About Fontana at the Biltmore Hotel

Enjoy Traditional Italian Cuisine at its best in the Fontana, our resort casual grille featuring outdoor dining in a tropical fountain centered courtyard or indoor seating surrounding and open kitchen with a wide variety of specialties.

1200 Anastasia Avenue
Coral Gables, FL 33134
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 6:30am - 11:30am; Lunch Daily: 11:30am - 5:00pm; Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Granada

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 445-8066 ext. 2407

Website:
http://www.biltmorehotel.com/dining/fontana.php

Entertainment:
Live Jazz in the Biltmore Bar each night!

Parking Details:
Hotel self parking and private lot also available.

Executive Chef:
Giuseppe Galazzi

Private Party Facilities:
Large parties up to 30 guests for Courtyard Dining.

Private Party Contact:
Raquel Alaniz: (305) 445-8066 ext. 2407

Additional:
Bar Dining, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
Large group menus available

Fontana at the Biltmore Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (30)
Great for Outdoor Dining (28)
Special Occasion (26)
See All
Historic (23)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Good for a Date (17)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Business Meals (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Scenic View (9)
Authentic (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Casual (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Cozy (5)
Outstanding Value (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Fun (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Family Style (2)
Seasonal (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Healthy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Waterfront (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
704 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 4 days ago

The ambience was lovely with a view of the tower and the sound of the fountain. The waiter was attentive. It was quiet so we were able to converse. The food was delicious.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 5 days ago

Beautiful courtyard setting with fountain and impressive architecture

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 6 days ago

Lovely Italian restaurant. Definitely ambiance is much more appealing outdoors when there isn't a wedding taking place which will make it noisy. We go often, ask for a table outside and food has not disappointed us at all.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined 6 days ago

Beautiful place! Great place to eat anytime of the day! Service was great. Food tasted good! Not amazing but good, was like homemade! The plate I got was kinda small but not all plates are so nothing to really worry about. Definitely would recommend for a date or even just to eat with family & friends. Will return soon!

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined 7 days ago

Loved everything about this dining experience - staff was incredibly helpful and friendly, from the first phone call I made to confirm the reservation, to being seated and served at the table; the ambiance was both beautiful and energetic; the food was outstanding. I can't wait to go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great place to Eat,, slow service,, we never got our water filled , we poured the last half our bottle of wine . We live the the neighborhood and eat at All your restaurants just was not thrilled.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Il was great but I can still understand why they left the music on from the speakers when there was a saxophonist playing moody music.

The Waiter offered us flat water during our meal and we had to pay 8$ for a Tuscan bottle.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food was very good and the service was very good.

We will definitely go back and we will definitely recommend it to other couples

Tags: Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food was delicious. Prepared as ordered. Service was great. Sat next to the fountain. Excellent restaurant!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Charming courtyard setting, excellent food including great homemade pasta, elegant but informal atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 6, 2017

It was an amazing experience! So romantic and so perfect! The service and also the food exceptional.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Fontana is a very good option because the food is delicious and the place is beautiful.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The historic Biltmore is the setting for indoor or outdoor dinning. Great service and food. I liked the $39 three course dinner. Good value. The service is always top notch.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 28, 2017

I believe that I have nothing else to add to the above ratings!

Tags: Waterfront, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 22, 2017

If you want a flawless and romantic evening, this is the place to come.

On special occasions, we always visit the Biltmore Hotel's La Fontana restaurant in Coral Gables or Truluck's on Brickell.

For our wedding anniversary, I surprised my wife and had a chauffeured limo pick us up in Miami Lakes and drive us to the Biltmore.

Ambiance:

Presidents Reagan and Clinton stayed here whenever they visited Miami.

La Fontana is beyond classy. It is located in the 5 star spanish style Biltmore hotel.

The restaurant is located in the hotel's main courtyard, with a large spanish fountain at its center. The courtyard is surrounded by potted palm trees and orchids and illuminated with spanish/moroccan type ceiling lamps.

We sat next to the center courtyard fountain.

Service

The waiter was fast, courteous, knowledgeable and always on the lookout without being obvious.

Food:

As soon as they sat us down and gave us the wine and meal menus, the waiter came and left a small basket with various types of bread. The bread had a hint of rosemary and garlic, which was very tasty. We then ordered a bottle of Italian spring water. -Do not order tap water.

For starters, we had an antipasto of shrimp and squid that was delicious.

For the main course we ordered filet Mignon with a contorno of asparagus, accompanied by spanish Rioja wine. The filet was cooked to perfection, medium rare. It melted in my mouth.

We topped it all with tiramisu desert and coffee.

Everything was extraordinary, as usual, except for the asparagus, which was a little hard.

Price:

The meal was about $270 dollars, which is middle of the pack in such high end restaurants.

It is worth every penny.

We will come again for Valentie's day.

Eddy L.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Great food staff excellent and Brian the manger was austandin will be back for sure

Tags: Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 14, 2017

wonderful location. gorgeous setting. like being on vacation in Europe. very quiet.. service is very nice. nice , varied menu.food is average.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Beautiful atmosphere and great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 5, 2017

We sat outside by the fountain hoping to have a wonderful dinner for my husband's birthday. I was very disappointed when people started smoking next to my table. I feel that this should be a smoke free restaurant, people smoking next to us made our experience at the restaurant very awful.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 5, 2017

The lobster and shrimps were the toughest seafood that we ever encountered. Unedible.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Excellent food, service & atmosphere. Had a great afternoon with the family.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Afternoon Coffee, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Setting at Fontana is very nice, even though we were sat in the loggia are and not near the fountain. We were told they had no tables available, but 3-4 tables near fountain were never used while we were there. I expected more as an open table vip. Good was good, but definitely not great.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The Patio is always a wonderful place to eat at anytime. Especially a good pick for visitors to Miami. In general food on a recent visit was only passable and for the price, totally unexceptable. Service was friendly, prompt and efficient. We have had good meals here in the past and don't know if this was just an "off-night", but it was embarrassing as we were entertaining guests and showing off the Biltmore Hotel to our visitors.

We will try this restaurant again, but were sadly disappointed in our last visit.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The venue is beautiful. The service was excellent. The food was hit and miss, meaning some of us had a great meal and others not so great.

Their tiramisu dessert was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Service was extremely slow and food was marginal. Ambiance is lovely.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Went for the special Christmas Eve dinner and disappointed generally including value. Would not recommend or return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 23, 2016

All services were excellent except that they did not honor our membership discount, 20% that we were entitled as members of the Baltimore program/BA

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Excellent. White truffle season. Pasta w truffle dish expensive but well worth it as aspecial treat. Kudos to chef who came to our table with special samples of his rissotto w black truffle. Only negative was bar unable to make an appletini without using a poor mix...ambience wonderful. Will return

Tags: Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 18, 2016

I love this place...BUT....When they have other events booked in the hotel, especially those that have dance/party music, you can kiss the ambiance goodbye. you cant even hear the soothing music in the courtyard . all you can hear is the incessant thumping of Bass from the ballrooms that overlook the dining area. What a shame that they don't have a policy against such things. Really pretty stupid and inconsiderate.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 17, 2016

I have eaten here many times and every visit, I am not disappointed. Just lovely.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 11, 2016

El hotel es digno de visitar...y el pulpo el mejor de miami!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Disapointed- I was expecting much more considering it was at the Biltmore. Our main dish was good. The starter of fried calimari and shrimp - not the freshest but we had a good laugh huge plate of calimari with only 3 regular sized shrimp we shared the 3rd one. The drinks - I asked the server if they had pisco . She said yes and I asked if they know how to make a pisco sour. She said yes. It was horriable I returned it. Then asked for a grey goose and cran I even told her this way it could not be messed up, I swear it was just as bad. We had bread brought over while we fought over the shrimp. I asked for butter. I asked again at the start of dinner. I finally got it as I put down my knife and fork from dinner. Sucks that it was such a bad experience I was really looking forward to a nice dinner out with my husband as we never get to go out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Very expensive, but the quality of the food and service it made it a worthwhile experience. There was only a limited number of tables for for inside so that was a little bit of an issue even though we had a reservation.

The price fixed menu looked like a good value. Menu was expensive and there were something for everyone.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Food was excellent. Service was outstanding. Our waiter definitely made sure that we were able to get the food we wanted cooked the way we wanted.

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Casual, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 2, 2016

My husband and I were celebrating our 30th anniversary

We had a wonderful time, the food was delicious and our server Bianca was outstanding

Will definitely go back again

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Use to love to go to this restaurant until I dine last Thursday. I order a halibut which was so tough I needed a knife to cut it. The waiter was ok but I requested to talk to manager who did not have the decency to come talk to us. Now I know why your rating has been going down. Would not recommend any of my friends to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Generous portion of Filet Parmegiana! Excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Except for the cigar smoker at the next table which caused us to have to move, a good experience.

Never been to a restaurant that allowed this. I guess your chef doesn't care.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We visit Florida every year and try to stay at The Biltmore whenever we are in Miami. The Fontana is lovely, great food, lovely setting and wonderful staff. Not to be missed.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The ambience was lovely and it was quiet for talking. The waitress was not terribly attentive. The food was good but not great as it should be for the reputation. We ordered the pre-theater prix fixe and there were not enough choices --- no salads or soups and the entree was limited as well. People I was with enjoyed the swordfish. I did not find the shellfish to be fresh or seasoned well on the seafood risotto. The restaurant was able to substitute a salad which was very fresh and the dessert was lovely.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Fontana was as always great! We had a wonderful time with close friends and they enjoyed it as well. We spend our Thanksgiving there and we'll do again any time! Most exceptional environment, good food and attentive service! Thank you!

My additional comments are for OpenTable (and Fontana?): When I was booking the table online through OpenTable, you could not give me a table for 4 anytime before 9:00PM. Then, I reserved a table for 2 that was available at 6:30 PM . Later, I called the restaurant and I asked if they could accommodate 4 people at that table for 2 that I had reserved. They said : yes. From then on, everything worked out fine for us.

However, during the whole time we were at the restaurant (6:30 to 8:45 PM) we noticed that almost half of the tables were empty. My question is: why OpenTable did not give me the table for 4 when I was trying to book it?

Thank you for your attention.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 21, 2016

A great breakfast buffet perfect for business

They have everything you need from homemade granola , great Greek yogurts. Fresh fruits Majorca almonds.

Of course omelette made to order.

You can choose to eat indoors or outside by a fountain

Great place for quiet business breakfast where you can have conversations and not worry about having g your conversations over heard

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Patio is awsome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 13, 2016

A beautiful patio table with superb food and impeccable service.

The only negative was the cost of $6 per cup of cafe con leche!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 5, 2016

I came here with my friends we had a great time. The food and service was outstanding.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Historic, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 27, 2016

A very enjoyable evening with friends! The weather did not cooperate, but everything else was fine! Excellent service!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Attentive staff beautiful surroundings good food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Nice restaurant. OK food... good service except for busboy forgot to bring bread plates to all guests. Wine list good. Excellent Sancerre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Prior to the Gables Stage play my wife and daughter always enjoy pre-show dinner.

The atmosphere is great. The food is a great value and top notch. The service is excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Our server was charming and attentive and of course the atmosphere and ambiance were elegant and old world. The food however was really rather ordinary and uninteresting from a flavor perspective. My partner and I both had fish so perhaps something else is their specialty. I just think I for the price you can find far more interesting dishes elsewhere in Miami. Having said that do go for the beautiful setting and old world charm of this historic place...maybe for drinks which is what we plan to do next time.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.