About Fontana at the Biltmore Hotel

1200 Anastasia Avenue
Coral Gables, FL 33134
View Larger Map

Enjoy Mediterranean Cuisine at its best in the Fontana, our resort casual grille featuring outdoor dining in a tropical fountain centered courtyard or indoor seating surrounding and open kitchen with a wide variety of specialties.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 6:30am - 11:30am; Lunch Daily: 11:30am - 5:00pm; Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Granada

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 445-8066 ext. 2407

Website:
http://www.biltmorehotel.com/dining/fontana.php

Entertainment:
Live Jazz in the Biltmore Bar each night!

Parking Details:
Hotel self parking and private lot also available.

Executive Chef:
Giuseppe Galazzi

Private Party Facilities:
Large parties up to 30 guests for Courtyard Dining.

Private Party Contact:
Raquel Alaniz: 3054458066x2407

Additional:
Bar Dining, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
Large group menus available

Restaurant Photos

Ravioli Neri
Pollo Parmigiana
Assorted Sea Food Platter
Waffle Red Fruits
Nigiri Sushi
Mushroom Stuffed Quail in Black Rice Risotto
Assorted Chocolate Desserts
Chocolate Muffin
Crostata di Cioccolato e Nocciola
Millefoglie
Tiramisu
Linguini Pescatora

Fontana at the Biltmore Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Miami - Dade County
Best Restaurants in Coral Gables / Coral Way ›

great for outdoor dining (43)
special occasion (38)
romantic (36)
See All
fit for foodies (17)
notable wine list (17)
neighborhood gem (15)
great for brunch (14)
great for lunch (11)
scenic view (10)
good for groups (8)
hot spot (5)
kid-friendly (2)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
562 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Exceptional service, very good food, goo ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Exceptional service, very good food, good price. Wine list and price a littke in the top side.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Fabulous venue with an impressive menu. ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Fabulous venue with an impressive menu. Great night.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

We have been going to Fontana for many y ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

We have been going to Fontana for many years and always enjoy it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the restaurant, food and everythin ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Loved the restaurant, food and everything about it..............service was wonderful as well. Would highly recommend this restaurant to my friends and family

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Fantastic Anniversary Dinner

Dined on June 5, 2016

This is a great special occasion destination. The service was just incredibly great - relaxed, professional, and accommodating without being snooty. Great Caesar Salad - not filled with excess liquid - just full of flavor - perfect. Then an especially good tuna tartare that is served on a chopped avocado base with just-right spicing paired perfectly with a Miura Pinot Noir. Swordfish entrees were slightly cooked past our preference but still managed to taste fresh and sweet. Fresh berries and cream for dessert finished off the meal with a light finish. This is a superbly run restaurant with great food and wine. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Beautiful setting but food not on par

vip
Dined on June 2, 2016

While the setting was very nice, especially the outdoor patio with the fountain (but it's Florida so you'll only be able to truly enjoy this during certain times of the year), the food wasn't great and certainly not what I expected. The fish was quite tasty but the Caesar salad was overdressed and the pasta was way too al dente. The Bolognese sauce was pretty good though. And the service was top notch. Also a very good wine by the glass selection.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place to celebrate....

Dined on June 1, 2016

Had never been to Fontana, but decided to venture for an anniversary. Found the food, service and ambiance to be excellent. Would repeat and recommend....

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Perfect but for ho-hum food

Dined on May 21, 2016

It's hard to beat the lush courtyard setting of Fontana at the Biltmore Hotel. Close your eyes for a moment and you might imagine the din of a Roman piazza, replete with bubbling fountain. While the setting is certain to impress your paramour, the food fell slightly short. Not bad, mind you, just perhaps a bit outdone by the ambiance and not quite up to the molto grosso prices.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had a wonderful time the ambience was ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

I had a wonderful time the ambience was amazing, the staff was very friendly and polite all together a top quality hotel with history that follows.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

The pasta was undercooked and the clams ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

The pasta was undercooked and the clams were old. Great wine and romantic setting but not worth the price for a second visit.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service3

Beautiful ambience when seated outside, ...

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

Beautiful ambience when seated outside, nice outdoor fountain in open atrium like setting. The food was definitely average, not up to the ambience. Wait service was average.

food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Food was ok, but the ambiance was spectacular.

Dined on May 7, 2016

I had the special Lobster pasta. The pasta was delicious, but it's just pasta....the lobster was over cooked and difficult to remove from the shell. The dish was overpriced for the end result chewy small overcooked lobster and a little pile of pasta.... No fine dining experience. The kitchen staff should have at least removed and then replaced the meat in the shell for presentation and easy eating. In addition lobster is not difficult to prepare and prepare well this was like chewing gum. Unfortunate.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent service from the entire staff.

vip
Dined on April 25, 2016

Excellent service from the entire staff.

food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Great but pricey.

vip
Dined on April 25, 2016

Great outdoor dining venue Excellent service. Just very pricey even for great Italian food and wine.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing Power Lunch

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

Husband and I had lunch at Fontana while in town. The power lunch is $25 and includes soup, salad, protein, dessert and sangria. Each one of us ordered different choices and loved every dish. The setting in the garden was beautiful and relaxing. Choices were good and delicious. We will defiantly go back for lunch when in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service food and ambiance!

Dined on April 20, 2016

We will definitely return as they treated us as family. The octopus was presented in the best manner I have experienced and was prepared deliciously. My darling wife had the gnocchi and described it as wonderful! An absolutely wonderful experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

We done at Fontana quite frequently. The ...

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

We done at Fontana quite frequently. The food, service, and outdoor seating is alway consistent. Wonderful outdoor dining.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Exceptional food, service and ambiance.

vip
Dined on April 4, 2016

Exceptional food, service and ambiance. The attention to detail is phenomenal. The ambiance is beautiful. The wine list is bountiful. The food is delightful and you could not ask for a nicer setting than the Biltmore.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service and high quality breakfast choices

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

The service was very attentive and professional. The breakfast selections were varied and well balanced. Choices available for the fruit lovers and the bacon and egg crowd alike. Highly recommended.

Tags: kid-friendly
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Breakfast in the courtyard

vip
Dined on March 24, 2016

We stopped at the Biltmore for breakfast at Fontana in the courtyard under the fountain. It proved to be a wonderful treat for our family -- the food, the service and the setting were all top-notch.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Romantic Dinner

Dined on March 14, 2016

What a great experience, wonderful service, nice and quiet. Excellent food. Not too pricey for an exquisite meal.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Feels like you are al fresco in Italia

Dined on March 1, 2016

great food wine service Very romantic al fresco dining under the stars and serenaded by Italian love songs trickling waterfalls of fountain and gentle breezes of palm trees

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good

Dined on February 20, 2016

We have visited Fontanamany times because it is convenient for pre show at the GablesStage. Prior experiences showed us that avoiding their pastas was the way to go, as their sauces are not good. This time we had veal scalloping and chicken Parmesan, good choices both, though the chicken had too much cheese for my taste. A shared Brussels sprout was quite good, and a fresh mixed berry dessert. We wouldn't venture here just to eat at Fontana, though.

food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Enchanting

Dined on February 18, 2016

The wine dinner was enchanting. The food was perfectly paired with the fabulous wines. The service was very accommodating of special requests. The setting with the moonlight was very romantic.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

So relaxing

vip
Dined on February 18, 2016

We were a party of 3. One of us had a Caesar salad with salmon, then a side pasta with tomato sauce and small salad, and then a seafood salad. Everything was delicious. The service was very good and the environment being outside by the fountain was so relaxing. It is such a gem!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Ambiance excellent but the food was a B- .

Dined on February 16, 2016

The ambiance and setting of the restaurant are excellent. The food was fair. My husband had the swordfish which was very good, but the lamb I ordered was dry and tasteless. The bread was fair - we had to ask for butter. For the price of the meal they can certainly offer a better choice of bread. The wine we ordered was very good. Overall the experience was "nothing to write home about". We enjoyed the night, however we think the quality of the restaurant food has declined.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Not Great

Dined on February 14, 2016

We went to The Fontana for our Valentines dinner. I made the reservation at the last minute. When we arrived at the front of the restaurant the guy told us it was a mistake because they were fully booked but said he was going to find me a table anyways. We sit inside, which was OK for us. Since it was Valentines, they changed the menu to a two page menu, one page a three course valentines menu and another page with very few plates, (forcing you to chose the Valentines Menu). We chose the Valentines menu and I expected a great exquisite food but it was OK. We asked for Filet mignon and lobster plate, lobster was hard and my husbands steak was cold in the middle. Even though they said they were fully booked, there were a lot of empty tables. Not coming back, did not meet my expectation for the price I paid.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience5
service5

Food was, overall,very plain. Definitely ...

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Food was, overall,very plain. Definitely not going back.

food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Not what's expected

Dined on February 14, 2016

Great outdoor dining venue. Service was very slow..extremely, although our waitress was very nice. Food was just ok.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

pacovaradero

Dined on February 14, 2016

I'm a food lover and for far this is the best restaurant overall, the food exquisite.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Disappointing

vip
Dined on February 12, 2016

Beautiful setting, outstanding service, but food not up to par. My carpaccio was thick and tough, and my lobster ravioli was tasteless. Don't know if they had a bad night or if this is the new normal, but the food used to be much better here.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We are repeat guests at this restaurant ...

vip
Dined on February 7, 2016

We are repeat guests at this restaurant and would consider it to be good food, ambience and service is adequate. Not fit for foodies but a good staple.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

Superb in food and service plus ambiance ...

vip
Dined on February 3, 2016

Superb in food and service plus ambiance is fabulous

food3
ambience5
service2

How I would love to praise this restaura ...

vip
Dined on January 29, 2016

How I would love to praise this restaurant, which boasts one of the loveliest settings in the entire county, especially the outdoor courtyard, which is breathtaking in its serenity. Unfortunately, the food and service fall far short of expectations, especially the latter, particularly given the location in a luxury hotel adjacent to what is a lavishly praised five -star restaurant. At the bottom is the service. While it does not lack of sufficient personnel, most of their effort is spent walking around, past each other, ignoring tables and patrons. When they are attentive, the result is almost embarassing. At one point, while carrying food for our table, which we had waited for much too long, one server reversed course and walked away, seemingly because he was unsure which diner got which dish. And our pre-theatre party of seven, which arrived at 6, was unable to finish their pre-theatre dinner special before the need to leave at 7:45 even with the assistance of one of the restaurant's managers. The food, when it finally arrived, was acceptable, though our after theatre desserts, which we were unable to eat at our first sitting, were universally accompanied by lukewarm coffee. It is a shame that this lovely restaurant cannot get its act together, it would be a positively memorable experience if the service and food were remotely up to the setting. Unfortunately, what one does remember is almost too painful to talk about.

food2
ambience1
service2
value2

Not impressed at all

Dined on January 23, 2016

Overall just "blah." The food was mediocre at best. The tuna tartar had no taste. My lobster pasta which was $30 lacked seasoning and overall taste. The best part was the bread basket. To be honest, we expected more out of the Biltmore. I went there expecting a really good birthday lunch and just left disappointed. Apparently it is good for brunch. Would not recommend for lunch at all and will definitely not be going back. Completely overpriced for the quality of the food.

food5
ambience5
service4

I love brunching here. The options are e ...

vip
Dined on January 17, 2016

I love brunching here. The options are endless and the food is great plus you get bottomless throughout the entire Time you are there. But it's pricy you should go around 10am and leave at 3 so you get your money worth jajajaja

food5
ambience4
service2
value4

checking and checking again

vip
Dined on January 16, 2016

During our second lunch at Fontana we were asked to confirm our room number no less than six times, which seemed a little odd. I don't think we looked like we were ready to bolt without paying. Other than that the food and setting were very pleasant.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

Our table was inside the Fontana but fel ...

Dined on January 2, 2016

Our table was inside the Fontana but felt as though it was in the lobby: my back to an exit sign and check in desk and my sight line directly into the kitchen. The décor was more of a cafeteria than an exclusive restaurant. Salad was very average. My risotto dish was excellent, Brussel sprouts outstanding; as were our desserts. The waiter was engaging and attentive. The first I received was inaccurate. Issues were resolved and an adjustment was offered.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite was the piano that I saw in the bar.

Dined on January 2, 2016

I recommend to have a violin player or jazz music to be still much better!!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

The food were not so good for the price. ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

The food were not so good for the price. Ravioles were without taste, and the meet was quite normal considering $150 (1 starter and 1 drink). It was not horrible, but I prefer to spend that money in other restaurant.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.