About Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Kansas City

222 W. 47th Street
Kansas City, MO 64112
View Larger Map

Fogo de Chão® (fo-go dèe shoun), is an authentic Southern Brazilian steakhouse. In 1979, Fogo® began sharing the gaucho way of preparing meat in Porto Alegre, Brazil. Today, our gaucho chefs still expertly grill each of our 20 cuts of meat and offer you continuous tableside service.

We invite you to enjoy the delicious preparations of our gaucho chefs along with our gourmet market table, authentic Brazilian side dishes, and award-winning wine list.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Brazilian Steakhouse, Steakhouse, South American

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Tuesday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Wednesday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Thursday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:30pm
Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, 2:00pm - 10:30pm
Sunday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Wornall Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 931-7700

Website:
http://www.fogodechao.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available during dinner hours for $7.00. There is also a complimentary parking garage behind Fogo de Chao, next to Houston's.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Jumbo shrimp cocktail
Assorted Sides
Creme Brulee
Key Lime Pie
Gaucho
Sirloin
Caipirinha
Mashed Potato
Fried Yuca
Salad
Meat Coma
Fried Polenta
Cheese Bread
Birthday cake
Yes Please!
Assorted Meats
Swords!
Mashed Potatoes
Salad Bar
Papaya Cream
Brazilian Steak
Meat on a stick
Talented Wait Staff
Chocolate Mousse Cake
Rum
Rolls
Salad Bar Goodness
Flan
Chocolate Mousse
churrasco
Cheese
Bread
Mozzarella
Bacon Wrapped Chicken & Filet Mignon
Prime Top Sirloin Steak
Papaya Ice Cream
Various Proteins, Brazillian Rice, Peppers & Onions, Flash Fried Polenta

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 4:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:30PM - 10:30PM

Sat 4:00PM - 5:30PM 9:00PM - 10:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Invite your guests to a truly unique group dining experience! Whether for private dining rooms, or to interact in our main dining areas, Fogo de Chão® is the perfect location for parties of 15 to 110

Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Kansas City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
Kansas City
Most Booked
Kansas City
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Kansas City
3 More
Special Occasion
Kansas City, MO
Most Booked
Kansas City, MO
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Kansas City, MO
Best Restaurants in Plaza / Brookside ›

Special Occasion (176)
Good for Groups (104)
Fit for Foodies (76)
See All
Romantic (76)
Great for Lunch (49)
Notable Wine List (36)
Great for Brunch (32)
Kid-friendly (26)
Hot Spot (25)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Late-night Find (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Scenic View (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sort By:
Newest
800 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My parents had never been there before, ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 2 days ago

My parents had never been there before, so we brought them to celebrate a 70th birthday and a retirement. The staff were so warm and friendly, and yet highly professional. The food quality was, as always, fantastic. Everyone ensured that we were happy and had everything that we could possibly want. Our server brought my parents desserts to celebrate, specifically for each of their occasions. My parents felt so special, and would not stop talking about how great the day had been. Thank you, everyone! We will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good experience, I thought they could'v ...

 
 (Fayetteville)
·Dined 3 days ago

Good experience, I thought they could've been more frequent with the more expensive cuts of meat (filets etc.). It's expensive for the amount of food you eat if you're a lighter eater and they don't really tell you about your options unless you ask.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Going a little earlier here was a great ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 3 days ago

Going a little earlier here was a great idea! The minute we sat down from the salad bar we had meat after meat come to our table, and our servers were much more attentive than when it's busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Kansas University football team was ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 4 days ago

The Kansas University football team was seated while I was dining and the servers soon after paid little if any attention to our table.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Best food! Best Service! Great experienc ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 4 days ago

Best food! Best Service! Great experience overall. My new favorite place on the Plaza.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Casual, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always phenomenal and we've ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 4 days ago

The food is always phenomenal and we've been to this one a few times now. Everyone was great, but during dinner we had a creepy waiter come up and market a shrimp cocktail as he held a bowl of shrimp in front of us. It was awkward and my husband is allergic so he wasn't interested but it took answering the waiter's several questions before we could tell him. I would eat there again in a heartbeat. I just plan to be prepared for the shrimp guy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

I choose Fogo for my husbands birthday. ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 4 days ago

I choose Fogo for my husbands birthday. I knew he would love the meat selection and I enjoyed the Market Table. The wait staff was wonderful. We are from out of town and it was worth the drive and expense for the special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Not enough chicken selection. Mainly bee ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 5 days ago

Not enough chicken selection. Mainly beef.

Ambience was nothing special. Texas De Brazil has them beat by far...

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

I had the worst service ever and it wasn ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I had the worst service ever and it wasn't even busy at All There. Never going to go There again. You Would expect better service at a place for 50 dollars a plate. We didn't even get over desert. I felt really bad taking my gf There for her birthday Because of how bad the experience was

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Soo Great, but for me too expensive, but ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Soo Great, but for me too expensive, but the picaña is deliciuous

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

They have a wide variety of meat to choo ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

They have a wide variety of meat to choose from and our plates were never empty. Overall a great place to try.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Made reservation on line and then showed ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Made reservation on line and then showed up on time and got stuck in the corner where it was not easy to get in or out and thus the carriers with the meat did not pay much attention to us. Also seemed the same cuts kept coming by and only one time did the best choice cut come by. Not nearly as good as in the past.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was incredible, well at least t ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food was incredible, well at least the meats. Potatoes were okay and the other sides were not bad.

Service could have been better. There were long stretches were no one came by; not to check on water, take our check, or even to ask how things were. We could have walked out and no one would have noticed.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Probably my favorite meat place to eat. ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Probably my favorite meat place to eat. Great salad bar as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Incredible meats, impeccable service. N ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Incredible meats, impeccable service. Nothing like it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a wonderful experience for speci ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This is a wonderful experience for special occasions! Unlike any restaurant we have ever been too, it was a fun (and absolutely delicious) meal. A bit pricey - but a place we will remember and hope to frequent again.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meat service was a slow when we firs ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The meat service was a slow when we first arrived. A few people stopped by and asked us what where looking for. We started getting all the meats we asked for. It was wonderful

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A fantastic experience! I was super impr ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

A fantastic experience! I was super impressed by the service and the options that were available. Salad bar sometimes lacked labels, so it's hard to know what I was selecting. Meat options were phenomenal.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Pricy but fun, noisy just a bit, good st ...

 
 (Fayetteville)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Pricy but fun, noisy just a bit, good staff, good food. Great Valet parking, kids enjoyed "power of choice" as things were brought around.

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I have been there several times and has ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I have been there several times and has always been excellent. At my last dinner the service was average I had to ask for the meat I wanted. The servers seemed to be have there attention somewhere else it was not at our table. The food was good but for the price it was subpar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Ahhmazing!!! Those Polenta fries, the br ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Ahhmazing!!! Those Polenta fries, the bread, the chicken salad, the Black Rice and Mango, The LAMB, THE STEAK, THE CHICKEN!!!!!WONDERFUL!!! EVERYTHING, Will go to the one in New York this Friday.

My sister and I were beyond impressed and so were our tastebuds:) Didnt need wine or desserts with a quality meal like that;)

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Delicious food however, the service was ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Delicious food however, the service was frantic and disorganized but very friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

I love this place! You have a great team ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

I love this place! You have a great team and an awesome atmosphere. Not to mention great food.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first visit here was wonderful!! Ama ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Our first visit here was wonderful!! Amazing food and service. 2 comped birthday desserts! Will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good. Hot and fresh. ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

The food was very good. Hot and fresh. A good variety. The downside was the service. When we first arrived (6:30), the food came quickly and often. Several of us were pacing ourselves and had to pass on several selections, which was good. After a while things started to slow down. The food offerings became very scarce in the restaurant, not just our table. We asked 2 different servers 2 different times for some more meat offerings, but none came. The difference was very noticeable.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

We were celebrating two birthdays. Our ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

We were celebrating two birthdays. Our server was wonderful. We received complimentary desserts with 'happy birthday' written on them. The food was outstanding. It was crowded so the noise level was high but not to the annoying part. We definitely will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time here although we ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

This was our first time here although we had been planning on going for a while. We were a little late for our reservation but it was not a big deal since they were not overly busy (Sunday evening).

The service was very attentive without being overwhelming and someone was checking in on us at a good pace.

The meat selection was obviously fantastic but the accompanying cold bar was equally well appointed and should not be overlooked.

They have a great selection of wines but if you get it by the glass, it can add up quickly.

I would recommend but plan on spending about $100 per person total (food, wine, tax, tip) if you want to prepare in advance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This was my first time to this particula ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

This was my first time to this particular location, but I have visited Fogo de Chaos in other cities. The experience is unique and the meat is delicious. My only complaint is that the vegetables are served cold. If you're considering going, skip lunch, and pace yourself on the veggies. The meat is the star of the show!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved the whole experience. I have to s ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Loved the whole experience. I have to say that the service was possibly the best I have ever received at any restaurant. Will be back

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was great, the food was amazi ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Everything was great, the food was amazing as usual, however no one acknowledged our wedding anniversary despite noting it on the reservation. It would have been nice for someone to say Happy Anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The food was ok. The staff are very nice ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The food was ok. The staff are very nice. They sat a family by the salad bar and their child coughed and cried throughout the entire meal. It was gross and distracting. At another table a child was standing up in his chair banging a plate on his table. When he wasn't doing that he was yelling at his brother. The restaurant was very loud. If I wanted loud I could have went to Chucky Cheese. After we left fogo my friend called to talk to the manager about what had happened. He gave the person who answered the phone the cliff notes. She said she would have a manager call him back. It's been 4 days and nobody has called back. It would have been nice to have been heard. At the least a person could have called back to hear your thoughts about your bad dinning experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

Food and service was outstanding as alwa ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Food and service was outstanding as always! The atmosphere and noise levels not so much... There was a very loud group that was very disruptive but were never talked too. This place has major potential to be a romantic date, but the open floor plan design and very loud guests ruin it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

This was my first experience at a Brazil ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

This was my first experience at a Brazilian Steakhouse and it was AMAZING! The entire staff works together as a team, so you're not sitting around waiting for anyone to refill your water. We requested a couple of special meats and they came up right away. I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went for lunch and received wonderful ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

We went for lunch and received wonderful service. The manager, waiter and servers were all friendly and helpful. They make everyone feel like a VIP!!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You never leave wanting more! Service w ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

You never leave wanting more! Service was quick and they made sure we had what we wanted.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I love the Brazilian stea ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

My husband and I love the Brazilian steakhouse in Chicago. Going into Fogo we had a predetermined expectation of how the experience would be.

Service was OUTSTANDING but the food choice, especially the buffet portion were extremely limited in comparison and it just wasn't the same. We would not return if I visited Kansas City again. We will keep our Brazilian steakhouse visits limited to Texas de Brazil!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We go to Fogo three or four times a year ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We go to Fogo three or four times a year, always for our anniversary, and a few times in between.

We love the food , the staff, and the service.

We have taken friends there and always have the best dining experience.

I am not your best customer but am always made to feel like I am.

In a time where customer service seems to be a thing of the past, Fogo stands out, a shining example of how to do it right. Thank You

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our all time favorite restaurant ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

One of our all time favorite restaurants. Great service and very attentive even to our various aged children .

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time! We were in Brazil ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

We had a great time! We were in Brazil a year ago and were craving Brazil and everything it had to offer, Fogo was great....the caiparinha was perfect, the papaya cream was a dream. Thank you for bringing Brazil to America!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lots of food and choices. We like our s ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Lots of food and choices. We like our steak well done. The servers were more than willing to cook it longer for us. Pork with parmesean cheese crust was my favorite.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.