About Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Houston

8250 Westheimer Road
Houston, TX 77063
View Larger Map

Join us at Fogo de Chão® Houston on Westheimer near the Galleria. Guests are welcomed by our signature blue tower featuring an authentic fogo de chão – the type of ground fire originally used in the process of cooking Brazilian meat. Fogo de Chão is an authentic Brazilian Steakhouse (Churrascaria) that has been setting the standard in Brazil for the past 36 years. Today, our gaucho chefs expertly grill and carve tableside each of our cuts of meat like Picanha (signature sirloin), Filet Mignon, Ribeye, Fraldinha (Brazilian sirloin), Cordeiro (lamb) and more. In addition to the main dishes, enjoy our gourmet Market Table, authentic Brazilian side dishes, and award-winning wine list. Guests can also choose to enjoy lighter seafood selections or enjoy the gourmet Market Table only option.
We also offer semiprivate and private areas that can accommodate parties up to 100.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Brazilian Steakhouse, Steakhouse, South American

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Tuesday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Wednesday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Thursday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:30pm
Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, 2:00pm - 10:30pm
Sunday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, 3:30pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 978-6500

Website:
http://www.fogodechao.com/

Parking Details:
We offer complimentary valet and self-parking.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Main Dining Room  - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Houston, Houston, TX
Main Dining Room  - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Houston, Houston, TX
Houston - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Houston, Houston, TX
Exterior Houston  - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Houston, Houston, TX
Petit Gateau - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Houston, Houston, TX
An Assortment Of Meat - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Houston, Houston, TX
Papaya Cream - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Houston, Houston, TX
Malbec - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Houston, Houston, TX
Salad Bar - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Houston, Houston, TX
Splenda - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Houston, Houston, TX
Puffed Cheese Bread - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Houston, Houston, TX
Prime Rib and Lamb - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Houston, Houston, TX
Key Lime Pie - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Houston, Houston, TX
Crèam Brûlèe - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Houston, Houston, TX
Steak - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Houston, Houston, TX
Molten Chocolate Cake - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Houston, Houston, TX
Spanish Coffee With Kahlua - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Houston, Houston, TX
Chocolate Mousse Cake - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Houston, Houston, TX
Bacon - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Houston, Houston, TX
Cappuccino - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Houston, Houston, TX
Maduro, Polenta & Mash Potatoes - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Houston, Houston, TX

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Treat your love to Valentine’s at Fogo. Celebrate Feb 10 –14 and receive a complimentary dining card for your next visit after you dine.* Rest. apply.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Invite your guests to a truly unique group dining experience! Whether for private dining rooms, or to interact in our main dining areas, Fogo de Chão® is the perfect location for parties of 15 to 110

Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Houston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (48)
Special Occasion (46)
Good for Anniversaries (42)
See All
Good for Birthdays (41)
Good for Groups (35)
Romantic (32)
Business Meals (28)
Worth the Drive (27)
Great for Lunch (20)
Authentic (19)
Family Style (19)
Fun (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Kid-friendly (12)
Paleo Friendly (12)
Tasting Menu (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Outstanding Value (11)
Casual (11)
Comfort Food (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Cozy (11)
Modern Decor (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Great for Brunch (8)
People Watching (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Private Room (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Healthy (6)
Seasonal (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Wood Oven (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Fireplace (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Live Sports (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Scenic View (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Historic (1)
Dancing (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Vegan (1)
Tapas (1)
Great Beer (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
999 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great place for a special occasion or fo ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Great place for a special occasion or for those with a bit more spare spending money, a great lunch. Come hungry and try everything. Absolutely delicious and impeccable service!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The card! I loved not being disturbed e ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

The card! I loved not being disturbed every few minutes, but instead, only when I wanted to be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The table we sat by was very loud, due t ...

 
·Dined on January 7, 2017

The table we sat by was very loud, due to the babies crying, and parents yelling at their children. It took about 15 minutes for us to get our eat selection, after that the service and food was amazing ! Thank you all, I would recommend!

Tags: Seasonal, Fun, , Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Absolutely amazing food!

 
·Dined on January 7, 2017

Absolutely amazing food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We went for my fiancés birthday, we had ...

 
·Dined on January 5, 2017

We went for my fiancés birthday, we had wonderful service from the moment we walked in the door. Everyone was welcoming and helpful. The food was stellar, and the drinks from the bar were wonderful!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place if you're meat lover. Be pre ...

 
·Dined on January 4, 2017

Great place if you're meat lover.

Be prepared to consume big amounts of steaks, and other meat

it feels like a buffet, but classy, you eat as much as you want and can,lots of yummy side dishes too.

Good place for special events, such as birthdays and anniversaries!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great experience!

 
·Dined on January 3, 2017

Great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Servers were awesome :)

 
·Dined on January 2, 2017

Servers were awesome :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We kicked off a new year with an amazing ...

 
·Dined on January 2, 2017

We kicked off a new year with an amazing meal and service at our local Fogo de Chão.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Way to expensive. I took my 3 sons and o ...

 
·Dined on January 2, 2017

Way to expensive. I took my 3 sons and one of them is 7 years old and spent 220 bucks before I tipped the waiter. Over priced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value1

Always an excellent experience going to ...

 
·Dined on January 2, 2017

Always an excellent experience going to Fogo. Attentive service and the meats are so delicious! The salad bar is impressive as well. Saw squash soup for the first time. Filet, lamb chop, pork with cheese, bacon wrapped filet, sausage were all so tasty. Ended the meal with Papaya Cream for dessert. A nice sweet counter to the salty meats.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a consistent winner for diner. I ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Always a consistent winner for diner. I don't see how anyone could leave unsatisfied.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Always great service. The salad bar cou ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Always great service. The salad bar could be upgraded to compete with Texas De Brazil. But food was still awesome.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have heard many friends and family rav ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

I have heard many friends and family rave of this place, however I felt it was overpriced and overrated. They are very selective of the meat that goes around, I continually had to request the New York strip be brought around and finally after the third request someone came around.

The slices of meat are filled with fat or cartlidge and the food bar was reminiscent of an old pizza hut buffet.

50$ a person for a few slices of 'pemium' steak at a time... Felt like a suckers bet.

The service was excellent and ambience was ritzy.

Don't go here wearing shorts even if you have a stacked bank account, it's a slap in the face to those going here to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value1

This was a family early New Year's Eve c ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

This was a family early New Year's Eve celebration. The food was amazing, as always, but the service was seriously lacking. I spent most to my time looking out for our server to ask for things we needed than I did actually enjoying the meal with my family. I was seriously disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

It had been 10+ years since I'd been to ...

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

It had been 10+ years since I'd been to this location but I remember it being great before. It is nothing near the quality anyone would expect. My daughter was home from school and we were in Houston for a couple of days. Very last minute decision to eat and it was a 10pm reservation on a Thursday. Also had my 17 yr old son. The 3 of us with tea/soda, no dessert and tip of $30 came to $206 so not your typical quick dinner out!

Salad bar was average at best and looked picked through and messy. Chic salad and fruit salad are good along with some of the cheeses. Tomatoes were tasteless. It used to be much better.

It was not crowded as it was about 9:30 when we arrived. Staff was nice and no complaints with any of them. The majority of the meats were tough and lacking flavor. We had to ask for fresh rolls because the ones we were served were cold and hard. The house special was good and lamb chop I thought was good. Overall I was really shocked at how bad the quality of the beef was.

This is not supposed to be your average steakhouse at $51.50 to start when you sit down. I've had better steak at $20 chain restaurants. It was very disappointing. My daughter loves a good steak so I was looking forward to this last minute treat! Costing over $200 for us 3 it was very wasted money. I'm not the type to complain and don't mind paying for a good meal. My son has a speech disability and can't eat beef unless it is really tender. I know going to any type place like this is wasted on him but I've done it for years. It would be nice if there was some kid friendly alternative but I understand why there isn't. I pretty much paid for him to eat a few rolls and literally one bite of steak.

Overall the meat was not anywhere near the quality it should be. Not at that price. It was really disappointing as I was looking forward to a great last minute treat for my daughter. Service was good. My advice...pick another spot, especially if it's for a special night out!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Lots to eat. Food was mostly good but ha ...

 
·Dined on December 27, 2016

Lots to eat. Food was mostly good but had a tendency to come out dry or over cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Becoming a "Boxing Day" tradition with u ...

 
·Dined on December 26, 2016

Becoming a "Boxing Day" tradition with us. Great service, and if you don't end up getting full it is your own fault. I swear they put some kind of addictive drug in their rolls, I love those things almost as I do the different types of meat they bring around.

Thanks for yet again a wonderful experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was great. The server's relucta ...

 
·Dined on December 26, 2016

The food was great. The server's reluctance to let us take bread and shrimp home, though, was very strange.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Excellent service by waiter Chris. Never ...

 
·Dined on December 26, 2016

Excellent service by waiter Chris. Never disappointed by the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Cocktails were ok. Salad bar was the bes ...

 
·Dined on December 26, 2016

Cocktails were ok. Salad bar was the best. Most of the meats were dry and well done when asked for medium. Had to ask for the filet mignon and Parmesan pork twice before it finally came to the table. Our waiter was no where to be found.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

Excellent restaurant for meat lovers. S ...

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

Excellent restaurant for meat lovers. Servers wander around with various cuts of meat on large skewers. They'll come by your table with great cuts of sirloin, filet mignon, rib eye, lamb chops, pork chops, chicken, etc. , as you choose which you would like (or choose all) to have sliced upon your plate. The meat is tasty and plentiful, and the sides and salad bar finish off the scene nicely. It can be a really fun (and extremely filling) experience.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Christmas lunch was fabfrigentastic. The ...

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

Christmas lunch was fabfrigentastic. They even had my Mint Jelly for the lamb. Diwnside it was $177.00 for two of us. These Brazillian restaurants are always very pricey.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

It is a great place to eat and celebrate ...

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

It is a great place to eat and celebrate special occasions. Would recommend to all to try atleast once.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Service was not good. Took too long to ...

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

Service was not good.

Took too long to get food.

Not much variety.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Nice place in a good area. Service was e ...

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

Nice place in a good area. Service was excellent. People were very nice. A little pricy but I would go again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We celebrated my husbands birthday with ...

 
·Dined on December 23, 2016

We celebrated my husbands birthday with great food as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Good food and service, but way too noisy ...

 
·Dined on December 22, 2016

Good food and service, but way too noisy environment. You have to shout to have s conversation and this is not good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

There are two options for lunch: the mar ...

 
·Dined on December 19, 2016

There are two options for lunch: the market table is 15.00 and you get the best salad bar/charcuterie in the city. For a few dollars more you can add 8-10 oz of your favorite cut of meat. There are four meats to choose from including their signature picanha.

If the full choice of all the meats they offer is what you are looking for, the lunch goes to 34.95. We opted for this one because it was our anniversary and our favorite there is the filet mignon, bacon wrapped chicken, and sirloin.

It's our go to restaurant for a special occasion dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was a wonderful experience for a sp ...

 
·Dined on December 18, 2016

This was a wonderful experience for a special treat. I would definitely recommend the restaurant. Make sure you bring a hearty appetite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I love this Resturant it's changed a bit ...

 
·Dined on December 17, 2016

I love this Resturant it's changed a bit thru out the years. But over all a good place to come and enjoy a variety of different meats and a excellent salad bar. Just know your not walking out the door for under $100 being spent.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

Fogo de Chao Westheimer is always a fant ...

 
·Dined on December 16, 2016

Fogo de Chao Westheimer is always a fantastic venue . Their meats are always consistently good , service is second to none . Atmosphere is festive and inviting . I have been doing our office holiday party here since the restaurant opened .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always plenty of food. The chicken tends ...

 
·Dined on December 14, 2016

Always plenty of food. The chicken tends to be a little dried out. They need a little more variety in their meat. I would have liked to have seen more lamb and at least a little cabrito.

Some grilled veggies would be a nice touch. It's just that I have been there a few times and their menu is getting a little boring.

The waiters are always nice and very courteous. No problem there.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

I made reservations for my husband's bir ...

 
·Dined on December 12, 2016

I made reservations for my husband's birthday and added a note that we were celebrating his birthday and the staff/hostess did not even acknowledge this... overall it was overpriced and just okay. We honestly like Texas de Brazil much better...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

I was there for my birthday . i sat at ...

 
·Dined on December 11, 2016

I was there for my birthday . i sat at the table and they totally ignored us we had asked for the menu with the meats they have its was and hour to get that by that time we only had one server with chicken come to our table..i got tired of screaming excuse me sir and holding my card in hand to show but that didnt work either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Overall It was a really nice experience ...

 
·Dined on December 3, 2016

Overall It was a really nice experience but I think that they should have more options when it comes to the Seabass experience . Paying $42 for just asparagus and a square of Seabass isn't worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Over salt, dried meat, rude head waiter.

 
·Dined on November 25, 2016

Over salt, dried meat, rude head waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Have a bite of everything! The salad ba ...

 
·Dined on November 25, 2016

Have a bite of everything! The salad bar is great. One of our favorites is the bread; amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice selection

 
·Dined on November 23, 2016

Nice selection

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Still the best churrasqueria in town. We ...

 
·Dined on November 20, 2016

Still the best churrasqueria in town. We lived in South America for many years and were used to this concept which originated in Brazil by restauranteurs seeking to feed long distance truckers driving north/south on Brazilian highways. Fogo originated in Porto Allegre and visiting American businessmen convinced the owners that they needed to bring the concept to the U.S. Am told their first restaurant was in Dallas because it was there they found the first Portuguese speaking lawyer to help them get established.

Excellent non-stop food, five star non-stop service, and whenever you ask for something (be it another drink or whatever) it instantly appears at your table. Still the one to beat and despite a couple of competitors, Fogo leaves the rest in the dust.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.