About Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Kansas City

222 W. 47th Street
Kansas City, MO 64112
View Larger Map

Fogo de Chão® (fo-go dèe shoun), is an authentic Southern Brazilian steakhouse. In 1979, Fogo® began sharing the gaucho way of preparing meat in Porto Alegre, Brazil. Today, our gaucho chefs still expertly grill each of our 20 cuts of meat and offer you continuous tableside service.

We invite you to enjoy the delicious preparations of our gaucho chefs along with our gourmet market table, authentic Brazilian side dishes, and award-winning wine list.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Brazilian Steakhouse, Steakhouse, South American

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Tuesday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Wednesday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Thursday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:30pm
Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, 2:00pm - 10:30pm
Sunday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Wornall Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 931-7700

Website:
http://www.fogodechao.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available during dinner hours for $7.00. There is also a complimentary parking garage behind Fogo de Chao, next to Houston's.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Jumbo shrimp cocktail - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Kansas City
Assorted Sides - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Kansas City
Creme Brulee - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Kansas City
Key Lime Pie - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Kansas City
Gaucho - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Kansas City
Sirloin - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Kansas City
Caipirinha - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Kansas City
Mashed Potato - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Kansas City
Fried Yuca  - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Kansas City
Salad - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Kansas City
Meat Coma - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Kansas City
Fried Polenta - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Kansas City
Cheese Bread - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Kansas City
Birthday cake - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Kansas City
Yes Please! - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Kansas City
Assorted Meats - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Kansas City
Swords! - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Kansas City
Mashed Potatoes - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Kansas City
Salad Bar - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Kansas City
Papaya Cream - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Kansas City
Brazilian Steak - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Kansas City
Meat on a stick - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Kansas City
Talented Wait Staff - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Kansas City
Chocolate Mousse Cake - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Kansas City
Rum - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Kansas City
Rolls - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Kansas City
Salad Bar Goodness - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Kansas City
Flan - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Kansas City
Chocolate Mousse - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Kansas City
churrasco - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Kansas City
Cheese - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Kansas City
Bread - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Kansas City
Mozzarella - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Kansas City
Bacon Wrapped Chicken & Filet Mignon - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Kansas City
Prime Top Sirloin Steak - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Kansas City
Papaya Ice Cream - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Kansas City
Various Proteins, Brazillian Rice, Peppers & Onions, Flash Fried Polenta - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Kansas City

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 4:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:30PM - 10:30PM

Sat 4:00PM - 5:30PM 9:00PM - 10:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Invite your guests to a truly unique group dining experience! Whether for private dining rooms, or to interact in our main dining areas, Fogo de Chão® is the perfect location for parties of 15 to 110

Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Kansas City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
Kansas City
Most Booked
Kansas City
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Kansas City
3 More
Special Occasion
Kansas City, MO
Most Booked
Kansas City, MO
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Kansas City, MO
Best Restaurants in Plaza / Brookside ›

Special Occasion (150)
Good for Groups (84)
Romantic (67)
See All
Fit for Foodies (63)
Great for Lunch (46)
Great for Brunch (30)
Notable Wine List (26)
Kid-friendly (24)
Good for a Date (22)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Hot Spot (20)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Worth the Drive (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Fun (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Authentic (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Scenic View (6)
Cozy (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Casual (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Business Meals (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Family Style (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
People Watching (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Healthy (3)
Private Room (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Seasonal (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Tapas (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
Newest
823 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Awesome food and service. Friendly and a ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 4 days ago

Awesome food and service. Friendly and attentive staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Meats came out over salted and either of ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 5 days ago

Meats came out over salted and either of 2 extremes -- over cooked or raw. The market table had no real salade -- naked spinach with stems still attached and perhaps the the worst most bland Caesar ever. The vegetables were tasteless. 1 type of cheese and it was dry. The bean and sausage stew had zero sausage. We were hounded by no less than 10 separate servers as to why we hadn't ordered wine or cocktails. The polenta was crisp but so bland inside as to be inedible. After all that salt we were desperate for clean new glasses filled with actual ice and we lucky to get one tepid ice melt from an old pitcher no longer even cold. No coffee was ever offered. Huge crumbs left on the table. I'm 3 hours no bread was brought. The salt/pepper shakers are so alike as to be indiscernible in low light. I had raved about you to a very prominent local Dr. He had nothing polite to say about the food. I was humiliated

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

We had a great experience at this restau ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

We had a great experience at this restaurant! The food was great and filling, it is expensive but you get a ton of food for the money.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fogo is great if you love meat! Not the ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Fogo is great if you love meat! Not the place to go if you want to have a private conversation though because waiters essentially bring the buffet to you. Excellent food and service!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, great service, great atmosph ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great food, great service, great atmosphere! Would recomend!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time at Fogo and had a wonderful d ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

First time at Fogo and had a wonderful dining experience, would definitely go back!

Tags: Scenic View, Molecular Gastronomy, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

this restaurant has gone downhill. Hard ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

this restaurant has gone downhill. Hardly any variety in the meats offered. We were there on a sunday night and the staff was just barely trying. it's still crazy expensive but sooooo not even worth half the money. Will never ever go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Fabulous! I have never been disappointe ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Fabulous! I have never been disappointed by this restaurant. The food and service is top notch! I love rolls, steak, salad bar, and plantains. Did I mention service, what a unique experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our waiter Michael was very friendly and ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Our waiter Michael was very friendly and helpful, as this was our first time here. He allowed us to make choices that fit our desires and honored us with a free desert for our anniversary. He and others were so courteous and helpful down to the smallest detail. It was a delight spending our 44th Anniversary here.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This place is always excellent. Pricey a ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

This place is always excellent. Pricey at dinner? Sure. But the quality and selection of meat is worth it. Staff is always great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and great people!!! Josh and ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great food and great people!!! Josh and his team always takes care of my family when we do mine. The restaurant is clean and comfortable and very family friendly!!!! Love the food!

Tags: Good for a Date, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Cozy, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We never get disappointment at Fogo, my ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We never get disappointment at Fogo, my family always want to go for special occasions, and sometimes we invent one to go and eat there.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The experience was not worth what I paid ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The experience was not worth what I paid. I will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Had a great time taking my wife and todd ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Had a great time taking my wife and toddler there. The staff/place was very kid friendly. Lots of great tasty food to try.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Groups, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

The greeter/server was friendly and prof ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The greeter/server was friendly and professional however I do not remember his name. Mashed potatoes and fried bananas came to the table by another server towards the very end of the meal. I, myself had already finished eating. Would recommend more ice with the ice tea. Had small amounts of ice and had to request more. All in all - the meats were good (slightly salty), salad bar great, alcohol great, dessert (to which we all had) also great, price is very high. I will return however annually. It was my fathers birthday so thank you for the complimentary dessert. :)

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Not sure if they have gone downhill. I h ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Not sure if they have gone downhill. I haven't eaten at Fogo de Chao in several years (and I've only ever eaten at the Dallas location). I was generally disappointed in the overpriced meal. The meats are all as good or better at Em Chamas (at a fraction of the cost) and the salad bar was also not as good. Other than the bread rolls and fried bananas, I'd pick Em Chamas in every category...and next time I will.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Great for meat lovers and for large part ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Great for meat lovers and for large parties, but they need more servers and it is a little pricey.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Great food, bar selection and wine list!

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great food, bar selection and wine list!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Very good salad bar. Fogo did a great j ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Very good salad bar. Fogo did a great job taking care of us. Appreciated the readily available filets and rib-eyes.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A great place to show a different style ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

A great place to show a different style of dining my friends truly love it and will be back soon. I only hope they take me with them when they go.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Tasting Menu, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time. Did Sunday Brunch, for a s ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

First time. Did Sunday Brunch, for a special occasion. Staff & Servers very pleasant and knowledgeable. Good food, good service. Great overall experience. Would definitely visit again.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My parents had never been there before, ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

My parents had never been there before, so we brought them to celebrate a 70th birthday and a retirement. The staff were so warm and friendly, and yet highly professional. The food quality was, as always, fantastic. Everyone ensured that we were happy and had everything that we could possibly want. Our server brought my parents desserts to celebrate, specifically for each of their occasions. My parents felt so special, and would not stop talking about how great the day had been. Thank you, everyone! We will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good experience, I thought they could'v ...

 
 (Fayetteville)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Good experience, I thought they could've been more frequent with the more expensive cuts of meat (filets etc.). It's expensive for the amount of food you eat if you're a lighter eater and they don't really tell you about your options unless you ask.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Very disappointing service for the secon ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Very disappointing service for the second time in a row. Water glasses never refilled, had to hunt someone down to ask for coffee refill, didn't get a choice of all meats, same 3-4 kept coming around. We used to enjoy Fogo for special occasions but poor service twice now, especially for the price.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Going a little earlier here was a great ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Going a little earlier here was a great idea! The minute we sat down from the salad bar we had meat after meat come to our table, and our servers were much more attentive than when it's busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Kansas University football team was ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The Kansas University football team was seated while I was dining and the servers soon after paid little if any attention to our table.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Best food! Best Service! Great experienc ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Best food! Best Service! Great experience overall. My new favorite place on the Plaza.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Casual, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always phenomenal and we've ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The food is always phenomenal and we've been to this one a few times now. Everyone was great, but during dinner we had a creepy waiter come up and market a shrimp cocktail as he held a bowl of shrimp in front of us. It was awkward and my husband is allergic so he wasn't interested but it took answering the waiter's several questions before we could tell him. I would eat there again in a heartbeat. I just plan to be prepared for the shrimp guy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

I choose Fogo for my husbands birthday. ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I choose Fogo for my husbands birthday. I knew he would love the meat selection and I enjoyed the Market Table. The wait staff was wonderful. We are from out of town and it was worth the drive and expense for the special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Not enough chicken selection. Mainly bee ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Not enough chicken selection. Mainly beef.

Ambience was nothing special. Texas De Brazil has them beat by far...

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

I had the worst service ever and it wasn ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I had the worst service ever and it wasn't even busy at All There. Never going to go There again. You Would expect better service at a place for 50 dollars a plate. We didn't even get over desert. I felt really bad taking my gf There for her birthday Because of how bad the experience was

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Soo Great, but for me too expensive, but ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Soo Great, but for me too expensive, but the picaña is deliciuous

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

They have a wide variety of meat to choo ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

They have a wide variety of meat to choose from and our plates were never empty. Overall a great place to try.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Made reservation on line and then showed ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Made reservation on line and then showed up on time and got stuck in the corner where it was not easy to get in or out and thus the carriers with the meat did not pay much attention to us. Also seemed the same cuts kept coming by and only one time did the best choice cut come by. Not nearly as good as in the past.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was incredible, well at least t ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food was incredible, well at least the meats. Potatoes were okay and the other sides were not bad.

Service could have been better. There were long stretches were no one came by; not to check on water, take our check, or even to ask how things were. We could have walked out and no one would have noticed.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Probably my favorite meat place to eat. ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Probably my favorite meat place to eat. Great salad bar as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Incredible meats, impeccable service. N ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Incredible meats, impeccable service. Nothing like it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a wonderful experience for speci ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This is a wonderful experience for special occasions! Unlike any restaurant we have ever been too, it was a fun (and absolutely delicious) meal. A bit pricey - but a place we will remember and hope to frequent again.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meat service was a slow when we firs ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The meat service was a slow when we first arrived. A few people stopped by and asked us what where looking for. We started getting all the meats we asked for. It was wonderful

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A fantastic experience! I was super impr ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

A fantastic experience! I was super impressed by the service and the options that were available. Salad bar sometimes lacked labels, so it's hard to know what I was selecting. Meat options were phenomenal.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.