About Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Austin

309 E. 3rd Street
Austin, TX 78701
View Larger Map

Fogo de Chão® (fo-go dèe shoun), is an authentic Southern Brazilian steakhouse. In 1979, Fogo® began sharing the gaucho way of preparing meat in Porto Alegre, Brazil. Today, our gaucho chefs still expertly grill each of our 20 cuts of meat and offer you continuous tableside service.

We invite you to enjoy the delicious preparations of our gaucho chefs along with our gourmet market table, authentic Brazilian side dishes, and award-winning wine list.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Brazilian Steakhouse, Steakhouse, South American

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Tuesday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Wednesday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Thursday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:30pm
Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, 2:00pm - 10:30pm
Sunday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Trinity Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 472-0220

Website:
http://www.fogodechao.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available during lunch and dinner hours for $10.00. Limited meter parking is located around the building. Also, there is a pay-to-park lot one block west of Fogo de Chao.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Picanha
Open Buffet Plate
Jalapeno Onion Salad
Fried Banana
Brazilian Cheese Bread
Top Sirloin
New York Cheesecake
Caramelized Banana, Mashed Potatos With Garlic And Polenta Frittes
Flan
Alcatra
Chocolate Mousse Cake
All You Can Eat Meat
Carne
Salad Bar
Papaya Cream With Blackberry Liquer
Polenta Sandwich Custom Creation By @diegoliath #sxsw
Caipirinha
Beef Ribs
Paodequeijo
Bacon Wrapped Chicken & Filet Mignon
Side Dishes
Meat
Meat Platter
Ice Cream
Palenta Tots
Caramelized Bananas
Tastyyy

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:30PM - 10:30PM

Sat 4:30PM - 5:30PM 9:00PM - 10:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Invite your guests to a truly unique group dining experience! Whether for private dining rooms, or to interact in our main dining areas, Fogo de Chão® is the perfect location for parties of 15 to 110

Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Austin Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
Austin
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Austin
Special Occasion
Austin
1 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Austin
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Special Occasion (158)
Good for Groups (95)
Romantic (81)
See All
Fit for Foodies (63)
Great for Lunch (58)
Notable Wine List (35)
Great for Brunch (32)
Kid-friendly (26)
Hot Spot (26)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Late-night Find (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Scenic View (5)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
471 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The service was some of the best I've ev ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined 7 days ago

The service was some of the best I've ever received in Austin.

Tags: Family Style, Great for Brunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service + Great Food = Great Time. ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined 7 days ago

Great service + Great Food = Great Time. Happy Happy!!!

Tags: Romantic, Family Style, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had gone on a date to the Foco De Chao ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined 7 days ago

I had gone on a date to the Foco De Chao in San Antonio on the Riverwalk and fell in love with the place!!! The next day, I told my friend about the restaurant. We decided our next shopping trip in Austin would need to include lunch at Foco De Chao in 3rd street!! It did not disappoint... the parmeassan crusted pork loin is to die for!!!

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

For our 10th wedding anniversary we got ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

For our 10th wedding anniversary we got seated by the door and we had to request to be seated closer to the buffet. Our server kept disappearing on us for prolonged periods of time. We were served meat at the beginning and the meat servers disappeared as well. We complained to another server and she explained in attitude that for meat temperature that we wanted, it would take longer. Our bill took a while to arrive, too. For the first time on a wedding anniversary, we were disappointed and we did not think it would be at a Fogo!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Always amazing food and terrific service ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Always amazing food and terrific service!!! We have eaten there many times and plan many more!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've never had a bad experience at Fogo. ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I've never had a bad experience at Fogo. Service is excellent. I judge Fogo against itself. My worst experience at Fogo is far superior to most restaurants.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating a college send-off w ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We were celebrating a college send-off with several young men. There is no better spot for young men! We had a nice table near the front of the restaurant, after asked to be relocated from the smaller room in the back.

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing experience.. Definitely a must g ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Amazing experience.. Definitely a must go type of place. We will be returning.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After a not so good time on my birthday ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

After a not so good time on my birthday at the restaurant, a manager Carol Valdez apologize and gave me a $100.00 gift card and said to ask for her when I return for better service. When I returned the servers didn't honor my no-pork offered request. We didn't know who our server was because different servers came no knowing the request and we had to ask over and over again. The mango refresco was good but I highly recommend they take the Mai Tai of the drink menu (After 2 tries it still tasted wrong). I ask the matradee for Carol Valdez. They said she will be there in a half hour then 30 minutes later said she not on schedule today. The gift card was a fine gesture even though the charged my credit card for $100.00 and charged the gift card for $30.00. After they tried to fix the error $96.00 was charged to the gift card and $30.00 was charged to my credit card. I'd recommend the restaurant to my pork eating friends(not my Jewish ones). I don't see me and my family dining there in the future.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value2

First time and it was AWESOME we will be ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

First time and it was AWESOME we will be back!!!! THE EXPERIENCE was good

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

We went to Fogo to celebrate our first a ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We went to Fogo to celebrate our first anniversary and the staff at Fogo de Chao was excellent, definitely made our special day even more special. Thank you so much!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

9 out Of 10 this restaurant is unbelieva ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

9 out Of 10 this restaurant is unbelievably good. But Saturday service was not up to their standards. I'm a frequent customer and always love this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

This is where my wife wanted to go for h ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This is where my wife wanted to go for her birthday lunch. The food and service were outstanding. We enjoyed the salad bar selections, the breakfast items and of course the main meal. The staff was attentive and polite. We cannot wait to return. If you have not been to this restaurant, just go at least one time for the experience.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I am a regular at the Addison TX fogo de ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I am a regular at the Addison TX fogo de Chao restaurant. I recently moved to Austin so I went to check it out with my family. I used the restroom since we had to wait for a table at 11:30 AM on a Saturday. Upon entering, there is a very strong odor. It smelled like old washcloth. It's clear they didn't rinse their mop or something with soap so the smell. Then when I told the hostess she straight up ignored me and later said "uhm, ok" with attitude. I'm trying to do you a service so others don't complain about it. The hostess also didn't know the prices and I called the night before to ask how much the market table buffet would be. The man on the phone told me it would be $15. The hostess goes and checks with the manager and tells me it's actually $25 today.

Overall, horrible customer service but the food was fine. Im very disappointed in this location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

This is our second time. The first time ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

This is our second time. The first time we went to Fogo the chao was great. We were kinda disappointed of our recent visit. So; I got an email about a $39 dinner promotion; which excludes some type of meats. So one servant accidentally served us I think it was Rib eye and we didn't really know what was included in the promotion so the waitress we had ran to him and told him: NO! NO! in our face when he has already served the portion to us. Okay; first of all if it wasn't included the waitress had to be more professional and let him know in private, not in front of us because it just made us feel uncomfortable. Then another very nice waiter approached us and asked us if we have tried the lamb chops and we were like no; so he went inside to try to get us some and then came back very embarrassed just to tell us it wasn't included. Our experience was very uncomfortable. If you are going to throw a promotion, make sure all the staff is on the same page so they don't make clients feel uncomfortable. By other hand the meet we had wasn't juicy at all and it was very dry and plain. :(

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Not the Fogo that it used to be. Meats a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Not the Fogo that it used to be. Meats are OK. They used to be delicious. The service is OK. It used to be perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

The salad bar is very good; however, you ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The salad bar is very good; however, you cannot just order that. They come around with various meats on skewers and you eat as much as you want. They also have sides of mashed potatoes, and I think they were polenta sticks, and rolls. They ask how you want your meat and then cut off accordingly except if you do not want anything less than medium they have to put it back on the grill. The medium was still too red for me. They were hit and miss with whether they ever came back with what I requested. The roast beef was tasty but I have had better steaks and chicken elsewhere. If the salad bar had not been included I would have been hungry. The service was good. They kept the water glasses full, took away dirty plates, and replenished sides efficiently. If we had not had a gift card we would not have gone and we will not return and cannot recommend it to anyone else. Much better meals elsewhere for less.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

My first time visit. I was satisfied wit ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

My first time visit. I was satisfied with the attention and service . Would highly recommend to anybody looking for a great restaurant .

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dining experience. Food and choice ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Great dining experience. Food and choices - fantastic! Service - outstanding. Nice ambiance.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I have dined at this Fogo de ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

My wife and I have dined at this Fogo de Chao for years and have never been disappointed. The service is consistently great, the meats are on Parmer with other Brazilian steak houses, decent wine selection and the salad bar is kept up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

I really enjoy this restaurant amd I vis ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I really enjoy this restaurant amd I visit it once every months. You consume lots and lots of flavorful, tender cuts of meats. It is awesome!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I were there for our wedd ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

My husband and I were there for our wedding anniversary. It was a wonderful dining experience. My only disappointment was that we didn't receive the complimentary creme brulee as others had mentioned in their reviews. I had RSVP and stated it was our anniversary but apparently that didn't help any. Not a huge deal breaker but it would've been nice.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Our dining experience is ALWAYS EXCELLEN ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Our dining experience is ALWAYS EXCELLENT at Fogo De Chao. The food is sumptuous, the atmosphere is "energetic" and lively, but not loud, and the service impeccable.....we have a consistent experience every single time we enjoy lunch or dinner there, and can offer NO COMPLAINTS!

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was impeccable. When I got t ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The service was impeccable. When I got tired of beef I was able to directly request some chicken. Everything was great! We had fun with a unique dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was very friendly and personal. ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Service was very friendly and personal. The manager even came to visit with us and she offered us a taste of Brazilian wine that wasn't even on their list, -altogether it was excellent service for our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We received a warm greeting at the front ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We received a warm greeting at the front and were promptly seated then quickly greeted by our wait staff. The waiter refreshed our memory on how things worked. The salad bar was well stocked and great! We came for the meat! The garlic steak was delicious. So was the house special. The ribeye was the best! A great dining experience!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

From our drink at the bar while we waite ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

From our drink at the bar while we waited for our reservation, to being seated promptly at our reservation time and waited on immediately, enjoying the selection of the salad and appetizer bar, and all of the delicious selections of meat once the circle was green, everything was spectacular. Then even though we thought we were too full for more, we were convinced to have some dessert and that did not disappoint either. While Brazilian Barbecue is not what you think of when you go to Austin and in addition this place is a chain, I would say if you live here or don't have a location near you, it is a great place to go.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Starting from the top, the hostess promp ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Starting from the top, the hostess promptly greeted us and was friendly, showed us to our table right away. The salad bar is exactly what you would expect, nothing more or less than any other Brazilian steakhouse. The meats were great but nothing too exceptional, I wish they would lead with the pork chop, that was amazing! The service was decent but I filled my glass own every time after the initial pour of my mineral water.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Service is over top excellent! The food ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Service is over top excellent! The food is good but not exceptional especially for the value.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and drinks were fabulous and th ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The food and drinks were fabulous and the dining service was outstanding

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Everything from the staff to the food wa ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Everything from the staff to the food was excellent! This was our first time and and a party of 7 and everyone loved it!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Poor servivce asked 6 times for particu ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Poor servivce asked 6 times for particular meat of 3 servers took many many minutes to get and could not get it med rare ..when finally showed up.. Sat waiting many minutes and asked way too many times and still did not serve whatbi wanted. I had more times been asked if i wanted fresh plates than i actually had servers put food on a plate..i left hungry..disastisfied and poorer .For a first timer did not win me over ....LEFT FRUSTRATED 2 1/2 hours of bad service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Andre was a little quiet but he was a fa ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Andre was a little quiet but he was a fantastic waiter overall he got us everything we needed. Also the teamwork the whole staff demonstrated was incredible. It was an incredible first experience and will definitely be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

WOW! This place is phenomenal! I was imp ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

WOW! This place is phenomenal! I was impressed with everything. From the meats, to the sides to the salad bar, the entire experience was top notch. Highly recommended.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff was awesome. Every one of them ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The staff was awesome. Every one of them was friendly and helpful. The food was great and the salad bar had a big variety. Definitely going back!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was excellent. Wait staff was the b ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food was excellent. Wait staff was the best I have ever experienced. I will definitely consider coming back in the future.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

i loved this place, it was my birthday a ...

 
 (Amarillo)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

i loved this place, it was my birthday and they made sure that i got the most out of it, it was wonderful

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Come hungry. The food is amazing. The st ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Come hungry. The food is amazing. The staff is friendly and the service wonderful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I made a reservation weeks ago so that m ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

I made a reservation weeks ago so that my boyfriend and I would be sure and get a table. When we arrived we were about 15 minutes early and the host told us we probably wouldn't be seated until closer to the time of the reservation, which I understood so we went and had a drink in the bar. Thirty minutes later I went to check with the host. The manager was standing there as well and said they had been looking for us and thought we may have decided not to show up since we were late. The host never checked us in or gave us a pager and never took responsibility for the mistake. The manager quickly cleared a table in the corner that had been used to store clean plates. It was not a very pleasant experience considering I made sure to book the reservation so far in advance.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

I would only recommend this restaurant t ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I would only recommend this restaurant to people who eat a lot. It is expensive. I generally eat half my meal and take the rest home, but to-go boxes are not allowed here. So to spend $70 including tax and tip for a small meal of mediocre food is a waste to me. I also don't like trying various cuts of meat that I don't love to find something I may really like. By the time I was served a cut that was appealing (but not fantastic), I didn't have much of an appetite remaining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.