Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.68mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.68mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.68mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.68mi

About Fontana at the Biltmore Hotel

Enjoy Traditional Italian Cuisine at its best in the Fontana, our resort casual grille featuring outdoor dining in a tropical fountain centered courtyard or indoor seating surrounding and open kitchen with a wide variety of specialties.

1200 Anastasia Avenue
Coral Gables, FL 33134
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 6:30am - 11:30am; Lunch Daily: 11:30am - 5:00pm; Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Granada

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 445-8066 ext. 2407

Website:
http://www.biltmorehotel.com/dining/fontana.php

Entertainment:
Live Jazz in the Biltmore Bar each night!

Parking Details:
Hotel self parking and private lot also available.

Executive Chef:
Giuseppe Galazzi

Additional:
Bar Dining, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Large group menus available

Fontana at the Biltmore Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

Noise

Quiet

87% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (22)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Special Occasion (21)
See All
Good for a Date (20)
Great for Outdoor Dining (17)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Worth the Drive (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Authentic (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Scenic View (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Business Meals (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Cozy (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Fun (5)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Casual (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Live Music (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
788 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 5 days ago

The shrimp and lobster was so chewy it was rubber.

The pasta was under cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Good menu options, good service, at reasonable prices. The decor inside is more like a cafeteria than a classy restaurant. Too much light, boring decor, too quiet. It needs to add some ambiance and less lighting. Ot looks like outside seating is a much better option (more romantic), given the nice gardens and surroundings of the hotel

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 7, 2017

The dining experience was overall very good. The only negative was the hostess. She was rude and looked like she worked at a hospital. Not good for a first impression.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Perfect Birthday Celebration

A group of 10 sat at the chef's table since a rainy night eliminated the possibility of dining outside. However, due to the separate location of the table and our excellent server it turned out to be a great choice.
Six diners ordered off the Miami Spice menu ( a great value) while the other four selected from the extensive regular menu.
All in all, it was a lovely evening despite the bad weather.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Great Miami Spice menu. Plenty of parking or valet. Indoor or patio.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Muy lindo lugar! la fuente, el patio, definitivamente hay que sentarse en una mesa en el exterior. Creo que vale el ambiente y además el menú parecía muy completo, la comida que pedimos estaba muy rica, los platos abundantes, vale el precio, es más no nos pareció tan caro como esperábamos. Muy buen servicio aunque fuimos con reserva. Definitivamente recomendable y para volver.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Casual, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 1, 2017

We were initially seated inside, however a large, boisterous table made conversation impossible. When we asked to be moved, the hostess laughingly stated that it would get quieter once they started eating. We persisted and we were moved to outside seating in their beautiful courtyard. Unfortunately, they had positioned a huge, industrial strength oscillating fan just behind our table which I thought was over the top given they had ceiling fans already. The wine menu was not offered or given and we had to request bread for the table. They didn't look especially busy so the service was simply slow. Things were going from bad to worse but then the food showed up and rescued the whole thing. The grilled octopus appetizer was generous in size and soft in texture, although a bit bland in taste. The roasted duck was flavorful and juicy as was my huge Costata steak. Dessert featured a heavenly creme brulee and panna cotta with mango sauce. This was my first time at this restaurant so I cannot say if my experience is typical of the service there, however I would be willing to give them a second look due to the quality of the food.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 1, 2017

The service was excellent however my mussels had a lot of grit in them and even a piece of broken shell. Not pleasant to bite down on. The flavor and sauce were good but more attention to the cleaning please!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Fantastic place, La Fontana never fails! A nice walk on the Biltmore grounds after finalized a great mean. Thank you

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 28, 2017

My second timing dining here and both times the food and wine were perfect.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

The restaurant is very good, beatiful and the service is excellent

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Eggplant appetizer was outstanding. Food choices were very good.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Miami spice menu was superb: appetizer was best eggplant parm with tomatoe sauce I ever had. Main course seared tuna over sautéed vegetables. Dessert berries and vanilla sorbet.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

Geburtstagsgeschenk für meinen Mann. Er empfand es wunderschön.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 22, 2017

This restaurant, located in one of the finest historical locations in South Florida, is an amazing "sleeper." The food, ambiance and service is fantastic and the prices, though on the upscale, are reasonable for the experience. My wife and I eat here often and love it each time we visit. This is truly a hidden gem in Coral Gables. It shouldn't be! We know not why! We wish for its success, but are grateful for its quiet ambiance. Let the "Buzz" begin! Bravo to the Chef and the entire staff. Visit and experience one of the finest Italian dining experience in the State of Florida!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Cozy, Fun, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 20, 2017

I was really looking forward to eating at Fontana's. We ordered the branzinni and the halibut. My halibut was delicious and cooked perfectly. However, the branzinni was undercooked, and after they peeled away the salt crust, the fish did not flake off the bone as intended. When we sent it back to be cooked further, the chef would not do it, saying it would overcook the fish. We tried tasting it and the fish was smelly and didn't taste right. for a $44 piece of fish, it better be perfect. We returned it and just had a side dish of their fresh pasta. The service was very good and the restaurant is lovely. I am not sure we would go back, but the staff did their best to make it right. Too bad the chef choose not too.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 19, 2017

I came to the Fontana at 7:30pm per our reservation. Everything was going fantastic. Our hostess was great, sat us down right away. My girlfriend and I waited approximately 10 minutes for someone to come along and even offer us water. A young lady (I forgot her name) came by and gave us water. After that we had to wait another 10 minutes for a server to come. FINALLY, Roberto came; hoping for that awful beginning to end, but it only got worse. We ordered some wine and our entree (after waiting such a long time you'd think someone would know what they even want for dessert). Food wait time was average. Roberto did not bring it. Someone else did. Our wine did not come before our food. Our food came and we were basically done with it. We had to CALL Roberto's attention to let him know that we did not want the wine anymore, and what did he do? He brought the wine.... I basically felt forced to drink it now. This was supposed to be a nice dinner with my girlfriend celebrating the fact that she got accepted into nursing school. Roberto never even came by to ask how our food was, nor did he ask at the end of our experience if everting went well... we had to ASK for the dessert menu from him. We waited a long time for the dessert as well. The ice cream was MELTED meaning that it was sitting for quite some time. At this point I was done with everything. What a disappointment. I asked to speak to a manager. Gregory came by to speak to us. We mentioned the situation, and I felt as if he was not even listening to us. All he said was "oh I'm sorry, we ran into a rain storm and we had to move everyone from outside to cover". Then he said oh I'll cover the wine drinks for you guys. I did not care to pay for the drinks. I wanted to get my point across to him that the service was TERRIBLE. I used to work for the Biltmore hotel for almost 2 years at the front desk and the way I would advertise our facilities were beyond 5 stars which is our expectation. I was completely let down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 18, 2017

We arrived at the Fontana with a reservation only to be told that only 1 table in the corner was available. What we were not told was that side of restaurant near the kitchen doors had no air conditioning & it was over 90 degrees inside. It was so hot we didn't even finish our dinner and left before dessert. So as we were leaving, we walked through restaurant to adjacent bar, rest of restaurant had air conditioning. We had another set of friends there who had no reservation who got a better table. Then when we reported to Hotel, they did nothing, not even a call from the Manager. Very disappointed to spend well over $100 for two and eat to seat. Lastly, another large group arrived while we were eating & they requested a fan, so a fan was plugged in next to "our table" blowing dust into our table while we were eating. I could not believe this for a Biltmore restaurant. Again, when we complained, no response from anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 12, 2017

On-line reservations do not provide option for in / outside dinning, so beware if you've never dinned here. Server and assistant were very nice; however the receptionist was very rude and unprofessional, didn't even make an attempt to find us an inside table citing we should've requested one. Food is not the greatest, average at best; there are plenty of much better and less expensive restaurant in Coral Gables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Excellente Miami Spice selection food. Love it!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Food was excellent but service was very slow

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Service extremely slow. Food took forever to come out. Sitting very uncomfortable. Extremely hot on the terrace with no air or fans.

food was well below expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 5, 2017

This was our second time and it was a total letdown! The waiter was great but he had too many tables to attend to and our service suffered for it. The Miami Spice menu was very good. The calamari, the eggplant, and the steak were fantastic. When making resv make sure you specify an inside or outside table. We didn't know and got stuck outside with the mosquitos and the August heat (not fun at all). We were there 2 years ago and it was a completely different experience, that's why we went back this time. The food was great but the service was a 2.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 4, 2017

This was a prix fixe "Miami Spice" menu, and we were surprised at how large the portions were. (Some of the participating restaurants give smaller portions to go with the discounted prices during this two-month event.) Our meals were delicious -- the strip steaks were prepared exactly as we requested -- and we enjoyed the leisurely pace. The ambience was very pleasant, which includes being quiet enough to hold a conversation in a normal tone of voice.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Great food and value for the Miami Spice menue option!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Another great dinner at Fontana. Party of 10 and all very happy. Calamari, cesar salad, grilled octopus, lasagna, pumpkin ravioli, and seabass were all outstanding. Tiramesu and crembrule were amazing too. Bianca, our server, was outstanding!

If you haven't visited the Biltmore in a long time, go for dinner and take a stroll through the hotel. It's as beautiful as ever!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

I celebrated a friends birthday and although I wanted to sit outside by the fountain, the weather didn't permit us to. But inside was ok.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Just in town and at the Biltmore for the night on our way to the Keys . We Did not feel like leaving the resort , which is beautiful! Fontana , however , was very disappointing. Food and service was just ok but very expensive!! I would not go back...

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

I was not pleased with my main course, the fish special of the evening, neither was my husband with his choice of entrée.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Wedding Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Wonderful brunch! It's a must try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Excellent dining experience! Pumpkin ravioli with pesto and shrimp was delicious. Veal scallopini cooked to perfection. Cesar salad and bread basket was a great start. Service was also fantastic. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Excellent service and food. Wonderful find for lunch while visiting Miami.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience. My wife's 60th birthday. Invited my parents 95 and 87. They haven't stopped talking about it. In a good way. I was curious if they have changed chefs since last year. I remember a different tomato sauce which I liked better. None the less we will be back in August for another fine dining experience. Regards

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Restaurant doubles as Sunday brunch dessert location. Ambiance takes a little hit because of this. Food is creative and well prepared This is not your "Traditional". Italian menu innovative and tastefully presented. Wine selection is generous and will please most.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on June 30, 2017

One of a Kind
We have dined at Fontana dozens of times because its many fabulous unique elements always combine to create a fantastic romantic evening of fine dining. The old world Mediterranean architecture of the Biltmore and the beautiful tranquility of the courtyard fountain create the perfect setting to enjoy the chef's outstanding Italian offerings. The service is superior and equal to expectations for such an exquisite dining venue. Fontana always delivers the exceptional, relaxing dining experience we treasure.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 28, 2017

We had dinner at the Fontana on a Wednesday night to celebrate our thirtieth wedding anniversary. (Our wedding reception was held at the Biltmore) The staff were friendly and pleasant. They went out of their way to make this a positive experience for us. The ambiance is unique, classy and pleasant. This is a great place for a memorable outing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Sit outside in the Courtyard, then this is the most beautiful and magical restaurant that I have ever been in. Food and service are great as well. The pricing is surprisingly reasonable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 22, 2017

The Fontana at the Biltmore is a beautiful restaurant. Unfortunately the food was almost inedible the last time I had dinner there. The veal was so tough my friend could not cut it. My chicken cacciatore was over cooked and the sauce tasted canned. The side of potatoes were undercooked and the broccoli was almost raw. The best part of the meal was a cappuccino for which they charged an outrageous $6.00.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.