About Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San Diego

668 6th Avenue
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Fogo de Chão® (fo-go dèe shoun), is an authentic Southern Brazilian steakhouse. In 1979, Fogo® began sharing the gaucho way of preparing meat in Porto Alegre, Brazil. Today, our gaucho chefs still expertly grill each of our 20 cuts of meat and offer you continuous tableside service.

We invite you to enjoy the delicious preparations of our gaucho chefs along with our gourmet market table, authentic Brazilian side dishes, and award-winning wine list.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Brazilian Steakhouse, Steakhouse, South American

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Tuesday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Wednesday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Thursday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:30pm
Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:30pm
Sunday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
G Street and 6th Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 338-0500

Website:
http://www.fogodechao.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available during lunch hours for $10.00. Valet parking is also available at dinner Sunday through Thursday for $12.00, Friday and Saturday for $15.00. Limited metered parking is located around the Gaslamp Quarter. Also available are paid parking lots and garages around the area (fees vary).

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 4:30PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 9:30PM

Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:30PM - 10:30PM

Sat 4:30PM - 5:30PM 9:00PM - 10:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Fogo de Chão® is the perfect location to host your group or private dining event. Your guests will enjoy Fogo’s elegant and authentic Brazilian dining experience. And, you will appreciate our helpful and knowledgeable staff. Each Fogo® restaurant provides unique private and semi-private dining rooms

Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San Diego Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
San Diego
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
San Diego
Special Occasion
San Diego
2 More
Most Booked
San Diego
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
San Diego
Best Restaurants in Downtown / Gaslamp ›

special occasion (213)
good for groups (162)
fit for foodies (126)
See All
romantic (96)
great for lunch (76)
notable wine list (50)
hot spot (47)
neighborhood gem (34)
great for brunch (32)
kid-friendly (30)
late-night find (25)
vibrant bar scene (12)
great for outdoor dining (6)
scenic view (4)
Sort By:
Newest
706 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience2
service3
value5

We went for our 10 year anniversary and ...

Dined 3 days ago

We went for our 10 year anniversary and we were really disappointed. 1st it was so loud and we were so close to the table next to us we could hear their conversation, it was hard to get up and get to the market bar, the servers came too often to ask if we needed things. We expect a romantic evening together with good food. The food was okay but wasn't anything special. I don't think we will return.

food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Add More HOT sides selection. Asparagus ...

Dined 4 days ago

Add More HOT sides selection. Asparagus absolutely needs to be hot!!! Baked potatoes?

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

CON:The entire affair started with a neg ...

Dined 5 days ago

CON:The entire affair started with a negative slant with your accusing reservation confirmation implying that I was going to deprive a person a table. With that negative start the meal went down hill. The salad bar was almost up to usual standard but the meat while it might have been good the evening before, tasted like it had been put on too hot a fire to warm it up quickly, which left it dry with a crust of charcoal. The meal was an embarrassment to me and a disappointment to my guests. PRO: I never again have to eat at Fogo de Chao, or use OpenTable resevations.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

The lamb and filet mignon were excellent ...

Dined 5 days ago

The lamb and filet mignon were excellent!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful food, especially the meats. Th ...

Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful food, especially the meats. The full experience was well worth trying. The service was amazing.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cannot even describe how polite, respect ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Cannot even describe how polite, respectful and friendly are all the staff at Fogo San Diego. Food: Exquisite,

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4

Food is great..😊👍

Dined on June 19, 2016

Food is great..😊👍

food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Overpriced vs value. There was an incid ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Overpriced vs value. There was an incident of someone choking and needing Heimlich and emergency medical care, was not a pleasant experience. Not the restaurants fault, but it did put a damper on the dining experience would have been nice for them to have included a little discount.

food5
ambience5
service3
value5

The food was excellent. The service was ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was excellent. The service was ok. It took 20 minutes after our meal to get our check. I had to hunt down a manager. It also took about 15-20 minutes to get our credit card processed . We were tolled we had to wait in line as they were backed up. Not good it ruined a nice meal with this kind of wait.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a great time. Recommend flipping ove ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Had a great time. Recommend flipping over green/red coaster to slow down the pace of meat offerings. Paramedics took this lady away. She didn't pace herself. My kids and wife aren't Brazilian steakhouse fans, but they liked this place; will be back soon.

food5
ambience4
service5

Our server Cam was wonderful and it was ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Our server Cam was wonderful and it was very nice to see all the staff work so well together

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Parking is crazy on friday's and weekend ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Parking is crazy on friday's and weekends so we just pay the $15 valet. The food is always good no complains there.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fogo de Chao is the place to go for my f ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Fogo de Chao is the place to go for my family, we love celebrating special occasion be it small and big. I love the garlic beef, lamb chops and the salad bar. We will definitely come back for more.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a great experience at FOGO de Cha ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

We had a great experience at FOGO de Chao. The service was extremely good, and the food was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The reservation process through Open Tab ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

The reservation process through Open Table was great; we arrived 10 minutes prior to our reservation and we were seated within 5 minutes. My husband and I are highly disappointed with the service at Fogo; especially the meat servers. We had about five meat servers approach our table and of the five only two offered beef. We asked for well done beef cuts. We were told they take longer and would be back when ready. We had one meat server return to offer well done beef cuts and unfortunately by then we were ready to leave. All in all we each had maybe 2-3 small cuts of meat and one serving of the buffet sides. Our bill was over $150.00 and so not worth it. Very disappointed.

food3
ambience2
service2
value2

The meat selection was pretty average. ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

The meat selection was pretty average. The salad bar was small. Waiters with the cheaper meats were dime a dozen. Hard to get the filet

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Not sure if I missed this on the website ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Not sure if I missed this on the website, but I thought with making a reservation we would be seated on time. That wasn't the case. We waited about 20 minutes for a table to be opened, and that set us back for our next event. The spacing was very crowded and I didn't get to enjoy my date because I had a waiter bumping into me all throughout the night as he was trying to squeeze in between tables.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Can't wait to go back again. One of the ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Can't wait to go back again. One of the best Brazilian steakhouses I ever had

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

My reservation was not granted on time, ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

My reservation was not granted on time, we waited half an hour to be seated. Walk in was seated before us.

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

The meats were good, but the side dishes ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

The meats were good, but the side dishes were all cold. We ask for them to get reheated and the still came out kinda warm. Other than that it was ok.

food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Food is great and ambiance is perfect fo ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Food is great and ambiance is perfect for a nice dinner / date. My only complaint is that we had a reservation and arrived on time but were given a buzzer upon arrival and had to wait ~10min until the hostess got us to our table.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The brazilian staff are amazing!!! Do no ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

The brazilian staff are amazing!!! Do not let them go!!!

food2
ambience5
service1
value2

Not a good first impression - Very Disappointed!

Dined on June 5, 2016

Reservation Name: M. Phan Reservation Date & Time: June 4, 2016 at 6:30 PM I traveled from Northern California (7/8+ drive) to visit and celebrate my brother's high school graduation and pre-celebrate Father's Day. I paid $172 and was not satisfied with the customer service. Only service we received is getting new plates replenished. I wished I had not tipped. Seeing how the supervisor stands in the middle of the floor, making it obvious that he's OVERSEEING his employees and making them nervous and work under pressure. I can understand the lack of customer service. There should be a variety of meats, from what my brother looked into at least 16 types. We only had a selection of 6 - 7 meats repeatedly. There was also a moment where we sat at our tables waiting at least 20 minutes with the green card faced up, but no one came over to offer us any selection of meats. After the long wait, as we were not done, our plates were taken and we weren't offered dessert. We were only offered a card to enter for a free trip to Brazil or somewhere, which I could care less about. Thank goodness for the dessert and pastries next door to go to afterwards, especially after spending a large amount. Typically between the party of three, we ate for 1 person overall as far as what was offered/served. None the less, as unsatisfied as I was with the dining experience. I had a long drive back home afterwards. The only thing that made the dining experience worth it, was spending time with my father and brother. Other than that, I could care less about ever going back to your restaurant when visiting San Diego. Thanks for taking my hard earned money for a terrible experience in a FINE AMBIANCE.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Meal!

Dined on June 5, 2016

Service was top notch! The meats were divine. Loved their Market buffet. All my favorites were there. Their fruit selection was minimal , but still pretty amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great spot.

Dined on June 2, 2016

We had a great time. Our server was a little put off but the rest of the staff definitely made up for it. They not only helped with recommendations but constantly asked if you had a chance to try everything so they knew what else to bring you.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4

Very expensive

Dined on June 2, 2016

Very expensive

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Noise Level Rather High

Dined on May 31, 2016

Since my friend and I both experience some hearing loss, hearing just what our servers were telling us was difficult. I am sure that what they had to say was very much to our benefit, but we had to have the messages delivered more than one, sometimes several time. If the general noise level had not been so high, the servers would have been far easier to understand. The sad thing was that we were seated later in the evening and the crowds had pretty much gone down to a manageable size. Perhaps there is nothing that can be done, but for us "older generation" folks, it would make the experience much more enjoyable.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food

Dined on May 30, 2016

Food was really great. Loved all the different meats they kept bringing around. Good for kids too, they loved it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Service was a letdown

Dined on May 30, 2016

We were left standing in the entranceway for 10 minutes without any staff greeting us. I literally thought they were closed. Then when a staff member finally attended to the entranceway, he seated two groups of two before seating me and my 2 friends - despite the fact that we had a reservation and the other two groups did not seem to have any (judging by their conversations.) The service when we got to the table in terms of ordering drinks was also poor. The staff in charge of providing the meat to the tables were prompt and friendly, as one would expect from Fogo de Chao. All in all I enjoyed the meal but the start was very off-putting. My previous experiences with the brand in DC and Vegas were far superior.

Tags: special occasions
food4
ambience4
service5

Food was good. Sodium level seemed high. ...

Dined on May 30, 2016

Food was good. Sodium level seemed high. Most of us noted swollen fingers the next day. (Party of 6)

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stop!!! This is the best ever

Dined on May 29, 2016

Fogo de Chao is where I go for the best dinning ever. If you want to say you had the best. If you want to have the best experience. If you want to out do your friends and show off. This is where you go. The best food hands down! The best wines. The best premium liquor anywhere. This place is a must stop. This place is in other locations (Beverly Hills, Los Angeles) but when you add this to the San Diego night life it just can't be beat. My friend (a culinary trained expert) who I brought for his wedding anniversary is still raving about Fogo. So I know it's not just me. I promise you will love this place. The Servers all work as a TEAM, they WILL make sure you enjoy your meal. I strongly recommend making reservations. And remember I told you so!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Got beef?

Dined on May 29, 2016

OMG! How do you describe perfection? The place, beautiful. The service, excellent. Meat was cooked and seasoned just right and served by the most attentive staff. Even the leg of lamb was delicious and I loathe leg of lamb. Thank you for a wonderful experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

feijoada was not of adequate quality.

Dined on May 29, 2016

feijoada was not of adequate quality. But meats were similar in brazil

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

great place--lotsa fun

Dined on May 24, 2016

Went here for birthday (they have a great birthday club offer so sign up online)....so happy we went--will be back again. The tres leches cake was a great end to a great evening

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

DDW Team Dinner

Dined on May 23, 2016

Everything was doe well, the food excellent, the staff professional, our main waitress did an excellent job in coordinating all of the food presented and served, when in San Diego we will be back. Mike Murray

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food great service. Can't wai ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Excellent food great service. Can't wait to return.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great As Always

Dined on May 22, 2016

I have been to Fogo de Chao a few times before and the restaurant is as great as ever. I brought a few friends this time and they were very impressed. This restaurant never lets me down.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server Dertanian was very nice and f ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Our server Dertanian was very nice and fast and professional, he recommended a certain appetizer and it was amazing It's a great place to eat and enjoy the surrounding

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent restaurant

Dined on May 19, 2016

My family and I have been here 3 times in past 4 months. Every time has been excellent. The food is always good, great ambience, and the service is some of best we've ever had. I would highly recommend this restaurant!!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great meat, it is a all you can eat, we ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Great meat, it is a all you can eat, we were not aware of that.... Salad bar And all you can eAt meAt, because we don t eat much me and my husband, we found it expensive. 52$ each before wine... We prefer fine cuisine for that price and there is a lot of grat restaurants in san diego

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.