About Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San Antonio

849 E. Commerce Street
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

Fogo de Chão® (fo-go dèe shoun), is an authentic Southern Brazilian steakhouse. In 1979, Fogo® began sharing the gaucho way of preparing meat in Porto Alegre, Brazil. Today, our gaucho chefs still expertly grill each of our 20 cuts of meat and offer you continuous tableside service.

We invite you to enjoy the delicious preparations of our gaucho chefs along with our gourmet market table, authentic Brazilian side dishes, and award-winning wine list.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Brazilian Steakhouse, Steakhouse, South American

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Tuesday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Wednesday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Thursday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:30pm
Saturday: 2:00pm - 10:30pm
Sunday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
River Walk

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 227-1700

Website:
http://www.fogodechao.com/

Parking Details:
Limited metered parking is located around the restaurant. Also available, is the River Center Parking Garage, which charges by the hour.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Fried Polenta
Hot Chocolate Fudge Cake
Mashed Potato
Flan
Sirloin
Picanha
Italian Coffee
Pao De Queijo
Brazilian Steakhouse
Brazilian Meat On Skwers

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 4:30PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:30PM - 10:30PM

Sat 4:30PM - 5:30PM 9:00PM - 10:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Invite your guests to a truly unique group dining experience! Whether for private dining rooms, or to interact in our main dining areas, Fogo de Chão® is the perfect location for parties of 15 to 110

Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San Antonio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
San Antonio
Most Booked
San Antonio
Special Occasion
San Antonio
1 More
Most Booked
San Antonio
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

special occasion (187)
good for groups (102)
romantic (95)
See All
fit for foodies (75)
great for lunch (65)
hot spot (41)
notable wine list (39)
neighborhood gem (22)
great for brunch (21)
late-night find (20)
kid-friendly (16)
scenic view (16)
vibrant bar scene (7)
great for outdoor dining (3)
Sort By:
Newest
522 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Amber and Crystal were the ladies consta ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined 3 days ago

Amber and Crystal were the ladies constantly checking on us. The service was fantastic, and it was because of these two young women! They need to be given a raise and a large pat on the back. The food was incredible.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was Sunday evening and not to crowded ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 6 days ago

It was Sunday evening and not to crowded. I called ahead to see if we could bring a special cake in and it was no problem. Our server was very accommodating. Good place to go for groups. Everyone can eat what they like.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Me and my husband were celebrating our 2 ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Me and my husband were celebrating our 23rd wedding anniversary . We really enjoyed our meal and the staff, expecially our waitress were nice and helpful .

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a very great expereince, the staf ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

It was a very great expereince, the staff were very kind, and had excellent service! The food was also great, and it was a great 24th birthday for my friend!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu that I read online turned out t ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The menu that I read online turned out to be different in person. I liked the Salad Bar the Best ! I went there for a special occasion but was seated to close to others. Needs to be spread out to be more romantic. While the abundance of meats brought to your table were delicious, it was a bit too much, making it impossible to eat comfortably. The price advertised online was also $15 lower per person than was charged making my check extremely expensive for a family of four.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Outstanding service and the food was phe ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Outstanding service and the food was phenomenal .

The waitstaff was extremely attentive.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fast and friendly staff. Great service ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Fast and friendly staff. Great service delicious food. Overall an amazing experience .we will definitely be returning.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was Awesome!!! Great atmospher ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The food was Awesome!!! Great atmosphere !!! Can't wait to go back!!!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

I was very blown away by the food qualit ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I was very blown away by the food quality, options, and taste here. Normally when I see "Fogo", I know I can count on a good meal. This was NOT the case this time. San Antonio was my worst experience ever with a Brazilian steakhouse, period.. the food was not worth the money so i would not recommend this location

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

It was 50 dollars per person. We ordere ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

It was 50 dollars per person. We ordered appetizers that never arrived. The filet mignon is the best steak, but it is also the one that is rarely taken around. Right when you sit down you are asked for your drink order, but they never tell you that each Sosa is $4.. You will be done eating and then you will have to wait another twenty minutes to get the check.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

This is my second time eating here and I ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

This is my second time eating here and I enjoyed it as much as the first. I always come with an empty belly and leave stuffed. I love the fact that you get a variety of meat...just wonderful!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time here so we went ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

This was our first time here so we went with the full lunch which included all of the meats and the market table. The food was excellent! Our favorite meats were the Picanha and Fraldinha-perfectly seasoned! The bacon wrapped chicken medallions were also very good and moist. The market salad had a great selection and also included soup. The only food items that I think need to be improved are the rice and beans and the mashed potatoes-they taste like powdered :(. The stand out was the service- they had EXCELLENT service!! Even some of the 5-star restaurants that I have been to do not have this. Highly recommend for a special occasion or just for a very nice lunch.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As someone who only eats 4 ounces of mea ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

As someone who only eats 4 ounces of meat, this wasn't a place for me. After all, 29 dollars for a "Salad bar" is to me a waste of money. The meats that i had were very salty (eating the outer portions of the cuts) but had a unique flavor. My wife got the Market Table with a sirloin add-on. again, $9 for a 4 ounce piece of sirloin wasn't "frugal". Very impressed with the service from the waitstaff. I dined at the Philadelphia, PA location 2 years ago and felt the same then as I did this week. If someone treats me to dinner there, I possibly will return. On my own, I don't think so.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great, attentive servers. Food was good, ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Great, attentive servers. Food was good, though the salad bar selections were a bit underwhelming and bland. Meats were delicious. Have gone to other chains before, and overall preferred the another, though I would visit again if friends invited us.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Normally, this is a great restaurant. Ho ...

 
 (Central Texas)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Normally, this is a great restaurant. However, the night we went, we took an out of town guest after telling her what a great experience it was with wonderful food, excellent salad bar and impeccable service. I'm not sure what the problem was on this (Sat) night, but the salad bar offerings and food were not good; items missing, empty containers, bland food, our table service was particularly slow and forgetful (had to ask for bread refill twice) and the bananas, potatoes and polenta barely made it before meat service was finished, and my request for medium well meat with no pink went unheard for 20 mins despite my asking three people for help. We were less than impressed. Ariel (customer service) came by our table and asked how things were going. We told her, and I am happy to say, she was wonderful. She ended up giving us a gift certificate and asked us for another chance, which we will do. Every other time we have dined here, it has been good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Food and service were amazing. Parking i ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Food and service were amazing. Parking in the garage next door really stinks but there didn't seem to be any other choice. Difficulty finding parking made us a bit late, but I called them to let them know and when we arrived we were still seated with only maybe a five minute wait. We were placed in a smaller, quieter area of the restaurant, which was great because the main areas were quite loud and crowded.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

wonderful for our date - atmosphere, foo ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

wonderful for our date - atmosphere, food, food, food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'm a normal patron of Chama Gaucha. And ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I'm a normal patron of Chama Gaucha. And if there is a choice, I wouldn't consider Fogo de Chao. The service was slow and our waitress seemed overwhelmed and unfocused on our service. Tea glass was empty a lot. I requested horse radish which arrived towards the end of the meal. The salad bar was a mess and seemed unappealing. Fogo in Houston has always been on top of it but in San Antonio it must be managed differently. Not a good value for the price. I can only think that Fogo is having financial issues or Staff management issues. It lacked professionalism for a restaurant in that price range.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Expensive restautant for what is served. ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Expensive restautant for what is served.. taste was good but only got offered 3 types of different meats.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

The best dinner, my wife and I could h ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The best dinner, my wife and I could have ever. The food was perfect, the staff was incredible . We will be back time and again

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The sides were terrible and the meat wa ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The sides were terrible and the meat was just okay but the service was great; top notch but that can't make up for the lack of the quality of the food for the price.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Best restaurant in San Antonio Fogo De C ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Best restaurant in San Antonio Fogo De Chao was really delicious, wonderful divine and fantastic. The market bar is divinely stupendous. It had everything I like Caprese salad with yellow tomatoes prsociutto salami balsamic vinegar marinated pearl onions. Portions are huge. Lamb was scrumptious and I don't like lamb Acqua Panna spring water is awesome. I WILL BE BACK

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value1

We constantly had to ask for lamb chops, ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We constantly had to ask for lamb chops, and Picania. None were offered it took about 45 minutes to finally get some from the time we sttarted eating the main courses . Our server didn't seem happy to be there. It made me feel uncomfortable . I think there were not enough meat Skewer staff, at first just 2 then about 15 minutes later 4. But, they were offering the chicken and some sausages all the smallsmaller meats . The Filet and or Sirloin and nicer meats didn't come out till later and it seemed that our table was the last one and by then the meats were med rare to rare. So, they had to go cook them more. We did alot of waiting.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Enjoyed it. Will go again. The staff was ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Enjoyed it. Will go again. The staff was excellent and gave great services all around."brunch choices"---that was the email that caught my eye. But I sure loved the meat choices!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We've been loyal customers since our fir ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We've been loyal customers since our first experience at Fogo de Chao. The food is never disappointing, and it's one of the few places I can get leg of lamb.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We love Fogo De Chao Austin & Dallas. Th ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We love Fogo De Chao Austin & Dallas. The San Antonio location didnt have the same upscale feel. The salas bar was messy and didnt have the same variety as the other 2 locations. The servers were not as attentive as the other locations. We waited over 25 miutess for a cut of meat that we requested.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

I've been to Fogo in multiple cities. I ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I've been to Fogo in multiple cities. I never had to wait or ask a waiter to send over the servers. Not sure if they were over booked, but they were definitly under staffed. We went on July 2nd, so maybe it was the busy holiday weekend. Either way, I shouldn't have to ask or wait too long for meats to be offered to us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Good food, but the service was extremely ...

 
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Good food, but the service was extremely slow. We had planned on ordering dessert, but it took about a half hour for them to finally bring menus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

As hard-core carnivores, we LOVE Fogo da ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

As hard-core carnivores, we LOVE Fogo da Chau!!!The salad bar is over-the -top, the special dishes brought to the table, and the delicious meats are consistent and predictable....so the added benefit of attentive service is a real bonus. Our roomy table was selected near a window so meeting our son's girlfriend for the first time was ideal. We also enjoyed an excellent wine list and creamy desserts afterward. It was fabulous!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The polenta and the pao de queso were ha ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The polenta and the pao de queso were hard. These are the reason I chose Fogo de Chao versus other Brazil Steakhouse. The one in Houston is the best of Fogo de Chao. Not to standard I am used to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Awesome sauce with a large order of Chin ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Awesome sauce with a large order of Chinga tu Madre!$! Lol great food!great service! Good times!$! Will be going back💯

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was wonderful! We really enj ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Everything was wonderful! We really enjoyed our meal and the service! If we lived in San Antonio, we'd come back often.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had reservations for when they first ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We had reservations for when they first opened but the table was not ready when we arrived. The food was good but. It all the choices on the salad bar were not labeled . They were slow to bring our different meat choices but when they finally got going it was good.

The wait staff were professional and pleasant .

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Made a reservation online ,seated immedi ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Made a reservation online ,seated immediately when we arrived 10 minutes early. Service was excellent, even greeted by manager,who was genuinely interested where we were from and also brought out a bunch of different sauces to try with our dinner. Food was exceptional, highly recommend it to anyone looking for great service, great atmosphere, and great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice. First time there I was impres ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Very nice. First time there I was impressed I was really unsure before but left planning my next date night with my wife

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service great and prompt. The theme is ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Service great and prompt. The theme is true to a brazilian steak house, but is way over rated and too high in price. Being locals, the restaurant is more of a tourist destination with prices that reflect the location. The food was great, the salad bar was plentiful with a good selection. The drinks from the bar really needs improvement, drink were way too strong to the point being undrinkable. Even after being sent back with slight improvement. With all that said I did enjoy the visit but will not return.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Great night! We enjoyed the food. Servi ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great night! We enjoyed the food. Service was fantastic.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Isabell/Liz our waitresses are the best

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Isabell/Liz our waitresses are the best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Celebrated my son's 18th birthday, it wa ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Celebrated my son's 18th birthday, it was an awesome experience for all of us!! We truly enjoyed our time together, the food was the cohesive medium to our flavor experience. We will definitely remember this experience and look forward to our next visit!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience at Fogo de Chao was amazi ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Our experience at Fogo de Chao was amazing.the food was delicious and the staff was very friendly. Definitely worth the price.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.