About Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Kansas City

222 W. 47th Street
Kansas City, MO 64112
View Larger Map

Fogo de Chão® (fo-go dèe shoun), is an authentic Southern Brazilian steakhouse. In 1979, Fogo® began sharing the gaucho way of preparing meat in Porto Alegre, Brazil. Today, our gaucho chefs still expertly grill each of our 20 cuts of meat and offer you continuous tableside service.

We invite you to enjoy the delicious preparations of our gaucho chefs along with our gourmet market table, authentic Brazilian side dishes, and award-winning wine list.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Brazilian Steakhouse, Steakhouse, South American

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Tuesday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Wednesday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Thursday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:30pm
Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:30pm
Sunday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Wornall Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 931-7700

Website:
http://www.fogodechao.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available during dinner hours for $7.00. There is also a complimentary parking garage behind Fogo de Chao, next to Houston's.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
All Dads who dine will receive a card for a complimentary lunch or dinner on his next visit.* Restrictions apply. Sunday June 19, 11am-9pm, dinner price all day.
1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 4:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:30PM - 10:30PM

Sat 4:00PM - 5:30PM 9:00PM - 10:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Invite your guests to a truly unique group dining experience! Whether for private dining rooms, or to interact in our main dining areas, Fogo de Chão® is the perfect location for parties of 15 to 110

Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Kansas City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
Kansas City
Most Booked
Kansas City
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Kansas City
3 More
Special Occasion
Kansas City, MO
Most Booked
Kansas City, MO
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Kansas City, MO
Best Restaurants in Plaza / Brookside ›

special occasion (244)
good for groups (134)
romantic (132)
See All
fit for foodies (111)
great for lunch (66)
notable wine list (64)
hot spot (57)
neighborhood gem (39)
kid-friendly (37)
great for brunch (33)
late-night find (20)
scenic view (15)
vibrant bar scene (10)
great for outdoor dining (3)
Sort By:
Newest
704 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I am vegetarian and my husband loves mea ...

Dined 5 days ago

I am vegetarian and my husband loves meat. Fogo De Chao is great for both of us. they are a hidden gem for no meat eaters. The Market bar is awesome!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fogo De Chao never disappoints. Some of ...

Dined 5 days ago

Fogo De Chao never disappoints. Some of the best food and service in KC. My favorite place to eat.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

This restaurant was over priced for the ...

Dined 6 days ago

This restaurant was over priced for the of food that they served. This was a bad experience. Food was just okay, salad bar was just okay and for a family of 4 it costs over $250. For that much money i expect more.

food5
ambience4
service3

Meat meat and more meat

Dined on May 15, 2016

Meat meat and more meat

food4
ambience2
service2

They brought us waters when we were abou ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

They brought us waters when we were about half way done with our meal. We didn't get bread until we were about done eating. The service was very friendly but disorganized. Multiple waiters served our table and there was clear lack of communication between them on who was supposed to do what. We did get a complimentary dessert for it being our Anniversary ( which was phenomenal) so that was nice. All in all I give it a B, for the price C-.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

fun place!

Dined on May 14, 2016

Certainly enjoyed the whole attitude of the place. Would love to go back, just a little more expensive than we were expecting. especially taking a large group (8)

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

graduation dinner

Dined on May 14, 2016

I enjoy the relaxed style of dining. The younger people liked turning the "meat coin". I did miss the candy bacon that evening( my favorite) Everyone was able to try new things and their service is always great.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Pleasantly Surprised!!

Dined on May 14, 2016

I was wanting to find a place on the Plaza that we hadn't been to before to have dinner with my adult kids over my daughters college graduation weekend. Not really knowing what to expect, we all were all overwhelmingly surprised! From the food quality, to the variety, to the concept, all was wonderful. The staff is remarkably attentive and really go out of their way to make sure everything is just right. It's more an event than a meal. It is on the pricey side so have your Gold Card ready. Seven bills for a party of seven which included pre dinner drinks, two bottles of wine and grat. From my vantage point, worth EVERY PENNY! Well done Fogo de Chao....well done.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First Time Dining

Dined on May 14, 2016

Comfortable Dining with Outstanding Selection! The staff was very helpful & engaging! Very impressed with the speed of the service! Such a great selection on the salad bar. The Filet & Ribeye was so tender & one of the best tasting steaks We've ever tasted! We can't wait to return! Well Done Fogo de Chao, KC !!!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

I was really looking forward to this for ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

I was really looking forward to this for our anniversary. I am sad to say it was quite a disappointment. I had read a lot about what they would offer and felt like maybe our reservation was too early enjoy some of the options. There were several times the meat offered wasn't done to our liking and we were told there was a piece coming out that was more what we wanted, but they would never come out. I can't help but think of the meals we could have enjoyed for the same price elsewhere.

food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Going down

Dined on May 11, 2016

This restaurant, though expensive, use to be one of my favorites. The salad bar does not seem to have as wide of a selection. Waiter got the drink order wrong. Asked for no ice. Got ice. New drink looked like they just strained out the ice and forgot the cherry. Mash Potatoes were cold. The food is still very good. But, the service is way down. Have dropped them as one of our go to restaurants.

food3
ambience3
service5
value4

Customer service was great as well as the manager.

Dined on May 9, 2016

The customer service was very good. Steak sauce would be a big plus and refills on sprite would be great if they weren't $3.25 a piece. It would be great if you didn't charge so much for anything extra like refills on soda.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Wow! My first time here, although a coup ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Wow! My first time here, although a couple of others in our party had been here before. Food was fantastic and service was great. The "filler foods - salad, potatoes, bananas - were tasty, ut the meats, as anticipated, were delicious. I had to remind myself to slow down and save room for the molten lava cake.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Mothers Day with Family

Dined on May 8, 2016

My wife and i came here 5 years ago on our 25th anniversary and it was marvelous and special. Since then we tried another Brazilian steakhouse in the area and the ambiance was not the same, food was good but two different environments. This time we brought the entire family (8) and growing for mothersday and they loved it. We will be back plan to bring parents next time.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Up charge not worth it

Dined on May 8, 2016

Fogo's increases their prices buy $20 person for Mother's Day with no extra items. We enjoyed the experience but will chose a different day in the future. Not worth the extra up charge at $49.95 per person for a family of 4. My wife had her chair constantly bumped during service.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious lamb chops

Dined on May 8, 2016

Delicious lamb chops

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful restaurant with delicious food ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Wonderful restaurant with delicious food and great service. A special occasion restaurant for us. This was our third visit and we love it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience4
service2

I had a horrible experience. It's not wo ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

I had a horrible experience. It's not worth the money we spent. I guess I was full but was not satisfied with my purchase. I will not be returning.

food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Mother's Day

Dined on May 7, 2016

We have gone here a number of times for Mother's Day. We have always had a great time there. Unfortunately this time was different. The food and selection was noticeably "off" from every other time we had been there. Even the foods we liked above all others came out dry and not very tasty. Then there was our server. She was clearly not very interested in taking care of us. TO be fair, she was very busy with multiple tables, but we never felt as if we were a burden on a server until that night. The "assistant" server did a great job though and was very attentive. While we have good memories there, we probably are not going back for awhile.

food4
ambience2
service4
value2

Great Tasting but felt North of the Wall

Dined on May 6, 2016

Fogo De Chao is as advertised - nice sides, great meat. Loved most of the offerings. Only thing that detracted from our experience was the temperature inside the restaurant. It was FREEZING inside. Didn't help that our table was directly below the A/C vents. Took a little bit of the enjoyment out of it, and ended up eating as quickly as we could to get out of there (Although, I assume that is exactly why it's so cold - helps to turn tables)

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Carnivore's delight

Dined on April 30, 2016

Carnivore's delight. Pick up a list of items on your way in so that you get to try them all. See your wait staff to make sure you get some of each. Note that the servers in the gaucho pants are the chefs.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Our party enjoyed the experience.

Dined on April 29, 2016

Our party enjoyed the experience.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Good

Dined on April 29, 2016

They had great service and good food. The atmosphere was very nice.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great salad bar and steak

Dined on April 29, 2016

Great salad bar and steak

food1
ambience5
service4

This Resturant is not worth the amount o ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

This Resturant is not worth the amount of money you will pay for the meal.

food5
ambience5
service5

Usually a dinner reservation - we went t ...

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

Usually a dinner reservation - we went to lunch and had a wonderful time. The menu is the same and staff attentive. This is no "light lunch" so know that is you love them for dinner - you will love them for lunch.

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Birthday Celebration

Dined on April 23, 2016

We decided to celebrate our adult son's birthday at this restaurant. The service was GREAT until it came time to order deserts or to get our bill. The food was good, and there was no lack of the servers coming by the table to inquire whether we wanted more meat. I especially enjoyed the filet and the ribeye.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary Dinner

Dined on April 23, 2016

Everything that evening was great. From the tremendous salad bar to the variety of meats. All great stuff. We would highly recommend!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Earlier is much better

Dined on April 21, 2016

This was probably our 7th trip to Fogo, the first time going for a late night dinner - our reservation was at 8pm. We've been for brunch, lunch, and dinner around 7 but never dinner after 8 and I have to say after this experience we won't be going late again. There were 2 large groups in the back room and they got all of the attention, service and food. They sat the rest of us all up front together, which I totally get for the fact that they bring around meat the whole time but it was just not an enjoyable experience. With 5-6 servers working the area we got very little service. We asked FOUR times for a dessert menu at the end before we finally got one, then waited 25 more minutes for our check after we decided not to order dessert because nobody would come to take the order. The meat selection was sparse and you had to wait forever in between when they came - thank goodness for the great salad bar. We've had wonderful experiences at Fogo every time and so I think that is why this one was so disappointing, we have our expectations set from all the other wonderful meals and this one was a total let down.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Terrible

Dined on April 18, 2016

Food was cold service was terrible and food had noflavor just frustrating

food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Rough night sort of.

Dined on April 17, 2016

We had 430 reservation, and there were several walk ins seated before us between 430 and 445. It would have been fine had a bartender been there, but we arrived at 415, seated at 445, and waited at the bar for the entire time and couldn't get even a glass of water. When we were finally seated they put us at a small table near a large corner table. We had to actively call the servers over to us. When they seated a party at the round corner table, I was walked into HARD twice by the waiters. THEN, a waitress poured them a bottle of coke and tried to tuck the bottle under her arm and it slipped and she hit me hard in the back of my head with it. So overall, the food was pretty good when they would come around , but some of the service was bad. They had good intentions, just didn't work out that way. There were far too many empty tables for them to put us far away. We were dressed nicely and felt we were mostly ignored. Thank you.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Our 33rd Anniversary

Dined on April 17, 2016

Our youngest son visited the resturant on New Year's Eve. He loved it and knew that his dad would thoroughly enjoy it too. For our anniversary he treated us to Fogo Da Cho. We loved it. The customer service was wonderful and the atmosphere very relaxing. Even though there were many other customers there, we were treated like we were the only ones. It made for a very memorable and enjoyable date for us.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Super!

Dined on April 17, 2016

Excellent! My wife and I lived in Brazil for three years, and sampled Fogo do Chao in Sao Paulo and Brazil, but haven't had a rodizio meal since we lived there. Wonderful picanha. Recommended!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Food is superb! You can't find a better ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Food is superb! You can't find a better place for a group to eat. But we go as a couple often

food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Birthday Girls Night Out

Dined on April 16, 2016

I would not recommend this place to anyone. I wanted to treat my best friends to an elegant/classy dinner. It was more of a buffet and the dress code was not enforced. Kids running around, it was very loud, not classy for the price. I spent $270 for the 3 of us and it was just okay! If I'm spending that much money I would have expected better quality food, No kids running around, and it be dress code enforced. Kansas City, MO on the Plaza.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Spot

Dined on April 14, 2016

We bring out of town guests to Fogo de Chao when we know they've not been to a place like this before. It's always special! The food is amazing and the service is impeccable. If you want to have a memorable time, this is the place to go!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome

Dined on April 11, 2016

My granddaughter got a coupon when she visited Fogo de Chao in Puerto Rico. She loves steak so when she was in Kansas City when went for lunch. It was great and the salad bar is the best in town. We really love the whole experience. The servers were very helpful and sweet!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

OUTSTANDING!

Dined on April 11, 2016

EVERYTHING WAS GREAT! We even brought our 6 year old daughter & she loved it!! Nothing bad to say at ALL! We just bought a gift card for my parents anniversary and they loved it just as well! Do not change anything! You guys are awesome from the time we arrived to when we left! Thanks:)

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and great service!

Dined on April 9, 2016

This is a great place to go on the Plaza for a special occasion. It's quiet, the Gouchos are friendly, the quality of the food excellent... From the never-ending fresh veggies and and unique side dishes to the specialty meats and seafood. This is not standard "all you can eat buffet" food. It's expensive, but worth. Save up your money and calories before going and plan to eat lot! You won't be disappointed.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Date Night!

Dined on April 9, 2016

Fogo de Chao has always been a huge hit in my family and for those special date nights. My boyfriend and I came on a Friday night at 8:30 and we were one of two occupied tables there. The mood was very relaxed and the service was fantastic. We got a lot of meat, and they would bring out whatever you requested. Usually when it's busy, you do have to wait quite a bit for the meat that you want to come by, but there's so many other options if you have the card on green! Plus, there's the option of the salad bar. Sure it's expensive, but the experience, meat, and service is well worth it. We will be coming back again for my dad's birthday soon. Favorites: Lamb chops, Filet mignon (medium rare), Brazilian lemonade, bread balls. Also, the Brazilian beer on tap was good.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.