About Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Minneapolis

645 Hennepin Ave.
Minneapolis, MN 55403
View Larger Map

Fogo de Chão® (fo-go dèe shoun), is an authentic Southern Brazilian steakhouse. In 1979, Fogo® began sharing the gaucho way of preparing meat in Porto Alegre, Brazil. Today, our gaucho chefs still expertly grill each of our 20 cuts of meat and offer you continuous tableside service.

We invite you to enjoy the delicious preparations of our gaucho chefs along with our gourmet market table, authentic Brazilian side dishes, and award-winning wine list.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Brazilian Steakhouse, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Tuesday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Wednesday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Thursday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Saturday: 2:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
7th St. S

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 338-1344

Website:
http://www.fogodechao.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available after 5:00 pm for $10.00. There is parking available at the City Center Ramp (The entrance is on 7th Street). Parking in the City Center is $6.00 after 4:30 pm. There are other parking ramps in the area which range from $8.00 to $21.00. Metered parking is available between 8:00 am to 10:00 pm. During lunch, we recommend that our customers park at the City Center Ramp.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Mango Refresco
Key Lime Pie
Fresh Salad Bar
Beef Ribs
Creme Brulee
Picanha
Meat
Top Sirloin And Lamb
Strawberry cream
Turtle Cheesecake
Brazilian Limeade
Super Fruit Lemonade
Baileys Coffee
Side  Dishes
Papaya Cream With Blackberry Liquer
Churrascaria
Orange Caipirinha
Salad Bar
Chocolate Mousse Cake
Dinner & Caipirinhas
Salad

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:30PM - 10:30PM

Sat 4:00PM - 5:30PM 9:00PM - 10:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Invite your guests to a truly unique group dining experience! Whether for private dining rooms, or to interact in our main dining areas, Fogo de Chão® is the perfect location for parties of 15 to 110

Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Minneapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Most Booked
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Minneapolis - St. Paul
3 More
Special Occasion
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Most Booked
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Best Restaurants in Downtown / North Loop ›

special occasion (578)
good for groups (428)
fit for foodies (276)
See All
romantic (216)
great for lunch (213)
hot spot (173)
notable wine list (136)
great for brunch (82)
kid-friendly (68)
neighborhood gem (61)
late-night find (41)
great for outdoor dining (15)
scenic view (14)
vibrant bar scene (11)
Sort By:
Newest
1412 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We usually pick this place to go if we h ...

Dined 3 days ago

We usually pick this place to go if we have to leave our district. My 16 years old daughter took me here to celebrate my 47 years birthday and it was the best !! the food and service was better than before.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

I might have been spoiled by being to Br ...

Dined 4 days ago

I might have been spoiled by being to Brazil so my expectations were high. I felt the food was rather bland. The service was very good though and it was not outrageously expensive.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and terrific service. I would ...

Dined 4 days ago

Great food and terrific service. I would dine there more often if not for the difficulty finding parking. We were there at the same time as a Twins day game , on a Thursday (regular business traffic), and at the beginning of the Gay Pride festivities. I spent close to an hour finding a parking spot and would have had to cancel the meal had Target not opened their parking to the general public i.e. Non-shoppers.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a grand time at Fogo de Chao to c ...

Dined 5 days ago

We had a grand time at Fogo de Chao to celebrate a family member's birthday. We had a blend of people who are serious meat eaters, and they were in heaven with the 17 meat options served that night. For those of us who aren't, the salad bar was expansive enough to be a full meal. The food overall was delicious. What set Fogo apart was the service - the staff were very attentive to offer meat options, provide clean plates, fill water glasses, and offer a delightful experience in their conversations with us. We highly recommend Fogo de Chao to those who enjoy a memorable dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Impeccable service, fun experience... We ...

Dined 6 days ago

Impeccable service, fun experience... We left very full and happy!!

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This was a very nice restaurant with exc ...

Dined 6 days ago

This was a very nice restaurant with excellent food. I got to try many kinds of foods I have never had before. I didn't care for the lamb but did try it for the first time. I loved the house garlic sirloin and filet mignon. I loved the salad bar too. I would eat that alone for lunch! I didn't care for the price but what do you do when you get all you can eat meat. I would've preferred one server so we would get more attention. I did like how often the guys with meat came around though. The dessert on the house was excellent and I liked how they wrote Happy Anniversary on the plate! Thanks again for a wonderful experience we won't forget!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

FABULOUS restaurant with FABULOUS servic ...

Dined 6 days ago

FABULOUS restaurant with FABULOUS service. Fogo de Chao is always our first choice for special celebrations! We even go there when we are not celebrating anything. Have never had a bad experience or bad food when dining there and we have been there many times. Looking forward to our next visit already :)

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Overall our dining experience was good - ...

Dined 7 days ago

Overall our dining experience was good - not excellent. We got to the restaurant a little after 9pm and they closed at 10 - sharp. You could tell the wait staff were winding down and there was some confusion as to who was taking care of us. We felt rushed and forgotten a few times. We also wanted to relax a bit more and enjoy our food, but the server said they were shutting it down after we had just started. The little food we had was good, but we were really looking forward to relaxing and having more time. P.S.: I had a much more robust dining experience and impeccable service at the Las Vegas location. We also arrived there close to closing but there was no push to get us out of the door.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was OUTSTANDING!! There was ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The service was OUTSTANDING!! There was always someone asking us how we were doing ( but not so many times that is was annoying) we always had fresh bread and sides. My glass was never less than half full because someone was always refilling it. We enjoyed our time so much and can't wait to go back.

food3
ambience3
service4
value2

It was an experience and glad we tried i ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

It was an experience and glad we tried it but I will not be a regular customer for the price. It was more kid-friendly than I anticipated and hoped for a more romantic ambiance for the price.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and service was outstanding. It ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The food and service was outstanding. It's worth the extra money to experience this new dinning idea.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

Hi, I was a number one fan your restaura ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Hi, I was a number one fan your restaurant, great quality as soon as you enter the restaurant and trough the whole dinning, that's the reason I choose to treat my husband on his day! BAD choice, starting with the hosted, it look like she was in a very bad mood, and even dough I had a reservation we had to wait a good 10 to 15 minutes before we were seated, the meat was delayed a bit too and even after we asked for what we wanted it took a long time before we were served, and in my case it was not until I asked my waiter a second time that I finally got what I wanted... Overall a very bad and pricey lunch-dinner....

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best outstanding service ever Food was a ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Best outstanding service ever Food was amazing!' First time not my last

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service3

Overall it was excellent and I would sti ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Overall it was excellent and I would still highly recommend it. Even the service was good until it got really busy and then couldn't find anyone to get our bill from.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food with lots of choices, fri ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Excellent food with lots of choices, friendly and caring staff, always ready to help and assist anyone and their grilled meats are outstanding...This is certainly one of my favorite restaurants for special occasions and friends get together

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Excellent quality food with very good se ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Excellent quality food with very good service. They missed out on the chance to sell us a few more drink refills, but other than that the food and service was excellent.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fogo de Chao is a wonderful restaurant f ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Fogo de Chao is a wonderful restaurant for couples and groups. The meat was well seasoned and well cooked. Service was a little slow tonight - but as it is always a busy place, this is understandable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We like to go about once a year. It's sp ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We like to go about once a year. It's spendy but worth the money if you have an appetite for great meats! Be sure to ask for the filet as I'm sure they don't bring it around as often as the other, less expensive meats. The salad bar is not without mentioning as it offer so much more than just salad!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4
value2

Food and wait staff was very good. Pric ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Food and wait staff was very good. Prices are high so I will not be visiting frequently.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I am a repeat customer, the food is exce ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

I am a repeat customer, the food is excellent, service is very good and professional.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

IT was our first anniversary and the wai ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

IT was our first anniversary and the wait staff made sure it was special. In addition to the wonderful desert we received as a gift. We have been asked by family what we thought and we most likely will come again and bring family with us.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and great service. Fogo ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Excellent food and great service. Fogo de Chao is a great place to have dinner and to be with your loved ones. The food is excellent and it incorporates a variety of cuts, typical of brazilian steakhouses. The price matches the quality of the food. I deeply recommend this restaurant.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

We went for my husband's birthday, and d ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We went for my husband's birthday, and despite mentioning this to the waitstaff a couple of times, I had to remind them at the end to bring him dessert. Also, there was a 20 minute period we had our cards turned to green and no one came by to offer us meat. I am not sure if this was due to our table being tucked by a wall, but this I thought it was unacceptable to wait that long. We did finally mention it to the waiter and then there was an influx of service. The food was ok, nothing over the top. We would not go back in the future, if we are going to spend $200 on a meal, I would expect better service.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

During the time we were there, the Marke ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

During the time we were there, the Market Table was VERY picked over. Had to ask for a number of things. The soup was just so-so. It was so loud that conversation between 4 people was impossible. Wait staff seemed absent, and they noticeably stopped bringing meat around after a while - until they realized we weren't going to leave - then it came in abundance. It just didn't feel like the same experience as I've had before, and I'm wondering if it was just later than we usually go (7:30 when we would normally dine at 6:00)

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience2
service5
value2

We had a good time. I could be wrong but ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

We had a good time. I could be wrong but the salad bar looked diminished from years past. The meat was great and the service was over the top great.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We had a reservation and were seated rig ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

We had a reservation and were seated right on time. The salads were fresh and the meats were excellent. Good variety of meats. Our waiter was very friendly and there when we needed him but didn't hover. Excellent restaurant.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hands down the best in Minneapolis/Saint ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Hands down the best in Minneapolis/Saint Paul! The salad bar is unbelievable!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was AMAZING. Come hungry! You ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Everything was AMAZING. Come hungry! You won't have one specific server, so keep that in mind. Everyone is so helpful and great. We love coming here!

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Wonderful "Salad" bar that has a little ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Wonderful "Salad" bar that has a little of everything and could easily fill you up but variety of meat is amazing! Our only issue was that we ordered an Arnie Palmer and they use limeade instead of lemonade so we should have sent it back since it was undrinkable but our other drink guarana was incredible!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

We have been to Fogo several times but t ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

We have been to Fogo several times but the last two times the service has been horrible. We had reservations and it still took us an hour to be seated... There was no taking reservations first. Once we sat down it took forever to get a drink and to be greeted. So to say the least the service was horrible. The food was very good ... We just had to ask for the different meats to come to our table.

food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Reservation execution wasn't up to par, ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Reservation execution wasn't up to par, sounds they they were having some technical difficulties mixed with unexpected crowds. But once the server and manager visited us it was all a wonderful experience.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great food! Fogo is always a treat when ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Great food! Fogo is always a treat when you can go. It's a classy restaurant with classy service!

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

Servers were more interestedin a large t ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Servers were more interestedin a large table of me, meat was average at best. Wine stewart was very good, salad bar was excellent. Way overpriced for the quality and rushing you so they can turn tables. I can spend less than the $900 i spent at plenty of great restaurants. This is a tourist bait restaurant.

food3
ambience3
service4
value2

I've been to Fogo close to a dozen times ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

I've been to Fogo close to a dozen times over the past 10 years. Having recently returned to Minneapolis after several years away, I was enthusiastic about returning to one of my favorite Minneapolis restaurants (Fogo de Chao). As a close friend was soon to be moving away, thus arose an occasion. Unfortunately, this most recent trip did not live up to my expectations. Perhaps it was because we went on a Tuesday, but, suffice it to say, I just did not feel the same degree of satisfaction that I normally experience. I'll attribute this to a few things: (a) The Cocktails. I'm an old-fashioned guy when it comes to cocktails. And by that I mean something simple with good liquor, presentation, and serving it the right way (e.g. 1792 Manhattan served up or with a single whiskey cube). Most of the cocktails on the menu resounded in sweet, playful, and fun. However, there were a lack of the classics. We opted for the Pineapple (Old-Fashioned/Manhattan--I forget which it was) at $14, but served in a glass full of standard ice cubes--watered down--I was immediately disappointed. Just not what I would have expected at a place of Fogo's caliber. (b) The Wine: I'm neither a wine-snob nor a self-proclaimed expert, but I've had enough wine to know a few things. Had I been on a date, we would've ordered a bottle and this point would be moot. Fogo certainly has a good selection of wines by the bottle, but a $15 Rodney Strong as the premier Cab by the glass is overpriced and overrated. Fogo could easily make a few adjustments (try J. Lohr Hilltop (not Seven Oaks) at $15/glass and give the customers something they can really appreciate. There are some really great wines out there, and Fogo could make some big improvements with a few small changes. (c) The food: Again, perhaps because it was a Tuesday, but on several occasions we were served cuts of meat that were significantly overdone. Overall, just not what I would expect for a ~$200 meal for two.

food3
ambience2
service2
value2

I have een here ever times. Unfortunatel ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

I have een here ever times. Unfortunately, my most recent visit was disappointing. The waiters with the steak rarely am to our table; they use walked right by. My 12 year old son skipped the salad bar, card green, no one came by for over 10 minutes. I timed it. We had to order the shrimp they were walking around with since he was "starving". This has never happend before and because all past experiences were fantastic I will still recommend and shrug it off as an off night for the staff.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Great service and excellent food.

Dined on June 13, 2016

Great service and excellent food.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was our anniversary. Had a great mea ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

It was our anniversary. Had a great meal. The service was great and organized. Our dessert was crème brulee beautifully decorated .

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Been to Fogo de Chao before and the food ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Been to Fogo de Chao before and the food was better. They have scaled back on some of the better cuts of meat. I saw the fillet mignon go around only once. Did not get to try it unfortunately. However it was my wife's first time and she thought it was great so I guess I can't complain too much:)

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Super awesome! Fogo had the best service ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Super awesome! Fogo had the best service we have ever had at any restaurant in Minneapolis. From the hostess that always smiled to the meat cutters that were always helpful friendly and nice. We started at the bar and drank 2 of now my favorite awesome drink. The cheese Bread was awesome. We ordered grilled shrimp super great. When we were seated our server pulled the chair, nice touch. We asked about wine and the manager suggested the greatest bottle that we have ever had. Silver oak Napa so amazing!! The price was perfect and about what you'd expect from a five star restaurant. We couldn't stop talking about the house special meat!! It was absolutely Devine. Dessert time was filled with options, we chose the molten cake holy amazing. Trust me if you want a place where everyone is nice, the food is perfect, and your money is well spent go to Fogo de Chao. Some little tidbits. Eat the cheese at the salad bar! Ask for a manager to help with the wine. And listen to the servers they know more than you may think!!! Happy dinning! Way to go Fogo! You rock

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

As usual the food was wonderful - being ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

As usual the food was wonderful - being a non-meat eater I love the salad bar and feel like it really is a meal unto itself and then some. We were at the f irst seating on a Sunday, and while the staff was quite attentive in the beginning, became less of a presense as the restaurant got busier - understandable, however, my mother who is 89 years old became virtually invisible to the staff - they did not see that her plate was empty or her card green and waited a substantial time until we called it to a managers attention that we had not seen any kind of beef offered in like 20 minutes. It then came in a flourish, but should not have required us bringing it to manager attention.

Tags: special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.