About Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San Antonio

849 E. Commerce Street
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

Fogo de Chão® (fo-go dèe shoun), is an authentic Southern Brazilian steakhouse. In 1979, Fogo® began sharing the gaucho way of preparing meat in Porto Alegre, Brazil. Today, our gaucho chefs still expertly grill each of our 20 cuts of meat and offer you continuous tableside service.

We invite you to enjoy the delicious preparations of our gaucho chefs along with our gourmet market table, authentic Brazilian side dishes, and award-winning wine list.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Brazilian Steakhouse, Steakhouse, South American

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Tuesday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Wednesday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Thursday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:30pm
Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:30pm
Sunday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
River Walk

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 227-1700

Website:
http://www.fogodechao.com/

Parking Details:
Limited metered parking is located around the restaurant. Also available, is the River Center Parking Garage, which charges by the hour.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
All Dads who dine will receive a card for a complimentary lunch or dinner on his next visit.* Restrictions apply. Sunday June 19, 11am-9pm, dinner price all day.
1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 4:30PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:30PM - 10:30PM

Sat 4:30PM - 5:30PM 9:00PM - 10:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Invite your guests to a truly unique group dining experience! Whether for private dining rooms, or to interact in our main dining areas, Fogo de Chão® is the perfect location for parties of 15 to 110

Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San Antonio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
San Antonio
Most Booked
San Antonio
Special Occasion
San Antonio
1 More
Most Booked
San Antonio
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

special occasion (198)
good for groups (122)
romantic (118)
See All
fit for foodies (91)
great for lunch (83)
notable wine list (46)
hot spot (40)
great for brunch (28)
neighborhood gem (27)
kid-friendly (25)
late-night find (24)
scenic view (21)
vibrant bar scene (10)
great for outdoor dining (10)
Sort By:
Newest
438 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

First timers and we really enjoyed our e ...

Dined 2 days ago

First timers and we really enjoyed our experience . The food was amazing... We will definitely be back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great!

Dined on May 16, 2016

Great service, great food. Highly recommended.From the moment I entered this restaurant I felt welcome, and the food was great.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We were there to celebrate our wedding a ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We were there to celebrate our wedding aniversary, and enjoyed the diner very much. I appreciated that several people of the staff talk in spanish, it was a plus. Congrats

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

College Celebration

Dined on May 13, 2016

We had a wonderful time celebrating our son's college graduation.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service3
value5

I have been to Fogo de Chao many times. ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

I have been to Fogo de Chao many times. Thisvtime it fell short. The meat was good, but not well seasoned and more cooked than I like it. I had to continually ask for particular cuts of meat and the gaichos just didn't come by as oftern as expected.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Not impressed

Dined on May 13, 2016

A wide selection of salad options, cured meats and cheeses, smoked salmon are all very nice. As nice as these are they cannot carry mediocre meat . At this price point much better steaks are available. The service is good just not enough to make me want to go back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The place is fantastic and Damien is abs ...

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

The place is fantastic and Damien is absolutely perfect. Food was excellent and the the overall dining experience makes it worth the trip.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

First Rodizio ever, I travel often and I ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

First Rodizio ever, I travel often and I was saving myself for the experience on Rio or Brazilia but this chance came around and it was wonderful! Nice place, clean, good ambiance, excellent service

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Mother's day night

Dined on May 9, 2016

It started out well, even though make you wait door for of your party. Then most customers left and tables were being cleared, the employees started sitting down behind us and having their dinner. Selections and service began to diminish.

Tags: notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Mother's day dinner

Dined on May 8, 2016

Fogo De Chao is our go to for any and all special occasions. We go there for birthdays, anniversaries, and mother's day. It's a bit pricey, but well worth it. The house sirloin was to die for. We ordered 2 different drinks as well. I can't remember the name of them, but one was a passion fruit drink that as AWESOME. This is our first time visiting the San Antonio location. We usually visit the San Diego location. The market had a great variety of foods to choose from, I especially enjoyed the smoked salmon and asparagus. We will be back for our next big night out.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4

Fabulous meats. Great salad bar. Soup no ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Fabulous meats. Great salad bar. Soup not great but everything else wonderful.

food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Good food, good service, polite people, ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Good food, good service, polite people, nice feel...got to tell you, it is a little steep for a buffet. Also, really hard to enjoy the choice meats with everything else they have to eat...drinks could be included...don't think that they are, but that would be great. All in all, nice restaurant and not a bad location. If you are an avid and prolific meat eater, this place is for you.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Endless food, average service

Dined on May 8, 2016

We expected more, much more, although we had a confirmed reservation, and on time for it, table took 35 mins. to be ready, service from our waiter was good, he was friendly and fast, service from the skewer guys was bad, they were elusive until we ask our server for some cuts, the ambient is noisy, almost loud, not good for date night.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and 5 Star food. Undo ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Excellent service and 5 Star food. Undoubtedly the best Brazilian Restaurant I have dined at.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

great food

Dined on May 5, 2016

as others have noted, you really come here for the meat, and it is fantastic. the sides/salads/desserts are all fine but would not be worth the price if not for the outstanding cuts and preparation of protein. it is pricy-- maybe overly so-- but the ambience, service and fabulous entrees make the experience worth it.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

a lot of food! Limonata is a must

Dined on May 4, 2016

a lot of food! Limonata is a must

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the best!

Dined on May 2, 2016

The staff was so friendly and helpful and the food was the best I've ever had! My husband and I loved every minute of it!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Family celebration

Dined on May 1, 2016

The waitstaff and managers were wonderful and accommodating even though we had young children. The food was excellent and atmosphere was elegant. They made us feel special.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A fatboys dream!

Dined on May 1, 2016

The cuts of beef are outstanding. The Picanha is my favorite. However the top and bottom sirloin cuts are top notch. I recommend trying their pork medallions covered in parmesan. They are ridiculously delicious! If they don't have the cuts you like just ask and they'll be right over with your request.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

not a great experience

Dined on May 1, 2016

The whole concept wasn't explained to us, the service was slow. There were no sides ready, we waited 30 minutes for cold over peppered potatoes. For what I paid for dinner it was definitely not worth it.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Special Occasion Place

Dined on April 30, 2016

Food was very good and the service is EXCELLENT! Fernando is EXCELLENT!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Keep coming back

Dined on April 30, 2016

This is my second time coming to Fogo de Chao and I was not disappointed. This time we brought my girlfriend's mom for her birthday and she absolutely loved it. I will continue to recommend this place for their outstanding food and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great dining experience

Dined on April 29, 2016

we went to celebrate our anniversary we had made reservations the day before. We arrived and our table was ready immediately. We enjoyed dinner only thing is my husband had to ask for lamb several times before they came around. End of dinner we were excited that our dessert was given complementary and "Happy Anniversary " was written what a great touch!!! We will definitely return

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Time to diet all day.

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

All you can eat and the food is excellent. Try not to eat much all day.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

For anyone on either a Paleo OR a Vegan diet

Dined on April 24, 2016

If you're on a Paleo diet, then this is the place to go. If you're a Vegan, there's no need to stay away since this is one of the best salad bars in town. The salad bar dinner is half the price of the full dinner so don't avoid this restaurant just because you're not in the mood for beef.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Disappointed

Dined on April 23, 2016

We have visited the Houston location many times over the last 16 yrs and have always had impeccable service and fantastic food. Sadly, we did not have the same experience at the San Antonio location. The quality of the food wasn't the same and the salad bar selections were different. The servers were slow, the rolls, potatoes and polenta were cold and we had to ask for replacements that were also cold. The gauchos were also slow and didn't seem to be nearly as well trained at slicing the meat. The final disappointment was when we were presented with creme brule for our anniversary and it was so over done it was inedible. Very disappointing experience especially for our 15th wedding anniversary.

food1
ambience2
service3

My husband and I were on our date night. ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

My husband and I were on our date night. We had reservations and was seated immediately however; we were seated in a corner. Service was horrible, hardly anyone came over with the different selections of meat. We only had three types of meats while seeing the other tables being served a variety. We were served cold hard bread, the potatoes were cold. It just was not a good experience this time for us. We have visited Fogo de Chao previously and the experience was 100% better than this visit. After not having what we came for, we were ready to go. We were still hungry and not satisfied.

food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Disappointed

Dined on April 23, 2016

We have been coming to Fogo for a little over 3 years now. Recently it was my husbands birthday and I decided to make reservations and take him here. The food was good except he requested for the ribeye to make a stop at our table, and it never showed up. We asked 3 different servers, the manager who was walking by and asking if we needed anything, and our own server. It was a little disappointing that the ribeye did not show up. Towards the end of the meal after we had ordered dessert the manager finally had the ribeye show up. This was a special occasion, and you decided to make an attempt and serve my husband ribeye after already having dessert brought to our table. For what we paid I am disappointed in the service, even more so because it was a special occasion.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Overpriced

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

This was my first visit. I found the selections to be of a good variety but the prices were ridiculous. If you spend $100 per person for dinner I would expect only table service. For the value and quality, go to Ruth Chris

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was greeted cordially and all waiters at ...

Dined on April 20, 2016

Was greeted cordially and all waiters attended tables. Ordered sparkling water and the wait staff didn't allow the glass to get 1/2 empty. Food was delicious and hot. Salad bar was presented well with fresh offerings. Overall a great spend for the money.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ideal date night

Dined on April 20, 2016

Fogo can be quite pricey but if you subscribe to their mailing list, you and your significant other can dine on wonderful meats and the exotic salad bar quite cost effectively. The service is amazing and everyone is dedicated to making your experience pleasant. Their selection of fine meats is without comparison. Stick with the house specialty Brazilian Picaña and you will definitely be pleased.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4

Food & service was good. It's not my sty ...

Dined on April 13, 2016

Food & service was good. It's not my style, though. $100 for 2 people and we drank water. So, too pricey for the amount of food I ate.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome!

Dined on April 10, 2016

This was a wonderful place! Food was excellent and service spectacular!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

Never on a Holiday.

Dined on March 27, 2016

Had reservations for 2 pm for Easter Brunch. Had a couple of groups walk in, with no reservations. Hostess told them it would be around 20 minute wait. Gave her our name, and was told to wait in bar. Could not believe when the the hostess was calling those without reservations ahead of us. We were there 5 minutes til 2, and we were the ones having to wait to be seated, but those without reservations were seated before us. We contemplated walking out. Took about 7-8 minutes before we were acknowledged by a waiter. Mashed potatoes were cold, and the fried plantains were mush. We asked 4 times for chicken, finally a manager came by, and we had to ask her. Never brought by chicken legs, or filet. Not worth the money.

food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Somewhat disappointed

Dined on March 27, 2016

It was very crowded because it was Easter, so it was very noisy. The food all tasted the same. Service was ok , overall not work the cost.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Rushed

Dined on March 26, 2016

I felt very rushed through the entire process. I had dined previously in Atlanta, and this was a much different experience. From the time we sat down to the time we were given our bill to pay was 45 minutes. And we had drinks and desert with coffee.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent dining experience!

Dined on March 26, 2016

Excellent dining experience!

food5
ambience4
service3

Great food as always. The service was no ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

Great food as always. The service was not as great as normal (it is usually wonderful). Not a big deal...was a wonderful meal and experience with family.

food4
ambience5
service5

Service was excellent and I really enjoy ...

vip
Dined on March 25, 2016

Service was excellent and I really enjoy our waiter; he was awesome. Wine list to dead for!!! Some of the food was cooked to well.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

AMAZING

Dined on March 22, 2016

My husband had been wanting to try Fogo De Chao for a long time, I surprise him for his Birthday and had the most AMAZING lunch. The Market Place was fresh and had a large variety INCLUDING my favorite Salmon. We ate way too much however, enjoyed every bite. We will definitely be back for MY Birthday.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.