About Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San Antonio

849 E. Commerce Street
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

Fogo de Chão® (fo-go dèe shoun), is an authentic Southern Brazilian steakhouse. In 1979, Fogo® began sharing the gaucho way of preparing meat in Porto Alegre, Brazil. Today, our gaucho chefs still expertly grill each of our 20 cuts of meat and offer you continuous tableside service.

We invite you to enjoy the delicious preparations of our gaucho chefs along with our gourmet market table, authentic Brazilian side dishes, and award-winning wine list.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Brazilian Steakhouse, Steakhouse, South American

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Tuesday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Wednesday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Thursday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:30pm
Saturday: 2:00pm - 10:30pm
Sunday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
River Walk

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 227-1700

Website:
http://www.fogodechao.com/

Parking Details:
Limited metered parking is located around the restaurant. Also available, is the River Center Parking Garage, which charges by the hour.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Fried Polenta
Mashed Potato
Hot Chocolate Fudge Cake
Flan
Sirloin
Picanha
Italian Coffee
Pao De Queijo
Brazilian Steakhouse
Brazilian Meat On Skwers

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 4:30PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:30PM - 10:30PM

Sat 2:00PM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 5:30PM 9:00PM - 10:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Invite your guests to a truly unique group dining experience! Whether for private dining rooms, or to interact in our main dining areas, Fogo de Chão® is the perfect location for parties of 15 to 110

Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San Antonio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
San Antonio
Most Booked
San Antonio
Special Occasion
San Antonio
1 More
Most Booked
San Antonio
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Special Occasion (187)
Good for Groups (99)
Romantic (94)
See All
Fit for Foodies (70)
Great for Lunch (62)
Hot Spot (42)
Notable Wine List (38)
Great for Brunch (24)
Late-night Find (20)
Kid-friendly (20)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Scenic View (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Private Room (1)
Business Meals (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Authentic (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Sort By:
Newest
560 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had to wait at the bar 20 min past ou ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 4 days ago

We had to wait at the bar 20 min past our reservation time. Our first server asked us if we needed an overview of how the service worked, which most of us did, but she turned her head while talking, went through the details like she had done it a million times before, thus most of us didn't catch what was said. When asked to say it again, she actually showed exasperation. This server seemed upset and short until the very end of our meal. Another server helped out and was great which made up for the first one pretty well. The food was out of this world, the meat servers were great too. The noise level wasn’t the best.

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Great selection of meats and salad bar! ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great selection of meats and salad bar! Cheese bread was delicous!

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved the whole experience at this res ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 6 days ago

I loved the whole experience at this restaurant. I definitely will return and recommend to friends and family. The wine was great, excellent choice from our hostess.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Their beef selection is limited, I know ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 6 days ago

Their beef selection is limited, I know rib eye is a little fatty, but their rib eye was extremely fatty to the point it could not be eaten.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Wonderful service, delicious food, and e ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful service, delicious food, and extensive salad bar. Will definitely be back!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very attentive and energetic staff membe ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 6 days ago

Very attentive and energetic staff members. Salad/cheese/ham/soup bar complements the main course which is endless amount of proteins. Went for Restaurant Week so menu was limited to selected cuts but still plentiful and delicious. Their 3rd course is either Chocolate Mousse, Key Lime Pie or Strawberry Cheesecake. All three are palate pleasing.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Decided to give the place a try instead ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 7 days ago

Decided to give the place a try instead of Texas de Brazil for the Restaurant Week. Big mistake. The Restaurant Week menu was a reduced menu and had only very limited selections. I was sat in a corner after informing them that I was there for the Restaurant Week. Service was also very slow. It wasn't until at the end when they were trying to rush me out they asked what they could bring me, which of course was pointless because I was there for the churrascaria experience and wasn't expecting a "just tell us what we need to do to get rid of you" attitude. I've been fortunate enough to have visited many churrascaria restaurants around the country and this was by far the worst experience I've had. Needless to say, I won't be returning, at least to the San Antonio location. I'd suggest that anyone looking for a churrascaria in San Antonio visit Texas de Brazil instead for a much pleasant experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Service was awesome

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Service was awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good as always. Never had a bad experien ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Good as always. Never had a bad experience in any city with this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

There was just way to many people the me ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

There was just way to many people the meats were not coming out fast enough im guessing due to alot of customers but the meats were also tough like the cooks were rushing to prep it I love this place, I go about 3 times a months but I give my birthday experience 3 stars.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Outstanding food and atmosphere. Will ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Outstanding food and atmosphere.

Will be back next week!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was above and beyond! Loved the ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Service was above and beyond! Loved the atmosphere, the people, and of course -- the food. Kudos to y'all!

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food and wine list along with a ni ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great food and wine list along with a nice romantic ambience. We visited during restaurant week to celebrate a wedding anniversary for the in-laws. Unfortunately, we were disappointed with the service experience from having to ask for side items three times to our waiter strong selling the full menu and not the restaurant week short menu, which we thought was just as sufficient for dinner.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

With two other brazilian steakhouses in ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

With two other brazilian steakhouses in town of equal food quality, this one would be my last choice due to the service. We did have one server, Mike, who was friendly when present, but the hostess couldn't wait to drop menus and run, as well as the waitress who initially wouldn't even wait for everyone to be seated to speed-read the process of food service and take drink orders. Likewise the food service was extremely slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value2

All in all, a good experience...! The va ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

All in all, a good experience...! The variety of meats was excellent and the staff were very attentive. If I had one thing to whine about, it would be the lack of hot vegetables...mashed potato was the only veg on the evening we attended. I understand that it's all about the meat...but, a couple of additional hot vegetables would still have been welcome. Whine over...well worth a visit

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Visited for Birthday and Anniversary Cel ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Visited for Birthday and Anniversary Celebration.Had to call and change reservation to a later time,aand it was done quickly with no questions asked.On arrival we were quickly seated,and waitress explained how service worked.Even as Restaurant was very busy,service was quick,aand all staff were very professional and friendly.We thoroughly enjoyed the meal,aand would highly recommend visiting here.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For as many servers as we were introduce ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

For as many servers as we were introduced to, we sure did not have the equating service. It was very inconsistent and there were several times we tried to get someone to help our table and we were not helped. I also ordered a drink I wanted with my dessert and I hadn't received it until well after and basically when we were ready to leave. Disappointing for this type of restaurant in a high tourism area. I hope visitors to our city get better service than what my friends and I had gotten that evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Food was on point as always. We did the ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food was on point as always. We did the restaurant week option which I feel was a mistake. The issue wasnt with the selection of meats offered but the service. It was my sister's first time and I was disappointed. My sister asked if we had to ask for service (meat) and I told her the servers come to you. Multiple times we had to ask for a server to come over. I don't want to believe it was because we chose the less exspensive option but I feel it might have been a reason why we were not taken care of as I had experienced before.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Such amazing food and staff they always ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Such amazing food and staff they always where checking on us every 5 min. AWESOME TEAM WORK... My family and I just love this place we always enjoy coming here...I have always recommen friends and family to come here for dinner. Thank You we will be back soon 😊

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are frequent Dallas Fogo De chao visi ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We are frequent Dallas Fogo De chao visitors and are never disappointed like we were here. The portions of the potatos were small and they were runner and wet than very ever seen. The plantains were mashed up for reason pretty much anytime they brought a new set out. We were extremely disappointed here it this location. Felt we wasted 120 dollars.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

Went there for a special occasion and th ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Went there for a special occasion and the waiter asked if we were there for any special occasion. Why bother noting it on the reservation if they aren't going to read it. I've loved every other Fogo location. This one was just too touristy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

We were seated in an area which had no o ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We were seated in an area which had no one else around us so the Gauchos would bring the meat offerings to the tables which were close together and only occasionally came to our table.

When we mentioned it to a server, he acted like we were exaggerating and nothing changed.

Kind of disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

The only reason I put anything other tha ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The only reason I put anything other than excellent on the noise level was because of the work going on next door that got loud. Luckily we were at the end of our meal.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Extremely delicious excellent service ca ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Extremely delicious excellent service can't wait to go back!

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I enjoy every visit to Fogo!!!!!

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

I enjoy every visit to Fogo!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Was nice but we paid for full experience ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Was nice but we paid for full experience and only got a couple of the meats only the sane guys were coming by and took a long time to come by.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

We had a great time as a family with adu ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We had a great time as a family with adult children. Not sure I would bring little ones here but noticed other people did and it did not seem to be a problem. Salad bar was outstanding and service was very good on top of the incredible steak & pork loin & lamb chops! Have been to the one in Houston and it seemed a lot more casual in San Antonio. Very good overall experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I had an amazing time with my girl , Eve ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I had an amazing time with my girl , Everything is was great Thank much

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our lunch was very good. The selections ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Our lunch was very good. The selections at the salad bar were extensive. Our waiter did an extremely good job of taking care of our group of 10 and making sure our needs were met. The meat servers were a little lax in that the sometimes would serve one side of the table and not the other side, so we had to request meat. All in all, it was a very enjoyable experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Been going to Fogo since it first opened ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Been going to Fogo since it first opened- we were faithful patrons for years. Sad to see the quality of food and the service go down. very disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Had heard good things about this restaur ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Had heard good things about this restaurant, was not overly impressed. The good cuts of meat were being brought out kinda late and it seemed like there were not enough waiters to keep up with the flow. You had to wait a long time for them to bring out more meat and it was all the same cuts of meat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Reservation not honored. Servers were h ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Reservation not honored. Servers were hard to come by, felt like they were only hovering around a certain area of the restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

I pick this place for a special occasion ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I pick this place for a special occasion celebration of being with my partner for 7 yrs..had a great time service was great, and food was amazing. I would highly recommend this place too all my friends and family, you must try it out..great time looking forward to going back soon.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service!

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Excellent food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love dining here. The food is always ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We love dining here. The food is always great and the service is outstanding. If you do not want to pay the $50 per plate at dinner, head there for lunch. The price is cut in half and it is the same menu.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My mother and I returned to this locatio ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

My mother and I returned to this location because of the service and food we received last year while vacationing in San Antonio. This year was a disappointment. We asked for medium well for our meat selection and we received rare or burnt selections. Every patron around us were receiving refills without asking but we had to ask. I felt that we were being ignored. Our ticket was left on the table but we weren't asked if we wanted dessert, which we did. The waitress stated she thought someone else had asked us and I told her that wasn't the case. I ordered two slices of cheesecake with the strawberry glaze to go. The waitress returned with the cheesecake on dessert plates. I told her that we needed it to go. She got an attitude and walked away with the cheesecake. She returned with the cheesecake in the to go boxes. When we got ready to eat the cheesecake, we noticed that there was hardly and glaze and a small sliver of a strawberry.

Our experience this year was not worth the time or money that was spent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Amber and Crystal were the ladies consta ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Amber and Crystal were the ladies constantly checking on us. The service was fantastic, and it was because of these two young women! They need to be given a raise and a large pat on the back. The food was incredible.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was Sunday evening and not to crowded ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

It was Sunday evening and not to crowded. I called ahead to see if we could bring a special cake in and it was no problem. Our server was very accommodating. Good place to go for groups. Everyone can eat what they like.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Me and my husband were celebrating our 2 ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Me and my husband were celebrating our 23rd wedding anniversary . We really enjoyed our meal and the staff, expecially our waitress were nice and helpful .

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a very great expereince, the staf ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

It was a very great expereince, the staff were very kind, and had excellent service! The food was also great, and it was a great 24th birthday for my friend!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.