About Flinders Lane

162 Ave A
New York, NY 10009
View Larger Map

Sometimes cultures collide in the most delicious way. Take Australia, where the food of British settlers has mixed with that of Greek and Italian immigrants and the cuisines of nearby Southeast Asia. Add to that the wide array of fresh seafood available on this island continent and a climate that yields all kinds of fruits and vegetables, all year long. And then there's the Australian attitude: No fussing, no over thinking, just bold, streamlined food made with the best ingredients available and a laser focus on flavor. Down Under, they have a name for this unlikely culinary equation: They call it Modern Australian cooking.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Modern Australian, International, Asian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast, lunch, dinner

Monday - Thursday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm

Friday
10:00 am - 12:00 am

Brunch and dinner
Sat & Sun
11:00 am - 12: 00 am

Cross Street:
East 10th St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 228-6900

Website:
http://www.flinderslane-nyc.com/

Catering:
Please contact info@flinderslane-nyc.com for catering options.

Public Transit:
L Train - 1st Avenue
F Train - Delancey St
M14 A Bus up Avenue A

Executive Chef:
Chris Rendell

Additional:
Bar Dining, BYO Liquor, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact info@flinderslane-nyc.com for event enquiries.

Restaurant Photos

  • Flinders Lane
Flinders Lane

Promotions

Free Corkage - BYOB Night!

Mondays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Promotions

Free Corkage - BYOB Night!

Mondays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details
Free Corkage - BYOB Night!. Special valid May 3, 2016 - Sep 3, 2016 on Mondays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Flinders Lane Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (18)
neighborhood gem (18)
notable wine list (9)
See All
hot spot (6)
special occasion (6)
romantic (5)
great for brunch (4)
good for groups (4)
vibrant bar scene (4)
great for lunch (2)
late-night find (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
good vegetarian options (1)
outstanding value (1)
Sort By:
Newest
98 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Okay, not great.

vip
Dined on June 2, 2016

Australian cuisine? What’s that? Not sure, but this place could accurately be described as “Asian fusion.” Some of the dishes, like the crab curry, were outstanding. On the other hand, the pork buns were so-so, and the naan just wasn’t very good. The service was friendly, but a bit slow. Prices were on the low side.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Aussie-inspired gem in the East Village

Dined on May 23, 2016

Flinders Lane was everything I'd hoped it would be. The vibe was sophisticated but totally down-to-earth at the same time. The menu was varied and exciting, the food was awesome and the staff were absolutely lovely! They made us feel so welcome, catered for our needs and made the dining experience perfect. As an Australian in New York, it was a great place to go for dinner - it felt like home but removed enough to also feel exotic. Would definitely come back and want to try their lunch menu too!

Tags: neighbourhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hot Melbourne flavoured bar and restaurant in NYC

Dined on April 29, 2016

Loved Flinders Lane. Being a Melbourninan, appreciated the Melbourne flavour that Flinders Lane brings. Cool, fun and sophisticated. The owners, chef and staff made us very welcome and had the best night in NYC on my stay in the city. Would highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service2

I was very surprised by how delicious th ...

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

I was very surprised by how delicious the dinner menu looked at Flinders Lane. I ordered the fish special and shared with my partner. Every thing from start to finish always really good! The service was slow but we did notice there was only one person waiting for the entire restaurant.. Would recommend to anyone who wants a delicious fresh meal with plenty of time to spare

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Quaint Australian Restaurant

Dined on March 21, 2016

I was surprised by the menu because there's quite a bit of Asian flare. Overall, the food was good but the Coconut Curry Laksa was AMAZING. Also, they have lots of daily specials and fresh oysters/seafood and the waiters are willing to walk through the entire menu with you.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch
food1
ambience3
service1

I had read great reviews of this restaur ...

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

I had read great reviews of this restaurant and was quite excited to try it out with my partner! I attempted to order multiple items from their limited menu options to be told they were 'out' of the food and beverage options of my choosing. There was a twenty-minute wait for our cocktails, though we ordered almost immediately upon sitting down, and a forty-minute wait for one order of the Sausage Roll as a starter. After settling on our 'second' choice selections for dinner, we were unhappy with the quality and flavour of both the Hanger Steak and Lamb, especially for their price-point. Staff seemed to be overwhelmed with the number of patrons and I felt invisible amongst the other diners within this small establishment.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Australasian food and nice wine

Dined on March 16, 2016

The menu has dishes/ ingredients which reflect Australian and New Zealand's proximity to Asia and its culinary influences. Menu is pretty diverse and everything we ordered was well prepared. Portions are big enough that we skipped dessert unfortunately. Wine list has a good selection of mostly Australian and NZ wines and we ordered by the glass as we all wanted something different. It was pretty noisy when we were there- mostly due to a large table behind us. On other nights it may be only moderately loud. Service was good, and we would definitely go back.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and wine!

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

The choices were few but varied from a chicken Laksa to an Aussie Meat Pie, so something for everyone in our group. We each ordered a different starter and entry and everyone loved their choices. We had wine by the glass, excellent Aussie Chards and Cabernets. Unfortunately, no one had room for desserts, next time! The service was professional and discreet. All in all an excellent neighborhood restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Been in for dinner and brunch Thought I ...

vip
Dined on March 2, 2016

Been in for dinner and brunch Thought I would try the lunch . Great menu selection and coffee was on point .

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always great

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Popped in for dinner at Flinders having not been - other than for brunch or drinks - for several months. I won't let that much time pass again between visits. Just a great neighborhood vibe and consistently tasty and diverse food options.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Mellow restaurant with a variety of flavors menu

Dined on February 9, 2016

I met a friend here and we both loved the place from the moment we walked in. The room was nicely laid out and the staff attentive and helpful. The menu was different, but certainly not weird. It was a great find. I would go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Aussie oasis, food is the perfdct ...

vip
Dined on February 7, 2016

Great Aussie oasis, food is the perfdct Australian cuisne with sinple dishes that are bursting with flavour infused with a touch of Asian influence. Atmisphere is fun and welcoming, they really have brought Flinders Lane to NYC.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

But you don't need to be Aussie to love this place

Dined on February 6, 2016

I was missing Australia (my father is from Adelaide) and needed to have a Coopers. Plus I was scheduled to meet two friends for dinner who've never been down under. So I made the choice. And I'm so glad I did! Not only was the food fantastic (that salt & pepper squid puts Oz to shame!) but the wine and cocktail list was spot on. Be sure to order the pork belly (it was a 'special') and the hangar steak -- the beef tastes like real Aussie beef, with flavor. And double order the salt & pepper squid...you'll want more than just one. Great place to meet friends for a cocktail and a nibble or have lots of multi-ethnic plates for dinner or lunch.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a cool little space that serves ...

vip
Dined on February 4, 2016

This is a cool little space that serves really great and interesting food. The service was exactly what we wanted - both efficient and friendly. I would definitely recommend it to anyone. A NYC gem!

food5
ambience5
service5

Loved it! Innovative and completely diff ...

vip
Dined on January 28, 2016

Loved it! Innovative and completely different than anywhere we've been before. Reasonable prices and unusual wine list round reasons this is a must visit!

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Interesting selection and variety of food

Dined on December 30, 2015

Very cool vibes in this small-to-mid-size, quaint australian-fusion restaurant. Certainly reflective of the east-village atmosphere. Had the scallops to start and the seaweed salad special with avocado and prawns. Both were solid dishes, nothing spectacular, but good enough where I felt I had to give this place a few minutes of my time to write a review. The staff were extremely respectful, attentive, and friendly. I will be going back again no doubt.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience
service5

Second time here .keeps getting better a ...

vip
Dined on December 18, 2015

Second time here .keeps getting better and better. Looking forward to trying breakfast during the week !

food5
ambience
service5

Great time ,great meal awesome service . ...

vip
Dined on December 6, 2015

Great time ,great meal awesome service . Great addition to the East Village

food5
ambience5
service5

Australian Hospitality at Its Finest!

vip
Dined on November 29, 2015

Four of us wrapped up our Thaksgiving weekend in NYC at this superb restaurant in the East Village. The menu is sufficiently varied to satisfy anyone's dietary needs. The extensive list of interesting and well-priced Australian wines was an added bonus, and our server was an excellent guide in helping us pair wines with our food. My personal treat was being presented with chopsticks with which to eat my whole dorade (fish). It made the task of picking flesh from the bones an absolute breeze. Those folks Down Under are a clever lot! I can't wait to go back on future visits.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently excellent food and service.

vip
Dined on November 14, 2015

Warm Aussie welcome. Perfect for the Fall! I will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Just like home

Dined on November 10, 2015

Flinders Lane provided a small piece of Melbourne in New York, with some of the great coffee and food that Melbourne is famous for. It was the best coffee I have had in New York.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Aussies are doing great in the Village

vip
Dined on November 5, 2015

The oysters were superb and I live the Asian touch to many of the dishes. Fresh quality ingredients and the plates are always consistent. The staff are super helpful and efficient!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

A superb dinng experience on all levers - totally

Dined on November 4, 2015

Finders Lane was superb and a great find and in an area that includes many attractive dining and bar options, this one stands out. A n interesting menu complimented by a more than adequate wine list delivered with professionally, friendly service by all staff who obviously take great pride in the Restaurant/Bar. Well priced and great atmosphere. I have already recomended it to others who report a similar experience. A memorable evening at a quality, friendly venue

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service3

a little bit of aussie

Dined on November 2, 2015

Simular to a Melbourne cafe with the set up, menu and staff. Great to see vegimite on the menu, that's a sure reason to get the aussies in the door. A little small and a little lacking flavor with salt and pepper even hard to locate. Coffee good for new York but as a die hard Melbournite coffee snob it's not quite there. Overall the experience was pleasant and i would definitely recommend to all aussies visiting. Seems like it might be a cool bar at night.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Always fantastic

Dined on November 2, 2015

We've eaten here a couple of times, seeing as I own a Tattoo shop close by. The staff have always been very friendly and welcoming, but we expect that seeing as we used to live in Australia, and are familiar with Aussie friendliness. Food wise, if the sausage rolls are on the specials, GET THEM!! I had the Bass special which was also wonderful. The linguine with chili and crab my wife had was quite tasty, and not too spicy. They have a nice selection of cocktails to sample, to!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4

Alright

vip
Dined on October 29, 2015

Our cocktails were a bit too sweet, and didn't taste balanced, not sure why. Food was okay, nothing special. My lamb was cold. It wasn't served warm or even lukewarm. Was it supposed to be like that? The crab in the crab linguine was strangely overpowered by the other ingredients. There wasn't enough crab flavor - it tasted a touch watered down. We should've gotten the coconut laksa. The sausage roll was spot on though. Service was friendly and impeccable, and the space is nice, but tight. We wanted to start w/ happy hour at the bar, but there was only space for about 4-5 people max.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service!

Dined on October 25, 2015

Excellent food and service!

food5
ambience4
service5

Lovely dinner!

vip
Dined on October 8, 2015

Everything was wonderful! Ricotta toast with mushroom they had as a special was AMAZING, loved the squid and the sausage roll. My boyfriend loved the pork soup. We wished the beef salad wasn't so spicy but we also didn't notice the chili in the description so maybe that was our fault for not checking! The service was great they were really attentive and helpful.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place!

Dined on October 6, 2015

This place is amazing. The food is always so so tasty, the service is great and the ambiance/lighting is perfect for creating an intimate feeling. Would highly recommend it!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Flinders is a great find

Dined on October 5, 2015

Not only was the food delicious--the lamb and striped bass special were spectacular—our waiter was really awesome. Friendly but nonintrusive, he recommended the perfect Pinot Noir for two very different dishes. And when I told him it was my friend's birthday, he presented a lovely scoop of some incredible Aussie ice cream at the end of the night with a candle in it. Very thoughtful! Highly recommend this intimate spot.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Great little place in the east village. ...

vip
Dined on September 3, 2015

Great little place in the east village. Tasty interesting food. Wait staff were nice and accommodating. Definitely would recommend

food5
ambience5
service4

Wonderful wonderful food! The wine is pe ...

vip
Dined on August 21, 2015

Wonderful wonderful food! The wine is perfect too. Love the ambiance and they are flexible with the set menu too. Had lobster, squid, lamb chop and ten curry noodle in the 4 course dinner. Would definitely come back again!

food4
ambience5
service4

Great vibes

vip
Dined on August 1, 2015

This place has great vibes, cocktails and food. It's well worth a try.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5

Wonderful birthday dinner!

Dined on July 31, 2015

I had a wonderful birthday dinner at Flinder's Lane. Our server was very knowledgeable about the extensive wine list, and the food was delicious. The meal ended with a complementary scoop of homemade Milo ice cream. Loved the decor and the general vibe. Highly recommended!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service4

not the best

vip
Dined on July 14, 2015

We had high expectations and it was a major disappointment. The drinks were fantastic and innovative however the food was not great at all. We ordered the oysters and it was horrible. And the rest was just blah. I would recommend this place for drinks only and carry on somewhere else for food.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Most fun dinner in a while!

Dined on June 6, 2015

So much fun. Amazing interesting food, vibrant atmosphere in a cozy space, great wall decor of Melbournes unique street art. My Melbournian husband loves it and was fun to show our American friends and family a bit of that culture. Our waiter was also awesome with a very good personality, fit for the job. Best dishes we had were the oysters (a new spin on Kilpatrick), chicken salad with asian inspiration, and amazing sausage rolls. Can't wait to return

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service4

Roasted Rosemary garlic potatoes Coconu ...

vip
Dined on June 5, 2015

Roasted Rosemary garlic potatoes Coconut curry laksa Pan Fried octopus Diver scallops-- really good, only comes with three Lamb-- tomato sauce was so great with it Kangaroo-- very lean, so not too flavorful The ice cream sampling was great-- especially wattleseed Creme brûlée had awesome thick coating of torched sugar Wish portions were more generous!

food3
ambience4
service4

Sausage rolls are great. Everything els ...

Dined on May 3, 2015

Sausage rolls are great. Everything else - Kangaroo loin and fish of the day, we're not very tasty. Small portions. Staff was kind, ambiance was cozy, but would not return.

food5
ambience4
service4

Tasting menu is worth it!

Dined on May 3, 2015

I came here for my birthday with a few friends knowing that it was a little on the pricier side for my 23-year-old self, but I'm glad I did it! Ambiance: Overall the place wasn't too noisy, but as we had reservations at 8:00 on a Saturday it did pick up as the night went on. This was not a bad thing though, and I'd to come back to the bar for drinks in the future. We found that there wasn't really anywhere to place our belongings (small purses, recent record purchase) since the table we sat at was a high pub table, so putting our things on the floor was kind of weird. Maybe they could use some extra bars for a rack underneath the chairs or something, idk. This place is always busy, so don't get annoyed about missing the servers every once in a while. Food: A friend and I each had a glass of different Australian wine, mine was the Reisling, hers was the Semillon, both tasty. My two other friends had the Tasmanian lager, which was also good. At first we asked for the 7-course tasting menu, but after the second dish I asked the waitress to demote us to the 4-course because it was just too much! The plates are not 2-biters, so consider that before embarking upon the 7-courses (only if you have 3 hours to sit, maybe). Everyone gets their own plate except for desert. The first course was sashimi with sesame-like flavors which was amazing. The second course was a seaweed salad with avocado, also with a sesame dressing. The third course was a chile scallop, and the last course was KANGAROO! All of the dishes were fresh and flavorful with little surprises here and there. The kangaroo was like a steak, not overly chewy, but lean and flavorful. Desert was a scoop each of 3 different ice creams and one sorbet, all flavored with Australian ingredients that varied from chocolate and coffee-like to a "mallow", though the sorbet was kinda unknown/bland and not a favorite to anyone. Overall great experience and I'd definitely like to come back for their other entree options.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Reluctant to write such a positive revie ...

Dined on April 24, 2015

Reluctant to write such a positive review to keep this place to myself.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.