About Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Boston

200 Dartmouth Street
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Fogo de Chão® (fo-go dèe shoun), is an authentic Southern Brazilian steakhouse. In 1979, Fogo® began sharing the gaucho way of preparing meat in Porto Alegre, Brazil. Today, our gaucho chefs still expertly grill each of our 20 cuts of meat and offer you continuous tableside service.

We invite you to enjoy the delicious preparations of our gaucho chefs along with our gourmet market table, authentic Brazilian side dishes, and award-winning wine list.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Brazilian Steakhouse, Steakhouse, South American

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Tuesday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Wednesday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Thursday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:30pm
Saturday: 3:00pm - 10:30pm
Sunday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Copley Square

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 585-6300

Website:
http://www.fogodechao.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available during dinner hours for $20.00. Limited metered parking is located around the restaurant. Also available, are parking garages in the area that range from $15.00 - $30.00.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
All Dads who dine will receive a card for a complimentary lunch or dinner on his next visit.* Restrictions apply. Sunday June 19, 11am-9pm, dinner price all day.
1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 4:30PM - 6:30PM 8:00PM - 9:30PM

Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:30PM - 10:30PM

Sat 5:30PM - 6:30PM 9:00PM - 10:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Invite your guests to a truly unique group dining experience! Whether for private dining rooms, or to interact in our main dining areas, Fogo de Chão® is the perfect location for parties of 15 to 110

Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Boston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Boston / New England
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Boston
Best Restaurants in Back Bay ›

special occasion (208)
good for groups (203)
fit for foodies (128)
See All
great for lunch (82)
romantic (73)
hot spot (56)
kid-friendly (42)
notable wine list (33)
great for brunch (24)
neighborhood gem (23)
late-night find (10)
great for outdoor dining (9)
vibrant bar scene (7)
scenic view (6)
Sort By:
Newest
866 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It warms my heart when I go to a Fogo de ...

Dined 2 days ago

It warms my heart when I go to a Fogo de Chao outside of Brazil and see that it is keeping up with the Brazilian standards. You guys make sure the meat, the team, the buffet, everything stays as close as possible to the real deal (and manage to make it 99.99% the same!), and stay away from the stereotypes -- boy, was I ever glad not to have someone dancing beside me while I ate! :)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food, good service, nice atmospher ...

Dined 3 days ago

Great food, good service, nice atmosphere, not cheap

food2
ambience1
service2
value1

I really didn't like that the restaurant ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

I really didn't like that the restaurant shows an a la carte menu and then you get there and you are forced to do the buffet. I would not have gone if I knew that was the style. Food was ok but not worth the $$.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service, my favorite p ...

Dined 3 days ago

Great food, great service, my favorite place to go. Can't go wrong! Pricey, but worth every penny.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing always excellent food and servic ...

Dined 4 days ago

Amazing always excellent food and service- i appreciate the hard working team members!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great night.

Dined 4 days ago

We enjoyed our visit very much. We celebrated with friends for a special occasion. Food was delicious and the wait staff Cheyenne and Tom excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food from beginning to end was excel ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

The food from beginning to end was excellent as was the awesome service. Never a need for anything, someone was always coming around. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

It was delicious. But they pushed sheep ...

Dined 5 days ago

It was delicious. But they pushed sheep and we had to ask for filet.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Fogo de Chao takes care of all my steakh ...

Dined 5 days ago

Fogo de Chao takes care of all my steakhouse needs. Great food and great service! I enjoy that staff recognize me and know what I like. It feels like home. My primary waiter, Rafael, is fantastic!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Out of the ordinary restaurante

Dined 6 days ago

We have eaten several time at this place. They have a fantastic buffet which is self service and inexpensive for what is offered. The subsequent meat offering is copious non stop and mostly of excellent quality. There is a choice of various cuts of beef, lamb, chicken and pork. They have roasted bananas and polenta as sides.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wandering Meats, what is not to like

Dined on May 18, 2016

Very simple menu, its meat meat and more meat. Which was awesome. If you like meat. There is a "common table" which is buffet style cheeses and salads. Then you flip your coster from Red to Green and the circulating meats start arriving. The lamb was excellent and perfectly seasoned. If you like your meats really rare it can be difficult to get the cut you like. All of the meats were juicy irrespective of the amount of doneness.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

CHEESY BREAD!!!!

Dined on May 15, 2016

Great service, great cheesy bread, great meat, chessy bread, good wine selection, did I mention the chessy bread?

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4

Food was great, staff was great too, ver ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Food was great, staff was great too, very accommodating to any special needs we had. Only quibble is that the room temperature was very cold, we had to keep our jackets on for the entire meal.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing experience for mine and my boyfr ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Amazing experience for mine and my boyfriend's two year anniversary! The staff was extremely nice, the food was fantastic, and the day was perfect.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

My family and I chose Fogo de Chao to ce ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

My family and I chose Fogo de Chao to celebrate my youngest sibling's accomplishment on graduating college! The atmosphere was warm and friendly and the service was outstanding. All staff members were helpful in ensuring that we had an enjoyable evening. From the choices in meat and cuts to the very fresh salad bar, the food was delicious! Well worth the price! My dad and I did find the cocktails to be quite pricey, but good thing we came to eat!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I am not a steak person, but the steak w ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

I am not a steak person, but the steak was incredible. It was cooked however you preferred your steak to be cooked and many different cuts of meat with one being just as delicious as the first. They also have a salad bar that has everything you could think to put on a salad and more.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food and plenty of it.... Service ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Great food and plenty of it.... Service was good too !

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience was excellent! Our waiter ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Our experience was excellent! Our waiter Rafael was definitely a 5 star! Awesome time!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meat and an amazing selection. Gre ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Great meat and an amazing selection. Great market table with fresh salads, bread and soups. We will definitely be back.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Visitors to Boston might like this

Dined on May 12, 2016

This is a Brazilian churrascuria, pretty authentic. There is a lot of food, with a salad buffet to start and many many different kinds of meat that are brought to your table. Don't go if you are not hungry. Also, there seem to be a lot of groups (tourists? Work groups?) which isn't really to our liking. They come in and mob the buffet making it difficult for groups of two or three. A little frantic. The food, particularly the beef, is very good.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Salad bar with extensive choices; grill ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Salad bar with extensive choices; grilled meats excellent; wine list is way overpriced. Desserts overpriced. Overall fine dining experience.

food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The overall experience was great. Only o ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

The overall experience was great. Only one server was extremely rude and unfriendly but everyone else was very friendly. May be he was having a bad day but the experience would have been better if this server was not so rude. We tried to ignore it and still have a good time.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We were at the restaurant on a Monday Ni ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

We were at the restaurant on a Monday Night around 6h00 PM, maybe not quite busy yet and not much turnaround of meat. A lot of overcooked meat despite we asked for rare or medium rare for beef or lamb. Salad buffet is great. Wine list is unique.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service3
value4

SO MUCH FOOD...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

This is an all you can eat, Brazilian Steak House. They start you with an amazing salad bar with many vegetables and such. Ten the meat begins. They just keep coming around with meat until you put up your little card for them to stop. The amount of food is astounding. Great place to bring hungry people. While not inexpensive, you can eat and eat until you explode. The food was tasty. They also bring you side dishes of sauteed bananas and a couple of other things, but I don't remember what they where. Do not let them sell you ala' carte appetizers of pay extra for desert. You will have so much food, you will not need it! and you can get extra bananas for dessert. This was a fun experience to do once.. We could have eaten at a really good restaurant, by the time we paid for a few drinks and dinner. We wouldn't have had as much food, but nobody needs that much. It appears to be a special occasion restaurant for people that don't normally eat at fancy restaurants. Think a couple of steps above an Olive Garden. Lots of people think that's great. I am just not one of those people.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

GREAT PLACE TO GO !

Dined on May 8, 2016

The service is as good as the food. Our server - Cheyenne - was super. The food was delicious. It doesn't get better

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Meat is murder

Dined on May 2, 2016

Just OK. Bar is very pleasant but small. Decor is very good, but the food is merely ok. The buffet is of high quality, but the meats served by the Gauchos is of uneven quality (not well marbled, tough). In addition, there is a sameness in flavor as there are no sauces -- no chimichurri! -- and only basic cuts of meat. For example, no chicken hearts, a rodizio staple. Service, other than the Gauchos, was slow and not attentive. When waiter was there, he was pushing for extra cost foods like the shrimp cocktail or more drinks. Good spot for a meat loving group get together/co-workers event.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Had a great time!

Dined on May 1, 2016

This was a great restaurant for a group. We celebrated a 40th birthday with a group of guys friends. Be careful not to fill up on the salad bar, although it's hard not to. The meat is delicious.

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience3
service3

Knowing Chimaz the Brazilian steakhouse ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Knowing Chimaz the Brazilian steakhouse in Charlotte and Fort Lauderdale, I wanted to try something else. Unfortunately the first impression was more like - wow that restaurant is super busy and crowded. Food was ok but I am used to better one from Chimaz. Overall ok but not my favorite for the money.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Go hungry. Everything is delicious

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

A meat-lover's paradise. Pretty much every piece of meat I had was simply perfect. Go hungry as you'll want to try as many things as you can (and the price isn't cheap, so you'll also want to get your money's worth).

Tags: good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday

Dined on April 30, 2016

We had my husband's 30th birthday here with a group of 12 people varying in ages from 14 - 60. Everyone seemed to really like the dinner. Keep in mind the drinks are pretty steep (although not surprising for Boston) and if they recommend the shrimp cocktail appetizer (or any appetizer for that matter) it does NOT come with the meal price! We thought it did and were extremely surprised to see $80 ($20/serving - 6 shrimp) worth of shrimp cocktail at the end! Overall food was great. Suggestions: Skip the appetizer - there is plenty of food! Don't fill up at the market bar - maybe a small salad and then go for the meat and the sides they bring.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service2

I was surprised to see that turner fishe ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

I was surprised to see that turner fisheries was turned into a Brazilian BBQ restaurant. However it was quite nice. Take your family there but make sure you skip a few meals beforehand so you can get your $52.00 worth. In my humble opinion of it were $10.00 cheaper I would probably have more plans of going back. Good ok but expensive for this.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Girl was >>> Red Sox were >>> than Yankees

Dined on April 29, 2016

The food was good. The salad bar was >>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Don't forget the beef ribs

Dined on April 28, 2016

The first thing that I would suggest is use the valet parking it's only $20 but you pull-up and you call them 10 minutes before you are ready to leave and your car is right there when you need it. In reading reviews I was lucky enough to pick up the tip of asking if there was anything that needed to be asked for versus being served and they had told us you need to ask for the beef ribs we did in oh my goodness they were delicious and huge. The servers were phenomenal one had noticed that my wife's card was green but she was passing on certain items he then asked her if there was something in particular she was looking for she answered, and within minutes he came out with a brand-new skewer of just that product now that is service. I would suggest 6 o'clock or later sometimes early seatings result in slower service . The last thing I would suggest is to turn your card to red so that you have time to enjoy your meets while they are still warm I started by just leaving my card green and meat was piling up by the time I got to cutting some of my meats they were a bit cold but that was my fault. We can't afford to eat there every month but it's worth passing up going out to eat as often as we do in order to eat fantastic meals like the one we enjoyed here.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still the best

Dined on April 27, 2016

Once again, Fogo de Chao did not disappoint. The cheese rolls were served hot and were great. The Caipirinha's were delicious with two first-time diners in our group of 6 becoming fans. The salad bar (Market Table) was it's usual fantastic assortment: cheeses, smoked salmon, prosciutto, salami, hearts of palm, asparagus, artichokes, endives, etc. Of course, the meat selections: Picanha, Alcatra, Fraldina, beef ribs, pork ribs, pork and pork sausage, rib lamb chops, chicken, were all prepared as requested and served without having to ask. Refills of cheese rolls, drinks and candied bananas were automatic. Everyone flt the food, service, and ambience were outstanding and the promotional luncheon price of $36.95 cannot be beaten. It can't even be equaled! I can't wait until we return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Diner's Delight

Dined on April 27, 2016

With 7 visits under my belt, I'm pleased to say I've never been disappointed with Fogo de Chao. The food and service is delightful.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Top Notch

Dined on April 26, 2016

5 out of 5 across the board -- but it's pretty loud crowd. Great food and fun -- but not necessarily a quiet, romantic spot for 2. More appropriate to groups of 3 or more.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

it was a good experience, but...

Dined on April 24, 2016

it was a good experience, but it took the waiters a while to come to the table with different types of meat. I didn't get the chance to try lamb that night, which was a disappointment for me.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

Could use improvement

Dined on April 23, 2016

I have been to this restaurant a few times now and in the past have been quite pleased. However, this past visit leaves me less than enthusiastic. The service was poor, the restaurant unusually loud and unwelcoming. The "salad bar" was missing several items and was not restocked in an efficient manner. I had to ask a server for the standard sides which are typically served table side. After talking with the manager, hopefully things will improve. Maybe it was just a bad night... we will see.

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food! But pricey

Dined on April 22, 2016

Great food and service but definitely pricey. We went for dinner so it was pretty expensive. But lunch is cheaper, so my friends and I will try the lunch next time!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

First time visit at the Boston location. ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

First time visit at the Boston location. Highly recommend the Chicago restaurant, which seems to have a better quality and taste of meat and more elegant salad bar.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.