About Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Boston

200 Dartmouth Street
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Fogo de Chão® (fo-go dèe shoun), is an authentic Southern Brazilian steakhouse. In 1979, Fogo® began sharing the gaucho way of preparing meat in Porto Alegre, Brazil. Today, our gaucho chefs still expertly grill each of our 20 cuts of meat and offer you continuous tableside service.

We invite you to enjoy the delicious preparations of our gaucho chefs along with our gourmet market table, authentic Brazilian side dishes, and award-winning wine list.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Brazilian Steakhouse, Steakhouse, South American

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Tuesday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Wednesday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Thursday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:30pm
Saturday: 3:00pm - 10:30pm
Sunday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Copley Square

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 585-6300

Website:
http://www.fogodechao.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available during dinner hours for $20.00. Limited metered parking is located around the restaurant. Also available, are parking garages in the area that range from $15.00 - $30.00.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 4:30PM - 6:30PM 8:00PM - 9:30PM

Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:30PM - 10:30PM

Sat 5:30PM - 6:30PM 9:00PM - 10:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Invite your guests to a truly unique group dining experience! Whether for private dining rooms, or to interact in our main dining areas, Fogo de Chão® is the perfect location for parties of 15 to 110

Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Boston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Boston / New England
Most Booked
Boston
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Boston
Best Restaurants in Back Bay ›

special occasion (196)
good for groups (192)
fit for foodies (115)
See All
great for lunch (76)
romantic (59)
hot spot (53)
kid-friendly (37)
notable wine list (27)
great for brunch (26)
neighborhood gem (25)
great for outdoor dining (9)
late-night find (6)
vibrant bar scene (5)
scenic view (3)
Sort By:
Newest
908 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Exactly the experience you would expect ...

Dined 4 days ago

Exactly the experience you would expect from a Fogo de Chao. Food was fresh and delicious. The cheese buns didn't disappoint, the salad bar was varied and fantastic, and the meats - oh the meats! Delicious! Service was prompt and courteous.

food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Great meat indeed and lots of it!! Can't ...

Dined 6 days ago

Great meat indeed and lots of it!! Can't go wrong here:)

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Totally worth the hype. Incredible quali ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

Totally worth the hype. Incredible quality meats in a fun and interactive way! Come hungry -- prepare yourself all day for this experience. Try not to fill up on sides before you see how much meat you're going to get! Our server Catherine was wonderful, would definitely go back and request her!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

friendly staff ,they are around all the ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

friendly staff ,they are around all the time , keep checking on you to make sure that everything is okay. we usually go to celebrate special occasions & it's usually great we enjoy & we will come back soon keep going, you are different 😘😘😘

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

I have been a customer for years, we sta ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

I have been a customer for years, we started with the Atlanta location. Our Father's Day dinner in Boston was incredibly disappointing. The service was terrible. They forgot my drink, did not refill our cheesy bread not one time, and when they partially refilled our appetizers we were already done with dinner. We used to love this place, they would bring our our refills as soon as they disappeared. We had 3 main servers and the only 1 was on point. I hope this was a one-off situation and that this restaurants service isnt falling off.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3

Fogo is one of our favorite restaurants, ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Fogo is one of our favorite restaurants, but the service tonight was unusually off. The meat either came out all at once or not at all. The filet was not as good as it usually is. My husband likes rare, but everything was medium. The servers are very attentive when you bring issues to them, which is nice.

food3
ambience3
service1
value2

It was fathers day and the service appea ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

It was fathers day and the service appeared that they were understaffed. Asked for, butter, water , the check . All above had us waiting @ 15 min. Each time.Potatoes etc came out late well after we were eating meat. Sometimes needed to be reminded twice. For things requested. We there before on mothers day and service was significantly better.sorry for the negative review but it was a negative experience.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I had the best experience, even got to m ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

I had the best experience, even got to meet the goalkeeper of the Argentina Soccer Team

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Poor food, 😖😱 I don't recommend this r ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Poor food, 😖😱 I don't recommend this restaurant. So much time for come ours drinks and I have to ask for. No meet like supposed to have. So expensive for nothing. Lost my money. Disappointed.

food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Great time w/my family. Did not appreci ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Great time w/my family. Did not appreciate being seated near family w/young noisy active children. Felt rushed by servers. Food consistently great.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

While the food offerings were very good, ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

While the food offerings were very good, I was disappointed that all the possible meat choices were not readily available by the waiters walking around with the meats. For example, they walked around with certain cuts of meats, and for others, you had to specifically request it. We asked our waiter for a list of the meat offerings but it never came. If I recommend Fogo to my friends I would tell them to ask for the meats they want instead of waiting in the hopes that the waiters will bring it around.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience4
service5

All the waiters, hostesses, and waitress ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

All the waiters, hostesses, and waitresses were excellent.

food4
ambience4
service2
value2

The food was great but service was bad. ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

The food was great but service was bad. Very slow and not very polite.

Tags: group bookings, special occasions
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

I took my boyfriend here for his birthda ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

I took my boyfriend here for his birthday because what guy isn't a fan of steak? The selection was incredible, especially the items in the Market (salad bar). It was really fun to see the servers carrying around huge skewers of meat and carve it in front of you. Personally, this was a one time experience for me because as fun as it was, it's not really worth the price. Service was friendly but really slow when we went, and we even had a reservation too!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service3

Food was great but service was surprisin ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Food was great but service was surprisingly lacking (not the meat servers but other servers, had to ask for things repeatedly)

food3
ambience5
service2
value2

I think you should cook with charcoal wo ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

I think you should cook with charcoal wood chips instead of gas. I also asked my drink when I first sat down I got my drink 25 minutes later to a half an hour after I talk the general manager who was really awesome about it. The guys who serve the food are wonderful.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food! The service was awesome and ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

Great food! The service was awesome and we even got a free dessert as it was our anniversary. Super cute!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

We have had dinner at Fogo a number of t ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

We have had dinner at Fogo a number of times. I was a bit disappointed in the quality of the meat during a visit last week. It was tough and generally overcooked. In particular, the lamb chops had little flavor, and the filets were not of restaurant quality. The salad bar was top notch as always. Not sure if we will go back given all of the excellent steakhouses in the city.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was like no other!!!!

Dined on June 10, 2016

My wife and I can't wait for our next date night so we could go again.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Brazilian excellence

vip
Dined on June 8, 2016

I try to get here a few times per year or more. Lunch, dinner, wine and drinks are consistently great. excellent for a chain.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Late Business dinner, food was excellent ...

Dined on June 8, 2016

Late Business dinner, food was excellent, selection was superb, had 1 vegetarian with us and even he ate very well. We were the last table of the night and someone wanted to still eat. the staff went out of their way to keep us happy. Added more ribeye to the grill just for our group and would have done more had we requested it. Customer focus was top focus. Only regret was we didn't save room for dessert. ;-) Thanks guys

food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Not a good value!!!

Dined on June 7, 2016

So you get a ton of meat for $40 for lunch and $50 for dinner. It is cool that they come around and cut it in front of you but not for that price. You have a salad bar which requires no service. Then there are overpriced cocktails...$15. This was my daughter's choice for her birthday. I would have paid less or the same at the Capital Grille or another well known steak house but we would have had service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service are great!

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

We love going to have dinner here. The food is always exceptional and plentiful. We use this as a special occasion treat.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on June 5, 2016

This was the best and most enjoyable meal I've ever had in a restaurant. The food was incredible. The selections at the market table ranged from simple to elaborate. My husband is from Brazil so we were so glad they also served rice and beans upon request (among other delicious items- fried polenta, plantains with a light caramel sauce, päo de queijo). We also tried two different desserts which were both wonderful. The service was impeccable throughout. This is definitely more of a special occasion place for us, due to cost and location, but we really look forward to going back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Meat Lovers Dream

Dined on June 4, 2016

I took my husband for his birthday....he has never been there and he is the biggest meat lover there is....he loved the place and the food and the service....would definitely be going back!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Dinner

Dined on June 4, 2016

My boyfriend and I recently dined here on a Saturday evening, it was our first time and we were very excited about it. the experience was wonderful. The waitress warmly welcomed us and asked if we had dined there previously. She briefly explained to us where the marketplace was, and how to let them know when we are ready for more meat to eat! The service was amazing, our glasses were always full. They also had an extensive wine selection. Don't leave with out trying the turtle cheesecake!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

At Fogo

Dined on June 4, 2016

Food was great and everything was high quality from the salad bar and meats to the sides that they bring along. Although certain meats such as the chicken breast and lamb chops were dry/overcooked, other items were very good. I had the most tender cut of filet ever and the top sirloin was also very good. The salad and fruits do well to help balance out the richness of the meats. The carmelized bananas, garlic mash, fried polenta, and warm rolls were delicious as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

GREAT TIME

Dined on June 4, 2016

It was my first time at Fogo. The food, atmosphere and ambiance were superb. WILL definitetly be back.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience4
service5

Quality of meats left a lot to be desire ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

Quality of meats left a lot to be desired at this location, they need to upgrade their vendor. Beef cuts were chewy, not tender, chicken was over cooked on the skewers. The taste of the meats was blah, not enough marinating or spicing.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Special Occasion Meal

Dined on May 31, 2016

It was a delicious meal. The market table was great and there was a lot of variety. Great service and lots of meat options brought to the table, but it was too expensive for anything other than a special occasion for college-age people.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4

I have been to Fogo many times and the s ...

Dined on May 30, 2016

I have been to Fogo many times and the service is exceptional. The staff works well together as a well oiled machine. It may have been because of the holiday and we had an early dinner reservation at 530pm but I think they were understaffed. What I do appreciate is that is saw Jeff the manager on duty at the time jump in and helped serve food as well as checked in on each table to make sure everything was going well. That is always nice to see. Jeff has always taken good care of us whether I brought 15ppl or just 2. Thank you

food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Just no.

Dined on May 30, 2016

I've always enjoyed dinner here but lunch? Not so much. Only three servers came to our table with meat. The first, the lamb and chicken. It's ridiculous, some server kept on coming to ask if we're okay instead of sending food to our table. I wanted to scream at them. Literally. Will I come back again? No.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great end to my vacation

Dined on May 29, 2016

I had dinner here my last night in Boston, and it was fantastic. I can't speak highly enough of the staff, food, and the service. 10/10

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Experience Overall

Dined on May 28, 2016

We were expecting quantity but were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food as well. The bar of side dishes was fresh and packed with flavorfully seasoned vegetable dishes. hearts of palm, mango with black rice, and a marinated veggies kept the selection interesting and unusual. Meats were well seasoned and needed no sauce to help them out, though I found I could only eat so much beef and pork. Service was incredible and I left feeling well attended to. Would definitely come back for our next special family gathering.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary Dinner

Dined on May 28, 2016

Really enjoyed the experience. When placing the reservation I checked off the anniversary box, and when we got to our seats, it was a really cute table for 2 off in a much quieter room out of the main, really noisy room (not sure if it was because I checked the box, but I'd like to think so). It was very intimate and a really great time, I didn't have to yell or sit close to communicate with my date. The waiter was also really really really fun and awesome, he knew exactly what we wanted and made for a really awesome dining experience. I will definitely be going back there again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food! Service was excellent. They ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Great food! Service was excellent. They are pricey but worth it for foods

Tags: good for groups, romantic
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

The service was poor.

Dined on May 28, 2016

The service was poor. The server was not very attentive. The fish took about 30 minutes to be served. The meat-servers stopped coming to the table before everyone was done eating.The server left the check at the table before the whole party was finished, and before offering dessert.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome Place

Dined on May 28, 2016

It's always a great experience on every single visit. Nontheless you will not be disappointed. I took my boyfriend here for the first time and he's extremely particular with what and where he eats, and boy was he satisfied.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Great value for the money. Fabulous meat ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Great value for the money. Fabulous meat selection and fresh bar.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went for our anniversary and had a gr ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

We went for our anniversary and had a great time. The food was great, the wait staff friendly and it was a fun atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.