About Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Boston

200 Dartmouth Street
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Fogo de Chão® (fo-go dèe shoun), is an authentic Southern Brazilian steakhouse. In 1979, Fogo® began sharing the gaucho way of preparing meat in Porto Alegre, Brazil. Today, our gaucho chefs still expertly grill each of our 20 cuts of meat and offer you continuous tableside service.

We invite you to enjoy the delicious preparations of our gaucho chefs along with our gourmet market table, authentic Brazilian side dishes, and award-winning wine list.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Brazilian Steakhouse, Steakhouse, South American

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Tuesday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Wednesday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Thursday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:30pm
Saturday: 2:00pm - 10:30pm
Sunday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Copley Square

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 585-6300

Website:
http://www.fogodechao.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available during dinner hours for $20.00. Limited metered parking is located around the restaurant. Also available, are parking garages in the area that range from $15.00 - $30.00.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 4:30PM - 6:30PM 8:00PM - 9:30PM

Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:30PM - 10:30PM

Sat 3:00PM - 5:30PM 9:00PM - 10:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Invite your guests to a truly unique group dining experience! Whether for private dining rooms, or to interact in our main dining areas, Fogo de Chão® is the perfect location for parties of 15 to 110

Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Boston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Boston / New England
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Boston
Best Restaurants in Back Bay ›

Special Occasion (193)
Good for Groups (182)
Fit for Foodies (105)
See All
Great for Lunch (60)
Romantic (55)
Hot Spot (43)
Kid-friendly (40)
Notable Wine List (26)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Great for Brunch (20)
Late-night Find (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Scenic View (3)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
Newest
984 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

To start: the food was absolutely delici ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 2 days ago

To start: the food was absolutely delicious! The meat was cooked to anyone's needs. The waiter even brought over a specially cooked meat for one of my fellow patrons. Once you turn over the green card, there is an abundance of protein on your plate. The noise level was moderate-loud but not overbearing. I am excited to eat here again.

As a side note, make sure you do not 'stuff' yourself on the bread and salad, it is a tad tempting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was very good. The only thing ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 4 days ago

The food was very good. The only thing we were not impressed with was the pork ribs. All other meat was excellent -- stand out is the top round.

The cheese popovers were delicious. The market table offered something for everyone. It was jammed on a Monday night but they were not trying to rush anyone to free up a table.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Awesome cheese bread and salad bar was g ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 5 days ago

Awesome cheese bread and salad bar was great! The meat just kept coming. Went for restaurant week so only 7 meats were searched but it was still plenty. Would definitely return to try all the meats. Servers and manager were all friendly and welcoming. Definitely a recommend to try at least once.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing as always!

 
 (New England)
·Dined 5 days ago

Amazing as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is our favorite steakhouse in Bosto ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 5 days ago

This is our favorite steakhouse in Boston! Love love love the meats.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great. Some of the servers were ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 5 days ago

Food was great. Some of the servers were extremely helpful as others were just OK. I wish there were some different options as far as sides on the buffet table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Service is always excellent. Staff could ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 5 days ago

Service is always excellent. Staff could not be more attentive! And food is absolutely awesome!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you like meat, this place delivers ev ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

If you like meat, this place delivers every time. Where else can you get unlimited, 10 types of off the skewer meats delivered and cut right in front of you to your liking? A bit pricey but worth it!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse is a m ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 7 days ago

Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse is a must-go restaurant for meat lover. Also, there are salad and fruit bar for refreshing your tongue. Highly recommended.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Outstanding Value, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I've been to several Brazilian Churrasca ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 7 days ago

I've been to several Brazilian Churrascarias (steakhouses) in my life, including several in Brazil and this was right up there with some of the best. The fact that it was Restaurant Week and they offered a reduced price (with a few of the more expensive cuts of steak omitted) was a great value but even at full price this is a terrific experience. If you've never done the brazilian steakhouse thing, this is one of those places where they come around with long rotisserie skewer after skewer of select cuts of steak, pork and chicken and slice off whatever you'd like (e.g. medium rare ). Diners have a chip that they turn to green (serve me) or red (I'm taking a break). They also provide side dishes for the table and you have access to an unbelievable full salad and seafood bar. So, the moral of the story is arrive hungry because there is SO much incredbile delicious food that you don't want to under-do it. You will leave uncomfortably full, no matter what.

The desserts were great too, by the way. Just big enough but not giant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had dinner at Fogo de Chao during th ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 7 days ago

We had dinner at Fogo de Chao during the Boston Dine Out week and we really enjoyed the food. The buffet (market table) was really good and the picanha was amazing! I also enjoyed the Key Lime Pie. Overall is a really good place even though is a bit expensive if, like in my case, you don't eat a lot

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food is very good nice service but t ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 7 days ago

The food is very good nice service but the Caipirinha price is very high.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food as always!! The service is gr ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 7 days ago

Great food as always!! The service is great too. The bread and meat selection is amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We loved the market table and the sides ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We loved the market table and the sides that were brought to our table. It was nice to be able to choose from the types of meat being offered by the strolling servers with their skewers. The dessert was great too.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excepcional Service! I love The food and ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Excepcional Service! I love The food and salad bar. I would vigila recommend this restaurant to my family and friends.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional Waiter Staff, Management,Che ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Exceptional Waiter Staff, Management,Chefs and of course their food! Fogo always goes out of their way to please their clientele. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My daughter and I went here for restaura ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

My daughter and I went here for restaurant week. The salad bar is amazing with an array of fresh salads, meat, cheese, toppings and vegetables. The salad bar alone would be great by itself. It is too easy to fill up on the delicious side dishes. After we went to the salad bra we were given polenta, cooked bananas and cheese rolls (that are sooo delicious). The meat then stared arriving: several variations of beef, pork ,chicken and lamb. There are little coasters on the table that are turned to red to indicate that you need a break from all the food and then turn to green to "fill up".We had a choice of several cakes for dessert. The food was very good and plentiful. We were both so full after we ate. We would go back but only after fasting for week!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I found a lot of the food at the market ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

I found a lot of the food at the market bar wasn't very good - a lot of the vegetables had been roasted then chilled and they lost both texture and flavor that way. The soup was excellent, but I didn't care for much else. The cheesy bread was incredible, the roasted bananas tasty but mushy, the mashed potatoes decent, but the polenta fries had no flavor. I would have liked the option to have chicken without the bacon wrapping and most of the steak/lamb offerings were too underdone for my taste even though the servers tried to give me fairly well done pieces. The fattiness of the meat was also unpredictable. The top sirloin was the best option when it was lean and cooked through, but I had some pieces that were inedible. The dessert was tasty but tiny. The service was generally good, but a lot of the servers bypassed my table even when the "please stop" sign was showing. Water refills were plentiful, though, and they accommodated my request for a table in a specific location. Overall I enjoyed my meal, but even visiting during Restaurant Week when the food was less expensive I felt it overpriced for what I was willing to eat. I might go again at lunchtime or as a treat during a future Restaurant Week event, but I would not pay full price for dinner there. I would only recommend it for people who like all of the meats they offer, prefer their meat on the reddish side, and who are looking for a special meal in the Copley Square area.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Greatest place on the planetGreatest pla ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Greatest place on the planetGreatest place on the planetGreatest place on the planetGreatest place on the planetGreatest place on the planetGreatest place on the planetGreatest place on the planetGreatest place on the planetGreatest place on the planetGreatest place on the planetGreatest place on the planet

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Kid-friendly, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My group really enjoyed (in the beginnin ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

My group really enjoyed (in the beginning) the constant service of meats, but after a while, we were looking for the servers they disappeared, and there was slight disappointment amongst my eight guest. Overall, it was a great dining experience. I would go again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Fogo is a great place to dine if you lik ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Fogo is a great place to dine if you like meat. I think it has one of the best salad bars ever. So really everyone should find something they like to eat. One warning - no matter how careful you are, you will overeat! We usually dine at the Minneapolis Fogo and the service in Minneapolis is outstanding (kudos to manager Matt & his staff). Here in Boston it wasn't at the same level. We were brought the side dishes before my husband was finished his salad. It then took a long time before his salad dish was removed and a new plate delivered. By that time the side dishes were cold. I think our server realized we weren't impressed because she started to try a bit harder. I notice in Minneapolis all servers help each other.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

I've been here before and the experience ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I've been here before and the experience was amazing! I'm not sure if I'll be pressed to come back though. My waitress was ok but there was another woman there that was super amazing and helpful. My glass was dirty and she mad sure to fix the issue immediately. I can say the LAMB CHOPS are amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Food was excellent, and service during m ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food was excellent, and service during meal was fine. However, we had to wait in a long line just to check in despite having a reservation. Upon check-in, they gave us a buzzer, which would vibrate when our table is ready. Waited another 20 minutes or so. I did not experience this long wait in the last couple of times I was at Fogo. I understand that it gets crowded during peak times, but that is exactly why I made a reservation in advance. When I made a reservation at OpenTable, all the dinner times were marked as available. Maybe they overbook too much.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We never received our side dishes the wh ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We never received our side dishes the whole meal. Staff seemed overwhelmed at the crowds.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Always on point and great food and servi ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Always on point and great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Cold food bar was great with great selec ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Cold food bar was great with great selection! Sides were amazing, the bananas... I could have eatten them only and be happy!! Meats however for the most part were not tender at all! I expected more flavor and a lot more tenderness... I do not like getting steak on my plate and wishing I had A1 or something with flavor! Staff was amazing and friendly, and they brought me and my mom out a birthday flan when they learned we were celebrating our birthdays! Ps the flan was AMAZING!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Everything was very good!! The food was ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Everything was very good!! The food was very goo, the salad at excent. The waitress was very good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing food and more meat than anyone c ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Amazing food and more meat than anyone could ever consume. You flip over your coaster from red to green and you are practically inundated by a carnivore's dream.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything met my expectations Meal was ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Everything met my expectations

Meal was delicious!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, but they did not have fairly ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great food, but they did not have fairly common wines in stock (2 out of our 4 choices they did not have from their wine list). The recommended substitute wines were nothing like the original choices...perhaps they should hire a wine steward!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Delicious array of meats and all you can ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Delicious array of meats and all you can eat

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Terrible overall. Mediocre service, low ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Terrible overall. Mediocre service, low quality meats, excellent salad bar. This chains time has come and gone. Way overpriced food and wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

It's not cheap! But if you want semiform ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

It's not cheap! But if you want semiformal Brazilian BBQ, this is your only bet in the Boston area.

The only thing that justifies the price was the fact that you're getting hot all-you-can-eat meat in an upscale setting. Everthing was reasonably tasty, but the non-meat options were merely "good" rather than "masterful", which is less than I'd expect for the price of admission.

We were there about 2 hours, during which time we were not offered anything more exotic than lamb chops or bacon-wrapped steak. They had beef, pork, lamb, chicken. We were not offered any organ meats or offal (heart, liver, tongue, etc). Depending on your taste, the selection may be a bonus or a disappointment.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

If you like Brazilian churrasco, this is ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

If you like Brazilian churrasco, this is the place to go. Genuine experience, great food.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

I have eaten at several Brazilian steakh ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I have eaten at several Brazilian steakhouses throughout the country as well as several in Brazil. All the restaurants we have eaten at before served authentic Brazilian side dishes. This restaurant served American sides and the "Brazilian" mainstay of rice was cooked dry and tasteless. It is an embarrassment to Brazilian cuisine. Perhaps you are able to fool American patrons, but anyone who has ever eaten true Brazilian steakhouse cuisine will leave this restaurant sorely disappointed. Even more sad, half the meat cutters did not know how to properly cut the meat. To top everything off, although we were asked how we wanted our meat cooked, reality was that everything was cooked one way, medium rare to raw... Utterly disappointed I drove 2 hours for such a letdown.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

I was disappointed at that many of the t ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I was disappointed at that many of the traditional Brazilian food was missing from the typical menu. Ans when I asked if there would be a fresh serving coming, I was told "no." and no explanation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

I had been to Fogo for business lunches ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I had been to Fogo for business lunches and enjoyed the ambiance. I decided to share the experience with my wife and so booked this for our anniversary. I assumed it would be a classy ambiance and a romantic night out. It was not!! First off, it was a zoo with young kids running all over the place. One of them even stole my wife's utensils while we were up at the salad bar. I also would have assumed the dress code would be a bit classier for a restaurant with $50 entree's. Much of the clientele looked like they walked in off the street, unwashed in dirty sandals, shorts and Tshirts. Gross! Definitely would not recommend this restaurant for a date night out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value3

The service was excellent, the food was ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The service was excellent, the food was top notch as always. We were celebrating our wedding that day with just our adult children. The staff was extremely attentive.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife's first experience at a Fogo and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

My wife's first experience at a Fogo and she loved it as did I. Food and service were excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Disappointing, particularly for the pric ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Disappointing, particularly for the price. With a couple of exceptions, most of the meats were under seasoned and lacked much flavor. The lamb chops and especially the rib eye were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.