About Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Philadelphia

1337 Chestnut Street
Philadelphia, PA 19107
View Larger Map

Fogo de Chão® (fo-go dèe shoun), is an authentic Southern Brazilian steakhouse. In 1979, Fogo® began sharing the gaucho way of preparing meat in Porto Alegre, Brazil. Today, our gaucho chefs still expertly grill each of our 20 cuts of meat and offer you continuous tableside service.

We invite you to enjoy the delicious preparations of our gaucho chefs along with our gourmet market table, authentic Brazilian side dishes, and award-winning wine list.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Brazilian Steakhouse, Steakhouse, South American

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Tuesday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Wednesday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Thursday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:30pm - 10:30pm
Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, 2:00pm - 10:30pm
Sunday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
S. Juniper Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 636-9700

Website:
http://www.fogodechao.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available during dinner hours for $21.00. Limited metered parking is located around the restaurant. Also available, are parking garages that range from $14.00 to $20.00.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

churrasco
Pao De Queijo (cheese Bread)
Lamb Chops
Bacon wrapped chicken and fillet
Side Dishes
Fried banana, mashed potatoes, polenta
Picanha (Top Sirloin)
Mint Mojito
Salad Bar
Beef Ancho (Rib Eye)
Sirloin
Filet Mignon
Chicken Leg
Vegetables
Lemon Curd With Pomegranate Sauce
Fried Bananas
Parmesan Crusted Pork
Alcatra (Top Sirloin)
Leg Of Lamb
Salad
Meat
Crispy Fried Polenta
Bottom Sirloin
Mashed Potatoes
Creamy Mashed Potatoes
Mojito
Pina Colada
Picahna
Orange Crush Martini
Parmesan pork
Pao De Queijo
Fraldinha (Bottom Sirloin)
Dinner
Fried Polenta
Alcatra
Key Lime Pie
Beef Ribs
pork ribs
Cheese Bread
Deep Fried Bananas
Bacon Wrapped Chicken
Chocolste Turtle Cheesecake
Chocolate Mousse Cake
Cucumber Basil Vodka Drink
Mixed Salads
Double Expresso
Lamb Chop
Sausage
Molten Chocolate Lava Cake
Meats
Flan
Turtle Cheesecake
Brazilian Dark Beer
Meat Salad
Carmelized Bananas
Cabernet
Fried Banana

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 4:30PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:30PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:30PM - 6:00PM 9:30PM - 10:30PM

Sat 4:30PM - 5:30PM 9:00PM - 10:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Invite your guests to a truly unique group dining experience! Whether for private dining rooms, or to interact in our main dining areas, Fogo de Chão® is the perfect location for parties of 15 to 110

Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Philadelphia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Special Occasion
Philadelphia
2 More
Most Booked
Philadelphia
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Philadelphia
Best Restaurants in Center City ›

Special Occasion (338)
Good for Groups (256)
Fit for Foodies (186)
See All
Romantic (141)
Notable Wine List (93)
Great for Lunch (88)
Hot Spot (68)
Good for Birthdays (57)
Good for a Date (53)
Neighborhood Gem (46)
Good for Anniversaries (46)
Kid-friendly (44)
Fun (41)
Great for Brunch (41)
Business Meals (31)
Worth the Drive (29)
Authentic (25)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Family Style (25)
Late-night Find (21)
Outstanding Value (21)
Tasting Menu (19)
Comfort Food (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Paleo Friendly (15)
Casual (14)
Scenic View (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
People Watching (12)
Modern Decor (10)
Cozy (9)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Healthy (5)
Historic (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Fireplace (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Vegan (1)
Live Sports (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Tapas (1)
Seasonal (1)
Spicy (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1623 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

As usual the service was excellent the s ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 3 days ago

As usual the service was excellent the staff were helpful and friendly

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, there were no problems. The m ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 3 days ago

As usual, there were no problems. The meats were tender, tasty, properly seasoned, and correctly cooked. The sides and salad bar were excellent.

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent service, the food was great an ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent service, the food was great and our server Emily is a precious gem. I would highly recommend this establishment.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When I was first greeted they didn't hon ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined 3 days ago

When I was first greeted they didn't honor restaurant week. It was downhill from there because it was hard for me to just enjoy it. I came expecting to pay a certain price and I feel like the host was being combative in his discussion with me

My other complaint is the meat sampling seemed limited. We had about 6-7 meats when I was expecting between 10-15.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value1

Reservation was at 6pm, did not get seat ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 4 days ago

Reservation was at 6pm, did not get seated until 6:50pm. Ordered a second glass of wine, did not get it until dinner was over (30 minutes later). Food was good as usual but service was horrible

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

I really loved our restaurant week exper ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 5 days ago

I really loved our restaurant week experience with Fogo de Chao. The table was ready when we arrived, and we were immediately seated. The "salad bar" had an amazing selection of items. The meat tasted great! I also loved the bread and dessert. Honestly, overall all the food was great, and the service was wonderful. I will definitely be coming back and highly recommend, especially for the bargain of restaurant week.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went during restaurant week to celebr ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined 5 days ago

We went during restaurant week to celebrate my fiance's birthday and it was wonderful. The food was great! We got lucky enough to have a table in the back room against the wall so it wasn't too loud or crowded which was really nice. Definitely want to go back again!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The food was spectacular-- fresh, beauti ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 5 days ago

The food was spectacular-- fresh, beautiful and flavorful. Definitely something different.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

One of the chefs stood by the lamb as it ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 6 days ago

One of the chefs stood by the lamb as it cooked just to make sure that we were able to enjoy it well done. That was special to me and my friend as we celebrated her birthday. Thank you so much. KE

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went out for restaurant week. We waiting ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 6 days ago

Went out for restaurant week. We waiting about 5 minutes for a table so we had enough time to grab a drink! Food was great. We took our time to eat and tried everything.

Also loved that it was a cheaper price for restaurant week! Definitely want to come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

I went on restaurant week and was expect ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 6 days ago

I went on restaurant week and was expecting the staff to be exhausted from the flood of people that this week usually brings, but they were so on point! I was seated very quickly and the waiter helped us choose a great cocktail to go with the food. The salad bar, nonstop meats, and sides were all very delicious. The atmosphere was also romantic and although we were sitting near a few large groups, the noise level wasn't too loud so we were able to hold lengthy conversations without needing to raise our voices. Great place!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Meats were not seasoned well & not as te ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 7 days ago

Meats were not seasoned well & not as tender compared to other Brazilian steakhouse I have been to. We had to wait a long while before we were served meats. We had to wait a long time for drinks that we ordered. Don't know whether poor service was due to restaurant week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value4

The speed and quality of service was unb ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 7 days ago

The speed and quality of service was unbelievable. Every time I flipped my card for more meat someone was there serving in no time. This is by far the best Brazilian restaurant experience I've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service. The restaurant ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great food and service. The restaurant is welcoming and spotless.

Tags: Family Style, Fun, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was outstanding. So flavorful a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The food was outstanding. So flavorful and tender. I loved the garlic parm pork tenderloin and the garlic sirloin the most. The bacon wrapped chicken was also amazing. I liked that you get the salad bar as well and they keep bringing mash potatoes to your table when you run out. Eunice was our waiter and she was absolutely fabulous! I can't say enough great things about her.

Tags: Private Room, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This is THE place for special occasions. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

This is THE place for special occasions. The food is wonderful, but the service is even better. Nothing like this place!

Tags: Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

WOW!!!! discribes this restaurant me and ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

WOW!!!! discribes this restaurant me and my 2 daughters had the best time, it was expensive but I would do it again in a heartbeat, LOVE it service was he best I've had in a resturant

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrible and not worth going ever again.

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Terrible and not worth going ever again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4

I've always enjoyed my experience here, ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

I've always enjoyed my experience here, however, this particular one I didn't. The side dish items were cold and or hard. I particularly go for the warm cheesy bread and was very disappointed when every serving was hard and cold.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Fogo de hau is not just a restaurant, it ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Fogo de hau is not just a restaurant, it's an experience! The salad bar is full of rare and delicious cheeses, fruits, and other treats (I love their smoked salmon). When your meal starts, just turn your card to green for an unending array of meats brought right to your table, cooked to your liking. Save room for the parmesan pork and the garlic steak, two of our favorites! One of my favorite places.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very tasty. The meat was prepar ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Food was very tasty. The meat was prepared excellently and just melted in our mouths. the atmosphere was very pleasing to the eyes, and the service was very good. Our plates and glasses were kept filled at all times. then when dessert was to be served , was asked if it was a special ocassion. It was our anniversary and they treated us to dessert

Tags: Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Family Style, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went here for the first time for my f ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We went here for the first time for my fiance's birthday, and it did not disappoint. I had heard great things, but we were both impressed with the quality of food - both the salad bar and the meat - and the very attentive but not intrusive service. They comped a tasty birthday dessert, and we did not feel rushed at all to enjoy the evening even though they were pretty crowded (it was a Friday night during restaurant week). We're already planning another visit next near with in-laws to celebrate a milestone birthday. :)

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Fun, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is strictly on my experience during ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

This is strictly on my experience during restaurant week. My boyfriend and I opted to do their FB fall promotion of $25 off 2 adult meals only because he wanted Filet Mignon that isn't supposed to be offered for restaurant week. Our second basket of bread was weird tasting- I didn't fuss because I love their bread and thought this will actually help me from eating too many. We were surrounded by mainly restaurant week diners so I don't know if this plays a part but we never seen the beef ribs come by and it was hard to tell when the Filet Mignon was out except towards the end when we were finally offered a piece. Here come the part that really tip the scale...we ordered a slice of key lime pie (my boyfriend's favorite place to get one) to go and asked to have the check sent over. First we were given a bag that stated the key lime pie was inside. Waited a few minutes and never got the check so by boyfriend decided to check his pie slice and questioned me "why is it so light?" I didn't believe him and thought it's because he's a guy and doesn't know his own strength so I picked it up in disbelief that I opened the container to find a paper-thin slice. He was so upset that he pushed it towards me and said "I'm not paying for that." I told him to wait until we get the check to see if we got charged. Waited, still no check. Finally after 2 surrounding restaurant week table received their dessert slice which was twice the size of mine in the container and their check a gentleman came over to drop off a key lime pie slice to go without the check so I questioned him about the paper-thin slice. He stated since we did the full experience we're paying for a regular slice (opened the 2nd container to a better sized slice) and stated the paper-thin was for restaurant week and took the box which I was shocked..no apologies or thought of offering it complimentary for our wait. He then came back with the check. Just don't come during restaurant week for full experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Not my first time here and not my last. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Not my first time here and not my last. We always have a great time at Fogo de Chao. Great food/drinks and great service!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had just come home from a week away v ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We had just come home from a week away vacationing. We were shocked in was Restaraunt Week in Philadephia. We attempted to make several reservations after 9 pm. Fogo de Chao was the only establishment to accept our reservation. We certainly were grateful and full at the seems. The waitstaff is one of the best, very organized and efficient service. Staff certainly earned their tips, as one young lady went out of her way to bring my picky six year old son mashed potatoes.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Authentic, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Spicy, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always, a wonderful meal!! My only co ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

As always, a wonderful meal!! My only comment is that it takes a few times asking for them to bring over the garlic sirloin, but it's always well worth the money! Because it was restaurant week we had to wait a bit for our table, and the room was quite loud, but during normal dinner hours it doesn't get nearly as bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

My overall experience was fair. Service ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

My overall experience was fair. Service however left me not wanting to return.

First we were asked to wait for the majority of our group as we were a large group(7). Once there were five of the seven expected diners, we were then told we had to wait until our entire party was present. We had an 8:30 pm reservation but were not seated until 9:15 pm, this included having to wait 10 minutes for a table once all the diners were present. We were then seated in the back corner of the dining room and had to continually ask for food to be brought to us, as food was coming to our area but going to the guests on the other side of the room.

The food was good however, due to the poor service we received I would definitely not return to this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value4

The food was amazing. I loved the variet ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

The food was amazing. I loved the variety of meats, unlimited salad bar (includes fruits as well). A bit noisy and but the service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent service, great quality food., ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Excellent service, great quality food., highly Recommended.

Tags: Family Style, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The salad bar fresh and tasty. Very div ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

The salad bar fresh and tasty. Very diverse. The meat that comes around very flavorful and savory

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious! Their restaurant week menu of ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Delicious! Their restaurant week menu offered fewer options than their regular dining menu but overall, amazing price for what you get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

Food was absolutely amazing I normally g ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Food was absolutely amazing I normally go when it's not restaurant week, this is my first time going to Fargo during restaurant week, I must say the food was much better than normal, mind blowing...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Have never been before and at the sugges ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Have never been before and at the suggestion of my sister, the three of us booked a table and thoroughly enjoyed our meal and the overall experience. Would go back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Outstanding Value, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing dinner. Excellent service

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Amazing dinner. Excellent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing salad/soup bar. The brown sugar ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Amazing salad/soup bar. The brown sugar bacon alone was worth the trip! The entire staff was outstanding.

Tags: Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went on restaurant week. Everything ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

We went on restaurant week. Everything was wonderful, service, waiters, waitresses and gentlemen serving the meats very class act!! The food was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The most amazing salad bar I have ever s ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

The most amazing salad bar I have ever seen!! Staff could not have been better, helpful, kind, quick. My best friend's birthday lunch was perfect I am so happy that I chose Fogo!!

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, waiter service was a bit slo ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Great food, waiter service was a bit slow but understandable for the amount of people there. Food from the Gauchos always arrived on time. Overall experience was awesome. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Went there for restaurant week excellent ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Went there for restaurant week excellent food and abience. The menu was exceptional.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Fogo for restaurant week. It ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

We went to Fogo for restaurant week. It was superb!!!! We enjoyed the whole experience... The only drawback was they don't participate in the parking .... Other than that, it was fun and the food was outstanding....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.