About Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Austin

309 E. 3rd Street
Austin, TX 78701
View Larger Map

Fogo de Chão® (fo-go dèe shoun), is an authentic Southern Brazilian steakhouse. In 1979, Fogo® began sharing the gaucho way of preparing meat in Porto Alegre, Brazil. Today, our gaucho chefs still expertly grill each of our 20 cuts of meat and offer you continuous tableside service.

We invite you to enjoy the delicious preparations of our gaucho chefs along with our gourmet market table, authentic Brazilian side dishes, and award-winning wine list.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Brazilian Steakhouse, Steakhouse, South American

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Tuesday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Wednesday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Thursday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:30pm
Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, 2:00pm - 10:30pm
Sunday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Trinity Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 472-0220

Website:
http://www.fogodechao.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available during lunch and dinner hours for $10.00. Limited meter parking is located around the building. Also, there is a pay-to-park lot one block west of Fogo de Chao.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Picanha
Open Buffet Plate
Jalapeno Onion Salad
Fried Banana
Brazilian Cheese Bread
Top Sirloin
New York Cheesecake
Caramelized Banana, Mashed Potatos With Garlic And Polenta Frittes
Flan
Alcatra
Chocolate Mousse Cake
All You Can Eat Meat
Carne
Salad Bar
Papaya Cream With Blackberry Liquer
Polenta Sandwich Custom Creation By @diegoliath #sxsw
Caipirinha
Beef Ribs
Paodequeijo
Bacon Wrapped Chicken & Filet Mignon
Side Dishes
Meat
Meat Platter
Ice Cream
Palenta Tots
Caramelized Bananas
Tastyyy

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:30PM - 10:30PM

Sat 4:30PM - 5:30PM 9:00PM - 10:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Invite your guests to a truly unique group dining experience! Whether for private dining rooms, or to interact in our main dining areas, Fogo de Chão® is the perfect location for parties of 15 to 110

Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Austin Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
Austin
Special Occasion
Austin
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Special Occasion (135)
Good for Groups (78)
Romantic (74)
See All
Fit for Foodies (43)
Great for Lunch (41)
Good for a Date (27)
Notable Wine List (26)
Hot Spot (25)
Great for Brunch (23)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Kid-friendly (17)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Authentic (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Business Meals (11)
Late-night Find (11)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Fun (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Family Style (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Cozy (6)
Casual (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Healthy (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Scenic View (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Private Room (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Organic (2)
Seasonal (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
People Watching (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Fireplace (1)
Tapas (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
Newest
497 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Horrible horrible service here. I visit ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined 5 days ago

Horrible horrible service here.

I visit estancia all the time and I will continue going their.

This place is not worth it at all!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1

Wow! The locations i great . You can wal ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined 5 days ago

Wow! The locations i great . You can walk or valet parking for $10. Everyone waits on you. They are friendly and you can tell they like what they do. The food well i cant say enough! For someone who doesnt eat gluteen I can pretty much have anything on there menu! Great for special occassions and bring your appetite!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Romantic, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fogo de Chao was a great choice for folk ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined 5 days ago

Fogo de Chao was a great choice for folks visiting Austin because of its unique dining set-up and friendly staff. Having the option to nibble on the salad bar items while in-between meat servings created a great balance of hearty and light. The filet mignon was delicious, as was the sirloin. There were few options for folks who didn't eat red meat - another chicken entree would have been nice. We also found ourselves wanting different red/green coasters for different types of meat - with the green side up, we had to wave off all of the beef and pork servers before the chicken made it to our table, which made it hard to keep a consistent conversation. Overall, I'd say Fogo de Chao is a great spot for a memorable dinner with friends or family from out of town.

Tags: Tapas, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

First time experience this restaurant an ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined 5 days ago

First time experience this restaurant and I was extremely happy with the customer service. The food was delicious, my oldest daughter and I went for my birthday. I enjoyed the complimentary birthday dessert with the Happy Birthday message. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is consistently great - ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 6 days ago

This restaurant is consistently great - fantastic salad bar and the meats are divine.

Tags: Family Style, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my 2nd time to Fogo de Chao and ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined 6 days ago

This is my 2nd time to Fogo de Chao and I'll definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Paleo Friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A wonderful dining experience (at the fo ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

A wonderful dining experience (at the forceful recommendation of our daughter who has used the "chain" in several locations).

We took a taxi to the restaurant and felt very welcome from the moment we walked in.

A great starter table selection followed by incredibly tasty and varied meat selections. Our waiter was attentive and very happy to chat (or leave us alone). He was interested in us and our reasons for selecting Fogo de Chao during our visit to Austin.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had dinner with my son and his girlfri ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

I had dinner with my son and his girlfriend and it was a super experience. Service was great and the food was terrific.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We loved the experience for our family a ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We loved the experience for our family as we celebrated my parents 35th anniversary. They were blown away by the food, service, and dessert plate that was delivered to our table with a Happy Anniversary note on the plate. Thank you for helping us celebrate my parents anniversary!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my wife for our anniversary. She ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

I took my wife for our anniversary. She was very impressed, we had great time and will definitely be back again. The manager, Leo was amazing and went way to make sure the experience was as awesome as the 4 years have spent with my wife.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great attentive service!

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Great attentive service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was my second visit and I wanted to ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

This was my second visit and I wanted to treat my boyfriend to a nice lunch. He absolutely loved it! He asked why I didn't take him sooner.

The variety of meat brought to our table is a meat-lovers dream. But if meat isn't your thing, they have a great selection of salads and other vegetarian options at the Market Table, which you can visit as many times as you like during your meal. Everything was delicious. They also have seafood dishes which I had during my first visit and they are made with the same quality as the meat.

The service was excellent. If we couldn't find our original server, another would promptly step in and ask if we needed anything. One server even noticed us keeping watch for certain cut of meat to be brought out. She asked what we were looking for and she had them bring it out just two minutes later.

I cannot say anything about their drinks unfortunately because I don't drink.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a good meal and the wait staff al ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Always a good meal and the wait staff always exceeds expectations

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good restaurant, good food, but it's not ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Good restaurant, good food, but it's not a good experience if you get seated in the back room, especially at the table right at the door. You get all the waiters hovering and waiting right behind your seat, and you routinely get blocked in by the bar cart. It's hard to enjoy your dinner when it's constantly interrupted by the ills of poor table placement.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

This was our first time at Fogo de Chao, ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

This was our first time at Fogo de Chao, and my husband's first time at a Brazilian Steakhouse. The service was great - there was a whole team of people keeping our plates and glasses full. The polenta fries were awesome, and of course the meat was amazing. We also enjoyed the salad bar, and we got a free dessert because we were celebrating our anniversary.

Thank you!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent product knowledge and good cus ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Excellent product knowledge and good customer service. The food was delicious❗️

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The quality of the food and service were ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

The quality of the food and service were so good. The appetizer they offered were exquisites. Also the salad bar had a wide variety of delight Cheeses likewise vegetables. Many kind of meet were offered too.

I am more than willing to go again and recommend this restaurant to my family and friends.

The environment was perfect for the occasion and the music perfectly accord to the Brazilian restaurant.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

great place to dine and enjoy great cuts ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

great place to dine and enjoy great cuts Brazilian style.

service was great, as usual, and experienced at other locations from the same chain.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was excellent first time we have ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Service was excellent first time we have been will definitely go again!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and the selection is Fantasti ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Great food and the selection is Fantastic! The gauchos just kept on coming ; we had to turn the table sign to Red so we could keep up. I can't remember how many times I turned it over to Green, though. We'll surely be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The key question is is Fogo De Chao bett ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The key question is is Fogo De Chao better than Texas De Brazil ? From my perspective the answer would be "no" this doesn't mean that FDC failed to live up to expectations it's just that I personally prefer TDB. If you have never been to a Brazilian steakhouse then I would certainly recommend visiting FDC as the food is good and you will enjoy it but if I had the choice of the two it would be TBC all the way for me.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I'm sad, because this place has been goi ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

I'm sad, because this place has been going downhill at a slow but steady pace. It was once a quiet place to linger. Not so much any more. All the signs are there of penny-pinching, perhaps directed from the people at Corporate. Tables are closer together and there are more of them. The flowers are pretty but very long lasting, so they don't change as often. Fewer staff working more tables. A distinct feel of moving people along so they can turn the table for another group. Etc.

We were there this past Saturday for a celebratory meal, and things started to go a little off the rails right at the start, as it took a peculiarly long time to get in our drink order. It was okay for a while after that, because of how the place works, but I felt we were getting the same meats coming by an awful lot. We saved some space for dessert, but even after plates got cleared our dessert menu never came. I tried flagging servers but they didn't see me (and in fairness to them, they were clearly working very hard, almost sprinting from point to point). We finally caught a manager setting a table near ours and she took over from there, bringing our menu, getting the order in, and handling our check. And props to her for comping the dessert, we did appreciate the effort to make amends. Perhaps they were caught short-staffed (it happens), but I suspect there is more to it than that. I think it will be a while before we go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

I was a little disappointed. The food wa ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

I was a little disappointed. The food was good but not outstanding, better cuts of meat were hard to come by. Salad bar was very good, but that's not what you come to Fogo de Chao for.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Great food, great people, tasty food. ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great food, great people, tasty food. Friendly staff.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Healthy, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Servers were attentive and helpful, espe ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Servers were attentive and helpful, especially towards us, that ever been there before. Everyone, including management were friendly and offered great customer service .

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service! No issues at all. Good wa ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Great service! No issues at all. Good was good and wait staff was very accommodating

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The service was some of the best I've ev ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The service was some of the best I've ever received in Austin.

Tags: Family Style, Great for Brunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service + Great Food = Great Time. ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great service + Great Food = Great Time. Happy Happy!!!

Tags: Romantic, Family Style, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had gone on a date to the Foco De Chao ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I had gone on a date to the Foco De Chao in San Antonio on the Riverwalk and fell in love with the place!!! The next day, I told my friend about the restaurant. We decided our next shopping trip in Austin would need to include lunch at Foco De Chao in 3rd street!! It did not disappoint... the parmeassan crusted pork loin is to die for!!!

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

For our 10th wedding anniversary we got ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

For our 10th wedding anniversary we got seated by the door and we had to request to be seated closer to the buffet. Our server kept disappearing on us for prolonged periods of time. We were served meat at the beginning and the meat servers disappeared as well. We complained to another server and she explained in attitude that for meat temperature that we wanted, it would take longer. Our bill took a while to arrive, too. For the first time on a wedding anniversary, we were disappointed and we did not think it would be at a Fogo!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Always amazing food and terrific service ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Always amazing food and terrific service!!! We have eaten there many times and plan many more!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've never had a bad experience at Fogo. ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I've never had a bad experience at Fogo. Service is excellent. I judge Fogo against itself. My worst experience at Fogo is far superior to most restaurants.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating a college send-off w ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We were celebrating a college send-off with several young men. There is no better spot for young men! We had a nice table near the front of the restaurant, after asked to be relocated from the smaller room in the back.

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing experience.. Definitely a must g ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Amazing experience.. Definitely a must go type of place. We will be returning.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After a not so good time on my birthday ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

After a not so good time on my birthday at the restaurant, a manager Carol Valdez apologize and gave me a $100.00 gift card and said to ask for her when I return for better service. When I returned the servers didn't honor my no-pork offered request. We didn't know who our server was because different servers came no knowing the request and we had to ask over and over again. The mango refresco was good but I highly recommend they take the Mai Tai of the drink menu (After 2 tries it still tasted wrong). I ask the matradee for Carol Valdez. They said she will be there in a half hour then 30 minutes later said she not on schedule today. The gift card was a fine gesture even though the charged my credit card for $100.00 and charged the gift card for $30.00. After they tried to fix the error $96.00 was charged to the gift card and $30.00 was charged to my credit card. I'd recommend the restaurant to my pork eating friends(not my Jewish ones). I don't see me and my family dining there in the future.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value2

First time and it was AWESOME we will be ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

First time and it was AWESOME we will be back!!!! THE EXPERIENCE was good

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

We went to Fogo to celebrate our first a ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We went to Fogo to celebrate our first anniversary and the staff at Fogo de Chao was excellent, definitely made our special day even more special. Thank you so much!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

9 out Of 10 this restaurant is unbelieva ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

9 out Of 10 this restaurant is unbelievably good. But Saturday service was not up to their standards. I'm a frequent customer and always love this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

This is where my wife wanted to go for h ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This is where my wife wanted to go for her birthday lunch. The food and service were outstanding. We enjoyed the salad bar selections, the breakfast items and of course the main meal. The staff was attentive and polite. We cannot wait to return. If you have not been to this restaurant, just go at least one time for the experience.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I am a regular at the Addison TX fogo de ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I am a regular at the Addison TX fogo de Chao restaurant. I recently moved to Austin so I went to check it out with my family. I used the restroom since we had to wait for a table at 11:30 AM on a Saturday. Upon entering, there is a very strong odor. It smelled like old washcloth. It's clear they didn't rinse their mop or something with soap so the smell. Then when I told the hostess she straight up ignored me and later said "uhm, ok" with attitude. I'm trying to do you a service so others don't complain about it. The hostess also didn't know the prices and I called the night before to ask how much the market table buffet would be. The man on the phone told me it would be $15. The hostess goes and checks with the manager and tells me it's actually $25 today.

Overall, horrible customer service but the food was fine. Im very disappointed in this location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.