About Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Kansas City

222 W. 47th Street
Kansas City, MO 64112
View Larger Map

Fogo de Chão® (fo-go dèe shoun), is an authentic Southern Brazilian steakhouse. In 1979, Fogo® began sharing the gaucho way of preparing meat in Porto Alegre, Brazil. Today, our gaucho chefs still expertly grill each of our 20 cuts of meat and offer you continuous tableside service.

We invite you to enjoy the delicious preparations of our gaucho chefs along with our gourmet market table, authentic Brazilian side dishes, and award-winning wine list.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Brazilian Steakhouse, Steakhouse, South American

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Tuesday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Wednesday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Thursday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:30pm
Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm and 4:00pm - 10:30pm
Sunday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Wornall Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 931-7700

Website:
http://www.fogodechao.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available during dinner hours for $7.00. There is also a complimentary parking garage behind Fogo de Chao, next to Houston's.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Assorted Sides
Jumbo shrimp cocktail
Creme Brulee
Key Lime Pie
Caipirinha
Sirloin
Gaucho
Fried Yuca
Mashed Potato
Salad
Meat Coma
Cheese Bread
Fried Polenta
Yes Please!
Birthday cake
Assorted Meats
Swords!
Mashed Potatoes
Salad Bar
Papaya Cream
Brazilian Steak
Meat on a stick
Talented Wait Staff
Chocolate Mousse Cake
Rolls
Rum
Salad Bar Goodness
Flan
Chocolate Mousse
churrasco
Bread
Cheese
Mozzarella
Prime Top Sirloin Steak
Bacon Wrapped Chicken & Filet Mignon
Papaya Ice Cream
Various Proteins, Brazillian Rice, Peppers & Onions, Flash Fried Polenta

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 4:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:30PM - 10:30PM

Sat 4:00PM - 5:30PM 9:00PM - 10:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Invite your guests to a truly unique group dining experience! Whether for private dining rooms, or to interact in our main dining areas, Fogo de Chão® is the perfect location for parties of 15 to 110

Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Kansas City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Kansas City
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Kansas City
Special Occasion
Kansas City, MO
2 More
Most Booked
Kansas City, MO
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Kansas City, MO
Best Restaurants in Plaza / Brookside ›

special occasion (178)
good for groups (107)
romantic (87)
See All
fit for foodies (82)
great for lunch (49)
notable wine list (43)
great for brunch (32)
hot spot (30)
kid-friendly (26)
neighborhood gem (20)
late-night find (9)
vibrant bar scene (9)
scenic view (5)
great for outdoor dining (4)
Sort By:
Newest
760 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

One of our all time favorite restaurant ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 4 days ago

One of our all time favorite restaurants. Great service and very attentive even to our various aged children .

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service except wished ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Excellent food and service except wished we had a better seating arrangement like a rind table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR THE EXPERIENCE EVE ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR THE EXPERIENCE EVERYTIME WE VISIT; IT IS A WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE EACH TIME WE GO...STAFF IS FRIENDLY, COURTEOUS, AND VERY EFFICIENT!!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome experience there was tons of gr ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Awesome experience there was tons of great food, staff was excellent well definitely dying here again.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best brazilian steakhouse in KC (bes ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The best brazilian steakhouse in KC (best stake I have had in the US)

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I would rarely label a restaurant "fun", ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I would rarely label a restaurant "fun", but this one was definitely fun. Slightly pricey, but for a occasional outing, worth it. Food was fantastic! Service: exceptional! I would go again, but not often.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Tons of meat! I'm not a big meat eater s ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Tons of meat! I'm not a big meat eater so I did not enjoy dinner as most of my party did. Salad bar was ok. Left hungry with a $150 tab. Glad I went to for the experience but I don't find this being on my top 10.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

My bro' and I arrived early, but were im ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

My bro' and I arrived early, but were immediately seated. Pretty quiet as it was nearly 9 P. M. Service was quick. We turned in our drink orders and hit the salad bar. There were plenty of selections of veggies as well as prepared salads. I didn't think it was as elaborate as in the past, but we came for the protein overload anyway. Gauchos served up skewers of poultry, beef and pork, all of which were wonderful. We asked for some lamb which they prepared and it was outstanding. Side dishes were uninspiring (garlic mashed potatoes, bananas, etc.). Muffins were tasty. Always enjoy Fogo and will be back.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Me and my girlfriend are from Omaha and ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Me and my girlfriend are from Omaha and came to KC for a concert and ate at Fogo de Chao the next day for lunch. It was recently our anniversary so we wanted to go somewhere nice and this place was perfect. Great food, great service, and has a very nice ambiance.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great atmosphere great food the service ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Great atmosphere great food the service was excellentI recommend this place for fine dining and get-togethers and special occasions I definitely will be back from time to time and enjoy your time .

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Based on previous visits, I had not been ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Based on previous visits, I had not been a fan, but I've changed my mind. I'm a big fan and recommend Fogo's without hesitancy.

The staff was attentive. The food was great. The birthday dinner was memorable for my wife and me.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was very good. My favorite by f ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The food was very good. My favorite by far was the garlic sirloin, followed by the other sirloin cuts and the tenderloin.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The over all experience was ok. The vegg ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The over all experience was ok. The veggies were cold and unseasoned. The green beans were soggy.

The potatoes were lumpy and there was a small black lump in them. The potatoes serving portion was small and just warm . We were served 4 different kinds of beef, 2 kinds of chicken a 1 pork sausage and that was over a two hour period. We didn't see near the amount of meat they claimed we would. The beacon on the salad bar was over the top spicy.

The whole experience was okay but not great.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

My fiance's birthday and I think EVERYON ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

My fiance's birthday and I think EVERYONE but the kitchen sink at one time or another bestowed birthday wishes. She was delighted! It was a genuine and personal touch that magnified the entire fine dining experience.....thank you!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our side dishes were all cold and it too ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Our side dishes were all cold and it took quite awhile before the serves came to us.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

It wasn't the best experience we've had ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

It wasn't the best experience we've had at a Fogo de Chao. The Addison location was much better overall. The Kansas City location, however, was quite a letdown. The bartender messed up our sangria by adding far too much amaretto, thus ruining the drink. The food quality was subpar, and not as fresh. The noise level was much lower, however, and the wait staff very courteous. Despite that, we will most likely avoid the Kansas City location in the future.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Fogo de Chao is an excellent Churrascari ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Fogo de Chao is an excellent Churrascaria, their selection of meat and wines is amazing, plus the waiters and the Gauchos (who bring the meat) are very kind and attentive to the needs of their customers. I highly recommend it for special occasions or even just for the experience of it!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Has a five star overall , has that high ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Has a five star overall , has that high level wow factor

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there celebrating our daughters ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We were there celebrating our daughters birthday (which I put in the reservation), but nothing was ever said regarding this and we were disappointed by this. In the past, we have been offered a dessert with candles.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value5

After a bump in service around the holid ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

After a bump in service around the holidays last year due to a management change, Fogo is back in business with an engaging staff and a top notch gaucho experience . There are imitators around town but we think Fogo has the best atmosphere for a special occasion.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The items served at the salad bar were f ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The items served at the salad bar were fresh and so delicious!

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

The service at the KC Fogo was one of th ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The service at the KC Fogo was one of the best my wife and I have ever had anywhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service is always offered here! Th ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great service is always offered here! The food is always fresh and hot!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome service the wait staff was wonde ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Awesome service the wait staff was wonderful! Our family had a great time and we left with happy and very full!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

The food is amazing and the service is . ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The food is amazing and the service is . Fogo is my favorite restaurant and try to go anytime am in a location that has fogo. Absolutely amazing

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An excellent experience! We will be back ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

An excellent experience! We will be back! Food, impeccable service, are all worth 5 stars! A great find, being a chef myself!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and yummy food. They gave ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Great service and yummy food. They gave us a free dessert because we were celebrating our anniversary.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first experience at Fogo an ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

This was our first experience at Fogo and it was a great one! Food was delicious and the servers were very friendly. We will be back.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The best dining experience I have had an ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The best dining experience I have had anywhere. Food was incredible. Service was attentive and impeccable. I will continue to recommend fogo to anyone looking for an exceptional dining experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never before have I received such excell ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Never before have I received such excellent service. There were times where the waiters/waitresses knew what I wanted before I did. On top of that the food prepared was some of the best I've ever tasted and the ambiance was perfect for a special date.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We very much enjoyed our visit for dinne ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

We very much enjoyed our visit for dinner. Had trouble parking but had never been to the area before.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is too expensive to be m ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This restaurant is too expensive to be more than a special occasion dining experience. Typically my husband and son get the complete meal and I have the salad bar. This past weekend I thought the salad bar was weak. No olives. only 2 cheese selections. 2 deli meats & chicken salad, lox, were the extend of protein. Disappointed. We have crème brulee for desert. edges were blackened and rather than being custard like it was thick like bread pudding. They need to offer small plates for desert.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

The food was good, my husband loves to e ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was good, my husband loves to eat meat, and the meat is very fresh and juicey

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I really enjoyed the experience but I th ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I really enjoyed the experience but I think it is ridiculous that you can't take the food on your plate home. You pay $50 and they throw your food away if you can't finish it

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value1

We love Fogo, always great service and f ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We love Fogo, always great service and food. It's not "kid friendly" in that there are a million screaming babies, more like our 7 and 9 year old can easily find something that they like and try new things.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Although on the pricey side, we've never ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Although on the pricey side, we've never been disappointed at Fogo...amazing selection from the salad bar and the meat is always fresh and cooked to perfection. If there's something special you'd like, just as your server and they'll prepare to order!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We found that dining here was an experie ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We found that dining here was an experience not just a meal. It made my husband's father's day celebration even more special.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We were celebrating our 25th wedding ann ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary. Showed up a little early and our table was ready. Didn't have to wait. The salad bar was outstanding & all the other food was even better!! Would definitely recommend Fogo de Chao for any special occasion or just a get away.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our welcome was nice. Service to refills ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Our welcome was nice. Service to refills was not very good. We had to look around for someone to help us. We've been to your restaurant before and have never had bad service.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value1

Everything is excellent and authentic.

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Everything is excellent and authentic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.