About Fontana at the Biltmore Hotel

1200 Anastasia Avenue
Coral Gables, FL 33134
View Larger Map

Enjoy Traditional Italian Cuisine at its best in the Fontana, our resort casual grille featuring outdoor dining in a tropical fountain centered courtyard or indoor seating surrounding and open kitchen with a wide variety of specialties.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 6:30am - 11:30am; Lunch Daily: 11:30am - 5:00pm; Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Granada

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 445-8066 ext. 2407

Website:
http://www.biltmorehotel.com/dining/fontana.php

Entertainment:
Live Jazz in the Biltmore Bar each night!

Parking Details:
Hotel self parking and private lot also available.

Executive Chef:
Giuseppe Galazzi

Private Party Facilities:
Large parties up to 30 guests for Courtyard Dining.

Private Party Contact:
Raquel Alaniz: 3054458066x2407

Additional:
Bar Dining, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
Large group menus available

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Fontana at the Biltmore Hotel, Coral Gables, FL

Fontana at the Biltmore Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (20)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Special Occasion (17)
See All
Romantic (17)
Historic (16)
Good for a Date (15)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Scenic View (11)
Great for Lunch (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Cozy (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Casual (8)
Business Meals (7)
Authentic (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Fun (4)
Family Style (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Seasonal (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Live Music (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Healthy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
685 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

wonderful location. gorgeous setting. li ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 5 days ago

wonderful location. gorgeous setting. like being on vacation in Europe. very quiet.. service is very nice. nice , varied menu.food is average.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Beautiful atmosphere and great service

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Beautiful atmosphere and great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We sat outside by the fountain hoping to ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 5, 2017

We sat outside by the fountain hoping to have a wonderful dinner for my husband's birthday. I was very disappointed when people started smoking next to my table. I feel that this should be a smoke free restaurant, people smoking next to us made our experience at the restaurant very awful.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

The lobster and shrimps were the toughes ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 5, 2017

The lobster and shrimps were the toughest seafood that we ever encountered. Unedible.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Excellent food, service & atmosphere. Ha ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Excellent food, service & atmosphere. Had a great afternoon with the family.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Afternoon Coffee, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Setting at Fontana is very nice, even th ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Setting at Fontana is very nice, even though we were sat in the loggia are and not near the fountain. We were told they had no tables available, but 3-4 tables near fountain were never used while we were there. I expected more as an open table vip. Good was good, but definitely not great.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

The Patio is always a wonderful place to ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The Patio is always a wonderful place to eat at anytime. Especially a good pick for visitors to Miami. In general food on a recent visit was only passable and for the price, totally unexceptable. Service was friendly, prompt and efficient. We have had good meals here in the past and don't know if this was just an "off-night", but it was embarrassing as we were entertaining guests and showing off the Biltmore Hotel to our visitors.

We will try this restaurant again, but were sadly disappointed in our last visit.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

The venue is beautiful. The service was ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The venue is beautiful. The service was excellent. The food was hit and miss, meaning some of us had a great meal and others not so great.

Their tiramisu dessert was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was extremely slow and food was ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Service was extremely slow and food was marginal. Ambiance is lovely.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

Went for the special Christmas Eve dinne ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Went for the special Christmas Eve dinner and disappointed generally including value. Would not recommend or return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

All services were excellent except that ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 23, 2016

All services were excellent except that they did not honor our membership discount, 20% that we were entitled as members of the Baltimore program/BA

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent. White truffle season. Pasta w ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Excellent. White truffle season. Pasta w truffle dish expensive but well worth it as aspecial treat. Kudos to chef who came to our table with special samples of his rissotto w black truffle. Only negative was bar unable to make an appletini without using a poor mix...ambience wonderful. Will return

Tags: Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I love this place...BUT....When they hav ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 18, 2016

I love this place...BUT....When they have other events booked in the hotel, especially those that have dance/party music, you can kiss the ambiance goodbye. you cant even hear the soothing music in the courtyard . all you can hear is the incessant thumping of Bass from the ballrooms that overlook the dining area. What a shame that they don't have a policy against such things. Really pretty stupid and inconsiderate.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I have eaten here many times and every v ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 17, 2016

I have eaten here many times and every visit, I am not disappointed. Just lovely.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

El hotel es digno de visitar...y el pulp ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 11, 2016

El hotel es digno de visitar...y el pulpo el mejor de miami!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disapointed- I was expecting much more ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Disapointed- I was expecting much more considering it was at the Biltmore. Our main dish was good. The starter of fried calimari and shrimp - not the freshest but we had a good laugh huge plate of calimari with only 3 regular sized shrimp we shared the 3rd one. The drinks - I asked the server if they had pisco . She said yes and I asked if they know how to make a pisco sour. She said yes. It was horriable I returned it. Then asked for a grey goose and cran I even told her this way it could not be messed up, I swear it was just as bad. We had bread brought over while we fought over the shrimp. I asked for butter. I asked again at the start of dinner. I finally got it as I put down my knife and fork from dinner. Sucks that it was such a bad experience I was really looking forward to a nice dinner out with my husband as we never get to go out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value4

Very expensive, but the quality of the f ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Very expensive, but the quality of the food and service it made it a worthwhile experience. There was only a limited number of tables for for inside so that was a little bit of an issue even though we had a reservation.

The price fixed menu looked like a good value. Menu was expensive and there were something for everyone.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was excellent. Service was outstand ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Food was excellent. Service was outstanding. Our waiter definitely made sure that we were able to get the food we wanted cooked the way we wanted.

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Casual, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I were celebrating our 30 ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 2, 2016

My husband and I were celebrating our 30th anniversary

We had a wonderful time, the food was delicious and our server Bianca was outstanding

Will definitely go back again

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Use to love to go to this restaurant unt ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Use to love to go to this restaurant until I dine last Thursday. I order a halibut which was so tough I needed a knife to cut it. The waiter was ok but I requested to talk to manager who did not have the decency to come talk to us. Now I know why your rating has been going down. Would not recommend any of my friends to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Generous portion of Filet Parmegiana! Ex ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Generous portion of Filet Parmegiana! Excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Except for the cigar smoker at the next ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Except for the cigar smoker at the next table which caused us to have to move, a good experience.

Never been to a restaurant that allowed this. I guess your chef doesn't care.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We visit Florida every year and try to s ...

 
 (London)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We visit Florida every year and try to stay at The Biltmore whenever we are in Miami. The Fontana is lovely, great food, lovely setting and wonderful staff. Not to be missed.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The ambience was lovely and it was quiet ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The ambience was lovely and it was quiet for talking. The waitress was not terribly attentive. The food was good but not great as it should be for the reputation. We ordered the pre-theater prix fixe and there were not enough choices --- no salads or soups and the entree was limited as well. People I was with enjoyed the swordfish. I did not find the shellfish to be fresh or seasoned well on the seafood risotto. The restaurant was able to substitute a salad which was very fresh and the dessert was lovely.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Fontana was as always great! We had a wo ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Fontana was as always great! We had a wonderful time with close friends and they enjoyed it as well. We spend our Thanksgiving there and we'll do again any time! Most exceptional environment, good food and attentive service! Thank you!

My additional comments are for OpenTable (and Fontana?): When I was booking the table online through OpenTable, you could not give me a table for 4 anytime before 9:00PM. Then, I reserved a table for 2 that was available at 6:30 PM . Later, I called the restaurant and I asked if they could accommodate 4 people at that table for 2 that I had reserved. They said : yes. From then on, everything worked out fine for us.

However, during the whole time we were at the restaurant (6:30 to 8:45 PM) we noticed that almost half of the tables were empty. My question is: why OpenTable did not give me the table for 4 when I was trying to book it?

Thank you for your attention.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

A great breakfast buffet perfect for bus ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 21, 2016

A great breakfast buffet perfect for business

They have everything you need from homemade granola , great Greek yogurts. Fresh fruits Majorca almonds.

Of course omelette made to order.

You can choose to eat indoors or outside by a fountain

Great place for quiet business breakfast where you can have conversations and not worry about having g your conversations over heard

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Patio is awsome

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Patio is awsome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A beautiful patio table with superb food ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 13, 2016

A beautiful patio table with superb food and impeccable service.

The only negative was the cost of $6 per cup of cafe con leche!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I came here with my friends we had a gre ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 5, 2016

I came here with my friends we had a great time. The food and service was outstanding.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Historic, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A very enjoyable evening with friends! T ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 27, 2016

A very enjoyable evening with friends! The weather did not cooperate, but everything else was fine! Excellent service!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Attentive staff beautiful surroundings g ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Attentive staff beautiful surroundings good food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Nice restaurant. OK food... good service ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Nice restaurant. OK food... good service except for busboy forgot to bring bread plates to all guests. Wine list good. Excellent Sancerre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Prior to the Gables Stage play my wife a ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Prior to the Gables Stage play my wife and daughter always enjoy pre-show dinner.

The atmosphere is great. The food is a great value and top notch. The service is excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server was charming and attentive an ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Our server was charming and attentive and of course the atmosphere and ambiance were elegant and old world. The food however was really rather ordinary and uninteresting from a flavor perspective. My partner and I both had fish so perhaps something else is their specialty. I just think I for the price you can find far more interesting dishes elsewhere in Miami. Having said that do go for the beautiful setting and old world charm of this historic place...maybe for drinks which is what we plan to do next time.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

An outstanding restaurant for celebratin ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 26, 2016

An outstanding restaurant for celebrating special occasions. It is our go to for birthdays in particular. The food and service is always top notch.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for Miami Spice, the restaurant ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We went for Miami Spice, the restaurant did not have the reservation from Open Table but we were seated immediately. The service and the food were excellent

Tags: Cozy, Happy Hour, Casual, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Miami Spice meal. Food Fresh and ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great Miami Spice meal. Food Fresh and well seasoned.

Regular menu is reasonably priced.

Waiters are very professional.

Of the many restaurants the I have enjoyed during the Spice season,

The Fontana is the best by far.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Casual, Good for a Date, People Watching, Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, , Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant, I actually never heard ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great restaurant, I actually never heard of it until that day that I went and now I want to go back. The service was very quick, very friendly waiter, had great knowledge of food when I asked him about certain dishes. Had a very great wine choice, also I'm happy that I didn't have to yell across the table to talk to my girlfriend. And after walking around the Biltmore hotel was fantastic, a great night indeed.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wine was great, outdoor dining was spect ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Wine was great, outdoor dining was spectacular, wait staff she was incredibly attentive and the food was delicious. And for all that the price was extremely reasonable.

Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was excellent!

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Everything was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.