Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.68mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.68mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.68mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.68mi

About Fontana at the Biltmore Hotel

Enjoy Traditional Italian Cuisine at its best in the Fontana, our resort casual grille featuring outdoor dining in a tropical fountain centered courtyard or indoor seating surrounding and open kitchen with a wide variety of specialties.

1200 Anastasia Avenue
Coral Gables, FL 33134
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 6:30am - 11:30am; Lunch Daily: 11:30am - 5:00pm; Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Granada

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 445-8066 ext. 2407

Website:
http://www.biltmorehotel.com/dining/fontana.php

Entertainment:
Live Jazz in the Biltmore Bar each night!

Parking Details:
Hotel self parking and private lot also available.

Executive Chef:
Giuseppe Galazzi

Private Party Facilities:
Large parties up to 30 guests for Courtyard Dining.

Private Party Contact:
Raquel Alaniz: (305) 445-8066 ext. 2407

Additional:
Bar Dining, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
Large group menus available

Fontana at the Biltmore Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (33)
Special Occasion (27)
Great for Outdoor Dining (26)
See All
Historic (23)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Good for a Date (16)
Business Meals (13)
Scenic View (12)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Casual (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Cozy (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Authentic (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Fun (3)
Family Style (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Seasonal (1)
Healthy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Waterfront (1)
Fireplace (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
717 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 6 days ago

Good...is average for the cost. Nice views and a good place to bond with loved ones. Convenient if you're a guest at the hotel.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent food and exceptional service! Perfect for a special treat or any occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Service was superb. Meant for those who seek a romantic evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Beautiful set up and wonderful food. The server was very personable and professional, and the greeters were prompt and welcoming.

Tags: Cozy, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Went to Fontana for dinner date with my girlfriend. Food was OK, but service was extremely poor. Our server (Jesica) was inattentive and forgot to put in part of my food order. After returning home, I noticed on my bank account that I had been charged for my meal, along with another $200 check that wasn't mine. I called the restaurant and the manager initially told me that I was mistaken and had only been charged for my meal. After telling him the amount of the incorrect charge, he admitted that the server had been mistakenly charged me someone else's meal as well as mine. He said that this had occurred when I was still at the restaurant and that the charged had been voided. However, neither the manager or server bothered to inform me of this error prior to me leaving the restaurant. When I asked the manager about this, he said that this would all be fixed in 2-3 days when the charges were reversed. When I asked the manager to confirm that because of a mistake by the restaurant that I would be out $200 until the bank reversed the charges, he said there was nothing he could do about it. For a place that likes to tout itself as a 5 star establishment locally, the Fontana does not seem to care about customer service or admitting when they make a mistake and fixing the mistake on the spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 10, 2017

An amazing meal in an extraordinary setting. If the weather permits, sit outside by the fountain. It is unforgettable. The meal was delicious and service was friendly, a little distracted by an enormous birthday party. The manager was outstanding and checked on us multiple times. This was a really special experience. Highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Nice restaurant , good atmosphere, first time for up charge for pasta on a pasta dish

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Wonderful dining experience. Enjoyed by my family on a special occasion.

Tags: Family Style, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Great romantic place in an historic hotel. There are few of these historic places remaining that show the pure old world heritage for great dining.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Wonderful italian food with a great atmosphere outside. Definitely recommend outside sitting!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We had dinner there with friends from out of town. While the restaurant was crowded, the noise level was quite low.
The ambiance was wonderful as always, the food was outstanding . Our friends are
From New Orleans and are world travelers.
They remarked that the restaurant was absolutely spectacular!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Upon arrival for a long weekend at the Biltmore we chose to enjoy an afternoon by the pool, on the golf course and end the day with a relaxed dinner in the hotel at Fontana. The day did not disappoint nor did the dinner. From the basket of freshly baked breads to the palm tree filled outdoor dining, dinner was a delightful experience. The menu and wine list are typically northern Italian and the preparation and presentation of our entrees was lovely. I am sure you can find more unique preparations elsewhere but the total package here, taking into account ambiance and service, may be hard to find elsewhere.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 20, 2017

The ambience was lovely with a view of the tower and the sound of the fountain. The waiter was attentive. It was quiet so we were able to converse. The food was delicious.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Beautiful courtyard setting with fountain and impressive architecture

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Lovely Italian restaurant. Definitely ambiance is much more appealing outdoors when there isn't a wedding taking place which will make it noisy. We go often, ask for a table outside and food has not disappointed us at all.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Beautiful place! Great place to eat anytime of the day! Service was great. Food tasted good! Not amazing but good, was like homemade! The plate I got was kinda small but not all plates are so nothing to really worry about. Definitely would recommend for a date or even just to eat with family & friends. Will return soon!

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Loved everything about this dining experience - staff was incredibly helpful and friendly, from the first phone call I made to confirm the reservation, to being seated and served at the table; the ambiance was both beautiful and energetic; the food was outstanding. I can't wait to go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great place to Eat,, slow service,, we never got our water filled , we poured the last half our bottle of wine . We live the the neighborhood and eat at All your restaurants just was not thrilled.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Il was great but I can still understand why they left the music on from the speakers when there was a saxophonist playing moody music.
The Waiter offered us flat water during our meal and we had to pay 8$ for a Tuscan bottle.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food was very good and the service was very good.
We will definitely go back and we will definitely recommend it to other couples

Tags: Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food was delicious. Prepared as ordered. Service was great. Sat next to the fountain. Excellent restaurant!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Charming courtyard setting, excellent food including great homemade pasta, elegant but informal atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 6, 2017

It was an amazing experience! So romantic and so perfect! The service and also the food exceptional.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Fontana is a very good option because the food is delicious and the place is beautiful.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The historic Biltmore is the setting for indoor or outdoor dinning. Great service and food. I liked the $39 three course dinner. Good value. The service is always top notch.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 28, 2017

I believe that I have nothing else to add to the above ratings!

Tags: Waterfront, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 22, 2017

If you want a flawless and romantic evening, this is the place to come.

On special occasions, we always visit the Biltmore Hotel's La Fontana restaurant in Coral Gables or Truluck's on Brickell.

For our wedding anniversary, I surprised my wife and had a chauffeured limo pick us up in Miami Lakes and drive us to the Biltmore.

Ambiance:

Presidents Reagan and Clinton stayed here whenever they visited Miami.

La Fontana is beyond classy. It is located in the 5 star spanish style Biltmore hotel.
The restaurant is located in the hotel's main courtyard, with a large spanish fountain at its center. The courtyard is surrounded by potted palm trees and orchids and illuminated with spanish/moroccan type ceiling lamps.

We sat next to the center courtyard fountain.

Service
The waiter was fast, courteous, knowledgeable and always on the lookout without being obvious.

Food:

As soon as they sat us down and gave us the wine and meal menus, the waiter came and left a small basket with various types of bread. The bread had a hint of rosemary and garlic, which was very tasty. We then ordered a bottle of Italian spring water. -Do not order tap water.

For starters, we had an antipasto of shrimp and squid that was delicious.

For the main course we ordered filet Mignon with a contorno of asparagus, accompanied by spanish Rioja wine. The filet was cooked to perfection, medium rare. It melted in my mouth.

We topped it all with tiramisu desert and coffee.

Everything was extraordinary, as usual, except for the asparagus, which was a little hard.

Price:
The meal was about $270 dollars, which is middle of the pack in such high end restaurants.
It is worth every penny.

We will come again for Valentie's day.

Eddy L.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Great food staff excellent and Brian the manger was austandin will be back for sure

Tags: Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 14, 2017

wonderful location. gorgeous setting. like being on vacation in Europe. very quiet.. service is very nice. nice , varied menu.food is average.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Beautiful atmosphere and great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 5, 2017

We sat outside by the fountain hoping to have a wonderful dinner for my husband's birthday. I was very disappointed when people started smoking next to my table. I feel that this should be a smoke free restaurant, people smoking next to us made our experience at the restaurant very awful.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 5, 2017

The lobster and shrimps were the toughest seafood that we ever encountered. Unedible.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Excellent food, service & atmosphere. Had a great afternoon with the family.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Afternoon Coffee, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Setting at Fontana is very nice, even though we were sat in the loggia are and not near the fountain. We were told they had no tables available, but 3-4 tables near fountain were never used while we were there. I expected more as an open table vip. Good was good, but definitely not great.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The Patio is always a wonderful place to eat at anytime. Especially a good pick for visitors to Miami. In general food on a recent visit was only passable and for the price, totally unexceptable. Service was friendly, prompt and efficient. We have had good meals here in the past and don't know if this was just an "off-night", but it was embarrassing as we were entertaining guests and showing off the Biltmore Hotel to our visitors.
We will try this restaurant again, but were sadly disappointed in our last visit.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The venue is beautiful. The service was excellent. The food was hit and miss, meaning some of us had a great meal and others not so great.
Their tiramisu dessert was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Service was extremely slow and food was marginal. Ambiance is lovely.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Went for the special Christmas Eve dinner and disappointed generally including value. Would not recommend or return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 23, 2016

All services were excellent except that they did not honor our membership discount, 20% that we were entitled as members of the Baltimore program/BA

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.