About Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Kansas City

222 W. 47th Street
Kansas City, MO 64112
View Larger Map

Fogo de Chão® (fo-go dèe shoun), is an authentic Southern Brazilian steakhouse. In 1979, Fogo® began sharing the gaucho way of preparing meat in Porto Alegre, Brazil. Today, our gaucho chefs still expertly grill each of our 20 cuts of meat and offer you continuous tableside service.

We invite you to enjoy the delicious preparations of our gaucho chefs along with our gourmet market table, authentic Brazilian side dishes, and award-winning wine list.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Brazilian Steakhouse, Steakhouse, South American

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Tuesday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Wednesday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Thursday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:30pm
Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm and 4:00pm - 10:30pm
Sunday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Wornall Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 931-7700

Website:
http://www.fogodechao.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available during dinner hours for $7.00. There is also a complimentary parking garage behind Fogo de Chao, next to Houston's.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Assorted Sides
Jumbo shrimp cocktail
Creme Brulee
Key Lime Pie
Caipirinha
Sirloin
Gaucho
Fried Yuca
Mashed Potato
Salad
Meat Coma
Cheese Bread
Fried Polenta
Yes Please!
Birthday cake
Assorted Meats
Swords!
Mashed Potatoes
Salad Bar
Papaya Cream
Brazilian Steak
Meat on a stick
Talented Wait Staff
Chocolate Mousse Cake
Rolls
Rum
Salad Bar Goodness
Flan
Chocolate Mousse
churrasco
Bread
Cheese
Mozzarella
Prime Top Sirloin Steak
Bacon Wrapped Chicken & Filet Mignon
Papaya Ice Cream
Various Proteins, Brazillian Rice, Peppers & Onions, Flash Fried Polenta

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 4:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:30PM - 10:30PM

Sat 4:00PM - 5:30PM 9:00PM - 10:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Invite your guests to a truly unique group dining experience! Whether for private dining rooms, or to interact in our main dining areas, Fogo de Chão® is the perfect location for parties of 15 to 110

Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Kansas City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
Kansas City
Most Booked
Kansas City
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Kansas City
3 More
Special Occasion
Kansas City, MO
Most Booked
Kansas City, MO
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Kansas City, MO
Best Restaurants in Plaza / Brookside ›

special occasion (211)
good for groups (125)
romantic (106)
See All
fit for foodies (104)
great for lunch (58)
notable wine list (54)
hot spot (37)
great for brunch (36)
kid-friendly (33)
neighborhood gem (26)
late-night find (14)
scenic view (11)
vibrant bar scene (8)
great for outdoor dining (5)
Sort By:
Newest
732 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and yummy food. They gave ...

Dined 4 days ago

Great service and yummy food. They gave us a free dessert because we were celebrating our anniversary.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our first experience at Fogo an ...

Dined 5 days ago

This was our first experience at Fogo and it was a great one! Food was delicious and the servers were very friendly. We will be back.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best dining experience I have had an ...

Dined 5 days ago

The best dining experience I have had anywhere. Food was incredible. Service was attentive and impeccable. I will continue to recommend fogo to anyone looking for an exceptional dining experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We very much enjoyed our visit for dinne ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

We very much enjoyed our visit for dinner. Had trouble parking but had never been to the area before.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

This restaurant is too expensive to be m ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

This restaurant is too expensive to be more than a special occasion dining experience. Typically my husband and son get the complete meal and I have the salad bar. This past weekend I thought the salad bar was weak. No olives. only 2 cheese selections. 2 deli meats & chicken salad, lox, were the extend of protein. Disappointed. We have crème brulee for desert. edges were blackened and rather than being custard like it was thick like bread pudding. They need to offer small plates for desert.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was good, my husband loves to e ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was good, my husband loves to eat meat, and the meat is very fresh and juicey

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value1

I really enjoyed the experience but I th ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

I really enjoyed the experience but I think it is ridiculous that you can't take the food on your plate home. You pay $50 and they throw your food away if you can't finish it

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Fogo, always great service and f ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We love Fogo, always great service and food. It's not "kid friendly" in that there are a million screaming babies, more like our 7 and 9 year old can easily find something that they like and try new things.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Although on the pricey side, we've never ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Although on the pricey side, we've never been disappointed at Fogo...amazing selection from the salad bar and the meat is always fresh and cooked to perfection. If there's something special you'd like, just as your server and they'll prepare to order!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We found that dining here was an experie ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We found that dining here was an experience not just a meal. It made my husband's father's day celebration even more special.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were celebrating our 25th wedding ann ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary. Showed up a little early and our table was ready. Didn't have to wait. The salad bar was outstanding & all the other food was even better!! Would definitely recommend Fogo de Chao for any special occasion or just a get away.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience3
service2
value1

Our welcome was nice. Service to refills ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Our welcome was nice. Service to refills was not very good. We had to look around for someone to help us. We've been to your restaurant before and have never had bad service.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything is excellent and authentic.

Dined on June 12, 2016

Everything is excellent and authentic.

food3
ambience2
service3
value3

The food was good. But, despite the pric ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

The food was good. But, despite the price, this was not a fine dining experience or an elegant night out. The service felt as if we were at a Red Robin, not a meal that was over $100/pp all in. The hostess stood at the podium and called out names rather than walking over to greet/seat us. Other diners were dressed in cut-offs and t-shirts (several tables not just one). We were celebrating a 50th wedding anniversary and had privately informed the hostess and our server of this. No one acknowledged this momentous occasion to congratulate my parents. We were just another table to them and wish we would have chosen a restaurant that would have made them feel special on their special night.

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience4
service3

Overall it was nice but the problem is w ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

Overall it was nice but the problem is when many of rotating servers (the ones serving the meat)keep missing your table when the "green" indicator is up. Only the same servers kept coming back. I took my brother's family as a treat. I'll be honest the fact that by mid meal the repeated commentary the table was Texas de Brazil is better or although Tucanos is a step down, it s a better experience... In short it was ok, but it won't be the first place on my list to go as a treat. This was my first experience at a Brazilian steakhouse, and it wasn't the best.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fabulous Service

Dined on June 8, 2016

Our server Anthony was just fantastic. All of the cooks serving meat were really nice and kind and were super attentive. The meat was great, all of it, from chicken to top sirloin. The bread is amazing as well. We went for a birthday and we will be back soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome good and atmosphere!

Dined on June 5, 2016

Awesome good and atmosphere!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

An Epic Experience

Dined on June 4, 2016

I took my wife to Fogo de Chao for her birthday. It was not our first visit there but we had not been for two years. We were not disappointed. The service is overwhelming. The salad bar is the best anywhere. The meat is superb. For us, it is expensive ($250 including wine and tip) but worth it for special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Terrible experience

Dined on May 30, 2016

Requested one cut of meat, never got it. Only got to try 3 types of meat.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best place to eat!

Dined on May 28, 2016

We had a wonderful time for the second time in this place. The steaks are so delicious and the service is the best. Overall, the food and everything was amazing.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic

Dined on May 28, 2016

Love our dining experience. Great food and LOTS of it! Service was outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Fantastic lamb paired with the perfect w ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Fantastic lamb paired with the perfect wine.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Whole30 friendly!

Dined on May 27, 2016

I wanted to take my wife out for her birthday, but we're currently following the Whole30 eating plan, so finding a suitable restaurant was very difficult. Not only did Fogo de Chao have many options that were Whole30 compliant, their staff took the time to explain to us exactly what was in all of the food. If we had a question they didn't immediately know, they found it. It was an excellent experience. Thank you Fogo Kansas City!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great value

Dined on May 22, 2016

Food was great and the service was very good. Would recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were impressed with the front entranc ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

We were impressed with the front entrance and enthusiastic greeters promptly awaiting us as we arrived for our 6:00pm reservation. Without hesitation we were guided to our exclusive table decorated with white linen and beautiful décor all around. Immediately introduced by our server, we ordered a glass of wine and robust prawns on ice with cocktail sauce. The buffet had a selective, thought-out arrangement good for any pallet. 22 different ways to season or cook meat table side was the King of the evening. We enjoyed the tempo of trying meats we would not normally order. Amazing meal!! The table side servers were professional and knowledgeable about the temperature as well. We needed a night to venture out and try something different and exciting. This was a great experience and we definitely come back in the near future.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I am vegetarian and my husband loves mea ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

I am vegetarian and my husband loves meat. Fogo De Chao is great for both of us. they are a hidden gem for no meat eaters. The Market bar is awesome!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fogo De Chao never disappoints. Some of ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Fogo De Chao never disappoints. Some of the best food and service in KC. My favorite place to eat.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

This restaurant was over priced for the ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

This restaurant was over priced for the of food that they served. This was a bad experience. Food was just okay, salad bar was just okay and for a family of 4 it costs over $250. For that much money i expect more.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A must try

Dined on May 18, 2016

Went to the one in Minnesota for my bachelor party and was amazed. So week to a mini honey moon to Kansas City and it was a must my wif tried it. If it wasn't so expensive it would be a must stop.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3

Meat meat and more meat

Dined on May 15, 2016

Meat meat and more meat

food4
ambience2
service2

They brought us waters when we were abou ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

They brought us waters when we were about half way done with our meal. We didn't get bread until we were about done eating. The service was very friendly but disorganized. Multiple waiters served our table and there was clear lack of communication between them on who was supposed to do what. We did get a complimentary dessert for it being our Anniversary ( which was phenomenal) so that was nice. All in all I give it a B, for the price C-.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

fun place!

Dined on May 14, 2016

Certainly enjoyed the whole attitude of the place. Would love to go back, just a little more expensive than we were expecting. especially taking a large group (8)

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

graduation dinner

Dined on May 14, 2016

I enjoy the relaxed style of dining. The younger people liked turning the "meat coin". I did miss the candy bacon that evening( my favorite) Everyone was able to try new things and their service is always great.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Pleasantly Surprised!!

Dined on May 14, 2016

I was wanting to find a place on the Plaza that we hadn't been to before to have dinner with my adult kids over my daughters college graduation weekend. Not really knowing what to expect, we all were all overwhelmingly surprised! From the food quality, to the variety, to the concept, all was wonderful. The staff is remarkably attentive and really go out of their way to make sure everything is just right. It's more an event than a meal. It is on the pricey side so have your Gold Card ready. Seven bills for a party of seven which included pre dinner drinks, two bottles of wine and grat. From my vantage point, worth EVERY PENNY! Well done Fogo de Chao....well done.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First Time Dining

Dined on May 14, 2016

Comfortable Dining with Outstanding Selection! The staff was very helpful & engaging! Very impressed with the speed of the service! Such a great selection on the salad bar. The Filet & Ribeye was so tender & one of the best tasting steaks We've ever tasted! We can't wait to return! Well Done Fogo de Chao, KC !!!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

I was really looking forward to this for ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

I was really looking forward to this for our anniversary. I am sad to say it was quite a disappointment. I had read a lot about what they would offer and felt like maybe our reservation was too early enjoy some of the options. There were several times the meat offered wasn't done to our liking and we were told there was a piece coming out that was more what we wanted, but they would never come out. I can't help but think of the meals we could have enjoyed for the same price elsewhere.

food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Going down

Dined on May 11, 2016

This restaurant, though expensive, use to be one of my favorites. The salad bar does not seem to have as wide of a selection. Waiter got the drink order wrong. Asked for no ice. Got ice. New drink looked like they just strained out the ice and forgot the cherry. Mash Potatoes were cold. The food is still very good. But, the service is way down. Have dropped them as one of our go to restaurants.

food3
ambience3
service5
value4

Customer service was great as well as the manager.

Dined on May 9, 2016

The customer service was very good. Steak sauce would be a big plus and refills on sprite would be great if they weren't $3.25 a piece. It would be great if you didn't charge so much for anything extra like refills on soda.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Wow! My first time here, although a coup ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Wow! My first time here, although a couple of others in our party had been here before. Food was fantastic and service was great. The "filler foods - salad, potatoes, bananas - were tasty, ut the meats, as anticipated, were delicious. I had to remind myself to slow down and save room for the molten lava cake.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Mothers Day with Family

Dined on May 8, 2016

My wife and i came here 5 years ago on our 25th anniversary and it was marvelous and special. Since then we tried another Brazilian steakhouse in the area and the ambiance was not the same, food was good but two different environments. This time we brought the entire family (8) and growing for mothersday and they loved it. We will be back plan to bring parents next time.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.