About Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San Antonio

849 E. Commerce Street
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

Fogo de Chão® (fo-go dèe shoun), is an authentic Southern Brazilian steakhouse. In 1979, Fogo® began sharing the gaucho way of preparing meat in Porto Alegre, Brazil. Today, our gaucho chefs still expertly grill each of our 20 cuts of meat and offer you continuous tableside service.

We invite you to enjoy the delicious preparations of our gaucho chefs along with our gourmet market table, authentic Brazilian side dishes, and award-winning wine list.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Brazilian Steakhouse, Steakhouse, South American

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Tuesday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Wednesday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Thursday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:30pm
Saturday: 2:00pm - 10:30pm
Sunday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
River Walk

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 227-1700

Website:
http://www.fogodechao.com/

Parking Details:
Limited metered parking is located around the restaurant. Also available, is the River Center Parking Garage, which charges by the hour.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Fried Polenta
Hot Chocolate Fudge Cake
Mashed Potato
Flan
Sirloin
Picanha
Italian Coffee
Pao De Queijo
Brazilian Steakhouse
Brazilian Meat On Skwers

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 4:30PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:30PM - 10:30PM

Sat 4:30PM - 5:30PM 9:00PM - 10:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Invite your guests to a truly unique group dining experience! Whether for private dining rooms, or to interact in our main dining areas, Fogo de Chão® is the perfect location for parties of 15 to 110

Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San Antonio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
San Antonio
Most Booked
San Antonio
Special Occasion
San Antonio
1 More
Most Booked
San Antonio
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

special occasion (175)
good for groups (104)
romantic (93)
See All
fit for foodies (74)
great for lunch (64)
notable wine list (40)
hot spot (39)
neighborhood gem (24)
kid-friendly (21)
late-night find (20)
great for brunch (19)
scenic view (14)
vibrant bar scene (8)
great for outdoor dining (5)
Sort By:
Newest
479 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Sunday Brunch! Orange passion ...

Dined 3 days ago

Excellent Sunday Brunch! Orange passion fruit mimosas were the perfect accompaniment to the delicious meal. Top notch service and the desserts were out of this world!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time to Fogo de Chao. ...

Dined 4 days ago

This was our first time to Fogo de Chao. We enjoyed every asspect of eating there. The staff was very friendly and atentive to our needs. The food was outstanding. Hope to return soon and try the weekend Brunch.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent!!! Food was outsta ...

Dined 5 days ago

Service was excellent!!! Food was outstanding. Thank you for a memorable anniversary dinner!

Tags: special occasion
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

we expected the food to be great! it tur ...

Dined 5 days ago

we expected the food to be great! it turn out the meat was very bland and taste old and rubbery, the drinks were overpriced we were very disappointed.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our table was ready when we arrived and ...

Dined 5 days ago

Our table was ready when we arrived and the service was excellent

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went for daughter's birthday - we have b ...

Dined 6 days ago

Went for daughter's birthday - we have been to several of these restaurants over the years and this one is our favorite - ambiance is better than most; better wine list and staff is always attentive Only complaint is that it is downtown next to the mall on the river walk - parking is difficult - they have always offered valet and now they don't - we ended up having to park in the mall parking garage - in the future I would recommend über ride and being dropped at the front

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Steak was mediocre. Roasted asparagus/s ...

Dined 6 days ago

Steak was mediocre. Roasted asparagus/split pea soup was phenomenal. Would go again for the soup and salad, which seems strange. However, certain members of our party were able to get a discounted price for just doing the soup and salad, which should be called soup and appetizer bar.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

I'm originally from Chicago and Fogo has ...

Dined 6 days ago

I'm originally from Chicago and Fogo has always been a favorite of mine. The food was just as good as I remembered but the service was sub par. I couldn't even tell you who our waitress was. All in all it was still a great experience. Huge bonus that small children eat free!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

The service was superb! All servers incl ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

The service was superb! All servers including the bartender mentioned they were part of a team! You don't hear that in many restaurants these days. Fun experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The staff is absolutely wonderful. Lizze ...

vip
Dined on June 21, 2016

The staff is absolutely wonderful. Lizzette is a gem. Top notch service every visit!!!

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We went for Father's Day. Most of the me ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We went for Father's Day. Most of the meat was comparable to Chama Gaucha and other Brazilian steakhouses I've been to. Parking is non-existent so we used the Rivercenter Mall parking lot and walked over. Our server was very nice and the service was good for such a busy day. Some of the meats were not flavored well. The lamb chop was tasteless and disgusting and some of the chicken was very plain. All of the beef was very good and very well seasoned.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ate here for Father's Day, excellent foo ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Ate here for Father's Day, excellent food selections. Food was fresh and hot as always, enjoy the atmosphere every time we come here. Will definitely be back soon!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wife and I went here to celebrate her bi ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Wife and I went here to celebrate her birthday and our anniversary. Great service and great food. We arrived 30 minutes early and we only waited a few minutes and they had a table ready. There was plenty of room, we did not feel like we were packed in there as many other restaurants. Highly recommend.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is good. However parking is a ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The food is good. However parking is a problem. No valet. Had to go around the block 3 times to find a metered spot on the street.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

For our Family's first time, we had a gr ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

For our Family's first time, we had a great experience which enabled us to return back in the future for sure! The Waitress we had throughout our dinner was just superb. Please recognize her efforts. The meat guys which I call them were very polite and attentive. The food was very tasteful and delicious.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

The food selection and service are impec ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The food selection and service are impeccable! One of our favorite places to dine!

food5
ambience4
service2
value3

server wasn't attentive waited awhile to ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

server wasn't attentive waited awhile to be while were cards Were on green

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The valet is no more, this would have be ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The valet is no more, this would have been good to know since the DNC was in town when we went. Service and food were vey good as usual but thet struggle a bit when the restaurant was as busy as it was during our visist. Excellent choice for 19 year olds birthday dinner.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

No set parking nor do they validate park ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

No set parking nor do they validate parking. Parking was a hassle. I requested certain meats cooked with little or no salt in my reservation. Nothing was prepared for me but when I finally did get my message through 1 chef did then take care of me. The only other complaint was that 2 out of 3 meats were overcooked. I don't think I will go back to the San Antonio location which is a let down because I work 5 days a week South of San Antonio.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We had a good time! It was a little bit ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

We had a good time! It was a little bit pricey, but everything tastes wonderful. I was really excited about the lamb, and it was brought out last (after I asked several times). But everything else was delicious! I also tried the Lavender Southside drink and it was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service2

This was extremely underwhelming. The di ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

This was extremely underwhelming. The dining room was half full yet it took over 30 minutes to have drink orders taken.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We requested and sat in Michael's sectio ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

We requested and sat in Michael's section. This was the third time we've sat in his section,and we will request it again on our next visit. The level of his service is always above excellent. In observing him with other guest his level of service is the rule not the exception. The food as always was excellent and we are looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

We waited for an hour after our plates w ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

We waited for an hour after our plates were cleared before we got our check to pay. It was very disappointing and no one ever came back to see if we wanted our drinks refilled while we were eating. We told them separate checks and they ended up still bringing one check refusing to fix it after we mentioned it. And to make it better, they said their was a birthday at our table even though there was not and brought us a dessert. I was not pleased at all.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Always good food. Service took a while a ...

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

Always good food. Service took a while at times. They NO LONGER have valet parking and THEY DON'T validate parking. So you have to park in the garage if you can find a spot and walk to the restaurant.

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Dining at Fogo is always a pleasure. The ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

Dining at Fogo is always a pleasure. The attention to detail from beginning to end is outstanding. The meats offered were all cooked to perfection. We especially enjoyed the bacon wrapped filet mignon. We can't say enough about the wonderful service we received from the moment we entered the restuarant until we left. Thank you for making our 30th anniversary so memorable!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great for Special Occasions

Dined on June 6, 2016

We have eaten at Fogo in San Antonio many times and this time it seemed just a little bit off. The salad bar was a bit different - not as many selections. The meats were all excellent, as usual, but the portions were tightly controlled (thin slivers). I'm sure we could have asked for more, but it was just different than previous experiences. We will continue to go to Fogo and will absolutely recommend them to friends and family (and complete strangers!) who visit San Antonio. We just hope it was an "off night" for them.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food!!

Dined on June 5, 2016

The food was great, some of the meat was too red, but good.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was an awesome experience!

Dined on June 5, 2016

I would love to here over an over again! Really experience for all!

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

Go late, get bad food...always wonderful service.

Dined on May 31, 2016

My husband and I visited the restaurant around 9pm. For the first time, the food was bland and the biscuits were hard and cold. Every time I told them about the biscuits they apologized and brought out more cold and hard biscuits. After a few times, we finally got warm biscuits but they were still hard. When we were leaving I told one of the waitresses about it. She said they had to sent the head chefs home because there were there since the morning and the backup chefs may have been over cooking the biscuits. My advice would be to never go to the restaurant late or you will get bad food.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best in town!

Dined on May 31, 2016

This place was amazing! They were very flexible with our reservation and seated us right away. I knew right from the get go that we were in for a treat. The staff was outstanding and the food was even better. From the salad bar to the main entrees everything was perfect. Even the drinks were great!!!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing!

Dined on May 30, 2016

Went as a little couple thing for a downtown staycation. Nice little buffet style but can be up there in price. The cost is worth it if you plan to stay and eat a lot. Salad bar is absolutely amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Meat Heaven

Dined on May 30, 2016

We love it!! Always a wonderful experience when we eat here.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

I have eaten quite frequently at a Brazi ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

I have eaten quite frequently at a Brazilian-style restaurant in Albuquerque, NM called Tucano's. I think your chain designer might be well served to check it out... The atmosphere there is very pleasant, yours, not so much... The Salad Bar there is more than fantastic, yours, mundane and unexciting to say the least. While the food on the salad bar was very good, the presentation of the food was 'standard' at best and could have been seen at a cafeteria anywhere! Nothing special. I suggest you make a statement with you salad bar and Go Tropical in that statement. If you would like me to help you, I would be glad to. I used to run a five star in another life time when I was young... Sincerely in health, Jim Brown 575-973-1743

food4
ambience3
service3
value5

Benefit of the doubt

Dined on May 29, 2016

I have never been to the San Antonio location and will say I was quite disappointed. 4 weeks prior I visited the Fogo de Chao in Washington. The experience there was so much fun and very gratifying. I was very excited to take visitors to have the same dining experience I had but was very disappointed at the result. We were seated in the back and were told by our waitress that there were 16 different meat selections and she explained the process, we never saw that waitress again. The salad bar was scarce as there were many people and the selections were not being replaced in a timely fashion. Now to our meat experience...There were times when our cards were turned to green and no one came by and when they finally did, they had very little left on the skewer. The selection was always sirloin that came by. We had to ask for the chicken selection and had to tell a few servers no one was coming by our table. About 45 minutes after we were seated they sat a table next to us of approximately 25 people. We were astonished at the selections of meat they started to receive. We heard, ribeye, beef ribs, filet mignon and Parmesan lamb...what??? By this time we were full of sirloin and bacon wrapped beef and chicken. I am hoping the experience we had was maybe because we were the first to be seated in the back. Nonetheless, I think every paying customer should receive the same dining experience if you're expected to pay the same price for a meal.

Tags: notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3

The only thing I had a problem with was ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

The only thing I had a problem with was trying to get a refill on tea. When I finally did get someone to refill my drink, the waiter put a picture of tea on the counter next to me and said I could refill it whenever I needed to. To me, that shows laziness and inattention to customer service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing Choices

Dined on May 28, 2016

What an amazing birthday treat!! I loved every bit of food I tried although I was to full to try everything. We had the full dinner experience and it was worth every penny! The staff was wonderful and the environment was beautiful, I would definitely recommend Fogo de Chao to my friends!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I took some friends to Fogo de Chao beca ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

I took some friends to Fogo de Chao because they have never been to one. They were very impressed.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was thoroughly impressed with not only ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

I was thoroughly impressed with not only the food, but the service was outstanding!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The new brunch menu was amazing. My mom ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

The new brunch menu was amazing. My mom and I truly enjoyed the additional fruit and veggie options that were available. The food was wonderful and the service as usual was exceptional.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

First timers and we really enjoyed our e ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

First timers and we really enjoyed our experience . The food was amazing... We will definitely be back.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.