About Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Austin

309 E. 3rd Street
Austin, TX 78701
View Larger Map

Fogo de Chão® (fo-go dèe shoun), is an authentic Southern Brazilian steakhouse. In 1979, Fogo® began sharing the gaucho way of preparing meat in Porto Alegre, Brazil. Today, our gaucho chefs still expertly grill each of our 20 cuts of meat and offer you continuous tableside service.

We invite you to enjoy the delicious preparations of our gaucho chefs along with our gourmet market table, authentic Brazilian side dishes, and award-winning wine list.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Brazilian Steakhouse, Steakhouse, South American

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Tuesday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Wednesday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Thursday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:30pm
Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:30pm
Sunday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Trinity Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 472-0220

Website:
http://www.fogodechao.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available during lunch and dinner hours for $10.00. Limited meter parking is located around the building. Also, there is a pay-to-park lot one block west of Fogo de Chao.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
All Dads who dine will receive a card for a complimentary lunch or dinner on his next visit.* Restrictions apply. Sunday June 19, 11am-9pm, dinner price all day.
1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:30PM - 10:30PM

Sat 4:30PM - 5:30PM 9:00PM - 10:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Invite your guests to a truly unique group dining experience! Whether for private dining rooms, or to interact in our main dining areas, Fogo de Chão® is the perfect location for parties of 15 to 110

Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Austin Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
Austin
Most Booked
Austin
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Austin
3 More
Special Occasion
Austin
Most Booked
Austin
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Austin
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

special occasion (217)
romantic (123)
good for groups (118)
See All
fit for foodies (92)
great for lunch (86)
hot spot (45)
notable wine list (44)
great for brunch (31)
kid-friendly (27)
neighborhood gem (19)
late-night find (16)
scenic view (12)
vibrant bar scene (10)
great for outdoor dining (4)
Sort By:
Newest
395 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Always go for the full experience! The f ...

Dined 3 days ago

Always go for the full experience! The fillet is the best thing there!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My goodness so many meats and so good. E ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

My goodness so many meats and so good. Everything was great and service was spot on.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

knocked it way way out of the park once ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

knocked it way way out of the park once again!!! Best service ever, both waitstaff and meat cutters very attentive without being bothersome.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

Great dining experience, but given the p ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Great dining experience, but given the price $50 for dinner, sides and "salad bar", definitely a special occasion place. That said, lunch seems to have the same fare and is cheaper; about $30.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time going and most definitely wil ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

First time going and most definitely will be going again. Great food and great service. Thanks for making my anniversary a success

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Our first date

Dined on May 13, 2016

The waiters just didn't pay attention it took my gets the managers attention to get a check and they still never brought my dates ice for her water she requested twice to two different waitresses. It seemed like everybody around us got service but we didn't. I have been here before like three times and it was my first time having that sort of problem here .. I'm hopefully it was just a bad night for them

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fogo is one of my favorite dinning optio ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Fogo is one of my favorite dinning options for my family special occasions. The food and the service is always outstanding.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and attention to detai ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Excellent service and attention to detail!

food4
ambience4
service1

Service was terrible. We waited and wait ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Service was terrible. We waited and waited to get our attention for something like more water. Or more rounds of steak. They didn't serve every meat we be had before at another times. Service seemed off that night. For some reason.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite spot to celebrate!

Dined on May 8, 2016

This may be the best restaurant in Austin. This is where we celebrate anniversaries, birthdays and social occasions. When we have guests from out of town, this is where we take them.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

one of our favorites!

Dined on May 8, 2016

My wife and I are on social security and retired so we have the time and funds to go to our favorite place FOGO de CHAO were we know that the food is of the highest quality and the service is exceptional. The crew, from manager to servers remember us and greet us as if we were family. The salad bar is very fresh and abundant and I, at times, just order it alone while my wife loves the Chilean sea bass. Yes, she gives me a bite and I agree, to die for. When we go all-out and add the meats we find that all the selections are prepared to our liking so when we ask for medium rare for red meat it is on spot. They also have parmesan pork that is so tender and tasty as is their chicken and lamb chops, my, my how tender! Even though we have to travel for over an hour it is well worth the time because we just do not eat and run we take our time, not only eating but catching up with our servers. This time it was Carina who served us and it was great seeing her again. My wife and I are looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on May 8, 2016

I took my mom and daughter out for Mother's Day. We love this place.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is simply amazing!! This resta ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

The food is simply amazing!! This restaurant is worth every penny that you'll spend.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Food

Dined on May 3, 2016

Great food A bit salty. Good place for group and special occasions. The stastaff definitely run their sleves ragged!!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect all around.

Dined on April 30, 2016

Perfect all around.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our First Experience

Dined on April 29, 2016

It was my husbands birthday and also our first time visiting this restaurant and it was a very pleasant experience . Every thing was explained and everyone was so warm and friendly ! We will definitely visit again!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Welcoming

Dined on April 25, 2016

The food is always great . If you bring your family they are always welcoming . They recognize you and make you and your family feel at home. Always an awesome experience. 😋

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

VERY ENJOYABLE AS ALWAYS

Dined on April 24, 2016

FOOD WAS SUPERB. SERVICE WAS EXCELLENT AND WE WERE SPOILED ND WAITED ON LIKE ROYALTY. THE FILET MIGNON WAS MY FAVORITE AND THE WIFE ENJOYED THE GARLIC STEAK THE MOST.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience3
service4
value3

Poor Quality

Dined on April 23, 2016

I have eaten at other Brazilian steakhouses throughout the country on business. I have consistently raved to my wife about how much I enjoyed the meals. The quality of the meat at this restaurant was not good. All cuts of meat were tough and stringy. Add to that for the inconvenience getting in to the location coupled with the mandatory valet and you had a restaurant that will never see my face again

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Birthday Dinner Review

Dined on April 23, 2016

One of the waiters dropped a plate that almost hit me, and did not go back to pick it up until later. Also, when I asked for lamb chops, it took two hours for them to arrive at the table, after many requests.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best service and food in Austin.

Dined on April 23, 2016

My girlfriend and I dined here for the first time on Saturday night. The service was outstanding. The food was some of the best I've had and the drink selection was superb.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice lunch

Dined on April 19, 2016

Came to celebrate our 14th anniversary at lunch time. Had only been for dinner up to this point, it was very nice for lunch as well and kept us full for the rest of the day.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary Dinner

Dined on April 18, 2016

We had a great experience. The staff was very friendly, knowledgeable, helpful and quick! We always had plenty of drinks and food. The ambience was perfect and we found out we received a complimentary dessert to celebrate our anniversary which was a pleasant surprise. We really enjoyed ourselves. Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Food was good. But we waited for over 30 ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Food was good. But we waited for over 30 minutes to get our check.

food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Valet parking was disorganized and took ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Valet parking was disorganized and took over 15 minutes. The meat and salad bar options were minimal. The meat did not have much flavor. The service was not inviting, rude, and no one smiled. I put in my notes in Open Table it was my dauhhter's 17th birthday and she did not get a candle or Happy Birthday on her dessert plate. She was upset. We were visiting from Las Vegas and our first time in Austin. I wanted to make my daughter's 17th birthday special and it was terrible the moment we pulled into Valet. The food was mediocre at best, service was terrible, and the staff doesn't read the notes in Open Table. I would not ever dine here again or recommend this Brazilian Steakhouse.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Tasty and low carb

Dined on April 17, 2016

My wife is doing a low carb diet so their big salad bar and variety of very tasty meats were a great way to indulge in a big meal without blowing her diet. All the meats were seasoned well and had great flavor and the "market table" had a good variety of veggies and even some more tasty meats and proteins. Seating for our reservation was timely and the whole staff was friendly and helpful.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic!

Dined on April 16, 2016

We celebrated my Dad's 90th birthday & it was the perfect place! Service was fantastic, food was delicious, and the restaurant is beautiful. We had requested a round table when we placed our reservation, & it was there! It could not have been a better time for all of us! Thank you so much!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Night on the Town

Dined on April 15, 2016

Thank you so much for one of the best meals I've ever had. I booked a table for 9, for my coworkers at Brown Distributing for placing first in a Red Bull contest we ran from January to March. We had the best time and the entire experience was incredible. We never really get to sit down together to have the kind of meal we had at Fogo de Chao. From the service to the food it doesn't get any better. We all we so excited when the different cuts of meat were coming non stop to our table. We ate until we couldn't eat anymore. When we left we were a stronger and closer team than before.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding overall

Dined on April 15, 2016

🎉 It's always a great experience to have a birthday lunch with my husband. It's nice to see him enjoying all the endless options of food. The whole staff is always attentive and courteous to us each time we go. The food is always excellent. You see other couples, families, business people, friends having lunch there. So, overall it's outstanding . You can tell customer service is their top priority. 🍾😋

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Took my husband there for his birthday. ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Took my husband there for his birthday. Not only was the food amazing the service was fantastic. There are so many choices of meat to choose from, they all have a unique taste. Because it was his birthday, he got a free dessert. The cheesecake was very tasty, and even though it was free the portion size was shareable!

food5
ambience5
service5

The service was excellent, and that's co ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

The service was excellent, and that's coming from an Apple fan. Attentive without overbearing, friendly without intrusive, it was a wonderful experience

food4
ambience5
service5

Great variety at the salad bar, fresh an ...

vip
Dined on April 6, 2016

Great variety at the salad bar, fresh and very well presented. I tend to get the mkt fresh while my dining companions went for the meats. Great service and ambiance

food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic experience. Unique cuisine. Yo ...

Dined on April 6, 2016

Fantastic experience. Unique cuisine. You will not leave hungry. Worth the price!

food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Meat

Dined on April 4, 2016

The meat wasn't as tasty as in the pass. Disappointed since I was bragging to my father about the meat and Fogo let me down.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very Nice

Dined on April 2, 2016

It was a great place to have a good time with friends and family. Very nice ambiance. And of course the food was very delicious, I very much enjoyed the meat along with the salad bar. My husband ate the Key Lime pie and we both thought it was to die for. I personally tried the Creme Brule and have absolutely no complaints, as a matter of fact the next time I go I will be ordering the Creme Brule again. I will say that the desserts and appetizers are offered à la carte, so it is in addition to the flat fee that you pay per individual.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food

Dined on April 2, 2016

The restaurant was clean and the food was awesome. The salads were fresh and delicious and meats were done perfectly.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

DELICIOUS!

Dined on April 1, 2016

Love this restaurant! My friends and I meet here once a month for our "ladies night out".

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Was just okay for the price!

Dined on March 27, 2016

Had I known that I'd be paying full price at lunch-I would not have gone. Was not worth it!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, great for lunch
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Not good

Dined on March 27, 2016

Service was poor. Meat was incredibly undercooked. Restaurant was empty. Meat was so salty. Fogo has been on the decline for a year or two.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Love this place

Dined on March 26, 2016

The best meat in town. Great service. We love the picanha!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.