Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Flying Fish Cafe & Wine Bar (North Carolina)

4.4
191 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Notable Wine List

Similar Restaurants

About

Flying Fish Café offers the freshest seafood available with pristine and panoramic views of the ocean. It has an innovative menu that showcases fresh and local ingredients that inspire to create lasting memories. The dining room is large and airy, featuring an appropriate maritime feel.

Start with the roasted garlic and brie scallions, spicy pork rolls or the fried shrimp basket. Then order a signature Flying Fish Café entrée like the bourbon and soy glazed salmon, crab cakes with basil jalapeno or the pan seared grouper. There are special lunch time specials. Try the pico de gallo with guacamole, chipotle shredded pork tacos or the sausage and mushrooms over linguini. Flying Fish Café is good for families and small or large groups. The restaurant is closed Mondays and Tuesdays. All major credit cards accepted.

Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Seafood, Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
daily
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Randy Balaban
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
8th St.
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Plentiful Restaurant Parking.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
All Private Parties considered, give us a call.
Additional
Bar Dining, Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 191 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.4based on all time ratings
4.5
food
4.5
service
4.1
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
93% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined on October 9, 2016

food prep very good ,excellent waitress ,
food was very well seasoned, overall a very good dining experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 27, 2016

Great place to eat. Food always good and staff is friendly and efficient.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 25, 2016

This our favorite restaurant in the Outer Banks! Staff are friendly and informative. Local seafood and great wine selection!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 18, 2016

The table was ready when we arrived. Need to replace broken/soiled corks in both restrooms - it was old & tired. The place wasn't the FF we've known in the past.

Lamb: great
Shrimp n Grits: great
Fried oysters/ remoulade sauce: great

No glasses of Proseco..as advertised- only bottles? It wants to be known as a Wine Bar?

Creme brûlée: turned to a watery consistency.

But we did close down the place.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 17, 2016

Disappointing dinner. Ciopinno was far too salty and skimpy on seafood. Fried soft shells were over battered and also too salty. I am not overly sensitive to salt but both dishes were ruined by too much salt. Best thing was Chocolate Hurricane dessert . The ice cream cookie dessert was not good. The cookie had no flavor. Ate here over 10 years ago and it was great at that time. Won't be going back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 17, 2016

This place was awesome. Our server was very friendly & knowledgeable of the days specials. He recommended an appetizer as well as an entree. Very relaxing atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 16, 2016

Food was good as well as the ambiance. The only drawback was that they seemed understaffed. This may just be due to the time of year.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 16, 2016

We've been coming here while on our annual vacation for about five years. The food and service are always consistently good. The filet is a particular family favourite.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 15, 2016

We were there last week. We were there 3 years ago and it was one of the best restaurants we tried. This year not so great. The guy at the door looked like he just crawled out of bed, we both had filets, both were over cooked. Our waitress was very attentive and very nice.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on September 13, 2016

We chose to eat at Flying Fish Cafe based on the ratings from a travel web site, but we were disappointed with the quality of food, service, and atmosphere. We have dined at most other restaurants listed in the top 5 in the Outer Banks reviews, and the Flying Fish Cafe unfortunately is not in the same league. The fried oysters were so overbreaded that we could hardly find the oyster. My wife's beef tips were inexplicably also breaded and fried. My grilled tuna was good, but average in every way. The wine list is average. We will not plan on returning, I am sorry to say.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 11, 2016

Swordfish was excellent so was the service. Wine list by the glass was above average.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 8, 2016

Server was very knowledgeable and willing to work with my wife's food allergies. Food was very well prepared and filling. Great wine list.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 4, 2016

A pleasant surprise, the outer appearance is no indication of the food quality and well priced wine list. The service was excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 28, 2016

This is a great little restaurant that we try to make it to whenever we visit the Outer Banks. It doesn't look like much from the road, but it is quite nice on the inside. The food is consistently excellent. There's no reason to battle the crowds at all of the tourist traps on the island when you can have a great meal here.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 28, 2016

Have been living in OBX for a year and still hadn't tried Flying Fish. Turned out amazing for our noisy group of 6. There were only a few other tables dining that night which is surprising considering the great choice of beverages, the wonderful service, and the amazing food!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 27, 2016

My favorite place on the Outer Banks. Love this restaurant!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 26, 2016

Love this restaurant for its food and great wine list. Great place for special occasions. The food is outstanding and original in taste and eye appeal. Wonderful quiet place with lite background music which is so nice for conversation without having to shout to each other. Always come here when we vacation every year on the Outer Banks, N.C.. We celebrated my husband's birthday with a delicious dessert, even put a candle on top.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on August 23, 2016

Food quality was good, as was service, but restaurant is way overpriced

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 20, 2016

Returned here after many years, and was pleased. We had great service and good food. Food is Mediterranean influenced, which is a nice break from fried seafood. Highly recommend the "Spread of the Day" app. Nice wine list, but wine is overpriced, IMO. Food is pretty reasonably priced.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 19, 2016

Flying Fish is our absolute favorite spot in OBX. We've never had anything less than great food and service. The staff is attentive and courteous, and the food is phenomenal. Steaks cooked to perfection with great flavors, crab cakes - to die for!, shrimp and gouda grits (YUM!), pretty much can't miss with anything you order. This time I tried a cream of broccoli and crab soup - WOW!!!! I hope that stays on the menu. Save room for the chocolate hurricane if you can. You won't regret it!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 19, 2016

Flying Fish has an interesting menu, matching about 5 daily special appetizers and 5 daily special entrees with a similar number of fixed menu items. They include surf and turf items plus a good kid's menu. You have to promise not to eat your kid's Mac and Cheese, cause you'll be tempted to. It's pretty small, the tables are close and you hear a lot of conversation around you, but the service was very friendly and attentive. The restaurant would be a must on any trip to the area but one of it's great features is that it is one of the few places on the OBX that takes reservations. And that was a real life saver on a Friday night for a group of 8 with 2 kids that don't like to wait. We look forward to coming back on our next trip to OBX.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 18, 2016

We went as a large group (11) to celebrate several milestones in our family. The table was long and because of the noise those at the end of the table really couldn't converse with those at the other end. So that was disappointing. It was loud in the restaurant. We sat for a while before the drink order was taken. One at our table questioned her meal order and according to the waitress' reply ordered her meal. It was not as she was told. My filet mignon was overcooked. It was still moist but I like it pinker than it was. So for that I would only give 3 stars. The rest of the meal was good. I wish the salad would come with the meal instead of having it ala carte. We also traveled from Corolla for the meal because there are not many decent places to eat up that way. Will probably not go back. Easier to do a nice meal in the house.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 15, 2016

it's our favorite in the neighborhood. A big improvement would be a round table for groups of 6-8. great for communication

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 12, 2016

Food was good but no local seafood on the menu. Service was average at best.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 12, 2016

Great meal and great, nicely priced wine selections. The mussel and clam appetizer was spot on, spinach salad with creamy feta amazing and grouper spectacular. Have been going here for years, so if you haven't been or haven't been in a while, it is a must stop in OBX!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 9, 2016

Date night at the beach and it was perfect. We both enjoyed our entrees, fried oysters and the cioppino. Service was friendly and spot on. Great night out away from the kids.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 5, 2016

Food and service were both excellent. We highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 3, 2016

Overall we were very pleased with the food. However, my mother who is recovering from stomach cancer specifically asked about the shrimp and grits spice level prior to ordering. Our waiter told us that there was no spice whatsoever. When her meal came, she could not eat it. When we told the waiter, he very rudely responded that we did not know what we were talking about and just turned his back and said, "Whatever!" He did come back later and apologize and said that he was wrong. He also did not charge us for her meal. Although he tried to make it right, his poor attitude ruined our evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 3, 2016

We have patronized Flying Fish five times while on vacation. Even though there was a change in ownership a few years ago it was and still is exceptional. The staff is efficient and professional. The chefs now what they are doing. I had a great rack of lamb with mushroom demi glace. They cooked it slightly pink as requested. My wife had filet mignon and a crab cake. She said both were excellent. They have a very diverse
wine list to go with your meal. Last but not least, we had the best chocolate cheese cake ever! Higly recommend.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on July 26, 2016

Food was okay, but not great, and pricey. Cocktails were very sweet, overly sugary. Excellent service, good wine selection. Much better options in the area though. Overall, the restaurant seemed like it was struggling and dated. Not what it used to be.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on July 25, 2016

It was a Monday night. Maybe the main chef was off. My wife got the Filet Minion with mashers, Asparagus, and a pat of blue cheese butter that had rolled on top of the mash potatoes. It was cold. There was a ton of gravy. Gravy for a filet? The steak temp was as she ordered it. The gravy hid the flavor of the steak. The asparagus were way over cooked. Mash potatoes, fair.
I got the Salmon which had to be sent back, because it was cool. When I got it back there was a thin piece replaced on a bed of wild rice and a giant pile of wilted beet leaves. The fish was hot, but it was not good. The sauce they used was smear on the side of the plate with a finger. It was almost laughable at $28. Not even close. Horrible meal. Horrible presentation. Last week we tried it on a Thursday. It was delicious. We stopped going there with previous owners, because of inconsistent meals. Nothing's changed. I was so excited last week that I had another restaurant we liked. So bummed.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 23, 2016

A really great experience! One of the owners came by and was very friendly. Great server!!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 22, 2016

The shrimp and grits was very good but to my surprise they had very little grits in the dish. Portion size is a little skimpy!

Grecian Urn and CHocolat Herrican are great deserts.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 22, 2016

We enjoy dining at Flying Fish Cafe every year during our annual summer vacation in the OuterBanks. This year's meal did not disappoint. We started our meal with the mussels and clams in a delicious wine and garlic broth. They may have been the best mussels and clams ever, tender and delicious. We shared a Cesar salad which was wonderful, the spicy dressing was far superior to the typical dressing. We ordered specials - salmon with a delicious avocado and corn salsa and fried Alaskan cod. Both were fabulous. We finished with the Grecian urn dessert - amazing shell filled with vanilla ice cream topped with fresh fruit and caramel. Our wine selections throughout the meal were delicious and reasonably priced. Our server Steve made super recommendations and was friendly and attentive. We only stay in Kitty Hawk one night before heading south to Hatteras for the rest of the week and we never try anywhere other than Fkying Fish because our meal is always so wonderful. We regret the 8 hour drive from our home prevents us fro dining here more often.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 22, 2016

Lightning fast entrées, superb service. Intimate yet lively

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 22, 2016

I loved everything about this place. If I HAD to complain about something, I'd say the calamari was a little salty.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 21, 2016

Phenomenal food and service. So good that my non seafood eating parents tried the raw tuna and went back for seconds. I want to go back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 21, 2016

The food and the service were just ok. The interior of the restaurant was very plain. It was accommodating enough for having a young boy with me, but was just not anywhere I would want to return to. Thought the food would be more original, and presentation more creative.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 20, 2016

Best restaurant on the Outer Banks! Great menu and a truly gourmet dining experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 19, 2016

Consistently great food and service. One of our regular stops

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
5