About Fontana at the Biltmore Hotel

1200 Anastasia Avenue
Coral Gables, FL 33134
View Larger Map

Enjoy Traditional Italian Cuisine at its best in the Fontana, our resort casual grille featuring outdoor dining in a tropical fountain centered courtyard or indoor seating surrounding and open kitchen with a wide variety of specialties.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 6:30am - 11:30am; Lunch Daily: 11:30am - 5:00pm; Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Granada

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 445-8066 ext. 2407

Website:
http://www.biltmorehotel.com/dining/fontana.php

Entertainment:
Live Jazz in the Biltmore Bar each night!

Parking Details:
Hotel self parking and private lot also available.

Executive Chef:
Giuseppe Galazzi

Private Party Facilities:
Large parties up to 30 guests for Courtyard Dining.

Private Party Contact:
Raquel Alaniz: 3054458066x2407

Additional:
Bar Dining, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
Large group menus available

Restaurant Photos

Ravioli Neri
Pollo Parmigiana
Nigiri Sushi
Waffle Red Fruits
Assorted Sea Food Platter
Mushroom Stuffed Quail in Black Rice Risotto
Chocolate Muffin
Assorted Chocolate Desserts
Crostata di Cioccolato e Nocciola
Millefoglie
Linguini Pescatora
Tiramisu

Fontana at the Biltmore Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (31)
Romantic (28)
Special Occasion (26)
See All
Scenic View (15)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Great for Lunch (13)
Notable Wine List (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Good for a Date (9)
Great for Brunch (7)
Historic (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Cozy (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Organic (2)
Fun (2)
Casual (2)
Family Style (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Worth the Drive (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Business Meals (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Authentic (1)
People Watching (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Live Music (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
Newest
600 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great Miami Spice meal. Food Fresh and ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great Miami Spice meal. Food Fresh and well seasoned.

Regular menu is reasonably priced.

Waiters are very professional.

Of the many restaurants the I have enjoyed during the Spice season,

The Fontana is the best by far.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Casual, Good for a Date, People Watching, Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant, I actually never heard ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great restaurant, I actually never heard of it until that day that I went and now I want to go back. The service was very quick, very friendly waiter, had great knowledge of food when I asked him about certain dishes. Had a very great wine choice, also I'm happy that I didn't have to yell across the table to talk to my girlfriend. And after walking around the Biltmore hotel was fantastic, a great night indeed.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wine was great, outdoor dining was spect ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Wine was great, outdoor dining was spectacular, wait staff she was incredibly attentive and the food was delicious. And for all that the price was extremely reasonable.

Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was excellent!

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Everything was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the Miami Spice menu, delicious fr ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

I had the Miami Spice menu, delicious fried calamaris and the pork shop was juicy and tender. Outstanding service. Will come back before Miami Spice season comes to the end.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was attentive and charming. T ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Our server was attentive and charming. The food was, however, very disappointing. We chose from the Miami Spice menu and the servings were very paltry and unappealing. The salad looked like the left over of someone else's salad. The cannelonis were over cooked and pale. No cheese, no sauce, bland. The parmesan chicken my guests had looked better but it was served alone on 1/4 of the empty bare dish. How about adding some slices of roasted potatoes or/and carrots for a better and tastier presentation. Likewise the two canneloni looked very lonely in the middle of the plate. The desserts were tasty. It's Miami Spice folks. You're supposed to entice your guests to come back, not ensure that they won't.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value1

Went to Fontana as we stayed for Labor D ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Went to Fontana as we stayed for Labor Day Weekend. Loved the menu at Fontana, especially the Miami Spice one. Everything was delicious and our service was tops! Our server, a very nice young man was superb. I am sorry I forgot his name but he is tall and wears glasses. He was a true professional in his job and when we return to Fontana, I will ask for him. In conclusion, my husband and 8 were very pleased with the attention, food and service we received.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

there were flies in the drinks the food ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

there were flies in the drinks the food was horrible the service was slow the seafood was old and fishy, when I sent back the drinks they didn't even offer a free drink there were flies in my daughters drink and also in mine.

I would never go back to this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Not a good choice for Miami Spice, selec ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Not a good choice for Miami Spice, selection and size of the portions was not as expected

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Wonderful food and service. Would have l ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Wonderful food and service. Would have loved to sit outside but weather was disappointing.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was very pleased overall with the serv ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

I was very pleased overall with the service and the food! Hats off to the chef! The only issue I did have was that I precalled to let them know we were celebrating our anniversary and there was never any mention of this. Additionally, I did ask if they do anything special and they said they would call me back. never heard back.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

better than most for Italian food. miami ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

better than most for Italian food. miami spice menu has been excelent for both lunch and dinner. Food is not consistant when chef is not there.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for a Miami spice lunch and ever ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We went for a Miami spice lunch and everything was perfect. The food was delicious, the portion was a good size and the service was excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Since we went for a lunch and enjoyed ou ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Since we went for a lunch and enjoyed our Miami Spice menu, we recommend to friends to join us for diner at la Fontana. The diner experience was very disappointing. The service was really bad. The white wine came hot and even after 15 minutes in the ice, it was still too hot to drink. After insisting, the waiter finally came to sense and replaced it with a cold bottle. The three-course meals of the Miami Spice menu were dull. Embarassed to have recommended the place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

A bit disappointing. Food was good,not g ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

A bit disappointing. Food was good,not great. Meat was dry and bland, not noteworthy. Ambiance was very noisy due to many young children in attendance, no sound deadening devices noticed. Do not plan n returning anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value4

Great ambiance and quality,also The se ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Great ambiance and quality,also The service was excellent.my tenderloins were about were a tad over cooked ,requested med.rare and they were medium but still very good I always enjoy the built more

Tags: Healthy, Open Kitchen, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous experience. Beautiful setting, ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Fabulous experience. Beautiful setting, super attentive service, wonderful food. Took my family for an anniversary dinner, very glad I did.

Tags: Historic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great wait staff, and good food!

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great wait staff, and good food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointed with the Miami spice experi ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Disappointed with the Miami spice experience. The pulpo was not very refined, the fish over cooked. The desserts were nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Today food wasn't very good but I went l ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Today food wasn't very good but I went last Friday and dinner was delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

A perfect experience for a special occas ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

A perfect experience for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Front desk reservations /maitre d' was s ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Front desk reservations /maitre d' was snooty.Menu offered a good variety and food was good, a little short of outstanding. Restaurant was quiet, nice for normal conversation. Service was attentive.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

We ordered a bottle of wine and it came ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We ordered a bottle of wine and it came back, without explanation from the waiter, with the wrong vintage. After pointing it out, the waiter checked and returned, offering us the newer vintage at the same price as the older, more desirable vintage. We passed and ordered a different bottle. Same problem with the vintage and no explanation again. The food was hit and miss. The eggplant appetizer was the best portion of the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

It is one of the best on the Miami Spice ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

It is one of the best on the Miami Spice list because besides of the good food and presentation, the portions were acceptable in size or portion. The appetizer that had prosciutto, tomato with fresh mozzarella had a generous portion of prosciutto that I shared with my husband. The bread basket had a lot of variety and all were good and the pear/almond tart was excellent. I would come back because besides the food, the service is excellent and the ambiance is a combination of casual and refined.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Everything was excellent, two things cou ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Everything was excellent, two things could be improved:

1. Service: Although very attentive and prompt, it seemed not coordinated. I would recommend you assign a waiter to the table to keep up attention and avoid double and triple asking.

2. It was hot and humid, which is understandable in the tropicals. However there were not ceiling fans over every table and the big air boosters were not in operation. We sweated.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We came here to try the Miami Spice lunc ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We came here to try the Miami Spice lunch. The food was excellent. The rib-eye steak was tender and delicious. The appetizer salad was creative and tasty. The key lime tart dessert was refreshing and nicely presented. Our friends who tried the grilled octopus appetizer and cod entree and chocolate hazelnut cake enjoyed those choices as well.

The service was quite attentive and the staff was most pleasant.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Upon entering the restaurant, there was ...

 
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Upon entering the restaurant, there was no accommodation made that was promised the day before.

Then we were given a reason without a resolution to the problem. The manager on duty was requested twice (shouldn't have been at all). At an establishment like the Biltmore, it should've been obvious to address the table from the start. The wait staff was excellent! The food was good (well, one of the two main courses). At the end, we were encouraged to drink an apology drink right before desert was arriving. When I said no thanks, we were informed that it was already made so "just take a sip". Really? No is no!

I think the manager went well, but it was an overall bad experience and waste of money. I would only give the restaurant another try on their tab.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Our table for 8 adults was all set up an ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Our table for 8 adults was all set up and ready for us with a a high chair for one of my grandsons and plenty of space around the table for my grand-daughter's stroller, just as I had requested in advance. The food was delicious and offered plenty of good choices, and the service was among the best ever. Thanks Fontana for a great family dining experience!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

My mother took my husband and me out for ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

My mother took my husband and me out for dinner here a few nights ago. All the food was very good and the service was wonderful as well.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Total disappointment, not fit for foodie ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Total disappointment, not fit for foodies, it appears they use frozen (precooked) sea food medley for all their dishes, they add salad leaves for same precooked seafood to make a salad. They take the same seafood add canned tomato puree with some spices and raw onions to make a seafood dish. I don't think there is any Real Chef there, else such a nice place and food is only good for quick business lunches and people who don't know much about real Mediterranean food. Absolutely not worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Great experience, for the second time. E ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Great experience, for the second time. Excellent service and ambiance.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the few mediocre experiences we' ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

One of the few mediocre experiences we've had at a neighborhood favorite.

The halibut was bland, as was my wife's pasta...

Service as not as attentive as normal, and it was just a disappointing evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

We spent a family weekend at the Biltmor ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We spent a family weekend at the Biltmore as part of our family holiday the Fontana was a lovely treat we also had breakfast there and that was a pleasure too , lovely staff very friendly .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The hostess started the evening off with ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The hostess started the evening off with a perfect table to accommodate all of us...our waitress was great. Was considerate to the needs of our children eating first and helping us choose the right dish. The colors, taste and presentation were superior. Look forward to going back for another delicious meal in the right setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent place and great food! Fit for ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Excellent place and great food! Fit for any occasion.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Exceptional service, very good food, goo ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Exceptional service, very good food, good price. Wine list and price a littke in the top side.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fontana is the less formal Italian resta ...

 
 (Zürich)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Fontana is the less formal Italian restaurant at the Biltmore, as compared to the gastronomic La Palme d'Or. Particularly beautiful setting in the patio.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Terrible experience for our Fathers Day. ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Terrible experience for our Fathers Day. We made reservation for Fathers day brunch they gave us the breakfast buffet instead even after confirming appointment a few days ago. Terrible communication. Even after we explained our dissatisfaction, the assistant mgr, miguel marin, offer to take care of our bill only to come back and tell us his manager, Predrag Stavceric, will only honor 20 percent off. Honestly we didn't care or expect them to pay for our bill however it just proves my point of the terrible communication. Thought this was a 5 star hotel? Definitely not 5 star service! Thanks Biltmore for starting my husband special day so negatively. Also it's Fathers day ! train your staff to be respectful and wish your male patrons a happy fathers day as they come in.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Fabulous venue with an impressive menu. ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Fabulous venue with an impressive menu. Great night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We have been going to Fontana for many y ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

We have been going to Fontana for many years and always enjoy it.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.