About Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Boston

200 Dartmouth Street
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Fogo de Chão® (fo-go dèe shoun), is an authentic Southern Brazilian steakhouse. In 1979, Fogo® began sharing the gaucho way of preparing meat in Porto Alegre, Brazil. Today, our gaucho chefs still expertly grill each of our 20 cuts of meat and offer you continuous tableside service.

We invite you to enjoy the delicious preparations of our gaucho chefs along with our gourmet market table, authentic Brazilian side dishes, and award-winning wine list.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Brazilian Steakhouse, Steakhouse, South American

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Tuesday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Wednesday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Thursday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:30pm
Saturday: 3:00pm - 10:30pm
Sunday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Copley Square

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 585-6300

Website:
http://www.fogodechao.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available during dinner hours for $20.00. Limited metered parking is located around the restaurant. Also available, are parking garages in the area that range from $15.00 - $30.00.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 4:30PM - 6:30PM 8:00PM - 9:30PM

Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:30PM - 10:30PM

Sat 5:30PM - 6:30PM 9:00PM - 10:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Invite your guests to a truly unique group dining experience! Whether for private dining rooms, or to interact in our main dining areas, Fogo de Chão® is the perfect location for parties of 15 to 110

Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Boston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Boston / New England
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Boston
Best Restaurants in Back Bay ›

special occasion (189)
good for groups (179)
fit for foodies (105)
See All
great for lunch (71)
romantic (57)
hot spot (43)
kid-friendly (30)
notable wine list (25)
neighborhood gem (23)
great for brunch (22)
great for outdoor dining (9)
late-night find (5)
vibrant bar scene (4)
scenic view (3)
Sort By:
Newest
926 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Good and service were good. Perhaps not ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 4 days ago

Good and service were good. Perhaps not amazing. For the price it should be amazing. One of my kids got his money's worth. My husband enjoyed the meat but probably didn't quite eat enough. My other son only eats chicken and there was only one chicken option , which he enjoyed but still I'm a vegetarian and I knew this wouldn't be vegetarian heaven but anticipated the salad bar with rice and beans. Only problem the beans had meat in it. Isn't there already plenty of meat? A vegetarian option for beans would be an inexpensive nice touch Overall nice meal but I think there are better places to get Brazilian food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great quality and dependable business me ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great quality and dependable business meal. It's slightly less expensive for lunch- but there are fewer available meat options. It's still an embarrassment of riches and very impressive. The room is nicely appointed and the wait staff is very helpful and gracious. Surprisingly great for vegetarians with lots of interesting non-meat choices.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I've been to quite a few steakhouses and ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

I've been to quite a few steakhouses and not one comes close to Fogo de Chao. Fogo de Chao knows how to serve well done meat so that it's still tender, no blood and flavorful. My favorite are the lamb chops because it's hard to find lamb chops on other menus. No need to add sauce(s) or ketchup to the meats.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

We have dined here before and thought th ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

We have dined here before and thought the salad bar was less varied and interesting than what we remember. The salad bar was a main feature in the past but it was disappointing this time. Food was fine but not outstanding as was service. First round of coffees was luke warm. Found the ambiance a little too noisy, but acceptable. Overall, not at all good value considering the price and would not recommend.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

Great service. Went for a 30th birthday ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great service. Went for a 30th birthday date with my wife, and the service was great! They took great care of us, and made sure we got to try everything! They even brought out a special birthday dessert for my wife, without even asking!

The food was amazing, but very filling! Make sure to come here on an empty stomach if you want to try all the different meats!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Compared to the location in Chicago, I w ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Compared to the location in Chicago, I was disappointed in the meat. For me, Brazilian meat is synonymous with wonderful flavor and seasoning, a very distinct taste, which this location did not have. I found the meat rather bland and much to rare for my liking. Since the meat is the star of this type of eatery, I left rather disappointed.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

This was one of the best Brazilian steak ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

This was one of the best Brazilian steak house restaurants we've been to in a while. The service was great, although it wasn't very busy at the time. I don't know how it would be if the place was full.

The quality of the meats was great other than the chicken wrapped in bacon which was quite dry and the salad bar had decent selection, not as varied as some Brazilian steak houses we've been to but it was good.

I look forward to visiting this restaurant again.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and ambience at Fogo were gr ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The service and ambience at Fogo were great. My husband and I were celebrating our anniversary, and the staff made us feel welcome and special. We also thoroughly enjoyed the complimentary creme brulee for dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We celebrated a family birthday and thi ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We celebrated a family birthday and this is the restaurant our son picked. He adores beef and he was not disappointed. The carnivores in our party had a wonderful time trying the various offerings. The beef was superb and the offerings kept on coming. We enjoyed the various salads and the little cheesy rolls. We wanted to save room for the meat so we didn't try the soup. Watching the various meats proffered from the sword was a lot of fun. We loved it and will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

A first class experience from the moment ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

A first class experience from the moment you walk in.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Once again, Fogo proved to be impressive ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Once again, Fogo proved to be impressive!

The quality of the food - both at the Market Place salad bar and the meats served Rodizio-style at our table - were fresh, beautifully presented, and, in the case of the meats, prepared to order. The attention from the waitstaff was constant without being intrusive.

Fogo continues to justify traveling 45 miles for lunch!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was mediocre, going through the ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Service was mediocre, going through the motions. Food was average. Price was high. No menu - you get the choice of 3 options: the "salad bar", the bar with sea bass entre, or bar with the endless meat that is carved at your table. Cool and novel experience, but only if you're a big eater would it be worthwhile. And don't be enticed into ordering apps - the endless parade of meats and the "bar" is just that, endless... all you can possibly eat. So for someone who can take advantage of that, this is a place for you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

The place is fantastic! Took my familty ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The place is fantastic! Took my familty there to celebrate my mom's birthday in March (although she passed away in January) went back and took my dad to celebrate his birthday. We all enjoyed it very much. Ana who is now manager is the BEST!!!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service good despite being very busy. Me ...

 
 (Perthshire)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Service good despite being very busy. Meat was well cooked but sides were cold. Our young son had an unfortunate experience while visiting the restroom. A very drunk man had wandered in off the street and our son was too scared to come out of the stall. Luckily my husband checked on him, removed him from the rest room and told a staff member what was going on. No follow up with us to see if everything was ok.

Tags: group bookings
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

A true meat lovers delight! Everyone in ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

A true meat lovers delight! Everyone in our group highly recommends it.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All staff is very nice and professional ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

All staff is very nice and professional. The food is equal those one served in Brazil. The lamb and fraldinha meat were amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

First and foremost the service was excel ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

First and foremost the service was excellent. Top notch. The servers were always there to refill your plate with great selections of mouth watering barbecue. The salad bar was always clean, tidy and over abundant with delicious choices. An excellent dining experience overall. I will be back again.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exactly the experience you would expect ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Exactly the experience you would expect from a Fogo de Chao. Food was fresh and delicious. The cheese buns didn't disappoint, the salad bar was varied and fantastic, and the meats - oh the meats! Delicious!

Service was prompt and courteous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great meat indeed and lots of it!! Can't ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Great meat indeed and lots of it!! Can't go wrong here:)

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Totally worth the hype. Incredible quali ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Totally worth the hype. Incredible quality meats in a fun and interactive way! Come hungry -- prepare yourself all day for this experience. Try not to fill up on sides before you see how much meat you're going to get! Our server Catherine was wonderful, would definitely go back and request her!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

friendly staff ,they are around all the ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

friendly staff ,they are around all the time , keep checking on you to make sure that everything is okay.

we usually go to celebrate special occasions & it's usually great we enjoy & we will come back soon

keep going, you are different 😘😘😘

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have been a customer for years, we sta ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I have been a customer for years, we started with the Atlanta location. Our Father's Day dinner in Boston was incredibly disappointing. The service was terrible. They forgot my drink, did not refill our cheesy bread not one time, and when they partially refilled our appetizers we were already done with dinner. We used to love this place, they would bring our our refills as soon as they disappeared. We had 3 main servers and the only 1 was on point. I hope this was a one-off situation and that this restaurants service isnt falling off.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Fogo is one of our favorite restaurants, ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Fogo is one of our favorite restaurants, but the service tonight was unusually off. The meat either came out all at once or not at all. The filet was not as good as it usually is. My husband likes rare, but everything was medium. The servers are very attentive when you bring issues to them, which is nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

It was fathers day and the service appea ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

It was fathers day and the service appeared that they were understaffed. Asked for, butter, water , the check . All above had us waiting @ 15 min. Each time.Potatoes etc came out late well after we were eating meat. Sometimes needed to be reminded twice. For things requested. We there before on mothers day and service was significantly better.sorry for the negative review but it was a negative experience.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

I had the best experience, even got to m ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I had the best experience, even got to meet the goalkeeper of the Argentina Soccer Team

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Poor food, 😖😱 I don't recommend this r ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Poor food, 😖😱 I don't recommend this restaurant. So much time for come ours drinks and I have to ask for. No meet like supposed to have. So expensive for nothing. Lost my money. Disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Definitely the go-to spot for meat lover ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Definitely the go-to spot for meat lovers! You have to starve yourself for days in preparation for this endless feast. The parade of well seasoned and grilled meats of every variety never stops. And for those who are not big meat eaters, one can opt for the Market Place only meal for ~$25, which includes a delicious soup, rice and beans, as well as a huge variety of cheeses, cold meats, and salads, including my favorite - the Brazilian potato salad!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great time w/my family. Did not appreci ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great time w/my family. Did not appreciate being seated near family w/young noisy active children. Felt rushed by servers. Food consistently great.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

While the food offerings were very good, ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

While the food offerings were very good, I was disappointed that all the possible meat choices were not readily available by the waiters walking around with the meats. For example, they walked around with certain cuts of meats, and for others, you had to specifically request it. We asked our waiter for a list of the meat offerings but it never came.

If I recommend Fogo to my friends I would tell them to ask for the meats they want instead of waiting in the hopes that the waiters will bring it around.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

All the waiters, hostesses, and waitress ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

All the waiters, hostesses, and waitresses were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

The food was great but service was bad. ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The food was great but service was bad. Very slow and not very polite.

Tags: group bookings, special occasions
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

I took my boyfriend here for his birthda ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

I took my boyfriend here for his birthday because what guy isn't a fan of steak? The selection was incredible, especially the items in the Market (salad bar). It was really fun to see the servers carrying around huge skewers of meat and carve it in front of you. Personally, this was a one time experience for me because as fun as it was, it's not really worth the price. Service was friendly but really slow when we went, and we even had a reservation too!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Food was great but service was surprisin ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Food was great but service was surprisingly lacking (not the meat servers but other servers, had to ask for things repeatedly)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

I think you should cook with charcoal wo ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

I think you should cook with charcoal wood chips instead of gas. I also asked my drink when I first sat down I got my drink 25 minutes later to a half an hour after I talk the general manager who was really awesome about it. The guys who serve the food are wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

Great food! The service was awesome and ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Great food! The service was awesome and we even got a free dessert as it was our anniversary. Super cute!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have had dinner at Fogo a number of t ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We have had dinner at Fogo a number of times. I was a bit disappointed in the quality of the meat during a visit last week. It was tough and generally overcooked. In particular, the lamb chops had little flavor, and the filets were not of restaurant quality. The salad bar was top notch as always. Not sure if we will go back given all of the excellent steakhouses in the city.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

The service was like no other!!!!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

My wife and I can't wait for our next date night so we could go again.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brazilian excellence

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

I try to get here a few times per year or more. Lunch, dinner, wine and drinks are consistently great. excellent for a chain.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Late Business dinner, food was excellent ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Late Business dinner, food was excellent, selection was superb, had 1 vegetarian with us and even he ate very well.

We were the last table of the night and someone wanted to still eat. the staff went out of their way to keep us happy. Added more ribeye to the grill just for our group and would have done more had we requested it. Customer focus was top focus. Only regret was we didn't save room for dessert. ;-)

Thanks guys

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not a good value!!!

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

So you get a ton of meat for $40 for lunch and $50 for dinner. It is cool that they come around and cut it in front of you but not for that price. You have a salad bar which requires no service. Then there are overpriced cocktails...$15. This was my daughter's choice for her birthday. I would have paid less or the same at the Capital Grille or another well known steak house but we would have had service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.