About Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Boston

200 Dartmouth Street
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Fogo de Chão® (fo-go dèe shoun), is an authentic Southern Brazilian steakhouse. In 1979, Fogo® began sharing the gaucho way of preparing meat in Porto Alegre, Brazil. Today, our gaucho chefs still expertly grill each of our 20 cuts of meat and offer you continuous tableside service.

We invite you to enjoy the delicious preparations of our gaucho chefs along with our gourmet market table, authentic Brazilian side dishes, and award-winning wine list.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Brazilian Steakhouse, Steakhouse, South American

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Tuesday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Wednesday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Thursday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:30pm
Saturday: 2:00pm - 10:30pm
Sunday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Copley Square

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 585-6300

Website:
http://www.fogodechao.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available during dinner hours for $20.00. Limited metered parking is located around the restaurant. Also available, are parking garages in the area that range from $15.00 - $30.00.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 4:30PM - 6:30PM 8:00PM - 9:30PM

Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:30PM - 10:30PM

Sat 3:00PM - 5:30PM 9:00PM - 10:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Invite your guests to a truly unique group dining experience! Whether for private dining rooms, or to interact in our main dining areas, Fogo de Chão® is the perfect location for parties of 15 to 110

Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Boston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Boston / New England
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Boston / New England
Most Booked
Boston
1 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Boston
Best Restaurants in Back Bay ›

Special Occasion (176)
Good for Groups (168)
Fit for Foodies (97)
See All
Romantic (53)
Hot Spot (45)
Great for Lunch (42)
Good for Birthdays (35)
Kid-friendly (32)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Notable Wine List (29)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Good for a Date (24)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Worth the Drive (21)
Family Style (21)
Authentic (19)
Fun (19)
Great for Brunch (16)
Casual (15)
Business Meals (14)
Modern Decor (13)
Paleo Friendly (12)
Comfort Food (11)
Outstanding Value (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Late-night Find (9)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Scenic View (3)
Cozy (3)
Healthy (3)
People Watching (3)
Private Room (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Seasonal (1)
Waterfront (1)
Spicy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1029 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was my second visit. I was complete ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 5 days ago

This was my second visit. I was completely impressed the first time by the variety in the salad bar, the attentive service and meat variety and service. This time however, the service was less attentive, the meat was seasoned excessively with SALT it was almost inedible. Did the chef roll a thick layer of salt on the meat? Not necessary. The variety of meat was very limited compared to our first visit. The staff kept coming to our table with the same choices. We eventually asked where the filet mignon, lamb, etc was. We also saw a very interesting cut of meat being searched on an attractive board but that was never offered. A little disappointing the second time around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Sevice not good as other units. Unhapp ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 6 days ago

Sevice not good as other units. Unhappy and unpolite waiter Foodbar used to be better.

parking fee U$ 20,00

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

The food was just not that good. All the ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

The food was just not that good. All the meat was over-flavored and usually too salty. The mashed potatoes hardened within 10 minutes. The only OK part of the food was the salad bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

The food was excellent and everyone enjo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

The food was excellent and everyone enjoyed everything they ate. Compared to other locations my family and I have visited, the service in Boston falls short to the service in Pennsylvania, Indianapolis, and Baltimore, but the food quality remains the same.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Great food and impeccable service. The w ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great food and impeccable service. The waiters are attentive and funny. Great place for large groups. Food is fresh and delicious. Meat was a little salty but tender and succulent.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, People Watching, Family Style, Vegan, Casual, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Most meats are oversalted. Not as many h ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

Most meats are oversalted. Not as many hot dishes (other than meats) as other Brazilian steakhouses I have visited. Also disappointed in the lack of filet. In more than an hour, only one server came by with a single leftover piece (lukewarm) and not enough for my table. We tried to find another server with filet, but perhaps they didn't make it to our dining area. Overall, an expensive disappointment. I really wanted to like this place, but alas...

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

Great food and service - being able to e ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 24, 2016

Great food and service - being able to eat a lot of types of cuts/meats was great

Tags: Fun, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We had a great time! It was my daughters ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

We had a great time! It was my daughters 21st Birthday. I mentioned it in the reservation and they brought out a dessert with happy birthday written on the plate! The service was flawless, never wanting for anything. Even our water glasses stayed full. The manager stopped by our table to ensure we were enjoying our selfs. The food/ meats were amazing. I absolutely plan on going back. Also great option for gluten free dinning.

Tags: Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Too expensive for such a very bad food! ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Too expensive for such a very bad food!

Steaks were really salty and didnt taste fresh! Taste like they never clean the grill

Carpirinha were very good tho!

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

visitors and guests always have a fantas ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

visitors and guests always have a fantastic experience and for some Fogo has become their favorite.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My hesitation about the restaurant is th ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

My hesitation about the restaurant is that if you are unaware of the way it works (we were unaware), you will be surprised by the price. We assumed it was a regular "order what you want off the menu," but instead it's a huge buffet of really nice salads and some vegs and then these "gauchos" walk around with these different cuts of meat. And it's expensive. We would not have been bothered by this if we knew the premise, but it was a surprise that we weren't thrilled about. Our servers were lovely and the restaurant is as well.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Fogo de Chao has amazing food and it is ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Fogo de Chao has amazing food and it is all you can eat, but I could not eat there all the time. I prefer to go there for special occasions, as the meal can get expensive, especially with drinks. Their wine list is thorough and they have amazing desserts, but I never have them because I am so stuffed from the great Brazilian food.

This place is for meat lovers only. Although they have a great salad bar, if you are a vegetarian, I would go elsewhere.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Good food at Fogo de Chao! It was my bir ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Good food at Fogo de Chao! It was my birthday and first time visiting. There is a buffet and also several meat cutters with various meats that will cut to order. I had fantastic lamb, pork tenderloin parmesan, ribs, and sirloin. All were done nicely.

Tags: Authentic, People Watching, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

this is not a place for anybody who know ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

this is not a place for anybody who knows the difference between Prime beef and choice or select, had to try it out, I loved the Salad Bar and the service was really good, but the Quality of the beef was really really bad, less than Choice, my guess is select. because the quality of the beef is so low you must have it cooked at least medium, and I like my beef rare, tried a few of the cuts rare and it was like shoe leather with little or no marbling, only two cuts were passable, the ribeye and the short rib roast, the rest ended up in a pile on a plate. for the quality, the price should be half of what it is. if you don't know better you will love the place.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

This restaurant does best with the large ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

This restaurant does best with the larger pieces of meat that you can request the way you like it - medium-rare, rare, etc. The smaller pieces of meat seemed to be all overcooked - the lamb chops where well done - but, it was seasoned well, so it wasn't horrible. Other small pieces of meat that they just take off without slicing seemed to be overcooked as well (I prefer my meat medium-rare). Also, I don't know how they decide what tables to come to - there were times some selections of meat never came to our table, and one time the server did come, gave two of us slices, then took off running in the other direction, leaving my friend (who had her card turned to green) with nothing. She tried calling him, but he took off too fast. The food was mostly good and the buffet was good too. But, I just came back from Germany where I ate at a Brazilian steak house, and they did everything perfect, so this one didn't live up to my expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This is with out a doubt the best dinner ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

This is with out a doubt the best dinner I have had for a long time :).

I just can't wait to return someday.

Best regards

Birgir

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dinner. Everything cooked per ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Excellent dinner. Everything cooked perfectly, servers attentive to requests for medium rare, well done etc. the food at Fogo is consistently excellent. Great service as well.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food quality was amazing!!! Service was ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Food quality was amazing!!! Service was impeccable! And tasted amazing!

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Casual, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a delightful meal and would recom ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We had a delightful meal and would recommend this spot to anyone. (Maybe not the best spot for vegans?)

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went with another couple for my wife' ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We went with another couple for my wife's birthday. It was a great experience, though it took more than 10 min to be approached by a wait staff member after being seated. Drink refills were slower than desired, but the food was outstanding, and one of the waiters overheard it was my wife's birthday and brought out a desert with a candle for free. They didn't make a big scene which was perfect and appreciated. We will definitely go back when Brazilian BBQ is desired.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Another superb dining experience. From ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Another superb dining experience. From the time we arrived to the time we left we were well taken care of. The staff are very accommodating and respectful. The food is delicious...fresh and full of flavor.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and plentiful. Wonderful sala ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Great food and plentiful.

Wonderful salad bar with 101 choices!

Attentive service.

The waiters and waitresses were always readily available.

Nice and convenient location.

Easy to walk to, or take public transportation.

Lots of fun for a first time visit to the restaurant.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

Good food, good environment, nice and ki ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Good food, good environment, nice and kids-friendly stuff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This our third visit. The food and serv ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

This our third visit. The food and service were excellent each time we have visited. You want to come here hungry & with an empty stomach. From the wines, cocktails, fresh market table (buffet), meats, & sides, to coffees, desserts, after-dinner drinks, we have no complaints. We especially enjoyed the lamb chops, house special sirloin, key lime pie and Irish coffee.

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Paleo Friendly, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My 15 year-old son and his friend certai ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

My 15 year-old son and his friend certainly enjoyed and got their money's worth! They loved being able to select the meats to be carved off for them at the table. The salad bar was fresh & has a very impressive range of items but as it's a set price menu, you really have to go with a hearty appetite to feel you have had good value for money!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was Fantastic, the service incr ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

The food was Fantastic, the service incredible!!!!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and salad bar to die for! ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Excellent food and salad bar to die for! Great atmosphere and experience...totally worth it!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Had a great mid-week dinner. Suggest yo ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Had a great mid-week dinner. Suggest you avoid dining on weekends. The servers are more attentive during the week, and the food seems better prepared.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I've been to this location a number of t ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

I've been to this location a number of times over the years, and we always have a great experience. However, at our last visit, there were several problems with the food and service. The cuts of meat, which usually produce moans of delight around the table, tasted unseasoned and uninspired. Also, the gauchos often chose meat that did not match my request. I always say, "medium rare," but some of my cuts were deep red in the middle while others were cooked through. I would have respected the gaucho saying, "I do not have medium rare right now, but I will be back with some shortly," rather than just cutting off a slice of whatever. Finally, our waiter was very slow to refill our waters and ask if we wanted a second cocktail. By the time the meal had ended, we just asked for the check instead of selecting a dessert or ice wine, as we often do. It was a disappointing experience, especially for $165 (for two people).

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Paleo Friendly, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Our service was dysmal. Drinks were forg ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Our service was dysmal. Drinks were forgotten and never delivered. We always got the same meats "leg of lamb" 5 times and NO Garlic beef or filet mignon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

First time patrons to celebrate my husba ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

First time patrons to celebrate my husband's 50th. Loved everything. The food was fabulous and the water was awesome. I will definitely go back.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Energetic and lively atmosphere, Fogo is ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Energetic and lively atmosphere, Fogo is a fun place to go with friends. The food is good, but we were really impressed with the service. The restaurant was very busy when we visited, but the staff was very attentive.

Tags: People Watching, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

We love it here, but the drink prices ar ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We love it here, but the drink prices are outrageous. I got a drink that was mostly ice and it was $16. I find that to be way overpriced. I wouldn't have had AS much of an issue paying $12, but $16 for what it was? That is ridiculous - it was worth MAYBE $10. However, the food was excellent and the ambiance was beautiful.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Everything was great! Staff were on top ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Everything was great! Staff were on top of everything. Always available, and would ask how everything was going. The manager (tall woman) was super kind and was always around. Overall, my husbands and I had a wonderful date night, and the staff at fogo de chão made it special. Thank you so much you guys! Keep it up!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Come hungry because you will leave incre ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Come hungry because you will leave incredibly full! Fast, polite and attentive service. The most delicious meats I've ever had. We took our time and ate slowly, never once feeling rushed by the staff. Delicious key lime pie for dessert, if you save room!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This was my first time eating here. The ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

This was my first time eating here. The food was amazing!!! The homemade lemonade was fantastic as well

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Went rest week, limited menu and no prim ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Went rest week, limited menu and no prime cuts. Not a good value.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The only drawbacks to this as a Brazilia ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

The only drawbacks to this as a Brazilian restaurant was the lack of some common foods/drinks that you would always see at a barbecue in Brazil such as jello with sweetened condensed milk, Brazilian strawberry moose, Maracuja, and some other side dishes. The deserts were more along the lines of New York style cheesecake and key lime pie; rather American. The rest of the food, however, was more than enough of a departure from standard American fare to prove it was something new and exciting while still maintaining a pleasing set of flavors and textures to most palates.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good quality beef, but the price is tota ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Good quality beef, but the price is totally out of this world. Definitely not worth it.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

To start: the food was absolutely delici ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

To start: the food was absolutely delicious! The meat was cooked to anyone's needs. The waiter even brought over a specially cooked meat for one of my fellow patrons. Once you turn over the green card, there is an abundance of protein on your plate. The noise level was moderate-loud but not overbearing. I am excited to eat here again.

As a side note, make sure you do not 'stuff' yourself on the bread and salad, it is a tad tempting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.