Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.68mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.68mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.68mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.68mi

About Fontana at the Biltmore Hotel

Enjoy Traditional Italian Cuisine at its best in the Fontana, our resort casual grille featuring outdoor dining in a tropical fountain centered courtyard or indoor seating surrounding and open kitchen with a wide variety of specialties.

1200 Anastasia Avenue
Coral Gables, FL 33134
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 6:30am - 11:30am; Lunch Daily: 11:30am - 5:00pm; Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Granada

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 445-8066 ext. 2407

Website:
http://www.biltmorehotel.com/dining/fontana.php

Entertainment:
Live Jazz in the Biltmore Bar each night!

Parking Details:
Hotel self parking and private lot also available.

Executive Chef:
Giuseppe Galazzi

Private Party Facilities:
Large parties up to 30 guests for Courtyard Dining.

Private Party Contact:
Raquel Alaniz: (305) 445-8066 ext. 2407

Additional:
Bar Dining, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Large group menus available

Fontana at the Biltmore Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (26)
Romantic (25)
Special Occasion (21)
See All
Historic (19)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Good for a Date (13)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Business Meals (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Scenic View (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
Authentic (9)
Cozy (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Casual (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Family Style (3)
Fun (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Seasonal (3)
Healthy (3)
Good for Groups (3)
People Watching (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Tapas (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
747 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 5 days ago

A very enjoyable place to dine before the Gables Stage theater productions.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Very enjoyable dinner in a classy setting that is quiet so you can actually speak among friends at the table without having to shout over ambient noise. The open courtyard was very nice and romantic, and even allowed some natural breeze to offer relief from the outdoor heat. I would certainly come back for another special occasion. The wine list is ridiculously overpriced, with the least expensive wines priced at $50. However, even though they are the least expensive, at least they are excellent, rather than the awful wines that one often finds at the bottom of the price list. Our party of three had seafood, which was excellent. Specifically, the octopus was outstanding, very much among the best octopus I have eaten anywhere either in the Mediterranean or in Asia. The lobster ravioli were also good, but not as outstanding as the octopus.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Healthy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Amazing place, nice welcoming pour a special day, thanks to all people of the Fontana for this great moment !

Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Great place to have breakfast or to go to an historic place in Mimi and have a great time and food

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Great place , food, ambiance and attentive staff. Garden like setting with big fountain in the middle and shimmering water makes you completely relaxed.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2017

All around excellent

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Never been to la Fontana before, did not think the price was worth the food and experience, I ordered the special and my wife an item from the regular menu, the food was just ok no authentic Italian, there was a lot of noice and the interior of the restaurant looks too much like and 80's interpretation of Italian bistro, service was great. But would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Overall good. The appetizer and dessert were delicious, but rather disappointed with our main dishes. Mine was a pumpkin ravioli, but didn't taste like pumpkin and pasta was under cooked. My dates dish was bland and for having steak medallion barely had. Great service! Sweetest hostess

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Our meal was very good. We had a very annoying group of people seated next to us that made our dining experience less than great. But that wasn't the restaurant's fault.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We expected a 5* experience. Calamari was chewy, Lamb was not tender, pumpkin ravioli were tasteless, Manager was wearing an ill-fitting suit with name tag sideways. It was a disappointment. First time, and it was Mothers Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The experience, as always, was superb! The special attention of chef Beppe improved, if possible, the great meal...Also his suggestions were on target to our taste. Whenever we want to have a non-ordinary meal, Fontana is our only choice! We keep coming back for more.
Great place if you want to impress a visiting guest.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Authentic and inventive menu. Beautiful indoor and outdoor seating. Great mixologists and a wide selection of wines. Professional service. Have a cocktail before dinner at the Biltmore Bar. It's a lovely destination for dinner or a special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Historic, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Fabulous food and service, as always! We keep going back! Great for pre-theater dining. Everytime we go to the Gable Stage we have dinner at Fontana, and we are always delighted!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We sometimes go to Fontana pre GablesStage. We would not recommend it otherwise because the food is not stellar. We steer clear of anything with red sauce because the sauce is not to our liking. This time we shared a Caesar which was very good. I had a half dish of pasta with clams, a good portion for a small appetite. My husband had ravioli in a thick cheese sauce - he felt the pasta was undercooked. Our waitress was pleasant but need seasoning/training. The wine by the glass is horrendously expensive! You can't beat the amazing romantic courtyard setting!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

A huge fan of the breakfast buffet. Everything you need, top quality and get a seat around the fountain to make it extra special

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Fabulous lunch. We all enjoyed ourselves. Food was delicious.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had an absolutely wonderful dinner. The food and atmosphere was amazing. Our waitress was phenomenal. We especially liked that you can get a half of an order. My kids cannot eat a full meal and that was a nice option. We would definitely recommend this restaraunt.

Tags: Scenic View, Family Style, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Fontana at the Biltmore Hotel can be many things, because as a hotel restaurant it does daily breakfast and lunch, it hosts the Biltmore's popular Sunday brunch, it caters weddings and conventions as well as private dinners, and it also does moonlight dinners in its spectacular courtyard. I am reviewing "dinner" and not its many other offerings.

Dinner is Italian/Continental dining in the Biltmore's spectacular outdoor fountain courtyard; hence, "Fontana." The menu is extensive, with an array of fresh pastas, as well as steaks, chops and seafood. There is nothing the least bit trendy about the cooking style, and it cherishes its Old World qualities. Overall, what comes from the kitchen is pretty darn good, even if nothing is going to rate a hipster's "awesome."

Service, however, can be well meaning but spotty. Our food and wine seemed to come very slowly while tables around us seemed to be served quickly. We received many apologies from our waiter and from the several gentlemen in suits who seem to roam the courtyard, greeting regulars and seemingly engaging in full blown conversations with many patrons. But still our service dragged on. Thankfully, when served, we enjoyed our plates and agreed this would be a fine spot to entertain out-of-town dinner guests.

The setting is beautiful during the day and spectacular at night. Indoor seating and covered seating is available, but sitting under the stars near the fountain is wonderful when the season is especially inviting.

We are neighbors to the Biltmore, but would imagine that hotel guests and those visiting just for the evening would be impressed, even if not awed.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Perhaps we picked the wrong night (forecast was for cool weather) but the place was dead, food was ordinary. Nothing really to commend this place. Nothing wrong, but nothing right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Four of us had so so meals. Pasta and lobster was chewy and I would not recommend it. The service was nice but slow. We should have sent st least two if our dishes back to redo.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Friday night paella and sangria is very good. With Caesar I was given a huge dish of superb anchovies if that's your thing. Serving staff is usually spread a little thin, but if you are in no hurry it's ok. The courtyard dining is nice during cool months. Easy to park on huge lot to west of hotel.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Great food and ambience in a beautiful setting. We dined outdoors in the lovely courtyard. Attentive service and knowledgeable staff.
They also have a price fixe menu which is quite reasonable for 3 courses.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Beautiful place; terrible food
Veal served cold. Chicken parmigiana the worst I ever had: thick slab of tough and tasteless chicken
Pasta was fine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 27, 2017

A perfect location for a romantic evening. Ask to sit near the fountain...it is astonishingly beautiful!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Overall a very disappointing evening. Initially sat inside but the noise from the kitchen was so loud we asked to be moved outside, the young lady who showed us to our table wasn't too happy with having to move us. Once we sat down several members of staff came over to check on drinks etc. No one seemed to know what the other was doing. The gentleman who took our wine order bought the bottle (white) to the table, it was warm. We actually had to ask for a ice bucket, which he brought over and then left the bottle on table! Then the waitress came over asking if we needed drinks, she some how missed the bottle (still) on the table. After quite sometime the waitress came back to take our orders, only to remember that she hadn't remembered to tell us about the specials. That out of the way she left and returned 5 mins later. Orders taken. Bread arrived....we're still waiting for the olive oil and balsamic vinegar! Food was delivered and that's the last we saw of anyone until they came to clear the plates...one at a time while others were still eating! Not once did anyone come back to our table to pour the wine, ask if we wanted more wine, or anything else to drink. The food however was good, although surprised no one came to the table to and offer freshly grated pepper and cheese. Brooke at the small lobby bar was very nice, really the only positive of the whole evening when it came to staff and customer service, we expected so much more from the Biltmore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We were at Fontana for an early dinner. It's is a great restaurant in a historic hotel building with a super cute courtyard. Our waitress Roberta was awesome and took great care of us. Food was delicious and fresh as usual.

Tags: Historic, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Great service, mixed seafood grill special was perfectly cooked and a nice presentation.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Excellent as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Good...is average for the cost. Nice views and a good place to bond with loved ones. Convenient if you're a guest at the hotel.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Excellent food and exceptional service! Perfect for a special treat or any occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Service was superb. Meant for those who seek a romantic evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Beautiful set up and wonderful food. The server was very personable and professional, and the greeters were prompt and welcoming.

Tags: Cozy, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Went to Fontana for dinner date with my girlfriend. Food was OK, but service was extremely poor. Our server (Jesica) was inattentive and forgot to put in part of my food order. After returning home, I noticed on my bank account that I had been charged for my meal, along with another $200 check that wasn't mine. I called the restaurant and the manager initially told me that I was mistaken and had only been charged for my meal. After telling him the amount of the incorrect charge, he admitted that the server had been mistakenly charged me someone else's meal as well as mine. He said that this had occurred when I was still at the restaurant and that the charged had been voided. However, neither the manager or server bothered to inform me of this error prior to me leaving the restaurant. When I asked the manager about this, he said that this would all be fixed in 2-3 days when the charges were reversed. When I asked the manager to confirm that because of a mistake by the restaurant that I would be out $200 until the bank reversed the charges, he said there was nothing he could do about it. For a place that likes to tout itself as a 5 star establishment locally, the Fontana does not seem to care about customer service or admitting when they make a mistake and fixing the mistake on the spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 10, 2017

An amazing meal in an extraordinary setting. If the weather permits, sit outside by the fountain. It is unforgettable. The meal was delicious and service was friendly, a little distracted by an enormous birthday party. The manager was outstanding and checked on us multiple times. This was a really special experience. Highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Nice restaurant , good atmosphere, first time for up charge for pasta on a pasta dish

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 3, 2017

New menu includes some great Italian dishes like gnocchi, other pastas. Very kid friendly. Excellent fries and mini bottle of Heinz. Attentive service. Great atmosphere. Love the Biltmore dining options.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Wonderful dining experience. Enjoyed by my family on a special occasion.

Tags: Family Style, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Great romantic place in an historic hotel. There are few of these historic places remaining that show the pure old world heritage for great dining.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Wonderful italian food with a great atmosphere outside. Definitely recommend outside sitting!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We had dinner there with friends from out of town. While the restaurant was crowded, the noise level was quite low.
The ambiance was wonderful as always, the food was outstanding . Our friends are
From New Orleans and are world travelers.
They remarked that the restaurant was absolutely spectacular!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.