HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Flying Fish Cafe & Wine Bar (North Carolina)

4.4
191 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Notable Wine List

Similar Restaurants

About

Flying Fish Café offers the freshest seafood available with pristine and panoramic views of the ocean. It has an innovative menu that showcases fresh and local ingredients that inspire to create lasting memories. The dining room is large and airy, featuring an appropriate maritime feel.

Start with the roasted garlic and brie scallions, spicy pork rolls or the fried shrimp basket. Then order a signature Flying Fish Café entrée like the bourbon and soy glazed salmon, crab cakes with basil jalapeno or the pan seared grouper. There are special lunch time specials. Try the pico de gallo with guacamole, chipotle shredded pork tacos or the sausage and mushrooms over linguini. Flying Fish Café is good for families and small or large groups. The restaurant is closed Mondays and Tuesdays. All major credit cards accepted.

Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Seafood, Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
daily
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Randy Balaban
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
8th St.
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Plentiful Restaurant Parking.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
All Private Parties considered, give us a call.
Additional
Bar Dining, Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 191 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.4  based on all time ratings
4.5
food
4.5
service
4.1
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
93% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
OpenTable Diner (Miami)
4.0  Dined on October 9, 2016

food prep very good ,excellent waitress ,
food was very well seasoned, overall a very good dining experience.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Wilmington)
5.0  Dined on September 27, 2016

Great place to eat. Food always good and staff is friendly and efficient.

Report
Helpful
LPowell (Philadelphia)
5.0  Dined on September 25, 2016

This our favorite restaurant in the Outer Banks! Staff are friendly and informative. Local seafood and great wine selection!

Report
Helpful
Snap (Baltimore)
3.0  Dined on September 18, 2016

The table was ready when we arrived. Need to replace broken/soiled corks in both restrooms - it was old & tired. The place wasn't the FF we've known in the past.

Lamb: great
Shrimp n Grits: great
Fried oysters/ remoulade sauce: great

No glasses of Proseco..as advertised- only bottles? It wants to be known as a Wine Bar?

Creme brûlée: turned to a watery consistency.

But we did close down the place.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Richmond)
3.0  Dined on September 17, 2016

Disappointing dinner. Ciopinno was far too salty and skimpy on seafood. Fried soft shells were over battered and also too salty. I am not overly sensitive to salt but both dishes were ruined by too much salt. Best thing was Chocolate Hurricane dessert . The ice cream cookie dessert was not good. The cookie had no flavor. Ate here over 10 years ago and it was great at that time. Won't be going back.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Wilmington)
5.0  Dined on September 17, 2016

This place was awesome. Our server was very friendly & knowledgeable of the days specials. He recommended an appetizer as well as an entree. Very relaxing atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Washington DC)
3.0  Dined on September 16, 2016

Food was good as well as the ambiance. The only drawback was that they seemed understaffed. This may just be due to the time of year.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Richmond)
4.0  Dined on September 16, 2016

We've been coming here while on our annual vacation for about five years. The food and service are always consistently good. The filet is a particular family favourite.

Report
Helpful
lovetraveling (Cincinnati)
4.0  Dined on September 15, 2016

We were there last week. We were there 3 years ago and it was one of the best restaurants we tried. This year not so great. The guy at the door looked like he just crawled out of bed, we both had filets, both were over cooked. Our waitress was very attentive and very nice.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Chicago)
2.0  Dined on September 13, 2016

We chose to eat at Flying Fish Cafe based on the ratings from a travel web site, but we were disappointed with the quality of food, service, and atmosphere. We have dined at most other restaurants listed in the top 5 in the Outer Banks reviews, and the Flying Fish Cafe unfortunately is not in the same league. The fried oysters were so overbreaded that we could hardly find the oyster. My wife's beef tips were inexplicably also breaded and fried. My grilled tuna was good, but average in every way. The wine list is average. We will not plan on returning, I am sorry to say.

Report
Helpful
Out4dinner (Pittsburgh)
5.0  Dined on September 11, 2016

Swordfish was excellent so was the service. Wine list by the glass was above average.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Minneapolis)
5.0  Dined on September 8, 2016

Server was very knowledgeable and willing to work with my wife's food allergies. Food was very well prepared and filling. Great wine list.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New York Area)
4.0  Dined on September 4, 2016

A pleasant surprise, the outer appearance is no indication of the food quality and well priced wine list. The service was excellent.

Report
Helpful
JohnW (Richmond)
5.0  Dined on August 28, 2016

This is a great little restaurant that we try to make it to whenever we visit the Outer Banks. It doesn't look like much from the road, but it is quite nice on the inside. The food is consistently excellent. There's no reason to battle the crowds at all of the tourist traps on the island when you can have a great meal here.

Report
Helpful
Kate128 (Richmond)
5.0  Dined on August 28, 2016

Have been living in OBX for a year and still hadn't tried Flying Fish. Turned out amazing for our noisy group of 6. There were only a few other tables dining that night which is surprising considering the great choice of beverages, the wonderful service, and the amazing food!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
13