About Flying Fish Cafe & Wine Bar (North Carolina)

2003 S Croatan Hwy
Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948
View Larger Map

The Flying Fish Café and Wine Bar is about a great atmosphere, tremendous food, seasoned knowledgeable service, some of the best Chef’s on the beach, and especially giving our patrons an overall “Dining Experience.”

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
8th St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(252) 441-6894

Website:
http://www.flyingfishcafeobx.com/

Parking Details:
Plentiful Restaurant Parking.

Executive Chef:
Randy Balaban

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
All Private Parties considered, give us a call.

Restaurant Photos

  • Flying Fish Cafe & Wine Bar (North Carolina)
Flying Fish Cafe & Wine Bar (North Carolina)

Flying Fish Cafe & Wine Bar (North Carolina) Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Coastal North Carolina
Best Value
Coastal North Carolina
Notable Wine List
Coastal North Carolina
1 More
Most Booked
Outer Banks

fit for foodies (31)
notable wine list (29)
special occasion (29)
See All
romantic (24)
neighborhood gem (21)
good for groups (19)
kid-friendly (5)
late-night find (2)
hot spot (2)
great for brunch (1)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
156 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was a Monday night. Maybe the main ch ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 5 days ago

It was a Monday night. Maybe the main chef was off. My wife got the Filet Minion with mashers, Asparagus, and a pat of blue cheese butter that had rolled on top of the mash potatoes. It was cold. There was a ton of gravy. Gravy for a filet? The steak temp was as she ordered it. The gravy hid the flavor of the steak. The asparagus were way over cooked. Mash potatoes, fair.

I got the Salmon which had to be sent back, because it was cool. When I got it back there was a thin piece replaced on a bed of wild rice and a giant pile of wilted beet leaves. The fish was hot, but it was not good. The sauce they used was smear on the side of the plate with a finger. It was almost laughable at $28. Not even close. Horrible meal. Horrible presentation. Last week we tried it on a Thursday. It was delicious. We stopped going there with previous owners, because of inconsistent meals. Nothing's changed. I was so excited last week that I had another restaurant we liked. So bummed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

The shrimp and grits was very good but t ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The shrimp and grits was very good but to my surprise they had very little grits in the dish. Portion size is a little skimpy!

Grecian Urn and CHocolat Herrican are great deserts.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

We enjoy dining at Flying Fish Cafe ever ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We enjoy dining at Flying Fish Cafe every year during our annual summer vacation in the OuterBanks. This year's meal did not disappoint. We started our meal with the mussels and clams in a delicious wine and garlic broth. They may have been the best mussels and clams ever, tender and delicious. We shared a Cesar salad which was wonderful, the spicy dressing was far superior to the typical dressing. We ordered specials - salmon with a delicious avocado and corn salsa and fried Alaskan cod. Both were fabulous. We finished with the Grecian urn dessert - amazing shell filled with vanilla ice cream topped with fresh fruit and caramel. Our wine selections throughout the meal were delicious and reasonably priced. Our server Steve made super recommendations and was friendly and attentive. We only stay in Kitty Hawk one night before heading south to Hatteras for the rest of the week and we never try anywhere other than Fkying Fish because our meal is always so wonderful. We regret the 8 hour drive from our home prevents us fro dining here more often.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lightning fast entrées, superb service. ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Lightning fast entrées, superb service. Intimate yet lively

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I loved everything about this place. If ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

I loved everything about this place. If I HAD to complain about something, I'd say the calamari was a little salty.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Phenomenal food and service. So good tha ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Phenomenal food and service. So good that my non seafood eating parents tried the raw tuna and went back for seconds. I want to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and the service were just ok. ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The food and the service were just ok. The interior of the restaurant was very plain. It was accommodating enough for having a young boy with me, but was just not anywhere I would want to return to. Thought the food would be more original, and presentation more creative.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Best restaurant on the Outer Banks! Gre ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Best restaurant on the Outer Banks! Great menu and a truly gourmet dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently great food and service. One ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Consistently great food and service. One of our regular stops

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Just outstanding.

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Just outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went to flying fish for my 68th b-day ...

vip
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We went to flying fish for my 68th b-day, and were happy we did. Excellent meal and a very attentive wait staff. I got the last yellow-edged Grouper and it was great. The blackberry sauce was nice, just a little too much over the fish, but better more than enough than not enough. We got the Fess Parker Chardonnay (great buy), and educated the young server (who was excellent) on who Fess Parker was and how he had shaped the lives of many baby-boomers while playing Davy Crockett in the Sunday night Walt Disney series. We even sang the "Davvvy Davy Crockett, king of the wild frontier " song to her for added effect. (She politely said she would incorporate the new knowledge into her presentation, but would most likely not sing the song). Then, she poured us another glass of Davy's great wine. Excellent time had by all.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very pleasant first-time dining experien ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Very pleasant first-time dining experience with my wife and two young sons. Menu was fairly limited but what was offered was very good and very well presented. Wine list used to be more extensive with many choices simply marked out with a pen. Service was far above-average. We will return especially considering the quality of food when compared to those restaurant choices with vulgar names that herd diners in and out like cattle and charge similar prices for frozen fish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Went there in a party of eight. Everyon ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Went there in a party of eight. Everyone was very satsfied. Some had seafood and that was excellently prepared. Some had steak, and the were equally satsfied. While not large, the wine list provided a good choice. We went with a Renaud Mâcon-Village 2014 white burgundy, which went well with seafood dishes.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always enjoy eating here when we visit t ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Always enjoy eating here when we visit the obx. Food is always good, and the staff is attentive and friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A lovely evening, with personalized serv ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

A lovely evening, with personalized service. We always enjoy celebrating our anniversary here!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are regular customers. The food and ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

We are regular customers. The food and service is great on a regular basis but the night we were there the service was somewhat slow by your normal standards. I presume that was related to your outside signage looking for a line cook. We consider this to be out of the norm for Flying Fish and we look forward to our next visit.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

We had a splendid experience celebrating ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We had a splendid experience celebrating our 48th anniversary....this is our favorite spot in OBX so it was a natural choice for us...food, atmosphere, and service were all at over the top.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional food and service. This plac ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Exceptional food and service. This place has it all. This is our favorite place in OBX. The fish is superior and the steak is perfection. Do not miss this gem, it is by far the best spot to wine and dine in the OBX!! We have tried them all!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu offers dishes that change daily ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The menu offers dishes that change daily depending on the fresh catch and seasonal vegetables as well as standard favorites. Absolutely fabulous! Good wine menu, several champagnes too. The location is on the highway but don't let that sway you, it's a special little oasis with great service and food.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This is one of our "go to" restaurants w ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

This is one of our "go to" restaurants whenever we visit the Outer Banks. They have an extensive wine selection at varying price points. Very knowledgeable and courteous staff. We think their Filet Oscar is one of the best in the area. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We made a reservation because we had a l ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We made a reservation because we had a large party. We were seated upon arrival and given some of the best service I've had in a while. Our server was knowledgeable about all the dishes and timed the delivery of drinks, food, etc. well. I had the special of the night, soft shell crabs. They were not only amazing in taste, but were huge! Everyone commented on how great their meal was.

I have a second trip planned to Nags Head this summer and I will definitely be going back to the Flying Fish Cafe!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Flying Fish never disappoints.... even a ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Flying Fish never disappoints.... even after many years. It's always a creative menu and cooked perfectly. Great dining experience and not typical beach.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The Flying Fish has been a restaurant on ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The Flying Fish has been a restaurant on our must go to list while visiting the Outer Banks for many years. The food and service is always great. The staff is always pleasant and eager to make our dining experience top notch.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding all around! Will be back man ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Outstanding all around! Will be back many times! Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent service not stellar. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Food was excellent service not stellar. Soup arrived before app....wine was open and poured before cocktails were finished.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

I had the surf and turf, my wife had the ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

I had the surf and turf, my wife had the cioppino, and both were amazing. Everything was prepared to perfection. Make sure to save room for dessert!! The rum cake was some of the best we've ever had! 5 out of 5 from my with and me!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good menu, good healthy choices for fish ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Good menu, good healthy choices for fish and accompaniments. Good wait staff

Red pepper soup delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

The entire dining experience was superb! ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

The entire dining experience was superb! Excellent menu, great servicer, excellent food!!!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Drove past many times, finally stopped i ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Drove past many times, finally stopped in and we're happy we did.

Nice menu...a little something for everyone. We each chose one of the nightly/seasonal specials. While I was deciding between a couple of different menu choices, the friendly and knowledgeable waiter, recommended the nightly special of soft shell crab. Agreeing with his logic of, "It's May and soft shells are in season...you gotta take em when you can get em..." I ordered the special.

When they arrived I thought for a second that they were small Dungeness crabs (2); they were that big! Lightly battered and delicious, I pretty much forgot about everything else on my plate.

Definitely recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Love this place!

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

We were going on a sunset cruise and were told to bring our dinner. After looking at their website, I called the Flying Fish. They were extremely gracious and had our carry-out superbly packed and ready at the appointed pick-up time. It was delicious. Most of the others on the cruise had Subway sandwiches. They were envious. We returned two nights later for a dine-in experience. It was wonderful. I highly recommend Flying Fish. Good food, good wine, and a nice casual atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Another excellent meal at The Flying Fish

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

This is the "go to" celebration restaurant for our family. On this occasion took our parents there, as we had been talking about for a long time. The meal and the experience lived up to our high expectations.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good Eats

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

Another excellent meal at a reasonable price. Honored our reservation. Good folks here ...

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Consistently very good

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Soft shells were great! Shrimp and grits very good.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome experience! All of the staff wer ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Awesome experience! All of the staff were very friendly and the food was amazing. If the tuna poke salad is available on the specials it was amazing! I had the filet mignon for my entree and it was cooked exactly how I wanted. The staff were so friendly and attentive that it would be enough to make me go back again, but the amazing food and wine sealed the deal! Definitely suggest! :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

We had a good meal, and good drinks. The views are great. Highly recommend a window seat on the second level at sunset

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent food and service. Will definit ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

Excellent food and service. Will definitely eat there again when in the OBX.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great spot.

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on March 2, 2016

We always visit the Flying Fish when we vacation in the Outer Banks. It is one of our favorites. Excellent food and good wine. Friendly and helpful staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Good Food at the Flying Fish

vip
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

We had Valentines dinner this year at the Flying Fish in Kill Devil Hills, NC. The restaurant has been there for years, and it is still serving great food in a very nice setting. The location is unassuming, but the wait staff, food prep, execution, and desire to please are all there in abundance, and we recommend this restaurant to anyone who values great food, nice wine, at an excellent cost point. We'll be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We have never been disappointed. The foo ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

We have never been disappointed. The food is excellent and the menu has a chef's special touch. This is our go to restaurant at the beach, especially to celebrate birthday, anniversary and Valentines Day in an intimate atmosphere

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great seafood and service

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

We have seldom found another restaurant that consistently prepares seafood as well as Flying Fish. My fried oysters were cooked to perfection, tender and crispy at once with a bit of a bite; and my husband ate every bite of the cioppino, and sopped up the juice with their very good bread. Their wine list is not extensive, but has a nice range of wines, and our server Sean was knowledgeable and attentive without hovering over us every minute. Great meal to start the New Year!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.