Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.68mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.68mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.68mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.68mi

About Fontana at the Biltmore Hotel

Enjoy Traditional Italian Cuisine at its best in the Fontana, our resort casual grille featuring outdoor dining in a tropical fountain centered courtyard or indoor seating surrounding and open kitchen with a wide variety of specialties.

1200 Anastasia Avenue
Coral Gables, FL 33134
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 6:30am - 11:30am; Lunch Daily: 11:30am - 5:00pm; Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Granada

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 445-8066 ext. 2407

Website:
http://www.biltmorehotel.com/dining/fontana.php

Entertainment:
Live Jazz in the Biltmore Bar each night!

Parking Details:
Hotel self parking and private lot also available.

Executive Chef:
Giuseppe Galazzi

Private Party Facilities:
Large parties up to 30 guests for Courtyard Dining.

Private Party Contact:
Raquel Alaniz: (305) 445-8066 ext. 2407

Additional:
Bar Dining, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Large group menus available

Fontana at the Biltmore Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (27)
Romantic (23)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (22)
Good for a Date (20)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Great for Brunch (14)
Authentic (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Business Meals (12)
Great for Lunch (12)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Historic (8)
Scenic View (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Fun (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Casual (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Cozy (4)
Seasonal (3)
People Watching (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Live Music (1)
Family Style (1)
Tapas (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
770 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 4 days ago

On-line reservations do not provide option for in / outside dinning, so beware if you've never dinned here. Server and assistant were very nice; however the receptionist was very rude and unprofessional, didn't even make an attempt to find us an inside table citing we should've requested one. Food is not the greatest, average at best; there are plenty of much better and less expensive restaurant in Coral Gables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellente Miami Spice selection food. Love it!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined 7 days ago

Food was excellent but service was very slow

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Service extremely slow. Food took forever to come out. Sitting very uncomfortable. Extremely hot on the terrace with no air or fans.

food was well below expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 5, 2017

This was our second time and it was a total letdown! The waiter was great but he had too many tables to attend to and our service suffered for it. The Miami Spice menu was very good. The calamari, the eggplant, and the steak were fantastic. When making resv make sure you specify an inside or outside table. We didn't know and got stuck outside with the mosquitos and the August heat (not fun at all). We were there 2 years ago and it was a completely different experience, that's why we went back this time. The food was great but the service was a 2.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 4, 2017

This was a prix fixe "Miami Spice" menu, and we were surprised at how large the portions were. (Some of the participating restaurants give smaller portions to go with the discounted prices during this two-month event.) Our meals were delicious -- the strip steaks were prepared exactly as we requested -- and we enjoyed the leisurely pace. The ambience was very pleasant, which includes being quiet enough to hold a conversation in a normal tone of voice.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Great food and value for the Miami Spice menue option!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Another great dinner at Fontana. Party of 10 and all very happy. Calamari, cesar salad, grilled octopus, lasagna, pumpkin ravioli, and seabass were all outstanding. Tiramesu and crembrule were amazing too. Bianca, our server, was outstanding!

If you haven't visited the Biltmore in a long time, go for dinner and take a stroll through the hotel. It's as beautiful as ever!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

I celebrated a friends birthday and although I wanted to sit outside by the fountain, the weather didn't permit us to. But inside was ok.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Just in town and at the Biltmore for the night on our way to the Keys . We Did not feel like leaving the resort , which is beautiful! Fontana , however , was very disappointing. Food and service was just ok but very expensive!! I would not go back...

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

I was not pleased with my main course, the fish special of the evening, neither was my husband with his choice of entrée.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Wedding Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Wonderful brunch! It's a must try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Excellent dining experience! Pumpkin ravioli with pesto and shrimp was delicious. Veal scallopini cooked to perfection. Cesar salad and bread basket was a great start. Service was also fantastic. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Excellent service and food. Wonderful find for lunch while visiting Miami.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience. My wife's 60th birthday. Invited my parents 95 and 87. They haven't stopped talking about it. In a good way. I was curious if they have changed chefs since last year. I remember a different tomato sauce which I liked better. None the less we will be back in August for another fine dining experience. Regards

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Restaurant doubles as Sunday brunch dessert location. Ambiance takes a little hit because of this. Food is creative and well prepared This is not your "Traditional". Italian menu innovative and tastefully presented. Wine selection is generous and will please most.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on June 30, 2017

One of a Kind
We have dined at Fontana dozens of times because its many fabulous unique elements always combine to create a fantastic romantic evening of fine dining. The old world Mediterranean architecture of the Biltmore and the beautiful tranquility of the courtyard fountain create the perfect setting to enjoy the chef's outstanding Italian offerings. The service is superior and equal to expectations for such an exquisite dining venue. Fontana always delivers the exceptional, relaxing dining experience we treasure.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 28, 2017

We had dinner at the Fontana on a Wednesday night to celebrate our thirtieth wedding anniversary. (Our wedding reception was held at the Biltmore) The staff were friendly and pleasant. They went out of their way to make this a positive experience for us. The ambiance is unique, classy and pleasant. This is a great place for a memorable outing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Sit outside in the Courtyard, then this is the most beautiful and magical restaurant that I have ever been in. Food and service are great as well. The pricing is surprisingly reasonable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 22, 2017

The Fontana at the Biltmore is a beautiful restaurant. Unfortunately the food was almost inedible the last time I had dinner there. The veal was so tough my friend could not cut it. My chicken cacciatore was over cooked and the sauce tasted canned. The side of potatoes were undercooked and the broccoli was almost raw. The best part of the meal was a cappuccino for which they charged an outrageous $6.00.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on June 17, 2017

A very enjoyable place to dine before the Gables Stage theater productions.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Very enjoyable dinner in a classy setting that is quiet so you can actually speak among friends at the table without having to shout over ambient noise. The open courtyard was very nice and romantic, and even allowed some natural breeze to offer relief from the outdoor heat. I would certainly come back for another special occasion. The wine list is ridiculously overpriced, with the least expensive wines priced at $50. However, even though they are the least expensive, at least they are excellent, rather than the awful wines that one often finds at the bottom of the price list. Our party of three had seafood, which was excellent. Specifically, the octopus was outstanding, very much among the best octopus I have eaten anywhere either in the Mediterranean or in Asia. The lobster ravioli were also good, but not as outstanding as the octopus.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Healthy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Best veal chop I ever had. 14 ounces cooked perfectly. Was the special.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Amazing place, nice welcoming pour a special day, thanks to all people of the Fontana for this great moment !

Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Great place to have breakfast or to go to an historic place in Mimi and have a great time and food

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Great place , food, ambiance and attentive staff. Garden like setting with big fountain in the middle and shimmering water makes you completely relaxed.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2017

All around excellent

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Never been to la Fontana before, did not think the price was worth the food and experience, I ordered the special and my wife an item from the regular menu, the food was just ok no authentic Italian, there was a lot of noice and the interior of the restaurant looks too much like and 80's interpretation of Italian bistro, service was great. But would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Overall good. The appetizer and dessert were delicious, but rather disappointed with our main dishes. Mine was a pumpkin ravioli, but didn't taste like pumpkin and pasta was under cooked. My dates dish was bland and for having steak medallion barely had. Great service! Sweetest hostess

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Our meal was very good. We had a very annoying group of people seated next to us that made our dining experience less than great. But that wasn't the restaurant's fault.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We expected a 5* experience. Calamari was chewy, Lamb was not tender, pumpkin ravioli were tasteless, Manager was wearing an ill-fitting suit with name tag sideways. It was a disappointment. First time, and it was Mothers Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The experience, as always, was superb! The special attention of chef Beppe improved, if possible, the great meal...Also his suggestions were on target to our taste. Whenever we want to have a non-ordinary meal, Fontana is our only choice! We keep coming back for more.
Great place if you want to impress a visiting guest.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Authentic and inventive menu. Beautiful indoor and outdoor seating. Great mixologists and a wide selection of wines. Professional service. Have a cocktail before dinner at the Biltmore Bar. It's a lovely destination for dinner or a special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Fabulous food and service, as always! We keep going back! Great for pre-theater dining. Everytime we go to the Gable Stage we have dinner at Fontana, and we are always delighted!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We sometimes go to Fontana pre GablesStage. We would not recommend it otherwise because the food is not stellar. We steer clear of anything with red sauce because the sauce is not to our liking. This time we shared a Caesar which was very good. I had a half dish of pasta with clams, a good portion for a small appetite. My husband had ravioli in a thick cheese sauce - he felt the pasta was undercooked. Our waitress was pleasant but need seasoning/training. The wine by the glass is horrendously expensive! You can't beat the amazing romantic courtyard setting!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

A huge fan of the breakfast buffet. Everything you need, top quality and get a seat around the fountain to make it extra special

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Fabulous lunch. We all enjoyed ourselves. Food was delicious.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We had an absolutely wonderful dinner. The food and atmosphere was amazing. Our waitress was phenomenal. We especially liked that you can get a half of an order. My kids cannot eat a full meal and that was a nice option. We would definitely recommend this restaraunt.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.