About Flying Fish Cafe & Wine Bar (North Carolina)

2003 S Croatan Hwy
Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948
View Larger Map

The Flying Fish Café and Wine Bar is about a great atmosphere, tremendous food, seasoned knowledgeable service, some of the best Chef’s on the beach, and especially giving our patrons an overall “Dining Experience.”

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
8th St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(252) 441-6894

Website:
http://www.flyingfishcafeobx.com/

Parking Details:
Plentiful Restaurant Parking.

Executive Chef:
Randy Balaban

Additional:
Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
All Private Parties considered, give us a call.

Restaurant Photos

  • Flying Fish Cafe & Wine Bar (North Carolina)
Flying Fish Cafe & Wine Bar (North Carolina)

Flying Fish Cafe & Wine Bar (North Carolina) Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Coastal North Carolina
Best Value
Coastal North Carolina
Most Booked
Coastal North Carolina
2 More
Best Overall
Outer Banks
Most Booked
Outer Banks

Fit for Foodies (33)
Notable Wine List (31)
Special Occasion (30)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Good for Groups (23)
Romantic (22)
Kid-friendly (6)
Late-night Find (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
171 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food quality was good, as was service, b ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

Food quality was good, as was service, but restaurant is way overpriced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Returned here after many years, and was ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

Returned here after many years, and was pleased. We had great service and good food. Food is Mediterranean influenced, which is a nice break from fried seafood. Highly recommend the "Spread of the Day" app. Nice wine list, but wine is overpriced, IMO. Food is pretty reasonably priced.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Flying Fish is our absolute favorite spo ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Flying Fish is our absolute favorite spot in OBX. We've never had anything less than great food and service. The staff is attentive and courteous, and the food is phenomenal. Steaks cooked to perfection with great flavors, crab cakes - to die for!, shrimp and gouda grits (YUM!), pretty much can't miss with anything you order. This time I tried a cream of broccoli and crab soup - WOW!!!! I hope that stays on the menu. Save room for the chocolate hurricane if you can. You won't regret it!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Flying Fish has an interesting menu, mat ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Flying Fish has an interesting menu, matching about 5 daily special appetizers and 5 daily special entrees with a similar number of fixed menu items. They include surf and turf items plus a good kid's menu. You have to promise not to eat your kid's Mac and Cheese, cause you'll be tempted to. It's pretty small, the tables are close and you hear a lot of conversation around you, but the service was very friendly and attentive. The restaurant would be a must on any trip to the area but one of it's great features is that it is one of the few places on the OBX that takes reservations. And that was a real life saver on a Friday night for a group of 8 with 2 kids that don't like to wait. We look forward to coming back on our next trip to OBX.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We went as a large group (11) to celebra ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We went as a large group (11) to celebrate several milestones in our family. The table was long and because of the noise those at the end of the table really couldn't converse with those at the other end. So that was disappointing. It was loud in the restaurant. We sat for a while before the drink order was taken. One at our table questioned her meal order and according to the waitress' reply ordered her meal. It was not as she was told. My filet mignon was overcooked. It was still moist but I like it pinker than it was. So for that I would only give 3 stars. The rest of the meal was good. I wish the salad would come with the meal instead of having it ala carte. We also traveled from Corolla for the meal because there are not many decent places to eat up that way. Will probably not go back. Easier to do a nice meal in the house.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

it's our favorite in the neighborhood. A ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

it's our favorite in the neighborhood. A big improvement would be a round table for groups of 6-8. great for communication

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was good but no local seafood on th ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Food was good but no local seafood on the menu. Service was average at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great meal and great, nicely priced wine ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great meal and great, nicely priced wine selections. The mussel and clam appetizer was spot on, spinach salad with creamy feta amazing and grouper spectacular. Have been going here for years, so if you haven't been or haven't been in a while, it is a must stop in OBX!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Date night at the beach and it was perfe ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Date night at the beach and it was perfect. We both enjoyed our entrees, fried oysters and the cioppino. Service was friendly and spot on. Great night out away from the kids.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food and service were both excellent. W ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Food and service were both excellent. We highly recommend.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall we were very pleased with the fo ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Overall we were very pleased with the food. However, my mother who is recovering from stomach cancer specifically asked about the shrimp and grits spice level prior to ordering. Our waiter told us that there was no spice whatsoever. When her meal came, she could not eat it. When we told the waiter, he very rudely responded that we did not know what we were talking about and just turned his back and said, "Whatever!" He did come back later and apologize and said that he was wrong. He also did not charge us for her meal. Although he tried to make it right, his poor attitude ruined our evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

We have patronized Flying Fish five time ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We have patronized Flying Fish five times while on vacation. Even though there was a change in ownership a few years ago it was and still is exceptional. The staff is efficient and professional. The chefs now what they are doing. I had a great rack of lamb with mushroom demi glace. They cooked it slightly pink as requested. My wife had filet mignon and a crab cake. She said both were excellent. They have a very diverse

wine list to go with your meal. Last but not least, we had the best chocolate cheese cake ever! Higly recommend.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was okay, but not great, and pricey ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Food was okay, but not great, and pricey. Cocktails were very sweet, overly sugary. Excellent service, good wine selection. Much better options in the area though. Overall, the restaurant seemed like it was struggling and dated. Not what it used to be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

It was a Monday night. Maybe the main ch ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

It was a Monday night. Maybe the main chef was off. My wife got the Filet Minion with mashers, Asparagus, and a pat of blue cheese butter that had rolled on top of the mash potatoes. It was cold. There was a ton of gravy. Gravy for a filet? The steak temp was as she ordered it. The gravy hid the flavor of the steak. The asparagus were way over cooked. Mash potatoes, fair.

I got the Salmon which had to be sent back, because it was cool. When I got it back there was a thin piece replaced on a bed of wild rice and a giant pile of wilted beet leaves. The fish was hot, but it was not good. The sauce they used was smear on the side of the plate with a finger. It was almost laughable at $28. Not even close. Horrible meal. Horrible presentation. Last week we tried it on a Thursday. It was delicious. We stopped going there with previous owners, because of inconsistent meals. Nothing's changed. I was so excited last week that I had another restaurant we liked. So bummed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

A really great experience! One of the o ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

A really great experience! One of the owners came by and was very friendly. Great server!!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The shrimp and grits was very good but t ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The shrimp and grits was very good but to my surprise they had very little grits in the dish. Portion size is a little skimpy!

Grecian Urn and CHocolat Herrican are great deserts.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

We enjoy dining at Flying Fish Cafe ever ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We enjoy dining at Flying Fish Cafe every year during our annual summer vacation in the OuterBanks. This year's meal did not disappoint. We started our meal with the mussels and clams in a delicious wine and garlic broth. They may have been the best mussels and clams ever, tender and delicious. We shared a Cesar salad which was wonderful, the spicy dressing was far superior to the typical dressing. We ordered specials - salmon with a delicious avocado and corn salsa and fried Alaskan cod. Both were fabulous. We finished with the Grecian urn dessert - amazing shell filled with vanilla ice cream topped with fresh fruit and caramel. Our wine selections throughout the meal were delicious and reasonably priced. Our server Steve made super recommendations and was friendly and attentive. We only stay in Kitty Hawk one night before heading south to Hatteras for the rest of the week and we never try anywhere other than Fkying Fish because our meal is always so wonderful. We regret the 8 hour drive from our home prevents us fro dining here more often.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lightning fast entrées, superb service. ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Lightning fast entrées, superb service. Intimate yet lively

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I loved everything about this place. If ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

I loved everything about this place. If I HAD to complain about something, I'd say the calamari was a little salty.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Phenomenal food and service. So good tha ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Phenomenal food and service. So good that my non seafood eating parents tried the raw tuna and went back for seconds. I want to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and the service were just ok. ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The food and the service were just ok. The interior of the restaurant was very plain. It was accommodating enough for having a young boy with me, but was just not anywhere I would want to return to. Thought the food would be more original, and presentation more creative.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Best restaurant on the Outer Banks! Gre ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Best restaurant on the Outer Banks! Great menu and a truly gourmet dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently great food and service. One ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Consistently great food and service. One of our regular stops

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Just outstanding.

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Just outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went to flying fish for my 68th b-day ...

vip
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We went to flying fish for my 68th b-day, and were happy we did. Excellent meal and a very attentive wait staff. I got the last yellow-edged Grouper and it was great. The blackberry sauce was nice, just a little too much over the fish, but better more than enough than not enough. We got the Fess Parker Chardonnay (great buy), and educated the young server (who was excellent) on who Fess Parker was and how he had shaped the lives of many baby-boomers while playing Davy Crockett in the Sunday night Walt Disney series. We even sang the "Davvvy Davy Crockett, king of the wild frontier " song to her for added effect. (She politely said she would incorporate the new knowledge into her presentation, but would most likely not sing the song). Then, she poured us another glass of Davy's great wine. Excellent time had by all.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very pleasant first-time dining experien ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Very pleasant first-time dining experience with my wife and two young sons. Menu was fairly limited but what was offered was very good and very well presented. Wine list used to be more extensive with many choices simply marked out with a pen. Service was far above-average. We will return especially considering the quality of food when compared to those restaurant choices with vulgar names that herd diners in and out like cattle and charge similar prices for frozen fish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Went there in a party of eight. Everyon ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Went there in a party of eight. Everyone was very satsfied. Some had seafood and that was excellently prepared. Some had steak, and the were equally satsfied. While not large, the wine list provided a good choice. We went with a Renaud Mâcon-Village 2014 white burgundy, which went well with seafood dishes.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always enjoy eating here when we visit t ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Always enjoy eating here when we visit the obx. Food is always good, and the staff is attentive and friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A lovely evening, with personalized serv ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

A lovely evening, with personalized service. We always enjoy celebrating our anniversary here!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are regular customers. The food and ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

We are regular customers. The food and service is great on a regular basis but the night we were there the service was somewhat slow by your normal standards. I presume that was related to your outside signage looking for a line cook. We consider this to be out of the norm for Flying Fish and we look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

We had a splendid experience celebrating ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We had a splendid experience celebrating our 48th anniversary....this is our favorite spot in OBX so it was a natural choice for us...food, atmosphere, and service were all at over the top.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrible service, food very average, not ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Terrible service, food very average, not worth the money

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Exceptional food and service. This plac ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Exceptional food and service. This place has it all. This is our favorite place in OBX. The fish is superior and the steak is perfection. Do not miss this gem, it is by far the best spot to wine and dine in the OBX!! We have tried them all!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu offers dishes that change daily ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The menu offers dishes that change daily depending on the fresh catch and seasonal vegetables as well as standard favorites. Absolutely fabulous! Good wine menu, several champagnes too. The location is on the highway but don't let that sway you, it's a special little oasis with great service and food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This is one of our "go to" restaurants w ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

This is one of our "go to" restaurants whenever we visit the Outer Banks. They have an extensive wine selection at varying price points. Very knowledgeable and courteous staff. We think their Filet Oscar is one of the best in the area. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We made a reservation because we had a l ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We made a reservation because we had a large party. We were seated upon arrival and given some of the best service I've had in a while. Our server was knowledgeable about all the dishes and timed the delivery of drinks, food, etc. well. I had the special of the night, soft shell crabs. They were not only amazing in taste, but were huge! Everyone commented on how great their meal was.

I have a second trip planned to Nags Head this summer and I will definitely be going back to the Flying Fish Cafe!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Flying Fish never disappoints.... even a ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Flying Fish never disappoints.... even after many years. It's always a creative menu and cooked perfectly. Great dining experience and not typical beach.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The Flying Fish has been a restaurant on ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The Flying Fish has been a restaurant on our must go to list while visiting the Outer Banks for many years. The food and service is always great. The staff is always pleasant and eager to make our dining experience top notch.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding all around! Will be back man ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Outstanding all around! Will be back many times! Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent service not stellar. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Food was excellent service not stellar. Soup arrived before app....wine was open and poured before cocktails were finished.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.