About Fontana at the Biltmore Hotel

1200 Anastasia Avenue
Coral Gables, FL 33134
View Larger Map

Enjoy Mediterranean Cuisine at its best in the Fontana, our resort casual grille featuring outdoor dining in a tropical fountain centered courtyard or indoor seating surrounding and open kitchen with a wide variety of specialties.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 6:30am - 11:30am; Lunch Daily: 11:30am - 5:00pm; Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Granada

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 445-8066 ext. 2407

Website:
http://www.biltmorehotel.com/dining/fontana.php

Entertainment:
Live Jazz in the Biltmore Bar each night!

Parking Details:
Hotel self parking and private lot also available.

Executive Chef:
Giuseppe Galazzi

Private Party Facilities:
Large parties up to 30 guests for Courtyard Dining.

Private Party Contact:
Raquel Alaniz: 3054458066x2407

Additional:
Bar Dining, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
Large group menus available

Restaurant Photos

Ravioli Neri
Pollo Parmigiana
Assorted Sea Food Platter
Waffle Red Fruits
Nigiri Sushi
Mushroom Stuffed Quail in Black Rice Risotto
Assorted Chocolate Desserts
Chocolate Muffin
Crostata di Cioccolato e Nocciola
Millefoglie
Tiramisu
Linguini Pescatora

Fontana at the Biltmore Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Miami - Dade County
Romantic
Miami - Dade County
Best Restaurants in Coral Gables / Coral Way ›

great for outdoor dining (33)
romantic (32)
special occasion (31)
See All
fit for foodies (14)
notable wine list (13)
great for lunch (11)
great for brunch (10)
neighborhood gem (10)
scenic view (6)
good for groups (5)
hot spot (4)
kid-friendly (2)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
570 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Total disappointment, not fit for foodie ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Total disappointment, not fit for foodies, it appears they use frozen (precooked) sea food medley for all their dishes, they add salad leaves for same precooked seafood to make a salad. They take the same seafood add canned tomato puree with some spices and raw onions to make a seafood dish. I don't think there is any Real Chef there, else such a nice place and food is only good for quick business lunches and people who don't know much about real Mediterranean food. Absolutely not worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Great experience, for the second time. E ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Great experience, for the second time. Excellent service and ambiance.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the few mediocre experiences we' ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

One of the few mediocre experiences we've had at a neighborhood favorite.

The halibut was bland, as was my wife's pasta...

Service as not as attentive as normal, and it was just a disappointing evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

We spent a family weekend at the Biltmor ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We spent a family weekend at the Biltmore as part of our family holiday the Fontana was a lovely treat we also had breakfast there and that was a pleasure too , lovely staff very friendly .

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The hostess started the evening off with ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The hostess started the evening off with a perfect table to accommodate all of us...our waitress was great. Was considerate to the needs of our children eating first and helping us choose the right dish. The colors, taste and presentation were superior. Look forward to going back for another delicious meal in the right setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent place and great food! Fit for ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Excellent place and great food! Fit for any occasion.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Exceptional service, very good food, goo ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Exceptional service, very good food, good price. Wine list and price a littke in the top side.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fontana is the less formal Italian resta ...

 
 (Zürich)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Fontana is the less formal Italian restaurant at the Biltmore, as compared to the gastronomic La Palme d'Or. Particularly beautiful setting in the patio.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Fabulous venue with an impressive menu. ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Fabulous venue with an impressive menu. Great night.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We have been going to Fontana for many y ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

We have been going to Fontana for many years and always enjoy it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Loved the restaurant, food and everythin ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Loved the restaurant, food and everything about it..............service was wonderful as well. Would highly recommend this restaurant to my friends and family

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very mediocre food experience. Pasta wa ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Very mediocre food experience. Pasta was like a instant sauce. Fish smelled old (fishy)!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

Fantastic Anniversary Dinner

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

This is a great special occasion destination. The service was just incredibly great - relaxed, professional, and accommodating without being snooty.

Great Caesar Salad - not filled with excess liquid - just full of flavor - perfect.

Then an especially good tuna tartare that is served on a chopped avocado base with just-right spicing paired perfectly with a Miura Pinot Noir.

Swordfish entrees were slightly cooked past our preference but still managed to taste fresh and sweet.

Fresh berries and cream for dessert finished off the meal with a light finish.

This is a superbly run restaurant with great food and wine. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Beautiful setting but food not on par

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

While the setting was very nice, especially the outdoor patio with the fountain (but it's Florida so you'll only be able to truly enjoy this during certain times of the year), the food wasn't great and certainly not what I expected. The fish was quite tasty but the Caesar salad was overdressed and the pasta was way too al dente. The Bolognese sauce was pretty good though. And the service was top notch. Also a very good wine by the glass selection.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great place to celebrate....

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Had never been to Fontana, but decided to venture for an anniversary. Found the food, service and ambiance to be excellent. Would repeat and recommend....

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect but for ho-hum food

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

It's hard to beat the lush courtyard setting of Fontana at the Biltmore Hotel. Close your eyes for a moment and you might imagine the din of a Roman piazza, replete with bubbling fountain. While the setting is certain to impress your paramour, the food fell slightly short. Not bad, mind you, just perhaps a bit outdone by the ambiance and not quite up to the molto grosso prices.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

I had a wonderful time the ambience was ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

I had a wonderful time the ambience was amazing, the staff was very friendly and polite all together a top quality hotel with history that follows.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The pasta was undercooked and the clams ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

The pasta was undercooked and the clams were old. Great wine and romantic setting but not worth the price for a second visit.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Beautiful ambience when seated outside, ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Beautiful ambience when seated outside, nice outdoor fountain in open atrium like setting. The food was definitely average, not up to the ambience. Wait service was average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

Food was ok, but the ambiance was spectacular.

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

I had the special Lobster pasta. The pasta was delicious, but it's just pasta....the lobster was over cooked and difficult to remove from the shell. The dish was overpriced for the end result chewy small overcooked lobster and a little pile of pasta.... No fine dining experience. The kitchen staff should have at least removed and then replaced the meat in the shell for presentation and easy eating. In addition lobster is not difficult to prepare and prepare well this was like chewing gum. Unfortunate.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Excellent service from the entire staff.

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

Excellent service from the entire staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great but pricey.

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

Great outdoor dining venue Excellent service. Just very pricey even for great Italian food and wine.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Amazing Power Lunch

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Husband and I had lunch at Fontana while in town. The power lunch is $25 and includes soup, salad, protein, dessert and sangria. Each one of us ordered different choices and loved every dish. The setting in the garden was beautiful and relaxing. Choices were good and delicious. We will defiantly go back for lunch when in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding service food and ambiance!

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

We will definitely return as they treated us as family. The octopus was presented in the best manner I have experienced and was prepared deliciously. My darling wife had the gnocchi and described it as wonderful! An absolutely wonderful experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We done at Fontana quite frequently. The ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

We done at Fontana quite frequently. The food, service, and outdoor seating is alway consistent.

Wonderful outdoor dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Exceptional food, service and ambiance.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 4, 2016

Exceptional food, service and ambiance. The attention to detail is phenomenal. The ambiance is beautiful. The wine list is bountiful. The food is delightful and you could not ask for a nicer setting than the Biltmore.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service and high quality breakfast choices

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

The service was very attentive and professional. The breakfast selections were varied and well balanced. Choices available for the fruit lovers and the bacon and egg crowd alike. Highly recommended.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Breakfast in the courtyard

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

We stopped at the Biltmore for breakfast at Fontana in the courtyard under the fountain. It proved to be a wonderful treat for our family -- the food, the service and the setting were all top-notch.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Romantic Dinner

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on March 14, 2016

What a great experience, wonderful service, nice and quiet. Excellent food. Not too pricey for an exquisite meal.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Feels like you are al fresco in Italia

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 1, 2016

great food wine service Very romantic al fresco dining under the stars and serenaded by Italian love songs trickling waterfalls of fountain and gentle breezes of palm trees

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

We have visited Fontanamany times because it is convenient for pre show at the GablesStage. Prior experiences showed us that avoiding their pastas was the way to go, as their sauces are not good. This time we had veal scalloping and chicken Parmesan, good choices both, though the chicken had too much cheese for my taste. A shared Brussels sprout was quite good, and a fresh mixed berry dessert. We wouldn't venture here just to eat at Fontana, though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Enchanting

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 18, 2016

The wine dinner was enchanting. The food was perfectly paired with the fabulous wines. The service was very accommodating of special requests. The setting with the moonlight was very romantic.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

So relaxing

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on February 18, 2016

We were a party of 3. One of us had a Caesar salad with salmon, then a side pasta with tomato sauce and small salad, and then a seafood salad. Everything was delicious. The service was very good and the environment being outside by the fountain was so relaxing. It is such a gem!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Ambiance excellent but the food was a B- .

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on February 16, 2016

The ambiance and setting of the restaurant are excellent. The food was fair. My husband had the swordfish which was very good, but the lamb I ordered was dry and tasteless. The bread was fair - we had to ask for butter. For the price of the meal they can certainly offer a better choice of bread. The wine we ordered was very good. Overall the experience was "nothing to write home about". We enjoyed the night, however we think the quality of the restaurant food has declined.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Not Great

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We went to The Fontana for our Valentines dinner. I made the reservation at the last minute. When we arrived at the front of the restaurant the guy told us it was a mistake because they were fully booked but said he was going to find me a table anyways. We sit inside, which was OK for us. Since it was Valentines, they changed the menu to a two page menu, one page a three course valentines menu and another page with very few plates, (forcing you to chose the Valentines Menu).

We chose the Valentines menu and I expected a great exquisite food but it was OK. We asked for Filet mignon and lobster plate, lobster was hard and my husbands steak was cold in the middle.

Even though they said they were fully booked, there were a lot of empty tables.

Not coming back, did not meet my expectation for the price I paid.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Food was, overall,very plain. Definitely ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Food was, overall,very plain. Definitely not going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5

Not what's expected

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Great outdoor dining venue. Service was very slow..extremely, although our waitress was very nice. Food was just ok.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

pacovaradero

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

I'm a food lover and for far this is the best restaurant overall, the food exquisite.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Disappointing

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

Beautiful setting, outstanding service, but food not up to par. My carpaccio was thick and tough, and my lobster ravioli was tasteless. Don't know if they had a bad night or if this is the new normal, but the food used to be much better here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

We are repeat guests at this restaurant ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

We are repeat guests at this restaurant and would consider it to be good food, ambience and service is adequate. Not fit for foodies but a good staple.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.