About Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Austin

309 E. 3rd Street
Austin, TX 78701
View Larger Map

Fogo de Chão® (fo-go dèe shoun), is an authentic Southern Brazilian steakhouse. In 1979, Fogo® began sharing the gaucho way of preparing meat in Porto Alegre, Brazil. Today, our gaucho chefs still expertly grill each of our 20 cuts of meat and offer you continuous tableside service.

We invite you to enjoy the delicious preparations of our gaucho chefs along with our gourmet market table, authentic Brazilian side dishes, and award-winning wine list.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Brazilian Steakhouse, Steakhouse, South American

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Tuesday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Wednesday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Thursday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:30pm
Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:30pm
Sunday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Trinity Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 472-0220

Website:
http://www.fogodechao.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available during lunch and dinner hours for $10.00. Limited meter parking is located around the building. Also, there is a pay-to-park lot one block west of Fogo de Chao.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Picanha
Open Buffet Plate
Jalapeno Onion Salad
Fried Banana
Brazilian Cheese Bread
Top Sirloin
New York Cheesecake
Caramelized Banana, Mashed Potatos With Garlic And Polenta Frittes
Flan
Alcatra
Chocolate Mousse Cake
All You Can Eat Meat
Carne
Salad Bar
Papaya Cream With Blackberry Liquer
Polenta Sandwich Custom Creation By @diegoliath #sxsw
Caipirinha
Paodequeijo
Beef Ribs
Bacon Wrapped Chicken & Filet Mignon
Side Dishes
Meat
Meat Platter
Ice Cream
Caramelized Bananas
Palenta Tots
Tastyyy

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:30PM - 10:30PM

Sat 4:30PM - 5:30PM 9:00PM - 10:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Invite your guests to a truly unique group dining experience! Whether for private dining rooms, or to interact in our main dining areas, Fogo de Chão® is the perfect location for parties of 15 to 110

Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Austin Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Austin
Special Occasion
Austin
Most Booked
Austin
5 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Austin
Great for Lunch
Austin
Special Occasion
Austin
Most Booked
Austin
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Austin
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

special occasion (192)
good for groups (112)
romantic (95)
See All
fit for foodies (80)
great for lunch (72)
notable wine list (41)
great for brunch (36)
hot spot (34)
kid-friendly (25)
neighborhood gem (18)
late-night find (17)
scenic view (9)
vibrant bar scene (8)
great for outdoor dining (5)
Sort By:
Newest
430 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

OUTSTANDING STAFF. Every single one made ...

vip
Dined 2 days ago

OUTSTANDING STAFF. Every single one made me feel like a VIO in their own way.

food2
ambience4
service4
value2

We were not given menus with prices. It ...

Dined 5 days ago

We were not given menus with prices. It was our first time ,the waiter explained the buffet . We asked about the sea bass plate and he said it's a bit extra price . Meats kept coming,but the lamb chops only were served once while we were there.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The 3 members of our party enjoyed the m ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

The 3 members of our party enjoyed the meal. It was nice to be able to have a conversation that was easy to hear. Food and service was excellent.

Tags: great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Generally enjoy this place, but this tim ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Generally enjoy this place, but this time meat selections were limited and service was slow.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience3
service1
value4

Great for meat lovers- don't go if you a ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Great for meat lovers- don't go if you are vegetarian. Service was terrible. Waited 15 minutes for check and another 10 to get our card back. They were all about just getting meat on your table but impossible to otherwise find a waiter.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to celebrate Fathers Day, my Mom ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We went to celebrate Fathers Day, my Mom was here with us visting from Germany and she was so impressed with the food and service! We absolutely loved it all around!!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent, excellent food. We have been ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Excellent, excellent food. We have been to Fogo's many times and the food is consistently top notch. Plenty of servers taking care of our needs and doing a fine job. We did have some issues with one, who seemed new to the job. Ambiance was nice, so overall a thumbs up.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

Market table was good -- lots to choose ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Market table was good -- lots to choose from. I didn't have the meat, but others at the table did & said it was good. This place is -extremely- pricey. Multiple wait-persons, but primary guy was a tad surly & not very efficient -- like he really didn't want to be there.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love, love, love Fogo ! Claito always m ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Love, love, love Fogo ! Claito always makes it special and Katarina gave us memorable service!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

The taste of the meat at Fogo has been p ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

The taste of the meat at Fogo has been poor my last 2 visits. I will not return.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Many of the meat items were so rare as t ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Many of the meat items were so rare as to be almost inedible even though I asked for well done and medium well done. My party was impressed with the salad bar. The service was outstanding.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not just a haven for meat lovers,tthe sa ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Not just a haven for meat lovers,tthe salad bar is great too.Itoo.It is an experience.Awsome service and outstanding food.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

As normal, an excellent meal. I will re ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

As normal, an excellent meal. I will return in the future.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service per usual. Are my fill and ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Great service per usual. Are my fill and enjoyed it as I always do!

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The food is always outstanding and the w ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

The food is always outstanding and the waitstaff is really impressive.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I loved everything about my experience t ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

I loved everything about my experience there. The fact that we reserve our table for 8pm, and at that exact time we had it was a plus. Also, all the waiters knew our meat preferences after we had told them only once. As a Brazilian, I can tell that I felt myself back to one of the Brazilian steakhouses in Brazil.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great find in Austin!

Dined on June 12, 2016

Went here for my birthday dinner with my fiancé! The service was phenomenal and the variety of food was great! I'm a picky eater and it was nice to try lots of meats out without buying a full meal

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food! Wish there was a dress code ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Great food! Wish there was a dress code though to add to the ambiance. We and others were dressed up but some people had Tshirts and flip flops on and it was sort of distracting. Great service and excellent teamwork by the staff members though! Food was delicious and we were stuffed! The team treated us with anniversary cheesecake in celebration for our ten year anniversary and it was super nice! Will definitely recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

While on the pricier end of the dining s ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

While on the pricier end of the dining spectrum, Fogo offers a high-end, service-oriented, delicious dining experience that is as much about the food as it is the ambiance. Just don't eat before you go!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was outstanding!

Dined on June 11, 2016

Enjoyed a quiet date night the featured great drinks, a wide variety of meats and the most delicious turtle cheesecake. As great as our dinner was the service was a thousand times beyond that!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Unusually off night for Fogo de Chao.

Dined on June 10, 2016

Meet was uncharacteristically overdone and gristly across the board. Every type of meat was full of fat and gristle and unchewable.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

usually good but disappointed this time

Dined on June 6, 2016

We come here at least twice a year for special celebrations. The food and salad bar are usually amazing, but not this time. Very disappointed. The food was not the usual and the salad bar was definitely lacking options. Some of the servers seemed 'disappointed" when you did not take their choice and the same choices repeatedly. T We did appreciate the congratulations message on the dessert platter. The bar tender was new :(

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service3

Bacon wrapped sirloin is my favorite! Ev ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

Bacon wrapped sirloin is my favorite! Everything tastes wonderful. It is hard not to stuff yourself on the salad bar.

food5
ambience5
service5

Staff was excellent. Especially Roberto ...

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

Staff was excellent. Especially Roberto the manager. Really made sure all of our accommodations were met.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Fogo is a rare treat

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

Going to Fogo is a rare treat for us. The flavor and variety of their meats are like no other in the city. The atmosphere is great. Even though it was a busy night, we were still able to carry on a conversation at a normal level. The wait staff was attentive through out the meal. There were so many of them around that it was easy to get someone's attention, except when it was time for the check. It took a while for that to come out due to some miscommunication about who was going to bring it to us.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Not bad, but not great

Dined on June 4, 2016

Our waiter was not cordial at all. He didn't make us feel welcome. In addition, the salad bar is just ok. I'm used to a much bigger salad bar for the same price. The appetizers were brought to the table with no explanation of what they were. Two people in our party requested the sea bass and were initially informed that they were out but then it turns out they did have it after all. The caipirinhas were decent at first then got progressively weaker as the night wore on. I had my card on green for at least 10 minutes before someone came around again. The offerings were slim and a few were good but not the quality I'm used to at Plataforma in NYC or a Porqao in Brazil or even a small churrascaria in the middle of nowhere northern Brazil. The one light in this experience was the manager. He was great! Very cordial and helpful with great charisma! We felt as if we were being rushed to leave. A few members of our 8-person party even commented that if they hadn't made us feel rushed to leave before even 10pm then they would have ordered more drinks. Much work that needs to be done at Fogo de Chao Austin.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our first visit, not our last

Dined on May 30, 2016

You have so many choices of sides, veggies, and meats. You can eat as much or as little of each as you'd like and walk away satisfied. My wife has celiacs and just loved the Pao de Queijo (Brazilian Cheese Bread) which happen to be naturally gluten free and super delicious!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

Simply decent

Dined on May 29, 2016

Customer service is great. Food is better than average quality but it is apparent that is is a buffet. For the price, I would expect better food. This being said, unlimited food is great and they have many options for meat. The arrangement of tables and grouping of different parties is also unattractive whether the restaurant was trying for a vibrant social setting or quiet atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Variety and Value

Dined on May 29, 2016

When we arrived we found that they offered complimentary valet. They parked our car right up on the curb then charged us $10 to park it there. Note that we did not request for it to be parked there, nor is our bmw m3 too large to be parked anywhere else. The venue was quite crowded and noisy. We were charged for water on top of $49.95 all you can eat meat extravaganza. There were a couple meat choices that came to the table that were not good at all. The parmesian pork loin was awful. I could barely swallow it. There was a cut of beef I embarrassingly had to spit into my napkin. My husband did the same. The other meats pretty much tasted all like each other. The bacon wrapped chicken was actually the best thing there along with their cheese rolls.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Weekend in Austin

Dined on May 28, 2016

Great meal with some friends. Celebrated my wife's birthday there. Good food and great experience. Easy access from our hotel and other attractions.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

Estancia vs Fogo

Dined on May 28, 2016

So we have been to Estancia but had heard alot about Fogo so tried it. Really you have to literally wait to be served even when you flip your card to green. It takes them a long time to come give you food and that kind of ruins the entire purpose of this place. Also the meats are under seasoned so it wasn't that great. We have decided going forward we will stick with Estancia because they have great non stop food service and better seasoned meat.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fogo de Chao is wonderful! Second time d ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Fogo de Chao is wonderful! Second time dinning and always a pleasurable experience from the vast selection of food to the wine. The service is top notch and second to none.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food bar is delicious and excellent ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

The food bar is delicious and excellent for both a cozy date night or a group get together. My hubby and I went and had an excellent experience. The meats were deliciously succulent and very flavorful. We don't drink alcohol but did enjoy their Brazilian lemonade.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

The lamb chops are always point. They di ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

The lamb chops are always point. They didn't have any of garlic parmesan pork, but dining experience great. I will back for another visit.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Always go for the full experience! The f ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Always go for the full experience! The fillet is the best thing there!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My goodness so many meats and so good. E ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

My goodness so many meats and so good. Everything was great and service was spot on.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

knocked it way way out of the park once ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

knocked it way way out of the park once again!!! Best service ever, both waitstaff and meat cutters very attentive without being bothersome.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

Great dining experience, but given the p ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Great dining experience, but given the price $50 for dinner, sides and "salad bar", definitely a special occasion place. That said, lunch seems to have the same fare and is cheaper; about $30.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time going and most definitely wil ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

First time going and most definitely will be going again. Great food and great service. Thanks for making my anniversary a success

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Our first date

Dined on May 13, 2016

The waiters just didn't pay attention it took my gets the managers attention to get a check and they still never brought my dates ice for her water she requested twice to two different waitresses. It seemed like everybody around us got service but we didn't. I have been here before like three times and it was my first time having that sort of problem here .. I'm hopefully it was just a bad night for them

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.