About Fontana at the Biltmore Hotel

1200 Anastasia Avenue
Coral Gables, FL 33134
View Larger Map

Enjoy Traditional Italian Cuisine at its best in the Fontana, our resort casual grille featuring outdoor dining in a tropical fountain centered courtyard or indoor seating surrounding and open kitchen with a wide variety of specialties.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 6:30am - 11:30am; Lunch Daily: 11:30am - 5:00pm; Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Granada

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 445-8066 ext. 2407

Website:
http://www.biltmorehotel.com/dining/fontana.php

Entertainment:
Live Jazz in the Biltmore Bar each night!

Parking Details:
Hotel self parking and private lot also available.

Executive Chef:
Giuseppe Galazzi

Private Party Facilities:
Large parties up to 30 guests for Courtyard Dining.

Private Party Contact:
Raquel Alaniz: 3054458066x2407

Additional:
Bar Dining, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
Large group menus available

Fontana at the Biltmore Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Miami / Southeast Florida
Best Restaurants in Coral Gables / Coral Way ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (25)
Romantic (20)
Special Occasion (19)
See All
Good for a Date (17)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Great for Lunch (14)
Scenic View (13)
Historic (13)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Cozy (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Good for Groups (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Casual (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Fun (3)
Business Meals (3)
Authentic (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Family Style (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Organic (2)
Healthy (1)
People Watching (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Live Music (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
618 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My husband and I were celebrating our 30 ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 5 days ago

My husband and I were celebrating our 30th anniversary

We had a wonderful time, the food was delicious and our server Bianca was outstanding

Will definitely go back again

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Use to love to go to this restaurant unt ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 6 days ago

Use to love to go to this restaurant until I dine last Thursday. I order a halibut which was so tough I needed a knife to cut it. The waiter was ok but I requested to talk to manager who did not have the decency to come talk to us. Now I know why your rating has been going down. Would not recommend any of my friends to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Generous portion of Filet Parmegiana! Ex ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Generous portion of Filet Parmegiana! Excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Except for the cigar smoker at the next ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Except for the cigar smoker at the next table which caused us to have to move, a good experience.

Never been to a restaurant that allowed this. I guess your chef doesn't care.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We visit Florida every year and try to s ...

 
 (London)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We visit Florida every year and try to stay at The Biltmore whenever we are in Miami. The Fontana is lovely, great food, lovely setting and wonderful staff. Not to be missed.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The ambience was lovely and it was quiet ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The ambience was lovely and it was quiet for talking. The waitress was not terribly attentive. The food was good but not great as it should be for the reputation. We ordered the pre-theater prix fixe and there were not enough choices --- no salads or soups and the entree was limited as well. People I was with enjoyed the swordfish. I did not find the shellfish to be fresh or seasoned well on the seafood risotto. The restaurant was able to substitute a salad which was very fresh and the dessert was lovely.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Fontana was as always great! We had a wo ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Fontana was as always great! We had a wonderful time with close friends and they enjoyed it as well. We spend our Thanksgiving there and we'll do again any time! Most exceptional environment, good food and attentive service! Thank you!

My additional comments are for OpenTable (and Fontana?): When I was booking the table online through OpenTable, you could not give me a table for 4 anytime before 9:00PM. Then, I reserved a table for 2 that was available at 6:30 PM . Later, I called the restaurant and I asked if they could accommodate 4 people at that table for 2 that I had reserved. They said : yes. From then on, everything worked out fine for us.

However, during the whole time we were at the restaurant (6:30 to 8:45 PM) we noticed that almost half of the tables were empty. My question is: why OpenTable did not give me the table for 4 when I was trying to book it?

Thank you for your attention.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

A great breakfast buffet perfect for bus ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 21, 2016

A great breakfast buffet perfect for business

They have everything you need from homemade granola , great Greek yogurts. Fresh fruits Majorca almonds.

Of course omelette made to order.

You can choose to eat indoors or outside by a fountain

Great place for quiet business breakfast where you can have conversations and not worry about having g your conversations over heard

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Patio is awsome

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Patio is awsome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A beautiful patio table with superb food ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 13, 2016

A beautiful patio table with superb food and impeccable service.

The only negative was the cost of $6 per cup of cafe con leche!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I came here with my friends we had a gre ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 5, 2016

I came here with my friends we had a great time. The food and service was outstanding.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Historic, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A very enjoyable evening with friends! T ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 27, 2016

A very enjoyable evening with friends! The weather did not cooperate, but everything else was fine! Excellent service!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Attentive staff beautiful surroundings g ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Attentive staff beautiful surroundings good food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Nice restaurant. OK food... good service ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Nice restaurant. OK food... good service except for busboy forgot to bring bread plates to all guests. Wine list good. Excellent Sancerre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Prior to the Gables Stage play my wife a ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Prior to the Gables Stage play my wife and daughter always enjoy pre-show dinner.

The atmosphere is great. The food is a great value and top notch. The service is excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server was charming and attentive an ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Our server was charming and attentive and of course the atmosphere and ambiance were elegant and old world. The food however was really rather ordinary and uninteresting from a flavor perspective. My partner and I both had fish so perhaps something else is their specialty. I just think I for the price you can find far more interesting dishes elsewhere in Miami. Having said that do go for the beautiful setting and old world charm of this historic place...maybe for drinks which is what we plan to do next time.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We went for Miami Spice, the restaurant ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We went for Miami Spice, the restaurant did not have the reservation from Open Table but we were seated immediately. The service and the food were excellent

Tags: Cozy, Happy Hour, Casual, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Miami Spice meal. Food Fresh and ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great Miami Spice meal. Food Fresh and well seasoned.

Regular menu is reasonably priced.

Waiters are very professional.

Of the many restaurants the I have enjoyed during the Spice season,

The Fontana is the best by far.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Casual, Good for a Date, People Watching, Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant, I actually never heard ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great restaurant, I actually never heard of it until that day that I went and now I want to go back. The service was very quick, very friendly waiter, had great knowledge of food when I asked him about certain dishes. Had a very great wine choice, also I'm happy that I didn't have to yell across the table to talk to my girlfriend. And after walking around the Biltmore hotel was fantastic, a great night indeed.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wine was great, outdoor dining was spect ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Wine was great, outdoor dining was spectacular, wait staff she was incredibly attentive and the food was delicious. And for all that the price was extremely reasonable.

Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was excellent!

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Everything was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the Miami Spice menu, delicious fr ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 14, 2016

I had the Miami Spice menu, delicious fried calamaris and the pork shop was juicy and tender. Outstanding service. Will come back before Miami Spice season comes to the end.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was attentive and charming. T ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Our server was attentive and charming. The food was, however, very disappointing. We chose from the Miami Spice menu and the servings were very paltry and unappealing. The salad looked like the left over of someone else's salad. The cannelonis were over cooked and pale. No cheese, no sauce, bland. The parmesan chicken my guests had looked better but it was served alone on 1/4 of the empty bare dish. How about adding some slices of roasted potatoes or/and carrots for a better and tastier presentation. Likewise the two canneloni looked very lonely in the middle of the plate. The desserts were tasty. It's Miami Spice folks. You're supposed to entice your guests to come back, not ensure that they won't.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value1

Went to Fontana as we stayed for Labor D ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Went to Fontana as we stayed for Labor Day Weekend. Loved the menu at Fontana, especially the Miami Spice one. Everything was delicious and our service was tops! Our server, a very nice young man was superb. I am sorry I forgot his name but he is tall and wears glasses. He was a true professional in his job and when we return to Fontana, I will ask for him. In conclusion, my husband and 8 were very pleased with the attention, food and service we received.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

there were flies in the drinks the food ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 4, 2016

there were flies in the drinks the food was horrible the service was slow the seafood was old and fishy, when I sent back the drinks they didn't even offer a free drink there were flies in my daughters drink and also in mine.

I would never go back to this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Not a good choice for Miami Spice, selec ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Not a good choice for Miami Spice, selection and size of the portions was not as expected

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Wonderful food and service. Would have l ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Wonderful food and service. Would have loved to sit outside but weather was disappointing.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was very pleased overall with the serv ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 29, 2016

I was very pleased overall with the service and the food! Hats off to the chef! The only issue I did have was that I precalled to let them know we were celebrating our anniversary and there was never any mention of this. Additionally, I did ask if they do anything special and they said they would call me back. never heard back.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

better than most for Italian food. miami ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 27, 2016

better than most for Italian food. miami spice menu has been excelent for both lunch and dinner. Food is not consistant when chef is not there.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for a Miami spice lunch and ever ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 27, 2016

We went for a Miami spice lunch and everything was perfect. The food was delicious, the portion was a good size and the service was excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Since we went for a lunch and enjoyed ou ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Since we went for a lunch and enjoyed our Miami Spice menu, we recommend to friends to join us for diner at la Fontana. The diner experience was very disappointing. The service was really bad. The white wine came hot and even after 15 minutes in the ice, it was still too hot to drink. After insisting, the waiter finally came to sense and replaced it with a cold bottle. The three-course meals of the Miami Spice menu were dull. Embarassed to have recommended the place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

A bit disappointing. Food was good,not g ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 26, 2016

A bit disappointing. Food was good,not great. Meat was dry and bland, not noteworthy. Ambiance was very noisy due to many young children in attendance, no sound deadening devices noticed. Do not plan n returning anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value4

Great ambiance and quality,also The se ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Great ambiance and quality,also The service was excellent.my tenderloins were about were a tad over cooked ,requested med.rare and they were medium but still very good I always enjoy the built more

Tags: Healthy, Open Kitchen, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous experience. Beautiful setting, ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Fabulous experience. Beautiful setting, super attentive service, wonderful food. Took my family for an anniversary dinner, very glad I did.

Tags: Historic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great wait staff, and good food!

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great wait staff, and good food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointed with the Miami spice experi ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Disappointed with the Miami spice experience. The pulpo was not very refined, the fish over cooked. The desserts were nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Today food wasn't very good but I went l ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Today food wasn't very good but I went last Friday and dinner was delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

A perfect experience for a special occas ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 19, 2016

A perfect experience for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Front desk reservations /maitre d' was s ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 17, 2016

Front desk reservations /maitre d' was snooty.Menu offered a good variety and food was good, a little short of outstanding. Restaurant was quiet, nice for normal conversation. Service was attentive.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

We ordered a bottle of wine and it came ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 15, 2016

We ordered a bottle of wine and it came back, without explanation from the waiter, with the wrong vintage. After pointing it out, the waiter checked and returned, offering us the newer vintage at the same price as the older, more desirable vintage. We passed and ordered a different bottle. Same problem with the vintage and no explanation again. The food was hit and miss. The eggplant appetizer was the best portion of the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.