About Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San Antonio

849 E. Commerce Street
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

Fogo de Chão® (fo-go dèe shoun), is an authentic Southern Brazilian steakhouse. In 1979, Fogo® began sharing the gaucho way of preparing meat in Porto Alegre, Brazil. Today, our gaucho chefs still expertly grill each of our 20 cuts of meat and offer you continuous tableside service.

We invite you to enjoy the delicious preparations of our gaucho chefs along with our gourmet market table, authentic Brazilian side dishes, and award-winning wine list.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Brazilian Steakhouse, Steakhouse, South American

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Tuesday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Wednesday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Thursday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:30pm
Saturday: 2:00pm - 10:30pm
Sunday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
River Walk

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 227-1700

Website:
http://www.fogodechao.com/

Parking Details:
Limited metered parking is located around the restaurant. Also available, is the River Center Parking Garage, which charges by the hour.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Fried Polenta - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San Antonio
Mashed Potato - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San Antonio
Hot Chocolate Fudge Cake - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San Antonio
Flan - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San Antonio
Sirloin - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San Antonio
Picanha - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San Antonio
Italian Coffee - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San Antonio
Pao De Queijo - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San Antonio
Brazilian Steakhouse - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San Antonio
Brazilian Meat On Skwers - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San Antonio

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 4:30PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:30PM - 10:30PM

Sat 2:00PM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 5:30PM 9:00PM - 10:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Invite your guests to a truly unique group dining experience! Whether for private dining rooms, or to interact in our main dining areas, Fogo de Chão® is the perfect location for parties of 15 to 110

Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San Antonio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
San Antonio
Most Booked
San Antonio
Special Occasion
San Antonio
1 More
Most Booked
San Antonio
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Special Occasion (168)
Good for Groups (90)
Romantic (79)
See All
Fit for Foodies (56)
Great for Lunch (50)
Good for a Date (37)
Hot Spot (35)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Notable Wine List (30)
Kid-friendly (25)
Great for Brunch (22)
Late-night Find (19)
Casual (18)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Business Meals (16)
Worth the Drive (16)
Scenic View (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Fun (13)
Authentic (13)
Family Style (13)
Tasting Menu (12)
Paleo Friendly (11)
Outstanding Value (8)
Cozy (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Healthy (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
People Watching (4)
Waterfront (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Fireplace (2)
Seasonal (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Private Room (2)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
597 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Had a great time. Food was amazing. Took ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 6 days ago

Had a great time. Food was amazing. Took my girl friend for our anniversary and was given a delicious desert. Will be returning next time we are in the city.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow was this place good. I have been to ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

Wow was this place good. I have been to a Brazilian Restaurant before, but this one was extra good. Pricey, but worth it. The salad bar alone is delicious from all the many choices as well as all the different kind of meats they offered. I think I usually get a the same random four or five kinds of meats. This place a lot of more variety kinds of meats. From the usual different kinds of steaks, to chickens, pork, and lamb chops, all made to your liking and the Gauchos are very nice and explain everything they have. Their homemade lemonade is truly the best I have ever tasted. I highly recommend it. Delicious. You will not leave there hungry.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

My wife had a great time and will come b ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 6 days ago

My wife had a great time and will come back soon.

The service was excellent.

Tags: Waterfront, Authentic, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Scenic View, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everyone was very good to us, I took my ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

Everyone was very good to us, I took my 2 boys that are stationed at Lackland for Dinner on Saturday late afternoon/early evening. I am also a bariatric patient and they were able to discount my meal to half the normal cost. This was a great experience and I will be returning. Had not gone in the past because paying for a meal for me is pretty much a waste of money. I can only eat 2c of food max and at $50 a head, not ideal. Thanks for everything I'll see you again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Comfort Food, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meat on this Pelicular day was over ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

The meat on this Pelicular day was over cooked. The new York strip was very tough and well done. Meat choices were limited for a Friday night. Had to keep asking for the cuts that weren't circulating.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Afternoon Tea, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value4

Wow! What a meal. It was like a brazilli ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Wow! What a meal. It was like a brazillian wedding feast. The food and drinks just kept coming. We will be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They were very accommodating when we ha ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

They were very accommodating when we had two extras and changed our table to make it work instead of making us wait longer. They always have great food and even greater service. As a friend said, "They wait inside the columns to fill your drinks, that's why we can't see them!"

Tags: Business Meals, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and staff were great. This was our ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Food and staff were great. This was our 48th wedding anniversary. All the staff , one at time congratulated us and thanked us for celebrating with them. This was our first visit . Waitress brought a desert with happy anniversary written on it. What a great time. Only problem is we both ate to much.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food choice, meat selection wa ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Excellent food choice, meat selection was outstanding

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was great. Manager Ms. Rodrigue ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Service was great. Manager Ms. Rodriguez went out of her way to make us feel welcome and comfortable. Her praise for my service in the military and police was very welcomed and appreciated.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

it was a great place to take our busines ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

it was a great place to take our business partners. I couldn't have had a better meal anywhere else in San Antonio.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just didn't think it was worth the money ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Just didn't think it was worth the money. The experience was great, please don't get me wrong. The food was very good also. It was just very expensive for the little food we consumed.

(Also this review section does not work properly. you cannot edit a word, only one letter at a time. The curser goes back to the end after each edit. Just thought you'd like to know)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Not up to Fogo de Chao worlwide standard ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Not up to Fogo de Chao worlwide standards, waiters cutting the meat too thick and not to the cooking degree we asked, poor job with the lab, good beef rib, creme de papaia with too much ice cream. Not bad, but I had better under that brand name.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I was a little disappointed with this re ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

I was a little disappointed with this restaurant. I'm from Brazil and I've been to Fogo de Chão several times, both in Brazil and now here in the US.

The picanha at the San Antonio location was subpar. Dry, chewy and not seasoned enough.

However the parmesan pork was the most delicious pork I've ever had, so it made up for the picanha.

Overall, I am not sure I would come back to this location or recommend it.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

The food was excellent, but the service ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The food was excellent, but the service was outstanding. I have never felt so taken care of at a restaurant. Everyone was friendly, polite, and professional. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The staff wasn't very professional and o ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The staff wasn't very professional and our dinner was full of unnecessary interruptions.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

The lamb chops melted in my mouth, so de ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The lamb chops melted in my mouth, so delicious. The fresh vegetable choices

On the salad bar were enjoyed immensely

Enjoyed. Service was top-notch.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fun, Good for Groups, Molecular Gastronomy, Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Organic, Business Meals, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was marvelous, service couldn't be ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Food was marvelous, service couldn't be beat. I just loved it from beginning to end.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All around awesome! Will definitely be b ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

All around awesome! Will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We waited more time waiting for the chec ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

We waited more time waiting for the check than waiting. The buffet wasn't as good as I experienced fogo de chao before. The served food was mostly cold ( bread, meat, ...)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

The food was the best I've had in a long ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The food was the best I've had in a long time. Great location friendly staff.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The foodwas delicious. I love this resta ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The foodwas delicious. I love this restaurant. We had a small vacation and we had a great experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Family Style, Modern Decor, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

very good experience. will come back. no ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

very good experience. will come back. now i am only writing to get 50 characters

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It wasa great encounter and the food was ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

It wasa great encounter and the food was great with many choices, a great place to meet enjoy time with people just relaxing while eating and drinking. I would go atleast a month or more.

Tags: Comfort Food, Healthy, Family Style, Outstanding Value, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Fireplace, Paleo Friendly, Late-night Find, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Casual, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Do not order sea bass. Was first underco ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Do not order sea bass. Was first undercooked then overcooked. Had it taken off and enjoyed the Market table. Great wine and service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great the server was awesom ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The food was great the server was awesome, there was another server she was great also, she seemed to help everyone and still keep up with her table's. It was the best expireance that we had in a while.

Tags: Family Style, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My fiancee and I made a reservation at F ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

My fiancee and I made a reservation at Fogo De Chao for 8:30 PM during restaurant week. We were seated around 8:50 PM; it was noticeably busy, which was no surprise to us and we didn't mind waiting. Our server was very attentive, continuously refilled our drinks and made sure our favorite meats were being served to our table. I highly recommend this location for a great experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The side dishes were luke warm at best, ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The side dishes were luke warm at best, the mashed potatoes were over whipped and had way to much garlic. The rolls were tasty but barely warm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Disappointed that server was so busy and ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Disappointed that server was so busy and not as attentive as we thought she should be. Seemed in a hurry all the time.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

We were seated in the side room and many ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We were seated in the side room and many times the servers came into the room we were overlooked and passed by. Not the best experience I have had here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

This was one of the best restaurants my ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

This was one of the best restaurants my husband and I have ever been to. We will definitely be back. We celebrated buying our first house. The entire staff was very attentive! The Brazilian Cheese Bread was to die for!!! The meat....well you'll see...it's all delicious and there is plenty to go around. You will leave stuffed!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Fun, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for the experience. It was a ver ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We went for the experience. It was a very new and exciting type of restaurant for us. The young men that brought the food around were awesome and we were continually checked on by management.

Our only disappointment was that our waitress was rude to one of our hearing impaired diners and disappeared between drinks and the check.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value2

The food was so amazing! I could not sto ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The food was so amazing! I could not stop saying how good the service and food was throughout dinner! I will definitely recommend this restaurant to many others!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fast, reliably flavorful, variety, good ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Fast, reliably flavorful, variety, good service. We accidentally went during Restaurant Week and did not seek the special rate--but I pity anyone who did, because the most commonly brought meats were excluded from the Restaurant Week menu. Seems like a bait-and-switch. Fine print: "Does not include Beef Ribs, Ribeye, Filet Mignon, Bacon-Wrapped Filet Mignon, or Lamb Chops."

Tags: Fun, Paleo Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

My family frequently visits another Braz ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

My family frequently visits another Brazilian Steakhouse that we very much enjoy, and we visited this one for their restaurant week special. We were pretty disappointed. The food was not as great, the drinks were mediocre at best. Worst of all-and most infuriating- was that many of the men who serve the meat would skip over my mother and I. They would serve the men at the table but skip us, not even ask, just walk away. We had two waiters. The first took our drink order them was never to be seen again. The second was very present and accommodating. I don't think we will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Restaurant week disappointment. The sa ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Restaurant week disappointment. The salad bar was the highlight. The whole experience had the feel of a cattle call feeding experience. Rushed, crowded, loud. Only 1 of the many meats was good, others were tough or tasteless. The "key lime pie" was a bland cheesecake with neon green syrup - yuk. We won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

The food was amazing. There were a few t ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

The food was amazing. There were a few times that we had to wait for the waitstaff to attend to our table. Also we ordered coffee with dessert and they failed to bring it. When we mentioned it to what seemed to be a manager he asked if we would like a cappuccino instead since we had to wait so we said yes. When the bill arrived they charged us for the cappuccino which he had eluded would have been complimentary. Also there is no parking available for the restaurant. We had to pay 12 dollars for parking in the mall parking garage and the restaurant does not validate. We will probably not return.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

We had to wait at the bar 20 min past ou ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

We had to wait at the bar 20 min past our reservation time. Our first server asked us if we needed an overview of how the service worked, which most of us did, but she turned her head while talking, went through the details like she had done it a million times before, thus most of us didn't catch what was said. When asked to say it again, she actually showed exasperation. This server seemed upset and short until the very end of our meal. Another server helped out and was great which made up for the first one pretty well. The food was out of this world, the meat servers were great too. The noise level wasn’t the best.

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Great selection of meats and salad bar! ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great selection of meats and salad bar! Cheese bread was delicous!

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved the whole experience at this res ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I loved the whole experience at this restaurant. I definitely will return and recommend to friends and family. The wine was great, excellent choice from our hostess.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.