About Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Houston

8250 Westheimer Road
Houston, TX 77063
View Larger Map

Fogo de Chão® (fo-go dèe shoun), is an authentic Southern Brazilian steakhouse. In 1979, Fogo® began sharing the gaucho way of preparing meat in Porto Alegre, Brazil. Today, our gaucho chefs still expertly grill each of our 20 cuts of meat and offer you continuous tableside service.

We invite you to enjoy the delicious preparations of our gaucho chefs along with our gourmet market table, authentic Brazilian side dishes, and award-winning wine list.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Brazilian Steakhouse, Steakhouse, South American

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Tuesday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Wednesday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Thursday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:30pm
Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:30pm
Sunday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, 3:30pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 978-6500

Website:
http://www.fogodechao.com/

Parking Details:
We offer complimentary valet and self-parking.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Petit Gateau
An Assortment Of Meat
Papaya Cream
Malbec
Salad Bar
Splenda
Puffed Cheese Bread
Prime Rib and Lamb
Key Lime Pie
Crèam Brûlèe
Steak
Molten Chocolate Cake
Spanish Coffee With Kahlua
Chocolate Mousse Cake
Cappuccino
Bacon
Maduro, Polenta & Mash Potatoes

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 4:30PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:30PM - 10:30PM

Sat 4:30PM - 5:30PM 9:00PM - 10:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Invite your guests to a truly unique group dining experience! Whether for private dining rooms, or to interact in our main dining areas, Fogo de Chão® is the perfect location for parties of 15 to 110

Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Houston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Brazilian Steakhouse
Houston
Most Booked
Houston
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Houston
3 More
Special Occasion
Houston
Most Booked
Houston
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Houston
Best Restaurants in Galleria / Uptown ›

special occasion (246)
good for groups (153)
fit for foodies (96)
See All
romantic (92)
great for lunch (83)
notable wine list (47)
great for brunch (42)
hot spot (34)
kid-friendly (23)
neighborhood gem (23)
vibrant bar scene (18)
late-night find (17)
great for outdoor dining (13)
scenic view (11)
Sort By:
Newest
786 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Daniel was an awesome waiter and I will ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 3 days ago

Daniel was an awesome waiter and I will ask for him by name next time I visit.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our son enjoys celebrating his birthday ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 3 days ago

Our son enjoys celebrating his birthday here and has become a family tradition.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Absolutely amazing!!!! service was super ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Absolutely amazing!!!! service was superb, very attentative and knowledgeable. Food was worth the price, very delicious and versatile

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

this was my first time, so not sure what ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

this was my first time, so not sure what to expect. the food and service was awesome. servers were all freindly and helpful. we never went without a server nearby to assist. the steaks and bacon wrapped chicken was top notch, perfectly cooked and presented. the salad bar was also excellent, large selection and fresh. my only issue was place was a little loud, which took away from ambience. overall this is a great place, and we will definitely go back!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The whole experience at this restaurant ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The whole experience at this restaurant is the best ever! We will be back real soon!!! Simply amazing!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The house specialty meat was so memorabl ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The house specialty meat was so memorable. Also the level of attentiveness was impressive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I really enjoyed myself, I wasn't expect ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

I really enjoyed myself, I wasn't expecting all of those people to be there on a weekday, I guess great minds think alike. With that being said it was pretty noisy. I was there celebrating my 7 year wedding anniversary so it would have been nice to hear my husband. All in all it was a great experience.

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fogo de Chao never disappoints. Great fo ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Fogo de Chao never disappoints. Great food and great service.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall it was a good experience. Person ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Overall it was a good experience. Personally I will not be going back. 140.00 for brunch isn't my cup of tea. Food was great, the "salad bar" was not so great

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

The service and food our outstanding!!Th ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The service and food our outstanding!!The last few times that we have gone it has been a bit loud,but I asked for a where it was more quiet.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The best food on offer was at the market ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The best food on offer was at the market buffet. The meat was very one note. The ambience was more in line with one of the cheaper all you eat buffets. Definitely not value for money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Chris our server was especially nice and ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Chris our server was especially nice and went above and beyond. Food was very good full of flavor! Really enjoyed the visit

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was excellent. Will de ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Food and service was excellent. Will definitely return.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

An annual celebration of my son's birthd ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

An annual celebration of my son's birthday since he turned 13 four years ago, we had higher expectations than what we received with this year's visit. The service was slow, even from the 'gauchos' with the meat skewers. And, it seemed more dressed down than we had remembered it being, from the servers to the patrons. Overall, not worth the premium they charge.

We will likely be changing the tradition with next year's celebration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

I went to Fogo to celebrate my one year ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

I went to Fogo to celebrate my one year anniversary with my girlfriend. The salad bar was perfect for "warming up" before the main course. All the meats were cooked really well. The service we received was up to par for the restaurant's reputation. The cake slice with the candle and "Happy Anniversary" written on the side was what made the visit worth it. Everything went great. I highly recommend visiting the place.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I visited Fogo De Chao on a Tuesday duri ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

I visited Fogo De Chao on a Tuesday during their lunch hour. I went with family. I do not eat meat and the others that accompanied me did. I enjoyed the Salad Bar for about $15. You can be either vegan or vegetarian to eat here. They have varying options for vegans and/or vegetarians. Vegans: variety of salads (orange kale, cucumber, spinach etc.) to choose from along with vegetables such as asparagus, roasted zucchini, sun dried tomatoes, Tabbouleh, etc., olives, mushrooms, etc. Vegetarians: everything vegan plus various types of cheese (I didn't eat any) salads that have some type of crumble cheese on it, at the time I only recall watermelon mint salad with feta cheese, I'm certain there was more. They also had a delicious Spring Pea and Asparagus soup and some type of egg dish, it may have been egg salad, I'm not sure. The soup was so good. But please be mindful that this is asparagus and we all know the affects of asparagus.... Now, surprisingly enough, the Salad Bar did not only serve vegans and vegetarians. For meat eaters: bacon, bean stew with sausage, chicken salad, ham, etc. All of this to say if you're eating light and don't want to spend too much try Fogo De Chao's lunch Salad Bar option. If you want meat the price tag doubles and it includes the meat that they pass around as well as the salad bar. Go after lunch hours or any day on the weekend (I believe they count Friday as a weekend) and the price almost doubles for what I believe are the same dishes. Oh also, with your meal you will get sides that include cheese bread, mashed potatoes, fried plantains, and fried bananas. Along with the meat if you are running low you don't have to ask for more, they will notice that you are low and ask you if you'd like another dish.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meats were good and you don't wait v ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The meats were good and you don't wait very long before a different type of meat is served. I've had rodizio in Brazil as this style of dining is known there and the food is comparable. The side dishes come on a very small plate and we found ourselves waiting several times for additional side dishes to be brought out. The soda we requested was brought out in a can. It was poured into a glass but not what you would expect from a fine dining establishment. It took a long time to get a "refill", or rather another can. The flat per person cost was rather high at $51.95 a person but it was all inclusive, or so I thought. The soda, coffee and dessert were all extra. In closing, the food was good but not exceptional. The service was a bit rushed and you really didn't have a waiter, you flag down whomever was walking by when you needed something. The biggest downside is the cost. We've always wanted to try Fogo de Chao but we will never go back due to the cost. There are just too many excellent steak houses in Houston that provide better service and certainly better value for your money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Bad service, rude manager. We arrived 3 ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Bad service, rude manager. We arrived 30 minutes before the last lunch seating and food was scarce. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Brunch with son. Had outstanding service ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Brunch with son. Had outstanding service and no complaints. New brunch items are a nice addition. Repeat visitor.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was me and my wife's first time eat ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

This was me and my wife's first time eating at Fogo de Chao and really didn't know what to expect. As soon as we arrived, they had our table ready. The Hostess was friendly and explained how to go through the experience. Everything on the buffet table looked fresh and tasted great. I grabbed a little of everything just to leave room for the meat. Once we were ready for the meat, They arrived at our table in an instant, and sure enough, the meat didn't disappoint. As they were picking up our plates, the bus boy asked if this was a special occasion. We told him it was our anniversary and without expecting it, he came back with a big slice of cake and the words "Happy Anniversary" written on the plate. That just put the cherry on top. I recommend this restaurant and will definitely be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for birthdays . Service was ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great place for birthdays . Service was excellent . Meats were mouth watering and VERY tender .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had never had dinner at Fogo de Chao. ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We had never had dinner at Fogo de Chao. Normally, we go there for Sunday lunch and we love it. This time, it was a Saturday evening.

It was surprisingly full, many groups and many families with children. That's why I gave only three starts to "ambiance" and full marks to "noise level". The experience would have been great if parents kept their children under control and if some people kept their voices low in respect to the other guests.

Extraordinarily, there were a couple of waiters/managers who were not that friendly or knowledgeable about the menu,

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

As usual was not disappointed. The food ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

As usual was not disappointed. The food was wonderful, the service was spot on. We enjoyed ourselves on a rare date night out. The Key Lime Pie just put the bow on the package. Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing food and an overall great experi ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Amazing food and an overall great experience. The food just kept coming and coming. The wait staff was very helpful and met our every need. We definitely loved the experience and have spoken to many about how amazing it was. We loved being able to make our reservations through Open Table. It was our first time and it is something we will do again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner great. Desert was not good. Obv ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Dinner great.

Desert was not good. Obviously commercial desert, very poor quality and reduced the dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The place was beautiful

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The place was beautiful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

It has definitely changed and not necess ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

It has definitely changed and not necessarily for the best. The staff was cordial but one can tell that the glory days have passed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Nice ambience, very good sorted salad ba ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Nice ambience, very good sorted salad bar, great food from the grill, steak, lamb, pork, chicken, all very good.

Not a recommendation for veggies

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

This was my wife and I's first visit. M ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

This was my wife and I's first visit. My son gave us a nice gift card to encourage us to try. We were very pleased. The service was spot on and impressive yet not the least bit intrusive. I will return and probably bring a guest.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Loved It! Such good choices of meat! We ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Loved It! Such good choices of meat! We went for our anniversary, every part was good. Hope we can go again.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Salad bar is spectacular !!!' Really c ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Salad bar is spectacular !!!' Really can't believe I said that when there was so much meat available. The meats were good - some much better than others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Had a fantastic Birthday. Want to thank ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Had a fantastic Birthday. Want to thank for my complimentary dessert!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was stellar with the waitstaff e ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Service was stellar with the waitstaff extremely attentive.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

While I have nothing negative to say abo ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

While I have nothing negative to say about my overall experience, I just cannot bring myself to recommend this restaurant. I must confess the format is not my favorite. I'd rather have a small filet or tender loin and a good bottle of wine for the same price. I guess I'm getting old!

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

We were given a gift certificate from fa ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We were given a gift certificate from family and love meat in general so tried it out. Very attentive serving staff. The salad area is not your average, lots of delicious options and good cheeses. And the meats were all amazing as suspected.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

I enjoyed every moment and it was a spec ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I enjoyed every moment and it was a special occasion for my lovely daughter,

The family enjoyed and embraced the moment well spent.

We will be back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant. Asked for an obscure r ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great restaurant. Asked for an obscure request and arrived to find it was met. Amazing service, never waited more than 3 minutes for more food to be brought around. All the meat was amazing, particularly the top sirloin. Highly recommended.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I'm sure if we hadn't gone on Father's D ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I'm sure if we hadn't gone on Father's Day it would have been much better.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value1

We came for Father's Day. We had to wai ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We came for Father's Day. We had to wait about 20 minutes beyond or reservation time. The table waiter spoke very softly and was hard to hear over the very loud restaurant. We had visited 2 or 3 years previous, but this time the food was not nearly as good. Maybe we had gotten seated in a bad spot, but it seemed like the servers never wanted to stop at our table. We asked twice for more of the bananas but ended up just paying the check and leaving without ever getting any. For the cost, it will probably be another 5 years before I forget this occasion to want to try it again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Our reservation was for 4:30 on Father's ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Our reservation was for 4:30 on Father's Day, we arrived before that time but still waited 30 minutes for our table. Salad bar was not replenished - lot's of empty spots on that buffet. Very busy day to go, but my man enjoyed all the meat!!!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.