About Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San Diego

668 6th Avenue
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Fogo de Chão® (fo-go dèe shoun), is an authentic Southern Brazilian steakhouse. In 1979, Fogo® began sharing the gaucho way of preparing meat in Porto Alegre, Brazil. Today, our gaucho chefs still expertly grill each of our 20 cuts of meat and offer you continuous tableside service.

We invite you to enjoy the delicious preparations of our gaucho chefs along with our gourmet market table, authentic Brazilian side dishes, and award-winning wine list.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Brazilian Steakhouse, Steakhouse, South American

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Tuesday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Wednesday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Thursday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:30pm
Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:30pm
Sunday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
G Street and 6th Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 338-0500

Website:
http://www.fogodechao.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available during lunch hours for $10.00. Valet parking is also available at dinner Sunday through Thursday for $12.00, Friday and Saturday for $15.00. Limited metered parking is located around the Gaslamp Quarter. Also available are paid parking lots and garages around the area (fees vary).

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
All Dads who dine will receive a card for a complimentary lunch or dinner on his next visit.* Restrictions apply. Sunday June 19, 11am-9pm, dinner price all day.
1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 4:30PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 9:30PM

Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:30PM - 10:30PM

Sat 4:30PM - 5:30PM 9:00PM - 10:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Fogo de Chão® is the perfect location to host your group or private dining event. Your guests will enjoy Fogo’s elegant and authentic Brazilian dining experience. And, you will appreciate our helpful and knowledgeable staff. Each Fogo® restaurant provides unique private and semi-private dining rooms

Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San Diego Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
San Diego
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
San Diego
Most Booked
San Diego
1 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
San Diego
Best Restaurants in Downtown / Gaslamp ›

special occasion (233)
good for groups (175)
fit for foodies (137)
See All
romantic (113)
great for lunch (88)
notable wine list (59)
hot spot (52)
neighborhood gem (40)
great for brunch (32)
kid-friendly (31)
late-night find (23)
vibrant bar scene (12)
great for outdoor dining (9)
scenic view (3)
Sort By:
Newest
669 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great As Always

Dined 4 days ago

I have been to Fogo de Chao a few times before and the restaurant is as great as ever. I brought a few friends this time and they were very impressed. This restaurant never lets me down.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server Dertanian was very nice and f ...

Dined 6 days ago

Our server Dertanian was very nice and fast and professional, he recommended a certain appetizer and it was amazing It's a great place to eat and enjoy the surrounding

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent restaurant

Dined on May 19, 2016

My family and I have been here 3 times in past 4 months. Every time has been excellent. The food is always good, great ambience, and the service is some of best we've ever had. I would highly recommend this restaurant!!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great meat, it is a all you can eat, we ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Great meat, it is a all you can eat, we were not aware of that.... Salad bar And all you can eAt meAt, because we don t eat much me and my husband, we found it expensive. 52$ each before wine... We prefer fine cuisine for that price and there is a lot of grat restaurants in san diego

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

The food was good as always; however, th ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The food was good as always; however, the restaurant was packed and noisy to the point we had a hard time hearing each other. There appeared to be several events in the restaurant (proms and pre-concert for Billy Joel groups) and it was very busy. We asked 3 different servers with meats that we wanted more lamb and each of them said they would send the entree over. We waited 25 minutes for more lamb. Also, we waited for 20 minutes for our bill before going across the dining room to talk to our server to get our bill.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and service. Just wish they' ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Great food and service. Just wish they'd have the grilled ham and pineapple like the other places do!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Meat eaters paradise. Vegetarians and vegans bware

Dined on May 10, 2016

Service outstanding, but "refills" of meat offered too frequently making it difficult to digest and settle in/appreciate each cut of stem/meat.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

I usually give this restaurant five star ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

I usually give this restaurant five stars on everything. We've eaten there quite a few times. This particular time they were quite slow getting the meat out and about and the selection was poor. I expected better. The service itself was fine, just the issue with getting the food out.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Missing some food content

Dined on May 9, 2016

The restaurant offered less variety of steaks and chicken than other fogo de chao restaurants I have been. Also the choices of desserts was not all covered ( few plates not available)

Tags: fit for foodies, group bookings, outdoor eating
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Food was good...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was good I just expected a little bit more choices of meat. But I will definitely try it out again. Maybe it was small selection because it was Mother Day. I will definitely go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Very enjoyable, excellent food and servi ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Very enjoyable, excellent food and service, and had no trouble getting a reservation for 5 on Mother's Day in the afternoon. I thought it was pretty pricey. We would probably go more often if it wasn't so expensive.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

there to celebrate our 39th wedding anniversary

Dined on May 8, 2016

First off we were seated next to a wall that came out about 1ft which hindered cutting and eating my food since I was right handed. 2nd the waiter wasn't very clear on whether anything we ordered was covered under the $52 dollar per person charge which we found out when we received the bill which was very high. And by the way I thought the meat and sausage was overly salted except for the Fillet Mignon which I had for the 1st time ever, very good. Had heard a lot of good things about your place but I walked away not feeling very satisfied.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful as Usual!

Dined on May 8, 2016

What a nice Mother's day treat! I love the beef rib on the platter, and my six year old now likes the spicy sausage!

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

SCRUMPTIOUS DINING; EXCELLENT SERVICE!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Fogo offers a variety of great choices for every palate. The food is fresh, is rapidly replenished, and just darn good. It is my grandchildren's favorite place to dine. Fogo was our restaurant of choice for Mother's Day (2016). The lamb melted in our mouths, although all the foods are seasoned well. Fogo is just a WORTHY experience!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Busy location. So much salt.

Dined on May 8, 2016

We went for my husband's birthday. I had the market table. It was just okay. Not a huge selection for the price. My husband and our two friends had the full experience aka mostly meat. They all commented on the overwhelming salt content of the meats. And these guys are carnivores who are not that picky. For the price, we just expected higher quality. The service was great though. We went early at 5:00 on Saturday. The staff was attentive and friendly. Parking was a nightmare, even with the valet. He was so busy and there was nowhere to stop, so we circled the block several times.

food5
ambience5
service5

Came here for a birthday dinner and foun ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Came here for a birthday dinner and found it to be just what I was expecting. They even thew in a birthday dessert at the very end. Very fast service and delicious food! 🍴

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful place to go

Dined on May 6, 2016

My family and I went to celebrate my sons 15th Birthday. We loved it. The food is Fantastic. The ambiance is superb. The staff is Great, very polite and helpful. I'd definitely go again. We went for lunch it's a bit cheaper, plus we joined the e- club and got 15 dollars off. Made it better ;) I Highly Recommend this place to anyone.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

High quality, great service

Dined on May 4, 2016

I have been eating at the Fogo de Chao restaurants for many years since I started traveling to Brazil. I was always impress by their quality of meats and cuts as well as the excellent service. So glad to find out they open one in San Diego which has now become our top spot for family celebrations.ot

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food as always. Service was excel ...

Dined on May 3, 2016

Great food as always. Service was excellent. Made for a good evening.

food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Fago De Chao

Dined on May 3, 2016

Everything was great except for the service. My mother picked Fago De Chao as the restaurant she wanted to celebrate her 60th birthday at. Nothing was done to celebrate this special day.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Fresh cooked meat

Dined on May 2, 2016

Fresh cooked meat

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food

Dined on May 1, 2016

I think it was the perfect restaurant to celebrate my wedding anniversary. The food was perfect, we had plenty of options and the service was great.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Service staff did a phenomenal job accom ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Service staff did a phenomenal job accomodating gluten-free diner in our party

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

BUSINESS DINNER

Dined on April 28, 2016

Had been to another Fogo de Chao in Puerto Rico, and was looking forward to trying again. Much "hipper" location and very crowded. Service was excellent, as was the food. Noise level in such a crowded place was not ideal for a large group, as you could really only hear the people seated next to you. Overall great food and service, so would definitely go back.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Chain restaurant vibe

Dined on April 27, 2016

We discovered FdC via OpenTable and liked the sound of it. We arrived during Happy Hour but could not order drinks in the main restaurant because, we were told, they do not share the same system for tracking the cost of your meal. What?! I had to walk into the bar and order the drinks, pay for them, and bring them to our table. Of course, I could have paid full price for the cocktails, yet really?! It's Happy Hour! I was not happy. That said, the drinks exceeded our expectations, as did the salad bar. The latter was the best part of the meal. The main meats that paraded by were middle-of-the-pack, nothing to write home about--but we are accustomed to Seattle-quality which is not snobbishness, just reflects the number of James Beard--level chefs we have around our town and how different a restaurant is when the owner is the chef! The dessert menu read like they buy all their desserts and store them in the back room. We passed. If you love all-you-can-eat restaurants, you'll love this place. We left and ordered dessert at a restaurant nearby where the owner is the chef and made it in house--their salted caramel pudding was amazing!

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

They have the best beef ribs. You have t ...

Dined on April 26, 2016

They have the best beef ribs. You have to try it! It's only served by request.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the Best!

Dined on April 26, 2016

I eat at Fogo de Chao frequently on my many business trips. I have come to expect the great service, great wine list and the wonderful selection of meats. This time was no exception. My favorite this night was the beef rib, which usually requires that you ask for it. It was simply perfect and melted in my mouth. Great location and within walking distance of most of downtown San Diego and the Gas Lamp district. Treat yourself.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another Great FDC Meal

Dined on April 25, 2016

Fogo de Chao is one of my Go To Restaurant in any city there is one. Great food, service and ALWAYS exactly what my expectations are. I have taken many newcomers to FDC's around the country from Miami to Chicago, San Diego to Baltimore and Philly.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sandra Valdez

Dined on April 24, 2016

What a fabulous lunch. Our dining experience was picture perfect! Thank you.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cousin first time

Dined on April 24, 2016

On our second visit, we Invited my favorite cousin and his wife for a double date. It was their first time there, let alone first timers to a Brazilian restaurant. They enjoyed everything your restaurant had to offer. They kept raving on how delicious and juicy the meats were. They are now planning on coming back with their eldest son and invite more friends. You haven't seen the last of us. We'll be back! Thank you for making our visit(s) a spectacular and delicious one!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great everything!

Dined on April 23, 2016

Starting from our server Andre and finishing with chocolate molten cake - it was great experience overall. I won't say they have crazy choices of the salad bar but it has enough you need to start with and accomplish your meat dining (the reason why you go there). The meat they serve is fresh, juicy, well seasoned and delicious! I wish I had one more stomach for places like this! The best meat was buttery steak sirloin, I would eat it everyday. Special thanks to Aaron to be a manager (?) of the year, he was very attentive and nice.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Phillip and his crew are awesome!!

Dined on April 23, 2016

Being a party of 11, I did not expect to have the wait staff check on us but i was wrong! They made sure all our drinks were refilled. They checked on my table time to time and i am very pleased with their service. It made my husbands birthday. No complaints! Good food and service is all i need to come back. Kudos to Philip and his team.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good steakhouse.

Dined on April 23, 2016

My father, son, and I went to fine dinner at Fogo De Chao. The service was really good. Every time I needed something there was someone to take care of our every need. I really enjoyed the food but the sides need some work. I think it is time for them to upgrade the side or to add more that you can purchase. I know that the steak is the star of the show but it still needs a quality supporting cast. I will go back again in the future but it will take my other steak houses to be full. Thanks for the memories Fogo De Chao.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Weekdays no so good

Dined on April 21, 2016

I have been there on the weekend and it was great. However, I invite the coworkers for a lunch during the week and it was not so good. First: It took 20 minutes to the first meat comes to the table Second: Some meat were super well done or super rare. Third: Some meat, like lamb came twice but first time had only one and second only 3. We were on 4, so someone was not having that at same time.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4

Salad bar is amazing. Meat keeps coming ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

Salad bar is amazing. Meat keeps coming out and servers keep coming by asking and wanting to ensure that you get everything you want. They'll even ask you if they didn't have what you wanted..

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My Fogo Experience

Dined on April 21, 2016

The food was absolutely amazing and so was the service! The food and service is the focal point, not that the atmosphere is bad; but this is not somewhere you go to have a drink. This place is serious food business, bring your appetite and be open to try everything that comes out because you will NOT be disappointed. Fogo is a must go food experience like no other.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and service

Dined on April 21, 2016

I was amazingly impressed by the excellent service they gave us, and the foo, omg it was to die for !!.. loved i. Loved everything, it was our first time there, but it won't be our last ..

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

Deeeelicious.

Dined on April 20, 2016

Melt in your mouth meats. Absolutely delicious. Mighty pricey though.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

F d C 1/4ly Visit

vip
Dined on April 19, 2016

Always happy, though stuffed when we leave F d C. Everyone has their favorite meat(s). Variuos sauces to accompany the meat if you are so inclined. Try the chimichurri. Delicious and fresh salad bar with nice variety. Love palm hearts. The sides, mashed potatoes, caramelized bananas, ooh / aah the cheesy bread rolls. However, crispy polenta not my favorite, just not into polenta. The service is usually impeccable. This evening was made even better with one meat server that was quite personable. A little sense of humor and a giggle. Most are very business like. Looking forward to next 1/4ly visit. May need to splurge and sneak in an extra visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Missed the mark, big time

Dined on April 18, 2016

... I've dined at 10+ Brazilian steakhouses, and this was by far the worse experience I've had at one. Cuts were fatty, servers inexperienced, interaction with staff was just uneasy. Not really sure what was going on with the restaurant, but it was a major disappointment.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.