About Flying Fish Cafe & Wine Bar

2003 S Croatan Hwy
Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948
View Larger Map

The Flying Fish Café and Wine Bar is about a great atmosphere, tremendous food, seasoned knowledgeable service, some of the best Chef’s on the beach, and especially giving our patrons an overall “Dining Experience.”

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
8th St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(252) 441-6894

Website:
http://www.flyingfishcafeobx.com/

Parking Details:
Plentiful Restaurant Parking.

Executive Chef:
Randy Balaban

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
All Private Parties considered, give us a call.

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Bring your Dad in for a wonderful Filet or Fresh Local Caught Fish Dinner!!!

Flying Fish Cafe & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Coastal North Carolina
Best Value
Coastal North Carolina
Notable Wine List
Coastal North Carolina
3 More
Romantic
Coastal North Carolina
Special Occasion
Coastal North Carolina
Most Booked
Outer Banks

special occasion (18)
romantic (15)
fit for foodies (14)
See All
notable wine list (13)
neighborhood gem (10)
good for groups (5)
hot spot (2)
late-night find (2)
kid-friendly (1)
great for lunch (1)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
126 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another excellent meal at The Flying Fish

Dined 4 days ago

This is the "go to" celebration restaurant for our family. On this occasion took our parents there, as we had been talking about for a long time. The meal and the experience lived up to our high expectations.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good Eats

Dined on May 10, 2016

Another excellent meal at a reasonable price. Honored our reservation. Good folks here ...

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently very good

Dined on May 8, 2016

Soft shells were great! Shrimp and grits very good.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome experience! All of the staff wer ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Awesome experience! All of the staff were very friendly and the food was amazing. If the tuna poke salad is available on the specials it was amazing! I had the filet mignon for my entree and it was cooked exactly how I wanted. The staff were so friendly and attentive that it would be enough to make me go back again, but the amazing food and wine sealed the deal! Definitely suggest! :)

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

We had a good meal, and good drinks. The views are great. Highly recommend a window seat on the second level at sunset

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service. Will definit ...

Dined on April 1, 2016

Excellent food and service. Will definitely eat there again when in the OBX.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great spot.

Dined on March 2, 2016

We always visit the Flying Fish when we vacation in the Outer Banks. It is one of our favorites. Excellent food and good wine. Friendly and helpful staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Good Food at the Flying Fish

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

We had Valentines dinner this year at the Flying Fish in Kill Devil Hills, NC. The restaurant has been there for years, and it is still serving great food in a very nice setting. The location is unassuming, but the wait staff, food prep, execution, and desire to please are all there in abundance, and we recommend this restaurant to anyone who values great food, nice wine, at an excellent cost point. We'll be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have never been disappointed. The foo ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

We have never been disappointed. The food is excellent and the menu has a chef's special touch. This is our go to restaurant at the beach, especially to celebrate birthday, anniversary and Valentines Day in an intimate atmosphere

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great seafood and service

Dined on January 3, 2016

We have seldom found another restaurant that consistently prepares seafood as well as Flying Fish. My fried oysters were cooked to perfection, tender and crispy at once with a bit of a bite; and my husband ate every bite of the cioppino, and sopped up the juice with their very good bread. Their wine list is not extensive, but has a nice range of wines, and our server Sean was knowledgeable and attentive without hovering over us every minute. Great meal to start the New Year!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service3

Nothing Extraordinary! Disappointed in t ...

vip
Dined on January 1, 2016

Nothing Extraordinary! Disappointed in the lack of creativity with their food and plating! Thought that this restaurant being on open table that it would have been Much better. Champagne was reasonably priced! Paper over linen table cloths for New Years was a bad choice!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Dinner!

Dined on December 31, 2015

We've dined here many times and are never disappointed. From the wait service to the menu choices, everything was perfect. Absolutely no complaints - ever.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

great food and comfortable atmosphere

Dined on December 31, 2015

We went here for an early dinner on New Year's Eve. We had the earliest seating and brought our two children. The waiter was very friendly. Our children like finer food and we felt very comfortable and welcomed here. We ordered the surf and turf which was amazing. The only complaint I have is that my husband's steak was twice the size of mine. I didn't mind having the a smaller steak, however, I paid the same price for my meal!!! The crab cake was excellent and had a touch of spice which we both LOVED! All in all, I would not let my portion size deter my from returning. We are excited to return again.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very Good

Dined on December 28, 2015

We selected this based on reviews and it was delicious. The crab spinach, and artichoke dip was wonderful. Had to stop eating to save room for rest of meal. My husband loved the clams and mussels. Caesar and spinach salads were good and crab cakes and steak were delicious. Loved the broccoli and kale and the buttermilk mashed potatoes. No room for dessert. The service was excellent and very accommodating. We would go back again for a nice dinner. Typically, we go for a little less expensive places in the summer with a beach ambience, but this was perfect for our winter dining experience. I would recommend it!

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server was Shawn. He was fantastic. ...

Dined on December 19, 2015

Our server was Shawn. He was fantastic. The shrimp and grits were the best that I ever had.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Great place to go on the NC outer banks

Dined on November 14, 2015

Great place to go on the outerbanks to excape the beach crowd. The price typically prohibits large vacationing families, so its quaint and quiet (usually)

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Favorite place for softshells

Dined on October 25, 2015

The food and service have always been good. My husband and I especially enjoy the quiet atmosphere where we can actually have a conversation while dining.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Still good after all these years

vip
Dined on October 16, 2015

We went back to Flying Fish after a few years and were happy to find that it was still offering a great menu, including an excellent and affordable wine list. We were lucky enough to discover this fine restaurant when it first opened after converting a Burger King into a fine dining establishment. We've been back several times though the years, brought many of our friends and family, and were happy to find the same excellent food and service on our most recent visit. Give this restaurant a try, you will not be disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Solid dinner choice in OBX

Dined on October 10, 2015

The folks at Flying Fish were accommodating and friendly, and the food was very good. The menu is somewhat limited, but that's not a negative in my mind. They had options for just about every preference. (I don't recall there being a vegetarian option, but we omnivores were all set.) Our party of seven each ordered a different dish and everyone left satisfied. I had the cioppino myself and it was delicious. We visited during the off season, but the staff at Flying Fish still brought their a-game. We'll be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience4
service5

Overdue re-visit was delightful!

Dined on October 2, 2015

I had dined here years earlier but had stuck to the more northern dining spots in the past several years, primarily seeking sound views. As our vacation house this year was soundfront so we didn't need that experience from our restaurant, we decided to try Flying Fish again. It happened to be late on a night when many folks were staying put due to inevitable storms from Hurricane Joaquin. We were pleasantly surprised with the quality of both the food and service. We were warmly welcomed by the host. Our waiter made excellent recommendations, and the blackened tuna was superb - just as he described. My other half is not much of a wine drinker, so I really appreciated the broad glass selection. I chose a wine that our waiter turned out to be very knowledgeable about - including the the winery, winemaker, etc. That is my special interest, so it was a delight to partake of his knowledge. We will most definitely return in the very near future!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent meal

Dined on September 30, 2015

We had a group of 8 adults, late in the season. Food choices were interesting, apps and meals were delicious. The salad dressing choices were unusual and very tasty. Dessert was OMG good! We will definitely dine there when we return to the OBX.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

First Timers

vip
Dined on September 30, 2015

We have been going to the Outer Banks for many years and this was our first time at Flying Fish. The food was excellent and the service very good. We will be going back to this neighborhood gem whenever we visit the Outer Banks.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service5

The waiter was very good - the food was ...

Dined on September 30, 2015

The waiter was very good - the food was very good, but sort of a limited menu - you need to have more varied small plates.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Always great.

Dined on September 28, 2015

We make a point of going here every time we're in obx.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4

This was our 5th time here and we come b ...

Dined on September 26, 2015

This was our 5th time here and we come back every year. The food is consistently good and the daily specials should not be overlooked. The fresh fish is always popular and the steaks are cooked perfectly to order. We always enjoy our visit.

food4
ambience2
service4

Quality food and service

Dined on September 21, 2015

We visited the Outer Banks off season and found most places to be quiet due to a lack of clientele. The restaurant was less than 1/4 full when we were there and as such, we had attentive service from our waiter. The food was very good, but nothing on the menu showed uniqueness or originality; more standard beach restaurant fare and appropriate prices.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Our favorite on the Outer Banks

Dined on September 20, 2015

We've been going to Flying Fish for years and it is always outstanding in service and food!!!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Pays to Trust Locals

vip
Dined on September 19, 2015

A friend who used to live in Nags Head recommended Flying Fish, claiming they served the best fried oysters she has ever had. Not only did that dish live up to her hype, but they didn't hesitate to substitute (excellent) grilled asparagus for their vegetable of the day - which really made MY day ;~) The special rum drink exceeded my expectations and while not billed as such was quite similar to the best Hurricane I experienced in New Orleans. My wife wanted to order the panko/parmesan encrusted halibut special, but was told that grouper was now being substituted - her fave fish. That dish was awesome as well! We started out with "Sweet and Spicy Thai Spread with Lump Crab and Pita Points" and it was as good as we expected. We finished the meal with their Outer Banks Rum Cake - and now I'm trying to find a recipe to make something similar at home. The service was excellent and we are looking forward to our return visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service1

The Chase of the Reluctant Waiter!

Dined on September 19, 2015

We found the food average for the area (nothing special, but nothing bad either) although on the pricey side. The restaurant is old fashioned and in need of decor updating, something we did not expect from the look outside. May not be important for everybody, but for us the ambiance is part of the experience we pay for, particularly when the restaurant is not inexpensive. The service was the big negative point. I just hate when I have to chaise people for the most basic things (e.g. "we do not have plates", "could we have some silverware for our entree", etc.) and the person serving you gives you that royal look as if you were "bothering" him unnecessarily!

food5
ambience5
service5

The food was great, and wasn't too noisy ...

vip
Dined on September 17, 2015

The food was great, and wasn't too noisy. We could carry on a conversation. A very enjoyable evening.

food5
ambience3
service5

Great food in OBX

Dined on September 15, 2015

This is always our go-to restaurant!! Amazing food and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Quality FOOD

Dined on September 14, 2015

4 of us dined and each had an excellent meal. Really a special place. Quality food at reasonable prices. Will definitely return soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Better than expected!

Dined on September 9, 2015

Website pictures don't do justice to ambience of this restaurant now. More attractive with alcoves, booths. And the food is great! Our 3rd choice as I scurried to find site for dinner but once we arrived, we both felt it would move to the top of our list!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

I'd been to Flying Fish in the past and ...

Dined on September 9, 2015

I'd been to Flying Fish in the past and found it somewhat variable. A friend had been telling me I needed to give it another try as, in his judgment, they had truly upped their game. And, he was right. My three friends and I had a wonderful evening, with excellent, attentive service and high quality food all around. This restaurant will definitely be back on my must visit list for my annual two weeks in OBX.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great seafood

vip
Dined on September 6, 2015

We had another great meal and shared with friends. The fried oysters, clams/mussels, crab bisque and the grouper were all wonderful. I also had a spinach salad that was fresh and included lots of extras. The wine is very good but very pricey compared to other restaurants in the area. We will probably stick with the house wines next time but will definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service4

Had reservations but wasn't busy on a Th ...

Dined on September 3, 2015

Had reservations but wasn't busy on a Thursday night. Our meal arrived fairly quickly and was delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience1
service2

Way too expensive for the quality

vip
Dined on September 1, 2015

The hostess looked turned off when we arrived for our 8 o'clock reservation. Food was way overpriced and not the best quality. We went here based on the reviews but wish we had found somewhere else to eat .

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service, delicious food.

Dined on August 30, 2015

Swordfish and Seabass were prepared and presented perfectly. The Prum Resling wine was superb. Perfect atmosphere and delicious food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Flying Fish Is Fantastic!

Dined on August 28, 2015

The food is always superb - especially the sauteed baby clams & blue mussels in the broth along with the fantastic bread as an appetizer. My wife had the Surf & Turf with the 5 oz. filet and a crabcake while I had the Local Seafood Cioppino. Both were excellent choices although I could not eat all of mine and had to take a container home to enjoy today. I like the atmosphere as it gives you the opportunity to talk over dinner and enjoy the excellent food. We usually make it to the Flying Fish at least three times per year.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

Excellent Service, Diverse Menu

Dined on August 28, 2015

The meals are reasonably priced for finer dining in the OBX and delicious. Good variety of menu items for picky eaters. Each time I dine here, the service is outstanding; the wait staff is genuinely helpful and very attentive.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.