed to have been a fun lunch with a friend who was in town from Miami, but I wound up being embarrassed for having taken her to Food 101.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Took a client to Food 101 for business l ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Took a client to Food 101 for business lunch and after what I experienced,it's now my go to place for future such meetings.Wonderful atmosphere,a very welcoming and personable staff + our server,Ksenia K.,was the best I've encountered in quite some time.She was extremely professional,but also very friendly and fun to talk.Will return very soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very disappointing. The avacado in the ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Very disappointing. The avacado in the lobster salad was so hard It felt like balsa wood. It should not have been served. After I pointed it out to the server, I expected more than an apology. Also, my mother-in-law, who is easily pleased and loves short ribs, didn't like her dinner, either. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Great place to eat and always consistent ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great place to eat and always consistent. Staff is always helpful and friendly.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We've been to 101 many times and this wa ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We've been to 101 many times and this was our best meal yet. When we expressed that we had dietary concerns, Chef Sweat came out and walked us through every dish. This was beyond expected and made the evening a great success. Halibut, duck, fried chicken, and meatloaf were all wonderfully prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Good food and service, and the 50% off b ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Good food and service, and the 50% off bottles of wine were nice! All four of us liked our food. Perhaps the best dish was the fried green tomato appetizer. Nice neighborhood restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Good food. A little slim on the meat tha ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Good food.

A little slim on the meat that came with the salad...but flavor and temp were spot on.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food is excellent, the prices reason ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food is excellent, the prices reasonable, the menu interesting and the service friendly and efficient. A good place for a get-together with friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I have really tried to like this place s ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I have really tried to like this place since it is so close, but the food just doesn't measure up. I had the spare ribs (Father's Day special) and they were tough, dry and chewy with just a spoonful of sauce plopped on top. It was as if they had been sitting around for hours (or days). The slaw and green beans were nothing special. I should have stuck with their regular menu as my daughter's trout was very good. Staff was courteous but were mostly standing around chatting among themselves in the bar area. I really wish this was better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Chicken Fried AND SCALLOPS great, Lindse ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Chicken Fried AND SCALLOPS great, Lindsey did a great job serving us!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food 101 never disappoints! From the fr ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Food 101 never disappoints! From the fried green tomatoes to the tuna tostados and scallops the meal was awesome. The perfect spot to go before a Chastain concert.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Basically Good.

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Food and service were good, but the loud live music was annoying. Trying to have a nice brunch and conversation was difficult with the live music. It would have been much nicer with no music.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Good Food in the Neighborhood

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

I live very close to Food 101 and have eaten there on and off since it opened. I've noticed highs and lows in the quality of the food, and now seems to be a good time to eat there. I usually order a fish entree and enjoy it very much, such as the grilled salmon on the current menu. The fried chicken is excellent and is always an option. Last week I was excited about the new summer menu, particularly the lobster roll. It was described as lobster on a soft roll. The lobster salad (which somewhat limits the taste of the lobster) was on hard thick bread toasted to the point of partial blackness. The bread dominated the dish and I did not enjoy it, being that I couldn't taste hardly any lobster at all. I told the waitress, who later told me the chef was giving us a free dessert. I appreciate that, but what I would really appreciate is a more honest tasting lobster roll.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We were the first to be seated, as they ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We were the first to be seated, as they don't open until 5:30. They were very courteous and accommodating. The appetizer of rock shrimp au gratin was delicious. I had the duck with a confit rice dish... delicious. We would definitely go again.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great time for Brunch

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

A friend and i went for brunch and bottomless mimosas. They definitely lived up to the name. the food was very southern but very good. Easily go again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Anniversery Dinner

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

We were impressed with the changes! The staff was very friendly and informative.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Eclectic Menu

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

I love how Food 101 has great fried chicken, but also some healthier options as well. They offer 15% off for Life Time members which I love! I highly recommend Food 101 for all types of occasions whether it be business or a birthday dinner - there is always something for everyone.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The short ribs were dry the grits and gr ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

The short ribs were dry the grits and greens made the mealmeal.

Our waiter was first class!

Overall we had an enjoyable evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Great menu selection

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

We had an awesome kiwi cocktail that was out of this world! Would go back just for that but the variation on the menu was a plus, too!

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Southern Comfort food with a twist! Enjo ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Southern Comfort food with a twist! Enjoyed the patio seating as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Brunch Must!

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Took my Mother for Mother's Day Brunch and it was amazing! Great Food, Great Ambiance, Great Time!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrible Service - Average Food - Will Not Go Back

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Mother's Day Brunch - granted it is a very busy day for restaurants but we were greated with "the food will take a lot longer than normal because we are so busy." Uh...then staff up for all the reservations you had. The statement was correct. We waited forever for what was average food at best...and it was expensive. Not sure why eggs, potatoes and toast take 40 minutes but I guess they do. No apologies, sporadic service and when the Manager (or Owner...not sure) came by and we told him how slow everything was, his comment was..."I know...busy day."

This is our third visit to Food 101 and will be our last as all three times it was over priced mediocrity.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

seasonal,mbeen excellent.

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I have dined here many times and have always had great seasonal, farm to table food and excellent service. I talked my son and his girlfriend into taking me for Mother's Day brunch and they loved it too.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant worth checking out in Sandy Springs

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Went to dinner there on a Friday night to celebrate anniversary. It wasn't very crowded. I read earlier reviews about the service; I did not feel that way - the hostess (took a snap of us), another 2 waitresses came by to chat it up/socialize, and our assigned waitress helped us on the menu and checked in on us regularly.

The Fried Green Tomatoes, Avocado Toast, and Rock Shrimp Au Gratin were awesome. The Georges Bank Scallops were well cooked and fresh, but the dish could have used some pop (maybe Paprika?).

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Enjoyable Brunch

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Great food, excellent service. Will definitely go back. Nice variety on the menu with something for everyone in our party.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always good

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Wife got a perfectly cooked steak and chef prepared veggies per her dietary guidelines. I went off reservation and got seasonal pulled pork enchilada. AWESOME. Comfy seats to enjoy as well! Chef always has a great menu and we love it for weekend brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Fish tacos were excellent!

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

Fish tacos were excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

TERRIBLE...Will not return

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Just not a good restaurant. Poor service, ambience, food and management.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

Plain Lousy

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

The first clue should have been that the restaurant was half empty on a Saturday night. I made a reservation on OpenTable and added in the comments that my family was celebrating my fathers birthday. There was no mention of that or any special touches that other restaurants have provided before. We had to wait for kids menus to be printed. Our dinner didn't arrive for an hour and a half after we sat down. Our server was so unprofessional and so morose that it was just uncomfortable. My trout was lukewarm and salty. I travel every week around the country for work, so I understand the level that restaurants have to meet in order to stay competitive. Unfortunately, this restaurant needs some real changes if it intends to be in business a year from now.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Food was very good and brunch menu was v ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Food was very good and brunch menu was varied and had something for everyone. Service was slow as I believe our waiter had too many tables to keep up with.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Excellent kale salad with fried shrimp.

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

Excellent kale salad with fried shrimp.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Amazing Again

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

Came here a few weeks ago for my birthday, and came back for a smaller dinner with some of my husband's employees. Food 101 did an amazing job again! We had the same server from last time and she was very attentive and gave great drink and food recommendations. Love this place!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great resstaurant

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

The choices at Food 101 are great and everything is delicious.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.