About Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San Antonio

849 E. Commerce Street
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

Join us at Fogo de Chão® San Antonio just steps above the famed Riverwalk and adjacent to the Rivercenter Marriott on Commerce Street. We bring our rich Southern Brazilian tradition of churrasco to the Alamo City.
Fogo de Chão is an authentic Brazilian Steakhouse (Churrascaria) that has been setting the standard in Brazil for the past 36 years. Today, our gaucho chefs still expertly grill and carve tableside each of our cuts of meat like Picanha (signature sirloin), Filet Mignon, Ribeye, Fraldinha (Brazilian sirloin) Cordeiro (lamb) and more. In addition to the main dishes, enjoy our gourmet Market Table, authentic Brazilian side dishes, and award-winning wine list. Guests can also choose to enjoy lighter seafood selections or enjoy the gourmet Market Table only option.
We also offer semiprivate and private areas that can accommodate parties up to 140.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Brazilian Steakhouse, Steakhouse, South American

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Tuesday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Wednesday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Thursday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:30pm
Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, 2:00pm - 10:30pm
Sunday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
River Walk

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 227-1700

Website:
http://www.fogodechao.com/

Parking Details:
Limited metered parking is located around the restaurant. Also available, is the River Center Parking Garage, which charges by the hour.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Dining Room  - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San Antonio, San Antonio, TX
Front Entrance  - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San Antonio, San Antonio, TX
Fogo Picanha - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San Antonio, San Antonio, TX
Fogo Ribeye - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San Antonio, San Antonio, TX
Fogo Porkchop - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San Antonio, San Antonio, TX
Fogo Markettable - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San Antonio, San Antonio, TX
Flan - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San Antonio, San Antonio, TX
Fried Polenta - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San Antonio, San Antonio, TX
Sirloin - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San Antonio, San Antonio, TX
Mashed Potato - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San Antonio, San Antonio, TX
Hot Chocolate Fudge Cake - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San Antonio, San Antonio, TX
Picanha - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San Antonio, San Antonio, TX
Italian Coffee - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San Antonio, San Antonio, TX
Pao De Queijo - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San Antonio, San Antonio, TX
Brazilian Steakhouse - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San Antonio, San Antonio, TX
Brazilian Meat On Skwers - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San Antonio, San Antonio, TX

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Treat your love to Valentine’s at Fogo. Celebrate Feb 10 –14 and receive a complimentary dining card for your next visit after you dine.* Rest. apply.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Invite your guests to a truly unique group dining experience! Whether for private dining rooms, or to interact in our main dining areas, Fogo de Chão® is the perfect location for parties of 15 to 110

Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San Antonio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (59)
Good for Anniversaries (46)
Good for a Date (46)
See All
Good for Birthdays (38)
Romantic (31)
Good for Groups (29)
Worth the Drive (26)
Authentic (19)
Business Meals (18)
Fun (18)
Casual (16)
Great for Lunch (14)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Tasting Menu (13)
Family Style (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Paleo Friendly (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Scenic View (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Healthy (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Cozy (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Private Room (7)
People Watching (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Waterfront (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Organic (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Fireplace (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Seasonal (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Historic (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
685 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was our choice for a weekend lunch. ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 2 days ago

This was our choice for a weekend lunch. The other Brazilian Steakhouses are better but do not offer a weekend lunch option.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I went here with my family for my 21st b ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 6 days ago

I went here with my family for my 21st birthday, and it was incredible! It really feels as if you are getting pampered by the whole staff. I'm definitely coming here again for sure.

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and great scenery thank you v ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Great food and great scenery thank you very much for the experience

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excelente servicio desde que entramos. L ...

 
 (Guadalajara)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Excelente servicio desde que entramos. La recepción de Isabel fue excepcional y nos hizo sentir como en casa.

Es garantía comer en este lugar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time and it was great. Delicious ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 8, 2017

First time and it was great. Delicious meat, great service, will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I feel it is too expensive for the meal. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I feel it is too expensive for the meal. We will not return.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

The food and service are exceptional. I ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 3, 2017

The food and service are exceptional. I love the Market table and the variety provided. I LOVE the lamb chops and the smoked salmon the best. And to drink - I highly recommend the top-shelf Fogo Caipirinha!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

amazing location, the waiters were reall ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 1, 2017

amazing location, the waiters were really kind, the service was amazing , and the food was really really good

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fun, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Came here with my husband for a nice New ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Came here with my husband for a nice New Year's Eve dinner and thought I was dining at a Chucky Cheese or McDonald's play land. Kids were running wild in restaurant. Asked waitress about it and she said it is always like this and they have to really watch. It was very scary to see the waiters running around with sharp knives from table to table and having to maneuver around all the kids. For the price of the meal and considering it was 8:30 p.m. we expected a more enjoyable dining experience.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

GOOD EXPERIENCE (Not great because of on ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 1, 2017

GOOD EXPERIENCE (Not great because of one important detail)

My experience was Good, The food was great!, The ambience great! The "Overall" Service good also. I Say "Overall" because the guys with the swords were outstanding, but Roxana (Our waitress) was awful, I think that is the one thing that bothered me a lot, She wasn't nice at all (not even a welcome smile) Of course from time to time She asked what we needed, But definetively Not Nice, she also spilled leftover drinks in our table, served water on our sprite.

That last two things I can pass by if you are nice as a waitress (I mean that is not hard if only for our table you're getting more than $50US)

At the end another waitress came and she was very friendly (totally different)her name was Isabel.I think she saved the night!! =)

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Quaility of the beef was less than other ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Quaility of the beef was less than other Brazilian steakhouses I've eaten at before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Fogo in San Antonio doesn't live up to t ...

vip
 (München)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Fogo in San Antonio doesn't live up to the rest of the chain in other cities. Slow service and smaller salad bar than usual. Would recommend Texas de Brazil downtown or Chama Gaucha in the burbs as solid churrascaria options instead.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

We dined for Christmas dinner and had a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We dined for Christmas dinner and had a great experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Romantic, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the food and service. We had a gr ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Loved the food and service. We had a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. A bit loud but I attribute t ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Great food. A bit loud but I attribute this to the Christmas holiday. Considering the amount of people the staff did a fantastic job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Is a good restaurant but the service is ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Is a good restaurant but the service is not that what we specting special for the price that u pay i believe they can do better we already go to similar restaurants here in san antonio and everything is better

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Thank you for helping make our Anniversa ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Thank you for helping make our Anniversary memorable!!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not worth the money. They pester you to ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Not worth the money. They pester you to death. You can't even enjoy a bite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Excellent service overall. Our server Mi ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Excellent service overall. Our server Mike was very attentive and managers walking around everywhere making sure things were right. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall food was tasty, but I was disapp ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Overall food was tasty, but I was disappointed. Frequency of selections being brought to table was lacking. I had to ask several times for more bread and never got any- apparently it takes them forever to make more. Seemed like they were not prepared/ staffed for full lunch time crowd. Interior is very boring and surprisingly small. The Fogo in Houston is WAY better.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I took my in laws for a special Christma ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 23, 2016

I took my in laws for a special Christmas lunch and they were absolutely blown away by the food and service! I love how all the servers work as a team, and the attentiveness is what really makes the experience something else! We will definitely be back for date nights and other special occasions with our family!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and amazing service! We will ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Great food and amazing service! We will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed an evening with our daughter and ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Enjoyed an evening with our daughter and her friend while she was home from college.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The wait staff was fantastic. I had read ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 20, 2016

The wait staff was fantastic. I had read a lot of reviews before I decided on this place for our company Christmas party. A lot of the reviews were negative about having to wait for meat to come around. We did not have that problem at all. We found that everyone was very attentive. I really liked that the entire staff from the hostess to the bar staff to the meat servers all kept saying if you need anything please feel free to ask any one of us "we work together as a team". I really appreciated the team atmosphere. Everyone seemed to enjoy their job and enjoyed making our experience a delight. I will be back.

Tags: Family Style, Casual, Cozy, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and food!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Excellent service and food!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There is no valet parking and that's a p ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 18, 2016

There is no valet parking and that's a problem. You would think the location would be perfect, but it actually works against them.

The area is busy, busy, busy and the place is noisy, noisy, noisy.

The food is great, outstanding really. But, they overbook and the restaurant is just too loud. It really did take away from the experience.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great food, great service, and lively at ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great food, great service, and lively atmosphere!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A nice restaurant that straddles the lin ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 17, 2016

A nice restaurant that straddles the line between upper-middle and fine dining. The market table and rolls are there to fill you up so be careful and focus on the meat options that are continually circulating. The lamb was particularly tasty and the parmesan pork was my favorite of the night. You can drop a paycheck on a $2,200 bottle of wine, but the $10 a glass Malbec and Riesling suited my wife and I just fine. We got a nice piece of complimentary cheese cake since it was her birthday. The service was top-notch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Food was pretty good, service VERY slow

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Food was pretty good, service VERY slow

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

The food was as expected: great quality ...

 
·Dined on November 26, 2016

The food was as expected: great quality and selection. The service was great, maybe too attentive at times. One wait staff member would check on us every 5-10 minutes it seemed like which was becoming a little too excessive; it would interrupt my conversations with my boyfriend. But other than that brunch is the way to go! Same selection and quality, more affordable price.

Oh, the fresh caipirinhas were DELISH!! Very refreshing with a perfect balance of sweet and sour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Citrus turkey, stuffing and cranberry at ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Citrus turkey, stuffing and cranberry at Thanksgiving was exceptionsl. Would highly recomend it.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was amazing

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Service was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Was bad experience, we set for about an ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Was bad experience, we set for about an hour and we asked for specific meat more than ten 6 times and no one brought it to us. The problem the waitress kept asking us " is every thing ok" and we told her very time we asked for this meat and we didn't get it yet. Also we asked for well done and same thing every time they come they tell us we have medium only and will come back for well done and then they disappear. I wouldn't recommend wasting your money there

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

Great restaurant! Food is amazing! Servi ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great restaurant! Food is amazing! Service is great. Dont go on a holiday or discount day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

Food was wonderful, service was great! P ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food was wonderful, service was great! Perfect date night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Enjoyed my daughter's birthday celebrati ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Enjoyed my daughter's birthday celebration emensly. Service was great, everyone in our group enjoyed the food & loved the salad bar. All enjoyed a wonderful happy time! Thank you .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was recommended this place by numerous c ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Was recommended this place by numerous co-workers for my 7th wedding anniversary. Was pricey, but worth it. My wife loved all the items on the full market bar while I was happy with the different meat choices they offered. Will keep this in mind for special occasions.

Tags: Romantic, Private Room, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Fireplace, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Excelente comida, muy buena atención, mu ...

vip
 (México)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Excelente comida, muy buena atención, muy buena ubicación

Tags: apto para los apasionados de la gastronomía, La distancia vale la pena
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a coupon and they didn't want to ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We had a coupon and they didn't want to honor it. I received it in email from Fogo de Chao. It was for $39 meals instead of $49.95. She said that it was a separate menu. No rib eye, lamb chop or filet. I told her that I didn't know that a buffet could be limited. What would they do? Put a sign on our table that says "these people are using a coupon, don't offer rib eye, lamb chop etc......? Dumb. And she made us feel so cheap. I had put the coupon in the leather bill sleeve. She brought it back to me at the table and held open the entire email (letter size paper - 2 sheets) and leaned over to tell me that it had restrictions. SO embarrassing and humiliating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

This has to be the BEST Brazilian Steakh ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 6, 2016

This has to be the BEST Brazilian Steakhouse i've been to. So delicious! I told the waitress I need someone to roll me outta there. lol

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.